About Cheever's Cafe

2409 N. Hudson
Oklahoma City, OK 73103
View Larger Map

Cheever's Cafe, located just 2 miles from Downtown Oklahoma City, specializes in contemporary comfort food with Southwest influences. Cheever's serves a variety of prime steaks, fresh seafood and wonderful salads, as well as daily and nightly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday 11AM – 9PM
Friday 11AM – 10:30PM
Saturday 10AM – 10:30PM
Sunday 10AM – 9PM

Cross Street:
NW 23rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 525-7007

Website:
http://www.cheeverscafe.com/

Parking Details:
We have 2 private lots adjacent to the building for parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Hodginkson

Private Party Facilities:
Private room is available for dinner parties; and will accommodate up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Yohn: 4055257007x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Tequila Lime Shrimp Linguini - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Blue Cheese Potato Chips - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Pork Chop Special - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Wagyu Skirt Steak - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Five Spice Trout - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Roasted Pecan Ice Cream Ball - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Bread Pudding French Toast With Potatoes And Scrambled Eggs - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Juan's Queso - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Spicy Shrimp Risotto - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Oklahoma Caprese - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Five-spice Tilapia - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Bacon-wrapped Shrimp And Grits - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Chicken Fried Steak With Jalapeno Cream Gravy - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Tequila Lime Shrimp Fettucini - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Chimichurri Skirt Steak With Sweet Potato Enchiladas - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Ribeye Steak Rare - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Braised Short Rib Ragout - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Sweet Potato Pie - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Braised Short Ribs - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Chicken Fried Steak - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Halibut On Bed Of Shrimp Risotto - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Juan's Chihuahua Queso - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Duck Confit Tamales - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Shrimp and Grits - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Crispy Calamari - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Seared Scallops Special - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Chicken and Waffles - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Brunch Special Jalapeno Biscuits W/ Chipolte Gravy & Roasted Potatos - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Cheeseburger - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Blt With Fruit - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Sunday Brunch - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Ribeye Steak - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cheever's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Oklahoma City
American
Oklahoma City
Most Booked
Oklahoma City
5 More
Best Overall
Oklahoma City
Best Food
Oklahoma City
Best Value
Oklahoma City
American
Oklahoma City
Most Booked
Oklahoma City

Special Occasion (108)
Good for a Date (89)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
See All
Great for Lunch (69)
Fit for Foodies (66)
Romantic (60)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Great for Brunch (54)
Comfort Food (53)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Cozy (50)
Business Meals (48)
Worth the Drive (45)
Historic (38)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Hot Spot (31)
Fun (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Casual (23)
Authentic (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Local Ingredients (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
People Watching (11)
Healthy (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Seasonal (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Private Room (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Spicy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Family Style (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2589 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

very good food. Service was outstanding ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 3 days ago

very good food. Service was outstanding. Be sure to make reservations 3-4 days ahead for a weekend night. You won't get in otherwise. It is a little loud but the food, etc. makes up for it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Matt was our waiter and I've had him bef ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 3 days ago

Matt was our waiter and I've had him

before and he is great!!! As always great food and cocktails.

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cheever's is by far my favorite place to ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 4 days ago

Cheever's is by far my favorite place to go for brunch, lunch or dinner. Even with all of the choices that we have in OKC now Cheever's is still the best!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great tasting food and huge portions! Lo ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great tasting food and huge portions! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fab food at a great value. My fa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

Always fab food at a great value. My favorite restaurant in OKC!!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy Cheevers. The only issue ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

I always enjoy Cheevers. The only issue on this oscassion was a member of my party order a hambuger well done. It wasn't cooked through. With that exception everything else was excellent.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful meal and experience! Ch ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

What a wonderful meal and experience! Cheever's never fails to impress and deliver the finest food and dining experience around! A family favorite and go-to place for special occasions

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the lamb shank. It was room te ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

I ordered the lamb shank. It was room temp. The vegetables were a good tempature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Business lunch at Cheever's, and, as usu ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Business lunch at Cheever's, and, as usual, it was excellent. Food, service, atmosphere - all great. And our server, Will, is a star - he made an already good dining experience great. We had fun interacting with him. Great job, Will!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I really like eating here. The food is ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I really like eating here. The food is very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. You could throw a dart a ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Wonderful food. You could throw a dart at the menu and be happy with your selection. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here a few times. I've always ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I've been here a few times. I've always had great service. All the fried food is great and the shrimp and grits are amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice variety of items in case not everyo ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nice variety of items in case not everyone wants to same type of food. We had the chicken fried steak, short ribs, rib eye steak, skirt steak and salmon. The jalapeno gravy on the chicken fried steak was a favorite. Only comment that wasn't positive was that the rib eye wasn't tender, although it was tasty. The pecan ice cream ball for desert was a winner!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, halibut outstanding

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food, halibut outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything from the appetizer to the des ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Everything from the appetizer to the dessert was delicious. You really can't go wrong here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was amazing as always!

