About Chateau West

The tradition of Southern France have stumbled across the heartbeat of American South at Chateau West, where intimate placement and unpretentious cuisine charmingly fulfill the Francophile in all of us. Chateau West is a gem tucked away off West End; you could almost miss it if it weren’t for the chateau like exterior. The ambiance, service, and menu offering reintroduce you to the favorites you’ve forgotten-and there’s real charm in that. Everything old is new again. Find a table for lunch or dinner and order up some classic French dishes such as Chateaubriand,Duck Chambord, Beef Bourguignon. Determined to maintain the utmost in quality, fresh baguettes are made daily and served with real European butter.

3408 West End Avenue
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00am

Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch:Saturday- Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Murphy Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 432-2622

Website:
http://www.chateauwestrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Parking Details:
An on-site, 20-car private lot is available.

Executive Chef:
William Green

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 3:00PM - 6:15PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 3:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:15PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 3:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 5:45PM 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 3:00PM - 5:45PM 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chateau West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
See All
Quiet Conversation (18)
Romantic (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Business Meals (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (4)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Met a few friends for lunch and a usual ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Met a few friends for lunch and a usual was pleased with the service and food. I work on West End so the location is perfect to meet friends for lunch. Also, close to the interstate which also a plus for those who are driving-in. I would recommend this restaurant for lunch and although I have never had dinner here, I am sure that the experience would be equally as good. Would definitely recommend Chateau West!

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner! All was good except the re ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Great dinner! All was good except the restaurant was rather bright

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Chateau West is a hidden jewel. The foo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Chateau West is a hidden jewel. The food and the wine are excellent; service is impeccable; and visiting is possible as no one really talks loudly. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional French cuisine. The restaura ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Exceptional French cuisine. The restaurant has such a quant, relaxed environment. The wine list is great the menu options were amazing. We started off with a bottle of Chardonnay and different cheeses to try. And for main courses I had the seared salmon and my fiancé had the pork. Definitely will be coming again to this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. The service was imp ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was great. The service was impeccable and very attentive but not over powering. It was an amazing place to have New Years Day brunch. I will recommend it to my friends who live in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wanted to go out for a special meal to c ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wanted to go out for a special meal to celebrate the new year. Food was great, staff were friendly. Would definitely recommend it. The only issue was I asked what something on the menu was and the waitress did not know but I took a chance and ordered it anyway and I'm very glad I did as it was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the food was good, our waitress wa ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

While the food was good, our waitress was extremely slow. Also, my daughter in law was served an out of date beer! I expected much more from a restaurant at Chateau West's price point. I'll likely not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We were looking for a quiet, intimate se ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were looking for a quiet, intimate setting to have a special Christmas-Eve dinner. Chateau West was the perfect setting for such a night. Once you get inside, you'd never know the restaurant was nestled between a gas station and a small business strip center. They've done such a good job of creating an interior space that transports you to another locale. The service was attentive, but discreet. The menu has all the options you'd hope for in a French restaurant and the chef delivered. Portion sizes were reasonable and the trio dessert sampler is a must to share after the meal.

Chateau West may be my new favorite restaurant in Nashville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good, the service was great ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was good, the service was great, and the dessert was to-die-for. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice service. Awesome food. Old people y ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice service. Awesome food. Old people yelling (not restaurant's fault.) 8 pm dinner. No one there (except deafening old people party).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I hesitate to state this but this is the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I hesitate to state this but this is the best kept restaurant secret in Nashville! I love taking business associates here for a sophisticated fournet lunch that is reasonably priced. The service is excellent too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion and the food was specia ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Special occasion and the food was special. I had the duck. Very satisfying.

The appetizers were very nice. Fondue. Yes. Foie gras??? Goose. This was great.

May have missed the spelling but not the critique. This was a bang.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Decided on Chateau West for a date night ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Decided on Chateau West for a date night with the wife. We were both pleasantly surprised with the quality of food as well as the wine list. I definitely recommend this restaurant for a nice night out, which was a welcomed change from the trendy, hip restaurants that are now everywhere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great people and service

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food. Great people and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were driving from OKC to Knoxville. W ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We were driving from OKC to Knoxville. We have decided to stop by Chateau West in Nashville. It was worth it. Friendly staff, nice wine list, excellent service and delicious food. The escargots and onion soup were yummy.

I will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent lunch menu, and very well pric ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Excellent lunch menu, and very well priced. The service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The mashed potatoes side was over salted ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The mashed potatoes side was over salted. The cream of mushroom soup as the Soup DeJour was not our favorite but they did replace it so positive marks for that.

Other than that our meal was great from the fondu to her Salmon and my Duck entrees.

