About Chez TJ

938 Villa Street
Mountain View, CA 94041
View Larger Map

Attentive service, fresh flowers and soft music surround guests at this intimate, Michelin Starred, restaurant in downtown Mountain View. Inside a lovely Victorian home, Executive Chef Jarad Gallagher creates a contemporary French cuisine that accentuates the vibrant, fresh flavors found naturally in high quality products. Chez TJ's leads guests through an exciting evening of culinary pleasure. Our prix fixe style encourages a relaxed and enjoyable evening of dining and conversation. Four dining rooms provide an intimate setting for a special dinner with family and friends. One Star Michelin 2012 Guide, "Top Restaurants 2007" SF Examiner, "Three and 1/2 Stars" - San Francisco Magazine and San Jose Mercury News. Top Scores, Zagat & Gayot Dining Guides 2007.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only
Tuesdays - Thursdays 5:30pm - 9pm
Fridays - Saturdays 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Shoreline & Castro

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 964-7466

Website:
http://www.cheztj.com/

Parking Details:
Across the street or in the three story edifice, up one block from your location.

Public Transit:
CalTrain: Mountain View
Lightrail: Mountain View

Executive Chef:
Jarad Gallagher

Private Party Facilities:
Chez TJ offers four private dining rooms that can accommodate 8 - 35 people. For inquiry, please call or email justin@cheztj.com

Private Party Contact:
Justin Rodriguez: 6509647466x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Fireplace, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chez TJ
Chez TJ
Chez TJ
Chez TJ
Perigord Truffle Ravioli
Sticky Toffee Root Cake
Truffle Camembert
Ribeye Of American Wagyu
Ash Crusted Sea Trout
Tsar Nicoulai Caviar
Seared Foie Gras
Dungeness Crab & Duck Leg
Tropical Fruit Soup
Apple, Yuzu
Jidori Egg, Artichoke, Bonito
Blueberry Crumble
Tamarind And Yuzu Sorbet
A5 Wagyu
Bonito, Caviar
Rose Lemonade
Strawberry Velouté
Levain With Peas And Butter
Chouquette, Passionfruit Tart, Truffle
A-5 Japanese Wagyu Strip Loin
Japanese Shimaji
Foies Gras Torchon
12 Course
Birthday Cake!
Milk Chocolate & Huckleberry
Red Abalone
Acorn Fed Pork Tenderloin
Beurre D'isigny
Sourdough Levain
Brioche
Satsuma Mandarin, Gingerbread
Squab & Foie Terrine
Birthday cake
A5 Waygu!!
Butter
Pate De Fruits, Caramels & Macarons
Strawberries & Banana
Kumquat Panacotta
Caviar Service: Cucumber & Cheese
jamón ibérico
Foie Stuffed Morell
Abalone!
Sesame Sticks W Creamy Goat Cheese
Watermelon Palate Cleanser
Avocado, Pineapple & Santa Claus Melon
Caviar!!!!
Seared Scallop
Sip Of Gamay
Caviar Service: Beignets
Brioche & Lavender Honey Roll
Barbera
Abalone Magic
Uni Pudding & Roe
Gamay
Egg Porn
Lamb Rack
Final Chocolate Dessert
Vanilla Bean Pudding, Lemon Sherbet & Apricots
 Lobster/sweetbreads And More
Palate Cleanser
Fg Oh My.
Duck Madness
Poached Day Boat Scallops
Suzuki Fish
Beurre
Dungeness Crab & Sweetbreads
Beet Salad
Coffee
Carbonara & White Truffles
garden salad
Hamachi
Brut Champagne
Pork Cooked in Two Ways
Lamb
Amuse Bouche
Cheese 1
Cheese 2
Foie Gras Truffle
Bread Service
Egg Treat
Pot Of Earth
Cheese Course
 Wagyu
Brut Rosé
Risotto
Table Flowers
Cheese Sides
Butter Service
Tea Desserts
Fluke Sashimi
Roasted Strauss Family Veal
Kir Royale
Alaskan Halibut
Crispy Southern California White Sea Bass
Petite Fours
Sonoma Foie Gras

