About Chateau Morrisette

287 Winery Road SW
Floyd, VA 24091
View Larger Map

For an experience in quality dining, blissful atmosphere and Southern inspired hospitality, visit our dining room or patio for lunch Wednesday through Sunday, and dinner on Friday and Saturday nights. Our menu offers both diversity and creativity with a heavy French influence. Food pairings that complement the wine and the culture are the focus at this fine-dining restaurant. A rustic southern elegance theme incorporates the finest regional produce available, fresh seafood from the coastal waters of Virginia and North Carolina, artisan cheeses, homemade desserts and estate wines. Our quiet surroundings offer a pleasant respite from the daily grind of the city. You could sit close to the fireplace at a candlelit table for two, or lounge with a group of family and friends on the terrace overlooking the blue-green hills of the New River Valley and the mighty Buffalo Mountain. Visit us soon for an experience you will treasure for a lifetime.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Wed & Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Open Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 8:00 PM. January through March: Friday & Saturday: 11AM -8PM; Sunday 11AM - 3PM.

Cross Street:
Black Ridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 593-2865

Website:
http://www.thedogs.com/

Entertainment:
From June through October, there is free entertainment on the Winery Courtyard every Sunday. The winery hosts two Black Dog Music Festivals annually featuring nationally known bands. Reservations are highly recommended during these events. Check the website often for special dining events at the restaurant.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. Please contact Sally Truslow at struslow@thedogs.com or 540-593-9223

Executive Chef:
Cooper Brunk

Private Party Facilities:
Our Restaurant and Winery offer the perfect facility for gatherings with family and friends or entertaining those important customers who deserve that special attention. Contact us today to start planning your special dinner, corporate event, or wedding. For larger parties, weddings, etc..., please contact our special events manager, Sally Truslow at 540-593-9223 or struslow@thedogs.com

Private Party Contact:
Sally Truslow (parties of 15 or more): 5405939223x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Sally Truslow (540)593-9223; struslow@thedogs.com

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 11:00AM - 1:00PM 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 2:00PM - 4:00PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 7:00PM - 8:30PM

Sat 7:30PM - 8:45PM

Chateau Morrisette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Virginia
Great for Lunch
Virginia
Notable Wine List
Virginia
5 More
Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Scenic View
Virginia
Romantic
Greater Roanoke
Special Occasion
Greater Roanoke
Most Booked
Greater Roanoke
Best Restaurants in Floyd ›

scenic view (84)
special occasion (77)
notable wine list (64)
See All
romantic (62)
great for lunch (50)
great for outdoor dining (45)
great for brunch (42)
good for groups (33)
fit for foodies (32)
neighborhood gem (12)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Remarkable Experience

Dined 4 days ago

Our afternoon drive ended with a visit to the tasting room and winery tour, and as the day came to a close we walked up to the beautiful dining room which was both elegant and casual. The views from every window were breathtaking, and we knew dining on the deck would also be a wonderful event- unfortunately it had been a bit wet earlier preventing that experience. Each member of our party tried a different selection from salads, as well as the main course. We had the chance to sample amazing perfectly cooked tender waygu beef, the vegetarian quinoa and vegetables, as well as beautifully seasoned and presented trout with vegetables. Of course we had sampled wine in the tasting room and each came to dinner with an idea of the perfect wine to accompany the meal of choice. All and all a lovely evening and although a bit pricey the prep and freshness merited the little extra. The tables are set far enough apart and with angles to allow every diner a view of the hills and valleys beyond and the service was comfortably paced.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Delightful Evening!

Dined 5 days ago

What an enjoyable evening at Chateau Morrisette!! We took friends who had never been there and they so enjoyed it! The food was delicious and prepared to perfection. We will return as it has become one of our favorites outside of Roanoke!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very thick FOG!

Dined 6 days ago

Had the weather in May been more cooperative, our experience would have been what people told us about this winery; however, we can't control the weather. Our waitress (Emily) was excellent and very pleasant. The lunch dishes we chose were delicious (I had the quiche.). The restaurant and the winery buildings are beautiful. Our table was by a wall ; however, with the thick fog there wasn't any scenic view to miss. The winery tour, tasting, and lunch made a very enjoyable day. If we are ever traveling or staying in the area again, we definitely will return (on sunny day!) and request outdoor or window seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

OVERALL a very nice place, price however ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

OVERALL a very nice place, price however is high for what you get.I have eaten at nicer places(Berryhill Resort) for less. But the food was very good.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 15, 2016

We have been coming for Sunday Brunch for many years and we were very disappointed this time. Missing from the selection were pancakes, waffles, ham and prime rib, yet the price was increased. We do not object to the price increase, but that increase comes with expectations that were not met. On the plus side, the dessert table was much improved over last years rice Krispy treats.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything was good nothing was outstand ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was good nothing was outstanding other than the view!

