Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.84mi
  2. Distance: 5.86mi
  3. Distance: 14.48mi
  4. Distance: 15.37mi
  1. Distance: 4.84mi
  2. Distance: 5.86mi
  3. Distance: 14.48mi
  4. Distance: 15.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.84mi
  2. Distance: 5.86mi
  3. Distance: 14.48mi
  4. Distance: 15.37mi
  1. Distance: 4.84mi
  2. Distance: 5.86mi
  3. Distance: 14.48mi
  4. Distance: 15.37mi

About Chateau Morrisette

Our rustic and elegant Blue Ridge setting reflects our Provencal and American Southern influenced farm-to-table cuisine. Food pairings complement our award-winning wines in a fine dining experience. Sit fireside in winter or take in the view from the patio in warmer months, chosen by OpenTable diners as among the best in America.

287 Winery Road SW
Floyd, VA 24091
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
October hours:
Monday - Thursday: 11a - 2p
Friday & Saturday: 11a - 9p
Sunday 11a - 5p

Cross Street:
Black Ridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 593-2865

Website:
http://www.thedogs.com/

Entertainment:
From June through October, there is free entertainment on the Winery Courtyard every Sunday. The winery hosts two Black Dog Music Festivals annually featuring nationally known bands. Reservations are highly recommended during these events. Check the website often for special dining events at the restaurant.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. Please contact Sally Truslow at struslow@thedogs.com or 540-593-9223

Parking Details:
Parking is free. There are two lots available with overflow parking during busy times in an adjacent field or behind the winery.

Executive Chef:
Jon Papa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sally Truslow (540)593-9223; struslow@thedogs.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM

Chateau Morrisette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (85)
Worth the Drive (76)
Special Occasion (64)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (64)
Romantic (55)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Great for Lunch (52)
Good for a Date (50)
Local Ingredients (50)
Notable Wine List (44)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Great for Brunch (33)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Fun (26)
Casual (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Authentic (21)
Cozy (19)
Seasonal (19)
Live Music (13)
Healthy (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Business Meals (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Organic (5)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2978 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Anniversary / Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and my granddaughter had the shrimp and grits and they were pleased with their meals. Personally, I think $22.00 for six shrimp and a few grits is a little too expensive. I had the lamb and mushroom omelet with a cup of soup, and neither were remarkable. Both were bland and the quantity of the soup was skimpy. Service I'd rate as average and our waitress was not particularly friendly. This is the forth or fifth time we have eaten here, but my first review. We have a place there in VA but live elsewhere.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We have frequented here several years for our anniversary and love this area. I ordered the vegetarian risotto which was delicious, just a very small portion for the $28. My husband ordered the pork chop which was HUGE and he was very happy with the preparation.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Reservation was for 3:30, however we were unable to order from lunch menu or dinner menu. Only option was small plate menu which was very limited. We were not told this until we were seated. Very disappointing, except for the outdoor seating and views.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was superb and I would say some of the best lunchtime food we have ever eaten.

The service by the server was fantastic.

We were fortunate that we had time, however, when we arrived we found that they were telling people without reservations that the wait was one to one and a half hours. We asked if we could sit outside and were told it was full. Fortunately we had a reservation and after 15 mins were shown to our interior table. To our surprised only half the tables were oppupied inside and out.

We heard the table next to us complain about the length of time it took their order to arrive. Our food also took a very longtime. As I said we were happy to take our time. But, they have a problem somewhere. We heard kitchen to small, a party of 14 got us behind, etc etc.

This restaurant food quality was superb, the table server was fantastic but they have a problem they need to fix.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

