About Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati)

405 Riverboat Row
Newport, KY 41071
View Larger Map

Located right on the Ohio River, Chart House offers magnificent views of the water & the Cincinnati skyline. Combine the extraordinary setting with outstanding cuisine & it’s not hard to see why the restaurant is a longtime favorite. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 28 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From fresh seafood specialties to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as Macadamia Crusted Mahi or slow roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:30pm - 11:00pm; Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Happy Hour: Every Day: 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
Route 8

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 261-0300

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking complimentary. A public lot is also available.

Public Transit:
Tank Shuttle

Executive Chef:
Reid McAllister

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private area is available accommodating up to 70 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joy Robinson: 8592610300x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Oysters Rockefeller
  • Shrimp
  • Prime Rib And Grilled Shrimp
Oysters Rockefeller
Shrimp
Prime Rib And Grilled Shrimp

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

scenic view (109)
special occasion (86)
romantic (60)
See All
fit for foodies (40)
great for outdoor dining (36)
good for groups (28)
notable wine list (20)
neighborhood gem (15)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter Rachel was outstanding and re ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter Rachel was outstanding and really made our meal enjoyable!!

Cant say enough good things about Rachel.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely way to celebrate our 45th weddi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

A lovely way to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. Enjoyed great views of the river on the deck, though it was hot in the late afternoon sun. Food, service, very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our anniv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary . We were both disappointed with entrees. I ask for my steak to be medium well and it was rare. I had to send my steak back. The steak lacked flavor. I ordered king crab legs on the side and the legs were cold and rubbery. The legs were over cooked and cold. Quality of the food not good. My wife's King Crab legs were cold and rubbery. My bill was $260 with tip over $300. My wife and I definitely left disappointed. We will not recommend restaurant nor will we be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Wonderful king salmon

vip
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful king salmon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great and the food was f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service was great and the food was fantastic, as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was very good, however the me ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything was very good, however the menu is a bit over priced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a pleasant evening that provided ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We had a pleasant evening that provided great views of the river & city.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We selected the Chart House to celebrate ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We selected the Chart House to celebrate our wedding anniversary.The staff made us feel so special! Our names were printed at the top of the menu! The menu said "The Chart House wishes the Chandlers Happy Anniversary".We were also presented complimentary champagne.It was a wonderful evening.Would suggest for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been one of our favorite ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This has always been one of our favorite restaurants especially for special occasions. It has slipped in our opinion - service was just OK, salad bar average at best.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Chart House is a lovely place to dine. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Chart House is a lovely place to dine. Our latest visit was disappointing however. Even though I am a member of the Landry's select group, and it was my birthday, the tables offered to us were not good. Additionally, the food served was not hot and not served at the same time. All in all, I didn't feel special. While i will eat there again, I won't make promises to my guests that they will be treated as special guests.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is very good, however I feel it ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food is very good, however I feel it is a little overpriced, and think it is ridiculous to have valet parking when the parking lot is right next to the restaurant.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I had not been to the Chart House in man ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I had not been to the Chart House in many years. I remembered the food being much better; the New England Clam chowder disappointed me, followed by potatoes, which were stiff and cold. The price was relatively expensive for the food. The spinach and asparagus were pretty good. Service was very good.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

My wife and I went there for our 55th an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My wife and I went there for our 55th anniversary. Had a great time! The waitress was very nice and food was exceptional! I had swordfish and it was terrific. We will be back more often!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is awesome! The salad bar is ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This place is awesome! The salad bar is the best! If you don't mind the price it would be difficult to beat as a best to eat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Chart House for a combination ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Chart House for a combination birthday/father's day outing. The restaurant is lovely, with a nice view. We very much appreciated the quiet as my mother (age 85) is soft spoken, and usually difficult to hear during dinners. Our server was fairly hit and miss, with one of us having to flag him down a couple of times. The restaurant was not that busy, with many of the tables around ours empty. The food was good, but not great. Nobody at our table was that excited about their food, though it was certainly decent and edible. Just pretty basic. Overpriced for that.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Wedding anniversary dinner. Cocktails i ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wedding anniversary dinner. Cocktails in the bar were perfect. View was great; service was attentive but not hovering. Food and wine were sublime. (Spouse had pecan encrusted Snapper; I had Cuban scallops and shrimp with a centerpiece side of something that tasted like vanilla pudding potatoes! Wow.) This is a very affordable (even at these prices) special occasion dinner spot.

