Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

The Pump HouseThe Pump House
(295)
American | Fairbanks, Fairbanks
Reserve Now

About Chena's Alaskan Grill

4200 Boat Street
Fairbanks, AK 99709
View Larger Map

Chena's features delicious cuisine in an early 1900s d├ęcor. Our specialty is fresh seasonal Alaskan wild salmon and halibut. We also feature a variety of beef, chicken, and pasta dishes, salads, and Alaskan favorites as well as an extensive selection of wines. Chena's with 3 dining choices: Inside in our comfortable dining room, Outdoor covered veranda, Outdoor sun deck overlooking the Chena River. Or, visit our pub located inside the dining room for a frosty cold or deliciously hot drink. We're known for our delicious menu and delightful setting!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
George Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 474-3644

Website:
http://www.chenas.net/

Parking Details:
Free off street parking outside Chena's & River's Edge Resort.

Public Transit:
YELLOW LINE / Metropolitan Area Commuter System - MACS : Bus Stop just outside on Boat Street is between stops 3 and 4 and runs Monday through Saturday (No Sunday Service)

Executive Chef:
Jameson Kapec

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
65 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Food and service, VERY loud table behind me.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

We absolutely LOVE Chena's!! Unfortunately our last visit was not what we expected. The food and waitstaff were fabulous as usual, but the noise level was almost unbearable. One of the things we love about Chena's is the "relaxing" atmosphere, but there were two tables of people that made this experience anything but enjoyable and relaxing. I mean there is nothing wrong with laughing and having a good time with family and friends, but when you are laughing at the top of your lungs and pounding on your table all night, that's desruptive to others. Show some respect to others around you. Add the fact that the two tables were across the room from each other and the people were screaming to each other across the room and well, it's just rude! I will still eat at Chena's due to this having nothing to do with their food or staff, but i would ask people be more respectful to other diners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

First visit

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

I've lived in Fairbanks for over 11 years and never been to Chena's Alaska Grill. It is definitely one of the best places to dine in town.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Night Out on the Town

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

We were a little late for our reservation and they saved our table for us, Booked the reservation online and I loved it. The service was great. My husband had the halibut encrusted in crab and he thought it was wonderful. I had the New York steak the flavor was excellent but it was very tough for a New York steak. That won't stop me from going back next year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Good food

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

Great food, good service, nice atmosphere. What else can I say.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Slow start but finished strong

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

We arrived early and were seated. Took a while for our drink order and then it was misplaced. After a long day this was a bad start. Turns out we were there as they were paring down there wait staff, and it showed. After the slow start the services was great. Best Salmon I had in Alaska. We sat in side as we requested. On another trip we would have tried outside which look great. After dinner we had a cocktail on the "bar deck" overlooking the river. Very nice. My wife had the best Lemon Drop she has ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

A hidden gem!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

Our server Liz was great! Our table was ready when we arrived and we immediately received warm, fresh bread. The peppercorn crusted scallops were delicious. Fresh veggies perfectly steamed. Reservations are highly recommended as Chena's is a happening place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

VERY GOOD FOOD

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

Four of us enjoyed a delicious meal. The server explained how it was possible to serve extremely fresh fish. That fish was prepared very nicely. Everything else was well done -- the other dishes, the service, etc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place with lovely outdoor covered p ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

Nice place with lovely outdoor covered patio dining. The service was informal but professional. The food was very good. I would recommend Chena's Alaskan Grill to anyone seeking fine dining in Fairbanks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Another great experience at Chena's

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2015

We treated our out of town guests to Chena's recently. We chose Chena's to ensure that our guests enjoyed a quality dining experience; food, service and ambiance. Once again, we weren't disappointed. Chena's met all expectations. We were given three seating options including riverfront deck, covered veranda, or inside dining. We chose the expansive riverfront deck. Our guests were hesitant with that choice at first but relieved when we are given Chena's complete menu rather than a 'deck menu' that typically includes deep friend fast food options only. We can't say enough about our great experiences at Chena's other than we wish they were open year around. They are seasonal summer only so don't miss out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food great view.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

The food was wonderful and the river view on the veranda was an added bonus. We had a large party of 10 and they accommodated us at a last minute reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Don't waste your time or money eating here

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

The herb grilled chicken is what we order. The garlic mashed potatoes were like instant potatoes with garlic powder that was the taste quality they emitted. The vegetables were like the frozen variety you get from the supermarket just steam and serve no taste. The best part of the meal was the bread and dessert. The staff was pleasant and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Best that Fairbanks offers but Moderate Overall

