About Chez Francois - Vermilion

"If your a serious foodie" or "if romance is calling, sail on up" - literally - to this "French gem" on the Vermilion River, where the "sumptuous" menu and "professional but friendly" staff earn it the top rating from Food and Service in the Cleveland area; "well worth the drive" west of downtown , this "ethereal experience" (the perfect place to propose!") also includes a phenomenal wine list", "charming old world dining room" and "relaxing" riverfront cafe. Proper attire required. Touché a martini/wine bar was opened in 2007 and offers a "small plates" menu and a great selection of adult beverages.

555 Main Street
Vermilion, OH 44089
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 967-0630

Website:
http://www.chezfrancois.com/

Entertainment:
Chez Francois features live entertainment of Saturdays at Touché, the music changes each week from acoustic guitar to Latin/Jazz to Rhythm & Blues. Sportcoat requested for dining inside; tie is optional. Business Casual is requested for River Front Cafe dining.

Parking Details:
Chez Francois is located in a neighborhood and has street parking around the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef D'Amico

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Angus Beef Strip Loin Wild Onions And Morels - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Chilean Seabass - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Apple Frangipane Tart & Walnut Ice Cream & Carmel Sauce - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Quail, Grenache Sun Dried Cherry Reduction - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Oxtail Ravioli, Truffle Bitter Sauce - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Peekytoe Crab & Kiwi Salad, Mango Ravioli - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
White Truffle Ice Cream - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Egg Fettuccine with White Truffles - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Roast Tenderloin of Veal with Sauce Périgueux - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Truffle Cappuccino - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Cod & Maine Lobster with Truffle Potato Foam - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Scrambled Eggs & Truffles - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Sea Scallop En Croûte - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Lobster Thermidor - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Escargot - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH
Lobster Ravioli - Chez Francois - Vermilion, Vermilion, OH

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 5:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Chez Francois can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Chez Francois - Vermilion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Worth the Drive (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
See All
Waterfront (38)
Notable Wine List (37)
Romantic (36)
Good for a Date (32)
Scenic View (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Cozy (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Authentic (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Business Meals (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Historic (12)
Seasonal (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Fun (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I each enjoyed five courses ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My wife and I each enjoyed five courses as we celebrated the 45th anniversary of our engagement. The pacing of the meal was excellent, and every bite was exquisite. The waiter and his assistant were delightful and attentive. After the main part of our meal (rack of lamb for her, filet of beef for me), we shared Bananas Foster (absolutely to die for!) and Irish Coffee. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly before heading off for a B&B for the night. Well worth our 75-minute trip each way to sit back and relax!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been a while since we made the trek ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It's been a while since we made the trek from Cleveland to Vermillion and CF did not disappoint. Service was efficient, professional, and cordial. Food was beautifully presented and flavors were wonderful. Our only surprise was one of the desserts. One in our party wanted a very light dessert and so ordered the lemon souffle. What we received was not a souffle, but a lighter, airy lemon cake. The speed at which it arrived should have been the first clue of a different souffle recipe. Normally restaurants that do souffles tell you that it takes a while to bake. CF's version is served cold and seemed more of a summer dessert. It tasted fine, but was not what expected. They probably should rename this offering. We will definitely go back and recommend CF to friends. The dessert was a minor issue.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. A special place ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful experience. A special place for a special

occasion - but don't wait for a special

occasion to visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant lands in the 'Best of NE ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This restaurant lands in the 'Best of NE Ohio' lists for good reason! The food is beyond compare, the atmosphere is amazing, the wait staff are attentive and extremely knowledgeable and the menu is delicious. I've been coming to Chez for years and am NEVER disappointed by a meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enough cannot be said about the service. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Enough cannot be said about the service. Service such as this pairs nicely with the delicious drink and cuisine that Chef Francois provides it's patrons. The Manhattan's and Old Fashioned's we had were expertly crafted. It will be quite some time before I find another drink as well made.

As cliche as it is, I always have the duck in French restaurant's. This dish was exceptional and stood far above any other plates I've had in the past.

