About Checkers Bistro

398 Harrisburg Avenue
Lancaster, PA 17603
View Larger Map

The sophisticated and timeless Dining Room offers diners a warm and intimate space to enjoy Chef Daniels inventive seasonal menus. The dining room is divided in to 3 areas, the Wine Salon, the Stage and the Champions Room.

The Wine Salon is an elegantly appointed dining area that faces the glass-enclosed wine cellar.

The Stage is a raised area, longer than it is wide, facing a full-length wall of beautiful old casement windows.

The Champions Room is a private area that can be part of the restaurant flow or cordoned off for privacy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm -10:00pm

Friday: 4:30pm-11pm

Saturday: 2:30pm-11pm

Sunday: 4:30pm -9:00pm

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 509-1069

Website:
http://www.checkersbistro.com/

Catering:
Many of our guests look to host special events, like birthdays, anniversaries, graduations, or private business functions offsite, at their homes or business. Checkers Bistro provides catering and event management throughout the Lancaster area. Our team will help you locate the perfect location and do everything necessary to create a unique event. Whether entertaining for an intimate gathering of friends, planning a wedding, larger special occasion or a full day business event, we will listen to your needs, assess the challenges and lead you through every step to assure a wonderful experience.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in parking lots in both the front (off Charlotte Street) and the rear (off Harrisburg Avenue), along the street on Charlotte Street and in the Snavely Lumber’s parking lot, just a half a block up Charlotte Street.

Public Transit:
Red Rose Transit Authority buses stop and pickup 1 block from the restaurant.
James Street is the closest public transport bus stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason Black

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Checkers Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lancaster County
Best Food
Lancaster County
Best Service
Lancaster County
3 More
Best Ambiance
Lancaster County
Best Value
Lancaster County
Most Booked
Lancaster County
Best Restaurants in Lancaster ›

Special Occasion (65)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Good for a Date (49)
Romantic (48)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Notable Wine List (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Business Meals (22)
Cozy (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Seasonal (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Authentic (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Casual (8)
Healthy (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Great Beer (6)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Historic (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Private Room (4)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a special place for special occa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a special place for special occasions. Although the menu is limited, the food is exceptional, especially the coffee infused steak. Service is impeccable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Checkers many times. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have been to Checkers many times. The food has been excellent each time. Casual, contemporary atmosphere that would welcome any casual attire. The menu is unique and dishes are nicely presented. I would like to dine here more often than I do!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We both started off with French onion so ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We both started off with French onion soup which was pretty tasty. I ordered the steak frites and really disliked it a lot. The truffle butter was too over powering and the flank steak tasted slimy and gross. My fiance had a pasta dish and she said it was OK but probably wouldn't get it again.

The mixed drinks were great and wine was delicious. I'd like to give it another try one day but living in Baltimore and the amount of times we're are up there way it will probably be a while till we try it again if we ever do.

Atmosphere was lovely. Give it a whirl just don't order the flank steak 😔

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. A ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Attention to detail is top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the opportunity to have dinner wit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I had the opportunity to have dinner with a friend at Checkers earlier this week and we had an amazing experience! Our server was terrific, extremely friendly, and very knowledgeable of the menu. Checkers is my favorite restaurant in Lancaster and my experience on Tuesday night only helps to reinforce that. The food is superb and the ambience is wonderful. Well done, as always!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love checkers it is always delicious ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We love checkers it is always delicious and the food and service is impeccable ! We started with the duck tacos which all four of us devoured then we had the coffee filet which is so delicious and we ended our meal with the tasty profiteroles and the pressed coffee. My parents were in town from Los Angeles and we brought them there because we knew the meal would not disappoint and it didn't !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Checkers is the best restaurant in town ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Checkers is the best restaurant in town in terms of food, wine and service.

