Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About Chef Mavro

Top Honolulu restaurant for romantic occasions, celebrations & business entertaining. Chef Mavro's passion for trend-setting Hawaii regional cuisine & exciting wine pairings consistently earn the highest food rating in Hawaii (18/20 Gayot). Flexible menus. Don't miss the sustainable caviar. You'll taste the bounty of Hawaii with Keahole lobster, onaga, local produce and the highest quality wagyu beef, lamb & chicken. Famous desserts showcase local chocolate and tropical fruits. Beautiful art-filled ambiance designed for private conversations.

James Beard award. Hawaii's only independently owned AAA Five Diamond restaurant. Mavro’s brigade of young chefs share his philosophy: always buy the best and freshest, buy local, treat all products with great respect, and start every season with new ideas and memorable flavor combinations.

1969 South King Street
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Provencal, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Reservations Tuesday-Saturday from 6:00-9:00 p.m. Walk ins welcome also.

Cross Street:
McCully

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 944-4714

Website:
http://www.chefmavro.com/

Catering:
Chef Mavro produces his award-winning cuisine at private residences and unique locations in Hawaii, on the Mainland U.S. and internationally. Groups have ranged from 6-1,000 guests.

Parking Details:
Private restaurant lot with complimentary self-parking.

Public Transit:
From Waikiki get on TheBus #2 (School St./Middle St.) at Kuhio & Seaside. Get off at S. King St. and walk 10 minutes to Chef Mavro 1969 S. King St.
Taxi is recommended. If driving, pull into parking lot entrance from S. King.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Shigekane

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room available for up to 30 guests. Total restaurant capacity 68.

Private Party Contact:
JoAnn Uchimura: (808) 944-4714

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fresh Perigord truffles flown in from France in Fall and Winter and from Australia in Summer. All year long: Sustainable caviar.

Chef Mavro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1108 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
·Dined on March 12, 2017

A fabulous dinner- all four of us loved it. The food was both delicious and beautifully plated. A perfect spot for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was my first experience with gourmet dining and I was very pleased. The service made me feel like a prince. The chef and his wife both came and chatted with us. The food was artistic, imaginative, and superbly delicious. Thank you Chef Mavro.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 10, 2017

Nice dishes but waaaaay overpriced for the execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined on March 4, 2017

One of my favorite meals. The truffled chicken was incredible...juicy and filled with flavor. The fresh corn and capered mashed potatoes were perfect side dishes to the chicken. The ultimate comfort food executed at the highest level. Dessert was the perfect end note to the meal...tangy citrus flavor, light, and creative. Service was relaxed and very professional. We couldn't stop talking about the meal!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our first time to dine here. Loved it. We did a 4 course and the 6 course and we shared . So 10 tastes - all amazing. We will definitely be back.. delicious deserts. Great wine pairing.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food was very good and the wine excellent, but I have had far better meals for far less. This restaurant is definitely "know before you go": there were only four choices for meals, all prix fixe. If you are not a big eater, Chef Mavro is not for you. I left feeling like I paid a handsome sum for an average dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on March 2, 2017

It was great. Good, ambiance and the service was excellent. Loved it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 26, 2017

The 6 course meal with wine pairing was amazing! We enjoyed each course and added on the egg truffle "osmose", A5 wagyu and roasted chicken. The chicken was so soft and divine! Customer service was exceptional. The wait staff were attentive and I found it refreshing to see Chef Mavro greeting his customers. Overall, my husband and I had a wonderful experience at Chef Mavro!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 25, 2017

Was ridiculously expensive. They refused to give us an Ala carte menu or a list of bottled wines. Their least expensive bottle of wine was priced at 5 times the $23 cost per glass, which was cheapest glass. They tried very hard to get us to all buy a 4, 6 or 8 course prix fix menu, and we had to ask a few times if we can order only one course. Restaurant on Friday night was 2/3 empty. None of us will ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went to Chef Macro with a party of 8. Food was excellent. Service was very good. Cosy ambience and lighting. Enjoyable evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

all is great except one thing is that some of the people love taking pic there but the ambiance is kind of dark so the resolution of the pictures is not enough to make good pictures.many people love to take pictures of the great foods and also themselves.so recommend to have an equipment for them to take pictures for memory:)

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

Went spent our 25th wedding anniversary with Chef Mavro and team. They made it an unforgettable experience. Much mahalo and see you next year.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food, overpriced. Not enough flavors. Wine list bizarre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

