About Chef Warren's

215 NE Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Neighborhood bistro that keeps you coming back to try the things you didn't have room for .... Marianne's organic garden supplies Warren's kitchen with his beloved fresh produce and both are actively involved in the local food movement.

Chef Warren’s serves fusion cuisine - with a firm base in classic French (due to Warren's Culinary Institute of America education).

The ambiance is fusion as well - bistro style that is at once classic and comfortable with the added feature of an open kitchen so foodies can watch the work in progress.

Marianne runs nightly wine by the glass specials that allow you to try lesser known wine varietals, and the staff serve up amazing mojitos as well as an inventive artisanal cocktail menu.

Warren and his wife Marianne have spent the last seventeen years delighting diners with their worldly cuisine and genuine hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
East New Hampshire

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 692-5240

Website:
http://www.chefwarrens.com/

Catering:
Catering provided for small events within a 10 mile radius of Southern Pines, Wednesday-Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Warren H Lewis

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chef Warren's
Chick Pea And Eggplant
Ahi tuna
Whole Poached Salmon -Titanic Menu
Shrimp tostada
Escargot
Kangroo
Vietnamese Shrimp Cocktail
Tuna Sashimi
Marinated Shrimp, Tomatoes, Avocado, Farro. Habanero Vinaigrette

Chef Warren's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Pinehurst
Most Booked
Pinehurst
Best Restaurants in Southern Pines / Pinehurst ›

Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Romantic (9)
Notable Wine List (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding service and fresh, well prep ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding service and fresh, well prepared, and sometimes quite unique specials. Friend had the quail stuffed with foie gras, I had the salmon with quinoa risotto. We both enjoyed different but DELICIOUS craft cocktails and shared some beautifully prepared escargots.

Friendly, attentive service and perfect pace to the meal. Every visit has been lovely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was absolutely delicious! At ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was absolutely delicious! At first I was somewhat put off - menu is somewhat limited and very pricey. There were some interesting specials in addition to the menu though. And once our food came we were very impressed. For dessert we chose chocolate mousse with raspberry sauce - fantastic! I will definitely return for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

the waitress Erin was awesome but your t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

the waitress Erin was awesome but your trade off to the others was poor, not coordinated and we sat for long periods without service - such as after everyone had finished and plates were empty but not removed. Waitress surprised we did not have dessert menu's & other times. Bill was rung up under wrong waiter and had to be redone. Waitress was doing double duty as bartender ? Should not take 3+ hours for a dinner. We are full time residents but I am hesitant to bring guests.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Wife and I eat at a lot of restaurants i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wife and I eat at a lot of restaurants in NY area and elsewhere. This one was unexpectedly good: Creative menu and specials. And the food was served immediately when ready (thus hot), which reminded me how regularly other restaurants have plates sitting under heat lamps too long before serving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great!!!! as always. Love this place fro ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great!!!! as always. Love this place from first time stepped foot inside.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too noisy...unacceptable in a place ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Way too noisy...unacceptable in a place this expensive...$200.00 for two Incliding the tip, which was deserved by Michael, who was superb.

I hope to never end up here ever again. We cook way way better at home.

Skip this place.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

Spot on in every way! A true display of ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Spot on in every way! A true display of hospitality and exquisite food. Seamless service, great menu, atmosphere, wine selection, noise levels allowed for conversation yet still being a lively place to dine. Fantastic!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with my wife on a Saturday evenin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Dinner with my wife on a Saturday evening. Overall, food was quite good. Though I will say the lobster Ragoons left a lot to be desired especially at $15 and the pecan pie needs a little attention. Everything else we ordered was well prepared and delicious. Service was excellent and the place has a great vibe. Already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall it was a good experience. A litt ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overall it was a good experience. A little too close to the next tables so not a lot of privacy. It was a different kind of menu than we are use to, but very delicious. Loved the hummus!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This restaurant is pricey, but I do beli ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This restaurant is pricey, but I do believe you get larger portions than other upscale restaurants in the area. It is very noisy, so I wouldn't recommend this restaurant for a anyone who desires a quite atmosphere. The food is really good and the service is the best I have received in the area. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Warren is always great...Chef is al ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Chef Warren is always great...Chef is also always trying something new and a take on something we might be used to but it is jumped up a bit. The staff is friendly and always helpful. We have come to love, love, love Chef Warren's

