Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Chase Restaurant Bar & Grill

Located in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara and Theater district, Chase Bar and Grill has been a locals favorite for over 34 years. The ambiaunce will amaze, the staff will delight, the food will keep you coming back for more. We proudly feature local wines and handcrafted cocktails. Pastas and sauces made from scratch, Steaks and Seafood sourced fresh daily, and farmers market vegtables. Join us for a great Santa Barbara tradition!

1012 State St
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carrillo St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 965-4351

Website:
http://www.chasebarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
We have a public parking lot located directly behind our building just off Anacapa St.75min complimentary parking.

Public Transit:
There is a downtown open air shuttle that picks up and drops off directly across the street. Which is a .25 fare. Cab fare is $10 or less from most hotels.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chase Restaurant Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (5)
Special Occasion (3)
See All
Seasonal (3)
Romantic (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My only recommendation for this restaurant would be not to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The look is very old fashioned Italian restaurant, which is a positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve Dinner with Friends. Arrived at 7:45 and was seated on time. Have been to this restaurant mant times over the past 20 Yrs, and always loved it. however there is a new owner and we will never go back. The service was awful, the waiter forgot our order twice , and we watched tables arrive long after us and leave before we had our salads. When dinner finally arrived, only three of the dinners arrived together, one of which was incorrect, as we waited 10 more minuted for the last dinner to be served. it was Cioppino and tasted terrible. We feared sending it back, as we wanted to eat before 2017 arrived. When the bill arrived, we were charged for the mistaken order plus the other four Dinners. The new owner Jack offered a glass of wine or a dessert for our troubles (what a sport) , we declined. He thanked us for our long time patronage and advised that the Restaurant was a work in progress. For the first time in my Life, we left no tip and only gave the bus boy a $20.00 tip, as he was the only employee, attentive to our table. Good Luck staying in Business.... Do not waste your time here......

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, not so good service. Waited 20 minutes before someone asked us if we wanted drinks. No one was assigned to our table. The wife and I could not finished our dinners so asked to take it home. The waiter put our food in boxes but left out my wife's veal cutlet to our surprise.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A Santa Barbara favorite all year, and especially at Christmas time. How can you not be happy when eating at Chase?? My favorite appetizer is the porvako with white beans. Delicioso!

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Chase is one of my most favorite Santa Barbara restaurants. The food is excellent and service is wonderful! The chicken piccata with fettuccine alfredo is to die for! I always recommend the Chase to tourists when they ask where they should go for Italian food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 17, 2016

It was a wonderful experience and I definitely plan to return soon.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Got a cute booth for our anniversary lunch . Service was excellent! I had the steak sandwich and it was cooked perfectly, so tender and the way a steak sandwich should be made!!! My hubby had the chicken parmigiana , which was flavorful and cheesy in all the right places. Overall we left with nice full bellies and smiling !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We had a company dinner at Chase this week. There were 15 of us. The food was extremely good (the veal I understand was a bit salty - I wouldn't know as I have never and would never try it) but from personal experience I can say with no reservation, that Salmon with vegetables was over-the-top delicious. Five of the 15 of us had the same dish and we all loved it. For such as large party, the service was excellent! As a group, we had never had a group dinner at Chase or we would have otherwise known how "loud" it is in the evening. We were not even able to talk with co-workers as the opposite end of the table. But overall, we all enjoyed our time and our dinner. I would recommend Chase for a "smaller" gathering so you can hear each other during dinner. Aside from the Salmon, their Cannoli may well be the best I've ever had - it had the perfect ratio of cinnamon and filling and the shell was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The decor during the holidays is so festive!- it is a 'must'
However one of our meals was wrong (we didn't have time to wait for a redo) and one of our drinks too. It would be great if, considering the cost, the food was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We luckily had the booth in the very back of the restaurant, where we were not crowded next to other people. The place is always decorated beautifully at Xmas time with a huge tree and sparkling lights everywhere. We had the Brussels sprout and calamari appetizers - super! One of our party had their steak and it was cooked to perfection. The rest of us had either a veal or eggplant dish, and a decadent chocolate cake for dessert. Our family really enjoyed the entire experience and the waiter, Joey was super.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Excellent chicken piccata with fettucine, fresh ricotta raviolis and good caesar salads. An old time favorite Santa Barbara staple. Good for lunch on State Street @ Carrillo with a wide range on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Even on one of their busiest nights of the year we enjoyed outstanding service and as always, excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We were late for our reservations and going to the theater which was going to start in just 1 hour. The waiter advised us about what we could get to eat and still make it in time. There were 3 of us. We ordered soup and a salad. The soup was served nice and warm. He brought our bill with our salad and everything worked out just fine. They were very busy but accommodated us beautifully. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was a favorite restaurant of ours for years but apparently has new owners and the service is now terrible. Rude and unpersonable from the person who slapped the waters on the table to the waiter who we only saw to take our order. Once we paid the check we were told we needed to leave the table because we had used up our allotted 90 minutes! On the way out I asked to speak to the manager and I got the new owner who informed that it is written on the bottom of the menu that you are only allowed 90 minutes to eat! He offered no kind words, no apology for how we were treated and seemed not to care that he had alienated formerly good customers. The food is still the same but if you want a nice evening out go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We love The Chase and have been visiting the restaurant for over 20 years. We live on the Central Coast--Cambria--a beautiful spot--but a quick trip to SB is always an enjoyed getaway. Everything was just fine at The Chase. However, my wife, who has been a server at local restaurants for many years, and I, both agreed-- our server, who did the job adequately, DID lack a certain warmth and realness--though adequate, his table manner was blunt and the smile was not real. Believe me, I wasn't expecting or desiring a kiss and a hug, but I do appreciate good service...with a touch of "welcome" and attentiveness--that's how my wife has been doing it for years--so, we expect no less. As I said, an "adequate " server, but little else.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great local spot, good food and service. Never disappoints!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