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Late-night Find, Organic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Checkers! We had great food and se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Love Checkers! We had great food and service. My only criticism was the time between courses was a bit long. I never like to be rushed or hurried but I felt it was a bit long. Don't let this stop you from enjoying the restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience and good acoustics for ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great ambience and good acoustics for having conversation. The food was well presented and prepared. We will definitely return soon

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The outside is hard to find at night whe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The outside is hard to find at night when you've never been there before. We went to Checkers for our 10th Anniversary, we were seated at the bar while they prepared a table for us and were given a dinner menu to look over while we waited. Everyone we came into contact with us told us Happy 10th Anniversary, and were VERY nice. The prices are kind of steep, but the food is worth it. My husband and I aren't exactly foodies so the names of the dishes were a little confusing, so steak frites was- steak and fries. The atmosphere was great and romantic and the drinks were on point. On my desert plate they had written Happy 10th Anniversary in chocolate. Overall a great anniversary dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The only addition I would absolutely lov ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The only addition I would absolutely love would be is candles. Real or battery

The warmth of candles adds so much ambience to the atmosphere and space

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It's not the cheapest place around but t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It's not the cheapest place around but the quality and quantity of food is very high and it is a place we will return to again for special occasions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the service to the food...outstandi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

From the service to the food...outstanding. I am not sure why this has to be at least fifty words, so I will just use filler. There you go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our birthday dinner here. Birth ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Enjoyed our birthday dinner here. Birthdays, rather, because wife and I were born the same day. We wanted to escape election night news...Checkers was the perfect antidote to political overload. Quiet, softly lit and romantic..distant from talking head chitter chatter.

Service was very good. Wine selection was fine and server was knowledgeable enough to make good suggestions. Food was top notch.

As a matter of personal choice, rather than a complaint, I would have served the flatiron steak for the steak frites entree in just a slightly different manner. While tasty, the cut can be a bit tough. I would have prepared a slightly thinner cut, or would have presented it, on the plate, sliced thin against the bias.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant so we go ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant so we go there any time we can find a babysitter. We had not visited in about 6-8 weeks, but it seems as just about the entire service staff has turned over. The service was good, but not extraordinary like we have come to expect with our visits there. Our salads seemed a bit smaller than in the past. Our server never brought us bread. When my husband asked what beers are currently on tap the server had to find the page in the drink menu. Every other time we have been there the servers have always know from memory not only the beers, but what whiskeys, rums, etc currently in house.

Again, not a bad experience, just not as grand as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food as always and the servers are ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food as always and the servers are very accommodating. My only suggestion is that although the lighting is nice for a romantic evening, it was very hard to see the menus and especially the food. I saw other people using their cell phones to see the menus too. I like to be able to see the food.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful food, friendly staff. Overall ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful food, friendly staff. Overall an amazing date night with my wife!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating a friends' 50th Birthday for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Celebrating a friends' 50th Birthday for lunch. Was a great place to eat. Beet salad was incredible and we had the quiche too. Dessert was really good. Was a bit pricey for lunch - seemed more like dinner pricing. Would choose it for special lunches in future. Very nice interior design.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great dinner. Our food was deli ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a great dinner. Our food was delicious and service was top notch! Dined at many restaurants throughout Lancaster and this definitely rates in my top 5 favorites!

Tags: Private Room, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The appetizers and salads are amazing, e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The appetizers and salads are amazing, entrees not enough choices. Our waiter was pretty obnoxious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

My wife and I had an early dinner here. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My wife and I had an early dinner here. Outside looks like an old industrial building (which it is) but don't let that stop you, inside the real transformation happens. Very elegant and warm. Very attentive and friendly staff. Small menu but a unique blend of American, Asian and French items and very well done! Keep in mind the seasonal menu is only available after 5PM. We started with French Onion Soup and Lobster Bisque soups. Both excellent and a proper portion for the price. Then had the Diver Scallops and Crab Cake. Again both excellent however I thought three scallops for $25 was a little high. Finished with a nice Creme Brulee and Ginger Ice Cream and Tart. Very fine meal overall and we will be back for more. Our compliments to the kitchen and staff. Thanks for a great meal. Tom & Bettie

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Checker's never fails to please, we woul ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Checker's never fails to please, we would not go back if it did not! I have never had a single complaint about anything there, and have never experienced anything other than a perfect fine dining experience. Yes, they will see me and my family again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Our dinners(4 peop ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wonderful experience. Our dinners(4 people) were exceptional.

