About Chateau West

3408 West End Avenue
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Chateau West Restaurant serves French-American Cuisine. This unique building is designed like a French Chateau. Chateau West has an intimate dining room with 25 tables. Reservations are taken any time.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00am

Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Murphy Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 432-2622

Website:
http://www.chateauwestrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Parking Details:
An on-site, 20-car private lot is available.

Executive Chef:
Jared Hutto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chateau West, Nashville, TN
Chateau West, Nashville, TN

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 3:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 3:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Sat 3:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chateau West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (27)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (5)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I made reservations on a whim for my son ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

I made reservations on a whim for my son and I after hockey practice. I had never eaten here before so I said why not. When we arrived there were only about people dinning and they were leaving. I feel no one was there due to the horrible weather that evening. We were promptly greeted and seated. I ordered a glass of wine from their nice array. We had escargot for an appetizer. It was okay, not great, not bad. I thought it was a little over cooked. My son had the duck and I the beef burgundy. Both came out perfect. We then ordered the Crepe Suzette which is prepared table and was awesome. I really feel our server was the best part of our meal. She was very polite, helpful, attentive and personable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything, and I mean, everything, was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything, and I mean, everything, was outstanding. We will be back many more times in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for good food and not so far ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Great place for good food and not so far into downtown Nashville. Wish you had Smirnoff Vodka, but the wine list is good.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food we tasted was excellent and all ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food we tasted was excellent and allowed us a wonderful anniversary celebration. They were out of a few things by the time we arrived (8:15p), but there were other good options so we didn't mind. Especially loved the fondue, and the seafood bouillabaisse!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best service and professional atmosphere ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Best service and professional atmosphere. Lovely for romantic evenings. Had a nice meal and wine with my wife.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG! Don't let the outside fool you. Ex ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 18, 2016

OMG! Don't let the outside fool you. Excellent food! Had the Chateau filet. My husband had the lamb shank. Both were to die for. I was so full but had to try the profiteroles. YUM! Loved everything about it. Service was not rushed and we enjoyed every course. Staff is very nice. Wonderful place for an intimate dinner. Will definitely come again when in Nashville. Thumbs up!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eaten here four times with consistently ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Eaten here four times with consistently great food and service. Very good wine list. Accommodated my wife's dietary requirements with a smile. Recommended for French cuisine.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at Chateau West for the first tim ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We ate at Chateau West for the first time for Sunday Brunch. Loved it! We will be back again soon...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is truly a charming place ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The restaurant is truly a charming place - very romantic. I will say that this may have been an off night for them, but the escargot not only came out cool but the butter garlic sauce was only OK. There was just something missing from it. When the French onion soup came out lukewarm, that is when we said something to the waiter. They did make it right, but it was interesting that we were one of five tables in the restaurant at the time, so I will leave it to the readers to decide how to hot appetizers came out lukewarm. When they reheated my soup the flavor was quite good. The Cobia was a special and was excellent, but the sliced potatoes underneath were so heavily salted they were almost inedible. If we go back, I would stick with the salad, French onion soup, and take a swing at the beef bourguignon, but that may not be for quite some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Chateau West is a favorite of ours since ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Chateau West is a favorite of ours since it first opened a few years ago. The menu is basically French with little change you know what to expect. Seafood was ordered and we were not disappointed. We tried a lovely goat cheese and fig fondue. Bread was so fresh and butter so good too. I had a dry white wine recommended by our waiter and it was perfect. Chateau West never disappoints.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service! Menu and presentation was ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great Service! Menu and presentation was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent seared fois gras and seared du ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent seared fois gras and seared duck breast. Quiet and intimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING! My wife had been there for lunc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

AMAZING! My wife had been there for lunch. We were really looking forward to it as we have extensive restaurant experience, but very little French opportunities in Nashville. Chateau West EXCEEDED our expectations in every way. We made our next reservation before leaving that night. There are SO many great choices that it will take numerous trips to explore them all. A true "sleeper" in the Nashville restaurant scene. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside for brunch and enjoyed th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We sat outside for brunch and enjoyed the patio to ourselves. A little noisy with traffic but our choice to sit outside. Service was great. Ratio of waitstaff to guests was perfect. Food was only fair, quiche was full of cheese but crust was chewy instead of flaky. Eggs sardou was bland and didn't care for bechmel sauce. Potatoes on the side were bland and dry. Vinaigrette was bland on salad. Seems like menu hadn't been updated in awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Lovely, excellent food, can't wait to go ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Lovely, excellent food, can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE Chateau West as it is very close ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We LOVE Chateau West as it is very close to our home & the staff is friendly and professional.

Our guests thoroughly enjoyed being able to sample some new and different French wines by the glass and found one they especially liked in doing so!

We were there on a Wednesday evening so there was not a lot of patrons therefore the noise level was relatively low. On a weekend night when they are full and busy, the noise level can become loud so not a great weekend "date" destination.

Price point is fair for the cuisine offered.

Do visit and enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in town for the Adele concert an ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were in town for the Adele concert and I wanted a nice brunch place for Sunday afternoon. I picked beautifully. The service was excellent, the food perfectly attended, and the restaurant, busy enough for people watching, but, not so busy to be uncomfortable.

