About Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room

115 East Ohio Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

A Romantic and Friendly Dining & Entertainment Experience, taste why we were voted Top New Restaurant by Indianapolis Monthly in 2012, Best Romantic Restaurant on Indy's A-List for 2014 & 2015, given an A+ Rating by Avanti, received Diners Choice awards from OpenTable in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 and named the Best Restaurant of 2012 by Nuvo NewsWeekly!



In an environment of Classic Comfort, Chef Joseph's welcomes Indianapolis locals and visitors alike to entertain important clients, enjoy a romantic dinner, gather for private functions, enjoy a Champagne Brunch on Sunday, featuring Live Local music and unforgettable special events, such as our renowned monthly Wine Pairing Dinners.



Chef Joseph's is a locally owned dining establishment that features a World Fusion Cuisine. Joseph Heidenreich utilizes his thirty plus years of international, award-winning culinary experience to provide a seasonally focused menu which changes frequently.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, International, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 600-3577

Website:
http://www.chefjosephs.com/

Entertainment:
Romantic Supper Club



Our main dining room and lounge are comfortably appointed with all of the elements your special romantic evening requires. We are uniquely positioned to provide a fun and entertaining Supper Club experience. From 7pm to 10pm our featured musician of the evening enhances the comforting atmosphere and sets the mood for romance. Join us for Saturday and Sunday Brunch featuring Live, Local Music, a Bloody Mary Bar, Endless Champagne and an ever changing menu!

Parking Details:
We recommend the Regions Tower Parking Garage at 150 East Ohio Street, directly across the street from Chef Joseph's. Parking is $4.00 after 4pm and on the weekends, making it some of the most affordable parking in Indianapolis.

Public Transit:
One of the main hubs for the IndyGo Bus service is directly across the street from Chef Joseph's at The Connoisseur Room on the corner of Ohio Street and Pennsylvania Street.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Heidenreich

Private Party Facilities:
Business & Board



This elegant and functional private space will provide you with the tools you need for a successful company meeting, client presentation, or small special event. Features include:
State-of-the-art presentation technology featuring a 60" wall-mounted flat screen with laptop connectivity.
Free wireless Internet access.
Multiple layout options, including a large boardroom-style table that seats up to 26, smaller table configurations seating 34, or theater-style seating accommodating up to 50.
Private entrance and exit, if desired.
Private food and beverage service, separate from the main dining area.
No room charge with a minimum food and drink order. Available for reservation to accommodate your event duration and time of day.

Private Party Contact:
John Mays: 3176003577x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Refined and Elegant Downtown Restaurant for Your Special Event

Chef Joseph's at The Connoisseur Room is a wonderful place for lunch or dinner and is a perfect choice for your private meetings and special events. Our special events are frequent and can be seen at http://www.chefjosephs.com/events/ Whether an exceptional Wine Pairing Dinner or just an evening of fabulous music, it's all here.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Indiana
Best Value
Indiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indiana
3 More
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Best Value
Indianapolis
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Live Music (24)
Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Cozy (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fun (7)
Historic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Authentic (5)
Private Room (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
608 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best brunch in Indy for sure! Besides th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Best brunch in Indy for sure! Besides the amazing service and food the live music made for the perfect Sunday brunch. Definitely keeping this place in my staples list.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, atmosphere, location. G ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food, atmosphere, location. Great brunch menu!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I come there every year for ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My wife and I come there every year for our birthdays and wedding anniversaries. The food,staff and service are A-1.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too fun. Staff was amazing. So lucky t ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Too fun. Staff was amazing. So lucky to get there on holiday sing - a - long night. Cant wait to get back. Oh and yes the food was a great value and tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been meaning to try this spot for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had been meaning to try this spot for a while. Expectations were low but was hoping for a surprise. Unfortunately everything but the service fell flat. We got stuck in the side room which to put it in perspective is like having an awkward dinner with your grandma while your friends party in the next room. We did get to walk past the piano and excitement on our way out but that was as about as much of the experience that we received. The side room is great for a private party but not where I want to be for dinner.

