About Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room

115 East Ohio Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

A Romantic and Friendly Dining & Entertainment Experience, taste why we were voted Top New Restaurant by Indianapolis Monthly in 2012, Best Romantic Restaurant on Indy's A-List for 2014 & 2015, given an A+ Rating by Avanti, received Diners Choice awards from OpenTable in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 and named the Best Restaurant of 2012 by Nuvo NewsWeekly!



In an environment of Classic Comfort, Chef Joseph's welcomes Indianapolis locals and visitors alike to entertain important clients, enjoy a romantic dinner, gather for private functions, enjoy a Champagne Brunch on Sunday, featuring Live Local music and unforgettable special events, such as our renowned monthly Wine Pairing Dinners.



Chef Joseph's is a locally owned dining establishment that features a World Fusion Cuisine. Joseph Heidenreich utilizes his thirty plus years of international, award-winning culinary experience to provide a seasonally focused menu which changes frequently.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, International, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 600-3577

Website:
http://www.chefjosephs.com/

Entertainment:
Romantic Supper Club



Our main dining room and lounge are comfortably appointed with all of the elements your special romantic evening requires. We are uniquely positioned to provide a fun and entertaining Supper Club experience. From 7pm to 10pm our featured musician of the evening enhances the comforting atmosphere and sets the mood for romance. Join us for Saturday and Sunday Brunch featuring Live, Local Music, a Bloody Mary Bar, Endless Champagne and an ever changing menu!

Parking Details:
We recommend the Regions Tower Parking Garage at 150 East Ohio Street, directly across the street from Chef Joseph's. Parking is $4.00 after 4pm and on the weekends, making it some of the most affordable parking in Indianapolis.

Public Transit:
One of the main hubs for the IndyGo Bus service is directly across the street from Chef Joseph's at The Connoisseur Room on the corner of Ohio Street and Pennsylvania Street.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Heidenreich

Private Party Facilities:
Business & Board



This elegant and functional private space will provide you with the tools you need for a successful company meeting, client presentation, or small special event. Features include:
State-of-the-art presentation technology featuring a 60" wall-mounted flat screen with laptop connectivity.
Free wireless Internet access.
Multiple layout options, including a large boardroom-style table that seats up to 26, smaller table configurations seating 34, or theater-style seating accommodating up to 50.
Private entrance and exit, if desired.
Private food and beverage service, separate from the main dining area.
No room charge with a minimum food and drink order. Available for reservation to accommodate your event duration and time of day.

Private Party Contact:
John Mays: 3176003577x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Refined and Elegant Downtown Restaurant for Your Special Event

Chef Joseph's at The Connoisseur Room is a wonderful place for lunch or dinner and is a perfect choice for your private meetings and special events. Our special events are frequent and can be seen at http://www.chefjosephs.com/events/ Whether an exceptional Wine Pairing Dinner or just an evening of fabulous music, it's all here.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Indiana
Best Value
Indiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indiana
3 More
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Best Value
Indianapolis
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (33)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Late-night Find (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Place was legit

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

Place was legit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall experience was quite good. Nice ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall experience was quite good. Nice place for a plush/sophisticated nightclub feel. Not too loud at all. Singer Brenda Williams was an excellent. We called for reservations and got a table on the second tier and were told all the tables on the floor were taken when in fact the majority remained empty throughout the evening which felt like we were told misinformation but why?

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was a tough one to review. Everyt ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was a tough one to review. Everything was 5 Stars except it was a 50th Birthday Celebration for my significant other and I put the notes in Open Table and when I checked in I asked if they were aware of same. I was told they were fully aware. The food was excellent, I had the Mahi Mahi special and it was great. The birthday girl had a strip steak and she said it was very good. I also had Calamari for the first course and a blue cheese wedge, both were good. We also had both desserts, flowerless chocolate cake and crème brulee both very good.

