About Chateau Morrisette

287 Winery Road SW
Floyd, VA 24091
View Larger Map

For an experience in quality dining, blissful atmosphere and Southern inspired hospitality, visit our dining room or patio for lunch Wednesday through Sunday, and dinner on Friday and Saturday nights. Our menu offers both diversity and creativity with a heavy French influence. Food pairings that complement the wine and the culture are the focus at this fine-dining restaurant. A rustic southern elegance theme incorporates the finest regional produce available, fresh seafood from the coastal waters of Virginia and North Carolina, artisan cheeses, homemade desserts and estate wines. Our quiet surroundings offer a pleasant respite from the daily grind of the city. You could sit close to the fireplace at a candlelit table for two, or lounge with a group of family and friends on the terrace overlooking the blue-green hills of the New River Valley and the mighty Buffalo Mountain. Visit us soon for an experience you will treasure for a lifetime.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Wed & Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Open Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 8:00 PM. January through March: Friday & Saturday: 11AM -8PM; Sunday 11AM - 3PM.

Cross Street:
Black Ridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 593-2865

Website:
http://www.thedogs.com/

Entertainment:
From June through October, there is free entertainment on the Winery Courtyard every Sunday. The winery hosts two Black Dog Music Festivals annually featuring nationally known bands. Reservations are highly recommended during these events. Check the website often for special dining events at the restaurant.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. Please contact Sally Truslow at struslow@thedogs.com or 540-593-9223

Executive Chef:
Cooper Brunk

Private Party Facilities:
Our Restaurant and Winery offer the perfect facility for gatherings with family and friends or entertaining those important customers who deserve that special attention. Contact us today to start planning your special dinner, corporate event, or wedding. For larger parties, weddings, etc..., please contact our special events manager, Sally Truslow at 540-593-9223 or struslow@thedogs.com

Private Party Contact:
Sally Truslow (parties of 15 or more): 5405939223x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Sally Truslow (540)593-9223; struslow@thedogs.com

Restaurant Photos

Chateau Morrisette
Chateau Morrisette
Shrimp and Grits
Duck Egg Rolls
Charcuterie plate
Petite Beef Tenderloin
Tuna tataki
Hazelnut Chocolate Bread Pudding
Fried Green Tomatoes
Peach BBQ Beef
Fried Pickles
braised beef short rib poutine
Salmon Belly Wontons
Crawfish Beignets
Rabbit & Apple Galette
Crab Fondue

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 7:00PM - 8:30PM

Sat 7:30PM - 8:45PM

Chateau Morrisette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Virginia
Great for Lunch
Virginia
Notable Wine List
Virginia
7 More
Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Scenic View
Virginia
Best Overall
Greater Roanoke
Best Ambiance
Greater Roanoke
Best Value
Greater Roanoke
Special Occasion
Greater Roanoke
Most Booked
Greater Roanoke
Best Restaurants in Floyd ›

scenic view (124)
special occasion (108)
great for outdoor dining (90)
See All
great for lunch (83)
romantic (81)
notable wine list (76)
great for brunch (64)
good for groups (49)
fit for foodies (47)
neighborhood gem (14)
kid-friendly (8)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2516 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been going to the restaurant for ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have been going to the restaurant for years. The changes with management in last 1.5 years has impacted food and service.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

My wife and I have visited often over th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I have visited often over the years but it has been a while since our last visit. It's about an hour's drive for us. Since we go from about 600 feet above sea level to more than 3,400 above, it's a great way to cool down and enjoy outdoor dining.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food and wine were quite good as usual, ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food and wine were quite good as usual, but there were only two servers to accommodate all diners, inside and outside. It tooks us longer than usual to receive our order.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We visited on our anniversary on a Sunda ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We visited on our anniversary on a Sunday afternoon. It was hot at home but perfect in the mountains, and we toured the winery (free, fascinating entire operation is under timberframe), did a wine tasting, sat in a gazebo overlooking mountains sipping wine with live music, walked around the gardens, and then got brunch on the restaurant deck. This place is worth 5 hours round trip travel. The food was memorable in its own right. The cheese plate introduced us to Thomme cheese, a new favorite. The server knew the origin of every item. We could hear the music in the background from the restaurant deck and it is was a perfect anniversary date destination.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great as well as the view. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was great as well as the view. Sadly, I had one of the worst steaks ever eaten in a high end restaurant. It was a 'Strip' steak, and was nothing but tough and full of gristle. I did let them know, and they simply said 'Sorry'. I may do lunch, but no more dinners.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Day was perfect and outdoor seating was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Day was perfect and outdoor seating was very nice. Dessert was excellent. We were celebrating a birthday.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb. There were nine in ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was superb. There were nine in our party so we tried many of the items on the menu. Personally, the calimari and burger were both perfect in presentation and taste.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very knowledgeable and he ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was very knowledgeable and helped with all of our questions. The food was perfectly prepared. The ingredients were fresh and of the highest quality.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 of us ordered the trout which was sati ...

