Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

About Chef Warren's

Neighborhood bistro that keeps you coming back to try the things you didn't have room for .... Marianne's organic garden supplies Warren's kitchen with his beloved fresh produce and both are actively involved in the local food movement.

Chef Warren’s serves fusion cuisine - with a firm base in classic French (due to Warren's Culinary Institute of America education).

The ambiance is fusion as well - bistro style that is at once classic and comfortable with the added feature of an open kitchen so foodies can watch the work in progress.

Marianne runs nightly wine by the glass specials that allow you to try lesser known wine varietals, and the staff serve up amazing mojitos as well as an inventive artisanal cocktail menu.

Warren and his wife Marianne have spent the last seventeen years delighting diners with their worldly cuisine and genuine hospitality.

215 NE Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
East New Hampshire

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 692-5240

Website:
http://www.chefwarrens.com/

Catering:
Catering provided for small events within a 10 mile radius of Southern Pines, Wednesday-Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Warren H Lewis

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chef Warren's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Romantic (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tapas (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Organic (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great. Service was exceptional. Server and owner brought several wine samples for tasting so that we could get ideal paring to our entres. This is an exceptional fine dining restaurant with a good ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edinburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Arugula Salad was overdressed and soggy. Mashed potatoes were barely warm. Despite the fact the server warned me of the hot plate my dinner was being served on. Very marginal dinner. Probably better to try another place in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Chef Warren's is a gem of a place with exceptional food, very attentive knowledgeable servers and a very interesting wine list. Although some may find it a bit pricey you do get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

It was one of the best meals I ever had. Plus, the entire staff was helpful and friendly without being obtrusive. Plus, they did an excellent job handling a food allergy of someone in our party making her feel completely assured of avoiding her allergens. Just an outstanding meal and experience!

Tags: Organic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Always the best. A little noisy this time; golfers in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Salad was outstanding !! I had the red snapper and the skin was left on and soggy. The overall dish was good. Very small portion !! Smaller then a lot of appetizers in other fine restaurant's in our area. I normally have appetizers for dinner and still can't finish it. Over priced !!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and the service is excellent. I highly recommend it for a pleasant meal or a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Excellent service and food was superb. Great for intimate dinners. Staff was working together making each table a priority.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Chef Warren and staff served up exceptional meals for my family. The only negative was my wife said her fish was on the dry side. Other than that we enjoyed our dining experience and would come again.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent dinner and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The perfect spot for a fantastic meal in downtown Southern Pines! Amazing attention to detail. Consistent food with a creative touch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great find while in the area, attentive staff
Great food, arrived and table was ready and sat right down
And also had fabulous desserts

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Reliably good experience-food (including kangaroo & trigger fish), service & beverages are all worth repeat visits.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food, excellent service. Chef Warren can be seen supervising a crew of great chefs. Nice to be able to make reservation directly on Open Table App. Go. Enjoy. Repeat.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Exceptional service and food. Definitely returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great food from local vendors. The hand crafted drinks were delicious along with the local cheeses and meats. Perfect spot for a nice dinner.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We came for a quick trip for a golf/relaxing weekend. Found your restaurant on Open Table and loved the food, cocktails and setting.
Our waiter was probably fairly new, but he did a fine job with our fairly boisterous crowd.
Look forward to returning.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great service with delicious and creative food choices. The wine list was somewhat limited but contained enough choices that we were satisfied with our selection.

A word of caution; Open Table lists the price range as $$, but it is definitely $$$.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Marianne is the ultimate hostess. Wine perfect with the meal. The lamb meatballs and the buretta with heirloom tomatoes incredible. Entrees perfect for a summer evening. Lemon tart was just the right ending. Thanks for an incredible meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Love it. Been there many times and never disappoints!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fantastic all around always. Great menu selection, atmosphere, service, wine list, etc and the food is incredible.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Just a bunch of tired golfers looking for a good meal that past good when you walk in the door which turned great. Our meals our service and all that was involved were spectacular, if you get a chance to dine here, take it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was a great meal, in a wonderful environment. It was the first time I have had dinner with both my children and their spouses in over a year. It was great to be able to do this in an atmosphere that would allow us to have a conversation without screaming at one another.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Business Meals, Romantic, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Creative menu with fresh, locally sourced ingredients. Great ambience, attentive friendly service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great for a birthday celebration! Attentive but not overbearing service. Food was delicious. I especially liked their version of a Caprese salad with Burrata Mozzarella and cherry tomatoes.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We have ate there twice and both times delivered 5 Stars. Great food and service.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very nice atmosphere. . . Dim lighting. Quiet dining experience. High quality food. Good prices. Nice wine and beer list. We went on our anniversary and it fit the occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time trying this lovely, quaint restaurant. Took my Mom for mother's day and she is a foodie who loves to cook! The service was outstanding and they take a novel approach- everyone works together and communicates with one another! We had a warm greeting, quickly seated and had drinks within minutes. A nice wine list, not too expansive, but nice selection and we easily found something we both liked. Becka was our server and was just delightful! The food was great. Really enjoyed and cannot wait to go back. Mom was entertained watching the kitchen from the mirror and seeing how it all came together!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service was extremely slow with no particular reason why. Small plates are over priced for the portion size. Food was overall really good, but we waited over 45min to get our main dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of our favorite spots!! The owners are very sociable and great atmosphere!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Very lovely spot in Downtown Southern Pines. Everything was great....Probably the best service in Pinehurst

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always great. excellent food professional service....Wayne just keeps getting better

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Wonderful meal and great setting. The server was a little lost and slow to bring drinks. Still recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful night out for our anniversary. Great food, atmosphere, and drinks. Definitely for a special occasion. Couldn't afford to eat here regularly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food, it was my wife birthday and they were prepared! Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Chef Warren's was recommended by friends who live in the area and who eat there fairly often. We were in the area on business and decided to treat ourselves to a nice meal. This was by far one of the best recommendations we've ever gotten on a restaurant. The food was excellent, the space was quiet enough for normal conversation, the service was extremely good, and we felt welcomed from the minute we walked in the door. My husband had a fabulous martini with olives they stuffed with bleu cheese for him. Their pecan pie was amazing. And everything in between was just perfect. We live about 80 miles from the restaurant, but I could easily see us traveling there for dinner again. Top notch and a great experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We went here to try something different and since it had been 2+ years since we had been. We were pleasantly surprised. Our salads were great with more of the 'stuff' than just greens - none of 5-niblets-of-corn like one of the other noted restaurants. (I have reviewed them and they are terrific, but we don't order their salads anymore.) I had the Gourmet Greens and partner had the special. As for our entrees, we both had the specials - mine was fish and partner's was a steak. [I'd be more specific but I don't recall the details.]) Mine was not served hot enough - it was OK, just not piping hot as it should've been.
They have an open kitchen and we recall sitting toward the side-back last time. Our only memory was of how difficult it was to breathe the kitchen exhaust. This time we sat right next to the kitchen and it was better, but we could still smell the exhaust. Maybe the chefs and cooks don't, or maybe they've just gotten used to it. Regardless, that and the fact that my fish was not hot led to me docking them a star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The food was excellent but arrived like-warm to cold. The fries with the steak and fries were soggy. Great staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful, great cocktails

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was my second time dining at Chef Warrens and it did not disappoint! Every one in my group loved their dish and we loved all three desserts we ordered to share! Wonderfully relaxing atmosphere and we loved sitting at a round table so we could all visit! Great girls night out!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.