About Chez Nanou

805 Williamson Street
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

Whether you are having a family event or just a dinner with friends, we can prepare and deliver a delicious meal with a choice of French wines. Enjoy Crêpes, galettes Bretonnes (gluten free) quiches, croque-monsieur,soups, salads and desserts...Try our Lavender Crème Brûlée, and also the day's special - Boeuf Bourguignon, Poulet Basquaise, Tartiflette, Pot-au-Feu, etc...

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Sunday: 9:00am -2:00pm.

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 6:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday: 6:00pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
S Livingston St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 283-4266

Website:
http://www.cheznanoumadison.com/

Catering:
Preparation and delivery of Appetizers, Entrees and Desserts. We also offer a choice of Charcuterie and Cheese plates.

Executive Chef:
Anne-Marie (Nanou) Rieunier

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Chez Nanou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Wisconsin
Great for Brunch
Wisconsin
Neighborhood Gem
Wisconsin
4 More
Best Overall
Madison
Best Food
Madison
Best Value
Madison
Neighborhood Gem
Madison
Best Restaurants in Madison ›

fit for foodies (14)
neighborhood gem (14)
great for brunch (9)
See All
special occasion (6)
romantic (5)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
76 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chez Nanou c'est très bien

Dined 4 days ago

Simple home cooked French cuisine that is very very good. Soups are very good. Crepes are excellent! Always like the charcuterie and salmon plates to start. Dishes are not heavy and cream laden. Very fresh and flavorful. Nanou is a very sweet, humble chef. Small place... book in advance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my wife,son and I had Brunch there Satur ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

my wife,son and I had Brunch there Saturday, There were no disappointments from the soup, appetizers and meal it was excellent. Service was great and we never felt rushed. reservations are recommended due to limited space. Rich

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Lavender brulee and lemon curd crepe. O ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Lavender brulee and lemon curd crepe. Our server was great

food2
ambience5
service3

Charming dining room and polite service. ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Charming dining room and polite service. Respectable food. The French onion soup should have more cheese, and should be more heartily caramelized on top of the toast.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Homey & delish

Dined on April 24, 2016

A quaint little place but still affording privacy. Lots of good choices for brunch. The daily special - salmon quiche - was stupendous. Would go back for brunch again or try for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful tiny French style bistro!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great service, always good food. I have been here numerous times and have never been disappointed. For brunch try the Croque Madame, omelettes, or wonderful crepes!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent French restaurant

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food here never fails to please, and Nanou is such a sweet woman. She led a rousing version of Joyeaux Anniversaire for my husband.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Comfort food in a small space

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food is wonderful, French comfort food. It is affordable even for dinner. The space is tiny so ambiance, not so much. Our table was crammed against the wall with my head next to the cash register. It was also very hot in there. Our waiter told us the specials and described chicken Doria incorrectly compared to what a waitress said to another table and to what came, still it was delicious. Our bill was $65 for 1 appetizer, 2 entrees and 4 beers. Good deal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was great, worth waiting for

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Long wait for our food on this night, but the food was great, as usual. The restaurant is small, and the place was crowded and busy, but I don't really know what happened to the usually great service this time.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We always have a great experience at Che ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

We always have a great experience at Chez Nanou. It is small and cozy, the service has always been stellar and the food is wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little French restaurant!

Dined on January 16, 2016

This restaurant never fails to deliver excellent quality. The staff are friendly and helpful and very French. Don't miss the delicious French hot chocolate in the winter - it warms the soul!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great country French food, especially crepes

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

Savory and sweet crepes, as well as favorites like Beef Bourguignon and chocolate mousse among their rotating specials. Also great salads and a good wine list.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exceptional, immediate seati ...

