About Chayo Mexican Kitchen + Tequila Bar

3545 Las Vegas Blvd.
Suite 4
Las Vegas, NV 89109
View Larger Map

Prepare your senses for a fusion of flavors that reaches into the heart of Mexico. Our Kitchen and Tequila Bar offers hand selected ingredients, which are designed to intrigue each of your senses. The only thing with more "bite" than Chayo’s Cuisine is the selection of tequilas.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Tapas / Small Plates, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Sun - Thur: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Fri: 11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Sat: 9:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Sun: 9:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Flamingo Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(702) 691-3773

Website:
http://chayolv.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJs nightly and our house mascot, Chayo, our mechanical bull!

Parking Details:
We are steps away from The Quad and Flamingo Hotels parking garages and valet.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.chayolv.com/events.html

Restaurant Photos

  • Chayo Mexican Kitchen + Tequila Bar
  • Chayo Mexican Kitchen + Tequila Bar
  • Chayo Mexican Kitchen + Tequila Bar
  • Chayo Mexican Kitchen + Tequila Bar
  • Chayo Mexican Kitchen + Tequila Bar
Chayo Mexican Kitchen + Tequila Bar
Chayo Mexican Kitchen + Tequila Bar
Chayo Mexican Kitchen + Tequila Bar
Chayo Mexican Kitchen + Tequila Bar
Chayo Mexican Kitchen + Tequila Bar

Chayo Mexican Kitchen + Tequila Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.5

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

59% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (7)
scenic view (4)
good for groups (3)
See All
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
fit for foodies (1)
special occasion (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Decent place to eat

Dined on June 10, 2016

Eaten here twice. Once for lunch and once for dinner. Both times food was decent but nothing to write home about. Good enough to go back though. Service for dinner was a little slow. Service for lunch was very good. They also have a mechanical rooster that you can ride if dinner isn't exciting enough on its own.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed Our Evening

Dined on June 1, 2016

Visited with our dear friends from the East coast and the experience was very good. We wanted to sit outside on the patio which has limited seating and staff were very accommodating. Our server, Oscar, recommended some fine margaritas and beer with appetizers. He also told us about the special, TACO TUESDAY, and helped us navigate through the menu. The service was outstanding and the food tasted fresh and was cooked perfectly. The patio seating was great for people watching and cool despite the temperature hovering around 100 degrees. We will definitely return when we visit Las Vegas again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4

The food, drinks and atmosphere is wonde ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The food, drinks and atmosphere is wonderful. We had appetizers, margaritas, and various main courses during our time at Chayo. It is a bar / restaurant with high ceilings, wonderful decor and oh yay, a mechanical bull for evening time. We enjoyed our time At the restaurant, after a long three days The. Convention Center. It was a great dining experience to enjoy the evening.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was lackluster. Wondered if I wa ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Service was lackluster. Wondered if I was ignored as a single female.

food4
ambience5
service1
value1

The food was terrific! The outdoor seati ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The food was terrific! The outdoor seating, though limited, was wonderful with great Vegas "people watching". The hostess was unfriendly from the start (not so much as a slight smile) and the service was impossibly bad. They "share" servers and the result is that no one is directly accountable. There was not a manager to be found all night and we were completely finished with our food prior to receiving our second round of drinks. One of the waiters came by and asked "how are you doing" clearly not even realizing that we were all sitting there with no drinks and done with our food. He blamed it on Happy Hour and walked away without even clearing a single plate. All of our plates were still sitting there when we left and two of our orders were completely wrong. When I paid the $300 bill, I asked to have the card back right away (chased the server down at the bar)as we were headed to a show. He did not arrive with the receipt for signature for another fifteen minutes. I asked for a manager's card on the way out and the hostess literally just said "no, we don't have those". I stated that the service was very poor and she just walked away. Will definitely never return and we are Locals that do the Strip and Linq all the time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service4

The had a giant rooster that you could e ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The had a giant rooster that you could eide

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food! Great view if you sit outs ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Amazing food! Great view if you sit outside, people watching. If you sit inside you get to watch people ride the mechanical bull! After 10, I think, they clear the bar area and it turns into a dance floor! LOVED! Absolutely will go back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Break hat for 2

Dined on May 14, 2016

Break hat for 2

food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Bad Mexican food

Dined on May 6, 2016

From service to food a horrible experience, save your money go to Taco Bell !!!

food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Not very good

Dined on May 6, 2016

My husband I are locales and were there on Cinco de Mayo. We had margaritas, guac. (tableside) and split the grilled fish tacos. The margaritas were way to sweet, gauc. was just ok and the fish was very dry. The service was great and people were very friendly but the food was so bad we will not return.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Is a waste of a restaurant

Dined on April 28, 2016

Read the other review and you will find how awful this is. I wish I had read first. I cannot believe that Management has allowed this to be associated with it. We all ordered Strip Steaks. Needed a chainsaw to cut it. It tasted like it cut,and I ordered it Rare. The others business acociates could not believe bad this food was. Should have known by all empty. Seats.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, service was great.

