About Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati)

405 Riverboat Row
Newport, KY 41071
View Larger Map

Located right on the Ohio River, Chart House offers magnificent views of the water & the Cincinnati skyline. Combine the extraordinary setting with outstanding cuisine & it’s not hard to see why the restaurant is a longtime favorite. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 27 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From fresh seafood specialties to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as Mac Nut Mahi or slow roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm to 9pm, Friday & Saturday 4:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Happy Hour: Every Day: 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
Route 8

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 261-0300

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking complimentary. A public lot is also available.

Public Transit:
Tank Shuttle

Executive Chef:
Patrick Kenyon

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private area is available accommodating up to 70 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joy Robinson: 8592610300x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Shrimp - Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati), Newport, KY
  • Oysters Rockefeller - Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati), Newport, KY
  • Prime Rib And Grilled Shrimp - Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati), Newport, KY

Report a photo problem

Shrimp - Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati), Newport, KY
Oysters Rockefeller - Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati), Newport, KY
Prime Rib And Grilled Shrimp - Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati), Newport, KY

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (61)
Scenic View (58)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (40)
Good for a Date (39)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Cozy (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Seasonal (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Healthy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Casual (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fun (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I liked the atmosphere and the waitress ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

I liked the atmosphere and the waitress and the manager were nice....Nice view too

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wow! The whole baked Red Snapper was jus ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Wow! The whole baked Red Snapper was just outstanding!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been there for awhile and forg ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I had not been there for awhile and forgot how great it was. Outstanding view of the city and food was outstanding. I will be going back soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyable experience. Food as wel ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Really enjoyable experience. Food as well as service was excellent. Great view!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Chart House several ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to the Chart House several times and enjoy the experience. The food is outstanding, the service is excellent. One difficulty is that the lighting is so low that it is hard to read the menu; a little increase would help immensely.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I expected it to be both very nice and p ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I expected it to be both very nice and pricey, and it definitely met my expectations. The food was excellent (Ihad the filet and lobster tail). The salad bar wasn't so great but I had to have greens with my dinner somehow. Service was very professional but not outstanding. Everything was as expected. High prices for a stunning view and romantic evening. Good food, but slightly overpriced. You pay for the ambiance, everything else is just what comes with it.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Perfect dinner date for NYE. Rylan was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Perfect dinner date for NYE. Rylan was our waiter and gave us perfect service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time going and we wer ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first time going and we were impressed! Spectacular food and service. Will definitely go again. Worth every penny. Anna was our waitress an she was amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chart House never disappoints! Food qua ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Chart House never disappoints! Food quality and presentation are exceptional. The waterfront view adds to the ambiance. Love the lobster bisque and Snapper Hemmingway. Was bloen away bythe coconut shrimp presentation. The slice of mud pie was about 1/4 of the pie! Wow!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was just ok

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

a very nice restaurant. Great service w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

a very nice restaurant. Great service with a fresh menu. The best skyline view anywhere.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was date night for New Years first t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was date night for New Years first time there and had a great time

