About Chez TJ

938 Villa Street
Mountain View, CA 94041
View Larger Map

Attentive service, fresh flowers and soft music surround guests at this intimate, Michelin Starred, restaurant in downtown Mountain View. Inside a lovely Victorian home, Executive Chef Jarad Gallagher creates a contemporary French cuisine that accentuates the vibrant, fresh flavors found naturally in high quality products. Chez TJ's leads guests through an exciting evening of culinary pleasure. Our prix fixe style encourages a relaxed and enjoyable evening of dining and conversation. Four dining rooms provide an intimate setting for a special dinner with family and friends. One Star Michelin 2012 Guide, "Top Restaurants 2007" SF Examiner, "Three and 1/2 Stars" - San Francisco Magazine and San Jose Mercury News. Top Scores, Zagat & Gayot Dining Guides 2007.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only
Tuesdays - Thursdays 5:30pm - 9pm
Fridays - Saturdays 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Shoreline & Castro

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 964-7466

Website:
http://www.cheztj.com/

Parking Details:
Across the street or in the three story edifice, up one block from your location.

Public Transit:
CalTrain: Mountain View
Lightrail: Mountain View

Executive Chef:
Jarad Gallagher

Private Party Facilities:
Chez TJ offers four private dining rooms that can accommodate 8 - 35 people. For inquiry, please call or email justin@cheztj.com

Private Party Contact:
Justin Rodriguez: 6509647466x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chez TJ
Chez TJ
Chez TJ
Chez TJ
Perigord Truffle Ravioli
Sticky Toffee Root Cake
Truffle Camembert
Jidori Egg, Artichoke, Bonito
Tamarind And Yuzu Sorbet
Blueberry Crumble
A5 Wagyu
Levain With Peas And Butter
Strawberry Velouté
Bonito, Caviar
Rose Lemonade
Chouquette, Passionfruit Tart, Truffle
Ash Crusted Sea Trout
Ribeye Of American Wagyu
Tsar Nicoulai Caviar
Dungeness Crab & Duck Leg
Tropical Fruit Soup
Apple, Yuzu
Seared Foie Gras
Japanese Shimaji
A-5 Japanese Wagyu Strip Loin
Foies Gras Torchon
12 Course
Birthday Cake!
Milk Chocolate & Huckleberry
Red Abalone
Acorn Fed Pork Tenderloin
Beurre D'isigny
Satsuma Mandarin, Gingerbread
Brioche
Sourdough Levain
Egg Porn
Lamb Rack
Vanilla Bean Pudding, Lemon Sherbet & Apricots
Final Chocolate Dessert
 Lobster/sweetbreads And More
Palate Cleanser
Fg Oh My.
Duck Madness
Poached Day Boat Scallops
Suzuki Fish
Beurre
Dungeness Crab & Sweetbreads
Beet Salad
Coffee
Carbonara & White Truffles
garden salad
Hamachi
Pork Cooked in Two Ways
Brut Champagne
Cheese 1
Lamb
Amuse Bouche
Cheese 2
Birthday cake
Foie Gras Truffle
Bread Service
Strawberries & Banana
Pate De Fruits, Caramels & Macarons
Pot Of Earth
Egg Treat
 Wagyu
Cheese Course
Brut Rosé
Kumquat Panacotta
Risotto
Table Flowers
Tea Desserts
Cheese Sides
Squab & Foie Terrine
A5 Waygu!!
Butter Service
Caviar Service: Cucumber & Cheese
Foie Stuffed Morell
Avocado, Pineapple & Santa Claus Melon
jamón ibérico
Abalone!
Seared Scallop
Caviar!!!!
Sesame Sticks W Creamy Goat Cheese
Sip Of Gamay
Fluke Sashimi
Roasted Strauss Family Veal
Barbera
Brioche & Lavender Honey Roll
Uni Pudding & Roe
Caviar Service: Beignets
Kir Royale
Watermelon Palate Cleanser
Abalone Magic
Alaskan Halibut
Petite Fours
Crispy Southern California White Sea Bass
Sonoma Foie Gras
Grimaud Farms Duck
Califorina Swordfish

