About Checkers Bistro

398 Harrisburg Avenue
Lancaster, PA 17603
View Larger Map

The sophisticated and timeless Dining Room offers diners a warm and intimate space to enjoy Chef Daniels inventive seasonal menus. The dining room is divided in to 3 areas, the Wine Salon, the Stage and the Champions Room.

The Wine Salon is an elegantly appointed dining area that faces the glass-enclosed wine cellar.

The Stage is a raised area, longer than it is wide, facing a full-length wall of beautiful old casement windows.

The Champions Room is a private area that can be part of the restaurant flow or cordoned off for privacy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm -10:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm -9:00pm

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 509-1069

Website:
http://www.checkersbistro.com/

Catering:
Many of our guests look to host special events, like birthdays, anniversaries, graduations, or private business functions offsite, at their homes or business. Checkers Bistro provides catering and event management throughout the Lancaster area. Our team will help you locate the perfect location and do everything necessary to create a unique event. Whether entertaining for an intimate gathering of friends, planning a wedding, larger special occasion or a full day business event, we will listen to your needs, assess the challenges and lead you through every step to assure a wonderful experience.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in parking lots in both the front (off Charlotte Street) and the rear (off Harrisburg Avenue), along the street on Charlotte Street and in the Snavely Lumber’s parking lot, just a half a block up Charlotte Street.

Public Transit:
Red Rose Transit Authority buses stop and pickup 1 block from the restaurant.
James Street is the closest public transport bus stop.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Checkers Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lancaster County
Best Food
Lancaster County
Best Service
Lancaster County
7 More
Best Ambiance
Lancaster County
Best Value
Lancaster County
Fit for Foodies
Lancaster County
Neighborhood Gem
Lancaster County
Romantic
Lancaster County
Special Occasion
Lancaster County
Most Booked
Lancaster County
Best Restaurants in Lancaster ›

special occasion (99)
fit for foodies (87)
romantic (75)
See All
neighborhood gem (54)
notable wine list (45)
good for groups (33)
vibrant bar scene (23)
hot spot (22)
great for lunch (18)
late-night find (12)
great for brunch (7)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took 50 minutes to get our dinner , se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Took 50 minutes to get our dinner , server did not seem to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We visited Checkers Bistro for the first ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We visited Checkers Bistro for the first time to celebrate my birthday. It was a lovely experience from beginning to end! Our waiter (so sorry I'm not remembering his name!) was superb - kind, attentive, professional. The food was delicious. The watermelon gazpacho I had as an appetizer was a wonderful combination of refreshing and spicy. My coffee-crusted petite filet was perfect! Along with a delightful dessert I had a chocolate raspberry coffee drink that was both delicious and creatively presented. We would definitely visit again and recommend Checkers to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an 8:15 pm reservation on a Satur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had an 8:15 pm reservation on a Saturday night. The restaurant was still quite busy at that time and initially service was slow, but our waiter was terrific and very attentive. The food and presentation were both exceptional. Dessert was great as well. My only suggestion would be for a Sauvignon Blanc to be added to the menu as a "by the glass" option. My dinner partner was not a wine drinker, and I really wanted a single glass for my birthday, but certainly didn't need an entire bottle. Very happy overall - highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I always look forward to an occasion to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I always look forward to an occasion to head to Checkers. From the ease of the on line reservations, to the themed diner events. I especially recommend trying a different cocktail..or 2...each time! The wait staff is exceptionally professional and knows the menu. The second tier is very courteous, as well. I highly recommend this for a special night out or try on of their themed events.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was good but not worth th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The restaurant was good but not worth the price to us. It was good food but not worth 26 dollars for a specky steak onto of average French fries.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Coffee/port wine rubbed filet amazing. C ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Coffee/port wine rubbed filet amazing. Cocktails are heavy pours. Service prompt and amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Duck Tacos were fabulous!!!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Duck Tacos were fabulous!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent it made our trip ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was excellent it made our trip memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined at Checkers many times and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I have dined at Checkers many times and always find their food, service, and ambiance outstanding. It is so hard to choose with many great choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has been one of our all time favori ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This has been one of our all time favorite restaurants for many years. We don't get there frequently since we live 30 miles away, but have always considered it worth the drive.

