About Chez Francois - Vermilion

555 Main Street
Vermilion, OH 44089
View Larger Map

"If your a serious foodie" or "if romance is calling, sail on up" - literally - to this "French gem" on the Vermilion River, where the "sumptuous" menu and "professional but friendly" staff earn it the top rating from Food and Service in the Cleveland area; "well worth the drive" west of downtown , this "ethereal experience" (the perfect place to propose!") also includes a phenomenal wine list", "charming old world dining room" and "relaxing" riverfront cafe. Proper attire required. Touché a martini/wine bar was opened in 2007 and offers a "small plates" menu and a great selection of adult beverages.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(440) 967-0630

Website:
http://www.chezfrancois.com/

Entertainment:
Chez Francois features live entertainment of Saturdays at Touché, the music changes each week from acoustic guitar to Latin/Jazz to Rhythm & Blues. Sportcoat requested for dining inside; tie is optional. Business Casual is requested for River Front Cafe dining.

Parking Details:
Chez Francois is located in a neighborhood and has street parking around the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef D'Amico

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Apple Frangipane Tart & Walnut Ice Cream & Carmel Sauce
Angus Beef Strip Loin Wild Onions And Morels
Chilean Seabass
Quail, Grenache Sun Dried Cherry Reduction
Oxtail Ravioli, Truffle Bitter Sauce
Peekytoe Crab & Kiwi Salad, Mango Ravioli
White Truffle Ice Cream
Egg Fettuccine with White Truffles
Roast Tenderloin of Veal with Sauce Périgueux
Truffle Cappuccino
Cod & Maine Lobster with Truffle Potato Foam
Sea Scallop En Croûte
Scrambled Eggs & Truffles
Lobster Thermidor
Escargot
Lobster Ravioli

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 5:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Chez Francois can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Chez Francois - Vermilion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Service
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
15 More
Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Notable Wine List
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Romantic
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
Notable Wine List
Cleveland
Romantic
Cleveland
Scenic View
Cleveland
Special Occasion
Cleveland
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Vermilion ›

special occasion (100)
romantic (96)
scenic view (82)
See All
notable wine list (75)
fit for foodies (59)
great for outdoor dining (52)
neighborhood gem (22)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (8)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Still one of the if not the best restaur ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 2 days ago

Still one of the if not the best restaurants in Ohio. One of our favorite places for a special occasion dinner. Always top notch food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was possibly the best meal I've eve ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was possibly the best meal I've ever had. My wife and I go 2 to 3 times per year and the food is always outstanding. While this restaurant is certainly on the expensive side the quality and presentation is second to none. Add in the professional wait staff and you have an evening that cannot be beat.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

By far, this five star restaurant betwee ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

By far, this five star restaurant between Toledo and Erie is the crown jewel that celebrates food and dining like no other. We celebrate all our special occasions here when possible and have never been disappointed. The wait staff is professional, knowledgeable and most of all friendly and never rushing for the next reservation. The outdoor venue is covered and allows for great conversation while enjoying the boating aficionados, indoors lends itself to quiet romantic discussion.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect! What's not to lo ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was perfect! What's not to love?!

We will be back and have already shared our experience there with many friends. As the saying goes...you get what you pay for. Bon Appetite!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All I can really say about our recent ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

