About Chef and The Farmer

120 W. Gordon St.
Kinston, NC 28501
View Larger Map

For additional reservation inquiries, please call our reservationist Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm.

Go to nowhere and turn left...you'll discover an extraordinary, epicurean experience where Chef Vivian Howard practices culinary artistry in a place steeped in tradition. Vivian has returned to her southern roots to create Chef and the Farmer. It celebrates simplicity, freshness and its own heritage.


Anchored in a building that has meant much to a small community where Vivian was raised, she and partner Ben Knight converted a 100 year old mule stable into a warm, inviting, uniquely modern atmosphere. Chef and Farmer, like its name, blends the old and the new, seamlessly, comfortably and unforgettably.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm -
If your preferred reservations are not available on-line or if your group is over 5, please call our reservationist Monday - Friday 9am -5pm.

Cross Street:
Herritage & Gordon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 208-2433

Website:
http://www.vivianhoward.com/chef-the-farmer/

Executive Chef:
Vivian Howard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrating a birthday? Try the "ULTIMATE Birthday cake".
A delicious vanilla layer cake, with chocolate buttercream frosting and sprinkles

The "ULTIMATE Birthday Cake" |
$15 cake - serves 2-4 guests | $40 cake - serves 10 or more guests

To order, please call our event coordinator at 252.208.2433 x3

.

Restaurant Photos

Chef and The Farmer
Chocolate Beet Cake - Chef and The Farmer
Heritage Farms 16-ounce Bone-In Pork Chop with Sweet Potato Butter, Peanut & Celery Relish, Mustard and Pork Belly - Chef and The Farmer
Moonjito - Chef and The Farmer
Smoked Beef Carpaccio with Pear, Pecorino Romano Shavings, Pickled Peanuts and Garlic Leek Aioli - Chef and The Farmer
Triple Decker Apple Pie with Cinnamon Ice Cream and Caramel - Chef and The Farmer
Monkey Bread with Ancho Chiles and Lime Butter - Chef and The Farmer
10-Layer Chocolate Cake with Old-Fashioned Caramel Icing and Toffee Crunch - Chef and The Farmer
Key Lime Curd & Coconut Meringue with Pecan Crumble and Graham Crackers - Chef and The Farmer
Boiled Peanut "Risotto with Rutabaga Relish, Benton's Bacon and Cornbread - Chef and The Farmer
Turnip Run-Ups in Potlikker with Air Dried Sausage, Cornmeal & Ricotta Dumplings and Tomato Jam - Chef and The Farmer
Dirty Grits with Sage Sausage, Sweet Onions, Crispy Chicken Livers, Sliced Celery and Chopped Apple - Chef and The Farmer
Curried Citrus Marmalade Pork Belly Skewers with Pickled Jalapeños and Cilantro - Chef and The Farmer
Braised Pork Shoulder Lasagna - Chef and The Farmer
Tiramisu - Chef and The Farmer
Warm Lima Bean Spread - Chef and The Farmer
Hot, Salty, & Sweet - Chef and The Farmer
Pork Belly Skewers - Chef and The Farmer
Rice Crusted Catfish - Chef and The Farmer
Fried Green Tomatoes - Chef and The Farmer
Cheese Plate - Chef and The Farmer
Wood Fired Pizza, Caramelized Onion, Apple, Pork Belly & Tyme - Chef and The Farmer
Chilled Cherry Tomato Soup, Basil Oil, Crab Cake - Chef and The Farmer
Pan Seared Flounder, Crispy Heirloom Rice, Miso Sake Butter, Pickled Carrot - Chef and The Farmer
Sweet Tea Cheesecake.  - Chef and The Farmer
Chocolate Molton cake - Chef and The Farmer
Braised Winter Greens - Chef and The Farmer
Rice Crusted Catfish With Tarragon Pickle Remoulade - Chef and The Farmer
Caramel Praline Ice-Cream  Of The Say - Chef and The Farmer
Bbq Shrimp & Triggerfish - Chef and The Farmer
Sweet Ricotta Johnny Cake - Chef and The Farmer
Pork Belly, Peanuts & Pepsi - Chef and The Farmer
Pump My Grits - Chef and The Farmer
Seared Scallops, Charred Pepper Sauce, Bean Relish, Rice Grit Fritters - Chef and The Farmer

