About Chef and The Farmer

120 W. Gordon St.
Kinston, NC 28501
View Larger Map

For additional reservation inquiries, please call our reservationist Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm.

Go to nowhere and turn left...you'll discover an extraordinary, epicurean experience where Chef Vivian Howard practices culinary artistry in a place steeped in tradition. Vivian has returned to her southern roots to create Chef and the Farmer. It celebrates simplicity, freshness and its own heritage.


Anchored in a building that has meant much to a small community where Vivian was raised, she and partner Ben Knight converted a 100 year old mule stable into a warm, inviting, uniquely modern atmosphere. Chef and Farmer, like its name, blends the old and the new, seamlessly, comfortably and unforgettably.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm -
If your preferred reservations are not available on-line or if your group is over 5, please call our reservationist Monday - Friday 9am -5pm.

Cross Street:
Herritage & Gordon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 208-2433

Website:
http://www.chefandthefarmer.com/

Executive Chef:
Vivian Howard

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrating a birthday? Try the "ULTIMATE Birthday cake".
A delicious vanilla layer cake, with chocolate buttercream frosting and sprinkles

The "ULTIMATE Birthday Cake" |
$15 cake - serves 2-4 guests | $40 cake - serves 10 or more guests

To order, please call our event coordinator at 252.208.2433 x3

.

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Beet Cake
Moonjito
Heritage Farms 16-ounce Bone-In Pork Chop with Sweet Potato Butter, Peanut & Celery Relish, Mustard and Pork Belly
Braised Pork Shoulder Lasagna
Triple Decker Apple Pie with Cinnamon Ice Cream and Caramel
Smoked Beef Carpaccio with Pear, Pecorino Romano Shavings, Pickled Peanuts and Garlic Leek Aioli
10-Layer Chocolate Cake with Old-Fashioned Caramel Icing and Toffee Crunch
Monkey Bread with Ancho Chiles and Lime Butter
Key Lime Curd & Coconut Meringue with Pecan Crumble and Graham Crackers
Boiled Peanut "Risotto with Rutabaga Relish, Benton's Bacon and Cornbread
Curried Citrus Marmalade Pork Belly Skewers with Pickled Jalapeños and Cilantro
Turnip Run-Ups in Potlikker with Air Dried Sausage, Cornmeal & Ricotta Dumplings and Tomato Jam
Dirty Grits with Sage Sausage, Sweet Onions, Crispy Chicken Livers, Sliced Celery and Chopped Apple
Tiramisu
Warm Lima Bean Spread
Hot, Salty, & Sweet
Pork Belly Skewers
Rice Crusted Catfish
Fried Green Tomatoes
Cheese Plate
Wood Fired Pizza, Caramelized Onion, Apple, Pork Belly & Tyme
Chilled Cherry Tomato Soup, Basil Oil, Crab Cake
Pan Seared Flounder, Crispy Heirloom Rice, Miso Sake Butter, Pickled Carrot
Sweet Tea Cheesecake.
Braised Winter Greens
Caramel Praline Ice-Cream  Of The Say
Rice Crusted Catfish With Tarragon Pickle Remoulade
Chocolate Molton cake
Sweet Ricotta Johnny Cake
Bbq Shrimp & Triggerfish
Pork Belly, Peanuts & Pepsi
Pump My Grits
Seared Scallops, Charred Pepper Sauce, Bean Relish, Rice Grit Fritters

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chef and The Farmer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Food
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
17 More
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Value
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Hot Spot
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Notable Wine List
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Raleigh
Best Food
Raleigh
Best Service
Raleigh
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Best Value
Raleigh
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh
Hot Spot
Raleigh
Notable Wine List
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Kinston ›

special occasion (321)
fit for foodies (295)
notable wine list (152)
See All
neighborhood gem (133)
romantic (125)
hot spot (110)
good for groups (82)
vibrant bar scene (42)
great for lunch (11)
late-night find (11)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

the food was okay I enjoyed most of it. ...

Dined 3 days ago

the food was okay I enjoyed most of it. The coleslaw for the fish dish had too much vinegar then adding the watermelon radish was over powering but it didn't taste horrible. Overall, I liked the experience. I would try it again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

If you love the PBS series "A Chef's Lif ...

