About Chart House Restaurant - Tower of the Americas

739 East Cesar Chavez Blvd
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Located at the Tower of the Americas, the landmark symbol of San Antonio since 1968, Chart House is legendary for its top-of-the-catch seafood, succulent steaks & decadent desserts. Enjoy outstanding cuisine, spectacular views and exceptional service as you marvel the city below. Be sure to relax with a cocktail in the sophisticated setting of Bar 601.
Driving 281 South (IH 37 South) Exit 140B (Cesar Chavez)Take right at Light-Turn right into Tower of the Americas Parking
From Downtown: Driving on Market Street East.Take right at Alamo Street,Take Left at Cesar Chavez,Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10E Exit 155B (Cesar Chavez).Go through the light at Alamo Street ,Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10W Exit 574 (IH37/35, 281N),Exit 140 B Cesar Chavez ,Turn Left at light go under over pass and through light ,Turn right Parking

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 3pm-10pm; Friday: 3pm -11pm; Saturday: 11am - 11pm; Sunday 11am-10pm; Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11am - 3pm;
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 7pm

Cross Street:
Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 223-3101

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Catering:
The chart house also offers off site catering for corporate receptions, product lunches & business lunches.

Parking Details:
Driving 281 South (IH 37 South) Exit 140B (Cesar Chavez)
Take right at Light & turn right to park
From Downtown:
Driving on Market Street East, Take right at Alamo Street. Take Left at Cesar Chavez Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10E Exit 155B (Cesar Chavez) Go through the light at Alamo Street Turn left into Tower Parking
Driving IH 10W Exit 574 (IH37/35)
Exit 140 B Cesar Chavez
Turn Left at light go under over pass and through light ,Turn right

Executive Chef:
Paul Filiberto

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Full service, turn key from start to finish featuring incredible food with spectacular views & unparalleled service. Please contact us about your intimate or corporate events hosting up to 3,000. The sky is literally the limit!

Chart House Restaurant - Tower of the Americas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
5 More
Most Booked
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

scenic view (398)
special occasion (329)
romantic (279)
See All
good for groups (67)
fit for foodies (58)
great for lunch (55)
notable wine list (53)
hot spot (51)
late-night find (46)
vibrant bar scene (42)
neighborhood gem (37)
kid-friendly (34)
great for brunch (23)
great for outdoor dining (9)
Sort By:
Newest
5749 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service4

This is definitely a touristy place. Be ...

Dined 3 days ago

This is definitely a touristy place. Be prepared to wait for the pricey drinks and meals. That being said our waiter was very friendly and there was a great view of the city.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I had not been here since childhood. It ...

Dined 3 days ago

I had not been here since childhood. It was nice to share with the kids, including mechanical bull riding. :)

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3

Do not go to this restaurant if you plan ...

Dined 3 days ago

Do not go to this restaurant if you plan to be seated in less than an hour even with a reservation. We waited for 1.5 hours for a table and didn't get seated until we asked. We ended the evening which was supposed to be a rare couple's night out by missing a show that we had paid $40 per ticket to see. Oh, the manager did say he was sorry after we asked to see him right before we left the restaurant. He admitted he'd been made aware of the situation but he didn't seem to care nor did he willingly come to our table to speak to us. This is the only restaurant in San Antonio that I have not had a manager come by my table to ensure we were happy. And if you're looking for good food there are much better places for the price albeit you don't get the view. Happily our waiter James was very nice and accommodating. I did make sure to let our taxi driver know not to recommend this restaurant and will be sure to let others know as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique setting. Excellent service, food, ...

Dined 3 days ago

Unique setting. Excellent service, food, views! Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Went for desert - birthday for our daugh ...

Dined 4 days ago

Went for desert - birthday for our daughter - we skipped desert where we ate dinner called ahead and asked for a window view and desert with a candle / happy birthday - just a little surprise - we got the seat we requested , however, no candle or happy birthday written on the desert - felt bad because the table next to us was doing the same thing Quality was excellent - service ok as they forgot the birthday which was way we came and waiter was a little put out we weren't ordering a full meal and was stuck with our table - still spent $100 as we had drinks as well

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere, service and dinner was g ...

Dined 4 days ago

The atmosphere, service and dinner was great. There "famous lava cake desert" was not that great. There was no melted chocolate running out of the middle like a lava cake should. It was basically a chocolate cake with chocolate syrup drizzled over it and a scoop of ice cream.

food5
ambience4
service5

The service as soon as we walked through ...

