Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

About Chez Francois - Vermilion

"If your a serious foodie" or "if romance is calling, sail on up" - literally - to this "French gem" on the Vermilion River, where the "sumptuous" menu and "professional but friendly" staff earn it the top rating from Food and Service in the Cleveland area; "well worth the drive" west of downtown , this "ethereal experience" (the perfect place to propose!") also includes a phenomenal wine list", "charming old world dining room" and "relaxing" riverfront cafe. Proper attire required. Touché a martini/wine bar was opened in 2007 and offers a "small plates" menu and a great selection of adult beverages.

555 Main Street
Vermilion, OH 44089
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 967-0630

Website:
http://www.chezfrancois.com/

Entertainment:
Chez Francois features live entertainment of Saturdays at Touché, the music changes each week from acoustic guitar to Latin/Jazz to Rhythm & Blues. Sportcoat requested for dining inside; tie is optional. Business Casual is requested for River Front Cafe dining.

Parking Details:
Chez Francois is located in a neighborhood and has street parking around the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef D'Amico

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chez Francois - Vermilion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (120)
Waterfront (106)
Good for Anniversaries (101)
See All
Romantic (93)
Worth the Drive (89)
Notable Wine List (89)
Good for a Date (78)
Creative Cuisine (74)
Good for Birthdays (71)
Scenic View (70)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (56)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Local Ingredients (47)
Authentic (44)
Cozy (36)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Seasonal (24)
Business Meals (23)
Tasting Menu (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (11)
People Watching (11)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1755 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

I took my wife out for her birthday. We had the Chef Tasting menu, it was fantastic. We had great service from the staff. They described the wine with each course in detail. We are very open to trying different foods. It was a great dining experience.
Thank you,
D&D

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

The food, service and atmosphere are just superb! Just can't beat Chez Francois! Nathan and Tyler were great as servers.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

This is my third time at Chez and it is incredible! From the excellent and enthusiastic service to the mouth-watering food, this is one of my favorite restaurants. This was my husband's first time here and he was blown away and he usually doesn't sit for more than an hour at a restaurant and we were there for over four! We had a splendid time and I give it 5 STARS!!!!! I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic as always, that's why we keep coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We appreciate dining in a restaurant with class. One of the few places that maintains a dress code. Our servers were attentive and knowledgeable without rushing us through our dinner. We also appreciated being able to converse without competing with loud music. Every course was perfectly prepared and served. It is worth the trip to Vermillion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Several in our group had trouble navigating stairs which could have been a problem.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Everything at Chez Francois is first rate; from the background music to the desserts. While the Beef Wellington is a traditional staple, the French cuisine here is given an updated twist based upon fresh local ingredients. The charming ambience together with the stellar food and service make CF hard to top.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Amazing service, staff, and food. Great menu, had the almond flower hogfish with caramelized apples. Was amazing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I took my partner to Chez Francois for his birthday dinner this past Wednesday night. Like previous visits, our dining experience was superb! Elegant ambiance, an attentive and professional server staff combined with amazing gourmet French cuisine made for another lovely, memorable dining experience. If you have never dined here, the drive to Vermilion is very much worth it as there are no other restaurants like Chez Francois in the region. We reserve Chez Francois for very special occasions through the year and every time we are truly amazed at our wonderful experiences there. Thank you!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 3, 2017

this was a good place to celebrate our anniversary. the staff was quite nice and we were able to dine out of doors on an evening in october !! the food was good.....not great. the duck was fatty. did not enjoy it. the prices are high....#54 for salmon and most apps were about $25.
the drinks were good and moderately priced. we enjoyed it because of the view and the romantic atmosphere. i would to make the trip again (over an hour for us) but am glad i went.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Dinner was amazing as usual. Lobster bisque is a must. Soft shell crab was the best we ever had. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The service and food were exceptional. We were there for our anniversary and were treated like royalty. Chez Francois is the place to go if you like to dine in style. The service is unlike other restaurants, keeping the tradition of fine dining alive. The food is seasonal and prepared perfectly. An extensive wine list is available. If you go make sure you order the molten chocolate cake, probably the best dessert I’ve ever had, even came with a sample of port wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 29, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 17th wedding Anniversary here. It was our first visit to the restaurant . Everything was outstanding. We sat at a cozy corner table and enjoyed the ambiance of our surroundings. We chose the five course menu with the wine pairings and the food was amazing. The paired wines were delicious and we tried wines we normally would not have considered on our own. We would definitely recommend the fixed course menu with wine pairing at least once as it was an incredible experience. Make sure you are hungry if you choose this option as the portions are generous and with the paired wines, you'll start to get full by the time dessert arrives. Highly recommend the experience. Can't wait to return and hopefully try dining outside on the deck.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We are never disappointed when dining at Chex Francois. The staff is the best from knowledge to personality. Matt is a super host. The Best and Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 27, 2017