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chef and The Farmer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
12 More
Hot Spot
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Notable Wine List
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Raleigh
Best Food
Raleigh
Best Service
Raleigh
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Best Value
Raleigh
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh
Notable Wine List
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Kinston ›

Special Occasion (301)
Fit for Foodies (276)
Notable Wine List (156)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (122)
Romantic (117)
Hot Spot (110)
Good for Groups (85)
Local Ingredients (58)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Worth the Drive (56)
Good for a Date (50)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Open Kitchen (47)
Authentic (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Seasonal (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Casual (20)
Late-night Find (20)
Modern Decor (18)
Fun (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Wood Oven (15)
Healthy (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Organic (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Business Meals (10)
Cozy (10)
Great Beer (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Private Room (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Historic (5)
Tapas (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best dinner and experience we have ever ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Best dinner and experience we have ever had. Lived up...went way past....our expectations. Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have followed the show and this was on o ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Have followed the show and this was on our "Bucket List"! Drove from Chesapeake Virginia just to visit the restaurant and a little tour of Kinston. Totally exceeded our expectations.......just wished Vivian was there, or to run into "Warren" or "Miss Lilly" would have sent our visit over the top!!

Already had our reservations for C&F and took a side trip to visit the Boiler Room when returning from Beaufort NC in August; it too was great!!!

Have to say, the best service at both I've ever had!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We watch the Chef and the Farmer on Publ ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We watch the Chef and the Farmer on Public TV and fell in love with Vivian. We are foodies and enjoy trying new restaurants. We like the way Vivian works with the farmers and uses local, seasonal foods. We made arrangements to stop in Kinston on the way back from Myrtle Beach to Virginia Beach. We felt extremely welcome coming into the restaurant. The service was fantastic and the food was so amazing. We had four dishes and loved all of them. We started with a pork pate over apple slaw served with delicious bread. For the second course we had a salad of apples, squash, arugula which was amazing. For our main courses, my husband had beef short rib with a field pea cake and I had roasted pork. Both were delicious.

We finished it off with chocolate-coffee pound cake with hazelnut ice cream and orange crème. It melted in your mouth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Historic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very tasty, and unique. Exc ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was very tasty, and unique. Excellent service. Very pricey, that is why I wouldrecommedforspecialoccasions.Thereiseven a charge forbread, which othershaveascomplimentary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed everything that we ate. The m ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We enjoyed everything that we ate. The menu is very creative and really pushes you to try unique combinations. It is in a remote location, so try to make a day of it if you can or continue on to the beach.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Casual, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Chef and the Farmer is everything I ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

The Chef and the Farmer is everything I was hoping it would be. It is easily one of the best restaurants in North Carolina. If you have not been, add it to your bucket list now. If you have been, you know. The seasonal ingredients and local farm to table thesis are executed to perfection. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and professionally trained. Where ever you are, it is worth the drive. If you are more than several hours away, then I would recommend making a weekend at the inner banks of NC and stop here for dinner on your way. Fayetteville, Raleigh, Wilmington, it is easy to make the drive and head home that night, unless you have had a few of their craft cocktails. This is a true gem and should be experienced by anyone with southern roots as a nostalgic journey to the way your grandparents used to cook with a modern interpretation. For anyone else who wants to know what true southern heritage cooking is and your current evaluation of southern food is a deep fried anything, then come change your experience and wipe away your stereotypes. If cooking is art, then The Chef and the Farmer belongs in The Louvre.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Modern Decor, Fun, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was amazing! We had a wonderf ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Everything was amazing! We had a wonderful evening! Already planning return visits!!