Dined 4 days ago

The service as soon as we walked through the doors was great. The only down fall was the elevator situation, but other than that everything was great. The view was great....the food was amazing.....and the waiter was professional.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

While the service was good the food was ...

Dined 6 days ago

While the service was good the food was nothing to brag about. The shrimp cocktail was tough and small for the price. The salmon was good, but that's it. I've had much better meals for the same price or less. This is the second and last Landry restaurant we'll try.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

In general, I am a big fan of Chart Hous ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

In general, I am a big fan of Chart House Restaurants. I have been to them in California, Virginia and now Texas. The San Antonio Chart House was my least fun Chart House experience. The food was o.k. I had king salmon and it was a bit bland. Maybe my choice was poor. I have not ordered that dish there before. My wife's prime rib was so-so. My boy's snapper was pretty good. The chocolate lava cake was no where near as good as what I have had at the other Chart Houses. It was luke warm at best and very little "lava." The Tower of Americas is dated and it shows (and smells..mostly near the base of the tower and only a little in the restaurant). I am happy to have finally had my first ever dining experience up there, but I am not sure when or if I would go back. San Antonio has a bunch of fine restaurants, and I would likely hit them before going back here. The view, of course, was fantastic. The server was very friendly. My biggest issue really is that I would hope for 3 people, no drinks at all, and one desert to split between all of us, our experience would have been off the charts for that kind of money. I believe the price is the same as at other Chart House restaurants, as best as I could recall.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for visiting family and frie ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Great place for visiting family and friends to share a special evening meal together. The view was incredible too!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

8:30 reservation for Father's Day. Wait ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

8:30 reservation for Father's Day. Waited until 8:45 for our hostess to seat us, only to suddenly turn around and escort us back to the lobby without explanation. There were NUMEROUS open tables in the restaurant. 8:55 I went to the hostess stand and asked what was going on. It was 9:00 when we were seated, despite the restaurant maybe being at 50% capacity. Our server was OK. ALL of the food was over cooked and dried out. My plate came out a few minutes after my families. Ever my daughters lava cake was over cooked. How is that possible? We arrived at 8:30 and did not leave until 10:30. Two hours to serve a bad meal is ridiculous. Do not recommend. High end restaurant prices for poorly prepared food and even worse general service.

food1
ambience3
service2
value3

I sent an email to Corp , bad experience ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I sent an email to Corp , bad experience steak over cooked and stuff on menu not avalivalbe ,not a good Father's Day !

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was Great! View Awesome! Everyo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was Great! View Awesome! Everyone was friendly, was a slight mixup with drink order of which waiter did not accept ownership.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time. Reservation was ea ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a lovely time. Reservation was easy to make online. Service was awesome and so was the food. The view was also great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Born and raised in san antonio, my wife ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Born and raised in san antonio, my wife and I had never been to charthouse restaurant. We went for our 20th anniversary and it was very nice. Great view and the food was delicious. We will definitely go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The calamari was superb. It was tender a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The calamari was superb. It was tender and had great flavor. My boyfriend's steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place to eat and get a three hundr ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

great place to eat and get a three hundred and sixty degree few of the city .Food was awesome and big portions you wont leave hungry. Wait staff did there job well .Will tell every one i know how good it is,

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!! Wonderful way to celebrate a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved it!! Wonderful way to celebrate a birthday. Highly recommend this Restraunt.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3

The lobster mac and cheese was delicious ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The lobster mac and cheese was delicious. The Mac nut Mahi was very flavorful. The must have appetizer is the shrimp and crab fondue. Very nice atmosphere.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is our second time here - the food ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is our second time here - the food and service were great - scenic view excellent - -A little too busy and noisy for a romantic dinner - our server was busy but very attentive - we never had to look for him for another drink or water refill - the shrimp appetizer was just the right combination of sweet and spicy. Steaks were done just right - mid rare but warm through. It was mid June, the democratic. Convention was in town so it was packed and they did a nice job of handling the crowd.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Fantastic food. Wonder ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great experience. Fantastic food. Wonderful view. Awesome service. The fried asparagus is wonderful.

