About Cheever's Cafe

2409 N. Hudson
Oklahoma City, OK 73103
View Larger Map

Cheever's Cafe, located just 2 miles from Downtown Oklahoma City, specializes in contemporary comfort food with Southwest influences. Cheever's serves a variety of prime steaks, fresh seafood and wonderful salads, as well as daily and nightly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday 11AM – 9PM
Friday 11AM – 10:30PM
Saturday 10AM – 10:30PM
Sunday 10AM – 9PM

Cross Street:
NW 23rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 525-7007

Website:
http://www.cheeverscafe.com/

Parking Details:
We have 2 private lots adjacent to the building for parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Hodginkson

Private Party Facilities:
Private room is available for dinner parties; and will accommodate up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Yohn: 4055257007x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Tequila Lime Shrimp Linguini
Blue Cheese Potato Chips
Juan's Queso
Pork Chop Special
Wagyu Skirt Steak
Five Spice Trout
Roasted Pecan Ice Cream Ball
Bread Pudding French Toast With Potatoes And Scrambled Eggs
Spicy Shrimp Risotto
Oklahoma Caprese
Bacon-wrapped Shrimp And Grits
Chicken Fried Steak With Jalapeno Cream Gravy
Five-spice Tilapia
Tequila Lime Shrimp Fettucini
Chimichurri Skirt Steak With Sweet Potato Enchiladas
Ribeye Steak Rare
Braised Short Rib Ragout
Sweet Potato Pie
Braised Short Ribs
Chicken Fried Steak
Halibut On Bed Of Shrimp Risotto
Juan's Chihuahua Queso
Duck Confit Tamales
Shrimp and Grits
Crispy Calamari
Seared Scallops Special
Chicken and Waffles
Brunch Special Jalapeno Biscuits W/ Chipolte Gravy & Roasted Potatos
Cheeseburger
Blt With Fruit
Sunday Brunch
Ribeye Steak

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cheever's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Oklahoma City
Great for Brunch
Oklahoma City
Great for Lunch
Oklahoma City
9 More
Neighborhood Gem
Oklahoma City
American
Oklahoma City
Most Booked
Oklahoma City
Best Value
Oklahoma City
Great for Brunch
Oklahoma City
Great for Lunch
Oklahoma City
Neighborhood Gem
Oklahoma City
American
Oklahoma City
Most Booked
Oklahoma City

Special Occasion (180)
Fit for Foodies (149)
Neighborhood Gem (143)
See All
Great for Lunch (129)
Great for Brunch (113)
Romantic (96)
Hot Spot (61)
Good for Groups (43)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for a Date (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Business Meals (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Historic (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Cozy (10)
Fun (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Scenic View (7)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Healthy (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my favorites in OKC, Cheever's ne ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 3 days ago

One of my favorites in OKC, Cheever's never lets me down. Hubs and I celebrated our anniversary with a scrumptious dinner. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service excellent. Delicious food.

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service excellent. Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We never have a bad experience here. Ama ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 3 days ago

