About Chateau Morrisette

287 Winery Road SW
Floyd, VA 24091
View Larger Map

For an experience in quality dining, blissful atmosphere and Southern inspired hospitality, visit our dining room or patio for lunch Wednesday through Sunday, and dinner on Friday and Saturday nights. Our menu offers both diversity and creativity with a heavy French influence. Food pairings that complement the wine and the culture are the focus at this fine-dining restaurant. A rustic southern elegance theme incorporates the finest regional produce available, fresh seafood from the coastal waters of Virginia and North Carolina, artisan cheeses, homemade desserts and estate wines. Our quiet surroundings offer a pleasant respite from the daily grind of the city. You could sit close to the fireplace at a candlelit table for two, or lounge with a group of family and friends on the terrace overlooking the blue-green hills of the New River Valley and the mighty Buffalo Mountain. Visit us soon for an experience you will treasure for a lifetime.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Wed & Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Open Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 8:00 PM. January through March: Friday & Saturday: 11AM -8PM; Sunday 11AM - 3PM.

Cross Street:
Black Ridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 593-2865

Website:
http://www.thedogs.com/

Entertainment:
From June through October, there is free entertainment on the Winery Courtyard every Sunday. The winery hosts two Black Dog Music Festivals annually featuring nationally known bands. Reservations are highly recommended during these events. Check the website often for special dining events at the restaurant.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. Please contact Sally Truslow at struslow@thedogs.com or 540-593-9223

Executive Chef:
Cooper Brunk

Private Party Facilities:
Our Restaurant and Winery offer the perfect facility for gatherings with family and friends or entertaining those important customers who deserve that special attention. Contact us today to start planning your special dinner, corporate event, or wedding. For larger parties, weddings, etc..., please contact our special events manager, Sally Truslow at 540-593-9223 or struslow@thedogs.com

Private Party Contact:
Sally Truslow (parties of 15 or more): 5405939223x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sally Truslow (540)593-9223; struslow@thedogs.com

Restaurant Photos

Chateau Morrisette
Chateau Morrisette
Shrimp and Grits
Duck Egg Rolls
Charcuterie plate
Petite Beef Tenderloin
Tuna tataki
Hazelnut Chocolate Bread Pudding
Fried Green Tomatoes
Peach BBQ Beef
Salmon Belly Wontons
Rabbit & Apple Galette
Fried Pickles
Crawfish Beignets
braised beef short rib poutine
Crab Fondue

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 7:00PM - 8:30PM

Sat 7:30PM - 8:45PM

Chateau Morrisette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Virginia
Great for Lunch
Virginia
Notable Wine List
Virginia
8 More
Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Scenic View
Virginia
Special Occasion
Virginia
Best Overall
Greater Roanoke
Best Ambiance
Greater Roanoke
Best Value
Greater Roanoke
Special Occasion
Greater Roanoke
Most Booked
Greater Roanoke
Best Restaurants in Floyd ›

Scenic View (138)
Special Occasion (116)
Great for Outdoor Dining (101)
See All
Great for Lunch (92)
Romantic (91)
Notable Wine List (84)
Great for Brunch (68)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Good for Groups (49)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Kid-friendly (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2540 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Close to family mountain cabin but never ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Close to family mountain cabin but never been for dinner - great place! Service and food was awesome. Both had the filet and waiter recommended a bottle of wine. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We have eaten at Chateau Morrisette for ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have eaten at Chateau Morrisette for lunch many times over the years as we drive up and down the Blue Ridge Parkway. We have not had dinner here, however. We were not disappointed. Their new chef has created many wonderful dishes made with fresh, local ingredients. The shrimp and grits were wonderful with a touch of spice from the andouille sausage. The pork chop dish that my husband had was done to perfection. The pork was paired with apples and Swiss chard that had a wonderful smoky flavor. In addition, we had the Vidal Blanc wine with our meal. We took our waitress's suggestion for dessert and had the warm brownie bursting with blueberries, topped with a cold chocolate pudding. Very rich, but just the right amount to top off our delicious dinner. We are never disappointed in the food at CM and will be back for more meals.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there a couple years ago for di ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were there a couple years ago for dinner and loved the restaurant, wine and food. Booked this past Sunday for our anniversary, but found out when we got there they only served brunch on Sunday. Sorely disappointed with this and with the brunch food in general. Also found out that they no longer carry the Pinot Noir that we absolutely loved. A long drive ( 2.5 hours) for a disappointment. Please serve a full menu on Sunday, as it is the only free time a lot of people have!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Another wonderful dinner and more. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Another wonderful dinner and more. The food dishes are creative and could fill any desire - steak, seafood, chicken, veggies - and this time lamb. This is one of our favorite romantic places to go for nice dinner and good wine. Save room for desert and a sweet wine. We dined on the patio which got a little dark because the candles wouldn't stay lit. We ate desert by the light of the smart phone flashlight. Another new experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Room where we were seated was noisy and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Room where we were seated was noisy and we had a large boisterous group beside us. We could not hear our waiter. Also we asked to be seated outdoors but we were told no seating was available. We could see multiple outdoor tables empty during our meal. Last, dinner was expensive and considering our overall experience-not worth the price.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