 
 (Gloucestershire)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

3 of us ordered the trout which was satisfactory but not outstanding. One of our party ordered the herbed chicken. She said it was the worst meal she had had during her whole 3 week vacation here with us in the US (and it was the most expensive). It was barely cooked through, looked unappetizing and came with fava beans that were hard and tasteless. The service and the ambiance were good.

Overall, we drove a long way (90 minutes) for a below average meal at an above average price.

We did enjoy the wine tour and tasting that we took part in before our meal.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

We had a very nice lunch after our wine ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a very nice lunch after our wine tasting. Beautiful view on a very nice patio. The potato soup was delicious as was the blue and black dog wine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Chateau Morrisette is a Virginia gem loc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Chateau Morrisette is a Virginia gem located south of Floyd VA off the Blue Ridge Parkway. An exceptionally well developed vineyard and fine tasting bar is complemented by a very well executed dining experience. While being less than 20 years old, the Chateau provides an ambiance which is very old world in style and feel, with well established gardens and a nice balance of indoor and outdoor scenery, all in a very comfortable environment. The staff are knowledgeable, polite and prompt. The wine selection has developed nicely over the years and is among the finest you will find anywhere on the east coast. Consider a trip - you will be not be disappointed!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waited more than an hour after ordering. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Waited more than an hour after ordering. Talked the manager on duty and all she said was "thanks for letting me know". Something has changed here and not for the better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We met up with a former co-worker and he ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We met up with a former co-worker and her friend for Sunday brunch at Chateau Morrisette. The guys ordered more traditional breakfast fare (eggs, bacon, fried potatoes) and declared it very good. My friend and I ordered the spinach and crab quiche with a side cup of tomato bisque. The bisque tasted so fresh and delicious - I wish I had ordered a big bowl of that and skipped the quiche, which was just okay. The coffee was fresh, strong, and good.

The waiter had two or three other tables going, including one large group - he was friendly and tried to be attentive, but service overall was on the slow side. Not to worry - this isn't a place to go when you are tight on time!

The best part of the whole experience was that, after brunch, we went down to winery for wine tasting and to listen to the live jazz trio performing on the plaza. All in all, a nice outing to a lovely place.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Chateau Morrisette is my favorite winery ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Chateau Morrisette is my favorite winery in the world! Every time I visit it is truly a magical experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experiences before have been wonderf ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our experiences before have been wonderful, but this time not so much. The food was spectacular as usual, but the arrival and initial seating left something to be desired. The hostess took us to two different areas of the restaurant trying to find a table for us. It was like "we don't know what to do with you". We had decided to take our adult sons, daughter-in-law, and 2 grandchildren for a nice dinner to celebrate our 30th anniversary (no recognition even though I in my reservation). Pets seem to be welcomed,but I think Chateau Morrisette does not welcome children. That is the impression I was given. The wait staff are usually very friendly, but the waiter was not to the usual reputation. Yes we will probably return, but it will be a little while.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Chateau Morrisette is one of my all time ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Chateau Morrisette is one of my all time favorite restaurants. The food is always delicious weather you have a BLT or the shrimp and grits! Always great wine and because the winery is right there the price is the same as the winery. The service is also superb!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, prompt excellent service. Exc ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

As always, prompt excellent service. Excellent food in an awesome atmosphere. 5 Stars!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner with my daughter; delic ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful dinner with my daughter; delicious food, and spectacular service! We felt like celebrities!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Chateau Morrisette very much but ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love Chateau Morrisette very much but his visit was not very good. We waited on our food for almost 1 1/2 hours. The groups on the veranda were served and finished before our food arrived in the dining room area. Our server was great but it appears the kitchen was over whelmed on this visit. Better planning was needed on this date by all involved at the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was superb! Service is always ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was superb! Service is always wonderful. My husband and I love going there for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and delicious food ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding service and delicious food ! The view at sunset is spectacular ! I would highly recommend dining on the patio if the weather is nice. We had a wonderful experience!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's Japanese steak was awful being ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife's Japanese steak was awful being the most expensive steak on the menu you expect excellent meat.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy dinning at Chateau Morse ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We always enjoy dinning at Chateau Morsett. Nice drive on the Blue Ridge to get there from Roanoke.

