Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

About Chez Francois - Vermilion

"If your a serious foodie" or "if romance is calling, sail on up" - literally - to this "French gem" on the Vermilion River, where the "sumptuous" menu and "professional but friendly" staff earn it the top rating from Food and Service in the Cleveland area; "well worth the drive" west of downtown , this "ethereal experience" (the perfect place to propose!") also includes a phenomenal wine list", "charming old world dining room" and "relaxing" riverfront cafe. Proper attire required. Touché a martini/wine bar was opened in 2007 and offers a "small plates" menu and a great selection of adult beverages.

555 Main Street
Vermilion, OH 44089
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 967-0630

Website:
http://www.chezfrancois.com/

Entertainment:
Chez Francois features live entertainment of Saturdays at Touché, the music changes each week from acoustic guitar to Latin/Jazz to Rhythm & Blues. Sportcoat requested for dining inside; tie is optional. Business Casual is requested for River Front Cafe dining.

Parking Details:
Chez Francois is located in a neighborhood and has street parking around the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef D'Amico

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Chez Francois can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Mars & John D'Amico: (877) 925-0181

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chez Francois - Vermilion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (89)
Good for Anniversaries (87)
Romantic (82)
See All
Worth the Drive (81)
Waterfront (80)
Notable Wine List (70)
Scenic View (68)
Creative Cuisine (59)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Good for a Date (55)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Authentic (38)
Local Ingredients (34)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Cozy (32)
Seasonal (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Business Meals (16)
Fun (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Historic (10)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (6)
Private Room (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Organic (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 3 days ago

One visit was all it took for Chez Francois to become our new favorite restaurant (The last one held the title for twenty five years). Not sure which we appreciated more; the mind-blowing menu and the wine list or the atmosphere and service. Special thanks to Tim and Sean for the great service. You should stop reading and reserve a table right now.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

We went to Chez Francois with our group of 4 couples for an overnight get away.
The ambiance and food was excellent! We all had appetizers ( and I strongly recommend the Escargot!) along with our entree and desert.
I ordered the veal medallions that included lobster, shrimp, scallops and asparagus, in a delicious Normandy wine sauce. I don't remember ever having a better meal.
Everyone at the table enjoyed their meal and the service.

The reason for only a 4 star on the the overall experience and the service was due to my husbands experience.
He ordered a Soft Shell crab special that looked amazing. The server stopped and offered a 3 bowl tray that contained red pepper flakes, Parmesan cheese and a pink (Himalayan ?) salt.
My husband didn't hear the server describe the accents and proceeded to spoon on what he thought was cheese. Unfortunately too late he found it was salt.
Yes, my husband applied the salt, but it was shocking the server allowed him to ruin his meal without a word of caution .
We've never seen salt served With a spoon particularly with a meal that was likely perfectly seasoned. It was a shame his meal was ruined.
We didn't say much about it, feeling guilty for the damage, but the server had little to say when we told him about it.

So be aware of bowls of salt, but defiantly go and enjoy a wonderful meal. We plan to return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Birthday celebration was perfect. This favorite location seems to get better as time goes by. How do they perfect perfection?

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Chez Francois has three different venues. There's Touche which is a high end bar with casual food or entrees. Main dining room which is more formal wear and outstanding menu. Then Riverfront Cafe which is more casual with dining waterfront but the same menu as the main dining room with some casual entrees added. All three venues have impeccable service and the finest ingredients and dishes. I highly recommend a visit to any of their venues. Bon Appetite!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our meals were excellent and the service professional, informative and friendly.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Great dinner and great service, as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

We ate at Touche. The view from the balcony is fabulous. The service and food was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Seasonal, Healthy, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Impeccable experience from arrival until goodnight. Truly my very best dining experience. Omar, our server, is superb. Extremely intelligent. I will ask for him each time I return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Great as always! From food to service, it's excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Chez Francois never fails to please. The food was ,as usual, superb. The greeting on arrival was welcoming and the owner manager was, as usual, friendly and very engaging. Our waiter, Omart, was simply the BEST. We drive nearly two hours to get to the restaurant but would go longer to eat at Chez Francois. Do not misstate place!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Fabulous as always! Fore the past several years, whenever we have a special occasion in our family, this is the place everyone wants to go. Yes, the food is French and absolutely fabulous but the service is friendly and down to earth. Chez Francois is always especially wonderful on a sunny summer day or evening when you can sit on the covered patio and feel like you are in a resort town in France.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We went here for our anniversary dinner. We both had the chefs tasting menu. It was a 5 course meal and we got the wine pairing and shared it. It was absolutely amazing. We loved every bite. We tried so many different things, I don't think you could order wrong in this restaurant. The service was attentive and personable. I can't wait to go back here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This restaurant could have not been better! Wow!!! My husband and I drove from Chardon for 90 minutes and it was worth every minute and every mile. We wish we lived closer. Thanks for the memories Chez Francois and big hello to Janet; she did a great job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Without hesitation. ..go as soon as possible.
Sometimes difficult to get a reservation so book early for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

For the first time in 10 visits there my meal was not very good. I say that because it was extremely salty and I happened to be a person who enjoys salt. My wife's meal was excellent, she had something different. To their credit, when I made this known to them, they deducted it from our bill and the owner specifically came over and apologized.

