About Chateau West

3408 West End Avenue
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Chateau West Restaurant serves French-American Cuisine. This unique building is designed like a French Chateau. Chateau West has an intimate dining room with 25 tables. Reservations are taken any time.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00am

Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Murphy Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 432-2622

Website:
http://www.chateauwestrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Parking Details:
An on-site, 20-car private lot is available.

Executive Chef:
Jared Hutto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chateau West
Chateau West

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 3:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 3:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Sat 3:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chateau West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Nashville
Romantic
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (45)
Fit for Foodies (41)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Notable Wine List (24)
Great for Lunch (21)
Great for Brunch (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for a Date (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Casual (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's a wonderful little place tucked awa ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

It's a wonderful little place tucked away off of west end. I had the pan seared foie gras and it was spot on. I forget the sauce it was served with but it made the dish next level as it helped cut through the richness of the foie gras. For the main I had beef bourginon and it was a healthy portion. The beef was cooked properly and the sauce was amazing, a little sweet, a little tangy and thick. A great dish. To round it out for dessert it was the profiteroles. It was a pleasant take on them as they were served like mini ice cream sandwiches. Nicely cooked pate a choux filled with heaping serving of vanilla ice cream, all topped with chocolate sauce and slivered almonds was the perfect close to the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! Portions great! Price ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was amazing! Portions great! Price reasonable for what you get . cocktails good . wine menu extensive. beer selection is severly lacking andneeds improvement.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

In a wilderness of blah dining Chateau W ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

In a wilderness of blah dining Chateau West is a gem of civilized dining without compare in the Nashville scene. Go for authentic wonderful French influenced food in a comfortable dining room with French music where you can here the conversation of your dinner companions. Every course is exceptional. For comfortable ambience and excellent food and pared wine, go to Chateau West!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're looking for traditional French ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

If you're looking for traditional French food dishes along with more creative dishes, this is the place. Dishes like escargot with herbed butter/wine sauce, steak tartare, boeuf bourguignon and crepe suzettes set aflame, make it a great place to sample traditional French cuisine. All very tasty. We went on a Thursday night and it wasn't crowded. Easy access off the highway and ample parking. Overall a wonderful place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, extra touches touches to ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great service, extra touches touches to make it special. Excellent food, Mahi was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very nice ambiance. Overall food quality ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Very nice ambiance. Overall food quality was mediocre. Duck was tasteless and pan seared foi gras appetizer was disgraceful for $25. Scallops were nicely prepared. Overall, I wont go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Awesome food and service. I have been he ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Awesome food and service. I have been here for lunch and dinner. Not a negative thing can be said.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful French food. Really enjoyed th ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Wonderful French food. Really enjoyed the shrimp with the saffron cream sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a beautiful, charming and relaxing ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

What a beautiful, charming and relaxing atmosphere. The service was five star as well as the food. The brunch seafood omelet was loaded with seafood and the Chateau West version of eggs Benedict was wonderful. We will definitely be returning to try the dinner menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The duck was out of this world good. The ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The duck was out of this world good. The ambiance was so unique and relaxing. I will definitely return very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Hadn't been there in years. Very pleasan ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Hadn't been there in years. Very pleasantly surprised as the food and service greatly improved from the last time. Enjoyed it and we'll go back soon. Alberta and Bob Doochin

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cheryl Boss was our server & she did an ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Cheryl Boss was our server & she did an excellent job explaining the different courses & her service was excellent. We had a great brunch & will return again soon. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perhaps I'm a bit spoiled as I've had so ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Perhaps I'm a bit spoiled as I've had some amazing French food not only in France itself but Le Pitcher in Seattle and Bistro Du Coin in DC. Both with authentic and amazing food and VERY reasonable prices.

That's the only issue I have with Chateau West. I felt the prices were a bit high considering the authenticity and quality.

Don't get me wrong, we had a lovely meal... The scallops were cooked perfectly and my duck was well seasoned with a fine chambord based sauce.

However, I would have spent 30-40% less for a superior experience at the aforementioned restaurants.

I would certainly not speak poorly of the place but would make a point of telling people it's a bit over priced.

But, if you need your French fix it will do quite well. Overall a positive experience.

PS I will say that the escargots were the largest I've ever had. Quite meaty. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

This is by far the best meal I have had ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is by far the best meal I have had in ages.

Highly recommend this restuarant to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant dining experience with quiet fr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Pleasant dining experience with quiet friendly atmosphere and excellent French inspired cuisine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first visit to Chateau West. ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This was my first visit to Chateau West. There were many delicious dishes on the menu. I look forward to returning to try out some of the others. However, my lamb shank was unbelievably good and I truly believe I will make the same choice on my second visit. My daughter wanted to eat one of each of the appetizers and skip dinner because of all the options but dinner choices were too good to fill up on just the appetizers! We both loved the foie gras dish. It was an excellent choice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chateau West is always good, never disap ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Chateau West is always good, never disappoints. It is one of very few restaurants in Nashville quiet enough to talk with your dinner companion(s) and not hear other tables.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good meal all around - the Brie/hon ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very good meal all around - the Brie/honey/truffle oil fondue app was excellent.

