About Checkers Bistro

398 Harrisburg Avenue
Lancaster, PA 17603
View Larger Map

The sophisticated and timeless Dining Room offers diners a warm and intimate space to enjoy Chef Daniels inventive seasonal menus. The dining room is divided in to 3 areas, the Wine Salon, the Stage and the Champions Room.

The Wine Salon is an elegantly appointed dining area that faces the glass-enclosed wine cellar.

The Stage is a raised area, longer than it is wide, facing a full-length wall of beautiful old casement windows.

The Champions Room is a private area that can be part of the restaurant flow or cordoned off for privacy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm -10:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm -9:00pm

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 509-1069

Website:
http://www.checkersbistro.com/

Catering:
Many of our guests look to host special events, like birthdays, anniversaries, graduations, or private business functions offsite, at their homes or business. Checkers Bistro provides catering and event management throughout the Lancaster area. Our team will help you locate the perfect location and do everything necessary to create a unique event. Whether entertaining for an intimate gathering of friends, planning a wedding, larger special occasion or a full day business event, we will listen to your needs, assess the challenges and lead you through every step to assure a wonderful experience.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in parking lots in both the front (off Charlotte Street) and the rear (off Harrisburg Avenue), along the street on Charlotte Street and in the Snavely Lumber’s parking lot, just a half a block up Charlotte Street.

Public Transit:
Red Rose Transit Authority buses stop and pickup 1 block from the restaurant.
James Street is the closest public transport bus stop.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Checkers Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lancaster County
Best Food
Lancaster County
Best Service
Lancaster County
6 More
Best Ambiance
Lancaster County
Fit for Foodies
Lancaster County
Neighborhood Gem
Lancaster County
Romantic
Lancaster County
Special Occasion
Lancaster County
Most Booked
Lancaster County
Best Restaurants in Lancaster ›

Special Occasion (87)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Romantic (64)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Notable Wine List (40)
Good for Groups (28)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Hot Spot (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Seasonal (8)
Cozy (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great Beer (3)
Fun (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
543 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I celebrated my wedding anniversary with ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

I celebrated my wedding anniversary with my wife and had flowers delivered prior to our arrival. We were seated in a location that accommodated the added flowers and still allowed for plenty of dining space. We could see a few other couples at smaller tables, so we knew this was done purposely by the staff. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was very pleasant. The wait staff was extraordinary, they even surprised us by writing "Happy Anniversary" across the plate we ordered dessert on. An added touch I did not request, but a fine touch by the waitress,

Mandy, and her team. Overall it was an amazing dining experience, which ran about 30 minutes past closing time, but no one seemed to care. I will definitely be returning for not just the great fare, but also superb service and amazing facilities.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Portions were too small ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was good. Portions were too small for price and service was slow.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

My husband and I always look forward to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

My husband and I always look forward to dinner at Checkers!

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we enjoyed every aspect of the dining ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

we enjoyed every aspect of the dining experience: warm decor, friendly and attentive wait staff, and delicious fare.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our daughter's gradu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We were celebrating our daughter's graduation in obtaining her Master's Degree.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Checkers! Have been coming for s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We love Checkers! Have been coming for several years. Best food in Lancaster!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited Checkers for restaurant week ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We visited Checkers for restaurant week and at the recommendation of a friend. We're glad we went! It was surprising how friendly and accommodating the staff was. We had an issue with our reservation time and they were able to move us later without any issue. We got lobster bisque and calamari to start, which were phenomenal. For dinner we got the filet, which was good, and the scallops, which were excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant week and even though ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Went for restaurant week and even though it was busy they did an excellent job with everything. We are always happy with everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Checkers continues to provide excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Checkers continues to provide excellent selections of fine food Utah excellent service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Checkers several times n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We have been to Checkers several times now and have always loved our experience. Frankly, as a younger couple, it can be a little intimidating going to a place with such class. However, our server Sonya has always made us feel welcome and comfortable. That's why we always request her! She always has a helpful suggestion, always knows the meals we ask about, and always takes the moment to treat us with respect. And, the rest of the staff follows suit. Checkers is our favorite special place to eat: anniversaries, celebrations, birthdays. We always feel like honored guests.

