Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

About Chez Francois - Vermilion

"If your a serious foodie" or "if romance is calling, sail on up" - literally - to this "French gem" on the Vermilion River, where the "sumptuous" menu and "professional but friendly" staff earn it the top rating from Food and Service in the Cleveland area; "well worth the drive" west of downtown , this "ethereal experience" (the perfect place to propose!") also includes a phenomenal wine list", "charming old world dining room" and "relaxing" riverfront cafe. Proper attire required. Touché a martini/wine bar was opened in 2007 and offers a "small plates" menu and a great selection of adult beverages.

555 Main Street
Vermilion, OH 44089
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 967-0630

Website:
http://www.chezfrancois.com/

Entertainment:
Chez Francois features live entertainment of Saturdays at Touché, the music changes each week from acoustic guitar to Latin/Jazz to Rhythm & Blues. Sportcoat requested for dining inside; tie is optional. Business Casual is requested for River Front Cafe dining.

Parking Details:
Chez Francois is located in a neighborhood and has street parking around the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef D'Amico

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Chez Francois can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Mars & John D'Amico: (877) 925-0181

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chez Francois - Vermilion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (64)
Worth the Drive (63)
Special Occasion (60)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Waterfront (57)
Notable Wine List (54)
Scenic View (48)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Good for a Date (41)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Authentic (31)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Cozy (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Local Ingredients (20)
Seasonal (13)
Historic (12)
Fun (11)
Business Meals (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Private Room (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Organic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1612 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

No words describe the excellence of Chez Francois ! In a class of its own anywhere near here! Top notch service , food and ambiance. Truly the best restaurant for those wanting only the best of everything. Impressive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Organic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

we had heard great things about Chez Francois from several people plus general reviews. They are one of the few restaurants on Open Table that seem to pay attention to the special requests in the reservation section. Upon arrival they greeted us with a Happy Anniversary! Servers terrific. Nathan is friendly, knowledgeable, spent time reviewing gluten free options, explained the menu, the selections, recommended wines etc. The lamb rack was outstanding as was the Beef Wellington. Excellent soft shell crab appetizer as well. All in all, great experience. Jacket required for men. Added a nice, classy touch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great classic food! Great atmosphere. Love sitting on the patio

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I tried Chez Francois as a birthday surprise for my husband. We were not disappointed! I requested outdoor dining as it is slightly more casual than their indoor dining with a great view of the lake. It was perfect! We had two servers & both were excellent. We both enjoyed their seafood specials. Food was exquisitely prepared & we were never rushed. Our table was right next to the water where we could enjoy the passing boats as the sun went down. Only negative is that their is only candle lighting outside, so by the time our main course was served, we almost couldn't see it. But it was delicious and worth the long drive. The price tag is high, but it was meant to be a special birthday treat. This would be a great place to celebrate an anniversary!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had an awesome dinner with my cousin and his wife. Food was amazing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, People Watching, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I would eliminate the I-pods fir drink orders. I am not sure why they are using it but it seemed to slow things down at first.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We sat on the patio and apparently were right under the birdfeeder up above as we had birdseed coming down in my hair in my water and on our table the whole time we were there. Not a place they should of had a table situated. I got the special of the day the Chilean sea bass which was flavorless and very subpar... and for $55 way overpriced. Very disappointed in our experience we had there. Will not go again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The service and atmosphere at the restaurant were outstanding. I personally did not care that much for my lobster dinner because I like plain lobster. I do not care for sauces that cover up the real flavor of the food. The chef did an excellent job of halving the lobster so it was easy to eat. Our waitresses were the bomb.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Another phenomenal dinner and experience from Matt, John and the entire Chez team! By far the best dining experience in Northeast Ohio and we are already planning our next dinner event for later in the summer.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Our 4th wedding anniversary dinner was very special, in large part to Chez Francois! There was a beautiful card on our table, hand-signed by the staff, wishing us a happy anniversary. Our waiter, Omar, was personable, professional and very knowledgeable about both the food and wine. I personally loved having the iPad to read through the wine list and learn about each individual wine. The food was all excellent. For appetizers we had the quail wrapped in proscuitto, and one of the specials which was soft-shell crab. All cooked perfectly and were decent enough appetizer portions. My entree, the beef wellington, was one of the most memorable dishes of my life. The filet itself is by far the best steak I've had - very even textured, and so tender I'd call it silky. My husband order the veal chop, which was also very well executed, but I think just outshone by my entree!

