About Chef's Table at the Edgewater

99 West Plant Street
Winter Garden, FL 34787
View Larger Map

In historic Winter Garden, just a few miles from Orlando’s theme parks, an intimate gourmet dining experience awaits you. Local residents rave about it and foodies come from all over the world to sample the superb cuisine and intimate service of The Chef's Table at the Edgewater. Our 3 Course Pre Fixe Dinner is priced at 55 dollars per person, and generally consists of 4 choices per course.


Some of our recent awards include the Florida Trend Golden Spoon, Orlando Magazine Dining Awards, winning Best Restaurant, Best Kept Secret, Best Wine Pairing Dinner, Most Romantic Rendezvous, and Best Chef's Table. For diners wanting a more casual evening, our lively Tasting Room serves tapas and craft cocktails, and does not require a reservation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 11:30-8:30; Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm; Friday 5:30 - 9:30 Saturday: 11:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
N Boyd Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 230-4837

Website:
http://chefstableattheedgewater.com/

Entertainment:
In Our Tasting Room on Fridays and Saturdays from 8-11

Parking Details:
On-street parking is convenient and free. Also the city has free public parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Tarter

Private Party Facilities:
The Cellar Room seats up to 30 guests. A perfect space for your private dinner function, including Wedding Rehearsals, Birthday and Anniversary Celebrations, and Business Dinners. We also offer a buyout function for parties up to 70 guests in our Tasting Room.

Private Party Contact:
Alicia Havard, General Manager: 407-230-4837x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chef's Table at the Edgewater Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Food
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Service
Orlando / Central Florida East
16 More
Best Value
Orlando / Central Florida East
Fit for Foodies
Orlando / Central Florida East
Notable Wine List
Orlando / Central Florida East
Romantic
Orlando / Central Florida East
Special Occasion
Orlando / Central Florida East
American
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Overall
Orlando
Best Food
Orlando
Best Service
Orlando
Best Value
Orlando
Fit for Foodies
Orlando
Neighborhood Gem
Orlando
Notable Wine List
Orlando
Romantic
Orlando
Special Occasion
Orlando
American
Orlando
Best Restaurants in Winter Garden ›

special occasion (69)
romantic (55)
fit for foodies (50)
See All
neighborhood gem (42)
notable wine list (36)
good for groups (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
867 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was perfect. The food and the service ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined a day ago

It was perfect. The food and the service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, food is excellent and the ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, food is excellent and the wine list very impressive. Reception is wonderful, they recognize repeat customers readily.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server made this special occasion th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 5 days ago

The server made this special occasion the best it could have been. She was knowledgeable of the food and wine. She was humorous and set the table at ease. The food and wine pairings were fantastic. This is the best location in my opinion for special occasions and for a food adventure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a gem! Loved this place. I actually ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

What a gem! Loved this place. I actually managed to pick the wrong area to go to. I am so glad I did. What a gem of a place to stumble across. Awesome food and excellent service. The value for money is also about as high as you can go :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

For what it cost everything should have ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 6 days ago

For what it cost everything should have been amazing. As it was, the appetizers were the best thing. The meal just went downhill from there. We My started with the scallops and the foie gras. Both were spectacular! I would have preferred that to be my entire meal. For the entrée my boyfriend ordered the filet. It was cooked perfectly, but wasn't anything special. I ordered the lamb. It was gamey and not seared. I ordered it rare, but the fat on the lamb was totally raw. I sent it back and got the pork chop instead. Again, it was ok. Nothing special. Both our desserts were overly sweet, as were the wines that paired with them. We both left dessert and wine on the table.

I've always wanted to eat at The Chef's Table. I'm happy to never go back. The amount it cost just wasn't worth it. The service was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Such a fun experience. The food and serv ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 6 days ago