Besides service and experience, the food is phenomenal. My cousin is a personal chef and so I always look forward to holidays and family gatherings- his palate would be satisfied, if not challenged by the fantastic flavors at Checkers. Thank you for maintaining a level of quality and class that this city needs. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent menu choices, food quality, an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Excellent menu choices, food quality, and service. Our server, Lawrence, was professional, friendly, and knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for our anniversary. It wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We were there for our anniversary. It was a lovely meal, but truth be told, I was a little disappointed that not one of the staff recognized that, despite being told.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic paired with an attent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was fantastic paired with an attentive wait staff. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful, and the restaura ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was wonderful, and the restaurant was (refreshingly!) free of children. I would recommend Checkers Bistro to anyone who desires a tasty meal in a civilized setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This past Friday was my second time at C ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This past Friday was my second time at Checkers, this time for a very special, romantic date. This date meant a lot to me and checkers did not disappoint! Everything was outstanding- from the greeter at the door, to the last bite of creme brûlée. The ambiance was cozy and romantic. Each staff member we encountered was very professional, yet warm and friendly. My date and I were very well taken care of and the delicious food and beautiful atmosphere truly added to the romantic feel of the evening. Thank you for helping us to make such beautiful memories! We will definitely return.

-Ali

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Checkers, but this was not their " ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Love Checkers, but this was not their " A" game evening.

I had mussel broth spilled on me with not much of an apology, which was sort of upsetting since I know the restaurant business well.

I will be back, but it will be awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Very nice meal - casual but well appoint ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Very nice meal - casual but well appointed space. Excellent staff - very helpful and friendly. Would certainly keep on the top 5 in Lancaster - and would return next visit to the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Went for bride's birthday. Checkers NEV ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Went for bride's birthday. Checkers NEVER disappoints ! Great food, service and ambiance.

Our number 1 'go to' for ANY occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decided to try this restaurant for our A ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Decided to try this restaurant for our Anniversary. Husband had dined here once with coworkers and said the food was good and interesting flavors.

I rate our experience as blah and forgettable which is unfortunate since it was our anniversary. First we were given a small table near a door by the bar which there was heavy foot traffic of servers passing by. We asked nicely for a different table if available and were easily accomodated but it really wasn't better since there was heavy traffic of customers getting seated or leaving restaurant. Ok whatever. Didn't want to move again. Definitely not an intimate setting especially where we sat since a few people invaded husband's personal space when walking past.

Moving onto the entrees, I had lobster bisque soup and husband got a salad. They were ok. I ordered the coffee crusted Filet Mignon and husband got the stuffed chicken. Thought the coffee crust on a Filet sounded interesting. Sadly, the coffee flavor overpowered the taste of steak. The steak was just not tender and juicy as a filet should be. At least husband said his chicken entree was good but not worth $25 for chicken! Wine menu seemed to have a large selection. Husband asked for two different brands of beer which they were out of both.

We had room for dessert which almost never happens when we dine out being stuffed from apps ,salad and main course. So we looked over the dessert men but found nothing appealing. Was looking for something to sink teeth into like cheesecake or regular cakes. The menu offered mostly ice cream and mousse type dessert. We skipped dessert and asked for check. Left to go get Cheesecake Factory desserts sold at Barnes and Noble nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Overall the experience was wonderful! I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Overall the experience was wonderful! Initially, our server was helpful and friendly; however, over the course of the time we were there she became distant. We had the perception she was not happy about the length of time we were sitting. Upon our arrival, I did let her know we were not in a rush and wanted to take our time as we were celebrating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every course was delicious and timed per ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Every course was delicious and timed perfectly! The roasted beet salad with goat cheese ice cream was incredible! Filet mignon was done to perfection. Our waiter was wonderful and attentive. To sum up, great food, atmosphere and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an especially loud table beside us, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had an especially loud table beside us, which they obviously can't control. Other than that, it was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a pleasant surprise. We arrived abo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

What a pleasant surprise. We arrived about 20 minutes early for our reservation, but was greeted with an apology for not having our table ready. The bar was full so we were asked to seat in the cozy reception area and were given two complimentary glasses of champagne to enjoy while waiting. What? Who does that? What a delightful surprise.

Before we even finished our champagne, we were seated and quickly greeted by Sonya, our fabulous server. She was delightfully well informed and never missed a beat.