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Food was great, service was great.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Terrible service and ok food

Dined on April 1, 2016

Nice location on Linq promenade with good outdoor seating for people watching. Food is pretty decent and tastes fresh. For their service, though... We were promptly sat, and the server came over shortly after. Initial meeting went well and we ordered margaritas, chips and dip, and our entrees. Margs came out quick and were pretty good. We expected our chips and dip to come out soon after but 20 min later- still no chips and dip, and no waitress in sight. At 25 min after getting our drinks, out comes the chips, dip, and our entrees. My husband told the waitress about the issue of all our food arriving together, rather than the app of chips and dip coming out first. She then said, "oh that's how it's supposed to come out". To which we replied that apps come out before entrees and now our entrees would get cold if we were to enjoy the chips and dip. She shrugged, walked off, and avoided us the rest of the time until she cleared some plates and brought the check. At that point and for the next 10 min or so, my husband was still eating on the chips, and she circled by to grab the check 3 times. We were obviously still eating and hanging out so I could not understand that behavior of trying to rush us (and no, they weren't busy). We only wish we had spoken to a manager at the time but were too irritated to deal with it then.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was excellent & staff was frien ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

The food was excellent & staff was friendly. Enjoyed the tequila flights (Excellent list of tequila's to choose from) always have to stop in when in Vegas.

food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Don't bother.

Dined on March 22, 2016

We had a group of six for dinner. Our waitress was fantastic however she had too many tables and could not keep up. A large group came in after we did and we think our food got mixed up with theirs because when we finally received our food everyones meal was cold.

food1
ambience4
service1

If you live in somewhere where chipotle ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

If you live in somewhere where chipotle is the best Mexican restaurant - you may like this place. If you know and appreciate good Mexican food - stay away.

food2
ambience3
service2

Go elsewhere

Dined on September 10, 2015

Wine glass had lipstick on it. Water glass was chipped. We ordered table side guacamole but it never arrived. Food was mediocre at best. There are so many restaurants available in the area that I recommend skipping this place.

food4
ambience4
service5

My wife and I both ordered tacos because ...

Dined on August 26, 2015

My wife and I both ordered tacos because it was Taco Tuesday. I ordered shrimp tacos & she ordered sirloin tacos. We also had guacamole made at our table. Everything was very delicious.

food4
ambience1
service1

Not what I thought it was

Dined on July 26, 2015

I was not impressed with Chayo. I had made reservations for my birthday and when I showed up at the time of the reservations I still had to wait 15 to 20 minutes for a table because my table was not ready yet. The service was horrible. My waitress waited AN HOUR to just take our order. She didn't even take everyone's order! She took 3 of my guests orders then left and came back 30 minutes later to take the rest of the orders. She kept getting our drinks wrong, giving us tea when we actually asked for a soda. Our food took almost an hour to be prepared. And when it came down to the bill, the waitress mixed up two of my guests money! So they had to sit there for 20 minutes while they went over who ordered what and how much change each guest needed back. One of my guests told her (the waitress) it was my birthday (which was the reason we made the reservations there in the first place) and the waitress just told me happy birthday and that was it! I was not impressed at all. The only good feed back I have is that the food was great. But its disappointing that the service was not.

Tags: late-night find
food2
ambience2
service2

Good water service.

Dined on July 26, 2015

We were never sure who was our server and did a fair amount of waiting at the table. The rice was good, as was my one glass of wine. The food was not too great and all we ordered was lobster tacos and carnitas tacos. A side order of corn was good.... the corn and rice were the best but doesn't qualify it as a good meal. Would not go back there again. There are a lot of really good restaurants in Las Vegas so, unless you're there to drink and sit outside to people watch, go somewhere else.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2

Always perfect, except this time 😡

Dined on July 12, 2015

When I get at the restaurant I ask for my reservation and the hostages send me inside the restaurant with all my family and my guests, was difficult to get trough all the the tables and the hostages told me that is nothing she can do. When finally get inside the restaurant nobody was helping me and they said inside was packed because it was a fight . I explained I wasn't there for the fight at the TV. My visit was because the foods. So they decided to sent me outside and look for a table myself. The waitress was ok but she forgot to bring me my drinks. The food was good but wasn't the same I order first time I was there. I order the chicken, beef and shrimp fajitas and queso fundido with choriso. They bring no rice or nopales or beens, was only 2 pack of small tortillas for 5 people and after they bring my food the waitresses never came back not event for the money. It really was a bad service . The taste of the food is delicious but the service from the personal since I walk in with recervation until the end was the worst service. 😡

