About Charley G's Seafood Grill

3809 Ambassador Caffery Parkway
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Charley G's is a Lafayette favorite known for grilling aged beef & fresh Louisiana seafood over southern hardwoods. The food at Charley G's is driven by Southern inspiration and the menu changes seasonally with local seafood & produce. The casual yet upscale atmosphere has a bar area with live piano music Wednesday through Saturday & happy hour Monday though Friday from 4:00-7:00 pm. Charley G's also offers a wide assortment of specialty liquors, liqueurs & wines. Once a month Charley G's hosts a wine dinners that features wines from various regions and uniquely paired cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robley

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 981-0108

Website:
http://www.charleygs.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday Nights

Catering:
Catering available

Executive Chef:
Holly Goetting

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine

Charley G's Seafood Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
4 More
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Special Occasion
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

special occasion (41)
romantic (29)
fit for foodies (28)
See All
good for groups (24)
notable wine list (16)
great for lunch (12)
neighborhood gem (8)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well trained wait staff. French Martini ...

Dined 6 days ago

Well trained wait staff. French Martini was delicious . The salmon and sides were very good. I really like the bar area with booths for dining. Piano music is a very nice touch to the experience. One of my favorite places! The attention to detail down to the curled peel of lime on my martini with just the right aroma before my first sip brings me back again and again. Thank you Jared and Logan our servers.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Charley G's twice now, once ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I've been to Charley G's twice now, once with a group in the evening and once with my brother and our wives for lunch. On both occasions the service was first rate and the food was quite good. I was a little disappointed in what I considered to be a small portion size of stone-ground grits with shrimp, but the flavor was excellent and presentation was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

There are restaurants that maintain thei ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

There are restaurants that maintain their reputation time and time again by delivering a consistent experience far above that from lesser establishments. That's not to say that you cannot find good food just about anywhere in Lafayette, La., but when one is looking for an experience that brings that food to another level then Charley G's fits that bill nicely. My wife is a carnivore and very picky about her steak. I've seen the repartee between wife and server coming to terms on how it should be cooked, and I've seen that steak sent back more than a few times. So I found it strange that she trusted our server this evening with a simple command. It came to the table not only perfect, but she claims one of the best steaks she's ever had. My lobster pasta was a work of art. I wanted to put down my fork between each bite just to savor the flavor. I cannot commend enough the two servers handling our table. Their attention was prompt but unobtrusive. I felt a welcomed guest rather than a patron to upcharge. Such a wonderful, pressure-free experience. The only downside of our whole experience was a large table seated next to us that was quite loud and boisterous. That is the only part of the evening that diminished the total experience The kicker: our entire tab was less than one would expect to pay for a wonderful evening out. I expect Charlie G's to be on regular rotation from now on.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebration

Dined on June 5, 2016

We went to dinner at Charley G's to celebrate our anniversary. With all the great dining establishments in this area, we chose Charley G's for a nice, quiet dinner experience for 2 mature adults that we knew would not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent. Great atmosphere

Dined on June 4, 2016

Celebrated our son's 23rd Burthday here. They had the table decorated for the occasion which was such a pleasant surprise to us all. The service was excellent! Wonderful atmosphere with a cool vibe. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at Charley G's a ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

This was our first time at Charley G's and I can honestly say that I'm blown away! We made reservations for our anniversary tonight. When we got there, we were seated immediately and we had heart confetti on our table and an anniversary card signed by the staff. The food delicious and was worth EVERY penny! Very attentive staff and very romantic atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

Dined on June 2, 2016

Once again, the restaurant provided excellent food and service. The lunch menu gives enough variety to satisfy anyone, from daily specials to standing items. I had the Thursday special, a bacon-wrapped, smoked meatloaf, and my wife had one of the fish dishes; giving evidence as to the variety available at lunch. The service is, and has been, excellent. Highly recommended restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a birthday celebration. Everythin ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

It was a birthday celebration. Everything was perfect- from the food to the service. A great time was had by all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it! Mother's Day couldn't have been better

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good atmosphere, Tristan was a great waitress and food was delicious. I would recommend for any special event.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was top notch.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was top notch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as always !!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Fantastic as always !!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

We got there early and our table was waiting which was a pleasant surprise. We decided we would like a booth and the hostess was very pleasant about changing our table. Our waitress was very nice and knowledgeable and our dining experience was perfect. A wonderful anniversary celebration!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING!

Dined on April 5, 2016

A local told me about this restaurant and it was OUTSTANDING! The service and food are excellent!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and service at a noted neighborhood gem

Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent food and service Great wine list and soft music filled the air

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Easter Lunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our party of 4 so enjoyed the fantastic food, service and atmosphere. Our favorite dish was the duck and tasso spring rolls with spicy hot sweet dipping sauce. I can't wait to go back to Charley G's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Great food a service!

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was fantastic as was our server, he was very knowledgeable about the entire menu(food, wine, SCOTCH). The only issue I have with this place is that it's always warm in the dinning room. Not enough to be totally uncomfortable but still a bother. If you're looking for a quit romantic place this is not it. But if you want to have a few drinks with dinner and get a little loud with friends, this is it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our New Favorite Restaurant!!!!

