About Chef Warren's

215 NE Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Neighborhood bistro that keeps you coming back to try the things you didn't have room for .... Marianne's organic garden supplies Warren's kitchen with his beloved fresh produce and both are actively involved in the local food movement.

Chef Warren’s serves fusion cuisine - with a firm base in classic French (due to Warren's Culinary Institute of America education).

The ambiance is fusion as well - bistro style that is at once classic and comfortable with the added feature of an open kitchen so foodies can watch the work in progress.

Marianne runs nightly wine by the glass specials that allow you to try lesser known wine varietals, and the staff serve up amazing mojitos as well as an inventive artisanal cocktail menu.

Warren and his wife Marianne have spent the last seventeen years delighting diners with their worldly cuisine and genuine hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
East New Hampshire

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 692-5240

Website:
http://www.chefwarrens.com/

Catering:
Catering provided for small events within a 10 mile radius of Southern Pines, Wednesday-Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Warren H Lewis

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chef Warren's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Romantic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Cozy (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Casual (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Tapas (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our New Years Eve dinner was delicious! ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our New Years Eve dinner was delicious! Our waitress was terrific! Very knowledgeable, and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We live about three hours away from this ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We live about three hours away from this restaurant. Whenever we are in the area visiting family we make it a point to dine here. The food is excellent, quality/fresh ingredients, excellent service, and a nice atmosphere. New Year's Eve is especially a treat because of the festive decorations! From your first cocktail to dessert- you can't miss a great dining experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef warren's never disappoints. Hands d ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Chef warren's never disappoints. Hands down one of the top restaurants in town if not the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner. Food was amazing and we we ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great dinner. Food was amazing and we were impressed with the variety. Owner took extra time at our table to explain and provide tastings of different wines. Wait staff was on the ball and very friendly. Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Chef Warren's is always top notch. Good ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Chef Warren's is always top notch. Good mix of choices on the menu and perfect atmosphere for a nice night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and ambiance. Food was goo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great service and ambiance. Food was good but not great. I would recommend this place for a date or a small group.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Casual, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our go-to restaurant for date night, alw ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our go-to restaurant for date night, always perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was extremely disappointed. The food ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I was extremely disappointed. The food was way under salted and they butterfly cut my wife's filet in order get it to temperature and it was still under cooked. The check came to 125 for the two of us but I could have cooked a better meal at home for a fraction of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Chef Warren's was great...as usual. Our ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Chef Warren's was great...as usual. Our server Jim was great as was the hostess Lisa (I think). My wife had the filet special and I had the hangar steak and both were excellent. Love going to CW's and would recommend it to all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food and great atmosphere. I h ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Terrific food and great atmosphere. I had the tilefish, which I hadn't had before and loved its mildness. My husband had the pork rib eye, which looked really tender. He ate every bite. Our waiter was very attentive without being overbearing. A very nice evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a few apps then the bacon wrapped fi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Had a few apps then the bacon wrapped filet. So good!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Warren's needs to update a little. ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Chef Warren's needs to update a little. Food is heavy and I my have ordered wrong but meat was tough and potatoes cold.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My husband and I have been to Chef Warre ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My husband and I have been to Chef Warren's a couple of times for dessert only (they have amazing desserts!) and decided to give it a go for dinner. For a starter we got their lobster rangoons - so delicious. Bread is also brought to the table and served HOT with olive oil or butter. I ordered a bacon wrapped filet over mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables and my husband ordered a pork ribeye over spicy mac-n-cheese with avocado salsa - both were delicious! You get what you pay for - quality food, quality ingredients. The wine was very reasonably priced. For dessert get their famous pecan pie or chocolate mousse - both are amazing!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Romantic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our third time, and can honestl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our third time, and can honestly say we have never had a bad experience food was outstanding, service was great

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The waitstaff is very attentive and very ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The waitstaff is very attentive and very friendly! The hostess makes you feel completely at home and catered to. The chef makes your experience personal and tends your table occasionally with a wonderful charisma. Great for any occasion!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, , Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Organic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made reservations here on our mini ba ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We made reservations here on our mini babymoon vacation and had a wonderful time! Chef Warren personally greets customers. The staff is excellent on keeping water glasses filled. The food was delicious and filling. We enjoyed the kangaroo with grit cakes as our appetizer. I had the Chicken entree with roasted tomatoes and it sounds simple, but the tomatoes were the best I've ever tasted. It is served in a bowl with lots of the broth/juice so it is very tender and tasty. My husband had the filet wrapped in bacon special with horseradish whipped potatoes and green beans. We both cleaned our plates! For dessert, we each got the pecan pie with vanilla ice cream. It was a very generous serving so we could have easily shared but I heard so many great reviews, we splurged and got 2. It was the perfect end to a great meal. I could not partake in any adult beverages since it was our babymoon, but my husband enjoyed a few cocktails. The whiskey sour was his favorite. We would go back! I definitely recommend reservations since it is small and popular.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was fantastic! Definitely would recom ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 19, 2016

It was fantastic! Definitely would recommend for anyone wanting fresh local and creative cuisine!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Casual, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

once again, a truly enjoyable experience ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 19, 2016

once again, a truly enjoyable experience.....everything was absolutely perfect....our waitress was tremendous and the food was out of this world delicious.....it is always a special treat to dine at chef warren's

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Chef Warren's is our favourite place to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Chef Warren's is our favourite place to eat. The Yoga Waffle is awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For our "girls night out x4" it was perf ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 1, 2016

For our "girls night out x4" it was perfect, everything was excellent, service was awesome, food delicious, good wine/beer menu, several food specials, comfortable, could not have been more outstanding. (as always, Chef Warren's never disappoints).

