About Cheever's Cafe

2409 N. Hudson
Oklahoma City, OK 73103
View Larger Map

Cheever's Cafe, located just 2 miles from Downtown Oklahoma City, specializes in contemporary comfort food with Southwest influences. Cheever's serves a variety of prime steaks, fresh seafood and wonderful salads, as well as daily and nightly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday 11AM – 9PM
Friday 11AM – 10:30PM
Saturday 10AM – 10:30PM
Sunday 10AM – 9PM

Cross Street:
NW 23rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 525-7007

Website:
http://www.cheeverscafe.com/

Parking Details:
We have 2 private lots adjacent to the building for parking

Private Party Facilities:
Private room is available for dinner parties; and will accommodate up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Yohn: 4055257007x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cheever's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Oklahoma City
Best Food
Oklahoma City
Best Service
Oklahoma City
16 More
Best Value
Oklahoma City
Fit for Foodies
Oklahoma City
Great for Brunch
Oklahoma City
Great for Lunch
Oklahoma City
Neighborhood Gem
Oklahoma City
American
Oklahoma City
Most Booked
Oklahoma City
Best Overall
Oklahoma City
Best Food
Oklahoma City
Best Service
Oklahoma City
Best Value
Oklahoma City
Fit for Foodies
Oklahoma City
Great for Brunch
Oklahoma City
Neighborhood Gem
Oklahoma City
American
Oklahoma City
Most Booked
Oklahoma City
Best Restaurants in Oklahoma City ›

special occasion (237)
fit for foodies (210)
neighborhood gem (200)
See All
great for lunch (170)
romantic (159)
great for brunch (156)
hot spot (88)
notable wine list (62)
good for groups (48)
great for outdoor dining (28)
late-night find (16)
kid-friendly (13)
vibrant bar scene (8)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

The chicken fried steak is awesome!!!!!

Dined 6 days ago

The chicken fried steak is awesome!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Their chicken fried steak is absolutely ...

Dined 6 days ago

Their chicken fried steak is absolutely amazing!!! I get it every time, the portion is so huge I always get to take half home and eat it again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Brunch

Dined 7 days ago

First time to try brunch and it was fantastic! Cheever's never disappoints!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

OKC Cheevers

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was good. Waygu beef good. Good choices and will return to try other choices.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, good service. First time fo ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food, good service. First time for lunch. Lots of options! Homemade sauces and condiments. We started with the calamari, I had the skirt steak sandwich, and my lady had the salmon salad. All delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find in OKC

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Was searching for a new place to try for dinner as my group is in OKC for business several times a year. Found Cheever's on Open Table and then cross checked the other review sites. Every site had excellent reviews. Decided we should try Cheever's and certainly glad we did. Great meals - seriously excellent and friendly service. Interesting cocktails and nice wine list. What else could we ask for. Everyone decided we had to come back next time in town so they could try one of the other items on the menu. Agree - if I lived in OKC - this would absolutely be one of my go to restaurants. Enjoy !!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. Cheevers is our ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and service. Cheevers is our go to place for special occasions! The Alaskan Halibut is especially wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

visiting OK City

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food items are moderately priced. I had the Chicken Fried Steak with jalapeno gravy. Fantastic We will return

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Country Cooking with an Upscale Flare

Dined on May 14, 2016

My sister and I took our mother to Cheever's for a late Mother's Day brunch. The appetizer and our individual dishes were all very good! We also liked the Brunch Punch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Once again, the OpenTable reviewers did ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Once again, the OpenTable reviewers did not fail. We were looking for a perfect brunch/lunch location to celebrate our daughters graduation from OU & chose Cheever's based on the reviews. We adored the quaint old home atmosphere - along with the chic modern details inside. We were greeted immediately & seated shortly thereafter. I regret not remembering our waitresses name because she was absolutely fabulous! We started off with wonderful mimosas & Bloody Mary's. For our meal, two of us ordered the bacon wrapped shrimp & grits, another the chicken fried steak & lastly I had the enchiladas. Although all of these items may seem like ordinary southern comfort foods, they are far from it! All of our items were fabulous and the portions were very generous! Lunch/brunch prices were reasonable. We will definitely return!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable. Waiter was a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was impeccable. Waiter was attentive but not overbearing. The food was excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Don't Pass It Up!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a free appetizer emailed to us. From the very first bite of the Roasted Chicken appetizer, I knew the meal was going to be amazing. Each dish was remarkable, beginning with the appetizer. Second, the Tortilla Soup: dark, rich flavor. Chicken Fried Steak: exceptional, crisp; a flavor-bomb. Try it all!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

While the atmosphere is pleasant, and ou ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

While the atmosphere is pleasant, and our service was fantastic, the food is sub par for the price point. There are other restaurants in the city that are much tastier, and I probably won't be back. In all fairness, I did not order the chicken fried steak that they are known for.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service, drinks and meal were excell ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our service, drinks and meal were excellent. We celebrated my husband's birthday there and it could not have been more perfect. Our waitress even put a candle in the complementary dessert. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint, quiet atmosphere with unique, ta ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Quaint, quiet atmosphere with unique, tasty food and good service.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. Best chicke ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. Best chicken fry in the state of OK.

food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Always a favorite! Unique dishes, great ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Always a favorite! Unique dishes, great flavors. My guests were impressed

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on May 11, 2016

My mom absolutely loves this place!!! Would definitely recommend! !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I both enjoyed the same sa ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

My friend and I both enjoyed the same salad. We had the cowboy salmon. It was served with a side of mixed small red and yellow tomatoes that had been halved. So good. We arrived about 20 minutes late but were seated at a nice table promptly. We will definitely come back

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always!!!