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service1

Service non-existent

Dined on June 26, 2015

Sat us down and didn't come back. Picture girl came by to sell us on a photo opp before a waiter even brought us water. Took longer to get a drink than it did to get our tasteless $9 guacamole. Got our food and no one even asked if it was OK. The only thing they brought quickly was our bill. Never again.

food4
ambience4
service2

Mix result

Dined on June 15, 2015

Came here later in the night. Service is lacking. Server was not atttentive at all. He stop by once we got seated and never take our drink order. He didn't come back till like 10mins later. We order our drinks and food all together. Waited like at least 30 mins for sine tacos and fajita. The restaurant is not even half full. For the amount of customer in the house, food shouldn't have take that long. I know cause I work in 1. Refills on our drinks is near non existence, got to flag him down. Not sure if he got too many tables or just lack of service since we did not order alcohol. My guest and I drank at the diamond lounge before we head over for dinner. Food was really good, the baked beans can use more cooking time, beans kinda still in the hard side. I got no complaint other than the lack of service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service1

Great Food

vip
Dined on June 5, 2015

Food was great but the service wasn't the bartender rang in a shrimp dish and I order a chicken fajita. You need to write down your orders if you can't remember it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service3

My fajitas were too salty to enjoy. The ...

Dined on May 18, 2015

My fajitas were too salty to enjoy. The salad arrived with the entree.

food1
ambience2
service1

Terrible service, never checked in our r ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2015

Terrible service, never checked in our reservation that we made. Waiter was non attentive abs the 3 hostesses were more worried about themselves than the guests checking in. Ordered fish tacos...barely any fish! The beans were the highlight! Wife ordered carnitas tacos...pork was dried out. Once again the beans were the highlight! Taco Bell or Chiptole are far better than this place!

food4
ambience2
service1

Poor Service...but energetic environment

Dined on May 6, 2015

I will start off by saying we did have dinner reservations for 8 on Cinco de Mayo, thinking this would be a festive place to have dinner. They were playing Spring Break 1990's urban music...rather than more festive music for the occasion, somewhat disappointing. The music was so loud, this was only at 7:45pm, that we could barely hear each other speak across the table. The server took our order and literally never came back until he brought the check. In the meantime, another server came by and took drink orders which then resulted in double drinks for everyone. The only saving grace was that the food was good. I would NEVER go back during dinner with a large group.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service4

Taco Tuesday

vip
Dined on April 29, 2015

It's was awesome. I planed a birthday dinner for the wife and she enjoy Mexican food. My wife is from Oakland, CA so she is very picky about he Tacos. We had the carnitas , The Lobster, The shrimp and the Rib-Eye Tacos. All were quite Delicious. Our Favorite Was The carnitas. the flavor from the pork was amazing. Just slow cooked perfectly. Our Server Juan was super nice and very helpful with providing info on his favorites from the Menu. He really made me and my wife feel special on her day. We look forward to coming back and seeing the Juan and those amazing tacos soon for another Taco Tuesday!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

The nachos and lobster tacos were fantas ...

Dined on April 19, 2015

The nachos and lobster tacos were fantastic. The Mexican Mule cocktail was mediocre at best. Service was ok.

food4
ambience3
service4

Would be at least 4-stars if not for the noise.

vip
Dined on April 14, 2015

The food, service and decor at this "nouveau" Mex is easily four stars. The music however was turned up so loud during dinner hour (arrived at 6:45PM on a weekday), that not only could we not hear each other across the table, but the bass was so loud that our bodies vibrated, as if we were at a nightclub. If they could bring themselves to turn down the bass, at least during dinner hours...

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Vegas strip option

vip
Dined on April 5, 2015

Delicious guacamole and rib eye tacos. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3

nice outdoor seating, ok food

Dined on April 2, 2015

We went here for dinner last night. While the outdoor seating was nice, the food was bland. We had the burrito and chicken enchiladas. They tasted almost identical, with the exception that the burrito had rice and beans. We were really looking for more of a kick to the food. Margaritas were excellent server was nice but not extremely attentive. Would come back for drinks, but that's it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service2

Service not ready for prinetine

vip
Dined on March 21, 2015

The setting of Chayo was very appropriate for its location, with lots of exterior seating and and open air feel to the interior. Our entire party of 5 enjoyed our meals and drinks. However the service seemed to lack any sort of system. Drinks took 15 minutes to arrive, even a round of beers. We had to ask 3 people for napkins and silverware after our food arrived. There's promise here but the service is holding it back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1