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We love Chateau Morrisette. Saturday ni ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We love Chateau Morrisette. Saturday night the wait staff was stretched pretty thinly, but we blamed that on it being Tech graduation weekend and prom for a local high school. Our friends, who are from out of state enjoyed it very much. My favorite way to experience Chateau Morrisette is to go on a weekday when the weather is beautiful and warm, and have a long, long lunch with lots of wine. It feels like playing hooky.....but in a good way! We always enjoy the food and the gorgeous views. Keep up the good work!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I celebrated her birthda ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My daughter and I celebrated her birthday at Chateau Morrisette. It was a beautiful day, and we were offered a table outside. Suddenly the weather changed, and it started raining. Our waitress immediately moved us to a table inside by the window. The food, service, and ambiance were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Glad you changed the chef - the previous ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Glad you changed the chef - the previous chef was a looser

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere for a speci ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere for a special occasion! Leave extra time to get there on the winding roads.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful meal! Me and my wif ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Absolutely wonderful meal! Me and my wife ate the sirloin and the pasta and clams and it was magnificent. The view from our table was a perfect addition as we watched the sunset. Can't wait to come back!

food3
ambience5
service2
value4

The menu has changed.

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We eat here for lunch often. It is located off the Blue Ridge Parkway and is a beautiful place to go. They have changed their menu and we don't like it as well. The shrimp and grits is gone and also the duck. They may be on the dinner menu but we don't ever go for dinner. There seems to be more sandwiches now which they try to make special but they are still sandwiches such as a hamburger and turkey sandwich. We just miss the old menu. It was worth the drive.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for lunch

Dined on May 11, 2016

We always enjoy getting away ,especially for lunch (2 1/2 hr drive) so it is like a date. We have dons for a good 25 years. Food, wine and service is always excellent .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Good was very good. Some different optio ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good was very good. Some different options from last year - some good, some not so good. Would recommend for a special occasion.

food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely evening, healthy meal, gorgeous s ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Lovely evening, healthy meal, gorgeous sunset, and the Blue Ridge Mountains as the backdrop. Life is good!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day Celebration

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food, ambience, service, wine was top-notch! We'll be back! Thanks for making our 95 year-old mother very happy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent New Menu!

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I just dined again at Chateau Morrisette and were able to enjoy some of the new offerings. The Wagyu steak was incredible, and my wife loved the Salmon dish. Add in Luke the best server and it made for another perfect dining experience at our favorite restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for lunch!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great place for lunch!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was disappointed at not have a choice ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

I was disappointed at not have a choice of potato. Fries were not satisfactory.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A little gem in the middle of nowhere in ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

A little gem in the middle of nowhere in Floyd, VA. A truly worthwhile experience. The winery itself is beautiful and had the pleasure of trying over 30 wines. The food was excellent and came at perfect intervals. The pricing was on point as well. Will definitely come back at my earliest convenience. Only downside was...I purchased a case of wine. The box was not taped on the bottom. Thus I had over ten bottles of wine toppling to the ground when I got home. And most of them were shattered. So upset but did not tarnish my experience at Chateau Morrisette.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Brunch at Chatue

Dined on April 17, 2016

It is a great place to dine in the Summer months but in the early spring there is not a lot to choose from on the menu. We had a great time and the people were nice.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful 50th Wedding anniversary experience!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Everything was great. The wine tasting, the people, exceptional great food!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spectacular Lunch

Dined on April 2, 2016

We enjoyed a fabulous lunch at Chateau Morrisette. It was our first visit and it met all our expectations. The service was excellent. We sampled the Lobster Quiche which was very good. The Smoke Salmon BLT was to die for. I appreciated the wine sampling at the start of our meal which helped in selecting the perfect wine for our meal. We are looking forward to visiting for dinner in the near future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on March 27, 2016

New chef and menu do not compare to previous chef and menu for Sunday Brunch. Roast beef tough and little flavor. Only one vegetable dish besides plain lettuce. Shrimp watery like see at Walmart. Oysters were okay but need lemon and hot sauce. Fruit was watery and pineapple was not ripe. No plain rolls. Store bought sweet muffins not appealing. Eggs and grits were dry and hard. Bacon was good and crisp. Ate one chicken wing, crisp and good. Best dish was salmon. Price increased and no longer includes tea/coffee.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Chateau Morrisette did not disappoint! The food was delicious and the view was wonderful--I can't say enough wonderful things about this place. I'll often drive up (1.5 hours) from my house when I take a day off to relax on the Parkway and have a great lunch here!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

Four of us met for wine tasting and brunch! The service was fantastic, very personal! Food was off the hook good and again the service was just fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Jim & Tess

Dined on March 5, 2016

Food and service were great, it would have been perfect if it was not for one loud couple a couple of tables over. There was a very senior crowd there the night we dined there. We would go again when in the area.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A hidden gem

