About Charleston Grill

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: 8435774522x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
  • Thai Fish
  • Beef Tenderloin And Potatoes
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
Thai Fish
Beef Tenderloin And Potatoes

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
11 More
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
Romantic
South Carolina
American
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (202)
Romantic (176)
Fit for Foodies (146)
See All
Notable Wine List (131)
Good for Groups (42)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Hot Spot (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Scenic View (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely fabulous restaurant. Extreme ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 19 hours ago

Absolutely fabulous restaurant. Extreme attention to detail. Amazing food and atmosphere. Live music. I will definitely go back. Upper end price wise but well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and jazz music.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome food and jazz music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous service! Food delicious! Highly ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous service! Food delicious! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch dining experience from beginni ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Top notch dining experience from beginning to end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding and beautifully pre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was outstanding and beautifully presented. Great attention to food allergies. Fabulous service and a lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a wonderful evening at Charlesto ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyed a wonderful evening at Charleston Grill. We had the tasting menu (an amazing value) with the upper end wine pairing (the sommelier will take excellent care of you). This was a meal to remember. The foie gras course was one of the best courses I have had in a long time. Truly memorable evening - excellent staff - highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was good. Not sure how it is the seco ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was good. Not sure how it is the second best restaurant around Charleston. Service was great. The oysters were nothing special. The duck was okay. Nothing stood out. But again the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very impressed with the food and especia ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very impressed with the food and especially the service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although he ambience is a little like a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Although he ambience is a little like a Ritz Carlton restaurant, the food was excellent and the staff was very attentive, knowledgeable and very friendly. We had a great time and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, friendly staff. A little pri ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food, friendly staff. A little pricey, but it's got a romantic & secluded atmosphere. Great for date nights & special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Foie Gras was cooked perfectly and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The Foie Gras was cooked perfectly and had a nice southern touch using peaches and bourbon

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, rather overpriced but we felt ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good food, rather overpriced but we felt as though we were paying for more than just the food. The combination of service and ambiance was wonderful so I'd go back for sure. Loved the risotto, and wine list was reasonable considering how high food prices were.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We actually enjoyed two dinners at Charl ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We actually enjoyed two dinners at Charleston Grill. The first was in the dining room. The service was great and the food delicious. However, we ordered and ate so much of the rich food on the menu that we were full for two days. We did enjoy everything that night.

We came back another evening and sat in the bar area which is quite lovely. Both evenings had wonderful music so it was very enjoyable.

On the second evening the chef sent out several of his specialties which were all fabulous. We then ordered several light snacks with a great bottle of wine.

We enjoyed both evenings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great. The staff was super, ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was great. The staff was super, very attentive. The décor was perfect and the jazz music was an added bonus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner was excellent service ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Anniversary dinner was excellent service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I enjoyed our experience ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our experience at this establishment very much because everything was so perfect. Ambiance, staff, food , music, drinks, and the overall feeling that one gets as a customer were top notch. The staff calls you by your name to welcome you after you've been seated and refers to you by your name throughout the dinner service. No other restaurant has ever done that before for us. Dinners were so flavorful , the bronzino fish was juicy and flaky inside with a tasty crisp crust on the outside. My husband's flounder was so tasty and beautifully presented that he almost licked the plate. Love this place! Wished we had one back home.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent as wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food and service was excellent as was the wine. My wife and I ordered the tasting menu and I got the midrange wine pairing. All of the food we got that evening was top notch. The wine pairings were very well thought out and complemented the food beautifully. The pours were generous and a lot of the time, the glass was refilled before moving on to the next selection. I gave feedback on one of the pairings, which they appreciated. It's good to see they're not too snooty to listen to feedback from a patron.

We left with a positive dining experience. The only thing I would change is the wine explanation they gave which tended to be wordy. The ambience and live jazz made for a delightful night out. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated our anniversary here last eve ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary here last evening and staff paid remarkable attention to us. The food was superb.\

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Arturo and Femi rocked. Thank you guys f ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Arturo and Femi rocked. Thank you guys for being great at what you do! I will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was on vacation and was only there on ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was on vacation and was only there one day. Best dinner on way vacation. The fish was outstanding. The live jazz music was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't like that the restaurant was in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I didn't like that the restaurant was inside a mall. I had been expecting it to be right on King St. It was definitely fancy inside but kind of old and tired looking. We had seen pictures online of the crab cake appetizer. We ordered it and our server ask if we would like it split in two to share. We agreed and unfortunately it did not come out as good as it had looked online. It was also soaked in oil that was at the bottom of the dish it was served in so it was a soppy, oily disappointment. We then ordered the Branzino and the Flounder. They were pretty good but nothing blew us away. Have definitely had better before and was overall disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great as always!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every way! Food was spe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Outstanding in every way! Food was spectacular service was unsurpassed we were celebrating the eve before our wedding and were treated like royalty! Will be sure to return on our next trip to Charleston!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I took our 32-year old daugh ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My wife and I took our 32-year old daughter there for her birthday. Although we do not eat a lot - often just appetizers and or split plates, the wait staff served us as if we were royalty facing the premises. Our waiter was attentive to our special need (gluten-free) and had the shared entree already split in the kitchen. The steak tartare was as good as we have had in Paris, and the grouper perfectly done. The restaurant was almost full when we finished our meal, but it was so quiet that we never noticed until we were getting ready to leave. We are quite particular about our wines, but the extensive wine list and knowledgeable waiter provided a perfect white burgundy accompaniment for the food. After dinner we had a rare treat: a 1978 vintage Feist port! We plan to go back there the next time we are in Charleston just because. No need for a super special occasion now.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On a recent trip to Charleston, SC, my w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

