About Chart House Restaurant - Tower of the Americas

739 East Cesar Chavez Blvd
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Located at the Tower of the Americas, the landmark symbol of San Antonio since 1968, Chart House is legendary for its top-of-the-catch seafood, succulent steaks & decadent desserts. Enjoy outstanding cuisine, spectacular views and exceptional service as you marvel the city below. Be sure to relax with a cocktail in the sophisticated setting of Bar 601.
Driving 281 South (IH 37 South) Exit 140B (Cesar Chavez)Take right at Light-Turn right into Tower of the Americas Parking
From Downtown: Driving on Market Street East.Take right at Alamo Street,Take Left at Cesar Chavez,Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10E Exit 155B (Cesar Chavez).Go through the light at Alamo Street ,Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10W Exit 574 (IH37/35, 281N),Exit 140 B Cesar Chavez ,Turn Left at light go under over pass and through light ,Turn right Parking

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 3pm-10pm; Friday: 3pm -11pm; Saturday: 11am - 11pm; Sunday 11am-10pm; Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11am - 3pm;
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 7pm

Cross Street:
Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 223-3101

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Catering:
The chart house also offers off site catering for corporate receptions, product lunches & business lunches.

Parking Details:
Driving 281 South (IH 37 South) Exit 140B (Cesar Chavez)
Take right at Light & turn right to park
From Downtown:
Driving on Market Street East, Take right at Alamo Street. Take Left at Cesar Chavez Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10E Exit 155B (Cesar Chavez) Go through the light at Alamo Street Turn left into Tower Parking
Driving IH 10W Exit 574 (IH37/35)
Exit 140 B Cesar Chavez
Turn Left at light go under over pass and through light ,Turn right

Executive Chef:
Paul Filiberto

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Full service, turn key from start to finish featuring incredible food with spectacular views & unparalleled service. Please contact us about your intimate or corporate events hosting up to 3,000. The sky is literally the limit!

Chart House Restaurant - Tower of the Americas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
5 More
Most Booked
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

scenic view (387)
special occasion (319)
romantic (292)
See All
fit for foodies (73)
good for groups (51)
notable wine list (50)
great for lunch (50)
late-night find (44)
hot spot (42)
neighborhood gem (37)
vibrant bar scene (35)
great for brunch (26)
kid-friendly (26)
great for outdoor dining (10)
Sort By:
Newest
5673 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

So making a reservation at this place me ...

Dined 3 days ago

So making a reservation at this place means nothing. As i saw others who got tables before me who checked in after I did was rather upsetting. Considering the host at the front door continued to ask what was the name as she had 6 other couples, (one without a reservation) get seated. I feel that the place is good if you want to go to the bar and drink with the view. But the food itself was sub par, and not worth the wait.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey but worth it! Great view

Dined 3 days ago

Pricey but worth it! Great view

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

Dined 4 days ago

I just can get enough of my experience this past Friday. I used the occasion to celebrate my engagement with my fiancé and it was #Clutch. The food and the services just remarkable!! Thank you for everything it was an amazing night!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

The bar service upstairs was slow we wai ...

Dined 4 days ago

The bar service upstairs was slow we waited 15 minutes before I had to get up to get a waitress who took another 15 to come get our drink orders. The margaritas were too sweet and watered down. Our waitress downstairs was excellent, the food on the other hand wasn't anything special, bland. The lobster Mac n'cheese was a joke, no flavor just cooked pasta no cheese sauce at all. It was pasta with bread crumbs and chewy lobster bits on it. We sent it back and I NEVER send food back. For the Tower of America reataurant I was disappointed.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great, with a couple of exceptions

Dined 4 days ago

Really great food....the service was okay, but everyone (with one exception) working there seemed oddly strained, like the bosses had just called a meeting telling everyone to be uptight. The restaurant waitstaff wasn't particularly friendly. An exception to this, however, would be the wonderful waitress we had upstairs in the bar later. She was great and brought out a birthday dessert for my wife....I wish I had noted her name. The view is, of course, stunning. A good place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great view, local icon

Dined 5 days ago

Food was pretty good, reasonably priced for what it is....$40 New York Strip. Prime Rib is okay; I should have gotten medium instead of large. My wife liked the stuffed flounder; it was tasty....I'll get it next time. View is awesome. We'll go back.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Fun experience. Food was good but not gr ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Fun experience. Food was good but not great. Wonderful service. Try the bold Manhattan- you won't be the same after.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Spectacular view of San Antonio

Dined on May 17, 2016

We purposely chose our dining time to enjoy the sunset and then watch the city slowly light up. It was so beautiful. With the way the restaurant is strategically set up I don't think there is a bad place to sit in the whole place so kudos to whoever designed the three levels of seating. The food was quite good.... bur be sure to save room for dessert. The chocolate molten lava cake was one of the best desserts we ever had. Just the right size to share between two people. We will definitely make dining here a tradition when we come back to San Antonio! We loved the experience! Be sure to go early so you can enjoy all the beautiful landscape and waterfalls at the bottom of the tower before going up!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Ok, not great

