About Chef and The Farmer

120 W. Gordon St.
Kinston, NC 28501
View Larger Map

For additional reservation inquiries, please call our reservationist Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm.

Go to nowhere and turn left...you'll discover an extraordinary, epicurean experience where Chef Vivian Howard practices culinary artistry in a place steeped in tradition. Vivian has returned to her southern roots to create Chef and the Farmer. It celebrates simplicity, freshness and its own heritage.


Anchored in a building that has meant much to a small community where Vivian was raised, she and partner Ben Knight converted a 100 year old mule stable into a warm, inviting, uniquely modern atmosphere. Chef and Farmer, like its name, blends the old and the new, seamlessly, comfortably and unforgettably.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm -Opening on Mondays starting November 7th
If your preferred reservations are not available on-line or if your group is over 5, please call our reservationist Monday - Friday 9am -5pm.

Cross Street:
Herritage & Gordon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 208-2433

Website:
http://www.vivianhoward.com/chef-the-farmer/

Executive Chef:
Vivian Howard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrating a birthday? Try the "ULTIMATE Birthday cake".
A delicious vanilla layer cake, with chocolate buttercream frosting and sprinkles

The "ULTIMATE Birthday Cake" |
$15 cake - serves 2-4 guests | $40 cake - serves 10 or more guests

To order, please call our event coordinator at 252.208.2433 x3

.

Restaurant Photos

Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Chocolate Beet Cake - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Heritage Farms 16-ounce Bone-In Pork Chop with Sweet Potato Butter, Peanut & Celery Relish, Mustard and Pork Belly - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Moonjito - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Smoked Beef Carpaccio with Pear, Pecorino Romano Shavings, Pickled Peanuts and Garlic Leek Aioli - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Triple Decker Apple Pie with Cinnamon Ice Cream and Caramel - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Monkey Bread with Ancho Chiles and Lime Butter - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
10-Layer Chocolate Cake with Old-Fashioned Caramel Icing and Toffee Crunch - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Key Lime Curd & Coconut Meringue with Pecan Crumble and Graham Crackers - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Boiled Peanut "Risotto with Rutabaga Relish, Benton's Bacon and Cornbread - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Turnip Run-Ups in Potlikker with Air Dried Sausage, Cornmeal & Ricotta Dumplings and Tomato Jam - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Dirty Grits with Sage Sausage, Sweet Onions, Crispy Chicken Livers, Sliced Celery and Chopped Apple - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Curried Citrus Marmalade Pork Belly Skewers with Pickled Jalapeños and Cilantro - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Braised Pork Shoulder Lasagna - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Tiramisu - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Warm Lima Bean Spread - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Hot, Salty, & Sweet - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Pork Belly Skewers - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Rice Crusted Catfish - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Fried Green Tomatoes - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Cheese Plate - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Wood Fired Pizza, Caramelized Onion, Apple, Pork Belly & Tyme - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Chilled Cherry Tomato Soup, Basil Oil, Crab Cake - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Pan Seared Flounder, Crispy Heirloom Rice, Miso Sake Butter, Pickled Carrot - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Sweet Tea Cheesecake.  - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Chocolate Molton cake - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Braised Winter Greens - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Rice Crusted Catfish With Tarragon Pickle Remoulade - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Caramel Praline Ice-Cream  Of The Say - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Bbq Shrimp & Triggerfish - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Sweet Ricotta Johnny Cake - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Pork Belly, Peanuts & Pepsi - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Pump My Grits - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC
Seared Scallops, Charred Pepper Sauce, Bean Relish, Rice Grit Fritters - Chef and The Farmer, Kinston, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chef and The Farmer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
8 More
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Raleigh
Best Service
Raleigh
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Kinston ›

Fit for Foodies (154)
Special Occasion (154)
Local Ingredients (135)
See All
Worth the Drive (133)
Creative Cuisine (128)
Good for a Date (114)
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Open Kitchen (98)
Notable Wine List (79)
Romantic (77)
Authentic (74)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Handcrafted Cocktails (59)
Seasonal (56)
Hot Spot (47)
Casual (42)
Fun (41)
Bar Seating (40)
Good for Groups (40)
Modern Decor (38)
Wood Oven (37)
Organic (33)
Healthy (32)
Good Vegetarian Options (32)
Comfort Food (29)
Cozy (27)
Tasting Menu (23)
Great Beer (23)
Business Meals (22)
People Watching (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Historic (18)
Outstanding Value (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Tapas (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Private Room (10)
Family Style (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Vegan (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Spicy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
2472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From eagerly walking in the door to sati ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

