About Chez Francois - Vermilion

555 Main Street
Vermilion, OH 44089
View Larger Map

"If your a serious foodie" or "if romance is calling, sail on up" - literally - to this "French gem" on the Vermilion River, where the "sumptuous" menu and "professional but friendly" staff earn it the top rating from Food and Service in the Cleveland area; "well worth the drive" west of downtown , this "ethereal experience" (the perfect place to propose!") also includes a phenomenal wine list", "charming old world dining room" and "relaxing" riverfront cafe. Proper attire required. Touché a martini/wine bar was opened in 2007 and offers a "small plates" menu and a great selection of adult beverages.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 967-0630

Website:
http://www.chezfrancois.com/

Entertainment:
Chez Francois features live entertainment of Saturdays at Touché, the music changes each week from acoustic guitar to Latin/Jazz to Rhythm & Blues. Sportcoat requested for dining inside; tie is optional. Business Casual is requested for River Front Cafe dining.

Parking Details:
Chez Francois is located in a neighborhood and has street parking around the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef D'Amico

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Apple Frangipane Tart & Walnut Ice Cream & Carmel Sauce
Angus Beef Strip Loin Wild Onions And Morels
Chilean Seabass
Quail, Grenache Sun Dried Cherry Reduction
Oxtail Ravioli, Truffle Bitter Sauce
Peekytoe Crab & Kiwi Salad, Mango Ravioli
White Truffle Ice Cream
Egg Fettuccine with White Truffles
Roast Tenderloin of Veal with Sauce Périgueux
Truffle Cappuccino
Cod & Maine Lobster with Truffle Potato Foam
Sea Scallop En Croûte
Scrambled Eggs & Truffles
Lobster Thermidor
Escargot
Lobster Ravioli

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 5:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Chez Francois can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Chez Francois - Vermilion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Service
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
14 More
Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Notable Wine List
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Romantic
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
Notable Wine List
Cleveland
Romantic
Cleveland
Scenic View
Cleveland
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Vermilion ›

special occasion (84)
romantic (82)
scenic view (67)
See All
notable wine list (65)
fit for foodies (55)
great for outdoor dining (38)
neighborhood gem (18)
good for groups (12)
hot spot (6)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably one of the best experiences I h ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Probably one of the best experiences I have had a restaurant! Amazing atmosphere, great views especially of the river front and outstanding food. You must try this place at least once!

food4
ambience4
service5

We had a lovely evening to celebrate a b ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a lovely evening to celebrate a birthday last night. We sat outside and weather permitting you should too. We were lucky to see fireworks too. The service was amazing and attentive, the food was delicious. The drinks were just ok in our mind and that was really the only comment we have. Make better drinks and better coffee and you will be close to perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had the 6 course summer meal and it w ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had the 6 course summer meal and it was delicious with an awesome wine pairing to go with it. Was a little disappointed with the main entrée but it was still good.

food5
ambience5
service4

We had a lovely time at Chez Francois. T ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a lovely time at Chez Francois. The food was impeccable. The mushroom soup with duck confit was delicious and filling. My boyfriend had a delightful seasonal Lobster Ravioli (which they will do as an appetizer or entree). My entree was the Filet de Boef Naturel, which was cooked to perfection and his was the veal chop, which he couldn't stop raving about. Service moves at a deliberately slow pace (very French) so if you are someone who likes quick service this place may not be for you. On the other hand if you like a lengthy evening of excellent food with plenty of time to savor each bite, you will have an excellent time!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite place. Amazing food!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Our favorite place. Amazing food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another Happy Anniversary

Dined on June 10, 2016

We are not frequent dinner's here , but we are regular typically celebrating our anniversay. Mtt (Owner) was gracious, Roger our server was very attentive and fun and the kitchen rocked itas usual(not sure if John was back there?). The whole evening was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

frenchie

Dined on June 8, 2016

Had a lovely table overlooking the patio and lagoon. Staff was very attentive and knowledgeable, and dinner was paced nicely.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Perfect

Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I have been going to this restaurant for the past 22 years. Every time we go the food is better than the last time. Matt and his staff always make it a memorable time. This is probably the finest restaurant in Ohio.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a five star dining experience. Fr ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Truly a five star dining experience. From the salad through dessert, everything was superbly executed. Our server was very knowledgeable and friendly; he both maintained his distance and was available whenever we wanted his attention. Fairly expensive, but worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on June 4, 2016

You will not regret choosing Chez Francois - one of the best meals I've ever had in my life (our whole table felt the same way). We are all still talking about the lobster bisque days later!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

That Chez Francois holds a five-star rat ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

That Chez Francois holds a five-star rating is no surprise. My first visit here was amazing! The ambiance was perfect for a Special Occasion : the food was outstanding, prepared to perfection : the service was very efficient, but not intrusive. All in all, a wonderful experience, hopefully to be repeated in the future!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Chez Francois to celebrate our ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

We chose Chez Francois to celebrate our anniversary. It was well worth the one hour drive from Cleveland. From the moment we walked through the door we received anniversay well wishes. The food and service were excellent. The entire staff made us feel extra special and were appropriately attentive. We were presented with a card and anniversary greeting on the dessert we ordered. It was a terrific evening! I would highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

AWESOME AS ALWAYS!!!