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Chez TJ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Quiet

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Peninsula
Best Food
Peninsula
Best Service
Peninsula
2 More
Romantic
Peninsula
Special Occasion
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Mountain View ›

special occasion (30)
romantic (24)
fit for foodies (22)
See All
notable wine list (11)
neighborhood gem (7)
Sort By:
Newest
967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Tasting menus for expense accounts

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

We had an interesting meal even if it was one of the most expensive dinners I've ever eaten, over $700 for two people. No meal is worth that much. The menu was interesting and varied but there wasn't enough of any one dish to get the full flavor of what was being offered. It was more of a small bite menu than a true tasting experience. We shared on flight of wine and again the servings will interesting were doled out by the thimble full. Every course or pouring was preceded by a description or lecture on the ingredients or the origins and locations of their parentage. The true insult though was the $185 flight being accompanied by a $15 surcharge for sharing. The food was tasty but not worth the hassle or the expense.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the food. Thought I would leave ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Enjoyed the food. Thought I would leave hungry after eating a bunch of daintly sized "courses". Was delightfully surprised that I was quite satisfied at the end of the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Every course superb Beautiful old house ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Every course superb Beautiful old house a lovely ambience

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Exceptional food, creativity and presentation.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Superb dining experience with the large tasting menu. The service, the food, ambiance, all top-notch. Excellent wine list to come with the food. Certainly a fantastic place to have a long business dinner and working on a deal between courses.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

it is very simple: too expensive!

Dined on May 4, 2016

To be honest, when I made reservations for 5 I was not aware that this restaurant serves only two "sampling menus", one for $120 and one for $185 a person. No a la carte choices, the table must agree on the choice of the sampling menu for all guests. We had a child with us who also was forced a $120 multi-course dinner. The food was good but the pricing is just outrageous. I know that I need to be more careful next time verifying is a given restaurant offers any flexibility to prevent me from going broke. Together with a bottle of "cheap wine" ($80) and the tip we paid $1,100. That is way too much.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great chef combinations

Dined on April 23, 2016

When I come back here, I would ask for the smaller menu. You'll also get a large amount of platters.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service2

Dated dining experience that lacked any ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Dated dining experience that lacked any real warmth in hospitality. Dishes are predictable and lack innovation or creativity. When its not hard to get a res, the restaurant is empty (on a Sat @ 7pm no less) and there's no social media presence take it as the sign it is and go somewhere else! Clearly someone knows someome at Michelin...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our anniversary

Dined on April 16, 2016

We found this place online and were excited to try a Michelin Star dinning experience. It sure didn't disappoint! We chose the 16 course tasting menu and were continually blown away by the amazing presentation, attentive service and beyond yummy food. We were there for a little over 3 hours and had a great time. Looking forward to coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and ambience. It's so q ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Outstanding food and ambience. It's so quite that we have to whisper. Excellent for a romantic evening. We were there at 5:30 and we were the only one until 8pm. Sat by the Windows, perfect spot. Excellent food. Pricey but worth it!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic dinner

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

This was 2nd time visit. Still selected their seasonal menu. Very fresh and delicious great dishes and beautiful display too. Wonderful professional staffs and quiet romantic ambience. This was our anniversary celebration, and they even put efforts to write a card! And it's reasonable price comparing other one star Michelin restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Don't do the wine pairing

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We are people that enjoy wine but need help from friends when picking a good wine. We studied the wine list before arriving and had selected something. When we arrived, we found that they had just changed the wine list. We decided to do the pairing which we were told is 6 glasses to go with the seven courses (seasonal menu). Although they served the wines in wine glasses, the servings could have been put into small shot glasses. And, the wines were mostly white and pretty ordinary. At $110 per person, it was not worth it. If you are into wine, buy it by the bottle.

food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent food, but the service misses the beat.

