Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

About Charley G's Seafood Grill

Charley G's is a Lafayette favorite known for grilling aged beef & fresh Louisiana seafood over southern hardwoods. The food at Charley G's is driven by Southern inspiration and the menu changes seasonally with local seafood & produce. The casual yet upscale atmosphere has a bar area with live piano music Wednesday through Saturday & happy hour Monday though Friday from 4:00-7:00 pm. Charley G's also offers a wide assortment of specialty liquors, liqueurs & wines. Once a month Charley G's hosts a wine dinners that features wines from various regions and uniquely paired cuisine.

3809 Ambassador Caffery Parkway
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robley

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 981-0108

Website:
http://www.charleygs.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday Nights

Catering:
Catering available

Executive Chef:
Holly Goetting

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Charley G's Seafood Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (22)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Business Meals (14)
Live Music (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. Service was outstanding!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

I was slightly disappointed in the food as this is typically one of my favorite Lafayette spots.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrating a birthday,our table was lightly decorations on the table just perfect not over done with a sign birthday card from the staff good touch

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Very good food. Everyone liked what they ordered. Good variety to please everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food & service were outstanding. I’ve never had a bad meal here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Many attributes to Charley Gs, but the most memorable aspect for me, every time I enter, is the lite not intrusive aroma of the cooking, just a hint of wood smoke flavoring in the air!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food and exceptional service - our waiter was so knowledgeable about the food and wine and added to us having a wonderful evening!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 28, 2017

I drove 130 miles each way [Covington, La. home] to take my wife for a date night on her Birthday. I was a regular at the Metairie, La location for many years and so I wanted her to experience my favorite restaurant ever. Boy, they did not let me down on her special day, food and drinks were A+ and the service was great, place looked great and they even gave her a Birthday card signed by the entire dining staff. What a great place to spend a nice date night. I love Charley G's. and wish that they were not 130 miles from our home. Go and see what I think is a truly great place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

To celebrate my birthday and my Sis visiting from out of town I selected Charlie G's. In making a reservation (they can get quite busy after 7pm) they asked if it was an occasion and I just mentioned my birthday. When we arrived, there was a Birthday Card on the table that all employees signed and shiny sprinkles. Plus they paid my dessert. It was a great experience and everyone was nice and tentative without being bothersome. Perfect!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

2nd time to visit Charley G's. Everything was just great. Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The special event of the night was an Anniversary Celebration. It was great to have the table decorated for the occasion, in addition to all of the staff, from the hostess to the manger, wish us Happy Anniversary. The food was great across the board - starting with the sampler appetizer, to the entrée, and finishing off with dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2017

As always the food and service was on point. I had the grilled redfish special which was divine, my wife the filet steak all cooked beautifully.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had a great night. Food was excellent until the desert (hence the four starts for the food). Desert was definitely microwaved to be heated up. It was scalding when it came to the table. Kind of put a bad spin on what was a great dinner. The steaks we had were perfect. The seasoned grill and char- taste transmitted to the steak which made them some of the best steaks I've had in Lafayette. The accompanying lobster was tough and slightly over done.
All in all, a good night, great drinks and excellent ambience.
Won't let the above hold us bad from going back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This restaurant used to be my favorite for special occasions. Although most of the food was as good as I remembered, I find the younger wait staff leaves much to be desired for the prices charged. Our waiter forgot our salad, forgot my husband's tea, and the other staffer put the dessert tray down and then asked if we wanted to hear about the dessert. The front of this house used to be run a bit more professional. Maybe because we are an older couple, we weren't treated as well as in past visits.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was top notch.
Always a great meal. Holly is a great Chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food great. Service great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Outstanding service! The crab cakes were full of flavor and melted in your mouth. We had the salted carmel creme brulee and the white chocolate bread pudding, both wonderful finishes for a delicious meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Husband's birthday. He ordered a rib eye steak, medium. The steak was mostly gristle and fat and was rare. What I would call raw, barely seared on the outside. I tried to get him to send it back, but he refused. I am sure I'll never get him back in Charley G's for a long, long time.
Thankfully my meal was excellent. I had the scallops.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Lafayette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Favorite restaurant in Lafayette. Never disappointed. Best menu around. Perfect portions. Great Service, timely and professional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Dinner with friends. Awesome as usual. Great atmosphere. Fabulous cuisine.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. Extremely well done. First class experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food and service are top notch at this restaurant. Some unusual plate combinations, but sides can be substituted. I would recommend it for a nice night out or a special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Both steaks were cooked to perfection! The pecan pie was delicious

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

$42 for a Filet and 8 for grits. How about adding a little flavor? Steak was grainy. I ordered med-Rare.

Service, on the other hand, was impeccable. Really nice.

John

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The duck gumbo is wonderful, and so are the pan seared scallops. Great atmosphere and first rate service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Was very pleased with the whole experience. The food was delicious and beautifully presented

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Reservation made thru Open Table went off without a hitch. Service and food were great. Lively atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

the service was excellent and our waiter knew the menu and specials, my family really enjoyed it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Charley G is a great place for those romantic times and great food. The steaks were outstanding .No need for a steak knife the butter knife will do just fine. The service was fantastic and and management made sure to come to see if anything else was needed. Also a delight to see birthday fetti spread on table.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Used Open Table last minute reservation for birthday dinner. Table was ready when we arrived . Had a very friendly and warm greeting from all the employees. Table was decorated for birthday. Food and Service was excellent. Have always enjoyed going to Charley G's since they have been open. Atmosphere is great.

Joe Thibodeaux

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always consistent in food quality. Small servings for price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I have been a regular patron since Charley Goodson opened Charley G's many years ago.

The food is excellent. The service is personal and timely. The atmosphere is what one would expect in a Goodson eatery. I give it 5 ⭐️!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Charley G's is one of our favorite restaurants...consistently good food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The only place for a SPECIAL Occasion. We have celebrated the last 20 anniversary there, Daughter's High school graduation , College Graduation, and engagement. Excellent staff and great atmosphere.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This restaurant always delivers. Busy Saturday night and the service was outstanding as usual. Jean Paul our waiter helped make our date night very enjoyable. The escargot appetizer was tasty and followed by the Romaine wedge. Couldn't miss with the crispy duck and surf & turf for the main course. Come to think of it we have never had a bad meal at this restaurant which keeps us coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Four stars for the food because I thought the rizzuto that came with the clams was too hot with jalapeno peppers for me. I should have asked for another size dish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

First time dining there and will definitely return. Main dining room a bit noisy but moved to table in the bar and much more "conversation" friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Charley G's never disappoints. Good food and good service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.