As usual, the food was excellent. Service at this restaurant is always top notch. I have been here many times but I have never had a bad meal here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was incredibly attentive and excellent. Food was delicious, well portioned, and beautifully plated. The value for the Valentine's Day menu was not great, but the variety within the menu was diverse and very adequate. The vegetarian options were great but a little more protein would have been appreciated. The timing on the wine paring and the food arrival was a little off. Otherwise the experience was great and the courses were delicious. Great option for parking as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on February 12, 2017

We opted for their 9-course menu with the optional wine pairing. We enjoyed all but one of the dishes. The wines were perfectly paired with each dish. Is was a great dining experience but I don't know if we would do it again due to the cost. I usually don't gripe about cost but this was by far the most expensive dining experience we've ever had and we eat some high-end restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Definetely the best restaurant experience in Hawaii I ever had. Food was great, service was excellent, and also, both owners were asking questions about the food and overall experience which tells me that the owners do really care about their business. I would definetely recommend this hotel to my friends who will go to Hawaii.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on February 3, 2017

WE had high expectations for this dinner and ordered the menu with wine. The wines were terrible - all were sweet and one was almost undrinkable. The food was disappointing except for the salad. Our server was wonderful but could not make up for the disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was friendly and professional but warm. Food was wonderful and detailed. Wine pairing was fun and yummy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

We have been to Chef Mav's many times and have never been disappointed. This time we went for the truffle menu. As always the food was beautiful, creative, and delicious. The dessert menu has changed and it is delightful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 25, 2017

Suprior food and service. I've never been disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on January 25, 2017

Only have 3 set menus and not substitutions. Small portions huge prices. Not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
·Dined on January 25, 2017

Personal touch to wonderful food. The chef will come out and greet you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Took the 4 courses menu which is enough food to fill you up. The dishes are at the level you can expect from a restaurant rated as one of the best 100 restaurants in the USA. The chicken dish was exceptional. The meat ( white meat) was cooked to perfection: Moist and extremely flavorful. Never tasted a chicken dish that good. Even more wonderful were the desserts. The pastry chef knows what he is doing! Very nice experience

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on December 31, 2016

For as expensive as Chef Mavro is, I expected a more impressive experience. The "extra" truffles were tasteless, as was the lobster dish. Also, the cheese entré was a disappointment... It appeared as one giant scoop of herb cheese spread.
The best courses were the lamb, chicken and
dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Holiday menu on December 28, 2016 - wine pairing was exceptional.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on December 27, 2016

We just love dining at Chef Mavro. The wine pairing prix fixe menu is absolutely the best. The service, interior decor, and personal attention are among the best offered in Honolulu. It's pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went for Xmas dinner and a 6 courses menu was the only offer. We started on bad note as after 3 attempts, we got that there is no wine list at that restaurant. To get wine you either get the wine pairing, or you get one of the selected wine at $23 per glass.
The 6 course menu is $150.At that level, you have to expect the best, and it in not we were got.
The lobster was just OK. 2 small pieces were overpowered the rather bitter salad it was sitting on. Lobster is too delicate for that. The foie gras was good. Good balance of fat, sweetness and acidity. The fish dish was mediocre. It was cooked OK, the taste was somewhat pleasant, but it was soaked in a white emulsion that made the texture of the whole dish terrible.Also soaked in, 2 pieces of over boiled fennel. All that on a small piece of bread terribly soggy. The lamb was well cooked and served with a tasty thyme broth. The garish did not go with it. It looked nice but tasted like a Mexican salsa. Not a good match for lamb. There was also a bowl of caper mashed potato with a bit of truffle oil, I think. It was just ok. The goat cheese bowl was a miss. A ice cream looking scoop was sitting on fruits and tasted just ok . It was served with a piece of ginger bread. The desert was good mix of flavor and texture.
Don't know what happened to this chef French heritage, but sometime chefs try too hard and the results were not convincing and quite far from what a $150 meal should be.

They offer truffle for a premium. That would be a sacrilege to use truffle on these dishes. They also offer wagu beef for $60 substitution or $80 addition.Come on....

