Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Chez TJ

Attentive service, fresh flowers and soft music surround guests at this intimate, Michelin Starred, restaurant in downtown Mountain View. Inside a lovely Victorian home, Executive Chef Jarad Gallagher creates a contemporary French cuisine that accentuates the vibrant, fresh flavors found naturally in high quality products. Chez TJ's leads guests through an exciting evening of culinary pleasure. Our prix fixe style encourages a relaxed and enjoyable evening of dining and conversation. Four dining rooms provide an intimate setting for a special dinner with family and friends. One Star Michelin 2012 Guide, "Top Restaurants 2007" SF Examiner, "Three and 1/2 Stars" - San Francisco Magazine and San Jose Mercury News. Top Scores, Zagat & Gayot Dining Guides 2007.

938 Villa Street
Mountain View, CA 94041
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only
Tuesdays - Thursdays 5:30pm - 9pm
Fridays - Saturdays 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Shoreline & Castro

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 964-7466

Website:
http://www.cheztj.com/

Parking Details:
Across the street or in the three story edifice, up one block from your location.

Public Transit:
CalTrain: Mountain View
Lightrail: Mountain View

Executive Chef:
Jarad Gallagher

Private Party Facilities:
Chez TJ offers four private dining rooms that can accommodate 8 - 35 people. For inquiry, please call or email justin@cheztj.com

Private Party Contact:
Justin Rodriguez: (650) 964-7466

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Chez TJ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Organic (6)
Cozy (6)
Seasonal (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
1116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious. Service impeccable. Accommodated our request for a slightly faster paced meal without it feeling anything less than leisurely. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Beautiful tasty food, but quite pricey. We found the quantity good, but perhaps more than we would normally eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This was the first time for our group of 4 to try Chez TJ. No menu, you eat what they provide of the day. The food was wonderful, both the presentation and the taste, beyond our expectation. Be prepare for a very long meal though, especially if go with children, as the more than 10 courses dinner may last for more than 3 hours.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

A great night out. The restaurant has a quiet ambience and serves two fixed menu options - the local Californian food and a more global menu. They tailored the menu to my fish allergy and my husband's distate for cucumber. The food and wine pairings were amazing - Creative, fresh and tasty. The wine we excellent, you can also buy wine by the bottle and I think you can bring your own bottle (if you want to pay the $50 corkage charge)
My husband and I try out the Michelin star / fixed menu restaurants in the Bay Area for our anniversary and birthdays and this is by far my favorite - value for money is outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Save the trip to Yountville: for creativity, attentiveness, variety of the food, and absolute consistently amazing flavors that made me want to make a meal out of every bite.

The wait staff became more of a family friend, explaining the dishes and making sure everything was perfect.

PS: people mention the time between courses as too long. Was perfect for my business meeting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I had never eaten from a tasting menu. Some of the foods I had never heard of before let alone eaten. I was pretty sure there would be food served that I wouldn't like. I was mistaken, everything was delicious! This was the best dining experience of my life. The service was impeccable. The waiters were so attentive, kind, and informative. My friend and I had such a good time. This will be a wonderful evening that I will remember for a long time.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Chez TJ continues to impress. Redefined a number of dishes for me. Wine pairing was the best I've had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Menu is not same as official website, not what we expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a lovely meal with impeccable service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing experience with incredible service.
Well worth the expense if you want to impress that love one

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food is good, very quiet, ideal for intimate dinner. Service was attentive but it took too long. We went with chef menu: started at 6pm and didn't finished until 10 pm. On average it must be 10 mins in between menu item

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Excellent service but totally unaware it was tasting only menu. Very expensive. The food was cute .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was great! Got surprised for every course. Great dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Went to Chez TJ to celebrate a special occasion. They accommodated our dietary needs spectacularly - the courses just kept coming! We were blown away by the service as well - loved that the chef came out to explain each course and answer questions. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Organic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The California tasting menu was superb. Ingredients were source locally within 100 miles. The presentation was creative and everything was blended perfectly.
Exceptional service and attention to details by all well trained staffs.
The wine pairing paired so well with each course. Most are from wineries making small batches.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 10, 2017

we have been to TJ's several times but this last visit, our 42nd anniversary was the best. the preparation, presentation detail, quality, taste and service was superb. they were able to nicely accommodate food allergies and requests for a "bit more" cooking for some of my wife's choices. we selected the California menu option. a very pleasant, unrushed 3 hours that we thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Outstanding and perfect in every way. Warm, intimate service, and an excellent meal. Perfect for our anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was a pretty dinner but:
-We had to wait for 40 minutes for our table, we had a reservation.
-The wine pairing wasn't very good
-One of the courses was burnt (the truffles)
-a member of the staff came to shake hands as an apology for the delay while we were going to eat the appetizer with the hands