Will definitely go to Checker's again

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I shared a wonderful dining ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My wife and I shared a wonderful dining experience at Checkers, celebrating our 39 anniversary. We both enjoyed perfectly mixed cocktails before dining on scallops and blackened mahi. Both were served superbly cooked and well plated. The service was spot on, but not overbearing. They also served us our crem brulee with a special anniversary greeting. All in all, a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like Checkers. Nice place with good s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I like Checkers. Nice place with good service and good food. It's a little on the pricey end so for me that means only special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Music selection was not fitting needs t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Music selection was not fitting needs to be improved

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband &I had a great date Saturday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My husband &I had a great date Saturday with wonderful food, prepared to perfection and a very nice atmosphere. Service was very good. We look forward to our next visit. Thanks to all who contributed to make the occasion memorable...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We have a wonderful meal as always-the n ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We have a wonderful meal as always-the new brunch menu was excellent.

If you are visiting Lancaster this is a can't miss restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my two daughters for dinner. One ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I took my two daughters for dinner. One daughter complained of the lighting--too dark. But she loved everything else. The attentiveness of our waiter was excellent and professional--he was there to serve us not become part of our family. The food was excellent--all three of us had steak and it was cooked exactly as each ordered. The quality of the meat was outstanding--all us agreed we never tasted a better steak in Pennsylvania. The noise level was a bit loud but that was due to an especially loud group--the only thing I can say is they were feeling like us comfortable and happy to be there. The price was moderately high but included cocktails, appetizers, main course, desert and coffee. Actually, the price was well worth the two hours we spent there--we never felt rushed. The experience we agreed was exceptional for our area. There might be a better place but I haven't found it in Lancaster. OH, check out the restroom an experience in class! It's the little things that set you apart from the crowd and Checkers does the little things well. Can't wait to take my wife. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

It was our wedding anniversary and we we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2016

It was our wedding anniversary and we were treated with grace and elegance from the moment we walked in.We were wished a Happy Anniversary from the hostess as well as our waitress, Sonja. Sonja was extremely courteous and helpful throughout the evening and was especially knowledgeable of the wines. Our calamari appetizer was the best we have ever had. Our entrees were served timely and were extremely well tasting.

Kudos to the entire staff. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love it at checkers! Our waiter was g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We love it at checkers! Our waiter was good but not very personable. I said we are celebrating a birthday and we didn't get any kind of happy birthday written chocolate like I have in the past so that was a little disappointing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Our cocktails were very tasty and origin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our cocktails were very tasty and original. The food was amazing, although my friend thought her dinner was a bit tiny. The bread was fresh and hot. The ambiance was warm and a bit loud. The service was stellar. It would have been nice for a small dinner salad to be included with the entree to enhance the value. Overall, I would recommend it to friends and warn them it's a bit pricey.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We've dined at Checkers Bistro a number ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We've dined at Checkers Bistro a number of times -- it always pleases and never disappoints. The food, service, and ambiance are top of the line! It is a favorite on so many levels!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good steak and good duck tacos. Mahi mah ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Good steak and good duck tacos. Mahi mahi was poorly seasoned and very bland.

Presentations were good. Service very good

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Another wonderful dining experience made ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Another wonderful dining experience made even better with the new seasonal menu introduced. Food and service are excellent

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Helped friends celebrate an anniversary. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Helped friends celebrate an anniversary. All was great, and our waitress Sonya was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and atmosphere were A+ but the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The food and atmosphere were A+ but the service was A++. I highly recommend Checkers Bistro.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is very pretty inside and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The restaurant is very pretty inside and there is enough space between the tables so you feel comfortable. We had a bunch of appetizers because we couldn't decide what to get. Everything was delicious.

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Checkers is always fantastic! Great food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Checkers is always fantastic! Great food, service, atmosphere.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is, perhaps, our favorite restauran ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is, perhaps, our favorite restaurant in Lancaster. The food is always good and we like the ambience. The bar is fantastic. It's definitely pricey but it is in line with other upscale restaurants.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.