About Chase Restaurant Bar & Grill

1012 State St
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara and Theater district, Chase Bar and Grill has been a locals favorite for over 34 years. The ambiaunce will amaze, the staff will delight, the food will keep you coming back for more. We proudly feature local wines and handcrafted cocktails. Pastas and sauces made from scratch, Steaks and Seafood sourced fresh daily, and farmers market vegtables. Join us for a great Santa Barbara tradition!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carrillo St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 965-4351

Website:
http://www.chasebarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
We have a public parking lot located directly behind our building just off Anacapa St.75min complimentary parking.

Public Transit:
There is a downtown open air shuttle that picks up and drops off directly across the street. Which is a .25 fare. Cab fare is $10 or less from most hotels.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chase Restaurant Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (6)
See All
Good for Groups (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Local standby. Great food always . . .t ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

Local standby. Great food always . . .try and get one of the "older" waiters that know what they are talking about when you have questions. New waiter we had last week made up answers on the fly or just repeated the menu back to us when one of our party requested options for gluten free meals.

But we'll be back -- we know what's good!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food made fast but nothing special ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Good food made fast but nothing special including the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This restaurant has a great ambiance. T ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This restaurant has a great ambiance. The food was excellent, they had a great wine selection, and we enjoyed our server.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

we haven't been to chase for a long time ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

we haven't been to chase for a long time and we had a very nice dinner with great service, till the end when a little critter with whiskers and two small ears popped his head up from our booth . we choose not to say anything at the time but I do feel the establishment should be aware of this problem. the next customers may not be so forgiving.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I had the Caesar salad, Chicken Picatta ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had the Caesar salad, Chicken Picatta paired with spaghetti with Alfredo sauce. All very delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our food rating was mixed; mine was pret ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our food rating was mixed; mine was pretty good (eggplant parm) and my girlfriend characterized hers as so-so (veal with penne carbonara dish), but the dining experience was pretty bad;read on....

Service was mediocre,apparently because one single waitress was responsible for all of the tables.

My dish came with a pasta dish. In response to being asked if I wanted marinara or meat sauce, I chose the latter, only to find a $1.50 charge on the bill for meat sauce; clearly inappropriate, given that the extra charge had not been disclosed.

The restaurant was warm, and no breeze came though the open door; nonetheless, the Owner chose to leave the a/c off, or at least on a warmer setting. In response to our pointing out our discomfort, the Owner was not only unresponsive, but suggested that the solution was for us to buy more cold drinks! When we later made further reference to our discomfort, he justified the lack of a/c by indicating that the a/c does not work as well when the door is open!

The Owner seemed more concerned with making us aware that he was the new Owner than addressing our issues.

This is too bad, because I had more pleasant dining experiences here years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Nice private booth for business lunch, e ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Nice private booth for business lunch, excellent chicken piccata with fetichini Alfredo

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Picked Chase on Open Table and was thoro ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Picked Chase on Open Table and was thoroughly satisfied. To be fair we ate at one of the patio tables which was ideal on a warm evening and inside was noisy and very warm. That said this was a very pleasant surprise. Our waiter Jonathon was friendly, helpful and enhanced the experience. Both of our meals (salmon and chicken) were outstanding and very reasonably priced. Certainly recommend Chase for quality and value.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just the right size restaurant, deliciou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Just the right size restaurant, delicious veal with prosciutto and melted mozzarella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks for the great experience. It was ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Thanks for the great experience. It was ALL good. The added chief sponsored "birthday cake and ice cream" was a surprise and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The whole experience would have turned o ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The whole experience would have turned out better had the food been better. My date ordered a dish with a lemon garlic topping and there was so much garlic (a minimum 10 cloves) that she ended up not being able to finish it which was topped off by severe stomach pains that started that night and went into the morning and next day where she ended up having to leave work because of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Low end itallian, no very good, for Fath ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Low end itallian, no very good, for Fathers Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value3

We visit this resturant about every 6-9 ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We visit this resturant about every 6-9 months. This is avery charming small resturant with Christmas lights all over..the Chicken Picata is also very good with many capers and served with pasta and salad and bread. Our waiter was very good and made u feel like joking with him..