Quite an odd location but interior is very nice - & the service & food quality was excellent

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I planned for my family and friends to e ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I planned for my family and friends to eat at Chateau West after my graduation and they far exceeded my expectations for lunch with a large group. The atmosphere was beautiful and quiet enough for us to all hear one another. The food and service was exceptional. I will be returning to this amazing restaurant!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is cooked perfectly and is deli ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food is cooked perfectly and is delicious. The service is excellent and the restaurant is very appealing and clean.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love French cuisine and quiet, comfor ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We love French cuisine and quiet, comfortable ambiance. The Chateau West fulfilled our hopes for both. The unlikely setting--between two service stations and a Dairy Queen--gave us pause; however, we were thrilled by our dining experience there!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not as enjoyable as our previous visits ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Not as enjoyable as our previous visits to Chateau West. The seared foie gras was disappointing-- 3 small pieces that were lukewarm. The fish (sea bass) was just slightly overcooked and the accompanying vegetables were crunchy and undercooked. Overall, the meal was ok, but not special. The server was unacquainted with some of the sauces and items on the menu. And the wine prices: most bottles are in excess of 3X retail prices, closer to 3.5X in some cases.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food is reliably excellent and the atmos ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food is reliably excellent and the atmosphere is very lovely.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Took clients for lunch and the service w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Took clients for lunch and the service was fabulous as well as the food. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My meal at Chateau West was one of the b ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My meal at Chateau West was one of the best meals I've had in a long while.

The brie/honey/truffle oil fondue was exquisite. My salmon was cooked to perfection. The whole meal was delightful . . . can't wait to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I went to this restaurant with a group o ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I went to this restaurant with a group of girlfriends to celebrate an upcoming wedding. The service was spotty and not focused on our tables needs. The food was overall excellent but nothing was exceptional or exciting. Solid French basics without anything to peak great interest. The wine list was adequate. I will certainly return if I'm in the neighborhood, but I wouldn't make a special trip there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The service and food have greatly improv ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service and food have greatly improved the last few months. If you had bad service last year (which we did), give it another shot. It seems they have addressed the waiter issues. The lamb shank is by far the best in Nashville. It's huge! I love Cafe Nonna's lamb shank, but Chateau's is now the best. (Still love you though Nonna!). The service is fine, but my goodness the food is spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The outside of this place is inviting an ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The outside of this place is inviting and the inside is cozy and welcoming. We had the scallops and the seared tuna and both dishes were delicious. The serving sizes left us with room for desert, which was fabulous. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable, the food was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service was impeccable, the food was delicious. I would recommend to friends and plan to return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foi gras was superb! Escargot was a lit ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Foi gras was superb! Escargot was a little fishy. Beet salad was more salad than beet, so I would not order that again. Steak tartare was great. Lamb shank was out of this world. Service was magnificent. We dined early, so we practically had the restaurant to ourselves which was great. The tables are pretty close together, so if you dine at a more popular time, I could see that it could get loud and not be very intimate. We will definitely dine here again and again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great menu, nice to have a nearby French ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great menu, nice to have a nearby French restaurant, great service, would definitely recommend

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a little disappointed at first-- ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were a little disappointed at first-- didn't realize it was brunch only during the weekend. The brunch menu was fantastic. I had the salmon and it was cooked perfectly-- absolutely fantastic. My wife had the beef bourgignon and loved it. The onion soup was great. The bread was earthy and delicious. Our server was attentive and genuine. We are looking forward to return and sample the dinner menu. I would go for brunch again-- the egg dishes sounded fantastic, we were just in the mood for "lunch."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We totally enjoyed dining at Château Wes ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We totally enjoyed dining at Château West on Saturday night. Their menu was extensive and everyone in our party enjoyed a delicious meal. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone, go and enjoy yourselves!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always live, but this time our food was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Always live, but this time our food was not as good. Maybe we ordered the wrong things. But a pleasant place for dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Lovely and quiet. Well priced but perfec ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Lovely and quiet. Well priced but perfectly prepared French inspired dishes.

You can have a talk without sharing your intimacies with the neighboring table.

Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place! It's an undiscovered ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We love this place! It's an undiscovered little gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice quiet place. Great for business me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Nice quiet place. Great for business meetings. Lots of parking at no cost which is a big plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Hadn't eaten here in a while and they ha ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Hadn't eaten here in a while and they have really stepped up their game. Expanded creative menu, beautiful presentation, delicious tastes. I'll return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, impressive menu, good se ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent food, impressive menu, good service. Don't feel like you are "in Nashville" at all. A real gem. Consistent positive remarks from all who have experienced it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are little old ladies. Some are hard ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We are little old ladies. Some are hard to please. Some are hard of hearing. BUT EVERYONE LOVED IT! Our compliments to the chef, the serversl, and the decorator.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.