Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

About Charley G's Seafood Grill

Charley G's is a Lafayette favorite known for grilling aged beef & fresh Louisiana seafood over southern hardwoods. The food at Charley G's is driven by Southern inspiration and the menu changes seasonally with local seafood & produce. The casual yet upscale atmosphere has a bar area with live piano music Wednesday through Saturday & happy hour Monday though Friday from 4:00-7:00 pm. Charley G's also offers a wide assortment of specialty liquors, liqueurs & wines. Once a month Charley G's hosts a wine dinners that features wines from various regions and uniquely paired cuisine.

3809 Ambassador Caffery Parkway
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robley

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 981-0108

Website:
http://www.charleygs.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday Nights

Catering:
Catering available

Executive Chef:
Holly Goetting

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Charley G's Seafood Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (21)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Notable Wine List (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Business Meals (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Cozy (9)
Seasonal (7)
Live Music (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Spicy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Charley G's remains one of my favorite fine dining restaurants in this area. Chef Holly continues to come up with creative additions to the menu. They make seasonal changes to the menu and you can always count on a special preparation of a fish entree at night. Many times I don't even look at the menu but go straight to the special. It never disappoints. The service is outstanding and the live piano music really adds to the ambiance. Additionally, the do special events with small plates at wine about once a month which is a great value. Love Charley Gs!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

AWESOME !!! One of the best restaurants in the south

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Service was great and the food was good.

I'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was Easter & we loved it! The menu was outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is our go-to place to never be disappointed. The food, service, and atmosphere is top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always consistently delicious and the best service in Lafayette.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Historic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Piano in bar was delightful. Food was marvelous. Wine was acceptable but not great. Service was prompt and cheerful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Ce restaurant est réputé pour la saveur de ses steaks et c est vrai ils sont absolument fabuleux
Tous les plats étaient excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My wife and I love this restaurant; romantic atmosphere, exceptional service, and great food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 6, 2017

When we visited Lafayette, LA recently, we enjoyed several delicious seafood dishes in this upscale venue with quiet ambiance. The service was excellent. We definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Birthday get together

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Consistently good food! Ambiance and Great atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere. We were in town and found this little gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best restaurant in Lafayette for an evening with your special one. Everything was great, food, wine, and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The waiter was not very attentive. I felt as if I saw his assistant more than him.

My main complaint is that we were seated in the bar area at a small booth even though I had reserved a table over a month before. The booth table was low compared to a regular table, or at least it felt that way since no less than 7 inches away from my table was a party at the bars rear ends. Our waiter had to peak around the edge of the booth just to introduce himself. Not the experience I desired on Valentine's Day. Especially when I reserved well in advance and as they seated us in the bar area I noticed plenty of empty tables in the dining area.

There was live music in the bar from a piano player/singer which was nice, but it inhibited conversation between my wife and I at times due to the volume.

In short. Food was delicious. Our steaks were cooked to perfection. And the drinks were good as well. The bourbon selection alone is impressive. Ambience for where we were was less than ideal. If you go here make sure to request to not be seated at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Night was indeed special. The fixed price menu provided a nice variety of choices in all of threee courses. We enjoyed grilled Chilean Sea Bass over macque choux with fried okra and grilled fish over tasso grits with fired oysters. Excellent house salad and cheesecake which was not quite up to the standards of the first two courses. Attentive service. We frequent many New Orleans restaurants and Charlie G's would fit in with some of the better ones in the Big Easy.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

great food and service........ will be back more often

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I'm biased, because I've been eating here for 31 years, but dinner was excellent. Attentive staff, superb meal, and enjoyable atmosphere with a jazz duo playing in the background.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Charlie G's is my favorite place to go for any occasion that requires amazing food, creative menu items that aren't too wild to pronounce, knowledgeable and friendly servers never too much in a rush to help you or answer your questions! Justin and the staff at Charlie G's make you feel as though you are having dinner at home, only better. From the moment you step in the door, they are always welcoming, always 'on'! Holly is an amazing chef and runs a great open kitchen!! I love watching what she creates! Thank you for yet another amazing dinner and get together for our large group of family and friends!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Seasonal, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

As always Charley G's exceeds our expectations. Truly a 5 star team to make your evening a special one. Kudos to Nathan who has waited on us dozens of times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved the béchamel crab cake with root vegetable hash! One crab cake was plenty as it was rich but delicious and only $14 which is a phenomenal price for this restaurant. Turtle cheesecake was good but not great. Overall--great date night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

For the 1st time I was disappointed with the food. No seasoning and the duck gumbo which is the reason I come here just wasn't near as good as it use to be .

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always Charley G's does not disappoint !! Atmosphere, food and service were of the highest order. I had the fish special which was delectable, my wife had the petit filet which was fantastic. Overall it was a great date nite.

Tags: Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great lunch, as usual. Black drum, bechamel crab cakes, and duck and andouille gumbo are excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Charley G's is always one of my wife and I's favorite. Food is always fresh and creative as they seasonally change the menu. The entire staff are very knowledgeable and enjoy focusing on detail. In addition their wine and drink list is outstanding and enjoyable to choose from.

Charlie

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I took my wife there for her birthday. The service was awesome and made us feel very welcome. The food was great as always. I thought it was nice for so many wished her a happy birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food. Great service. Love the piano bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service was great
Food was great
It's the best place in town

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Consistently one of my favorite spots! Last week, friends and I got together to enjoy a meal. Service is to a t. Food is delicious. A variety of options — from the healthy to the decadent. First class service made the night a wonderful experience for us all. I believe our waiter's name was Shawn, which I note because a well-trained waiter/server is such a beautiful thing! Thanks, Charley G's for a lovely evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New year eve. Food and service was excellent
I would recommend to friends

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A favorite here in Lafayette, always consistent , staff is the best. Every dish on the menu is worth a try. Get there early and enjoy a great bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I ate here for a date night. It has been our second time here and we can't wait to go again. Very romantic fabulous service and absolutely the best food! ❤️

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner! The food was outstanding, the music great, and the ambiance festive. Most important, we received excellent service and extend thanks to our servers for working on Christmas Eve, so that I didn't have to cook!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I worked here for years... and I always thoroughly enjoy coming back and dining. Nate was our server, and he was wonderful. The food and drinks were nothing short of amazing, as usual. The atmosphere was fun and festive. I'll certainly be back :)!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I've been eating At Charlie G’s since 2001. I live in New Orleans and when I visit Lafayette I try to stop by and have bowl of their duck and andouille gumbo. All there entrees are delicious and you can't go wrong with any dish. I tried the mahi mahi and the pork belly wraps this past visit and delighted with flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Usual great food and over the top good service. One of our favorite places and in 21 years, have not been disappointed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Charley G's is consistently a top dining option in Lafayette. The food is great, the atmosphere is energetic and the service is always stellar.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I can't quite put my finger on one reason why, but I love Charlie G's! Something about the grilling meat smell in the air, the open kitchen bustling with activity, the tie-wearing, cultured but not stuffy wait staff, relatively simple, classic menu, the general ambiance. Reminds me of some of the New Orleans classics where I grew up. If I lived close to it, I'd probably be broke, because I'd eat there daily!

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I try to get to Charlie G's whenever I'm in Lafayette. As always, excellent food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My absolute favorite restaurant in town! The food is always delicious and sourced locally. The staff is highly professional and very friendly. The wood grill makes the restaurant smell delicious! Fantastic selection of specialty drinks and wine, and also beautiful desserts by the in-house pastry chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.