About Chef and The Farmer

120 W. Gordon St.
Kinston, NC 28501
View Larger Map

For additional reservation inquiries, please call our reservationist Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm.

Go to nowhere and turn left...you'll discover an extraordinary, epicurean experience where Chef Vivian Howard practices culinary artistry in a place steeped in tradition. Vivian has returned to her southern roots to create Chef and the Farmer. It celebrates simplicity, freshness and its own heritage.


Anchored in a building that has meant much to a small community where Vivian was raised, she and partner Ben Knight converted a 100 year old mule stable into a warm, inviting, uniquely modern atmosphere. Chef and Farmer, like its name, blends the old and the new, seamlessly, comfortably and unforgettably.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm -
If your preferred reservations are not available on-line or if your group is over 5, please call our reservationist Monday - Friday 9am -5pm.

Cross Street:
Herritage & Gordon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 208-2433

Website:
http://www.vivianhoward.com/chef-the-farmer/

Executive Chef:
Vivian Howard

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrating a birthday? Try the "ULTIMATE Birthday cake".
A delicious vanilla layer cake, with chocolate buttercream frosting and sprinkles

The "ULTIMATE Birthday Cake" |
$15 cake - serves 2-4 guests | $40 cake - serves 10 or more guests

To order, please call our event coordinator at 252.208.2433 x3

.

Restaurant Photos

Chef and The Farmer
Chocolate Beet Cake
Heritage Farms 16-ounce Bone-In Pork Chop with Sweet Potato Butter, Peanut & Celery Relish, Mustard and Pork Belly
Moonjito
Smoked Beef Carpaccio with Pear, Pecorino Romano Shavings, Pickled Peanuts and Garlic Leek Aioli
Triple Decker Apple Pie with Cinnamon Ice Cream and Caramel
Monkey Bread with Ancho Chiles and Lime Butter
10-Layer Chocolate Cake with Old-Fashioned Caramel Icing and Toffee Crunch
Key Lime Curd & Coconut Meringue with Pecan Crumble and Graham Crackers
Boiled Peanut "Risotto with Rutabaga Relish, Benton's Bacon and Cornbread
Turnip Run-Ups in Potlikker with Air Dried Sausage, Cornmeal & Ricotta Dumplings and Tomato Jam
Dirty Grits with Sage Sausage, Sweet Onions, Crispy Chicken Livers, Sliced Celery and Chopped Apple
Curried Citrus Marmalade Pork Belly Skewers with Pickled Jalapeños and Cilantro
Braised Pork Shoulder Lasagna
Tiramisu
Warm Lima Bean Spread
Hot, Salty, & Sweet
Pork Belly Skewers
Rice Crusted Catfish
Fried Green Tomatoes
Cheese Plate
Wood Fired Pizza, Caramelized Onion, Apple, Pork Belly & Tyme
Chilled Cherry Tomato Soup, Basil Oil, Crab Cake
Pan Seared Flounder, Crispy Heirloom Rice, Miso Sake Butter, Pickled Carrot
Sweet Tea Cheesecake.
Chocolate Molton cake
Braised Winter Greens
Rice Crusted Catfish With Tarragon Pickle Remoulade
Caramel Praline Ice-Cream  Of The Say
Bbq Shrimp & Triggerfish
Sweet Ricotta Johnny Cake
Pork Belly, Peanuts & Pepsi
Pump My Grits
Seared Scallops, Charred Pepper Sauce, Bean Relish, Rice Grit Fritters

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chef and The Farmer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Food
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
15 More
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Value
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Notable Wine List
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Raleigh
Best Food
Raleigh
Best Service
Raleigh
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Best Value
Raleigh
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh
Notable Wine List
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Kinston ›

