HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Chart House Restaurant - Mammoth Lakes

3.9
327 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion (338)
  • Good for Groups (223)
  • Romantic (220)

Similar Restaurants

About

Chart House Restaurant in Mammoth Lakes serves up fresh seafood and more. Its relaxing setting is wonderful for enjoying a meal with the family or a date. Chart House Restaurant offers a variety of tasty appetizers to try, like seared-pepper Ahi tuna, crunchy coconut shrimp and herb-steamed artichokes. Guests can dine on a main course of prime rib with a baked potato, lobster tail or grilled citrus salmon with lemon-scented sticky rice. It also has hearty soups, fresh salads and a three-course menu.

Chart House Restaurant has a full bar that offers a variety of drinks and a lounge area for guests to unwind. It features a happy hour and banquet rooms for hosting private events.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday & Tuesday -Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Sunday - Friday 4:30pm -7:00pm.
Closed Monday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(760) 934-4526
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We offer semi-private banquet facilities for groups up to 250 guests. Banquet menus available to parties of 14 or more. Private party space is also available during the day for groups of 40 to 250 guests.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ken Murray: (760) 934-4526
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Tavern
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available in the Mammoth Mall Parking Lot or across the street in the public lot behind the Red Line bus kiosk.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Red Line
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 327 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9  based on all time ratings
3.9
food
3.9
service
4.0
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on March 30, 2016

Wonderful evening in a beautiful restaurant. Good was great, as usual. Ken took care of us, and he was great He does everything there, so it took a little bit longer than expected. But Ken kept us happy with the pace and it was really nice.

Sad to learn this location closed this past Sunday. Mammoth will miss it, as will the many that visit each time we are in town.

Report
Helpful
vipTony (Palm Springs)
5.0  Dined on March 29, 2016

The food is always good and our server was terrific!

Report
Helpful
vipMontecito (Los Angeles)
2.0  Dined on March 28, 2016

It's either fish or prime rib. No other steaks on the menu. Disappointment undescored by the inexperience of our server. Just more training needed overall. Experience not worth the price.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Orange County)
2.0  Dined on March 28, 2016

We only went there for the prime rib and it was so tough. We could tell it was tough just by trying to cut into it with a knife.

Report
Helpful
vipJessica (Los Angeles)
2.0  Dined on March 23, 2016

Okay for an evening out in Mammoth. Kid friendly.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on March 15, 2016

We always enjoy going to our local Chart House restaurant here in Mammoth Lakes. The food is always very good, it has a very nice ambience, in the service is great! We often go here for special occasions, and we were in for my husband's birthday dinner. Actually, our dinner consisted of several of the delicious happy hour appetizers followed by a huge, flavorful big baked potato that we split.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Seattle)
3.0  Dined on March 14, 2016

They were short on staff that night and although our waiter did his best it was very slow. But the food made up for it. The sautéed trout was perfectly done and well seasoned. The portions are very large. Unless you have a very large appetite I suggest sharing. Good wine list.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Palm Springs)
5.0  Dined on March 13, 2016

We believe it was the manager of the evening, but we were sitting in our truck, in the parking lot, in the cold and snowy weather waiting for the rest of our party and for the restaurant to open in about 25 minutes, and here comes the manager out of the restaurant, knocks on our window and invites us to come in, to get out of the cold/snow. We were able to sit in the bar and enjoy a drink and sizzling mushrooms before opening and the rest of our party arriving!! You can't get better customer service than that, he really deserves big kudos for that!! Please pass this along, wish we got his name!! He had a white chef's coat! And he seemed to be overseeing the flow of the restaurant , at least during our visit.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Hawaii)
4.0  Dined on March 12, 2016

We enjoyed our evening !

Report
Helpful
vipLisaple (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on March 12, 2016

Food delicious. The seating was not the best. Felt to close to the other parties. Service was wonderful. Definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
KRRushton (Las Vegas)
1.0  Dined on March 11, 2016

Don't waste your money at this restaurant there are better places in Mammoth. Total tourist trap!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on February 24, 2016

Perfect for a great dinner. Went here after skiing. Had a great service and food is just delicious. Higly recommanded

Report
Helpful
vipLyndaA (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 20, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Mammoth Lakes. You NEED a reservation on winter weekends and holidays. Love their meats, fish, and big backed potatoes! It is easy to have an expectation here-it is always good!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Yosemite)
3.0  Dined on February 19, 2016

Took over an hour to get our meals, for a group of 9

Report
Helpful
NathandFred (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on February 17, 2016

We made a reservation through open table 24hours before dining there.
when we arrived we had to wait about 40 minutes for our table! As if we had no réservation.
We asked for a table near a window and they tried to sit us in the middle of the restaurant with a poor environment.
We discovered that the room where we wanted to be was quite empty with many tables free of people. The reason why they didn't want to place us there was that the waiter had too many people to look after...