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Chez TJ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Peninsula
Best Service
Peninsula
Romantic
Peninsula
2 More
Special Occasion
Peninsula
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Mountain View ›

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Notable Wine List (16)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
981 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chez TJ is a special place to eat. They ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Chez TJ is a special place to eat. They serve two tasting menus, each of which comprises numerous small portions of delicious and beautiful delicacies. I am amazed when I think of the time and attention given to the food. The service is very personal, and the staff is very willing to answer questions about the various courses. Although we only go there occasionally, it is always a true treat.

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to dine at TJ for the first t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We decided to dine at TJ for the first time to celebrate our anniversary -- and we love contemporary French food. All dishes were tasty and beautiful. Foie gras presentation (including the plate) was awesome and the combination of flavors was unique and memorable. We never had such an amazing black cod dish before. For us the weakest dishes were abalone and dessert -- they were fine, but nothing special. The sour dough bread with rosemary was great, but we had to request it in addition to the corn bread provided with the regular menu. For some reason we were not offered a cheese course which was surprising for the high quality French restaurant. Our main disappointment was the service as we used to higher standards at the Michelin star establishments. We were not offered Champaign or Cocktails before the meal. Our wine person definitely did not know the Gigondas region and when we ordered a Gigondas bottle she brought a different one without telling us -- and it ended up being 2+ times more expensive. The wine was great and we enjoyed it, but they servers did not keep an eye on our glasses and we had to serve ourselves (we don't mind it, but it is an unexpected level of service). And we also felt rushed through the appetizer courses, though we were very clear that we were in no rush. We did not get good explanations about the dishes either and did not feel too welcome.

So, it is not clear if we would recommend TJ to our friends as the price tag ($450-$550 for dinner for two) does not correlate with the service quite well. But, on another hand, the food is mostly great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is good, service is wonderful. We d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food is good, service is wonderful. We did add Wagyu(+$100) and wine pairing (+$134) with chef's menu (+189). Which almost $500 per person.

One couple talked very loud and kind of annoying when most other kept their voice down. Ambiance -1

Wagyu not very surprise me, I had much better in bay area. Truffle egg also not kind of disappointing(barely can see nor taste any truffle ) (Food -2)

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I have not been to Chez TJ in many years ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I have not been to Chez TJ in many years, it is just as excellent if not better than my last experience. My only one minor comment would be our wine orders were not taken as quickly as I would have liked, as we had many canapés on the table with no wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. We also chose t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was excellent. We also chose to do the wine pairing. Some of the choices were not really what we would have preferred. And it was rather expensive for what it was.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was exception. Yes it's pric ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The service was exception. Yes it's pricey, but we had 18 amazing courses and some fantastic wine. The staff also graciously accommodated my pregnant wife's food restrictions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is great for special occasions. We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is great for special occasions. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food even for vegetarians.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food even for vegetarians.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Solid! Creative and always delicious! We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Solid! Creative and always delicious! Well deserved Michelin star! Will continue to come back and continue to tell our friends! ps- bring back your cheese plate with all the accoutrements; missed that on our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite is a word that comes to mind! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Exquisite is a word that comes to mind! My boyfriend booked the reservation at Chez TJ to celebrate my birthday and whoa did I ever feel so celebrated and honored by everyone at the restaurant. The entire meal--dish by dish was a delight for the senses--visually appealing and at times like a piece of art, so delicate in shape and form--the smells so vibrant and potent--the taste offering complex flavor, but never in an overpowering way more like a layering of brilliant thought and craft. We even received an education when one of the members of staff brought out a certificate explaining more about Wagyu beef! Chef even shared some 'extra dishes' and I also received a handwritten birthday card. Everyone on staff was attentive to our table and supportive of one another. My boyfriend is on his way to the CIA in Napa and when he graduates, I would like to bring him back to Chez TJ to celebrate him!!