Dined on February 21, 2016

I recently had the pleasure of dining at Chez TJ twice. Both times I was impressed by the quality of the food and really enjoyed myself, but the service has left me feeling a bit uncomfortable and hesitant to recommend the place to others. I'll just mention a few things by way of example. We were asked twice if we had dined there before and both times were given the same, almost verbatim, spiel about the property and history, which isn't a horrible thing, but makes me feel like there was a lack of coordination. The truffle supplement never arrived and no explanation was ever offered as to why, though I continued to hear the staff offer it to later diners. (amusingly telling them it's "the height of truffle season" in late Feb!) As another example, my dining partner is avoiding wheat, and I had noted this on the reservation, confirmed with the hostess, and yet she was still offered bread. Again, not a horrible thing, but given that it's a set menu, I had to reassure my dining partner that I had indeed mentioned this in the reservation notes and she needed reassurance that the kitchen was aware of her preference for the remaining courses. Maybe the worst thing of the night, again not a big deal but against the backdrop of Michelin-starred elegance it really does stand out: the elderly couple across the room was celebrating their anniversary and was twice perfunctorily wished happy birthday by various staff members! Do you think they felt like the restaurant cared that they were spending their special occasion with them? I don't expect the average place to get any of the above right, but Chez TJ isn't the average place. It's not the kind of place where you go to just get a good meal, but rather a special occasion place where you go to feel taken care of. It's really just a shame that all the hard work in the back of the house is marred by the perfunctory and uncoordinated service in the front.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food amazing as is dining experience. So ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Food amazing as is dining experience. Sommelier extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Wine pairings also excellent. Highly recommended for survival occasions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place for special event dining extravagance

Dined on February 19, 2016

I am always impressed by the effort and creativity that goes in to the gourmet meals served at Chez-TJ. This is my go-to place for an exceptional evening, great food and service, superb ambiance and wonderful wine pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Food fine, service substandard

Dined on February 19, 2016

As 3rd time diners at Chez TJ, our expectations ran high. But this time, we were disappointed to the level of crossing TJ off of our list. Our expectations were not met -- by a rather wide margin. Perhaps this was a result of idealizing our own memories, or maybe it was the service. Allured by the variety of the "Tasting Menu", we took the plunge. We did not opt for the wine pairings -- we decided after our last visit that the selections -- including beer -- were not well matched to our palates. The food was good as usual, but the service was downright annoying. The staff tried their best, I am sure, but they seemed to be quite insensitive to the visual cues offered them about our being deep in conversation. They managed to time their visits to hit our crescendos, making their presence obtrusive. The typical Chez TJ patter seemed particularly amped up this time with too many obsequious "may I clear that plate for the lady?" probes, but little actual information about the uniqueness, origin or unusual preparation of the chef's selections, which we enjoyed hearing about in the past. For a meal this expensive, it was jarring to realize that we just wanted it to end. It will probably be a while before we return. In the past the service was more personal and this time the conversation from waitstaff was repetitive and pretentious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience again!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Came here for vday and the set menu was extremely well prepared. Dinner took 3 hours that is about the same time for their normal tasting menu. The taste was very just right for all the dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4

I moved out here to the Bay Area from Ch ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

I moved out here to the Bay Area from Chicago, and one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago (Graham Elliot's) had a tasting menu. So I've been on the lookout for a good restaurant out here that offered one, and I happen to stumble upon this place when looking for a nice place for my fiancé and I to go on Valentine's Day. Well worth it. IT IS PRICEY. But I love the idea of having many different offerings and trying new things. The food and service were outstanding! The only complaint I have is that there was a couple there, and the ENTIRE time they were there (2+ hours), they were both on their phones watching YouTube videos with the volume all the way up. Not to mention every time they got a text message, we could hear it. Normally this wouldn't bother me, but if I'm going to spend $200 a plate not including drinks, I'd expect the ambiance to be on point. Unfortunately the staff did nothing. But aside from this, it was amazing and I would HIGHLY recommend.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

