About Charlie was a sinner.

131 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Charlie was a sinner. is located at 131 South 13th street in beautiful Midtown Village Philadelphia. Owner, Nicole Marquis, showcase a 100% plant based menu that specializes in tapas style small plates. In addition to the tapas food menu is a collective list of strong craft cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily: 4pm - 2am


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday & Saturday 4pm - 12am


Happy Hour: Monday - Thursday 4pm - 7pm, Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
13th Street between Sansom and Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 758-5372

Website:
http://charliewasasinner.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Santoro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Charlie was a sinner. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Hot Spot
Philadelphia
Vibrant Bar Scene
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

fit for foodies (110)
hot spot (69)
special occasion (67)
See All
vibrant bar scene (64)
romantic (62)
neighborhood gem (50)
late-night find (34)
good for groups (18)
notable wine list (12)
scenic view (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Bill $150 for 4 people; we all left hung ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Bill $150 for 4 people; we all left hungry. Food was very good, small portions just not filling. Alcoholic punch drink was average; generic glass of wine $14. If your are a dedicated vegan, might be your thing.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was excellent, however, super small ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was excellent, however, super small portions for the price. Its a "small plates" type of thing which seemed matched to price except for the "Compositions" plates which led you to expect more of a meal with their price/description. The drinks were AWESOME, but it took forever for us to get our first round. We ordered our drinks first, then an appetizer and our entrees. We did not get our drinks until after the entrees were served. Ambiance was good - really crowded but that's to be expected on a Saturday in center city, overall good vibe, yummy food, awesome drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was nice to be able to eat everything on ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Was nice to be able to eat everything on this menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was just ok.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Server wasn't as attentive as we would have liked. Took a while to get our order taken. Table needed to be adjusted after we were seated to make it level. Manage as very polite and helpful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it Excellent food. Superb service!

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was so great! You would never know it was 100% plant based! Wish I could afford to eat here all the time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another vegan winner in Philly

Dined on May 7, 2016

Small in size but large in taste. Small plate style that can get a bit pricey but the food is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my third time and going back again!

Dined on May 4, 2016

This was my third time and going back again. Great food first, wonderful service. Drink selection is excellent. I like the atmosphere, but if you want to talk seriously, quietly, not the place for you. A vibrant, up, wonderful atmosphere and a great name.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was excellent and there were som ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was excellent and there were some great Vegan options. Cocktail options were delish!

food5
ambience5
service5

All of the dishes we tried were over the ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

All of the dishes we tried were over the top! The waitstaff were super friendly and very professional. Would go back!

food4
ambience5
service4

One of ny favorite places in midtown. Go ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

One of ny favorite places in midtown. Good cocktails and food. Service is also good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Vegetarian heaven

Dined on April 30, 2016

The meal was so good from beginning to end. So much to choose from. Everything was full of flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic food

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Avocado toast and smoked cauliflower were fantastic. It was crowded so reservations are strongly recommended. The server was fine- a little slow at times to attend to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great drinks, ok food, high price

Dined on April 28, 2016

This is a great place for cocktails, with a great atmosphere. However the food is only OK, and the prices are high.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Good but not worth another trip

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Met friends for dinner here a few nights ago. The food is good but the portions are very, very small. As in absurdly small. And since they don't have very much protein in them, you're left feeling hungry after spending a fair amount of $$ on dinner. It's worth a trip just to check it out, but not a return trip.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service4

Food was for the most part very salty an ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was for the most part very salty and not particularly tasty. Had the seaweed chips, zucchini sliders, cauliflower, "sausage", and potato carpaccio. Service was very nice and friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

perfect for an intimate, elegant vegan celebration

Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent cocktails complemented the creative vegan fare and made this spot perfect for an intimate, elegant celebration of a vegetarian birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Still want to know WHY Charlie is a Sinner.....

Dined on April 23, 2016

I took my vegetarian wife here for her 40th birthday. When we arrived our table was ready for us and we were immediately lead back to it. The server was with us within 2-3 minutes of us sitting down. All in all service was excellent throughout dinner. The food was excellent and I actually had a hard time remebering it was all Vegan. Yes....the dinner was a little pricey for what we had but the food and the experience was awesome. The only negative comment that I would make is that it is very loud in the restaurant so maybe not best for a romantic first date. Other than that - it's a must try.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Service

Dined on April 23, 2016

The staff was very attentive to our table as we kept ordering throughout the night. We tried new items, the waitress suggested items for us to try, and we were never kept waiting. And we originally had a reservation for 4 and they were able to squeeze a 5th in at the last minute, and it worked out perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing plant-based fine dining

Dined on April 23, 2016

My friend and I could not stop raving about this place and all the dishes we ordered. I think even those who don't follow a plant-based diet would like it. From the chickpea spaghetti to the seaweed chips, everything was just delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is for everyone!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Excellent food. Vegan restaurant that does NOT serve boring disgusting veggie plates. This is a must do for vegans and carnivores alike

