About Chef Mavro

1969 South King Street
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Chef Mavro's passion for trend-setting Hawaii regional cuisine & exciting wine pairings consistently earn the highest food rating in Hawaii (18/20 Gayot). Flexible menus. Don't miss the sustainable caviar. You'll taste the bounty of Hawaii with Keahole lobster, onaga, local produce and the highest quality wagyu beef, lamb & pork. Famous desserts showcase local chocolate and tropical fruits. Top Honolulu restaurant for romantic occasions, celebrations & business entertaining. Beautiful art-filled ambiance designed for private conversations.

James Beard award. Hawaii's only independently owned AAA Five Diamond restaurant. Mavro’s brigade of young chefs share his philosophy: always buy the best and freshest, buy local, treat all products with great respect, and start every season with new ideas and memorable flavor combinations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Provencal, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Reservations Wednesday-Sunday from 6:00-9:00 p.m. Walk ins welcome also.

Cross Street:
McCully

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 944-4714

Website:
http://www.chefmavro.com/

Catering:
Chef Mavro produces his award-winning cuisine at private residences and unique locations in Hawaii, on the Mainland U.S. and internationally. Groups have ranged from 6-1,000 guests.

Parking Details:
Private restaurant lot with complimentary self-parking.

Public Transit:
From Waikiki get on TheBus #2 (School St./Middle St.) at Kuhio & Seaside. Get off at S. King St. and walk 10 minutes to Chef Mavro 1969 S. King St.
Taxi is recommended. If driving, pull into parking lot entrance from S. King.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room available for up to 30 guests. Total restaurant capacity 68.

Private Party Contact:
JoAnn Uchimura: 808-944-4714x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fresh truffles flown in from France this Fall as soon as nature provides!
All year long: Sustainable caviar.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Scallop with caviar

Sundays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Scallop with caviar

Sundays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Added treat: 10 grams Russian sturgeon golden osetra served on hand harvested diver scallop sashimi. $75 Paired with: Wakatake Daiginjo "Onikoroshi" Sake, Shizuoka $20. Excludes Tax and Tip. Celebrate with caviar at Chef Mavro!. Special valid May 15, 2016 - Jun 19, 2016 on Sundays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Father's Day Barbecue in the cushioned comfort of Chef Mavro restaurant! Chef's Grill Menu. 4-courses from fish on the barbecue to grilled peach & ice cream dessert.

Chef Mavro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Fit for Foodies
Oahu
Romantic
Oahu
1 More
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

fit for foodies (31)
special occasion (31)
romantic (27)
See All
notable wine list (13)
neighborhood gem (5)
hot spot (2)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Good, just not good enough

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

While I have had a wonderful meal at Chef Mavro a few years ago, time has not been their friend. At $250 per person, no add on's, standard wine pairing, they are asking Michelin one star prices but not delivering the goods. Most of the courses are good, but none of them were great, nothing truly stands out. The chicken course was not up to par I suspected they hoped most would upgrade to the Wagu option for this course. The wines were interesting but not spectacular and unfortunately the Sommelier was hurried in describing the wine and very hard to engage though the restaurant was far from busy. Sadly I can no longer recommend the restaurant and I wonder if it will still be around in a year or so absent a complete restart.

food5
ambience5
service5

Chev Mavro presents a unique and excelle ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Chev Mavro presents a unique and excellent dining experience that always earns 5 stars. New tastes abound with different food and wine pairings.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Mavro is a creative genius

Dined on May 1, 2016

We have been to Chef Mavro many times. We go on our anniversary or on other special occasions once or twice a year. I remember Chef Mavro as the best restaurant in Hawaii where I have had my most memorable meals on the occasions where I am celebrating something something special so the expectations are pretty high. Somehow each time the experience exceeds my very high expectations. This place is a treasure and Honolulu is very fortunate to have it. I have been to some other very fine restaurants but none better than Chef Mavro.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

Dined on April 28, 2016

Excellent food and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Chef Mavro Remains Top Of My List Over The Years!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Honolulu's long-standing epicurean treasure, Chef Mavro's casually elegant decor is the perfect setting to present the wonders that emanate from George's kitchen. Being a special occasion, we treated ourselves to the Grand Degustation 11-course prix-fixe menu (which in actuality ended up being 15 courses!) It was one of the finest meals we have had the pleasure to enjoy; perfect preparations, unique combinations of color, texture, temperature & flavor and exquisite attention to detail was a wonder to behold and savor. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Loved first course meli-melo salad heart ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Loved first course meli-melo salad hearts of palm, beautiful visually, delicious fresh. Second course one opted for foie gras, tasty a little rich, partner had onaga crudo which he loved. Third shutome both of us thought okay, a little one dimensional and let down after prior courses. Fourth the pork entree was very good. Dessert interesting. Wine pairing very good. Would order again? Meli-melo, onaga crudo, and pork. After dessert little bites of this and that- the chocolate item was the only thing I liked.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply fabulous! Exceptional and memorable meal

Dined on April 15, 2016

Exceptional and memorable meal! Dinner we will be talking about for a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best fine dining in Honolulu

