About Chateau Morrisette

287 Winery Road SW
Floyd, VA 24091
View Larger Map

For an experience in quality dining, blissful atmosphere and Southern inspired hospitality, visit our dining room or patio for lunch Wednesday through Sunday, and dinner on Friday and Saturday nights. Our menu offers both diversity and creativity with a heavy French influence. Food pairings that complement the wine and the culture are the focus at this fine-dining restaurant. A rustic southern elegance theme incorporates the finest regional produce available, fresh seafood from the coastal waters of Virginia and North Carolina, artisan cheeses, homemade desserts and estate wines. Our quiet surroundings offer a pleasant respite from the daily grind of the city. You could sit close to the fireplace at a candlelit table for two, or lounge with a group of family and friends on the terrace overlooking the blue-green hills of the New River Valley and the mighty Buffalo Mountain. Visit us soon for an experience you will treasure for a lifetime.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Wed & Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Open Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 8:00 PM. January through March: Friday & Saturday: 11AM -8PM; Sunday 11AM - 3PM.

Cross Street:
Black Ridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 593-2865

Website:
http://www.thedogs.com/

Entertainment:
From June through October, there is free entertainment on the Winery Courtyard every Sunday. The winery hosts two Black Dog Music Festivals annually featuring nationally known bands. Reservations are highly recommended during these events. Check the website often for special dining events at the restaurant.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. Please contact Sally Truslow at struslow@thedogs.com or 540-593-9223

Executive Chef:
Cooper Brunk

Private Party Facilities:
Our Restaurant and Winery offer the perfect facility for gatherings with family and friends or entertaining those important customers who deserve that special attention. Contact us today to start planning your special dinner, corporate event, or wedding. For larger parties, weddings, etc..., please contact our special events manager, Sally Truslow at 540-593-9223 or struslow@thedogs.com

Private Party Contact:
Sally Truslow (parties of 15 or more): 5405939223x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Sally Truslow (540)593-9223; struslow@thedogs.com

Restaurant Photos

Chateau Morrisette
Chateau Morrisette
Fried Green Tomatoes
Peach BBQ Beef
Shrimp and Grits
Duck Egg Rolls
Charcuterie plate
Petite Beef Tenderloin
Tuna tataki
Hazelnut Chocolate Bread Pudding
Fried Pickles
braised beef short rib poutine
Salmon Belly Wontons
Crawfish Beignets
Rabbit & Apple Galette
Crab Fondue

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 7:00PM - 8:30PM

Sat 7:30PM - 8:45PM

Chateau Morrisette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Virginia
Great for Lunch
Virginia
Notable Wine List
Virginia
7 More
Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Scenic View
Virginia
Best Ambiance
Greater Roanoke
Notable Wine List
Greater Roanoke
Romantic
Greater Roanoke
Special Occasion
Greater Roanoke
Most Booked
Greater Roanoke
Best Restaurants in Floyd ›

scenic view (110)
special occasion (93)
great for outdoor dining (71)
See All
notable wine list (69)
great for lunch (68)
romantic (68)
great for brunch (54)
good for groups (42)
fit for foodies (41)
neighborhood gem (13)
kid-friendly (6)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, prompt excellent service. Exc ...

Dined 5 days ago

As always, prompt excellent service. Excellent food in an awesome atmosphere. 5 Stars!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner with my daughter; delic ...

Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful dinner with my daughter; delicious food, and spectacular service! We felt like celebrities!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love Chateau Morrisette very much but ...

Dined 6 days ago

We love Chateau Morrisette very much but his visit was not very good. We waited on our food for almost 1 1/2 hours. The groups on the veranda were served and finished before our food arrived in the dining room area. Our server was great but it appears the kitchen was over whelmed on this visit. Better planning was needed on this date by all involved at the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb! Service is always ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was superb! Service is always wonderful. My husband and I love going there for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and delicious food ...

Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding service and delicious food ! The view at sunset is spectacular ! I would highly recommend dining on the patio if the weather is nice. We had a wonderful experience!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife's Japanese steak was awful being ...

