About Charley G's Seafood Grill

3809 Ambassador Caffery Parkway
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Charley G's is a Lafayette favorite known for grilling aged beef & fresh Louisiana seafood over southern hardwoods. The food at Charley G's is driven by Southern inspiration and the menu changes seasonally with local seafood & produce. The casual yet upscale atmosphere has a bar area with live piano music Wednesday through Saturday & happy hour Monday though Friday from 4:00-7:00 pm. Charley G's also offers a wide assortment of specialty liquors, liqueurs & wines. Once a month Charley G's hosts a wine dinners that features wines from various regions and uniquely paired cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robley

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 981-0108

Website:
http://www.charleygs.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday Nights

Catering:
Catering available

Executive Chef:
Holly Goetting

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Charley G's Seafood Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Service
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Special Occasion
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
5 More
Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (15)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (6)
Open Kitchen (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Live Music (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Filet Oscar is my husbands favorite! I ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Filet Oscar is my husbands favorite! I enjoyed the fish served over garlic spinach very delicious.

The atmosphere is always pleasant and relaxing!

Great place for celebrating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service, as always pe ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always perfect dining experience and great way to celebrate a special birthday!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. My company loved t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food was outstanding. My company loved their meals. I was not partial to the crispy duck but besides that a 5 star meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Long-stemmed artichokes are my new favor ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Long-stemmed artichokes are my new favorite appetizer. We dined with our 3 young children and it was an excellent experience. We look forward to our next dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome bread pudding! Awesome shrimp s ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Awesome bread pudding! Awesome shrimp scampi! Good atmosphere.

Tags: Wood Oven, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

With decades of great food behind it, Ch ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2016

With decades of great food behind it, Charley G continues to perform with its best "A" Game.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the food all tasted the same. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I thought the food all tasted the same. The grits and the fish had the same taste.

The fired green tomatoes did have their own flavour. The bread was so so.

Artichokes were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Best service I've ever had! Food was fre ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Best service I've ever had! Food was fresh and perfectly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always Charlie G's comes through as a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 21, 2016

As always Charlie G's comes through as a good place to bring out of town guest for a great atmosphere that allows you to have a conversation. Their menu is exceptional and the food is the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice evening at Charlie G's liked the ne ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Nice evening at Charlie G's liked the new menu additions of the mussels and artichoke salad. Service was excellent as well as the duck entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portion size is not large, and for t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The portion size is not large, and for the price some sides could be included, however the food was delicious. We loved the live piano with dinner. I know this is laid back Lafayette, but If you are offering fine dinning, then you should be willing to have a dress code. Most of the clientele was in nice evening dress, but we has one group guys seated beside us who were wearing what would generously be called work clothes and baseball caps. If I'm paying $75 for two small meals, I don't want to have to put up with someone next to me who should have gone to a sports bar, talking on their cell phones and being loud. If someone wants to wear dirty jeans and T-shirts they should be seated in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

I was extremely disappointed in my exper ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I was extremely disappointed in my experience at Charlie G's. The service was very slow. We spent almost two hours for dinner, and the diners around us were in the same boat. The food okay but not spectacular. The waitress did come by to check on us once or twice, but the "large party in the back" excuse sounded false. I didn't penalize the waitress with my tip, and the host was very nice.

However, given they are a high end establishment, I did not feel like I got a good value for the cost. So, I will not go back there anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Really good restaurant with a impressive ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Really good restaurant with a impressive wine list and great food and service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was cool, The lounge singer ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 6, 2016

the service was cool, The lounge singer sounded like Aretha Franklin with the flu stuck in high gear but it was entertaining. Very good for a date night.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Consistently a great experience. The sea ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Consistently a great experience. The sea bass is a must have. Great service with a smile. Loved every minute!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A bit disappointing in that my wife's fi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 4, 2016

A bit disappointing in that my wife's fish was obviously put on the grill right out of the freezer and not near the quality we've come to expect at Charlie G's.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

A mixed bag. A beautiful space, thought ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

A mixed bag. A beautiful space, thoughtfully designed and very comfortable. Outstanding tuna tartare, the best I have ever had. The sample of gumbo we were given was in a classic Cajun style, with a really dark roux. Delicious. But the Gulf fish had too much going on and the crispy duck was certainly crispy but medium instead of medium rare. Nathan was a very attentive server but when we were waiting for dessert the crew decided it was time to start closing things up. We felt as if we were holding them up. The coffee arrived so hot it was obviously microwaved and the pecan pie was dry. An unfortunate finish. We had a much different experience at the sister restaurant Social Southern Table and Bar. Clearly one should consider going with the house specialties and take suggestions from your servers at other restaurants in the area.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Can't go wrong with Charley G's...my go ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Can't go wrong with Charley G's...my go to restaurant anytime.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!!! Highly recommend!! ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Love this place!!! Highly recommend!! Great restaurant for family, couples, group of friends! Great food, awesome staff and wonderful environment!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had less than a wonderful exp ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I've never had less than a wonderful experience dining at Charley G's. There is no dish I've tried that I did not like! I personally recommend trying the crab cakes, house salad (add your protein of choice) and the gulf fish of the day is always delicious! Honestly, you can not go wrong with any dish on the menu. Fantastic go to for lunch or dinner!