Dined on April 2, 2016

One of the best tasting superb restaurants. If you love food this is the spot for you and whoever you want to impress. Get the 11 course and you will be amazed

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy happy birthday

Dined on March 12, 2016

everything was excellent, nothing to find fault in. Extra birthday present for the wife was a pleasant surprise. Truffles were an excellent addition. Miss the moi baked in puff pastry.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining

Dined on March 6, 2016

Chef Mavro is our favorite restaurant and we dine there about 6-8 times a year. We love restaurants that serve great food and are quiet enough to have dinner conversations with our invited guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner at Chef Mavro's

Dined on February 28, 2016

Once again we celebrated our anniversary at Mavro's. Exquisitely prepared food presented by very professional staff in a quiet setting. We had the six course dinner with the wine pairings. Outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience. Always a must on o ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Awesome experience. Always a must on our trips to Honolulu

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Outstanding!

Dined on February 18, 2016

Chef Mavro has been absolutely wonderful since its opening day! Always such a special treat. Wish we could go there more often. If Michelin stars were awarded in Hawaii, this restaurant would surely rate three!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food

Dined on February 15, 2016

One of the best things about this restaurant is that the chef continues to reinvent himself. Every time I come to this restaurant, the food always is different. There are constantly new and more complex flavors each time I come here. With the addition of new sous chef, another dimension has been added to the food. Unlike most restaurants in this state, the food pairings are actually good pairings, and not wines that merely go well with the food and happen to be available.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Special Occasion Dinner - Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

For our Valentine's Day dinner, my husband surprised me with our first experience at Chef Mavro. Presentation of the plates were beautiful and everything tasted amazing. Service was the best! My husband had researched it beforehand that they would be able to accommodate my gluten allergy as well as pregnancy-related food restrictions. I know from looking around at the other plates around me in the restaurant that some changes had been made, but would never have known as the taste was beyond wonderful and nothing looked out of place. Thank you, Chef Mavro, and we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food, romantic spot

Dined on February 15, 2016

The service was excellent and the staff was very knowledgable and attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service2

Valentine's dinner was poorly prepared. ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentine's dinner was poorly prepared. A six course offering at a James Beard awarded restaurant turned into my first experience of diners remorse. After a disappointing muse/aperitif the first course was poorly balanced; the next three seafood courses were tough, over cooked, and under seasoned. The lobster was so rubbery my wife couldn't cut it while sawing it several times. They did attempt to recover from this poor showing with a seventh course of opah belly which did impress a bit. The grand finale however left us wondering if we were invisible after 1 hour between the meat palette cleanser and then dessert. Dessert WAS delicious and probably the ONLY saving grace but a far cry from the $500 tab at the end of the meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant Gourmet Dining for Special Occasions

Dined on February 14, 2016

The 7-course Valentine's Day meal was a delectable culinary sampler of unique flavor and petite presentations. With the wine, sake, and beer pairings, this excellent chef restaurant is definitely for the special occasion where cost is not a concern. But the experience and time to savor will linger and make the meal memorable. And my wife loved it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointing

Dined on February 13, 2016

As it was a special occasion, we requested a "romantic" table, but that fell by the wayside as all the nice private booths were occupied and we had a table looking directly at another couple. We opted for the four course tasting menu and was quite disappointed in both the portions and preparation of some of the courses. Additionally, we opted for the wine pairings but the each course took so long to arrive - this four course meal took over 2 1/2 hours - that the wine (white) which was served by the sommelier became warm before the food arrived. So, the food and wine service were totally out of sync with each other. This place is really over priced. We hadn't been in years and decided to give it another try since they have a new chef. We won't be recommending it.

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Good, but not great.

Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was interesting, if mostly underwhelming. But quite good. The service, however, was martian. The atmosphere started very stiffly, with an immediate upsell for truffles and bottled water. The amuse "bush" wasn't. The sommelier recited all the grapes involved, but nothing about the WINE. An offer of only one roll, although one waiter constantly patrolled in her loud boots, doing nothing. Rushing to bus, and bringing the check before being asked. The service and the food were not at all on the same level, and certainly not for the price point, which is very high for the city. Once was enough. Good luck.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Experience

Dined on February 11, 2016

Loved the ambiance and the food preparation. Great food for eyes and taste buds. The waiters/waitresses were very helpful. The environment and food was impeccable and delicious. Very impressed with the whole environment and "workers", and it was a nice touch that Chef Mavro walked the floor. Loved the birthday experience. No complains. Uber great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Inventive presentation and delicious foo ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Inventive presentation and delicious food, coupled with friendly, unobtrusive service. Local ingredients come alive here. Every course was a delight!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must do in town

Dined on February 7, 2016

Food, wine pairings, ambience, table settings .... everything deserves the 8 years of Five Diamond awards. And a chef who returns to Provence annually to seek out new ideas for his prix fixe menus. This is our special occasion restaurant. In Waikiki but out of the crowded Kalakaua scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4

Green shot of grass was terrible; Food w ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Green shot of grass was terrible; Food was cold when it was to be hot. Lamb was cold and not tender; only guarantee of being good was the coffee.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good

