About Charley G's Seafood Grill

3809 Ambassador Caffery Parkway
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Charley G's is a Lafayette favorite known for grilling aged beef & fresh Louisiana seafood over southern hardwoods. The food at Charley G's is driven by Southern inspiration and the menu changes seasonally with local seafood & produce. The casual yet upscale atmosphere has a bar area with live piano music Wednesday through Saturday & happy hour Monday though Friday from 4:00-7:00 pm. Charley G's also offers a wide assortment of specialty liquors, liqueurs & wines. Once a month Charley G's hosts a wine dinners that features wines from various regions and uniquely paired cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robley

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 981-0108

Website:
http://www.charleygs.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday Nights

Catering:
Catering available

Executive Chef:
Holly Goetting

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Charley G's Seafood Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (20)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Business Meals (11)
Cozy (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Open Kitchen (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Live Music (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The waiter was not very attentive. I fe ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The waiter was not very attentive. I felt as if I saw his assistant more than him.

My main complaint is that we were seated in the bar area at a small booth even though I had reserved a table over a month before. The booth table was low compared to a regular table, or at least it felt that way since no less than 7 inches away from my table was a party at the bars rear ends. Our waiter had to peak around the edge of the booth just to introduce himself. Not the experience I desired on Valentine's Day. Especially when I reserved well in advance and as they seated us in the bar area I noticed plenty of empty tables in the dining area.

There was live music in the bar from a piano player/singer which was nice, but it inhibited conversation between my wife and I at times due to the volume.

In short. Food was delicious. Our steaks were cooked to perfection. And the drinks were good as well. The bourbon selection alone is impressive. Ambience for where we were was less than ideal. If you go here make sure to request to not be seated at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Valentine's Night was indeed special. T ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Night was indeed special. The fixed price menu provided a nice variety of choices in all of threee courses. We enjoyed grilled Chilean Sea Bass over macque choux with fried okra and grilled fish over tasso grits with fired oysters. Excellent house salad and cheesecake which was not quite up to the standards of the first two courses. Attentive service. We frequent many New Orleans restaurants and Charlie G's would fit in with some of the better ones in the Big Easy.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food and service........ will be b ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

great food and service........ will be back more often

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm biased, because I've been eating her ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I'm biased, because I've been eating here for 31 years, but dinner was excellent. Attentive staff, superb meal, and enjoyable atmosphere with a jazz duo playing in the background.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charlie G's is my favorite place to go f ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Charlie G's is my favorite place to go for any occasion that requires amazing food, creative menu items that aren't too wild to pronounce, knowledgeable and friendly servers never too much in a rush to help you or answer your questions! Justin and the staff at Charlie G's make you feel as though you are having dinner at home, only better. From the moment you step in the door, they are always welcoming, always 'on'! Holly is an amazing chef and runs a great open kitchen!! I love watching what she creates! Thank you for yet another amazing dinner and get together for our large group of family and friends!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Seasonal, Live Music, , Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Charley G's exceeds our expect ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

As always Charley G's exceeds our expectations. Truly a 5 star team to make your evening a special one. Kudos to Nathan who has waited on us dozens of times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the béchamel crab cake with root v ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved the béchamel crab cake with root vegetable hash! One crab cake was plenty as it was rich but delicious and only $14 which is a phenomenal price for this restaurant. Turtle cheesecake was good but not great. Overall--great date night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

For the 1st time I was disappointed with ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

For the 1st time I was disappointed with the food. No seasoning and the duck gumbo which is the reason I come here just wasn't near as good as it use to be .

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

As always Charley G's does not disappoin ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always Charley G's does not disappoint !! Atmosphere, food and service were of the highest order. I had the fish special which was delectable, my wife had the petit filet which was fantastic. Overall it was a great date nite.

Tags: Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lunch, as usual. Black drum, becha ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great lunch, as usual. Black drum, bechamel crab cakes, and duck and andouille gumbo are excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charley G's is always one of my wife an ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Charley G's is always one of my wife and I's favorite. Food is always fresh and creative as they seasonally change the menu. The entire staff are very knowledgeable and enjoy focusing on detail. In addition their wine and drink list is outstanding and enjoyable to choose from.

Charlie

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my wife there for her birthday. T ...

