Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Ginger 108Ginger 108
(113)
$$$$
Contemporary Asian | Kinston, Raleigh
Booked 2 times today
VILLEDGEVILLEDGE
(80)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Greenville, Greenville
Booked 3 times today
Totopos Street Food & Tequila-GreenvilleTotopos Street Food & Tequila-Greenville
(6)
$$$$
Mexican | Greenville, Greenville
Booked 5 times today
SoCo Farm and FoodSoCo Farm and Food
(49)
$$$$
Contemporary Southern | Wilson, Wilson
Booked 2 times today
On The SquareOn The Square
(965)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Tarboro, Raleigh
Booked 8 times today

About Chef and The Farmer

120 W. Gordon St.
Kinston, NC 28501
View Larger Map

For additional reservation inquiries, please call our reservationist Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm.

Go to nowhere and turn left...you'll discover an extraordinary, epicurean experience where Chef Vivian Howard practices culinary artistry in a place steeped in tradition. Vivian has returned to her southern roots to create Chef and the Farmer. It celebrates simplicity, freshness and its own heritage.


Anchored in a building that has meant much to a small community where Vivian was raised, she and partner Ben Knight converted a 100 year old mule stable into a warm, inviting, uniquely modern atmosphere. Chef and Farmer, like its name, blends the old and the new, seamlessly, comfortably and unforgettably.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm -Opening on Mondays starting November 7th
If your preferred reservations are not available on-line or if your group is over 5, please call our reservationist Monday - Friday 9am -5pm.

Cross Street:
Herritage & Gordon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 208-2433

Executive Chef:
Vivian Howard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrating a birthday? Try the "ULTIMATE Birthday cake".
A delicious vanilla layer cake, with chocolate buttercream frosting and sprinkles

The "ULTIMATE Birthday Cake" |
$15 cake - serves 2-4 guests | $40 cake - serves 10 or more guests

To order, please call our event coordinator at 252.208.2433 x3

.

Chef and The Farmer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (121)
Special Occasion (118)
Worth the Drive (114)
See All
Creative Cuisine (110)
Good for a Date (102)
Fit for Foodies (93)
Good for Anniversaries (89)
Open Kitchen (81)
Authentic (60)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Romantic (54)
Notable Wine List (49)
Handcrafted Cocktails (45)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Seasonal (39)
Fun (35)
Bar Seating (32)
Wood Oven (30)
Modern Decor (30)
Casual (29)
Hot Spot (29)
Cozy (28)
Comfort Food (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Healthy (24)
Organic (24)
Tasting Menu (20)
Business Meals (20)
Great Beer (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
People Watching (17)
Outstanding Value (17)
Historic (14)
Family Style (11)
Tapas (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Vegan (7)
Private Room (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fireplace (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Spicy (3)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2583 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding food, great service, entire ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding food, great service, entire staff goes out of there way to make the experience memorable!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

seen this place on PBS -TV and had to t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

seen this place on PBS -TV and had to try it. had heard so much about it from others and it was as good as they said. our family of four all got something different and everyone's dish was delicious service was great and we will be going back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was great but not to be out don ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was great but not to be out done by our very patient waitress Joanne! She was awesome and made our first visit unforgettable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

gave this trip to my wife for Christmas ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