We never have a bad experience here. Amazing food, amazing staff, amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cheevers is a great brunch destination. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Cheevers is a great brunch destination. The food is always fresh and delicious. My friend and I met for brunch, and we were not disappointed. I had their special, crab over cornbread with a tasty hollandaise sauce and poached egg. There was a zucchini dish on the side which was equally yummy! I definitely recommend Cheever's as a brunch stop. Reservations are suggested as it has become an OKC brunch hotspot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cheever's has set such a high standard t ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Cheever's has set such a high standard that a couple of the meals in our party were barely average, and thus really disappointing for a Cheever's dining experience. The server never asked how our food was during or after the mea. I will go back, because I have had many great experiences. I hope not to have another like this one, but everyone has an off night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We have been to Cheevers many times, and ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We have been to Cheevers many times, and it is usually very good. however this time two of the order were prepared incorrectly. by the time my Girlfriend had her food, everyone in our party was totally finished eating. and there was a lot of time we were without drinks. I hope this is just a one off experience for us as we like to go a lot and bring in out of town guests. Just not the quality im used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Four of us met to share drinks along wit ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Four of us met to share drinks along with brunch. Fortunately, we had a reservation as folks were standing outside when we arrived. I think our server was either new or distracted but we eventually got what we wanted. Generous servings, good drinks amongst a low roar of happy customers. An OKC classic. Check it out!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great brunch! Great Bloody Mary and grea ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great brunch! Great Bloody Mary and great eggs Benedict !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was fantastic. She was very a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our server was fantastic. She was very attentive, considerate, and provided wonderful recommendations. My parents, who were visiting from out of town, really enjoyed eating here and they can be difficult to please.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Massive burrito special and great El Mat ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Massive burrito special and great El Matador drink. Food was okay but not outstanding. Austin took very care of all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We had another great meal at Cheevers, t ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had another great meal at Cheevers, this time for brunch. Biscuits and Gravy were fantastic and the portion size was just right. The masa cakes with shrimp risotto, soft poached eggs and verde sauce really hit the spot. We will definitely be back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite when in OKC. This t ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always a favorite when in OKC. This trip proved once again why that is so. My wife had the grits, I ate the French toast bread pudding. The three other people in our party tried 2 other brunch items. Everyone left raving. My French toast bread pudding was the consensus favorite. We finished by celebrating my sons birthday with a pecan crusted ice cream ball. Wow! We had a server that added to the experience in a major way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the ambience and where they had us ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love the ambience and where they had us seated. Waiting was very polite, attentive, and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cramped and noisy, had to raise my voice ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Cramped and noisy, had to raise my voice to an uncomfortable level to have dinner conversation. A glass of wine took 5 minutes to be served. The table layout bothered me the most, in that it gave the appearance that the parent company for Cheever's was interested more in squeezing out more revenue than creating an environment where the guest dining experience was #1 priority. If I am paying over $100 for a meal at a place like Cheever's, I would expect my server to "sell" the feature and not read it from their cash book like it's something they have to do. The one positive is I never had to ask for my water to be refilled and I appreciated that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Always the best. Our experience this tim ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always the best. Our experience this time was. I different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing place to go eat!!! Great experie ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Amazing place to go eat!!! Great experience!!! Everyone should!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Each entrée ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Each entrée had layers of tastes that complimented the meat or fish. Best surprise was the cauliflower bread pudding. Service was outstanding and helpful with dessert suggestions - we did the strawberry shortcake. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is consistently delightf ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This restaurant is consistently delightful. Food is delicious and service is great. Always an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the ribeye, excellent preparation ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I had the ribeye, excellent preparation and flavor. The broccoli, sweet potato, and walnut soup tasted great! Service was a bit slow with the wine. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, great wine recommendatio ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Excellent food, great wine recommendation, prompt efficient service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed a creative special while my dini ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Enjoyed a creative special while my dining companions enjoyed their classic chicken fried steak. The wait staff was attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cheever's is always a great place to din ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Cheever's is always a great place to dine with that special someone or with friends. The Stroudle is great every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Cheever's is always my "go to" for brunc ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Cheever's is always my "go to" for brunch. They know me there and I feel like I'm having a meal with my family. Love Cheever's!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cheever's is my favorite brunch spot in ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Cheever's is my favorite brunch spot in Oklahoma City. The food is always on point and the service is always stellar. I always have a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved loved loved Cheevers! We will be b ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Loved loved loved Cheevers! We will be back! Definitely gets my vote for best brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose this restaurant based on review ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on reviews. We were not disappointed. The menu had lots of excellent choices. Our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. Could have used a few more Rose wine choices on the wine list...White Zinfandel is not a Rose!!!!! Overall, enjoyed Cheever's and would definitely go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Chicken Fried Stake was tough and fish w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Chicken Fried Stake was tough and fish was over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

This is always our go-to for special occ ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is always our go-to for special occasions. Birthdays favorite for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time customers! We loved the ambia ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

First time customers! We loved the ambiance and food was delicious! Our server was over the top! Everything was perfect. The only recommendation was that the chairs were uncomfortable. Wish they would upgrade them. Easy to overlook though because everything else was PERFECT!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's not my firsttime to eat in this res ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

It's not my firsttime to eat in this restaurant. One of my fave restaurant in Oklahoma City. As usual always had great time whenever we came here. This time we came in for my goodfriend birthday dinner, and they gave us free dessert. Love their dessert!! Will come back again for sure!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food is near perfect. Great place. Love ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food is near perfect. Great place. Love it every time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding food and service

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch food was outstanding! The roa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The brunch food was outstanding! The roasted Brussel sprout and kale salad was delicious as was the chicken tortilla soup. Service was a little slow but that was okay since it was Sunday brunch.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My steak was cold and considering it was ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My steak was cold and considering it was $34 you would expect it to be hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Love Love Love Cheevers! It's always ou ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love Love Love Cheevers! It's always our go to place for a special occasion or a little special treat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as always!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I requested, through open table, one of ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I requested, through open table, one of the more secluded tables in Cheevers as my wife and I were celebrating our 23rd anniversary. I made the reservation and request five days in advance. I was disappointed we were seated right by the entryway even though the restaurant was not but busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I always love Cheevers and we had a nice ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I always love Cheevers and we had a nice time but the service was a little tentative and the rib eye cut that I was served was dense and resembled a strip steak. Overall just a little surprised as Cheevers has always been superior. Perhaps just an off night.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is delicious! Everything we have t ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food is delicious! Everything we have tried at Cheevers has been great and we always leave looking forward to our next meal there!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding , food was wonderfull, waitr ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Outstanding , food was wonderfull, waitress was attentive and had a good sense of humor and most of all the presentation of the food was remarkable! We had to drive an hour to reach Cheevers, however, it was worth the drive. Cheevers is now my favorite restaurant in Oklahoma City.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.