Report
Helpful
Gary (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2016

The Chart House has become one of our favorite places in Mammoth. They have high quality service, with an attentive onsite manager and table servers who are personable, knowledgeable and polite. We are always impressed with the quality of the people they hire. The food in our estimation is hard to beat--we are especially excited about the spinach salad (though they also have a good salad bar), the fish dishes (including the seafood grill) are all excellent (both the standard items on the menu and the simpler daily fish specials), the prime rib is terrific, and the accompanying sides add to the overall quality. I noted that the bar scene is vibrant, but this is really mainly prior to the normal evening mealtimes. Again the cocktails are well done and the wine list is at least adequate. The ambiance of the restaurant is really nice. Even though it is no longer new, it is obviously well maintained and has a great high open beam ceiling. Finally, we have been there several times with children in tow. They are very accommodating, treat the kids well, have a nice menu for kids etc. It is unusual, but I can hardly think of anything to complain about, except that the one night we were there recently (after a Holiday weekend) they had run out of a few items--macaroni and cheese for the kids and the lobster bisque for adults.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orange County)
2.0  Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was great, but we were sat next to a large group with kids that were singing and chanting throughout most of dinner. I should have asked to be moved, but I didn't want to make a scene and I was hoping the parents would control their kids. Nope. There were several other tables not near this group, so why did they seat us next to them??? Spent over $300 for a table of 4. Not worth it...

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

They were out of everything I wanted, including TP in the ladies room. My husband left his favorite winter hat behind. We were the last people at that table. And yet his hat didn't make it into lost and found. Needless to say, never going back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was slow, food was over cooked. However , The clam chowder was very good, Probably won't eat their again. Should have eaten at the white bark in the Westin.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and I highly recommend the green beans!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2016

Best restaurant in town

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on February 12, 2016

The yellowtail ahi tuna had too much connective tissue but it was okay otherwise.

Report
Helpful
Italianfoodie (Los Angeles)
2.0  Dined on February 6, 2016

Food was great as always. However, we waited over an hour for our reservation. The restaurant was understaffed for a Saturday night. The bar was understaffed as well. Very disappointing for the Chart House.

Report
Helpful
Lookn4balance (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on February 6, 2016

We are from Truckee, CA we celebrated my Birthday here last year and it was GREAT! This year not so much.
When making reservations we said its my Birthday the host greeted me and acknowledged my Birthday our waitress never did. She placed the wrong order for me then charged me extra when I had it fixed. She didn't tell us where the salad bar was located didn't remember from last year we were seated in a different area. When she bagged our leftovers she placed them in the bag wrong so we had to re bag them or they would of been all over the place.
A positive was the hot lava cake desert is the best!

Report
Helpful
viptimothy14 (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 2, 2016

The food was excellent. Even though they were very short staffed they made us feel comfortable and apologized for the occasional delays.

Report
Helpful
vipMichele (Orange County)
3.0  Dined on February 1, 2016

The lava cake was exceptional

Report
Helpful
Ziptie (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on January 31, 2016

Went for the happy hour which was great! We sat by the fire and the ambiance was wonderful. Particularly liked the ahi nachos, fried artichoke, and lettuce wraps. Fish tacos were big but meh and calamari was a bit soggy, too. The three different maitre d's I've met here have been rude - what's up with that?? But waiter was nice. I've eaten dinner here before and the food is decent. But the happy hour was a great deal.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Yosemite)
5.0  Dined on January 30, 2016

The steak was cooked perfectly!!! I am definitely going here again!😊

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
2.0  Dined on January 28, 2016

The food was as average as I've had. As a Landry's club member with other great options, this will be the last visit to The Chart House. What a waste of money.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
1.0  Dined on January 28, 2016

Don't bother with this outdated, overpriced stop. Food very mediocre!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11