There was absolutely nothing done about the special occasion. I thought OK it's not Morton's or Harry and Izzy's were we had celebrated her last two birthdays with several special extra's created by the restaurant but do at least SOMETHING! Put a flippin candle in her chocolate cake. Not only a candle but they charged us for it. This was disappointing and thus instead of 5 Stars I had to make this a 4.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Warm and intimate atmosphere with wonder ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Warm and intimate atmosphere with wonderful food. Li

ve music and friendly service. We felt like good friends before the night was over. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The calamari steak appetizer was very go ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The calamari steak appetizer was very good. The Lamb Confit quesadilla was on the salty side but good overall. The New York strip was NOT good. It looked like a filet Mignon cut, but was very grisly and disappointing. Cocktails were ok, but not as good as others around Indy. Also the light above our table kept flickering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Always our "go-to" place. Staff are alw ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Always our "go-to" place. Staff are always fantastic, as is the food

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was a gem. The only constructive crit ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was a gem. The only constructive criticism I would have would be the piano player was too loud so having a conversation was very difficult. But having said that, we were told this was a music venue (which we didn't know) and that he was only playing for 15 minutes longer and then a harpist was going to be playing...that was much better from a noise level standpoint. Loved it though! We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious if a little smaller p ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food was delicious if a little smaller portion than I'd expect for the price, but we were still full at the end of the meal. Cooked well and very flavorful. We were there on a Broadway musical singalong night, which was a fun event with plenty of participation adding to the atmosphere. Good drink specials too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a restaurant that I would highly ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is a restaurant that I would highly recommend because of the quiet, lovely, atmosphere, friendly staff and excellent food. The chef went all out in his creative presentation of my chicken breast entree which was very delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent along with the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service was excellent along with the bartender who was very knowledgeable and very personable enjoy our evening there very much and will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Another wonderful paring of great live m ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Another wonderful paring of great live music and perfectly prepared dinner in a relaxed and comfortable environment. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The BEST, VERY BEST calamari I have ever ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The BEST, VERY BEST calamari I have ever had...bar none. And I've had lots. Fish dishes were very good--everyone loved them. Wine list not as extensive as I had anticipated and limited menu selections but everything that everyone had was delivered hot and very tasty. Our server was most attentive and well-trained. Some of our group had desserts which were pronounced as wonderful. Liked the look and feel of the space. Front of the house staff very cordial and accommodating. I would go back again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I had the special of copper river salmon ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I had the special of copper river salmon and scallops. That dish was wonderful, best scallops I've ever eaten. The other person had the chicken with brie and spinach and mashed potatoes. That dish was very heavy and a bit bland.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great find - Thanks to online reviews! W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great find - Thanks to online reviews! We were visiting Indy & celebrating a bday & the in-laws anniversary, and Chef Joseph's didn't disappoint!

We started with $5 martinis (yes, please) at the bar and some fabulous live music. Once seated (the staff kindly put us in the quieter side room since we were ultimately there for a celebration, not the music night - altho we did enjoy that too) we ordered the duck fat & bacon fries & the spicy chicken meatballs, with a to-die-for bourbon-maple bacon jam. For dinner we had the Manhattan steak, beer-brined pork tenderloins, lamb chops and sea bass. All were delicious, with the exception of the sea bass. It might have just been an off night for that dish (which happens!), but the dish was poor quality all around.

Will definitely recommend Chef J's to others & go back on our next visit to Indy tho! Atmosphere was lively, service was spot-on, drinks were great and they even left a placard on the table wishing my in-laws Happy Anniversary that all the staff had signed. Really nice touch. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice setting. Comfortable. Friendly. Gre ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice setting. Comfortable. Friendly. Great food (brunch selections). Will try again for both lunch and dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time having dinner at ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was my first time having dinner at Chef Joseph's. I was surprise that it was not very busy on a Friday night. The piano and jazz group was good, but too loud for dinner. The waiter was very good, but overly attentive -- probably because they were not busy. The food was good -- I enjoyed the lamb and the muscles. The crème brule was also yummy. I will say, however, that I was expecting a bit more creativity based on some of the receptions I attended at the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My second time eating dinner here with a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My second time eating dinner here with a group of six people and for the second time the food was fantastic. Each person ordered something different and everyone thought their food was delicious. We especially loved the music and the singing. I still need to get to their Sunday brunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In Indianapolis for the night and had a ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

In Indianapolis for the night and had a wonderful dinner here. Our table had some great calamari lightly breaded but not greasy. We had steak, shrimp and pork tenderloin and everyone's was very good. The live piano music was a huge hit. Just a n overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stay Classy

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I came to Chef Joseph's to hear the music group King Crabb play at Sunday Brunch. The ambiance was perfect and as always King Crabb did not disappoint. I ordered the French Toast for $11 and enjoyed bottomless mimosa's for $15. I was able to alternate between the peach bellini and the mimosa freely. The French toast was served on sweet Hawaiian bread and came with a side of duck bacon (deliciously thick). While some may balk at the price, I have to say, GO FOR IT! It's a charming dining room with a taste of class.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great evening. Really good f ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Always a great evening. Really good food And service in classy building. Nice ambience:; classic supper club with excellent live music for grownups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mixed results