For the price, the food was very bland. Steak had no taste, as was everything else. Service was really good unfortunately there are 100 better options for food that you will enjoy much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We went to Sunday brunch for a friends b ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We went to Sunday brunch for a friends birthday. All enjoyed the live music, atmosphere and our meals. Our server was on it, filling our bottomless champagne without us having to ask. We defiantly will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like the cozy ambiance and del ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We really like the cozy ambiance and delicious food at Chef Joseph's. However, on the two occasions we have dined there, the live music was too loud and prevented us from enjoying our visit. We wanted to chat with our friends and were unable to conduct conversation over the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our go-to place for a special occasion.

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our go-to place for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, and the service was ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was great, and the service was better. We were meeting friends to catch-up, but the band was starting up in 10 minutes and we were worrying about the noise. They moved us to the "Boardroom", and we were able to carry on a conversation while still hearing the band in the background. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Each of us thoroughally enjoyed our meal ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Each of us thoroughally enjoyed our meals and the atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What a wonderful way to spend an evening ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

What a wonderful way to spend an evening! Beautiful music, friendly service,

delicious menu items and the perfect cocktail to get me through the rest of my

week! The owners, John Mays and Tom Forman, know how to make every guest

feel so welcome. I'd recommend it for special occasions or a quiet 'getaway' during

the week!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and entertainment I w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Loved the food and entertainment I will be back. A real gem. Must go when in Indy !!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service! Great live music and th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing service! Great live music and the food was delicious! Really appreciated the hospitality from the entire team at the restaurant - very friendly and fun! Take their recommendations on what to order... And be sure to order the duck fries. I can't wait to go back next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place! The ambiance is top p ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I love this place! The ambiance is top priority for me and Chef Joseph's is ranked high in my book....from the rich woodworking and velvet booths to the black grand piano & classy vocalist as a relaxing and sometimes upbeat entertainment; yet not overpowering. The service is outstanding, great cosmos and full bar selection too. The food is very good; some dishes are better than others, but that's a matter of tastebuds. It is all well prepared. Always a good time on date night with my husband!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a great time of good food, entert ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always a great time of good food, entertainment, and real dining. One of the few places you can actually sit and enjoy 2-3 hours of dining and live music, without anyone being the slightest bit annoyed. The best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Took friends down for their first time v ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Took friends down for their first time visit and we all had a great time. It is am intimate spot, with tables well spaced so you do not hear everyone's conversations; bar is to the rear so that those talking in the bar do not interfere with entertainment occurring. I just love the ambiance of the restaurant, the smallness and friendliness of service and interaction with the staff, and the great appetizer list! The mussels and calamari are wonderful!!!!

The wine choices could be better, but the prices per bottle are very good and the taste for the cost is excellent.

There is always some form of entertainment, and many other entertainers dropping by the bar may just hop up to the mike. Always a fun evening, very relaxing.

Truly wish it were in my neighborhood!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Bar Seating, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We came to Indianapolis for a concert Il ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We came to Indianapolis for a concert Il Divo. We selected Chef Josephs because of the restaurants previous reviews. We were not disappointed! Food was amazing, perfectly prepared. I had the Sea Bass and Crab, and my husband had scallops. Calamari appetizer was best we've ever had. Our server, Reed, was the perfect server, was there at our every need, but not intrusive. We we not rushed for any course. We live in Ohio, but would drive to Indianapolis just for this restaurant. Ken and Linda from Ohio

Tags: Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have particular dietary preferences, a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have particular dietary preferences, after speaking with the owner whom was extremely accommodating I was pleasantly surprised by my plate. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I often stop for a meal at Chef Joseph's ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I often stop for a meal at Chef Joseph's when I am going to or have been at an Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra event. I am never disappointed. Last Saturday not only was I able to order swordfish which is one of my favorites but I was able to enjoy the music of Carol Rhyne who is also a favorite performer. The swordfish was perfectly prepared and Carol is always a delight.

I can not say enough about Caitlyn who was the server at our table. She was excellent, attentive, and knew the menu and the wine list. Her sense of humor was an additive value to the meal and a bonus to the evening.

