HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Chena's Alaskan Grill

4.3
65 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining (117)
  • Scenic View (109)
  • Special Occasion (70)

Chena's Alaskan Grill is an American style restaurant located in Fairbanks, Alaska that specializes in serving modern Alaskan cuisine infused with global influences. The restaurant features a revolving menu based on fresh ingredients available. Located on the banks of the Chena River, Chena's Alaskan Grill offers outdoor, waterfront seating.

The restaurant serves dinner daily and offers an assortment of appetizers, salads, vegetarian and light fare, entrées and seafood specialties on the menu for diners to choose from. Featured entrées served at Chena's Alaskan Grill include peppercorn crusted sea scallops, wild caught Alaskan cod, grilled New York strip steak and beef filet stroganoff.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(907) 474-3644
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: George Park
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 65 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3
  based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
3.0
Dined on September 12, 2015

We absolutely LOVE Chena's!! Unfortunately our last visit was not what we expected. The food and waitstaff were fabulous as usual, but the noise level was almost unbearable. One of the things we love about Chena's is the "relaxing" atmosphere, but there were two tables of people that made this experience anything but enjoyable and relaxing. I mean there is nothing wrong with laughing and having a good time with family and friends, but when you are laughing at the top of your lungs and pounding on your table all night, that's desruptive to others. Show some respect to others around you. Add the fact that the two tables were across the room from each other and the people were screaming to each other across the room and well, it's just rude! I will still eat at Chena's due to this having nothing to do with their food or staff, but i would ask people be more respectful to other diners.

Report
Helpful
Akjblizz (Anchorage)
5.0
Dined on September 12, 2015

I've lived in Fairbanks for over 11 years and never been to Chena's Alaska Grill. It is definitely one of the best places to dine in town.

Report
Helpful
theoldcouple (Anchorage)
5.0
Dined on September 10, 2015

We were a little late for our reservation and they saved our table for us, Booked the reservation online and I loved it. The service was great. My husband had the halibut encrusted in crab and he thought it was wonderful. I had the New York steak the flavor was excellent but it was very tough for a New York steak. That won't stop me from going back next year.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
4.0
Dined on September 6, 2015

Great food, good service, nice atmosphere. What else can I say.

Report
Helpful
CalliesDaddy (New Orleans)
4.0
Dined on September 5, 2015

We arrived early and were seated. Took a while for our drink order and then it was misplaced. After a long day this was a bad start. Turns out we were there as they were paring down there wait staff, and it showed. After the slow start the services was great. Best Salmon I had in Alaska. We sat in side as we requested. On another trip we would have tried outside which look great. After dinner we had a cocktail on the "bar deck" overlooking the river. Very nice. My wife had the best Lemon Drop she has ever had.

Report
Helpful
AKgirl59 (Anchorage)
4.0
Dined on August 27, 2015

Our server Liz was great! Our table was ready when we arrived and we immediately received warm, fresh bread. The peppercorn crusted scallops were delicious. Fresh veggies perfectly steamed. Reservations are highly recommended as Chena's is a happening place!

Report
Helpful
donna (Anchorage)
5.0
Dined on August 19, 2015

Four of us enjoyed a delicious meal. The server explained how it was possible to serve extremely fresh fish. That fish was prepared very nicely. Everything else was well done -- the other dishes, the service, etc.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
4.0
Dined on August 15, 2015

Nice place with lovely outdoor covered patio dining. The service was informal but professional. The food was very good. I would recommend Chena's Alaskan Grill to anyone seeking fine dining in Fairbanks.

Report
Helpful
FairbanksFoodie2015 (Seattle)
5.0
Dined on August 10, 2015

We treated our out of town guests to Chena's recently. We chose Chena's to ensure that our guests enjoyed a quality dining experience; food, service and ambiance. Once again, we weren't disappointed. Chena's met all expectations. We were given three seating options including riverfront deck, covered veranda, or inside dining. We chose the expansive riverfront deck. Our guests were hesitant with that choice at first but relieved when we are given Chena's complete menu rather than a 'deck menu' that typically includes deep friend fast food options only. We can't say enough about our great experiences at Chena's other than we wish they were open year around. They are seasonal summer only so don't miss out.

Report
Helpful
Jo3657 (Pittsburgh)
4.0
Dined on August 6, 2015

The food was wonderful and the river view on the veranda was an added bonus. We had a large party of 10 and they accommodated us at a last minute reservation.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
George Park
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$31 to $50
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(907) 474-3644
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free off street parking outside Chena's & River's Edge Resort.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
YELLOW LINE / Metropolitan Area Commuter System - MACS : Bus Stop just outside on Boat Street is between stops 3 and 4 and runs Monday through Saturday (No Sunday Service)
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jameson Kapec
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine