Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.
See affiliated restaurants ›
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

5353
(99)
$$$$
American | Mammoth, Mammoth
Booked 34 times today
Campo - MammothCampo - Mammoth
(190)
$$$$
Italian | Mammoth, Mammoth
Booked 18 times today
WhitebarkWhitebark
(137)
$$$$
Fusion / Eclectic | Mammoth, Mammoth
Booked 16 times today
Jimmys TavernaJimmys Taverna
(47)
$$$$
Greek | Mammoth, Mammoth
Booked 16 times today
CJ's GrillCJ's Grill
(118)
$$$$
American | Mammoth, Mammoth
Booked 17 times today
Lakefront Restaurant - Mammoth LakesLakefront Restaurant - Mammoth Lakes
(169)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Mammoth, Mammoth
Booked 7 times today
The Restaurant at Convict LakeThe Restaurant at Convict Lake
(124)
$$$$
Continental | Mammoth, Mammoth
Booked 17 times today
Morrison'sMorrison's
(1)
$$$$
American | Mammoth, Mammoth
Booked 27 times today
The Majestic Yosemite HotelThe Majestic Yosemite Hotel
(5183)
$$$$
Californian | Yosemite, Yosemite
Booked 108 times today
Yosemite Valley Lodge Mountain RoomYosemite Valley Lodge Mountain Room
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
American | Mammoth, Mammoth
Erna's Elderberry HouseErna's Elderberry House
(309)
$$$$
European | Oakhurst, Yosemite
Booked 11 times today

About Chart House Restaurant - Mammoth Lakes

Chart House Restaurant in Mammoth Lakes serves up fresh seafood and more. Its relaxing setting is wonderful for enjoying a meal with the family or a date. Chart House Restaurant offers a variety of tasty appetizers to try, like seared-pepper Ahi tuna, crunchy coconut shrimp and herb-steamed artichokes. Guests can dine on a main course of prime rib with a baked potato, lobster tail or grilled citrus salmon with lemon-scented sticky rice. It also has hearty soups, fresh salads and a three-course menu.

Chart House Restaurant has a full bar that offers a variety of drinks and a lounge area for guests to unwind. It features a happy hour and banquet rooms for hosting private events.

106 Old Mammoth Road
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday & Tuesday -Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Sunday - Friday 4:30pm -7:00pm.
Closed Monday

Cross Street:
Tavern

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-4526

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Mammoth Mall Parking Lot or across the street in the public lot behind the Red Line bus kiosk.

Public Transit:
Red Line

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private banquet facilities for groups up to 250 guests. Banquet menus available to parties of 14 or more. Private party space is also available during the day for groups of 40 to 250 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Ken Murray: (760) 934-4526

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sort By:
S
327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Wonderful evening in a beautiful restaurant. Good was great, as usual. Ken took care of us, and he was great He does everything there, so it took a little bit longer than expected. But Ken kept us happy with the pace and it was really nice.

Sad to learn this location closed this past Sunday. Mammoth will miss it, as will the many that visit each time we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 30, 2016

The food is always good and our server was terrific!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2016

It's either fish or prime rib. No other steaks on the menu. Disappointment undescored by the inexperience of our server. Just more training needed overall. Experience not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 29, 2016

We only went there for the prime rib and it was so tough. We could tell it was tough just by trying to cut into it with a knife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 24, 2016

Okay for an evening out in Mammoth. Kid friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2016

We always enjoy going to our local Chart House restaurant here in Mammoth Lakes. The food is always very good, it has a very nice ambience, in the service is great! We often go here for special occasions, and we were in for my husband's birthday dinner. Actually, our dinner consisted of several of the delicious happy hour appetizers followed by a huge, flavorful big baked potato that we split.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2016

They were short on staff that night and although our waiter did his best it was very slow. But the food made up for it. The sautéed trout was perfectly done and well seasoned. The portions are very large. Unless you have a very large appetite I suggest sharing. Good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 14, 2016

We believe it was the manager of the evening, but we were sitting in our truck, in the parking lot, in the cold and snowy weather waiting for the rest of our party and for the restaurant to open in about 25 minutes, and here comes the manager out of the restaurant, knocks on our window and invites us to come in, to get out of the cold/snow. We were able to sit in the bar and enjoy a drink and sizzling mushrooms before opening and the rest of our party arriving!! You can't get better customer service than that, he really deserves big kudos for that!! Please pass this along, wish we got his name!! He had a white chef's coat! And he seemed to be overseeing the flow of the restaurant , at least during our visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Food delicious. The seating was not the best. Felt to close to the other parties. Service was wonderful. Definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Don't waste your money at this restaurant there are better places in Mammoth. Total tourist trap!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2016

Perfect for a great dinner. Went here after skiing. Had a great service and food is just delicious. Higly recommanded

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Mammoth Lakes. You NEED a reservation on winter weekends and holidays. Love their meats, fish, and big backed potatoes! It is easy to have an expectation here-it is always good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Took over an hour to get our meals, for a group of 9

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2016

We made a reservation through open table 24hours before dining there.

when we arrived we had to wait about 40 minutes for our table! As if we had no réservation.