Dined on February 4, 2016

This is our third year in a row celebrating our anniversary. For all our visits, the service is always impeccable, almost flawless. From the receptionist to the waiters/waitresses, they are attentive, courteous, yet not over friendly. The food is excellent. Starting with the amuse bouche, the concept, execution and presentation off all courses are just perfect. The amount of food is just right. We left all our plates clean, but our stomachs full. Sure it is expensive, but for such occasions, the enjoyment is well worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Mavro outdid himself again with the ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Chef Mavro outdid himself again with the new winter menu. Fresh Black Perigord Truffles were amazing and we added them to all appropriate dishes. We came with friends and I cannot recommend this restaurant enough to friends and family. Lucky for us we have been back three times so far for the winter menu! Cannot wait till spring arrives. Don't miss the foie gras, the lobster, the onaga, duckling, the Meli melo, the lamb and the Wagyu. Malasadas, chocolate or whipped brie for dessert all work wonderfully. The only thing better than the food is the service! The staff is fantastic...attentive at just the right time and met our every need.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heaven on McCully

Dined on January 30, 2016

It must be what dying and going to heaven means when you dine at Mavro's! Servers were very attentive but the food is the blessing! Truffles and lamb and onaga crusted. Portions are small so men can order the 11 course. 4 was good for me! The malasada and ice cream where scrumptious! This is food only found in Heaven. Not at all like other high end places. Mavro is up in the skies!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Poor service. Broken pier of ceramic in our dish.

Dined on January 29, 2016

Served a Kir (Chardonnay with creme de cassis) with a "zest" of lemon ! ? !

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

All around wonderful dinner. Off the tou ...

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

All around wonderful dinner. Off the tourist path but worth the trip. We enjoyed our 22nd anniversary and they made us feel very welcome adding to our wonderful evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Astonishingly good

Dined on January 21, 2016

We agreed that although we have had many amazing meals, this was up there with one of the best. From the moment we arrived, everything was gracious, from the person at the front desk, to our servers and the food prepared at the table, to a wonderful visit from the chef. We chose to have the wine pairing with a 4-course meal, and each course plus the wine was surprising, wonderful, and enjoyable. We were treated to a dining trip around the world, which is not what we expected. We will be back, next time we are in Honolulu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the West

Dined on January 18, 2016

Have been coming to Mavros since they opened in the 80's and have never been dis-appointed. What I love about the place besides the 5 diamond food is the excellent professional service you get that no other restaurant in Honolulu gives. The servers all the are well versed on the food and are classy in their manner. Stephen was our server last Monday and dinner was again a dinning experience. It makes a big difference when the Chef/Owner is always in the kitchen unlike other celebrity chefs. Quality speaks for itself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was such an experience and it made th ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

It was such an experience and it made the celebration that much special.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A little disappointing

Dined on January 14, 2016

We love Chef Mavro and always expect a wow dinner. For whatever reason our last experience was just not what our group expected. The service was outstanding as usual. However the winter menu was a little disappointing. The lamb course was excellent as was the fois gra. The fish course was dry and other courses were just not up to the standard we expect. The wine pairings were ok but not great. I will return to try the next menu and still include the restaurant in my Dining Out On an Expense account blog but hope the next time is a wow experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointing

Dined on January 11, 2016

It was a special night to us but the food was not up to our expectation. We have eaten in similar venues before and this would be at the bottom of our list. Service, ambience and presentation were great but can not make up for mediocrery in the meal itself .

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding

Dined on December 31, 2015

Food was outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent

Dined on December 30, 2015

It was very great, Thank you, I really enjoyed it. I would really like to make a reservation at Open table. Looking forward to it again next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

No choice but highly overpriced food

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

Chef Mavro tries to emulate a one-Michelin French restaurant experience. Unfortunately, the prices are twice what you'd pay for in Europe. The food was good and service very good but what I didn't appreciate was how we had no choice on how much we would like to eat and/or pay - there was only the set menu at a set price regardless. Once we arrived and found out, it was difficult to just get up and leave. Our bill was over $1K for 4 people with only one having the wine pairing. I would not recommend this restaurant unless you have money to burn and really desperate for the French Michelin experience while in Hawaii. My recommendation - save it for Europe and try some other top local restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PERFECT IN EVERY RESPECT!

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

Thank you for a memorable Christmas evening THE BEST! Got there and we were seated promptly with people checking on us regularly. Great from every perspective - we each had the tasting menu, some with WHITE TRUFFLES! WOW, a "must try" - amazing evening and plenty of food. Every dish was a new amazing adventure of tastes and aroma. PERFECT IN EVERY RESPECT!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Christmas Eve at Mvro's

Dined on December 25, 2015

We have heard great things about the new Chef de Cuisine at Mavro's, and the rumors seem to be true. The prices are very high, but the quality of the food and service seem to reach the same lofty heights.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Over priced holiday meal

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Christmas Eve dinner...in excess of $700 for two. Small portions. No wine choice other than at $39 a glass! Very disappointing . Only up side, very nice and attentive service.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.