About Chez TJ

938 Villa Street
Mountain View, CA 94041
View Larger Map

Attentive service, fresh flowers and soft music surround guests at this intimate, Michelin Starred, restaurant in downtown Mountain View. Inside a lovely Victorian home, Executive Chef Jarad Gallagher creates a contemporary French cuisine that accentuates the vibrant, fresh flavors found naturally in high quality products. Chez TJ's leads guests through an exciting evening of culinary pleasure. Our prix fixe style encourages a relaxed and enjoyable evening of dining and conversation. Four dining rooms provide an intimate setting for a special dinner with family and friends. One Star Michelin 2012 Guide, "Top Restaurants 2007" SF Examiner, "Three and 1/2 Stars" - San Francisco Magazine and San Jose Mercury News. Top Scores, Zagat & Gayot Dining Guides 2007.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only
Tuesdays - Thursdays 5:30pm - 9pm
Fridays - Saturdays 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Shoreline & Castro

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 964-7466

Website:
http://www.cheztj.com/

Parking Details:
Across the street or in the three story edifice, up one block from your location.

Public Transit:
CalTrain: Mountain View
Lightrail: Mountain View

Executive Chef:
Jarad Gallagher

Private Party Facilities:
Chez TJ offers four private dining rooms that can accommodate 8 - 35 people. For inquiry, please call or email justin@cheztj.com

Private Party Contact:
Justin Rodriguez: (650) 964-7466

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Chez TJ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (19)
Tasting Menu (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Seasonal (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (5)
Organic (3)
Fireplace (3)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1071 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Excellent presentation. Wine ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Excellent presentation. Wine selection good and tasting menu works really well with the food/wine mix. Ambience is totally fine, but it seems a bit dated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Valentines dinner with my girlfriend. it ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentines dinner with my girlfriend. it was perfect

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

That was an absolutely amazing dinner. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

That was an absolutely amazing dinner. I took my girl there on valentines day and it was amazing. Thank Yiu chez tj staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The presentation of each dish was amazin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The presentation of each dish was amazing. The food also tasted great...but you still feel guilty about the price tag.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

I felt that one beef dish should be serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I felt that one beef dish should be served earlier because it's fatty. I do like the fatty taste. But not after several dishes. Unfortunately, I was so full and couldn't take deserts. But the waiter told me that I couldn't take the deserts home. So I ended up eating all those deserts which became a torture. That's something I feel that Chez TJ can do better for its patrons.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed every course, it was our 50th an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Enjoyed every course, it was our 50th anniversary. The food was absolutely fabulous. Have been there several times and the food keeps getting better every time. It deserves at least two more Michelin stars!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For anyone wanting a fabulous, special m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

For anyone wanting a fabulous, special meal in a romantic, exquisite setting in Silicon Valley, this is where you should go! The meal structure is a tasting menu, no list of dishes or need to order, they just bring one wonderful small course after another. (They will, of course, accommodate allergies and dietary restrictions.) The wine pairing is creative and well matched. Chez TJ is one of my favorite restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For over 20 years always a favorite for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

For over 20 years always a favorite for any special occasion (even if we need to invent one for an excuse to go). The food is always different and a delightful surprise. We have never been disappointed- this menu had a decidedly ASIAN flare the last was a bit Traditional French (with of course twists)- so fun!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy venue, amazing service, diverse ing ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Cozy venue, amazing service, diverse ingredients, and beautiful presentation. Unfortunately we were seated near the kitchen so we could hear the chef yelling at staff. The global menu was $200/person and, while good, it wasn't knock-your-socks-off good. Our experience at The Bazaar Miami was better and less expensive.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

