Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

About Chef Warren's

Neighborhood bistro that keeps you coming back to try the things you didn't have room for .... Marianne's organic garden supplies Warren's kitchen with his beloved fresh produce and both are actively involved in the local food movement.

Chef Warren’s serves fusion cuisine - with a firm base in classic French (due to Warren's Culinary Institute of America education).

The ambiance is fusion as well - bistro style that is at once classic and comfortable with the added feature of an open kitchen so foodies can watch the work in progress.

Marianne runs nightly wine by the glass specials that allow you to try lesser known wine varietals, and the staff serve up amazing mojitos as well as an inventive artisanal cocktail menu.

Warren and his wife Marianne have spent the last seventeen years delighting diners with their worldly cuisine and genuine hospitality.

215 NE Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
East New Hampshire

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 692-5240

Website:
http://www.chefwarrens.com/

Catering:
Catering provided for small events within a 10 mile radius of Southern Pines, Wednesday-Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Warren H Lewis

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chef Warren's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Open Kitchen (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tapas (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Historic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (0)
Sort By:
S
393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice atmosphere. . . Dim lighting. Quiet dining experience. High quality food. Good prices. Nice wine and beer list. We went on our anniversary and it fit the occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time trying this lovely, quaint restaurant. Took my Mom for mother's day and she is a foodie who loves to cook! The service was outstanding and they take a novel approach- everyone works together and communicates with one another! We had a warm greeting, quickly seated and had drinks within minutes. A nice wine list, not too expansive, but nice selection and we easily found something we both liked. Becka was our server and was just delightful! The food was great. Really enjoyed and cannot wait to go back. Mom was entertained watching the kitchen from the mirror and seeing how it all came together!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service was extremely slow with no particular reason why. Small plates are over priced for the portion size. Food was overall really good, but we waited over 45min to get our main dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of our favorite spots!! The owners are very sociable and great atmosphere!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Very lovely spot in Downtown Southern Pines. Everything was great....Probably the best service in Pinehurst

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always great. excellent food professional service....Wayne just keeps getting better

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Wonderful meal and great setting. The server was a little lost and slow to bring drinks. Still recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful night out for our anniversary. Great food, atmosphere, and drinks. Definitely for a special occasion. Couldn't afford to eat here regularly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food, it was my wife birthday and they were prepared! Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Chef Warren's was recommended by friends who live in the area and who eat there fairly often. We were in the area on business and decided to treat ourselves to a nice meal. This was by far one of the best recommendations we've ever gotten on a restaurant. The food was excellent, the space was quiet enough for normal conversation, the service was extremely good, and we felt welcomed from the minute we walked in the door. My husband had a fabulous martini with olives they stuffed with bleu cheese for him. Their pecan pie was amazing. And everything in between was just perfect. We live about 80 miles from the restaurant, but I could easily see us traveling there for dinner again. Top notch and a great experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We went here to try something different and since it had been 2+ years since we had been. We were pleasantly surprised. Our salads were great with more of the 'stuff' than just greens - none of 5-niblets-of-corn like one of the other noted restaurants. (I have reviewed them and they are terrific, but we don't order their salads anymore.) I had the Gourmet Greens and partner had the special. As for our entrees, we both had the specials - mine was fish and partner's was a steak. [I'd be more specific but I don't recall the details.]) Mine was not served hot enough - it was OK, just not piping hot as it should've been.
They have an open kitchen and we recall sitting toward the side-back last time. Our only memory was of how difficult it was to breathe the kitchen exhaust. This time we sat right next to the kitchen and it was better, but we could still smell the exhaust. Maybe the chefs and cooks don't, or maybe they've just gotten used to it. Regardless, that and the fact that my fish was not hot led to me docking them a star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food was excellent but arrived like-warm to cold. The fries with the steak and fries were soggy. Great staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful, great cocktails

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was my second time dining at Chef Warrens and it did not disappoint! Every one in my group loved their dish and we loved all three desserts we ordered to share! Wonderfully relaxing atmosphere and we loved sitting at a round table so we could all visit! Great girls night out!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Chef Warrens never disappoints, staff well trained and accommodating. The wine by the glass specials are always enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 15, 2017

my wife and I went for Vanentine's dinner and the whole experience was great. The food was second to none! The staff was excellent and all of them made sure that you were well taken care of. Will be going back again soon!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and waitstaff was more than helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have eaten at Chef Warren's and numerous other restaurants over the past 12 years, and we return here most often to celebrate any special occasion. Never disappointed