Tags: Tapas, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and fresh, well prep ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Outstanding service and fresh, well prepared, and sometimes quite unique specials. Friend had the quail stuffed with foie gras, I had the salmon with quinoa risotto. We both enjoyed different but DELICIOUS craft cocktails and shared some beautifully prepared escargots.

Friendly, attentive service and perfect pace to the meal. Every visit has been lovely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was absolutely delicious! At ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everything was absolutely delicious! At first I was somewhat put off - menu is somewhat limited and very pricey. There were some interesting specials in addition to the menu though. And once our food came we were very impressed. For dessert we chose chocolate mousse with raspberry sauce - fantastic! I will definitely return for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

the waitress Erin was awesome but your t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

the waitress Erin was awesome but your trade off to the others was poor, not coordinated and we sat for long periods without service - such as after everyone had finished and plates were empty but not removed. Waitress surprised we did not have dessert menu's & other times. Bill was rung up under wrong waiter and had to be redone. Waitress was doing double duty as bartender ? Should not take 3+ hours for a dinner. We are full time residents but I am hesitant to bring guests.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great!!!! as always. Love this place fro ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great!!!! as always. Love this place from first time stepped foot inside.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife and I eat at a lot of restaurants i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wife and I eat at a lot of restaurants in NY area and elsewhere. This one was unexpectedly good: Creative menu and specials. And the food was served immediately when ready (thus hot), which reminded me how regularly other restaurants have plates sitting under heat lamps too long before serving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Way too noisy...unacceptable in a place ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Way too noisy...unacceptable in a place this expensive...$200.00 for two Incliding the tip, which was deserved by Michael, who was superb.

I hope to never end up here ever again. We cook way way better at home.

Skip this place.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

Spot on in every way! A true display of ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Spot on in every way! A true display of hospitality and exquisite food. Seamless service, great menu, atmosphere, wine selection, noise levels allowed for conversation yet still being a lively place to dine. Fantastic!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with my wife on a Saturday evenin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Dinner with my wife on a Saturday evening. Overall, food was quite good. Though I will say the lobster Ragoons left a lot to be desired especially at $15 and the pecan pie needs a little attention. Everything else we ordered was well prepared and delicious. Service was excellent and the place has a great vibe. Already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall it was a good experience. A litt ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overall it was a good experience. A little too close to the next tables so not a lot of privacy. It was a different kind of menu than we are use to, but very delicious. Loved the hummus!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This restaurant is pricey, but I do beli ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This restaurant is pricey, but I do believe you get larger portions than other upscale restaurants in the area. It is very noisy, so I wouldn't recommend this restaurant for a anyone who desires a quite atmosphere. The food is really good and the service is the best I have received in the area. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Warren is always great...Chef is al ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Chef Warren is always great...Chef is also always trying something new and a take on something we might be used to but it is jumped up a bit. The staff is friendly and always helpful. We have come to love, love, love Chef Warren's

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at Chef Warren ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Chef Warren's. The owners' willingness to engage patrons and to ensure everyone enjoys their experience really goes a long way. I hope to have the opportunity to visit agin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were at Chef Warren's for a birthday ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were at Chef Warren's for a birthday dinner. The food, service and atmosphere were all wonderful. Definitely one of the Sandhills great spots for a night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Blown away by the prosciutto wrapped kan ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Blown away by the prosciutto wrapped kangaroo. My steak dish was a tad too salty and the mojito I had with several different fruits was very good. Overall, great flavors and decent portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everyone,Heather, Mary and Chef, were ve ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Everyone,Heather, Mary and Chef, were very kind to us and made us feel welcome with our two daughters. A very special family meal. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Chef Warren's for my birthday ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 28, 2016

We went to Chef Warren's for my birthday. We were visiting the area and ate at many restaurants in the Southern Pines area. Chef Warren was the best by far. The service was friendly and attentive, the atmosphere was cozy and the food was wonderful. Their menu had a great variety to choose from (including kangaroo tapas). I would highly recommend this lovely restaurant, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing unique food! Good portions and g ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Amazing unique food! Good portions and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant with great ambiance ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very nice restaurant with great ambiance and creative specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Absolutely fantastic! Diver scallop spec ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Diver scallop special should be put on regular menu. My wife had the filet special and it was excellent. One of my go to's in the Pinehurst area. The wait staff was superb as well as the matire d. It was perfect which is hard to do in the restaurant business. Oh yes. Don't skip the pecan pie! Its the best you'll have and they have a great cocktails and wine list. Don't miss this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.