food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Service was horribly slow. Enjoyed the ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Service was horribly slow. Enjoyed the view. Our waiter was slammed with a large group and three other tables. We waited 20 minutes for a slice of key lime pie. There was an error in our bill on delivery.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

I went here on a Thursday around 6 and t ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I went here on a Thursday around 6 and the restaurant was not busy at all.. And even though I had reservations for 7:15, they let us go up early (party of 5). Service was amazing and they constantly cleaned the table. I ordered the "Snapper Hemingway" and thought the fish and crab meat on top were cooked to perfection.. And the rice pyramid was a nice touch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter had a very pleasant attitude ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Our waiter had a very pleasant attitude and recommend a few things and was overall one of the best Waiter's we had on our vacation!!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service1

The tower is a great way to see 360° vie ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The tower is a great way to see 360° views of San Antonio. The seafood is also good, especially by San Antonio standards. The rest of the experience leaves a bit to be desired.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Appreciate the close parking for $8.00. ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Appreciate the close parking for $8.00. From the door man at the entrance desk, to the elevator attendant, the employees at the dinner area - everyone was pleasant and professional. Our waiter David was the Best! Attentive, personable, pleasant, experienced and professional. The food was good too. I had the salmon and a salad. We had 6 at our table: My sister and her two young boys, my cousin with her daughter, and myself. We came from Austin to meet with my cousin who was visiting from New Jersey. We all lived in San Antonio growing up with our parents. We had always wanted to "Go up and eat up there". So glad we finally did. Looking forward to returning for dinner one evening, and seeing all of San Antonio lights!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great it was cold but good Wi ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was great it was cold but good Will be back

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view, and nice for a family lunch, ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great view, and nice for a family lunch, food was unbelievable, much better than last time (2012) and it was great before.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined on lobster and salmon. Both we ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We dined on lobster and salmon. Both were excellent!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was horrible. Vegetarian option ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was horrible. Vegetarian options were very limited for me. My husband's fish was so overcooked that it looked like chicken and it tasted very rubbery. His New England clam chowder soup smelled and tasted super, super burnt. As if the entire soup was seriously burned and they still served it. Definitely not high-quality food. Not even medium-quality food. Chili's would've been much better.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We brought out of state guests. Love the ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We brought out of state guests. Love the way the restaurant moves so you can see all of San Antonio. Everything was good except my husband's steak which was ordered medium rare came well done. They cooked another one which came back rare. We did receive an apology but truthfully steak wasn't cooked correctly. It's a gamble wherever you go. This time we lost. We would probably still go back if another opportunity comes along.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was cooked and served to perf ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything was cooked and served to perfection. Best cedar plank salmon I have ever had. I would go again and highly recommend to friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Overall experience was great. Disappoint ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Overall experience was great. Disappointing that there was NO changing table in the restrooms.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

The location was romantic with a great v ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The location was romantic with a great view, but for the prices you are paying I would expect to see my waitress more than once every 30-40 minutes and my wife's filet mignon was burnt. Both of our baked potatoes were burned and dry. The appetizer and my salad were very good. It was worth the views but wouldn't recommend the food or service.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

It was our wedding night. The food was ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It was our wedding night. The food was okay, the plates were small for the price but what surprised me was the service. It was awful. If I am going to pay $140.00 for dinner, I shouldn't have to wait for my water to be filled up or asked if I want another drink. We waited a long time for everything and the waitress did not even crack a smile at us. Honestly, I have had better service at Denny's. I was very disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was over cooked but the management ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Steak was over cooked but the management took care of the issue. Very impressed with the staff and making sure dining experience was first class.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was fine until they forgot to ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was fine until they forgot to include my daughter's take home plate which she hardly touched. I am not impressed by the failure of management to return my call regarding this problem.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, view, and they make a super ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food, view, and they make a superb bloody mary. We will definitely be back again very soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful anniversary late night dinner

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server did a wonderful job to make this date memorable, even giving us a desert because it was our 49th-anniversary celebration. He was sensitive to our food requirements and generally made it a very fun evening. The food was awesome and we thought that the prices were very fair. We have not been to a Chart House restaurant in many years, and we were glad to enjoy the treat again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Chart House Review

Dined on June 11, 2016

Scenery was nice with a view of San Antonio. The food was not good. All 4 of our plates were luke warm to cold and just so so. It was very disappointing because we were entertaining out of town family that we hadn't seen in years.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.