About Cheever's Cafe

2409 N. Hudson
Oklahoma City, OK 73103
View Larger Map

Cheever's Cafe, located just 2 miles from Downtown Oklahoma City, specializes in contemporary comfort food with Southwest influences. Cheever's serves a variety of prime steaks, fresh seafood and wonderful salads, as well as daily and nightly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday 11AM – 9PM
Friday 11AM – 10:30PM
Saturday 10AM – 10:30PM
Sunday 10AM – 9PM

Cross Street:
NW 23rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 525-7007

Website:
http://www.cheeverscafe.com/

Parking Details:
We have 2 private lots adjacent to the building for parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Hodginkson

Private Party Facilities:
Private room is available for dinner parties; and will accommodate up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Yohn: (405) 525-7007

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Tequila Lime Shrimp Linguini - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Blue Cheese Potato Chips - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Pork Chop Special - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Wagyu Skirt Steak - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Five Spice Trout - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Roasted Pecan Ice Cream Ball - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Bread Pudding French Toast With Potatoes And Scrambled Eggs - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Juan's Queso - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Spicy Shrimp Risotto - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Oklahoma Caprese - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Chicken Fried Steak With Jalapeno Cream Gravy - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Five-spice Tilapia - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Bacon-wrapped Shrimp And Grits - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Tequila Lime Shrimp Fettucini - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Chimichurri Skirt Steak With Sweet Potato Enchiladas - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Ribeye Steak Rare - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Braised Short Rib Ragout - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Sweet Potato Pie - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Braised Short Ribs - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Chicken Fried Steak - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Halibut On Bed Of Shrimp Risotto - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Juan's Chihuahua Queso - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Duck Confit Tamales - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Shrimp and Grits - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Crispy Calamari - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Seared Scallops Special - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Chicken and Waffles - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Brunch Special Jalapeno Biscuits W/ Chipolte Gravy & Roasted Potatos - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Cheeseburger - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Blt With Fruit - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Sunday Brunch - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK
Ribeye Steak - Cheever's Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cheever's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (91)
Special Occasion (82)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
See All
Cozy (58)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Romantic (53)
Great for Lunch (51)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Great for Brunch (45)
Business Meals (45)
Comfort Food (44)
Worth the Drive (42)
Historic (38)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Casual (28)
Fun (27)
Hot Spot (25)
Authentic (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Tasting Menu (16)
People Watching (14)
Seasonal (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (8)
Private Room (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Organic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2800 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our lunch was delicious with a wide vari ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 3 days ago

Our lunch was delicious with a wide variety of locally grown options. The food was just the right temperature. The wait staff was excellent and we could linger for a while before ordering and after our meal to converse. It is one of my favorite restaurants. Reservations are recommended. You can reserve with Open Table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were very good.Best to ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were very good.Best to have a reservation so you don't have to wait.Not much room for waiting area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was exceptional and the food ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was exceptional and the food was prepared perfectly. Our group enjoyed the atmosphere and our service provider checked on us every few minutes. We would highly recommend this restaurant to our friends.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such good food!!! The spicy shrimp risot ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

Such good food!!! The spicy shrimp risotto is so good! I had the flank steak with sweet potato enchiladas, so so delicious!!!

The dining area is fairly small so every time the door opens it's pretty cold, but we didn't mind.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I ate here for our anniversa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I ate here for our anniversary. We ordered the special. We enjoyed our night here. The food and service was great, however, I will say that we have been to better places.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had friends in from New York. We had ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

We had friends in from New York. We had Saturday brunch. It was fabulous, chicken fried st, shrimp and grit and seafood tamale. Our company just loved the food. Our waiter was Elliot and he was great , friendly and welcoming...

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time. The food was excellent ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Had a great time. The food was excellent and my date enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so pleased that Cheever's contin ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were so pleased that Cheever's continued to hold our reservation though we were 10 minutes late due to a late doctor visit. The food was outstanding; chicken fried steak was amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Cheever's twice. Both time ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I've been to Cheever's twice. Both times the service was excellent and the food was superb. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered chicken/waffles which arrived 3 ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Ordered chicken/waffles which arrived 3 minutes after my order. They were cold/dry so that means they were pre-cooked. The waitress (who was wonderful), reordered them, but they came back over fried and greasy. I thought they just put already cooked chicken back in the oil. This is sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Good , not as GREAT as always. Even when ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Good , not as GREAT as always. Even when they brought our Queso back for a second time it was still was only warm not hot as it should be and as it always is.

