About Charley G's Seafood Grill

3809 Ambassador Caffery Parkway
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Charley G's is a Lafayette favorite known for grilling aged beef & fresh Louisiana seafood over southern hardwoods. The food at Charley G's is driven by Southern inspiration and the menu changes seasonally with local seafood & produce. The casual yet upscale atmosphere has a bar area with live piano music Wednesday through Saturday & happy hour Monday though Friday from 4:00-7:00 pm. Charley G's also offers a wide assortment of specialty liquors, liqueurs & wines. Once a month Charley G's hosts a wine dinners that features wines from various regions and uniquely paired cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robley

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 981-0108

Website:
http://www.charleygs.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday Nights

Catering:
Catering available

Executive Chef:
Holly Goetting

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Charley G's Seafood Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Orleans / Louisiana
Romantic
New Orleans / Louisiana
Special Occasion
New Orleans / Louisiana
6 More
American
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (34)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Great for Brunch (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love this place!!! Highly recommend!! ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place!!! Highly recommend!! Great restaurant for family, couples, group of friends! Great food, awesome staff and wonderful environment!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent, howe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and service was excellent, however, the piano bar was a disappointment. The piano music was just noise to me as I didn't recognize any of the "songs" played except the Star Spangled Banner.

Customer service was priority and we really appreciate the effort your company has placed on this very important aspect of the business. Very enjoyable night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had snapper and duck and both were de ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had snapper and duck and both were delicious. Service was excellent as well. We love the decor with classic dark wood and ambient lighting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. As soon as we walk ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Outstanding service. As soon as we walked in we were greeted and seated. Our table was decorated with hearts and an anniversary card signed by staff. We started with the duck and tasso rolls with sauce for an appetizer. It was perfect! I had the petite fillet 6oz and my husband had the aged fillet 8oz. What impressed me the most was we used our butter knives to cut our steaks, we did not need a steak knife...it was that good! Our sides were corn grits & brussel spouts. PERFECT! Our waiter was Nathan and he gave us excellent service! We cant wait to go back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charley G's is a wonderfully romantic pl ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Charley G's is a wonderfully romantic place to dine. Good food, great service and no matter the occasion, you leave feeling you got what you came for.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently one of the best restaurants ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Consistently one of the best restaurants in Lafayette. Been there dozens of times and I have never left disappointed. Did I mention the duck and andouille gumbo? Its simply as good as cajun food gets.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The special occasion was my mother's 84t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The special occasion was my mother's 84th birthday. Everything was perfect. From the maitre d to the wait staff...all were splendid.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very friendly and helpful. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we just had a bad storm a few nights before and their freezer went out so the menu was limited.

All in all we enjoyed it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our first time at Charley G's. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first time at Charley G's. It was also the celebrations of our 6th anniversary, and the last one before we are married, so it was a very special occasion. When we first walked in, the host wished us a "Happy Anniversary". He brought us to our table, which was decorated for our anniversary and had a card with all of the wait staffs' signatures and told us to enjoy our night. Our waiter, Shawn, was amazing. We actually let him pick our meals for us. We gave him some pointers about what we like/dislike and let him choose. He chose the local braised pork shank for me and the drum for my fiancé. We also each had the famous gumbo. The food was phenomenal. The wine was great. All of the wait staff that we encounter were amazing. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed the evening with e ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the evening with excellent service and the surf and turf was outstanding...the steak cooked to perfection and the best lobster. Charley G's is, in our opinion, the best restaurant in Lafayette.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great dining experience. Only negativ ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

A great dining experience. Only negative was the booth. I'm a small person, and the table was up to my chin. Also, no leg space, the only space for my feet was on top of my niece's feet across from me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Superb evening dining experience. Wait ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Superb evening dining experience. Wait staff and assistants were most friendly, unobtrusive, spot on in terms of timing, engaging and great follow up. My selection for the evening was perfectly prepared, looked great and left me wanting more right there. The dessert was a great touch to finish the evening.

Headed back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed Coconut Shrimp as appetizer and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Enjoyed Coconut Shrimp as appetizer and then into hanger steak which was most tasty and flavorful. The food was Charley G's usual excellent fare...thank you Chef Holly!!! Service was impeccable and the staff make you feel at home as if you're an old friend. Looking forward to going back. Always a treat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the coconut shrimp with zydec ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We ordered the coconut shrimp with zydeco sauce plus added two mini crab cakes. Coconut shrimp and zydeco sauce was delicious but you only got 4 shrimp for $9. The mini crab cakes were mushy and just o.k. Ribeyes were just o.k. Wood fired asparagus and smashed potatoes were good. The chocolate tower dessert was the best thing about this eating experience. I ordered an Old Fashion and the server took it on himself to use a barley rye whiskey which was charged at $8 a shot. Patrons should be made aware of this when they order this.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed Charley G's summer menu...wonder ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Enjoyed Charley G's summer menu...wonderful selections on hot summer days. What a consistently great place to dine and just relax with friends. Always looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a spectacular time with great ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

As always a spectacular time with great atmosphere, fantastic food, and beyond exceptional service. Cannot wait to get back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No free lemonade refills were offered. F ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

