About Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati)

405 Riverboat Row
Newport, KY 41071
View Larger Map

Located right on the Ohio River, Chart House offers magnificent views of the water & the Cincinnati skyline. Combine the extraordinary setting with outstanding cuisine & it’s not hard to see why the restaurant is a longtime favorite. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 28 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From fresh seafood specialties to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as Macadamia Crusted Mahi or slow roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:30pm - 11:00pm; Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Happy Hour: Every Day: 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
Route 8

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 261-0300

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking complimentary. A public lot is also available.

Public Transit:
Tank Shuttle

Executive Chef:
Reid McAllister

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private area is available accommodating up to 70 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joy Robinson: 8592610300x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Shrimp
  • Oysters Rockefeller
  • Prime Rib And Grilled Shrimp
Shrimp
Oysters Rockefeller
Prime Rib And Grilled Shrimp

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Scenic View (105)
Special Occasion (84)
Romantic (61)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Good for Groups (29)
Notable Wine List (25)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service, very attentive.

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 hours ago

Great service, very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always wonderful! Still waiting for a w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

Always wonderful! Still waiting for a wine pairing dinner soon...

Also it would be nice to have entertainment once a week!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food! We had an appetizer, sou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food! We had an appetizer, soup, and entrée, including the special. And the service was wonderful! Everyone we interacted with was so nice and friendly! It was our first time and we will definitely come again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was very good and the view w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was very good and the view was spectacular. The appetizers were good. I really was not happy with the prime rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed Food. Comfortable environment. S ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Enjoyed Food. Comfortable environment. Service excellent. Looking forward to next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a beautiful evening!!!! From the c ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

What a beautiful evening!!!! From the complementary valet parking, to the warm welcome, fantastic service, wonderful drinks and food, we had a relaxed, warm and beautiful time. We felt like VIPs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great! Our server was ex ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was great! Our server was excellent! We sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful sunset to delicious food and excellent drinks. Love this place!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service paired with mostly med ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent service paired with mostly mediocre food: welcome to Chart House.

We arrived around 5:00 P.M. on a Friday and were seated quickly and right in front of the window. I had a great view of the Big Mac Bridge. Paul has a great view of Joe's Crab Shack. Although Chart House is dated and in need of renovation, seating remains comfortable.

Our server was a nice guy--very friendly and attentive. He was good about refilling drinks and somewhat obsessive about scraping crumbs off the tablecloth.

I was thankful for the warm bread until I put butter on it. The butter tasted of mild freezer burn, which was odd.

Paul ordered the cedar plank salmon, which was awful. The salmon, which I'm certain was farm raised, looked anemic and tasted "not right," according to Paul. On a brighter note, my Cuban scallops and shrimp were very good, and the boniato mash that was excellent.

Paul and I split the chocolate lava cake. We were expecting a big treat, like the lava cake served at Morton's, but the cake was nearly tasteless, with the exception of the bits of toffee candy on top, and the vanilla ice cream tasted like something that came from GFS. Run on sentence, I know.

Years ago, Chart House was a good restaurant. Now? Not so much. Bummer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Nice fish and fresh seafood. Awesome ann ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Nice fish and fresh seafood. Awesome anniversary gift.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately I think The Chart House ha ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Unfortunately I think The Chart House has seen better days. The Prime rib was terrible, sent it back and had fillet instead. Server was good, restaurant a bit worn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

My Wife and I enjoy dinning here, and br ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My Wife and I enjoy dinning here, and bring folks who visit us, from out of town, to the Chart House. Gives them a good perspective of Cincy and the food is Great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service Liked early d ...

vip
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food and service

Liked early dining menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was alittle slow however the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The service was alittle slow however the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

An excellent experience from arrival wit ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

An excellent experience from arrival with the valet parking to the food! Best Filet Mignon in the city! Comfortable, friendly, attentive, just the place for a perfect evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food. Good view. Unbeatable combina ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Good food. Good view. Unbeatable combination. We'll go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose to visit Chart House because we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We chose to visit Chart House because we had out of town relatives visiting, we were taking the riverboat cruise afterwards, and a few of us need gluten free options. Chart House offers enough GF options that you don't feel deprived, and the food is always delicious. They were very accommodating in meeting our requests, and the chef even came out personally to discuss gf options with my mother. My father ordered the prime rib and unfortunately his piece was very tough. The manager personally brought another piece, which as my father said was like butter and excellent. They do an excellent job providing service and accommodating special dietary needs. Plus you can't beat the view and the chocolate lava cake (which those of us without gluten issues enjoyed very much!).