I rarely ever complain about service,,,,,

Dined on February 15, 2015

I have gone to many restaurants in my time and I figured in Las Vegas why not try something different. Well lets say management and staff is key to any successful establishment. But unfortunately, this place lacked it. We had a party of 11 and our poor waitress was left to handle our table and another table of 20+ guest on her own, while the assistant manager is busy dancing with the bull rider controller and obviously has her attention focused elsewhere, can we be more professional she is the assistant manager. As a manager of a facility she could of delegated to other staff to help provide service to both large parties. Instead a dinner that should of taken only 2 hours turned into 3.5 hrs. At that point we decided to speak to the individual in charge and he decides to laugh at another situation, goes to another customer then finally decides to attempt to address our dissatisfaction. If you don't have reservations for anything after dinner this is the place to go because you will be spending most of your Vegas time at this restaurant due to the lack of help needed to facilitate decent service. I will be sure to let everyone I know of the service that was provided at such a place in Vegas. Word of mouth is the key to any successful establishment.

food3
ambience3
service1

Make a reservation

Dined on February 15, 2015

We were very disappointed in the service we had, the food was ok but not the best more like an over priced mexican chain. We order a meal meat combo for two people that had chicken, steak , pork & the waiter said it was very good! First off I told the waiter Jordon, that I'm a allergic to pork , & he said no problem you can have extra chicken, it was fine when it came out but when I ate the beans I notice there was pork in it & my mouth started to quiver & told my hubby that there was pork my throat started to quiver & I look around for the waiter finally found him "Jordon" told him there is pork in the beans & he look at me like he doesn't know what's going on & he comment oh you better not eat that & he said " oh I told the chef! I told him remember I mention that I'm allergic to pork!! Oh he says again & does nothing at all doesn't say he sorry or get the manager ! No where to find a manager no one what's to help you this is ridiculous how we are treated and after that I end up getting the swellingness of my neck this allergic reaction of the pork this is Monday im still in Vegas & have to deal with this issue on my neck & face! Not happy & will never go here again! Beware a bunch of careless peole working there, no one cares

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service4

Wear ear protectors !

Dined on February 14, 2015

Beware of LOUD Techno Music blaring ! To bad because the food is excellent ! They should take an example of an excellent restaurant from Boise called Barbacoa that has great latin music playing . Would only go back if we can sit outside patio , where one can think and not feel a headache is coming on !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service2

If you like Mexican food, avoid this place

vip
Dined on February 8, 2015

Over cooked/tough fajitas. Store bought/fake tortillas. Store bought chips/salsa (that weren't complimentary). Being from a city with great Mexican food on each corner, this was a FAIL.

food2
ambience3
service1

Chayo 2-6-15

Dined on February 7, 2015

I am a local. I find this hard to write as I typically would not bother after having a less than decent experience at a restaurant but I found this experience very disappointing. Sitting at the bar prior to our meal was fine and I have no issues with the casual bar scene within the restaurant. The dining experience however was extremely disappointing. The server we had was very new to waiting on people and had no sense of customer service as she was more involved with setting other tables of which she was having a difficult time a that. We ordered two of the Ribye steaks both medium. When the food came to the table one was "well done". It was not over cooked but the order was actually input as "well done". I did not wish to have another steak cooked so I ate it as is. We where not provided steak knives with our "steak" and it took an extended period of time to receive them. Numerous times I had to literally wave my hands at the server to get her attention to either order another cocktail or any other request. I felt she had forgotten about us numerous times. Had it not been for the bus boy helping us when he noticed we needed something I felt she may had never come back. The restaurant was not crowded nor under staffed I simply believed the server we had was not the caliber that should be working at this type of establishment. I feel this is the managements over site not the servers fault however. The food was "average" at best although the salsa was very good. I believe the poor service may have taken away from the food as when I was done I was irritated. I would not recommend CHAYO to any of my friends in fact just the opposite. I would recommend they stay away from this establishment as it was very underwhelming. I apologize for the bad review but hopefully the honesty will help the next guest receive a better experience. Thank you.

food3
ambience4
service5

cha cha chayo

vip
Dined on February 6, 2015

the food was ok for what it was, the service was excellent, the prices were ok, the drinks were very good..i would go back and try out more of the menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4

The food was underwhelming for the price.

Dined on February 1, 2015

We ordered the empanadas, lobster tacos and the steak fajitas. The empanadas were the star of the show. It was a small portion but very tasty. The lobster tacos were completely overcooked and flavorless. The fajitas smelled like heaven which was why we ordered them but unfortunately they didn't live up our expectation. The portion was very large but the meat was overcooked and the flavor just wasn't there. Our waitress was fantastic and we liked the atmosphere but they either need to step up their food game or back down on the prices. For drinks, we ordered the white peach margaritas and while they were delicious, the alcohol in them was less than generous.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.