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Total surprise!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Had an awesome dinner the other night w/the Boo. All plant based foods (and drinks too!) Shared plates which is good when you're undecided. Our server was extremely attentive. (sorry I don't remember her name) We had the potato croquettes and heirloom beet salad. Yum! The avocado toast was a winner but I could easily replicate at home.The Charlie's Punch was the go to libation for this particular evening. All in all a 4 out of 5 evening Will def be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Love the ambience & cocktails

Dined on April 17, 2016

My friends and I loved the ambience & cocktails. Staff attentiveness and expertise in their food and wine offerings was again outstanding. The dishes we got were more hit and miss than previous visit - not sure if it was just an off night or if some dishes are just better than others. Overall, recommend checking this spot out, especially if you are vegan or vegetarian. The chickpea pasta and carrot mousse are not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Such an incredible restaurant with great devotion to vegan cuisine! It was so delicious with an incredible ambiance! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3

Food presentations were nice but the tas ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food presentations were nice but the taste was mediocre. The crab cakes were good.

food5
ambience5
service5

I am not a vegetarian, but my daughter i ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

I am not a vegetarian, but my daughter is. Nevertheless, the food was such a flavorful adventure I can't wait to bring my meat eating friends. This is the most fun I've had with food in years.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time and a experience! Happy ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Our first time and a experience! Happy hour offers a nice selection of drinks and snacks. Crab cakes and kale salad were my favorite. We will be coming back often!

food3
ambience3
service4

Food was underwhelming. Drinks were grea ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was underwhelming. Drinks were great last time, but this time very mediocre, which is not acceptable for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5

So good! Definitely will return. Drink ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

So good! Definitely will return. Drink menu was refreshing. Fun to share plates👍👍👍

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Not the best Vegan in Philly

Dined on April 7, 2016

I'm not a vegan, but appreciate the cuisine. Been to Vedge and V Street which both blew my mind and was excited to try this place but the food, except the chestnut ravioli, failed to impress. Service was solid and drinks were good. But overall for the price might as well go to the other two I mentioned.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is great! I always love the g ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Everything is great! I always love the gnocchi.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Upscale Dinner

Dined on April 4, 2016

Delicious food that you can't believe is Vegan. Small plates that allow you to try a lot of things, best shared. Sweet potato dish is a must-not-miss!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Pricey

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

This is a really pretty room with deep turquoise walls and sparkling lights. Our 5th person was a little late so the server would not allow us to begin ordering any food until that person showed up. We probably should have insisted on beginning to order because since we had an event right after dinner, the food (by necessity) had to come out all at once. So while it was really delicious, we were so rushed, that I did not give it the time it deserved. The server did not seem to like us.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Always have a great time and a great mea ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Always have a great time and a great meal here. Love to bring non-vegans who never can quite believe they've just had a full vegan meal.

food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Great food, pricey

Dined on April 1, 2016

Our family (mom, dad, grown daughter) dined here before attending a play at the Academy of Music. The food is inventive - vegan tapas-style - and we all enjoyed the dishes we ordered and shared. The wait staff were knowledgeable and pleasant and the atmosphere was fun and upbeat. The only negative is that it is a little high-priced. If that's not a problem, you'll enjoy this place, especially fit for young couples but fine for everyone, especially if you're willing to try new things. Picky eaters and those who prefer meat-and-potatoes fare will not like it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3

The food is amazing. The wait for the fo ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food is amazing. The wait for the food is very long.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vegetarian / Vegan must eat

Dined on March 26, 2016

This restaurant is wonderful. I would eat here every week if I could afford it. Must try place for all Vegetarian / Vegans in Philly. Also - they have great cocktails and a great vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Vegan Good Fit For Carni's

Dined on March 23, 2016

Since becoming fully vegan 1 year ago, I have "dragged" at least 4 different groups of meat-eating friends to Charlie's and every one left amazing that they could enjoy food so much without a hint of meat or dairy. The kitchen focuses on offering satisfying, well presented and creative dishes that sometimes mimic traditional standbys (bucatini and "meatballs") and other plates that showcase vegetables in all their glory (wild mushrooms in potato timbales) The craft cocktails are intriguing and the service is upbeat and friendly. Love the tofu ricotta and roasted carrot mousse smeared all over delicious grilled bread. And because it's so reasonably priced, this is definitely my go to place when I want to showcase vegan food to people who aren't quite sure they can survive a meal without meat on their plates. Newsflash! You can - and love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed!

Dined on March 19, 2016

We were seated promptly at our reservation time. Server was attentive and informative. Food was creative and delicious! Space was close but not terribly uncomfortable. Decor was beautiful. Would definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Don't go before a show

Dined on March 18, 2016

You will never get out in time. Charlie features "small plates", and they recommend each person order 4. I was full by 3. Some came out quickly, and the last, took forever. We needed to get to the theatre. We ended up taking two plates to go. (gross) They were not good the next day. It's a cool place, and some of the offerings are very good. Some not. It is kind of gross using the same small plate for dish after dish, too. Guess I'm not a fan of the small plate concept. The same way I dislike an entire meal of fondue. The drinks looked very good and the are was hopping.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Creative vegan experience

Dined on March 16, 2016

Creative vegan experience

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.