Dined on June 1, 2016

VERY GOOD REPEATABLE SERVICE AND QUALITY, GREAT STUFF. THANKS MATT

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oue 25th anniversary dinner

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a wonderful experience: the food was unique and delicius, the service, with 2 friendly waiters, was outstanding, and the ambiance was was very pleasant and easy to enjoy. The "aniversary card" was a "nice touch". We would definately return. Thanks the Weinfelds

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Mr

Dined on May 28, 2016

It was my wife's birthday so we thought we would give this restaurant a try. There was a birthday card on the table signed by the restaurant staff which was quite nice. We each ordered a drink on the rocks. When it came, it was not on the rocks but up. We ordered another drink later, on the rocks and this time it came correctly. When we got home we noticed as we looked at the receipt for over $200 that the first drink was $2.50 more than the next drink. My wife really enjoyed her meal as she had the veal. I had the beef wellington which was perfectly done however, it was extremely dry, no juice at all. We both expected that my wife would receive a complimentary dessert however, it never came. The restaurant was nice but very, very over-priced and over-rated.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Anniversay Dinner

Dined on May 28, 2016

We decided to go back to Chex Francois for our anniversary after dining there last year. The wait staff is wonderful, they know the selections and the wine list. A very pleasurable experience with great food .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Touché Birthday

Dined on May 28, 2016

It was a rainy evening, but we were protected under the shelter at Touché. The reason to visit Touché is for the river view. Be prepared to spend $100 a couple. Enjoyed a Lemon Drop martini as I browsed the menu. Two prix fixe menus: prime rib for $50 from appetizer to dessert included. Second choice was $60. Red Snapper was making a guest appearance as a special. I chose from the main menu. Scallops over a bed of lobster rissoto. It was good, but did not live up to its $16 price tag. A very small portion, the meal was presented on a plate that was all rim with the meal tucked into a small circle in the center. The scallops were a bit gritty and the risotto had a nice texture, but lacked the wow factor in flavor. I finished my meal with a birthday treat of chocolate mousse. Refreshing and the fresh raspberries on cream added a sweet zing. My husband ordered the lobster ravioli. Two ravioli over a spoonful of mashed potatoes (?) with bits of lobster claw meat which were overcooked and tough. The meals, for the price, were not a good value. The waitress was wonderful and willing to assist in choices. Other diners were country club attired older folks whose ability to sit on club chairs at the tall tables astounded me. (I myself was a bit stiff on the dismount). Bring a sweater in the spring. Come for the view. Have a $10 Lemon Drop and dessert. Enjoy the Vermilion Lagoon scene of paddle boarders skimming past lushly manicured lawns and, with good weather, perhaps even enjoy a lovely sunset.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

49th Wedding Anniversary

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had very high expectations. The restaurant has a unique dining room with high ceilings, rustic beams and chandeliers draped with flowers. Loved the look. Overall the food is good and prepared well. However, our appetizer was really disappointing and I let the waiter know this but he didn't seem to care. We both enjoyed our entrees but considering the cost of $48, we didn't feel it was worth it. Wines by the glass are pricey and the amount is small. And when we left the restaurant, the host who checked us in, didn't say "goodbye, or hope you enjoyed your evening", disappointing after spending $200.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual, Chez Francois was outstanding. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

As usual, Chez Francois was outstanding. The food and presentation were superb, the quality of the food and preparation exceeded my high expectations. The service was elegantly formal yet relaxed, and we never felt rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for our anniversary. This ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went there for our anniversary. This was our second time there, the first time was about 15 years ago. The ambiance is perfect for special occasions. The menu has a wide variety of items, all of which are perfectly prepared. The wait staff are attentive without being obnoxious and are very pleasant and knowable about available wines. We both had one of the off menu specials available that day and were very impressed. The price is a little steep for everyday dining but well worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Chez Francois is one of our favorite places. Matt Mars is the owner/operator of one if the finest restaurants in Ohio. Matt is present every day and greats you like a long time friend. The food is top notch, the ambiance and setting are terrific and very good service. The restaurant is in the higher price range, but an excellent value.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and great food. The actual ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great service and great food. The actual entree was larger than what I expected. They have huge wine list .