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Friendly Traditional Fare

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This restaurant inspired friendly conversations between strangers at neighboring tables. The food was good and the service spot on. Went nearly thirty years ago when visiting Santa Barbara. So glad we finally went back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little cramped

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Where we were seated was a little cramped. The food & service was good overall. Will for sure go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mothers Day

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely meal and good service for Mothers Day. Have been many times to the Chase and know its quality and service is very good. I don't remember our servers name

but he was very good also.

Thank you!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, very bad service.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was good.

Basically ignored by our waiter. We were served dessert with no silverware. After waiting a long time, a diner at the next table got up and found some silverware in napkins for us. No eye contact when he delivered the bill. If he was overwhelmed with too many people to serve, a simple acknowledgement would have been appreciated. I am normally generous tipping, but for the first time in my life, I left no tip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Hadn't been to this place for 20 years b ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Hadn't been to this place for 20 years but I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful our experience was! Great food and drinks and cozy urban- feeling vibe. Want to go back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cozy & quaint ! For locals, get away wh ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Cozy & quaint ! For locals, get away while not going away !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent drinks, good food at reasonabl ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Excellent drinks, good food at reasonable prices. Wonderful ambiance. Very cozy. Try the "Al Capone" if you like Manhattans. Interesting twist to the classic drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Love being able to make a lunch reservation!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

The food is delicious and the staff is so friendly and efficient!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite for me and my family. ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Always a favorite for me and my family. Nice kids menu, good options for the adults. Great drinks. If you like Manhattans try their "Al Capone". An orange twist of the former. Easy parking I the back with first 75 min free. Would recommend this especially during the holidays as they always go all out with the decorations. Definitely will get you in the spirit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pre-Live Play dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Love this place but this was an off night. Service slow despite only a few tables filled (at 5:30p). Shrimp Provencial too much garlic, more than usual and slight burnt taste. Fish Chowder also different. Large chunks of Salmon, which I've never noticed before and overpowered the usual taste. The Cannolli desert was sooo sweet I could only eat a few bites. The Ciopino, Ravioli Marinara, and apple pie were good. Disappointed but I'll try again. It is one of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great Food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I had a wonderful dinner with my daughter and father. The food was wonderful. We had a very nice and attentive server.

The ambiance was nice. We could carry on a conversation, while listening to Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin in the background.

This was my second visit to Chase. I will be going back!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed :/

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

I thought some of the reviews at first might be exaggerated but was there for the first time last night and wow it's all true. I specifically asked for a booth and although it was confirmed I would get it I did not. The hostess basically said "oh well, sorry. If you don't want your table there are plenty of people that will want to take it". Are you serious!?!?... I thought to myself. Wow. We were hungry so stayed but disappointed & just a terrible way to start having dinner. One of my friends came from a long way to visit this immensely over-rated place to eat. The food is good but big deal, that's a common variable if your a restaurant on popular state st c'mon. I can give hundreds of places that would put that place to shame in food quality. Anyhow, food was good not amazing. I'd say our bottle of wine was amazing but WE chose it so credit to us. Hostess was terrible.......waiter was a bit sarcastic & should mind his own business. Just stick to paying attention the first time & not have us repeat ourselves. We didn't need what he thought was a funny joke & side comments.

Definitely not going back to this place. I believe all the locals now that say it was great before but went downhill this last year. Change of management?? Who knows.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Chase Bar & Grill

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

We love the Chase, and have been frequent patrons for years. This particular time, the service was extremely slow. The two ladies next to us actually got up and left when no one came to their table within a reasonable amount of time. Hopefully this was just a bad day...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

