Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.84mi
  2. Distance: 5.86mi
  3. Distance: 14.48mi
  4. Distance: 15.37mi
  1. Distance: 4.84mi
  2. Distance: 5.86mi
  3. Distance: 14.48mi
  4. Distance: 15.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.84mi
  2. Distance: 5.86mi
  3. Distance: 14.48mi
  4. Distance: 15.37mi
  1. Distance: 4.84mi
  2. Distance: 5.86mi
  3. Distance: 14.48mi
  4. Distance: 15.37mi

About Chateau Morrisette

For an experience in quality dining, blissful atmosphere and Southern inspired hospitality, visit our dining room or patio for lunch Wednesday through Sunday, and dinner on Friday and Saturday nights. Our menu offers both diversity and creativity with a heavy French influence. Food pairings that complement the wine and the culture are the focus at this fine-dining restaurant. A rustic southern elegance theme incorporates the finest regional produce available, fresh seafood from the coastal waters of Virginia and North Carolina, artisan cheeses, homemade desserts and estate wines. Our quiet surroundings offer a pleasant respite from the daily grind of the city. You could sit close to the fireplace at a candlelit table for two, or lounge with a group of family and friends on the terrace overlooking the blue-green hills of the New River Valley and the mighty Buffalo Mountain. Visit us soon for an experience you will treasure for a lifetime.

287 Winery Road SW
Floyd, VA 24091
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Lunch: Wed & Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Open Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 9:00 PM. January through March: Friday & Saturday: 11AM -8PM; Sunday 11AM - 3PM.

Cross Street:
Black Ridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 593-2865

Website:
http://www.thedogs.com/

Entertainment:
From June through October, there is free entertainment on the Winery Courtyard every Sunday. The winery hosts two Black Dog Music Festivals annually featuring nationally known bands. Reservations are highly recommended during these events. Check the website often for special dining events at the restaurant.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. Please contact Sally Truslow at struslow@thedogs.com or 540-593-9223

Parking Details:
Parking is free. There are two lots available with overflow parking during busy times in an adjacent field or behind the winery.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Shepphard

Private Party Facilities:
Our Restaurant and Winery offer the perfect facility for gatherings with family and friends or entertaining those important customers who deserve that special attention. Contact us today to start planning your special dinner, corporate event, or wedding. For larger parties, weddings, etc..., please contact our special events manager, Sally Truslow at 540-593-9223 or struslow@thedogs.com

Private Party Contact:
Sally Truslow (parties of 15 or more): (540) 593-9223

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sally Truslow (540)593-9223; struslow@thedogs.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM

Chateau Morrisette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (29)
Scenic View (29)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Notable Wine List (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (23)
Fireplace (23)
Good for a Date (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Casual (12)
Cozy (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fun (9)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (6)
Historic (6)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Business Meals (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
2815 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband ordered the Ribeye medium, it came out rare and so tough he couldn't chew it. We had to ask twice for our waiter so we could order desert and more wine. We've been there many times before, the food and service had always been excellent but not this time. Very disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

went to Chateau Morrisette for our ninth wedding anniversary. Very romantic setting overlooking the Appalachians at sunset. It was cold outside so dining out on the terrace was out of the question. They did have a fire burning in the fireplace which added to the ambiance. The service from Lucas was very attentive and professional. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This restaurant was perfect...elegantly tucked away in the mountains. Perfect ambiance, great food/wine, great service. My husband and I cannot wait to go back in the warmer months and dine on the patio. Five stars.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was the 2nd visit to Chateau Morrisette for me and my husband. Our first was an impromptu stop for lunch while riding our motorcycle along the Blue Ridge Parkway. This visit for dinner was to celebrate my husband's birthday. We were not disappointed.

Fires were crackling in the fireplace and soft music was playing as we made the way to our table.

After ordering wine, we started with the special salad for the evening. The combination of flavors was amazing. Spiced nuts, mild goat cheese, and lightly dressed greens were a great beginning. My husband chose Bison and I chose the fish of the day, catfish from North Carolina.

My husband savored every bite of his meal, including the slightly spice jelly pepper glaze (he doesn't usually choose spicy food.) A generous serving of roasted garlic mashed potatoes and side of cooked turnip greens were the perfect combination.

My plate of lightly breaded catfish atop a wonderful risotto was delicious. The light "salad" of thin cucumbers atop the fish added a fresh bite to the dish. The sauce accompanying the fish was light and fresh as well... made me want the recipe.