The creme caramel we had for dessert upon our waiter's recommendation was delicious and rich and still somehow light. We eat a LOT of creme brulee and flan, and this was among the best, but I wish we had branched out a little.

Two very, very small complaints. Apparently Vermilion has events in the summer called "third Thursdays" which fell on the same day as our reservation and it was a parking nightmare when we drove into town. We don't live nearby, so it would've been nice to have a warning about how crowded it would be around the restaurant. The other quirky thing was the timing. Our reservation was at 7, and I don't think we even ordered any food until close to 8. My parents had ordered us a bottle of bubbly which arrived right away, and we basically finished that before appetizers and bread came. I understand letting us relax and just enjoy the wine...but a little bread or something in the mean time would've been nice. However, overall I HIGHLY recommend for special occasions and commend Chez Francois for holding such a high standard!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Very enjoyable experience. Our servers were outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Good foods,excellent service. Very friendly proprietor with good knowledge of wines!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Nice table overlooking the river. Excellent food and service. Manager was very accommodating for my husband, who uses a walker. Wonderful place to celebrate an anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We have been to Chez Francois before, but I would have to say that of our six visits, this was tied for the best. Great food, and even better service. Truly a great evening, more than justifying the drive and fully justifying the expense. we were celebrating our 37th wedding anniversary and the visit of our oldest daughter and her husband, both very discriminating consumers of fine dining from Washington, DC. We all agree that Chez Francois would do well anywhere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Fantastic food and evening as always. And excellent, friendly service by Omar. Looking forward to returning.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I've been gone from OH since 1968, presently live in CA so I had heard raved reviews from my friends that live in the Vermilion area - my desire was to enjoy the ambiance here someday and it happened this year! Wonderful experience! Food was outstanding, along with the presentation. Just one item - my cocktail was served with a lemon slice that still had seeds in it - did not look very appealing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Seems like overall quality has slipped compared to previous years.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

33rd wedding anniversary. There are few places of this caliber to go to for a special occasion. The food, wine and service is impeccable. The restaurant itself is very cozy with a beautiful view of the river. A place where you dress semi formal or dine on the patio a little more casual. Foodies must stop here.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Outstanding evening at Chez. Service was exceptional. Food and beverages phenomenal. Perfect evening to sit outside on the deck. Always a wonderful experience there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 2, 2017

From the moment we walked in across the deck, the scenery was amazing. Great location, very hospitable and knowledgeable staff and the chef's food was to die for. I recommend the filet Wellington, but everything on their menu, including specials were mouth watering. The whole experience made my fiancé and I feel like royalty and for the price I paid, you won't find that
elsewhere. Some places have great food or great staff, this place has both. A must go place at least once in your life. I've never had such a great dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Chez Francois is a gem along the lake! Outstanding service, delicious food, and a warm atmosphere await. Parking nearby is easy. Dinner is leisurely, in true French fashion. Enjoy!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Chez Francois is a wonderful place! In spite of the fact that I was "under dressed" (my mistake as I should have read the bottom of the confirmation), Mr. Mars was very cordial, didn't turn us away, and sat us outside on the veranda overlooking the river. He even provided us with a pre dinner cocktail while we waited for the opening outside. While it rained outside, My wife enjoyed the Escalope de Veau aux Fruits de Mer and I enjoyed the Ferme Feuille d’érable Magret de Canard Rôti, Cerise Glace de Viande - both were spectacular! Our waiter, Dave, couldn't have made us feel any better! He attended to our every need and made us feel at home! A return trip is definitely in order!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We LOVE this place! Our request for a patio table was honored and in spite of rainy weather, the glass doors kept us comfortable while allowing a great view of the river. The best part is the food! We always order the escargot to start because it's so wonderful. For the entree I totally enjoyed the shellfish over saffron pasta. My husband always orders the filet and raves about it. Our dessert came beautifully presented with port wine. French press coffee is excellent too. It's worth the drive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Fun, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