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had heard SO much about this place and i ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Had heard SO much about this place and it did NOT disappoint!! A little unhappy w/ wine selection and "rushed" feel from our waitress but, will definitely go again and recommend to friends!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pork rillettes with the bread service an ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Pork rillettes with the bread service and the carpaccio were over the top tasty, grits and pimento cheese app good but not great. Oysters in the catfish and oyster stew were, sadly, only chunks of oysters, not whole oysters, and fried to chewy, rubber nubs. Redfish entree lacked something..., salt? Don't know what, just missing the high-end cuisine spark that I expected. Overall, a good meal but not good enough to make me want to come back frequently.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I made a point of visiting t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

My wife and I made a point of visiting the Chef and the Farmer after driving from Texas and down the Outer Banks. Could not have been more pleased. From the welcome received when we entered through the wrong door to the top notch service and extraordinary food it was a great experience. Just wish it was closer to home so we could visit moe often.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fan of the TV show so came quite a dista ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fan of the TV show so came quite a distance. Loved the open kitchen. Bartender was very good at crafting cocktails. Service was charming. Fried okra was delicious but small portion. Kale salad and apple squash salad were delish! Highlight of the meal. Gitch in pacing left us waiting too long for entree so weren't as hungry as we should have been. Short rib was good but didn't care for vinegar taste in beans. Porchetta was very flavorful but spaetzle was bitter. Unfortunately we didn't have dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Loved our visit. We have been several ti ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Loved our visit. We have been several times and loved the food and the unique combinations . Our most recent experience would give the food an A instead of an A+. Bring Vivian back to check in!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic, once again. Everything was sp ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic, once again. Everything was spot-on. Our server , Maria was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine selection - did not steer us wrong with her recommendations... well worth the wait!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This place is absolutely incredible. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This place is absolutely incredible. The service is on point - super respectful, knowledgable, prompt servers who take the time to get to know the guests. The food and drinks are outstanding. Seriously, Chef and The Farmer is really something special. Sadly we don't live nearby (we made a special trip here on the way back to Baltimore from our Ocean Isle Beach wedding!) or we would be here every weekend! Simply sublime. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent service was excellent ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was excellent service was excellent and no wait with reservations will be going back very soon

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fabulous! Our server was nice ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Our server was nice as can be, and very personable. My husband told him about scrapple back home and asked if he could try a piece of the Tom Thumb. They made it happen and it was delicious! The noise level was low enough that I could hear my husband easily across the table and we didn't have to shout. The food was excellent. My husband was a little wary given the descriptions but he had no need to be. Everything was perfectly balanced and opened up his pallet to something new. This place is high class without being stuffy or pretentious. We made the reservation back in July and it was well worth the wait! We will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All around excellence. A local phenom t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

All around excellence. A local phenom that's proven itself to be a nationally acclaimed destination in one of the poorest small cities in Eastern NC. Chef and the Farmer is transforming the community into a once again vital marketplace.

The food and beverage is an ever-changing and never-boring event, which never fails our expectations.

We also recommend their other restaurant, The Boiler Room, which offers an even more relaxed (flip flops welcomed), walkin, family atmosphere of drinks, burgers, seafood, etc.

Thank you Vivian and Ben, and Staff! Oh, and a big THANK YOU to Mr. And Mrs. Howard for enforcing the "must be in Eastern North Carolina" requirement.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Romantic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Bar Seating, People Watching, Casual, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic from start to finish! Well cur ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fantastic from start to finish! Well curated beverage program and reasonably priced wine list complimented our stellar food and excellent service. Thanks so much to the team at the restaurant for what goes down in my book as one of my top dining experiences ever. Make the trip here!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine steward was excellent, so knowledge ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Wine steward was excellent, so knowledgeable about the wine and about the food menu, unpretentious and fun. Tom Thumb sausage and my fried flounder over fried oyster chowder were delicious.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner,worth the drive.Great w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Fantastic dinner,worth the drive.Great wine list.Fantastic appetizers for sharing.Out of this world desserts.Everything with pork was just luscious!Check it out!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been following A Chef's Life for so ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I've been following A Chef's Life for some time on PBS. On this trip from Atlanta to Richmond, we decided that we'd take the sidetrip to Kinston. It was a great decision! We loved the food, we loved the service (Maria was great!) , we loved Ben's artwork, too! We didn't love the noise level - it was a bit frenetic. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and service. It was really lo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great food and service. It was really loud and very hard to carry on a conversation. I will eat there again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved it , best restaurant I've ever bee ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Loved it , best restaurant I've ever been to. I was impressed with staff service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dreamy, delicious, delightful. What mor ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Dreamy, delicious, delightful. What more can I say? My experience far exceeded my expectations. Plus, our waitress, Genevieve, was absolutely wonderful. She knew my husband and I were celebrating our anniversary, so placed a little candle on our dessert plate for us. It was a sweet little touch to make it feel special. Also, most of the staff remembered us from the night before and greeted us by name. It's small details like that, that make guests at C&F feel truly special. One day we'll make the trek from Ohio down to Kinston again, because it was totally worth it this last time!!