Dined 3 days ago

If you love the PBS series "A Chef's Life" this is a not-to-be-missed destination dining experience. Staff was exceptionally friendly and took the time to answer all of our questions - true southern hospitality!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic experience again with ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We had a fantastic experience again with Chef and the Farmer, and will continue to stop in on the way to the coast. The service is seriously incomparable

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we arrived one hour early, toured the br ...

Dined 5 days ago

we arrived one hour early, toured the brewery, snacked in the boiler room, got to the restaurant had a drink at the bar(great service). we were seated and proceeded to have a really great dinning experience. the service and the food were EXCELLENT. we were celebrating a birthday and had a great time, can not wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed the Catfish and Barrel fish. ...

Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed the Catfish and Barrel fish. Very awesome dining experience. The cream collar dip was worth the trip. I would recommend to anyone for incredible dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable experience! Ended up bookin ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Unbelievable experience! Ended up booking reservation in the wrong day...my fault completely! They seated us at a lovely table in the bar and gave us full meal service AND complimentary appetizer of fried collards which were fabulous. I asked if they uses blue cheese olives in their martinis and they said no. When martini arrived..blue cheese olives! None of us have ever had a dining experience like it. Catfish wonderful! Chocolate chess pie..amazing. Worth the 4 hour drive from Charlotte!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food that lived up to our hig ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Incredible food that lived up to our high expectations.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We are fans of the PBS series so this wa ...

Dined 6 days ago

We are fans of the PBS series so this was a foodie road trip for us. Three of us had fish and they were delicious. One had chicken - the seasoning and sides were excellent but the chicken was a bit dry. The squash soup with crab was wonderful. The sommelier was very knowledgeable. Our waitress (Mallory?) was just great - very professional, answered all questions, gave good advice and very fun to boot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We watch chef life's all the time and dr ...

Dined 6 days ago

We watch chef life's all the time and drove from va bch to just experience this restrauant and we were not disappointed the food and service was wonderful. Can not wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We loved it.... well worth the trip off ...

Dined 6 days ago

We loved it.... well worth the trip off the beaten path.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This experience was over the top. We wer ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

This experience was over the top. We were completely taken care of. The food was everything we wanted and more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! My wife and I had our annive ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Great food! My wife and I had our anniversary dinner there and it was very special to us. Great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved it! We visited Chef and the Fa ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We loved it! We visited Chef and the Farmer for the first time on the night that we became engaged. We celebrated our anniversary this time. A very special place for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been enjoying A Chef's Life on P ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We have been enjoying A Chef's Life on PBS for several seasons. Our adult children will come over and we will eat and watch several episodes. As self proclaimed foodies, (as well as one son being a trained chef) we see what we can come up with to go with each segment. One night we said, "We only live two hours away, let's go to the Chef and Farmer!" So we got reservations for several weeks away and started making plans to visit. I feel the restaurant has contributed a lot to the revitalization of the downtown area. We stayed at The O'Neil and were charmed. But now for the food. The four of us had 6 apps, 3 entrees and 3 deserts. Barkley's Mill Grits; creamy and delicious, could be a side, Beef Collard Wraps; collards were tender with just a touch of Asian flavor not overpowering the sweet potato and finishing with a crunch and the Strawberry Glazed Pig's Wings were sweet and savory and totally reminded me of growing up in NC. The Rice Crusted Catfish was probably my favorite, so crunchy on the outside, flaky and tender on the inside with that bright collard slaw. Yellowfin Tuna was cooked to perfection, as well as the Ribeye with the roasted corn. Finishing with the Zucchini Crumble (I think it was called) with burnt butter ice cream was perfect. All three desserts were beautiful and scrumptious. Our wait staff was excellent, and the somellier was helpful and personable. We happened to be there on their 10th anniversary and even though we didn't see any celebrities, the whole please was busy and exciting with TV cameras and staff. Our only regret is that we live over two hours away or we would be back every week. Wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If you love watching "A Chef's Life" on ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

