Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.84mi
  2. Distance: 5.86mi
  3. Distance: 14.48mi
  4. Distance: 15.37mi
  1. Distance: 4.84mi
  2. Distance: 5.86mi
  3. Distance: 14.48mi
  4. Distance: 15.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 4.84mi
  2. Distance: 5.86mi
  3. Distance: 14.48mi
  4. Distance: 15.37mi
  1. Distance: 4.84mi
  2. Distance: 5.86mi
  3. Distance: 14.48mi
  4. Distance: 15.37mi

About Chateau Morrisette

Our rustic and elegant Blue Ridge setting reflects our Provencal and American Southern influenced farm-to-table cuisine. Food pairings complement our award-winning wines in a fine dining experience. Sit fireside in winter or take in the view from the patio in warmer months, chosen by OpenTable diners as among the best in America.

287 Winery Road SW
Floyd, VA 24091
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
April- May hours:
Wed & Thursday: 11a - 2p
Friday & Saturday: 11a - 9p
Sunday 11a - 3p

Cross Street:
Black Ridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 593-2865

Website:
http://www.thedogs.com/

Entertainment:
From June through October, there is free entertainment on the Winery Courtyard every Sunday. The winery hosts two Black Dog Music Festivals annually featuring nationally known bands. Reservations are highly recommended during these events. Check the website often for special dining events at the restaurant.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. Please contact Sally Truslow at struslow@thedogs.com or 540-593-9223

Parking Details:
Parking is free. There are two lots available with overflow parking during busy times in an adjacent field or behind the winery.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Shepphard

Private Party Facilities:
Our Restaurant and Winery offer the perfect facility for gatherings with family and friends or entertaining those important customers who deserve that special attention. Contact us today to start planning your special dinner, corporate event, or wedding. For larger parties, weddings, etc..., please contact our special events manager, Sally Truslow at 540-593-9223 or struslow@thedogs.com

Private Party Contact:
Sally Truslow (parties of 15 or more): (540) 593-9223

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sally Truslow (540)593-9223; struslow@thedogs.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM

Chateau Morrisette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (55)
Worth the Drive (46)
Special Occasion (44)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for a Date (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Notable Wine List (33)
Great for Lunch (29)
Romantic (26)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Local Ingredients (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Casual (19)
Fun (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Cozy (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Fireplace (13)
Authentic (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Seasonal (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Healthy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (6)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (3)
Live Music (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
2881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Visited Chateau Morrisette with friends from Florida, the Sunday Sounds venue was excellent, enjoyed wine while listening to live music. FUN!!

Then headed over to the restaurant for lunch, our server, Jennifer was fantastic! She made our dining experience extremely pleasant.

Food was superb! A "must visit" place to go.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely disgusting meal as well as menu to choose from. Has always been one of our favorite places to eat. You need a new menus and a new chef

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food and wonderful view. The service was great. Jennifer did a great job.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

The entire staff were welcoming and courteous. Chris, our waiter was knowledgeable and prompt. I had the ribeye special and it was very tender, tasty and cooked as ordered. Our party had the lamb shank, roulade of beef and pasta, which were all well received. The 2013 Merlot was good, but my wife especially liked the Archival II. The Spring Shortcake was very good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

I live a 3 hour drive from Chateau Morrisette so I only visit about once a year. Every visit has been very nice and I have never had a complaint. The service and food has always been outstanding. This recent visit was a bit of a disappointment. We were visiting for my mother's 80th birthday, a pretty big event. We arrived too early for our 3:45 lunch reservation so we decided to do a wine tasting. The tasting was moving pretty slow and we thought we might be a tad late for the reservation. We called to check if that was okay and we were told it was not okay. So we had to cut it short, we were told if we didn't show up for our reservation on time we wouldn't be able to have lunch. So we hurried across the parking area to the restaurant. After being seated the server told us we were too late for lunch and we could only have appetizers. I explained the situation and suggested that kitchen had better still serve us lunch. The menu was much abbreviated from the way it normally has been in past visits, it appeared more like a pub menu than an upscale restaurant. Fortunately the chef agreed to serve us lunch. All 4 of us ordered a sandwich, as there was not much else to order from the current menu. Since all previous visits provided very good food we expected that these sandwiches would not disappoint. Unfortunately, 3 of the 4 of us were disappointed. Hot sandwiches were cold, and my pulled pork sandwich was not only cold but it was the worst pulled pork sandwich I have ever had... small, cold, tasteless and greasy. It must have been a bad day for the chef because we have never had such mediocre food here before. Not what we were planning for my mother's 80th birthday. Fortunately, the wine was good, the service was good, and the scenery was very nice as usual. I hope this was just a "one-off" for Chateau Morrisette as far as the food goes... we would like this to continue to be a place to visit for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

As usual a terrific experience, our server Gabriel was exceptional and made our dinning experience that much better. Our meal was perfect and the beautiful scenario made it that much more wonderful. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Beautiful setting and the food is usually outstanding. This time, the serving size was a bit disappointing and the shrimp and grits were too hot even for me (the waitress asked my opinion because someone complained about the spiciness of the dish). The wait staff was wonderfully attentive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Had a fantastic flank steak and my wife had a great vegetarian pasta dish the short bread dessert was also delicious the view from the desk is spectacular highly recommend this restaurant