Special Occasion (329)
Fit for Foodies (289)
Notable Wine List (156)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (135)
Hot Spot (118)
Romantic (114)
Good for Groups (89)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Late-night Find (20)
Great for Lunch (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Scenic View (5)
Local Ingredients (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Authentic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely wonderful dining experience! ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely wonderful dining experience! Can't wait to go again and see what seasonal changes are made. The food was beyond compare and more than generous proportions. The atmosphere was very friendly and just had an overall great vibe. Plus enjoyed watching the workings of the kitchen which is viewable from just about everywhere in the resturaunt. Perfect place to take a foodie for a date nite.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After watching many TV EPISODES, we deci ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

After watching many TV EPISODES, we decided to go there for our 46 th anniversary! We live 2 hrs away but it was well worth the trip. We were disappointed that neither Vivian or Ben were there, but that didn't detract from the great dining experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Well worth the drive from Ral ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious! Well worth the drive from Raleigh. Loved it. JNW

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The blueberry and black raspberry cobble ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

The blueberry and black raspberry cobbler.... PERFECT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at this restaurant. Kind of ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

First time at this restaurant. Kind of knew something of what to expect from the tv show.

Seats we had were outstanding. To be able to sit by the window and watch the chefs was a treat. Exceptional service from the staff.

Selections from the menu were varied enough to cover most any craving.

I knew it would be pricey to dine at this establishment but I think it was worth it.

Will be back again for some other special event but will definitely be saving my pennies (and nickels and dimes and quarters, etc.)

Had a great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Every dish we tried was better than the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Every dish we tried was better than the one before. All world class. Service was impeccable. Bartender was awesome. Run, do not walk to this place. You will be planning your return before the meal is over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Be sure to try the f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent. Be sure to try the fried okra and buttermilk ranch ice cream appetizer and the country ham wrapped peaches appetizer. Mmmm.

Service was outstanding and attentive without being pushy.

We had a wonderful evening meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second visit - the first was GREAT. Thi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Second visit - the first was GREAT. This time not so great. The food was extremely salty. Salty to the extent that two of us (different selections) could not eat the meal. The service was top-notch and, overall, the experience was worth the trip. The third visit to the Chef and the Farmer will tell!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

our experience at the Chef and Farmer wa ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 5 days ago

our experience at the Chef and Farmer was everything we had expected and hoped for. The food was outstanding. The menu was very imaginative and delicious. Service was also outstanding, just the right amount of attention. Jordan, our bartender while waiting for our reservation was fun and quite the entertainer. Definately worth the drive.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Organic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came to Chef and the fa ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I came to Chef and the farmer for my 30th birthday dinner. We did 3 of the shared plates (pizza, peaches and okra) all of them were incredible. We shared the large Tuna plate as our main course, but we were underwhelmed by it. It lacked flavor and we wished we would have gotten more shared plates instead. We chose to do the 3 different desserts, cornmeal cake, chocolate chess pie and the cobbler, all of them delicious. Well worth the drive down from Raleigh for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It's amazing Chef has pulled off the imp ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It's amazing Chef has pulled off the improbable, a packed restaurant nightly in a town that is all but empty and the food is terrific. We tried about half the menu and everything was great. Loved the pork with braised watermelon---who would have guessed Loved the Tom Thumb and the souse.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

For once, everything went exactly as hop ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

