About Chez Philippe - Peabody Hotel Memphis

149 Union Ave
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

The Peabody Memphis' signature dining room is the epitome of exquisite dining; featuring a menu of classical French cuisine from Chef Andreas Kisler. With impeccable service, distinguished wines and an atmosphere beyond compare, Chez Philippe remains the pinnacle of Memphis dining. Chez Philippe is the only Forbes 4-Star, AAA 4-Diamond restaurant in the Mid-South.

A Southern take on an elegant English tea service, The Peabody's Afternoon Tea is served in high style in Chez Philippe.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Saturday: 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 529-4000

Website:
http://www.peabodymemphis.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. Hotel self-parking validated.

Executive Chef:
Andreas Kisler

Private Party Facilities:
One semi-private room that holds 16 people. Reservations for groups of 10 people or more can only be made through our Restaurant Sales Manager, Alyssa Petrina.

Private Party Contact:
Alyssa Petrina: 901-529-3675x

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Master Tasters Wine Club meets first Wednesday of every month in The Corner Bar except July. Four wine tastings along with food pairings. Conducted by Peabody Sommeliers. $25 for each event. Please call Priyaank Gupta for details at 901-529-4188.

Restaurant Photos

  • Chez Philippe - Peabody Hotel Memphis, Memphis, TN
Chez Philippe - Peabody Hotel Memphis, Memphis, TN

Chez Philippe - Peabody Hotel Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (4)
See All
Romantic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Seasonal (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
374 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful setting and impeccable service ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Beautiful setting and impeccable service. The food was just far too sweet for my taste.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I've dined at Chez Philippe a number of ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I've dined at Chez Philippe a number of times, always enjoyed the service, ambiance and cuisine. While a four diamond, the ambiance, cuisine and service is five diamond. I had the four tasting menu, with wine. I'm rather fond of the old formal style of dining, which is rare nowadays. I would recommend the venue for foodies, as a romantic interlude and for small groups.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner for my friend's wife. W ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Birthday dinner for my friend's wife. We did the 4 course option and everything was delicious, timed perfectly, beautifully presented. Ryan was our server and was attentive, professional and always timely.

Great experience and meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Chez Philippe a few times ...

vip
 (Shreveport)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We've been to Chez Philippe a few times this year, this was the first time since they changed the menu however. As usual they never disappoint. Wine .. Awesome. Service ... Excellent. Meal ... Overall Splendid however, the Entrée steaks were just slightly overcooked. Still an A+ experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I'd read good things about Adrian in the ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I'd read good things about Adrian in the reviews, and was pleased to find that he really is an outstanding server. The other gentlemen who helped him were all very well trained, too. They were thorough and in tune with guests.

The food was interesting. I really like the surprise amuse bouche sent with compliments from the chef - a very tasty shrimp tartlet with unexpected and delightful layers of yum. Tuna steak and crab cake were some of the best I've had anywhere. Delicious!

My opinion on their opportunities for growth include menu and décor. I came hungry and left hungry because some of the food was quite weird (a couple of gelatinous items left me wondering about the chef's goals) and what was good came in itsy bitsy tiny portions. No wine and still a $300 tab for two? I expected to be wowed.

The decor is completely outdated with 1980's hunter green on the walls and dingle balls on tafetta drapes dredging up memories of "Different Strokes" or "Silver Spoons" episodes. As well, the cream tablecloth was tattered and the love seats that were obviously very nice once should be re-upholstered asap. Tomorrow maybe?

Still, we both tasted some things that we loved and because of that will Ning effort from the kitchen and the service, I would definitely go back and try it again. Only next time, no hot wing sticking up out of the bread pudding, please.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Would not recommend. Food tasteless. F ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Would not recommend. Food tasteless. Filetwasovercookedand blan. Duckwasok .meal.verypricyanddisappointing. Crab cake good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We choose to dine there for our 50th ann ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We choose to dine there for our 50th anniversary. Perfect choice! It was lovely and the food

was divine. When they found out it was our anniversary and the dessert came out the chef

had written Happy Anniversary in chocolate on our dessert plate. Now that's going the

extra mile! We will always remember our meal there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A formula dining experience. Not a true ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

A formula dining experience. Not a true /authentic interaction with the chef and the menu. Disappointing dishes for self described foodies.

Poor wine suggestions for self directed pairings. Poor serving timing with the courses/ wine.

Nice and quiet surroundings for a intimate celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Exquisite. Best dining experience we had ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Exquisite. Best dining experience we had on our 3 week trip through USA.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The all-time-high in my dining experienc ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The all-time-high in my dining experience; and that is saying something, we consider ourselves well-fed foodies! We can't wait to return to the Peabody and Chez Phillipe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is definitely the finest restaurant ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is definitely the finest restaurant in Memphis. We always have the most fantastic food and wine, and the staff is absolutely amazing!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef is trying too hard to be differ ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The chef is trying too hard to be different. He needs to revisit the "Old Standby" recipes of the 1970's and 80's. I am showing my age, but I know what best pleases the palate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A book with a beautiful cover but nothing inside

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Outstanding Decor. But that was it. Service was very poor. We were ignored most of the night both by server and Matre D. We noticed our server was more attentive to all tables on the top level rather thanus on the 2nd level.

