About Chase Restaurant Bar & Grill

1012 State St
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara and Theater district, Chase Bar and Grill has been a locals favorite for over 34 years. The ambiaunce will amaze, the staff will delight, the food will keep you coming back for more. We proudly feature local wines and handcrafted cocktails. Pastas and sauces made from scratch, Steaks and Seafood sourced fresh daily, and farmers market vegtables. Join us for a great Santa Barbara tradition!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carrillo St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 965-4351

Website:
http://www.chasebarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
We have a public parking lot located directly behind our building just off Anacapa St.75min complimentary parking.

Public Transit:
There is a downtown open air shuttle that picks up and drops off directly across the street. Which is a .25 fare. Cab fare is $10 or less from most hotels.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Chase Restaurant Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

romantic (12)
special occasion (11)
neighborhood gem (7)
See All
good for groups (5)
fit for foodies (4)
great for lunch (4)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
55 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service2
value3

Low end itallian, no very good, for Fath ...

Dined 5 days ago

Low end itallian, no very good, for Fathers Day!

food3
ambience4
service2
value4

We visit this resturant about every 6-9 ...

Dined 6 days ago

We visit this resturant about every 6-9 months. This is avery charming small resturant with Christmas lights all over..the Chicken Picata is also very good with many capers and served with pasta and salad and bread. Our waiter was very good and made u feel like joking with him..

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly Traditional Fare

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

This restaurant inspired friendly conversations between strangers at neighboring tables. The food was good and the service spot on. Went nearly thirty years ago when visiting Santa Barbara. So glad we finally went back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A little cramped

Dined on May 15, 2016

Where we were seated was a little cramped. The food & service was good overall. Will for sure go back.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Mothers Day

Dined on May 9, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely meal and good service for Mothers Day. Have been many times to the Chase and know its quality and service is very good. I don't remember our servers name but he was very good also. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Good food, very bad service.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was good. Basically ignored by our waiter. We were served dessert with no silverware. After waiting a long time, a diner at the next table got up and found some silverware in napkins for us. No eye contact when he delivered the bill. If he was overwhelmed with too many people to serve, a simple acknowledgement would have been appreciated. I am normally generous tipping, but for the first time in my life, I left no tip!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Hadn't been to this place for 20 years b ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Hadn't been to this place for 20 years but I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful our experience was! Great food and drinks and cozy urban- feeling vibe. Want to go back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cozy & quaint ! For locals, get away wh ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Cozy & quaint ! For locals, get away while not going away !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent drinks, good food at reasonabl ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Excellent drinks, good food at reasonable prices. Wonderful ambiance. Very cozy. Try the "Al Capone" if you like Manhattans. Interesting twist to the classic drink.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love being able to make a lunch reservation!

Dined on March 16, 2016

The food is delicious and the staff is so friendly and efficient!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite for me and my family. ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Always a favorite for me and my family. Nice kids menu, good options for the adults. Great drinks. If you like Manhattans try their "Al Capone". An orange twist of the former. Easy parking I the back with first 75 min free. Would recommend this especially during the holidays as they always go all out with the decorations. Definitely will get you in the spirit.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Pre-Live Play dinner

Dined on February 18, 2016

Love this place but this was an off night. Service slow despite only a few tables filled (at 5:30p). Shrimp Provencial too much garlic, more than usual and slight burnt taste. Fish Chowder also different. Large chunks of Salmon, which I've never noticed before and overpowered the usual taste. The Cannolli desert was sooo sweet I could only eat a few bites. The Ciopino, Ravioli Marinara, and apple pie were good. Disappointed but I'll try again. It is one of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on January 31, 2016

I had a wonderful dinner with my daughter and father. The food was wonderful. We had a very nice and attentive server. The ambiance was nice. We could carry on a conversation, while listening to Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin in the background. This was my second visit to Chase. I will be going back!!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Disappointed :/

