About Chef Mavro

1969 South King Street
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Top Honolulu restaurant for romantic occasions, celebrations & business entertaining. Chef Mavro's passion for trend-setting Hawaii regional cuisine & exciting wine pairings consistently earn the highest food rating in Hawaii (18/20 Gayot). Flexible menus. Don't miss the sustainable caviar. You'll taste the bounty of Hawaii with Keahole lobster, onaga, local produce and the highest quality wagyu beef, lamb & chicken. Famous desserts showcase local chocolate and tropical fruits. Beautiful art-filled ambiance designed for private conversations.

James Beard award. Hawaii's only independently owned AAA Five Diamond restaurant. Mavro’s brigade of young chefs share his philosophy: always buy the best and freshest, buy local, treat all products with great respect, and start every season with new ideas and memorable flavor combinations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Provencal, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Reservations Wednesday-Sunday from 6:00-9:00 p.m. Walk ins welcome also.

Cross Street:
McCully

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 944-4714

Website:
http://www.chefmavro.com/

Catering:
Chef Mavro produces his award-winning cuisine at private residences and unique locations in Hawaii, on the Mainland U.S. and internationally. Groups have ranged from 6-1,000 guests.

Parking Details:
Private restaurant lot with complimentary self-parking.

Public Transit:
From Waikiki get on TheBus #2 (School St./Middle St.) at Kuhio & Seaside. Get off at S. King St. and walk 10 minutes to Chef Mavro 1969 S. King St.
Taxi is recommended. If driving, pull into parking lot entrance from S. King.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room available for up to 30 guests. Total restaurant capacity 68.

Private Party Contact:
JoAnn Uchimura: (808) 944-4714

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fresh Perigord truffles flown in from France in Fall and from Australia in Summer.
All year long: Sustainable caviar.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Lobster - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lamb - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Amuse Bouche - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Agnolotti - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Soupe de Roche - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Confit Hamachi - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Grade 9+ Australian Wagyu - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Day Boat Catch With Ponzu - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Berkshire Pork Loin Phô - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Roasted Lamb Loin - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Tempura Zucchini Blossoms - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Roasted Keahole Lobster - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
big island goat dairy cheese mousse - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Zucchini Blossoms - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Wagyu Dish - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Honeydew Melon in Champagne Gelee - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Brie de Meaux - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Keahole Lobster A La Coque - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Peterson's Upland Farm Egg truffle osmose - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Tajima Wagyu Loco Moco - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Osmose - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Mignardises - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
White Sturgeon Malossol Caviar - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Waialua Chocolate Cremeaux - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Dish - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Chocolate Dish - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Chocolates - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Caviar With Oyster - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Fresh Snapper Chinatown Style - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Steamed Day-Boat Snapper, Chinatown Style - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Cream Of Kahuku Corn - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Fresh Bread Rolls - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Valrhona manjari chocolate cremeux - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Uni - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Foie gras Torchon - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Colorado Lamb - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Snapper - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lilikoi Malasada - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Pan Seared Scallops With Fresh Truffle Shavings - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Pork - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Wagyu Beef, Oxtail Loco Moco, Quail Egg, Potato Mochi, Baby Broccoli  - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Deconstructed Boeuf Bourgignone - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Goat Cheese Ice Cream W Arugula And Berry - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Truffled Egg - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Pre dessert - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Sesame Seed Crusted Foie Gras - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Meli-Melo of Summer Vegetables - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Crisped Sablefish "Basquaise" - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Kurobota Pork "A La Saigon" - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Pre-Dessert - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lilikoi malasadas - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lomilomi Confit Salmon - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Molokai Watermelon in Champagne Gelee - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Menu - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Truffles : Dish Inspiration - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Feta - Long Peppercorn - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Lamb Harissa - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Wagyu Chimicurri - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Chocolate Genmaicha - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Poached Shrimp - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
S’mores - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Hudson Valley foie gras au torchon - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Ginger Crusted Onaga - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Day Boat Catch Bourride "Moderne" - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Mocha Truffle, Macaroon & Fleur de Sel Caramel - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Yellow Tomato Gazpacho w/ Parmesean Ice Cream & Crispy Basil - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Fresh Kona Key Shrimp - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
100% Wagyu Beef - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Soursop & Big Island Lychee - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Chocolate & Banana - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Mushroom Salad with Watercress - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Spring Berty & Hibiscus Pablova with berry Granita - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Marinated Bigeye Ahi - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Day Boat Catch Crisped With Rice Flakes - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Honey Wheat Bread - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Foie Gras Nori - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Tomato Gazpacho - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Hebi - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Kabocha Coconut Custard - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
s'mores - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Bigeye Ahi Poke - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Colorado Lamb Pissaladiére - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Anything on the menu w/local ingredients - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Mousse De Brie De Meaux - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Waygu Beef - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Veal - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Second Course - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Watermelon Jello - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Malasada With Lilikoi - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Dessert - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
First Course - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Dayboat Catch Crisped With Rice Cakes - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Kurobota Pork - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Watermelon Balls In Champagne Jello - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Keahole lobster risotto - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Confit Big Island Abalone, House Pita Bread & Greek Caviar Mousse - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI
Free Range Duckling with Bhutanese fried rice - Chef Mavro, Honolulu, HI

