Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

About Chez Francois - Vermilion

"If your a serious foodie" or "if romance is calling, sail on up" - literally - to this "French gem" on the Vermilion River, where the "sumptuous" menu and "professional but friendly" staff earn it the top rating from Food and Service in the Cleveland area; "well worth the drive" west of downtown , this "ethereal experience" (the perfect place to propose!") also includes a phenomenal wine list", "charming old world dining room" and "relaxing" riverfront cafe. Proper attire required. Touché a martini/wine bar was opened in 2007 and offers a "small plates" menu and a great selection of adult beverages.

555 Main Street
Vermilion, OH 44089
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 967-0630

Website:
http://www.chezfrancois.com/

Entertainment:
Chez Francois features live entertainment of Saturdays at Touché, the music changes each week from acoustic guitar to Latin/Jazz to Rhythm & Blues. Sportcoat requested for dining inside; tie is optional. Business Casual is requested for River Front Cafe dining.

Parking Details:
Chez Francois is located in a neighborhood and has street parking around the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef D'Amico

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Chez Francois can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Mars & John D'Amico: (877) 925-0181

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chez Francois - Vermilion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (23)
Romantic (22)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Waterfront (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Authentic (14)
Scenic View (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Seasonal (6)
Fun (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Historic (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Private Room (3)
Fireplace (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1545 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was impeccable. Wine pairings were perfect. All food was delicious. 4 star on lobster bisque because my sister said a it was a little bland and pastry was undercooked. Ambiance was divine. Would love to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time ever at a really expensive fine restaurant and all I can say is, Wow. Everything was delicious, the service was outstanding, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We will plan so that can return sometime.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

It was our first visit to Chez Francois. It won't be our last. Everything was wonderful ... the service, the ambiance, and of course the food ... all excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have been going to Chez Francois since 1989, and have never been disappointed. The regular menu is excellent, but they also offer specials which are even better. The service was impeccable, as our server Leah anticipated our every need.

A classy touch: each dessert is accompanied by a glass of after-dinner wine.

The 50-mile drive from Cleveland is well worth it.

We'll be back again soon.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Restaurant is amazing. Service is impeccable. Food top notch.
If they try to seat you on the enclosed patio before summer.
Wait for another table. Restaurant is beautiful. Patio not so much. We froze out there. I had to get my coat. They eventually had a table that opened up inside, but we
were already through the appetizers and I didn't feel appropriate to get up and have them haul everything inside. Hour drive to restaurant. Worth it just a little disappointed

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My wife and I went to Chez Francois for the first time to celebrate my wife's birthday, and absolutely loved it. The ambiance is excellent, the wait staff is super knowledgeable and attentive, and the food was absolutely outstanding. We strongly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Truly the best restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Che Francois was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. It was romantic and we were treated like Kings!! excellent service and food- they went above and beyond with everything!! It was an elegant dining experience!! I plan to go back for my anniversary every year and make it a tradition!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Was a great date night. The owner personally sat with us for some time, and we really appreciated the personal touches. The food was great!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our experience at Chez Francois was stellar. Great food and accommodating staff make this place a good. Worth every penny!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This was a surprise Birthday. Lauren was the server & did an outstanding job. I cannot say enough about your restaurant