Tags: Fireplace, Waterfront, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ate at the Charthouse for New Year's ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We ate at the Charthouse for New Year's Eve with our daughter, son in law and their two children ages seven and eight. The staff was wonderful, attentive and very engaged with the children. It was a wonderful experience and the food was fantastic.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for my son's 16th birthday, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We came here for my son's 16th birthday, and the food and service were amazing. It's a little pricey, but worth it for a special occasion. We'll be going back for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I would recommend getting rid of the sal ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I would recommend getting rid of the salad bar. We were there for around two hours and didn't see one person entertain the salad bar. You have some many options to this as I see it as a waste. It might be good for vegetarians, however the Chart House is known for seafood and great cuts of meats do offer plenty of green options. Rachael was one of the most professional I've seen in along time in the indrusty. It was our first time and she went over and beyond to explain the menu and specials features!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were very good. Dining ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food and service were very good. Dining room was very tight and noise level when we arrived was pretty loud. Server was relentless at up selling at every opportunity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Wonderful food, wonderful service. Kudo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful food, wonderful service. Kudos to the chef.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like the fact you can get a personaliz ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I like the fact you can get a personalized menu for someone. We both felt like the food was not worth the price. The view and atmosphere was great. But the waitress spilled red wine on my girlfriends Michael Kors new purse and didn't say anything. We were leaving and saw it. As we talked to the Manager......they did nothing to accommodate us for a $240 bill and a ruined $300 dollar purse. So very disappointed in the food and nothing done about the ruined purse which was their fault. I would not recommend this place because of it. Not worth it and doesn't know how to take care their mistakes.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Thank you for a successful evening! We ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Thank you for a successful evening! We had three people with us who had not dined at Chart House before and they'll definitely come back. The entrees are always well prepared and I like the fact that they include sides. Several of us added the salad bar which was also a big hit. Thanks again and we're wishing all your staff a Happy New Year.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a bit disappointed they were out o ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I was a bit disappointed they were out of oyster. One of my favorite reasons for going to Chart House is the oysters. Also didn't understand why the couple splitting a spinach salad had they're salad split in the kitchen, but our Caesar salad wasn't, and we had to split it ourselves, the waitress didn't even do it for us. In my youth I was a waitress and I never would have let a couple split their own salad. Also, since the restaurant wasn't busy, I was surprised how inattentive the waitress was. After serving our drinks and appetizers, we never saw her again until our salads came. We would have had a second drink if she would have asked. Then after the salads were served we never saw her again until our dinners came. Loved the restaurant, disappointed in the service. I might also mention, this was a bit of a special occasion in that my husband and I traveled from Portland, OR to spend Christmas with his niece and nephew, and this was they're first "adult night out" in quite a while and we really wanted to make it special for them. Didn't quite happen. We frequent the Chart House in Portland and the service there is always exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointed in food both presentation a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Disappointed in food both presentation and only average flavor. Fillet 9 oz with garlic smashed...plate looked very uninteresting...certainly not for price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and beautiful atmosphere with ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food and beautiful atmosphere with lovely view of Cincinnati.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great riverfront view of Cincinnati! Goo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great riverfront view of Cincinnati! Good cocktail menu variety, good wine list. Some of the entrees were too similar as was the choice of sides, but very tasty. Proportions just the right size. Valet parking was jammed up so we self-parked down the street.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent wine selection. Prime rib and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent wine selection. Prime rib and filet mignon were perfect. Service was attentive without being overdone. Five stars all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our celebratory dinner. The f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We enjoyed our celebratory dinner. The food was excellent and we appreciated the delicious complimentary dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for a family celebration. Service w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Went for a family celebration. Service was great, very personalized. Food was classically prepared and everything was delicious. Great place for special occasion, even if you have picky eaters in the family.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Management was wonderful and very attent ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Management was wonderful and very attentive. Waiter was not very knowledgeable about the wine list. However, he asked one of the trainer/bartenders to assist with selections. Timing of food was sub-par and items missing. Management and waiters went over and beyond in service recovery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was great but my shrimp pasta di ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was great but my shrimp pasta dish was bland-would not order this again! Wish I would have ordered something different for the amount of money spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I dined at chart house fo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My husband and I dined at chart house for our tenth anniversary. We were well taken care of and the food was excellent. The entire staff were friendly and attentive. We will definitely be dining here the next time we're in Kentucky.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been there in quite a few yea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We had not been there in quite a few years and it was as wonderful as we remembered. The food was absolutely exquisite, as was the service and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Talked with Dennis the manager earlier ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Talked with Dennis the manager earlier in the day to confirm my open table reservation and also to be sure I could get their 25.00 Birthday credit that I had just received that morning. I asked for a table by the windows and he said would not be a problem and on top of that he would give us the best seat in the house well the table e received was just in front of the salad bar by the waitress's computers for paying your tab etc. Asked what the special of the day was and she told us took our drink order came back to the table just a few minutes later and told us they are out of the special already??? Our reservation were at 7:00 pm!

