Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Mangiafoco
161 reviews
Italian | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
BEVO Bar + Pizzeria
388 reviews
Pizzeria | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
Trattoria Gio
Reviews Coming Soon
Italian | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
Le Club Chasse et Peche
410 reviews
French | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
Vieux-Port Steakhouse
640 reviews
Steakhouse | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
Taverne Gaspar
320 reviews
Gastro Pub | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Montreal
26 reviews
Steakhouse | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
Modavie
1095 reviews
French | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
Rodizio Brasil
36 reviews
Brazilian | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
Mimi La Nuit
40 reviews
Wine Bar | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
L'Auberge Saint-Gabriel
188 reviews
Contemporary French | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
Les 400 Coups
714 reviews
Contemporary French | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
Tasse & Coupe
Reviews Coming Soon
Italian | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
John Michael's Pub
2 reviews
African | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
Mechant Boeuf Bar & Brasserie
456 reviews
Gastro Pub | Old Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now

About Chez Queux - Permanently Closed

158, St-Paul Est
Montreal, QC H2Y 1G6
View Larger Map

40 ans déjà ! Haut lieu de la gastronomie montréalaise, Chez Queux est l’une des rares institutions qui pratiquent encore l’art de la découpe et des flambés à table le tout dans une ambiance d’une autre époque. Situé au cœur du Vieux Quartier, à l’angle de la rue St-Paul et la Place Jacques-Cartier, Chez Queux vous propose : menu à la carte, table d’hôte, menu pré-théatre et de groupe inspirés des classiques de la cuisine française et des découvertes gastronomiques d’aujourd’hui. Joignez vous à Chez Queux pour célébrer nos 40 ans d’histoire.

Since 1973, Chez Queux is one of the few institutions that still practice the art of cutting and flambé at the table in an atmosphere of another era. Located in the heart of the Old Montreal, Chez Queux offers: a la carte, table d'hôte, pre-theater and group menus inspired from classic French cuisine and culinary discoveries of today. Join us to celebrate our 40 years of history.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dîner: Dimanche, Mardi – Jeudi: 17:00 – 22:00, Vendredi – Samedi: 17:00 – 22:30

Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Place Jacques-Cartier

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 866-5194

Website:
http://www.chezqueux.com/

Parking Details:
Le stationnement le plus pratique se trouve au 330 Champs de Mars, à 5 minutes de marche du restaurant.
Prix:$7.50 à partir de 17hrs.

The closest parking lot is located at: 330 Champs de Mars, 5 minutes walking distance from the restaurant. The price is $7.50 after 5:00pm.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Paul Aubry

Private Party Facilities:
Avec plus de 250 places assises sur trois étages et un vaste choix de menu de groupe, laissez vous choyer par notre personnel qualifié qui saura vous accompagner lors de l'organisation de votre événement. Imbattable pour les menus de groupe, petits et grands, et toutes les occasions.

Private Party Contact:
Tijani Koubaa: 5148665194x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sort By:
Newest
144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointing

Dined on January 1, 2016

The old waiters were unresponsive, down in the mouth, not communicative/friendly or any eye contact. Odd food combinations-macaroons stuffed with fois gras; main course-pheasant-very, very dry. Unfortunately the new year's celebrations on the street overrode the music inside so one was dining in a rock concert.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great!

Dined on December 30, 2015

I loved my experience at Chez Queux. I will go back for sure. The place is beautiful. Perfect for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Close quarters

Dined on December 26, 2015

Went with my wife and was placed very close to another couple. It made for a difficult intimate experience without whispering.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

C'est Parfait.

Dined on November 22, 2015

Upon entering, one might think that they had stepped back in time several decades. Consider this part of its charm, its romance. And, if one is looking for classic French cuisine expertly prepared and served, there can be no finer restaurant than Les Queux. I only wish that I lived closer to Montreal because, this restaurant is parfait.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Chez Queux

Dined on November 7, 2015

We enjoyed our dinner but the food was not hot enough. Both our meals were only luke warm. We did not return our food but we should have done it. The ambiance was O.K. and the service was very professional also.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

A MTL OpenTable Must

Dined on November 1, 2015

Great place. Great food. Good People. At $41, it's an outstanding price/quality ratio! Wtih the OpenTable event we probably saved $25 to 35 per person! If it isn't the kind of place you would usually go when full price, use this opportunity to try, taste and see the difference!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful French Cuisine

Dined on October 11, 2015

It was a real joy to dine at Chez Queux. The restaurant is in a beautiful stone building in old Montreal with interiors which has a warm and welcome ambience. The food, particularly the steak with peppercorn sauce, crepe suzette and cherry jubilee were flambed beside our table...something that is rarely seen nowadays even in fine-dining restaurant. The food was delicious, the wine wonderful and not overly pricey compared to Toque and we thought the food was actually better than Toque (which we dined the night before). The dining room was full with people, but the noise level was surprisingly quiet to light moderate - the Quebeckers are so well mannered - a joy to see compared to high-priced restaurants in Toronto where everyone is shouting just to be heard. A definite gem in Montreal. Can't wait to go back in my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Step back in time to old world French restaurant.

