About Chart House Restaurant - Tower of the Americas

739 East Cesar Chavez Blvd
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Located at the Tower of the Americas, the landmark symbol of San Antonio since 1968, Chart House is legendary for its top-of-the-catch seafood, succulent steaks & decadent desserts. Enjoy outstanding cuisine, spectacular views and exceptional service as you marvel the city below. Be sure to relax with a cocktail in the sophisticated setting of Bar 601.
Driving 281 South (IH 37 South) Exit 140B (Cesar Chavez)Take right at Light-Turn right into Tower of the Americas Parking
From Downtown: Driving on Market Street East.Take right at Alamo Street,Take Left at Cesar Chavez,Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10E Exit 155B (Cesar Chavez).Go through the light at Alamo Street ,Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10W Exit 574 (IH37/35, 281N),Exit 140 B Cesar Chavez ,Turn Left at light go under over pass and through light ,Turn right Parking

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 3pm-10pm; Friday: 3pm -11pm; Saturday: 11am - 11pm; Sunday 11am-10pm; Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11am - 3pm;
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 7pm

Cross Street:
Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 223-3101

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Catering:
The chart house also offers off site catering for corporate receptions, product lunches & business lunches.

Parking Details:
Driving 281 South (IH 37 South) Exit 140B (Cesar Chavez)
Take right at Light & turn right to park
From Downtown:
Driving on Market Street East, Take right at Alamo Street. Take Left at Cesar Chavez Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10E Exit 155B (Cesar Chavez) Go through the light at Alamo Street Turn left into Tower Parking
Driving IH 10W Exit 574 (IH37/35)
Exit 140 B Cesar Chavez
Turn Left at light go under over pass and through light ,Turn right

Executive Chef:
Paul Filiberto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Full service, turn key from start to finish featuring incredible food with spectacular views & unparalleled service. Please contact us about your intimate or corporate events hosting up to 3,000. The sky is literally the limit!

Chart House Restaurant - Tower of the Americas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
5 More
Most Booked
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Scenic View (385)
Special Occasion (328)
Romantic (276)
See All
Good for Groups (69)
Notable Wine List (67)
Late-night Find (59)
Hot Spot (56)
Great for Lunch (53)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Kid-friendly (43)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Great for Brunch (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5907 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had the worst service ever encountere ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had the worst service ever encountered at a higher end restaurant. After we were able to turn in our order, it took one hour before our soup and salads were served. My lobster bisque must have been sitting in back under a heat lamp for a while since the top had already turned brown and dried up. Then trying to pay took another 20 minutes to get the check processed. We were highly disappointed and would only have negative comments, so recommendations would not be in order. Took over 2:20 minutes to just have lunch. When confronted, the waiter just blamed the kitchen staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Would have been nice to know i didnt hav ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 3 days ago

Would have been nice to know i didnt have to pay to get to the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We came here to celebrate a birthday and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 4 days ago

We came here to celebrate a birthday and in fact downstairs the hosts asked us if we were celebrating anything and I told him we were celebrating my husband's birthday. The told him Happy Birthday but as far as I could tell didn't do anything with the information. Our waiter Jason was outstanding and even took my crab legs and removed the meat for me when he saw me struggling. I would've given 5 stars for the food but my husband said his Sea Bass was not very blackened but he did not say anything to Jason. I will highly recommend Chart House as a special occasion restaurant to my friends. Thanks so much!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very accommodating staff! The waitress w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very accommodating staff! The waitress was excellent food was very good and we were not rushed

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and views are spectacular and i ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The food and views are spectacular and it made the occasion very special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a bit early for our late August ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We were a bit early for our late August mid week 6:30 pm reservation for my wife's birthday dinner and had a very brief wait while the table was prepped. Upon being seated we were promptly greeted by Hector our waiter. He is truly an asset to the restaurant as he was easily the best waiter we have experienced. Both our meals from start to finish were superb. The view as evening turned to night was entertaining. BTW with reservations to the Chart House there is no charge for the elevator and you are moved to the front of the line.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Management: My husband and I are from A ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Management:

