About Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati)

405 Riverboat Row
Newport, KY 41071
View Larger Map

Located right on the Ohio River, Chart House offers magnificent views of the water & the Cincinnati skyline. Combine the extraordinary setting with outstanding cuisine & it’s not hard to see why the restaurant is a longtime favorite. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 28 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From fresh seafood specialties to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as Macadamia Crusted Mahi or slow roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:30pm - 11:00pm; Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Happy Hour: Every Day: 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
Route 8

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 261-0300

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking complimentary. A public lot is also available.

Public Transit:
Tank Shuttle

Executive Chef:
Reid McAllister

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private area is available accommodating up to 70 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joy Robinson: 8592610300x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Oysters Rockefeller
  • Shrimp
  • Prime Rib And Grilled Shrimp
Oysters Rockefeller
Shrimp
Prime Rib And Grilled Shrimp

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

scenic view (110)
special occasion (90)
romantic (68)
See All
fit for foodies (40)
great for outdoor dining (39)
good for groups (29)
notable wine list (25)
neighborhood gem (15)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went there for our 55th an ...

Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I went there for our 55th anniversary. Had a great time! The waitress was very nice and food was exceptional! I had swordfish and it was terrific. We will be back more often!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We went to Chart House for a combination ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Chart House for a combination birthday/father's day outing. The restaurant is lovely, with a nice view. We very much appreciated the quiet as my mother (age 85) is soft spoken, and usually difficult to hear during dinners. Our server was fairly hit and miss, with one of us having to flag him down a couple of times. The restaurant was not that busy, with many of the tables around ours empty. The food was good, but not great. Nobody at our table was that excited about their food, though it was certainly decent and edible. Just pretty basic. Overpriced for that.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wedding anniversary dinner. Cocktails i ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Wedding anniversary dinner. Cocktails in the bar were perfect. View was great; service was attentive but not hovering. Food and wine were sublime. (Spouse had pecan encrusted Snapper; I had Cuban scallops and shrimp with a centerpiece side of something that tasted like vanilla pudding potatoes! Wow.) This is a very affordable (even at these prices) special occasion dinner spot. The bar is a great 'happy hour' place to meet friends. Well mixed drinks and a good bar menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the special attention they give to ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Love the special attention they give to guests . Our server Jeremiah was awesome! The manager visited our table twice to check on us. Great service and food

food5
ambience5
service5

Rory our server was very pleasant and he ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Rory our server was very pleasant and helpful. The food and view were exquisite. It was a wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience! Table by the wate ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Wonderful Experience! Table by the water with a beautiful view of old Mt Adams, instant service, and great bar drinks. Server, Ted, delivered impeccable service from starters to desserts, refilling all drinks immediately, delicious Wine suggestions, attentive and energetic! Enjoyed an interesting conversation with the manager, Dennis Chastang, regarding a recent vacation and, of course, how service was during our visit. Explained we were enjoying the pace of the meal, quality and flavors of ALL the courses. We certainly never felt rushed, and service itself was seamless. Highly recommend Chart House to those who already appreciate Fine Dining and those looking for a fabulous first experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Nice Meal

Dined on June 10, 2016

Very nice meal and view of downtown. Snapper was excellent as was the shrimp appetizer and Caesar salad. Would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Overall, great ambience and great food! ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Overall, great ambience and great food! Service was slow to start, but the river view was priceless. I would definitely come back!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Perfect Spot

Dined on June 5, 2016

We went to the Chart House last weekend to celebrate my birthday with family from out of town. The food was delicious, the service was outstanding and the view was beautiful. What I have come to expect from the Chart House brand. We went by boat and it was a perfect evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service mean everything

Dined on June 5, 2016

Amy was amazing a chef that was out for a birthday dinner. So we took our time and had a couple of apps and then a meal and dessert all in all taking almost two hours. Amy was great she checked in kept our glasses filled without breaking our conversations, and just allowed us to have a great time. She was simply great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Seafood with a Great View

Dined on June 4, 2016

With many miles to the ocean, it is hard to find good seafood in Cincinnati. However, we had Red Snapper and Stuffed Shrimp and both were wonderfully done.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food are always superb.

Dined on June 4, 2016

The service and food are always superb.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of 12 for graduation dinn ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a party of 12 for graduation dinner at the Chart House. Reservations were easy to make. Hostess was friendly and helpful. Our waiter was excellent - making suggestions for wine, appetizers and meals. Service all around was outstanding. Dinners were tasty and prompt. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and would return again. Thanks for the lovely party.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Service Not Up To Par.

