About Cheever's Cafe

2409 N. Hudson
Oklahoma City, OK 73103
View Larger Map

Cheever's Cafe, located just 2 miles from Downtown Oklahoma City, specializes in contemporary comfort food with Southwest influences. Cheever's serves a variety of prime steaks, fresh seafood and wonderful salads, as well as daily and nightly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday 11AM – 9PM
Friday 11AM – 10:30PM
Saturday 10AM – 10:30PM
Sunday 10AM – 9PM

Cross Street:
NW 23rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 525-7007

Website:
http://www.cheeverscafe.com/

Parking Details:
We have 2 private lots adjacent to the building for parking

Private Party Facilities:
Private room is available for dinner parties; and will accommodate up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Yohn: 4055257007x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Cheever's Cafe
Tequila Lime Shrimp Linguini
Blue Cheese Potato Chips
Juan's Queso
Pork Chop Special
Wagyu Skirt Steak
Five Spice Trout
Roasted Pecan Ice Cream Ball
Bread Pudding French Toast With Potatoes And Scrambled Eggs
Spicy Shrimp Risotto
Oklahoma Caprese
Bacon-wrapped Shrimp And Grits
Chicken Fried Steak With Jalapeno Cream Gravy
Five-spice Tilapia
Tequila Lime Shrimp Fettucini
Chimichurri Skirt Steak With Sweet Potato Enchiladas
Ribeye Steak Rare
Braised Short Rib Ragout
Sweet Potato Pie
Braised Short Ribs
Chicken Fried Steak
Halibut On Bed Of Shrimp Risotto
Juan's Chihuahua Queso
Duck Confit Tamales
Shrimp and Grits
Crispy Calamari
Seared Scallops Special
Chicken and Waffles
Brunch Special Jalapeno Biscuits W/ Chipolte Gravy & Roasted Potatos
Cheeseburger
Blt With Fruit
Sunday Brunch
Ribeye Steak

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cheever's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Oklahoma City
Best Food
Oklahoma City
American
Oklahoma City
5 More
Most Booked
Oklahoma City
Best Overall
Oklahoma City
Best Food
Oklahoma City
American
Oklahoma City
Most Booked
Oklahoma City

Special Occasion (209)
Fit for Foodies (175)
Neighborhood Gem (169)
See All
Great for Lunch (142)
Great for Brunch (138)
Romantic (110)
Hot Spot (66)
Good for Groups (47)
Notable Wine List (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Kid-friendly (17)
Late-night Find (13)
Scenic View (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Historic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter was amazing!! I think his nam ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was amazing!! I think his name was Mathew?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Wonderful food and service. The last 2 v ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food and service. The last 2 visits to Cheever's, our party has been placed in the very back of the restaurant right by the busy kitchen... The exact same table. Had a reservation a week prior to the birthday lunch but still got the worst table in the restaurant. Oh well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food selection, presentation and ser ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food selection, presentation and service was excellent as I have dined here many times!