good food, especially Fettichini Alfredo, good service

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had a wonderful cosmo martini. Great food. Fun place to eat and hang out.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Cozy, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The absolute best Waitress and Piccata. Cocktails weak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This restaurant is fun, the food is good, and the service very good. It's beautiful and sparkly inside. It's just a good fun place to go.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A long time favorite with locals. Great Italian food, fun atmosphere, great, friendly service. Good value for the quality and quantity of food. We frequently go to the Chase for lunch but great dinner choice as well!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Love it and always will. Great food and really a beautiful setting. Affordable but quality.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very warm and friendly staff...the owner came over often

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was our 3nd visit to your establishment. I was very disappointed on the meal that was poorly prepared for my family. My wife ordered a milestone soup that was too sour. She did not say anything because she did not want to spoil my daughters birthday. My dish was simple spaghetti with peppers. All my vegetables were raw. The first time we visited your place we were impressed because of the classic style, attentive service and wonderful prepared rib eye my son and I enjoyed. The 2nd visit we enjoyed my son's 21st birthday with a drink and appetizers we really enjoyed. However, after this weekend I would not recommend this restaurant to any of my sons friends who attend ucsb or their families. I would not mention your retuarant to any of my personal friends either. Unfortunately for us we traveled from LA only to learn we could have prepared a much better meal by only paying attention to taste and basic sauteeing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Local standby. Great food always . . .try and get one of the "older" waiters that know what they are talking about when you have questions. New waiter we had last week made up answers on the fly or just repeated the menu back to us when one of our party requested options for gluten free meals.
But we'll be back -- we know what's good!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Good food made fast but nothing special including the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2016

This restaurant has a great ambiance. The food was excellent, they had a great wine selection, and we enjoyed our server.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2016

we haven't been to chase for a long time and we had a very nice dinner with great service, till the end when a little critter with whiskers and two small ears popped his head up from our booth . we choose not to say anything at the time but I do feel the establishment should be aware of this problem. the next customers may not be so forgiving.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had the Caesar salad, Chicken Picatta paired with spaghetti with Alfredo sauce. All very delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our food rating was mixed; mine was pretty good (eggplant parm) and my girlfriend characterized hers as so-so (veal with penne carbonara dish), but the dining experience was pretty bad;read on....

Service was mediocre,apparently because one single waitress was responsible for all of the tables.

My dish came with a pasta dish. In response to being asked if I wanted marinara or meat sauce, I chose the latter, only to find a $1.50 charge on the bill for meat sauce; clearly inappropriate, given that the extra charge had not been disclosed.

The restaurant was warm, and no breeze came though the open door; nonetheless, the Owner chose to leave the a/c off, or at least on a warmer setting. In response to our pointing out our discomfort, the Owner was not only unresponsive, but suggested that the solution was for us to buy more cold drinks! When we later made further reference to our discomfort, he justified the lack of a/c by indicating that the a/c does not work as well when the door is open!
The Owner seemed more concerned with making us aware that he was the new Owner than addressing our issues.

This is too bad, because I had more pleasant dining experiences here years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Nice private booth for business lunch, excellent chicken piccata with fetichini Alfredo

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Picked Chase on Open Table and was thoroughly satisfied. To be fair we ate at one of the patio tables which was ideal on a warm evening and inside was noisy and very warm. That said this was a very pleasant surprise. Our waiter Jonathon was friendly, helpful and enhanced the experience. Both of our meals (salmon and chicken) were outstanding and very reasonably priced. Certainly recommend Chase for quality and value.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Just the right size restaurant, delicious veal with prosciutto and melted mozzarella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Thanks for the great experience. It was ALL good. The added chief sponsored "birthday cake and ice cream" was a surprise and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 24, 2016

The whole experience would have turned out better had the food been better. My date ordered a dish with a lemon garlic topping and there was so much garlic (a minimum 10 cloves) that she ended up not being able to finish it which was topped off by severe stomach pains that started that night and went into the morning and next day where she ended up having to leave work because of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Low end itallian, no very good, for Fathers Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We visit this resturant about every 6-9 months. This is avery charming small resturant with Christmas lights all over..the Chicken Picata is also very good with many capers and served with pasta and salad and bread. Our waiter was very good and made u feel like joking with him..

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Been dining here for 20+ years, still great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2016

This restaurant inspired friendly conversations between strangers at neighboring tables. The food was good and the service spot on. Went nearly thirty years ago when visiting Santa Barbara. So glad we finally went back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.