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I took my wife there for her birthday. The service was awesome and made us feel very welcome. The food was great as always. I thought it was nice for so many wished her a happy birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Great service. Love the pia ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food. Great service. Love the piano bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great Food was great It's t ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service was great

Food was great

It's the best place in town

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently one of my favorite spots! L ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Consistently one of my favorite spots! Last week, friends and I got together to enjoy a meal. Service is to a t. Food is delicious. A variety of options — from the healthy to the decadent. First class service made the night a wonderful experience for us all. I believe our waiter's name was Shawn, which I note because a well-trained waiter/server is such a beautiful thing! Thanks, Charley G's for a lovely evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New year eve. Food and service was excel ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New year eve. Food and service was excellent

I would recommend to friends

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A favorite here in Lafayette, always con ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A favorite here in Lafayette, always consistent , staff is the best. Every dish on the menu is worth a try. Get there early and enjoy a great bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ate here for a date nig ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I ate here for a date night. It has been our second time here and we can't wait to go again. Very romantic fabulous service and absolutely the best food! ❤️

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner! ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner! The food was outstanding, the music great, and the ambiance festive. Most important, we received excellent service and extend thanks to our servers for working on Christmas Eve, so that I didn't have to cook!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I worked here for years... and I always ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I worked here for years... and I always thoroughly enjoy coming back and dining. Nate was our server, and he was wonderful. The food and drinks were nothing short of amazing, as usual. The atmosphere was fun and festive. I'll certainly be back :)!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been eating At Charlie G’s since 20 ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I've been eating At Charlie G’s since 2001. I live in New Orleans and when I visit Lafayette I try to stop by and have bowl of their duck and andouille gumbo. All there entrees are delicious and you can't go wrong with any dish. I tried the mahi mahi and the pork belly wraps this past visit and delighted with flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Usual great food and over the top good s ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Usual great food and over the top good service. One of our favorite places and in 21 years, have not been disappointed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charley G's is consistently a top dining ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Charley G's is consistently a top dining option in Lafayette. The food is great, the atmosphere is energetic and the service is always stellar.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I can't quite put my finger on one reaso ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I can't quite put my finger on one reason why, but I love Charlie G's! Something about the grilling meat smell in the air, the open kitchen bustling with activity, the tie-wearing, cultured but not stuffy wait staff, relatively simple, classic menu, the general ambiance. Reminds me of some of the New Orleans classics where I grew up. If I lived close to it, I'd probably be broke, because I'd eat there daily!

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I try to get to Charlie G's whenever I'm ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I try to get to Charlie G's whenever I'm in Lafayette. As always, excellent food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My absolute favorite restaurant in town! ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My absolute favorite restaurant in town! The food is always delicious and sourced locally. The staff is highly professional and very friendly. The wood grill makes the restaurant smell delicious! Fantastic selection of specialty drinks and wine, and also beautiful desserts by the in-house pastry chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous experience!

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Fabulous experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Me and my husband went to Charley G's fo ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Me and my husband went to Charley G's for our anniversary. The atmosphere was fantastic, with a piano playing in the backgroud. Food was great as well, my husbank ordered the fillet with potatoes and I ordered the crab cakes. We will surely visit this place again in the near future!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 couples celebrating the Christmas.

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

3 couples celebrating the Christmas.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charlie G's never disappoints!! Atmosphe ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Charlie G's never disappoints!! Atmosphere, service and food are always top notch!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet Oscar is my husbands favorite! I ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Filet Oscar is my husbands favorite! I enjoyed the fish served over garlic spinach very delicious.

The atmosphere is always pleasant and relaxing!

Great place for celebrating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service, as always pe ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always perfect dining experience and great way to celebrate a special birthday!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. My company loved t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food was outstanding. My company loved their meals. I was not partial to the crispy duck but besides that a 5 star meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, , Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Long-stemmed artichokes are my new favor ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Long-stemmed artichokes are my new favorite appetizer. We dined with our 3 young children and it was an excellent experience. We look forward to our next dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome bread pudding! Awesome shrimp s ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Awesome bread pudding! Awesome shrimp scampi! Good atmosphere.

Tags: Wood Oven, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

With decades of great food behind it, Ch ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2016

With decades of great food behind it, Charley G continues to perform with its best "A" Game.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the food all tasted the same. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I thought the food all tasted the same. The grits and the fish had the same taste.

The fired green tomatoes did have their own flavour. The bread was so so.

Artichokes were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Best service I've ever had! Food was fre ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Best service I've ever had! Food was fresh and perfectly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always Charlie G's comes through as a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 21, 2016

As always Charlie G's comes through as a good place to bring out of town guest for a great atmosphere that allows you to have a conversation. Their menu is exceptional and the food is the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice evening at Charlie G's liked the ne ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Nice evening at Charlie G's liked the new menu additions of the mussels and artichoke salad. Service was excellent as well as the duck entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.