A little bit of French paradise in Ohio:

It's worth a trip from anywhere to enjoy this amazing experience.
Masterful and unforgettable in every way. THE REAL THING!

Celebrate life and dine there!

This was our third visit, and it gets better each time.

And in addition to the food, Roger is the PERFECT server!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Outstanding atmosphere, service and food! A bit pricey, but for special occasions, well worth it. Will be returning!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This was our 37th anniversary and we celebrated at Chez Francois for the fifth consecutive year. Although it is a little ride from Lake County it is always well worth it. The service is very good with an attention to detail... but it is the food that makes this restaurant sooo special! I had snapper and my wife had soft shelled crab.... wonderful. We will be back for our anniversary next year (or sooner).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Worth the hype and worth the drive if you're not near vermillion. Exceptional food, wine, and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

It was worth the one hour drive. It was our first time and it was everything we heard and more. Outstanding food, service, atmosphere and wine list. We cannot wait to return with more friends and family. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Healthy, Scenic View, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Had an 8:00 reservation, did not get seated until after 8:30. Hostess was very friendly and apologized for the delay. Once seated, the waitstaff was friendly, knowledgable, and attentive. Appetizers were excellent, especially the sweetbreads.

The main courses, however, were both disappointing. My breaded veal was soggy and the sauce lacked flavor. My wife had a steak, which she said was alright, but no different than what she could order at a chain restaurant for half the price.

Overall, it was a pleasant evening, but the food fell well short of what we expected. Given the number of quality restaurants around Cleveland which consistently serve an excellent meal, I doubt we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Perfect night in every way. Table overlooking the river and all the boats, parading up and down the river. Food was very good. Service was excellent. Very fun and relaxing evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was our first time there and we were celebrating my eldest son's 40th birthday. Our waitress was fantastic , the atmosphere was perfect, the wine and food was marvelous. We ate for 3 hour and had wonderful conversation. i have not done that in years. we will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We celebrated our 51st anniversary and had a blast. Excellent staff, ambiance and relaxed pace of service.
Special cudos to our wait staff - both Ashley and Jackie were attentive, fun to talk to and overall contributed in a large way to our special night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We came to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary. We asked to be seated outside because the weather was perfect. Service was excellent, food was great, and the overall experience was wonderful. Highly recommended. Traffic was "challenging" because road along the restaurant is under construction, but we managed to find a spot very quickly (valet was not out yet when we arrived at 4:45). Lovely dining experience!!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Sat outside, beautiful evening. Perfect meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was the second year we dined at Chez Francios celebrating both our anniversary and our friend's also. We enjoyed it so much the first year we decided to do it again. It was another wonderful experience. The food was exceptionally delicious and the noise level was just right for pleasant conversation. The wait staff was superb. I would highly recommend this restaurant and I'm sure we will be back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Enjoyed immensely!!! Highly recommended! Can't wait for the next time in the near future to enjoy such a wonderful restaurant! Thank you so much!!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Exquisite food, perfectly executed technique, amazing service! Chez Francois is a treasure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Best meal we've had anywhere!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Simply the best!

As someone who has experienced the best dining experiences, my wife and I happened to be in the Cleveland area for a few days and made it a point to have dinner here. We enjoyed the 6 course prix fixe dinner, paired with wines and, as usually happens here, had our expectations exceeded again!

I tell people that Chez Francois is the best French restaurant between New York and Chicago and after many years, still stand by this statement.