Chef Mavro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Romantic (5)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (1)
Private Room (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1083 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took the 4 courses menu which is enough ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Took the 4 courses menu which is enough food to fill you up. The dishes are at the level you can expect from a restaurant rated as one of the best 100 restaurants in the USA. The chicken dish was exceptional. The meat ( white meat) was cooked to perfection: Moist and extremely flavorful. Never tasted a chicken dish that good. Even more wonderful were the desserts. The pastry chef knows what he is doing! Very nice experience

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

For as expensive as Chef Mavro is, I exp ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

For as expensive as Chef Mavro is, I expected a more impressive experience. The "extra" truffles were tasteless, as was the lobster dish. Also, the cheese entré was a disappointment... It appeared as one giant scoop of herb cheese spread.

The best courses were the lamb, chicken and

dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Holiday menu on December 28, 2016 - wine ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Holiday menu on December 28, 2016 - wine pairing was exceptional.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We just love dining at Chef Mavro. The w ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

We just love dining at Chef Mavro. The wine pairing prix fixe menu is absolutely the best. The service, interior decor, and personal attention are among the best offered in Honolulu. It's pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Xmas dinner and a 6 courses ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went for Xmas dinner and a 6 courses menu was the only offer. We started on bad note as after 3 attempts, we got that there is no wine list at that restaurant. To get wine you either get the wine pairing, or you get one of the selected wine at $23 per glass.

The 6 course menu is $150.At that level, you have to expect the best, and it in not we were got.

The lobster was just OK. 2 small pieces were overpowered the rather bitter salad it was sitting on. Lobster is too delicate for that. The foie gras was good. Good balance of fat, sweetness and acidity. The fish dish was mediocre. It was cooked OK, the taste was somewhat pleasant, but it was soaked in a white emulsion that made the texture of the whole dish terrible.Also soaked in, 2 pieces of over boiled fennel. All that on a small piece of bread terribly soggy. The lamb was well cooked and served with a tasty thyme broth. The garish did not go with it. It looked nice but tasted like a Mexican salsa. Not a good match for lamb. There was also a bowl of caper mashed potato with a bit of truffle oil, I think. It was just ok. The goat cheese bowl was a miss. A ice cream looking scoop was sitting on fruits and tasted just ok . It was served with a piece of ginger bread. The desert was good mix of flavor and texture.

Don't know what happened to this chef French heritage, but sometime chefs try too hard and the results were not convincing and quite far from what a $150 meal should be.

They offer truffle for a premium. That would be a sacrilege to use truffle on these dishes. They also offer wagu beef for $60 substitution or $80 addition.Come on....

We went without wine as we were angry with the no choice situation and maybe it affected our judgment for the whole meal. But I don't think I am far off.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

The food was most delicious and beautifu ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was most delicious and beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely the worst dining experience f ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Absolutely the worst dining experience for $500 for two - and on Christmas Day nevertheless. Expected to pay this amount in advance because of the special holiday six course menu, special booking process, etc. But did not expect bland nor unappetizing food! I was confused where the true flavor and delicacies were. The champagne was barely chilled. The wine steward was overly dramatic with no true depth or polished demeanor. The wait staff was rushed and not very experienced. Even when they organized the wine glasses on the table, there was no seamless execution. And the staff just placing new utensils for each course seemed like first time waiters. Very bizarre dinner with a team which did not deliver like an ensemble. A true disappointment and waste of money. We go out to dinner literally every night of the week and I have to say this was our second overall worst experience of 2016. We had one worse at the average dining level, but this one at Chef Mavro was by far the worst at the high end level. AVOID. This is the longest review I have ever written because I do not want anyone else to waste their time nor money. And most of all, just more than disappoint a special occasion. Let me repeat - AVOID.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The presentation of each course is spot ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

The presentation of each course is spot on and delicious bites.

