About Chez Francois - Vermilion

555 Main Street
Vermilion, OH 44089
View Larger Map

"If your a serious foodie" or "if romance is calling, sail on up" - literally - to this "French gem" on the Vermilion River, where the "sumptuous" menu and "professional but friendly" staff earn it the top rating from Food and Service in the Cleveland area; "well worth the drive" west of downtown , this "ethereal experience" (the perfect place to propose!") also includes a phenomenal wine list", "charming old world dining room" and "relaxing" riverfront cafe. Proper attire required. Touché a martini/wine bar was opened in 2007 and offers a "small plates" menu and a great selection of adult beverages.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 967-0630

Website:
http://www.chezfrancois.com/

Entertainment:
Chez Francois features live entertainment of Saturdays at Touché, the music changes each week from acoustic guitar to Latin/Jazz to Rhythm & Blues. Sportcoat requested for dining inside; tie is optional. Business Casual is requested for River Front Cafe dining.

Parking Details:
Chez Francois is located in a neighborhood and has street parking around the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef D'Amico

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 5:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Chez Francois can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Chez Francois - Vermilion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Service
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
14 More
Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Notable Wine List
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Romantic
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
Notable Wine List
Cleveland
Romantic
Cleveland
Scenic View
Cleveland
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Vermilion ›

special occasion (67)
romantic (66)
notable wine list (58)
See All
scenic view (53)
fit for foodies (45)
great for outdoor dining (19)
neighborhood gem (13)
good for groups (11)
hot spot (7)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

49th Wedding Anniversary

Dined 6 days ago

We had very high expectations. The restaurant has a unique dining room with high ceilings, rustic beams and chandeliers draped with flowers. Loved the look. Overall the food is good and prepared well. However, our appetizer was really disappointing and I let the waiter know this but he didn't seem to care. We both enjoyed our entrees but considering the cost of $48, we didn't feel it was worth it. Wines by the glass are pricey and the amount is small. And when we left the restaurant, the host who checked us in, didn't say "goodbye, or hope you enjoyed your evening", disappointing after spending $200.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual, Chez Francois was outstanding. ...

Dined 6 days ago

As usual, Chez Francois was outstanding. The food and presentation were superb, the quality of the food and preparation exceeded my high expectations. The service was elegantly formal yet relaxed, and we never felt rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for our anniversary. This ...

Dined 6 days ago

We went there for our anniversary. This was our second time there, the first time was about 15 years ago. The ambiance is perfect for special occasions. The menu has a wide variety of items, all of which are perfectly prepared. The wait staff are attentive without being obnoxious and are very pleasant and knowable about available wines. We both had one of the off menu specials available that day and were very impressed. The price is a little steep for everyday dining but well worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Chez Francois is one of our favorite places. Matt Mars is the owner/operator of one if the finest restaurants in Ohio. Matt is present every day and greats you like a long time friend. The food is top notch, the ambiance and setting are terrific and very good service. The restaurant is in the higher price range, but an excellent value.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and great food. The actual ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great service and great food. The actual entree was larger than what I expected. They have huge wine list .

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, knowledgeable wait staff

Dined on May 17, 2016

Some highly respected restaurants are simply full of themselves, not, Chez Francois. I drove from Dayton, Ohio (322 miles) and it was almost like visiting friends. The waiters and waitress gave me good information on the food and it preparation as well as historical facts about Vermilion. Vermilion is a nice little lakeside town on Lake Erie. You have a beautiful view of the harbor and a cigar stroll after dinner just added to a great evening of dinning. The fact that you could have an outstanding veal and seafood meal with a scrumptious salmon appetizer for under $95 including two glasses of wine would leave most food snobs from New York or LA heads spinning. I appreciated their dress code because food seems to taste better when you put forth some effort in your appearance. There were graduating High School students dinning and we all had a great time.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing - by far the best dining experie ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing - by far the best dining experience I have had in NE Ohio! I went to celebrate my graduation AND to secretly propose to my girlfriend - excellent ambiance, and I appreciated the "grown-up" dress code, as it set the scene for romance and truly made the entire night seem special. The owner took the time to welcome us and talk about our wine preferences and his selection did not disappoint! Thanks again to the whole staff!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb--the food, service, & atmosphere.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our dining experience included a fabulous grilled filet of aged beef, cooked exactly to order. We each had a spring spinach and strawberry salad. I had French onion soup, which was the best I have ever had; my wife had lobster bisque, which she said was very tasty. For dessert I had white chocolate mousse torte, and my wife had a Delarobi fruit tart with a raspberry ice cream. Both were wonderful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our compliments to the Chef! So creative & fresh!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our compliments to the Chef! So creative & fresh!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Attended Chez for Mother's Day Dinner Sp ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Attended Chez for Mother's Day Dinner Special. The food was great and the service was outstanding. While this is a higher end restaurant on the far west side suburbs of Cleveland it offers a great view and is very enjoyable for special occasions!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Just a bit disappointed

