Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About Chef Mavro

Top Honolulu restaurant for romantic occasions, celebrations & business entertaining. Chef Mavro's passion for trend-setting Hawaii regional cuisine & exciting wine pairings consistently earn the highest food rating in Hawaii (18/20 Gayot).
In the main dining room, choose multiple small plates to share or build your own menu. For lovers of Chef’s AAA Five Diamond dining, tables are available in the semi-private dining room for the 9-course Chef’s Grand Tasting Menu. This is the popular choice for foodies, special occasions and for visitors celebrating their grand finale night in Honolulu. You'll taste the bounty of Hawaii with Keahole lobster, onaga, local produce and the highest quality wagyu beef & free range chicken. Jose Calpito's famous desserts showcase local chocolate and tropical fruits. Beautiful art-filled ambiance designed for private conversations.

1969 South King Street
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Provencal, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Reservations Tuesday-Saturday from 6:00-9:00 p.m. Walk ins welcome also.

Cross Street:
McCully

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 944-4714

Website:
http://www.chefmavro.com/

Catering:
Chef Mavro produces his award-winning cuisine at private residences and unique locations in Hawaii, on the Mainland U.S. and internationally. Groups have ranged from 6-1,000 guests.

Parking Details:
Private restaurant lot with complimentary self-parking.

Public Transit:
From Waikiki get on TheBus #2 (School St./Middle St.) at Kuhio & Seaside. Get off at S. King St. and walk 10 minutes to Chef Mavro 1969 S. King St.
Taxi is recommended. If driving, pull into parking lot entrance from S. King.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Shigekane

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room available for up to 30 guests. Total restaurant capacity 68.

Private Party Contact:
JoAnn Uchimura: (808) 944-4714

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fresh Perigord truffles flown in from France in Fall and Winter and from Australia in Summer. All year long: Sustainable caviar.

Chef Mavro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
See All
Tasting Menu (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Seasonal (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (3)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (0)
Sort By:
S
1136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Really great dining experience and the staff were super attentive. Some of the evening winners included the Onaga baked in a salt crust, Peterson Farm Egg, Keahole Lobster, and Island Free Range Chicken. Save room for the creative dessert including the Calamansi Creamsicle.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

It's always a delectable experience.

There are other places that are as great yet different, but none better in Honolulu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Dinner at Chef Mavro's was nothing short of complete culinary bliss. Due to our careers, my wife and I live apart most of the year, so when we have a chance to spend some time together, we always celebrate by indulging in our favorite past time -food- and what is a nine course grand tasting other than indulgent? Frankly, it was so much more than just that. While each dish was absolutely delicious on its own, Chef Mavro's full tasting was an absolute master work of inexplicable beauty and decadence. Every dish combined ingredients in such a way that they all seemed to accentuate each other's best qualities. Each successive course would either stand in stark juxtaposition or flow in perfect harmony with he last- part of the fun was never knowing what to expect next, even though a full menu is provided.
While I'd love to go on, I'll concluded simply- if you love food, eat here and regret nothing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Chef Mavro is the finest restaurant in Honolulu!! The Tasting Menu with the Wine Pairing was outstanding!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Not in salubrious surroundings at all.
Very dated pretentious decor and smells of old food.
Food quality excellent traditional style- very small portions on the small plate menu- so one must realize that many plates would be needed to satisfy hunger- and this will cost much more than is justified.
Unpleasant olive oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Everything was amazing, from the farm egg, day boat catch, island chicken and goat cheese. It was a great first experience. Service was very attentive, and they made the night special with a surprise cake for the occasion. Will have to return for the truffle risotto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We appreciate good service and well prepared food. That was Chef Mavro. We are glad it is close by and has a parking lot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had the tasting menu. It was superb. Eclectic, well paced. A wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Phenomenal service from a knowledgeable staff who were quick to answer questions and attend to guests. I tried multiple new things throughout the dinner and unfortunately did noy enjoy one, but that hardly ruined the experience and how quicly the staff noted my distaste without being prompted was impressive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 31, 2017

It was our first time and it was a great place to celebrate our anniversary! Food was very delicious and the wine pairing was a great addition to the flavors!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

