About Chez TJ

938 Villa Street
Mountain View, CA 94041
View Larger Map

Attentive service, fresh flowers and soft music surround guests at this intimate, Michelin Starred, restaurant in downtown Mountain View. Inside a lovely Victorian home, Executive Chef Jarad Gallagher creates a contemporary French cuisine that accentuates the vibrant, fresh flavors found naturally in high quality products. Chez TJ's leads guests through an exciting evening of culinary pleasure. Our prix fixe style encourages a relaxed and enjoyable evening of dining and conversation. Four dining rooms provide an intimate setting for a special dinner with family and friends. One Star Michelin 2012 Guide, "Top Restaurants 2007" SF Examiner, "Three and 1/2 Stars" - San Francisco Magazine and San Jose Mercury News. Top Scores, Zagat & Gayot Dining Guides 2007.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only
Tuesdays - Thursdays 5:30pm - 9pm
Fridays - Saturdays 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Shoreline & Castro

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 964-7466

Website:
http://www.cheztj.com/

Parking Details:
Across the street or in the three story edifice, up one block from your location.

Public Transit:
CalTrain: Mountain View
Lightrail: Mountain View

Executive Chef:
Jarad Gallagher

Private Party Facilities:
Chez TJ offers four private dining rooms that can accommodate 8 - 35 people. For inquiry, please call or email justin@cheztj.com

Private Party Contact:
Justin Rodriguez: 6509647466x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Sticky Toffee Root Cake - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Jidori Egg, Artichoke, Bonito - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Tamarind And Yuzu Sorbet - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Blueberry Crumble - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
A5 Wagyu - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Levain With Peas And Butter - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Strawberry Velouté - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Bonito, Caviar - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Rose Lemonade - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Chouquette, Passionfruit Tart, Truffle - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Perigord Truffle Ravioli - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Truffle Camembert - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Seared Foie Gras - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Ash Crusted Sea Trout - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Ribeye Of American Wagyu - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Tsar Nicoulai Caviar - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Dungeness Crab & Duck Leg - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Tropical Fruit Soup - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Apple, Yuzu - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
A-5 Japanese Wagyu Strip Loin - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
12 Course - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Japanese Shimaji - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Foies Gras Torchon - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Birthday Cake! - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Milk Chocolate & Huckleberry - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Red Abalone - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Acorn Fed Pork Tenderloin - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Beurre D'isigny - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Satsuma Mandarin, Gingerbread - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Brioche - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Sourdough Levain - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Egg Porn - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Lamb Rack - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Vanilla Bean Pudding, Lemon Sherbet & Apricots - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Final Chocolate Dessert - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
 Lobster/sweetbreads And More - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Palate Cleanser - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Fg Oh My. - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Duck Madness - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Poached Day Boat Scallops - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Suzuki Fish - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Beurre - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Dungeness Crab & Sweetbreads - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Beet Salad - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Coffee - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Carbonara & White Truffles - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
garden salad - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Hamachi - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Pork Cooked in Two Ways - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Brut Champagne - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Cheese 1 - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Lamb - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Amuse Bouche - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Cheese 2 - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Birthday cake - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Foie Gras Truffle - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Bread Service - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Strawberries & Banana - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Pate De Fruits, Caramels & Macarons - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Pot Of Earth - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Egg Treat - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
 Wagyu - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Cheese Course - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Brut Rosé - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Kumquat Panacotta - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Risotto - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Table Flowers - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Tea Desserts - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Cheese Sides - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Squab & Foie Terrine - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
A5 Waygu!! - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Butter Service - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Caviar Service: Cucumber & Cheese - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Foie Stuffed Morell - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Avocado, Pineapple & Santa Claus Melon - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
jamón ibérico - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Abalone! - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Seared Scallop - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Caviar!!!! - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Sesame Sticks W Creamy Goat Cheese - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Sip Of Gamay - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Fluke Sashimi - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Roasted Strauss Family Veal - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Barbera - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Brioche & Lavender Honey Roll - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Uni Pudding & Roe - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Caviar Service: Beignets - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Kir Royale - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Watermelon Palate Cleanser - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Abalone Magic - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Alaskan Halibut - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Petite Fours - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Crispy Southern California White Sea Bass - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Sonoma Foie Gras - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Grimaud Farms Duck - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA
Califorina Swordfish - Chez TJ, Mountain View, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Chez TJ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Francisco Bay Area
Special Occasion
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Peninsula
3 More
Best Service
Peninsula
Special Occasion
Peninsula
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Mountain View ›