If you love watching "A Chef's Life" on PBS visiting the restaurant is a North Carolina must. It is a great experience! Food is creative and amazing, and it is fun to see the staff shown on the show. Tip - dinner is an event, do not expect a quick meal, average meal seemed to be at least 2 hours.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food. The pork chop was the ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good food. The pork chop was the best ever -- needs to be a "signature" dish for certain. Seating is good no matter where you are located. Fun atmosphere and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid restaurant. Hard to find in this a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Solid restaurant. Hard to find in this area of North Carolina. Well worth the drive from the Jacksonville area. Would make the trip even if I lived in Wilmington. Service, drinks, food were excellent. Will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for our anniversary dinner. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great Place for our anniversary dinner. We have enjoyed watching the show on PBS and it was great to be able to experience it first hand. My wife and I had surgery so we can only have small severing they split everything for us, it was GREAT!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

The service and food was wonderful! How ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The service and food was wonderful! However, it was very hard to converse with my dinner date throughout the evening. Something is needed in the dining area to decrease the noise level in order to better hear your dinner guests.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard so many good things about t ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had heard so many good things about this restaurant and it did not disappoint. We love the farm to table concept. Everything we ordered, from appetizers to desserts, was fresh and delicious. The atmosphere was comfortable and upscale. And our service was fantastic. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional menu. Earthy. Fresh. Prop ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Exceptional menu. Earthy. Fresh. Properly cooked and beautifully plated. A wonderful dining experience for a very special occasion. Attentive cheerful staff served gracefully without hovering. Drove four hours to dine there and were not disappointed in any manner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our second time at Chef and the ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This was our second time at Chef and the Farmer. We live in California, and have gone out of our way to eat there the two times we have been in North Carolina. The food is superb. Everything on the plate is crafted to perfection. The pickled, uncooked beets garnishing one starter were some of the best things I have ever eaten. As in many fine dining places, we found the starters more satisfying than the entrees. There is something wonderful about the flavor intensity of a perfectly crafted small plate. We had the collards, the Tom Thumb, the souse, and the grits. For dessert, the pound cake with lemon curd, blueberries and chantilly cream was divine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit, and it was as ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

This was our second visit, and it was as great as our first visit. The food, wine, service, etc. is absolutely the best. A real gem in eastern NC. We will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at the Chef and Farmer was a Chri ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Dinner at the Chef and Farmer was a Christmas gift to me from my husband. A nice drive from Bulls Gap, Tn., we met our reservation time and were seated promptly, served a glass of chilled water and our server introduced herself. Choosing dinner was troublesome-how do you choose just one?! I went for the roast pork and seared cabbage and house white wine. And choosing a dessert was just as hard-but the chocolate chess pie with bourbon ice cream and crumbled pretzel was the perfect choice. Did i mention that it is poor taste to lick your plates clean but I could have!! A very nice dining experience all together. Thank you Santa!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this marks my fifth time to Chef and a F ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

this marks my fifth time to Chef and a Farmer and it never disappoints. It is a must go to when I have visitors. The food is always good and different. Staff is friendly and professional . The cocktails where very good as we allowed the bartender to create a drink based on our liking. Excellent Evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience from beginning to e ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent experience from beginning to end. We started off with a pre dinner cocktail at the bar. Very interesting selection of hand crafted cocktails. We had a Basil Bite and a Blackberry Elixer both cocktails were beautifully crafted and tasted fantastic. For dinner we started with several shared plates all of which were a treat. Really liked the Tom Thumb and the Souse Biscuit. The Chilled Squash soup with Crab was also very good. For dinner we had the Rice Crusted Softshell Crab and the Sage Brined Pork Chop. Both were delicious. Dessert was a chocolate chess pie that had a praline carmel drizzle, it was excellent. Our waitress Mary was absolutely charming. Thank you Mary, you are the best! What we enjoyed most about Chef and the Farmer was how comfortable the staff made us feel from the moment we walked in the door. The atmosphere is very relaxed and comfortable. The menu is also diverse and creative and caters to different taste, both adventurous and traditional. Thanks C&F for a delicious meal and a memorable evening. Well worth the 8 hour drive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 55 wedding anniv ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We were celebrating our 55 wedding anniversary! Had a delightful evening. Our table was ready the moment we arrived and we were greeted with a very friendly hostess and wait staff. The dining time was very pleasant and not rushed. Food presentation was lovely and the taste was excellent. We tried several items we don't normally order and really enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We got all that we were hoping for in ou ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We got all that we were hoping for in our experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very disappointed in the food & service. ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Very disappointed in the food & service. Our 2nd time there. We had a reservation for the next night & canceled it. Very noisy can hardly yourself think. I love the show, but will not be returning to the restaurant. Our first meal there last year was very flavorful and service was good but was still very noisy. The owners were not present either time, maybe they need to spend some moer time at the restaurant?