One of the best meals we have enjoyed in some time. We went with the new small plates menu and our party of four fully enjoyed it. (Small plates are perfect for TWO to share. The salted crust Omaha was incredible!! Having Chef Mavro present and serve it was extra special. I highly recommend for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food excellent but service uneven... Hovering to take my plate when not finished, wine server interrupting conversation. Nice to meet Mrs Mavro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Interesting, great tasting food. Unlike many 'nice' restaurants in Hawaii, the chef did not go overboard in an attempt to create new and unique fusion. The tasting menu felt well thought-out but without trying to hard too hard to fuse flavors and food, it felt natural.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was all too salty and taste wired. The service is not good at all, the waiter served us wrong course and wine. They even gave us the wrong bill when we wanted to check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Superb combination of fresh ingredients lovingly prepared, balanced and presented. I could taste everything!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent evening! The food was delicious and adventurous - classic French dishes with local ingredients and new twists. All the dishes were excellent - no missed dishes. We opted for the wine pairing which was well thought-out and good value. Service was spot-on - attentive, kind and knowledgeable (and not over the top as can be the case in such establishments). Quiet atmosphere but to be expected given it was late on a Sunday. As others have noted, the bill quickly adds up given set menu prices and wine but I'd definitely recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding mothers day dinner. 5 course menu was excellent and we were stuffed! Loved the soup, which was Chefs mothers recipe so he made it for Mother's Day and served it table side for a very nice touch.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent wine pairing and tasting menu: thoughtful and delicious. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My boyfriend and I usually go here for our anniversary every year and I must say no matter how many times we go the food always seems to amaze us! Everything, from the parking lot attendant to the whole restaurant experience, is fantastic! I always reccommend Chef Mavro to everyone I know. Thank you so much for always surprising us with your amazing creations!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The service was outstanding. The meals were excellent. We will go back when we are back in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Chef Mavro is awesome. Definitely made it to one of my favorite restaurants now...tough to top this one. A little pricy, but would come again for another special occasion. Very intimate place with a good vibe. Really classy and staff was great. Chef came out to say hi as well. 👍🏾👍🏾🤙🏾

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Adventurous, elegant food. Attentive service. Delicious wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A wonderful surprise on Oahu. The service was spot on and the food absolutely delightful. My 13 year old son was absolutely astounded by the service and each course. Thank you for the great service and the delicious dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Another superb meal at Chef Mavros. Truly one of the very best and consistently excellent restaurants in Honolulu. Choice of 4, 6 and 11 (!) course menus, with locally sourced and locally inspired dishes. Service is friendly and efficient. Presentation is beautiful and each course has unique tastes. Can't be beat!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Been coming in for many years now and have seen the restaurant become tarnished in this quick paced food city
So much competition

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Sophisticated food and wine let down by less sophisticated service. Arguably some of the best food in the islands.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A fabulous dinner- all four of us loved it. The food was both delicious and beautifully plated. A perfect spot for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This was my first experience with gourmet dining and I was very pleased. The service made me feel like a prince. The chef and his wife both came and chatted with us. The food was artistic, imaginative, and superbly delicious. Thank you Chef Mavro.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 9, 2017

Nice dishes but waaaaay overpriced for the execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of my favorite meals. The truffled chicken was incredible...juicy and filled with flavor. The fresh corn and capered mashed potatoes were perfect side dishes to the chicken. The ultimate comfort food executed at the highest level. Dessert was the perfect end note to the meal...tangy citrus flavor, light, and creative. Service was relaxed and very professional. We couldn't stop talking about the meal!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Our first time to dine here. Loved it. We did a 4 course and the 6 course and we shared . So 10 tastes - all amazing. We will definitely be back.. delicious deserts. Great wine pairing.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food was very good and the wine excellent, but I have had far better meals for far less. This restaurant is definitely "know before you go": there were only four choices for meals, all prix fixe. If you are not a big eater, Chef Mavro is not for you. I left feeling like I paid a handsome sum for an average dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 1, 2017

It was great. Good, ambiance and the service was excellent. Loved it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The 6 course meal with wine pairing was amazing! We enjoyed each course and added on the egg truffle "osmose", A5 wagyu and roasted chicken. The chicken was so soft and divine! Customer service was exceptional. The wait staff were attentive and I found it refreshing to see Chef Mavro greeting his customers. Overall, my husband and I had a wonderful experience at Chef Mavro!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Was ridiculously expensive. They refused to give us an Ala carte menu or a list of bottled wines. Their least expensive bottle of wine was priced at 5 times the $23 cost per glass, which was cheapest glass. They tried very hard to get us to all buy a 4, 6 or 8 course prix fix menu, and we had to ask a few times if we can order only one course. Restaurant on Friday night was 2/3 empty. None of us will ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Went to Chef Macro with a party of 8. Food was excellent. Service was very good. Cosy ambience and lighting. Enjoyable evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

all is great except one thing is that some of the people love taking pic there but the ambiance is kind of dark so the resolution of the pictures is not enough to make good pictures.many people love to take pictures of the great foods and also themselves.so recommend to have an equipment for them to take pictures for memory:)

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Went spent our 25th wedding anniversary with Chef Mavro and team. They made it an unforgettable experience. Much mahalo and see you next year.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good food, overpriced. Not enough flavors. Wine list bizarre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.