For once, everything went exactly as hoped. The meal was special; the staff was friendly, helpful, and informative; the ambiance perfect. The Tom Thumb appetizer and the blueberry/blackberry cobbler dessert were the best. We hope to get back soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came to eat the locally prepared food an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Came to eat the locally prepared food and was not disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I had been wanting to go here for years ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I had been wanting to go here for years and it did not disappoint. Not the best meal I've ever eaten but VERY good. The chocolate chess pie is certainly the best I have ever eaten (beats Angus Barn's!). Looking forward to returning again sometime.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time at Chef and the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was our first time at Chef and the Farmer and it did not disappoint! We made a day of it by starting at Mother Earth Brewery for drinks, followed by appetizers at the Boiler Room, dinner at Chef and the Farmer and finally a great stay at the O'Neil Hotel. Kinston's downtown is revitalizing !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent on each and every way! Can't ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent on each and every way! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic. An 8pm reservat ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was fantastic. An 8pm reservation was later than we would've liked , but we were seated on time. A lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We came to celebrate our 43rd anniversar ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We came to celebrate our 43rd anniversary we had two ribeye steaks which really could have used more seasoning .The egg plant salad was excellent, and the service at the bar was excellent also. This was our third time coming to The chef and the farmer a little disappointed in the lack of seasoning on the ribeye. The service overall was beyond a five star rating. One more thing the blueberry/ Blackberry cobbler was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the second time we have eaten at ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is the second time we have eaten at Chef and the Farmer. The food was excellent and the service was great. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Best food for 400 miles!Beth is a joy, J ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Best food for 400 miles!Beth is a joy, Justice kills it and staff is golden!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The was our second time at Chef and The ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The was our second time at Chef and The Farmer. We arrived a little early and had a drink at the bar. The bartender was very outgoing and helpful, answering all our questions and making sure we were pleased with our drinks! The food was delicious as before, but I was disappointed in the service. Our waitress was not attentive. One of my friends asked for a to go box for her meal. The waitress took the plate and didn't return with the to go box. She took our order for dessert, but never mentioned the to go box. When we asked for a to go box for dessert, we asked about the other food. She finally told us it had been thrown away and they were making 1/2 order to replace it. When she handed me my bill, she had charged me for a glass of wine. I told her I didn't have a glass of wine, she acted like she didn't believe. Then she asked which of my two friends had the wine. I said no one had wine; she displayed disbelief. Even though she took it off my bill, I left feeling as if she thought I wasn't being truthful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Shazzam.....all is was built up to be an ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Shazzam.....all is was built up to be and more. Dinner was fantastic..even had my Dad talking about it the next day. We had curry rubbed pork with watermelon and charred peppers, ribeye with butter beans and seared cobia with spaghetti squash and fresh herbs. Started with grits and pickled pole beans, flash fried collards and yes...the bread service. Wine was spot on. If attending, do yourself a favor and let the staff pick the dinner and wine selections. They know what they are doing.

Finished with the chess pie....awesome and rich.

I have to say that you will be hard pressed to find the quality and creativity that is displayed at the Chef and the Farmer...anywhere in the state. This is coming from someone who has lived in Wilmington, Raleigh and Charlotte and travels the SE for business.

Well done. Well worth the drive from Emerald Isle while on vacation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing food with fresh takes on ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Simply amazing food with fresh takes on fresh ingredients. Very original combinations of ingredients made for a truly memorable dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy dinner here

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We always enjoy dinner here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had heard great things about Chef & t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had heard great things about Chef & the Farmer from featured shows on CBS news and PBS~we weren't disappointed! Went for our anniversary dinner & drove 250 miles to savor every delicious mouthful! Absolutely divine food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was absolutely outstanding, the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was absolutely outstanding, the service was the best, and I will return. The only suggestion is it was quite noises and difficult for my hard of hearing friend did have difficulty carrying on the conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have known about Chef and the Farmer for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Have known about Chef and the Farmer for quite some time but have not had the opportunity to dine there until recently. We have dined at, and enjoyed, the sister restaurant, "Boiler Room." As for Chef and the Farmer, the entire experience was top notch. Greeted cordially and seated promptly (as per our 6:00 reservation) by the hostess, a very knowledgeable and personable server (Greg) stopped by and went through the menu and gave us space to decide what we wanted. No pressure or flack about our decisions. It was nice to be in a packed restaurant and be allowed to take our time to truly enjoy our experience. Kitchen staff visible in the open kitchen were working diligently and professionally to prepare what we easily deem one of our top 5 restaurant meals. If you read the menu and don't 'get it,' just go with it--they know what they're doing. Yes, watermelon goes with braised pork. Everything was expertly prepared and balanced, allowing for an enjoyable meal down to the last scrap-never a boring bite. Ben stopped by at the end of our meal for a quick conversation and experience check--clearly an in-touch owner. Would highly recommend to foodies, adventurous eaters, people who appreciate scratch-made food and those interested in what real Southern food tastes like. This restaurant is truly a gem--and contrary to what other reviews have said, it lives up to the hype, and then some.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time, and great payed back, but ye ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great time, and great payed back, but yet upscale dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WE really enjoyed it except the noise le ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

