Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

About Chez Francois - Vermilion

"If your a serious foodie" or "if romance is calling, sail on up" - literally - to this "French gem" on the Vermilion River, where the "sumptuous" menu and "professional but friendly" staff earn it the top rating from Food and Service in the Cleveland area; "well worth the drive" west of downtown , this "ethereal experience" (the perfect place to propose!") also includes a phenomenal wine list", "charming old world dining room" and "relaxing" riverfront cafe. Proper attire required. Touché a martini/wine bar was opened in 2007 and offers a "small plates" menu and a great selection of adult beverages.

555 Main Street
Vermilion, OH 44089
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 967-0630

Website:
http://www.chezfrancois.com/

Entertainment:
Chez Francois features live entertainment of Saturdays at Touché, the music changes each week from acoustic guitar to Latin/Jazz to Rhythm & Blues. Sportcoat requested for dining inside; tie is optional. Business Casual is requested for River Front Cafe dining.

Parking Details:
Chez Francois is located in a neighborhood and has street parking around the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef D'Amico

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Chez Francois can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Mars & John D'Amico: (877) 925-0181

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chez Francois - Vermilion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (109)
Waterfront (100)
Romantic (98)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (96)
Worth the Drive (89)
Notable Wine List (82)
Scenic View (81)
Creative Cuisine (76)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Good for a Date (72)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Quiet Conversation (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Authentic (42)
Local Ingredients (42)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Cozy (32)
Seasonal (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Groups (16)
Fun (15)
Tasting Menu (12)
People Watching (11)
Hot Spot (7)
Historic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1694 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 15 hours ago

Saved my cat. Thank you dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Chez is the best restaurant around Ohio and on a very short list anywhere.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our second visit to Chez to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and we had another wonderful evening. We celebrated with friends who had not dined there before and they now share our enthusiasm for the setting, cuisine and the attentive staff. While pricey, for special occasions it is well worth the cost. We had a lovely table on the back deck overlooking the canal and cottages. As darkness approached, the lights from the boats and the homes was lovely and added to the mood and setting. The wait staff (John and Nathan) were marvelous- attentive, knowledgeable of the food and beverage menu, and just plan fun to chat with!
Another memorable dinner for our anniversary. Thanks to all at Chez!

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I had heard for years that the restaurant was superb, and was puzzled as to how that could be true in the "boonies" of Vermilion. The answer is that it's true and that is an extremely attractive location, even though quite a drive from Cleveland (probably less daunting for west-siders though). The squash blossom stuffed with seafood was one of the most delicious items I have ever enjoyed.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

This had to be one one best meals we have ever had. From drinks to desert. The service was outstanding with all our option explained. Can't wait to return and try some new things.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Zucchini blossom appetizer was amazing. Service and ambiance incredible, as always. My Chilean sea bass special was underwhelming, but everything else was close to perfect.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We dine here at least a couple of times of year, and we are never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

Server was very nice and very personable. She was very knowledgeable on the menu and specials. She is a good asset to the establishment. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great evening. The most wonderful menu. Especially loved veal dish and steak. ...and service to match

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

We have been here quite a few times. This is a special destination for us. Usually go on our anniversary however we celebrated a special birthday for my wife.

First the positives, the food is outstanding. Original pairings of flavors and locally sourced ingredients produce a truly phenomenal meal. The wine list is very extensive and offers choices from the low $40's to many hundreds. As a rule, the service is unbeatable, our assistant server was very good for this occasion......more on that later.
The menu, while not huge, does offer a nice array of choices some priced as low as the upper $30 range to high $70's Nice selection of fresh (brought in that AM) seafood to local meats. All served fresh, plentiful and presented very nicely.

Areas where we were a bit disappointed. We had to wait about five to ten mins after being seated to be approached by anyone. No greeting, no request for H2O, no bread, nothing. Generally service here is spot on. The serving team is johnny on the spot. That having been said, I think our server recognized that I was getting a bit disappointed with the wait and was pretty much there for us all evening. As previously said, the other half of the server team was extremely good.