Thank you for an unforgettable evening of food, wine and merriment!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and experience was good. The price ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food and experience was good. The price paid and meal received was mediocre ($120 for 2 protein dishes). Service was good and attentive, though the descriptions felt very rehearsed, and not conversational.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We did a whole week of eating the best f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We did a whole week of eating the best food for every meal throughout SF and Chez TJ was the best meal we had! We went all out and did the Chef's Tasting Menu, which was an excellent decision. The corn soup with chili oil was out of this world and the foie gras was amazing as always. Desserts were also incredible (especially the Sake Lees)! Great service and amazing atmosphere as if you were in someone's house. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez TJ is an upscale restaurant in Moun ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Chez TJ is an upscale restaurant in Mountain View, I'd rate it among the best. Great place, but also expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What wonderful service! I was most struc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What wonderful service! I was most struck by the fact that the wait staff will let you know when the bathroom is ready, and guide you there, even opening the door for you. Everyone seems genuinely interested in their service, which is refreshing to see in this hustle-bustle world. The food was good, but at time hit-and-miss with some flavors I felt needed to be accentuated in different ways, or that something was just "missing." Wines were good, but the pairing for the extended tasting menu was just too much! Desserts were easily the best part of the night - their pastry chef had her flavors/textures/presentation absolutely on point, and we left the meal feeling very full and very satisfied.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tasting menus for expense accounts

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We had an interesting meal even if it was one of the most expensive dinners I've ever eaten, over $700 for two people. No meal is worth that much. The menu was interesting and varied but there wasn't enough of any one dish to get the full flavor of what was being offered. It was more of a small bite menu than a true tasting experience. We shared on flight of wine and again the servings will interesting were doled out by the thimble full. Every course or pouring was preceded by a description or lecture on the ingredients or the origins and locations of their parentage. The true insult though was the $185 flight being accompanied by a $15 surcharge for sharing. The food was tasty but not worth the hassle or the expense.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Enjoyed the food. Thought I would leave ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Enjoyed the food. Thought I would leave hungry after eating a bunch of daintly sized "courses". Was delightfully surprised that I was quite satisfied at the end of the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every course superb Beautiful old house ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Every course superb

Beautiful old house a lovely ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food, creativity and presentation.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Superb dining experience with the large tasting menu. The service, the food, ambiance, all top-notch. Excellent wine list to come with the food. Certainly a fantastic place to have a long business dinner and working on a deal between courses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

it is very simple: too expensive!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

To be honest, when I made reservations for 5 I was not aware that this restaurant serves only two "sampling menus", one for $120 and one for $185 a person. No a la carte choices, the table must agree on the choice of the sampling menu for all guests. We had a child with us who also was forced a $120 multi-course dinner. The food was good but the pricing is just outrageous. I know that I need to be more careful next time verifying is a given restaurant offers any flexibility to prevent me from going broke. Together with a bottle of "cheap wine" ($80) and the tip we paid $1,100. That is way too much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

Great chef combinations

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

When I come back here, I would ask for the smaller menu. You'll also get a large amount of platters.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dated dining experience that lacked any ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Dated dining experience that lacked any real warmth in hospitality. Dishes are predictable and lack innovation or creativity. When its not hard to get a res, the restaurant is empty (on a Sat @ 7pm no less) and there's no social media presence take it as the sign it is and go somewhere else! Clearly someone knows someome at Michelin...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Our anniversary

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We found this place online and were excited to try a Michelin Star dinning experience. It sure didn't disappoint! We chose the 16 course tasting menu and were continually blown away by the amazing presentation, attentive service and beyond yummy food. We were there for a little over 3 hours and had a great time. Looking forward to coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and ambience. It's so q ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Outstanding food and ambience. It's so quite that we have to whisper. Excellent for a romantic evening. We were there at 5:30 and we were the only one until 8pm. Sat by the Windows, perfect spot. Excellent food. Pricey but worth it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic dinner

