About Charlie was a sinner.

131 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Charlie was a sinner. is located at 131 South 13th street in beautiful Midtown Village Philadelphia. Owner, Nicole Marquis, showcase a 100% plant based menu that specializes in tapas style small plates. In addition to the tapas food menu is a collective list of strong craft cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily: 4pm - 2am


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday & Saturday 4pm - 12am


Happy Hour: Monday - Thursday 4pm - 7pm, Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
13th Street between Sansom and Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 758-5372

Website:
http://charliewasasinner.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Santoro

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Charlie was a sinner.
Charlie was a sinner.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Charlie was a sinner. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (96)
Special Occasion (61)
Romantic (52)
See All
Hot Spot (50)
Vibrant Bar Scene (44)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Late-night Find (24)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Even and meat lover could enjoy this veg ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Even and meat lover could enjoy this vegan location. City on fire was an amazing Johnnie Walker drink too.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Who would have thought Vegan could taste ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Who would have thought Vegan could taste so good? The staff is freindly and extremely knowledgible. The food is incredible. Charlie was a Sinner also has Cocktails & Mocktails (non alcoholic) that are quite enjoyable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have been multiple times. We took fri ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have been multiple times. We took friends from out of state and it did not disappoint. Great food, Great cocktails, Great Service. I highly recommend it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was pretty good but does not ri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was pretty good but does not rival the best vegan restaurant in town. The one exception was the lemon dessert—the cake was obviously stale and it was served alongside a kind-of-bitter, thick berry jam. Since this was a birthday celebration there was special focus on this course and it was a big failure. We liked CWAS but it will not be in the running for future "special occasion" dining.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved them"crab cakes", asparagus, and b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved them"crab cakes", asparagus, and bbq tofu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

went with 5 friends. we had a lovely tim ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

went with 5 friends. we had a lovely time. each of us ordered 2 items and shred everything. drinks were AMAZING. was a busy, loud place, had to wait 10 minutes for our table but we didn't mind! i recommend this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I really enjoyed the creat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My friend and I really enjoyed the creative, plant based menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious. If you are a kosher ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was delicious. If you are a kosher consumer, this is a real treat for the Philadelphia Kosher food scene.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I did not miss meat!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I did not miss meat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite spots in Philly. Thi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

One of my favorite spots in Philly. This is my go-to place for when out-of-town friends come to visit! The potato croquettes are insane.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous all vegan food and service! W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fabulous all vegan food and service! We really enjoyed our meal and ambience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

First time here. I don't love the seatin ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

First time here. I don't love the seating arrangement. It's very intimate, but it ended up not being a big deal. The food was very good. Loved the croquettes and the seweed chips with onion dip. We had some mocktails which were outstandings. Service was solid.

The pot de creme for dessert was really light and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Over the top and amazing. I can't write ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Over the top and amazing. I can't write enough good comments about this place. Awesome vegan resteraunt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fod was good, not great. Moroccan spinac ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fod was good, not great. Moroccan spinach dish just plain unattractive. Asparagus probably the best dish we sampled (out of 5). Some of the cocktails were very good, others just average (too sweet/no balance of flavors). Service was really the weak link. Server seemed annoyed by us, rushed us through dining, announced the kitchen was closing for "savory" items at 10:47PM, then never offered coffee or dessert, when the sign outside clearly states kitchen is open until 1AM. We left and had dessert next door.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Culinary perfection that just 'happens' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Culinary perfection that just 'happens' to be vegan. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant deserves top ratings - i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This restaurant deserves top ratings - in every category. Cute trendy atmosphere- super friendly staff- amazing food- amazing cocktails. I do not have even the slightest negative thing to say. Our waiter, although busy, was attentive and took his time explaining the drink menu alonG with the food menu. Each dish we tried was creative, beautifully presented and tasted amazing. You must visit this amazing restaurant!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, and atmosphere. We ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere. We were "Two Steps Past Heaven" when we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The plant based menu is fantastic, and I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The plant based menu is fantastic, and I am not a vegetarian nor vegan. If I could have this food prepared for me on the daily I could easily convert. The tapas/small plate style is perfect since you want to try them all. You will not go wrong with anything on the menu...and the drinks OMG!!!! Our server Jonathan was fantastic and personable without being over bearing...perfect evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mathis is the best bartender I've met in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Mathis is the best bartender I've met in quite some time. The vegan drink menu is fantastic, complex, and intriguing. The food is exceptional as is the service. The decor is mildly dark and romantic, making it perfect for dates or quiet conversation. There is nothing here not to like. I highly recommend when in Philly or anywhere nearby,vegan or not!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks at Charlie was a Sin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food and drinks at Charlie was a Sinner were excellent and reasonably priced for gourmet bites and handmade cocktails. Dishes are based on 'traditional' and 'recognizable' foods (e.g., zucchini crab cake, and gnocchi). However, they are all plant based and tasty. The restaurant is narrow with booths and chairs flanking rows of tables. The server and bartender were knowledgeable and helpful. When we return to Philadelphia, we will return to Charlie was a Sinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service. Speakeasy bar sc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and service. Speakeasy bar scene really set the mood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great experience! Great food! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Overall a great experience! Great food! It was a bit cold in the back right where the AC unit was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The bartender was amazing and the drinks ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The bartender was amazing and the drinks were creative! We ordered a few dishes and they were so tasty my sister isn't realize they were vegetarian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal. We're not vegetarians, b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Fantastic meal. We're not vegetarians, but you don't miss the meat. We'd highly recommend this to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great vegan food. Out of 6 meals we trie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great vegan food. Out of 6 meals we tried, 5 were excellent and 1 sucked. Which is a pretty good ratio. Service however wasn't the greatest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Delicious food. Great drinks. We will be ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious food. Great drinks. We will be back. Come with friends and order lots of small dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Creative and delicious vegan dishes. Our ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Creative and delicious vegan dishes. Our server was really helpful with choosing small plates. The potato croquettes are perfect. Such a great restaurant!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Recommended to me by a colleague and loc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Recommended to me by a colleague and local. I was visiting from NYC and took my family there. I am the veg, my parents definitely are not. Even they enjoyed it...I think. I know my wife and I did. Cool little spot, great drinks and food, both of which were creative and interesting. Staff very nice, fun to chat with and very helpful in guiding us through the menu. Space is cozy, some outdoor dining tables, but only a couple. Will definitely go again next time we are in the neighborhood.