Romantic (26)
Special Occasion (26)
Tasting Menu (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Seasonal (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Organic (5)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1005 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A fantastic experience that I would reco ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

A fantastic experience that I would recommend to anyone! This dining experience was completely worth it. I would return to Chez TJ without hesitation. We came here to celebrate a birthday and chose to dine from the California local menu and selected a wine pairing to share. Everything tasted spectacular, including the wine! An out of this world experience!! Go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food wasn't good, they excuse about worn ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Food wasn't good, they excuse about worng (tempura was not chrispy enough but they told me that is proposed for texture, but that is way too tough to eat.)

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Loved our experience there! Special and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Loved our experience there! Special and so amazing and delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything tasted and looked beautiful ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything tasted and looked beautiful

Wine pairing was a little light on pours - we thought three sips would be fair. Some pours we lighter than others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great meal! Staff is extremely ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always a great meal! Staff is extremely attentive, pleasant and accommodating.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite in every possible respect! Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Exquisite in every possible respect! The best meal I've ever had anywhere in the world!

Tags: Private Room, Seasonal, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value for a special occasion. The ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great value for a special occasion. The food was wonderful and they kindly substituted 1 ingredient that we weren't fond of.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding place for special occasions. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Outstanding place for special occasions. Extremely good service, delicious food. Will definitely visit this place again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly awesome food and wonderful wi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Incredibly awesome food and wonderful wine pairings. Incredibly expensive to boot, but worth doing at least once for the experience alone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my wife hear for her birthday. W ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I took my wife hear for her birthday. We had the standard tasting menu as well as the win pairing (additional $100 each). In my opinion we definitely did not get our money's worth on the wine pairing, having received only about 5, 2oz pours each of wine. That's about $10 per oz.

The food was fantastic, and the service was out of this world. One negative was that since the restaurant is an a very old house, it smells a bit old and caused my wife to have the worst allergy attack of her life. We had to end dinner early because she could barely breathe. For such an expensive meal I would expect something like mold/mildew not be a factor in our experience.

Other than the wine pairing cost and allergy attack it was a pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

I can't say enough about this restaurant ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I can't say enough about this restaurant, which I have kept coming back to for many years when I want a great meal, exquisite service, a beautiful and quiet atmosphere, and just a memorable evening. Every dish was at least excellent. Some were composed of very surprising and even thrilling flavors. The dishes were inventive, incredibly tasty, and beautifully presented. The staff will spoil you, and they just keep coming, one after another, but very considerately spaced to allow a leisurely three-hour dinner for even the shorter of the two tasting menus. Lots of small treats thrown in at the beginning and the end. Every time I eat there I ask myself why it took so long to get back.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I go to Chez TJ about onc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I go to Chez TJ about once a year. We love it every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chez TJ is a very special restaurant wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Chez TJ is a very special restaurant with seasonal tasting menus that are handcrafted. Expect to spend about $200/person and 2-3 hours, but expect to go away having had a delicious meal that you'll be inspired by.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best food ever!! Unique, superb and inte ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Best food ever!! Unique, superb and interesting ! Go for the chef's tasting menu - you won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I reserved TJ for my wife's birthday. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I reserved TJ for my wife's birthday.

I brought Flowers and One bottle of Champagne 2 hours before the reservation time.

TJ received them and set-up the flowers at the table.

Also, they brought the Champagne with good condition.

I really thank TJ for all the set-up.

The food is "New adventure". TJ has French/Japanese/Italian/Chinese mixed.

