About Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room

115 East Ohio Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

A Romantic and Friendly Dining & Entertainment Experience, taste why we were voted Top New Restaurant by Indianapolis Monthly in 2012, Best Romantic Restaurant on Indy's A-List for 2014 & 2015, given an A+ Rating by Avanti, received Diners Choice awards from OpenTable in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 and named the Best Restaurant of 2012 by Nuvo NewsWeekly!



In an environment of Classic Comfort, Chef Joseph's welcomes Indianapolis locals and visitors alike to entertain important clients, enjoy a romantic dinner, gather for private functions, enjoy a Champagne Brunch on Sunday, featuring Live Local music and unforgettable special events, such as our renowned monthly Wine Pairing Dinners.



Chef Joseph's is a locally owned dining establishment that features a World Fusion Cuisine. Joseph Heidenreich utilizes his thirty plus years of international, award-winning culinary experience to provide a seasonally focused menu which changes frequently.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, International, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 600-3577

Website:
http://www.chefjosephs.com/

Entertainment:
Romantic Supper Club



Our main dining room and lounge are comfortably appointed with all of the elements your special romantic evening requires. We are uniquely positioned to provide a fun and entertaining Supper Club experience. From 7pm to 10pm our featured musician of the evening enhances the comforting atmosphere and sets the mood for romance. Join us for Saturday and Sunday Brunch featuring Live, Local Music, a Bloody Mary Bar, Endless Champagne and an ever changing menu!

Parking Details:
We recommend the Regions Tower Parking Garage at 150 East Ohio Street, directly across the street from Chef Joseph's. Parking is $4.00 after 4pm and on the weekends, making it some of the most affordable parking in Indianapolis.

Public Transit:
One of the main hubs for the IndyGo Bus service is directly across the street from Chef Joseph's at The Connoisseur Room on the corner of Ohio Street and Pennsylvania Street.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Heidenreich

Private Party Facilities:
Business & Board



This elegant and functional private space will provide you with the tools you need for a successful company meeting, client presentation, or small special event. Features include:
State-of-the-art presentation technology featuring a 60" wall-mounted flat screen with laptop connectivity.
Free wireless Internet access.
Multiple layout options, including a large boardroom-style table that seats up to 26, smaller table configurations seating 34, or theater-style seating accommodating up to 50.
Private entrance and exit, if desired.
Private food and beverage service, separate from the main dining area.
No room charge with a minimum food and drink order. Available for reservation to accommodate your event duration and time of day.

Private Party Contact:
John Mays: 3176003577x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Refined and Elegant Downtown Restaurant for Your Special Event

Chef Joseph's at The Connoisseur Room is a wonderful place for lunch or dinner and is a perfect choice for your private meetings and special events. Our special events are frequent and can be seen at http://www.chefjosephs.com/events/ Whether an exceptional Wine Pairing Dinner or just an evening of fabulous music, it's all here.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Thu - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Indiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indiana
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
2 More
Romantic
Indianapolis
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

special occasion (86)
romantic (78)
fit for foodies (65)
See All
neighborhood gem (42)
notable wine list (34)
great for brunch (30)
good for groups (29)
vibrant bar scene (24)
late-night find (15)
hot spot (13)
great for lunch (6)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Favorite.

Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic food, cool bar, great service and live music. Put Chef Joseph's on your must do list.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

somehow our entree order was lost. give ...

Dined 5 days ago

somehow our entree order was lost. give credit to our server for telling us the truth and then proceded to comp our entrees. excellent customer service! we'll be back.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was very good, food was OK, stea ...

Dined 5 days ago

Service was very good, food was OK, steak was very small. Noted as romantic but I did not see it as such. Limited wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

On Sat 7 May my wife and I had another enjoyable dinner at Chef Joseph's. We had a dinner there last July for 12 friends and family to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was superb. The food was outstanding both times and the service and personal attention were of the highest caliber. They make a good martini and have an extensive wine list. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Overall, a good place to eat with nice ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Overall, a good place to eat with nice ambiance. The chairs were hard and uncomfortable; otherwise a nice venue; albeit a a bit overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was fine