Dined on October 5, 2015

Delicious old-school French food, charming wait staff, old world ambiance. This restaurant has been around a while, and isn't a hot spot or vibrant bar scene, but we loved it. Great but limited wine selection, Chateaubriand for two- fantastic! The escargots with mushrooms appetizer was delicious, as was the Creme Brulee. It's at the end of Jacques Cartier Place, a fun area in Old Montreal. We loved it!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

"FINE" DINING

vip
Dined on September 3, 2015

Rarely do I give a restaurant outstanding comments about everything and Chez Queux gets it. We took a short vacation to Montreal and were looking for a fine, romantic restaurant to celebrate my wife's birthday. The service, ambiance, food were really outstanding. I live in New York and have a hard time finding this type of restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service4

Pity it's summer

Dined on August 21, 2015

This is a fundamentally good restaurant, with nice food and good service. The problem I encountered was that on a hot summer day, the restaurant has carpeting, velvet upholstery, timber panelling, bright lights, and hot dishes. In other words, it's a risk of heatstroke. I saw no visible signs of air conditioning, although management said their air conditioning system broke down earlier today.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food!

Dined on August 1, 2015

Title says it all. The food was the best meal I've had while visiting montreal. The waitstaff were friendly and helpful. Awesome fine dining restaurant. I will be raving about the food for many years.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was outstanding. Foie gras is alwa ...

vip
Dined on July 4, 2015

Food was outstanding. Foie gras is always excellent and so was the duck, however the sweet bread was amazing. My brother with the help of Claude, the sommelier, ordered the 3 best bottles of wine I've had in years. Would love to come back!

food1
ambience4
service3

Both os us ordered the beef entree which ...

Dined on June 13, 2015

Both os us ordered the beef entree which was tough. Disappointing.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

When I first walked into the restaurant ...

Dined on June 7, 2015

When I first walked into the restaurant I was very pleased. I didn't expect the restaurant to be so high class and fancy. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking to feel special or help make someone feel special.

food4
ambience5
service5

An excellent meal at Chez Queux

Dined on June 6, 2015

This was a return visit to the restaurant, as my wife and I hadn't been in Montreal for over 20 years. We decided to seek out Chez Queux as it had been a favorite place to visit during the F1 Grand Prix Weekend on our prior visits. We were delighted to find that the restaurant was much the same, with the same Vieux Montreal ambiance and and excellent menu. The wait-staff were attentive throughout our meal providing professional service and the sommelier was gracious and informative in helping us select a wine to accompany our dinner selection. The onion soup to start was excellent and the steak-au-poivre, prepared and flamed table-side was perfectly prepared. At the conclusion of our meal, the waiter said that he had a "surprise" for us and one of the wait-staff appeared with two desserts for us, as he said he wanted to recognize our wedding anniversary and return to Montreal. It was a gracious gesture ~ and the creme-brulee and mousse were delicious! After a long day traipsing around the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve (and getting caught in an afternoon torrential downpour) this was an elegant and relaxing end to a special day for us. We really appreciated the excellent food and outstanding service at Chez Queux.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service1

Experience did not match the expectation ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2015

Experience did not match the expectations after reading the reviews here. Absolutely terrible.

food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful restaurant in the old port of Montreal.

Dined on May 7, 2015

This was undoubtedly one of the best foie gras dishes I have experienced, awesome flavor. The duck was similarly excellent. Great service, ambiance, food, what more could one ask for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

FORMIDABLE ... ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC !

Dined on May 3, 2015

Celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary ... an "old world experience" in Old Montreal ! Our meal was expertly prepared at our table ... a lost art with today's 5-star gourmet restaurants in Canada ... and served by Mr. Leon Truchi , a caring gentleman with over 50 years of experience serving in the finest restaurants in France and in Canada ! Outstanding food ! Outstanding Service ! Outstanding ambiance ! An absolutely outstanding experience overall ! We plan to celebrate each of our next 10 wedding anniversaries at this very fine establishment ... looked after by Mr. Truchi of course ! William & Adele Yatco Kanata, Ontario, Canada

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A place to try

Dined on April 9, 2015

The localization is great, center in the old montreal, the veiw of the old port, the Place Jacques-Cartier, the carriage along the street. The welcome is warm, we were early at 17h so the place very quiet, very professionnal. This is a cozy atmosphere in a very old building with typestry, old stone walls, amazing wooded moulding, great chandelier... the food is very good, warm, cook as requested, the mix with the spice, the research in the ingredient without denaturing the main ingredient. This is not a cheap place but it is worth it at least once. For a romantic dinner, an experience Thank you

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Anthony is best server/waiter in Montreal!