WE really enjoyed it except the noise level is too high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef and the Farmer is my favorite resta ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Chef and the Farmer is my favorite restaurant in NC! I love how the food plays tricks on your tastebuds. If I closed my eyes, I could be convinced my eggplant croquettes were real meatballs in a delicious smoky tomato sauce! I have been several times (twice in one week, beach and back) and loved everything we sampled.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We traveled just for the experience. I ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We traveled just for the experience. I was disappointed to hear Vivian had not been in resturant in 3weeks. We have a local treasure of a resturant in Va Beach, the biggest part of what makes it so special is the owner or owners son makes their way around to each table most every night to greet guests and chat with guests. This is what is missing. You had lots of young busy staff but they weren't as vested like Vivian and Ben would be.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Over priced for what you get, but was be ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Over priced for what you get, but was better then most resturants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife commented she could not get cold ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife commented she could not get cold tea we do live in the south.

Overall we enjoyed the exp. it was our 36th wedding anniversary.

We enjoy the series on TV.

Thanks

Keith

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food is as wonderful ,as seen on tv, ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food is as wonderful ,as seen on tv, and the service is even better. We drove 2:30 hour to get there and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great except for the tabl ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Everything was great except for the table location. We were right at the door and the sun was shining right thru the door and in my face. It was a bit noisy but improved as the time passed. The food and service were truly outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Perfect dinner for 2. Service was excell ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Perfect dinner for 2. Service was excellent. Never had to ask for my water glass to be filled! Thought food was displayed beautifully. Not over priced

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Outstanding in every way!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Outstanding in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the PBS TV show and almost feel I k ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Love the PBS TV show and almost feel I know the characters through how they relate to their audience. That set the bar pretty high for actually dining at Chef and The Farmer. Our family was greeted warmly and the staff did everything reasonable to meet our needs. Service was excellent. Loved the food and especially the dessert flight. My only disappointment was with the bread plate. They missed the mark with the value verses cost equation with the bread service. It was good, but nothing to write home about. The other shared plates we enjoyed were outstanding. Our entree dishes hit the mark completely. Overall it was time well spent and I would highly recommend a visit. It was both fun and relaxing. Can't wait to go again. We drove an hour to Kinston, but the route was easy driving.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have both been wanting to ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My wife and I have both been wanting to check out Chef and the Farmer since it opened. I made a reservation for her birthday last week and we drove the 90 minutes from where we live to Kinston, NC. We were not disappointed. We shared the country ham wrapped peaches app (think bacon wrapped dates but to a whole new level), she got a game hen dish and we split a piece of chocolate chess pie - one of our favorites! I ordered the porchetta dish, which was apparently very popular, as they 86'd it just before my order was entered. I ended up getting a curried pork and watermelon dish, which was also very good and unusual. Good wine list per my wife and I ordered some of my favorite beer from the affiliated Mother Earth Brewery. Though the prices are not for the faint of heart, I was happy to pay for a fresh, locally sourced meal that was also very tasty - perfect for a special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Since I love watching Chef and TheFarme ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Since I love watching Chef and TheFarmer, I was so excited to be close enough to eat there while we were on vacation in Oak Island. We invited friends to join us and made the two hour drive to Kinston...we were not disappointed!! From the service, to the specialty drinks, small plates, main course and the piece de resistance, the flight of desserts!! We chose one of everything so we could split our choices...the only downside was the two hour drive home. Highlyou recommend this restaurant as a destination on your vacation!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.