Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

About Chez Francois - Vermilion

"If your a serious foodie" or "if romance is calling, sail on up" - literally - to this "French gem" on the Vermilion River, where the "sumptuous" menu and "professional but friendly" staff earn it the top rating from Food and Service in the Cleveland area; "well worth the drive" west of downtown , this "ethereal experience" (the perfect place to propose!") also includes a phenomenal wine list", "charming old world dining room" and "relaxing" riverfront cafe. Proper attire required. Touché a martini/wine bar was opened in 2007 and offers a "small plates" menu and a great selection of adult beverages.

555 Main Street
Vermilion, OH 44089
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 967-0630

Website:
http://www.chezfrancois.com/

Entertainment:
Chez Francois features live entertainment of Saturdays at Touché, the music changes each week from acoustic guitar to Latin/Jazz to Rhythm & Blues. Sportcoat requested for dining inside; tie is optional. Business Casual is requested for River Front Cafe dining.

Parking Details:
Chez Francois is located in a neighborhood and has street parking around the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef D'Amico

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Chez Francois can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Mars & John D'Amico: (877) 925-0181

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chez Francois - Vermilion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (45)
Romantic (43)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Notable Wine List (40)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Waterfront (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Scenic View (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Authentic (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Historic (12)
Seasonal (8)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (6)
Private Room (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I were treated to outstanding service and very good food for our
wedding anniversary. Certainly worth the drive for the ambience and setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful first visit and Anniversary celebration. Mathew was very cordial and came to our table to greet us and wish us a happy anniversary . Our team of servers were very attentive and made our dinner memorable. We were so pleased we made another reservation as we have friends coming from out of town and will look forward to our next visit and evening of great food, drinks and hospitality!
Kind regards,
Fred Lima

Tags: Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The salmon and sea bass and the service were outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were pretty excited to dine here for our first time and heard a lot of great things about the restaurant. The ambiance and location were no disappointment and we would return again for those attributes. We each ordered the same main dinner entree, a strip steak au poivre which was prepared fine however the flavor was mediocre at best. Temperature of the steak was timidly warm. I expected the food to have that "wow" factor and it didn't.....

Cocktails were good.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We enjoyed an outstanding dinner at Chez Francois this past Tuesday evening with my mother, visiting from Iowa. We have enjoyed many dinners now at Chez Francois and they all have been simply elegant and amazing dining experiences. The ambiance, food and service are absolutely second-to-none! We live in Lakewood and dining here certainly is worth the drive, and we look forward to our next dining experience later this year. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We visit the restaurant twice a year on our way back and forth from Denver to upstate NY We look forward to a great dinner with friends. The food and wines are fantastic. Matt is always so gracious and helpful. A special place!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

If you are looking for a an outstanding classic french restaurant, then Chez is for you. I am a world traveler and It is one of the best restaurants ever. Chez runs circles around Jules Verne in the Eiffel Tower.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was Mother's Day and we took my 86 year old mom out for a special dinner.
It was perfect.
They seated her with a view although we asked for inside. The atmosphere was elegant, service was attentive, food delicious, wine awesome and reasonably priced thanks to the owner whom helped us choose and moms night was perfect!
We definetly would return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place never ever fails to disappoint. It's one of our favorite upscale restaurants and we will always be back.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I took my mother here for the first time. She said it was the best experience she has ever had. We loved the lobster thermidor I will be recommending this experience to my friends. The staff were great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fantastic! Service and ambiance were worth the price. Bring your wallet, but also your pallet

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Chez Francois is a truly great experience. It is very sophisticated yet very comfortable. The staff are always friendly and experts in fine dining. The menu has such variety and everything that I have ordered has always been perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Went for my wife's birthday. Expensive? Sure. But we had two of the best entrees we have ever had anywhere (my wife had beef Wellington and I had a veal chop with wild mushrooms and risotto.) Probably the best restaurant I have been to between New York and Chicago.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Lovely experience from the time you enter the door and are greeted by Matt and seated. Knowledgeable, earthy staff. We are fortunate to have Chez Francois in Cleveland. Congratulations to the owners Matt and John for 30 years offering an experience not just a meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful time, great food...and an atmosphere to die for