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was amazing! Entrees were delici ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was amazing! Entrees were delicious! The calamari appetizer was just ok! Nothing fabulous! The view of the river was an added bonus! Our waitress was very attentive and even brought us a piece of cake for dessert for my husbands birthday! It was a great date night!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great seafood, incredible views, excelle ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great seafood, incredible views, excellent service, and the best prime rib in town. Mr. Chastan (sorry, I know I'm spelling his name incorrectly!) you are to be commended, sir! My hat is off to you!! Oh, plus you have a very nice hostess and the best bartender in the area!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was cooked perfectly and was very g ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was cooked perfectly and was very good. I felt it was quite overpriced though compared to the competition. We arrived for a late dinner and felt like we had the place to ourselves yet service still seemed a little slow, especially to get things started. I was turned off at the very end when our waiter picked up the tab and made a sales presentation for a Landry's rewards card. He was very professional about it, but there was nothing professional about offering the sale of a rewards card ($25) at a restaurant that positions themselves based on price and appearance as an upper scale establishment. Landry's should really reconsider this poor-taste marketing scheme. Sadly, this was my last impression of the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

From start to finish our meal was excep ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

From start to finish our meal was exceptional. Our server, Susan, kindly answered all our questions and offered suggestions when we were undecided. We had the oysters Rockefeller as a starter along with the trio platter of hummus with pita. Delicious! Each guest had a different fish cooked to perfection. The lava cake was just the right selection to finish this awesome dinner! Thank you, Susan and Chart House!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a good place to take Cincinnati ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is a good place to take Cincinnati visitors. It is right on the Ohio River, on the Kentucky side, with floor-to-ceiling windows along three sides of the river. You can see the Cincinnati skyline as well as the various boats and barges that go up and down the Ohio River. The food is pricey, but elegantly displayed and well composed. Seafood is the specialty, though there are also steak options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful, first time we had been there- ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wonderful, first time we had been there--it was my 13 year old son's birthday celebration and he loves seafood so we decided to try it. He ordered the king crab legs, which were delicious and the rest of our meals were fantastic. Even had a charcuterie plate (off the appetizers ) for my seafood-hating 10 year old, which she enjoyed for her meal! The special birthday mud pie was a treat! We didn't have room for the chocolate lava cake, unfortunately, but if we had, I'm sure it would have been as good as everything else. Service was impeccable--friendly and helpful! We will definitely go back! Nice views of the river too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A winner in tasty food ,ambience ,scenic ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A winner in tasty food ,ambience ,scenic view service and everything .Early Bird and Happy Hour are best in area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had had the filet magnon on previous vis ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Had had the filet magnon on previous visit and it was fantastic. This visit, not so good, nor was my wife's. Don't know is they changed suppliers or just bad luck, but filet was not up to par for the money.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter Rachel was outstanding and re ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter Rachel was outstanding and really made our meal enjoyable!!

Cant say enough good things about Rachel.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely way to celebrate our 45th weddi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A lovely way to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. Enjoyed great views of the river on the deck, though it was hot in the late afternoon sun. Food, service, very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our anniv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary . We were both disappointed with entrees. I ask for my steak to be medium well and it was rare. I had to send my steak back. The steak lacked flavor. I ordered king crab legs on the side and the legs were cold and rubbery. The legs were over cooked and cold. Quality of the food not good. My wife's King Crab legs were cold and rubbery. My bill was $260 with tip over $300. My wife and I definitely left disappointed. We will not recommend restaurant nor will we be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

I had a horrible experience here for my ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I had a horrible experience here for my 30th birthday celebration a couple years back so I decided to give them another try. The service was "okay." I think the server was new as she appeared nervous and uncomfortable. The food was good. Undecided on if I'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Wonderful king salmon

vip
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful king salmon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great and the food was f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service was great and the food was fantastic, as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was very good, however the me ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything was very good, however the menu is a bit over priced.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a pleasant evening that provided ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We had a pleasant evening that provided great views of the river & city.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We selected the Chart House to celebrate ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We selected the Chart House to celebrate our wedding anniversary.The staff made us feel so special! Our names were printed at the top of the menu! The menu said "The Chart House wishes the Chandlers Happy Anniversary".We were also presented complimentary champagne.It was a wonderful evening.Would suggest for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been one of our favorite ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This has always been one of our favorite restaurants especially for special occasions. It has slipped in our opinion - service was just OK, salad bar average at best.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Chart House is a lovely place to dine. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Chart House is a lovely place to dine. Our latest visit was disappointing however. Even though I am a member of the Landry's select group, and it was my birthday, the tables offered to us were not good. Additionally, the food served was not hot and not served at the same time. All in all, I didn't feel special. While i will eat there again, I won't make promises to my guests that they will be treated as special guests.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is very good, however I feel it ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food is very good, however I feel it is a little overpriced, and think it is ridiculous to have valet parking when the parking lot is right next to the restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I had not been to the Chart House in man ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I had not been to the Chart House in many years. I remembered the food being much better; the New England Clam chowder disappointed me, followed by potatoes, which were stiff and cold. The price was relatively expensive for the food. The spinach and asparagus were pretty good. Service was very good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

My wife and I went there for our 55th an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My wife and I went there for our 55th anniversary. Had a great time! The waitress was very nice and food was exceptional! I had swordfish and it was terrific. We will be back more often!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is awesome! The salad bar is ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This place is awesome! The salad bar is the best! If you don't mind the price it would be difficult to beat as a best to eat.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Chart House for a combination ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Chart House for a combination birthday/father's day outing. The restaurant is lovely, with a nice view. We very much appreciated the quiet as my mother (age 85) is soft spoken, and usually difficult to hear during dinners. Our server was fairly hit and miss, with one of us having to flag him down a couple of times. The restaurant was not that busy, with many of the tables around ours empty. The food was good, but not great. Nobody at our table was that excited about their food, though it was certainly decent and edible. Just pretty basic. Overpriced for that.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.