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

BiLing and I did the five course tasting menu which was awesome. Chef John served us Scallops with warm Goat Cheese, Srimp with Pasta, Lamb rack, Beef Tenderloin with Duck Confit, Salmon dish, Kobe Beef TarTar with Quail Egg, and wonderful desserts. The wine pairings done by Matthew Mars, owner were first class. One bottler served was the last bottle in the restaurant. :-) We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My wife and I each enjoyed five courses as we celebrated the 45th anniversary of our engagement. The pacing of the meal was excellent, and every bite was exquisite. The waiter and his assistant were delightful and attentive. After the main part of our meal (rack of lamb for her, filet of beef for me), we shared Bananas Foster (absolutely to die for!) and Irish Coffee. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly before heading off for a B&B for the night. Well worth our 75-minute trip each way to sit back and relax!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It's been a while since we made the trek from Cleveland to Vermillion and CF did not disappoint. Service was efficient, professional, and cordial. Food was beautifully presented and flavors were wonderful. Our only surprise was one of the desserts. One in our party wanted a very light dessert and so ordered the lemon souffle. What we received was not a souffle, but a lighter, airy lemon cake. The speed at which it arrived should have been the first clue of a different souffle recipe. Normally restaurants that do souffles tell you that it takes a while to bake. CF's version is served cold and seemed more of a summer dessert. It tasted fine, but was not what expected. They probably should rename this offering. We will definitely go back and recommend CF to friends. The dessert was a minor issue.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful experience. A special place for a special
occasion - but don't wait for a special
occasion to visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This restaurant lands in the 'Best of NE Ohio' lists for good reason! The food is beyond compare, the atmosphere is amazing, the wait staff are attentive and extremely knowledgeable and the menu is delicious. I've been coming to Chez for years and am NEVER disappointed by a meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Enough cannot be said about the service. Service such as this pairs nicely with the delicious drink and cuisine that Chef Francois provides it's patrons. The Manhattan's and Old Fashioned's we had were expertly crafted. It will be quite some time before I find another drink as well made.
As cliche as it is, I always have the duck in French restaurant's. This dish was exceptional and stood far above any other plates I've had in the past.
The dessert was served with a mouth-watering port, thankfully. After all of those drinks, I was grateful and appreciative of the delicious coffee, french-press of course.
An absolutely fabulous Christmas dinner. Your decorations, staff and excellent menu truly meant the evening to us. Thank you.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My family and I have come here many times for special occasions. The ambiance is very romantic and wonderful, whether you are on the outside in the summer overlooking the lagoon or inside. Decor is always elegant and lovely. Food is just fabulous every time. It is fairly pricey but proves " you get what you pay for " and we've never been disappointed. Despite the Atmosphere and siohusticatuon of the food, staff are all down to earth and trying to make sure you have a terrific time. Very highly recommended and worth the drive from Cleveland.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fantastic restaurant! French menu-very authentic-varied offerings-different price ranges, but would be considered more pricy than others. A lot of ambiance. Excellent wine list. We go their for special occasions several times a year.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Attended this beautiful restaurant in Vermillion on a weeknight in December. They have a nice selection of beer, wine and cocktails. Many enticing choices on the menu for appetizers and entrees. After narrowing down to a handful, I followed the waitresses' recommendations and had the the lobster ravioli appetizer and the beef wellington (a house specialty). Both were delicious. Strongly recommended, and my favorite restaurant in Northern Ohio during my 13-month extended stay.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I had a fantastic dinner with a work colleague over the holidays. It has to be one of the best dining experiences I have had and I live in Atlanta where we have a large number of high end dining options. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great Restaurant with an extensive wine list and terrific food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great Beer, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Chez Francois never disappoints! Thank you to Matt and his entire staff for a wonderful evening filled with fantastic food, even better service, and great memories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The lobster Bisque and Wellington filet were fantastic. I would recommend this location for special occasions. I think anyone would find this place to have exceptional food and beverages. Can't wait to visit this summer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Chex NEVER disappoints.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always a special occasion when we dine at Chez. The food, service, and total experience are always outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We go every year for our family holiday celebration. It's an hour drive to the restaurant and we were in the midst of getting almost 20" of snow which made our drive a lot longer. It was still worth every minute. The food is presented impeccably and tastes wonderful. The service staff was personable, professional and perfectly timed. As always we never leave disappointed. Thank you for the 7th straight year for making our family celebration a time to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Wonderful menu and wine list. Great waitress. Very knowledgeable. Beautiful dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was a restaurant recommended by a friend and a pleasantly unexpected treat. Service was great - giving helpful guidance on the menu. The food was splendid: I had the Beef Wellington, my favorite dish! It was done to perfection. Dessert was a delicious chocolate cake. The wine list is extensive and contained too many nice bottles to choose from. All in all an experience to be repeated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Outstanding...a cannot miss place to dine when in the Cleveland area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Chez Francois used to be a 5 star restaurant. It's still quite good but missing that extra special touch that makes it extraordinary. We just weren't greeted the way we used to be. The bartender was just not very friendly. I got the special veal chop, which just didn't seem to pair well with risotto. I'm missing the old WOW factor I used to feel when visiting Chez Francois.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The experience was unforgettable. This was my 4th dinner and it just gets better. They offer such excellent food and able to talk about it that you have a difficult time deciding on what to order.
The staff is professional and welcoming. Very warm and comfortable environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

It was our anniversary and we shared it with our friends. Everyone had a wonderful time. The food was magnificent as always, the staff very welcoming. Thank you for helping to make this a special day, everyone at Chez Francois.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Cozy, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As usual, we were treated well and the food was excellent. We did forget to request our very favorite waitperson, Leah, but were well cared for by her capable fill ins. Our only regret is that we waited far too long for this reservation after having last eaten at the Chez. Must improve on that scheduling gaff. Well done.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As always, superior service and ambiance. Outstanding menu, quality dinning at its best. One of the best restaurants in Ohio or anywhere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Matt always has the best cuisine and atmosphere for that special family or friend gathering!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Everything -- the cocktails, the food, the wine, and the service of Nathan and Josh, the ambiance -- was incredible!! My friend and I had an amazing time, and we were treated like kings! I always love Chez Francois, but this time, the experience was even more outstanding!!!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing food, service, and experience. I must have told 20 people within 24 hours about the Chez Francois experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It is the best restaurant in Northern Ohio. Bar none.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Northeast Ohio. My wife and I went with the Truffle Dinner Menu and were not disappointed. Each course highlighted either white or black truffle in a balanced and delicious dish. It was impossible to pick a favorite. The staff was friendly and attentive allowing us to enjoy our at our leisure. Chez Francois is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.