Examples:

Had to pour my own champagne (after asking server)

Had to order dessert at same time as the entree.

Bread was not served until after the appetizer. (Usually we like to have bread while sipping on Champagne)

Time between appetizer and main entree came much too fast

Never asked if we wanted coffee and just presented the bill.

Ordered a dish called "Halibut and Lobster". halibut was ok but lobster was just a garnish. You thought the dish would have contained a portion of Lobster.

Many dishes contained mushrooms or truffle oil which one of us was allergic to. They could not substitute any of the steak dishes with out those ingredients. Hard to imagine a restaurant of that caliber that could not prepare a special order.

We were so disgusted that I did not take the time to ask for a manager to complain about what happened but that was my fault. Incidentally when we left the restaurant we were never even asked how everything was. I think they knew we were disgusted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

The food and service were excellent. It ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food and service were excellent. It is a little pricey, however it was worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a meal here over the Music Festival. The whole experience was superb. We'd been to a Michelin 1* earlier in the week and Chez Philippe was at least as good.

I think the waiters name was Adrian. He was superb. Attentive without being intrusive. Polite but casual too.

Also, there was no rush between courses which we Europeans like.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnifique!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Magnifique!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very special room and the food and ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2016

A very special room and the food and service were superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine Hotel Dining

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 17, 2016

As a couple we ordered the Chef's Table and another 3 course dinner. The presentations were excellent although we needed to send back a couple of the courses as they were not as hot as they should have been. We were permitted to make some substitutions on the fixed menus which was quite nice. We had the wine pairing with the Chef's Table and that was outstanding. The service was top notch. There were ample portions given for each of the courses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Evening

vip
 (Shreveport)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Extremely enjoyable dining experience. Service and Meal were both A+.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice!

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dining

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Wonderful food- Elegant service by Adrian and others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Disappointed

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Had high hope for a good Fancy French dinner on Valentines Day but was sorely disappointed. It was a prix fix menu at $95 and $125 with wine pairing. The foods were mediocre at best. The service was good. The restaurant was quite empty given it was Valentines Day. Overal it was very underwhelming. Would not eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Valentine's Day dinner

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2016

I cannot say enough about this place. We ate at this restaurant the night we were to be engaged, and came back for Valentine's day a year later. We were not disappointed. The service was great, the food was amazing, the atmosphere was out of this world. Thank you all!! Can't wait to come back!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The seating area we were in was right next to an area that was extremely noisy from the serving staff, the coat rack and storage area for extra chairs. The service was very good until the final stages of the evening when the server seemed to "disappear" and we had to wait for a while for our check. The restaurant was not busy at this time (6:45PM). Disappointing Valentine's Day experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Just Ducky!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We went on Valentine's weekend. We were surprised to find that there was a fixed menu as the website had not been updated in some time and still carried the fall menu. When we arrived the winter menu options were posted in the lobby yet when getting to our table we found that menu was not available and only a set Valentine's meal was offered. While this seemed poorly set up the menu itself was quite delicious. The staff was friendly and accommodating, but some of the nuance you would expect from a restaurant at this price point (wine pairings arriving before the food it was paired with etc.) was not present. We loved the butter shaped as a duck to play on the Peabody tradition. Overall it was an excellent meal in a lovely restaurant but for the cost there are better locations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food under whelmed

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Paid too much money for so-so food. Prawns were rubbery. Filet was tasteless. Glad we went, but will not go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Lovely dinner experience

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Loved the beautiful murals & marble. Menu choices were unique. Food & presentation were delectable. Only wish you could order a la carte for those with smaller appetites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go for the experience, not the food.

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 31, 2016

The service and the ambiance are exactly what one would expect - absolutely outstanding! Great attention is paid to every aspect of your experience. Likewise, a great deal of attention is paid to the presentation of your dishes. The food itself, I'm afraid to say, was unremarkable. Fresh and delicious, but not anything mind blowing. Without getting into specifics, I had a fish dish and my date had a steak dish. Both were excellent, but not in any way better than we could get in several other finer establishments in town. Bottom line - If you're looking for service and atmosphere - this is a winner and worth every cent. If you're looking for food that's like no other in Memphis - this isn't the place for it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overrated !

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2016

They made a fuss about my reservation for my husband's60th birthday as if they would have to squeeze us in.! I even had to give my credit card to secure the reservation.

It was a morgue! Dead, no customers ! No atmosphere!

I asked for a glass of wine, my husband a cocktail, we were basically your only customer and yet you got the cocktail wrong!

