About Charlie was a sinner.

131 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Charlie was a sinner. is located at 131 South 13th street in beautiful Midtown Village Philadelphia. Owner, Nicole Marquis, showcase a 100% plant based menu that specializes in tapas style small plates. In addition to the tapas food menu is a collective list of strong craft cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily: 4pm - 2am


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday & Saturday 4pm - 12am


Happy Hour: Monday - Thursday 4pm - 7pm, Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
13th Street between Sansom and Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 758-5372

Website:
http://charliewasasinner.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Santoro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Charlie was a sinner.
Charlie was a sinner.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Charlie was a sinner. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

Fit for Foodies (81)
Special Occasion (51)
Hot Spot (46)
See All
Romantic (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Late-night Find (24)
Vegan (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Tapas (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Healthy (10)
Bar Seating (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fun (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Cozy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Organic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
People Watching (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Brought my carnivore husband for a dinne ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Brought my carnivore husband for a dinner date. He was totally overwhelmed by the menu and food preparation and can't wait to go back. We ordered the suggested three plates per person and were very full but still split a dessert which was also delicious.

I recommend this restaurant to everyone, it's not just for vegetarians!

Tags: Vegan, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good and the service was gr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was good and the service was great. The drinks were great, we sampled the punch. Definitely order the croquettes, they are so delicious. We had the spring rolls, the bao buns, the agnoletti, the gnocci, the asparagus and the cauliflower. For dessert, the sorbet was great as was the pot of chocolate. The empanada was good too, but the fried ice cream had mostly dough, but it was tasty. All in all everything was very good, it was just a little expensive. The restaurant is pretty lively, so it's hard to have conversation, but definitely a fun place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Charming location---beautifully appointe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Charming location---beautifully appointed...oasis in a hip neighborhood. Building has history and our waiter knowledgeable. Clever menu but exact dishes not memorable. Drinks sounded like so much fun... but dangerous! To go again, I'd stick to one drink and one appetizer and good company.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great tasty creative food and cocktails. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great tasty creative food and cocktails. My only complaint was that I was didn't have enough people to share food with and couldn't order more food because I wanted to sample more dishes. Excellent service: very efficient and speedy at first, and very respectful when I asked for a pause.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was thrilled to find a vegan themed re ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I was thrilled to find a vegan themed restaurant and the ambiance is fun. The food presentation was very good although the tastes/textures were mediocre. I hoped for better food especially since I wanted to impress my non-vegan friends.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant was a very pleasant surp ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This restaurant was a very pleasant surprise. The cocktails were creative and wonderful. Even the basic martini I ordered was excellent. The small plates, although small, were all good and three each was enough for a satisfying dinner. Our server provided exactly the right amount of attention to our table and she was personable and helpful. This is fun attractive restaurant. In my opinion it's just as good as Vedge and an easier

reservation.

Tags: Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place... I've been here abou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I love this place... I've been here about 7 times and the food is consistently amazing. I'm a strict vegan but my boyfriend is not and this is the second time we've gone here together and he likes it as well. The freshly made drinks are not to be missed either.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Happy Hour, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Tapas, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for my boyfriend's birthday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We went here for my boyfriend's birthday. It was wonderful (especially the food) but the outdoor seating is a little bit lacking. Just very busy and on a narrow sidewalk. Still, I'm glad they have outdoor seating so we could bring our dog! Overall a great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Cozy, Healthy, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very tasty food, nice wine and liquor se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very tasty food, nice wine and liquor selection, and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This was my second time at Charlie Was A ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was my second time at Charlie Was A Sinner and it was even better than I remembered. Amazing food! I would highly recommend the zucchini crab cakes and the eggplant hoisin buns.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our anniversary. Fantastic fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary. Fantastic food. Dessert was not the best, but cocktails and all other food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Friendly, attentive staf ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very good food. Friendly, attentive staff. Chic and comfortable decor. A bit loud. Fun drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service were awesome!! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food and the service were awesome!! It was our first time eating here. We loved the food. It was our anniversary and the service was great!! Thank you for a wonderful evening!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our first visit to Charlie Was a Sinner ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our first visit to Charlie Was a Sinner and it definitely won't be our last! The staff was very friendly and the food was phenomenal. It's always nice to find a vegan bar & restaurant that serves a variety, not just ordinary dishes with the meat left off.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion, Tapas, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fabulous and inventive. It ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was fabulous and inventive. It's a young, hip crowd and fairly noisy but definitely something different. Great service. Creative cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Even and meat lover could enjoy this veg ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Even and meat lover could enjoy this vegan location. City on fire was an amazing Johnnie Walker drink too.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Who would have thought Vegan could taste ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Who would have thought Vegan could taste so good? The staff is freindly and extremely knowledgible. The food is incredible. Charlie was a Sinner also has Cocktails & Mocktails (non alcoholic) that are quite enjoyable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have been multiple times. We took fri ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have been multiple times. We took friends from out of state and it did not disappoint. Great food, Great cocktails, Great Service. I highly recommend it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was pretty good but does not ri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was pretty good but does not rival the best vegan restaurant in town. The one exception was the lemon dessert—the cake was obviously stale and it was served alongside a kind-of-bitter, thick berry jam. Since this was a birthday celebration there was special focus on this course and it was a big failure. We liked CWAS but it will not be in the running for future "special occasion" dining.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved them"crab cakes", asparagus, and b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved them"crab cakes", asparagus, and bbq tofu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