Exquisite dining experience in a casual ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Exquisite dining experience in a casual atmosphere. You can actually talk in lower tone and hear each other. Attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great restaurant with delicate tastin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A great restaurant with delicate tasting menu and local fresh ingredients in the south bay area. Worth a visit. Excellent service. Need to work on the deserts though. Overall, a satisfactory dining experience. Will come back!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an experience as much as a meal. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is an experience as much as a meal. Every last detail of your evening is well thought out and the execution by the staff is amazing. They operate in a choreographed manner that will leave your head spinning. The food is nothing short of amazing. This place is worth the splurge money you will spend going here. It’s the type of food experience you may only experience once or twice in your lifetime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful meal by Chef Jared!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a wonderful meal by Chef Jared!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food presentation! Everything lo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Amazing food presentation! Everything looked as good as it tasted. Service was impeccable. Definitely a special occasion restaurant as it is very expensive, but worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

That puréed beef fat was amazing! It cam ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

That puréed beef fat was amazing! It came on a plate next to uni so my first impression was that it'll play the supporting role...boy was I wrong! It's been 12 hrs and I'm still salivating. So good!

We came for my husband's birthday and all the staff seemed to know it & wished him a happy birthday. Very nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third Christmas Eve dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our third Christmas Eve dinner at Chez TJ. Every year, including this one, the food has been wonderful, and the service has been exceptional.

Our servers were very professional and also very funny.

In particular, the duck was presented three ways, all of which were subtle, flavorful, and masterfully prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was absolutely amazed that there was a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I was absolutely amazed that there was a restaurant of this caliber in Mountain View. Every course was delicious and inventive. The staff were formal yet friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and ambiance are perfect. Rudy ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and ambiance are perfect. Rudy the host was perfect as was one server who was Asian who gave cheerful and helpful answers to oyr questions. The other service was consistently subpar in two ways. (1) Servers kept appearing in droves cutting short our conversation each time giving hurried pressure descriptions of each course. (2) The worst bill padding I've ever experienced. The prices of the extras were never listed or mentioned. They waived corkage when I ordered a half bottle as if they were doing me a difficult favor; I had told them whatever their policy was was ok with me. I think the water for two people was $40. I am not kidding. The extras added hundreds to our meal including an additional wine whose price was not explained. It was a tourist ripoff show in these ways and not an intimate meal. Manresa has none of these issues.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Fab u lou's! Service was spectacular, f ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Fab u lou's!

Service was spectacular, from the outreach call confirming our reservation when we were stuck in traffic, to the personal knowledge gain awareness of "let's get you caught up, fed well and get you out the door in time for your show". Top notch personalized service! We felt so catered too and the staff had a perfect balance of private conversational time interjected between tastings.

So fun upon entering to pass behind the chefs busy at the stoves and have a continue line of observation in ones peripheral view while dining of the actually workload that goes into creating good eats in a cozy Portland establishment setup.

The dishes were visually tantalizing and meticulously hand decorated. Flavors were broad with a variety of combinations as well. No overlap in dishes that I could or would have ever made at home.

Would highly recommend and will return. :)))

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular food with an amazing wine pa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Spectacular food with an amazing wine pairing. Certainly not cheap, but worth every dollar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. The wine paired with ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food was great. The wine paired with the food was disappointing. We asked for the expensive pairing (300 each) and old world wines. The red with the final main and the desert wine were rather mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A fantastic experience that I would reco ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A fantastic experience that I would recommend to anyone! This dining experience was completely worth it. I would return to Chez TJ without hesitation. We came here to celebrate a birthday and chose to dine from the California local menu and selected a wine pairing to share. Everything tasted spectacular, including the wine! An out of this world experience!! Go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food wasn't good, they excuse about worn ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food wasn't good, they excuse about worng (tempura was not chrispy enough but they told me that is proposed for texture, but that is way too tough to eat.)

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Loved our experience there! Special and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Loved our experience there! Special and so amazing and delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything tasted and looked beautiful ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything tasted and looked beautiful

Wine pairing was a little light on pours - we thought three sips would be fair. Some pours we lighter than others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great meal! Staff is extremely ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always a great meal! Staff is extremely attentive, pleasant and accommodating.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite in every possible respect! Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Exquisite in every possible respect! The best meal I've ever had anywhere in the world!