We asked for a table near a window and they tried to sit us in the middle of the restaurant with a poor environment.

We discovered that the room where we wanted to be was quite empty with many tables free of people. The reason why they didn't want to place us there was that the waiter had too many people to look after...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 16, 2016

The Chart House has become one of our favorite places in Mammoth. They have high quality service, with an attentive onsite manager and table servers who are personable, knowledgeable and polite. We are always impressed with the quality of the people they hire. The food in our estimation is hard to beat--we are especially excited about the spinach salad (though they also have a good salad bar), the fish dishes (including the seafood grill) are all excellent (both the standard items on the menu and the simpler daily fish specials), the prime rib is terrific, and the accompanying sides add to the overall quality. I noted that the bar scene is vibrant, but this is really mainly prior to the normal evening mealtimes. Again the cocktails are well done and the wine list is at least adequate. The ambiance of the restaurant is really nice. Even though it is no longer new, it is obviously well maintained and has a great high open beam ceiling. Finally, we have been there several times with children in tow. They are very accommodating, treat the kids well, have a nice menu for kids etc. It is unusual, but I can hardly think of anything to complain about, except that the one night we were there recently (after a Holiday weekend) they had run out of a few items--macaroni and cheese for the kids and the lobster bisque for adults.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 16, 2016

The food was great, but we were sat next to a large group with kids that were singing and chanting throughout most of dinner. I should have asked to be moved, but I didn't want to make a scene and I was hoping the parents would control their kids. Nope. There were several other tables not near this group, so why did they seat us next to them??? Spent over $300 for a table of 4. Not worth it...

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

They were out of everything I wanted, including TP in the ladies room. My husband left his favorite winter hat behind. We were the last people at that table. And yet his hat didn't make it into lost and found. Needless to say, never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was slow, food was over cooked. However , The clam chowder was very good, Probably won't eat their again. Should have eaten at the white bark in the Westin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and I highly recommend the green beans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Best restaurant in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The yellowtail ahi tuna had too much connective tissue but it was okay otherwise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Food was great as always. However, we waited over an hour for our reservation. The restaurant was understaffed for a Saturday night. The bar was understaffed as well. Very disappointing for the Chart House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2016

We are from Truckee, CA we celebrated my Birthday here last year and it was GREAT! This year not so much.

When making reservations we said its my Birthday the host greeted me and acknowledged my Birthday our waitress never did. She placed the wrong order for me then charged me extra when I had it fixed. She didn't tell us where the salad bar was located didn't remember from last year we were seated in a different area. When she bagged our leftovers she placed them in the bag wrong so we had to re bag them or they would of been all over the place.

A positive was the hot lava cake desert is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2016

The food was excellent. Even though they were very short staffed they made us feel comfortable and apologized for the occasional delays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 2, 2016

The lava cake was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2016

Went for the happy hour which was great! We sat by the fire and the ambiance was wonderful. Particularly liked the ahi nachos, fried artichoke, and lettuce wraps. Fish tacos were big but meh and calamari was a bit soggy, too. The three different maitre d's I've met here have been rude - what's up with that?? But waiter was nice. I've eaten dinner here before and the food is decent. But the happy hour was a great deal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 31, 2016

The steak was cooked perfectly!!! I am definitely going here again!😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2016

The food was as average as I've had. As a Landry's club member with other great options, this will be the last visit to The Chart House. What a waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2016

Don't bother with this outdated, overpriced stop. Food very mediocre!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2016

Chart House is great for special occasions and on a snowy night. Food and atmosphere can't be beat. Menu could use a few more non-seafood and beef items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Chart House in Mammoth is great. Busy and loud, but some of the best service. Food isn't to die for, it's good. I really like how kind the staff is. Food is overpriced for quality. Cocktails were fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Delicious and cozy restaurant after long day on the mountain! Fresh fish and fresh gourmet salad bar. Great kids menu! My four year old loved it too! A must when in Mammoth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2016

I was at this Chart House twice recently. Both times we had outstanding service. Once, my husband was a little cold so he had his jacket on his shoulders. The manager stopped by and offered complimentary coffee or tea to help warm him up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2016

I have been dining here literally since they opened. Its the Chart House, you expect a good meal and better service. I call to change reservation from 8:00 to 9:00 asked if they would still be serving full menu, (otherwise I would go somewhere else), and sure enough after seating my daughter ordered the prime rib, which of course they were just out of. Salad bar not kept up, server had to make our Caesar, just O.K., waited a bit to long for wine. They sat all the patrons in the lobby area by the fireplace to make it look like the restaurant was full, (which it was not), they had portable heaters by the windows, my wife was cold and it was a bit uncomfortable, and I don't like sitting there anyways. Called to change my reservations for the following night, they just gave me guff, so I didn't even bother. Eat at Nevados if you want a good experience in Mammoth. Get it together Chart House. By the way, the Manager was extremely nice, but oblivious to the situation. Dinner for four/with splits around $400.00

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 13, 2016

Chart House is a must stop for us when we are in Mammoth Lakes. The last few stops the scenario has been the same. Our server was pleasant and considerate. She managed to serve with competence. Considering the apparent staffing shortage, from bar, hostessing to bussing service, the wait staff appeared to be overwhelmed. Lovely building, great wine list, should be a fine dining experience, but instead we just felt hopeful we'd have a pleasant dinner. I would hesitate to try it again. Darn it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2016

My family had a wonderful dinner at the Chart House. They had a separate gluten free menu which was appreciated. The food was perfect, the service was perfect, the ambiance with the fire place in the middle of the dining area was wonderful. I highly recommend the Chart House.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 11, 2016

Family of 5 plus sister celebrating belated birthday for kids (triplets).