Thanks Sinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For those trying to eat vegan, restauran ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

For those trying to eat vegan, restaurants like this are often the oasis in a desert of options. PHL is blessed to have great.vegan options and Charlie is one of the best. Creative, diverse, beautifully executed dishes. Lots of choices. A place you could easily take your carniverous friends without telling them it was vegan and have them rave about the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Amazing dinner and fabulous drinks, can' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Amazing dinner and fabulous drinks, can't wait to return! Everything we ordered (we were 6 so we tried most of the menu) was so flavorful and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was patient and incredibly helpfu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Server was patient and incredibly helpful. The food (all but one dish) was superb! Cocktails delicious and inventive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First rate vegan cooking. Inventive and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

First rate vegan cooking. Inventive and savory. We've been here many times but this recent visit was the best, menu-wise and in the execution.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would really say 3.5 stars. Sexy ambie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I would really say 3.5 stars. Sexy ambience and menu. Food was good, not great. Servers were friendly but very slow.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Fantastic vegetarian tapas style food ! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fantastic vegetarian tapas style food ! Saturday night was packed, so kinda noisy, but energetic .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place! Loved the menu options. The ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great place! Loved the menu options. The dinning area is too crowded. Try removing one table from each row. You can barely get up and move around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Quite disappointed in our dining experie ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Quite disappointed in our dining experience. The positive, cocktails were well prepared & tasty. Pacing was well done. Unfortunately, that is where it ends. The seating is awful. They pack you in like an airplane. All they need to do to improve this is remove one or two tables per row. A guest should not have to suck in their stomach and lean over the table next to them to exit. Not an exaggeration, you are within a foot or so from the table next to you, you hear them and they hear you. This is very obvious and very unprofessional. There is no reason to squeeze guests into tables like this CWAS. It's time to remedy it. The restaurant is very, very loud. It is not romantic and not conducive to conversation. I'm so disappointed in the positive reviews that made us book this restaurant, because they are wrong. If you've been to Vedge, you will be extremely disappointed in CWAS. The food was sub-par. There was nothing unique or special about it. It was very salty and very fried. We ordered the artichoke frites - very fried, not lightly fried which I would have tolerated. More breading than artichoke. We also had the spring rolls, very fried and very unimpressive, not flavorful at all. The zucchini crab cakes were boring, lacking in flavor. I have the same comment on the cauliflower, not inventive at all. Something I would have thrown together at home. There are so many ways to be creative with cauliflower, this was extremely disappointing. I was so looking forward to the tofu, this was not Korean tofu, this was very fried tofu rolled in wing sauce. Again, a total let down. The most promising plate we had was the cucumber gazpacho. Finally some flavors and a very nice blend of freshness, mint and crunch. We paid $90 for our meal and left unsatisfied and hungry. We didn't even want to order more. We agree that we would return for cocktails in the lounge, but that is all. This place has potential but the way the food is prepared needs a complete overhaul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was delicious. We found it hard to ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was delicious. We found it hard to believe that not even dairy was used in the preparation. Loved the beauty of the fresh juices on the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious vegan food but the pace at whi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delicious vegan food but the pace at which the small plates come out of the kitchen could be improved. We ordered a lot of small plates and most of them came out at one time. With the small tables it was very difficult to eat! All in all a great meal but just a little crammed at the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasions, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food and cocktails at Charlie was a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food and cocktails at Charlie was a Sinner are imaginatively designed and beautifully executed. I've been dreaming about the potato croquettes since our dinner there, and can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Third visit - wonderful food each time - ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Third visit - wonderful food each time - we especially enjoyed the seasonal menu additions. House special crafted cocktails are different; mine was spiced with ginger and delicious. We intend to return as often as possible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.