No free lemonade refills were offered. Food was tasty but not the best. Enjoyed the atmosphere and good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Ambiance was fantastic and always, the s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Ambiance was fantastic and always, the specials are so creative and incredibly delicious. Not a time that we have gone that we were not taken great care of and felt special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The grill is right in the restaurant mai ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The grill is right in the restaurant main dining area, so clothing always smells like a smoke pit after dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

This is one of Lafayette's greatest dini ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is one of Lafayette's greatest dining treasures. The food is exceptional, the service is attentive without being overbearing and the atmosphere and the atmosphere is always conducive to a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped at the bar first and enjoyed ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We stopped at the bar first and enjoyed the martini menu. Then on to dinner which we truly enjoyed because of the grilled food variety.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the service was excellent and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As always the service was excellent and the food was divine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a dining experience, e ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I had a dining experience, exceptional in every way. The service was attentive and impeccable- the manager did appear to make sure that we were having a good evening. (Pretty classy since the restaurant was crowded.)

The atmosphere was enhanced by the young pianist who played Erik Satie music as background.

The food and presentation ( menu items involving salmon and duck) were among the most memorable meals I've had since 1974 , when I arrived in Lafayette.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent across all aspects of the even ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent across all aspects of the evening. And...they know you by name when you hit the door.

Been dining there for over 20 years. Never a less ghan great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service was on point as always, t ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food & service was on point as always, they are so consistent, special were fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance & decor hasn't changed in years ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Ambiance & decor hasn't changed in years, but still seems to be a nice setting! Shrimp appetizer was fresh & tasty, but too small for two to share. In contrast, the Caesar salad that my date had was very good and very large! I had grilled Mahi Mahi with a sweet honeydew melon relish. Fish was good but I didn't love the sweet topping. The duck & andouille gumbo is dark and very good - in fact my date said it is one of the best in town! No dessert tonight, but overall a good evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Well trained wait staff. French Martini ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Well trained wait staff. French Martini was delicious . The salmon and sides were very good. I really like the bar area with booths for dining. Piano music is a very nice touch to the experience. One of my favorite places! The attention to detail down to the curled peel of lime on my martini with just the right aroma before my first sip brings me back again and again. Thank you Jared and Logan our servers.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Charley G's twice now, once ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I've been to Charley G's twice now, once with a group in the evening and once with my brother and our wives for lunch. On both occasions the service was first rate and the food was quite good. I was a little disappointed in what I considered to be a small portion size of stone-ground grits with shrimp, but the flavor was excellent and presentation was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

There are restaurants that maintain thei ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

There are restaurants that maintain their reputation time and time again by delivering a consistent experience far above that from lesser establishments. That's not to say that you cannot find good food just about anywhere in Lafayette, La., but when one is looking for an experience that brings that food to another level then Charley G's fits that bill nicely.

My wife is a carnivore and very picky about her steak. I've seen the repartee between wife and server coming to terms on how it should be cooked, and I've seen that steak sent back more than a few times. So I found it strange that she trusted our server this evening with a simple command. It came to the table not only perfect, but she claims one of the best steaks she's ever had.

My lobster pasta was a work of art. I wanted to put down my fork between each bite just to savor the flavor.

I cannot commend enough the two servers handling our table. Their attention was prompt but unobtrusive. I felt a welcomed guest rather than a patron to upcharge. Such a wonderful, pressure-free experience.

The only downside of our whole experience was a large table seated next to us that was quite loud and boisterous. That is the only part of the evening that diminished the total experience

The kicker: our entire tab was less than one would expect to pay for a wonderful evening out.

I expect Charlie G's to be on regular rotation from now on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Celebration

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We went to dinner at Charley G's to celebrate our anniversary. With all the great dining establishments in this area, we chose Charley G's for a nice, quiet dinner experience for 2 mature adults that we knew would not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Great atmosphere

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Celebrated our son's 23rd Burthday here. They had the table decorated for the occasion which was such a pleasant surprise to us all. The service was excellent! Wonderful atmosphere with a cool vibe. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at Charley G's a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This was our first time at Charley G's and I can honestly say that I'm blown away! We made reservations for our anniversary tonight. When we got there, we were seated immediately and we had heart confetti on our table and an anniversary card signed by the staff. The food delicious and was worth EVERY penny! Very attentive staff and very romantic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Once again, the restaurant provided excellent food and service. The lunch menu gives enough variety to satisfy anyone, from daily specials to standing items. I had the Thursday special, a bacon-wrapped, smoked meatloaf, and my wife had one of the fish dishes; giving evidence as to the variety available at lunch. The service is, and has been, excellent. Highly recommended restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a birthday celebration. Everythin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

It was a birthday celebration. Everything was perfect- from the food to the service. A great time was had by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! Mother's Day couldn't have been better

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Good atmosphere, Tristan was a great waitress and food was delicious. I would recommend for any special event.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was top notch.

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as always !!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Fantastic as always !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We got there early and our table was waiting which was a pleasant surprise. We decided we would like a booth and the hostess was very pleasant about changing our table. Our waitress was very nice and knowledgeable and our dining experience was perfect. A wonderful anniversary celebration!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING!

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

A local told me about this restaurant and it was OUTSTANDING! The service and food are excellent!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and service at a noted neighborhood gem

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent food and service

Great wine list and soft music filled the air

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.