Dined 7 days ago

My wife's Japanese steak was awful being the most expensive steak on the menu you expect excellent meat.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We always enjoy dinning at Chateau Morse ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

We always enjoy dinning at Chateau Morsett. Nice drive on the Blue Ridge to get there from Roanoke. However. So sorry the chef removed the best meal of all from the menu...the philly steak and cheese. Please put it back on the menu. Chefs tend to appeal to themselves rather than their clients.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We arrived around 5pm on a Sunday. Buff ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We arrived around 5pm on a Sunday. Buffet had been open since mid morning and we were probably the last ones to arrive. Some of the food trays were not particularly attractive at this point. Buffet tables were spattered from spilled food. Service and ambiance were outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

As always, our "Father's Day" brunch was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

As always, our "Father's Day" brunch was really good. Since we drive over two hours to reach the destination, we always look forward to good food, good service and a fantastic setting. The fact that we could take our furry friend (Fes, Cavalier King Charles Spaniel) made our experience even more enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress, Eva, was excellent, knew a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waitress, Eva, was excellent, knew a lot about the wines and was warm and friendly. Love the fact you can take your dog! Large variety of foods on the buffet and all were excellent. After your meal you can walk the grounds and view the winery and gift shop. A wonderful afternoon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The buffet was excellent and up to the s ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The buffet was excellent and up to the standards we are accustomed to. We are hoping that they will continue the special occasion buffets again next year. We suggest you give consideration to having the buffet during the fall foliage season. Our guest thoroughly enjoyed it also.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We have been to Chateau Morrisette many ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been to Chateau Morrisette many times but this was not one of our better visits. The steak did not have the flavor we expected when we paid this much money and the brussel sprouts were tough. However,we have had many good dinners here in the past. Since this was our anniversary dinner, it was disappointing.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place! Great food and service, ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Love this place! Great food and service, wonderful wine and a fantastic view! A great place to spend an afternoon or evening. We dined outside for supper and enjoyed the sunset with our dessert. Perfect evening!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food with great view. The food is t ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food with great view. The food is the expensive side.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chateau Morissette is one of our special ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Chateau Morissette is one of our special places. We don't get there as often as we'd like because it is nearly a two-hour drive from our house. The menu varies but is always excellent. They offer suggested pairings of wine with the meals and if you like the wine they suggest you can walk across the parking lot to the winery and buy some. They also do tastings in the winery so you can start there find a wine you like then go to the restaurant and they will serve you a glass of the wine you just tasted with your meal. All while enjoying the view of the winery and the Blue Ridge mountains. The location, just off the Blue Ridge Parkway indicates that the setting will be beautiful and it is. It's also a great place for a wedding and/or wedding reception, which is how we found it to begin with. Have fun, we always do!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining here for several yea ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been dining here for several years and always a pleasant experience. Food seems to be getting better-Never bad just better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had lunch there with friends. It was the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Had lunch there with friends. It was their first trip. They loved it! Outdoor seating and fortunately the weather was perfect. Loved the ice tea wine cocktail. We look forward to our next trip.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was OK but not as good as anticipat ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was OK but not as good as anticipated. First visit to Morrisette and, based on the outside appearance, expectations for food were higher. Service was excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived quite a bit earlier than our ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We arrived quite a bit earlier than our reservation and were seated promptly. The food and service were outstanding. We dined on the deck and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and time there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining al fresco at its best!

Dined on June 11, 2016

We love Chateau Morrisette and have been coming here for years. We love the food, the outdoor patio and the winery. The patio was perfect - sunny with a light breeze and great temperatures. The umbrella on the table protected us from too much sun exposure. Our waiter was attentive and gave us the scoop on the best dishes. The menus pairs wines with your selection(s). We even had the restaurant manager come by and ask us how we enjoyed our meal. We would highly recommend this restaurant. After your meal you can do a wine tasting at the winery, drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway or just head straight home.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 44th wedding anniversa ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We celebrated our 44th wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was elegant, the food sumptuous, the service gracious and attentive, and the ambience of the sun setting over the mountains in the distance combined for an awesome, unforgettable experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Chicken salad croissant roll was stale a ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Chicken salad croissant roll was stale and burned. The chicken salad chunks were HUGE! Not cut up enough to call it chicken salad. I'm usually a fan of it there, not this day!

food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Lacking a soul

Dined on May 30, 2016

Years ago, Chateau Morrisette was a vibrant, lively, interesting, fun place that people looked forward to visiting. After this last visit, we would not refer any friends to the winery or restaurant. While most of the staff were friendly, no one seemed to have passion or seemed to enjoy their job. I am sure it is not their fault. There was no life to the experience. No background music in the restaurant nor in the tasting room. It was a very cold atmosphere. We will not return.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food in a beautiful setting