Service was great as usual however I didn't ask for a 3rd Queso.

I will be back we all have off days

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply amazing and a must stop whenever ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Simply amazing and a must stop whenever I am in oklahoma! The food is superb a service impeccable and the atmosphere delightful

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food. Great service. Blue Cheese ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome food. Great service. Blue Cheese Chips were the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was fabulous as always. Love the wait ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was fabulous as always. Love the wait staff. Quiet atmosphere and it was very clean. The waiters are very friendly and personable!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best food in Oklahoma City. No quest ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The best food in Oklahoma City. No question.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cheevers is a great place to eat their b ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Cheevers is a great place to eat their brunch is wonderful ,service is great ,so is the food. book early it's always busy !

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a table for 2 to celebrate ou ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed a table for 2 to celebrate our 49th Anniversary. It was a lovely evening and despite the restaurant being busy and full, our server was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not a steak place. My smoked prime speci ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Not a steak place. My smoked prime special was over cooked and not as tender as expected

Shrimp & grits excellent as well as pecan ice cream ball. Great salad and soup.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great!!! We will eat her ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Everything was great!!! We will eat here again. I booked on line 10 minutes before arriving and got seated immediately. The people that didn't book online had to wait about 20 minutes to get seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our anniversary. Excellent m ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went for our anniversary. Excellent meal and excellent server. Very good chicken-fried steak and pecan ice cream!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rarely disappointed with Cheevers, a nei ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Rarely disappointed with Cheevers, a neighborhood favorite

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always very good, a great local restaura ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always very good, a great local restaurant. A reservation is always a good idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was very good as al ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and service was very good as always. We enjoy eating so much that we eat there at least a couple times a month.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was exceptional! One ki ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food and service was exceptional! One kitchen mishap was made right with free dessert. Great Christmas lunch with my boss. Thanks!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was excellent as always! It is our g ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

It was excellent as always! It is our go-to spot for birthdays and anniversaries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good experience. The food was outs ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Very good experience. The food was outstanding, as was the service.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and extremely outstand ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent service and extremely outstanding cuisine! Loved the short ribs and the strawberry biscuits.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was seated by the back door & the draft ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Was seated by the back door & the draft was terribly cold had to eat brunch with my coat on while drinking coffee to stay warm. The chicken fry & gravy/w potatoes was not hot, seemed pre-cooked, then just staged on my plate. Normally Cheevers is great & I rave about it until I return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was cold. Steak under cooked. We ea ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was cold. Steak under cooked. We eat there monthly. We're done. Too many choices to tolerate this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Love love love this restaurant. Great p ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Love love love this restaurant. Great place for date night, yummy food & excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is ALWAYS outstanding and it ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This place is ALWAYS outstanding and it was no different this time.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely FANTASTIC!!!! The complete pa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Absolutely FANTASTIC!!!! The complete package!. Great atmosphere, great food, great customer service. We will DEFINITELY be coming back again!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice place, food was good, servi ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A very nice place, food was good, service was very good we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I usually find Cheevers Cafe to be supe ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I usually find Cheevers Cafe to be superb. However, this time our reservation was at 1:30 and the service was slightly lacking, coffee only warm and often empty for instance. My chicken fried steak was overcooked, tough and served cool.

Of course, I will go again but perhaps not for late lunch meeting. Disappointed.....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great. Only problem is it was ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food was great. Only problem is it was somewhat noisy for discussion with those at our table. Waitress and staff did super job!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A great little historic location that al ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 14, 2016

A great little historic location that allows for friendly conversation, as well as for a tet-a-tet with your sweetheart. Food is awesome, fresh, different with a variety. I love this place as a special treat! Wait staff is competent and professional as well as friendly.'

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the flat iron steak special with c ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I had the flat iron steak special with crab Bernaise sauce. It was served with a wild rice risotto. The steak was perfectly cooked and delicious. The sauce was very thick and little heavy for my taste but had a nice flavor.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic! We are from Texas ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! We are from Texas and took our daughter(who is a student at OU) out for her birthday. Everything was great. I recommend Cheever's to everyone

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I brought 4 of our friend ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband and I brought 4 of our friends here for dinner after a play at the City Rep Theater. The food was great. One friend had the special lobster and macaroni and cheese, which was delicious. My husband and I and another friend had the chicken Fried steak which was excellent, and another friend had the Filet which she said was one of the best she had ever had. Overall, great experience!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.