The service was excellent. We never wanted for anything but were left to enjoy our meal in peace.

Highly recommend Chateau Morrisette for the food and ambiance. It's wonderful year-round, but don't miss the opportunity to take in the beauty of the Blue Ridge Parkway during the warmer months as well.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always a great experience at Chateau Morrisette, great service, food and wine. Great scenic views!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Of course the very best thing is the dining with a panoramic view of the mountains. The wine is interesting and there are probably enough food choices to accommodate many varied appetites. The arugula salad with poached pears was delicious. The crab cakes were fresh tasting and not too bready. Our service was extremely slow(which is typical of this place so do not go here unless you plan to take it essay. ) Our waiter was a little affected but mostly I think he was trying! We had a great time! It's the only show in town for miles and miles on the parkway. It was very uncrowded in the winter!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always a good eat, great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have been here multiple times. This was thr first time our experience was less than stellar. It was our wedding anniversary too. We decided to come a bit early and have a drink at the bar. So eventually the sweet hostess grabbed a lady in a vest from the back office to serve us. I ordered a wine cocktail. At one point I saw her reach into a gallon sized container of cherries with her bare hands and grab cherries for my drink out of there. Twice. I nearly lost my stomach as I watched her then toss each cherry into my drink. To add more suffering to the drink. It was basically oj and pineapple juice. No wine to taste or anything wine cocktail about it.
Food was ok. My husband's steak was full of fat. Half his plate was fatty leftovers. Our ice cream desert was so frozen hard that we had to use forks to stab the cake while the other one struggled a bite off. The service was painfully slow. We had one alcoholic drink the entire dinner. Our waiter was nice and polite but not attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our poor waitress had to many tables to cover by herself but did a good job under the circumstances. The quality of the food was not good. We had to wait forever to get bread and then it was two little toasted slices-lol. The steak didn't taste like steak because of the quality and the sauce on top of it. The shrimp and grits were swimming in grease. The salads were okay but when you bit into the pickled beet, it bit you back. We did not even want to try the dessert after the meal experience. I am sorry for this review because we love supporting our local businesses but it was not worth the drive, almost two hours. We were very disappointed and wish them well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband and I both had the bison meatloaf with pepper jelly glaze - DELICIOUS! There was a larger group near us that was rather loud, but that wasn't the restaurant's fault. Overall, it was a fantastic meal.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The shrimp and grits are awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been dining here for years . We love the atmosphere and the ever changing menu of foods that we would otherwise never get the pleasure of enjoying. The service is friendly and exceptional. The wines are delicious. We always feel special when we dine here, Thankyou!!!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food choices. Dessert was wonderful. Enjoyed the ravioli. The crab dip was very tasteful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines prix fixe dinner. Choice of three appetizers, entrees and desserts. I had a delightful crab fondue to start, and then seared scallops with crispy ham and blood orange gastrique. To finish, I had beniets with balsamic fig ice cream. Wonderful! We shared a Reserve Chardonnay that was a great accompaniment to the meal. Service was attentive and friendly, and soft music played with a crackling fire in the fireplace. Fresh roses adorned the table. Overall, it was a very romantic and enjoyable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our 4th dining experience at chateau morisette. We have always been pleased with hospitality, service, food and overall ambience. We dined for New Year's Eve and Valentine's Day and loved the menu options and have tasted and fallen in love with new wines. We will return whenever possible and tell all our friends

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our Valentines Day celebration. As always it was Great !!!

Our server was Jennifer, and tho she was kept busy she was very attentive and a joy !!!

Be back for Easter Brunch

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food in a wonderful atmosphere. The wood burning fireplace was great. The view in daylight is tremendous..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