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent, howe ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and service was excellent, however, the piano bar was a disappointment. The piano music was just noise to me as I didn't recognize any of the "songs" played except the Star Spangled Banner.

Customer service was priority and we really appreciate the effort your company has placed on this very important aspect of the business. Very enjoyable night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had snapper and duck and both were de ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had snapper and duck and both were delicious. Service was excellent as well. We love the decor with classic dark wood and ambient lighting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. As soon as we walk ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Outstanding service. As soon as we walked in we were greeted and seated. Our table was decorated with hearts and an anniversary card signed by staff. We started with the duck and tasso rolls with sauce for an appetizer. It was perfect! I had the petite fillet 6oz and my husband had the aged fillet 8oz. What impressed me the most was we used our butter knives to cut our steaks, we did not need a steak knife...it was that good! Our sides were corn grits & brussel spouts. PERFECT! Our waiter was Nathan and he gave us excellent service! We cant wait to go back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charley G's is a wonderfully romantic pl ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Charley G's is a wonderfully romantic place to dine. Good food, great service and no matter the occasion, you leave feeling you got what you came for.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently one of the best restaurants ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Consistently one of the best restaurants in Lafayette. Been there dozens of times and I have never left disappointed. Did I mention the duck and andouille gumbo? Its simply as good as cajun food gets.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The special occasion was my mother's 84t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The special occasion was my mother's 84th birthday. Everything was perfect. From the maitre d to the wait staff...all were splendid.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very friendly and helpful. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we just had a bad storm a few nights before and their freezer went out so the menu was limited.

All in all we enjoyed it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our first time at Charley G's. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first time at Charley G's. It was also the celebrations of our 6th anniversary, and the last one before we are married, so it was a very special occasion. When we first walked in, the host wished us a "Happy Anniversary". He brought us to our table, which was decorated for our anniversary and had a card with all of the wait staffs' signatures and told us to enjoy our night. Our waiter, Shawn, was amazing. We actually let him pick our meals for us. We gave him some pointers about what we like/dislike and let him choose. He chose the local braised pork shank for me and the drum for my fiancé. We also each had the famous gumbo. The food was phenomenal. The wine was great. All of the wait staff that we encounter were amazing. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed the evening with e ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the evening with excellent service and the surf and turf was outstanding...the steak cooked to perfection and the best lobster. Charley G's is, in our opinion, the best restaurant in Lafayette.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great dining experience. Only negativ ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2016

A great dining experience. Only negative was the booth. I'm a small person, and the table was up to my chin. Also, no leg space, the only space for my feet was on top of my niece's feet across from me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Superb evening dining experience. Wait ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Superb evening dining experience. Wait staff and assistants were most friendly, unobtrusive, spot on in terms of timing, engaging and great follow up. My selection for the evening was perfectly prepared, looked great and left me wanting more right there. The dessert was a great touch to finish the evening.

Headed back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed Coconut Shrimp as appetizer and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Enjoyed Coconut Shrimp as appetizer and then into hanger steak which was most tasty and flavorful. The food was Charley G's usual excellent fare...thank you Chef Holly!!! Service was impeccable and the staff make you feel at home as if you're an old friend. Looking forward to going back. Always a treat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the coconut shrimp with zydec ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We ordered the coconut shrimp with zydeco sauce plus added two mini crab cakes. Coconut shrimp and zydeco sauce was delicious but you only got 4 shrimp for $9. The mini crab cakes were mushy and just o.k. Ribeyes were just o.k. Wood fired asparagus and smashed potatoes were good. The chocolate tower dessert was the best thing about this eating experience. I ordered an Old Fashion and the server took it on himself to use a barley rye whiskey which was charged at $8 a shot. Patrons should be made aware of this when they order this.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed Charley G's summer menu...wonder ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Enjoyed Charley G's summer menu...wonderful selections on hot summer days. What a consistently great place to dine and just relax with friends. Always looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a spectacular time with great ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 23, 2016

As always a spectacular time with great atmosphere, fantastic food, and beyond exceptional service. Cannot wait to get back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No free lemonade refills were offered. F ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 19, 2016

No free lemonade refills were offered. Food was tasty but not the best. Enjoyed the atmosphere and good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Ambiance was fantastic and always, the s ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Ambiance was fantastic and always, the specials are so creative and incredibly delicious. Not a time that we have gone that we were not taken great care of and felt special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The grill is right in the restaurant mai ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 11, 2016

The grill is right in the restaurant main dining area, so clothing always smells like a smoke pit after dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

This is one of Lafayette's greatest dini ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is one of Lafayette's greatest dining treasures. The food is exceptional, the service is attentive without being overbearing and the atmosphere and the atmosphere is always conducive to a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped at the bar first and enjoyed ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 6, 2016

We stopped at the bar first and enjoyed the martini menu. Then on to dinner which we truly enjoyed because of the grilled food variety.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.