About Chef Mavro

1969 South King Street
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Top Honolulu restaurant for romantic occasions, celebrations & business entertaining. Chef Mavro's passion for trend-setting Hawaii regional cuisine & exciting wine pairings consistently earn the highest food rating in Hawaii (18/20 Gayot). Flexible menus. Don't miss the sustainable caviar. You'll taste the bounty of Hawaii with Keahole lobster, onaga, local produce and the highest quality wagyu beef, lamb & chicken. Famous desserts showcase local chocolate and tropical fruits. Beautiful art-filled ambiance designed for private conversations.

James Beard award. Hawaii's only independently owned AAA Five Diamond restaurant. Mavro’s brigade of young chefs share his philosophy: always buy the best and freshest, buy local, treat all products with great respect, and start every season with new ideas and memorable flavor combinations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Provencal, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Reservations Wednesday-Sunday from 6:00-9:00 p.m. Walk ins welcome also.

Cross Street:
McCully

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 944-4714

Website:
http://www.chefmavro.com/

Catering:
Chef Mavro produces his award-winning cuisine at private residences and unique locations in Hawaii, on the Mainland U.S. and internationally. Groups have ranged from 6-1,000 guests.

Parking Details:
Private restaurant lot with complimentary self-parking.

Public Transit:
From Waikiki get on TheBus #2 (School St./Middle St.) at Kuhio & Seaside. Get off at S. King St. and walk 10 minutes to Chef Mavro 1969 S. King St.
Taxi is recommended. If driving, pull into parking lot entrance from S. King.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room available for up to 30 guests. Total restaurant capacity 68.

Private Party Contact:
JoAnn Uchimura: 808-944-4714x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fresh Perigord truffles flown in from France in Fall and from Australia in Summer.
All year long: Sustainable caviar.

Restaurant Photos

Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lamb - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lobster - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Amuse Bouche - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Agnolotti - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Soupe de Roche - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Confit Hamachi - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Grade 9+ Australian Wagyu - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Day Boat Catch With Ponzu - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Berkshire Pork Loin Phô - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Roasted Lamb Loin - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Tempura Zucchini Blossoms - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Roasted Keahole Lobster - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
big island goat dairy cheese mousse - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Zucchini Blossoms - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Wagyu Dish - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Honeydew Melon in Champagne Gelee - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Brie de Meaux - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Keahole Lobster A La Coque - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Peterson's Upland Farm Egg truffle osmose - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Tajima Wagyu Loco Moco - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Osmose - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Mignardises - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
White Sturgeon Malossol Caviar - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Waialua Chocolate Cremeaux - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Dish - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Chocolate Dish - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Chocolates - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Caviar With Oyster - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Fresh Snapper Chinatown Style - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Steamed Day-Boat Snapper, Chinatown Style - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Cream Of Kahuku Corn - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Fresh Bread Rolls - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Valrhona manjari chocolate cremeux - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Uni - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Foie gras Torchon - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Colorado Lamb - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Snapper - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lilikoi Malasada - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Pan Seared Scallops With Fresh Truffle Shavings - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Pork - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Wagyu Beef, Oxtail Loco Moco, Quail Egg, Potato Mochi, Baby Broccoli  - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Deconstructed Boeuf Bourgignone - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Goat Cheese Ice Cream W Arugula And Berry - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Truffled Egg - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Pre dessert - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Sesame Seed Crusted Foie Gras - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Meli-Melo of Summer Vegetables - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Crisped Sablefish "Basquaise" - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Kurobota Pork "A La Saigon" - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Pre-Dessert - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lilikoi malasadas - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lomilomi Confit Salmon - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Molokai Watermelon in Champagne Gelee - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Menu - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Truffles : Dish Inspiration - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Feta - Long Peppercorn - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lamb Harissa - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Wagyu Chimicurri - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Chocolate Genmaicha - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Poached Shrimp - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
S’mores - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Hudson Valley foie gras au torchon - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Ginger Crusted Onaga - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Day Boat Catch Bourride "Moderne" - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Mocha Truffle, Macaroon & Fleur de Sel Caramel - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Yellow Tomato Gazpacho w/ Parmesean Ice Cream & Crispy Basil - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Fresh Kona Key Shrimp - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
100% Wagyu Beef - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Soursop & Big Island Lychee - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Chocolate & Banana - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Mushroom Salad with Watercress - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Spring Berty & Hibiscus Pablova with berry Granita - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Marinated Bigeye Ahi - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Day Boat Catch Crisped With Rice Flakes - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Honey Wheat Bread - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Foie Gras Nori - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Tomato Gazpacho - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Hebi - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Kabocha Coconut Custard - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
s'mores - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Bigeye Ahi Poke - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Colorado Lamb Pissaladiére - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Anything on the menu w/local ingredients - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Mousse De Brie De Meaux - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Waygu Beef - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Veal - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Second Course - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Watermelon Jello - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Malasada With Lilikoi - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Dessert - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
First Course - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Dayboat Catch Crisped With Rice Cakes - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Kurobota Pork - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Watermelon Balls In Champagne Jello - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Keahole lobster risotto - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Confit Big Island Abalone, House Pita Bread & Greek Caviar Mousse - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Free Range Duckling with Bhutanese fried rice - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI

Specials

Provencale dishes - Onaga and Lamb

Wednesdays - Sundays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Provencale dishes - Onaga and Lamb

Wednesdays - Sundays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

ONAGA baked a la provencale, green olives, capers, upcountry vegetables, fennel, white wine reduction jus CARRE D’AGNEAU PROVENÇALE herb crusted niman rack of lamb, ratatouille modern extra virgin olive oil caper mashed potato, thyme lamb jus. Excludes Tax and Tip. A celebration of Provence on the 6-course flex menu with Onaga and Rack of Lamb!. Special valid Nov 9, 2016 - Dec 18, 2016 on Wednesdays - Sundays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Chef Mavro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Hawaii
Special Occasion
Hawaii
Best Service
Oahu
3 More
Best Value
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Romantic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We thought our 12th annual dinner at Mav ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

We thought our 12th annual dinner at Mavro's one of the two best we have had there. The lobster, Onaga, and lamb courses were superb. Special kudos for the large lamb portions. We had pineapple and chocolate desserts. On the latter we wondered about the basil and about the presence of chili in the liliquoi foam, though we are open to novelty. Service could not have been better. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Mavro truly loves what he does and ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Chef Mavro truly loves what he does and shows it in his cooking. We return yearly for our anniversary and I so look forward to next year time well spent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was outstanding! We di ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food and service was outstanding! We didn't feel rushed and the staff was very attentive. The tasting menu did not disappoint. Dining at Chef Mavro's is always an enjoyable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing nine course chef's dinner featur ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Amazing nine course chef's dinner featuring salt crusted fish prepared at the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food is excellent but of small porti ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food is excellent but of small portions that one finds in these types of restaurants. A 6 course meals will be "filling". Wife & I had 4 & 6 course meals with average wine for me: cost $500. An excellent experience but for me & my budget, not worth a repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

World class food and service

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2016

World class food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have NEVER had a bad meal at Chef Mavr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I have NEVER had a bad meal at Chef Mavro. The menu always changes with the season, and features seasonal fruits and vegetables. The chef continues to re-invent himself, thus coming to this restaurant never gets old.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ashley is a gem!

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Ashley is a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the six course meal. The salt-cr ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Enjoyed the six course meal. The salt-crusted Omaha was a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant in Honolulu. We ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Honolulu. We try to dine there every few months, because the food is exceptional and the restaurant is quiet enough to have a good conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess was charming but the wait st ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The hostess was charming but the wait staff, while professional and attentive, lacked sparkle. Maybe it was just one of those evenings. The Filipino inspired menu used wonderful ingredients but missed: the flavors tended to blandness. (Sorry. We were not, of course, expecting Filipino food but familiar reference points - garlic, vingear, fish sauce - seemed pretty much absent.) Deserts were top notch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Way overpriced! Flavors are good. This t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Way overpriced! Flavors are good. This time I had the Filipino menu and it was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Once again a great meal! The vegetarian ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Once again a great meal! The vegetarian menu is well thought out and the wine pairings were amazing. A definite must for anyone wanting to experience upscale Hawaiian regional cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the top 3 restaurants on the isla ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

One of the top 3 restaurants on the island in terms of food. They only offer a set menu - 4,6 or 11 courses so it's not for a casual outing. Restaurant decor/atmosphere could use an upgrade but it's nice and quiet - perfect for a date or business dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an experience in tastes with win ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is an experience in tastes with wine pairing. Menu adjusts seasonally and has 4,6, or 10 courses. Portions are small, but are done to perfection. We chose the 6 course tasting and it was enough for me but no leftovers. Service was excellent, food superb wine pairings great. Quiet atmosphere as I prefer for fine dining.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent repas "européano-tropical" che ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent repas "européano-tropical" chez Chef Mavro, cuisine raffinée, épurée (parfois trop ?), portions de taille gastronomique (ne convient pas aux affamés !), service suivi et irréprochable. Le restaurant en soi est très joli, cependant il se trouve un peu en-dehors de Waikiki, d'où moins de passage et pas de terrasse. L'ambiance est tamisée et cela fait un grand bien après toutes ces soirées à déguster de bons plats certes, mais dans un brouhaha de 80 dB : quel calme apprécié !

Tags: ldéal pour manger en plein air, Romantique, Idéal pour les fêtes, Authentique, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 6th visit to Hawaii and we ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was our 6th visit to Hawaii and we have eaten at Chef Mavro all 6 times. This is by far the best in the world. The service and friendliness of the staff is exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent except for a mino ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was excellent except for a minor problem. It was taken care of immediately. The service was superb. Very attentive staff and they took care of everything in record time. Even the wine steward was excellent. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were great as usual ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food and service were great as usual. Excellent menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Mavro is one of the best, if not th ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Chef Mavro is one of the best, if not the best restaurants in Honolulu. There may be other restaurants with great food and service but you add in the non-busy location (don't need to worry about traffic to get there), the easy parking and the quiet interior with spacing between tables to maintain privacy, you can't beat this place anywhere in Honolulu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in the world.

