Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About Chef Mavro

Top Honolulu restaurant for romantic occasions, celebrations & business entertaining. Chef Mavro's passion for trend-setting Hawaii regional cuisine & exciting wine pairings consistently earn the highest food rating in Hawaii (18/20 Gayot).
In the main dining room, choose multiple small plates to share or build your own menu. For lovers of Chef’s AAA Five Diamond dining, tables are available in the semi-private dining room for the 9-course Chef’s Grand Tasting Menu. This is the popular choice for foodies, special occasions and for visitors celebrating their grand finale night in Honolulu. You'll taste the bounty of Hawaii with Keahole lobster, onaga, local produce and the highest quality wagyu beef & free range chicken. Jose Calpito's famous desserts showcase local chocolate and tropical fruits. Beautiful art-filled ambiance designed for private conversations.

1969 South King Street
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Provencal, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Reservations Tuesday-Saturday from 6:00-9:00 p.m. Walk ins welcome also.

Cross Street:
McCully

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 944-4714

Website:
http://www.chefmavro.com/

Catering:
Chef Mavro produces his award-winning cuisine at private residences and unique locations in Hawaii, on the Mainland U.S. and internationally. Groups have ranged from 6-1,000 guests.

Parking Details:
Private restaurant lot with complimentary self-parking.

Public Transit:
From Waikiki get on TheBus #2 (School St./Middle St.) at Kuhio & Seaside. Get off at S. King St. and walk 10 minutes to Chef Mavro 1969 S. King St.
Taxi is recommended. If driving, pull into parking lot entrance from S. King.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Shigekane

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room available for up to 30 guests. Total restaurant capacity 68.

Private Party Contact:
JoAnn Uchimura: (808) 944-4714

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fresh Perigord truffles flown in from France in Fall and Winter and from Australia in Summer. All year long: Sustainable caviar.

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Father's Day Grill is back! Choose Small Plates and create your own dinner in the casual main dining room. Or enjoy the Grand Tasting Menu at upper tier tables. For this special day, popular grill dishes will include hulihuli free range chicken and Jose Calpito's melba-style grilled peach dessert.

Chef Mavro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (16)
See All
Tasting Menu (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (5)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (0)
Sort By:
S
1122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best meals we have enjoyed in some time. We went with the new small plates menu and our party of four fully enjoyed it. (Small plates are perfect for TWO to share. The salted crust Omaha was incredible!! Having Chef Mavro present and serve it was extra special. I highly recommend for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Food excellent but service uneven... Hovering to take my plate when not finished, wine server interrupting conversation. Nice to meet Mrs Mavro.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Interesting, great tasting food. Unlike many 'nice' restaurants in Hawaii, the chef did not go overboard in an attempt to create new and unique fusion. The tasting menu felt well thought-out but without trying to hard too hard to fuse flavors and food, it felt natural.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was all too salty and taste wired. The service is not good at all, the waiter served us wrong course and wine. They even gave us the wrong bill when we wanted to check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Superb combination of fresh ingredients lovingly prepared, balanced and presented. I could taste everything!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent wine pairing and tasting menu: thoughtful and delicious. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My boyfriend and I usually go here for our anniversary every year and I must say no matter how many times we go the food always seems to amaze us! Everything, from the parking lot attendant to the whole restaurant experience, is fantastic! I always reccommend Chef Mavro to everyone I know. Thank you so much for always surprising us with your amazing creations!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The service was outstanding. The meals were excellent. We will go back when we are back in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Chef Mavro is awesome. Definitely made it to one of my favorite restaurants now...tough to top this one. A little pricy, but would come again for another special occasion. Very intimate place with a good vibe. Really classy and staff was great. Chef came out to say hi as well. 👍🏾👍🏾🤙🏾

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Adventurous, elegant food. Attentive service. Delicious wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A wonderful surprise on Oahu. The service was spot on and the food absolutely delightful. My 13 year old son was absolutely astounded by the service and each course. Thank you for the great service and the delicious dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Another superb meal at Chef Mavros. Truly one of the very best and consistently excellent restaurants in Honolulu. Choice of 4, 6 and 11 (!) course menus, with locally sourced and locally inspired dishes. Service is friendly and efficient. Presentation is beautiful and each course has unique tastes. Can't be beat!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Been coming in for many years now and have seen the restaurant become tarnished in this quick paced food city
So much competition

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Sophisticated food and wine let down by less sophisticated service. Arguably some of the best food in the islands.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A fabulous dinner- all four of us loved it. The food was both delicious and beautifully plated. A perfect spot for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was my first experience with gourmet dining and I was very pleased. The service made me feel like a prince. The chef and his wife both came and chatted with us. The food was artistic, imaginative, and superbly delicious. Thank you Chef Mavro.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 10, 2017