High End - Expensive

Dined on February 14, 2016

If you like your courses to be selected from the finest ingredients and the wine pairings to be exceptional then go there but expect to pay nearly $ 1,000.00 for a dinner for two people. There was one course that was beer, bread and cheese pairing that in my opinion did not fit the tasting menu but other than that the courses and pairings were very well done. The staff was a little confused when we ordered the wine pairings and they got a late start when they forgot to send the wine with the first courses but they quickly recovered. You have to be in the mood for a three hour experience like the one they provide. Good luck my foodie friends.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect spot for a very special dinner

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

Celebrated our 33rd wedding anniversary at Chez TJ. My husband is a vegetarian, eggs and dairy OK, and the chef did an outstanding job. Service was impeccable, bread delicious, the soup amazing. Highly recommend coming when you desire a special evening with exquisite flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great experience!

Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a fantastic experience here with the chef's tasting menu (about 15 courses, about 3 hours) The service was very attentive and the pacing was just right to savor each course -- which we did! Everything was delicious, an adventure in flavors, textures and designs. The perfect dinner for a couple to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Qualified recommendation

Dined on January 31, 2016

We loved everything about the restaurant except the price. While the food, service, etc. was exceptional and very creative, it isn't very often that we would spend more than $700 for a dinner for 4.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner Chez TJ

Dined on January 29, 2016

Dinner was absolutely superb! The chef's tasting menu was wonderful and service was attentive without being disruptive. I brought a bottle of wine fully expecting a corkage fee, we bought an additional glass each of wine, so they waved our corkage fee! It is expensive, but if you're a foodie like me and want an experience of a lifetime, it's totally worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointed.

Dined on January 17, 2016

I hate giving a poor review, particularly to a restaurant I wanted to like. But wow was it a let down. While my husband and I were in absolutely no rush, 35 minutes after sitting at our table, we still only had sparkling water served to us. No one took our wine/drink order or walked us through the pairing option for a full 45 minutes after sitting...in a smallish room with too many two-top tables. It was awkward to hear everyone's personal conversations when we were trying to enjoy our own. This put a damper on our moods to begin with, but we remained optimistic that while the service was off to a slow start and the setting was awkward at best, the food would impress. Sadly, it did not. I was served meat on my first course despite making it clear I am a pescatarian. They ran out of the beef my husband had committed to paying a $75 up charge for, but instead of telling him about it, he was served the scraps in poor fashion (note we were not charged but still, the presentation left something to be desired). And not a single course of the extensive tasting menu excited us. The desserts were inedible. The cheese mousse was strange and slimy. In the end, the only thing we truly enjoyed was our wine selection (excellent recommendation from the sommelier-a 2008 Amarone). Certainly not a place I would select again in the future, reinforced by the $650 tab.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Small and intimate experience -- good fo ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Small and intimate experience -- good food, good times. The service was really great. Left full but not stuffed. Spent over four hours at the restaurant enjoying the different small bites. Most tables seem to operate two shifts: one early (5:30 pm to 6:30 pm), the other late (starting at like 8:30 pm) since dinner options are between 2 to 3 hours. If you want the longer option, the tasting menu, I recommend booking the early evening option so that you're not there until midnight.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

overall very good fine dining experience

Dined on January 17, 2016

top notch food and cooking tasting menu lasted for 3.5 hours, a bit too long for my taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Flawless.

Dined on January 15, 2016

A very good experience, both the food and the wine. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A place for your special occasiom

Dined on January 9, 2016

Have not been here for a while, the food and services are still good. It is definitely a place to go for special occasion, 2 pre-fix menu options, not large portion but very delicate and good. Just make sure you identify ALL allergies to the waiter ahead of time. I missed one and realized when the dish arrived, it was uncomfortable as the chef was NOT happy and they had to provide an alternative.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome and very unique dining experience.

Dined on January 8, 2016

I've been enjoying special events and dining at Chez TJ for over 20 years, and they never disappoint! A great place for special occasions in life.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed every coarse .. Very nice pairin ...

