Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Campo - Mammoth
137 reviews
Italian | Mammoth, Mammoth
Reserve Now
53
51 reviews
American | Mammoth, Mammoth
Reserve Now
Whitebark
110 reviews
Fusion / Eclectic | Mammoth, Mammoth
Reserve Now
Jimmys Taverna
25 reviews
Greek | Mammoth, Mammoth
Reserve Now
CJ's Grill
92 reviews
American | Mammoth, Mammoth
Reserve Now
The Rafters
45 reviews
American | Mammoth, Mammoth
Reserve Now
Lakefront Restaurant - Mammoth Lakes
86 reviews
Contemporary American | Mammoth, Mammoth
Reserve Now
The Restaurant at Convict Lake
45 reviews
Continental | Mammoth, Mammoth
Reserve Now
Erna's Elderberry House
242 reviews
European | Oakhurst, Yosemite
Reserve Now

About Chart House Restaurant - Mammoth Lakes - Permanently Closed

106 Old Mammoth Road
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
View Larger Map

Relax in the comfortable elegance of Chart House, a cozy restaurant located in the small Sierra town of Mammoth Lakes. Whether you are in Mammoth for skiing, hiking, fishing, mountain biking, golf or just a family getaway in the cool pines, come join us for a leisurely dinner. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 28 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From signature fish to slow-roasted prime rib, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as Macadamia Crusted Mahi, East Meets West Tuna and a variety of succulent steaks. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday & Tuesday -Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Sunday - Friday 4:30pm -7:00pm.
Closed Monday

Cross Street:
Tavern

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 934-4526

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Mammoth Mall Parking Lot or across the street in the public lot behind the Red Line bus kiosk.

Public Transit:
Red Line

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private banquet facilities for groups up to 250 guests. Banquet menus available to parties of 14 or more. Private party space is also available during the day for groups of 40 to 250 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Ken Murray: 7609344526x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chart House Restaurant - Mammoth Lakes - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (23)
good for groups (21)
fit for foodies (17)
See All
romantic (15)
kid-friendly (9)
neighborhood gem (9)
notable wine list (6)
hot spot (5)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening in a beautiful restaur ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Wonderful evening in a beautiful restaurant. Good was great, as usual. Ken took care of us, and he was great He does everything there, so it took a little bit longer than expected. But Ken kept us happy with the pace and it was really nice. Sad to learn this location closed this past Sunday. Mammoth will miss it, as will the many that visit each time we are in town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the Chart House.

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

The food is always good and our server was terrific!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Not the best

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

It's either fish or prime rib. No other steaks on the menu. Disappointment undescored by the inexperience of our server. Just more training needed overall. Experience not worth the price.

food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We only went there for the prime rib and ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

We only went there for the prime rib and it was so tough. We could tell it was tough just by trying to cut into it with a knife.

food2
ambience3
service2

Okay for an evening out in Mammoth. Kid ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Okay for an evening out in Mammoth. Kid friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 16, 2016

We always enjoy going to our local Chart House restaurant here in Mammoth Lakes. The food is always very good, it has a very nice ambience, in the service is great! We often go here for special occasions, and we were in for my husband's birthday dinner. Actually, our dinner consisted of several of the delicious happy hour appetizers followed by a huge, flavorful big baked potato that we split.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good Food

Dined on March 15, 2016

They were short on staff that night and although our waiter did his best it was very slow. But the food made up for it. The sautéed trout was perfectly done and well seasoned. The portions are very large. Unless you have a very large appetite I suggest sharing. Good wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Above and beyond!!

Dined on March 14, 2016

We believe it was the manager of the evening, but we were sitting in our truck, in the parking lot, in the cold and snowy weather waiting for the rest of our party and for the restaurant to open in about 25 minutes, and here comes the manager out of the restaurant, knocks on our window and invites us to come in, to get out of the cold/snow. We were able to sit in the bar and enjoy a drink and sizzling mushrooms before opening and the rest of our party arriving!! You can't get better customer service than that, he really deserves big kudos for that!! Please pass this along, wish we got his name!! He had a white chef's coat! And he seemed to be overseeing the flow of the restaurant , at least during our visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

We enjoyed our evening !

