Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

About Charley G's Seafood Grill

Charley G's is a Lafayette favorite known for grilling aged beef & fresh Louisiana seafood over southern hardwoods. The food at Charley G's is driven by Southern inspiration and the menu changes seasonally with local seafood & produce. The casual yet upscale atmosphere has a bar area with live piano music Wednesday through Saturday & happy hour Monday though Friday from 4:00-7:00 pm. Charley G's also offers a wide assortment of specialty liquors, liqueurs & wines. Once a month Charley G's hosts a wine dinners that features wines from various regions and uniquely paired cuisine.

3809 Ambassador Caffery Parkway
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robley

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 981-0108

Website:
http://www.charleygs.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday Nights

Catering:
Catering available

Executive Chef:
Holly Goetting

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Charley G's Seafood Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Food
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Service
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
18 More
Best Ambiance
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Value
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Healthy
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Hot Spot
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Romantic
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Vibrant Bar Scene
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Best Value
Lafayette
Fit for Foodies
Lafayette
Great for Lunch
Lafayette
Notable Wine List
Lafayette
Romantic
Lafayette
Special Occasion
Lafayette
Vibrant Bar Scene
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

Good for a Date (23)
Romantic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Live Music (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Authentic (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Casual (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort by
S
288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Always like the atmosphere and service at Charley g’s! It was
My birthday so I chose to go there because I haven’t been there in a while for supper! Go at lunch pretty regular. Both my wife and I got redfish special and duck gumbo! The gumbo is always very good ! Very dark roux and rich! The fish was not good and wash supposed to have lump crabmeat ? It was there but pretty much non existent and tasteless. 3-4 fried oysters and sweet potato purée also came with the special reddish and they were the best thing on the plate! A disappointing meal and I left thinking I should have ordered the FILET OSCAR!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Charley G’s for my birthday. We had a great time, the food was fantastic, the drinks were better than good, the ambiance was perfect. We will definitely go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Lafayette is a great town for restaurants, and Charley G's is one of the town's very best. Great menu, great food, great drinks, excellent atmosphere if you like to talk. Service exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 11, 2018

We enjoyed our visit. Thank u for making this visit special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 7, 2018

The evening was perfect. The wine was outstanding and the food could not have been better.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2018

My GOTO restaurant in Lafayette. When I want a great meal, with great drinks and awesome service, it's Charley G's. So consistently right.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Acapulco)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Great
Good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Had a reservation at 6:30. It was our anniversary and they had a signed card, and heart glitter on the table waiting for us. The staff made sure to tell us happy anniversary. I ordered an old fashioned, a glass of wine and tuna tartare appetizer. The appetizer arrived before the drinks. The bar was slammed. My old fashioned was average, at best. The tuna tartare was flavorless and forgetable. Ordered another round of drinks, took forever. Ordered steak. Came out perfectly cooked before our drinks arrived. They cooked a steak before they could pour a glass of wine... Anyway, we finished then they cleared our plates. We ordered dessert and an Irish coffee. We sat at our table with only a glass of water for 5-7 minutes before the dessert arrived. (it was a chocolate thing, it was very good). We FINISHED the dessert before the Irish coffee arrived. We didn't wolf it down, we actually put our spoons down and talked between bites waiting on the coffee. The Irish coffee was fantastic. For dropping $200 on a special dinner, I felt like they could have done better. The bar being unable to deliver good drinks on time really affected the flow of the evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2017

This was our last date night of 2017 and as always Charley G’s delivered on quality, superb food and impeccable service. Consistently high standards and some exquisite specials.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Birthday dinner. When we arrived they had decorated the table in a birthday theme. Everything was excellent ... especially love the fire roasted artichoke hearts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Didn’t have much of a menu food was not what I was looking for I will never eat at that place again

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Awesome. Our waiter did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Exceptional service and delicious food. Well worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Will be back! Used to go all the time but they are back! Impressed with presentatikn, service and food! Lunch with clients and everybody was very pleased!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Fantastic food and service as usual. Incredible salads and appetizers.. great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Panama)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Great service and very tasty meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Must have the Duck & Andouille Gumbo!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2017

Excellent food as usual! We enjoyed our meal. Usually the service is quite attentive, but this time it was not. We waited long periods of time to place an order, to see the dessert options, etc.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 10, 2017

This restaurant never seems to fail us! One of our all time favorites. it's nice that they
updated the interior. Piano bar is a must for cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Excellent place the food was amazing and my wife enjoyed the piano and the staff was very attentive my drink never went dry and they were all very friendly.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

I am soooooo thrilled that one of the top if not THE top restaurants in town caters to my specific dining needs. It's beautiful and very flavorful food and the service is great!! Always feel special when I'm there for whatever the occasion may be and chef Holly always knocks it out!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

The noise level feature of the survey is not working well for me, but the atmosphere was quiet. The restaurant was busy when I went, but the noise was minimal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Outstanding service, great cocktails and, of course the food was spot on. Piano player was a very nice touch as well. Highly recommended.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Do not expect a Maryland crab cake. Tasted okay, but deep fried (not pan fried) and kind of gooey on the inside (not lump crab meat).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Still the best gumbo in town, maybe in the state. Worth a detour just for that.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

We have eaten at Charley Gs several times in the past but not lately. This occasion was dissapointing.... my wife's pork dish was cold and my steak, although cooked well was warm at best... we had to send my wife's dish back to be warmed... although tasty it was COLD... when we complained they immediately saw to it being taken care of.. I must say the service was excellent but the preparation of the food was not.... when we ordered coffee and desert, the coffee was cold ... I have never complained before, but it will be while before I return. Our waitress was very nice and helpful ... please take this comment as constructive criticism . Van Kojis

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our one year anniversary, and everything was exceptional. The food was great, the staff was friendly, and we will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 27, 2017

We were treated like royalty. It was our anniversary and they made it VERY special and the food was absolutely delicious. In fact, we have eaten in many places in America and Europe and the food was some of the best we have ever had.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Service was outstanding. The booth was especially set up for a private birthday celebration. Ambiance was just what we needed. Food was fantastic. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Great food and exceptional service. Overall a wonderful evening!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Consistently good food and atmosphere with excellent drinks

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. Service was outstanding!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 18, 2017

I was slightly disappointed in the food as this is typically one of my favorite Lafayette spots.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

Celebrating a birthday,our table was lightly decorations on the table just perfect not over done with a sign birthday card from the staff good touch

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Very good food. Everyone liked what they ordered. Good variety to please everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food & service were outstanding. I’ve never had a bad meal here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Many attributes to Charley Gs, but the most memorable aspect for me, every time I enter, is the lite not intrusive aroma of the cooking, just a hint of wood smoke flavoring in the air!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food and exceptional service - our waiter was so knowledgeable about the food and wine and added to us having a wonderful evening!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 28, 2017

I drove 130 miles each way [Covington, La. home] to take my wife for a date night on her Birthday. I was a regular at the Metairie, La location for many years and so I wanted her to experience my favorite restaurant ever. Boy, they did not let me down on her special day, food and drinks were A+ and the service was great, place looked great and they even gave her a Birthday card signed by the entire dining staff. What a great place to spend a nice date night. I love Charley G's. and wish that they were not 130 miles from our home. Go and see what I think is a truly great place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.