Dined on May 17, 2016

After reading other reviews I was prepared to be disappointed. The problems we encountered - out of 2 appetizers and 1 entree, luke-warm food - were entirely the fault of the kitchen. Our server, Freddie, was accommodating, the cucumber martinis were outstanding, and the view is one of a kind. The manager was very nice and removed the cold entree from our bill. Go for the 5 star view but don't expect 5 star food.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Nice view - food is below average

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Been here a few times. Dinner was way overpriced and very expensive for the value. I take visitors or friends for lunch now and have a salad or soup and a small appetizer. This way we can enjoy the view without having to pay to go to the observation deck (free if you show your meal receipt). They have also issues with the airco. One time it was warm and humid and last weekend it was freezing cold.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Waitress continued to judge our choices ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Waitress continued to judge our choices and kept saying things like "that's not classy".

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the view! Great experience! Went th ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Love the view! Great experience! Went there for my Fiancé's Birthday- Chart House made sure it was catered to his birthday! It was perfect! Loved the Fondue.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I came to this restaurant to ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I came to this restaurant to celebrate our 27 anniversary. It was an outstanding service from the servers. The view is so pretty and the food we order was perfect. Overall our experience at this restaurant was great. But definitely we would come back to it, and we would recommend it to friends.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

went with three other people for prom.. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

went with three other people for prom.. great service and food. will definitely eat there again. took my employee discount, no problem!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was alright but not as great as ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was alright but not as great as I would have hoped.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! My wife loves this place.

Dined on May 14, 2016

This a great place to take a very special person in your life. The view is always amazing. The menu is second to none! Our server name was James...He was timely, efficient, and definitely in tune with his customers needs and desires making suggestions that made the evening even more of a success. Thank You!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was great but we tried to get a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Dinner was great but we tried to get a drink upstairs in the bar prior to dinner but it was impossible to get a drink or get the attention from the two bartenders, They were rude and did not even try to take our orders after repeated attempts to get their attention. Dinner Waitress and waiter were provided great service so they changed our mood for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Does this look medium rare?

Dined on May 14, 2016

We knew Chart House was a tourist trap and expected to pay extra for what we could get less from elsewhere. That said, we expected good service and good food. Service was wonderful. We were pretty upset upon receiving our medium rare prime ribs to find them medium well at best, maybe even well done. Not a hint of pink anywhere. We brought it to the waiter's attention and he said "I guess those aren't really medium rare, are they?" He took them back right away and came out shortly thereafter with two prime ribs exactly as we ordered. If it were a regular steak that you could not visibly see without cutting into I could excuse the mistake but in a prime rib it's all out there to see. Overall we were happy with the meal and enjoyed ourselves, but we will not go back as there are better steaks to be had in town for the same or less money. You definitely pay for the view, which on this date night with my wife was exactly what our intention was. I would tell other people to go there if they want the view for a special occasion but otherwise stay at ground level and Go somewhere you can get the same or better food for less money.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary

Dined on May 13, 2016

The management and staff went out of their way to make our 44th Anniversary special. Our menu's were imprinted with an Anniversary greeting. The staff all knew that we were celebrating something very special. The service was timely, appropriate, and questions to our server were answered immediately. We really enjoyed ourselves. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view and revolving restuarant.

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food is on the pricey side($100 fo 2 people with dessert.) Excellent and high quality food though, in a very unique setting high above San Antonio. Free admission to the tower is a bonus.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The scenery was magnificent.

Dined on May 13, 2016

The turning floor can make you feel a bit dizzy at first. Steak was great, peppered scampi was dry. Overall the food was decent but you are really paying for the scenery and ambiance.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

family visiting

Dined on May 11, 2016

Everything was great and our server did a good job, although we ordered the wine before our entrees arrived and didn't receive the wine until after we were done eating. Our dessert even came before the wine, that was frustrating.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I new it would be a great location, but ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I new it would be a great location, but I had guessed it would be a touristy "been there, done that" experience. I was very impressed when I left. The food was good, the view was amazing, and the service was exceptional. First the bartender, then our waiter seemed to really enjoy their jobs and were more than gracious. I will be back; with family, with friends, and again with my husband. We enjoyed the whole experience. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my 48th Birthday,And all I can sa ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

It was my 48th Birthday,And all I can say is WOW!!!! THE ONLY complaint I HAVE IS I HAD TO LEAVE AT SOME POINT... A 5STAR..I WILL BE BACK AND WITH FRIENDS NEXT TIME..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you not only for a wonderful lunch ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Thank you not only for a wonderful lunch experience but a Mother/Daughter memory I will never forget.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dessert was amazing!!

