About Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati)

405 Riverboat Row
Newport, KY 41071
View Larger Map

Located right on the Ohio River, Chart House offers magnificent views of the water & the Cincinnati skyline. Combine the extraordinary setting with outstanding cuisine & it’s not hard to see why the restaurant is a longtime favorite. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 28 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From fresh seafood specialties to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as Macadamia Crusted Mahi or slow roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:30pm - 11:00pm; Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Happy Hour: Every Day: 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
Route 8

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 261-0300

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking complimentary. A public lot is also available.

Public Transit:
Tank Shuttle

Executive Chef:
Reid McAllister

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private area is available accommodating up to 70 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joy Robinson: 8592610300x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

scenic view (108)
special occasion (96)
romantic (81)
See All
fit for foodies (33)
great for outdoor dining (30)
notable wine list (27)
good for groups (26)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful food and beautiful views

Dined on May 16, 2016

We went here for the first time after reading reviews. Very nice interior and was seated by a window with beautiful views of Cincinnati and the river at night. We were greeted and seated very quickly. We ordered the coconut shrimp for starters and was brought out on a beautifully decorated plate. It wasalmost too pretty to eat! We had the mahi mahi dish which was amazing! The atmosphere is high end dining great for business and special occassions.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Service & the Food was Great!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service & the Food was Great!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We keep coming back. Had a salad bar m ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We keep coming back. Had a salad bar meal this time. Great! We had the same wait staff, Morgan. We really like her. She knows the menu, the wine list, is very pleasant, and knows just when and how to check to see if we need additional service. It's all good!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really appreciated the candor of our ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We really appreciated the candor of our server, Anna. She steered us in the right direction on a few things and we loved her recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was terrific - very attentive ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our server was terrific - very attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rory, our server, was FANTASTIC. It was ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Rory, our server, was FANTASTIC. It was my wife's birthday. We have only been to the Chart House once before on our anniversary and both times it was outstanding. I have told everyone about the wonderful experience, great service and food. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

it was good. solid 3 stars

Dined on May 8, 2016

no regrets choosing this place, but i dont think i am coming back. for the amount of money you spend there, in my opinion, things should be tighter – in terms of both food and service

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

Took an hour to get our food. Kitchen wa ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Took an hour to get our food. Kitchen was backed up. Apparently Mother's Day is their busiest holiday. Food was great.

food5
ambience5
service3

The view, was lovely

Dined on May 8, 2016

The view, was lovely

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants--but a quibble

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I actually love this restaurant--great food, service, and a view that is perhaps the best in the city. One negative point, however. On this visit and on a number of prior occasions, we show up on time as per our reservation but still have to wait 15 minutes to a half hour to be seated. I don't find this to be true with other fine dining establishments, so I wonder why it tends to be true here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really wanna say "Thank the great hosp ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I really wanna say "Thank the great hospitality" Great view the window table and dining!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience overall! Our Italia ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent experience overall! Our Italian guests were I utterly impressed!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good job

Dined on May 6, 2016

heading there again tonight for business dinner . will have a big group

food3
ambience4
service5

The oysters were delicious. The entrees ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

The oysters were delicious. The entrees were good, but the side items were bland and tasteless. View of the city is great.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Birthday dinner treat

Dined on May 4, 2016

Tuna, scallops, crabcake cooked to perfection. Expensive but the ambiance, great service, and delicious food made it worth it. A real treat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Atmosphere

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very nice views and atmosphere. Delicious meal and wine selection.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We dined here for a special anniversary celebration. Our table for two had an excellent view of the river and the surrounding hills of Cincinnati! The food was excellent, served with great presentation and tasted delicious! Very extensive wine list!! Best of all was the service! Rory was outstanding!! Very knowledgeable, attentive and a pleasure to work with! Will definitely be back soon!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poozer

Dined on May 1, 2016

The salad bar is wonderful, filled with goodies that you never get anywhere else. The service was perfect, pleasant and efficient without intruding, and both entrees were Delicious! The view of the river completed a very, very nice dining experience. We shall go back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Definitely not up to par

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

This was not my first visit to the Chart House, otherwise I would not return. They were very slow and the food was not very good when it finally got to the table. The waiter was doing his part, but the place seemed understaffed. Based on this experience, I would not recommend this to my friends.

food4
ambience4
service1

Server put other parties orders in befor ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Server put other parties orders in before our table because he was told the other parties were in a rush, so we're we.

food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Not much food for the price

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great location.....great view of the river and downtown Cincinnati. The salad bar was great. The hostess and waiter were great as well. Where this restaurant fails is the amount of food that you get for the price. I had the shrimp and scallops. I was very dissatisfied at the amount of food I was given. It was frustrating to me that after paying over $100 for a meal, I had to walk to Big Boy and eat a hamburger.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Chart House is a great restaurant fo ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