All I can really say about our recent experience was that it was long. Of course the food was great but it took hours. By the time the main course arrived we were really ready to go. And there were no apologies! We have enjoyed stopping here while traveling but we are over it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Special place for special occasions! Lo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Special place for special occasions! Lovely ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always! Beautiful setting and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Amazing as always! Beautiful setting and great service and food!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, we had a fabulous meal at Ch ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Once again, we had a fabulous meal at Chez Francois. We took my mother and son out for a special dinner and everyone raved about their meal. We had a slight mix up between lobster dishes that was a misunderstanding on my part, and the server and chef remedied it immediately without any fuss (even though it was clearly my fault). Every dish was outstanding and our server was so knowledgeable about the menu. Stuffed zucchini blossoms, amazing as usual; duck breast cooked perfectly, lobster thermador was a feast, wine was great, desserts were fantastic and garnished with local fresh fruit. LOVE THIS RESTAURANT!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our visit to Chez Francois in Vermilion ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our visit to Chez Francois in Vermilion left us with mixed feelings. The food was outstanding, although one of us has a particular food allergy to mushrooms and both dinners arrived w/o them. They did try to correct that and apologized. While the ambiance was OK and overall service polite, we felt for the cost of our meals, other restaurants (e.g. Downtown 140 in Hudson) had far better service, food quality and selection, and ambiance beyond that of Chez Francois.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Having travelled all over the world and ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Having travelled all over the world and dined at many Michelin starred restaurants I can safely say the tasting menu here was up there with the best I've had. A must visit for anybody in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food, you pay a pr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent service and food, you pay a pretty penny but you receive high quality French cuisine with beautiful plate presentations. Great spot for special occasions, be sure to sit on the patio and watch the boats.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of many visits. Always great. Awesom ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of many visits. Always great. Awesome wine list. Ranks with the best of NY and SF. Outstanding deserts. Best restaurant in the state based on Zagat and my own experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent service! Our server was outst ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent service! Our server was outstanding. Very knowledgeable! Very polished!

It made the dining experience that much better. Can't wait to return in the very near

future.

Food absolutely delicious!!! Wine outstanding too!!!

Donna Chappel

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an unbelievable experience, truly o ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

What an unbelievable experience, truly one of the best dinners we ever had. Dining on the Riverfront cafe is truly phenomenal experience. Went there on my wife's birthday. We had reservations for the inside but when we got there, my wife really fell in love with the outside seating and we were promptly moved there (Note: there is absolutely nothing wrong with the inside, looks like a French Country village, it was just matter of choice). When we were outside, we switched seats twice (my wife was just looking for a spot that she wanted and the hostess/servers didn't blink twice to accommodate us). Service is top notch, food is top notch: Blossom appetizer, scallop appetizer, Alaskan cod main course and warm chocolate cake was great! Amuse Bouche before you start your meal and complimentary dessert wine was a great touch! They even had a birthday card for my wife for her birthday. The prices are in line with very upscale restaurants: appetizers are $20-30 or up, main courses $45 and up, desserts are $10. So be prepared to spend $150-200 for a couple. So this is not your every month type of place, but definitely for special day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delightful and the view was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was delightful and the view was impressive. The service could not have been better!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to Chez for many years and by ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Been going to Chez for many years and by far one of the best dining experiences you will ever receive. The owner Matt is very kind and always willing to help . The staff is always attentive and providing guidance on the menu options and specials. When we want a special meal and dining experience when in the Western suburbs of Cleveland , we will always go to Chez.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Anniversary dinner; totally excellent!! ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Anniversary dinner; totally excellent!! Everyone raved. Lobster hogfish veal wonderfully prepared

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were exceptional. T ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food and service were exceptional. The indoor dining room is tastefully decorated giving it a more European old world charm versus modern Americana. I ordered soft-shell crabs. My husband ordered the black cod. Both were cooked to perfection and well presented on the plate. If you love martinis this is the place for you. Excellent bartender, too!! We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place to celebrate any spec ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our favorite place to celebrate any special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Touché has a scenic location as well as ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Touché has a scenic location as well as excellent food and service. The menu is perfect for a summer meal outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My Wife and I were celebrating our anniv ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My Wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and it turned out there were 3 other couples nearby doing likewise. This led to some enjoyable conversation and friendly banter among the four couples. The food, service and ambiance are top notch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family had an excellent dinner exper ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our family had an excellent dinner experience the evening we were there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just ok. Expected way bett ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was just ok. Expected way better. The beef wellington pastry was very gummy and not cooked. The waiter would pour and serve the food reaching in front of you instead of going around the other side. The food was not served with appearance in mind. Very plan. I traveled from Pittsburgh, PA and was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

