About Charlie was a sinner.

131 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Charlie was a sinner. is located in beautiful Midtown Village Philadelphia. Charlie specializes in tapas-style small plates, served until 1am daily. In addition, Charlie has a collective list of strong craft cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily: 4pm - 2am


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday & Saturday 4pm - 12am


Happy Hour: Monday - Thursday 4pm - 7pm, Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
13th Street between Sansom and Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 758-5372

Website:
http://charliewasasinner.com/

Executive Chef:
Todd Butler

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Charlie was a sinner., Philadelphia, PA

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Charlie was a sinner. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Vegan (60)
Good Vegetarian Options (47)
Creative Cuisine (37)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Tapas (35)
Good for a Date (34)
Healthy (28)
Romantic (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Happy Hour (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fun (20)
Cozy (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Hot Spot (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Authentic (11)
Casual (11)
Organic (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Spicy (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (4)
Quick Bite (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I miss the seaweed chips! The chick pea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

I miss the seaweed chips! The chick pea ones are good but I would've liked if they were still on the menu. We ordered several items. I forget what exactly they called, but two of the dishes were way too salty, and neither of us could eat them. The rest of the meal was delicious. As always the service was great. I travel from Port Norris NJ to eat here for great Vegan food and I am a loyal customer. Just hope the food is better next time I visit, because this is the first time I ever had a complaint.

Tags: Healthy, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The cocktails were exotic and fabulous! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The cocktails were exotic and fabulous! The food was incredible. Every dish was better than the next!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quick Bite, Vegan, Tapas, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Unbelievable food. Warm, friendly place ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Unbelievable food. Warm, friendly place with attentive service. Amazing drinks. Very accommodating

Tags: Vegan, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a wonderful cozy spot - especial ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is a wonderful cozy spot - especially in the Winter! The food is really good - I'm not vegan just vegetarian and enjoyed everything! My favorite dishes were the squash soup and avecado toast! The Korean tofu was good but a little too much sauce for my liking and a little too spicy! Will definitely return - love the atmosphere and cocktails too!

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate my new job. It was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We went to celebrate my new job. It was a Friday evening, at prime dinner hour, and the room was packed, elbow to elbow. Food and service were amazing - I can still taste the pappardelle! I'm not really big on crowds, so a Monday or Tuesday evening would probably be preferable for me, but the crowd wasn't rowdy or obnoxious. Everyone was very friendly and understanding, and the bar kept everyone pretty lax. Really cute decor and ambience. Loved the whole experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Initially tried to get reservation at Ve ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Initially tried to get reservation at Vedge as I had heard great things but was unable. Wanted to go somewhere to celebrate my newly vegan sisters birthday. Charlie was able to accommodate our large group of 7 fairly last minute and was flexible when half the party was late. Food fat exceeded my expectations and even my super picky meat eating mother was satisfied. Will definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great cocktails, and the food was delici ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great cocktails, and the food was delicious. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

AMAZING!!! Even if you are not a vegan t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

AMAZING!!! Even if you are not a vegan this place is a must try! Great atmosphere and fabulous food!

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunningly good food, great service.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Stunningly good food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I enjoyed my time at Charlie was a sinne ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I enjoyed my time at Charlie was a sinner. Being small plates, it was good to try a number of options together. I really liked the spring rolls and the pasta with meatballs!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great vegan food and very interesting dr ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great vegan food and very interesting drinks. I had a drink made with fennel which was awesome and also had celery juice which was good. Food was great. We had 12 different small plates and enjoyed each. It is a little pricey. We spent $160 for 3 people. Also it is very narrow and was crowded. It was very hot because of the crowd, but still would recommend it. We weren't thrilled with Robert, our server. He was not very friendly and a bit rushed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

LOVE this place. so glad to have such am ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

LOVE this place. so glad to have such amazing vegan options in philly. definitely get the potato croquettes!

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I took my wife here for a date night, we ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I took my wife here for a date night, we are both vegetarian. The food was phenomenal, good service. I would definitely recommend this to any vegetarian or vegan

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am not vegetarian or vegan and loved t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I am not vegetarian or vegan and loved this place so much. Great food and ambiance. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect. Potato croquettes are out of th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Perfect. Potato croquettes are out of this world. All vegan and all excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had five dishes and a cocktail each. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We had five dishes and a cocktail each. We were blown away by two of the dishes but the other three were lacking. The cocktails were out of this world!! Would go back for happy hour in a heart beat but don't think i would pay the price again for a sit down meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was flawless, the food delic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The service was flawless, the food delicious. And no one was more impressed than my 83-year-old mother, who was worried about "what she could eat at a Vegan restaurant".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was reluctant because I'm not Vegan, b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I was reluctant because I'm not Vegan, but the food was OUTSTANDING!

Service was attentive and cocktails were great. Very cozy.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good but with 4 people small plates ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very good but with 4 people small plates were pretty small to share better with couple

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We really enjoyed our meal here. Not all ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal here. Not all the dishes we had were equally good (the Korean tofu was only okay and the potato gnocchi, while tasty, was too salty), but most of the meal was delicious (the eggplant bao was great, the brussels sprouts were quite good, and the pappardelle was very good). Best part of the meal was definitely the cocktails. We had, together, 4 cocktails: black manhattan, vieux mot, new york sour, and women in love and all 4 were excellent.

