About Charlie was a sinner.

131 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Charlie was a sinner. is located at 131 South 13th street in beautiful Midtown Village Philadelphia. Owner, Nicole Marquis, showcase a 100% plant based menu that specializes in tapas style small plates. In addition to the tapas food menu is a collective list of strong craft cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily: 4pm - 2am


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday & Saturday 4pm - 12am


Happy Hour: Monday - Thursday 4pm - 7pm, Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
13th Street between Sansom and Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 758-5372

Website:
http://charliewasasinner.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Santoro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Charlie was a sinner.
Charlie was a sinner.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Charlie was a sinner. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Hot Spot
Philadelphia
Vibrant Bar Scene
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

fit for foodies (101)
special occasion (58)
hot spot (56)
See All
vibrant bar scene (55)
romantic (47)
neighborhood gem (46)
late-night find (24)
good for groups (22)
notable wine list (9)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious vegan food but the pace at whi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Delicious vegan food but the pace at which the small plates come out of the kitchen could be improved. We ordered a lot of small plates and most of them came out at one time. With the small tables it was very difficult to eat! All in all a great meal but just a little crammed at the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and cocktails at Charlie was a ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food and cocktails at Charlie was a Sinner are imaginatively designed and beautifully executed. I've been dreaming about the potato croquettes since our dinner there, and can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third visit - wonderful food each time - ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Third visit - wonderful food each time - we especially enjoyed the seasonal menu additions. House special crafted cocktails are different; mine was spiced with ginger and delicious. We intend to return as often as possible!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

The food and cocktails were excellent. W ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and cocktails were excellent. We all enjoyed the variety and quality. Service was overall a little slow, but that didn't deter us from an enjoyable evening with friends

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been on my list of p ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This restaurant has been on my list of places to try for a while, and I can't believe I waited so long! The cocktails, food, service, and ambiance were all some of the best I've ever experienced. Vegan or not, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What a delightful surprise! Recommended ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

What a delightful surprise! Recommended by a friend, the small plates were imaginative and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Late night dining for me and my wife. I ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Late night dining for me and my wife. I am a carnivore but the food looked and tasted amazing. The non alcoholic drink was not so great, but maybe it just not my style? It is a very cool place, packed at 10:30 pm for dinner! Cool and trendy, but the service was great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic! The staff was fa ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was fantastic! The staff was fantastic! I can't wait until I can return!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dinner! Drinks were inventive ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Fantastic dinner! Drinks were inventive and delicious. Loved the expat. Vegan, vegetarian and carnivore alike will love the food. Really amazing. If you are ever in Philly, EAT HERE!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE BESTTT VEGAN!!! LOVE IT!

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

The very BEST gourmet vegan!!!! LOVE IT!!! Each dish was more exciting and delicious than the NEXT!… Loved the Vanilla citrus salad! Fantastic! The ricotta toast, is the BEST non-dairy ricotta I have ever had in my LIFE! Better than actual ricotta!! The zucchini crab cakes are better than crab!! Loved the artichoke frites! Loved the blackberry ginger soda! The meyers lemon cake in a warm blackberry/blueberry sauce with hibiscus flavor, was outstanding! … Also enjoyed, fresh lemon lime juice, a potato gnocchi in a smoky sauce, and the chestnut agnolotti. The host was very warm and welcoming and our servers were the BEST! Especially Jonathan! He made the best suggestions for what to order, as it was the first visit to this new restaurant! 5 star! My NEW FAV!!! Thank you!!! Can't wait to go back to try other unique artistic creations on the menu! Also met Chef Darrin! You can tell how much he loves what he does! The food was SO PERFECT! … My friend called it "The Dining Experience"…Not even a vegan, and he is completely sold that vegan is not only better for you, but also, TASTES BETTER, and left him feeling fantastic! Thanks so MUCH for THAT, especially!!! …

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

A bit noisy during happy hour, but once ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

A bit noisy during happy hour, but once the crowd cleared out, it was fine in the back. Food was amazing.

food3
ambience2
service3

Half the items we ordered were very good ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Half the items we ordered were very good:papaya salad, Korean tofu; half were -meh- especially the chestnut agnolotti. The prices are high, the portions are small and the music is way too loud and abrasive. I don't understand the appeal of this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

slow it down a notch

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

I LOVE Charlie Was A Sinner and was really excited to bring my omni mother there - she loved everything! We ordered a bunch of food and it was all delicious, as were the cocktails and wine. The service was fabulous - our server was a sweetheart, the bartender/manager (looks a little like Adam Levine?) was friendly and helpful when we had questions about the wine list, and the kitchen staff and food runners were very efficient... perhaps TOO efficient for our small table :) At one point, while struggling to find a place to put a plate down, one remarked that he would ask the kitchen to slow down because the dishes were coming out back to back with no time for us to eat them. When you go to a place like CWAS, you want to take your time, enjoy your company and the ambience, taste all the wonderful dishes. I've enjoyed everything I've ever eaten or drank there!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Bill $150 for 4 people; we all left hung ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Bill $150 for 4 people; we all left hungry. Food was very good, small portions just not filling. Alcoholic punch drink was average; generic glass of wine $14. If your are a dedicated vegan, might be your thing.

food4
ambience3
service3

Food was excellent and creative - cockta ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was excellent and creative - cocktails quite strong. Service wasn't great, but it was also a busy Saturday night. Very noisy.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was excellent, however, super small ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was excellent, however, super small portions for the price. Its a "small plates" type of thing which seemed matched to price except for the "Compositions" plates which led you to expect more of a meal with their price/description. The drinks were AWESOME, but it took forever for us to get our first round. We ordered our drinks first, then an appetizer and our entrees. We did not get our drinks until after the entrees were served. Ambiance was good - really crowded but that's to be expected on a Saturday in center city, overall good vibe, yummy food, awesome drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was nice to be able to eat everything on ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Was nice to be able to eat everything on this menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was just ok.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Server wasn't as attentive as we would have liked. Took a while to get our order taken. Table needed to be adjusted after we were seated to make it level. Manage as very polite and helpful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it Excellent food. Superb service!