Nice dishes but waaaaay overpriced for the execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One of my favorite meals. The truffled chicken was incredible...juicy and filled with flavor. The fresh corn and capered mashed potatoes were perfect side dishes to the chicken. The ultimate comfort food executed at the highest level. Dessert was the perfect end note to the meal...tangy citrus flavor, light, and creative. Service was relaxed and very professional. We couldn't stop talking about the meal!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our first time to dine here. Loved it. We did a 4 course and the 6 course and we shared . So 10 tastes - all amazing. We will definitely be back.. delicious deserts. Great wine pairing.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food was very good and the wine excellent, but I have had far better meals for far less. This restaurant is definitely "know before you go": there were only four choices for meals, all prix fixe. If you are not a big eater, Chef Mavro is not for you. I left feeling like I paid a handsome sum for an average dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 2, 2017

It was great. Good, ambiance and the service was excellent. Loved it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The 6 course meal with wine pairing was amazing! We enjoyed each course and added on the egg truffle "osmose", A5 wagyu and roasted chicken. The chicken was so soft and divine! Customer service was exceptional. The wait staff were attentive and I found it refreshing to see Chef Mavro greeting his customers. Overall, my husband and I had a wonderful experience at Chef Mavro!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Was ridiculously expensive. They refused to give us an Ala carte menu or a list of bottled wines. Their least expensive bottle of wine was priced at 5 times the $23 cost per glass, which was cheapest glass. They tried very hard to get us to all buy a 4, 6 or 8 course prix fix menu, and we had to ask a few times if we can order only one course. Restaurant on Friday night was 2/3 empty. None of us will ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went to Chef Macro with a party of 8. Food was excellent. Service was very good. Cosy ambience and lighting. Enjoyable evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

all is great except one thing is that some of the people love taking pic there but the ambiance is kind of dark so the resolution of the pictures is not enough to make good pictures.many people love to take pictures of the great foods and also themselves.so recommend to have an equipment for them to take pictures for memory:)

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Went spent our 25th wedding anniversary with Chef Mavro and team. They made it an unforgettable experience. Much mahalo and see you next year.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food, overpriced. Not enough flavors. Wine list bizarre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As usual, the food was excellent. Service at this restaurant is always top notch. I have been here many times but I have never had a bad meal here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was incredibly attentive and excellent. Food was delicious, well portioned, and beautifully plated. The value for the Valentine's Day menu was not great, but the variety within the menu was diverse and very adequate. The vegetarian options were great but a little more protein would have been appreciated. The timing on the wine paring and the food arrival was a little off. Otherwise the experience was great and the courses were delicious. Great option for parking as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We opted for their 9-course menu with the optional wine pairing. We enjoyed all but one of the dishes. The wines were perfectly paired with each dish. Is was a great dining experience but I don't know if we would do it again due to the cost. I usually don't gripe about cost but this was by far the most expensive dining experience we've ever had and we eat some high-end restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Definetely the best restaurant experience in Hawaii I ever had. Food was great, service was excellent, and also, both owners were asking questions about the food and overall experience which tells me that the owners do really care about their business. I would definetely recommend this hotel to my friends who will go to Hawaii.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 3, 2017

WE had high expectations for this dinner and ordered the menu with wine. The wines were terrible - all were sweet and one was almost undrinkable. The food was disappointing except for the salad. Our server was wonderful but could not make up for the disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was friendly and professional but warm. Food was wonderful and detailed. Wine pairing was fun and yummy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We have been to Chef Mav's many times and have never been disappointed. This time we went for the truffle menu. As always the food was beautiful, creative, and delicious. The dessert menu has changed and it is delightful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Suprior food and service. I've never been disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Only have 3 set menus and not substitutions. Small portions huge prices. Not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Personal touch to wonderful food. The chef will come out and greet you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Took the 4 courses menu which is enough food to fill you up. The dishes are at the level you can expect from a restaurant rated as one of the best 100 restaurants in the USA. The chicken dish was exceptional. The meat ( white meat) was cooked to perfection: Moist and extremely flavorful. Never tasted a chicken dish that good. Even more wonderful were the desserts. The pastry chef knows what he is doing! Very nice experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

For as expensive as Chef Mavro is, I expected a more impressive experience. The "extra" truffles were tasteless, as was the lobster dish. Also, the cheese entré was a disappointment... It appeared as one giant scoop of herb cheese spread.
The best courses were the lamb, chicken and
dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.