About Chart House Restaurant - Tower of the Americas

739 East Cesar Chavez Blvd
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Located at the Tower of the Americas, the landmark symbol of San Antonio since 1968, Chart House is legendary for its top-of-the-catch seafood, succulent steaks & decadent desserts. Enjoy outstanding cuisine, spectacular views and exceptional service as you marvel the city below. Be sure to relax with a cocktail in the sophisticated setting of Bar 601.
Driving 281 South (IH 37 South) Exit 140B (Cesar Chavez)Take right at Light-Turn right into Tower of the Americas Parking
From Downtown: Driving on Market Street East.Take right at Alamo Street,Take Left at Cesar Chavez,Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10E Exit 155B (Cesar Chavez).Go through the light at Alamo Street ,Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10W Exit 574 (IH37/35, 281N),Exit 140 B Cesar Chavez ,Turn Left at light go under over pass and through light ,Turn right Parking

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 3pm-10pm; Friday: 3pm -11pm; Saturday: 11am - 11pm; Sunday 11am-10pm; Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11am - 3pm;
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 7pm

Cross Street:
Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 223-3101

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Catering:
The chart house also offers off site catering for corporate receptions, product lunches & business lunches.

Parking Details:
Driving 281 South (IH 37 South) Exit 140B (Cesar Chavez)
Take right at Light & turn right to park
From Downtown:
Driving on Market Street East, Take right at Alamo Street. Take Left at Cesar Chavez Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10E Exit 155B (Cesar Chavez) Go through the light at Alamo Street Turn left into Tower Parking
Driving IH 10W Exit 574 (IH37/35)
Exit 140 B Cesar Chavez
Turn Left at light go under over pass and through light ,Turn right

Executive Chef:
Paul Filiberto

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Full service, turn key from start to finish featuring incredible food with spectacular views & unparalleled service. Please contact us about your intimate or corporate events hosting up to 3,000. The sky is literally the limit!

Chart House Restaurant - Tower of the Americas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
5 More
Most Booked
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

scenic view (353)
special occasion (294)
romantic (240)
See All
good for groups (63)
great for lunch (48)
fit for foodies (47)
notable wine list (47)
hot spot (46)
late-night find (42)
vibrant bar scene (40)
neighborhood gem (33)
kid-friendly (29)
great for brunch (20)
great for outdoor dining (8)
Sort By:
Newest
5809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

very good experience. our waiter, Andy, ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 3 days ago

very good experience. our waiter, Andy, was great.

took my grandchildren and they loved it.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to restaurant. Food excelle ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 4 days ago

First visit to restaurant. Food excellent and environment pleasant. Staff helpful and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great location for a meal that offers a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great location for a meal that offers a great fish and seafood assortment. The view at sunset is perfect and give you a terrific view of San Antonio and the surrounding area!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had an amazing meal with an incredibl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had an amazing meal with an incredible view! We went at sunset and enjoyed viewing San Antonio and beyond with the sun setting behind the hills.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

By far the absolute best steak we have e ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

By far the absolute best steak we have ever eaten! We had the new york strip cooked perfectly! We also had crab stuffed flounder it was amazing! The app was clam chowder phenomenal! The shrip crab fondue was yummy! Waiter was very attentive also! All in all it was a memorable meal! We will def return! Not to mention the view was amazing as well!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, excellent views, overall ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great service, excellent views, overall had a memorable evening with family

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We were celebrating our daughters 18th B ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were celebrating our daughters 18th Birthday .The service was excellent .The food was good but the asparagus was really tough.I think they could use smaller stalks.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal, good service and ou ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always a great meal, good service and outstanding view - NEVER disappoints.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If you are looking for a great scenic vi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

If you are looking for a great scenic view, awesome food and great service, Tower of the America is the place.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The reason to go is the view. Food exc ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The reason to go is the view. Food excellent, but you pay a big price for the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had our 49th wedding anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had our 49th wedding anniversary dinner here. Although the restaurant had our reservation one hour earlier than we had confirmed, there was not problem with seating. We went to the bar for Happy Hour and probably saved $20 to $30 on drinks and appetizers. The table (by the window) that we requested was honored. The sun was a bit of a problem, but it only lasted 1/4 turn of the restaurant. I would recommend Chart House for any special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for our anniversary dinner, fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Went here for our anniversary dinner, food was delicious and service was excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating our 60th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Celebrating our 60th wedding anniversary. Lovely view good food!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Its best to go during the week weekends ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Its best to go during the week weekends is packed and you have to wait in long lines. The food was delicious, we first went up to bar it was hot up there and bartender was not very friendly. The scenic view was not as clean as i thought it would be.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I took my cousin as part of her visit to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I took my cousin as part of her visit too San Antonio. I normally dine here 2 to 3 times a year. The chopped salad was really good. The weather was awesome and the sky clear. Great location too see the city. After lunch a quick visit too the observation deck was nice. My only 😕 Is the cost of parking when I'm eating at the tower. I think there should be a discount

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was slow and it took 25 minutes ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service was slow and it took 25 minutes to get our check; however, the food was great and the view was breathtaking. I recommend going here after work for happy hour or dinner, but not during your work lunch hour.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Spectacular view, great food, attentive ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Spectacular view, great food, attentive and positive waitstaff. Perfect for celebrating 25th wedding anniversary.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One star for the food. One star for th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

One star for the food.

One star for the view.

Service with Christian was TERRIBLE!!! Seriously, there was a thirty minute period where he was no where to be found; despite us asking many other people - bus boys, hostess to find him for us. We had not received our entrees and were starving.

After our meal we spoke with the manager who didn't seem to be very concerned. My conclusion is that every here must be on drugs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

My steak was salty and very fatty. My w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My steak was salty and very fatty. My waiter had the chef prepare another steak and it was fatty as well.