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 4, 2015

Overall the experience was moderator to poor due to overwhelming reviews and what I assume is limited selections in the destination. We ordered wine, water and apps and the order they arrived at the table was apps, wine and water. I suspect this is due to lack of back-up support and the waitress staff having to take on every chore. The table next to us was not seated and was getting glasses of water filled while we are sitting with no water. I suspect that this might preferred service for Holland tour passengers as there was many of them ordering from what appeared to be a preset menu. For apps we ordered had a home run with the salmon spread with Cream Fraiche and chips/pita however the portabella fries were only ok. for the entree we split the lavender honey halibut and it was over cooked and dry. When it came to desert there was no offer of coffee so we just shared the cinnamon bread pudding and it was really nice but would have been better with coffee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Fairbanks Alaska GEM

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 3, 2015

Visiting Fairbanks and did not know about a good place to eat. A tour bus operator strongly recommended Chena Grill as a great place to eat. It was just as he suggested. The service was friendly, courteous and prompt. The food was well prepared and excellent in taste and presentation. Should we find ourselves back in Fairbanks, this is the first place I would consider.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Fairbanks food

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

While not inexpensive, the food here was worth the price. Fresh salmon in Alaska is generally good anywhere, but at chena's it was exceptional. If you are a salmon "purist", this place is for you. We did not try the fancier preparations but I would expect these are equally good. Do try to save room for dessert- the banana bread pudding was very tasty. The apple crisp was also tasty - and in a portion ample for two - but be advised it had a bit more nutmeg than we might had wanted. The services, like the salmon, was also noteworthy. The staff was friendly and accommodating; energetic, communicative and pleasantly informal are all appropriate descriptive terms for the wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Service was disappointing.

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

Had a reseravation and had called ahead to ask if we could sit outside if weather was good. Got there and they wanted to seat us inside because it might rain. Lots of people were seated outside under covered seating. Asked why we can't sit out there, "those people have reservations." What? Finally got seated outside then to have no waitstaff come by for 15-20 min. Finally the person who was originally testy w/me came to wait on us and from then on it was good. Very frustrating but ultimately all was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Nice ambience, great food!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 30, 2015

Pleasant atmosphere with excellent waitstaff. Food is appetizing and ambience is pleasing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and wine!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 29, 2015

Service was very slow, but we were there to take our time and enjoy each others company so it's all good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Fresh and good food.

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 28, 2015

Stayed at the River's Edge Resort and Chena's is on the resort property. Ended up eating here three times because we had such a good experience the first time. Service is friendly. The food is fresh and very well prepared. I can recommend the Alaskan seafood. Very good. They also have a great view as they are on the banks of the Chena river.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worst food in Fairbanks

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 27, 2015

I find it hard to believe that this restaurant has so many positive reviews. The service was terrible and the food was even worse. My wife had the seafood fettucine and I had the beef stroganoff. Both dishes were bland and tasteless. Hers had only a few small pieces of shrimp and no other seafood with barely any sauce at all. Mine had some tough pieces of meat with noodles that tasted like they had come out of the freezer. The high cost only added insult to injury. To say that we were disappointed would be an understatement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Very good food

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

Nice start with good tasty bread and pesto to go with our drinks. Very good crab cakes. We were transferred to an inside table when a cloudburst opened up on us. The view is of the Chena River flowing past.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

What a relaxing evening.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2015

Had a dinner salad and my husband had crab cakes. Really good bread. Bartender was friendly. Nice gin drink with mint and cucumber. Dessert with homemade ice cream was great. It was crowded but service was fine. It was the kind of place you don't mind waiting because it's so relaxing watching the river. Saw a bald eagle!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

One of the nicest restaurants in Fairbanks

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 14, 2015

Our group really enjoyed the food-atmosphere outside in the covered area was very comfortable. Nice that Fairbanks has a place with first class food while still maintaining the comfortable Alaskan feel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent views and service

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 5, 2015

This was the 2nd time I had eaten at Chenas and like the first was impressed! For being a seasonal restaurant it was way above the other local places! The food was spendy but well worth it! I was lucky enough to get Liz for our Server both times and she was superb!!!! The biggest down fall is parking. The parking lot is very VERY small and since its gravel there is no rhyme or reason to how you are expected to park. If there was a reason to stop me from going there it. Would be that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

slow service,food was good, not the norm for Chena

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 30, 2015

Given we dine here regularly this dinner fell below our expectations. the server was very slow and not at all interested in our table apparently having been a party of 8 the gratuity was a given and she did not seem to care . The food was good and thank goodness for the busser and other server who assisted during our dine at Chenas' Unfortunately it was a birthday dinner and was a disappointment, as this is one of our favorite places to dine during the summer. I hope next time we are seated where we get taken care of. Yes we will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Dined here 06/27/15. The food was amazin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