went with 5 friends. we had a lovely tim ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

went with 5 friends. we had a lovely time. each of us ordered 2 items and shred everything. drinks were AMAZING. was a busy, loud place, had to wait 10 minutes for our table but we didn't mind! i recommend this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I really enjoyed the creat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My friend and I really enjoyed the creative, plant based menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious. If you are a kosher ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was delicious. If you are a kosher consumer, this is a real treat for the Philadelphia Kosher food scene.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I did not miss meat!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I did not miss meat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite spots in Philly. Thi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

One of my favorite spots in Philly. This is my go-to place for when out-of-town friends come to visit! The potato croquettes are insane.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous all vegan food and service! W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fabulous all vegan food and service! We really enjoyed our meal and ambience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

First time here. I don't love the seatin ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

First time here. I don't love the seating arrangement. It's very intimate, but it ended up not being a big deal. The food was very good. Loved the croquettes and the seweed chips with onion dip. We had some mocktails which were outstandings. Service was solid.

The pot de creme for dessert was really light and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Over the top and amazing. I can't write ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Over the top and amazing. I can't write enough good comments about this place. Awesome vegan resteraunt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fod was good, not great. Moroccan spinac ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fod was good, not great. Moroccan spinach dish just plain unattractive. Asparagus probably the best dish we sampled (out of 5). Some of the cocktails were very good, others just average (too sweet/no balance of flavors). Service was really the weak link. Server seemed annoyed by us, rushed us through dining, announced the kitchen was closing for "savory" items at 10:47PM, then never offered coffee or dessert, when the sign outside clearly states kitchen is open until 1AM. We left and had dessert next door.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Culinary perfection that just 'happens' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Culinary perfection that just 'happens' to be vegan. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant deserves top ratings - i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This restaurant deserves top ratings - in every category. Cute trendy atmosphere- super friendly staff- amazing food- amazing cocktails. I do not have even the slightest negative thing to say. Our waiter, although busy, was attentive and took his time explaining the drink menu alonG with the food menu. Each dish we tried was creative, beautifully presented and tasted amazing. You must visit this amazing restaurant!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, and atmosphere. We ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere. We were "Two Steps Past Heaven" when we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The plant based menu is fantastic, and I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The plant based menu is fantastic, and I am not a vegetarian nor vegan. If I could have this food prepared for me on the daily I could easily convert. The tapas/small plate style is perfect since you want to try them all. You will not go wrong with anything on the menu...and the drinks OMG!!!! Our server Jonathan was fantastic and personable without being over bearing...perfect evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mathis is the best bartender I've met in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Mathis is the best bartender I've met in quite some time. The vegan drink menu is fantastic, complex, and intriguing. The food is exceptional as is the service. The decor is mildly dark and romantic, making it perfect for dates or quiet conversation. There is nothing here not to like. I highly recommend when in Philly or anywhere nearby,vegan or not!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks at Charlie was a Sin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food and drinks at Charlie was a Sinner were excellent and reasonably priced for gourmet bites and handmade cocktails. Dishes are based on 'traditional' and 'recognizable' foods (e.g., zucchini crab cake, and gnocchi). However, they are all plant based and tasty. The restaurant is narrow with booths and chairs flanking rows of tables. The server and bartender were knowledgeable and helpful. When we return to Philadelphia, we will return to Charlie was a Sinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service. Speakeasy bar sc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and service. Speakeasy bar scene really set the mood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great experience! Great food! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Overall a great experience! Great food! It was a bit cold in the back right where the AC unit was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The bartender was amazing and the drinks ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The bartender was amazing and the drinks were creative! We ordered a few dishes and they were so tasty my sister isn't realize they were vegetarian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal. We're not vegetarians, b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Fantastic meal. We're not vegetarians, but you don't miss the meat. We'd highly recommend this to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great vegan food. Out of 6 meals we trie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great vegan food. Out of 6 meals we tried, 5 were excellent and 1 sucked. Which is a pretty good ratio. Service however wasn't the greatest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.