Dined on January 7, 2016

Enjoyed every coarse .. Very nice pairing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Culinary Adventure

Dined on January 1, 2016

My husband and I dined there on New Year's Eve and I can fully understand some of the negative comments, e.g. "We left hungry" and "overpriced". If you're looking for a 3-4 course, stick-to-your-ribs meal, then this is not the place for you. However, if you're looking for an adventure in food and wine, then that's quite another story. For the high prices, you're paying for the thought, creativity, and labor behind each morsel. Though one taste presented to me was not to my liking (nori wrapped potato), and the celeriac and uni could have been served warmer, those were the only two minor comments I can lend to the chef. Everything else was superb. Timing between courses was appropriate, allowing us to savor rather than devour each item presented to us. Each dish was like sipping wine . . . you're supposed think about the flavors on your palate to fully appreciate what you're eating. Beer with foie gras? Who would have thought. And the chance to taste A5 Japanese Wagu, truly an experience. No, after a four-hour, eleven course meal I did not feel hungry, nor did I feel stuffed. I did leave quite pleased with the experience and felt more educated about food, wine, and their appreciation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Birthday at Chez TJ

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

Four of us dined at Chez TJ. It was an enjoyable evening and we were there close to 4 hours. The only disappointment was the amount of food and the ribeye. The steak lacked flavor and was hard to cut. I'm not a big eater and I was still hungry after we finished. My husband would go back, but for a $700+ dinner for 4, I will go to Ambience in Los altos instead.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

very creative, beautiful presentation, great wine

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

we had Christmas dinner, it was pre fix menu that I was little worried but every course was graet with pairing wine. Definitely going back this restaurant again. wine was absolutely beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

I had heard great things about this rest ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

I had heard great things about this restaurant and for our family Christmas dinner I made reservations for their 7 course prefix menu. The food was terrible. I had anticipated delicious authentic French cuisine. It was awful. The food is French Asian fusion. And none of the flavors tasted good together. The abalone was tough like an octopus, the deserts were chocolate bought at a store None of that delicious famous French pastry. It was discussing. We left hungry disappointed after $600. Each plate that was removed we were asked if we didn't like the food and we didn't and we couldn't even pretend that we did. The service is impeccable, the decor is ok the music was too loud. The tables are too close. I got hit several times by the person sitting behind me. This place is for amateurs. With so many excellent restaurants just minutes away don't waste your money here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Chez TJ provides an outstanding and uniq ...

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Chez TJ provides an outstanding and unique culinary experience, with a superb wine list and exceptional service.

food3
ambience3
service3

Dinner took 4 hours, Typically is only 2 ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

Dinner took 4 hours, Typically is only 2.5-hrs. Ridicules since the servicing time between dishes are unnecessary long. This is for my wife birthday and she was disappointed.

food4
ambience5
service5

Group dinner at Chez TJ

Dined on December 5, 2015

The service at Chez TJ was impeccable. My group tried the chefs tasting menu. With 18 courses with the seasons freshes ingredients, it is sure to delight. However, for the price and Michelin star, I was hoping for just a bit more.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great vegan option. Very creative. I rec ...

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

Great vegan option. Very creative. I recommend doing chef's tasting menu and go hungry

food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and great food. What I ...

Dined on November 19, 2015

Wonderful service and great food. What I first recall is approaching the beautiful Victorian home, and having the door immediately open with a greeting and being seated right away. Once our order for the Chef Tasting Menu, the dishes kept coming and our water constantly filled.

food5
ambience4
service4

They've upped their game from 2 years ago

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

We splurged on a special meal at Chez TJ's, and had a much better experience than the last time we went, a couple of years ago. The service was attentive and friendly (although I cringed a little at being called "my good man" until I complained); the food varied, imaginative, and nicely presented. They had no trouble adjusting to one of us not eating seafood. The wine pairings were mostly apt and rather good, except for the choice of fancy beer for one course, which just didn't work for us. It's great to have access to this level of dining so close to home.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

Over priced. Not worth it

vip
Dined on November 12, 2015

Two options: $120 a person or $$180 a person + wine + tip. In an old house with no view. Forced to eat the 7 or 9 courses they offer. Not worth the money. The best thing we had was the soup and it was in a tiny, tiny vessel with 3 sips.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.