Honestly, this visit was the first time we left not completely happy. Something has changed and I'm having trouble putting my finger on it. Nothing was bad, mostly it just wasn't what we remembered. The whole vibe was different. The menu was the same as it's been for a long time - maybe it needs an update since the food in particular was less memorable. Kitchen just going through the motions with a tired menu? Kind of seemed like they may be weren't trying as hard. Did the chef change? Service people still seem above average but maybe less enthusiastic. Hope it recovers before it gets a reputation for mediocrity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We used to love this restaurant at its o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We used to love this restaurant at its old location. Cozy, friendly, inviting, with knock out food. After moving into its huge new location, it has lost all of its charm and intimacy which made it special. Checker's went from being our go-to neighborhood eatery; to just another overpriced restaurant. To be fair, food quality is still good, but you can find much better value in Lancaster.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent food but small portions. Nice, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent food but small portions. Nice, helpful staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Checkers Bistro is always a top shelf ex ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Checkers Bistro is always a top shelf experience . The service and food is unmatched in the lancaster area. It may be a twenty mile drive for me, but I would go triple that distance for the experience, which they always seem to deliver .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was very professional and extreme ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Waiter was very professional and extremely courteous. The service was quick, too. Great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Checkers quite a few tim ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We have been to Checkers quite a few times. It's one of our go-to restaurants for special dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Emily very good thank you.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Emily very good thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Beautiful decor and comfortable seating. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Beautiful decor and comfortable seating. Scallops were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food, top notch service, love he ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Superb food, top notch service, love he ambience of this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although the food was very good, they s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Although the food was very good, they sat us at at table against a dark wall with sun shinning in our eyes. Even though there were other tables available they would not move us. I would recommend them but only if you insist on better seating when making your reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were so impressed with the attention ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were so impressed with the attention to detail and all of special things that were done for us as we celebrated our 8yr anniversary! The staff at Checkers went above and beyond to make us feel special on our special day. The food was delicious and prepared fresh. We will definitely go back and we have already recommended it to several friends and family members!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to go with a frien ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This is a great place to go with a friend, a date or a small group. It has a fabulous wine list and the food has never been a disappointment. You will enjoy it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food; excellent service. A real up ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food; excellent service. A real upscale gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Boutique Dining

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Secreted away in a renovated industrial building is Checkers Bistro. Moderately priced upscale dining venue. Portions are a bit conservative however, quality is high. Service was excellent. Depending on your seating location the noise level can be a bit high. Overall a very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Checkers was awesome!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We celebrated my birthday at Checkers for dinner. From the moment we entered the restaurant the staff was so friendly and helpful! The bar is awesome and so were the drinks! The service was incredible! Our waitress was so kind and explained the menu to us. The food was outstanding! This will definitely be our go to restaurant for special occasions!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent !!!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

One of the best restaurants in central Pa.

Great good and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice, upscale restaurant

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Checkers is a really nice, upscale place with good food, good service and a quiet atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food/Lacking Service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was delicious as always, however it was never our waitress that brought out our drinks or food so twice our table had to re-arrange drinks. I ordered an appetizer for my fiancé and I and they divided it up on four plates for everyone at our table and served it that way, so I only received one duck taco even though I was only ordering that for us the other couple ordered soup. Very disorganized. I normally love checkers however I don't know if I will drive all the way back again. It was very disorganized and not like it has been to prior trips there. It's a long drive for us and it was sad because our friends couldn't see what we had been raving about due to the situation.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I love going to Checkers - food is grea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I love going to Checkers - food is great and the service is always exceptional!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Checkers is our go-to place for birthday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Checkers is our go-to place for birthday celebrations as well as relaxed couple nights. The food is always excellent. I can suggest the coffee-cures filet for any visit! It is so good that we often have to force ourselves to order something new. The service is friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

