About Charlie was a sinner.

131 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Charlie was a sinner. is located in beautiful Midtown Village Philadelphia. Charlie specializes in tapas-style small plates, served until 1am daily. In addition, Charlie has a collective list of strong craft cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily: 4pm - 2am


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday & Saturday 4pm - 12am


Happy Hour: Monday - Thursday 4pm - 7pm, Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
13th Street between Sansom and Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 758-5372

Website:
http://charliewasasinner.com/

Executive Chef:
Todd Butler

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Charlie was a sinner., Philadelphia, PA
Charlie was a sinner., Philadelphia, PA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Charlie was a sinner. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Vegan (44)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good Vegetarian Options (35)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Tapas (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Healthy (25)
Special Occasion (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Romantic (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Fun (16)
Cozy (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Casual (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Organic (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Authentic (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Spicy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Given the reviews, we had high expectati ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Given the reviews, we had high expectations that we'd find the food at Charlie was a sinner. to be on par with Vedge. We were....disappointed. We tried a variety of the restaurant's small plates, some of which are described below. The Zucchini "Crabcake" sliders were OK once we added salt. The Roasted Butternut Squash Soup was pretty good, though it tasted like it had tomatoes in it. (It didn't.) Other than chocolate, eggplant is my favorite food so I was particularly looking forward to the Caramelized Eggplant Bao Buns. All we could taste was the hoisin sauce that overpowered the dish. We enjoyed the Wide Ribbon Pappardelle and the Charred Brussels Sprouts were OK but the Smoked Cauliflower was disappointing. The food came out so quickly it was hard to keep up and therefore some of the food had cooled by the time we got to it. The Chocolate Pot de Creme was tasty though the tiny cookie it was served with was either too bitter or burnt. Though the server was knowledgeable and the manager was accommodating, they just couldn't make up for the menu/kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Really good food. Quiet and comfortable. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Really good food. Quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed our dinner after going to the Lantern Theatre, nearby. All vegan, so no wories about the food and questions to the chef. Everything we had was delicious. We are grateful that the dining room was not decorated for the holidays.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited 20 minutes after reservation time ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Waited 20 minutes after reservation time to be seated (what's the point then?). Waited another 20 minutes to get water and a waiter. Ordered drinks. 10 minutes later waiter checked in and we ordered dessert and got it 5 minutes later. Took another 5 minutes to get our drinks, as in about an hour after we first arrived. Will go anywhere next time instead of here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

A fun, lively spot for vegetarian/vegan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

A fun, lively spot for vegetarian/vegan tapas style. Creative menu! Great cocktails. Excellent service.

Tags: Spicy, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place looks small from outside, but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

This place looks small from outside, but is a fantastic Philly gem. The ambiance was incredible, with cool interior designing and the food was even better. All vegan, but between the cocktail list and the yummy food menu, there is something for everyone. Would highly recomend and will definitely go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Spicy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent cocktails. A littl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, excellent cocktails. A little too loud for my tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Food was subpar, cocktails were great.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was subpar, cocktails were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great food and venue, but having been my ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great food and venue, but having been my second time, I expected the same level of service which fell short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My daughter is lactose intolerant and it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 28, 2016

My daughter is lactose intolerant and it is hard to find restaurants that have a good choice of food for her. With the vegan restaurant she could eat everything!!! Even dessert and that is extremely rare. We all liked the food and the "Tapas style" of sharing so you can even taste more. Everything was so delicious although we were not so happy with the main dishes. The cocktails were very yummy and the service was amazing! Very friendly and attentive. I highly recommend this restaurant even if you are not a vegan or have any allergies!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious but we especial ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything was delicious but we especially enjoyed the eggplant bao buns. Would not recommend the Meyer lemon dessert; if you're not vegan, go out for ice cream or a buttery dessert after. They recommend 3-4 plates per person; we were three people and got 5 plates plus a dessert and 3 mocktails. We thought portions were generous (for small plates) and felt like we had eaten enough, but woke up starving at 1 am so maybe not. With tip it came out to a bit over $100 so it adds up quickly. However, it's absolutely delicious so I think it's totally worth it every so often.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent. Among my favorite rest ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always excellent. Among my favorite restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time my boyfriend and I come to Ph ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Every time my boyfriend and I come to Philly we always make it a point to go to Charlie's. It our second time going. We had reservations for a later time, however my bf and I wanted to eat earlier. The hostess was very accommodating and sat us down an hour before our reserved time. Major points on that.

The food was excellent. My favorite dish was the pappardelle and the artichoke frites and my boyfriend enjoyed the Korean BBQ tofu. The drinks were also on point, for my bf being a non drinker he enjoyed the "days like this" and I had the "la fame de far" (sp).

We will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal and service on a Saturday ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent meal and service on a Saturday night. Who knew how creative and tasty vegetarian/vegan meals could be?

Pros - 1.) Lots to choose from 2.) Outstanding waitress and hostess 3) Surprise dessert for the birthday person in our party. 3) Really good food.

Cons - 1) Wine was expensive , but good; certainly overpriced at $12.00/glass 2) table seating is very close. We were seated next to friendly people who didn't talk too loud . 3.) Food is brought to the table as soon as it is ready . This could be a problem If you are ordering several small plates; your appetizer could come out last.

I would return and recommend "Charlie" to others.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Organic, Vegan, Tapas, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I went to celebrate our 4 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My husband and I went to celebrate our 40th birthday! The food was fabulous, spicy and very tasty.