My husband and I are from Arizona, and visited the Charter House in San Antonio, Sunday, Aug. 21 at 7:30 pm. After paying an $11.00 parking fee, (just to be a guest at your restaurant.) We were greeted with a warm welcome at the front desk and waited in the lounge as our table was prepared. We were graciously seated within 10 minutes at a window table with a wonderful view of the city below. After viewing the menu my husband ordered the prime rib, and I was looking forward to ordfering your Signature dish, the Cuban Spiced Scallops and Shrimp dinner, as scallops are one of my very favorites, only to be told the restaurant had run out of the scallops, so the entree' was unavailable. I had to settle for the prime rib (which I can order at most any restaurant) with an added shrimp scampi entree'. (Not at all what I had originally wanted.) When our dinners arrived, and after waiting a few more minutes, I began eating my prime rib, and finally had to ask a young man (I assume he was a bus-boy) to ask our waiter if the scampi had possibly been forgotten. Our waiter then brought the additional entree' stating he had forgotten it. (It was extremely salty) We unfortunately also let the waiter know at this time the mashed potatoes we had been served were cold..(we thought they had a crusted topping. ..they actually were stiff from sitting) ..he then replaced the potatoes with a fresh serving, but by now we felt like we were eating dinner in pieces, ala cart ...I was very disappointed with the entire meal for the price charged. A $130.00+ dinner evening is NOT an inexpensive meal to us. While we did enjoy the atmosphere,the food and service was mediocre at best. As we left the restaurant neither the person at the front desk nor the elevator operator bothered to thank us or others leaving, for coming.

This was an experience that should have been memorable and extra special and unfortunately was very disappointing instead.

Sincerely,

Yvonne Coleman

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We were in San Antonio for a conference ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were in San Antonio for a conference and went to this restaurant to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary. We made reservations a few weeks in advance and had a short wait for our table. Nicholas, our waiter did and excellent job of making our night very special. Food was great and we enjoyed the amazing view. Can't say enough great things about our experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great experience!

vip
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

great experience!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not really impressed with food. Music wa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Not really impressed with food. Music was way too loud. Paying for view. Overrated & needs a revamp.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We loved it. A perfect experience. Great ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We loved it. A perfect experience. Great service. High quality food. Definitely do it again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoy eating at the short house I fee ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We enjoy eating at the short house I feel like it's a great experience any time of the year, time, location is great. I love the experience and I really think that it's best one going close till sunset to have a better view of the city

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always happy to go back. Everything is ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always happy to go back. Everything is delightful. Love the view, the service and food.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food wasn't what we expected, it was oka ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food wasn't what we expected, it was okay not great. Ceasar salad was old and soggy, as if it was sitting in the refrigerator for days. Entree was warm, mashed potatoes seemed to have been sitting around until service, not fresh again sitting until actually someone ordered the item. We went during lunch and expected a lunch menu but was given a dinner menu, paid more than we anticipated. Found the restaurant menu on the culinary week and maybe that's why the food was prepared ahead of time due to restaurant week.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Great service and amazing food. Don't g ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great service and amazing food. Don't get up and try to remember where you sat. The floor moves and making landmarks on the walls just won't work. For an upscale environment, they should allow only 18 and up due to the fact that there are "parents" that will let their kids run up and down the stairs while you are trying to enjoy your experience. Cut off the age and this place would be my SA go to place to get away from the city. The view really does take your breath away. Yes I am talking about San Antonio. Do go in the evening so you can see the city transform.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For a Landry's owned restaurant the food ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

For a Landry's owned restaurant the food is sub par and the service is very slow. I would only recommend the view and the bar.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Perfect evening! We celebrated my husban ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Perfect evening! We celebrated my husband's bday. The food & the service were outstanding. No complimentary cake but all went well.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was slow and my food was underco ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was slow and my food was undercooked and cold. The views are great.- worth it but better off at the bar.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Breath taking view of San Antonio, very ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Breath taking view of San Antonio, very romantic setting. Our waiter was great at making recommendations.

We did have to wait about 15 minutes after being seated to be acknowledged. We were never asked if we wanted a beverage aside from water, so we stuck to water.

Overall good food not great, the view and ambience made the difference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Dinner was all we expected it to be. Go ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Dinner was all we expected it to be. Good wine selection. Excellent service and good food.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'd recommend a light sweater it gets re ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I'd recommend a light sweater it gets really cold.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We made reservations and unfortunately i ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We made reservations and unfortunately it had been raining and as is typical for San Antonio extremely humid. The view was extremely hampered by the moisture which ruined the experience. I would suggest that in a similar situation that the upstairs bar areas had a clear view. Had we known soon enough we would have requested to dine up there. The food was good and the wine options plentiful. Two members in our party for the melting chocolate desert and said it was amazing. I would give it another shot but it would have to be a clear day.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We felt for the price of the meal, it wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We felt for the price of the meal, it was expensive for the quantity of the food on the plate 3 shrimp and 4 scallops. You pay for the tower ride in the meal so count on small servings. Substitutes such as baked potato for garlic mashed is an extra charge . We also feel that the air conditioning was too cold. We will hesitate to go there a second time. The restaurant was not crowed. We also paid parking in addition to the meal It was an expensive evening . Downtown dining is not attractive

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

was my sons 15th birthday, had the menus ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

was my sons 15th birthday, had the menus with his name saying happy birthday and gave him a delicious piece of ice cream cake with a candle and saying happy birthday on the plate also.