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

This was 2nd time visit. Still selected their seasonal menu. Very fresh and delicious great dishes and beautiful display too. Wonderful professional staffs and quiet romantic ambience. This was our anniversary celebration, and they even put efforts to write a card! And it's reasonable price comparing other one star Michelin restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't do the wine pairing

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We are people that enjoy wine but need help from friends when picking a good wine. We studied the wine list before arriving and had selected something. When we arrived, we found that they had just changed the wine list. We decided to do the pairing which we were told is 6 glasses to go with the seven courses (seasonal menu). Although they served the wines in wine glasses, the servings could have been put into small shot glasses. And, the wines were mostly white and pretty ordinary. At $110 per person, it was not worth it. If you are into wine, buy it by the bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent food, but the service misses the beat.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I recently had the pleasure of dining at Chez TJ twice. Both times I was impressed by the quality of the food and really enjoyed myself, but the service has left me feeling a bit uncomfortable and hesitant to recommend the place to others.

I'll just mention a few things by way of example. We were asked twice if we had dined there before and both times were given the same, almost verbatim, spiel about the property and history, which isn't a horrible thing, but makes me feel like there was a lack of coordination. The truffle supplement never arrived and no explanation was ever offered as to why, though I continued to hear the staff offer it to later diners. (amusingly telling them it's "the height of truffle season" in late Feb!) As another example, my dining partner is avoiding wheat, and I had noted this on the reservation, confirmed with the hostess, and yet she was still offered bread. Again, not a horrible thing, but given that it's a set menu, I had to reassure my dining partner that I had indeed mentioned this in the reservation notes and she needed reassurance that the kitchen was aware of her preference for the remaining courses. Maybe the worst thing of the night, again not a big deal but against the backdrop of Michelin-starred elegance it really does stand out: the elderly couple across the room was celebrating their anniversary and was twice perfunctorily wished happy birthday by various staff members! Do you think they felt like the restaurant cared that they were spending their special occasion with them?

I don't expect the average place to get any of the above right, but Chez TJ isn't the average place. It's not the kind of place where you go to just get a good meal, but rather a special occasion place where you go to feel taken care of. It's really just a shame that all the hard work in the back of the house is marred by the perfunctory and uncoordinated service in the front.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Food amazing as is dining experience. So ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Food amazing as is dining experience. Sommelier extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Wine pairings also excellent. Highly recommended for survival occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place for special event dining extravagance

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

I am always impressed by the effort and creativity that goes in to the gourmet meals served at Chez-TJ. This is my go-to place for an exceptional evening, great food and service, superb ambiance and wonderful wine pairings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food fine, service substandard

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

As 3rd time diners at Chez TJ, our expectations ran high. But this time, we were disappointed to the level of crossing TJ off of our list. Our expectations were not met -- by a rather wide margin. Perhaps this was a result of idealizing our own memories, or maybe it was the service.

Allured by the variety of the "Tasting Menu", we took the plunge. We did not opt for the wine pairings -- we decided after our last visit that the selections -- including beer -- were not well matched to our palates.

The food was good as usual, but the service was downright annoying. The staff tried their best, I am sure, but they seemed to be quite insensitive to the visual cues offered them about our being deep in conversation. They managed to time their visits to hit our crescendos, making their presence obtrusive. The typical Chez TJ patter seemed particularly amped up this time with too many obsequious "may I clear that plate for the lady?" probes, but little actual information about the uniqueness, origin or unusual preparation of the chef's selections, which we enjoyed hearing about in the past.

