Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

About Chez Francois - Vermilion

"If your a serious foodie" or "if romance is calling, sail on up" - literally - to this "French gem" on the Vermilion River, where the "sumptuous" menu and "professional but friendly" staff earn it the top rating from Food and Service in the Cleveland area; "well worth the drive" west of downtown , this "ethereal experience" (the perfect place to propose!") also includes a phenomenal wine list", "charming old world dining room" and "relaxing" riverfront cafe. Proper attire required. Touché a martini/wine bar was opened in 2007 and offers a "small plates" menu and a great selection of adult beverages.

555 Main Street
Vermilion, OH 44089
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 967-0630

Website:
http://www.chezfrancois.com/

Entertainment:
Chez Francois features live entertainment of Saturdays at Touché, the music changes each week from acoustic guitar to Latin/Jazz to Rhythm & Blues. Sportcoat requested for dining inside; tie is optional. Business Casual is requested for River Front Cafe dining.

Parking Details:
Chez Francois is located in a neighborhood and has street parking around the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef D'Amico

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Chez Francois can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Mars & John D'Amico: (877) 925-0181

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chez Francois - Vermilion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (30)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (26)
Waterfront (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Scenic View (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Authentic (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Historic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

The attention to detail, regarding both food and service, is exceptional. We experienced a delicious meal in a relaxed and quiet setting that was perfectly paced for our enjoyment. Our evening at Chez Francois was one of our finest meals and finest dining experiences ever.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Decidedly fair. Maybe we have been lucky with our eating experiences but when soup is the best course it will be a long time before we make it back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Chez for our anniversary. Everything was perfect. Pricey yes, but definitely worth it. We ordered menu items and they were fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Amazing food- lobster ravioli, beef wellington, filet mignon, and chocolate mousse torte. Absolutely amazing service- the owner came and sat down with us at our table and talked with us; our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable with great recommendations. Can't believe I've waited this long to try this restaurant. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Wonderful in every way. The chef is doing things I can only dream of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a wonderful Easter dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our entrees were exceptional. I normally order the escargot for an appetizer but upon hearing there was Oysters Rockefeller I ordered that instead since I haven't had it for quite some time. I was very disappointed. There was so much spinach and bacon I couldn't find any oyster. The shells were large as they normally are but there was absolutely no oyster flavor. We had a great table for 2 against the wall which should have been quite private. A customer at the next table spent his whole meal sitting sideways hanging over the passing area. He was constantly rubbing his head back towards our table. It was very upsetting. I felt like I needed to move my food closer to the wall due to this head rubbing. He was also annoying with his conversation (louder than needed) and cursing. He seemed to be a regular at the restaurant and knew the manager and serving staff. My husband and I eat here at least once a year. We have loved the drive and atmosphere on all other occasions. We didn't want to complain in front of the customer and have to spend our meal sitting next to him knowing we complained. I was unfortunate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great for no reason or for any reason- our favorite place and we drive an hour and a half to get there.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Celebrated my 37th wedding anniversary and I couldn't have picked a more perfect place ! The ambiance, the food, oooh! the food, and our waitress and waiter, you couldn't ask for more. I plan on going back just to experience it all over again!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Chez Francois est toujours une expérience fabuleuse.
Always outstanding. Thanks to Matt, John and the crew.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was the most amazing restaurant experience I've ever had. Food, service and atmosphere were out of this world.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our meals were delicious and we received excellent service including help navigating the walkway. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Exceptional cuisine with an exceptional view. The beef wellington melts in your mouth along with the artichokes. The banana foster was unlike any that we have ever tasted with a delicate sweetness followed by a gentle warmth that does not overwhelm. The service was polite, timely and provided some educational value regarding the history surrounding the restaurant. Overall, Chez deserves its stellar reputation.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Private Room, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 5, 2017

As always, an extraordinary dining experience, this time made particularly marvelous by our serving partners, Roger and Josh, who offered up fine suggestions on both the food and the Wine. We both had the lobster thermador in a garlic wine sauce, beautifully presented in an eater-ready mode. The salad and dessert were equally enjoyable.

The restaurant is as French in style as its name suggests. Nestled waterfront on the Vermilion River close to Lake Erie, the ambience is classical French country intimate, with its brick walls and hanging florals. The service is impeccable and the food and massive wine and beer lists are incredible. There is a dress code, which also sets the tone that a night at Chex Francois is not just a nice out-to-dinner: it is an experien

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent food and service; very upscale ambiance. This is a top notch restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Wonderful experience for a special occasion. Food was delicious, service was great, and the owner was so hospitable and charming.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our first visit to Chez Francois did not disappoint. Food was fantastic and incredible service. We chose the tasting menu. Since I have food allergies my selection was only a little limited. Every course was a special treat. Ambiance was great also. Nicely decorated, French music loud enough to hear, but not too loud to inhibit conversation. Overall a great meal and a great evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service was impeccable. Wine pairings were perfect. All food was delicious. 4 star on lobster bisque because my sister said a it was a little bland and pastry was undercooked. Ambiance was divine. Would love to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was our first time ever at a really expensive fine restaurant and all I can say is, Wow. Everything was delicious, the service was outstanding, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We will plan so that can return sometime.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 24, 2017

It was our first visit to Chez Francois. It won't be our last. Everything was wonderful ... the service, the ambiance, and of course the food ... all excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have been going to Chez Francois since 1989, and have never been disappointed. The regular menu is excellent, but they also offer specials which are even better. The service was impeccable, as our server Leah anticipated our every need.