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I travel and entertain all year long. This place rivals any that I have been to and is in a category with the best of Chicago and New York. What a find! Do not pass this place by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We have dined here many times before, it is always a great experience. The service is wonderful and the dinners are always delicious. Great service and a very nice atmosphere. We dined on the deck which was perfect, can not wait to come again. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Just had another great meal at Chez F. They aren't cheap, but you get what you pay for.
Everything is excellent but I think the wine list is extraordinary - as good as you would find in
NY or SF but with better markups. Desserts are another highlight. Their homemade vanilla ice cream is the best I've ever had. They pair their desserts with dessert wines and their homemade lemoncello is amazing. As with most great restaurants, the details make the experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Lovely restaurant with great service. Very expensive but I expected that. I would consider the food good but not outstanding. We will visit again but not often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had a fabulous evening dining with friends at Chez Francois. The food and service were exceptional. I wouldn't give the veal dish I had 5 stars, however, the beef wellington, french onion soup and everything else we had were fabulous!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Now that The Masonite closed in Cincinnati - the best restaurant in Ohio! (Before that it was a tie!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Everything was perfect except for our main entree, which was a pricey lobster dish. Very disappointed
I could not cut lobster and the sauce was limited as was the seafood it was supposedly stuffed with. Should have said something but did not, so that's on us. Otherwise we hope to go again but choose more wisely and asking more pertinent questions as to how our food is done,

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The attention to detail, regarding both food and service, is exceptional. We experienced a delicious meal in a relaxed and quiet setting that was perfectly paced for our enjoyment. Our evening at Chez Francois was one of our finest meals and finest dining experiences ever.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Decidedly fair. Maybe we have been lucky with our eating experiences but when soup is the best course it will be a long time before we make it back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Went there on my birthday with my gf. Had an amazing meal and wonderful time. Staff and service was exquisite.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We went to Chez for our anniversary. Everything was perfect. Pricey yes, but definitely worth it. We ordered menu items and they were fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Amazing food- lobster ravioli, beef wellington, filet mignon, and chocolate mousse torte. Absolutely amazing service- the owner came and sat down with us at our table and talked with us; our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable with great recommendations. Can't believe I've waited this long to try this restaurant. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Wonderful in every way. The chef is doing things I can only dream of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a wonderful Easter dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our entrees were exceptional. I normally order the escargot for an appetizer but upon hearing there was Oysters Rockefeller I ordered that instead since I haven't had it for quite some time. I was very disappointed. There was so much spinach and bacon I couldn't find any oyster. The shells were large as they normally are but there was absolutely no oyster flavor. We had a great table for 2 against the wall which should have been quite private. A customer at the next table spent his whole meal sitting sideways hanging over the passing area. He was constantly rubbing his head back towards our table. It was very upsetting. I felt like I needed to move my food closer to the wall due to this head rubbing. He was also annoying with his conversation (louder than needed) and cursing. He seemed to be a regular at the restaurant and knew the manager and serving staff. My husband and I eat here at least once a year. We have loved the drive and atmosphere on all other occasions. We didn't want to complain in front of the customer and have to spend our meal sitting next to him knowing we complained. I was unfortunate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I have been coming to Chez Francois since I was about 7 years old. I learned dining etiquette there and how to enjoy an authentic French dining experience. I try to go every year for my birthday. It's 30 years later and it is still what I look forward to most for my Birthday, and any other occasion I can think of. It is an experience and a pleasure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great for no reason or for any reason- our favorite place and we drive an hour and a half to get there.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Celebrated my 37th wedding anniversary and I couldn't have picked a more perfect place ! The ambiance, the food, oooh! the food, and our waitress and waiter, you couldn't ask for more. I plan on going back just to experience it all over again!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Chez Francois est toujours une expérience fabuleuse.
Always outstanding. Thanks to Matt, John and the crew.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was the most amazing restaurant experience I've ever had. Food, service and atmosphere were out of this world.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our meals were delicious and we received excellent service including help navigating the walkway. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Exceptional cuisine with an exceptional view. The beef wellington melts in your mouth along with the artichokes. The banana foster was unlike any that we have ever tasted with a delicate sweetness followed by a gentle warmth that does not overwhelm. The service was polite, timely and provided some educational value regarding the history surrounding the restaurant. Overall, Chez deserves its stellar reputation.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Private Room, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 5, 2017

As always, an extraordinary dining experience, this time made particularly marvelous by our serving partners, Roger and Josh, who offered up fine suggestions on both the food and the Wine. We both had the lobster thermador in a garlic wine sauce, beautifully presented in an eater-ready mode. The salad and dessert were equally enjoyable.

The restaurant is as French in style as its name suggests. Nestled waterfront on the Vermilion River close to Lake Erie, the ambience is classical French country intimate, with its brick walls and hanging florals. The service is impeccable and the food and massive wine and beer lists are incredible. There is a dress code, which also sets the tone that a night at Chex Francois is not just a nice out-to-dinner: it is an experien

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent food and service; very upscale ambiance. This is a top notch restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Wonderful experience for a special occasion. Food was delicious, service was great, and the owner was so hospitable and charming.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.