From eagerly walking in the door to satisfyingly strolling out, every part of dinner service was everything we could have asked for. The food was well prepared in adequate portions full of savory tastes. The service was very proper but not in a way that makes guests feel awkward or intimidated. The delicious drinks from the bar were all handmade with obvious time and dedication. I would recommend this experience to any friends and family looking for a all around satisfying, one of a kind experience that will have you raving to everyone you know.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third visit and it was mixe ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our third visit and it was mixed. The restaurant wasn't crowded but there was a private party in the private dining room. Unfortunately, this must have been a burden on the staff. We waited at least 20 minutes for our cocktails to arrive. Highlights were the Manhattan, Daily Bread (beer and cheese bread with slivers of country ham and a chive butter), peanut soup, and apple/squash/citrus salad. My husband was very disappointed with his pork chop (mushy meat, and way too much fat and gristle.) And my corn bread cake dessert was dust-dry. Our server was a sweet gal, but very timid. We love Chef and the Farmer, A Chef's Life, and have a copy of Deep Run Roots. So we are fans, but we were not totally happy on this visit. But we will go back. The menu is always inventive and enticing.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Was looking for an extraordinary dining ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Was looking for an extraordinary dining experience but only received slightly better than average with the food being on the plus side and slow service being on the negative side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Our second visit, and it was even better ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Our second visit, and it was even better than the first. We loved the Tom Thumb and both our entrees, as well as desserts. I noted that we'd be celebrating a birthday when I made the reservation and everyone who waited on us wished my husband a happy birthday. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful little jewel of a restaurant ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

A wonderful little jewel of a restaurant tucked away in the tiny town of Kinston. I I was dining alone and the staff made me feel welcome and comfortable Josh was especially thoughtful. The Food was nothing short of fabulous like dining in the big city but better service and southern hospitality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful experience with truly excellen ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful experience with truly excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the Chef and the Farmer. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

We always enjoy the Chef and the Farmer...food is always excellent!

I booked a party of 8 for Tuesday, December 27th at 5:15 pm...the reason...my daughter, who lives in SC has wanted to come there for the past 3 years...We were finally able to get a reservation for when she and her family will be visiting New Bern. She loves the tv show and Vivian! So...we got her a signed copy of the new cookbook, tee-shirt, and of course dinner at your restaurant. You know how it feels when you give the perfect gift...well this is it! She will be so so excited...I might even be more excited!

Vivian...if you read this...if you happen to be available on Tuesday, December 27th at 5:15 pm...well that would just make this Christmas present absolutely the best gift ever!

We all love you!

Sincerely,

Billie Gaskins

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to celebrate a quiet and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful place to celebrate a quiet and unique birthday experience. The food was new and different, the ambiance was sophisticated and the personal note from the chef was a nice touch. We also appreciated the exceptional service. We felt welcomed and taken care of. Definitely worth the drive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been fans of "A Chef's Life" sin ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been fans of "A Chef's Life" since it began but were never able to schedule a visit that justified the 400+ mile round trip. When we decided to visit New Bern over the Thanksgiving holiday, it was easy enough to add on an extra night and make a detour via Kinston on the way home. Luckily for us the restaurant had just started opening on a Monday night, so the timing was perfect. The food was delicious and the ambiance very welcoming. We loved the fact that some of the items on the menu are deliberately open-ended, so that new dishes can be rotated in if a particular ingredient runs out. Unfortunately we decided to deduct a star, as there were a couple of nit-picky little service issues. We had to wait quite a long time for our server to come over to our table to start with and take our drinks order. He explained that he had wanted to finish up with another table first, so that he could give us his full attention. OK. But please acknowledge that at least you are aware of our presence. Secondly, we had to wait quite a while to settle our bill. Again, a quick "I'll be with you momentarily" would have gone a long way towards us not feeling ignored. Could the guy really not multi-task?

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

More than lived up to our expectations a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

More than lived up to our expectations and worth a 50+ mile side trip. Look forward to going

back whenever we're in the general area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceed all expectations! Food was delici ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Exceed all expectations! Food was delicious! Service was awesome. Definitely recommend!