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The patio overlooks a beautiful mountain meadow. A great way to enjoy an afternoon with good food and wine. A nice variety on the menu. We go several times a year.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The entire experience was wonderful . The food and wine were amazing and our waiter, Gabriel, was incredibly nice and very competent. The view is to die for. It was like having dinner in a European castle. We could not be more pleased!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Even though we arrived unintentionally late for our reservation, the hostess did her best to accommodate our request for a view. The food and service were excellent.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A very nice venue. The outside dining was awesome with a view of the mountain ranges. The staff was pleasant and attentive. Definitely visit again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We celebrated my mom's 80th birthday at Chateau Morrisette. The service, the food and the atmosphere (we dined outside) were top notch. Although I live 3 hours from Chateau Morrisette, I can't wait to plan my next visit there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My son and I decided to have lunch on a Friday afternoon to spend some quality time together and have a good meal. Chateau Morrisette always meets our high expectations. The pasta was delicious and the crab cake - exceptional.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We were assigned a table and service took too long to start..waited too much..however after it started was very good!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2017

As always never disappointed with Chateau Morrisette. For anyone thinking of going I highly recommend making reservations, because you never know what kind of event going on at the winery. Beautiful place.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is one of my most favorite restaurants anywhere!! I have traveled to many places, but I absolutely love this place. I have never had anything to eat that I did not like!! And, they have the very best wines. The winery and grounds are beautiful as well. We have been coming here for more than 20 years, even before the new winery was built!! Love it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Gabriel is an excellent server. So very helpful. Ben was extremely helpful explaining the wine list and the 10 wine tasting. Overall a great experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 4, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat. Exceptional food and scenery!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 3, 2017

gorgeous view ~ delicious food ~ awesome service ~ love to bring out of town guest for the experience

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My daughter and I went for lunch. We sat outside on the patio. it was a beautiful day and the view is spectacular. I wish the food had lived up to the view. We started with an appetizer that was a special. The waiter described it as a smoked trout pate with herbed shortbread and pickled strawberries. The positive was that the shortbread was very good. The strawberries were close to disgusting. They were white and the pickling process made the seeds really stand out. They really did not have any strawberry flavor. They just tasted like the pickling brine. The smoked trout pate tasted okay but had a very odd texture. It was actually runny. There was no spreadability to it.
My daughter had the pulled pork sandwich with parmesan fries. The fries were excellent. The pulled pork was so-so. I had a spinach salad which was good but nothing special. For dessert we shared the peanut butter and jelly plate. It was peanut butter ice cream on top of buttered squares of toast and a strawberry jelly sauce. Randomly there were dark potato chips on the ice cream. The ice cream and sauce were delicious. The toast and potato chips should have been left off and it would have been perfect.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Good food as usual. This chef seems to have taken one of my favorites off the menu and we were not offered bread or specials. Our waitress seemed to be a little new. Perhaps you have to ask.

Nevertheless one of our favorite places to go to enjoy the scenic drive there, the wonderful setting , enjoy a bottle of wine and great food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful creative and fresh food. Javier was an outstanding server.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was fantastic and a great scenic view from the deck.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent food and wines. Scenic. Due to busyness initial service was slow but improved once our order was placed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This was our second time at Chateau Morrisette. Food and atmosphere was excellent. Wait staff was very, very attentive, so service was excellent, top notch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Very enjoyable lunch. Good wine, good food, good service. Would highly recommend. The location was perfect.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Turkey sandwich dry and croissant crumbly. I will not be going back anytime soon

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The host sat us at a high table; changed due to being uncomfortable. The server recommmend the specials,
Which were the Cornish hen and t

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Customer service is a priority along with finely crafted, delicious meals. Suggested wine pairings and knowledgeable staff made this special visit to the Chateau even more special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had the Mothers Day Lunch and it was delicious and the service was excellent! We had 3 courses for 45$ and it was well worth the price. The scenic view is amazing and so worth the drive!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Friendly and classy. The food was very well prepared

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was great except the grouper was a little tough

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food and service were wonderful. You also cant beat the scenic view outside while sipping on a glass of their wine. Their entree prices are very reasonable. A great place to dine while celebrating a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

There is no relation, but our last name is Morrisette. We were celebrating a Virginia Tech graduation so this was a good time to enjoy a special meal here. But the food was not quiet what we had hoped for. The 'fried chicken' was OK but not great. And the pasta dish was OK but a little on the dry side. My daughter enjoyed the farro side of her grouper special more than she did the grouper. I will be back because I am a Morrisette and the setting is beautiful and I love a nice winery, but I can't say I'd rave about the dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great location, fabulous views, food was excellent service was immature, not the same caliber as the ambiance and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

First time we had been in a while - food was awesome; the server was very polite & we were seated quickly. Reservation was very easy to make (on the phone) even while driving in almost a "dead zone". We thoroughly enjoyed everything & will most definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Another fantastic dining experience with special thanks to Chef Mitch, and the great kitchen staff plus, our favorite server Luke! Many thanks for always making our dining here very memorable. We look forward to returning soon!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was wonderful. Food was excellent! Beautiful scenery. We were seated and waited on in no time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I have given this visit a low score based on this visit only. In the past we have been very pleased, but this visit coincided with an event you were having (unbeknown to us). You were apparently overwhelmed and service was slow, one of our meals was burned beyond consumption and the table we were placed at (in the breezeway) was extremely noisy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.