The bar is a great 'happy hour' place to meet friends. Well mixed drinks and a good bar menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the special attention they give to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Love the special attention they give to guests . Our server Jeremiah was awesome! The manager visited our table twice to check on us. Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rory our server was very pleasant and he ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Rory our server was very pleasant and helpful. The food and view were exquisite. It was a wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Experience! Table by the wate ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Wonderful Experience! Table by the water with a beautiful view of old Mt Adams, instant service, and great bar drinks. Server, Ted, delivered impeccable service from starters to desserts, refilling all drinks immediately, delicious Wine suggestions, attentive and energetic! Enjoyed an interesting conversation with the manager, Dennis Chastang, regarding a recent vacation and, of course, how service was during our visit. Explained we were enjoying the pace of the meal, quality and flavors of ALL the courses. We certainly never felt rushed, and service itself was seamless. Highly recommend Chart House to those who already appreciate Fine Dining and those looking for a fabulous first experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice Meal

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Very nice meal and view of downtown. Snapper was excellent as was the shrimp appetizer and Caesar salad. Would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall, great ambience and great food! ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Overall, great ambience and great food! Service was slow to start, but the river view was priceless. I would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The Perfect Spot

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We went to the Chart House last weekend to celebrate my birthday with family from out of town. The food was delicious, the service was outstanding and the view was beautiful. What I have come to expect from the Chart House brand. We went by boat and it was a perfect evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service mean everything

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Amy was amazing a chef that was out for a birthday dinner. So we took our time and had a couple of apps and then a meal and dessert all in all taking almost two hours. Amy was great she checked in kept our glasses filled without breaking our conversations, and just allowed us to have a great time. She was simply great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Seafood with a Great View

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

With many miles to the ocean, it is hard to find good seafood in Cincinnati. However, we had Red Snapper and Stuffed Shrimp and both were wonderfully done.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and food are always superb.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The service and food are always superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of 12 for graduation dinn ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a party of 12 for graduation dinner at the Chart House. Reservations were easy to make. Hostess was friendly and helpful. Our waiter was excellent - making suggestions for wine, appetizers and meals. Service all around was outstanding. Dinners were tasty and prompt. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and would return again. Thanks for the lovely party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service Not Up To Par.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Food was quite good, but service and wait staff were lacking. This was the second time we have had that experience. Also no recognition of our special occasion was bothersome. The timing of serving the courses was way off. Felt like wait staff was just going through the motions. Overall disappointing given the cost of the meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Quality, quantity, quiet experience

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

After enjoying our anniversary at the Chart House just a few days earlier, we had friends who wanted to join us for a meal on Memorial Day. I took advantage of the $30 special 5 course meal, while the others ordered off the regular menu. Our server was top notch and always had an infectious smile. Each course was delivered in a timely manner - not too quick, not too late. We all enjoyed the ambience with the Ohio River and it's activities providing a nice backdrop. While there were other diners around us, it was very quiet allowing for a nice conversation at our table. As our previous experience, the food was very tasty and plentiful for all. Chart House is one of our favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Riverview plus great food

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Always enjoy THE CHART HOUSE with scenic river views and great seafood. Spring/Summer menu on now. Fabulous Gazpacho and Mango Mojitos. Love the cocoanut shrimp too.

Never get to the Lava cake- anymore-- but love this as well. If you are in Cincinnati/Covington / or Newport don't miss this opportunity to eat ON the river.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chart House was the perfect spot for us ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Chart House was the perfect spot for us to celebrate our daughters high school graduation. The staff and management were very attentive to our table and made wonderful recommendations from the menu. What a special night for our entire family. Thank you Chart House, you are a class act.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Evening To Remember

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was my first time dining at the Chart House. My wife and I were celebrating our 9th Anniversary and was perfect. From the food and service to the sun setting on the river. Our server,Rory, was very pleasant and knowledgeable of all the meals and drinks. She was also very helpful with helping with our pictures. I love it and will definitely be back

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacation Dinner

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were in Cincinnati for a long weekend. Chart House was near our hotel, had a beautiful view and great seafood. Very good selection of wine.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I made the trip from indianapolis to cincinnati to meet a special lady for dinner. I didn't know what to expect since this restaurant was unknown to me. What a fantastic surprise. The staff were first class, the food was great, and though my date and me stayed in deep conversation, we were not rushed or interupted. Great dining experience. I will be back.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon arrival we requested a window table ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Upon arrival we requested a window table. There were many available yet we were seated next to a column and that is all I could see when trying to look at the river. I also presented by AARP card which should give us a 10% discount on food yet only 50 cents was taken off the bill.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Beautiful food and beautiful views

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We went here for the first time after reading reviews. Very nice interior and was seated by a window with beautiful views of Cincinnati and the river at night. We were greeted and seated very quickly. We ordered the coconut shrimp for starters and was brought out on a beautifully decorated plate. It wasalmost too pretty to eat! We had the mahi mahi dish which was amazing! The atmosphere is high end dining great for business and special occassions.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service & the Food was Great!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Service & the Food was Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We keep coming back. Had a salad bar m ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We keep coming back. Had a salad bar meal this time. Great! We had the same wait staff, Morgan. We really like her. She knows the menu, the wine list, is very pleasant, and knows just when and how to check to see if we need additional service. It's all good!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We really appreciated the candor of our ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We really appreciated the candor of our server, Anna. She steered us in the right direction on a few things and we loved her recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was terrific - very attentive ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Our server was terrific - very attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rory, our server, was FANTASTIC. It was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Rory, our server, was FANTASTIC. It was my wife's birthday. We have only been to the Chart House once before on our anniversary and both times it was outstanding. I have told everyone about the wonderful experience, great service and food. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.