About Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room

115 East Ohio Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

A Romantic and Friendly Dining & Entertainment Experience, taste why we were voted Top New Restaurant by Indianapolis Monthly in 2012, Best Romantic Restaurant on Indy's A-List for 2014 & 2015, given an A+ Rating by Avanti, received Diners Choice awards from OpenTable in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 and named the Best Restaurant of 2012 by Nuvo NewsWeekly!



In an environment of Classic Comfort, Chef Joseph's welcomes Indianapolis locals and visitors alike to entertain important clients, enjoy a romantic dinner, gather for private functions, enjoy a Champagne Brunch on Sunday, featuring Live Local music and unforgettable special events, such as our renowned monthly Wine Pairing Dinners.



Chef Joseph's is a locally owned dining establishment that features a World Fusion Cuisine. Joseph Heidenreich utilizes his thirty plus years of international, award-winning culinary experience to provide a seasonally focused menu which changes frequently.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, International, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 600-3577

Website:
http://www.chefjosephs.com/

Entertainment:
Romantic Supper Club



Our main dining room and lounge are comfortably appointed with all of the elements your special romantic evening requires. We are uniquely positioned to provide a fun and entertaining Supper Club experience. From 7pm to 10pm our featured musician of the evening enhances the comforting atmosphere and sets the mood for romance. Join us for Saturday and Sunday Brunch featuring Live, Local Music, a Bloody Mary Bar, Endless Champagne and an ever changing menu!

Parking Details:
We recommend the Regions Tower Parking Garage at 150 East Ohio Street, directly across the street from Chef Joseph's. Parking is $4.00 after 4pm and on the weekends, making it some of the most affordable parking in Indianapolis.

Public Transit:
One of the main hubs for the IndyGo Bus service is directly across the street from Chef Joseph's at The Connoisseur Room on the corner of Ohio Street and Pennsylvania Street.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Heidenreich

Private Party Facilities:
Business & Board



This elegant and functional private space will provide you with the tools you need for a successful company meeting, client presentation, or small special event. Features include:
State-of-the-art presentation technology featuring a 60" wall-mounted flat screen with laptop connectivity.
Free wireless Internet access.
Multiple layout options, including a large boardroom-style table that seats up to 26, smaller table configurations seating 34, or theater-style seating accommodating up to 50.
Private entrance and exit, if desired.
Private food and beverage service, separate from the main dining area.
No room charge with a minimum food and drink order. Available for reservation to accommodate your event duration and time of day.

Private Party Contact:
John Mays: (317) 600-3577

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Refined and Elegant Downtown Restaurant for Your Special Event

Chef Joseph's at The Connoisseur Room is a wonderful place for lunch or dinner and is a perfect choice for your private meetings and special events. Our special events are frequent and can be seen at http://www.chefjosephs.com/events/ Whether an exceptional Wine Pairing Dinner or just an evening of fabulous music, it's all here.

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Chef Joseph's will be open on Valentines day. Please contact the restaurant for reservations.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (24)
Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (17)
See All
Cozy (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fun (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Historic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A bit pricey but excellent food and serv ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 hours ago

A bit pricey but excellent food and service. Will go back special occasion. I had paella and it was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had 6:00 pm reservations. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I had 6:00 pm reservations. I arrived a few minutes early and were seated promptly at a high table in the bar area. It was a nice location; good for people watching. We each had a cocktail and a bottle of wine, although they were out of my first selection. Food was excellent. The service was attentive but the courses arrived one on top of the other. Could use better pacing. There were plenty of seat so turnover was not the issue. A pianist performed first, followed by an excellent jazz singer. The decor is dark wood which gives a nice feel to the place. Will return again but hope they improve on the pacing of the courses. A pleasant evening.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner, drinks and ambience . We w ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great dinner, drinks and ambience . We will be back soon. Great value too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great spot for brunch with bottomless ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

A great spot for brunch with bottomless mimosas and Bloody Mary Bar! The owner was efficient and kindly changed our seating to 5 when we had an extra person in our party. Try the "hangover bowl" which was enough to share, but I didn't! The potatoes were roasted and crispy, eggs perfectly cooked, delicious biscuits and gravy, plus bacon! We have been here for different occasions and the atmosphere plus live music will keep us coming back. The monthly wine tasting dinners are a favorite date night. Did I mention a great value?