If you are within driving distance, don't miss the opportunity to experience the best!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

My husband and I went to Chez Francois to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The quiet ambiance, friendly staff and outstanding food and wine did not disappoint us. Also, we never felt rushed to eat, so spent a good three hours enjoying cocktails, appetizers, entrees and desserts. We will definitely return to celebrate important occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The service was great. With a minor hick up.. our waitress was very nice and apologized for having not mention the off my new specials and brought us samples instead. We waited for our table after several emails and phone calls about being on time. My steak was simply terrible. I was embarrassed at how bad it was and did not mention it.
They may have forgotten to make my meal and hurried up and microwaved my steak and tossed it on the grill for affect.. But no au poivre to be found on my plate. NONE !!!!! Really didn't matter because the steak was raw. My wife's soft shells were a greasy cold mess. Save the trip and money...

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

As usual - the service was top notch. Food was outstanding!! The wine list is absolutely amazing. Soooo many varieties of wine. The cocktail list throw a monkey wrench in too!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

As always our experience was exceptional. The food, service, and atmosphere were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Surely the chef was off duty on Friday September 8, 2017.

It was unanimous amongst our party of 4 that
dinner at Chex Francois was a great, great disappointment . We were completely blindsided by the lackadaisical service and blandness of most dishes. It was a 3 hour of unfulfilled expectations.

Warning signals came early. First the waitress mis-poured the wine tasting leaving dribbles down the glass with no apologies nor attempt to wipe it clean. Then the Amouse Bouche was tepid and ahi appetizer dry.

We were still hopeful since after all this was Chez Francois . Each and every dish suffered shortcomings, the soft shell crab was mushy, and egg on the tartare hard cooked. But overwhelmingly the food was flavorless.
At a adjoining table two diners were heavily salting the lobster and shellfish medley dishes.

We were seated at 6:30 and finally signed the $500 plus check at 9:30. Sad and disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful food and wonderful service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

First time to dine here but wont be our last. We made reservations for the outdoor patio seating but with a scheduling conflict the owner seated us in the formal dining area even thou we were dressed casual and sat to chat with us (turns out we have mutual friends). Our waiter (s) were superb, answering all our questions with recommendations and guided us through our choices. They were out of the wine we chose and were upgraded at no extra charge. The food was above excellent and the portions hearty (couldn't order desert). The whole dining experience was AA++ and felt like family. We will be back often.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 6, 2017

French cuisine is the top of the food chain in terms of sauces and taste. The menu choices were excellent and original. We enjoyed the service and ambiance. Excellent choice for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great food great service. We were treated as one should be in a fine restaurant. The owner and staff were very helpful with wine pairings for our diners. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Separately, we have been looking forward to dining here for several years. Celebrating a special birthday, we took the time, drive and stayed the night in Vermillon just to dine at Chez Francois. The ambiance, the table setting and the lighting was perfectly romantic. Ordering the wine took a bit of time, but once it arrived it was very nice. The lobster bisque was exceptional...the carpaccio was not impressive with tasteless mushrooms. The main courses have mixed reviews. The Veal dish with a scallop, a shrimp etc was very, very good and the flavors nice. The shellfish dish which included lobster, scallops, shrimp, mussels, little neck clams (all in there shells) over pasta. It was very large and intimidating when it arrived at the table, but it was pretty and it made a statement. After delving in, it was one of the worst shellfish dishes I have ever had. The lobster was dried out and no flavor. The scallops tasted old and mussel were small and also no flavor. The best part was the 5 little neck clams and the 2 shrimp. I wanted to order a pizza when I left, I was starving as I did not eat much of the dish, it was that bad. I felt embarrassed and bad as I was on a date.
The worst part came later, when our night ended early, due to my upset stomach.

The servers worked in teams. One half of our team was excellent-the other was not very good. She talked us into a crime brûlée dessert which was also terrible and not warm but gooey and cold. Also, our service seemed to take quite a bit of time. We were the last ones out after 3 plus hours.

All in all, I am not so sure we will be back. If we do give it another try, I would order a non-seafood dish. Shell fish seafood restaurants are best on the east coast and it is always a risk to order in the Midwest...even a t $40-$50 a plate. One would have thought it would have been fresh and fabulous.

The ambiance, the wine, the bisque, the view and the company (I was with) made this visit worthwhile. The food not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.