About Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati)

405 Riverboat Row
Newport, KY 41071
View Larger Map

Located right on the Ohio River, Chart House offers magnificent views of the water & the Cincinnati skyline. Combine the extraordinary setting with outstanding cuisine & it’s not hard to see why the restaurant is a longtime favorite. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 28 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From fresh seafood specialties to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as Macadamia Crusted Mahi or slow roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:30pm - 11:00pm; Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Happy Hour: Every Day: 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
Route 8

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 261-0300

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking complimentary. A public lot is also available.

Public Transit:
Tank Shuttle

Executive Chef:
Patrick Kenyon

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private area is available accommodating up to 70 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joy Robinson: 8592610300x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Shrimp
  • Oysters Rockefeller
  • Prime Rib And Grilled Shrimp
Shrimp
Oysters Rockefeller
Prime Rib And Grilled Shrimp

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Scenic View (83)
Special Occasion (67)
Romantic (53)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Notable Wine List (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Waterfront (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great dinning experience while ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great dinning experience while celebrating our 20th anniversary. Would recommend to anyone and plan to spend more special occasions at this location.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view overlooking the river was amazi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

The view overlooking the river was amazing. Unfortunately we had issues with the service and the food. Both the wife and I ordered Ahi Tuna and I ordered my Tuna with an avocado and tomato topping. I notified the waiter and 20mins later he came out with the topping which was way to late as my meal was already 75% completed. A bit frustrated that I had to pay full price on a meal that I didn't order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

First experience with Chart House was at ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

First experience with Chart House was at Pier 39 in San Francisco...thought that the food served there was probably one of the best meals I have ever had throughout my travels. I ordered the same meal at the Cincinnati/Newport Chart House...I found this meal to be "almost" as delicious as my previous experience. The wait staff were very attentive but never "hovered". Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Amy was fantastic. She did a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our server Amy was fantastic. She did a great job, The food was excellent.

The restaurant was extremely noisy and very uncomfortable

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I came in with high expectations and was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I came in with high expectations and was a little disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Second time in a month we were there eve ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Second time in a month we were there

everything just great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always try to visit the Chart House w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We always try to visit the Chart House when we are in town. It has never disappointed and we would recommend it highly. The food is great and the views of the river and skyline add to the charm.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful except the hous ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything was wonderful except the house wines. Really bad, both the chardonnay and cab. Would highly suggest that you up the price for a much better wine and they do have a nice selection. Overall, we would come back

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our 3 year anni ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 3 year anniversary here this past week. We were greated quickly by the manager followed by the hostess. From the moment we walked in the door we felt as if we were the most important people in the restaurant. Obviously we probably weren't, but it was a special touch. The service was impeccable. The food was devine. We would highly recommend the Chart House for any occasion. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Healthy, Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty food ,great ambience excellent ser ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Tasty food ,great ambience excellent service and best happy hour and early bird in Cincy Metro area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to many Chart House location ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I have been to many Chart House locations. My sister and I were on a trip to celebrate our Mother who passed away last year. We went to the location in San Antonio a few years back as well, and really enjoyed it. My family and I frequent the one in Longboat Key, which we love. The food at this location was good, but the service which started out fine, ended in disaster. We waited for our check to be picked up and then brought back, which took over 20 minutes. Bad service can make a great meal not so good. Not sure if I would return. It was a slow weekday night too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great restaurant to celebrate a great ev ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great restaurant to celebrate a great event. Great food, atmoshere and view. Perfect waiter.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and a wonderful view of the r ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great food and a wonderful view of the river. It was a very enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Known for its great on the river locatio ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Known for its great on the river location and good food, The Chart House lived up to its reputation. Very good food, lovely view of Cincinnati's river and skyline, and excellent service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chart house was the best meal we have ea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Chart house was the best meal we have eaten out in a long time. The waitress was fabulous, the view was fabulous, the atmosphere was fabulous, as were the friends we were with. Thank you for making it a overall fabulous evening We will be back sooner rather than later

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great from the appetizers to en ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Food was great from the appetizers to entrees. Can't get any friendlier!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, very attentive.

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great service, very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Chose to try Chart House over Ruby's and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Chose to try Chart House over Ruby's and Ruth's Chris since we wanted to try something new. Food was good but very overpriced in our party's opinion. Service was very subpar compared to other restaurant's service levels. They have good happy hour which we might return for as parking and location are easy but 10 out of 10 said no to going back for dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Always wonderful! Still waiting for a w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always wonderful! Still waiting for a wine pairing dinner soon...

Also it would be nice to have entertainment once a week!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food! We had an appetizer, sou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Delicious food! We had an appetizer, soup, and entrée, including the special. And the service was wonderful! Everyone we interacted with was so nice and friendly! It was our first time and we will definitely come again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was very good and the view w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service was very good and the view was spectacular. The appetizers were good. I really was not happy with the prime rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed Food. Comfortable environment. S ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Enjoyed Food. Comfortable environment. Service excellent. Looking forward to next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a beautiful evening!!!! From the c ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

What a beautiful evening!!!! From the complementary valet parking, to the warm welcome, fantastic service, wonderful drinks and food, we had a relaxed, warm and beautiful time. We felt like VIPs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great! Our server was ex ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was great! Our server was excellent! We sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful sunset to delicious food and excellent drinks. Love this place!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service paired with mostly med ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent service paired with mostly mediocre food: welcome to Chart House.