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, knowledgeable wait staff

Dined on May 17, 2016

Some highly respected restaurants are simply full of themselves, not, Chez Francois. I drove from Dayton, Ohio (322 miles) and it was almost like visiting friends. The waiters and waitress gave me good information on the food and it preparation as well as historical facts about Vermilion. Vermilion is a nice little lakeside town on Lake Erie. You have a beautiful view of the harbor and a cigar stroll after dinner just added to a great evening of dinning. The fact that you could have an outstanding veal and seafood meal with a scrumptious salmon appetizer for under $95 including two glasses of wine would leave most food snobs from New York or LA heads spinning. I appreciated their dress code because food seems to taste better when you put forth some effort in your appearance. There were graduating High School students dinning and we all had a great time.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing - by far the best dining experie ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing - by far the best dining experience I have had in NE Ohio! I went to celebrate my graduation AND to secretly propose to my girlfriend - excellent ambiance, and I appreciated the "grown-up" dress code, as it set the scene for romance and truly made the entire night seem special. The owner took the time to welcome us and talk about our wine preferences and his selection did not disappoint! Thanks again to the whole staff!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb--the food, service, & atmosphere.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our dining experience included a fabulous grilled filet of aged beef, cooked exactly to order. We each had a spring spinach and strawberry salad. I had French onion soup, which was the best I have ever had; my wife had lobster bisque, which she said was very tasty. For dessert I had white chocolate mousse torte, and my wife had a Delarobi fruit tart with a raspberry ice cream. Both were wonderful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our compliments to the Chef! So creative & fresh!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our compliments to the Chef! So creative & fresh!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Attended Chez for Mother's Day Dinner Sp ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Attended Chez for Mother's Day Dinner Special. The food was great and the service was outstanding. While this is a higher end restaurant on the far west side suburbs of Cleveland it offers a great view and is very enjoyable for special occasions!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Just a bit disappointed

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our service was not good. Our dinner took just under four hours for just four of us. We asked the server twice to quicken the pace, but our request was not met. Our main course took almost an hour after salads to arrive. The restaurant was chaotic. We were hoping for romantic and elegant. We were crowded with other diners, tables were very close, the noise level was high and at one point I saw a server sprinting to the kitchen. It seemed like CF overbooked for this evening. Additionally, I was disappointed that the CF web site does not have a place to give feedback so I am giving it through open table which is not my preference. It is unlikely that will return and companions said the same.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great atmosphere, servers were great very personable, food was excellent, drink menu had a lot of great options

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Chez Francois Never Disappoints

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Enjoy a special meal in this fantastic place. Quaint, excellent service, delicious food, beautiful presentation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible dining experience!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The best dining experience you can imagine. From the front of the house to the food and service, it can't be beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Our evening this past Friday at Chez Francois was wonderful. April is a slack time of the year for a summer restaurant, but a great time if you are seeking a great dining experience. The wait staff has time to linger and offer recommendations. There is no push to dine and dash so the table can turn over. We had a leisurely 2 1/2 hour meal - champagne cocktail, starters, mains and dessert, all well prepared and presented. The black cod with Asian greens and miso sauce, though not what would be expected from a French themed menu was spot on! My wife's chicken breast with fruits de' mer was equally good. That said the pièce de résistance was the plain vanilla ice cream with a complementary framboise cordial! Chez Francois is not for everyday dining. It is great place for an outstandingly well prepared and served meal. They care about food, service, ambiance and most importantly the diner!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Occasion

Dined on April 16, 2016

The special occasion was my retirement party with my family and friends. I rented a limo to drive us to your restaurant and since I had previously been to your restaurant, it was where I wanted to have my retirement dinner. Everyone in my party absolutely loved the restaurant, the service, the food, etc. and I just want to thank you for everything. You made the night complete. Thanks again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best

Dined on April 16, 2016

We have been at Chez Francois many times. It never fails in food or service. I only wish it was closer to us (one hour plus).

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meets and exceeds expectations

Dined on April 10, 2016

We went to Chez Francois for our anniversary and enjoyed a lovely glass of wine, fantastic food and excellent service. For the two hours, we felt like we were on a very relaxing mini vacation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Anniversary

Dined on April 8, 2016

What a delicious and well served meal!! Our new favorite place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Gold Standard which all other restau ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

The Gold Standard which all other restaurants should be judged against !! Never disappoints.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting

Dined on April 5, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised, that on a cold, week night, while working out of town, I could find such a wonderful and relaxing dinner location! I started in the attached bistro and wine bar with a nice cheese tray and a glass of fine Cabernet, followed by a small plate of a perfectly prepared fish dish! I will certainly come back here when I am hungry or just need to crash.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated my Birthday with another c ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We celebrated my Birthday with another couple. Despite many Summer's of vacationing in Vermilion in the summer months, I had never experienced CF. It did not disappoint. From the lovely ambiance to the fabulous food & service. It was a special memorable night indeed. We will be back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday for my Daughter

Dined on March 31, 2016

For a second year I have brought my daughter here for her birthday, the food and staff always excellent

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.