About Chateau West

3408 West End Avenue
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Chateau West Restaurant serves French-American Cuisine. This unique building is designed like a French Chateau. Chateau West has an intimate dining room with 25 tables. Reservations are taken any time.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00am

Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Murphy Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 432-2622

Website:
http://www.chateauwestrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Parking Details:
An on-site, 20-car private lot is available.

Executive Chef:
Jared Hutto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 3:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 3:00PM - 3:45PM 3:00PM - 5:00PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Sat 3:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chateau West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Nashville
Romantic
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

special occasion (62)
romantic (54)
fit for foodies (41)
See All
neighborhood gem (36)
notable wine list (27)
great for lunch (19)
good for groups (17)
great for brunch (17)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely and serene, service was impeccabl ...

Dined 4 days ago

Lovely and serene, service was impeccable Food was rich and rustic

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

Service was great. Food was not served h ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was great. Food was not served hot. Good value for price.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. Everything was prepared very well, the service was great, and we did not feel rushed at all. Very enjoyable-way better than "chain restaurants" for sure, and the pricing was definitely fair.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely lunch to celebrate a col ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a lovely lunch to celebrate a college graduation. The food was delicious and fit the tone of our celebration. The reduced prices at lunch time made the occasion affordable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Spot

Dined on May 9, 2016

Filet was so tender it melted in my mouth and my husband's duck breast was done to perfection. Crepes flambe was the hit of the night for dessert! The only disappointment was the appetizer which was to be a shrimp/scallop dumpling--this was more like a mild souffle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service. Surroundings can ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and service. Surroundings can be deceiving: it's an French oasis of in a desert of strip mall sameness.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointing - doubtful that I will return

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my parents here for Mother's Day brunch and unfortunately it was very disappointing. It was overpriced for the quality of food that was served. I had the Chicken Divan Crepe for the main entree and it was pretty tasteless. They had completely run out of one dessert offering and the other two (vanilla creme brûlée & chocolate cups with raspberry sorbet) were unimpressive. I stopped eating the crumbly dry chocolate cups and just ate the sorbet. The service was okay but we were stuck back in a corner by the bar and my chair was lodged in between the table and an awkwardly located wall so I wasn't particularly comfortable. When we walked in, there were several tables that hadn't been cleared so the overall vibe of the environment was not sophisticated. I doubt I will ever go back.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great service

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was good but lacked presentation on the plate. Wedge salad was a bit skimpy. Those that had the bisque said it was outstanding. Our waitress was absolutely wonderful. I couldn't understand her name but it sounded like Nesh. She is Turkish and a great waitress.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

And authentic albeit expensive French d ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

And authentic albeit expensive French dining experience. I highly recommend this lovely little restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Splendid

Dined on May 7, 2016

It was my wife's birthday and she loves French cuisine. We were impressed by the quality of the service and as one of our party suffered from celiac disease, the staff provided seamless accommodation. The food was delicious and the bill extremely reasonable. We will be back often at this excellent restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Celbration

Dined on May 7, 2016

We booked late for 10 people for a graduation celebration and couldn't have been happier. They were ready with the cocktails and food was delicious and most importantly, it was a quiet atmosphere, even though others were there, so we could hear everyone at the table. Great Experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Brie fondue was delicious! The ambi ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

The Brie fondue was delicious! The ambiance was nice & our server was pleasant

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3

We were impressed with the quality of th ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were impressed with the quality of the ingredients and the overall value. Having the chateaubriand carved at table side was a nice experience as was the crepes Suzette also done at table side. It was an enjoyable experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time for Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

Friends in from Florida for a long week end. This was the first time that we've gone to Chateau West for Sunday brunch. Bloody marys and mimosas were well put together and tasty. The duck omelette was very good, although--because of the size of the serving-- was a little heavy by the end. My wife had the eggs Benedict and she said it was great. The other couple had the Chateau West omelette and the eggs Benedict. Both said their food was great. The size of the brunch servings is LARGE. Definitely worth returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Give It A Try

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

This is a go to place if you want good food, good wine and you actually want to have a conversation at your table and be able to hear what people said. There is also room not to have the people next to you hear every word you say. When I saw that Dino was the Manager, I knew the service would be excellent. We took some friends for their first visit there this past weekend. They will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT DINING NIGHT

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food, atmosphere and service was outstanding, especially James our server - THE BEST!! Enjoyed the evening w our friends...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great French menu and the food is wonder ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great French menu and the food is wonderfully prepared. The stag is knowledgeable and attentive. It's a great place for special dinners.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great s cons time around

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

The first visit was not great but the last two times have been great. The food was great and the service was attentive but not overbearing. Plan to go more often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved our food and our sweet wait per ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

We loved our food and our sweet wait person. We were there for 3 hrs!