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our service was not good. Our dinner took just under four hours for just four of us. We asked the server twice to quicken the pace, but our request was not met. Our main course took almost an hour after salads to arrive. The restaurant was chaotic. We were hoping for romantic and elegant. We were crowded with other diners, tables were very close, the noise level was high and at one point I saw a server sprinting to the kitchen. It seemed like CF overbooked for this evening. Additionally, I was disappointed that the CF web site does not have a place to give feedback so I am giving it through open table which is not my preference. It is unlikely that will return and companions said the same.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great atmosphere, servers were great very personable, food was excellent, drink menu had a lot of great options

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Chez Francois Never Disappoints

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Enjoy a special meal in this fantastic place. Quaint, excellent service, delicious food, beautiful presentation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible dining experience!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The best dining experience you can imagine. From the front of the house to the food and service, it can't be beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Our evening this past Friday at Chez Francois was wonderful. April is a slack time of the year for a summer restaurant, but a great time if you are seeking a great dining experience. The wait staff has time to linger and offer recommendations. There is no push to dine and dash so the table can turn over. We had a leisurely 2 1/2 hour meal - champagne cocktail, starters, mains and dessert, all well prepared and presented. The black cod with Asian greens and miso sauce, though not what would be expected from a French themed menu was spot on! My wife's chicken breast with fruits de' mer was equally good. That said the pièce de résistance was the plain vanilla ice cream with a complementary framboise cordial! Chez Francois is not for everyday dining. It is great place for an outstandingly well prepared and served meal. They care about food, service, ambiance and most importantly the diner!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Occasion

Dined on April 16, 2016

The special occasion was my retirement party with my family and friends. I rented a limo to drive us to your restaurant and since I had previously been to your restaurant, it was where I wanted to have my retirement dinner. Everyone in my party absolutely loved the restaurant, the service, the food, etc. and I just want to thank you for everything. You made the night complete. Thanks again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best

Dined on April 16, 2016

We have been at Chez Francois many times. It never fails in food or service. I only wish it was closer to us (one hour plus).

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meets and exceeds expectations

Dined on April 10, 2016

We went to Chez Francois for our anniversary and enjoyed a lovely glass of wine, fantastic food and excellent service. For the two hours, we felt like we were on a very relaxing mini vacation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Anniversary

Dined on April 8, 2016

What a delicious and well served meal!! Our new favorite place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Gold Standard which all other restau ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

The Gold Standard which all other restaurants should be judged against !! Never disappoints.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting

Dined on April 5, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised, that on a cold, week night, while working out of town, I could find such a wonderful and relaxing dinner location! I started in the attached bistro and wine bar with a nice cheese tray and a glass of fine Cabernet, followed by a small plate of a perfectly prepared fish dish! I will certainly come back here when I am hungry or just need to crash.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated my Birthday with another c ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We celebrated my Birthday with another couple. Despite many Summer's of vacationing in Vermilion in the summer months, I had never experienced CF. It did not disappoint. From the lovely ambiance to the fabulous food & service. It was a special memorable night indeed. We will be back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday for my Daughter

Dined on March 31, 2016

For a second year I have brought my daughter here for her birthday, the food and staff always excellent

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Leah and Josh were excellent

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Leah and Josh were excellent

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch

Dined on March 26, 2016

From the time walked in the door till we left, perfect! Our wait duo were prompt courteous, informative, friendly and right there if we needed them. Their service was outstanding. To food was excellent, we ordered French onion soup, oyster Rockefeller , lamb chops and veal medallions. Everything was cooked perfectly. Came out hot and a beautiful presentation. Good drinks too! I would highly recommend this restaurant and was worth the 45 minute drive!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply my favorite high end dining exper ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Simply my favorite high end dining experience. Been going to this location since 1972, and as Chez for 30 years.

food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoy fine Restaurants. This was hand ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

We enjoy fine Restaurants. This was hands down the best dining experience in this part of the country. We are not downplaying all the wonderful experiences in this area, but this was simply amazing. They go the extra mile including flowers if needed and service that is beyond exceptional. What a perfect evening. Recommendations from us include Lobster Thermodore and the Beef Wellington.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time and with a reservation for 11 ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