My wife and I dine here often. The food ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife and I dine here often. The food is excellent, and the service is 5 stars (thank you to Luke!). We enjoy our visits to the winery, and we really look forward to our time at the restaurant whether it be brunch, lunch, or dinner. Kudos to Chef Cooper and the entire staff!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time there. planning my next visit. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

1st time there. planning my next visit. my girlfriend and i might even plan our wedding there.

thanks for the great service

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for all events. We have used ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great place for all events. We have used it for our special anniversity for the past 30 years.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Fun, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food. Fantastic views. Quiet ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food. Fantastic views. Quiet enough for conversation. Service excellent except for the interruption precipitated by an outside umbrella that fell. Desserts were wonderful. I highly recommend Chateau Morrisette for special occasions, an intimate get together or small groups. Outside dining is to be desired...unless the temperature is in the upper 80's or higher.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Chateau Morrisette is a winery and resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Chateau Morrisette is a winery and restaurant on Skyline Drive in Southwestern Virginia.

A beautiful scenic setting in the Blue Ridge Mountains. We did the wine tasting which was excellent. The selection of wines were wonderful especially the Black Dog Red. The gentleman pouring was quite knowledgeable about the history and the overall description of each sampling. The restaurant however was less than expected. We ate on the balcony with an amazing view of the mountains. Food was good but the service was very poor. It may have been that the kitchen was running behind but the wait was much longer that it should have been, over 40 minutes for a salad and a hamburger for 4 people. Our waiter should have kept us informed of the delay but he disappeared frequently and we had to rely on the waiters working the other tables. One young lady waiter was excellent in trying to help us with some questions and provided us with some of our requests, (i.e. a glass of wine, especially that this is a winery!!!!).

We then took the tour of the winery which was very informative and interesting.

Overall a good experience, with some customer service training the wait staff will improve.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Food was good but expensive. The creme ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was good but expensive. The creme brulee for desert was poorly done. The view from the Terrace was outstanding. We enjoyed a 2.5 hour lunch with friends.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great day to spend with my mom. We both ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great day to spend with my mom. We both enjoyed our day, the food, the server and the ambiance.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I came in for lunch for ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My daughter and I came in for lunch for her 21st birthday and we greatly enjoy our visit! The service was superb, the food delicious and the wine was very tasty as well! We also enjoyed the very beautiful grounds as well as the gift shop! We'll definitely come back again and again and again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the nicest lunch spots EVER out o ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

One of the nicest lunch spots EVER out on the patio! And the food was DElish!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The threat of rain had the patio closed. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The threat of rain had the patio closed. We drive about 1-1/2 hours as often as possible to dine here and love the view so that was our only disappointment and no fault of theirs. Excellent food coupled with superb service.

Great experience as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Ihavedinedhereforanumberofyears. Myexpe ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Ihavedinedhereforanumberofyears. Myexperiences have ranged from ex ellent to poor. Mylastvisittotherestaurantwastaintedbyacceptingseatinginthebanquetroom. Nomatterhowitis marketed, IstillfeellikeI'mspendingalotofmoneyforacafeteriaexperience. To their credit, theytryhardtomakeitnice, butitisn'tforme. The menuwasgreatandthefoodwasadequatethisvisit. IcomebackoverandoverbecauseIwantthatoneamazing meal Ihopetohaveagain, theambiance, thevenue andthewine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great views across the mountains from th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great views across the mountains from the outdoor patio. Food and wine selections are always great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice restaurant. Food is good and p ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Food is good and prices are very reasonable. Definitely recommend for any type of occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Was hoping to sit outside and enjoy the ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Was hoping to sit outside and enjoy the sunset and mountain view. Alas, weather did not cooperate. Food was splendid. And plentiful. Can't recall the last time I needed a "doggie bag" for a meal this nice.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waitress, Jennifer, was delightful, know ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Waitress, Jennifer, was delightful, knowledgeable, and efficient, and made our experience more pleasurable. Food: Filet mignon could not have been tastier, salmon was perfectly done, hors d'oeuvres were equally fancy and tasty. Dessert was perfect for three people to share (chocolate praline). Back room was one my favorite places in Floyd County: site of a birthday party some years ago (our waitress was the legendary Autumn). Scenery of course was gorgeous on a late summer evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great dining experience. Our se ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

It was a great dining experience. Our server upon our request recommended the cherry wine orchard series and we loved it. Both couples bought a bottle to take home and recommended it to others. Also there was a light rain with mist clinging to the mtns so it was very picturesque. The Bibb lettuce salad was delicious and was filling all by itself. Everyone was pleasant .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waiter was very friendly and persona ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waiter was very friendly and personable. The food was great, although mine could have been cooked a little bit more. The dessert (Limoncello) was excellent. Wines selection was plentiful, and it was nice that we were able to sample the suggested pairing wine before committing to it. The view was beautiful. Thank you for helping to make our anniversary that little bit more special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Chateau Morrisette is always a Favorite ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Chateau Morrisette is always a Favorite . Been going there over 20 years !!