Not cheap, but well worth every cent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made reservations for my husband's bi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We made reservations for my husband's birthday. It was an absolutely perfect evening. The food was amazing. The service was excellent. We will most definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice environment for a higher class meal ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Nice environment for a higher class meal. We left full, but not overly full. Waiter was knowledgeable about menu items and options. Would come again!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was very good, the ice cream wasn't ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was very good, the ice cream wasn't flavorful , service is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Deeply touched by the story of this plac ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Deeply touched by the story of this place and amazed that a reservation within 4 days could be a reality (which was truly a gift from heaven), the creative, regional, and delicious food in the most gracious and congenial atmosphere exceeded my expectations. That Vivian and Ben's gifts and most generous hearts could have impacted such a dynamic and reviving presence in the place of her origins and have sent this vision all around the globe is truly awe inspiring!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Family Style, Cozy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never any complaints when we dine here! ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Never any complaints when we dine here! Wonderful again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, just go, you won't be sorry. Fant ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great, just go, you won't be sorry.

Fantastic farm to table restaurant.

Fantastic food and great servive

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and good eats in downtown ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great ambiance and good eats in downtown Kinston. Our bread starter was truly delicious. Everyone sampled the broccolini and pork belly salad (like a broccoli salad). Our entrees were a sample of Eastern NC's best - seafood, pork and local veggies. We sampled a few craft brews made in Eastern NC too (who knew?!). A great pre-Thanksgiving evening with family and a few pictures of some of the staff made famous on the PBS documentary. A real jewel.

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been wanting to try this restaurant ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Have been wanting to try this restaurant for some time. My husband and I decided on a special date night and stayed over at The O'Neil boutique hotel across the street from The Chef And The Farmer.

Dinner at TCATF did not disappoint. Everything was spot on from the food to the service.

For an appetizer we ordered the beef hand pie and that really started everything off right. the pastry was crusty and flaky and the filling was delicious.

For the main entrée I ordered the pork chop prepared with a squash mustard and sautéed apples and pecans. The giant chop cut like butter and the pork was tender.

My hubs ordered the rib eye with Caesar dressed green beans and a turnip pudding. The beef was cooked to perfection.

All in all will definitely be back.

The hotel was so amazing like time stood still. It originally was a bank back in the turn of the 20th Century. The original safe has been restored and used for refreshments and coffee. Including beer from the Mother Earth Brewing Company down the block.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I am writing this review as I am watchin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I am writing this review as I am watching A Chef and the Farmer Marathon ..this was a great experience to visit this restaurant. I would recommend this restaurant to anybody. Watch the show before you come because the show is awesome! I think Ben did come and visit the table..if that was him forgive me for not letting him know it was him..

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Healthy, Business Meals, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous meals, atmosphere wi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Absolutely fabulous meals, atmosphere with very friendly and knowledgeable professional staff.

Worth the 90 min drive and can't wait to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the best menu choices this time when ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Not the best menu choices this time when we went. Been there and the food was good. Not so good this time around. Maybe because the chefs on the road.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Food and service is definitely declining ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food and service is definitely declining from years past don't rest on your laurels'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Well, watching Chef and the Farmer for 3 ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Well, watching Chef and the Farmer for 3 seasons now, I was completely oblivious to just how amazing Vivian Howard's food was going to taste!! You see the food on the television, and even though her extremely unique food choices look half-way appetizing (half-way only because I never ate collard greens before), to taste her dishes in person is a COMPLETELY different story I could have NEVER predicted!! Wish I could go back every night!

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was by far one of the most wonderfu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was by far one of the most wonderful dining experiences I have had. The bar was amazing. Our server Nika was genuine and knowledgeable about the menu options. The food was absolutely amazing in every aspect. We will be going again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food did not match my expectation. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food did not match my expectation. I was disappointed but had a great evening. The service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The service was impeccable!!! The staff ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The service was impeccable!!! The staff was beyond helpful and the food was fantastic!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location was great. There was comfor ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The location was great. There was comfortable seating and a very nice atmosphere inside. The food was outstanding and I would highly recommend Chef and The Farmer.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A dining adventure! I always try new thi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

A dining adventure! I always try new things and am surprised at how well I actually like them. The flash, fried collards are worth the trip!

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had 9:15 reservations but we were abl ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had 9:15 reservations but we were able to sit at the bar (my wife, daughter, and myself) when we went by right at opening. The two bartenders (Jordan was one of them) were awesome. Our evening was exponentially better thanks to their witty banter, observations on the menu, and worldly tales. Jordan's Old Fashioned didn't hurt either.

