About Charley G's Seafood Grill

Charley G's is a Lafayette favorite known for grilling aged beef & fresh Louisiana seafood over southern hardwoods. The food at Charley G's is driven by Southern inspiration and the menu changes seasonally with local seafood & produce. The casual yet upscale atmosphere has a bar area with live piano music Wednesday through Saturday & happy hour Monday though Friday from 4:00-7:00 pm. Charley G's also offers a wide assortment of specialty liquors, liqueurs & wines. Once a month Charley G's hosts a wine dinners that features wines from various regions and uniquely paired cuisine.

3809 Ambassador Caffery Parkway
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm-9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robley

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 981-0108

Website:
http://www.charleygs.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday Nights

Catering:
Catering available

Executive Chef:
Holly Goetting

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Charley G's Seafood Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (13)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Live Music (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Cozy (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Family Style (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
177 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Charley G's is always one of my wife an ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Charley G's is always one of my wife and I's favorite. Food is always fresh and creative as they seasonally change the menu. The entire staff are very knowledgeable and enjoy focusing on detail. In addition their wine and drink list is outstanding and enjoyable to choose from.

Charlie

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my wife there for her birthday. T ...

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined 3 days ago

I took my wife there for her birthday. The service was awesome and made us feel very welcome. The food was great as always. I thought it was nice for so many wished her a happy birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Great service. Love the pia ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food. Great service. Love the piano bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great Food was great It's t ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service was great

Food was great

It's the best place in town

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently one of my favorite spots! L ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Consistently one of my favorite spots! Last week, friends and I got together to enjoy a meal. Service is to a t. Food is delicious. A variety of options — from the healthy to the decadent. First class service made the night a wonderful experience for us all. I believe our waiter's name was Shawn, which I note because a well-trained waiter/server is such a beautiful thing! Thanks, Charley G's for a lovely evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New year eve. Food and service was excel ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New year eve. Food and service was excellent

I would recommend to friends

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A favorite here in Lafayette, always con ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A favorite here in Lafayette, always consistent , staff is the best. Every dish on the menu is worth a try. Get there early and enjoy a great bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ate here for a date nig ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I ate here for a date night. It has been our second time here and we can't wait to go again. Very romantic fabulous service and absolutely the best food! ❤️

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner! ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner! The food was outstanding, the music great, and the ambiance festive. Most important, we received excellent service and extend thanks to our servers for working on Christmas Eve, so that I didn't have to cook!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I worked here for years... and I always ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I worked here for years... and I always thoroughly enjoy coming back and dining. Nate was our server, and he was wonderful. The food and drinks were nothing short of amazing, as usual. The atmosphere was fun and festive. I'll certainly be back :)!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been eating At Charlie G’s since 20 ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I've been eating At Charlie G’s since 2001. I live in New Orleans and when I visit Lafayette I try to stop by and have bowl of their duck and andouille gumbo. All there entrees are delicious and you can't go wrong with any dish. I tried the mahi mahi and the pork belly wraps this past visit and delighted with flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Usual great food and over the top good s ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Usual great food and over the top good service. One of our favorite places and in 21 years, have not been disappointed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charley G's is consistently a top dining ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Charley G's is consistently a top dining option in Lafayette. The food is great, the atmosphere is energetic and the service is always stellar.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I can't quite put my finger on one reaso ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I can't quite put my finger on one reason why, but I love Charlie G's! Something about the grilling meat smell in the air, the open kitchen bustling with activity, the tie-wearing, cultured but not stuffy wait staff, relatively simple, classic menu, the general ambiance. Reminds me of some of the New Orleans classics where I grew up. If I lived close to it, I'd probably be broke, because I'd eat there daily!

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I try to get to Charlie G's whenever I'm ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I try to get to Charlie G's whenever I'm in Lafayette. As always, excellent food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My absolute favorite restaurant in town! ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My absolute favorite restaurant in town! The food is always delicious and sourced locally. The staff is highly professional and very friendly. The wood grill makes the restaurant smell delicious! Fantastic selection of specialty drinks and wine, and also beautiful desserts by the in-house pastry chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous experience!

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Fabulous experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Me and my husband went to Charley G's fo ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Me and my husband went to Charley G's for our anniversary. The atmosphere was fantastic, with a piano playing in the backgroud. Food was great as well, my husbank ordered the fillet with potatoes and I ordered the crab cakes. We will surely visit this place again in the near future!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charlie G's never disappoints!! Atmosphe ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Charlie G's never disappoints!! Atmosphere, service and food are always top notch!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet Oscar is my husbands favorite! I ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Filet Oscar is my husbands favorite! I enjoyed the fish served over garlic spinach very delicious.