Food, service... Everything ALWAYS perfect !!!!!!! EVERY time !!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thought the new menu was particularly ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We thought the new menu was particularly appealing. As always, the service and atmosphere were perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the restaurant for ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We have been going to the restaurant for years. The changes with management in last 1.5 years has impacted food and service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

My wife and I have visited often over th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife and I have visited often over the years but it has been a while since our last visit. It's about an hour's drive for us. Since we go from about 600 feet above sea level to more than 3,400 above, it's a great way to cool down and enjoy outdoor dining.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food and wine were quite good as usual, ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food and wine were quite good as usual, but there were only two servers to accommodate all diners, inside and outside. It tooks us longer than usual to receive our order.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We visited on our anniversary on a Sunda ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We visited on our anniversary on a Sunday afternoon. It was hot at home but perfect in the mountains, and we toured the winery (free, fascinating entire operation is under timberframe), did a wine tasting, sat in a gazebo overlooking mountains sipping wine with live music, walked around the gardens, and then got brunch on the restaurant deck. This place is worth 5 hours round trip travel. The food was memorable in its own right. The cheese plate introduced us to Thomme cheese, a new favorite. The server knew the origin of every item. We could hear the music in the background from the restaurant deck and it is was a perfect anniversary date destination.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great as well as the view. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was great as well as the view. Sadly, I had one of the worst steaks ever eaten in a high end restaurant. It was a 'Strip' steak, and was nothing but tough and full of gristle. I did let them know, and they simply said 'Sorry'. I may do lunch, but no more dinners.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Day was perfect and outdoor seating was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Day was perfect and outdoor seating was very nice. Dessert was excellent. We were celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb. There were nine in ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was superb. There were nine in our party so we tried many of the items on the menu. Personally, the calimari and burger were both perfect in presentation and taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very knowledgeable and he ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was very knowledgeable and helped with all of our questions. The food was perfectly prepared. The ingredients were fresh and of the highest quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 of us ordered the trout which was sati ...

 
 (Gloucestershire)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

3 of us ordered the trout which was satisfactory but not outstanding. One of our party ordered the herbed chicken. She said it was the worst meal she had had during her whole 3 week vacation here with us in the US (and it was the most expensive). It was barely cooked through, looked unappetizing and came with fava beans that were hard and tasteless. The service and the ambiance were good.

Overall, we drove a long way (90 minutes) for a below average meal at an above average price.

We did enjoy the wine tour and tasting that we took part in before our meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

We had a very nice lunch after our wine ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a very nice lunch after our wine tasting. Beautiful view on a very nice patio. The potato soup was delicious as was the blue and black dog wine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Chateau Morrisette is a Virginia gem loc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Chateau Morrisette is a Virginia gem located south of Floyd VA off the Blue Ridge Parkway. An exceptionally well developed vineyard and fine tasting bar is complemented by a very well executed dining experience. While being less than 20 years old, the Chateau provides an ambiance which is very old world in style and feel, with well established gardens and a nice balance of indoor and outdoor scenery, all in a very comfortable environment. The staff are knowledgeable, polite and prompt. The wine selection has developed nicely over the years and is among the finest you will find anywhere on the east coast. Consider a trip - you will be not be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waited more than an hour after ordering. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Waited more than an hour after ordering. Talked the manager on duty and all she said was "thanks for letting me know". Something has changed here and not for the better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We met up with a former co-worker and he ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We met up with a former co-worker and her friend for Sunday brunch at Chateau Morrisette. The guys ordered more traditional breakfast fare (eggs, bacon, fried potatoes) and declared it very good. My friend and I ordered the spinach and crab quiche with a side cup of tomato bisque. The bisque tasted so fresh and delicious - I wish I had ordered a big bowl of that and skipped the quiche, which was just okay. The coffee was fresh, strong, and good.

The waiter had two or three other tables going, including one large group - he was friendly and tried to be attentive, but service overall was on the slow side. Not to worry - this isn't a place to go when you are tight on time!

The best part of the whole experience was that, after brunch, we went down to winery for wine tasting and to listen to the live jazz trio performing on the plaza. All in all, a nice outing to a lovely place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Chateau Morrisette is my favorite winery ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Chateau Morrisette is my favorite winery in the world! Every time I visit it is truly a magical experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experiences before have been wonderf ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our experiences before have been wonderful, but this time not so much. The food was spectacular as usual, but the arrival and initial seating left something to be desired. The hostess took us to two different areas of the restaurant trying to find a table for us. It was like "we don't know what to do with you". We had decided to take our adult sons, daughter-in-law, and 2 grandchildren for a nice dinner to celebrate our 30th anniversary (no recognition even though I in my reservation). Pets seem to be welcomed,but I think Chateau Morrisette does not welcome children. That is the impression I was given. The wait staff are usually very friendly, but the waiter was not to the usual reputation. Yes we will probably return, but it will be a little while.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Chateau Morrisette is one of my all time ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Chateau Morrisette is one of my all time favorite restaurants. The food is always delicious weather you have a BLT or the shrimp and grits! Always great wine and because the winery is right there the price is the same as the winery. The service is also superb!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.