Such a fun experience. The food and service was amazing. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to do something special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service as always. Th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent food and service as always. The wine pairings were astounding. Very much appreciated the extra desserts for the birthday occasion, you always make us feel special and loved. Cheers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience at the Chef's Tabl ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our dining experience at the Chef's Table was our first but it definitely won't be our last! The mushroom and chive crepe torte was exquisite. The flame grilled pork chop entrée was so delicious and nothing like I'd ever tasted. My final course was popcorn ice cream and a chocolate torte ... an unbelievable combination.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife to Chef's Table for her b ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I took my wife to Chef's Table for her birthday. It was our second visit and was just as memorable as our first. The food is beyond reproach and we received great service and attention from Colin. His wine knowledge is extensive and he answered our questions clearly. We know little on the subject but his education was both clear and concise. He let us try a few selections before we made a decision which was extremely helpful. We'll be returning here again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing and the wine pairing ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is amazing and the wine pairings make it extra special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was a little disappointed at the quali ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I was a little disappointed at the quality for the high price we paid. I didn't care much for the baby-food style carrots the scallops were served on. Entrees were nothing special. We have definitely had more flavorful and more tender filet mignon. My pork was on the dry and salty side. However the candied collard greens served with the pork were delicious. And the popcorn ice cream was fabulous - we could have used more of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We've eaten in many fine restaurants. C ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We've eaten in many fine restaurants. Chef's Table is on our top 5 list of all time! The menu is imaginative and perfectly prepared. Terry said her Black Grouper may be the best piece of fish she has ever eaten. Our waiter, Jeff, was outstanding and very knowledgeable about the food and the wines that he paired with our meal. This place is truly a hidden gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here three times this year ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We have dined here three times this year and have been rewarded with excellent food and dining experience each time. The unique 3 course meals with excellent wine pairings make for an exceptional meal and value.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not good at all. The groupe ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was not good at all. The grouper was over cooked and dry, and the pork had so much salt it was barely edible. I had a poor experience once before but thought I'd give them another try after ready so many good reviews.

This is the most over rated restaurant I've ever been to... I obviously will not go back and do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

I had the pleasure of dining at the Chef ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I had the pleasure of dining at the Chef's Table at the Edgewater recently. Who knew that this tiny place would provide one of the best meals ever?! Our server/sommelier extraordinaire Colin described each of the menu items in great, loving detail. He did the same with each of the wine pairings. He also chatted between courses and we learned about how the restaurant cares passionately about both quality and creativity. The food and wine were delicious and reflected that passion perfectly. It was a wonderful, memorable evening!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The mushroom crepe was outstanding. The ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The mushroom crepe was outstanding. The seared scallops had a great taste but were not cooked well. I had the fillet which was absolutely outstanding and the risotto fantastic. I had the toasted marshmallow crème brûlée which was absolutely delightful.

Tarim was our waitress and she was fantastic very personable knowledgeable and accommodating. She made the experience even more enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

It's a great place for a special occasio ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It's a great place for a special occasion. Terrific service. You really get what you pay for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family of four went to Chef's Table t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My family of four went to Chef's Table to celebrate Father's Day (lucky me). This was our first visit to the restaurant, but I would say we all greatly enjoyed the experience (and it is an experience, not just a meal) and would consider going again for another special occasion. It is a pricey restaurant, to be sure, but the food, the service, the ambience were all first rate, and it was definitely one of those family meals that we'll be recalling down the road. We enjoyed some wine and the cheese plate for starters, which was a great way to start our meal since my son was joining us late, but we wanted to get started. There was plenty for everyone to share the different cheeses, and plenty for my son to also enjoy once he did arrive. A couple of us had the filet, my wife had the sea bass, and my daughter had the scallops. It was fine to share our dinners with each other to sample the different offerings. We did then indulge and also had the desserts, which were a great way to top off the meai. The chocolate bread pudding was certainly a favorite, and I know we tried some of the other desserts but I was too busy enjoying the bread pudding to recall what they were. Very nice ambience, great service, it truly was a memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfection. The entire staff made us fee ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfection. The entire staff made us feel welcomed. Service was top notch, and the food was lovely.

I can't believe we waited so long to make the trip to Winter Garden to visit this little gem.

We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Worth the trip to Winter Garden from any ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Worth the trip to Winter Garden from anywhere in Central Florida, but will consider staying over night in hotel next visit to fully enjoy the ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The filet mignon with the truffle was th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The filet mignon with the truffle was the best food I've had in the US

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Friendly a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Friendly attentive service that explains the menu and selections with great care and knowledge. Wine pairings available for each course were outstanding and reasonably priced. Every course was extremely sly well prepared and presented. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food. Awesome service. They ev ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food. Awesome service. They even accommodated a vegetarian within the group. We all left the restaurant extremely satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef's Amazing Table

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

What a joy to find a place that is exactly as advertised. The experience was VIP from the moment we arrived. Out wait staff was personable, competent and attentive without being overbearing. The courses were served with great timing. The food arrived wonderfully presented and tasted even better than it looked. It was awesome and generously portioned.