The atmosphere is always pleasant and relaxing!

Great place for celebrating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service, as always pe ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always perfect dining experience and great way to celebrate a special birthday!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. My company loved t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food was outstanding. My company loved their meals. I was not partial to the crispy duck but besides that a 5 star meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, , Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Long-stemmed artichokes are my new favor ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Long-stemmed artichokes are my new favorite appetizer. We dined with our 3 young children and it was an excellent experience. We look forward to our next dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome bread pudding! Awesome shrimp s ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Awesome bread pudding! Awesome shrimp scampi! Good atmosphere.

Tags: Wood Oven, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

With decades of great food behind it, Ch ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2016

With decades of great food behind it, Charley G continues to perform with its best "A" Game.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the food all tasted the same. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I thought the food all tasted the same. The grits and the fish had the same taste.

The fired green tomatoes did have their own flavour. The bread was so so.

Artichokes were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Best service I've ever had! Food was fre ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Best service I've ever had! Food was fresh and perfectly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always Charlie G's comes through as a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 21, 2016

As always Charlie G's comes through as a good place to bring out of town guest for a great atmosphere that allows you to have a conversation. Their menu is exceptional and the food is the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice evening at Charlie G's liked the ne ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Nice evening at Charlie G's liked the new menu additions of the mussels and artichoke salad. Service was excellent as well as the duck entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portion size is not large, and for t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The portion size is not large, and for the price some sides could be included, however the food was delicious. We loved the live piano with dinner. I know this is laid back Lafayette, but If you are offering fine dinning, then you should be willing to have a dress code. Most of the clientele was in nice evening dress, but we has one group guys seated beside us who were wearing what would generously be called work clothes and baseball caps. If I'm paying $75 for two small meals, I don't want to have to put up with someone next to me who should have gone to a sports bar, talking on their cell phones and being loud. If someone wants to wear dirty jeans and T-shirts they should be seated in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

I was extremely disappointed in my exper ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I was extremely disappointed in my experience at Charlie G's. The service was very slow. We spent almost two hours for dinner, and the diners around us were in the same boat. The food okay but not spectacular. The waitress did come by to check on us once or twice, but the "large party in the back" excuse sounded false. I didn't penalize the waitress with my tip, and the host was very nice.

However, given they are a high end establishment, I did not feel like I got a good value for the cost. So, I will not go back there anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Really good restaurant with a impressive ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Really good restaurant with a impressive wine list and great food and service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was cool, The lounge singer ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 6, 2016

the service was cool, The lounge singer sounded like Aretha Franklin with the flu stuck in high gear but it was entertaining. Very good for a date night.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Consistently a great experience. The sea ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Consistently a great experience. The sea bass is a must have. Great service with a smile. Loved every minute!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A bit disappointing in that my wife's fi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 4, 2016

A bit disappointing in that my wife's fish was obviously put on the grill right out of the freezer and not near the quality we've come to expect at Charlie G's.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

A mixed bag. A beautiful space, thought ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

A mixed bag. A beautiful space, thoughtfully designed and very comfortable. Outstanding tuna tartare, the best I have ever had. The sample of gumbo we were given was in a classic Cajun style, with a really dark roux. Delicious. But the Gulf fish had too much going on and the crispy duck was certainly crispy but medium instead of medium rare. Nathan was a very attentive server but when we were waiting for dessert the crew decided it was time to start closing things up. We felt as if we were holding them up. The coffee arrived so hot it was obviously microwaved and the pecan pie was dry. An unfortunate finish. We had a much different experience at the sister restaurant Social Southern Table and Bar. Clearly one should consider going with the house specialties and take suggestions from your servers at other restaurants in the area.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Can't go wrong with Charley G's...my go ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Can't go wrong with Charley G's...my go to restaurant anytime.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!!! Highly recommend!! ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Love this place!!! Highly recommend!! Great restaurant for family, couples, group of friends! Great food, awesome staff and wonderful environment!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had less than a wonderful exp ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I've never had less than a wonderful experience dining at Charley G's. There is no dish I've tried that I did not like! I personally recommend trying the crab cakes, house salad (add your protein of choice) and the gulf fish of the day is always delicious! Honestly, you can not go wrong with any dish on the menu. Fantastic go to for lunch or dinner!

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, , Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent, howe ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and service was excellent, however, the piano bar was a disappointment. The piano music was just noise to me as I didn't recognize any of the "songs" played except the Star Spangled Banner.

Customer service was priority and we really appreciate the effort your company has placed on this very important aspect of the business. Very enjoyable night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.