Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.12mi

About Chez Francois - Vermilion

"If your a serious foodie" or "if romance is calling, sail on up" - literally - to this "French gem" on the Vermilion River, where the "sumptuous" menu and "professional but friendly" staff earn it the top rating from Food and Service in the Cleveland area; "well worth the drive" west of downtown , this "ethereal experience" (the perfect place to propose!") also includes a phenomenal wine list", "charming old world dining room" and "relaxing" riverfront cafe. Proper attire required. Touché a martini/wine bar was opened in 2007 and offers a "small plates" menu and a great selection of adult beverages.

555 Main Street
Vermilion, OH 44089
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 967-0630

Website:
http://www.chezfrancois.com/

Entertainment:
Chez Francois features live entertainment of Saturdays at Touché, the music changes each week from acoustic guitar to Latin/Jazz to Rhythm & Blues. Sportcoat requested for dining inside; tie is optional. Business Casual is requested for River Front Cafe dining.

Parking Details:
Chez Francois is located in a neighborhood and has street parking around the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef D'Amico

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chez Francois - Vermilion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (119)
Waterfront (108)
Good for Anniversaries (98)
See All
Romantic (96)
Worth the Drive (88)
Notable Wine List (87)
Good for a Date (77)
Scenic View (77)
Creative Cuisine (76)
Good for Birthdays (74)
Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Local Ingredients (47)
Authentic (40)
Cozy (35)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Seasonal (24)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Groups (17)
Fun (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
People Watching (13)
Hot Spot (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1737 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Worth the hype and worth the drive if you're not near vermillion. Exceptional food, wine, and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Had an 8:00 reservation, did not get seated until after 8:30. Hostess was very friendly and apologized for the delay. Once seated, the waitstaff was friendly, knowledgable, and attentive. Appetizers were excellent, especially the sweetbreads.

The main courses, however, were both disappointing. My breaded veal was soggy and the sauce lacked flavor. My wife had a steak, which she said was alright, but no different than what she could order at a chain restaurant for half the price.

Overall, it was a pleasant evening, but the food fell well short of what we expected. Given the number of quality restaurants around Cleveland which consistently serve an excellent meal, I doubt we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Perfect night in every way. Table overlooking the river and all the boats, parading up and down the river. Food was very good. Service was excellent. Very fun and relaxing evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was our first time there and we were celebrating my eldest son's 40th birthday. Our waitress was fantastic , the atmosphere was perfect, the wine and food was marvelous. We ate for 3 hour and had wonderful conversation. i have not done that in years. we will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We celebrated our 51st anniversary and had a blast. Excellent staff, ambiance and relaxed pace of service.
Special cudos to our wait staff - both Ashley and Jackie were attentive, fun to talk to and overall contributed in a large way to our special night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We came to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary. We asked to be seated outside because the weather was perfect. Service was excellent, food was great, and the overall experience was wonderful. Highly recommended. Traffic was "challenging" because road along the restaurant is under construction, but we managed to find a spot very quickly (valet was not out yet when we arrived at 4:45). Lovely dining experience!!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Sat outside, beautiful evening. Perfect meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was the second year we dined at Chez Francios celebrating both our anniversary and our friend's also. We enjoyed it so much the first year we decided to do it again. It was another wonderful experience. The food was exceptionally delicious and the noise level was just right for pleasant conversation. The wait staff was superb. I would highly recommend this restaurant and I'm sure we will be back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Enjoyed immensely!!! Highly recommended! Can't wait for the next time in the near future to enjoy such a wonderful restaurant! Thank you so much!!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Exquisite food, perfectly executed technique, amazing service! Chez Francois is a treasure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Best meal we've had anywhere!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Simply the best!

As someone who has experienced the best dining experiences, my wife and I happened to be in the Cleveland area for a few days and made it a point to have dinner here. We enjoyed the 6 course prix fixe dinner, paired with wines and, as usually happens here, had our expectations exceeded again!