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was so great! You would never know it was 100% plant based! Wish I could afford to eat here all the time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another vegan winner in Philly

Dined on May 7, 2016

Small in size but large in taste. Small plate style that can get a bit pricey but the food is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my third time and going back again!

Dined on May 4, 2016

This was my third time and going back again. Great food first, wonderful service. Drink selection is excellent. I like the atmosphere, but if you want to talk seriously, quietly, not the place for you. A vibrant, up, wonderful atmosphere and a great name.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was excellent and there were som ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was excellent and there were some great Vegan options. Cocktail options were delish!

food5
ambience5
service5

All of the dishes we tried were over the ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

All of the dishes we tried were over the top! The waitstaff were super friendly and very professional. Would go back!

food4
ambience5
service4

One of ny favorite places in midtown. Go ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

One of ny favorite places in midtown. Good cocktails and food. Service is also good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Vegetarian heaven

Dined on April 30, 2016

The meal was so good from beginning to end. So much to choose from. Everything was full of flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic food

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Avocado toast and smoked cauliflower were fantastic. It was crowded so reservations are strongly recommended. The server was fine- a little slow at times to attend to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great drinks, ok food, high price

Dined on April 28, 2016

This is a great place for cocktails, with a great atmosphere. However the food is only OK, and the prices are high.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Good but not worth another trip

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Met friends for dinner here a few nights ago. The food is good but the portions are very, very small. As in absurdly small. And since they don't have very much protein in them, you're left feeling hungry after spending a fair amount of $$ on dinner. It's worth a trip just to check it out, but not a return trip.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service4

Food was for the most part very salty an ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was for the most part very salty and not particularly tasty. Had the seaweed chips, zucchini sliders, cauliflower, "sausage", and potato carpaccio. Service was very nice and friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

perfect for an intimate, elegant vegan celebration

Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent cocktails complemented the creative vegan fare and made this spot perfect for an intimate, elegant celebration of a vegetarian birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Still want to know WHY Charlie is a Sinner.....

Dined on April 23, 2016

I took my vegetarian wife here for her 40th birthday. When we arrived our table was ready for us and we were immediately lead back to it. The server was with us within 2-3 minutes of us sitting down. All in all service was excellent throughout dinner. The food was excellent and I actually had a hard time remebering it was all Vegan. Yes....the dinner was a little pricey for what we had but the food and the experience was awesome. The only negative comment that I would make is that it is very loud in the restaurant so maybe not best for a romantic first date. Other than that - it's a must try.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Service

Dined on April 23, 2016

The staff was very attentive to our table as we kept ordering throughout the night. We tried new items, the waitress suggested items for us to try, and we were never kept waiting. And we originally had a reservation for 4 and they were able to squeeze a 5th in at the last minute, and it worked out perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing plant-based fine dining

Dined on April 23, 2016

My friend and I could not stop raving about this place and all the dishes we ordered. I think even those who don't follow a plant-based diet would like it. From the chickpea spaghetti to the seaweed chips, everything was just delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is for everyone!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Excellent food. Vegan restaurant that does NOT serve boring disgusting veggie plates. This is a must do for vegans and carnivores alike

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Total surprise!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Had an awesome dinner the other night w/the Boo. All plant based foods (and drinks too!) Shared plates which is good when you're undecided. Our server was extremely attentive. (sorry I don't remember her name) We had the potato croquettes and heirloom beet salad. Yum! The avocado toast was a winner but I could easily replicate at home.The Charlie's Punch was the go to libation for this particular evening. All in all a 4 out of 5 evening Will def be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Love the ambience & cocktails

Dined on April 17, 2016

My friends and I loved the ambience & cocktails. Staff attentiveness and expertise in their food and wine offerings was again outstanding. The dishes we got were more hit and miss than previous visit - not sure if it was just an off night or if some dishes are just better than others. Overall, recommend checking this spot out, especially if you are vegan or vegetarian. The chickpea pasta and carrot mousse are not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Such an incredible restaurant with great devotion to vegan cuisine! It was so delicious with an incredible ambiance! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3

Food presentations were nice but the tas ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food presentations were nice but the taste was mediocre. The crab cakes were good.

food5
ambience5
service5

I am not a vegetarian, but my daughter i ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

I am not a vegetarian, but my daughter is. Nevertheless, the food was such a flavorful adventure I can't wait to bring my meat eating friends. This is the most fun I've had with food in years.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time and a experience! Happy ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Our first time and a experience! Happy hour offers a nice selection of drinks and snacks. Crab cakes and kale salad were my favorite. We will be coming back often!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.