On a recent trip to Charleston, SC, my wife and I dined at the Charleston Grill. We were shown to our table almost immediately upon arrival and the server was very, very attentive in explaining to us the various menu choices and the specials of the day. From their website you learn that the Charleston Grill offers a taste of low country cuisine with French touches in “an ambiance that is all at once mellow and lively, traditional and contemporary. Seamless service, orchestrated by the attentive, knowledgeable and approachable staff, sets the stage for an unforgettable dining experience.” We were eager to live that experience. I settled on the seared foie grass with grilled peaches, olive oil cake, Bourbon molasses reduction, candied ginger and almonds, for my appetizer. It’d be followed by the duck breast, blackberry Port reduction, pickled peaches and maitake mushrooms, also from the Lush section. My wine choice was a Siduri Pinot Noir, Santa Lucia Highlands, 2012. Then, there was a hiccup: the foie gras got to the table way before the wine. Several minutes went by and still no sign of the wine. There was no sign of our server either. I had to complain to someone else. That someone else apologized profusely and promised an immediate correction of the inconvenience. It wasn’t so. Meanwhile, I’m glancing at the foie gras getting cold on its plate. Longer minutes went by before the manager finally showed up with the wine, uncorked it, let me taste it and poured it. I could finally enjoy the heavenly foie gras. Whose fault was it: the server, the sommelier, the manager? We’ll never know, but it was remarkable that as the situation developed, our server, who should be taking care of us, remained unaware of what was happening. The duck breast arrived with no additional technical hitches and was deservedly savored. In the end, the verdict was more than positive and the Charleston Grill is definitely a recommended stop for a pleasant dining experience in Charleston.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Charleston - excellent food, unique menu and special touches that you can only find here like the pastries at the end of the meal. Highly reccomend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely way to spend our last evening in ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lovely way to spend our last evening in Charleston. If you visit this historic city, Charleston Grill should be on your bucket list. Thank you for a wonderful experience! Side note, make reservations ahead of time and expect spend more since this is fine dining at its best.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience at the Cha ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at the Charleston Grill. We went for my birthday, and it was everything I could have hoped for. The service was impeccable, the food was delicious, and there was a live jazz band! I will definitely go back to this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Allow the staff to guide you through the ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Allow the staff to guide you through their favorite menu picks for an amazing experience, and consider only ordering one appetizer so that you can really enjoy dessert. The crabcake really is as good as they say.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding service....my wife got the c ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

outstanding service....my wife got the chills and the waiter gave her a shawl for her shoulders. Awesome......

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was really great. Not rushed, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Everything was really great. Not rushed, great service,great food, great atmosphere. Abit noisy. Very pricey, alittle over the top!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic experience celebrating our 15t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Fantastic experience celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. The staff was aware of our special occasion and made it feel extra special. From the card on the table upon arrival to the celebratory dessert wine and extra special anniversary dessert not to mention the overall exceptional and just the perfect amount of attentive service. Thanks for making our anniversary dinner memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and fabulous service! Gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Wonderful food and fabulous service! Great cocktails and wine list. Server very knowledgable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hard to find, due to location being with ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Hard to find, due to location being within a building. But the service was very good.

Selections from the chef has something for everyone. From the simple eater that doesn't wander outside their palate, to the more exotic tastes. We enjoyed splitting the filet, and ordering extra appetizers to try different selections. The quail appetizer was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Charleston Grill is the very best restau ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Charleston Grill is the very best restaurant in Charleston. Executive Chef Michelle Weaver turns out marvelous cuisine. The wine selection is extensive and Rick Rubel will help you select a gem. This restaurant is a must if you are visiting the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my husband's birthday while ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday while visiting Charleston. Each staff member said "Happy Birthday Mr. P" Upon arriving at our table, a birthday card was there. Very impressive. They could not have been more receiving, helpful and gracious. I admired the dishes and the Manager printed out a copy of her distributor. The food was excellent and the jazz ensemble during dinner was very pleasant. Overall experience is one we won't forget.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Michelle Weaver and her team offer ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Chef Michelle Weaver and her team offer innovative and outstanding execution and service. A table visit from Chef topped another special visit for us. When in Charleston, CG is a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I decided to have dinner at ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife and I decided to have dinner at the Charleston Grille to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The decision was based on impressive reviews. Our experience lived up to, if not, exceeded what others had written. The staff was beyond considerate. There were some noisy people at the bar when we arrived, and every effort was made to provide us with the most comfortable seating possible. The food was incredible! And then there was Hannah, our server. She should be the Charleston Grille's "chamber of commerce"! We look forward to returning to Charleston Grille in the near future. It's well worth the drive from our home in Florida.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Charlston . The staff ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Best restaurant in Charlston . The staff were incredible loved the Jazz as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we had a very good dinner, we were ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

While we had a very good dinner, we were actually a little disappointed. We have eaten here before and consider it to be a "must go" when we visit Charleston. The service was spot on, but the food was not as good as past visits (with the exception of the crab cake). Again, we had a very good dinner, but something seemed to be missing this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.