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We popped in on a whim while driving the Blue Ridge Parkway and could not have been more pleased. The food and wine were excellent, as was the service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Wonderful!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was excellent, however, ourserver"forgot" our appetizer....disappointing.... Wine was superb!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

The food was very good but the service s ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was very good but the service staff was stretched and thus a little slow

food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Not again!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Over priced,horribly cooked food.I was looking forward to a nice dinner out...the wine tastings were awesome,but dinner in the restaurant?Pretty bad.steak overcooked and grisly,potatoes dry,chicken dry...all around bad!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chateau Morissette

Dined on May 26, 2016

Well worth the drive from Charlotte. Lovely setting and the lunch menu provided a variety of options. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for lunch. View spectacular. Serve ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great for lunch. View spectacular. Server knowledgeable about wines and very professional without being pretentious! Had lump crabcakes and wife had turkey sandwich. Both delicious and paired well with their chardonay!W

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Remarkable Experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our afternoon drive ended with a visit to the tasting room and winery tour, and as the day came to a close we walked up to the beautiful dining room which was both elegant and casual. The views from every window were breathtaking, and we knew dining on the deck would also be a wonderful event- unfortunately it had been a bit wet earlier preventing that experience. Each member of our party tried a different selection from salads, as well as the main course. We had the chance to sample amazing perfectly cooked tender waygu beef, the vegetarian quinoa and vegetables, as well as beautifully seasoned and presented trout with vegetables. Of course we had sampled wine in the tasting room and each came to dinner with an idea of the perfect wine to accompany the meal of choice. All and all a lovely evening and although a bit pricey the prep and freshness merited the little extra. The tables are set far enough apart and with angles to allow every diner a view of the hills and valleys beyond and the service was comfortably paced.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Delightful Evening!

Dined on May 20, 2016

What an enjoyable evening at Chateau Morrisette!! We took friends who had never been there and they so enjoyed it! The food was delicious and prepared to perfection. We will return as it has become one of our favorites outside of Roanoke!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very thick FOG!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Had the weather in May been more cooperative, our experience would have been what people told us about this winery; however, we can't control the weather. Our waitress (Emily) was excellent and very pleasant. The lunch dishes we chose were delicious (I had the quiche.). The restaurant and the winery buildings are beautiful. Our table was by a wall ; however, with the thick fog there wasn't any scenic view to miss. The winery tour, tasting, and lunch made a very enjoyable day. If we are ever traveling or staying in the area again, we definitely will return (on sunny day!) and request outdoor or window seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

OVERALL a very nice place, price however ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

OVERALL a very nice place, price however is high for what you get.I have eaten at nicer places(Berryhill Resort) for less. But the food was very good.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 15, 2016

We have been coming for Sunday Brunch for many years and we were very disappointed this time. Missing from the selection were pancakes, waffles, ham and prime rib, yet the price was increased. We do not object to the price increase, but that increase comes with expectations that were not met. On the plus side, the dessert table was much improved over last years rice Krispy treats.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything was good nothing was outstand ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was good nothing was outstanding other than the view!

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We love Chateau Morrisette. Saturday ni ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We love Chateau Morrisette. Saturday night the wait staff was stretched pretty thinly, but we blamed that on it being Tech graduation weekend and prom for a local high school. Our friends, who are from out of state enjoyed it very much. My favorite way to experience Chateau Morrisette is to go on a weekday when the weather is beautiful and warm, and have a long, long lunch with lots of wine. It feels like playing hooky.....but in a good way! We always enjoy the food and the gorgeous views. Keep up the good work!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I celebrated her birthda ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My daughter and I celebrated her birthday at Chateau Morrisette. It was a beautiful day, and we were offered a table outside. Suddenly the weather changed, and it started raining. Our waitress immediately moved us to a table inside by the window. The food, service, and ambiance were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Glad you changed the chef - the previous ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Glad you changed the chef - the previous chef was a looser

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere for a speci ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere for a special occasion! Leave extra time to get there on the winding roads.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful meal! Me and my wif ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Absolutely wonderful meal! Me and my wife ate the sirloin and the pasta and clams and it was magnificent. The view from our table was a perfect addition as we watched the sunset. Can't wait to come back!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.