However. So sorry the chef removed the best meal of all from the menu...the philly steak and cheese. Please put it back on the menu. Chefs tend to appeal to themselves rather than their clients.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We arrived around 5pm on a Sunday. Buff ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We arrived around 5pm on a Sunday. Buffet had been open since mid morning and we were probably the last ones to arrive. Some of the food trays were not particularly attractive at this point. Buffet tables were spattered from spilled food. Service and ambiance were outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

As always, our "Father's Day" brunch was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As always, our "Father's Day" brunch was really good. Since we drive over two hours to reach the destination, we always look forward to good food, good service and a fantastic setting. The fact that we could take our furry friend (Fes, Cavalier King Charles Spaniel) made our experience even more enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our waitress, Eva, was excellent, knew a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waitress, Eva, was excellent, knew a lot about the wines and was warm and friendly.

Love the fact you can take your dog!

Large variety of foods on the buffet and all were excellent. After your meal you can walk the grounds and view the winery and gift shop.

A wonderful afternoon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The buffet was excellent and up to the s ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The buffet was excellent and up to the standards we are accustomed to. We are hoping that they will continue the special occasion buffets again next year. We suggest you give consideration to having the buffet during the fall foliage season. Our guest thoroughly enjoyed it also.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Chateau Morrisette many ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been to Chateau Morrisette many times but this was not one of our better visits. The steak did not have the flavor we expected when we paid this much money and the brussel sprouts were tough. However,we have had many good dinners here in the past. Since this was our anniversary dinner, it was disappointing.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Love this place! Great food and service, ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Love this place! Great food and service, wonderful wine and a fantastic view! A great place to spend an afternoon or evening. We dined outside for supper and enjoyed the sunset with our dessert. Perfect evening!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food with great view. The food is t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food with great view. The food is the expensive side.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Chateau Morissette is one of our special ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Chateau Morissette is one of our special places. We don't get there as often as we'd like because it is nearly a two-hour drive from our house. The menu varies but is always excellent. They offer suggested pairings of wine with the meals and if you like the wine they suggest you can walk across the parking lot to the winery and buy some. They also do tastings in the winery so you can start there find a wine you like then go to the restaurant and they will serve you a glass of the wine you just tasted with your meal. All while enjoying the view of the winery and the Blue Ridge mountains. The location, just off the Blue Ridge Parkway indicates that the setting will be beautiful and it is. It's also a great place for a wedding and/or wedding reception, which is how we found it to begin with. Have fun, we always do!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining here for several yea ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been dining here for several years and always a pleasant experience.

Food seems to be getting better-Never bad just better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had lunch there with friends. It was the ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Had lunch there with friends. It was their first trip. They loved it! Outdoor seating and fortunately the weather was perfect. Loved the ice tea wine cocktail.

We look forward to our next trip.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was OK but not as good as anticipat ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was OK but not as good as anticipated. First visit to Morrisette and, based on the outside appearance, expectations for food were higher. Service was excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We arrived quite a bit earlier than our ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We arrived quite a bit earlier than our reservation and were seated promptly. The food and service were outstanding. We dined on the deck and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and time there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining al fresco at its best!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We love Chateau Morrisette and have been coming here for years. We love the food, the outdoor patio and the winery. The patio was perfect - sunny with a light breeze and great temperatures. The umbrella on the table protected us from too much sun exposure. Our waiter was attentive and gave us the scoop on the best dishes. The menus pairs wines with your selection(s). We even had the restaurant manager come by and ask us how we enjoyed our meal. We would highly recommend this restaurant. After your meal you can do a wine tasting at the winery, drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway or just head straight home.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 44th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We celebrated our 44th wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was elegant, the food sumptuous, the service gracious and attentive, and the ambience of the sun setting over the mountains in the distance combined for an awesome, unforgettable experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken salad croissant roll was stale a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Chicken salad croissant roll was stale and burned. The chicken salad chunks were HUGE! Not cut up enough to call it chicken salad. I'm usually a fan of it there, not this day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Lacking a soul

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Years ago, Chateau Morrisette was a vibrant, lively, interesting, fun place that people looked forward to visiting. After this last visit, we would not refer any friends to the winery or restaurant. While most of the staff were friendly, no one seemed to have passion or seemed to enjoy their job. I am sure it is not their fault. There was no life to the experience. No background music in the restaurant nor in the tasting room. It was a very cold atmosphere. We will not return.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Delicious food in a beautiful setting

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We popped in on a whim while driving the Blue Ridge Parkway and could not have been more pleased. The food and wine were excellent, as was the service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.