Can't wait to go back and try the front of the house' "tasting room". A great place with two options to experience, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Come back every year on our anniversary

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

For the past 4 years we have come on the same night of our anniversary and Taran has been our waitress for 2 of those years. She remembered us from last year and remembered what I had for dessert! - maybe it was in a computer system somewhere but to me it was an extra touch and very personable! I loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a one of a kind experience if yo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a one of a kind experience if you eat in the back for price fare. The attention to detail is amazing. The servers are so knowledgeable about the food. Your meal will be delicious and it takes from 90 minutes to 2 hours to finish the complete experience. Get the cheese platter!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always great food ,service and ambience. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Always great food ,service and ambience. Our little gem.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Loved it great. Great food and staff. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Fine Dining"...not really!!!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My family and I have been to the Chef's Table about 7 times. On 06/02, we went with some friends. We were having a great time until Alicia Havard (GM) approached our table and asked us to move to the bar because they needed our table for another reservation. One of our friends was enjoying a glass of Port Wine. I have been in MANY fine dining restaurants in my life, and I have never experienced something like this. It was embarrassing. The following day the owner (Laurie Tarter) called me to apologize, and she told me that this is “customary in the fine dining industry”. Not sure if she was referring to just Winter Garden “fine dining” because this is definitely not “customary” anywhere else. It is very unfortunate because the food is delicious; however, I will not recommend a restaurant that concocts a farfetched custom to excuse itself. And the worst part? We were giving the Chef’s Table a third chance after two back to back horrendous customer service experiences in the front/bar area of the restaurant. Unfortunately, the Chef’s Table lost four regular customers and two potential ones. We will never go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Can't be beat for special occasion celeb ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Can't be beat for special occasion celebrations. Outstanding food. Superior service with extremely knowledgable staff. There isn't a bad server in the bunch, but we happen to really enjoy Colin. I learn something new and interesting from him every time. If you're on the fence, just take the plunge. You won't be sorry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best fine-dining deal for the money ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The best fine-dining deal for the money in the Central FL area. Nick, our server the last few times we've dined at the Chef's Table, is immensely personable and helpful while also providing outstanding service. We adore the Chef's Table.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING - I actually had three thing ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

OUTSTANDING - I actually had three things from the menu that were the best I ever had!!

Great kitchen and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first time, but we will be back. We ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our first time, but we will be back. We did the 3 course and the menu covered our crew of 5. The food and presentation were simply outstanding. The service was superb. No part of the experience was disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st of many

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great night celebrating a birthday with friends good food and wine what more can you ask for or yes outstanding service Will definitely go again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The fixed price menu with paired wine ta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

The fixed price menu with paired wine tasting was fairly priced and excellent. Very interesting wines. Table 102 for 2 has clear view into the kitchen. My new favorite place in Orlando.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Last formal meal in Central Florida. Wha ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Last formal meal in Central Florida. What a delightful experience. Great company wonderful service. Outstanding Food

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was second to none and the food ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was second to none and the food was absolutely amazing. Our chef took the time to go over the 3 course menu in detail to ensure we would be happy with the selections we had made. Everything was prepared to the highest of standards and exceeded my expectations. Even after the meal the chef walked us out and gave us a short tour of the hotel lobby. We will definitely dine again at the Chef's Table and plan to spend a few nights at the hotel itself. 5 Stars!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love going here to celebrate special ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We love going here to celebrate special occasions. We have found that if we go on a Sunday night we are able to get a 6:30 seating because it is not as crowded The food is excellent and we always get the yummy cheese platter! You cannot go wrong if you choose this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a great time. The food and service ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Had a great time. The food and service was spectacular. Appreciated to great treatment ment from the staff. Would go back for sure and i recommend it to anyone couple in the Winter Garden area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special occasion celebrating 3 birthdays

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a party of six and all of us enjoyed our time together. The food and service was excellent !

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.