Dined on March 5, 2016

Unless you are a wine enthusiast or live in the Floyd County Virginia area, you may not know about this place. I did not know about it and I grew up in the neighboring areas. My wife and I visited this place for the first time very recently and had a great time. The staff was very nice and the food was delicious. We both got steaks, hers - a Filet Mignon: mine - a hanger steak. Both were delicious, however, the hanger steak was superior. We got the bacon wrapped shrimp for the appetizer which comes with a delicious serving of grits and tomato preserve. Highly recommended to any one that enjoys the occasional 'fancy' dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Wonderful

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was my wife and mine's first wedding anniversary and the host was very complimentary when I mentioned it. I had been to the Chateau a few times prior and this was my wife's first visit. The food was amazing, the wine [Mountain Laurel] was refreshing, and the coffee was great as well. Most places skimp on the coffee, but I must say that Chateau surprised me, and it was a pleasant surprise. We will be back...before our 2nd Anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Place for a Romantic Dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food and wine of course, we enjoyed our dinner and the atmosphere. Pleasant staff and we love how they offering pairings with the entrees also. A bit pricey, we dined for about $120 plus a tip but that included a bottle of their wine, appetizer and two meals, oh desert too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

At least the view was nice...

Dined on February 14, 2016

First of all, they serve brunch all day on Sunday. This is great, except when it's not clear on the website and you are expecting Valentines dinner. Second, my boyfriend ordered a turkey sandwich that was terrible. Turkey, cranberry, green apple, brie, and sprouts... It was a warm sandwich, so the entire thing tasted solely of sprouts. A really poor execution by the chef. Third, they offered a free dessert once we were able to speak to staff about the issue with the sandwich. It was described as a toffee bread pudding. However, it was a mini bundt cake with a cookie sized candy piece on top of it. Yet another poor execution. The quality of the food was there ingredient wise, just some poor choices by the chef. The staff was also pretty distracted by trying to get things shut down early due to snowfall. They were still friendly and helpful despite distractions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We arrived early, and were seated early. As always the service was excellent and food outstanding. The wine was so good we took 4 bottles home. Can't wait to get back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was excellent!

food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The food was good But the bearnaise sauc ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was good But the bearnaise sauce was tasteless it was the worse I have ever had I don't believe anyone tried it before they served it. We paid $10.00 each for a 3 ounce glass of wine with each course each glass was filed 1/2 inch below half full we have their glasses at home when we got home I checked and we were only being served 1 1/2 ounce

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on February 13, 2016

We've been going to Chateau Morrisette for 10 plus years. This was the first meal in all of those years that we were very disappointed. The food was just not great. It was okay. In my opinion, if I'm paying a premium for my meal, it needs to be great food! We were just very disappointed. When you have to drive 1 hour and 30 minutes to a destination for an expensive meal....it should be a great meal!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Get Away

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a beautiful view of the Blue Ridge Mountains while we enjoyed an amazing lunch and wine. Bought our favorite wine at the winery and walked over and we were seated right away. We had a salmon sandwich and a hamburger and both of us enjoyed a salad. Great service!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Valentine's Day Dinner at Chateau Morrisette

Dined on February 13, 2016

We arrived 10 minutes early and had a glass of wine at the bar.We were seated right on time.Our server came and was very helpful with our ordering .We ordered the filets .When they came out they were cooked to perfection .This was not our first trip to Chateau Morrisett and it will not be the last. Every trip has found great service and great food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Mountain Charm- Chateau Morrisette

Dined on February 12, 2016

Chateau Morrisette restaurant and winery is a spot off the beaten path and worth a visit. The restaurant is staffed with nice people that are a pleasure to meet and the service is just outstanding. The wine list is excellent and the food is comparable to the best restaurants in Manhattan. Definitely "two thumbs up".

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfect Valentine's Day Date

Dined on February 12, 2016

Chateau Morrisette is a picturesque venue with a beautiful winery (one of the largest structures built with 100% reclaimed wood in North America) and a separate "home" for excellent food! My wife and I were there for their "Puppy Love" themed Valentine's Day weekend where there were 4 separate options for appetizers, entrees, and desserts. The Lobster Bisque & the Crab-cake were both delicious appetizers, and the Filet Mignon & Sea Scallops melted in our mouths! Sticky Toffee Pudding (with vanilla ice cream) & Chocolate Torte left a sweet taste in our mouths that made us (as always) look forward to our next visit!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Food cooked to perfection!

Dined on February 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the service was excellent. The reason we didn't rate high on the value is this: the steak came with a hearty portion of fries, which were very tasty, however, a smaller portion with a small salad or other vegetable would have been a more well rounded meal. Without a third option on the plate, the entree seemed lacking and the price high. The steak was wonderful, however, and so was the clam appetizer. Thank you for attentive service and great food!

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.