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sea bass. Salad really good. Strong ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best sea bass. Salad really good. Strong recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice and beautiful environment. Liv ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very nice and beautiful environment. Live piano music during our visit. Highly recommended!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delightful and the staff pe ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was delightful and the staff personable and professional

Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Chef Joseph's for ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I went to Chef Joseph's for the first time the other night. I googled romantic restaurant's, and it was in the list. The menu looked great. We were thoroughly impressed. We don't get out much having young children. I put on a suit for her and we felt first class. The live lounge singer and piano player was a nice touch. She is 7 months pregnant so there were no adult beverages. But we could smell the wine in the glasses to the table next to ours, smelled delicious. Definitely a night we won't forget. And we will be back. Our sever was Amanda, she did a great job. My wife got the Manhattan Strip which I finished because she eats like a bird. I got the Sea Bass. I had no problem finishing it also. Overall 2 thumbs up. Some may say it's pricy, but I expect to pay more in a place like Chef Joseph's. It's an experience not just another meal.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, seemed a little rushed from ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice place, seemed a little rushed from server, food was ok, expected a bit better, probably won't return.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Everything was excellent from the moment ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Everything was excellent from the moment we walked into the restaurant. The service, the staff, the did and the music were all brilliant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a gem! Great ambience and pianist. ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 29, 2016

What a gem! Great ambience and pianist. The lamb chops and meatballs were superb. We sat at the bar and everyone, including other patrons, were so friendly. We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Chef Joseph's on Friday, Decem ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We ate at Chef Joseph's on Friday, December 23. Of course, the food was very good and our server was the best. There were 7 of us at a table and she served us all with the type of service I would expect from a serve at Chef Joseph's.

Thank you for allowing our son, Matthew Hougland, to sing and play the piano at your restaurant. He has some special gifts and I am thankful that it shares them with his family and friends at such a nice restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptionally pleasant place with entert ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Exceptionally pleasant place with entertainment, great appetizers (get the duck fries), good wine list. The singers and piano player were terrific. Easy to make a dinner out of appetizers alone. Parking lot across the street is very convenient and cheap at night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waitress recommended the calamari fo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our waitress recommended the calamari for the appetizer, which was about the most bland calamari I've ever eaten. However, both entrees more than made up for it! We had the lamb chops and chicken breast. Delicious! Our cocktails were great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I love this place. Just LOVE it. I tell ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I love this place. Just LOVE it. I tell everyone I know about it. Best NYC style bunch in Indy.

Tags: , Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. The service was g ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was amazing. The service was great. It is the perfect place to listen to live music during brunch or dinner. I am a fan!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would absolutely recommend Chef Joseph ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I would absolutely recommend Chef Joseph's to anyone looking for a great spot for a Sunday brunch in Indy. The interior reminds me of an old school Manhattan kind of restaurant with dark wood and red plush booth seating. Every time I've been to Sunday brunch, they have live music, either someone playing the piano or singing which is always such a nice touch and something you don't see in many restaurants downtown on a Sunday.

The best part of the entire brunch is the bottomless mimosa/manmosa option or the customized Bloody Mary bar. The servers are always quick to refill your glass and will keep filling even after you've signed your bill and have your coat on ready to go :) The servers and manager at Chef Joseph's are always so nice and accommodating. We usually go with a group of friends or family of 8-10 people and are never disappointed!

Tags: Seasonal, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best brunch in Indy for sure! Besides th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Best brunch in Indy for sure! Besides the amazing service and food the live music made for the perfect Sunday brunch. Definitely keeping this place in my staples list.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Private Room, Great for Brunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, atmosphere, location. G ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful food, atmosphere, location. Great brunch menu!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I come there every year for ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My wife and I come there every year for our birthdays and wedding anniversaries. The food,staff and service are A-1.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too fun. Staff was amazing. So lucky t ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Too fun. Staff was amazing. So lucky to get there on holiday sing - a - long night. Cant wait to get back. Oh and yes the food was a great value and tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been meaning to try this spot for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had been meaning to try this spot for a while. Expectations were low but was hoping for a surprise. Unfortunately everything but the service fell flat. We got stuck in the side room which to put it in perspective is like having an awkward dinner with your grandma while your friends party in the next room. We did get to walk past the piano and excitement on our way out but that was as about as much of the experience that we received. The side room is great for a private party but not where I want to be for dinner.

For the price, the food was very bland. Steak had no taste, as was everything else. Service was really good unfortunately there are 100 better options for food that you will enjoy much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We went to Sunday brunch for a friends b ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We went to Sunday brunch for a friends birthday. All enjoyed the live music, atmosphere and our meals. Our server was on it, filling our bottomless champagne without us having to ask. We defiantly will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like the cozy ambiance and del ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We really like the cozy ambiance and delicious food at Chef Joseph's. However, on the two occasions we have dined there, the live music was too loud and prevented us from enjoying our visit. We wanted to chat with our friends and were unable to conduct conversation over the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our go-to place for a special occasion.