gave this trip to my wife for Christmas as one of her gifts and she loved it. we came from richmond va so we had a ways to travel. the weather was perfect, we loved Kenston and the beautiful homes their. the restaurant experience was awesome. we felt like food critics sitting in a place we watch on tv. the food choices were great the staff was very friendly and very attentive. being able to watch what was going on in the kitchen was a lot of fun. she enjoyed it so much she is talking about the next time! For anyone who wants to experience wonderful food that is a little different than normal this is the place you should come to. Great experience!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the bar overlooking the busy k ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We sat at the bar overlooking the busy kitchen and I would not sit anywhere else, unless I was with a crowd. The staff is wonderfully trained and see to your every need and to watch the food being prepared makes you want to order everything on the menu! The menu is seasonal with local produce and each dish is creatively constructed. I can't recommend this place enough. We live in Charleston SC and it is our 3rd visit and Kinston isn't easy to get to, but well worth the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and great service. I sat ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Fantastic food and great service. I sat at the kitchen bar so I was able to watch the chefs prepare the food. I will go again when in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second visit. The first time was with ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My second visit. The first time was with a group of 10. Because of the size of the group we had no choice but to eat in the private dining room and the only seating option was 5:30. The room was nice, but noisy. Not crazy about eating that early. Mixed reviews on the food within our group. Other than one order of overcooked duck, everything else was fine--not great, not bad. Although we live 2.5 hours from Kinston and must spend the night, we decided to give it another shot. This time two couples in the main dining room. Great ambience, excellent appetizers, okay entrees. One order of an undercooked pork chop, which was replaced, but took too long. Our server was distracted. She apologized several times, saying she was really busy. Hmmm. Our wine glasses sat empty several times and each time we had to bring that to her attention. All four of us agreed that if we lived close by, we would come back, but we don't, so we won't. We have two excellent restaurants in Wilmington with as much, if not more, to offer: Manna & PinPoint, and that is only a 45 minute drive for us. Final thought: we had a second reservation for dinner at Chef & Farmer the following night, but we cancelled it and went to their sister restaurant across the street, The Boiler Room Oyster Bar, and had a GREAT meal!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We've eaten at Chef and the Farmer sever ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We've eaten at Chef and the Farmer several times. This time, it was a disappointment. The cabbage in my Hoppin' John wasn't sufficiently cleaned and still had sand (!) in it. It took forever for dinner to be served. I could see maybe an hour and a half from appetizers to dessert, but two hours??!! My husband and I had the orange buttermilk sorbet. I make strawberry buttermilk sorbet at home and we've had the lemon buttermilk sorbet there at Chef and the Farmer so I think I have some idea how it should taste. The sorbet last week was almost too tart to eat. I couldn't finish it. Think they forgot the sugar. Perhaps the server could have warned us? For the hour and a half drive to get there, I think we'll be sticking closer to home.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The Chef and Farmer is always full of su ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The Chef and Farmer is always full of surprises! The food was an experience of new tastes and juxataposition of unexpected flavors. Delightful! The staff was fun, and their recommendations were spot on! Our favorite place to bring out of town guests never disappoints!

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Authentic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I traveled quite a distance to have dinn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I traveled quite a distance to have dinner at Chef and the Farmer as I'm a big fan of Vivian Howard. The restaurant is beautiful, the service was great, and the food was good. I absolutely loved several dishes we ordered, while a couple of them were misses in my opinion. I would recommend this restaurant, especially for a special occasion, and would definitely go back if I find myself in the Kinston area again.

Tags: , Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not my type of food. Very noisy and ta ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Not my type of food. Very noisy and tables too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Very unique food combinations.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Very unique food combinations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been planning on dining at Chef & t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I've been planning on dining at Chef & the Farmer for over two years. Finally, my dates opened up and I was able to make reservations for my husband and two best friends. We enjoyed every dish we ordered!

I've listened to people talk about opening a restaurant. I always suggest they watch Vivian Howards show on PBS as a starting point. I've worked in kitchens as a prep chef and worked at busy kitchens. Chef and the Farmer has accomplished everything to make a diners experience enjoyable and a menu to satisfy all of your taste buds.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a pilgrimage for us. We had be ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This was a pilgrimage for us. We had been wanting to eat here for three years, and were finally able to tie it in with a trip to Charleston.It was worth it! We now understand Vivian's approach to her food better than before. Her realization of local food sources and re-imagining of the food of the South is consistent and delicious! The service was gracious, including an extra dessert for keeping us waiting. Unnecessary, but much appreciated. There were a couple of menu innovations that we loved - the Classic Shorts, small versions of classic cocktails to start the meal, but not too much that a bottle of wine will be over the top. Dessert flights - we wanted to try everything, and almost did!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Before meeting Vivian Howard in a book s ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Before meeting Vivian Howard in a book signing in Cary, NC, we made a reservation at The Chef and The Farmer for Jan 2. We drove 80 minutes each way and it was well worth the drive to Kinston. Very innovative food created from local ,humble "Carolina" products. From appetizers to rutabagas, my wife and I enjoyed it all ! Service was excellent. Definitely recommend their tables near the kitchen to see how it is done.