Dined on May 10, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful anniversary. The atmosphere was very pleasant. I must say the dessert was heavenly. You must definitely try the lava cake and peanut butter ice cream.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for mothers day. the food wa ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there for mothers day. the food was excellent, service great, wait staff friendly and helpful. really enjoyed the cucumber Martini. I will go back

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Our visits to the Chart House typically ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our visits to the Chart House typically comes with a spectacular view of the city, weather permitting. Likewise the food is typically also amazing. However on this day, the shrimp fettuccine missed the mark. It was Mother's Day and perhaps the kitchen staff was a bit overwhelmed. We will return

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Good food..not so great service from hostess

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to the restaurant about 20 mins before the reservation time and was told to wait until the reservation time. One minute after the reservation time, I went to check with the hostess and was told it'll take few more minutes. After 5 mins went again and this time it was a different hostess and she said 'oh we can seat you right away, were you waiting?" Honestly this is the first time I have experienced this much of unprofessional ism from a restaurant which is supposed to be so "high end" The waiter was pleasant and the food was really good. Also, the view from the rotating restaurant was really great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Our wonderful server was Kenneth

Dined on May 8, 2016

He was great. The food was delicious. The reservation desk attendant downstairs was flaky and rude. The upstairs attendant was bothered to have to help anyone. My reservation was for 9:30pm and we didn't get seated until 10:10pm. We've been to The Chart House a few other times and have loved it. This experience, however, has made me not want to return or recommend it to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Reception was nice and we got great seat ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Reception was nice and we got great seating facing out toward the city. Food and wine are a bit pricey (14 Hands cabernet $28.00 when I can buy it at HEB for $8.00), and my Tuna was better and cheaper at Stone Wirks at the RIM. We were celebrating Mothers Day and there were two mothers in our group; unfortunately one of our Mothers did not get her meal when the rest of us did. The waitress said that "they forgot to get the order in" so she watched us eat our meal until they finally served her. Except for those two things, every one enjoyed the evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Anniversary Experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I dined at the Chart House for our 12th anniversary and had a wonderful time. The wine list is good but not daunting and the menu is well arranged. My wife had lobster and I had prime rib and both meals were excellent. The price is what we expected for an upscale restaurant and the service was very good but not obtrusive. A truely fun was to spend a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the Restaurant but the Photographers Must Go!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Love the restaurant and the service but my first visit (Nov 2015) the photography staff was extremely rude when we decided not to buy their pictures during our meal. My second visit (May 2016) the photography staff was extremely rude when we told them we did not want a picture taken while waiting on the elevator to go up to the restaurant. I understand they make money by taking/selling the photographs but they should not set the tone for my meal/evening by being rude to customers that choose not to buy their products...I live here and don't need a picture every time I visit the Tower of Americas.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Fast Food quality with a view

Dined on May 6, 2016

Truly not deserving of the Chart House name. From the rude person taking reservations (which is why I used open table) to the wait staff that did not even know the menu. Upon our arrival, albeit 545 pm as we had a little one, one of the cooks was in a cut-off t shirt hanging out in the lobby. I suggest Landys send their managers to other Chart House restaurants to see how it is supposed to be done. The only positive was the view was nice. I stress ONLY positive.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, good food and good dr ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent service, good food and good drinks. Happy hour is awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints!

Dined on May 6, 2016

We celebrated an early Mothers Day lunch- my husband and I and our 2 teenage sons. It is always my "Go-to" place for Mothers Day as it is such a treat! Of course the obvious is the beautiful views which are breathtaking. But also an appealing draw is the delicious food and the great service. It feels expansive and unhurried. And they work hard to make you feel special. We ordered their signature dessert-- Hot Chocolate Lava Cake. So decadent. But to make it even more special our waiter brought it out to our table and while we watched he "wrote" with melted chocolate in a pastry bag in beautiful cursive "Happy Mother's Day"!! I absolutely love this place and how special it makes me feel to be there!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A must see

Dined on May 6, 2016

If going to San Antonio and time for a dinner or lunch, this is the place to go. Yes it's a little pricey but the views are fantastic.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food and service exceeded expectatio ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food and service exceeded expectations, as some revolving restaurants and restaurants-with-a-view can rely too much on the scenic-factor instead of delivering a great restaurant experience. The Chart House gave us the wonderful views, plus all four adults (and two young kids) thoroughly enjoyed their meals. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for San Antonio visitors.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great proposal location!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Worried after reading reviews, but food was good, floor rotating, wait time perfect, and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. My daughters fiance wanted to make the day special in preparation for proposing, was a wonderful day! She enjoyed her first trip to the tower.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A little pricey but great for a special ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

A little pricey but great for a special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.