The dessert was served with a mouth-watering port, thankfully. After all of those drinks, I was grateful and appreciative of the delicious coffee, french-press of course.

An absolutely fabulous Christmas dinner. Your decorations, staff and excellent menu truly meant the evening to us. Thank you.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I have come here many time ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My family and I have come here many times for special occasions. The ambiance is very romantic and wonderful, whether you are on the outside in the summer overlooking the lagoon or inside. Decor is always elegant and lovely. Food is just fabulous every time. It is fairly pricey but proves " you get what you pay for " and we've never been disappointed. Despite the Atmosphere and siohusticatuon of the food, staff are all down to earth and trying to make sure you have a terrific time. Very highly recommended and worth the drive from Cleveland.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic restaurant! French menu-very ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fantastic restaurant! French menu-very authentic-varied offerings-different price ranges, but would be considered more pricy than others. A lot of ambiance. Excellent wine list. We go their for special occasions several times a year.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, , Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attended this beautiful restaurant in Ve ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Attended this beautiful restaurant in Vermillion on a weeknight in December. They have a nice selection of beer, wine and cocktails. Many enticing choices on the menu for appetizers and entrees. After narrowing down to a handful, I followed the waitresses' recommendations and had the the lobster ravioli appetizer and the beef wellington (a house specialty). Both were delicious. Strongly recommended, and my favorite restaurant in Northern Ohio during my 13-month extended stay.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a fantastic dinner with a work col ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I had a fantastic dinner with a work colleague over the holidays. It has to be one of the best dining experiences I have had and I live in Atlanta where we have a large number of high end dining options. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant with an extensive wine ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great Restaurant with an extensive wine list and terrific food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great Beer, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez Francois never disappoints! Thank y ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Chez Francois never disappoints! Thank you to Matt and his entire staff for a wonderful evening filled with fantastic food, even better service, and great memories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster Bisque and Wellington filet ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The lobster Bisque and Wellington filet were fantastic. I would recommend this location for special occasions. I think anyone would find this place to have exceptional food and beverages. Can't wait to visit this summer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. C ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Chex NEVER disappoints.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a special occasion when we dine a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always a special occasion when we dine at Chez. The food, service, and total experience are always outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go every year for our family holiday ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We go every year for our family holiday celebration. It's an hour drive to the restaurant and we were in the midst of getting almost 20" of snow which made our drive a lot longer. It was still worth every minute. The food is presented impeccably and tastes wonderful. The service staff was personable, professional and perfectly timed. As always we never leave disappointed. Thank you for the 7th straight year for making our family celebration a time to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful menu and wine list. Great wai ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Wonderful menu and wine list. Great waitress. Very knowledgeable. Beautiful dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a restaurant recommended by a f ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was a restaurant recommended by a friend and a pleasantly unexpected treat. Service was great - giving helpful guidance on the menu. The food was splendid: I had the Beef Wellington, my favorite dish! It was done to perfection. Dessert was a delicious chocolate cake. The wine list is extensive and contained too many nice bottles to choose from. All in all an experience to be repeated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding...a cannot miss place to din ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Outstanding...a cannot miss place to dine when in the Cleveland area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chez Francois used to be a 5 star restau ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Chez Francois used to be a 5 star restaurant. It's still quite good but missing that extra special touch that makes it extraordinary. We just weren't greeted the way we used to be. The bartender was just not very friendly. I got the special veal chop, which just didn't seem to pair well with risotto. I'm missing the old WOW factor I used to feel when visiting Chez Francois.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The experience was unforgettable. This ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The experience was unforgettable. This was my 4th dinner and it just gets better. They offer such excellent food and able to talk about it that you have a difficult time deciding on what to order.

