About Checkers Bistro

398 Harrisburg Avenue
Lancaster, PA 17603
View Larger Map

The sophisticated and timeless Dining Room offers diners a warm and intimate space to enjoy Chef Daniels inventive seasonal menus. The dining room is divided in to 3 areas, the Wine Salon, the Stage and the Champions Room.

The Wine Salon is an elegantly appointed dining area that faces the glass-enclosed wine cellar.

The Stage is a raised area, longer than it is wide, facing a full-length wall of beautiful old casement windows.

The Champions Room is a private area that can be part of the restaurant flow or cordoned off for privacy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm -10:00pm

Friday: 4:30pm-11pm

Saturday: 2:30pm-11pm

Sunday: 4:30pm -9:00pm

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 509-1069

Website:
http://www.checkersbistro.com/

Catering:
Many of our guests look to host special events, like birthdays, anniversaries, graduations, or private business functions offsite, at their homes or business. Checkers Bistro provides catering and event management throughout the Lancaster area. Our team will help you locate the perfect location and do everything necessary to create a unique event. Whether entertaining for an intimate gathering of friends, planning a wedding, larger special occasion or a full day business event, we will listen to your needs, assess the challenges and lead you through every step to assure a wonderful experience.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in parking lots in both the front (off Charlotte Street) and the rear (off Harrisburg Avenue), along the street on Charlotte Street and in the Snavely Lumber’s parking lot, just a half a block up Charlotte Street.

Public Transit:
Red Rose Transit Authority buses stop and pickup 1 block from the restaurant.
James Street is the closest public transport bus stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason Black

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Checkers Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (59)
Special Occasion (56)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Romantic (43)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Bar Seating (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Cozy (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Modern Decor (23)
Business Meals (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Seasonal (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Happy Hour (13)
Authentic (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Great Beer (7)
Healthy (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fireplace (5)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Organic (3)
Historic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been frequent patrons of Checker ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been frequent patrons of Checkers for the last 9 years and have found that the location, food and atmosphere are often wonderful. However, the service and particularly the management can be erratic. I had made a reservation for 6:00 on a Wednesday night to celebrate my husbands B-day. We arrived at 5:50 and were told that our table was not ready and that we could sit at the bar and wait. It is important to note that the restaurant was not overly crowded. We ordered 2 glasses of wine and at 6:05 my husband asked if our table was ready and we were seated at our table soon thereafter. After being seated at our table we waited another 15 minutes and our table had not been approached by a server. I called another local restaurant to see if they had a table and we left. This is not the first time that we have had challenging service or experiences at Checkers. Last year we had friends that were coming in from out of town and had made a reservation for 8 guests. Unfortunately, we had to cancel b/c there was a blizzard. We gave them more than 24 hours notice and because Checkers is relatively close to our house my husband and I did still had dinner there. We then wanted to re-schedule our reservation and they wanted a $200.00 deposit to make another reservation. This is the type of management inconsistencies that we have experienced at Checkers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The Peking Duck Tacos are not to be miss ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

The Peking Duck Tacos are not to be missed! The scallops were also divine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our meal was very good as was the decor ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Our meal was very good as was the decor and ambiance. I was disappointed that Checkers only offered ONE choice for a glass of Chardonnay for $14. It was a California chardonnay that was ok. I would prefer at least another option.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

For our party of 4, each person ordered ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

For our party of 4, each person ordered different entries, and we were all happy with our food. My filet was a delight.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good find in Lancaster. If you happen ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

A good find in Lancaster. If you happen to be in Lancaster from NYC or some other big metro area, you will be happy you found Checker's Bistro. A little off the beaten path if you are staying in the central part of town, its worth the walk or very short cab ride. Good entree choices and wine list. I had the steak frites and it was really nicely prepared. My wife had the scallops. We really enjoyed it and was the best dinner we had over the 3 days we stayed in Lancaster for a big youth sport tourney.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time visiting since t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our first time visiting since the restaurant had moved. It was amazing! The staff was so friendly, the ambiance and seating were wonderful, and the food was delicious! We drove an hour to eat at this restaurant and we will be back again and again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favorite when in Lancaster. Serv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Our new favorite when in Lancaster. Service was a little sluggish, but the food was unbelievably delicious, from appetizer to dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

The food and service were excellent! The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service were excellent! The entree portions were perfect sizes and the duck tacos were on point! The praline chocolate mouse was divine. The raspberry sauce added just enough pop in your mouth. The chocolate Tart was great, but by the end a bit overwhelming. The service was impeccable and set to the right speed to enjoy a date.