Dined on March 12, 2016

We had dinner on a Saturday night for my husband's birthday. The entire experience was amazing!!! Jean-Paul was our waiter for the evening and was fabulous. The food was delicious, fresh and probably the best I have had in long while. From the moment we arrived to the time we left, everything was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My Go-To

Dined on March 12, 2016

Charley G's has always been our "go-to" for special occasions. Everyone has their favorite place to grab a bite to eat. We reserve the special times to Charley G's, which means that we only visit maybe 1-2 times per year but when we do, it's a reminder of how special the event is because of the wonderful experience we enjoy there. Going too often would make it commonplace and Charley G's is too special to be common.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the trip from Sunset

Dined on March 6, 2016

It had been quite a while since we had dinner @ Charley G's, but the experience was certainly worth the trip we made from Sunset and we look forward to returning very soon. EVERYTHING WAS FIRST CLASS.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on February 28, 2016

Excellent menu and very attentive servers. We look forward to the next time. Reservations are a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening with friends

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great evening with friends who had never been to Charlie G's and they they enjoyed the food thoroughly. As always the food was excellent, the wine was great, and the service was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service are consistently sp ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food and service are consistently spectacular. I honestly can't think of a better place to dine out in Lafayette!

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Food good but service was not the best

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had reservations and were told we had to sit by the door. We asked for another table and they did move us. Our waiter must have been too busy because we hardly saw him. Our drinks and food was delivered by other waiters. Our desserts were shown and brought by another waiter. We finally were able to flag him down for the ticket. I have been there at other times and had excellent service. The food was very good but the service wasn't up to their normal standard.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charly G's Lafayette LA

Dined on February 18, 2016

This is an outstanding place to take that special someone. Not overly crowded with tables, as so many restaurants do these days. Active, but not noisy. Excellent service and a delicious, creative menu, make for a rewarding dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day Evening Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food, attentive wait staff, and the piano player in the bar was the icing on the cake for a romantic, fun dinner with friends!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Oasis in a Restaurant Desert

Dined on February 9, 2016

In spite of its reputation for Cajun and Creole cooking, Lafayette does not have many good restaurants, unless you're looking for fried or boiled seafood. Charley G's does a good job of gently updating the regional cuisine, especially with their fish dishes (grouper, drum). The dark, thick and smoky duck and andouille gumbo is very good, too. The food does not reach the level of, say, one of John Besh's New Orleans restaurants, but for dinner in Lafayette, Charley G's is one of your best bets.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Excellent Old Fashioned Cocktail

Dined on January 29, 2016

I ate at Charlie Gs with some friends on a week day evening. Cocktails were excellent followed by delicious food. We had the appetizer sampler which was tasty and we paired it with a selection from their extensive wine cellar. The fish was perfectly cooked served atop a slice of eggplant. We shared deserts: Creme Brûlée, pecan pie a la mode, and the pecan tower with layers of pecan vanilla and chocolate. Scrumptious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Trout with lump crabmeat was something v ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Trout with lump crabmeat was something very special.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very nice

Dined on December 29, 2015

We were visiting our son and family in Lafayette and they suggested Charley G's. Everything was very nice. Food was good but not memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Christmas Eve

Dined on December 25, 2015

My husband enjoyed his meal. HE thought the desert was so so. My meal was too salty and the Corn Maque Choux was not special at all. When I got home I had to drink a lot water. I did not have desert but tasted my husbands and I agree with him. The servers were vey nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Yum!

Dined on December 14, 2015

Enjoyed the winter lunch menu at Charley's. Great seafood and duck gumbo over the top good. Best of all, the staff are so very cordial and accommodating. You feel like the most special person there each visit. Going back soon!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere

vip
Dined on December 3, 2015

Very good food and service and nice atmosphere. Also a very nice reasonably priced wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful time at Charlie G's serv ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Had a wonderful time at Charlie G's service was great food was wonderful definitely enjoy this again and again!

food3
ambience4
service1

Birthday Dinner - normally a great experience

Dined on November 28, 2015

Food was not as exceptional as it usually is. It was good, however, our past experiences have always been exceptional. Also, the waiter spilled a freshly poured glass of red wine on my lap. There was not much apologies as you would expect and the waiter tried to blame the incident on the short distance between the table next to us and the booth we were sitting in. The manager never came and spoke to me about the incident. They did offer to handle my dry cleaning and gave us a complimentary round of drinks. I would have handled this incident differently, but oh well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our 10 Year Anniversary

Dined on November 20, 2015

For our 10 year Anniversary we decided to visit this restaurant. We are so happy that we chose Charley G's due to the fact that the service was 5 star and the ambience was tops. Together with the food and the pianist playing in the area it made our special day enjoyable. We would recommend this highly quality restaurant to all couples.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Times Great Food

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

We always have a great time at Charley G's. The food and service is consistently good and makes our stay in Lafayette wonderful everytime!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service exceeded expectations!

Dined on November 7, 2015

Food and service exceeded expectations!

food5
ambience5
service5

Every restaurant says they have the best ...

Dined on October 26, 2015

Every restaurant says they have the best gumbo, but Charley G's has the best I ever tasted; good spice. Also the red fish and the mahi mahi were excellent. Fresh vegetables with some spices. The staff is very friendly and they take their time. All in all an excellent experience!!!

food4
ambience4
service5

Charlie G's always a pleaser

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

Charlie G's continues to be a great destination. Dinner was excellent and the service top notch. Order the Escargot for an appetizer as it will not disappoint. The service team is excellent and recent renovation to the interior was nice and very comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on October 18, 2015

I wanted a nice quiet place to go for our first anniversary and CharleyG's delivered. Food was spectacular, we both enjoy good food and judge it harsh, it was nice to not have anything negative to say.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.