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best kept secrets in Nashvill ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

One of the best kept secrets in Nashville.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Chateau West Consistently Good

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

I never get turned down for a dinner with friends or family at Chateau West. I order the same thing every time - because it's the only restaurant in town which prepares it - and it is always the same.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

consistently Wonderful

Dined on March 24, 2016

I always love introducing a business associate or friend to Chateau West. It truly is a hidden gem that never disappoints. The food is authentic and the wine list is varied with high quality. As a lunch spot it is always great for me to discuss business in a respectful atmosphere with great service. The daily deep dish quiche is always a good choice. My dining companion had the salmon and she said it was some of the best she had ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fried Oyster Appetizer

Dined on March 18, 2016

This was the first time we had seen the Fried Oyster appetizer offered. Without a doubt, when in season, this needs to be on the menu all of the time. It was prepared and cooked exceptionally well. 2 thumbs up!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brest French Onion Soup in town.

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

I have to admit - I keep returning because they have the best French onion soup in town. The steak tartare and the Goat Cheese salad are favorites.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was awesome. Great meal

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was awesome. Great meal

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only the Best

Dined on March 10, 2016

We have visited Chateau West more than five times. Each time we have experienced excellence in all the important categories. Regardless of what we choose the food is always wonderful; the service is professional, pleasant and never rushed; the ambiance is that of a small, comfortable and somewhat elegant chateau; and the bartender has skills! Expect to pay a fair price for good-sized portions of food that you will remember long after you leave this great find in Nashville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great French treat

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

loved the attention and menu not too pricey great service convenient location had the lamb shank loved it would definitely go back

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Saturday Lunch

Dined on February 27, 2016

I was looking for a restaurant that served escargot. I searched the internet for Nashville restaurants serving continental or French-oriented cuisine. The Chateau West menu was exactly what I was looking for over and above serving escargot. My entire dining experience was rewarding in every sense including just the right "Chateau" ambiance.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and awesome service

Dined on February 26, 2016

The food is delicious and we are so glad that it is in the Bellevue area. It is a hidden gem in the neighborhood.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Anniversary

Dined on February 24, 2016

Relaxed atmosphere,small, cozy, good food, nice restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hidden Gem

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Found this French restaurant in a town filled with many BBQ places. Wonderful dining experience. Food great as was their wine selection. Décor very interesting since it is in an old IHOP building.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

A valiant attempt at fine French food th ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

A valiant attempt at fine French food that falls short. Pleasant service and a quietly elegant setting could not make up the shortcomings in the food. Highlights: Goat cheese fondue, good by-the-glass wine selections, profiteroles. Shortcomings: The potatoes that accompanied the pomegranate duck breast seemed to be leftover from Sunday brunch. The sauce that accompanied the seared scallops was broken and a runny mess. The scallops themselves were overcooked and greasy. I might give this a second visit for brunch sometime, but not right away. For better French-inspired cuisine, try Table 3 or Miel.

food2
ambience3
service1

This was our first visit, but we were no ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our first visit, but we were not impressed. We arrived early, and were seated immediately, but it was a bit before any service was offered. Our waitress was changed after we ordered drinks. Questions about the menu were barely answered, even after consulting the kitchen. We ordered the quenelle and foie terrine as appeziters. The quenelle was cold when it arrived after a long wait. It was also heavily salted. The terrine came just as a slab of meat, with some greens. It was pretty mealy in texture, not smooth as you'd expect. Bread was finally offered, but was only a few small slices from the end of a baguette. Entrees were the filet and the duck breast. The filet was pretty good, but the asparagus was tough and fibrous. Very thick stalks. The scalloped potatoes were served from a casserole, which was odd. They were not very seasoned. The duck was very overdone and chewy. I noticed on the bill it was entered as "well done," although that was never discussed. The wines were adequate. This was an average meal, but expensive and low value for the cost. We won't return.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent Food!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food was delicious, portion sizes were large. Still pricey, but it's worth the splurge once in a way

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service1

Went on V day and restaurant was out of ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Went on V day and restaurant was out of several things: bottles of wine, appetizers, and deserts albeit on a preset menu. Service was terrible (again take in to account that it was V day but at the same time need to be ready for one of the biggest days of the year). Overall very very average for a $200 meal for 2. Wouldn't recommend considering other options.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

We enjoyed a really nice dinner experience on Valentine's Day. The fixed price menu gave enough interesting and delicious choices for all four courses. My wife particularly enjoyed the lobster bisque and the steak. While the wine selection we made was not available, the recommended bottle was an excellent substitute. Overall, a great dinner and we will go back in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3

30 minutes to be served appetizers...90 ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

30 minutes to be served appetizers...90 minutes to be served entres. Both filet and scallops way undercooked. Deserts were great. I am not interested in returning.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A great experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was my first fine-dining experience in Nashville. I am delighted to have found this place. I will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not as good as it used to be. Fries were ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Not as good as it used to be. Fries were terrible for a french place.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This was just average

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Not what I had expected. The food was good but the service was just average at best. I would not go back because it is just a very average restaurant and nothing really special.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.