I tell people that Chez Francois is the best French restaurant between New York and Chicago and after many years, still stand by this statement.

If you are within driving distance, don't miss the opportunity to experience the best!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

My husband and I went to Chez Francois to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The quiet ambiance, friendly staff and outstanding food and wine did not disappoint us. Also, we never felt rushed to eat, so spent a good three hours enjoying cocktails, appetizers, entrees and desserts. We will definitely return to celebrate important occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The service was great. With a minor hick up.. our waitress was very nice and apologized for having not mention the off my new specials and brought us samples instead. We waited for our table after several emails and phone calls about being on time. My steak was simply terrible. I was embarrassed at how bad it was and did not mention it.
They may have forgotten to make my meal and hurried up and microwaved my steak and tossed it on the grill for affect.. But no au poivre to be found on my plate. NONE !!!!! Really didn't matter because the steak was raw. My wife's soft shells were a greasy cold mess. Save the trip and money...

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

As usual - the service was top notch. Food was outstanding!! The wine list is absolutely amazing. Soooo many varieties of wine. The cocktail list throw a monkey wrench in too!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

As always our experience was exceptional. The food, service, and atmosphere were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Surely the chef was off duty on Friday September 8, 2017.

It was unanimous amongst our party of 4 that
dinner at Chex Francois was a great, great disappointment . We were completely blindsided by the lackadaisical service and blandness of most dishes. It was a 3 hour of unfulfilled expectations.

Warning signals came early. First the waitress mis-poured the wine tasting leaving dribbles down the glass with no apologies nor attempt to wipe it clean. Then the Amouse Bouche was tepid and ahi appetizer dry.

We were still hopeful since after all this was Chez Francois . Each and every dish suffered shortcomings, the soft shell crab was mushy, and egg on the tartare hard cooked. But overwhelmingly the food was flavorless.
At a adjoining table two diners were heavily salting the lobster and shellfish medley dishes.

We were seated at 6:30 and finally signed the $500 plus check at 9:30. Sad and disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful food and wonderful service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

First time to dine here but wont be our last. We made reservations for the outdoor patio seating but with a scheduling conflict the owner seated us in the formal dining area even thou we were dressed casual and sat to chat with us (turns out we have mutual friends). Our waiter (s) were superb, answering all our questions with recommendations and guided us through our choices. They were out of the wine we chose and were upgraded at no extra charge. The food was above excellent and the portions hearty (couldn't order desert). The whole dining experience was AA++ and felt like family. We will be back often.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 6, 2017

French cuisine is the top of the food chain in terms of sauces and taste. The menu choices were excellent and original. We enjoyed the service and ambiance. Excellent choice for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great food great service. We were treated as one should be in a fine restaurant. The owner and staff were very helpful with wine pairings for our diners. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Separately, we have been looking forward to dining here for several years. Celebrating a special birthday, we took the time, drive and stayed the night in Vermillon just to dine at Chez Francois. The ambiance, the table setting and the lighting was perfectly romantic. Ordering the wine took a bit of time, but once it arrived it was very nice. The lobster bisque was exceptional...the carpaccio was not impressive with tasteless mushrooms. The main courses have mixed reviews. The Veal dish with a scallop, a shrimp etc was very, very good and the flavors nice. The shellfish dish which included lobster, scallops, shrimp, mussels, little neck clams (all in there shells) over pasta. It was very large and intimidating when it arrived at the table, but it was pretty and it made a statement. After delving in, it was one of the worst shellfish dishes I have ever had. The lobster was dried out and no flavor. The scallops tasted old and mussel were small and also no flavor. The best part was the 5 little neck clams and the 2 shrimp. I wanted to order a pizza when I left, I was starving as I did not eat much of the dish, it was that bad. I felt embarrassed and bad as I was on a date.
The worst part came later, when our night ended early, due to my upset stomach.

The servers worked in teams. One half of our team was excellent-the other was not very good. She talked us into a crime brûlée dessert which was also terrible and not warm but gooey and cold. Also, our service seemed to take quite a bit of time. We were the last ones out after 3 plus hours.