Highly recommend! TJT

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great. Nice variety and not your ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food is great. Nice variety and not your cookie cutter dishes you find at chain restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a variety of food choice ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great place for a variety of food choices with a nice atmosphere. Like to take a guest there when it's a special occasion or just hungry for something different from the usual hamburger.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was wonderful. The atmospher ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The service was wonderful. The atmosphere was enjoyable. Sadly, the highly anticipated chicken fried steak with jalapeno gravy was cold and lacked flavor. The wife's entree was also served cold. We really wanted to like this place but the food was disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went here to celebrate my birthday with ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went here to celebrate my birthday with friends. Everyone enjoyed their food & the wait staff was very considerate! I will be going back to see them when I can.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great experience at Cheever's. F ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Another great experience at Cheever's. First time there for brunch and it was the same experience as dinner, Great! I had the cowgirl Benedict and the wife had biscuits and gravy. Both were outstanding.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I'm wondering why it made the Top Ten Li ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I'm wondering why it made the Top Ten List for OKC. We've been twice, once for brunch and once for dinner. The brunch was good but our dinner we found the fish to be very dry and over cooked. They compensated us and were very customer friendly but I'm not sure we'll be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was great. Waitress was attenti ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was great. Waitress was attentive and helpful. Food served hot and tasted great. Great overall service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our dining experience w ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was great! You made our anniversary special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Cheever's several times ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We have dined at Cheever's several times and the food is always terrific. Very polite, professional and efficient staff, one of the top restaurants in Oklahoma City.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, and a great little s ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was delicious, and a great little spot to eat. Hope to get to it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The experience was awesome. The food was ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The experience was awesome. The food was very tasty and plentiful. It was my 20th anniversary with my wife. We had a great time. Will definitely recommend it to everyone we know. We will be going back again soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took some family for their first visit. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Took some family for their first visit. We went for a Sunday brunch. The "small plate" or appetizers were so great, we were stuffed before our main course came. My cousin is looking for a nice place as he is getting back into the dating scene, I believe Cheevers went on his "take a nice date to" !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The menu had a balanced selection for an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The menu had a balanced selection for any palate. Love the mix of southern elements in menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I love Cheevers. I always recommend it t ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I love Cheevers. I always recommend it to friends looking for a place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This hole in the all is the perfect gem. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This hole in the all is the perfect gem. The decor is not the highlight of the restaurant, the staff and food are. I would suggest making a reservation before attempting any dining plans.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was tasty. Had a cinnamon rol ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was tasty. Had a cinnamon roll and chicken fried steak. The gravy was awesome but had to add pepper.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good. We had a chicken dum ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was good. We had a chicken dumpling appetizer that was excellent. Split the halibut main course that was tasty. Also split an ice cream dessert that was so-so. It was huge but not particularly exceptional otherwise. Cheever's is a nice place with good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved lunch, especially kale and brussel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Loved lunch, especially kale and brussels sprouts salad. But biggest hit was our waitress Kyle! She was awesome! Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent brunch experience. Needed to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent brunch experience. Needed to ask for one of our drinks after initial order & more hot water for tea. Food is outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Long time fan of Cheevers. Have been t ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Long time fan of Cheevers. Have been there many times. The last three times that I have been there, it has sadly not gone so well. This time I ordered the special, the ahi tuna panko crusted and served over a risotto. The waiter identified it as panko crusted around the edges and then brought to a rare state and served over the risotto. It arrived panko crusted on the top and bottom like a big piece of fresh fried fish. It was rare in the very middle, however the wonderful taste that you would expect from a nice piece of ahi tuna was gone, and replaced with a fried taste. The risotto must have run out, as we recieved wild rice below the fish.

Server was great. I don't think we will be going back after the third strike out at Cheevers. There are many other options to go and spend $100+ for a great meal in Oklahoma City.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Took friend out for his birthday. Food w ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Took friend out for his birthday. Food was awesome, our favorite place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had only been there on two other occas ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I had only been there on two other occasions; both of which were business meals. I ordered the chicken fried steak. Both times, it was served on a bed of mashed potatoes & of course, the jalapeno gravy.

On my third visit, after telling everyone in our group of how remarkable the dish was for almost a week. We arrived and was seated immediately. We ordered, received our order in a timely manner, but the chicken fried steak was not served on a bed of mashed potatoes as before. Instead, it was atop of a bed of "Home fries"???

Very big disappointment for myself and two others in our group that had heard so much hoop-la from me about the menu item.

Other than that, everything was great, and I may very well return. If I do, I will definitely ask about the mashed potatoes prior to ordering.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Liked the food - original ideas instead ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Liked the food - original ideas instead of basic chain restaurant fare.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The overall experience was fantastic. Th ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The overall experience was fantastic. The atmosphere was fun and vibrant!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our lunch very much. A great ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch very much. A great waitress. Food was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always delicious with nice p ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food is always delicious with nice presentation, service friendly and timely.Don't miss out on the ice cream ball!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only one meal here, Daddy daughter date ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Only one meal here, Daddy daughter date my 14 yo. We enjoyed people watching and the energy of the place. Service was good, food was good (warm but not hot, that could have been better). Would like to go back and explore more of their menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Cheever's is great place to celebrate a ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Cheever's is great place to celebrate a friends birthday. It is not too casual or to stuffy. The food is always good and the so is the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and wonderful atmosphere, as a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Good food and wonderful atmosphere, as always. Attentive service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the intimate charm, consistently ta ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Love the intimate charm, consistently tasty drinks and vittles.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my all time favorite rest ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is one of my all time favorite restaurants! Consistently great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such an awesome place, with great servic ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Such an awesome place, with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The specialty cocktail was incredible an ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The specialty cocktail was incredible and I could eat the queso every single day. Great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always divine! We had the ro ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food is always divine! We had the roasted pecan ice cream ball and it was one of the most delicious things ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Careful choice of complementary ingredie ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Careful choice of complementary ingredients for wonderful entree and soup. Nice variety of menu choices makes it easy to return and not get bored.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great.

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Cheevers was highly recommended and they ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Cheevers was highly recommended and they met our expectations for both quality of food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.