About Charlie was a sinner.

131 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Charlie was a sinner. is located at 131 South 13th street in beautiful Midtown Village Philadelphia. Owner, Nicole Marquis, showcase a 100% plant based menu that specializes in tapas style small plates. In addition to the tapas food menu is a collective list of strong craft cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily: 4pm - 2am


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday & Saturday 4pm - 12am


Happy Hour: Monday - Thursday 4pm - 7pm, Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
13th Street between Sansom and Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 758-5372

Website:
http://charliewasasinner.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Santoro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Charlie was a sinner.
Charlie was a sinner.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Charlie was a sinner. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

fit for foodies (101)
special occasion (59)
hot spot (54)
See All
romantic (52)
vibrant bar scene (49)
neighborhood gem (43)
good for groups (21)
late-night find (21)
notable wine list (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for lunch (4)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic meal. We're not vegetarians, b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic meal. We're not vegetarians, but you don't miss the meat. We'd highly recommend this to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great vegan food. Out of 6 meals we trie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great vegan food. Out of 6 meals we tried, 5 were excellent and 1 sucked. Which is a pretty good ratio. Service however wasn't the greatest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Delicious food. Great drinks. We will be ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious food. Great drinks. We will be back. Come with friends and order lots of small dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Creative and delicious vegan dishes. Our ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Creative and delicious vegan dishes. Our server was really helpful with choosing small plates. The potato croquettes are perfect. Such a great restaurant!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Recommended to me by a colleague and loc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Recommended to me by a colleague and local. I was visiting from NYC and took my family there. I am the veg, my parents definitely are not. Even they enjoyed it...I think. I know my wife and I did. Cool little spot, great drinks and food, both of which were creative and interesting. Staff very nice, fun to chat with and very helpful in guiding us through the menu. Space is cozy, some outdoor dining tables, but only a couple. Will definitely go again next time we are in the neighborhood.

Thanks Sinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For those trying to eat vegan, restauran ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

For those trying to eat vegan, restaurants like this are often the oasis in a desert of options. PHL is blessed to have great.vegan options and Charlie is one of the best. Creative, diverse, beautifully executed dishes. Lots of choices. A place you could easily take your carniverous friends without telling them it was vegan and have them rave about the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Amazing dinner and fabulous drinks, can' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Amazing dinner and fabulous drinks, can't wait to return! Everything we ordered (we were 6 so we tried most of the menu) was so flavorful and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was patient and incredibly helpfu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Server was patient and incredibly helpful. The food (all but one dish) was superb! Cocktails delicious and inventive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First rate vegan cooking. Inventive and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

First rate vegan cooking. Inventive and savory. We've been here many times but this recent visit was the best, menu-wise and in the execution.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would really say 3.5 stars. Sexy ambie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I would really say 3.5 stars. Sexy ambience and menu. Food was good, not great. Servers were friendly but very slow.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Fantastic vegetarian tapas style food ! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fantastic vegetarian tapas style food ! Saturday night was packed, so kinda noisy, but energetic .

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quite disappointed in our dining experie ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Quite disappointed in our dining experience. The positive, cocktails were well prepared & tasty. Pacing was well done. Unfortunately, that is where it ends. The seating is awful. They pack you in like an airplane. All they need to do to improve this is remove one or two tables per row. A guest should not have to suck in their stomach and lean over the table next to them to exit. Not an exaggeration, you are within a foot or so from the table next to you, you hear them and they hear you. This is very obvious and very unprofessional. There is no reason to squeeze guests into tables like this CWAS. It's time to remedy it. The restaurant is very, very loud. It is not romantic and not conducive to conversation. I'm so disappointed in the positive reviews that made us book this restaurant, because they are wrong. If you've been to Vedge, you will be extremely disappointed in CWAS. The food was sub-par. There was nothing unique or special about it. It was very salty and very fried. We ordered the artichoke frites - very fried, not lightly fried which I would have tolerated. More breading than artichoke. We also had the spring rolls, very fried and very unimpressive, not flavorful at all. The zucchini crab cakes were boring, lacking in flavor. I have the same comment on the cauliflower, not inventive at all. Something I would have thrown together at home. There are so many ways to be creative with cauliflower, this was extremely disappointing. I was so looking forward to the tofu, this was not Korean tofu, this was very fried tofu rolled in wing sauce. Again, a total let down. The most promising plate we had was the cucumber gazpacho. Finally some flavors and a very nice blend of freshness, mint and crunch. We paid $90 for our meal and left unsatisfied and hungry. We didn't even want to order more. We agree that we would return for cocktails in the lounge, but that is all. This place has potential but the way the food is prepared needs a complete overhaul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was delicious. We found it hard to ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was delicious. We found it hard to believe that not even dairy was used in the preparation. Loved the beauty of the fresh juices on the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious vegan food but the pace at whi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delicious vegan food but the pace at which the small plates come out of the kitchen could be improved. We ordered a lot of small plates and most of them came out at one time. With the small tables it was very difficult to eat! All in all a great meal but just a little crammed at the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food and cocktails at Charlie was a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food and cocktails at Charlie was a Sinner are imaginatively designed and beautifully executed. I've been dreaming about the potato croquettes since our dinner there, and can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Third visit - wonderful food each time - ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Third visit - wonderful food each time - we especially enjoyed the seasonal menu additions. House special crafted cocktails are different; mine was spiced with ginger and delicious. We intend to return as often as possible!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and cocktails were excellent. W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and cocktails were excellent. We all enjoyed the variety and quality. Service was overall a little slow, but that didn't deter us from an enjoyable evening with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

This restaurant has been on my list of p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This restaurant has been on my list of places to try for a while, and I can't believe I waited so long! The cocktails, food, service, and ambiance were all some of the best I've ever experienced. Vegan or not, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a delightful surprise! Recommended ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

What a delightful surprise! Recommended by a friend, the small plates were imaginative and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Late night dining for me and my wife. I ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Late night dining for me and my wife. I am a carnivore but the food looked and tasted amazing.