Dined on March 22, 2015

If you go make sure you have the steak tartare and have Anthony prepare it for you tableside. If you're a hockey fan or sports fan in general, you're in for a treat. It's the only restaurant in Old Montreal that I go to on a regular basis when we are in town and always make sure I get Anthony's table. Food quality and preparation are always impeccable. Anthony also mixes his own drinks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2

Pas le bon soir pour l'essayer

vip
Dined on February 14, 2015

Nous avons été chez Queux à l'occasion de la Saint-Valentin, expérience mitigée. D'abord les points négatifs: Il faisait extrêment froid dans le restaurant, courant d'air glacial incessant. Une fan d'air chaud aurait pu être installée dans l'entrée pour éviter ce grand désagrément qui nous empêchait d'être confortable. Le menu de la Saint-Valentin était très décevant, je suis assez foodie et j'ai dû me rabattre sur le suprême de poulet, faut le faire! Le suprême, justement, sur l'os était cru, est-ce une nouvelle tendance le tartare de poulet??? Les choix de desserts extrêment simples, gâteau de chocolat blanc, et crème brûlée, franchement! Le service était .... absent! Le serveur est venu une fois prendre les commandes, comme il s'agissait d'un menu trois services prix fixe, il a oublié de revenir pour prendre les commandes de cafés au moment du dessert, nous avons dû patienter 20 minutes pour l'accrocher au passage! La musique classique un peu trop lourde, décor trop old fashionned pour moi, il est certainement possible de se renouveler un peu! Les points positifs: Le service du sommelier impeccable, la présentation des assiette, parfaite, portions adéquates, la bouffe est très bonne, la cuisson du poulet me retient de mettre parfait, Nous avons fait part des désagréments du service au maître d'hotel et on nous a offert les cafés et digestifs, et le serveur est venu s'excuser. Avec quelques améiorations, cet établissement pourra garder une place de choix parmi les meilleurs restaurants de Montréal.

food4
ambience4
service3

Good restaurant

Dined on February 14, 2015

Very expensive, especially the wine. Old fashioned. It is not a restaurant where you go often but you need to go there once. I would recommend for romantic and special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

French cuisine at is best

Dined on January 10, 2015

Place you fell confortable. The staff is outstanding the food is even better there is few place like Queux. Dont hesitate if you want to eat very well. Thanks

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2

Weird Experience and Overpriced

Dined on January 1, 2015

We had a 7:00 reservation for New Year's Eve. We showed up at 6:50 to locked doors. After the doors were opened, we were lead to a back room where we sat alone, in quiet, for another 30 minutes until another table showed up. We thought we were in some bad movie. The ambiance was nice, but the wait staff and sommelier seemed like they did not want to be there that night. The 5-course set meal was $125 a person, which seemed extravagant, but that's one of the reasons we chose this place for a New Year's Eve dinner. Plus, the location is perfect for celebrating the New Year in Old Montreal. That's where the fun ended. The food was simply "decent." Nothing stood out as amazing and nothing was necessarily bad. The waiters simply brought you every course and said bon apetit. There was no explanation of what we were eating. Sometimes, the waiter would at least tell you what it was you were eating, but another waiter might just set it down in front of you. The second couple that came in after us were locals and they said they had been here before and really enjoyed it. But they felt it was weird too how there was no one else in the restaurant and how it was so quiet. When some other reviewers wrote "Good, but overpriced," that really is the best way to describe this place. Just ok. If we ever come back to Montreal, we will most definitely consider going to another place next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

Outstanding atmosphere. Great location. ...

Dined on November 9, 2014

Outstanding atmosphere. Great location. Food was ok but nothing special. Maybe should try the meals on the menu(not on openTable special menu) if we had another chance.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent and service was topno ...