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

A party of 4 on Indy 500 race weekend. Friday night. 6 PM dining so almost no one there. We all loved the interior decor. Comfortable with an upscale feel. Great live entertainment--a piano player and when he was finished, a singer. Very enjoyable. The food was quite good and reasonably priced for what you received. The problem was the waiter. I concluded he had been hired for the race weekend. Three of the four meals were wrong. Appetizer salad didn't show up. Dressings on the side were forgotten. Salad not prepared as ordered. Total confusion. Eventually you just give up and eat what is in front of you when you're dining with business associates. The staff were quite attentive, coming by to see if everything was okay, but they needed more training to make it so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

New Favorite.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic food, cool bar, great service and live music. Put Chef Joseph's on your must do list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

somehow our entree order was lost. give ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

somehow our entree order was lost. give credit to our server for telling us the truth and then proceded to comp our entrees. excellent customer service! we'll be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was very good, food was OK, stea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Service was very good, food was OK, steak was very small. Noted as romantic but I did not see it as such. Limited wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

On Sat 7 May my wife and I had another enjoyable dinner at Chef Joseph's. We had a dinner there last July for 12 friends and family to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was superb. The food was outstanding both times and the service and personal attention were of the highest caliber. They make a good martini and have an extensive wine list. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, a good place to eat with nice ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Overall, a good place to eat with nice ambiance. The chairs were hard and uncomfortable; otherwise a nice venue; albeit a a bit overpriced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

It was fine

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Our server was lovely. The food was fine when it came out as ordered the second time. Nothing was bad but didn't find it to be remarkable in anyway either. Next time I'm in Indianapolis I would try something different but I wouldn't steer anyone away from trying this spot out.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Love this place. Excellent food. Cool ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Love this place. Excellent food. Cool bar area. Live music. What could be better?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for a pre-symphony dinner. Servi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went for a pre-symphony dinner. Service was excellent and they got us out right on time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visit here often never a dull moment!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Visit here often never a dull moment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

What a need place! Great bar too. Good w ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

What a need place! Great bar too. Good was average... Nothing special. But live music and drinks were really great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Very Nice

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The food was very good. Got there so we could be there for the music. Did not expect it to be Amateur Night. Had looked forward to some nice dinner music....jazz, Sinatra, etc. Instead a gentleman and a child sang. Disappointed as we expected something else for entertainment. Will try it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed our visit and service. Was a per ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed our visit and service. Was a perfect place to dine after a Broadway show at the Murat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality All Around

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was first class. Jeremy is a serious asset to the restaurant. The food was delicious the drinks were unique and tasted fantastic! The entertainment was terrific! This is a very nice place! The entire experience was perfect!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Brunch

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Exceeded every expectation for a quiet Sunday brunch. The food was exceptional! Beautiful restaurant with wonderful ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef joseph...magnifique!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great Cobb salad. Fantastic wine list. Sea bass and pork entrees were wonderful!! Too stuffed to try dessert, but will next time! Nice bar!!!!0

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food & ambiance

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I love the atmosphere at Chef Joseph's...I think sort of 1940's supper club with a romantic flair. I love the grand piano as background music, and even more when the lady in black sings Sinatra style (my favorite). I also like that on different nights there are different singers/styles of music--but never too loud or overbearing.

The food is prepared well--I have never had a bad experience with dinner or just appetizers--although I wish they would bring back the goatcheese appetizer.

Lastly, Jacob is a great bartender--he makes a great cosmo too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent chef and environment

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The chef was very accommodating of my friends food allergy. We were on a double date (hers was a blind date) and she felt very comfortable. The food was excellent and the service was awesome. The inside is so neat and cozy. We all four loved it. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a pre Symphony dinner. We le ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Perfect for a pre Symphony dinner. We let our server know that we wee going to the concert and he paced the meal perfectly. Not rushed at any point. Staff was very good. Food was outstanding. Portions are very generous for the price. Wish we could have stayed for more of the live music. Btw they gave a discount for the fact we were attending the symphony that evening. Nice touch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a delightful brunch. Outstanding ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

It was a delightful brunch. Outstanding food and great service. Need to come more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.