excellent food in a beautiful setting. the appetizers are exiting, main course more main stream but great overall.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My wife and I were treated to outstanding service and very good food for our
wedding anniversary. Certainly worth the drive for the ambience and setting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We had a wonderful first visit and Anniversary celebration. Mathew was very cordial and came to our table to greet us and wish us a happy anniversary . Our team of servers were very attentive and made our dinner memorable. We were so pleased we made another reservation as we have friends coming from out of town and will look forward to our next visit and evening of great food, drinks and hospitality!
Kind regards,
Fred Lima

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The salmon and sea bass and the service were outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were pretty excited to dine here for our first time and heard a lot of great things about the restaurant. The ambiance and location were no disappointment and we would return again for those attributes. We each ordered the same main dinner entree, a strip steak au poivre which was prepared fine however the flavor was mediocre at best. Temperature of the steak was timidly warm. I expected the food to have that "wow" factor and it didn't.....

Cocktails were good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We enjoyed an outstanding dinner at Chez Francois this past Tuesday evening with my mother, visiting from Iowa. We have enjoyed many dinners now at Chez Francois and they all have been simply elegant and amazing dining experiences. The ambiance, food and service are absolutely second-to-none! We live in Lakewood and dining here certainly is worth the drive, and we look forward to our next dining experience later this year. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We visit the restaurant twice a year on our way back and forth from Denver to upstate NY We look forward to a great dinner with friends. The food and wines are fantastic. Matt is always so gracious and helpful. A special place!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was very good, especially the pea soup; and the little amuse-bouche was quite tasty. The wine list is impressive. I had the fish and it was a HUGE portion. We left stuffed, albeit slightly broke...very expensive! The only thing that annoyed me was that we made a reservation yet still had to wait almost a half hour for our table. The waiter was super friendly and joked around with us a bit, which was nice and made the atmosphere a little less hoity-toity. I was very annoyed with the water boy who dripped water on my lamb-skin leather jacket I bought in Italy. Now it has a water spot forever.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

If you are looking for a an outstanding classic french restaurant, then Chez is for you. I am a world traveler and It is one of the best restaurants ever. Chez runs circles around Jules Verne in the Eiffel Tower.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was Mother's Day and we took my 86 year old mom out for a special dinner.
It was perfect.
They seated her with a view although we asked for inside. The atmosphere was elegant, service was attentive, food delicious, wine awesome and reasonably priced thanks to the owner whom helped us choose and moms night was perfect!
We definetly would return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place never ever fails to disappoint. It's one of our favorite upscale restaurants and we will always be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I took my mother here for the first time. She said it was the best experience she has ever had. We loved the lobster thermidor I will be recommending this experience to my friends. The staff were great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fantastic! Service and ambiance were worth the price. Bring your wallet, but also your pallet

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Chez Francois is a truly great experience. It is very sophisticated yet very comfortable. The staff are always friendly and experts in fine dining. The menu has such variety and everything that I have ordered has always been perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Went for my wife's birthday. Expensive? Sure. But we had two of the best entrees we have ever had anywhere (my wife had beef Wellington and I had a veal chop with wild mushrooms and risotto.) Probably the best restaurant I have been to between New York and Chicago.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Lovely experience from the time you enter the door and are greeted by Matt and seated. Knowledgeable, earthy staff. We are fortunate to have Chez Francois in Cleveland. Congratulations to the owners Matt and John for 30 years offering an experience not just a meal.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful time, great food...and an atmosphere to die for

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.