Go to Checkers. We have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our second visit to Checkers; fi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This is our second visit to Checkers; first was for Valentines Day. We are transplants from a large city, and miss high-end dining. Therefore, that brought us to Checkers, as well as the ambience. So far, after two visits, only one "negative" observation: most likely due to the busy atmosphere, sometimes service is slightly lacking - on each visit we had to specifically ask for bread, whereas we witnessed other tables being brought bread w/o asking. On the positive: nice ambience, intriguing decor, positive energy, waiter Josh and of course the food. We were so impressed by Josh, and were so lucky to have him on the second visit, that we would come back just for him. Do not under-estimate the importance of the waiter/waitress; in this respect Checkers has a large asset in Josh. Food: my wife is a cook and very discriminating. We are both foodies. Checkers, in our humble opinion, is amongst the best in Lancaster county. On this visit, I tried the ever-so-pedestrian "featured" chicken dish. Truly impressed - a unique take on the dish - impeccably cooked with the most incredible mushrooms stuffed inside. I like to use a common dish as a barometer, as it is often overlooked, yet indicative of the quality of the house. In this respect, I do not recall having a basic dish as creative and wonderful as this. $200 for four people, and well worth it. PS - we brought our 9 and 11 year old children, and they were welcome and appreciated. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great experience at Checkers Bistro

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Checkers Bistro is my "go to" favorite in Lancaster. The food is always well-prepared and the service staff is knowledgeable and well-trained. On this particular occasion they knew this was a business lunch and they sat us in a private, quiet area of the restaurant. And when they learned that my guest was soon to be a new resident, a sorbet was brought to the table on a plate that read "Welcome to Lancaster". Very thoughtful, and typical, of their attentiveness to the customer experience. The owners are highly engaged in the daily operation of the restaurant and it shows.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always wonderful

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is always delicious , prepared just right. The service is exceptional great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was not as good as the first time w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was not as good as the first time we ate here. Also, made to wait with a reservation while others who came in after us were seated first.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Out-freakin-standing

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This was one of the finest dining experiences I've had. Superb service and outstanding food.

Beautiful atmosphere. What more could one ask for?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server did not have any other tables ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Our server did not have any other tables in our section and we felt ignored. It took 3 hours for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Very good quality of food although just ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Very good quality of food although just a bit pricey for the portion. A salad costs $14, that was a little overboard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous in every way!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Checkers has become my favorite stop in town. The cuisine is excellent, yet not fussy. The wait staff is always friendly and efficient. The atmosphere is comfortable yet not fancy. As a frequent diner and foodie, I'm not easily impressed yet this place does it every time.

Whether dining with my wife for a special occasion or business associates, everyone is always pleased and happy.

OK, specifics: calamari-best I've EVER had and have tried hundreds. It is excellent. Organic free-range chicken: ok, who gets chicken, right!? WRONG--this is excellent and comfort food at it's best. A perfectly seasoned, crispy and tender roasted chicken, cut in 2 quarters and elegantly presented atop the most perfect mashed potatoes imaginable with sauted spinach. I like meat--steak and I get along well, but I'd get this chicken (and do) every time. It's 10 out 10.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Choice

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

It was not our first dining experience at Checkers but this restaurtant never fails to provide a tasty and enjoyable evening. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The menu provides enough choices as well as portions to satisfy most people. The only negative is sufficient parking but if you have earlier reservations it is usually okay.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Suzanne E was a fantastic server, and we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Suzanne E was a fantastic server, and we thoroughly enjoyed our special occasion meal all the more due to her attentive and kind service. The chicken was exceptional, as was the beet salad (as always).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great night out

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

If you live in the area, this is a good place for special occasions and date nights. The food was very good, I don't have one thing to complain about in regards to the meal, the scallop prep specifically, blew my mind. Dessert was disappointing, a huge thick cookie/garnish pushed into the creme brûlée dish? Why? Some things are better without the extras. The wine list, very disappointing, I know this is Lancaster but if you're going to spend all this money to have a beautiful dining room and great menu, put more thought into the wine list, specifically by the glass.

I can't exactly say what was wrong with the service, because our server was great, polite, not intrusive, and very knowledgable of the menu, but there was just something about all of the staff. Everyone walked very... ungracefully. I don't know how else to put it, they seemed brusque and careless, but not rude. and literally every course we had, the empty dishes sat on the table for longer than they should have. Especially when we had 3 or 4 different people drop dishes at our table, someone should have paid attention to clearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.