The non alcoholic drink was not so great, but maybe it just not my style?

It is a very cool place, packed at 10:30 pm for dinner! Cool and trendy, but the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic! The staff was fa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was fantastic! The staff was fantastic! I can't wait until I can return!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic dinner! Drinks were inventive ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Fantastic dinner! Drinks were inventive and delicious. Loved the expat. Vegan, vegetarian and carnivore alike will love the food. Really amazing. If you are ever in Philly, EAT HERE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

THE BESTTT VEGAN!!! LOVE IT!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The very BEST gourmet vegan!!!! LOVE IT!!! Each dish was more exciting and delicious than the NEXT!… Loved the Vanilla citrus salad! Fantastic! The ricotta toast, is the BEST non-dairy ricotta I have ever had in my LIFE! Better than actual ricotta!! The zucchini crab cakes are better than crab!! Loved the artichoke frites! Loved the blackberry ginger soda! The meyers lemon cake in a warm blackberry/blueberry sauce with hibiscus flavor, was outstanding! … Also enjoyed, fresh lemon lime juice, a potato gnocchi in a smoky sauce, and the chestnut agnolotti. The host was very warm and welcoming and our servers were the BEST! Especially Jonathan! He made the best suggestions for what to order, as it was the first visit to this new restaurant! 5 star! My NEW FAV!!! Thank you!!! Can't wait to go back to try other unique artistic creations on the menu! Also met Chef Darrin! You can tell how much he loves what he does! The food was SO PERFECT! … My friend called it "The Dining Experience"…Not even a vegan, and he is completely sold that vegan is not only better for you, but also, TASTES BETTER, and left him feeling fantastic! Thanks so MUCH for THAT, especially!!! …

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit noisy during happy hour, but once ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

A bit noisy during happy hour, but once the crowd cleared out, it was fine in the back. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Half the items we ordered were very good ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Half the items we ordered were very good:papaya salad, Korean tofu; half were -meh- especially the chestnut agnolotti. The prices are high, the portions are small and the music is way too loud and abrasive.

I don't understand the appeal of this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

slow it down a notch

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I LOVE Charlie Was A Sinner and was really excited to bring my omni mother there - she loved everything! We ordered a bunch of food and it was all delicious, as were the cocktails and wine. The service was fabulous - our server was a sweetheart, the bartender/manager (looks a little like Adam Levine?) was friendly and helpful when we had questions about the wine list, and the kitchen staff and food runners were very efficient... perhaps TOO efficient for our small table :) At one point, while struggling to find a place to put a plate down, one remarked that he would ask the kitchen to slow down because the dishes were coming out back to back with no time for us to eat them. When you go to a place like CWAS, you want to take your time, enjoy your company and the ambience, taste all the wonderful dishes. I've enjoyed everything I've ever eaten or drank there!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really liked the food but the noise leve ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Really liked the food but the noise level of music and voices was a bit much. Drinks were weak on the alcohol but tasty. We tried many things on the menu and liked them all. Would be great if there was a quieter room for dining but it is a small narrow space. Fine for folks who enjoy a nightclub feel with dinner.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Bill $150 for 4 people; we all left hung ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Bill $150 for 4 people; we all left hungry. Food was very good, small portions just not filling. Alcoholic punch drink was average; generic glass of wine $14. If your are a dedicated vegan, might be your thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was excellent and creative - cockta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was excellent and creative - cocktails quite strong. Service wasn't great, but it was also a busy Saturday night. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was excellent, however, super small ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was excellent, however, super small portions for the price. Its a "small plates" type of thing which seemed matched to price except for the "Compositions" plates which led you to expect more of a meal with their price/description. The drinks were AWESOME, but it took forever for us to get our first round. We ordered our drinks first, then an appetizer and our entrees. We did not get our drinks until after the entrees were served. Ambiance was good - really crowded but that's to be expected on a Saturday in center city, overall good vibe, yummy food, awesome drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Was nice to be able to eat everything on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Was nice to be able to eat everything on this menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was just ok.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Server wasn't as attentive as we would have liked. Took a while to get our order taken. Table needed to be adjusted after we were seated to make it level. Manage as very polite and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved it Excellent food. Superb service!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was so great! You would never know it was 100% plant based! Wish I could afford to eat here all the time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another vegan winner in Philly

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Small in size but large in taste. Small plate style that can get a bit pricey but the food is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my third time and going back again!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

This was my third time and going back again. Great food first, wonderful service. Drink selection is excellent. I like the atmosphere, but if you want to talk seriously, quietly, not the place for you. A vibrant, up, wonderful atmosphere and a great name.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent and there were som ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was excellent and there were some great Vegan options. Cocktail options were delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

All of the dishes we tried were over the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

All of the dishes we tried were over the top! The waitstaff were super friendly and very professional. Would go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of ny favorite places in midtown. Go ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

One of ny favorite places in midtown. Good cocktails and food. Service is also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Vegetarian heaven

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The meal was so good from beginning to end. So much to choose from. Everything was full of flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Avocado toast and smoked cauliflower were fantastic. It was crowded so reservations are strongly recommended. The server was fine- a little slow at times to attend to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.