For a meal this expensive, it was jarring to realize that we just wanted it to end. It will probably be a while before we return. In the past the service was more personal and this time the conversation from waitstaff was repetitive and pretentious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Great experience again!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Came here for vday and the set menu was extremely well prepared. Dinner took 3 hours that is about the same time for their normal tasting menu. The taste was very just right for all the dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I moved out here to the Bay Area from Ch ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I moved out here to the Bay Area from Chicago, and one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago (Graham Elliot's) had a tasting menu. So I've been on the lookout for a good restaurant out here that offered one, and I happen to stumble upon this place when looking for a nice place for my fiancé and I to go on Valentine's Day. Well worth it. IT IS PRICEY. But I love the idea of having many different offerings and trying new things. The food and service were outstanding! The only complaint I have is that there was a couple there, and the ENTIRE time they were there (2+ hours), they were both on their phones watching YouTube videos with the volume all the way up. Not to mention every time they got a text message, we could hear it. Normally this wouldn't bother me, but if I'm going to spend $200 a plate not including drinks, I'd expect the ambiance to be on point. Unfortunately the staff did nothing. But aside from this, it was amazing and I would HIGHLY recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

High End - Expensive

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

If you like your courses to be selected from the finest ingredients and the wine pairings to be exceptional then go there but expect to pay nearly $ 1,000.00 for a dinner for two people. There was one course that was beer, bread and cheese pairing that in my opinion did not fit the tasting menu but other than that the courses and pairings were very well done. The staff was a little confused when we ordered the wine pairings and they got a late start when they forgot to send the wine with the first courses but they quickly recovered. You have to be in the mood for a three hour experience like the one they provide. Good luck my foodie friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Perfect spot for a very special dinner

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Celebrated our 33rd wedding anniversary at Chez TJ. My husband is a vegetarian, eggs and dairy OK, and the chef did an outstanding job. Service was impeccable, bread delicious, the soup amazing. Highly recommend coming when you desire a special evening with exquisite flavors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great experience!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a fantastic experience here with the chef's tasting menu (about 15 courses, about 3 hours)

The service was very attentive and the pacing was just right to savor each course -- which we did! Everything was delicious, an adventure in flavors, textures and designs.

The perfect dinner for a couple to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Qualified recommendation

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We loved everything about the restaurant except the price. While the food, service, etc. was exceptional and very creative, it isn't very often that we would spend more than $700 for a dinner for 4.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner Chez TJ

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Dinner was absolutely superb! The chef's tasting menu was wonderful and service was attentive without being disruptive.

I brought a bottle of wine fully expecting a corkage fee, we bought an additional glass each of wine, so they waved our corkage fee!

It is expensive, but if you're a foodie like me and want an experience of a lifetime, it's totally worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

I hate giving a poor review, particularly to a restaurant I wanted to like. But wow was it a let down. While my husband and I were in absolutely no rush, 35 minutes after sitting at our table, we still only had sparkling water served to us. No one took our wine/drink order or walked us through the pairing option for a full 45 minutes after sitting...in a smallish room with too many two-top tables. It was awkward to hear everyone's personal conversations when we were trying to enjoy our own. This put a damper on our moods to begin with, but we remained optimistic that while the service was off to a slow start and the setting was awkward at best, the food would impress. Sadly, it did not. I was served meat on my first course despite making it clear I am a pescatarian. They ran out of the beef my husband had committed to paying a $75 up charge for, but instead of telling him about it, he was served the scraps in poor fashion (note we were not charged but still, the presentation left something to be desired). And not a single course of the extensive tasting menu excited us. The desserts were inedible. The cheese mousse was strange and slimy. In the end, the only thing we truly enjoyed was our wine selection (excellent recommendation from the sommelier-a 2008 Amarone). Certainly not a place I would select again in the future, reinforced by the $650 tab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Small and intimate experience -- good fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Small and intimate experience -- good food, good times. The service was really great. Left full but not stuffed. Spent over four hours at the restaurant enjoying the different small bites. Most tables seem to operate two shifts: one early (5:30 pm to 6:30 pm), the other late (starting at like 8:30 pm) since dinner options are between 2 to 3 hours. If you want the longer option, the tasting menu, I recommend booking the early evening option so that you're not there until midnight.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

overall very good fine dining experience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

top notch food and cooking

tasting menu lasted for 3.5 hours, a bit too long for my taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Flawless.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

A very good experience, both the food and the wine. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.