The staff is professional and welcoming. Very warm and comfortable environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our anniversary and we shared it ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

It was our anniversary and we shared it with our friends. Everyone had a wonderful time. The food was magnificent as always, the staff very welcoming. Thank you for helping to make this a special day, everyone at Chez Francois.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Cozy, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, we were treated well and the f ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As usual, we were treated well and the food was excellent. We did forget to request our very favorite waitperson, Leah, but were well cared for by her capable fill ins. Our only regret is that we waited far too long for this reservation after having last eaten at the Chez. Must improve on that scheduling gaff. Well done.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, superior service and ambiance ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As always, superior service and ambiance. Outstanding menu, quality dinning at its best. One of the best restaurants in Ohio or anywhere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Matt always has the best cuisine and atm ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Matt always has the best cuisine and atmosphere for that special family or friend gathering!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything -- the cocktails, the food, t ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Everything -- the cocktails, the food, the wine, and the service of Nathan and Josh, the ambiance -- was incredible!! My friend and I had an amazing time, and we were treated like kings! I always love Chez Francois, but this time, the experience was even more outstanding!!!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service, and experience. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing food, service, and experience. I must have told 20 people within 24 hours about the Chez Francois experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is the best restaurant in Northern Oh ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It is the best restaurant in Northern Ohio. Bar none.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the best restaurant in Northeast ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Northeast Ohio. My wife and I went with the Truffle Dinner Menu and were not disappointed. Each course highlighted either white or black truffle in a balanced and delicious dish. It was impossible to pick a favorite. The staff was friendly and attentive allowing us to enjoy our at our leisure. Chez Francois is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the service was exceptional w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As always, the service was exceptional with John & Frank doing their utmost to make our evening as enjoyable as possible. The food was excellent & exactly as we expected. The entire night was a food lovers paradise & made or anniversary one to remember with great delight. I highly recommend Chez Francois to satisfy ones palate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you to Matt, Chef John, and the st ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Thank you to Matt, Chef John, and the staff for another unforgettable evening. As always the truffle dinner was extraordinary, but that is what this place does best. The extraordinary with their food and service. It is so nice to have a place to still be able to dress up and go out for a long relaxing dinner.

As always I cannot wait to come back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very fine dining experience. Great foo ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 4, 2016

A very fine dining experience. Great food. A lovely place. Don't forget to dress up and men, wear a jacket.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best ; top of the line destination ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The best ; top of the line destination restaurant. I wish it was closer. My wife and I recently celebrated our 20 th anniversary . I contacted Chef John D'Amico regarding some white truffle additions he prepared for my wife off the menu. He actually took the phone call !! Try that in other 4 star restaurants. Front of house maitre d' and sommelier Matt Mars is always gracious and knowledgeable about all wines and entree pairings. Reminds one of the now closed Charlie Trotters

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations to propose to my now f ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Made reservations to propose to my now fiancé. Worked with the manager to arrange the evening. Everything went as planned. Our two waiters were exceptional. Our food from appetizer to dessert was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My rack of lamb was made to perfection a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My rack of lamb was made to perfection and arrived at our table in a timely manner. As a Chef, I am critical on food preparation, but this experience truly exceeded my expectations. I give the entire visit five stars. I really enjoyed it.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was excellent. It ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The entire experience was excellent. It was our anniversary dinner. Leah was a delight and incredibly attentive. Everything was prepared with great attention to detail. We came from Delaware to enjoy this room. We would recommend this establishment. Well done! Thank you for a precious lasting memory.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best restaurant I have ever b ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

By far the best restaurant I have ever been to from the ambiance to the servers and last but not least the menu. Can't wait to go back!!!!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite destinations.....we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of our favorite destinations.....we go at least once a year and don't mind the long ride because the dining experience is always special. Food awesome plus beautiful setting. Service excellent. We shall return.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful dinner with an excellen ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Just a wonderful dinner with an excellent menu and daily specials. Service is outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, staff, and atmosphere all were top ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food, staff, and atmosphere all were top-notch. Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a phenomenal time a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My husband and I had a phenomenal time at Chez Francois. It is now the number one restaurant on the top of our list. The love and care given to the food and the knowledgable and attentive service makes your feel pampered from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. Each bite was delectable and savored. Overall, it was such a lovely and memorable dining experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.