One of our all time favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

One of our all time favorite restaurants. The food, the wine, the service are all five star.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic! Wonderful food, Knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Fantastic! Wonderful food, Knowledgeable and Friendly service! A perfect way to celebrate a double wedding anniversary! Thank you!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Probably one of the best experiences I h ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Probably one of the best experiences I have had a restaurant! Amazing atmosphere, great views especially of the river front and outstanding food. You must try this place at least once!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely evening to celebrate a b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a lovely evening to celebrate a birthday last night. We sat outside and weather permitting you should too. We were lucky to see fireworks too. The service was amazing and attentive, the food was delicious. The drinks were just ok in our mind and that was really the only comment we have. Make better drinks and better coffee and you will be close to perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had the 6 course summer meal and it w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had the 6 course summer meal and it was delicious with an awesome wine pairing to go with it. Was a little disappointed with the main entrée but it was still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely time at Chez Francois. T ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a lovely time at Chez Francois. The food was impeccable. The mushroom soup with duck confit was delicious and filling. My boyfriend had a delightful seasonal Lobster Ravioli (which they will do as an appetizer or entree). My entree was the Filet de Boef Naturel, which was cooked to perfection and his was the veal chop, which he couldn't stop raving about. Service moves at a deliberately slow pace (very French) so if you are someone who likes quick service this place may not be for you. On the other hand if you like a lengthy evening of excellent food with plenty of time to savor each bite, you will have an excellent time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our favorite place. Amazing food!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our favorite place. Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another Happy Anniversary

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We are not frequent dinner's here , but we are regular typically celebrating our anniversay. Mtt (Owner) was gracious, Roger our server was very attentive and fun and the kitchen rocked itas usual(not sure if John was back there?). The whole evening was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

frenchie

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Had a lovely table overlooking the patio and lagoon. Staff was very attentive and knowledgeable, and dinner was paced nicely.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just Perfect

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I have been going to this restaurant for the past 22 years. Every time we go the food is better than the last time. Matt and his staff always make it a memorable time. This is probably the finest restaurant in Ohio.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a five star dining experience. Fr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Truly a five star dining experience. From the salad through dessert, everything was superbly executed. Our server was very knowledgeable and friendly; he both maintained his distance and was available whenever we wanted his attention. Fairly expensive, but worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

You will not regret choosing Chez Francois - one of the best meals I've ever had in my life (our whole table felt the same way). We are all still talking about the lobster bisque days later!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

That Chez Francois holds a five-star rat ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

That Chez Francois holds a five-star rating is no surprise. My first visit here was amazing! The ambiance was perfect for a Special Occasion : the food was outstanding, prepared to perfection : the service was very efficient, but not intrusive. All in all, a wonderful experience, hopefully to be repeated in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose Chez Francois to celebrate our ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We chose Chez Francois to celebrate our anniversary. It was well worth the one hour drive from Cleveland. From the moment we walked through the door we received anniversay well wishes. The food and service were excellent. The entire staff made us feel extra special and were appropriately attentive. We were presented with a card and anniversary greeting on the dessert we ordered. It was a terrific evening! I would highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AWESOME AS ALWAYS!!!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

VERY GOOD REPEATABLE SERVICE AND QUALITY, GREAT STUFF. THANKS MATT

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Oue 25th anniversary dinner

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a wonderful experience: the food was unique and delicius, the service, with 2 friendly waiters, was outstanding, and the ambiance was was very pleasant and easy to enjoy. The "aniversary card" was a "nice touch". We would definately return. Thanks the Weinfelds

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mr

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was my wife's birthday so we thought we would give this restaurant a try. There was a birthday card on the table signed by the restaurant staff which was quite nice. We each ordered a drink on the rocks. When it came, it was not on the rocks but up. We ordered another drink later, on the rocks and this time it came correctly. When we got home we noticed as we looked at the receipt for over $200 that the first drink was $2.50 more than the next drink.

My wife really enjoyed her meal as she had the veal. I had the beef wellington which was perfectly done however, it was extremely dry, no juice at all. We both expected that my wife would receive a complimentary dessert however, it never came.

The restaurant was nice but very, very over-priced and over-rated.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.