The meals were ok just not as good as they have been in the past Told Dennis we we're celebrating my 67 th birthday and he mentioned a desert would be included which it was not the waitress was not aware of the birthday celebration at least it didn't seem like it until it was mentioned. Overall this experience was not up to our previous experiences

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The Chart House is a great place to go i ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The Chart House is a great place to go if you want an outstanding dinning experience. The food, the servers, and the ambiance helped to make the evening outstanding for our Grandson's 18th Birthday. Thanks to all

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fun, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations, were seated 40 minu ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had reservations, were seated 40 minutes after the reservation time. Manager made it up to us by comping us an appetizer and gave us the largest, Nicest booth in the place. They were also out of several items, which was frustrating but the staff did everything they could to keep our dining experience an a positive one. Great manager and staff that made the meal of mishaps quite enjoyable. B+

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Took my gal here for Thanksgiving Dinner ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Took my gal here for Thanksgiving Dinner. We had a 7 pm reservation and arrived at the restaurant at 6:30. Knowing we were early we decided to go to the bar to have a drink before dinner. After realizing that we weren't going to get a drink before dinner not that the bar was too busy, but that there wasn't a single person working that acknowledged us, we sat at a small table in the bar area. My girlfriend thought that she could wait at the bar and be served but the bartender never looked up. Foreshadowing...

We were seated in a cozy table and our server arrived promptly. We ordered a Double Berry Mule-house specialty drink which arrived flat/uncarbonated - I had a white russian which was sat on the table with no Kahlua in it was plain white looked like white milk. With a smile on my face, when the server came back, I let her know about the drinks and she only replaced the White Russian which ended up being the bartender poured a portion of the drink out and replaced with a shot of Kahlua. I'm a bartender in a past life this should not happen. We were going to order a bottle of wine but decided that we would see how dinner went first.

We ordered the Thanksgiving dinners. Food arrived timely and server walked away before I realized that the pepper on the table was empty/had no stopper on the bottom. When she came back she let me know that was the second time that had happened this evening. We finished dinner which was good but turkey was dry - portions of sides came out in ice cream scoop form. I had to remind the server about desert and she apologized that she had not asked what we wanted earlier.

All in all that's how it goes sometimes. Certainly was not what I had expected from the Charthouse and we went there special obviously for Thanksgiving dinner. No one besides the server came to our table to see how things were and when we left no one from management asked anything about how our meal or evening was - fairly dissappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Really good food and service. A little p ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Really good food and service. A little pricy but great for special occasions. Wonderful view of the Cincinnati skyline at night.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a good time. Ambiance was good. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a good time. Ambiance was good. Décor a bit dated. Food OK - not great - for the money, probably won't go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We went for Thanksgiving Dinner. They of ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving Dinner. They offered a traditional turkey feast and the rest of the regular menu. The shrimp beignet appetizer was very good and the desserts were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We went for Thanksgiving. It was the f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving. It was the first time, ever, going to a restaurant for the holiday. The place was busy but service was good, as well as the food. Everyone seemed to enjoy ordering what they wanted. My daughter is a vegan and the chef made her a special stir fry that she would not have gotten at home. Overall, it was a very good experience and we look forward to doing it again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

THANKSGIVING DINNER 1200 hours 24NOV2016 ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

THANKSGIVING DINNER 1200 hours 24NOV2016

The Chart House, Newport, KY (Cincinnati), is a top rate operation staffed by well managed industry professionals.

The clientele were appropriately dressed and respectful to others personal space. The noise level remained at a comfortable level, allowing for table conversation at normal decibels.

The food was delicious and expertly prepared, with the exception of the turkey, which was unusually dry.

The ambience & 170 degree views make the this restaurant an overall Five-Star Experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was exquisite The serving staff was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was exquisite

The serving staff was phenomenal

Portion size were excellent for the value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.