As always, I look forward to a meal and a musical event at Chef Joseph's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The décor is lush , elegant, warm, quite ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The décor is lush , elegant, warm, quite, and comfortable. Perfect for conversation and dates. The food was fantastic! The music was outstanding!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Happy Hour, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food, very creative and our ser ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Love the food, very creative and our service was great. Intimate setting. We had a pianist there and he was very good - but it bit too loud it made it hard to talk. Then another group came in and one member of that group was obsessed with getting his stuff set up and was frankly rude to the guy playing the piano - but I will come back - nice people

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome! We really enjoyed the music, ki ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Awesome! We really enjoyed the music, king Crab Band, and the food and service. We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really did not like menu. Server made u ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Really did not like menu. Server made up for experience. Music(Vocalist) too loud. Never took a break. Sorry about a negative review

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

My first experience at Chef Joseph's and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My first experience at Chef Joseph's and I'll definitely return. It's within walking of HCT. They offer a discount to concert goers. Food was well presented. Delicious and server attentive to the 7 of us.

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Cozy, inviting atmosphere. The live musi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Cozy, inviting atmosphere. The live music was very nice. The wait staff was good. The food was so, so.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I like Chef Joseph's because i feel very ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I like Chef Joseph's because i feel very well treated. Staff is not intrusive. I usually go there to hear the jazz that is offered.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful small supper club. Nice to a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Delightful small supper club. Nice to avoid big crowds. Good music.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best brunch in Indianapolis, hands down. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Best brunch in Indianapolis, hands down. Great place to connect with friends, colleagues, family etc. Brian is an awesome server!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place for brunch in indy. Hands dow ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Best place for brunch in indy. Hands down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved everything about Chef Joseph's ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We loved everything about Chef Joseph's restaurant. My wife is bringing friends next week.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Loved the live music

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food! Loved the live music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For the price and the description, I was ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 9, 2016

For the price and the description, I was expecting an upscale, formal dining experience. Completely missed the mark in that regard. Most of the other customers were dressed in shorts and sandals. The food was okay. My wife's risotto was hard and crunchy. When we asked to have it remade or cooked longer, we were told "that's how we make it here."

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our group of 5 had a great brunch experi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our group of 5 had a great brunch experience at Chef Joseph's. We had Nathaniel for a server, and he was very helpful, attentive and never let our champagne glasses go dry. The bottomless mimosa and brunch is outstanding. All of us finished our meals and raved to the chef (yes, he came out to say hi!) about how delicious everything was. We will definitely be back not only for brunch, but to check out one of their all-inclusive wine dinners!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We try to try new restaurants during Dev ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We try to try new restaurants during Devour Downtown. We will definitely be back! Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our server, Juan, was delightful. There ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our server, Juan, was delightful. There was a computer problem and the manager, John, was very good at handling it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Place was legit

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Place was legit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall experience was quite good. Nice ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overall experience was quite good. Nice place for a plush/sophisticated nightclub feel. Not too loud at all. Singer Brenda Williams was an excellent. We called for reservations and got a table on the second tier and were told all the tables on the floor were taken when in fact the majority remained empty throughout the evening which felt like we were told misinformation but why?

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was a tough one to review. Everyt ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was a tough one to review. Everything was 4 Stars except it was a 50th Birthday Celebration for my significant other and I put the notes in Open Table and when I checked in I asked if they were aware of same. I was told they were fully aware. The food was excellent, I had the Mahi Mahi special and it was great. The birthday girl had a strip steak and she said it was very good. I also had Calamari for the first course and a blue cheese wedge, both were good. We also had both desserts, flowerless chocolate cake and crème brulee both very good.

There was absolutely nothing done about the special occasion. I thought OK it's not Morton's or Harry and Izzy's were we had celebrated her last two birthdays with several special extra's created by the restaurant but do at least SOMETHING! Put a candle in her chocolate cake. Not only a candle but they charged us for the cake. This was disappointing and thus instead of 4 Stars I had to make this a 1 . Now I sent an email to the restaurant because my wife was very disappointed that there was no recognition whatsoever for her 50th Birthday Celebration. The restaurant choose to totally ignore me as it ignored our special celebration on her birthday after being notified well in advance of the significance. I will never go back or ever recommend this place as they obviously just don't care about their patrons!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Warm and intimate atmosphere with wonder ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Warm and intimate atmosphere with wonderful food. Li

ve music and friendly service. We felt like good friends before the night was over. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The calamari steak appetizer was very go ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The calamari steak appetizer was very good. The Lamb Confit quesadilla was on the salty side but good overall. The New York strip was NOT good. It looked like a filet Mignon cut, but was very grisly and disappointing. Cocktails were ok, but not as good as others around Indy. Also the light above our table kept flickering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.