All our love to the staff!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an emotional first visit! I was li ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

What an emotional first visit! I was literally shaking the second I walked through the door. Being a huge "A Chef's Life" and Vivian fan, it was a dream come true to drive the 10 hours to dine at Chef and the Farmer. The staff was immediately warm and welcoming from the second my husband and I walked through the door, to the minute we left. Everything was outstanding and far exceeded my expectations. Even though we didn't get to meet Ben or Vivian (because what are the odds?), the overall experience was wonderful and we'll remember it fondly for a very long time. Maybe I can convince my husband to go back for another visit in a year or two!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very outgoing and pleasant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The staff was very outgoing and pleasant. The appetizers were delicious but the entrees were lacking. The country ham dish and the Cornish hen were good, but the eggplant was smothered in sauce. The Bavette steak was too tough and chewy. The deserts were average. Perhaps just a bad night for the chef, but very disappointing. Definitely, not worth the money. I honestly think Ms Howard is an excellent chef and her success is well deserved, I hope my experience was just a fluke.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

WONDERFUL! Food was perfect and the serv ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

WONDERFUL! Food was perfect and the service was absolutely the best we have ever experienced. From when we walked into the door until we left... felt like everyone loved what they were doing and it definitely showed!! Ben stopped by several tables to chat while we were dining including ours! Super nice and relaxed. He did not act as if he was rushed. We truly enjoyed his stopping by to just make sure we were happy and to just talk. Loved everything about this dining experience but do want to make a special comment about the fried Okra and Ranch ice cream.... WOW! The hot Okra with a Cold Ranch ice cream .... would never have dreamed something would taste so good!! Ranch ice cream needs to be available to buy in stores everywhere!! Thanks to everyone at Chef and the Farmer for a meal that we will

Never forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Friendly greeting, ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Excellent experience. Friendly greeting, seated right on time. Server Clarissa was charming and attentive. She knew the menu thoroughly and helped us make selections to fit our tastes. Bar made me a moscow mule even though it was not on the cocktail list. Highly recommend several shared plates to start (must have is the okra). All 3 entrees were home runs - and we even had a nice table side visit with Ben Knight. It is a bit loud, but it is a good thing generating from the buzz of the patrons and staff. Everyone was having a good time. Not cheap but absolutely worth it for the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

We knew that we wanted to come eat at th ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We knew that we wanted to come eat at the Chef and the Farmer when we were coming to visit Greenville, NC. We have been watching A Chef's Life on PBS for the past year and watching Vivian Howard grow as a chef. Overall, the food was great. I wished I could have tried the short ribs instead of the ham, but there's always next time. The eggplant, corn, and mozzarella dish was my favorite. I wished they could have named the flash fried collards to collard chips so I knew what I was getting into. The ambiance was very energetic, and we enjoyed sitting near the kitchen as we watched them cook and plate our dishes. I also enjoyed reading about the restaurant and the reviews on our way to the wine cellar. I would definitely recommend anyone to come eat at this gem in the middle of nowhere Eastern NC, and we can't wait to come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been many times but for company f ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I have been many times but for company functions and we are always upstairs or in the private room so it's always quiet, the main restaurant is nice but a bit loud. The good was good except for the Amberjack, wish I had picked something else, I are it but was not my favorite.

I like this sort of dining but at $100 a pop it doesn't happen often.

Overall it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great dinning experience with varied foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great dinning experience with varied food choices. Excellent service , courteous, competent wait staff. Chef and cook staff very industrious and efficient.

(Wife watches the show each week on PBS)

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was terrific, but ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The overall experience was terrific, but there were some areas that need improvement.