Dined here 06/27/15. The food was amazing. We had the beef stroganoff (best!) halibut with lavender, I think, and another fish dish. It's been time, I don't remember a lot. The halibut was nicely cooked and fresh, obviously, but the accompanying lavender or similar herb flavor was barely noticeable--something I was looking forward to after reading it on the menu. Perhaps that was a good thing and maybe more flavor would be overpowering (lavender fish :/ ). But the beef stroganoff! It made the list of one of the best dishes all trip (06/25--07/04). I just loved it. It wasn't very heavy, like most are, but it wasn't ultra light, which was great. Excellent flavors. One thing, though, that was really disappointing. This place has the worst grandma-style decor I have ever seen for the caliber of food it serves. You have that hunter green, the obsessive lace. Ugh. Not a fan. It definitely could benefit from an update. I saw there was a patio outside, and maybe that was better, but we were seated inside. The river, however, was pretty and the accompanying cottages were cute, but I can't imagine what those looked like on the inside if the restaurant was so stuck in the grandma days. Food may have made it worth it, but on our next trip to Fairbanks, we'll be skipping this place. The trip after that we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Enjoy the Alaskan Outdoors

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 26, 2015

We had a great time and our server was excellent in helping us! Thank you for your great establishment!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent bread, even though we got it w ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 22, 2015

Excellent bread, even though we got it with the meal, which for most in our party was hamburgers. We were told it would be like an appitizer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Slow Slow Slow

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 14, 2015

We have eaten at Chena's Alaskan Grill several times and the service has always been slow, but this time we had to constantly ask for water and drinks. The waiter even asked us if we had gotten our appetizer? - While we understand being busy and short staff you then need to have your bussers bring water and your managers check on drinks. My husband's shrimp was excellent while my cod was under cooked. I will return but it might be awhile.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

See below for comments for the restauran ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 11, 2015

See below for comments for the restaurant only. xxxxxx

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

I highly recommend Chenas. It's the best in Fbx.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 4, 2015

I've dined here on numerous occasions. The food quality and service has been consistently good.

The menu is the best I've seen for variety and price options. Choices cover both high and low end price points; simplicity of hamburger or a unique entree of fine dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food-great. Ambience-great. Service-meh

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 31, 2015

The dinner meals were excellent. Great flavor. Great portion size. The al fresco experience was top-notch. The server was very distracted. Kept apologizing and making excuses for her lousy service. But, it still didn't improve. It almost spoiled what was a very nice meal at a very beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Great view and food, but service can be slow

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2015

Food was very good, but service was very slow. We ordered, and our wine and bread were served promptly. However, it took over an hour from our seating to when we got our food. It was only after our wait was growing and our server noticed that we were wondering what the delay was with our food that our server told us that a party of 24 people had placed their order ahead of us and the kitchen was backed up. We feel that we should have been told we were facing a delay when we ordered, and they should have offered us a second glass of wine or free desert. Instead, all we got was our server repeatedly apologizing for the delay - which we felt didn't prepare or compensate us for the slow service. We realize it was not the servers fault!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Dining on the river

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

We had a nice dinner here and enjoyed the view of the river. Our service was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Worst experience of my life. The food wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 19, 2015

Worst experience of my life. The food was awful and under/over cooked. The server tried to make it right as best as he could but charged us anyway. Expensive and very nasty meal. Slow service as well. I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Great experience

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 11, 2015

Dinner at Chena's was a Mother's Day gift. We were greeted with a smile and the Hostess was very pleasant. Our Server and Busser were both very polite, helpful and pleasant. Food was outstanding. I have no problem telling family and friends what a great place Chena's is. I even received a flower before leaving. Wonderful experience!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hearty food in the Golden Heart of Alaska

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Alaskan charm and international flair. A secret worth keeping for locals but a rare glimpse of true hospitality for the tourist. The food is cosmopolitan sheik in a frontier where mediocre is often the norm. Chena's is a place where 'good enough' isn't accepted. Exceed your expectations and embrace a delightful dinner experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Love!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

Our favorite restaurant in Fairbanks. There were a few issues being the first night open, but nothing that would keep us from returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

outstanding

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 14, 2014

Excellent food and service. Love dining by the river. I highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent evening dinner

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 7, 2014

The chef does and excellent job putting together a variety of dishes. The wait staff are very pleasant and friendly. Have made future reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good time

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 7, 2014

I had Halibut Olympia. Delish!!! The brown rice with it was aweful :( the peanut butter brownie on special was pretty horrible. I love this place but it has it's ups and downs. I'll be back :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.