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. My husband and I really enjo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food. My husband and I really enjoyed the food and the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Potato croquettes and avocado toast are ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Potato croquettes and avocado toast are a must!

Loud but you can still have a convo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Small plates but very fillin ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food. Small plates but very filling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A fun experience. It was packed and pret ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A fun experience. It was packed and pretty lively. We went for after dinner drinks and snacks. The apple cider sangria was delicious, as was the chocolate dessert we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent culinary experience with a hip ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent culinary experience with a hip twist. Preparation and taste were outstanding, price was reasonable for the area and genre. Highly recommend for vegetarians looking for imaginative dishes with exquisite taste.

Tags: Spicy, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. They happily ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, great service. They happily obliged my Mom's birthday and gave her candles and a free dessert. Glad it's kosher too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food and great drinks! Love th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very good food and great drinks! Love the 1920s feel. Recommended for anniversaries and small birthday gatherings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, a really interesting, enterta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As always, a really interesting, entertaining experience, fun to share with out-of-town friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I loved everything about it. The fact th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I loved everything about it. The fact that it was quiet enough to have a conversation easily, the food was delicious without leaving me heavy afterwards. Being italian, it's hard to find a place here where pasta is made and cooked according to my standards; well, they definitely did it right! Their cocktails/mocktails are so good, and service is impeccable. The lights were very, very dim but I don't know if that's just how it is in general, or if it was a Halloween-mood light setting. Either way, it was definitely enjoyable, I'm looking forward to trying more out of their menu, and I highly recommend it to anyone who'd like a quiet, delicious (vegan) dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great selection of cocktails, nice place ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great selection of cocktails, nice place to meet friends for apps and drinks. The service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Intamit and yummy! And before I show it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Intamit and yummy! And before I show it within walking distance everything was friendly a little cramped but nothing that was super uncomfortable would definitely recommend to others

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Among the best 3 vegan restaurants in Ph ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Among the best 3 vegan restaurants in Philadelphia

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Vegan dining at its finest. This was our ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Vegan dining at its finest. This was our second visit to Charlie was a Sinner (we were told the first time not to ask about Charlie). The atmosphere was great, cocktail selection is unique and delicious. The food is outstanding, so many different flavors, tastes and textures that it is really difficult to believe it all is vegan. It's beautifully presented and the tapas style dining allows for lots of tasting. It was truly a sparkly night with our out of town guests.

Tags: Fun, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! We had no idea it was a vegan ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Excellent! We had no idea it was a vegan restaurant... we almost walked out... all 6 of us! The host genuinely assured us that we would NOT be disappointed.... he was 100% on his word! We were all sooo pleasantly surprised! Excellent tapas! Amazing! Wonderful service and beautiful ambiance. Cozy atmosphere. Highly recommend: zucchini sliders, grilled Caesar salad, spring rolls; Korean bao buns; shepherds pie, Brussel sprouts yum!! Paella, beet salad...etc! Awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charlie's is always a fantastic dining e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Charlie's is always a fantastic dining experience. Evenings (especially Fridays and Saturdays) can be particularly loud, but the food is always fantastic. The larger group you have, the better, as it gives you more opportunities to try all of the different dishes (I've yet to be disappointed by one).

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointing return visit. Service was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Disappointing return visit. Service was incredibly slow. Several dishes were very good but the mushroom risotto was a fail. While the taste was good it only had one mushroom one cherry tomato and one small piece of asparagus. We will probably give them another try as previous visits were incredible. Hoping this was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The service was just right, the food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The service was just right, the food was delicious and innovative, the cocktail and dessert combination was a home-run.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here for my birthday with my husb ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I came here for my birthday with my husband and had such an amazing meal! They recommend 3-4 plates per person, but my husband and I split 5 plates and we were stuffed, so the plates are at least a little bigger than they suggest. We also had some amazing innovative cocktails! I asked for a recommendation for mine, and the server suggested a perfect cocktail for me, based on my tastes. I would love to go back again soon. Really amazing food & drinks!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good place for drinks and snacks. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Very good place for drinks and snacks. They had an interesting cocktail selection and the food was innovative and yummy!!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the tapas style plates. The on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We loved the tapas style plates. The only item weweren't too crazy about was the wild mushroom risotto. Would have preferred a creamy dish. Overall, it was amazing.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was upbeat ...very cool v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The atmosphere was upbeat ...very cool vibe. Next time I would go for drinks and appetizers rather than thinking of it as a "dinner" place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This is mediocre vegan food that you can ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2016

This is mediocre vegan food that you can make better at home. We only stayed for 4 dishes (30 minutes) and then left to go to Vedge where the food is outstanding and creative. Charlie was a sinner lacked creativity and taste. The artichoke frites barely tasted like artichoke. I wouldn't waste your money, make a Vedge reservation instead. It's also extremely loud and you basically sit on your neighbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Nice spot for adventuresome vegan food t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Nice spot for adventuresome vegan food that is incredibly tasty and delicious. Great cocktails. Had a very nice dinner.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Care has been put into the plants used t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Care has been put into the plants used to make the food here. The flavor and texture are very nice.. Avocado toast is great. Smoked cauliflower is good. If you like pickled vegetables those are there. Chips and onion dip were quite tasty. Beet salad nice and different so not to be a bore. Great place to go.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Vegan, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent vegetarian small plates fit fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Excellent vegetarian small plates fit for sharing. Great drinks. Best Pimm's Cup going.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Vegan, Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative cocktails in a candlelit, cozy ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Creative cocktails in a candlelit, cozy place with amazing vegan tapas food! Definitely recommend for a night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.