we had an excellent dinner. We had been here for lunch before, but never dinner. Look forward to going back sometime especially in the summer.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Historic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was a wonderful early Valentines Lunch last Saturday. We took friends there for their first visit and they were very impressed. I had not done a wine tasting in a while and that was very enjoyable and I was able to try some of their new wines. The bartender was very informative and pleasant. I have added a few more of their wines to my favorites. The service at the restaurant was excellent and the food was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our dinner was great, the facilities were wonderful, and our birthday celebration was just perfect. The only comment I can make is my ribeye steak had a good flavored but had lots of grissel. Other than that the evening went very well. Thank you'll for a enjoyable evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The perfect dinner, on a chilly night in February. Family visiting the VA mountains from out of town. We were seated at a table in front of the fireplace. Wine, appetizers and main courses, especially the bison meatloaf, all delicious. Our server Luke, was especially attentive. A most memorable evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The view is just gorgeous. The menu has a wonderful selection with wine pairing suggestions and the portions do not leave you feeling stuffed.
We love it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner, dessert and wine! When family, friends and coworkers asked about our anniversary dinner I didn't spare any details about our amazing meal. I wish I had thought to tell the waiter to tell the chef how much we enjoyed our meal.
The waiter and staff were so very nice and accommodating :) gave 3 stars for ambiance because our table was in a cold hallway between the dining room and the lounge/bar area. If it wasn't for it being winter, so naturally it was dark out by dinner time, that I would have loved the view from the hallway overlooking the rolling hills.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Visited Chateau Morrisette winery and restaurant while traveling on our honeymoon. The atmosphere, service, food were all above our expectations and we enjoyed it very much. We requested a table by the fireplace and were gladly seated with no problems. We will definitely return. Thank You!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is one of my most favorite wineries! Of course the wine is my most favorite part! The food has always been delicious and the service is always top notch! It's a beautiful place for any occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Casual, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

After many years of occasional vidit to Chateau Morriset, It was a special treat to bring my daughter who lives in San Antonio. She is used to big distances so the ride from Greesboro was just a delightful outing. And, of course, no visit is complete without taking some Black Dog home to Greensboro.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Once again Chateau Morrisette did not disappoint. Great food and service. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about menu selections. Our favorite place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Casual, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wild caught shrimp and grits - superb and spouse's ribeye tender & melt in mouth! Our server Luke was great but young person circulating with water skipped us a couple of times. Quiet and very enjoyable!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was the first day for the new winter menu. We had been there several weeks prior for lunch and absolutely loved the filet mignon and veggies. My husband had the shrimp and grits this time. The shrimp was absolutely delicious. My sister had the pimento cheese burger and devoured it. I had the bison meatloaf. The potatoes and collards were incredible. If you order dessert, get the lemon macaroon....the three of us shared it and was just enough. Incredible. Will definitely go back again and again. It started snowing while we were there and that made for an even more memorable experience.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The setting and wine were excellent. The entre was very good, but the caesar salad was a great disappointment. Service was slow but good for the occasion. Our server was most accomodating. I will go back, but will avoid salads in the future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Cold day, very cool in the restaurant which made dining less enjoyable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was great we had a great time, the service was num one, we will come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had great service and a chance to see snow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

They were having a bad day, since a couple of employees called off and the remaining staff were either inexperienced and/or panicked. We checked in 10 minutes ahead of our reservation time. A half hour later (went back to desk to check - and she said she didn't know we were here!) we were seated. After 50 minutes, we had ice water and finally were able to place our order. Begged a worker for bread or something - they brought some bread. An hour and 15 minutes after checking in, we finally received our order - and a complementary cup of coffee. The burger was excellent - up to standards (not our first time here - but may be our last). The quiche, which here to fore had been some of the best my spouse has ever had - multiple times - was good, but not noteworthy. All in all, our anniversary lunch was memorable -- but not in a good sense. Perhaps we should call ahead next time - if there is one - to see if they are fully staffed. Wish I could have written a more complementary post, but there were few positives to describe.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were seated promptly at our reservation time. The hostess, waiter and manager were kind and attentive. The food was presented well and had a pleasing flavor. We anticipate a return visit when we are in the area again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We stopped by to end a weekend getaway to the mountains and could not have been more pleased. Both my husband and I are what you might consider "foodies" and are always searching for unique and delightful dining experiences, and I can honestly say that Chateau Morissette is at the top of our list. This was, by far, one of the best meals I have ever had. The chef is simply fantastic! The ambiance was also quite pleasing, and the staff were all so charming and attentive. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone. Thank you so much for a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I had planned ahead of time with the manager to do an engagement proposal during the meal. This included having the waiter present a special menu board which I had prepared. Everyone concerned did a fantastic job including the waiter who did a great job of presenting the menu, the hostess who sat us in a special table in a quieter area, and the servers who took pictures. I had no doubt this was how I wanted to do this proposal and the staff there were fantastic ahead of time and at the time. Did I mention that the food was absolutely wonderful ... again. Really is a favorite place of ours. No two experiences have been the same and they have all been wonderful in their own ways.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Chateau Morrisette is one of my favorite restaurants in the area. Always excellent in every way.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had to push back reservation due to tastings and they were more than helpful. Great service and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great first visit. Will definitely return again. Food was excellent and unique and service was over the top.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.