Prices here are very expensive. $20-25 for a "special" appetizer, $65 for entree. But we recognize that we are paying in part for the ambiance.

If it was not for the little hiccup with the service at first, I would have rated all 5 stars (except value). However, we will definately go back many times I'm sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We love celebrating our anniversary at Chez Francois. Everything from the cuisine to the ambience it absolutely amazing. Chez is one of the most elegant and prestigious places to dine in the Greater Cleveland, OH area. I recommend Chez's to everyone who is looking for a high-end, unforgettable experience that you'll absolutely love.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Delicious, beautifully served classic French cuisine. Several dishes are very rich and heavy on the cream, so not for everyday dining! Definitely a special occasion destination.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We were celebrating our 30th anniversary and Chez Francois is the perfect place for that. We did the 5 course fixed price meal with wine pairings and everything was delicious. Really loved the tuna tartar and the zucchini blossom with lobster! Excellent service and they made us feel very special..."Bon Anniversaire" in chocolate on our dessert plates along with a card signed by all the employees. We had wanted to sit outside on the water but we neglected to mention that when making the reservation, but they were able to move us outside for dessert which we appreciated. Remember to request outdoor seating if that's what you want! But the inside is still very nice and romantic. Overall it was a very enjoyable and memorable occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I've been twice to Chez Francois, both times as a host. It is a rare treat, exceptional in every way....menu, execution, ambiance, atmosphere, service, wine list 😊, views. The indoor restaurant is not for casual dining. Plan to stay the evening, savoring the food and company. I will go again when the occasion calls for it. I would go every week if I could afford it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing. I had heard about this restaurant
for years but never made the time or effort
to go. It was an hour drive and SO worth it.
We did the tasting menu with wine pairings for $150. WHAT A STEAL! Susie and Sam were our wait staff and they were both just lovely! We are already planning our next meal there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We have been to Chez Francois and have always been very pleased, especially with their focus on service. We were quite disappointed this time. Our waitress had 6 tables with our arrival. We did not get drinks until 45 minutes after our arrival. Our salad's were not served until 2 hours after our arrival. Our reservation was for 8pm and we did not leave until midnight. We were celebrating a wedding and we were very disappointed in our night. The waitress did the very best that she could, but she wis in a very difficult situation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at Chez Francois. What a memorable occasion . I made arrangements as a surprise for my Wife. Chez Francois exceeded my/our expectations. We were greeted with a personalized card from the staff congratulating us on our anniversary. All staff were amazingly tuned to our comfort and enjoyment throughout the evening.
The creme brûlée was a great encore to our favorite evening out ever!,
Thank-you!!
Mary Beth and Rick Gilts
We shall return

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

One of the six meals was brought out cold. I mentioned it to the waiter and within minutes a new plate of hot food was brought out. No questions asked, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We have been coming to Chez Francois for many years and we have never been disappointed. This time was no exception. We were celebrating our Uncle Roger's 90th birthday. Suzie was so kind, funny, entertaining and responsive - even when my brother spilled and broke a glass of red wine. In seconds and with great flair the table was reset and my brother was given a new glass of wine. The young man who was also attending our table was very friendly and accommodating. It couldn't have been a lovelier evening. Thank you so much for making this another celebration to remember.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Always a great meal! Matt and his staff are terrific providing excellent service, fantastic food, and drinks! The wine list is fabulous. The whole meal was a symphony of taste.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Chez Francois! The restaurant is beautiful in a very lovely setting. Our waiters provided impeccable service being attentive yet unobtrusive. I appreciated the fact that we were never rushed in our dining experience. We were allowed the luxury of savoring the food, the wine, and the evening we spent enjoying each other's company in the restaurant.
The servers were very insightful concerning menu suggestions and wine pairings. The food was delicious and artfully presented. We particularly enjoyed the pate appetizer, the corn soup, and the gazpacho. The entrees were perfect. From the time we entered the door until we left we were absolutely delighted with our experience.
We appreciated the dress code request as it lends to the formal ambiance of the evening.
We will return at our first opportunity.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Outstanding meal. Disappointed with my selection of red burgundy with dinner which was mediocre and not worth the price. When I mentioned this to the waiter he agreed!! When I inquired why he did not suggest a different selection he became arrogant and mildly hostile.
We will certainly return for another meal but will ask for a different server.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