Paul and Deb B

Tags: , Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A jewel in eastern NC! Big fan of the sh ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

A jewel in eastern NC! Big fan of the show and this 1st time visit to the restaurant exceeded our dreams! Liked the fact that we ate very one-of-a-kind cuisine and did not leave hungry and ambiance was not pretentious or stiff. It had the perfect balance of high class and local familiarity. Loved the flash fried collards and all the different big plates we ordered were perfect. In fact, we still crave those collards now on a daily basis morning and night! Tender delicious local meat paired perfectly with local veggies that had a gourmet spin to them. We were surprised to get full sizes of each dessert when we ordered the dessert sampler. It was worth it! Very much liked the graham crackers that dipped into the key lime and coconut pie filling. Bourbon ice cream was also delicious with the chocolate chess pie. We will definitely come back and hope to meet Ms. Howard next time.

Tags: Family Style, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The three hour drive was so worth it!!!! ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The three hour drive was so worth it!!!! The dishes were innovative and tasty. The staff was very welcoming.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We drove a long way to dine at Chef and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We drove a long way to dine at Chef and the Farmer, only learning of the restaurant after watching the TV series. We relished seeing the various staff, busily attending tables and customers, even though Vivian had already left for the evening. The mixed drinks were creative confections, perfect compliments for the meals to come. The beer cheese bread was probably the best carb on the planet. Loved the chicken liver mousse (would have enjoyed more toasts given it was a shared plate), the crispy sorghum on the apple, beet citrus salad was an inspired touch to off-set an assertive dressing. Partner raved about the flounder and fried oysters, short ribs had a wonderful sauce (meat more fatty than expected, even for short ribs), served with a sumptuous sweet potato mash and delicious farro side. Warm and charming server was a bit stumped for additional information on the menu items once they arrived leaving us more curious about the vegetable and condiments. Minor stuff. Overall, it was a treat to dine at Chef and the Farmer, a memorable evening of local food elevated superbly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

My husband and I have been here several ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I have been here several times for special occasions. Tonight was without exception, amazing. The beef and sweet potato lasagna was out of this world tasty. We always love the fried collards and desserts did not disappoint.

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband took me here for my birthday ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband took me here for my birthday last week. The staff was so friendly and attentive. They even gave me a birthday card when I sat down at the table which was so thoughtful. We both loved our meals. To start, we had the lima bean spread with beer toast. YUM! I had the fried oyster and fish stew and it was absolutely delicious. The cocktails were unique and wonderful to try. The best part of the night was meeting Chef Vivian Howard outside the restaurant! We will definitely be back to Chef and the Farmer. It is one of our favorites restaurants now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We drove eight hours for our second dini ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We drove eight hours for our second dining experience at CATF, which was just as fantastic as our first!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my boyfriend (a complete foodie) ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I took my boyfriend (a complete foodie) for his birthday. He loves watching all food related shows, including the PBS show featuring Vivian Howard, and Chef and The Farmer. To our delight, we saw Vivian Howard outside as we soon as we arrived. She was approachable, friendly, and welcoming. A birthday card from Vivian Howard was on the table for my boyfriend as soon as we were seated. The food, wine, and ambiance was top notch. We met Vivian in the gift shop after our meal. She was quick to engage in conversation, inquire more about us, and get our feed back regarding our dining experience. She is so delightful! We both walked away with a hug from Vivian Howard. Our experience is one for the history books. I definitely recommend Chef and The Farmer. We will be going back!!!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Organic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Anticipated a romantic ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very good food. Anticipated a romantic anniversary dinner, and had really anticipated the Chef and the Farmer (we are "foodies "), but walked away mildly disappointed. It was very loud, service was adequate, but not spectacular, and we were just underwhelmed by the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