I would recommend for any foodie looking for a special place for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I celebrated getting toget ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My friend and I celebrated getting together after several years of not seeing each other. The restaurant was not crowded and the service was fine. We found our mutual favorite bottle of wine, Vouvray, much to our delight.

My sea scallops were tasty but minimal (4 scallops for the dinner portion.) The manager asked about our dinner and treated us to dessert to compensate for the dinner.

I would return; people are friendly and the atmosphere is chic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a pleasure to dine at Chateau. Gr ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Chateau. Great service - discreet and not overbearing or rushed. Good is well prepared and flavorful. Every bite is delicious. Quiet cozy dining. Comfortable and relaxing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. Good menu choices and the foo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Excellent. Good menu choices and the food was very well prepared. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great brunch here. Looking forward ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Had a great brunch here. Looking forward to trying dinner as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible pan seared foie gras, entrees ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Incredible pan seared foie gras, entrees, and desserts. Superior service. Will be back

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food and service!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Wonderful food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Chateau West is really good ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food at Chateau West is really good but the service is really bad - at brunch. They don't have enough personnel and it takes forever to get drinks, to order and to get your food. I realize it has a very small kitchen, but they need a bartender and they need more than one server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Not so good expected better.

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Not so good expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

It's a wonderful little place tucked awa ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

It's a wonderful little place tucked away off of west end. I had the pan seared foie gras and it was spot on. I forget the sauce it was served with but it made the dish next level as it helped cut through the richness of the foie gras. For the main I had beef bourginon and it was a healthy portion. The beef was cooked properly and the sauce was amazing, a little sweet, a little tangy and thick. A great dish. To round it out for dessert it was the profiteroles. It was a pleasant take on them as they were served like mini ice cream sandwiches. Nicely cooked pate a choux filled with heaping serving of vanilla ice cream, all topped with chocolate sauce and slivered almonds was the perfect close to the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! Portions great! Price ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was amazing! Portions great! Price reasonable for what you get . cocktails good . wine menu extensive. beer selection is severly lacking andneeds improvement.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

In a wilderness of blah dining Chateau W ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 16, 2016

In a wilderness of blah dining Chateau West is a gem of civilized dining without compare in the Nashville scene. Go for authentic wonderful French influenced food in a comfortable dining room with French music where you can here the conversation of your dinner companions. Every course is exceptional. For comfortable ambience and excellent food and pared wine, go to Chateau West!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're looking for traditional French ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 15, 2016

If you're looking for traditional French food dishes along with more creative dishes, this is the place. Dishes like escargot with herbed butter/wine sauce, steak tartare, boeuf bourguignon and crepe suzettes set aflame, make it a great place to sample traditional French cuisine. All very tasty. We went on a Thursday night and it wasn't crowded. Easy access off the highway and ample parking. Overall a wonderful place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, extra touches touches to ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great service, extra touches touches to make it special. Excellent food, Mahi was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very nice ambiance. Overall food quality ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Very nice ambiance. Overall food quality was mediocre. Duck was tasteless and pan seared foi gras appetizer was disgraceful for $25. Scallops were nicely prepared. Overall, I wont go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Awesome food and service. I have been he ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Awesome food and service. I have been here for lunch and dinner. Not a negative thing can be said.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful French food. Really enjoyed th ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Wonderful French food. Really enjoyed the shrimp with the saffron cream sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a beautiful, charming and relaxing ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 11, 2016

What a beautiful, charming and relaxing atmosphere. The service was five star as well as the food. The brunch seafood omelet was loaded with seafood and the Chateau West version of eggs Benedict was wonderful. We will definitely be returning to try the dinner menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The duck was out of this world good. The ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The duck was out of this world good. The ambiance was so unique and relaxing. I will definitely return very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Hadn't been there in years. Very pleasan ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Hadn't been there in years. Very pleasantly surprised as the food and service greatly improved from the last time. Enjoyed it and we'll go back soon. Alberta and Bob Doochin

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cheryl Boss was our server & she did an ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Cheryl Boss was our server & she did an excellent job explaining the different courses & her service was excellent. We had a great brunch & will return again soon. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perhaps I'm a bit spoiled as I've had so ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Perhaps I'm a bit spoiled as I've had some amazing French food not only in France itself but Le Pitcher in Seattle and Bistro Du Coin in DC. Both with authentic and amazing food and VERY reasonable prices.

That's the only issue I have with Chateau West. I felt the prices were a bit high considering the authenticity and quality.

Don't get me wrong, we had a lovely meal... The scallops were cooked perfectly and my duck was well seasoned with a fine chambord based sauce.

However, I would have spent 30-40% less for a superior experience at the aforementioned restaurants.

I would certainly not speak poorly of the place but would make a point of telling people it's a bit over priced.

But, if you need your French fix it will do quite well. Overall a positive experience.

PS I will say that the escargots were the largest I've ever had. Quite meaty. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

This is by far the best meal I have had ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is by far the best meal I have had in ages.

Highly recommend this restuarant to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant dining experience with quiet fr ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Pleasant dining experience with quiet friendly atmosphere and excellent French inspired cuisine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.