One waiter, I had the wine pairing prix fix, and the somalier turned out to be a piece of paper with a list of three choices !!! Pathetic.

Horribly limited, and very ordinary high end meal.

Not worth the trip.

We also had High Tea the next day with friends. Once again we were the only customers and yet I managed to get Luke warm tea in a cracked cup. Very sad! Had to ask for fresh tea and a fresh cup.

Cranberry scones, really? We had to beg for extra creme , the sandwiches were typical average stuffed croissants and toasts.

We will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Dinner for two Thursday 28 Jan 2016

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 29, 2016

We were greeted at the front by an older gentleman, who told us our table was ready and the waiter would show us to our table.

We were shown to our table, in a very quiet restaurant, with only 4 other diners there.

Our waiter (I believe his name was Adrian?) was very courteous and relatively quick to serve us, being the only staff member on that night, apart from the gentleman out front.

We decided to go for the 3 course option with the matching wines. Very good value for money.

Menu itself was quite big, and I had the crab cake, which was delicious, and my friend had the French onion soup which was yummy too.

For mains we had the pheasant and the beef and sweet potato. Both were delicious, and beautifully presented.

Dessert was the soufflé and the trio of gelato. Great presentation of the gelato, the soufflé was a little over done, but that is the only fault which could be said about the food.

Service was perhaps a little impersonal, but our staff member was lovely and courteous, and pretty on the ball for water top ups and getting wine for the next course.

The meals were well spaced out, and we didn't feel rushed.

Would have been nice to have a little more atmosphere in the restaurant though, the music was a little quiet and there wasn't a lot of ambience in there. All in all an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Perfection!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2016

Excellent experience, I do not have one negative thing to say about this restaurant. Food and service were top-notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved It!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 26, 2015

This was probably one of the best dining experiences ever. Food was fantastic and I recommend selecting the offered wine pairings. Portions were very large and pretty amazing for the type cuisine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 13, 2015

We have dined at CP several times over the years. We reserved several days ahead of Saturday, Dec 12th, online. We were never told that there was to be only a special, prix fixe menu for the night (for Sinatra's birthday). However, after we arrived, the fixed menu sounded good, so we weren't worried. However, the first course was an over-dressed crude salad with arugula and artichokes that had come out of a can, with no preparation or thoughtfulness to the presentation. The 2nd dish, risotto, was overcooked. The main dish (we had the beef) was delicious and well prepared, although a bit cool. The dessert was fried dough with cinnamon, which probably would have been delicious had it been served hot or even warm, but it was cold. It took 10-15 minutes before anyone came to our table to even ask about water or drinks, and we did not get wine until about 30 minutes in. Service was inattentive. The meal lasted for 3 hours---which is too long. There appeared to be only 2 servers for a very full dining room. Very disappointing for CP.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Everyone has to eat here at least once

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on November 27, 2015

My 17yo daughter and I traveled to Memphis for the Thanksgiving holiday week. I made this reservation for Thanksgiving Day so we would have a "special" place to have dinner. It was awesome. Not only were the wait staff excellent, the food was delish and superb! The scenery inside the restaurant keeps you awestruck. Briana was our server. She was topnotch...attentive but not bothersome. Excellent job. I would definitely recommend this to others. While there was a kid dining with his parents at the same time we were there, I wouldn't recommend this is kid friendly. Only because the other customers are there to enjoy a peaceful and quiet dining experience. But, I do have to say the kid did behave wonderfully for the amount of hours his parents lounged there : ).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service. Wine pairings were ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 17, 2015

Outstanding service. Wine pairings were exceptional. World class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Chez Philippe

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 11, 2015

This was a very good dinner. Service was outstanding, food even better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

How serene.........

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 13, 2015

I felt I had entered another world of dining. The servers were outstanding as was the presentation of all the foods. Being a real dessert a holic I was a bit disappointed in the keylime pie and the souffle. However, everything else was wonderful. Should have snapped photos to show friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

great French food

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 10, 2015

A nice sit down place for good French food in downtown Memphis

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

REFINED REDEFINED

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 6, 2015

IT WAS PERFECT BEGINNING TO END! From the stunning room itself, to the soft classical music played softly in the background, to the excellent service provided by my server GIA....it could not have been better. Expensive? Yes. Worth it? Yes. It was just what I needed after five days of too noisy, too many people, too frenetic, just too MEMPHIS! Saved Phillippe for last night before boarding train to Nola and I am so happy I did. It was a a fine dining experience. The onion soup was what I always hoped to get and never did until now. Gently caramelized onions ( and I think maybe leeks and shallots) in a golden broth and a heavenly fluffy cheese topping with absolutely no rubberiness. I will dream of that soup! Lamb chops perfectly prepared and presented. Cheese plate with after dinner tea was lovely. Nothing was fussy, over sauced, overcompilcated or pretensious. Lovely, lovely, lovely!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 29, 2015

One of the great restaurant in the country. Loved it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.