Plan to spend at least $100 for wine, apps and entree + tip. Our service was nice, allowing for us to dine without a hovering server. We didn't have dessert but the other tables looked good with theirs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Exceptional. Great food, excellent but ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Exceptional. Great food, excellent but unobtrusive service. Great place for a quiet, relaxed dinner with friends or a romantic dinner out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst experience possible as we arrived ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Worst experience possible as we arrived for our reservation and the place was closed! Very disappointing. We were excited to try it out, but not sure we'll give it another shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I made reservations on a whim for my son ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I made reservations on a whim for my son and I after hockey practice. I had never eaten here before so I said why not. When we arrived there were only about people dinning and they were leaving. I feel no one was there due to the horrible weather that evening. We were promptly greeted and seated. I ordered a glass of wine from their nice array. We had escargot for an appetizer. It was okay, not great, not bad. I thought it was a little over cooked. My son had the duck and I the beef burgundy. Both came out perfect. We then ordered the Crepe Suzette which is prepared table and was awesome. I really feel our server was the best part of our meal. She was very polite, helpful, attentive and personable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything, and I mean, everything, was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything, and I mean, everything, was outstanding. We will be back many more times in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for good food and not so far ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great place for good food and not so far into downtown Nashville. Wish you had Smirnoff Vodka, but the wine list is good.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food we tasted was excellent and all ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food we tasted was excellent and allowed us a wonderful anniversary celebration. They were out of a few things by the time we arrived (8:15p), but there were other good options so we didn't mind. Especially loved the fondue, and the seafood bouillabaisse!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best service and professional atmosphere ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Best service and professional atmosphere. Lovely for romantic evenings. Had a nice meal and wine with my wife.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG! Don't let the outside fool you. Ex ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 18, 2016

OMG! Don't let the outside fool you. Excellent food! Had the Chateau filet. My husband had the lamb shank. Both were to die for. I was so full but had to try the profiteroles. YUM! Loved everything about it. Service was not rushed and we enjoyed every course. Staff is very nice. Wonderful place for an intimate dinner. Will definitely come again when in Nashville. Thumbs up!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eaten here four times with consistently ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Eaten here four times with consistently great food and service. Very good wine list. Accommodated my wife's dietary requirements with a smile. Recommended for French cuisine.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at Chateau West for the first tim ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We ate at Chateau West for the first time for Sunday Brunch. Loved it! We will be back again soon...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is truly a charming place ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The restaurant is truly a charming place - very romantic. I will say that this may have been an off night for them, but the escargot not only came out cool but the butter garlic sauce was only OK. There was just something missing from it. When the French onion soup came out lukewarm, that is when we said something to the waiter. They did make it right, but it was interesting that we were one of five tables in the restaurant at the time, so I will leave it to the readers to decide how to hot appetizers came out lukewarm. When they reheated my soup the flavor was quite good. The Cobia was a special and was excellent, but the sliced potatoes underneath were so heavily salted they were almost inedible. If we go back, I would stick with the salad, French onion soup, and take a swing at the beef bourguignon, but that may not be for quite some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Chateau West is a favorite of ours since ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Chateau West is a favorite of ours since it first opened a few years ago. The menu is basically French with little change you know what to expect. Seafood was ordered and we were not disappointed. We tried a lovely goat cheese and fig fondue. Bread was so fresh and butter so good too. I had a dry white wine recommended by our waiter and it was perfect. Chateau West never disappoints.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service! Menu and presentation was ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great Service! Menu and presentation was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent seared fois gras and seared du ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent seared fois gras and seared duck breast. Quiet and intimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING! My wife had been there for lunc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

AMAZING! My wife had been there for lunch. We were really looking forward to it as we have extensive restaurant experience, but very little French opportunities in Nashville. Chateau West EXCEEDED our expectations in every way. We made our next reservation before leaving that night. There are SO many great choices that it will take numerous trips to explore them all. A true "sleeper" in the Nashville restaurant scene. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside for brunch and enjoyed th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We sat outside for brunch and enjoyed the patio to ourselves. A little noisy with traffic but our choice to sit outside. Service was great. Ratio of waitstaff to guests was perfect. Food was only fair, quiche was full of cheese but crust was chewy instead of flaky. Eggs sardou was bland and didn't care for bechmel sauce. Potatoes on the side were bland and dry. Vinaigrette was bland on salad. Seems like menu hadn't been updated in awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Lovely, excellent food, can't wait to go ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Lovely, excellent food, can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE Chateau West as it is very close ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We LOVE Chateau West as it is very close to our home & the staff is friendly and professional.

Our guests thoroughly enjoyed being able to sample some new and different French wines by the glass and found one they especially liked in doing so!

We were there on a Wednesday evening so there was not a lot of patrons therefore the noise level was relatively low. On a weekend night when they are full and busy, the noise level can become loud so not a great weekend "date" destination.

Price point is fair for the cuisine offered.

Do visit and enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in town for the Adele concert an ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were in town for the Adele concert and I wanted a nice brunch place for Sunday afternoon. I picked beautifully. The service was excellent, the food perfectly attended, and the restaurant, busy enough for people watching, but, not so busy to be uncomfortable.

I would recommend for any foodie looking for a special place for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I celebrated getting toget ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My friend and I celebrated getting together after several years of not seeing each other. The restaurant was not crowded and the service was fine. We found our mutual favorite bottle of wine, Vouvray, much to our delight.

My sea scallops were tasty but minimal (4 scallops for the dinner portion.) The manager asked about our dinner and treated us to dessert to compensate for the dinner.

I would return; people are friendly and the atmosphere is chic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a pleasure to dine at Chateau. Gr ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Chateau. Great service - discreet and not overbearing or rushed. Good is well prepared and flavorful. Every bite is delicious. Quiet cozy dining. Comfortable and relaxing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. Good menu choices and the foo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Excellent. Good menu choices and the food was very well prepared. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great brunch here. Looking forward ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Had a great brunch here. Looking forward to trying dinner as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.