Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Chez Nanou

4.5
83 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Perfect For:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Explore delicious French cuisine at Chez Nanou. Helmed by chef Anne-Marie Rieunier, this French café serves brunch, lunch and dinner in a charming intimate space. Visit for lunch and enjoy gluten-free quiches, salads, soup and small-plate dishes. Order the day's special for a royal treat or try out regional classics like the Pot-au-Feu, crepe paysanne or boeuf bourguignon.

Chez Nanou's homestyle menu and cozy décor provide the perfect backdrop for a leisurely meal. It makes an ideal pick if you're in the mood for some Parisian cuisine. Weekends start with a lavish brunch. Flip open the drink menu and choose from a tidy selection of beer or wine. Chez Nanou also offers catering services that can be tailored to everything from a dinner party at home with friends to large events.

Dining Style
Home Style
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Sunday: 9:00am -2:00pm.

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 6:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday: 6:00pm - 8:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(608) 609-8181
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Anne-Marie (Nanou) Rieunier
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Preparation and delivery of Appetizers, Entrees and Desserts. We also offer a choice of Charcuterie and Cheese plates.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
S Livingston St
Additional
Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 83 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.5based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on July 24, 2016

Loved this authentic French cafe. Had just returned from the Brittany region of France and enjoyed being taken back through the food and welcoming staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 8, 2016

A pleasant spot with good, not pretentious French cooking. Bright, friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 3, 2016

French charm and spectacular food. The European ambience was present the moment we walked in the door. The food was scrumptious, the owner delightful and engaging. I had the mushroom gratinee; and each bite was amazing. I will go back! We had a party of three for brunch and the other two had equally wonderful food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2016

There is a cozy atmosphere and it's quiet enough for conversation. The food is terrific, wine offerings very good. I really enjoyed the unique special tonight of gaspacho, which had peppery and bing cherry flavours....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2016

Chez Nanou proposes real authentic French food, without being too fancy. It feels like being in France for an evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2016

The only reason for the lesser overall mark is that the air-conditioning was not operating and I'm not a fan of being overheated. Otherwise great new find!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2016

We've been there 3 times, both for dinner and brunch. Food has been excellent every time!

It's never too busy but I always make a reservation prior.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2016

Simple home cooked French cuisine that is very very good. Soups are very good. Crepes are excellent! Always like the charcuterie and salmon plates to start. Dishes are not heavy and cream laden. Very fresh and flavorful. Nanou is a very sweet, humble chef. Small place... book in advance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2016

my wife,son and I had Brunch there Saturday, There were no disappointments from the soup, appetizers and meal it was excellent. Service was great and we never felt rushed. reservations are recommended due to limited space. Rich

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2016

Lavender brulee and lemon curd crepe. Our server was great

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 30, 2016

Charming dining room and polite service. Respectable food. The French onion soup should have more cheese, and should be more heartily caramelized on top of the toast.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 24, 2016

A quaint little place but still affording privacy. Lots of good choices for brunch. The daily special - salmon quiche - was stupendous. Would go back for brunch again or try for dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2016

Great service, always good food. I have been here numerous times and have never been disappointed. For brunch try the Croque Madame, omelettes, or wonderful crepes!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2016

The food here never fails to please, and Nanou is such a sweet woman. She led a rousing version of Joyeaux Anniversaire for my husband.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2016

The food is wonderful, French comfort food. It is affordable even for dinner. The space is tiny so ambiance, not so much. Our table was crammed against the wall with my head next to the cash register. It was also very hot in there. Our waiter told us the specials and described chicken Doria incorrectly compared to what a waitress said to another table and to what came, still it was delicious. Our bill was $65 for 1 appetizer, 2 entrees and 4 beers. Good deal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Long wait for our food on this night, but the food was great, as usual. The restaurant is small, and the place was crowded and busy, but I don't really know what happened to the usually great service this time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2016

We always have a great experience at Chez Nanou. It is small and cozy, the service has always been stellar and the food is wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2016

This restaurant never fails to deliver excellent quality. The staff are friendly and helpful and very French. Don't miss the delicious French hot chocolate in the winter - it warms the soul!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 12, 2016

Savory and sweet crepes, as well as favorites like Beef Bourguignon and chocolate mousse among their rotating specials. Also great salads and a good wine list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2015

Service was exceptional, immediate seating, true French cuisine, lovely setting for friendly conversation - perhaps in French. The crepes are special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2015

I went there for the Thanksgiving Brunch and the food was amazing! Incredibly fresh and well prepared. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I would go there again for sure and recommend it to anyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 19, 2015

I had never been to this restaurant before and did not know what to expect. But it was great! I had duck in a red wine sauce that was out of this world--the best duck I've ever had. It was a special of the day. The waiter was french and the decor and atmosphere was...well...French. I recommend it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 15, 2015

Chez Nanou brings that real French feel to the table... It's a very small restaurant, however nice and cosy and would be perfect for a romantic evening.
They serve real French cuisine; the chef as well as one of the waiters speaks French which was a lovely touch.
It is not a grand, elegant restaurant, rather homey and welcoming .
We went there for breakfast; had a nice meal but there wasn't a big selection. I will definitely go back for dinner or a lazy late lunch with some French wine...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 7, 2015