We arrived for a 7:00 PM reservation and had to wait almost 20 minutes before a table was ready. The server was very pleasant and took our orders quickly. The first dishes arrived within 15 minutes, but not together. We had to wait 5 minutes for the second dish to arrive. Luckily, my wife was having the Beef Carpaccio so there was no worry about it getting cold before my dish arrived. Both the Wood Fired Flatbread and the Carpaccio were very good. The next problem was the wait for the main dishes. After the first dishes were cleared, it took almost 30 minutes for the next course to arrive. Once again, both dishes were very good. The Fish, Clam & Shrimp Stew was tasty with a little heat. The Seared Tuna was perfectly cooked and very delicious.

We ended with the Peach Upside Down Cormeal cake and the Chocolate Coffee Pound Cake. Both were good.

Overall, a very pleasant evening, but the kitchen needs some work on the timing of the dishes. One note.....the restaurant is VERY noisy. This is not the place for a small, intimate dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I was so looking forward to dining here, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I was so looking forward to dining here, especially since I have watched her show and live right in Jacksonville. They sat us immediately at the table right at the entry door. The setting sun was blinding right through the doorway for about 30 minutes. Keisha was our waitress and explained the menu and was fantastic. I hadn't realized the menu had changed since I made the reservation. I was looking forward to the tomatoe pie and possibly pork chops. But instead had a butter bean menu. All in all I found the presentation great. My friends are not very food adventurous, but enjoyed trying new things. Loved the fried okra. The sweet potato bread was wonderful, but no taste of the caremelized onions. I had the seafood stew. My friends had the chicken, which was super moist, but said the fig and other ingredients too sweet. We tried all 4 of the desserts to end the evening. I think I would try to go there when other things are in season.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I and my less than convinced spouse made ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I and my less than convinced spouse made this a destination for our mini-vacation this week. I have been following the development of this restaurant and chef Howard on television. I've followed her lead experimenting in my own tiny kitchen. So, I expected great. What we encountered was better than any restaurant experience we've had in the U.S. Or Europe.

My first impression was of the staff. They were clearly working as a well oiled team and happily so in the dining area as well as the kitchen. Our meals, his the seafood stew, mine the roasted fresh pork with scallion fried rice, began with the Daily Bread-- a sweet potato bread served with a pork + pâté (I do not know the mix and pâté is my word). Let's put it this way -- neither of us has been satisfied with a meal since.

Don't worry about wasting your money here. Even the cocktails are top notch. And, really, it's expensive but not unreasonably so. I'm saving up for another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Have dined here before ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great experience. Have dined here before. Great service. Celebrated a friend's 75th birthday. Love the unique use of fresh local ingredients. Plan to go again soon. Ordered roasted chicken breast and short ribs. Both were delicious. The chocolate coffee pound cake and hazelnut ice cream were out of this world. The after dinner coffee was very bold and strong...so amazing! Did want the snapper but was only offered in a stew. The chicken instead was a great replacement, however. Love the bathroom. Candles, cloth hand towels, smelled fresh and was super clean. Wish the watermelon daquari would have been a larger size because I wound up ordering two any way. Traditional daquari drinks are much bigger. Consider dropping the word daquari and replacing it with another word? It was mighty small for $9.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Organic, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual, Great Beer, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant with wonderful unique ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Lovely restaurant with wonderful unique dishes. Different every time we go. Just love it.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant waitstaff. Food was well p ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Very pleasant waitstaff. Food was well prepared and flavorful. Open modern concept.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful evening we (my wife and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

What a wonderful evening we (my wife and our 2 friends)had at Chef and The Farmer. This cuisine is so different it's hard to explain how fabulous it was. As soon as we walked in ,to the last bite of our scrumptious desserts, this was a dining experience we will never forget. Great service (friendly and knowledgeable,thanks Maria), and we had the pleasure of a conversation with Ben,the co-owner with his wife Vivian (who wasn't there that night,bummer). I will say. this place is not for everyone unless you're open to very a very upscale southern cuisine. If you're not that adventuresome give The Boiler Room a shot. This is the sister restaurant of CATF. great burgers and oysters. It's right next door. Looking forward to my next trip to Kinston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.