About Checkers Bistro

398 Harrisburg Avenue
Lancaster, PA 17603
View Larger Map

The sophisticated and timeless Dining Room offers diners a warm and intimate space to enjoy Chef Daniels inventive seasonal menus. The dining room is divided in to 3 areas, the Wine Salon, the Stage and the Champions Room.

The Wine Salon is an elegantly appointed dining area that faces the glass-enclosed wine cellar.

The Stage is a raised area, longer than it is wide, facing a full-length wall of beautiful old casement windows.

The Champions Room is a private area that can be part of the restaurant flow or cordoned off for privacy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm -10:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm -9:00pm

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 509-1069

Website:
http://www.checkersbistro.com/

Catering:
Many of our guests look to host special events, like birthdays, anniversaries, graduations, or private business functions offsite, at their homes or business. Checkers Bistro provides catering and event management throughout the Lancaster area. Our team will help you locate the perfect location and do everything necessary to create a unique event. Whether entertaining for an intimate gathering of friends, planning a wedding, larger special occasion or a full day business event, we will listen to your needs, assess the challenges and lead you through every step to assure a wonderful experience.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in parking lots in both the front (off Charlotte Street) and the rear (off Harrisburg Avenue), along the street on Charlotte Street and in the Snavely Lumber’s parking lot, just a half a block up Charlotte Street.

Public Transit:
Red Rose Transit Authority buses stop and pickup 1 block from the restaurant.
James Street is the closest public transport bus stop.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Checkers Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lancaster County
Best Food
Lancaster County
Best Service
Lancaster County
6 More
Best Ambiance
Lancaster County
Best Value
Lancaster County
Fit for Foodies
Lancaster County
Neighborhood Gem
Lancaster County
Special Occasion
Lancaster County
Most Booked
Lancaster County
Best Restaurants in Lancaster ›

Special Occasion (93)
Fit for Foodies (79)
Romantic (71)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Notable Wine List (45)
Good for Groups (39)
Hot Spot (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Late-night Find (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was wonderful as always. Excel ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was wonderful as always. Excellent service. One of my favorites. My only negative is that the noise levels are a little high. Otherwise great restaurant and I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wait staff was well-trained and quite ac ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wait staff was well-trained and quite accommodating.

I had two different entrees and one I sent back because there were overwhelming foreign tastes in the crab cake: a pinkish tartar sauce on top that overwhelmed the crab and a pepper seasoning in the crab cake that was too spicy. A crab cake should not be heavily seasoned and the diner should be able to enjoy the flavor of fresh crabmeat. The scallops that were brought instead were undercooked and flourless. At home we use butter and olive oil and it gives good results and enhances the wonderfully

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The food was very good and the service e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was very good and the service even better. However, if you order anything beyond the main dish, you'll find the cost of dinner quickly escalating. Just to order a vegetable to go with dinner will set you back $7 each, and dessert is $8.50. Appetizers are pricey and so are after-dinner drinks ($10 for the least expensive port).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent wait staff. Always very good f ...

vip
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent wait staff. Always very good food.

Nice variety of salads and appetizers .

V Good wine selection and excellent beers.

Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We waited a few minutes for a table even ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We waited a few minutes for a table even though we had a reservation. The hostess immediately offered us a complimentary beverage and seat in the cozy lobby. Our dinner was delicious and well worth the brief wait.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at this restaur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our first time at this restaurant. It was a beautiful place, the food was exceptionally good, and the service from Sonya was world class

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. You are always guarant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great restaurant. You are always guaranteed a great meal and wonderful service. You can never go wrong by going to Checkers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love Checkers for special family occa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We love Checkers for special family occasions. The food and service were outstanding and very fresh: their calamari appetizer is the freshest I've had. I would recommend to avoid the formality of waiting in the lobby when the table area is largely empty on weeknights and whenever possible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in town. Always have a g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best restaurant in town. Always have a great time and staff is 10 plus

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience... EVERY T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A wonderful dining experience... EVERY TIME! Checkers Bistro never disappoints. Our last visit was with a large group at the end of the evening and we never felt rushed and the food was as if the restaurant had just opened! Everyone was extremely happy!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was absolutely amazing!! We love t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was absolutely amazing!! We love the atmosphere and décor! Definite return to your restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Had the onion soup and wife had the cala ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Had the onion soup and wife had the calamari. Both excellent. Entrees were the divers scallops and Bolognese with pappardelle pasta. Again both excellent. Superb service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was thoroughly impressed with the overal ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Was thoroughly impressed with the overall service and excellent food. With the noise level a little high and privacy limited, our hostess moved us without question. After asking to be moved due to our anniversary, we were treated to champagne and complementary dessert. Checkers really treated us and our anniversary as a special moment.

Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Checkers. We ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our first visit to Checkers. We arrived very early and they were barely open. Everyone was so kind, allowing us to sit in the waiting area and pouring a lovely white Bordeaux on the house. Dinner was amazing. We will definitely return anytime we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my all-time favorite restaurants! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

One of my all-time favorite restaurants! We will certainly be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacations are more special when you find ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Vacations are more special when you find and enjoy a truly great restaurant. If you are a foodie this is your destination in Lancaster. Start with salt encrusted calamari. Most tender and flavorful ever with a sweet and acidic dipping sauce. Beet salad was delicious. Seared tuna perfectly cooked rare with great fries. Filet Mignon with a wine gastric was amazing . Service friendly and impeccable. As a parting gift we were treated to a welcome to Lancaster plate with 2 chocolate martini. Return we will...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant. Food and service were ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great restaurant. Food and service were outstanding. Friendly staff and good atmosphere. Decor and exterior of the building are very inviting. Great menu and lots to chose from. Highly recommend the crab cakes with the chef's special preparation of the side dishes. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took 50 minutes to get our dinner , se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Took 50 minutes to get our dinner , server did not seem to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We visited Checkers Bistro for the first ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We visited Checkers Bistro for the first time to celebrate my birthday. It was a lovely experience from beginning to end! Our waiter (so sorry I'm not remembering his name!) was superb - kind, attentive, professional. The food was delicious. The watermelon gazpacho I had as an appetizer was a wonderful combination of refreshing and spicy. My coffee-crusted petite filet was perfect! Along with a delightful dessert I had a chocolate raspberry coffee drink that was both delicious and creatively presented. We would definitely visit again and recommend Checkers to anyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an 8:15 pm reservation on a Satur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had an 8:15 pm reservation on a Saturday night. The restaurant was still quite busy at that time and initially service was slow, but our waiter was terrific and very attentive. The food and presentation were both exceptional. Dessert was great as well. My only suggestion would be for a Sauvignon Blanc to be added to the menu as a "by the glass" option. My dinner partner was not a wine drinker, and I really wanted a single glass for my birthday, but certainly didn't need an entire bottle. Very happy overall - highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I always look forward to an occasion to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I always look forward to an occasion to head to Checkers. From the ease of the on line reservations, to the themed diner events. I especially recommend trying a different cocktail..or 2...each time! The wait staff is exceptionally professional and knows the menu. The second tier is very courteous, as well. I highly recommend this for a special night out or try on of their themed events.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was good but not worth th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The restaurant was good but not worth the price to us. It was good food but not worth 26 dollars for a specky steak onto of average French fries.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Coffee/port wine rubbed filet amazing. C ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Coffee/port wine rubbed filet amazing. Cocktails are heavy pours. Service prompt and amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Duck Tacos were fabulous!!!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Duck Tacos were fabulous!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent it made our trip ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was excellent it made our trip memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined at Checkers many times and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I have dined at Checkers many times and always find their food, service, and ambiance outstanding. It is so hard to choose with many great choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has been one of our all time favori ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This has been one of our all time favorite restaurants for many years. We don't get there frequently since we live 30 miles away, but have always considered it worth the drive.

Honestly, this visit was the first time we left not completely happy. Something has changed and I'm having trouble putting my finger on it. Nothing was bad, mostly it just wasn't what we remembered. The whole vibe was different. The menu was the same as it's been for a long time - maybe it needs an update since the food in particular was less memorable. Kitchen just going through the motions with a tired menu? Kind of seemed like they may be weren't trying as hard. Did the chef change? Service people still seem above average but maybe less enthusiastic. Hope it recovers before it gets a reputation for mediocrity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We used to love this restaurant at its o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We used to love this restaurant at its old location. Cozy, friendly, inviting, with knock out food. After moving into its huge new location, it has lost all of its charm and intimacy which made it special. Checker's went from being our go-to neighborhood eatery; to just another overpriced restaurant. To be fair, food quality is still good, but you can find much better value in Lancaster.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent food but small portions. Nice, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent food but small portions. Nice, helpful staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Checkers Bistro is always a top shelf ex ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Checkers Bistro is always a top shelf experience . The service and food is unmatched in the lancaster area. It may be a twenty mile drive for me, but I would go triple that distance for the experience, which they always seem to deliver .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was very professional and extreme ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Waiter was very professional and extremely courteous. The service was quick, too. Great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Checkers quite a few tim ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We have been to Checkers quite a few times. It's one of our go-to restaurants for special dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Emily very good thank you.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Emily very good thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Beautiful decor and comfortable seating. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Beautiful decor and comfortable seating. Scallops were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food, top notch service, love he ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Superb food, top notch service, love he ambience of this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although the food was very good, they s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Although the food was very good, they sat us at at table against a dark wall with sun shinning in our eyes. Even though there were other tables available they would not move us. I would recommend them but only if you insist on better seating when making your reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were so impressed with the attention ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were so impressed with the attention to detail and all of special things that were done for us as we celebrated our 8yr anniversary! The staff at Checkers went above and beyond to make us feel special on our special day. The food was delicious and prepared fresh. We will definitely go back and we have already recommended it to several friends and family members!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to go with a frien ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This is a great place to go with a friend, a date or a small group. It has a fabulous wine list and the food has never been a disappointment. You will enjoy it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food; excellent service. A real up ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food; excellent service. A real upscale gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Boutique Dining

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Secreted away in a renovated industrial building is Checkers Bistro. Moderately priced upscale dining venue. Portions are a bit conservative however, quality is high. Service was excellent. Depending on your seating location the noise level can be a bit high. Overall a very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.