We had reservations for 2PM and got in about 2:15. The server was super nice, but timing was lacking. It was about 10 minutes after being seated before a server came to our table. We heard the front desk turning people away that didn't have reservations, but there were many empty tables.
One family of 4 that came in before us, didn't get their food until WAY after we did.
2 tables that came in after us, were served before us. They had sandwiches, we had sandwiches, so it wasn't what we ordered.
We also observed a table of 2 be seated by us and it took about 15 minutes before a server came to their table. They were getting frustrated.
Love the winery, but not sure what was going on at the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Normally we have a delicious lunch at Chateau Morisette. This time we found the food not very good. Both vegetarian dishes were underseasoned and quite plain. The lamb meatloaf was very salty. Our only other disappointment was the restaurant was out of Chateau Morisettes Cabernet Sauvignon...we were told unapologetically that we could go purchase it at the winery. They did not offer to assist us in any way.
We sat outside and it was a beautiful fall day! You can not beat the view. We hope the food improves on our next visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a great view from our table. The restaurant was clean and nicely decorated. Our waitress was really good. She didn’t hover or disappear. She came around right on cue. The food was scrumptious. It was a great experience for me and my husband.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Taryn was an excellent server for our lunch this Saturday. The food was superb as usual, and we felt right at home as always. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Taylor was very courteous, friendly & helpful with suggestions!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The whole experience was amazing! My kids got me the package deal and it was wonderful. Food was delicious, both lunch and dinner! Staff was awesome as well. Our wine tasting was fabulous. The only complaint I have is that it's too far away!! I want to go every weekend!! Thanks for my amazing birthday experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Waited at the host stand for 10 minutes, then had to flag down the manager to let her know about our reservation. Sat us beside a VERY loud large group.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Spent the day Tasting some awesome wines and touring the winery. We learned a lot. Had a wonderful lunch. We then relaxed and had a bottle of awesome wine while looking at the beautiful scenery. Was a great day!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We were disappointed in the food when we are there a year ago. We had enjoyed going there for special occasions often, but stopped going. We decided to try again, and were NOT disappointed. So we will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 22, 2017

It was a beautiful day at the winery. We sat outside on the deck and it was lovely. The food was great and the waitstaff was excellent. It is a great place to go, relax and have a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I was disappointed with the limited choices for brunch. I had a hard time deciding what to get. The service was great (quite, neat) and our waitress was very nice. The recommended pairing was right on par. But the scenic views cannot be beat. It was a very relaxed and happy environment with people out to enjoy their day. Great place to spend a chill Sunday afternoon with a bottle of Blue Dog, some sunshine and live music.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was top-notch....menu was not the most creative but the food was very good.
The service was where they lacked......we had a reservation yet waited to be seated without being greeted for a good 5 minutes, and they were not busy. Bartenders at the adjacent bar area saw us and ignored us. When the hostess arrived she seemed slightly irritated.Our waitress was fine, no complaints with her. Overall we felt that for such a nice place the staff should have been more welcoming and polished. I would go back but if I don't notice a marked improvement in the staff it will be my last visit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Chateau Morrisette is out away from the city for a reason. The quiet and peaceful surroundings make the trip a great pleasure. To walk around the vineyard and the enjoy a meal is very special. The food is fabulous and is well prepared by the chefs.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Much better greeting this time! The last two times we visited Chateau Morrisette, the visit was wonderful with the exception of a rude host once and a rude hostess the next. They both also seated us the farthest away and we had an 85 year old woman who could not walk far. I had requested close seating because of this the first time, and we decided to get a transport chair for future visits. Even so, we were still taken to the furthest corner in a noisy room the second time. (Other reviews explain the circumstances in detail.) The servers and food were delicious so overall we were happy with the exception of our hosts.

This visit was was wonderful. In spite of the fact that two weddings were being held while we were there, this was our smoothest visit. We were seated immediately, close by, and the hostess watched for our 3rd person who was parking the car--something no one else had offered to do and on much slower days.

The server was super friendly and helpful. She (Julie, I think?) made helpful suggestions and apologized for the wait on our food (which we hadn't noticed). The food was amazing!!!!! That is the best meal I had eaten there in the last year. We had dessert and coffee too. Overall, it was the best visit in a long time. Considering they also were holding and catering two weddings that day, this is even more incredible.

Kudos to everyone!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Healthy, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The only reason I said the restaurant was moderately noises was because we were seated near the room on the end that was having a wedding reception. The noise did not bother my group at all. In fact, it enhanced our experience. It was a fun group and they even invited us in for a dance!