We arrived around 5:00 P.M. on a Friday and were seated quickly and right in front of the window. I had a great view of the Big Mac Bridge. Paul has a great view of Joe's Crab Shack. Although Chart House is dated and in need of renovation, seating remains comfortable.

Our server was a nice guy--very friendly and attentive. He was good about refilling drinks and somewhat obsessive about scraping crumbs off the tablecloth.

I was thankful for the warm bread until I put butter on it. The butter tasted of mild freezer burn, which was odd.

Paul ordered the cedar plank salmon, which was awful. The salmon, which I'm certain was farm raised, looked anemic and tasted "not right," according to Paul. On a brighter note, my Cuban scallops and shrimp were very good, and the boniato mash that was excellent.

Paul and I split the chocolate lava cake. We were expecting a big treat, like the lava cake served at Morton's, but the cake was nearly tasteless, with the exception of the bits of toffee candy on top, and the vanilla ice cream tasted like something that came from GFS. Run on sentence, I know.

Years ago, Chart House was a good restaurant. Now? Not so much. Bummer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Nice fish and fresh seafood. Awesome ann ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Nice fish and fresh seafood. Awesome anniversary gift.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately I think The Chart House ha ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Unfortunately I think The Chart House has seen better days. The Prime rib was terrible, sent it back and had fillet instead. Server was good, restaurant a bit worn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

My Wife and I enjoy dinning here, and br ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My Wife and I enjoy dinning here, and bring folks who visit us, from out of town, to the Chart House. Gives them a good perspective of Cincy and the food is Great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service Liked early d ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food and service

Liked early dining menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was alittle slow however the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The service was alittle slow however the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

An excellent experience from arrival wit ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

An excellent experience from arrival with the valet parking to the food! Best Filet Mignon in the city! Comfortable, friendly, attentive, just the place for a perfect evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food. Good view. Unbeatable combina ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Good food. Good view. Unbeatable combination. We'll go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose to visit Chart House because we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We chose to visit Chart House because we had out of town relatives visiting, we were taking the riverboat cruise afterwards, and a few of us need gluten free options. Chart House offers enough GF options that you don't feel deprived, and the food is always delicious. They were very accommodating in meeting our requests, and the chef even came out personally to discuss gf options with my mother. My father ordered the prime rib and unfortunately his piece was very tough. The manager personally brought another piece, which as my father said was like butter and excellent. They do an excellent job providing service and accommodating special dietary needs. Plus you can't beat the view and the chocolate lava cake (which those of us without gluten issues enjoyed very much!).

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was amazing! Entrees were delici ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was amazing! Entrees were delicious! The calamari appetizer was just ok! Nothing fabulous! The view of the river was an added bonus! Our waitress was very attentive and even brought us a piece of cake for dessert for my husbands birthday! It was a great date night!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great seafood, incredible views, excelle ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great seafood, incredible views, excellent service, and the best prime rib in town. Mr. Chastan (sorry, I know I'm spelling his name incorrectly!) you are to be commended, sir! My hat is off to you!! Oh, plus you have a very nice hostess and the best bartender in the area!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was cooked perfectly and was very g ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was cooked perfectly and was very good. I felt it was quite overpriced though compared to the competition. We arrived for a late dinner and felt like we had the place to ourselves yet service still seemed a little slow, especially to get things started. I was turned off at the very end when our waiter picked up the tab and made a sales presentation for a Landry's rewards card. He was very professional about it, but there was nothing professional about offering the sale of a rewards card ($25) at a restaurant that positions themselves based on price and appearance as an upper scale establishment. Landry's should really reconsider this poor-taste marketing scheme. Sadly, this was my last impression of the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

From start to finish our meal was excep ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

From start to finish our meal was exceptional. Our server, Susan, kindly answered all our questions and offered suggestions when we were undecided. We had the oysters Rockefeller as a starter along with the trio platter of hummus with pita. Delicious! Each guest had a different fish cooked to perfection. The lava cake was just the right selection to finish this awesome dinner! Thank you, Susan and Chart House!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a good place to take Cincinnati ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is a good place to take Cincinnati visitors. It is right on the Ohio River, on the Kentucky side, with floor-to-ceiling windows along three sides of the river. You can see the Cincinnati skyline as well as the various boats and barges that go up and down the Ohio River. The food is pricey, but elegantly displayed and well composed. Seafood is the specialty, though there are also steak options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful, first time we had been there- ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wonderful, first time we had been there--it was my 13 year old son's birthday celebration and he loves seafood so we decided to try it. He ordered the king crab legs, which were delicious and the rest of our meals were fantastic. Even had a charcuterie plate (off the appetizers ) for my seafood-hating 10 year old, which she enjoyed for her meal! The special birthday mud pie was a treat! We didn't have room for the chocolate lava cake, unfortunately, but if we had, I'm sure it would have been as good as everything else. Service was impeccable--friendly and helpful! We will definitely go back! Nice views of the river too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A winner in tasty food ,ambience ,scenic ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A winner in tasty food ,ambience ,scenic view service and everything .Early Bird and Happy Hour are best in area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.