I like small ravioli with White Truffle and Lobster with Bisque.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Short version: TJ has been better, but t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Short version: TJ has been better, but this night: not worth the price.

Longer version...

** Just under $1000 for three people, the more expensive menu, no add-ons, one wine pairing, 1 half bottle of Merlot ($65), one coffee. And when they say 2 ounce pours on the wines, they don't give one milliliter over. I just feel like I shouldn't have to take micro-sips of the wine, just to make it to the next course.

** Two of the dishes were fantastic, especially with the pairing. The foie gras, and the duck. The rest, were just good. No vegetables to speak of, though sadly, this is not uncommon with prix fixe dinners.

** Recommend going on a week night, if possible. We went on a Saturday night; full house. With that many tables to serve, and a high number of courses, wine stewards, bread/water people and servers, combined with the smaller, intimate rooms at TJ's, it can get a bit hectic.

We'll give it a several year rest before we try it again.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

As always a wonderful dining experience. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

As always a wonderful dining experience. It is expensive but the full tasting menu is out of this world. Loved the onion soup and antelope. Great use of local produce and seasonal ingredients. The Neal did have more of an Asian influence rather than French but it worked beautifully. Wait staff was impeccable too. They even lock your bathroom door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chez TJ is one of the very few places i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Chez TJ is one of the very few places in Silicon Valley to treat foodie family members to a perfectly prepared series of tasting delights. The prices are high, but you won't get this kind of experience otherwise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food are excellent except the dessert. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food are excellent except the dessert. Compare to the other courses, the dessert is a bit underwhelming, maybe time to get a new pastry chef.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beatufully decorated foods with excellen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Beatufully decorated foods with excellent taste. Good for special occasions such as birthday dinner and dates.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful tasting menu! Food was outstan ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful tasting menu! Food was outstanding ! I am a vegetarian and the chef did a great job creating tasty and unique dishes for me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant - very creative a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

My favorite restaurant - very creative and delicious food with impeccable service. Pure perfection!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Chez TJ several times. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have been to Chez TJ several times. It doesn't disappoint but do bring your wallet - it's worth it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chez TJ is an outstanding restaurant, wi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Chez TJ is an outstanding restaurant, with wonderful meals and fantastic wines. The service is impeccable and the atmosphere friendly and conducive to table conversation.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Fun, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez TJ is a special place to eat. They ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Chez TJ is a special place to eat. They serve two tasting menus, each of which comprises numerous small portions of delicious and beautiful delicacies. I am amazed when I think of the time and attention given to the food. The service is very personal, and the staff is very willing to answer questions about the various courses. Although we only go there occasionally, it is always a true treat.

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to dine at TJ for the first t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We decided to dine at TJ for the first time to celebrate our anniversary -- and we love contemporary French food. All dishes were tasty and beautiful. Foie gras presentation (including the plate) was awesome and the combination of flavors was unique and memorable. We never had such an amazing black cod dish before. For us the weakest dishes were abalone and dessert -- they were fine, but nothing special. The sour dough bread with rosemary was great, but we had to request it in addition to the corn bread provided with the regular menu. For some reason we were not offered a cheese course which was surprising for the high quality French restaurant. Our main disappointment was the service as we used to higher standards at the Michelin star establishments. We were not offered Champaign or Cocktails before the meal. Our wine person definitely did not know the Gigondas region and when we ordered a Gigondas bottle she brought a different one without telling us -- and it ended up being 2+ times more expensive. The wine was great and we enjoyed it, but they servers did not keep an eye on our glasses and we had to serve ourselves (we don't mind it, but it is an unexpected level of service). And we also felt rushed through the appetizer courses, though we were very clear that we were in no rush. We did not get good explanations about the dishes either and did not feel too welcome.

So, it is not clear if we would recommend TJ to our friends as the price tag ($450-$550 for dinner for two) does not correlate with the service quite well. But, on another hand, the food is mostly great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is good, service is wonderful. We d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food is good, service is wonderful. We did add Wagyu(+$100) and wine pairing (+$134) with chef's menu (+189). Which almost $500 per person.