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at Chef Warren ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Chef Warren's. The owners' willingness to engage patrons and to ensure everyone enjoys their experience really goes a long way. I hope to have the opportunity to visit agin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were at Chef Warren's for a birthday ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were at Chef Warren's for a birthday dinner. The food, service and atmosphere were all wonderful. Definitely one of the Sandhills great spots for a night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Blown away by the prosciutto wrapped kan ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Blown away by the prosciutto wrapped kangaroo. My steak dish was a tad too salty and the mojito I had with several different fruits was very good. Overall, great flavors and decent portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everyone,Heather, Mary and Chef, were ve ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Everyone,Heather, Mary and Chef, were very kind to us and made us feel welcome with our two daughters. A very special family meal. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Chef Warren's for my birthday ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We went to Chef Warren's for my birthday. We were visiting the area and ate at many restaurants in the Southern Pines area. Chef Warren was the best by far. The service was friendly and attentive, the atmosphere was cozy and the food was wonderful. Their menu had a great variety to choose from (including kangaroo tapas). I would highly recommend this lovely restaurant, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing unique food! Good portions and g ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Amazing unique food! Good portions and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant with great ambiance ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very nice restaurant with great ambiance and creative specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Absolutely fantastic! Diver scallop spec ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Diver scallop special should be put on regular menu. My wife had the filet special and it was excellent. One of my go to's in the Pinehurst area. The wait staff was superb as well as the matire d. It was perfect which is hard to do in the restaurant business. Oh yes. Don't skip the pecan pie! Its the best you'll have and they have a great cocktails and wine list. Don't miss this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great staff..local fare with exceptional ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great staff..local fare with exceptional service and good selection of drinks and interesting entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Have been going to Chef Warren's for yea ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Have been going to Chef Warren's for years and it is always terrific. Somehow Marianne finds pearls among pebbles, all of whom provide the best of service. Warren creates unique new menu items while retaining old favorites with a new tweak here and there. Marianne's wine specials are consistently lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I hadn't been previously, but what a fantastic restaurant right in the heart of Southern Pines. The food couldn't have been any better. I had a duck dish that was truly marvelous. Most of the others had a fish dish which they all seemed very pleased with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine but disappointing

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was good, but not exceptional considering the price. There was no music, and the noise level was very high. The service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Chef Warren's Rocks

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Hubby took me to Chef Warren's in Southern Pines, NC, for Mother's Day dinner. One of the best prepared meals ever! The 20 oz. ribeye we shared was perfectly delicious. The French onion soup was amazing. The fresh, hot bread and decadent, warm, house-made pecan pie topped with a scoop of homemade vanilla ice cream.....yum yum yum. Service was flawless. Food was incredible. We look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! Perfect dining experience. Great food!

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

For a group of six: drinks were great, food was expertly prepared, deliver of the food was right on the mark. It's a destination dining spot in the Pinehurst, Southern Pines area that should not be missed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our only complaint was that we arrived at 530 pm and there were many open tables. However, we were seated right next to another couple. Needless to say, the woman next to us was already intoxicated and very loud.... This really did not make the atmosphere very relaxing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Time between apps and dinner was pretty ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Time between apps and dinner was pretty long but we were there at the end of a Saturday night. My mahi was pretty dry and not blackened at all but my table mates pork was excellent. Been many time and will give it another try earlier in the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great service. We had the scallops and t ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great service. We had the scallops and the pork which were both fantastic meals. The mixed drinks were a pleasant surprise to meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, warm atmosphere, very enjoyable! ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Great, warm atmosphere, very enjoyable! Fabulous cocktails, small but nice wine list, and consistently great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I went to chef Warrens often a few years ago and had a really great experiences, food and service. I decided to go back for our anniversary and was very disappointed both the food and service have seriously declined since our last visit. I will not be going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We took a wild guess on this place, base ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

We took a wild guess on this place, based solely on the reviews. The reviews are spot on. The food is great, the people are great, the place is comfortable and not stuffy. They have a rather large menu with a lot of variety. There's virtually nothing vegan on the menu, but they put together a very nice meal for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Every meal I've had at Warren's has been ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Every meal I've had at Warren's has been exceptional.

The vibe is very cool!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a meeting

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Some co-workers and I had a meeting after work and really enjoyed the service. The atmosphere was pleasant and the food was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing find. Kangaroo tenderloin apps w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Amazing find. Kangaroo tenderloin apps were very tasty. Pork ribeye wrapped with pork belly was possibly one of the best flavored pork dishes I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time at Chef Warren's. ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

This was my first time at Chef Warren's. The restaurant is cozy with a nice ambience. I had a salad and and entre, both of which were outstanding. The hostes was very knowledgable about hte wine list and recommend an excellent Malbec for my entry. This was an excellent dining experience, and I look forward to returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Another great dinner!

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Love Chef Warren's. Best restaurant in the area by me. Great food, great scene. Love talking with Warren and Marianne! They are the best. Main course Tuna was fantastic as well as was the French Onion Soup. Good advice from them always on the wine selection. And Oh.......the appetizer lamb meat balls with a touch of Indian were "game changers." My wife and son loved the crab stuffed flounder. Great cup of coffee on the finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

group dinner

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

repeat visitor. Ambiance inviting and warm. service excellent. food always on par. Best dining in Pinehurst and Southern Pines

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic, as always

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Never, never have we ever had a bad experience at this great restaurant. After a few visits, it quickly became one our favorites and it never disappoints. A vell oiled machine with everything in sync. Great staff, great chef, great food, great wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent first time experience

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I visited Chef Warren's for the first time on February 13th. Having lived in the area for over five years, I cannot believe it took us this long to find this amazing restaurant. Everything was top notch from the moment we arrived until we left. A part from our server's attentiveness, Chef's wife checked on us throughout the evening as well. The food was absolutely delicious, and the cocktails were crafted wonderfully. We will definitely be back as this is by far the best restaurant in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.