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Our server was lovely. The food was fine when it came out as ordered the second time. Nothing was bad but didn't find it to be remarkable in anyway either. Next time I'm in Indianapolis I would try something different but I wouldn't steer anyone away from trying this spot out.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love this place. Excellent food. Cool ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Love this place. Excellent food. Cool bar area. Live music. What could be better?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a pre-symphony dinner. Servi ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went for a pre-symphony dinner. Service was excellent and they got us out right on time.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Visit here often never a dull moment!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Visit here often never a dull moment!

food2
ambience3
service3

What a need place! Great bar too. Good w ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

What a need place! Great bar too. Good was average... Nothing special. But live music and drinks were really great!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Nice

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

The food was very good. Got there so we could be there for the music. Did not expect it to be Amateur Night. Had looked forward to some nice dinner music....jazz, Sinatra, etc. Instead a gentleman and a child sang. Disappointed as we expected something else for entertainment. Will try it again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our visit and service. Was a per ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed our visit and service. Was a perfect place to dine after a Broadway show at the Murat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality All Around

Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was first class. Jeremy is a serious asset to the restaurant. The food was delicious the drinks were unique and tasted fantastic! The entertainment was terrific! This is a very nice place! The entire experience was perfect!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

Exceeded every expectation for a quiet Sunday brunch. The food was exceptional! Beautiful restaurant with wonderful ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Chef joseph...magnifique!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great Cobb salad. Fantastic wine list. Sea bass and pork entrees were wonderful!! Too stuffed to try dessert, but will next time! Nice bar!!!!0

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & ambiance

Dined on April 8, 2016

I love the atmosphere at Chef Joseph's...I think sort of 1940's supper club with a romantic flair. I love the grand piano as background music, and even more when the lady in black sings Sinatra style (my favorite). I also like that on different nights there are different singers/styles of music--but never too loud or overbearing. The food is prepared well--I have never had a bad experience with dinner or just appetizers--although I wish they would bring back the goatcheese appetizer. Lastly, Jacob is a great bartender--he makes a great cosmo too!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent chef and environment

Dined on April 2, 2016

The chef was very accommodating of my friends food allergy. We were on a double date (hers was a blind date) and she felt very comfortable. The food was excellent and the service was awesome. The inside is so neat and cozy. We all four loved it. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for a pre Symphony dinner. We le ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Perfect for a pre Symphony dinner. We let our server know that we wee going to the concert and he paced the meal perfectly. Not rushed at any point. Staff was very good. Food was outstanding. Portions are very generous for the price. Wish we could have stayed for more of the live music. Btw they gave a discount for the fact we were attending the symphony that evening. Nice touch!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a delightful brunch. Outstanding ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

It was a delightful brunch. Outstanding food and great service. Need to come more often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Delightful

food4
ambience4
service4

Ambiance was great, live music. Food was ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Ambiance was great, live music. Food was also delicious. Recommend the calamari.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Sunday brunch! The food is all ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Fantastic Sunday brunch! The food is all delicious & the live music is very enjoyable. We enjoyed the Peach Bellini & ManMosa cocktails. The BLT & Brie Quesadilla & Asian Pork Belly Sandwich were both scrumptious. We shared a piece of chocolate peanut butter cheesecake which was very good. The staff is always attentive & very knowledgeable. 🍾🎤🍹

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A most pleasant evening

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Beautiful room, great music, attentive service. Delicious meal sealed the deal. All were happy with their orders. Individually grilled pork tenderloin steaks were outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic gem in downtown Indy

Dined on March 18, 2016

Chef Joseph's is a wonderful gem, right in downtown Indy. John, the owner, makes you feel like you're his favorite guest ever and the food is delicious!! The entertainment is absolutely amazing! Toni Tolliver and Sean Baker make a dynamic team that oozes talent and fun! Highly recommend this place any night, but especially when they are performing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Memorable service...Kaitlyn was attentiv ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Memorable service...Kaitlyn was attentive and thoughtful. Classy and on top of it. Made our night very special. Thanks for not rushing us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great server

Dined on March 12, 2016

Our server, Jacob, was friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and funny. We will ask for him again.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, atmosphere, and yummy food