My only critique would be that the beet salad could have used more goat cheese. Our experience was great and we can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The staff was lovely .. Prompt greeting ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The staff was lovely .. Prompt greeting , attentive service , great cocktails .. However the food did not live up to its descriptions So so crab cake ..tough asparagus Fishy swordfish .. And none of it was hot coming out of the kitchen .. For the prices ... I expected better

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

My sister and I love to eat at great res ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

My sister and I love to eat at great restaurants and your restaurant fits for our occasional sister get togethers.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always we had a fantastic meal handle ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

As always we had a fantastic meal handled by a great kitchen and attentive staff. This is a must visit restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and wonderful service! We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food and wonderful service! We will be back for sure! Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here for my birthday and arrived ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We went here for my birthday and arrived early for our reservation, so we went to the bar for drinks and an appetizer. We gave our name to the hostess upon arriving and when our reservation time arrived, one of the wait staff met us at the bar to take us to our table. Nice that we did not have to search for someone at our reservation time. The ambiance is nice...decorated for winter, so it felt cozy and elegant. We ate in a nice, secluded spot - high back, velvet booth (but maybe it was just a tad too dark ). I like how there are separate dining areas , which have even more secluded sections like the one we were in. Our waiter was the perfect balance of friendly, attentive, and professional, and he took into consideration we were there to celebrate a birthday. I ordered the filet, which was very good. My boyfriend ordered the grilled salmon, which was just okay. It was very light and did not looked grilled, but it was done. The cocktails and wine were good, as well as the calamari appetizer. We will go back for sure and order different dishes for variety. There were a number of items that sounded appetizing...they have signature dishes and some seasonal. I liked that a few of the desserts were unique and seasonal...the ginger ice cream paired with thinly sliced fruitcake was an upscale version of this holiday bread that people usually steer clear of! My vanilla crème brulee was presented with a chocolate syrup, "Happy Birthday" message on the plate. Don't worry - no Happy Birthday quartets will show up at your table! :)

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Tapas, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Checkers is one of the top restaurants t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Checkers is one of the top restaurants the Lancaster. Atmosphere is pleasant (dark, table separations and appealing). Wait staff is friendly and well trained. Food couldn't be better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet was very flavorful. Having ma ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The filet was very flavorful. Having magazines on the table, since I was eating alone, was a very nice touch. They mention on the menu to silence your cellphone, which is a great idea. I will certainly have dinner at Checkers again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first experience at Checkers ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This was my first experience at Checkers and it was fantastic! All of our food was amazing and the service was great. It was also a New Year's celebration so each party received 20% off their dinner. On top of the percentage off dinner, each person was given a gift, picked a number from a basket, and the gifts ranged from a candle to a bottle of wine. It was an amazing first experience! Will definitely go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We received an email inviting us for a p ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We received an email inviting us for a promotional evening with 20% off and giveaway /thank you for your business New Year gifts.

We invited friends to join us after we booked for two and there was no problem with them accommodating the change.

The apple walnut salad was very good. The beef dish delicious. Dessert was a very flavourful and unique presentation of fruit cake. Light and delicious.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Private Room, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Outstanding as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was my first visit to Checkers. Eve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This was my first visit to Checkers. Everything about the experience was wonderful. Excellent menu. All food was prepared perfectly. Service was also excellent. Our waiter was attentive, knowledgeable and just did the little things right so I knew he was listening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their new steak is a little tough. Was a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Their new steak is a little tough. Was a problem without a steak knife!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Checkers NEVER disappoints. Last visit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Checkers NEVER disappoints. Last visit was New Year's Eve and they were really on their game for the crunch of the evening. We were promptly seated and treated to a wonderful meal. The food came with great presentation from appys to dessert. Alert and attentive service throughout the meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Ive been going to checkers since they ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ive been going to checkers since they had been on mulberry st which I belive was just a bit more romantic compared to the new location. For the food its still great the only complaint i would have is, that I feel like the filet got even smaller and the price went up from 15$ on the old menu and location to 24$ on the new menu and location along with most of the food prices other than that still a great place to eat

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and excellent service. Se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service.