We waited two months for our reservation ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We waited two months for our reservations and the food was well worth it! Such great flavors in traditional southern fare. Service was impeccable. Loved watching the open kitchen. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and ambience were terrific. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The service and ambience were terrific. I love that the food is authentic to the area and Vivian's origins with her own creative flair - eastern North Carolina farmer provided and chef inspired.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service and even better food unusua ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good service and even better food unusual combinations

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a real treat to take my parents t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It was a real treat to take my parents to Chef and The Farmer. Ben, Vivian, and their staff are excellent. I was thoroughly pleased with our meal and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef and the Farmer is a gem for North C ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Chef and the Farmer is a gem for North Carolina. Chef Vivian Howard is so creative and talented. Every dish is a delight. we are originally from New York and have dined in the finest restaurants in NYC, and Chef and the Farmer matches or beats them all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The experience was good. The food was i ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The experience was good. The food was interesting and tasty. I feel it was overpriced for the amount of food served. It was a new experience for us but we probably won't return because it was a 3 hour drive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Loved it - delicious, interesting food a ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Loved it - delicious, interesting food and a fun yet classy atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and great food. My wife ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great atmosphere and great food. My wife and I love to eat at what we call " One-Off " restaurants. Meaning owner operator/chef. Not a chain. We love local cuisine and The Chef and The Farmer is one of our favorites. If they have "Our Daily Bread" on the menu, it's a must eat. Kudos to the staff. A++++++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was awesome! Beautiful place, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Everything was awesome! Beautiful place, excellent food & drinks, friendly staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided (weeks in advance) to come he ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We decided (weeks in advance) to come here over the Christmas break with our daughters. We had met Vivian Howard at her book signing at NCSU the week before our reservation at The Chef and the Farmer. She was great and so down to earth!

The dinner was everything and more than what we expected. The Daily Bread was delicious, and the cheese ball with the homemade crackers were a home run.My husband who doesn't care for sweet potatoes had the Braised pork with sweet potato lasagna,he thought he had died and gone to heaven. I had the Flounder with the greens and beet slaw, it was excellent. My daughters had the Guinea pastry and the Flounder. Everyone was happy,happy, happy with their choice. We had the flight of 3 desserts (Peppermint Chocolate Cake, Apple Pie with Cinnamon Ice Cream and Key Lime and Coconut Meringue Pie with homemade Graham Crackers! ) all were incredible! This was the best and most creative meal we have every had. Make a reservation and go, you will be pleased.

My only complaint is that our server started out a bit slow however, he quickly fixed that. Understandable with the busy Christmas season and a full house .

If you have not purchased Deep Run Roots go now and get it, a fabulous cookbook and history lesson on the food of the South!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I'm always impressed by the quality and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I'm always impressed by the quality and inventiveness of the menu and it's adherence to the concept of following the seasons. Service is always great and drinks are fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat at the bar while we waited for our t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Sat at the bar while we waited for our table. Had an amazing apple sour drink. When we were seated our server was just lovely. The staff are just wonderful. The meal was beyond excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this restaurant! Love the new cook ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Loved this restaurant! Love the new cookbook! A great experience and worth the drive!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome (as usual) but the serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food was awesome (as usual) but the service may have been even better. I give service 6 stars if I could.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited to have dinner here for ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We were excited to have dinner here for our anniversary and we were not be disappointed! We can't wait to return! Would also recommend Vivian Howard's new cookbook--it gives background to her culinary approach.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable. Our sever Su ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The service was impeccable. Our sever Susan was a delight to have. She had a mastery of the menu and drink parings. The food was top notch. And the staff went above and beyond with a handwritten card for my wife's birthday as well as candles on our desert. Thanks Chef and Farmer. We can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed the whole dining experi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I really enjoyed the whole dining experience. Next time I would love to sit at the bar overlooking the kitchen.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.