We went without wine as we were angry with the no choice situation and maybe it affected our judgment for the whole meal. But I don't think I am far off.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

vip
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was most delicious and beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Absolutely the worst dining experience for $500 for two - and on Christmas Day nevertheless. Expected to pay this amount in advance because of the special holiday six course menu, special booking process, etc. But did not expect bland nor unappetizing food! I was confused where the true flavor and delicacies were. The champagne was barely chilled. The wine steward was overly dramatic with no true depth or polished demeanor. The wait staff was rushed and not very experienced. Even when they organized the wine glasses on the table, there was no seamless execution. And the staff just placing new utensils for each course seemed like first time waiters. Very bizarre dinner with a team which did not deliver like an ensemble. A true disappointment and waste of money. We go out to dinner literally every night of the week and I have to say this was our second overall worst experience of 2016. We had one worse at the average dining level, but this one at Chef Mavro was by far the worst at the high end level. AVOID. This is the longest review I have ever written because I do not want anyone else to waste their time nor money. And most of all, just more than disappoint a special occasion. Let me repeat - AVOID.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

The presentation of each course is spot on and delicious bites.
Definitely a special occasion dinner experience and worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

I expect perfection with the accolade, pretense, and price associated with this restaurant. That means in a four course pre-fixe every single bite should be perfect. Extreme attention to detail with impeccable preparation. Honestly we enjoyed 2/4 of our dishes. It is clear that thought went into every dish but some just didn't work. Perhaps we went on an off night.

On the bright side the service was fine and the waitstaff were all very polite and attentive.

I almost forgot! The bread! Please procure an able baker!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazing food! Great time with someone special and tried multiple new things. Also got to make chef mavro. Would really recommend this place to anyone visiting the area as long as you have the budget for it .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a very good meal, but not up to the "great" two meals we've had there in the past. Ordered the 6 course tasting menu. Was it a bad night for us or has the cooking changed a bit? Few things lived up to our expectation. The foie gras was marvelous (as before), and the before-dessert palate cleanser, Honeydew melon in a champagne gelatin, although just a small taste, was great.

Some other dishes seemed a bit heavy on salt, but may not be too salty to other diners. We eat little salt. Although an issue with us at many restaurants, for our prior meals we felt Mavro's seasoned dishes just right.

Not in any way a bad meal, but hoping that if changes were made at the restaurant in the last year or two, that they were not the cause of a less wonderful meal.

Service and atmosphere couldn't be better and we still love chef Mavro, but at the cost of a tasting menu, we had hoped for another truly great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was great! Our server and other members of the waitstaff were fantastic. I did the 6 course tasting menu and my wife did the 4 course (vegetarian) tasting menu and added the truffle risotto to hers to make it a 5 course (table side truffle). We also did the wine pairing with out meal.

The only downside was "the experience." There was just something lacking. Previous tasting dinners I've done had a little bit of interaction with the chef/kitchen staff/owner. Chef's wife (at least I think she was) was talking to the table next to us and explaining the inspiration of the menu and random details, but she didn't interact with us at all. Don't get me wrong the food and service was top notch, it just wasn't the experience you expect when you spend $500+ on dinner for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Some exquisite food and wine pairings, and really special flavor combinations. Every bite of the meat dishes was exquisite, and particularly the red snapper with fennel and preserved meyers lemon flambe. The chocolate desert was also an amazing combination of flavors and textures. We had the tasting menu, which was varied and enjoyable without being overwhelming - small portions ensured we were very satisfied rather than stuffed after a four hour meal. The setting is pretty and intimate, but not spectacular. The staff were friendly and very welcoming, but seemed slightly hesitant in their knowledge of food and wine. One waiter seemed to know more, but others much less. We heard dishes being described very differently at different tables, which made us wonder about the reality. But the tastes were lovely regardless of their origin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on December 3, 2016

We thought our 12th annual dinner at Mavro's one of the two best we have had there. The lobster, Onaga, and lamb courses were superb. Special kudos for the large lamb portions. We had pineapple and chocolate desserts. On the latter we wondered about the basil and about the presence of chili in the liliquoi foam, though we are open to novelty. Service could not have been better. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

Chef Mavro truly loves what he does and shows it in his cooking. We return yearly for our anniversary and I so look forward to next year time well spent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on November 26, 2016

We try to get to Chef Mavro's every time we are on Oahu.
We consider this restaurant the "French Laundry" of Hawaii.
It isn't cheap - but it is an experience and well worth the money.
Thanks again to Chef and everyone for another great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.