Great evening. My college age daughter saw the beauty of communal dining and conversation that we might not have otherwise had at our own table.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Make reservations. We did for our Weddin ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Make reservations. We did for our Wedding Anniversary. Staff and service are the best. They made us feel at home. We had the pork and steak dinners. Both were unique as much as they were great tasting. The atmosphere is the best in the area. We were seated where we could view the professional kitchen staff. Save room for dessert too. Unfortunatly I only got one bite of my wife's Brownie Pudding with marshmallow ice cream.

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined on our anniversary and it was exqu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Dined on our anniversary and it was exquisite! I watch her show, "A Chef's Life", so was thrilled to get to eat at her restaurant! I had the Trigger Fish and my husband the Oyster and Fish Stew. They both were outstanding, the flavors worked together like art. We will definitely be making another trip out to Kinston for another special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a birthday dinner for my friend ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This was a birthday dinner for my friend who was turning 80. The birthday card was a nice touch. All of the meals were excellent and original. Our server was friendly and attentive. It certainly lives up to all the hype. I drove up from Wilmington and my two friends drove down from Raleigh. The birthday girl had come from Boston for the occasion. We stayed overnight at the O'Neill. It was a wonderful birthday celebration. Thank you for making it so special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff, service, and food were well above ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Staff, service, and food were well above par and perfect for the Birthday surprise my wife

has dreamed about since viewing the first episode of Chef and The Farmer on the UNC TV Channel. My life has been great this week and your establishment has been the topic of conversation from time sharing our adventure during church fellowship hour to small talk while waiting for a complete for a conference call audience.

Thanks for bringing new life to excellent sources of fine dining found only in eastern NC and delightful illustrations provided in the cook book.

Thanks again, really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Casual, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A small gem, with an innovative take on ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

A small gem, with an innovative take on southern specialities, using only local ingredients. Forego preconceived ideas and prepare your tastebuds to say,"mmmm."

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What a great girls evening! We drove 2 ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

What a great girls evening! We drove 2 1/2 hours-----and it was so worth it!! This was my 3rd trip and I will definitely be back. So much fun to go in a small group and have everyone order something different, so that we can all taste everything. The carpaccio appetizer was amazing as well as the chicken liver mousse! So creative! Drive or fly---this restaurant never disappoints.......!! Susie is an amazing waitress---I still remember her the first time I went--she told us---"don't be afraid order something that you would never eat normally and you will be amazed." Such good advice and so true!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We traveled over four hours from southwe ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We traveled over four hours from southwestern Virginia to have a special dinner at this location. We've been following the show since the beginning. After having eaten there last night, I'm still in awe of the place. The food was familiar yet edgy, comforting with a twist. The sweet potato skins with collard greens was absolutely amazing, but the star of the show was their beer cheddar bread! The whole experience was superbly surreal but in a good way. We felt as if we'd stepped into a "The Life of a Chef" episode.

Of course my first question for Susan was if Vivian was there, and she was not; she was in Alexandria for her book tour. Ho-hum, maybe on our next visit we will be treated to her lovely blue eyes and infectious smile.

Ben showed up and our server, Susan asked him to speak with us. He was so personable and pleasant. His art work was hung liberally throughout the restaurant. For my husband and I, as artist and art lover, this was a real treat. It was both a treat gastronomically and visually.

Susan was the delight of the meal. She told us little tidbits about the history of the town, Kinston and the local people that have been involved in the downtown revitalization. Her knowledge of the food and recommendations made our meal spectacular!

Her parents came in for dinner and both they and Ben signed the copy of Deep Run Roots we purchased.

We hope to make it back soon. I'll be remembering this dinner for sometime to come.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food always something differ ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Outstanding food always something different; very friendly staff always ready to help. Love the Restrauant!!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fabulous-food, service and atmosp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was fabulous-food, service and atmosphere! Jessica was our very pleasant and knowledgeable server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So thrilled to have finally had the oppo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

So thrilled to have finally had the opportunity to dine at Chef & The Farmer !!! Been waiting too long !! Set up a reservation & trip with friends last spring & then I could not go ( but they did & raved about it !! ) Our dining experience was just as I had anticipated and expected !! I have been watching" A Chef's Life" since it first arrived on PBS and I was always so curious to try the restaurant right here in my state of North Carolina !! Couple hours drive, a stay over, and get to experience Chef & The Farmer and The Boiler Room !! We will be back- may have to be a twice a year experience for different seasonal foods !!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.