All in all, I am not so sure we will be back. If we do give it another try, I would order a non-seafood dish. Shell fish seafood restaurants are best on the east coast and it is always a risk to order in the Midwest...even a t $40-$50 a plate. One would have thought it would have been fresh and fabulous.

The ambiance, the wine, the bisque, the view and the company (I was with) made this visit worthwhile. The food not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My wife and I love Chez Francois and go every anniversary. It's special every time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Perfection! Our go to for all of our special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

No where compares to Chez Francois. And rare to find this level of restaurant anymore. Spectacular experience and it is that from start to finish. Service, Food ( authentic French Cuisine) totally unbeatable. It's so memorable. And our server Susie - was fabulous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 2, 2017

this is one of the best French restaurants in the USA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Was recommended by a friend. Absolutely superb! The atmosphere was great and I loved the dress code and I wish more places had that. It creates an extra piece of class to that livens the atmosphere immensely. Our server, Sam was informative, patient and recommended all the right foods for us. I have never been to a french restaurant and she explained everything in detail. We chose the chef signature special which was paired with wines. Wonderful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My husband loved his white corn soup. I loved the amuse Boucher of fresh pea soup. I wished they had offered it for dinner. The salad was delicious but tiny. My husband had beef Wellington which he loved. Pricey for a small portion but everything there is pricey. I ordered a lobster appetizer in puff pastry With currant sauce. It was inedible. Pastry was rubbery, tasteless, and the dish was sitting in a pool of sauce that was overpowering in flavor. The waitress saw I wasn't eating it, took it away and said she would get me an artichoke appetizer which would come quickly. That was also awful. Two tiny artichokes overwhelmed with goat cheese inside breaking and on a sauce. I hated it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Superb service, excellent quality wines by-the-glass, first class wine list, excellent use of local farm-to-table produce. Masterful French cuisine, including pate du maison and soupe a L'onion. Excellent presentations and preparation of both filet and lobster. Fantastic Belgian mousse, cake & ganache dessert. Will definitely drive 2 hours for this experience again. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Our meal at Chez Francois couldn't have been more perfect! Our server was attentive and friendly. Our food was out of this world! The wine was wonderful and the desserts were exceptional!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were celebrating our 18th Anniversary. When we arrived for our reservation we were given our choice of romantic cubbies/tables. They also laid an Anniversary card on our table. Susie our server was absolutely wonderful and fun! Very attentive. I had the sea bass was amazing and melted in my mouth. My husband had a seafood dish which he also thoroughly enjoyed!
And we had a great Chocolate Mousse for dessert that came out with a candle lit and happy anniversary written in choc.
Very special evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Top Meal, View, Service, And as always Matt makes it special with his personal touch and welcoming ways! Staff is quick and quiet as they do their job seamlessly. Love the fact that one can come over via boating!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Greater Cleveland. There is no better place for a special occasion. The staff always make you feel special. This is what fine dining is all about. The drive to Vermilion is worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fantastic experience, great staff and management, a real special place.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

My wife and I absolutely loved our dinner at Chez Francois. Great food, excellent ambiance and the service was superb! We look forward to our next meal there.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

If you are looking for fine dining it does not get any better than this. Incredible food, service (ask for Suzie), and atmosphere. Worth the drive from wherever you are.

You cannot do better in NE Ohio.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Annual anniversary dinner at Chez Francois. Food, service, and ambiance are all excellent.
Not an inexpensive evening, but a great place for a quiet celebration. Wine list is extensive and owner will recommend something if you are unfamiliar with wine.

Nice touch from staff - got an anniversary card signed by the entire staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 18, 2017

As always, the food and service here was exceptional. On this visit, the service was particularly amazing. Please add the zucchini lobster blossoms to the regular menu! This is one of the top two or three restaurants in the Cleveland area and never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Saved my cat. Thank you dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.