Dined on January 10, 2016

I thought some of the reviews at first might be exaggerated but was there for the first time last night and wow it's all true. I specifically asked for a booth and although it was confirmed I would get it I did not. The hostess basically said "oh well, sorry. If you don't want your table there are plenty of people that will want to take it". Are you serious!?!?... I thought to myself. Wow. We were hungry so stayed but disappointed & just a terrible way to start having dinner. One of my friends came from a long way to visit this immensely over-rated place to eat. The food is good but big deal, that's a common variable if your a restaurant on popular state st c'mon. I can give hundreds of places that would put that place to shame in food quality. Anyhow, food was good not amazing. I'd say our bottle of wine was amazing but WE chose it so credit to us. Hostess was terrible.......waiter was a bit sarcastic & should mind his own business. Just stick to paying attention the first time & not have us repeat ourselves. We didn't need what he thought was a funny joke & side comments. Definitely not going back to this place. I believe all the locals now that say it was great before but went downhill this last year. Change of management?? Who knows.....

food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Chase Bar & Grill

Dined on December 30, 2015

We love the Chase, and have been frequent patrons for years. This particular time, the service was extremely slow. The two ladies next to us actually got up and left when no one came to their table within a reasonable amount of time. Hopefully this was just a bad day...

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The reliable Chase

Dined on December 24, 2015

Only a curmudgeon would not like The Chase at Christmas. Wildly over decorated, and I mean that in the best possible way, The Chase is perfect for a rich glass of red wine and a hot bowl of spaghetti and meatballs on a chilly holiday afternoon. Look around, and all the patrons are enjoying the surroundings, the food, the company. However, customers around us, arriving after us, were served before us, we were given wrong menus, and bread sat on the table for a while without butter or oil served alongside. Maybe our charming waiter was the only one who made it in the day after Christmas. He did seem to be serving a number of tables. But don't let spotty service deter you. I've never been disappointed in the Chase experience. The Chase is an institution. Go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Not what it once was...

Dined on December 24, 2015

In the frequent and ever changing Santa Barbara restaurant scene Chase Bar and Grill has been a pillar of longevity in the downtown area. In years bygone you could count on the freshest ingredients where cost was presumably second. Ravioli stuffed with cheese and covered in a real Alfredo sauce with sweet butter and real cream sprinkled with freshly grated Parmesan cheese. On the night we were there we made a reservation through Open Table. Even though Chase reported that we were a "no show" we were there. Our server was a genuinely nice guy who had too many tables and not enough support but he was earnest and did his best. We ordered the steamed clams for an appetizer ($16.00) and it arrived with nine unrecognizable clams, one unopened and a thick chicken gravy with large chucks of raw yellow onions and several stocks of raw celery. Unbelievable and awful. The kitchen must have run out broth and the fix was astonishing! Salad came next and was the best part of the meal, but very gloppy dressing with a strong mayonnaise taste. Our meal came before we could finish our salad. We ordered another round of drinks which we cancelled after we had finished our meal still waiting for the bar to make the connection. The ravioli was the bare minimum of mostly dough and the Alfredo sauce had the whipped sodium fluff of a packaged sauce mix. Such a sad decline for one of SB's oldest restaurants. Not recommended.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

30 Years

Dined on December 19, 2015

I've been going to the chase now for 30 years it's a must for Santa Barbara locals my wife and I love it try the shrimp piccata

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4

I only go at Christmas!

Dined on December 15, 2015

Always beautifully decorated at Christmas season. ..a really nice tradition. Decent drinks. The service is friendly. The food, unfortunately, is very mediocre so unless you have another reason for coming here, go somewhere else.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4

Good Vaule on State Street

Dined on December 4, 2015

Fine but not spectacular classic Italian dishes. No waiting with our reservation. For the moderate prices, attentive service, in the middle of the action on State Street, very nice ambiance, Chase can't be beat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food, usually good service, fair price.

Dined on November 21, 2015

Good food, usually good service, fair price. We'll return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner with son before returning to College

Dined on September 3, 2015

My son loved the food and the classic music of Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, Dean Martin many more. My girl friend and I been there many times, wanted something nice for my son.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Ok experience, would not recommend

vip
Dined on August 3, 2015

We had an average restaurant experience at Chase. The main course was delicious, but not anything to rave on and on about. If you are looking for a normal American-Italian restaurant, this is your place. But know that the bread was not great, and our salad lettuce was wilted. There was no air conditioning (thermostat read 91 degrees), and eating while sweating is not the best dining experience. Throughout the whole time, a large pounding was coming from the kitchen and taking over the conversation. We visit Santa Barbara annually, and unfortunately Chase will not be a repeat location.

food5
ambience4
service5

I love Chase!