Also, the couch was comfortable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great all vegetarian that please the mos ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great all vegetarian that please the most particular foodie.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing cider sangria. Every delicious t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Amazing cider sangria. Every delicious tapas dish was presented so tastefully & with time between to enjoy each. Chocolate dessert was to die for!

Great atmosphere & staff.

A little pricey., but biggest drawback is parking nearby. Lot parking cost us $22. It's close to impossible to find street parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, great food, reasonable pric ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great place, great food, reasonable prices, great ambiance, very friendly staff, vegan food, just a great place! I just love this place. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Given the reviews, we had high expectati ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Given the reviews, we had high expectations that we'd find the food at Charlie was a sinner. to be on par with Vedge. We were....disappointed. We tried a variety of the restaurant's small plates, some of which are described below. The Zucchini "Crabcake" sliders were OK once we added salt. The Roasted Butternut Squash Soup was pretty good, though it tasted like it had tomatoes in it. (It didn't.) Other than chocolate, eggplant is my favorite food so I was particularly looking forward to the Caramelized Eggplant Bao Buns. All we could taste was the hoisin sauce that overpowered the dish. We enjoyed the Wide Ribbon Pappardelle and the Charred Brussels Sprouts were OK but the Smoked Cauliflower was disappointing. The food came out so quickly it was hard to keep up and therefore some of the food had cooled by the time we got to it. The Chocolate Pot de Creme was tasty though the tiny cookie it was served with was either too bitter or burnt. Though the server was knowledgeable and the manager was accommodating, they just couldn't make up for the menu/kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Really good food. Quiet and comfortable. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Really good food. Quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed our dinner after going to the Lantern Theatre, nearby. All vegan, so no wories about the food and questions to the chef. Everything we had was delicious. We are grateful that the dining room was not decorated for the holidays.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited 20 minutes after reservation time ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Waited 20 minutes after reservation time to be seated (what's the point then?). Waited another 20 minutes to get water and a waiter. Ordered drinks. 10 minutes later waiter checked in and we ordered dessert and got it 5 minutes later. Took another 5 minutes to get our drinks, as in about an hour after we first arrived. Will go anywhere next time instead of here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

A fun, lively spot for vegetarian/vegan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A fun, lively spot for vegetarian/vegan tapas style. Creative menu! Great cocktails. Excellent service.

Tags: Spicy, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place looks small from outside, but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This place looks small from outside, but is a fantastic Philly gem. The ambiance was incredible, with cool interior designing and the food was even better. All vegan, but between the cocktail list and the yummy food menu, there is something for everyone. Would highly recomend and will definitely go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Spicy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent cocktails. A littl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food, excellent cocktails. A little too loud for my tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Food was subpar, cocktails were great.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was subpar, cocktails were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great food and venue, but having been my ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great food and venue, but having been my second time, I expected the same level of service which fell short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My daughter is lactose intolerant and it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 28, 2016

My daughter is lactose intolerant and it is hard to find restaurants that have a good choice of food for her. With the vegan restaurant she could eat everything!!! Even dessert and that is extremely rare. We all liked the food and the "Tapas style" of sharing so you can even taste more. Everything was so delicious although we were not so happy with the main dishes. The cocktails were very yummy and the service was amazing! Very friendly and attentive. I highly recommend this restaurant even if you are not a vegan or have any allergies!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious but we especial ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything was delicious but we especially enjoyed the eggplant bao buns. Would not recommend the Meyer lemon dessert; if you're not vegan, go out for ice cream or a buttery dessert after. They recommend 3-4 plates per person; we were three people and got 5 plates plus a dessert and 3 mocktails. We thought portions were generous (for small plates) and felt like we had eaten enough, but woke up starving at 1 am so maybe not. With tip it came out to a bit over $100 so it adds up quickly. However, it's absolutely delicious so I think it's totally worth it every so often.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent. Among my favorite rest ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always excellent. Among my favorite restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time my boyfriend and I come to Ph ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Every time my boyfriend and I come to Philly we always make it a point to go to Charlie's. It our second time going. We had reservations for a later time, however my bf and I wanted to eat earlier. The hostess was very accommodating and sat us down an hour before our reserved time. Major points on that.

The food was excellent. My favorite dish was the pappardelle and the artichoke frites and my boyfriend enjoyed the Korean BBQ tofu. The drinks were also on point, for my bf being a non drinker he enjoyed the "days like this" and I had the "la fame de far" (sp).

We will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal and service on a Saturday ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent meal and service on a Saturday night. Who knew how creative and tasty vegetarian/vegan meals could be?

Pros - 1.) Lots to choose from 2.) Outstanding waitress and hostess 3) Surprise dessert for the birthday person in our party. 3) Really good food.

Cons - 1) Wine was expensive , but good; certainly overpriced at $12.00/glass 2) table seating is very close. We were seated next to friendly people who didn't talk too loud . 3.) Food is brought to the table as soon as it is ready . This could be a problem If you are ordering several small plates; your appetizer could come out last.

I would return and recommend "Charlie" to others.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Organic, Vegan, Tapas, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I went to celebrate our 4 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My husband and I went to celebrate our 40th birthday! The food was fabulous, spicy and very tasty.

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. My husband and I really enjo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food. My husband and I really enjoyed the food and the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Potato croquettes and avocado toast are ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Potato croquettes and avocado toast are a must!

Loud but you can still have a convo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Small plates but very fillin ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food. Small plates but very filling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.