Dined on December 17, 2015

Service was exceptional, immediate seating, true French cuisine, lovely setting for friendly conversation - perhaps in French. The crepes are special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic Brunch

Dined on November 26, 2015

I went there for the Thanksgiving Brunch and the food was amazing! Incredibly fresh and well prepared. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I would go there again for sure and recommend it to anyone!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Lunch

Dined on November 19, 2015

I had never been to this restaurant before and did not know what to expect. But it was great! I had duck in a red wine sauce that was out of this world--the best duck I've ever had. It was a special of the day. The waiter was french and the decor and atmosphere was...well...French. I recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Cosy little French restaurant

Dined on November 15, 2015

Chez Nanou brings that real French feel to the table... It's a very small restaurant, however nice and cosy and would be perfect for a romantic evening. They serve real French cuisine; the chef as well as one of the waiters speaks French which was a lovely touch. It is not a grand, elegant restaurant, rather homey and welcoming . We went there for breakfast; had a nice meal but there wasn't a big selection. I will definitely go back for dinner or a lazy late lunch with some French wine...

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful girls nights

Dined on November 8, 2015

Lovely food, seasonal and changed each week to incorporate the best of the season. I had dinner with 4 girlfriends on a Saturday and it was almost perfect! The only wrinkle to the evening was that our 7:30 reservation wasn't able to be filled until 8:00 because some of the tables were lingering a little long (though I don't blame them). Very cozy atmosphere, perfect for conversation - lively or intimate.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

Dined on September 3, 2015

The food, wine and service are outstanding. It is quiet and charming.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Charming French restaurant

vip
Dined on August 15, 2015

This is a very small, charming neighborhood restaurant. It has red checked tablecloths and decorative touches that makes you feel you are in a French village. The food is quite good and attractively served. We have eaten at the restaurant twice in the past month and have enjoyed both visits. The restaurant has some nice, moderately priced, French wines. Our servers have been friendly and helpful, and we did not feel rushed. The restaurant is quiet enough that you can actually have conversations. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

What local gems should be

Dined on August 6, 2015

A lovely, cozy destination that leaves you feeling like you just got a hug from someone close to you. The space is small, and the menu isn't huge, but it's what a restaurant like this should be: a mini-vacation to a special place that cares about what's on the plate.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4

Cozy French bistro

Dined on July 18, 2015

Very cozy little French restaurant reminiscent of those in Paris streets. Small but not too cramped. Owners are servers and on a Saturday eve can be overwhelmed and slow on service but relax and enjoy; food is served hot and when ready. Food is very good and prepared to order. IF not a French food aficionado let waiter do the ordering. Very reasonable portion size with authentic French flavors and menu. Limited but sufficient wine list. Make a Reservations for Saturday eve. If you want a less crowded experience go before 700P when the small restaurant fills. Off street parking lot is a plus. Definitely worth a visit for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Went with another couple for Bastille Da ...

vip
Dined on July 14, 2015

Went with another couple for Bastille Day and had a lovely time. Though the restaurant is quite small, it more than made up for it in other ways. Food was excellent. There was a bit of a timing issue with appetizers and entrees coming out at different times for each diner, but we were having a good time and it didn't matter too much. Pleasant server; the chef staff may have been a bit short-handed. Worth a trip to "France"!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find. Worth the stop.

Dined on June 28, 2015

Great place for brunch or lunch. Quiet friendly environment. Worth a try. Service was quick and attentive. Food was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely and charming :-)

Dined on June 21, 2015

Words can't express how warm and welcoming the staff is here. What a neighborhood gem! We went as a treat for Father's Day and weren't disappointed. We've traveled fairly extensively in France and this place is the real deal. Classic French food is offered and done right. Even my octogenarian mother, who isn't comfortable stepping outside the box, was pleased with her selection. Our 4-year old twins were fawned on and their needs were met before ours to help keep them occupied. The staff even provided two portions of a small dessert for them instead of splitting one (as we had requested) with no additional charge :-) Definitely coming back for another visit! If you like good food and personal attention, this is the place for you.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Neighborhood Gem

vip
Dined on June 6, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely Saturday evening dinner at this little gem of a French bistro in Madison. The ambiance is warm and casual, very much like the kinds of local cafes we experienced in Provence. For starters, I'd highly recommend the made-from-scratch onion soup. I also enjoyed a large Crepe Parisienne, my husband the Boeuf Bourguignon. Dessert of Lavender Creme Brûlée was light and a perfect ending. Friendly and attentive service. Definitely recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful find!