The scenery was breath taking and worth visiting. My meal left a lot to be desired.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent dinner experience. Only challe ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent dinner experience. Only challenge was access and waiting for elevator. That aside, a must do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

More attractive better pricing more menu ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

More attractive better pricing more menu items over priced for services provided

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Awesome atmosphere!!! The view and servi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Awesome atmosphere!!! The view and service were excellent. My wife loved her dinner (redfish) as did I, but mine (mahi) was underwhelming. Another disappointment was that it wasn't explained to me when I chose the chef's special that the shrimp scampi was an extra $7 charge. Which really makes my dinner overpriced for what it was. We will come back, but we'll order more carefully next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

waiter, host, bartender were all terrifi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

waiter, host, bartender were all terrific! Couldn't have asked for more on our anniversary!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for a conference. The e ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were in town for a conference. The evening was wonderful. We arrived early and had a drink in the bar enjoying the view until our table was ready. All of the staff were absolutely wonderful and attentive. Overall fabulous experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but for the price it was a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was good but for the price it was actually subpar. There are many other restaurants in town with similar pricing and the food is DELICIOUS! Definitely glad I went, it's a must do at least once. Decent experience overall but San Antonio has great restaurants that it's hard for this place to compete other than the great view

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was bad. Started early, didn't b ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Service was bad. Started early, didn't bring water with cocktails as requested then didn't refill water later. Cocktail was ordered on rocks, came as neat. Said he would bring ice, never did.

View was fabulous!

This was for engagement announcement. This was our second time at restrurant for very special occasion. Was disappointed because of service otherwise was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The restaurant was clean. The staff pro ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The restaurant was clean. The staff professional. The food fresh and hot Overall great experience. Pricey but large portion size. Everything freshly prepared so a little wait for each item ordered but the view compensates for the wait.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We made reservations for the panoramic v ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We made reservations for the panoramic views, and ended up getting so much more. The food and drinks were great, and the service was outstanding. We were celebrating a special occasion, and the restaurant staff went above and beyond with several extremely thoughtful gestures. Our server, Jennifer, was wonderful. We will never forget this experience, and would most highly recommend it to others!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. The food was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was good, as the rice was undercooked and the shrimp tasted a tad fishier then normal. The room could use some renovations or touch ups at the least. The bar scene is also good but the servers there do not move the guest as the service is slow and workers seem a bit confused with all the people. No place to sit when it's busy and it doesn't take much for it to be busy.

Lunch menu far supersedes dinner menu. Great bat appitizers for the buck.

Thank you

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was terrible and the food wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The service was terrible and the food was even worse. My Fiancé and I enjoyed the veiw spent the majority of our time waiting on our wator to bring us our food and drink refills. I was not happy at all and will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I've been to Chart Houston three times. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I've been to Chart Houston three times. The first time was great, had a delicious strawberry salad, the food was great, service was great, and the scene awesome. The third time, we went for my Dad's birthday. Honestly, people were complaining about the food all around us. I requested water, which was served in a dirty cup that had debri and dirt. The waiter noticed and took it away after I had drank half of the water. My dad's soup was extremely salty, because the waiter was about to break down because people were leaving after so many complaints, I didn't feel like complaining and making it worse. Last time I went for my Mom's birthday, they gave us a complementary dessert, nothing was given for my Dad's birthday. That's ok, we don't mind, but it does make someone feel special when that's done. The only good thing was the view. My Dad's food with coconut was pouring with oil.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Great view! The best calamari ever! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great view! The best calamari ever! Definitely a must if you are visiting San Antonio

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to the Tower to celebrate my dau ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We went to the Tower to celebrate my daughters birthday for lunch. We did not receive good service, it was very slow. We went on the 4th of July for lunch and was not informed that lunch menu was NOt an option. It would of been nice to be told this information when I was called to confirm my reservation. I understand it was a holiday but would of been nice to know of the pricing ahead of time otherwise we would gone for dinner. This was our 3rd time going this year for a celebration and felt the service was not like our other experiences. Also, you can see through the bathrooms doors and it felt a little uncomfortable.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

Celebrated our wedding anniversary there ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Celebrated our wedding anniversary there and I could not have picked a better location. I expected the views and the ambiance to be spectacular, and they were but the food and service was also phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had to wait although I had a reservati ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had to wait although I had a reservation and the receptionist on the ground floor was difficult to understand. Otherwise is was fantastic!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Overall we had a good experience. The fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Overall we had a good experience. The food was good but not outstanding for the prices. It was my birthday and we celebrated with my niece and her family. There were small

Things that made the experience okay rather than great. Having to pay for parking was ridiculous.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The menu should better state what side d ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The menu should better state what side dishes are included with the entree.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

This is a must visit when in San Antonio ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This is a must visit when in San Antonio !

The restaurant rotates 360 degrees in one hour and it is just lovely !

The service was excellent (Christian) and was most helpful in ordering.

Mouth watering Grilled watermelon salad and excellent Gazpacho !

Great value for a Landy's restaurant !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to this restaurant and had a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

First time to this restaurant and had a great experience. The food was delicious, service was great and the view was breathtaking.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive compared to places we usu ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very expensive compared to places we usually eat, especially with a family of five, but where else do you get a rotating skyscraper view of one of the prettiest cities in the country? Service is right on par with the food. Food was top shelf, but not "fiddly". Everyone should be able to find something. Be aware: all the side dishes except maybe rice or mashed potatoes with certain entrees cost extra. But you may not need them unless you take part of your entrée home as the portions are very large. Ditto the appetizers; we didn't order any at all. And we shared two desserts among the five of us and everybody was still stuffed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.