A classy touch: each dessert is accompanied by a glass of after-dinner wine.

The 50-mile drive from Cleveland is well worth it.

We'll be back again soon.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Restaurant is amazing. Service is impeccable. Food top notch.
If they try to seat you on the enclosed patio before summer.
Wait for another table. Restaurant is beautiful. Patio not so much. We froze out there. I had to get my coat. They eventually had a table that opened up inside, but we
were already through the appetizers and I didn't feel appropriate to get up and have them haul everything inside. Hour drive to restaurant. Worth it just a little disappointed

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My wife and I went to Chez Francois for the first time to celebrate my wife's birthday, and absolutely loved it. The ambiance is excellent, the wait staff is super knowledgeable and attentive, and the food was absolutely outstanding. We strongly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Truly the best restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Che Francois was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. It was romantic and we were treated like Kings!! excellent service and food- they went above and beyond with everything!! It was an elegant dining experience!! I plan to go back for my anniversary every year and make it a tradition!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Was a great date night. The owner personally sat with us for some time, and we really appreciated the personal touches. The food was great!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our experience at Chez Francois was stellar. Great food and accommodating staff make this place a good. Worth every penny!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This was a surprise Birthday. Lauren was the server & did an outstanding job. I cannot say enough about your restaurant

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

BiLing and I did the five course tasting menu which was awesome. Chef John served us Scallops with warm Goat Cheese, Srimp with Pasta, Lamb rack, Beef Tenderloin with Duck Confit, Salmon dish, Kobe Beef TarTar with Quail Egg, and wonderful desserts. The wine pairings done by Matthew Mars, owner were first class. One bottler served was the last bottle in the restaurant. :-) We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My wife and I each enjoyed five courses as we celebrated the 45th anniversary of our engagement. The pacing of the meal was excellent, and every bite was exquisite. The waiter and his assistant were delightful and attentive. After the main part of our meal (rack of lamb for her, filet of beef for me), we shared Bananas Foster (absolutely to die for!) and Irish Coffee. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly before heading off for a B&B for the night. Well worth our 75-minute trip each way to sit back and relax!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It's been a while since we made the trek from Cleveland to Vermillion and CF did not disappoint. Service was efficient, professional, and cordial. Food was beautifully presented and flavors were wonderful. Our only surprise was one of the desserts. One in our party wanted a very light dessert and so ordered the lemon souffle. What we received was not a souffle, but a lighter, airy lemon cake. The speed at which it arrived should have been the first clue of a different souffle recipe. Normally restaurants that do souffles tell you that it takes a while to bake. CF's version is served cold and seemed more of a summer dessert. It tasted fine, but was not what expected. They probably should rename this offering. We will definitely go back and recommend CF to friends. The dessert was a minor issue.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful experience. A special place for a special
occasion - but don't wait for a special
occasion to visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This restaurant lands in the 'Best of NE Ohio' lists for good reason! The food is beyond compare, the atmosphere is amazing, the wait staff are attentive and extremely knowledgeable and the menu is delicious. I've been coming to Chez for years and am NEVER disappointed by a meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Enough cannot be said about the service. Service such as this pairs nicely with the delicious drink and cuisine that Chef Francois provides it's patrons. The Manhattan's and Old Fashioned's we had were expertly crafted. It will be quite some time before I find another drink as well made.
As cliche as it is, I always have the duck in French restaurant's. This dish was exceptional and stood far above any other plates I've had in the past.
The dessert was served with a mouth-watering port, thankfully. After all of those drinks, I was grateful and appreciative of the delicious coffee, french-press of course.
An absolutely fabulous Christmas dinner. Your decorations, staff and excellent menu truly meant the evening to us. Thank you.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My family and I have come here many times for special occasions. The ambiance is very romantic and wonderful, whether you are on the outside in the summer overlooking the lagoon or inside. Decor is always elegant and lovely. Food is just fabulous every time. It is fairly pricey but proves " you get what you pay for " and we've never been disappointed. Despite the Atmosphere and siohusticatuon of the food, staff are all down to earth and trying to make sure you have a terrific time. Very highly recommended and worth the drive from Cleveland.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fantastic restaurant! French menu-very authentic-varied offerings-different price ranges, but would be considered more pricy than others. A lot of ambiance. Excellent wine list. We go their for special occasions several times a year.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Attended this beautiful restaurant in Vermillion on a weeknight in December. They have a nice selection of beer, wine and cocktails. Many enticing choices on the menu for appetizers and entrees. After narrowing down to a handful, I followed the waitresses' recommendations and had the the lobster ravioli appetizer and the beef wellington (a house specialty). Both were delicious. Strongly recommended, and my favorite restaurant in Northern Ohio during my 13-month extended stay.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I had a fantastic dinner with a work colleague over the holidays. It has to be one of the best dining experiences I have had and I live in Atlanta where we have a large number of high end dining options. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great Restaurant with an extensive wine list and terrific food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great Beer, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Chez Francois never disappoints! Thank you to Matt and his entire staff for a wonderful evening filled with fantastic food, even better service, and great memories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.