Lovely food, seasonal and changed each week to incorporate the best of the season. I had dinner with 4 girlfriends on a Saturday and it was almost perfect! The only wrinkle to the evening was that our 7:30 reservation wasn't able to be filled until 8:00 because some of the tables were lingering a little long (though I don't blame them). Very cozy atmosphere, perfect for conversation - lively or intimate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2015

The food, wine and service are outstanding. It is quiet and charming.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 14, 2015

This is a very small, charming neighborhood restaurant. It has red checked tablecloths and decorative touches that makes you feel you are in a French village. The food is quite good and attractively served. We have eaten at the restaurant twice in the past month and have enjoyed both visits. The restaurant has some nice, moderately priced, French wines. Our servers have been friendly and helpful, and we did not feel rushed. The restaurant is quiet enough that you can actually have conversations. We will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 6, 2015

A lovely, cozy destination that leaves you feeling like you just got a hug from someone close to you. The space is small, and the menu isn't huge, but it's what a restaurant like this should be: a mini-vacation to a special place that cares about what's on the plate.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 18, 2015

Very cozy little French restaurant reminiscent of those in Paris streets. Small but not too cramped. Owners are servers and on a Saturday eve can be overwhelmed and slow on service but relax and enjoy; food is served hot and when ready. Food is very good and prepared to order. IF not a French food aficionado let waiter do the ordering. Very reasonable portion size with authentic French flavors and menu. Limited but sufficient wine list. Make a Reservations for Saturday eve. If you want a less crowded experience go before 700P when the small restaurant fills. Off street parking lot is a plus. Definitely worth a visit for dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 14, 2015

Went with another couple for Bastille Day and had a lovely time. Though the restaurant is quite small, it more than made up for it in other ways. Food was excellent. There was a bit of a timing issue with appetizers and entrees coming out at different times for each diner, but we were having a good time and it didn't matter too much. Pleasant server; the chef staff may have been a bit short-handed. Worth a trip to "France"!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 28, 2015

Great place for brunch or lunch. Quiet friendly environment. Worth a try. Service was quick and attentive. Food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 21, 2015

Words can't express how warm and welcoming the staff is here. What a neighborhood gem! We went as a treat for Father's Day and weren't disappointed. We've traveled fairly extensively in France and this place is the real deal. Classic French food is offered and done right. Even my octogenarian mother, who isn't comfortable stepping outside the box, was pleased with her selection. Our 4-year old twins were fawned on and their needs were met before ours to help keep them occupied. The staff even provided two portions of a small dessert for them instead of splitting one (as we had requested) with no additional charge :-) Definitely coming back for another visit! If you like good food and personal attention, this is the place for you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely Saturday evening dinner at this little gem of a French bistro in Madison. The ambiance is warm and casual, very much like the kinds of local cafes we experienced in Provence. For starters, I'd highly recommend the made-from-scratch onion soup. I also enjoyed a large Crepe Parisienne, my husband the Boeuf Bourguignon. Dessert of Lavender Creme Brûlée was light and a perfect ending. Friendly and attentive service. Definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2015

Just returned from 3 weeks in France to find this authentic French restaurant on Willy St. In Madison! The food and wine pairing were delicious, the service was attentive and knowledgeable and fun. The only other time I ever found lavender creme brûlée was on a hilltop in Provance...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2015

Chez Nanou features French country food -- every dish we had from appetizers to dessert was terrific, well balanced and flavorful. The service was terrific and overall the experience was terrific. Kudos to this new establishment!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2015

The food was wonderful! My husband and I have been there before. We have never been disappointed with our experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2015

I have been going to Chez Nanou since it opened. It is always pleasant, Nanou herself is wonderful. The menu is simple, straightforward; the dishes are tasty and always well-prepared. Real food. Things seem to be working better than ever since the renovations. Sweet place, highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2015

Excellent dining experience! Very attentive & knowledgable waiter! The food was outstanding! My son & I had the Salmon Brûlé. So delicious. My husband very much enjoyed his entrée. Dessert was wonderful: Lavender Creme Brûlée.
We will be returning! I highly recommend Chez Nanou & hope to stop for dinner next visit.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 22, 2015

Plat de jour, Poulet ala orange: very dry, tasteless breast of chicken, only hint of flavor provided by half slice of orange placed atop; rice pilaf tasteless.Soup and dessert crepe were quite good. Most irritating, however, was exorbitant price of wine; Vielle Ferme Cote de Ventoux, $8/glass. I pay $6.99 for bottle of this wine; 6-4oz glasses per bottle x $8= $48; remarkably high profit on low investment., unconscionable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2015

The service was fantastic and the food was delicious. I can't wait to go back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2015

Such a fun and delicious experience. Chef Nanou is incredibly gifted and so personable. I just love finding small, intimate, and well executed local restaurants. Can't give this touch of France a higher recommendation.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3