Dined on July 23, 2015

Everything I've ever had at Chase Bar and Grill has been fantastic. They have the BEST Fettuccini Alfredo and Chicken Piccatta to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

Took way too long.

Dined on July 12, 2015

Over an hour to get our salads and another 30 to 40 minutes for the entree's. Had to take most of our food home as we lost our appetites waiting so long.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

The service was very slow. There was pr ...

Dined on June 28, 2015

The service was very slow. There was pretty much one waitress for the entire restaurant. I ordered wine and waited 15 minutes for her to physically take it off the bar and walk it the 10 feet to our table.

food5
ambience3
service1

Disapointed with service

vip
Dined on May 25, 2015

The food was outstanding and the service was poor. We waited 10 minutes before our waiter greeted us. It felt like we were pulling teeth the entire evening. The waiters were inattentive and forgetful. We even ran into problems getting the check. This restaurant needs to offer training for their staff.

food5
ambience5
service5

FrankieSue

Dined on April 6, 2015

Our Easter dining experience was lovely. The service was top notch, and the veal piccata was excellent. I asked for light breaking on the veal which they happily did for me.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Chase is an old downtown favorite. Grea ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2015

Chase is an old downtown favorite. Great raviolis. Good service, consistent good food & service.

food4
ambience4
service4

A Cozy Italian Dinner

vip
Dined on March 23, 2015

This place used to be one of my favorite spots to dine in Santa Barbara 30 years ago. I recently moved back to town and am pleased to find that it is still a delicious and delightful place to have dinner. The decor is cozy Italian and a little cheesy, but nice. Our server was pleasant, but the kitchen could have paced our dinner better, because we hadn't finished our appetizers when the salads arrived. The food was well prepared and tasty. We would've ordered dessert, but the server never asked and just delivered the bill. Despite the service missteps, we plan to return soon.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic Chase

Dined on March 1, 2015

I have been to $$$$ restaurants They never measure up! Chase is our favorite romantic spit, it never fails to provide everything we are looking for in great dining!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Consistently good food

Dined on January 28, 2015

Husband says best chicken piccata he has ever had anywhere. Service is very good. Very comfortable restaurant. Consistently good food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy the Calamari Piccatta. ...

Dined on January 23, 2015

We always enjoy the Calamari Piccatta. The Caesar salad was delicious

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Christmas gathering

Dined on December 16, 2014

Great place to eat and decorated nicely for Christmas. Food was yummy and drinks were good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Love the Chase

Dined on November 19, 2014

Been going for years, and it is always consistent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1

Needs Improvement

Dined on November 10, 2014

Loud music fit for college students. Asked for something quieter and melodic, maybe even opera as I recall the Chase often featuring. A number of wait staff gathered at the bar talking. Cigar smoke wafting in. Ordered one of the wines by the glass on the menu and they said they didn't have it. We sat for a short time and realized that this was not where we wanted to spend our money, though I and my companion have both had lovely times in the Chase. Maybe we were remembering the old days too fondly.

food1
ambience1
service1

Mediocre Food

vip
Dined on October 18, 2014

The service was bad! The food was bad! Boring chicken alfredo... they must have forgotten the cheese! It was too hot, no air conditioning.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

Dined on October 1, 2014

Wonderful eggplant para Wonderful Italian food. Very flavorful. Best chocolate cake ever! Loved the background music featuring Frank Sinatra, Mel Torme, Ella Fitzgerald, Bobby Darren and more. Classy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Charming and Romantic

Dined on September 10, 2014

The ambiance is warm and friendly, the service is par excellence. It is my friend's favorite restaurant, it has become our choice for special occasions and dates. I cannot comment much on the food, we always have the same dish--Chicken Piccata, which is excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

Dined on September 8, 2014

The service was excellent and the food in one word: superb!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.