The reliable Chase

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Only a curmudgeon would not like The Chase at Christmas. Wildly over decorated, and I mean that in the best possible way, The Chase is perfect for a rich glass of red wine and a hot bowl of spaghetti and meatballs on a chilly holiday afternoon. Look around, and all the patrons are enjoying the surroundings, the food, the company. However, customers around us, arriving after us, were served before us, we were given wrong menus, and bread sat on the table for a while without butter or oil served alongside. Maybe our charming waiter was the only one who made it in the day after Christmas. He did seem to be serving a number of tables. But don't let spotty service deter you. I've never been disappointed in the Chase experience. The Chase is an institution. Go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Not what it once was...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

In the frequent and ever changing Santa Barbara restaurant scene Chase Bar and Grill has been a pillar of longevity in the downtown area. In years bygone you could count on the freshest ingredients where cost was presumably second. Ravioli stuffed with cheese and covered in a real Alfredo sauce with sweet butter and real cream sprinkled with freshly grated Parmesan cheese. On the night we were there we made a reservation through Open Table. Even though Chase reported that we were a "no show" we were there. Our server was a genuinely nice guy who had too many tables and not enough support but he was earnest and did his best.

We ordered the steamed clams for an appetizer ($16.00) and it arrived with nine unrecognizable clams, one unopened and a thick chicken gravy with large chucks of raw yellow onions and several stocks of raw celery. Unbelievable and awful. The kitchen must have run out broth and the fix was astonishing! Salad came next and was the best part of the meal, but very gloppy dressing with a strong mayonnaise taste. Our meal came before we could finish our salad. We ordered another round of drinks which we cancelled after we had finished our meal still waiting for the bar to make the connection. The ravioli was the bare minimum of mostly dough and the Alfredo sauce had the whipped sodium fluff of a packaged sauce mix. Such a sad decline for one of SB's oldest restaurants. Not recommended.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

30 Years

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

I've been going to the chase now for 30 years it's a must for Santa Barbara locals my wife and I love it try the shrimp piccata

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I only go at Christmas!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

Always beautifully decorated at Christmas season. ..a really nice tradition. Decent drinks. The service is friendly. The food, unfortunately, is very mediocre so unless you have another reason for coming here, go somewhere else.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Good Vaule on State Street

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Fine but not spectacular classic Italian dishes. No waiting with our reservation. For the moderate prices, attentive service, in the middle of the action on State Street, very nice ambiance, Chase can't be beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Good food, usually good service, fair price.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Good food, usually good service, fair price. We'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dinner with son before returning to College

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 3, 2015

My son loved the food and the classic music of Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, Dean Martin many more.

My girl friend and I been there many times, wanted something nice for my son.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ok experience, would not recommend

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 3, 2015

We had an average restaurant experience at Chase. The main course was delicious, but not anything to rave on and on about. If you are looking for a normal American-Italian restaurant, this is your place. But know that the bread was not great, and our salad lettuce was wilted. There was no air conditioning (thermostat read 91 degrees), and eating while sweating is not the best dining experience. Throughout the whole time, a large pounding was coming from the kitchen and taking over the conversation. We visit Santa Barbara annually, and unfortunately Chase will not be a repeat location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I love Chase!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

Everything I've ever had at Chase Bar and Grill has been fantastic. They have the BEST Fettuccini Alfredo and Chicken Piccatta to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Took way too long.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

Over an hour to get our salads and another 30 to 40 minutes for the entree's. Had to take most of our food home as we lost our appetites waiting so long.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The service was very slow. There was pr ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

The service was very slow. There was pretty much one waitress for the entire restaurant. I ordered wine and waited 15 minutes for her to physically take it off the bar and walk it the 10 feet to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Disapointed with service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

The food was outstanding and the service was poor. We waited 10 minutes before our waiter greeted us. It felt like we were pulling teeth the entire evening. The waiters were inattentive and forgetful. We even ran into problems getting the check. This restaurant needs to offer training for their staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

FrankieSue

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 6, 2015

Our Easter dining experience was lovely. The service was top notch, and the veal piccata was excellent. I asked for light breaking on the veal which they happily did for me.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chase is an old downtown favorite. Grea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 1, 2015

Chase is an old downtown favorite. Great raviolis. Good service, consistent good food & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.