Definitely a special occasion dinner experience and worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I expect perfection with the accolade, p ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

I expect perfection with the accolade, pretense, and price associated with this restaurant. That means in a four course pre-fixe every single bite should be perfect. Extreme attention to detail with impeccable preparation. Honestly we enjoyed 2/4 of our dishes. It is clear that thought went into every dish but some just didn't work. Perhaps we went on an off night.

On the bright side the service was fine and the waitstaff were all very polite and attentive.

I almost forgot! The bread! Please procure an able baker!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Amazing food! Great time with someone sp ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazing food! Great time with someone special and tried multiple new things. Also got to make chef mavro. Would really recommend this place to anyone visiting the area as long as you have the budget for it .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a very good meal, but not up to t ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a very good meal, but not up to the "great" two meals we've had there in the past. Ordered the 6 course tasting menu. Was it a bad night for us or has the cooking changed a bit? Few things lived up to our expectation. The foie gras was marvelous (as before), and the before-dessert palate cleanser, Honeydew melon in a champagne gelatin, although just a small taste, was great.

Some other dishes seemed a bit heavy on salt, but may not be too salty to other diners. We eat little salt. Although an issue with us at many restaurants, for our prior meals we felt Mavro's seasoned dishes just right.

Not in any way a bad meal, but hoping that if changes were made at the restaurant in the last year or two, that they were not the cause of a less wonderful meal.

Service and atmosphere couldn't be better and we still love chef Mavro, but at the cost of a tasting menu, we had hoped for another truly great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great! Our server and other ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was great! Our server and other members of the waitstaff were fantastic. I did the 6 course tasting menu and my wife did the 4 course (vegetarian) tasting menu and added the truffle risotto to hers to make it a 5 course (table side truffle). We also did the wine pairing with out meal.

The only downside was "the experience." There was just something lacking. Previous tasting dinners I've done had a little bit of interaction with the chef/kitchen staff/owner. Chef's wife (at least I think she was) was talking to the table next to us and explaining the inspiration of the menu and random details, but she didn't interact with us at all. Don't get me wrong the food and service was top notch, it just wasn't the experience you expect when you spend $500+ on dinner for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Some exquisite food and wine pairings, a ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Some exquisite food and wine pairings, and really special flavor combinations. Every bite of the meat dishes was exquisite, and particularly the red snapper with fennel and preserved meyers lemon flambe. The chocolate desert was also an amazing combination of flavors and textures. We had the tasting menu, which was varied and enjoyable without being overwhelming - small portions ensured we were very satisfied rather than stuffed after a four hour meal. The setting is pretty and intimate, but not spectacular. The staff were friendly and very welcoming, but seemed slightly hesitant in their knowledge of food and wine. One waiter seemed to know more, but others much less. We heard dishes being described very differently at different tables, which made us wonder about the reality. But the tastes were lovely regardless of their origin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We thought our 12th annual dinner at Mav ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

We thought our 12th annual dinner at Mavro's one of the two best we have had there. The lobster, Onaga, and lamb courses were superb. Special kudos for the large lamb portions. We had pineapple and chocolate desserts. On the latter we wondered about the basil and about the presence of chili in the liliquoi foam, though we are open to novelty. Service could not have been better. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Mavro truly loves what he does and ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

Chef Mavro truly loves what he does and shows it in his cooking. We return yearly for our anniversary and I so look forward to next year time well spent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We try to get to Chef Mavro's every time ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

We try to get to Chef Mavro's every time we are on Oahu.

We consider this restaurant the "French Laundry" of Hawaii.

It isn't cheap - but it is an experience and well worth the money.

Thanks again to Chef and everyone for another great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was outstanding! We di ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food and service was outstanding! We didn't feel rushed and the staff was very attentive. The tasting menu did not disappoint. Dining at Chef Mavro's is always an enjoyable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing nine course chef's dinner featur ...

 
·Dined on October 31, 2016

Amazing nine course chef's dinner featuring salt crusted fish prepared at the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food is excellent but of small porti ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food is excellent but of small portions that one finds in these types of restaurants. A 6 course meals will be "filling". Wife & I had 4 & 6 course meals with average wine for me: cost $500. An excellent experience but for me & my budget, not worth a repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

World class food and service

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

World class food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have NEVER had a bad meal at Chef Mavr ...