Dined on May 24, 2015

Just returned from 3 weeks in France to find this authentic French restaurant on Willy St. In Madison! The food and wine pairing were delicious, the service was attentive and knowledgeable and fun. The only other time I ever found lavender creme brûlée was on a hilltop in Provance...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A great local bistro

Dined on May 23, 2015

Chez Nanou features French country food -- every dish we had from appetizers to dessert was terrific, well balanced and flavorful. The service was terrific and overall the experience was terrific. Kudos to this new establishment!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was wonderful! My husband and I ...

Dined on May 23, 2015

The food was wonderful! My husband and I have been there before. We have never been disappointed with our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

An omelette and a glass of wine. Recommended.

vip
Dined on May 10, 2015

I have been going to Chez Nanou since it opened. It is always pleasant, Nanou herself is wonderful. The menu is simple, straightforward; the dishes are tasty and always well-prepared. Real food. Things seem to be working better than ever since the renovations. Sweet place, highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 10, 2015

Excellent dining experience! Very attentive & knowledgable waiter! The food was outstanding! My son & I had the Salmon Brûlé. So delicious. My husband very much enjoyed his entrée. Dessert was wonderful: Lavender Creme Brûlée. We will be returning! I highly recommend Chez Nanou & hope to stop for dinner next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service1

Disappinted

Dined on April 23, 2015

Plat de jour, Poulet ala orange: very dry, tasteless breast of chicken, only hint of flavor provided by half slice of orange placed atop; rice pilaf tasteless.Soup and dessert crepe were quite good. Most irritating, however, was exorbitant price of wine; Vielle Ferme Cote de Ventoux, $8/glass. I pay $6.99 for bottle of this wine; 6-4oz glasses per bottle x $8= $48; remarkably high profit on low investment., unconscionable!

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely Lovely!

vip
Dined on March 25, 2015

The service was fantastic and the food was delicious. I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a fun and delicious experience. Che ...

Dined on March 25, 2015

Such a fun and delicious experience. Chef Nanou is incredibly gifted and so personable. I just love finding small, intimate, and well executed local restaurants. Can't give this touch of France a higher recommendation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

My new favorite place in town - Madison, FR?!

Dined on March 22, 2015

What an awesome hidden gem. Looking online at their menu, I wasn't very impressed with what I saw. However, one I arrived and saw the specials, I started to get excited. First time I went, I had an amazing shrimp linguine with a white wine cream sauce. Next time, I can't remember Number the dish name, but it was just as good. On top of amazing specials, I think that they have the best desserts in town - seriously amazing!!! My only recommendation to the restaurant... Try an incorporate some of toys specials onto the menu so they can be enjoyed more frequently.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The restaurant is small and it was crowd ...

Dined on March 1, 2015

The restaurant is small and it was crowded but we got a nice table at the window, away from the fray, The server was great, explaining specials and answering questions. We ordered wine and soups, both were nice, then one savory crepe and one of the cassourol -like dishes, both perfect. The crepe was light and offset the heavier dish. We split both. Then dessert. Beware! The hot chocolate was amazing and sweet, the mousse was also nice. I might eat a little lighter next time...but if you are with someone whomwill finish what you cant, as I was, It was a great way to sample the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful!

Dined on February 22, 2015

We went to Chez Nanou for dinner and found it to be a lovely restaurant. The food was excellent, service amazing, and we really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good for small group and for couples

Dined on February 18, 2015

Chez Nanou is a very small restaurant specializing in French food. Everything was delicious. Wines were nice and the service very good. I would highly recommend this for everyone wanting a quiet evening with friends or a loved one.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best French Onion Soup EVER!!!!

Dined on February 15, 2015

The best service and the most delicious food! This place is a real find! You must get the French Onion Soup!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice valentine's day event

vip
Dined on February 14, 2015

Excellent food and nicely paced dinner even though it was a holiday!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Paris re-visited

Dined on February 14, 2015

If I can't be in Paris, then I'm going to Chez Nanou! The ambiance, food, and music evokes memories of cafes by the Seine. Our server kindly let me practice my French without embarrassment. What a lovely, delicious gem right in my own neighborhood! C'est magnifique!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.