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Overall food was excellent, but a few things that would keep me from going back. First off, we arrived on time and was promptly told they were running a few minutes behind. Half an hour later, we were seated. We were one of 3 parties that were told to wait. They were eventually seated as well. The courses served did not have a steady flow. There were times when no one was coming with anything, as if our dinner had come to a complete stop. It seemed to us that our table service was slowed down to catch up with some of the other tables that were about 15-20 min behind us so they could serve us all the same food at the same time. That seemed odd because we all had different reservations times. If that is the kitchen's preference, then the restaurant should just have set seating times. We were there for over 2.5 hrs and had skipped the cheese and coffee. I can't imagine how long this would have taken if we had selected to have those too. Overall service flow was not as what we'be seen at other 1 star restaurants.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was mindblowing and I loved how they customized the order based on our dietary restrictions. The staff was really courteous. However, service was really slow. I understand tasting menus allow some time between courses in order to let you savor the food, but this took too long. We have planned for 2.5-3 hours for the dinner but this took over 4 hours ! Overall, really happy with the food and ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The tastings with wine was beyond amazing! It is a solid three plus hours so give yourself time to enjoy. Highly recommend for a special evening. Chefs (Andrew) and everyone who works there were attentive, informative, and wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Delicious food, amazing service. Well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We have been fortunate enough to experience most of the Michelin-starred restaurants in Northern California. Restaurants of this caliber are always worth the visit - but with so many choices, rarely do we want to visit the same restaurant twice. The French Laundry and Chez TJ are worthy of that distinction, in our book.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I look forward to coming back in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Staff was friendly. Excellent food, good wine paired with each dish. My family enjoyed. This was a Mother's Day gathering for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The tasting menu is an experience worth paying for. Every staff member is courteous and extremely knowledgeable, taking pride in his or her job with intense attention to detail. The sommmelier is wonderful, friendly and professional. The interior of the restaurant is friendly and intimate and you feel at once relaxed and cared for. Plan a special night here, take your time while eating and enjoy the entire dining experience as it is one you won't want to forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very well deserved Michelin star. I can't think of any dish that I didn't like, and the wine pairing was pretty good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Where do I start? Well, how about the wine stuard (and I am using the term loosely) who has not the slightest idea of what wines are actually available on the list, while offering no help whatsoever in substituting for a missing wine? How about a bottle of 2009 Italian noble wine so obviously cooked that it leaves a tremendous pile of sediment in one's glass? Then, how about the wine stuard arguing the wine quality with the patrons? To top off all of the above, how about the chef blabbering loudly about his bloody motorcycle adventures with an acquittance at a table immediately adjacent to ours for nearly an hour? How's all of that for enhancing one's culinary experience?

Although the food preparation and the presentation were up to par, our dining experience was ruined by the dreadful wine service and the chef's disrespectful demeanour. YMMV.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had a great time here with my friend. The cuisine was awesome and the service was very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

A good place for friends gathering. We really enjoy the local menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I really enjoyed this restaurant. I live in SF and enjoy fine dining. However, I was honestly shocked when I saw the invoice. Dinner for 2 for 800.00! Unfortunately, I won't return and I won't recommend. Cheers, -Steve Barton

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A really outstanding restaurant for special occasions. It is not inexpensive but a truly delightful experience with great service, stunning food and a lovely atmosphere. We will be back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The service and food was impeccable! Jared the chef waiting on us himself which was a treat. Mike our waiter and supporting staff made the evening and four hour dining experience out of this world!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Memorable! Amazing food journey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Extraordinary. There just is no other word. The food, the wine, the service, the staff, the ambiance, are all extraordinary. Just do be aware that Dinner here takes several hours. The courses -- each just a few bites -- just keep coming and coming and coming. Each one is a masterpiece. On no plate is the slightest detail of color, texture, flavor, aroma, of appearance left to anything but pedantic perfection. I'm guessing that there were at least 150 -- 200 wouldn't surprise me -- ingredients in this meal and all are sources as locally as possible. All are sourced with the greatest of care. Each is the culmination of an exhaustive search to find the very best of everything. Most of these ingredients are absolutely fresh meaning that each one has to be expertly prepared for the evening's meal. I can only imagine how many hundreds of man-hours go into preparing for each evening's service. The very simplest thing served must talk 10 minutes per-piece for an expert chef to prepare. And many of the plates are simply elaborate in every way.

it's not a lot of food, really. Quantity is not the focus here. It is a good-size meal, but you will not leave feeling stuffed... just satisfied. You will, however, leave here feeling total palate fatigue, total gustatory fatigue, total olfactory fatigue, total tactile fatigue, total whole-body palate fatigue. This is, I think, akin to what a runner feels at the end of a marathon, fully exhausted and yet fully satisfied, a good exhaustion.

In conclusion, all I can add is: bravo!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Everything was lovely. The food is decidedly worthy of 5 stars. We ordered the local menu and every bite was delicious. I don't care for lamb under any circumstances, but the bite I took was quite good. My fellow diners thought the lamb was wonderful and gobbled it up. Two days later we are still talking about the assorted courses with mouths watering.

The 4 star rating for service is given only because it was a bit more leisurely than expected. The website suggests to allow 2.5 to 3 hours for dinner. We started at 7pm and didn't finish until 11pm, making for a late Friday night for people who had been at work since early morning. This is not exactly a complaint because we were having a nice time chatting. Aside from being sleepy by the end of dinner, it was a delightful experience.

The 4 star rating for ambiance is given only because we were enjoying the music, with family favorites being played (Brazilian). It was turned off about midway through dinner and not replaced with any other music. We missed having the background music from about lamb to nuts.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This restaurant earned a Michelin star, and rightfully so. The food, every course was worth remembering, even the palate cleanser was wow!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything from the food to the service was just perfect. We did the local tasting menu with wine pairing. The menu was a secret and they had already taken our food exceptions into account. There were about 12-13 courses and it was a lot of food even though individual portions are typically french. The food was rich and indulgent and pleasantly surprising at times. We were really glad to do the wine pairing, there is a 2 oz pour with every course. There were beautifully paired and by the end we were just in a really happy place. I would definitely recommend Chez TJ for celebrating yourself or a special someone.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Incredible food, top notch ingredients, creative flavour combination, beautiful ambience. My experience was magical. I am on a business trip and was a solo diner. I ❤ this place.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

What can I say about this place. It's always amazing and this last visit was no different. The service was incredible, the wine was perfectly paired, and the food. Oh, my goodness the food. From start to finish it just kept getting better and better like good music that builds to a crescendo. They even added an ad-hoc fois gras course because we mentioned that we love the stuff. Chez TJ has long been a favorite for us, and we promised ourselves that we're going to try to get back at least 4 times a year.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.