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is our special place to celebrate . We love the food, the ambiance, the chef and the staff.
Always something new to try. Feels like one big Happy Family.
Thank you for always making our special celebrations something to remember.
Never disappointed going on 10 years now.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent meals were well presented including Lamb Duets and Halibut. Terrific service with above average atmosphere. We dressed up for a pre-Valentine's day meal, and didn't feel out of place even though many were very casual. Very pleased overall.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was wonderful. Prices were reasonable. Owner greeted us when we first arrived and continued to check back with us to ensure all was well. Cheerful and very relaxed atmosphere. Wait staff were very attentive. Numerous refills on water. Chef personally delivered desert and sat and chatted for several minutes. Could not have enjoyed the evening more. Would recommend to anyone for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I didn't walk in thinking pheasant but Chef Warren suggested it and oh boy am I glad he had that on the menu. A delicious dish, often pheasant is overcooked and dry, tough...this was melt in your mouth....and the wild mushrooms were wonderful.
As a semi-regular I just ask what is the dish to try and I am NEVER disappointed. If you don't know this place, you should.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A very enjoyable evening of excellent food and drink. The kangaroo appetizer was phenomenal, as was the barramundi. Only negative was the dry pecan pie with a minuscule scoop of vanilla ice cream. This dessert is supposed to be famous. It was not gooey, it was close to over-baked, and it was, for lack of a better term, dry. Not a good way to end an otherwise excellent meal.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was outstanding - the best in Moore county by a mile. Obnoxious table near us dampened things slightly, which is why I only gave 3 stars for ambiance. Service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Picked Warren's based on open table reviews. A great little restaurant with authentic dishes and interesting cocktails. A lot of repeat customers which is a good sign. Enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The only drawback to this wonderful place is the noise level. On several occasions I have been there when a group of women have also been there at a table of 5 or more and the noise was deafening. I know a restaurant can't really block regulars but I do wish they would put a curtain (thick velvet) and block off a group like that. In fact I wish most restaurants had more sound baffles period. No one wants to hear other conversations. Of course much of the fault lies with diners who have never learned about an "inside voice".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our New Years Eve dinner was delicious! Our waitress was terrific! Very knowledgeable, and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We live about three hours away from this restaurant. Whenever we are in the area visiting family we make it a point to dine here. The food is excellent, quality/fresh ingredients, excellent service, and a nice atmosphere. New Year's Eve is especially a treat because of the festive decorations! From your first cocktail to dessert- you can't miss a great dining experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Chef warren's never disappoints. Hands down one of the top restaurants in town if not the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great dinner. Food was amazing and we were impressed with the variety. Owner took extra time at our table to explain and provide tastings of different wines. Wait staff was on the ball and very friendly. Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Chef Warren's is always top notch. Good mix of choices on the menu and perfect atmosphere for a nice night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great service and ambiance. Food was good but not great. I would recommend this place for a date or a small group.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Casual, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The food was good. The front staff have been rude to us on several occasions there, unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our go-to restaurant for date night, always perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I was extremely disappointed. The food was way under salted and they butterfly cut my wife's filet in order get it to temperature and it was still under cooked. The check came to 125 for the two of us but I could have cooked a better meal at home for a fraction of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Chef Warren's was great...as usual. Our server Jim was great as was the hostess Lisa (I think). My wife had the filet special and I had the hangar steak and both were excellent. Love going to CW's and would recommend it to all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Terrific food and great atmosphere. I had the tilefish, which I hadn't had before and loved its mildness. My husband had the pork rib eye, which looked really tender. He ate every bite. Our waiter was very attentive without being overbearing. A very nice evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Had a few apps then the bacon wrapped filet. So good!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Chef Warren's needs to update a little. Food is heavy and I my have ordered wrong but meat was tough and potatoes cold.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My husband and I have been to Chef Warren's a couple of times for dessert only (they have amazing desserts!) and decided to give it a go for dinner. For a starter we got their lobster rangoons - so delicious. Bread is also brought to the table and served HOT with olive oil or butter. I ordered a bacon wrapped filet over mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables and my husband ordered a pork ribeye over spicy mac-n-cheese with avocado salsa - both were delicious! You get what you pay for - quality food, quality ingredients. The wine was very reasonably priced. For dessert get their famous pecan pie or chocolate mousse - both are amazing!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Romantic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.