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

I have NEVER had a bad meal at Chef Mavro. The menu always changes with the season, and features seasonal fruits and vegetables. The chef continues to re-invent himself, thus coming to this restaurant never gets old.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ashley is a gem!

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

Ashley is a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the six course meal. The salt-cr ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Enjoyed the six course meal. The salt-crusted Omaha was a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant in Honolulu. We ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Honolulu. We try to dine there every few months, because the food is exceptional and the restaurant is quiet enough to have a good conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess was charming but the wait st ...

 
·Dined on October 7, 2016

The hostess was charming but the wait staff, while professional and attentive, lacked sparkle. Maybe it was just one of those evenings. The Filipino inspired menu used wonderful ingredients but missed: the flavors tended to blandness. (Sorry. We were not, of course, expecting Filipino food but familiar reference points - garlic, vingear, fish sauce - seemed pretty much absent.) Deserts were top notch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Way overpriced! Flavors are good. This t ...

 
·Dined on October 3, 2016

Way overpriced! Flavors are good. This time I had the Filipino menu and it was ok.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Once again a great meal! The vegetarian ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

Once again a great meal! The vegetarian menu is well thought out and the wine pairings were amazing. A definite must for anyone wanting to experience upscale Hawaiian regional cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the top 3 restaurants on the isla ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

One of the top 3 restaurants on the island in terms of food. They only offer a set menu - 4,6 or 11 courses so it's not for a casual outing. Restaurant decor/atmosphere could use an upgrade but it's nice and quiet - perfect for a date or business dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an experience in tastes with win ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is an experience in tastes with wine pairing. Menu adjusts seasonally and has 4,6, or 10 courses. Portions are small, but are done to perfection. We chose the 6 course tasting and it was enough for me but no leftovers. Service was excellent, food superb wine pairings great. Quiet atmosphere as I prefer for fine dining.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent repas "européano-tropical" che ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent repas "européano-tropical" chez Chef Mavro, cuisine raffinée, épurée (parfois trop ?), portions de taille gastronomique (ne convient pas aux affamés !), service suivi et irréprochable. Le restaurant en soi est très joli, cependant il se trouve un peu en-dehors de Waikiki, d'où moins de passage et pas de terrasse. L'ambiance est tamisée et cela fait un grand bien après toutes ces soirées à déguster de bons plats certes, mais dans un brouhaha de 80 dB : quel calme apprécié !

Tags: ldéal pour manger en plein air, Romantique, Idéal pour les fêtes, Authentique, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 6th visit to Hawaii and we ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was our 6th visit to Hawaii and we have eaten at Chef Mavro all 6 times. This is by far the best in the world. The service and friendliness of the staff is exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent except for a mino ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was excellent except for a minor problem. It was taken care of immediately. The service was superb. Very attentive staff and they took care of everything in record time. Even the wine steward was excellent. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were great as usual ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food and service were great as usual. Excellent menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Mavro is one of the best, if not th ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Chef Mavro is one of the best, if not the best restaurants in Honolulu. There may be other restaurants with great food and service but you add in the non-busy location (don't need to worry about traffic to get there), the easy parking and the quiet interior with spacing between tables to maintain privacy, you can't beat this place anywhere in Honolulu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in the world.

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Mavro never ceases to impress me wi ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Chef Mavro never ceases to impress me with his food. which is why I dine there 2-3 times a year. Very warm and friendly people. Never stuffy. Excellent food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have high expectations when dining at ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have high expectations when dining at Chef Mavro, and they never fail to deliver. Our guests are still raving about dinner - it was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding 4 and 6 course pre-fixe menu ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Outstanding 4 and 6 course pre-fixe menus. Outstanding table service. Quiet and intimate ambiance. A special occasion or celebration meal and venue. Parking is readily available. Highly recommended dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphaere was very busy. Too much ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The atmosphaere was very busy. Too much waiters are running around...

The Food was good but if I compare it with star-Restaurants in Luxembourg, Germany or France, it was too expensive.

But anyway, a nice experience in Honolulu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was second time for us. We enjoyed on ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was second time for us. We enjoyed one of the best food in Oafu. It was pleasure that we could meet chef's wife. We will be there next summer again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.