CM has always been one of my favorite places to eat, and drink wine, of course. It's a beautiful setting with talented chefs that create delicious and beautiful plates of food. I've watched this winery grow over the years and truly fall it love with it every time I go. I would love it if they added a lodge or inn for overnight visits.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Outstanding view and quiet evening on the patio overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains! Superb service from Taryn our waitress. She was very attentive and so thoughtful Creative menu with locally sourced food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The service was not up to the standard of Chateau Morrisett or the price .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The occasion was a date with my wife for wine tasting and Sunday brunch. Chateau Morrisette hit it out of the park with a fun wine tasting, tasty brunch, nice music, and perfect weather (not their doing!). Very cool place to spend some time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The Chateau is probably the only high end dining in the immediate area. The setting is beautiful however we were seated far from a window where we could enjoy the view. The clam appetizer was delicious and both of our entrees were fine. The Osso Bucco was just a bit dry. All in all, worth a visit but be prepared to spend a few dollars there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our reservation was for 5:30 but we did not leave the restaurant until 7:45 due to the poor service. We have been there for lunch and Sunday buffet for the past 5 years and have always had excellent service. We had to wait for everything. Although the food was excellent, the poor service ruined the meal for our anniversary. Examples being: waiting to order, waiting for the food, having to ask for bread, asking to have the table cleared and the server never returned after the meal was served to see if it was satisfactory. We were embarrassed because we brought guests who were there for their first time. Needless to say, we were very disappointed. Bad service ruins the experience regardless of the quality of the food.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was our second visit, the first visit we were treated rudely by the hostess because we did not have a reservation. We were told that there were no tables and we would have to wait an hour or more, but this was not the case when others came in after us without reservations, they were seated within 10 minutes, very aggravating. This time we made a reservation an we were seated promptly. We had a beautiful view and our waiter was very nice and efficient. My husband has dietary restrictions and the chef came out and spoke to us saying that he would take care of our meal preparation himself and he even served it to us when he was finished, great service.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Very disappointed in wait for meal - 45 min + for a hamburger and a turkey sandwich. I noticed the one other party in our dining room had a long wait for the meal to be prepared too. The waiter was very nice. The day was advertised as music and food and we made reservations. May be a while before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Enjoyed very much. Food was a little 'rich' for my palate but was able to find a delicious entre. Beautiful day and the crowd was enjoying the music and outdoors very much. Enjoyed the gift shop and the tasting! Delightful afternoon and will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely lunch with incredible views. The winery is beautiful and such an amazing way to spend a lazy Sunday with food, vino and music.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was extremely salty & way over priced for the the quality

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Chateau Morrisette is an absolute gem. The service was impeccable, the ambiance is appropriate for a date night, lunch with a great wine selection. After dinner we enjoyed a wine tasting where our server's name was Ray and he was very entertaining. My friend and I have made this a monthly occurrence since going the first time. I would recommend Chateau Morrisette to anyone looking to get away and enjoy the company of another.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great place to visit on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

We have eaten here many times. What is normally a great experience was anything but, this time. Service was poor. We were served the wrong meal, never asked us how we were enjoying our food, very slow with the drinks, never brought the dessert menu. Just plain inattentive - and with a small croud. No excuse for that. A downer for our 33rd anniversary.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 25, 2017

A great winery restaurant with fabulous views which is one half mile off the Blue Ridge Parkway in Floyd, VA. A good farm to table menu with vegetables from their own gardens. It is worth the drive from anywhere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Our favorite restaurant with exceptional service, a terrific chef and excellent wine selection.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Perfect venue to celebrate a birthday & enjoy music at the winery after. Beautiful views, great service, incredible food, & wine worth tasting & drinking. Thanks for a lovely day!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had Sunday lunch with our cousins who are here from Rhode Island. This is our go to place with guests and once again the food was exceptional, Our server Jennifer was attentive and the overall experience was relaxing and enjoyable. Will be back in a couple of weeks with our next out of town guests.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fantastic experience all around. Great food, wonderful view and good wine.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We heard that there was a new chef at the Chateau so we thought that we would give it another try. It started out fabulously with a delicious spinach salad that we shared. It was excellent. The blue cheese was just bitey enough to offset the sweetness in the vinaigrette. My husband's porkchop was also excellent. My crab cake was horrible. There was a herb in the mix that completely overpowered the crab. I could barely eat it. The dessert of blueberry turnovers was good. The service throughout the evening was terrible. We waited over an hour for our entrees. We had to request bread and then were given 2 pieces that looked like an end that had been cut in half. The waiter told us that the kitchen was backed up due to large parties but the largest group we saw was a table of 6. The hostess came to the table to ask how everything was. When we told her she immediately discounted our bill. I am still am not sure that we will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food is usually always excellent. On this occasion our party had to wait for nearly an hour for our entrees to be served when it appeared that there were few tables occupied. One entrée (tuna) was cold. By prior arrangement, the dessert was to have had a lighted candle. There was none. When questioned, the server said it should have been requested in advance. Only then did she remove the dessert to return a few minutes later. While this wasn't up to the Chateau's usual performance, we do hope to return another time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fun, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.