Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

About Charley G's Seafood Grill

Charley G's is a Lafayette favorite known for grilling aged beef & fresh Louisiana seafood over southern hardwoods. The food at Charley G's is driven by Southern inspiration and the menu changes seasonally with local seafood & produce. The casual yet upscale atmosphere has a bar area with live piano music Wednesday through Saturday & happy hour Monday though Friday from 4:00-7:00 pm. Charley G's also offers a wide assortment of specialty liquors, liqueurs & wines. Once a month Charley G's hosts a wine dinners that features wines from various regions and uniquely paired cuisine.

3809 Ambassador Caffery Parkway
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robley

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 981-0108

Website:
http://www.charleygs.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday Nights

Catering:
Catering available

Executive Chef:
Holly Goetting

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Charley G's Seafood Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Live Music (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Casual (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Charley G's never disappoints. Good food and good service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 17, 2017

Still the best food and service in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
·Dined on June 17, 2017

As always the food and service was first class!! Great wine selection along with really creative "Specials" off the menu. Although the piano player was a little noisy overall a fun evening. Highlight of the night was Kaylee and the dessert tray, supremely delivered with passion and flair.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very good! I am not just about the proteins, but also the pairings! Very delicious.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on June 6, 2017

As always Justin and his team @ Charley G's did not disappoint !!Chef Holly's special of the day was fish that prepared beautifully and cooked to perfection. Service was excellent with Jarred on mains and Kaylee on desserts.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was excellent, the service was excellent, the noise level from the musical group was too loud.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 21, 2017

Celebrated wedding anniversary at a reserved table, Charley's decorated the table with rose petals. Service from Nathan was professional, and food was predictably Great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 20, 2017

Been eating there since it opened. This was the worst service ever and my main course was served nearly cold because it was not delivered to table promptly when ready.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on May 20, 2017

Too hot AC not working.
No mention of this by staff until I inquired.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent food and service....as usual!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was a birthday dinner and it was very good. They decorated the table and had a birthday
card for my wife. Excellent food and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 30, 2017

Just a great overall experience. Service and food was excellent

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Private Room, Live Sports, Hot Spot, Casual, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 30, 2017

Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 23, 2017

This is a beautiful restaurant with consistently good food and a lovely, sophisticated atmosphere. The open kitchen is fun and the kitchen's wood burning stove makes the whole place smell amazing! We love going here!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
·Dined on April 23, 2017

Charley G's remains one of my favorite fine dining restaurants in this area. Chef Holly continues to come up with creative additions to the menu. They make seasonal changes to the menu and you can always count on a special preparation of a fish entree at night. Many times I don't even look at the menu but go straight to the special. It never disappoints. The service is outstanding and the live piano music really adds to the ambiance. Additionally, the do special events with small plates at wine about once a month which is a great value. Love Charley Gs!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 22, 2017

AWESOME !!! One of the best restaurants in the south

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on April 18, 2017

Service was great and the food was good.

I'll be back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was Easter & we loved it! The menu was outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is our go-to place to never be disappointed. The food, service, and atmosphere is top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always consistently delicious and the best service in Lafayette.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Historic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on April 14, 2017

Piano in bar was delightful. Food was marvelous. Wine was acceptable but not great. Service was prompt and cheerful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on April 12, 2017

Ce restaurant est réputé pour la saveur de ses steaks et c est vrai ils sont absolument fabuleux
Tous les plats étaient excellent

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

My wife and I love this restaurant; romantic atmosphere, exceptional service, and great food!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 6, 2017

When we visited Lafayette, LA recently, we enjoyed several delicious seafood dishes in this upscale venue with quiet ambiance. The service was excellent. We definitely recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on April 1, 2017

Birthday get together

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on March 26, 2017

Consistently good food! Ambiance and Great atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere. We were in town and found this little gem

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best restaurant in Lafayette for an evening with your special one. Everything was great, food, wine, and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

The waiter was not very attentive. I felt as if I saw his assistant more than him.

My main complaint is that we were seated in the bar area at a small booth even though I had reserved a table over a month before. The booth table was low compared to a regular table, or at least it felt that way since no less than 7 inches away from my table was a party at the bars rear ends. Our waiter had to peak around the edge of the booth just to introduce himself. Not the experience I desired on Valentine's Day. Especially when I reserved well in advance and as they seated us in the bar area I noticed plenty of empty tables in the dining area.

There was live music in the bar from a piano player/singer which was nice, but it inhibited conversation between my wife and I at times due to the volume.

In short. Food was delicious. Our steaks were cooked to perfection. And the drinks were good as well. The bourbon selection alone is impressive. Ambience for where we were was less than ideal. If you go here make sure to request to not be seated at the bar.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Night was indeed special. The fixed price menu provided a nice variety of choices in all of threee courses. We enjoyed grilled Chilean Sea Bass over macque choux with fried okra and grilled fish over tasso grits with fired oysters. Excellent house salad and cheesecake which was not quite up to the standards of the first two courses. Attentive service. We frequent many New Orleans restaurants and Charlie G's would fit in with some of the better ones in the Big Easy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on February 12, 2017

great food and service........ will be back more often

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on February 11, 2017

I'm biased, because I've been eating here for 31 years, but dinner was excellent. Attentive staff, superb meal, and enjoyable atmosphere with a jazz duo playing in the background.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
·Dined on February 8, 2017

Charlie G's is my favorite place to go for any occasion that requires amazing food, creative menu items that aren't too wild to pronounce, knowledgeable and friendly servers never too much in a rush to help you or answer your questions! Justin and the staff at Charlie G's make you feel as though you are having dinner at home, only better. From the moment you step in the door, they are always welcoming, always 'on'! Holly is an amazing chef and runs a great open kitchen!! I love watching what she creates! Thank you for yet another amazing dinner and get together for our large group of family and friends!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Seasonal, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on February 4, 2017

As always Charley G's exceeds our expectations. Truly a 5 star team to make your evening a special one. Kudos to Nathan who has waited on us dozens of times

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved the béchamel crab cake with root vegetable hash! One crab cake was plenty as it was rich but delicious and only $14 which is a phenomenal price for this restaurant. Turtle cheesecake was good but not great. Overall--great date night.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

For the 1st time I was disappointed with the food. No seasoning and the duck gumbo which is the reason I come here just wasn't near as good as it use to be .

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always Charley G's does not disappoint !! Atmosphere, food and service were of the highest order. I had the fish special which was delectable, my wife had the petit filet which was fantastic. Overall it was a great date nite.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great lunch, as usual. Black drum, bechamel crab cakes, and duck and andouille gumbo are excellent.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Charley G's is always one of my wife and I's favorite. Food is always fresh and creative as they seasonally change the menu. The entire staff are very knowledgeable and enjoy focusing on detail. In addition their wine and drink list is outstanding and enjoyable to choose from.

Charlie

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

I took my wife there for her birthday. The service was awesome and made us feel very welcome. The food was great as always. I thought it was nice for so many wished her a happy birthday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.