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Mavro never ceases to impress me wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Chef Mavro never ceases to impress me with his food. which is why I dine there 2-3 times a year. Very warm and friendly people. Never stuffy. Excellent food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have high expectations when dining at ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have high expectations when dining at Chef Mavro, and they never fail to deliver. Our guests are still raving about dinner - it was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding 4 and 6 course pre-fixe menu ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Outstanding 4 and 6 course pre-fixe menus. Outstanding table service. Quiet and intimate ambiance. A special occasion or celebration meal and venue. Parking is readily available. Highly recommended dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphaere was very busy. Too much ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The atmosphaere was very busy. Too much waiters are running around...

The Food was good but if I compare it with star-Restaurants in Luxembourg, Germany or France, it was too expensive.

But anyway, a nice experience in Honolulu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was second time for us. We enjoyed on ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was second time for us. We enjoyed one of the best food in Oafu. It was pleasure that we could meet chef's wife. We will be there next summer again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my friend there for her birthday. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I took my friend there for her birthday. We were looking for a new dining experience and my brother, who is a food and wine connoisseur, recommended Chef Mavro. As it turned out, it was a great suggestion. Although I do not drink, my friend does and she had the 4 course meal with the wine pairings. She said the food was not only divine, but a work of art. The waithelp was perfect and on point for every course. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and both said that we would have to return for another special occasion. BTW, the desserts were also spectacular!!

Thank you for a fabulous dining experience to everyone at Chef Mavro who made it a memorable experience!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and meal quality was excelle ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service and meal quality was excellent. Reading the menu was difficult for some of us with aging vision due to the low light level, but I think it was just as well that they didn't see the prices. LOL. The servers were wonderful and courteous with a genuine and gentle sense of humor. The lamb was one of the best I've tasted and the truffled risotto was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the seven course meal with th ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We enjoyed the seven course meal with the wine pairing. We received personal attention throughout the meal as each course was explained to us and we were provided the background on each wine served. The food was delicious, the presentation phenomenal. We even received a special dessert to celebrate our special celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perhaps this was a fine restaurant in th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Perhaps this was a fine restaurant in the past, but our experience didn't reflect that. Very expensive, but the 4-course meal was not up to par. The salt cod broth of the 2nd course was very salty, as was the bouillabaise. The onaga in the bouillabaise tasted "fishy," and the keahole lobster 4th course (a substitute for the lamb that my spouse enjoyed), tasted more like plastic than seafood. The watermelon- champagne gelatin palate cleanser before dessert should have been offered between dishes, but only came at the end. Rolls were okay and frequently replenished, but a bit hard. Chocolate and peach desserts were pretty and tasted nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great spot for celebrating birthday mont ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great spot for celebrating birthday month with Sandy !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. I chose tasting ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything was perfect.

I chose tasting menu which was included more than 6 course(I forgot the name of course.)

usually I don't take a photo of food. But they were really pretty and I took photos for every plate.

And.. taste was awesome!! Wines were really really good for itself and much better with plate.

Menus are not special at Mavro. But Plates(Foods) are totally special.

It's really awesome remember that Having dinner in Mavro.

and.. Mr. and Mrs. Mavro. thanks for photo with us. :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding an ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food and service were outstanding and makes for a memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service and food was excellent as usual. ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Service and food was excellent as usual. The Food Runner was very efficient and good at his job, just not warm and fuzzy. Thank you Chef Mavro and Donna for recognizing us even though we come only once a year. Love you folks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding multi-course menu selections ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Outstanding multi-course menu selections with appropriate wine pairings. Gracious but attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our second time at Chef Mavro's ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was our second time at Chef Mavro's and we were "lured" in by his advertised Summer in Provence menu. It was wonderful as it appeared in the email flyer. The baby squid was a nice surprise with the cod base as was the bouillabaisse and the truffle risotto, but the lamb was out of this world. Never have tasted such tender and succulent lamb. The wine pairings were matched perfectly.

Our server was also excellent. Not too intrusive and attentive to our needs as well as knowledgeable about each course. A wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food we would rank it number t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very good food we would rank it number two or three in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was not worth the price. Food was goo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was not worth the price. Food was good but not exceptional as I would expect from the price. Only prix fixe menu and no ala carte. Food temperature was not appropriate. Would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Perfect ambience, service, and food for ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Perfect ambience, service, and food for us to quietly celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we want a fabulous meal, and that m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2016

When we want a fabulous meal, and that means incredible food, excellent service and overall exceptional ambiance, we head for Chef Mavro's restaurant on King Street. The staff makes everyone feel like the most important customer in the world, and the great service is only exceeded by their spectacular offerings - so imaginative, beautifully presented, and most important of all, everything tastes great! Mavro's is not just a great Hawaii restaurant, it is world class. You will never be bored by the menu, because Chef is constantly pushing the envelope to make the food more innovative and unique. Chef Mavro never rests on his laurels, and we really admire that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.