First time and with a reservation for 11. The food was amazing, the atmosphere was amazing, the service was amazing. I am going to make a reservation for the summer so we can be seated with a view of the water, maybe next time just my husband and I. A+A+A+

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Romantic Gem

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I dined at Chez Francois for Valentine's Day and it was the perfect evening...our dinner was lovely and the setting was romantic and intimate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server, Leah, was amazing. This was ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our server, Leah, was amazing. This was our first foray into French dining and Leah helped us navigate the silverware and the various dishes. The atmosphere was wonderful. A truly fine experience that we hope to replicate in the future!

food5
ambience5
service5

Simply amazing all around! I have been h ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Simply amazing all around! I have been here before and there is no comparison.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dining in Norther Ohio

Dined on February 14, 2016

Chez Francoise is a great restaurant. The food is fabulous, wine list is exceptional, staff is knowledgable and the overall ambiance is delightful. No better place to take your sweetheart on Valentine's Day!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Went to Chez Francois for Valentines Day. They are closed January through the middle of March but are kind enough to open for this one special day. And do they ever make it special. Unlike their regular menu this dinner was prix fix. But several choices including vegetarian and vegan were available. The amuse bouche was a cucumber soup, I wish I could have had a whole bowl. My appetizer was a lobster quiche. I kept saying to my wife "I cant believe how much lobster is in this". It was amazing. My entrée was duck, prepared perfectly in this sauce that whatever I say wont do it justice other than it was great! My wife had a mushroom ravioli to start and the sea bass, both as spectacular as mine. Their wine list is unbelievable. Great selections from Napa, Bordeaux, Burgundy and elsewhere. Something for everyone in every price range and if you wish...bring your own for a small corkage fee. And the best part of the experience was Lauren, our server. She was terrific. Knowledgeable about food and wine, attentive, but not obtrusive, just perfect. I have always loved Chez Francois, they never disappoint. And no I don't own the place, I just love it there!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience!!

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I have been visiting Chez Francois for about 3 years now! We love the atmosphere and the people! I would like to think we have become regulars! Almost every server knows us and always take the time to stop and say hello! They are always so welcoming! Chez Francois atmosphere is super romantic and cozy! I would recommend anyone who is looking for delicious food and an amazing wait staff to my a reservation!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent Quality

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I go there for special occasions. It's expensive, but we have never been disappointed. We don't mind paying more when the quality is high. The service is always outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Restaurant Canceled Reservation

Dined on January 1, 2016

I made a reservation on December 31st at 7pm using opentable.com. Chez Francois called me the day before my reservation and said my reservation was not valid. They explained it was an error and I was on a long waiting list.....I will never eat there or use the opentable.com service again. Next time I will call the restaurant personally.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

After hearing wonderful things about Chez for many years, we decided to try it out for our anniversary dinner. We're so glad we did! The location is darling, and it was beautifully decorated for Christmas. I can only imagine the view during the summer! We were treated like royalty the entire evening, and the attentiveness of the staff is noticeably superior. They were also extremely helpful in picking wine and food. Everything that came out of the kitchen was hot and delicious. I had veal with seafood, and my husband had duck breast. Both were executed perfectly. I was very pleasantly surprised that each entree came with an amuse bouche and a salad, which is almost unheard of anymore. The raspberry dessert was also out of this world, and super fun with the tableside flame :) The desserts come with a small pour of dessert wine, which was also a pleasant surprise. The menu is on the higher end price wise, but I really felt like it was a good value given the portion sizes and the extras included. The wine list is extraordinary. If I have to pick on something, it would be that they did not acknowledge our anniversary, which is their thing (they usually bring complimentary dessert out for special occasions). We noted the occasion in our reservation like our friends suggested and they asked us if we were celebrating anything when we arrived, but it was forgotten from there. But, this did not impact how we felt about the experience at all, and we hope to go back very soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Great Experience!

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

An evening at Chez Francois is never disappointing. I've always said this restaurant is the best between Chicago and New York! From the moment you walk through the door until the time you leave, everything is done just right. Atmosphere, food prep, platings, flavors as well as the service from Matt the owner to the rest of the staff, everyone ensures that you enjoy yourself and experience the best! All the best to Chez Francois for a successful 2016!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Gem of northeast Ohio

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

Food is a++ Solid classic French / fine dinning. Staff was good....though seems a bit off their high standards on this visit (good but not outstanding). Music was a bit campy. I come here for the food and service. Food was an a, service a b. Second visit where they were out of stock on digestif selection. Update selection if you are not going to stock it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another excellent food and wine experience

Dined on December 20, 2015

A visit to Chez Francois will be our new family tradition instead of buying expensive gifts. The food and wine were outstanding and our waitress (Lauren) was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.