It is a first rate organization from the moment you walk in until the moment you leave. Everything about the place is excellent. I certainly would not want this published to discourage anyone from going there, because it was the first time as I said in 10 visits I was not happy with my meal
Our service team which included Leah and Josh was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

A special occasion restaurant that never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Best of the best! If you want an elegant dining experience, you cannot improve upon this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent as always. A real pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This is an iconic spot which we finally visited. The food is excellent and creative with a distinctly French foundation. The servers are top notch, right on without being intrusive.
The wine list is superb, especially for a Francophile like me.
We loved the eclectic and intimate ambiance of the space, really intriguing. Outdoor dining on the river is also available and a bit more casual.
We enjoyed every bit of our dinner, the five course tasting menu and had the wine pairings.
The servings are exceedingly generous and we were absolutely stuffed at the end.
The only comment is that the wine pairings are only moderate level at best, and though excellently paired, and wine lovers might consider ordering bottles or half bottles of finer producers and vintages.

Please do visit, this is well worth a trip and you will not regret it.
Bon apetit!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was our anniversary and we had never been before. They added little things to make us feel special. A card wishing us happiness and our happy anniversary message decoratively written on our dessert plate. Nothing over the top just nice little touches. Food was great and the wait staff was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Chez is definitely worth the money for a nice meal, the service is great, the ambiance and view are wonderful however on this visit one of the other patrons made it miss the mark. I didn't reduce the restaurant rating because the food, staff and setting are perfect. However on our visit we came by boat and after having a little trouble getting into the dock and finally securing the boat the customer that was sitting at the entrance from the dock told my friend the gate was broken and we couldn't come in, my wife went to check and it seemed if would work however this stubborn individual would not move. We were forced to push our boat across to the other side of the dock, re-secure and then come in the restaurant. The staff was helpful once they saw what was going on however they should make it know that if you want to sit up on the river you have to yield to folks arriving by boat. To the gentleman that refused to move, karma is a...well you know the rest.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food and service were impeccable. If you are looking for a restaurant that does everything right, this is the place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

One of the best restaurants anywhere. We have been all over and find Chez to be consistently among the best places to go anywhere. Checks all the boxes. Great food with an attentive nonstuffy staff. Great place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Food was very good. Wine list was exceptional

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always marvelous food, service and atmosphere. The menu is fantastic! I commented to my husband, why aren't we here more often (other than the almost 90 minute drive, which was well worth it).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

ALWAYS FABULOUS,
ALWAYS LOOK FORWARD TO THE NEXT VISIT !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We visit Vermilion once or twice a year by boat from 25 miles away primarily for the purpose of eating at Chez Francois. Everything about the experience is top notch and we always tell friends and family to go there. We have eaten at many places, both in the US and abroad that claim to be 5 star, but there are none better than Chez. The quaint setting of Vermillion, combined with excellence of Chez Francois, will keep us returning every year!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Absolutely love when we are able to get a date night in at Chez. The atmosphere and food is unmatched in Cleveland. It's pricey, but well worth it for what you receive in return. We look forward to coming back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 6, 2017

On the expensive side but a great place to go for special occasions. Love sitting outside by the waterfront. The food was excellent as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We had a great meal. The evening was wonderful. The French onion soup was the best tasting that I ever had. The beef Wellington was so tender and utterly delicious. The restaurant is decorated so well. The staff was very informative and explained the history of the restaraunt.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Enjoyed it, always beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Never disappointed when we come and we don't come too often (special occasions). The wait staff really knows everything about the menu front and back. It's very impressive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Soectacular! As it has been since 1968 when known as L'Auberge du Port.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Wonderful evening! Food was delicious and the staff went above and beyond for all ! A very special experience!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our waiter, Roger, was absolutely the best. Very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu items. He actually suggested an entire meal for my friend and it was perfect. Kudos to Chez Francoise for another wonderful nite out!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

CONSISTENTCY. This restaurant is a total package of consistent great tasting, menu, service and cleanliness. Talking perfection--this restaurant pretty much covers it all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 30, 2017

An anniversary must! Unbelievable lobster thermadore. Great champagne menu. Superior service. Can't wait until my next visit. Bring your wallet...expensive but worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner for two celebrating a very special occasion. Service was A+; cuisine was A+; ambiance was A+. One of Ohio's very best restaurants -- bar none.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Wonderful 1st visit celebrating a 50th Birthday. Great ambiance and food. We were lucky enough to sit outside very close to the water. Thanks for a great evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.