This is a fantastic restaurant in a beautiful town along a scenic river. The food is always of top quality and prepared with care. The service is excellent and there is not a bad table in the house. The Maryland soft shell crabs cannot be topped.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Fabulous, per usual. Omar and Jordan were superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Simply outstanding - if not the best, then one of the best (top five), restaurants in Ohio.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our group of six celebrated a special occasion at Chez Francois. Each of us ordered appetizers, and they were all spectacular. The lobster-stuffed zucchini blossoms were the stars of the group, although the lobster bisque and stuffed artichokes were also terrific. All of our meals were beautifully prepared and presented. The sea bass, veal chop, and lobster thermidor were fantastic, and the beef Wellington was perfectly prepared, as always. All ordered desserts and they were sublime. The staff was so knowledgeable and welcoming. It was truly a perfect way to celebrate!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent dining experience as usual! The food was exceptional. Our party of 11 ordered an array of exciting dishes all done to perfection! Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and very attentive to our needs.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Chez Francois is one of our favorite restaurants in Ohio. We have been dining with them for over 10 years. The food is simply awesome! Thank you Chez!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Wonderful view great weather fabulous food
Zucchini blossoms are my favorite

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Vegan, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Unique foodie selections, knowledgeable service and ambience are all outstanding.
Great for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Expensive but worth it for a special occasion! Fantastic good, drinks, service, view, etc. I just feel sorry for my pocketbook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our dinners were excellent, with one exception. I ordered a dish with chicken, crab, and shrimp and the chicken was a bit dry and overcooked. Everything else was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Best restaurant in Ohio and perhaps one of my favorites in the country. Great owners, service, ambiance, wine - and then there's the food! Amazing -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 23, 2017

One visit was all it took for Chez Francois to become our new favorite restaurant (The last one held the title for twenty five years). Not sure which we appreciated more; the mind-blowing menu and the wine list or the atmosphere and service. Special thanks to Tim and Sean for the great service. You should stop reading and reserve a table right now.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We went to Chez Francois with our group of 4 couples for an overnight get away.
The ambiance and food was excellent! We all had appetizers ( and I strongly recommend the Escargot!) along with our entree and desert.
I ordered the veal medallions that included lobster, shrimp, scallops and asparagus, in a delicious Normandy wine sauce. I don't remember ever having a better meal.
Everyone at the table enjoyed their meal and the service.

The reason for only a 4 star on the the overall experience and the service was due to my husbands experience.
He ordered a Soft Shell crab special that looked amazing. The server stopped and offered a 3 bowl tray that contained red pepper flakes, Parmesan cheese and a pink (Himalayan ?) salt.
My husband didn't hear the server describe the accents and proceeded to spoon on what he thought was cheese. Unfortunately too late he found it was salt.
Yes, my husband applied the salt, but it was shocking the server allowed him to ruin his meal without a word of caution .
We've never seen salt served With a spoon particularly with a meal that was likely perfectly seasoned. It was a shame his meal was ruined.
We didn't say much about it, feeling guilty for the damage, but the server had little to say when we told him about it.

So be aware of bowls of salt, but defiantly go and enjoy a wonderful meal. We plan to return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Birthday celebration was perfect. This favorite location seems to get better as time goes by. How do they perfect perfection?

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Chez Francois has three different venues. There's Touche which is a high end bar with casual food or entrees. Main dining room which is more formal wear and outstanding menu. Then Riverfront Cafe which is more casual with dining waterfront but the same menu as the main dining room with some casual entrees added. All three venues have impeccable service and the finest ingredients and dishes. I highly recommend a visit to any of their venues. Bon Appetite!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our meals were excellent and the service professional, informative and friendly.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great dinner and great service, as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.