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening !

food4
ambience2
service4

Food delicious. The seating was not the ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Food delicious. The seating was not the best. Felt to close to the other parties. Service was wonderful. Definitely be back!

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was poor yet overpriced.

Dined on March 12, 2016

Don't waste your money at this restaurant there are better places in Mammoth. Total tourist trap!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ideal

Dined on February 25, 2016

Perfect for a great dinner. Went here after skiing. Had a great service and food is just delicious. Higly recommanded

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mammoth Chart House

Dined on February 21, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Mammoth Lakes. You NEED a reservation on winter weekends and holidays. Love their meats, fish, and big backed potatoes! It is easy to have an expectation here-it is always good!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was sloooooooow.....food was ok

Dined on February 20, 2016

Took over an hour to get our meals, for a group of 9

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

bad organisation concerning reservation management

Dined on February 18, 2016

We made a reservation through open table 24hours before dining there. when we arrived we had to wait about 40 minutes for our table! As if we had no réservation. We asked for a table near a window and they tried to sit us in the middle of the restaurant with a poor environment. We discovered that the room where we wanted to be was quite empty with many tables free of people. The reason why they didn't want to place us there was that the waiter had too many people to look after...

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding

Dined on February 16, 2016

The Chart House has become one of our favorite places in Mammoth. They have high quality service, with an attentive onsite manager and table servers who are personable, knowledgeable and polite. We are always impressed with the quality of the people they hire. The food in our estimation is hard to beat--we are especially excited about the spinach salad (though they also have a good salad bar), the fish dishes (including the seafood grill) are all excellent (both the standard items on the menu and the simpler daily fish specials), the prime rib is terrific, and the accompanying sides add to the overall quality. I noted that the bar scene is vibrant, but this is really mainly prior to the normal evening mealtimes. Again the cocktails are well done and the wine list is at least adequate. The ambiance of the restaurant is really nice. Even though it is no longer new, it is obviously well maintained and has a great high open beam ceiling. Finally, we have been there several times with children in tow. They are very accommodating, treat the kids well, have a nice menu for kids etc. It is unusual, but I can hardly think of anything to complain about, except that the one night we were there recently (after a Holiday weekend) they had run out of a few items--macaroni and cheese for the kids and the lobster bisque for adults.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Good, but not great, terrible table

Dined on February 16, 2016

The food was great, but we were sat next to a large group with kids that were singing and chanting throughout most of dinner. I should have asked to be moved, but I didn't want to make a scene and I was hoping the parents would control their kids. Nope. There were several other tables not near this group, so why did they seat us next to them??? Spent over $300 for a table of 4. Not worth it...

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service2

They were out of everything I wanted, in ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

They were out of everything I wanted, including TP in the ladies room. My husband left his favorite winter hat behind. We were the last people at that table. And yet his hat didn't make it into lost and found. Needless to say, never going back.

food3
ambience3
service3

Service was slow, food was over cooked. ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was slow, food was over cooked. However , The clam chowder was very good, Probably won't eat their again. Should have eaten at the white bark in the Westin.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience!!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and I highly recommend the green beans!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in town

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Best restaurant in town

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought I should eat healthy and eat fish

Dined on February 13, 2016

The yellowtail ahi tuna had too much connective tissue but it was okay otherwise.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was great as always. However, we wa ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Food was great as always. However, we waited over an hour for our reservation. The restaurant was understaffed for a Saturday night. The bar was understaffed as well. Very disappointing for the Chart House.

food5
ambience4
service2

We are from Truckee, CA we celebrated my ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

We are from Truckee, CA we celebrated my Birthday here last year and it was GREAT! This year not so much. When making reservations we said its my Birthday the host greeted me and acknowledged my Birthday our waitress never did. She placed the wrong order for me then charged me extra when I had it fixed. She didn't tell us where the salad bar was located didn't remember from last year we were seated in a different area. When she bagged our leftovers she placed them in the bag wrong so we had to re bag them or they would of been all over the place. A positive was the hot lava cake desert is the best!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. Even though they ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

The food was excellent. Even though they were very short staffed they made us feel comfortable and apologized for the occasional delays.

food3
ambience3
service2

The lava cake was exceptional

Dined on February 2, 2016

The lava cake was exceptional

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Nice ambiance with great happy hour