The Chart House is a great restaurant for a special occasion like an anniversary. They go the extra mile to make your dinner a really nice experience, from your name on the menu to a personal note from the Manager. The service was very good and the food was good as in our past visits to CH. The seafood is fresh and you have numerous options on preparation. The only fall short for me was the special which was not what I normally would order. It was a shrimp/scallop dish with w bourbon peach sauce. The shrimp were overcooked and the scallops under cooked. The sauce was not distinguishable in taste other a cloying sweet topping. I would stick with the choosing a nice fresh fish and have it prepared the way you like it. That is what they do best. The views of Cincinnati and the river are excellent and it would be a great place to enjoy drinks and appetizers on the deck. Definitely a "return to" restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Place

Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent service and food. Scenery was awesome with views of the Ohio river and city. Rory was a great and we had a wonderful time!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Much better than last visit

Dined on April 7, 2016

Tonight we celebrated my birthday. Our experience was very positive. Our service was attentive. The food was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening! Great food, service a ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Wonderful evening! Great food, service and view

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday dinner for my wife

Dined on April 6, 2016

Very nice experience. Our server (Rory) was wonderful. She was very attentive and provided excellent service for us. She aided my wife into choices and recommended dishes/ drinks. My wife was excited when her plate arrived (as well as her drink). The whole experience was great. Rory also brought a small candle in the dessert to celebrate. Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

4Storys

Dined on April 1, 2016

Beautiful view of Cincinnati! Nice variety of appetizers and good wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1

My husband wanted to go for some fresh o ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

My husband wanted to go for some fresh oysters..The oysters were good however we ordered salads with our meal which we never received. We felt rushed by the server the entire meal. There were only 3 other customers in the dining area! I would not recommend eating in the dining area. They way to go is happy hour..

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Easter Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a wonderful Easter dinner at Chart House! Food was delicious and our server was friendly and efficient. It was a perfect way to end the holiday weekend. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Lovely view, good food, very expensive

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Chart House has good food and exquisite views. However, we found it much more expensive than similar restaurants on the waterfront (Mitchells, Montgomery Inn). We were there for Easter Sunday and there were many empty tables. The salad bar has nothing unique and is quite average. The wait staff clearly did not have enough to do and were standing around. I think they have overpriced themselves, despite the lovely location, attractive decoration, and tasty menu.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, beautiful views of the O ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Excellent food, beautiful views of the Ohio River, and outstanding service-- a great place for special occasion dinners!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server. Jeff, was incredibly attenti ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Our server. Jeff, was incredibly attentive and courteous.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary celebration dinner

Dined on March 17, 2016

We went during the week so crowd was light and we were able to get a table by the window with a nice view of the city. A really nice touch was that they had personalized the menu for our anniversary. The wine list was great. Service was great. Our dinner was great. We shared the shrimp appetizer and a bowl of lobster soup. We had prime rib and king crab legs for dinner. Delicious! We had their lava cake for dessert. It was great too. The only disappointment or surprise was that they didn't give a complimentary dessert for our anniversary. That would have topped it off perfectly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, great service, beautiful ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Fabulous food, great service, beautiful view of cincinnati skyline and ohio river!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Perfect for a Birthday Dinner.

Dined on March 16, 2016

We went there for my wife's birthday on a Wednesday evening. It is a "white tablecloth" but not a "coat and tie" type of restaurant. Restaurant was not crowded at all. We were seated at a table for two by the window with a great view of downtown Cincinnati. Service was excellent. Food was OK. Didn't really like the fried green beans. We went to salad bar. It had a great variety but I was a bit concerned about the freshness of some of the items. Wife received a slice of chocolate cheesecake for her birthday. This restaurant has been here for, maybe, 30 years. Inside, it looks pretty much the same as 30 years ago. It could use some freshening up. Looks rather "dowdy". Also, right now there is construction on their access road and it is somewhat difficult to get to which doesn't help their business.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience -- service was outstand ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Great experience -- service was outstanding, food was great. Extensive wine list. Beautiful view of the Ohio River and Cincinnati skyline. Somewhat expensive, but fairly priced in my opinion. Would recommend this to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent

Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent service and food. The shrimp beignets were very memorable! Great place for a nice romantic dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

I just came to experience their happy ho ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

I just came to experience their happy hour. The selection was great and the prices were even better. Their happy hour drink selections were great as well.

food5
ambience5
service5

The chart house for us and our best frie ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

The chart house for us and our best friends, has become a great destination for a wonderful meal with one of the best salad bars ever and beautiful ambiance. Several months ago their bar pours became very weak and we quit going for awhile...but last night we decided to give it a try and the good pours have returned and so will we.

food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress Rachel did an outstanding j ...

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

The waitress Rachel did an outstanding job with service and keeping attention on us. We will be back. Nice work to Rachel!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.