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our go-to place for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, and the service was ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was great, and the service was better. We were meeting friends to catch-up, but the band was starting up in 10 minutes and we were worrying about the noise. They moved us to the "Boardroom", and we were able to carry on a conversation while still hearing the band in the background. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Each of us thoroughally enjoyed our meal ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Each of us thoroughally enjoyed our meals and the atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What a wonderful way to spend an evening ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

What a wonderful way to spend an evening! Beautiful music, friendly service,

delicious menu items and the perfect cocktail to get me through the rest of my

week! The owners, John Mays and Tom Forman, know how to make every guest

feel so welcome. I'd recommend it for special occasions or a quiet 'getaway' during

the week!

Tags: , Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and entertainment I w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Loved the food and entertainment I will be back. A real gem. Must go when in Indy !!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service! Great live music and th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing service! Great live music and the food was delicious! Really appreciated the hospitality from the entire team at the restaurant - very friendly and fun! Take their recommendations on what to order... And be sure to order the duck fries. I can't wait to go back next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place! The ambiance is top p ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I love this place! The ambiance is top priority for me and Chef Joseph's is ranked high in my book....from the rich woodworking and velvet booths to the black grand piano & classy vocalist as a relaxing and sometimes upbeat entertainment; yet not overpowering. The service is outstanding, great cosmos and full bar selection too. The food is very good; some dishes are better than others, but that's a matter of tastebuds. It is all well prepared. Always a good time on date night with my husband!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a great time of good food, entert ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always a great time of good food, entertainment, and real dining. One of the few places you can actually sit and enjoy 2-3 hours of dining and live music, without anyone being the slightest bit annoyed. The best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Took friends down for their first time v ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Took friends down for their first time visit and we all had a great time. It is am intimate spot, with tables well spaced so you do not hear everyone's conversations; bar is to the rear so that those talking in the bar do not interfere with entertainment occurring. I just love the ambiance of the restaurant, the smallness and friendliness of service and interaction with the staff, and the great appetizer list! The mussels and calamari are wonderful!!!!

The wine choices could be better, but the prices per bottle are very good and the taste for the cost is excellent.

There is always some form of entertainment, and many other entertainers dropping by the bar may just hop up to the mike. Always a fun evening, very relaxing.

Truly wish it were in my neighborhood!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Bar Seating, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We came to Indianapolis for a concert Il ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We came to Indianapolis for a concert Il Divo. We selected Chef Josephs because of the restaurants previous reviews. We were not disappointed! Food was amazing, perfectly prepared. I had the Sea Bass and Crab, and my husband had scallops. Calamari appetizer was best we've ever had. Our server, Reed, was the perfect server, was there at our every need, but not intrusive. We we not rushed for any course. We live in Ohio, but would drive to Indianapolis just for this restaurant. Ken and Linda from Ohio

Tags: Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have particular dietary preferences, a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have particular dietary preferences, after speaking with the owner whom was extremely accommodating I was pleasantly surprised by my plate. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I often stop for a meal at Chef Joseph's ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I often stop for a meal at Chef Joseph's when I am going to or have been at an Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra event. I am never disappointed. Last Saturday not only was I able to order swordfish which is one of my favorites but I was able to enjoy the music of Carol Rhyne who is also a favorite performer. The swordfish was perfectly prepared and Carol is always a delight.

I can not say enough about Caitlyn who was the server at our table. She was excellent, attentive, and knew the menu and the wine list. Her sense of humor was an additive value to the meal and a bonus to the evening.

As always, I look forward to a meal and a musical event at Chef Joseph's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The décor is lush , elegant, warm, quite ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The décor is lush , elegant, warm, quite, and comfortable. Perfect for conversation and dates. The food was fantastic! The music was outstanding!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Happy Hour, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food, very creative and our ser ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Love the food, very creative and our service was great. Intimate setting. We had a pianist there and he was very good - but it bit too loud it made it hard to talk. Then another group came in and one member of that group was obsessed with getting his stuff set up and was frankly rude to the guy playing the piano - but I will come back - nice people

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome! We really enjoyed the music, ki ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Awesome! We really enjoyed the music, king Crab Band, and the food and service. We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really did not like menu. Server made u ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Really did not like menu. Server made up for experience. Music(Vocalist) too loud. Never took a break. Sorry about a negative review

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.