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Everything was amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful lunch! Food was great and our ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Wonderful lunch! Food was great and our server (Elliott?) was outstanding. Now on my sister 's list of places to go when she comes

For a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

As usual the service was outstanding and ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

As usual the service was outstanding and the food very good. We visit as often as possible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After eating at Cheevers for years, we e ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

After eating at Cheevers for years, we encountered the worst service ever. Our waitress appeared overwhelmed although the place wasn't that busy. We ordered an appetizer but she forgot to put in the order until we asked where it was. We also had to ask for refills

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Love love love this restaurant! Consist ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Love love love this restaurant! Consistently great service & great food! Enjoy taking my out of town guests here. They appreciate it as much as I do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a vibrant lunch scene--even when ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This is a vibrant lunch scene--even when the legislature isn't in session! So midway through the noon hour, it can get loud. We made reservations for 11:45 and loved being seated by the window. They have an interesting menu, food is always full of flavor and the service is carried out by cool people!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the second week in a row where m ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is the second week in a row where my food was overcooked. A bit surprising considering how many times they get everything perfect but, yesterday and last week our eggs were overcooked and the meat was a bit tough. I might not go for brunch again for a while

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. New menu items since ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent service. New menu items since last visit. Great cocktails and great prices!!! A staple for brunch every time I come to town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience of cheevers cafe sets a nic ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The ambience of cheevers cafe sets a nice setting for what should be a nice dinner. While the service was very good my girlfriend was served raw fish, cold brussel sprouts, and I was served a cold meal as well which had to be remade. I'll give the restaurant credit where it was due the manager was very nice and offered to remake everything. We ended up just paying for the drinks due to the mishaps. I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and Cheever's was the perfect selection. The service was top shelf as was the food selections. We did get a bottle of wine that fit the celebration and didn't cause a hardship on the pocketbook. GREAT PLACE!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and good service, but the ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious food and good service, but the building is in dire need of an acoustic upgrade. I could barely hear my girlfriend 3 feet across the table from me. We also had to wait 25-30 minutes for our main courses, while others seated 10-15 minutes after us at a table and the bar got their food before we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Cheever's always hits the spot. I usuall ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Cheever's always hits the spot. I usually get the Chicken Fried Steak along with an LIT for dinner and an ice cream ball for dessert. All are fantastic!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

1st visit Great Food !! Good service lo ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 16, 2016

1st visit Great Food !! Good service loved the bit of history and uniqueness! Differently will return

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Cheever's once again delivered and fine ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Cheever's once again delivered and fine meal with high quality service.

Consistently good for years.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 1st visit and certainly not our last ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our 1st visit and certainly not our last!!! Our new go to restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chicken Tortilla Soup is always outs ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The Chicken Tortilla Soup is always outstanding. Chicken Fried Steak & Quinoa Avocado Salad are also fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great as usual! Kaeli took gre ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was great as usual! Kaeli took great care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such great waitress. Reagan was her name ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Such great waitress. Reagan was her name. Always a pleasure to dine here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have had dinner at Cheever's, and I th ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I have had dinner at Cheever's, and I thought the entire experience was great - the food was phenomenal, the wait staff was wonderful, and the ambience was exactly what I wanted. For lunch, though, I had the special - a steak and mushroom sandwich on rye, and I thought the flavors simply didn't mix well; plus, the steak (ribeye) was approximately equal portions meat and fat. I left rather disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome food as always! MARA our server ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Awesome food as always! MARA our server was a gem & was very attentive! She is definitely another reason to return!

Signed, a Foodie from Dallas.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chicken fried steak and roasted chic ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The chicken fried steak and roasted chicken enchiladas were delicious. The roasted pecan ice cream ball is outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Omg!! Food was awesome. We will be goin ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Omg!! Food was awesome. We will be going back to try some different items soon. Great service also, and strong Vodka tonics!! Try one.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Homemade Cinnamon Roll was a divine addi ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Homemade Cinnamon Roll was a divine addition with our coffee for Brunch! We also tried the Cowgirl Benedict (skillet potatoes, chicken fried chicken, fried egg, red chile hollandaise, avocado) and loved every bite! We will be back for more brunches.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An amazing brunch! The food was well-cra ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

An amazing brunch! The food was well-crafted and delicious. I loved watching the bartender sing and dance. My waiter was mostly absent, but everything else was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great birthday experience! Excellent foo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great birthday experience!

Excellent food and service, great drinks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.