Dined on June 1, 2016

Food was quite good, but service and wait staff were lacking. This was the second time we have had that experience. Also no recognition of our special occasion was bothersome. The timing of serving the courses was way off. Felt like wait staff was just going through the motions. Overall disappointing given the cost of the meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality, quantity, quiet experience

Dined on May 30, 2016

After enjoying our anniversary at the Chart House just a few days earlier, we had friends who wanted to join us for a meal on Memorial Day. I took advantage of the $30 special 5 course meal, while the others ordered off the regular menu. Our server was top notch and always had an infectious smile. Each course was delivered in a timely manner - not too quick, not too late. We all enjoyed the ambience with the Ohio River and it's activities providing a nice backdrop. While there were other diners around us, it was very quiet allowing for a nice conversation at our table. As our previous experience, the food was very tasty and plentiful for all. Chart House is one of our favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Riverview plus great food

Dined on May 29, 2016

Always enjoy THE CHART HOUSE with scenic river views and great seafood. Spring/Summer menu on now. Fabulous Gazpacho and Mango Mojitos. Love the cocoanut shrimp too. Never get to the Lava cake- anymore-- but love this as well. If you are in Cincinnati/Covington / or Newport don't miss this opportunity to eat ON the river.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chart House was the perfect spot for us ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Chart House was the perfect spot for us to celebrate our daughters high school graduation. The staff and management were very attentive to our table and made wonderful recommendations from the menu. What a special night for our entire family. Thank you Chart House, you are a class act.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Evening To Remember

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was my first time dining at the Chart House. My wife and I were celebrating our 9th Anniversary and was perfect. From the food and service to the sun setting on the river. Our server,Rory, was very pleasant and knowledgeable of all the meals and drinks. She was also very helpful with helping with our pictures. I love it and will definitely be back

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Vacation Dinner

Dined on May 27, 2016

We were in Cincinnati for a long weekend. Chart House was near our hotel, had a beautiful view and great seafood. Very good selection of wine.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 21, 2016

I made the trip from indianapolis to cincinnati to meet a special lady for dinner. I didn't know what to expect since this restaurant was unknown to me. What a fantastic surprise. The staff were first class, the food was great, and though my date and me stayed in deep conversation, we were not rushed or interupted. Great dining experience. I will be back.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Upon arrival we requested a window table ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Upon arrival we requested a window table. There were many available yet we were seated next to a column and that is all I could see when trying to look at the river. I also presented by AARP card which should give us a 10% discount on food yet only 50 cents was taken off the bill.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful food and beautiful views

Dined on May 16, 2016

We went here for the first time after reading reviews. Very nice interior and was seated by a window with beautiful views of Cincinnati and the river at night. We were greeted and seated very quickly. We ordered the coconut shrimp for starters and was brought out on a beautifully decorated plate. It wasalmost too pretty to eat! We had the mahi mahi dish which was amazing! The atmosphere is high end dining great for business and special occassions.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Service & the Food was Great!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service & the Food was Great!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We keep coming back. Had a salad bar m ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We keep coming back. Had a salad bar meal this time. Great! We had the same wait staff, Morgan. We really like her. She knows the menu, the wine list, is very pleasant, and knows just when and how to check to see if we need additional service. It's all good!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really appreciated the candor of our ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We really appreciated the candor of our server, Anna. She steered us in the right direction on a few things and we loved her recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was terrific - very attentive ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our server was terrific - very attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rory, our server, was FANTASTIC. It was ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Rory, our server, was FANTASTIC. It was my wife's birthday. We have only been to the Chart House once before on our anniversary and both times it was outstanding. I have told everyone about the wonderful experience, great service and food. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

it was good. solid 3 stars

Dined on May 8, 2016

no regrets choosing this place, but i dont think i am coming back. for the amount of money you spend there, in my opinion, things should be tighter – in terms of both food and service

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

Took an hour to get our food. Kitchen wa ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Took an hour to get our food. Kitchen was backed up. Apparently Mother's Day is their busiest holiday. Food was great.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We come to this restaurant regularly as ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We come to this restaurant regularly as we enjoy the food, service and great view.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3

The view, was lovely

Dined on May 8, 2016

The view, was lovely

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants--but a quibble

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I actually love this restaurant--great food, service, and a view that is perhaps the best in the city. One negative point, however. On this visit and on a number of prior occasions, we show up on time as per our reservation but still have to wait 15 minutes to a half hour to be seated. I don't find this to be true with other fine dining establishments, so I wonder why it tends to be true here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really wanna say "Thank the great hosp ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I really wanna say "Thank the great hospitality" Great view the window table and dining!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience overall! Our Italia ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent experience overall! Our Italian guests were I utterly impressed!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good job

Dined on May 6, 2016

heading there again tonight for business dinner . will have a big group

food3
ambience4
service5

The oysters were delicious. The entrees ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

The oysters were delicious. The entrees were good, but the side items were bland and tasteless. View of the city is great.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Birthday dinner treat

Dined on May 4, 2016

Tuna, scallops, crabcake cooked to perfection. Expensive but the ambiance, great service, and delicious food made it worth it. A real treat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Atmosphere

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very nice views and atmosphere. Delicious meal and wine selection.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We dined here for a special anniversary celebration. Our table for two had an excellent view of the river and the surrounding hills of Cincinnati! The food was excellent, served with great presentation and tasted delicious! Very extensive wine list!! Best of all was the service! Rory was outstanding!! Very knowledgeable, attentive and a pleasure to work with! Will definitely be back soon!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poozer

Dined on May 1, 2016

The salad bar is wonderful, filled with goodies that you never get anywhere else. The service was perfect, pleasant and efficient without intruding, and both entrees were Delicious! The view of the river completed a very, very nice dining experience. We shall go back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.