About Chez Francois - Vermilion

555 Main Street
Vermilion, OH 44089
View Larger Map

"If your a serious foodie" or "if romance is calling, sail on up" - literally - to this "French gem" on the Vermilion River, where the "sumptuous" menu and "professional but friendly" staff earn it the top rating from Food and Service in the Cleveland area; "well worth the drive" west of downtown , this "ethereal experience" (the perfect place to propose!") also includes a phenomenal wine list", "charming old world dining room" and "relaxing" riverfront cafe. Proper attire required. Touché a martini/wine bar was opened in 2007 and offers a "small plates" menu and a great selection of adult beverages.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 967-0630

Website:
http://www.chezfrancois.com/

Entertainment:
Chez Francois features live entertainment of Saturdays at Touché, the music changes each week from acoustic guitar to Latin/Jazz to Rhythm & Blues. Sportcoat requested for dining inside; tie is optional. Business Casual is requested for River Front Cafe dining.

Parking Details:
Chez Francois is located in a neighborhood and has street parking around the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef D'Amico

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Angus Beef Strip Loin Wild Onions And Morels - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Chilean Seabass - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Apple Frangipane Tart & Walnut Ice Cream & Carmel Sauce - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Quail, Grenache Sun Dried Cherry Reduction - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Oxtail Ravioli, Truffle Bitter Sauce - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Peekytoe Crab & Kiwi Salad, Mango Ravioli - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
White Truffle Ice Cream - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Egg Fettuccine with White Truffles - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Roast Tenderloin of Veal with Sauce Périgueux - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Truffle Cappuccino - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Cod & Maine Lobster with Truffle Potato Foam - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Scrambled Eggs & Truffles - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Sea Scallop En Croûte - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Lobster Thermidor - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Escargot - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Lobster Ravioli - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 5:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Chez Francois can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Chez Francois - Vermilion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Service
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
13 More
Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Outdoor Dining
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Romantic
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Scenic View
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Special Occasion
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
Romantic
Cleveland
Special Occasion
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Vermilion ›

Special Occasion (106)
Romantic (83)
Notable Wine List (68)
See All
Scenic View (68)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Waterfront (56)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Worth the Drive (54)
Good for a Date (52)
Great for Outdoor Dining (51)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Cozy (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Authentic (22)
Historic (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Seasonal (13)
Business Meals (12)
People Watching (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (3)
Vegan (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, superior service and ambiance ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As always, superior service and ambiance. Outstanding menu, quality dinning at its best. One of the best restaurants in Ohio or anywhere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Matt always has the best cuisine and atm ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Matt always has the best cuisine and atmosphere for that special family or friend gathering!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything -- the cocktails, the food, t ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Everything -- the cocktails, the food, the wine, and the service of Nathan and Josh, the ambiance -- was incredible!! My friend and I had an amazing time, and we were treated like kings! I always love Chez Francois, but this time, the experience was even more outstanding!!!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service, and experience. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing food, service, and experience. I must have told 20 people within 24 hours about the Chez Francois experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is the best restaurant in Northern Oh ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It is the best restaurant in Northern Ohio. Bar none.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the best restaurant in Northeast ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Northeast Ohio. My wife and I went with the Truffle Dinner Menu and were not disappointed. Each course highlighted either white or black truffle in a balanced and delicious dish. It was impossible to pick a favorite. The staff was friendly and attentive allowing us to enjoy our at our leisure. Chez Francois is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you to Matt, Chef John, and the st ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Thank you to Matt, Chef John, and the staff for another unforgettable evening. As always the truffle dinner was extraordinary, but that is what this place does best. The extraordinary with their food and service. It is so nice to have a place to still be able to dress up and go out for a long relaxing dinner.

As always I cannot wait to come back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the service was exceptional w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As always, the service was exceptional with John & Frank doing their utmost to make our evening as enjoyable as possible. The food was excellent & exactly as we expected. The entire night was a food lovers paradise & made or anniversary one to remember with great delight. I highly recommend Chez Francois to satisfy ones palate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very fine dining experience. Great foo ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 4, 2016

A very fine dining experience. Great food. A lovely place. Don't forget to dress up and men, wear a jacket.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations to propose to my now f ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Made reservations to propose to my now fiancé. Worked with the manager to arrange the evening. Everything went as planned. Our two waiters were exceptional. Our food from appetizer to dessert was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best ; top of the line destination ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The best ; top of the line destination restaurant. I wish it was closer. My wife and I recently celebrated our 20 th anniversary . I contacted Chef John D'Amico regarding some white truffle additions he prepared for my wife off the menu. He actually took the phone call !! Try that in other 4 star restaurants. Front of house maitre d' and sommelier Matt Mars is always gracious and knowledgeable about all wines and entree pairings. Reminds one of the now closed Charlie Trotters

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My rack of lamb was made to perfection a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My rack of lamb was made to perfection and arrived at our table in a timely manner. As a Chef, I am critical on food preparation, but this experience truly exceeded my expectations. I give the entire visit five stars. I really enjoyed it.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was excellent. It ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The entire experience was excellent. It was our anniversary dinner. Leah was a delight and incredibly attentive. Everything was prepared with great attention to detail. We came from Delaware to enjoy this room. We would recommend this establishment. Well done! Thank you for a precious lasting memory.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best restaurant I have ever b ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