Dined on February 1, 2016

Went for the happy hour which was great! We sat by the fire and the ambiance was wonderful. Particularly liked the ahi nachos, fried artichoke, and lettuce wraps. Fish tacos were big but meh and calamari was a bit soggy, too. The three different maitre d's I've met here have been rude - what's up with that?? But waiter was nice. I've eaten dinner here before and the food is decent. But the happy hour was a great deal.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak was cooked perfectly!!! I am d ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

The steak was cooked perfectly!!! I am definitely going here again!😊

food2
ambience2
service4

The food was as average as I've had. As ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

The food was as average as I've had. As a Landry's club member with other great options, this will be the last visit to The Chart House. What a waste of money.

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Overpriced and mediocre

Dined on January 29, 2016

Don't bother with this outdated, overpriced stop. Food very mediocre!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Eat @ Mammoth

Dined on January 28, 2016

Chart House is great for special occasions and on a snowy night. Food and atmosphere can't be beat. Menu could use a few more non-seafood and beef items.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent service!

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Chart House in Mammoth is great. Busy and loud, but some of the best service. Food isn't to die for, it's good. I really like how kind the staff is. Food is overpriced for quality. Cocktails were fantastic!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and cozy restaurant after long ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Delicious and cozy restaurant after long day on the mountain! Fresh fish and fresh gourmet salad bar. Great kids menu! My four year old loved it too! A must when in Mammoth.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding Service

Dined on January 23, 2016

I was at this Chart House twice recently. Both times we had outstanding service. Once, my husband was a little cold so he had his jacket on his shoulders. The manager stopped by and offered complimentary coffee or tea to help warm him up.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Dissapointed Again!!!

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

I have been dining here literally since they opened. Its the Chart House, you expect a good meal and better service. I call to change reservation from 8:00 to 9:00 asked if they would still be serving full menu, (otherwise I would go somewhere else), and sure enough after seating my daughter ordered the prime rib, which of course they were just out of. Salad bar not kept up, server had to make our Caesar, just O.K., waited a bit to long for wine. They sat all the patrons in the lobby area by the fireplace to make it look like the restaurant was full, (which it was not), they had portable heaters by the windows, my wife was cold and it was a bit uncomfortable, and I don't like sitting there anyways. Called to change my reservations for the following night, they just gave me guff, so I didn't even bother. Eat at Nevados if you want a good experience in Mammoth. Get it together Chart House. By the way, the Manager was extremely nice, but oblivious to the situation. Dinner for four/with splits around $400.00

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Please staff up.

Dined on January 13, 2016

Chart House is a must stop for us when we are in Mammoth Lakes. The last few stops the scenario has been the same. Our server was pleasant and considerate. She managed to serve with competence. Considering the apparent staffing shortage, from bar, hostessing to bussing service, the wait staff appeared to be overwhelmed. Lovely building, great wine list, should be a fine dining experience, but instead we just felt hopeful we'd have a pleasant dinner. I would hesitate to try it again. Darn it.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My favorite Mammoth Lakes restaurant

vip
Dined on January 12, 2016

My family had a wonderful dinner at the Chart House. They had a separate gluten free menu which was appreciated. The food was perfect, the service was perfect, the ambiance with the fire place in the middle of the dining area was wonderful. I highly recommend the Chart House.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Celebratory dinner

Dined on January 11, 2016

Family of 5 plus sister celebrating belated birthday for kids (triplets). Reservations made easy the previous night via opentable.com Hostess was courteous and funny; were seated within 5 minutes of arrival. Overheard our hostess raving about our waitress - Terica (Erica with a T) but we found her service was sub-par. She admittedly was a fast talker which only added to our perception she was not personable; did not respond when asked if she was working to ski (at Mammoth). She seemed to be just going thru the motions of being waitress.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best in Mammoth !

Dined on January 10, 2016

A mammoth treasure. Great food. Fantastic Service. And one of the few remaining awesome salad bars (with caviar). Everyone's favorite for an after-ski meal in Mammoth !

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place, good food, menu variety small

Dined on January 10, 2016

Menu used to have broader variety i.e. used to have several different cuts of steak, now only one filet. But otherwise good, relaxing dinner after a hard day on the snow.

Tags: kid-friendly

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.