Dined on November 2, 2014

Food was excellent and service was topnotch as usual. Waiters have wealth of experience and it shows.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant!

vip
Dined on October 14, 2014

My party of three loved the table side Caesar salad as well as the flambé steaks. The duck breast was also prepared beautifully. The building and ambiance was great and the service impeccable. I highly recommend this place when visiting old Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent French Food

Dined on October 12, 2014

We had a great experience at Chez Queux. The food was delicious; I had the Onion Soup and Rack of Lamb while my wife had the Shellfish Bisque and Sole Meuniere. For dessert we both got Creme Brulee which was outstanding. The timing between courses and the portion sizes were perfect as well. Service was very friendly. We liked the rustic decor but it was almost a little too quiet (even though the restaurant was pretty full). All in all a great night out and we would certainly recommend Chez Queux to anyone in Montreal!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Expected better

Dined on October 12, 2014

The food, service and ambience were just "good" for the price of the meal. I chose this restaurant based on reviews and did not find it up to its rating. There are so many wonderful restaurants in Montreal, not that this one was bad, but just not worth the money spent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3

Superb food. Excellent atmosphere. Ser ...

Dined on October 12, 2014

Superb food. Excellent atmosphere. Service is very slow.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Nice Special Dinning

vip
Dined on October 8, 2014

Food was great - normally I don't eat it all - nothing left behind. Took a client to dinner and it was the perfect spot to talk - Service was very attentive but not overwhelming - just enough. They accommodated every need and were fun to talk to

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service3

Tres Disappointing!

Dined on October 4, 2014

A beautiful old world Traditional French setting, but food was less than we hoped for our splurge anniversary dinner. After perusing menu decided on scampies...when ordering told there were none! Tableside-prepared Caesar salad was a disappointing heavy oily mess and not good start. Husband ordered his veal med rare, served well done...they took it back but left my meal...so we ate mine...then 15 minutes later ate his...what?! Sommelier was knowledgeable...wine very good...only wish the meal matched... acknowledgment of our anniversary was a candle in our ordered desserts... Too expensive for that kind of food and service!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great preparation!

vip
Dined on September 28, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the at table preparation of the Caesar salad and filet mignon and shrimp. Everything was delicious. Our waiter was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Un restaurant agréable

Dined on September 13, 2014

Tout est bon, raffiné et le service excellent. L'endroit est calme et se prête bien aux occasions spéciales. C'est toujours un plaisir de s'y rendre.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

We reserved here because of its award wi ...

vip
Dined on September 7, 2014

We reserved here because of its award with Wine Spectator. It is in a beautiful area and is very old fashioned in décor. There were six of us dining together and the service was OK but not great. I ordered and got the last rack of lamb they had. While the dish it was served on was piping hot the lamb was cool but the herb sauce on it was spectacular. I tasted some of the other main dishes and none of them wowed me. The chocolate cream brulee was very good once you got past the broiled sugar topping (but I admit I am not a fan of anything too sweet).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went to Chez Queux to c ...

Dined on August 30, 2014

My husband and I went to Chez Queux to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. We were promptly and pleasantly greeted at the door and escorted to our table by a window, which was a special request. Our waiter was very professional, as was the sommelier. Bus services were quick and helpful. We started with cocktails, then a Caesar salad for 2, prepared tableside. As our main, we had the Chateaubriand for 2 with bernaise sauce. It was also prepared tableside and to perfection. The meat was delicious and the accompanying sides were tasty. The Sommelier suggested the perfect bottle of red wine to accompany our dinner. This is a beautiful restaurant, although a bit pricey, but definitely worth it for special occasions! We will return! :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Warm waiter, great food

Dined on August 10, 2014

Our family had a wonderful experience with the warm manner of waiter engaging with children as he prepared Caesar salad and flame-finished the steak and pepper sauce. Just a great experience... Food, service and room. Classic French menu complemented by vintage feel of dining room (the snooty might call aged and worn, but somehow felt just right) and he consummate service of a 54 year veteran waiter who started in a Paris kitchen in 1960. A priceless family memory on our visit to Montreal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dinner here. The foo ...

vip
Dined on July 20, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner here. The food was beautifully prepared and presented. Great people watching outside. The service was personable and professional. Our waiters really took an interest in giving us advice about Montreal, which we appreciated. We would highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Can't wait to return!

Dined on July 6, 2014

Waiter, service, food, table side preparation excellent excellent excellent. Sommelier was drunk. Issues with stale bread but waiter extremely apologetic and compensated us with Special desserts and after dinner cocktail. Delicious and Classic French cuisine and service. One of the best in Old Montreal

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2

A mixed review

Dined on June 21, 2014

Great location in old town. Food was ok. I enjoyed the Dover Sole. A "glass" of wine was merely a mouthful! Less than one inch in the glass!! We questioned the size of the serving and were told that it was reduced b/c we had "tasted it". Outrageous! ok but wouldn't rush back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.