Reservations made easy the previous night via opentable.com

Hostess was courteous and funny; were seated within 5 minutes of arrival.

Overheard our hostess raving about our waitress - Terica (Erica with a T) but we found her service was sub-par. She admittedly was a fast talker which only added to our perception she was not personable; did not respond when asked if she was working to ski (at Mammoth). She seemed to be just going thru the motions of being waitress.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 10, 2016

A mammoth treasure. Great food. Fantastic Service. And one of the few remaining awesome salad bars (with caviar). Everyone's favorite for an after-ski meal in Mammoth !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2016

Menu used to have broader variety i.e. used to have several different cuts of steak, now only one filet. But otherwise good, relaxing dinner after a hard day on the snow.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 8, 2016

We made a same day reservation for our daughters 11th birthday celebration, she loves seafood. We were seated in a back area and waited on by the manager. He made my daughter and our whole family feel so special. The food was absolutely amazing. We eat out a lot and enjoy good food. This was by far the best meal for the price. Hats off to the Chef and Manager. Thank you!!! We will come back next year when we are in Mammoth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2016

Special thanks to Bobby our server for being so attentive to our entire party!

Excellent cocktails and amazing food!

The scallops and the peanut Mahi Mahi stood out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Nothing wrong with the food or the decor. Standard Chart House food, which is decent but not spectacular. However the servers take it for granted that the town is full of tourists during the snow season and treat nearly everyone poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 3, 2016

When traveling to Mammoth there are variety of eaters, but only a select few that serve good delicious food prepared fresh and with care. Being a ski town, when the sun goes down every restaurant in town starts filling up. So when in mammoth, always make reservations anywhere that will take them. Most of the restaurants are so filled that the quality of food they bring to the table is laughable. I remember waiting 2 hours at another spot only to have them bring me a steak with the middle raw and still frozen and you could smell my friend's salmon coming a mile away. With that being said, I only have praise for the Chart House. If there was a top 5 places to eat at Mammoth, the Chart House would make that list. The food is always delicious and prepared professionally. The only complaint I have is out of the 10+ times I've dined there, I've had one server who did not come by the table to offer refills and trying to flag her down for the check took 30 mins. Other than her, every other time the service has been excellent . So next time your in town, try them out... You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2016

I booked a table for 3 for NYE and was promptly shown our table at the back to the resturant. What shocked me was that people were sat at their tables with ski jackets, scarves and beanie hats on. At the time it didn't seem that cold to me but after around 30 minutes I realized that the resturant was freezing cold and that's why people eat with coats on.

When the food arrived the plates were hot but the food was like warm or in the case of my mash potato just cold. It tasted nice but would have been so much better hot.

Not sure if there was a heating problem or if that's the case all the time up in the snow as it was a very cold evening.

Service was good but atmosphere was a little dead given it was NYE. Maybe everybody was already frozen😀

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We celebrated New Years Eve at the Chart House. Wonderful service and a great meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Sort of an odd title for a review, but we came to this Chart House because it is reliable and centrally-located in Mammoth, even though our prior visit was only fair. Overall, each of the four members of our party was very happy with their seafood meals. The appetizer calamari were a little on the stale side but still crispy, but all of the entrees (ahi, trout, mahi mahi) and vegetable sides were nicely prepared and not fishy at all. The server was very pleasant and attentive considering it was a busy, late night; water and bread service were excellent. They don't have any draft beer which remains puzzling but the wine selection is adequate for the venue and of acceptable value. Ultimately, we would return.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on December 26, 2015

It was a great evening and the staff made us feel like we were special guests. The food was outstanding and restaurant had the quiet ambiance we were looking for. Very nice place to have Christmas Eve dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Chart House - Mammoth was festively decorated for the holiday season and the restaurant itself is warm and cozy. The filet mignon I ordered was very tasty and cooked just right. My wife's lobster bisque was "good" but not outstanding. The kids' meals were typical kids' fare - nothing special to write about (but then again I can't remember a kid's menu ever worth a special mention). It was a perfect spot for Christmas Eve. The only thing lacking was the service, which is not surprising since our waiter was a seasonal college age worker in for the winter. He brought the wrong appetizer first and the kitchen seemed to be behind on orders as well. So, our wait after ordering was very long. However, all were in good spirits because of the holiday season so in the end it didn't much matter but I wouldn't want to wait like that in general.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2015

The restaurant used to have a much longer menu and a faster service. For example, last year, the menu had 11 items in the "Starters" category, which is now down to 4 appetizers. The service is slow. The ambiance is welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.