Service was better than most/all of the many restaurants I frequent in Philly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful New Year's dinner.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful New Year's dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly and helpful staff! Food was gr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Friendly and helpful staff! Food was great, my medium rare steak was just that! My husband loved his crab cake! Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual, Checkers lived up to its good ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As usual, Checkers lived up to its good name. Popped in for a quick brunch. My Steak Frites was excellent. I swapped my duck egg for a chicken egg, server was happy oblige. Great service and ambience. I've never had a bad experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place is beautiful and cozy, yet mo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This place is beautiful and cozy, yet modern. The wait staff is very attentive. The food is just amazing. And the cocktails are so interesting and delicious. It's not a cheap place, but a really fun special occasion dining experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The only concern was that we were from N ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The only concern was that we were from New York,celebrating our51st Anniversary, and could not locate the restaurant. The restaurant did not have a sign indicating where they were located. Called the restaurant to get directions, and, the phone went into voice mail. We almost left; however, we did find the restaurant, and thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Also surprised that the restaurant did not acknowledge our Anniversary even though my daughter advised them when she made the reservation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service were both excellent ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food and service were both excellent. The experience was great and equivalent to a top restaurant in New York

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, as it always is. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was delicious, as it always is. The petite filet is hard not to order each time. Significant time passed as we waited for our drink order from the bar, but once they did, they were spot-on. Fellow diners were extremely noisy. We could handle their conversation topics, but I imagine others would not. Middinner, our kind server did offer us an option to move. We declined because we were almost done, but it did dampen our overall date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

New to the area so we are exploring the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

New to the area so we are exploring the area restaurants. First time at Checkers, food was very good, service excellent and quiet enough for conversation. Really nice bar area. Will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Checkers is our place to celebrate life' ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Checkers is our place to celebrate life's important moments. This visit was no exception. A close girl friend had recently lost one of her dearest friends and I wanted to take her out so she could share with me all that was special about this person and to celebrate his life.

We sat in a private booth and ran the gamut of emotions as she shared his story. The service staff was courteous and respectful, and diligent as always. The food and wine were a nourishing comfort and perfect for such a celebration.

Once again Checkers Bistro - most importantly, the people - provided a warm and special space to share, celebrate and , in this case , heal and, well, live.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is DELICIOUS and beautifully pr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food is DELICIOUS and beautifully presented. The service is TERRIFIC. You pay for what you get, and trust that it is worth every penny. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation for a date night wi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I made a reservation for a date night with my husband at Checkers Bistro and could not have been more pleased. We arrived 10 minutes before our reservation time and they seated us right away. The menu is smaller but has enough choices ofor, starters, salads, entrees and desserts. You are bound to like something or possibly try something new. We had the French onion and lobster bisque and these delicious warm rolls and butter to start. Both soups were amazing. My husband had ordered the coffee cured petite filet and I had the roasted chicken. Both had flavors that were out of this world. They serve Saratoga water, which was a relief because both my husband and I are water snobs and can't stand the taste of "filtered" city water. Out server was so friendly and checked on us at the most perfect times and did not make us feel rushed. You feel like you're important and someone special when dining here. I highly, highly recommend Checkers Bistro.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List, , Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I had a wonderful meal an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My friends and I had a wonderful meal and drinks. Cheers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All good, we love the service. Tate is a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

All good, we love the service. Tate is an outstanding server!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The duck tacos are divine! We love that ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The duck tacos are divine! We love that the owner is invested so much that he often delivers the main entree to your table. Love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere, but too pricey overall, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Nice atmosphere, but too pricey overall, especially for the portion size. Food was a bit bland.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Checkers is one of our favorite Lancaste ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Checkers is one of our favorite Lancaster restaurants. The food and service are always wonderful. Great spot for a special night out!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Tapas, Private Room, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Frequent visitor, never disappointed, hi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Frequent visitor, never disappointed, highly recommended!

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.