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Having grown up 15 miles from Kinston be ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Having grown up 15 miles from Kinston before living in New York and San Francisco for more than 30 years, I appreciate Vivian's commitment to local purveyors. Her creative spin on familiar ingredients is fearless and makes me homesick.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sisters and I watch the show and want ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My sisters and I watch the show and wanted to experience the restaurant. We drove almost two hours from our home and it was absolutely worth every mile! We all ordered something different (3 small plates, 3 entrees, and 3 desserts) so we could sample as much as we could. Every single bite was wonderful and so flavorful! The service was fantastic also. The fact that Ben and Vivian each stopped by our table while we were dining was icing on the cake. We will be making the drive again to have another wonderful dinner there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were introduced to "Chef and the Farm ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We were introduced to "Chef and the Farmer" while watching "A Chef's Life" on NC Public Television. We were fascinated with the farm to table approach of using local NC farm produce on a daily basis. We greatly enjoyed the imaginative approach to food preparation and enjoyed each course. It was a special birthday for us, but we will not limit our return visit to just special occasions. The staff was friendly, courteous, and outstanding. We were especially impressed with the "flash fried" Collards. Overall, a wonderful and rewarding experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect meal for a 40th anniversary

Dined on June 10, 2016

Don't miss the flash fried collards or the Tom Thumb. I think next time we will just get appetizers and small plates. Chocolate chess pie with bourbon ice cream was the perfect ending. Service was outstanding as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Meal, Then a Surprise

Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife and I totally enjoyed our meal at The Chef and The Farmer. We especially liked how Chef Howard takes traditional ingredients or recipes and gives them a modern spin without undermining its roots. Then, when we were ready to leave, our server informed us that the bill had been taken care of by someone who wished to remain anonymous. A first for us and we are very grateful!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

I was really excited about the prospect ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

I was really excited about the prospect of eating at The Chef and the Farmer. Our experience was a let down. The quality of the food was okay. The reservationists was not well informed. When asked if our daughters could share a meal her response was a curt "NO". When asked if there was a "kids" meal the response was a curt "NO". Unfortunately our experience was not worth the $208 we spent. I hope that the receptionist takes time to better educate herself for the resteraunt she represents.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding. Very well thou ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was outstanding. Very well thought out and paired menu. Enjoyed the entire experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since we were traveling to NC for a fami ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Since we were traveling to NC for a family wedding we figured we could squeeze a trip to visit the restaurant we love watching on A Chef's Life- we are so glad we did! Fantastic staff- we felt welcome right away and were able to visit a local brewery and the Boiler Room before our reservation. Our server Jessica was so sweet and knowledgeable about the menu- we ordered too much food but we don't know when we'll be able to visit again. I just wish we had had room for dessert. Definitely a gem you don't want to miss!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Superb food, an exceptional experience.

Dined on June 10, 2016

Had seen the restaurant on PBS in SC and was glad to have the opportunity to dine there while visiting Eastern NC. The experience was everything I had hoped it would be.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I read an article about the restaurant 3 ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

I read an article about the restaurant 3 years ago and always wanted to go. Finally did and what an experience we had. Staff and service were wonderful. Seated promptly at our reservation time. Maria our server greated us immediately. She was very friendly, polite and helpful. All the selections were new for the day. We could have had them all. The food is fresh and expertly prepared. There is really not much more to say that the other 1500 reviewers didn't already say. Just go and experience the restaurant yourself. Go out of your way as we did by 75 miles. JUST GET THERE.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

June 2016

Dined on June 8, 2016

The noise level was extremely loud. We could not hear the waitress or each other. Enjoyed the nice slow pace of the arrival of the food. Did not feel rushed. Susan was our waitress and was very helpful and personable. Fun to people watch. Food was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.