Dined on March 11, 2016

We had a small business meeting dinner planned where I wanted to "wow" an out of town guest and a potential new colleague. It was nice to be able to park across the street in the Regions Tower for only $4 for the evening. I was promptly seated a few minutes early for our reservation and then immediately greeted by our server. He was very attentive and knowledgeable. He was able to make recommendations that all three of us were very happy with. From our appetizers to our desserts the food was expertly prepared and very flavorful. My out of town guest stated that the chocolate dessert was the best she has ever had. The live music was a perfect addition to the evening. I would definitely recommend the restaurant and will return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The service and restaurant was very nice ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

The service and restaurant was very nice- our waiter checked on us at what seemed just the right time- not over bearing. Calamari was excellent . Would recommend this for a nice evening dinner. Piano player was very good

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, relaxing atmosphere, enjoyab ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Great food, relaxing atmosphere, enjoyable entertainment and excellent, friendly service. We go often and are always well pleased.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING!!!!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Greeted with a vibrant smile, open arms and energetic person!!! That was just the beginning of an Amazing nite to remember!!! The restaurant was filled, but Joseph's made us feel like our table was a priority. From the friendly, professional people to the INCREDIBLE food to the upscale drinks....Chef Joseph's IS Indy's BEST kept secret!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Another wonderful evening in Indy.

Dined on February 27, 2016

This is our second time eating at this fine restaurant. We love the closeness to the ISO parking garage. I had a red wine that the server suggested paired well with the lamb. My Smokin Hot Wife started with the pinot grigio. We both ordered salads that where great, I had the lamb that was cooked to perfection and she tried the pork loin both had generous servings . We ended the evening with a desert that we shared. The vocalist and pianist had just arrived by the time we finished up our dinner to head over to the ISO. Restaurant is very clean and well cared for. "Great Vibe" and atmosphere. It may be our new favorite spot before the symphony.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Goof Find

Dined on February 26, 2016

Food is very good, bar has good selection and talented bartenders. Sometimes, the piano gets loud enough to interfere wit conversation, but overall, a great atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

what a true experience

Dined on February 20, 2016

I recommend this place for lunch brunch, Buisness , Great food , Music, with that down home family hospitality!!!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hidden Gem

Dined on February 19, 2016

My wife and I stumbled across this place on OpenTable and took a chance on someplace we'd never heard of. Wow! It was a neat place. When we arrived there was a guy playing piano and the atmosphere was great. We were complimenting our waitress on the ambiance, then a guy with an upright bass walks in and she says they'll be singing in a bit. It was really a cool place and neat atmosphere. The food was excellent. We had the scallops and they even swapped a lot of stuff (peppers, onions, etc) out for us. Anyway, I highly recommend it. Very cozy and romantic, but we're even thinking of taking our kids just to expose them to the classy atmosphere and music.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fun and friendly. Three of us wer ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Always fun and friendly. Three of us were there for a birthday dinner. The guest of honor felt special. Fabulous sea bass, salads, cocktails, and desserts.

food4
ambience5
service5

Went on Valentine's so it had a limited ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Went on Valentine's so it had a limited menu but it was good. Excited to go back and try their full menu. Great ambience will definitely go back

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Champagne Brunch on Valentine' ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Wonderful Champagne Brunch on Valentine's Day! The food is outstanding & staff all very friendly & professional. The live music makes for a very special dining experience. We will definitely return for this fabulous brunch! I would recommend they include the dessert offerings on the brunch menu because the dessert at Chef Joseph's are some of the best tasting desserts in Indy. 🍓🍰🍾🎤

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So good. Unique! Fun!

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was really good and priced well. It is the only restaurant with true bottomless mimosas that we have found in Indy. Please don't ever go anywhere! We really enjoyed brunch and the live music and looking forward to trying dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ultimate brunch spot!

Dined on February 14, 2016

After living in D.C., I have been on the hunt for a bottomless brunch spot in Indy and came across Chef Josephs. While I was ultimately going for their bottomless drinks, I ended up staying for the food. Everything is reasonably priced for an amazing value. Not to mention the amazing bacon that is baked for 4 hours! Highly recommend to any age couple looking for an alternative to a romantic dinner - brunch is the way to go!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine date

Dined on February 14, 2016

I took the love of my life to Chef Joseph's on Valentine's Day and had a wonderful night. The ambiance was perfect. The piano playing and the singer made everything soft and comfortable. It was the first time there for both of us and we will definitely be returning in the future. I salute the chef and the staff. Great job!

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.