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Amazing as always!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cheever's never disappoints.. Great food ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Cheever's never disappoints.. Great food, service and fair prices!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just right

Dined on May 8, 2016

We always go to Cheever's for special occasions. We go out for Mothers Day in the evening, rather than lunchtime. We were happy to get a table, even though the dining room was busy.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5

Took the wife on mothers day and she lov ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took the wife on mothers day and she loved it all; her food, wine, and experience was exceptional. My beer and experience was awesome but, my ribeye ordered medium came out well or done in places. I'm not one to raise a fuss and we will def return for another meal, just wish my steak would have been correct. Overall, great experience and got us right in ahead of our reservation. BTW, ask for Kyle (female) she is very attentive and responsive! See you next time Cheevers

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & great service! I ate their ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food & great service! I ate their twice in one weekend & both times the food took a little bit of time to come out. We were there to enjoy company so it wasn't a problem for us. Cheever's always has great brunch options that keep us coming back.

food4
ambience2
service2
value1

While I will admit the food we had was v ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

While I will admit the food we had was very good, it was also rather small in portion for the price. I don't eat "that" much, but left still hungry with a full entree of the biscuits and gravy. The first time I can say that with biscuits and gravy, ever. The server was fine, but was in no hurry to serve us, and he was a little snobby about even having to bother with us. I know this place is supposed to be a gem, but it just seemed outdated and not really caring of us being there. It wasn't that they were particularly busy in the beginning either, as there were several empty tables around us and throughout the restaurant. I doubt we will return with the bevvy of brunch restaurants to chose from in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and creativefood at reasonable ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent and creativefood at reasonable prices

food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Burned food

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the second time I have ordered the French toast bread pudding and found that either the corner or bottom was burned. My waiter agreed that it was burned and apologized that he hadn't noticed but did nothing about it. Since this is the only reason I come to Cheevera brunch, I'll go to Hefner Grill from now on.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cheevers never fails to be delicious..

Dined on May 8, 2016

Once again Cheevers was great. We had a Mother's Day brunch with other family members. This was our first brunch outing there, but as with other meals we have enjoyed at Cheevers, it was excellent. Cheevers is my favorite restaurant in OKC, and as usual we had a hard time choosing from their varied menu. Service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service - the house-made blue ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent service - the house-made blue cheese chips were incredible...I'm still thinking about them three days later! Will definitely return to Cheever's.

food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Extremely Disappointed with Saturday Brunch Entree

Dined on May 7, 2016

I was treating my mother to Saturday brunch for Mother's Day. There were 4 of us in our party and we were sat at a table for 4 people, only this table was really big enough for 2 people to actually have conversation, room for plates and enjoy yourself. I opted to order the green chile pork stack--only to find a 1 X 1 inch square of pure fat in the serving. It was nasty! Fortunately, I saw it before putting in my mouth. Since we were celebrating Mother's Day, I just wiped it to the side of my plate and covered it with some bread so I didn't have to look at it while I ate. If I didn't have my mother with me for a celebration, I would have given it to my waiter immediately with the rest of the plate of food. Any place that has chunks of fat that big in their food does not need to be serving food. Before this visit, Cheever's was a favorite of mine. Now I'll be exploring other options. As a side note, the brunch punch, the rolls and the queso appetizer were tasty and super delicious.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food, bad table

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was exceptional. We had reservations and they seated us immediately, but at the worst table right at the bottle neck between section right by the entrance. Would have rather sat at the bar - less traffic. Guess we didn't look like we were from the right neighborhood, even though I usually carry about 1000 cash on me. Don't wear it, don't drive it and don't live in it. Good thing the waiter was good. He got a 50.00 tip on a 125.00 ticket. Don't underestimate a real cowboy.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an absolutely lovely lunch on the ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had an absolutely lovely lunch on the patio w the perfect level of service: attentive, not rushing. It was very nice as well that the servers were okay w my party of 2 moving outside after 1 had been seated (& the 2nd arrived & suggested going outside).

food5
ambience5
service5

Cheever's is consistently delicious! The ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Cheever's is consistently delicious! The halibut is one of my favorites! And, even though it's not on the lunch menu, it's available at that time !

food5
ambience5
service4

The food is outstanding! The drinks are ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

The food is outstanding! The drinks are great and the wine list is full of great choices. The service is always good. Can't miss with Cheever's!

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dining experience will definitel ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Awesome dining experience will definitely come back and spread the word. Exceeded our expectations Thanks Jon & Bernadette

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great reatuarant, cannot wait to return

Dined on May 1, 2016

I had the shaved brussels sprout and kale salad. It was absolutely delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2

Food was great! Drinks from the bar too ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was great! Drinks from the bar took forever to get to our table and we kept having to ask for refills and our soup. Overall it was good because the food was so great but the service was so lacking that it made the experience mediocre at best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cheevers for the win!

Dined on April 30, 2016

It's been our goal to try new places for date night! Cheevers did not disappoint! Great service and fantastic food/drinks! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I love their mimosas and shrimp & grits! ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I love their mimosas and shrimp & grits! My fav!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

first visit

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was very good, everything I expected. This was my first visit and I will keep it on my list of good dining experiences. The service was excellent, our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable of the menu. He handled special request with ease and made the dinner very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.