One couple talked very loud and kind of annoying when most other kept their voice down. Ambiance -1

Wagyu not very surprise me, I had much better in bay area. Truffle egg also not kind of disappointing(barely can see nor taste any truffle ) (Food -2)

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I have not been to Chez TJ in many years ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

I have not been to Chez TJ in many years, it is just as excellent if not better than my last experience. My only one minor comment would be our wine orders were not taken as quickly as I would have liked, as we had many canapés on the table with no wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. We also chose t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was excellent. We also chose to do the wine pairing. Some of the choices were not really what we would have preferred. And it was rather expensive for what it was.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was exception. Yes it's pric ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The service was exception. Yes it's pricey, but we had 18 amazing courses and some fantastic wine. The staff also graciously accommodated my pregnant wife's food restrictions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is great for special occasions. We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is great for special occasions. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food even for vegetarians.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food even for vegetarians.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Solid! Creative and always delicious! We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Solid! Creative and always delicious! Well deserved Michelin star! Will continue to come back and continue to tell our friends! ps- bring back your cheese plate with all the accoutrements; missed that on our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite is a word that comes to mind! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Exquisite is a word that comes to mind! My boyfriend booked the reservation at Chez TJ to celebrate my birthday and whoa did I ever feel so celebrated and honored by everyone at the restaurant. The entire meal--dish by dish was a delight for the senses--visually appealing and at times like a piece of art, so delicate in shape and form--the smells so vibrant and potent--the taste offering complex flavor, but never in an overpowering way more like a layering of brilliant thought and craft. We even received an education when one of the members of staff brought out a certificate explaining more about Wagyu beef! Chef even shared some 'extra dishes' and I also received a handwritten birthday card. Everyone on staff was attentive to our table and supportive of one another. My boyfriend is on his way to the CIA in Napa and when he graduates, I would like to bring him back to Chez TJ to celebrate him!!

Thank you for an unforgettable evening of food, wine and merriment!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and experience was good. The price ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food and experience was good. The price paid and meal received was mediocre ($120 for 2 protein dishes). Service was good and attentive, though the descriptions felt very rehearsed, and not conversational.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We did a whole week of eating the best f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2016

We did a whole week of eating the best food for every meal throughout SF and Chez TJ was the best meal we had! We went all out and did the Chef's Tasting Menu, which was an excellent decision. The corn soup with chili oil was out of this world and the foie gras was amazing as always. Desserts were also incredible (especially the Sake Lees)! Great service and amazing atmosphere as if you were in someone's house. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez TJ is an upscale restaurant in Moun ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Chez TJ is an upscale restaurant in Mountain View, I'd rate it among the best. Great place, but also expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What wonderful service! I was most struc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

What wonderful service! I was most struck by the fact that the wait staff will let you know when the bathroom is ready, and guide you there, even opening the door for you. Everyone seems genuinely interested in their service, which is refreshing to see in this hustle-bustle world. The food was good, but at time hit-and-miss with some flavors I felt needed to be accentuated in different ways, or that something was just "missing." Wines were good, but the pairing for the extended tasting menu was just too much! Desserts were easily the best part of the night - their pastry chef had her flavors/textures/presentation absolutely on point, and we left the meal feeling very full and very satisfied.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tasting menus for expense accounts

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2016

We had an interesting meal even if it was one of the most expensive dinners I've ever eaten, over $700 for two people. No meal is worth that much. The menu was interesting and varied but there wasn't enough of any one dish to get the full flavor of what was being offered. It was more of a small bite menu than a true tasting experience. We shared on flight of wine and again the servings will interesting were doled out by the thimble full. Every course or pouring was preceded by a description or lecture on the ingredients or the origins and locations of their parentage. The true insult though was the $185 flight being accompanied by a $15 surcharge for sharing. The food was tasty but not worth the hassle or the expense.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Enjoyed the food. Thought I would leave ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Enjoyed the food. Thought I would leave hungry after eating a bunch of daintly sized "courses". Was delightfully surprised that I was quite satisfied at the end of the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.