By far the best restaurant I have ever been to from the ambiance to the servers and last but not least the menu. Can't wait to go back!!!!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite destinations.....we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of our favorite destinations.....we go at least once a year and don't mind the long ride because the dining experience is always special. Food awesome plus beautiful setting. Service excellent. We shall return.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful dinner with an excellen ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Just a wonderful dinner with an excellent menu and daily specials. Service is outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, staff, and atmosphere all were top ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food, staff, and atmosphere all were top-notch. Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a phenomenal time a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My husband and I had a phenomenal time at Chez Francois. It is now the number one restaurant on the top of our list. The love and care given to the food and the knowledgable and attentive service makes your feel pampered from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. Each bite was delectable and savored. Overall, it was such a lovely and memorable dining experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best fine dinning experience in Northern ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Best fine dinning experience in Northern Ohio hands down

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and ambiance make for a wonderf ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food and ambiance make for a wonderful evening. Great place to celebrate that special occasion.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Vegan, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every dinner at Chez Francois is an occa ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Every dinner at Chez Francois is an occasion! Kudos to Matt Mars, Chef John D'Amico and Staff for adhering to the highest standards of cuisine and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Literally the best meal & service I have ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Literally the best meal & service I have ever experienced. While also the most expensive, it was certainly a memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was the best French cuisine I have had (only other French restaurant I have been to is Refectory in Columbus, Ohio) but most importantly for French cuisine the portions were relatively large and left being very full which meant a lot to me considering the price of the meals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, great service; not handicap f ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Good food, great service; not handicap friendly(old building, lots of steps--- May not have seen another entrance for handicap). The portions were rather large, at least for us; but overall a wonderful restaurant .

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have a tradition of dining at Chez Fr ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We have a tradition of dining at Chez Francois every year on our anniversary. And every year we agree it's the best meal we've had since last year! The food is delicious. The presentation is beautiful. The main dining room is cozy and inviting. Even though it's a high-dollar restaurant, the staff is friendly and helpful; no pretentiousness here. The restaurant is pricey, but well worth it, especially for a special occasion dinner. I would highly recommend Chez to anyone looking for a place to impress!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal we have had in years. Extraord ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Best meal we have had in years. Extraordinary food and amabiance. We'll definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

オハイオのこの地にこんなフレンチ・レストランが有ると知ったのはネットで偶々見つけ ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 8, 2016

オハイオのこの地にこんなフレンチ・レストランが有ると知ったのはネットで偶々見つけたからである。評判も上々であったので、期待して訪問した。食事内容、サービス、店の雰囲気、いずれも最高の一軒である。私が住む街からはやや距離は有るが、是非再訪したい店である。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In one word, FANTASTIC! We had a wonderf ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

In one word, FANTASTIC! We had a wonderful view of the river, great service, and the was incredible. Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I dined recently during t ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 6, 2016

My husband and I dined recently during the fall gourmet clam bake. From the beginning tasting of puree of pumpkin through the first course medley of little neck clams and mussels, it was evident this was not going to be an ordinary clambake dinner. Each course complimented the last as did the suggested wine and beer pairings and was thoughtfully served at our own pace by our very pleasant wait staff. They were endlessly cheerful, helpful, and patient. We have dined here many times and are never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Organic, Business Meals, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an excellent choice for a fine di ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Always an excellent choice for a fine dinner or special occasion.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We don't think there is any better resta ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We don't think there is any better restaurant in all of Northeast Ohio. More to the point, we think it is clearly the best.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was outstanding, as usual ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The experience was outstanding, as usual. We enjoy going there for special occasions - the staff always makes us feel welcome, and the food is outstanding!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an evening dinner. Nice location ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We had an evening dinner. Nice location on river. Ambiance was a little dark and slightly funereal. The menu is very ambitious and, on the whole, food and presentation were above average. The service was very good. However, the price wasn't quite justifiable at the level of gourmet dining we experienced. It's a good restaurant, but didn't quite meet our expectations food-wise -very good but not great. We'll probably try again. It's hard to judge fairly on just one experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We have eaten in the finest restaurants ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We have eaten in the finest restaurants such as LeCirque and La Bernadin in NYC and selected Chez

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The table offered to us was not appealin ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The table offered to us was not appealing at all.I asked that we be seated out on their tiny deck, which exceeded our expectation. Having dinner where they originally had us would have been like eating in a nursing home(very warm temp and noisy).Our two servers were excellent,Food was OK,not blown away by the flavor at all.However we will come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely outstanding, food was excepti ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Absolutely outstanding, food was exceptional and the wait staff fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was outstanding. Even tho one ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The staff was outstanding. Even tho one of the gentlemen in our group did not have a jacket on they accommodated us. Love this place. I wasn't very fond of the fish dish that I had, Hog Fish I think it was, but that has nothing to do with the restaurant. I just chose the wrong dish for me.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This place never disappoints. The food h ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 28, 2016

This place never disappoints. The food has always been special but I think it has gotten even better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and gastronomical de ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Exceptional service and gastronomical delight. Better than ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and outdoor dining as usual. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food and outdoor dining as usual. From the appetizer to the dessert, everything delicious. And nice presentation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.