Tags: Private Room, Seasonal, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value for a special occasion. The ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great value for a special occasion. The food was wonderful and they kindly substituted 1 ingredient that we weren't fond of.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding place for special occasions. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Outstanding place for special occasions. Extremely good service, delicious food. Will definitely visit this place again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly awesome food and wonderful wi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Incredibly awesome food and wonderful wine pairings. Incredibly expensive to boot, but worth doing at least once for the experience alone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my wife hear for her birthday. W ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I took my wife hear for her birthday. We had the standard tasting menu as well as the win pairing (additional $100 each). In my opinion we definitely did not get our money's worth on the wine pairing, having received only about 5, 2oz pours each of wine. That's about $10 per oz.

The food was fantastic, and the service was out of this world. One negative was that since the restaurant is an a very old house, it smells a bit old and caused my wife to have the worst allergy attack of her life. We had to end dinner early because she could barely breathe. For such an expensive meal I would expect something like mold/mildew not be a factor in our experience.

Other than the wine pairing cost and allergy attack it was a pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

I can't say enough about this restaurant ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I can't say enough about this restaurant, which I have kept coming back to for many years when I want a great meal, exquisite service, a beautiful and quiet atmosphere, and just a memorable evening. Every dish was at least excellent. Some were composed of very surprising and even thrilling flavors. The dishes were inventive, incredibly tasty, and beautifully presented. The staff will spoil you, and they just keep coming, one after another, but very considerately spaced to allow a leisurely three-hour dinner for even the shorter of the two tasting menus. Lots of small treats thrown in at the beginning and the end. Every time I eat there I ask myself why it took so long to get back.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I go to Chez TJ about onc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I go to Chez TJ about once a year. We love it every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chez TJ is a very special restaurant wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Chez TJ is a very special restaurant with seasonal tasting menus that are handcrafted. Expect to spend about $200/person and 2-3 hours, but expect to go away having had a delicious meal that you'll be inspired by.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best food ever!! Unique, superb and inte ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Best food ever!! Unique, superb and interesting ! Go for the chef's tasting menu - you won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I reserved TJ for my wife's birthday. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I reserved TJ for my wife's birthday.

I brought Flowers and One bottle of Champagne 2 hours before the reservation time.

TJ received them and set-up the flowers at the table.

Also, they brought the Champagne with good condition.

I really thank TJ for all the set-up.

The food is "New adventure". TJ has French/Japanese/Italian/Chinese mixed.

I like small ravioli with White Truffle and Lobster with Bisque.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Short version: TJ has been better, but t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Short version: TJ has been better, but this night: not worth the price.

Longer version...

** Just under $1000 for three people, the more expensive menu, no add-ons, one wine pairing, 1 half bottle of Merlot ($65), one coffee. And when they say 2 ounce pours on the wines, they don't give one milliliter over. I just feel like I shouldn't have to take micro-sips of the wine, just to make it to the next course.

** Two of the dishes were fantastic, especially with the pairing. The foie gras, and the duck. The rest, were just good. No vegetables to speak of, though sadly, this is not uncommon with prix fixe dinners.

** Recommend going on a week night, if possible. We went on a Saturday night; full house. With that many tables to serve, and a high number of courses, wine stewards, bread/water people and servers, combined with the smaller, intimate rooms at TJ's, it can get a bit hectic.

We'll give it a several year rest before we try it again.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

As always a wonderful dining experience. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

As always a wonderful dining experience. It is expensive but the full tasting menu is out of this world. Loved the onion soup and antelope. Great use of local produce and seasonal ingredients. The Neal did have more of an Asian influence rather than French but it worked beautifully. Wait staff was impeccable too. They even lock your bathroom door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chez TJ is one of the very few places i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Chez TJ is one of the very few places in Silicon Valley to treat foodie family members to a perfectly prepared series of tasting delights. The prices are high, but you won't get this kind of experience otherwise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food are excellent except the dessert. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food are excellent except the dessert. Compare to the other courses, the dessert is a bit underwhelming, maybe time to get a new pastry chef.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.