From the beet salad with goat cheese ice cream and perfect Checkers Apple salad, to the beef bolognese and brown butter trout we couldn't have been more thrilled, but then came the peach dessert with amaretto ice cream, perfect ending to a perfect meal and outstanding overall experience. We will be back, very soon!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best choice in the Lancaste ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was the best choice in the Lancaster area to entertain good friends and to experience fine dining. As always, the service was excellent. We ordered our favorite appetizer-the calamari-not to be missed! Our steaks were done to perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are always looking for new places to ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We are always looking for new places to try and Checkers was highly recommended. It is a delightful restaurant - from the outside it looks like a typical strip mall storefront, but, inside it is an elegant surprise. Our service was very good, though it did take a long time for our server to take our order. The food was delicious, well prepared and beautifully presented. The only draw back to the evening was the noise. We were placed in a smaller dining area and a loud party of four pretty well ruined the evening for us and, I expect, the people at the other 2 tables as well. The main dining room seemed to be much quieter. I would definitely go back (I'll take my chances that the loud mouths won't be there again!)

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our table was ready for us in a timely m ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our table was ready for us in a timely manner. Our two friends had ordered drinks from the bar while waiting for us to arrive and as the table was ready on time their drinks were delivered to them after they were seated. The new dining chairs are very comfortable. The suggested wine was very good. The restaurant was lively yet we could enjoy our conversation easily. The food was beautifully presented and promptly delivered and our server was professional, courteous, attentive and efficient. She knew the menu very well and she recalled specific details about our individual tastes from our previous visits. That was very impressive considering the volume the restaurant does.

We will be going again. Favorite restaurant in Lancaster delivers once again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fun, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just as good as I remembered, especially ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Just as good as I remembered, especially the duck tacos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In short, Checker's never fails to deliv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

In short, Checker's never fails to deliver what is expected. The food is always flawlessly prepared, the service is excellent, all in a relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Checker's Bistro continues to be a high ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Checker's Bistro continues to be a high quality restaurant located in the Harrisburg Pike-Lancaster Arts Hotel-F&M College corridor. They offer a wide range of food options. My spouse had the fried calamari and I had the onion soup for apps; both were excellent and perfectly prepared. I had the free range chicken with smashed potatoes and my spouse had the Divers Scallops. All were perfect. The service is very good. We were also impressed by the high quality of cocktails that were served. You can't go wrong with Checkers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very nice setting, cool bar area, indivi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very nice setting, cool bar area, individual dining room areas.

Relaxed, friendly, efficient service. Soups were excellent, cauliflower out of this world, entrees fresh & delectable. Reasonably priced, except for wines.

When server found it we were celebrating 45th wedding anniversary, she brought a tray with 2 sorbets & Happy Anniversary written in chocolate. Very nice touch.

Would recommend for relaxed fine dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sonja made our anniversary incredibly sp ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Sonja made our anniversary incredibly special. What beautiful service to accompany a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time at the new location. Did ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our first time at the new location. Didn't disappoint. The food was delicious and our server was excellent. Will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful as always. Excel ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was wonderful as always. Excellent service. One of my favorites. My only negative is that the noise levels are a little high. Otherwise great restaurant and I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wait staff was well-trained and quite ac ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wait staff was well-trained and quite accommodating.

I had two different entrees and one I sent back because there were overwhelming foreign tastes in the crab cake: a pinkish tartar sauce on top that overwhelmed the crab and a pepper seasoning in the crab cake that was too spicy. A crab cake should not be heavily seasoned and the diner should be able to enjoy the flavor of fresh crabmeat. The scallops that were brought instead were undercooked and flourless. At home we use butter and olive oil and it gives good results and enhances the wonderfully

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The food was very good and the service e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was very good and the service even better. However, if you order anything beyond the main dish, you'll find the cost of dinner quickly escalating. Just to order a vegetable to go with dinner will set you back $7 each, and dessert is $8.50. Appetizers are pricey and so are after-dinner drinks ($10 for the least expensive port).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent wait staff. Always very good f ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent wait staff. Always very good food.

Nice variety of salads and appetizers .

V Good wine selection and excellent beers.

Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We waited a few minutes for a table even ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We waited a few minutes for a table even though we had a reservation. The hostess immediately offered us a complimentary beverage and seat in the cozy lobby. Our dinner was delicious and well worth the brief wait.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at this restaur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our first time at this restaurant. It was a beautiful place, the food was exceptionally good, and the service from Sonya was world class

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. You are always guarant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great restaurant. You are always guaranteed a great meal and wonderful service. You can never go wrong by going to Checkers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love Checkers for special family occa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We love Checkers for special family occasions. The food and service were outstanding and very fresh: their calamari appetizer is the freshest I've had. I would recommend to avoid the formality of waiting in the lobby when the table area is largely empty on weeknights and whenever possible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.