It was his first time there and he really enjoyed it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent except for the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Everything was excellent except for the temperature. It was very cold and very uncomfortable. We asked the waiter and his supervisor to lower the temp. several times and they never did anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is beautiful, the view of ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful, the view of San Antonio is spectacular. The server was very friendly and attentive to our needs. The food and wine was great. The evening was pleasurable, it was a special occasion celebrating my friends birthday! The server made sure she was enjoying her evening! Thank you for the excellence service!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Long wait on receiving food and lighting ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Long wait on receiving food and lighting was a little to dark only have 1 candle as light but only at night only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Overall it was a good experience. Servi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall it was a good experience. Service was a little slow -- not sure if that was the kitchen or the wait staff. However, all staff were very friendly. One suggestion -- the women's bathroom is too small! and the doors need to be fixed (holes in the translucent door material and gaps between the door and wall). Food was very good and reasonable price. We did not realize we would need to wait so long for the elevator - it made us late for the reservation - but that was not a problem and our table was ready for us when we arrived. My granddaughter loves to go here for her birthday.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The wait staff had on dirty uniforms. M ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The wait staff had on dirty uniforms. My salad had brown lettuce and it was wilted. The quality of the food was horrible. The young lady that waited on our table was very polite and professional, but it didn't make up for the bad dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Awesome place with great views, wonderfu ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome place with great views, wonderful food, amazing service. Our waiter was very polite, and prompt,.and asked any questions we had even about the building.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The server was f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was excellent. The server was friendly but slow and did not pay attention. Did not refill drinks promptly. Offered chocolate lava cake as it took 30 min to prepare and we still waited over 30 minutes after plates were finally cleared. Service was extremely disappointing. Both the bar tender and the server mixed up glasses of wine. Not what I expected for this type of restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Ambiance was good, primarily because of ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Ambiance was good, primarily because of the view and the coolness of the restaurant turning. Food was not on par with fine dining. Both plates were cold and the HVAC was blowing so cold and hard from above, my wife's fish was instantly cold. Speaking of cold, the temp was very cool. I noticed several women wearing jackets, they had obviously been there before. The décor reminded me of an old cruise ship. The place was built in the 60's so I will give some credit to that but the carpet was torn and dirty and looked like a weary disco bar.

Our waiter was excellent and responded to the cold food immediately. He was timely, courteous and well versed of the menu. We were very pleased with that aspect. The seating service was also good.

Overall, I would say the service was great, the food was decent but overpriced (just not a "fine" experience) and the ambiance would be wonderful if the place was updated.

Not critical just because I can be, just the facts.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The view was wonderful - which was the m ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The view was wonderful - which was the main thing we went for. The seafood items were good, but the steak was very disappointing, very tough.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Been all over USA, this is number one pl ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Been all over USA, this is number one place on my list now. If in town again, definitely will book reservation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent! The restaurant w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was excellent! The restaurant was lovely it's better suited for date night rather than a business dinner. That said,we had a great time and the food was really good.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was not the level it should have ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was not the level it should have been for the cost of dining and the atmosphere. Everything else was great. The food was amazing and the view was also. You have to pay to park which is disappointing. They should validate parking for those dining at Chart House and reimburse the cost. The parking alone took 15 minutes due to only having one person operate the parking booth. They take a picture of you prior to going up in the restaurant with the cost of $27 or $37 dollars. Overall it was still an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Fantastic food, terrible service- slow, ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic food, terrible service- slow, inattentive, we had to ask the manager once to find our waiter, and each time we wanted a drink we'd have to actively flag him down. We were there for three hours just because of the lag in service and inattentiveness.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

ALL WAS EXCELENT, THE FOOD IS VERY GOOD, ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

ALL WAS EXCELENT, THE FOOD IS VERY GOOD, IF I CAN I´LL COME BACK AGAIN

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Got the VIP treatment for our anniversar ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Got the VIP treatment for our anniversary.

Wait staff was very attentive.

Seated at table with excellent view. Souvenir menu provided for anniversary.

Usual well prepared Landry's meals.

Reasonably priced.

Memorable event.

Beautiful pictures.

Great time

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I was early and they had tables availabl ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I was early and they had tables available and they did not offered

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.