Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: (843) 577-4522

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (106)
Good for Anniversaries (91)
Romantic (84)
See All
Good for a Date (81)
Fit for Foodies (71)
Notable Wine List (70)
Creative Cuisine (69)
Live Music (67)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Local Ingredients (39)
Tasting Menu (36)
Worth the Drive (31)
Cozy (30)
Business Meals (30)
Authentic (24)
Historic (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Healthy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
People Watching (8)
Seasonal (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Private Room (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2836 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We had two fabulous meals at Charleston Grill. The steak and lamb chops were the best we ever tasted. The service was first rate all the way. We loved the ambiance with the jazz music. It was definitely our favorite restaurant in Charleston.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The staff was exemplary. Food was five star. Every course was excellent, timed well and not rushed. Definitely in the top three restaurants in Charleston, possibly number one.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

As always Charleston Grill delivers, outstanding service, outstanding food. My number one food destination in the Southeast. If your in Charleston and you want a great meal this is the place, lots of options but this one always 100% delivers a great experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

As advertised one of the top restaurants in Charleston. Terrific service and wonderful jazz combo.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The night of delicious food, live music and great service was outstanding

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

During our 4 night stay in Charleston, we ate at 4 highly rated restaurants. While all were excellent, this one was the best. Great food, professional, attentive and pleasant wait staff and great setting. A memorable evening!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food, great music. A must stop in Charleston.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Best service in Charleston. This is a great place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We eat here every time we are in Charleston. We always have fabulous and creative food! The restaurant has a warm and wonderful atmosphere. A true gem!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food quality was not good enough to justify the cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

An absolutely outstanding experience!! From the food to the service to the ambiance, it was all incredible. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food is amazing but the service was TERRIBLE!!! The server we had was rude and because we did not order the main dish she spent her time at other tables and ignoring us for very long periods of time. Why the heck does it matter if we don't order the main course but WE spend over $400 with out main course...not like we were just sitting and taking up space at the table with out ordering anything. We ordered everything other than the main course.....cocktails, 2 bottles of wine, several appetizers, and dessert. Very Disappointed!!! This was our first time at Charleston Grill. Did not expect this type of service at ALL!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food, service, atmosphere, and wine list were impeccable. Had a memorable evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Service and food were very good. Went for my wife's birthday. It's always great to still have great restaurants that have also mastered to art of great service with out being to pretentious. Big thanks to the staff and kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The Charleston Grill excels in every area. I've been several times over the years, and I have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My husband and I + my brother and sister in law came for dinner on a Sunday evening. We were looking for wonderful food and music and got both. I called that afternoon to ask about parking and spoke with a delightful young woman who informed me of our options. She noted that I asked that we be seated near the music but not right on top of the players and she gave us a perfect table. Our servers Shawn and Paul were also a delight. The food was absolutely delightful. I enjoyed the octopus salad and flounder. My husband, the oysters. The lamb was wonderful. I would like to be more descriptive of our food choices but I am not gifted that way. Everything was wonderful and beautifully presented. We were not rushed ever which was a special treat. We ate and drank, talked and listened to music for hours. It was a lovely experience for all of us and though expensive, worth the splurge. We were treated like honored guests. This will be a Charleston memory for us for a long time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Was visiting sister and looking for an upscale restaurant that we haven't yet visited. The service was superb and they offered gluten free bread when they mentioned there was a gluten issue....my seafood/uni bucatini was outstanding and would have loved to try the tasting menu, but didn't have the time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

What a wonderful night! From the first greeting to the take home gift this place and these people exceeded our expectations. The Charleston Grill set the bar very high for our four days in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent in all regards. Wondeeful flavors and presentations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 11, 2017

70th birthday

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Truly outstanding experience. Wonderful setting and service. Great jazz music.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food and service were excellent. They had a live jazz band which was fun.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

As a Charleston local and also a member of the food and beverage community here, this is my go to choice every time! Best service, best wine list, NEVER need to ask for anything ( they're always spot on!), and live jazz....my personal fave! Thank you to Mickey, Chef Weaver, and Lisa for a wonderful experience AGAIN!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food was excellent. Will absolutely go there again. We had the lamb and beef tenderloin 🌋🌋🌋

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great meal, excellent service by Lisa. Would recommend going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Our service was great and the food was wonderful. The grilled flounder was our favorite dish and the brussel sprouts our favorite side - but everything was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very strange meal. The special sounded good so I ordered it. The Snapper was so overpowered by the cilantro that it could have been any kind of fish. The wait staff was very good but the only good thing about the dinner was the wine.
I think this former great place is living off of its reputation and does not meetits claimed current status.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food and service will return multiple times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Friendly staff, superb food, and overall a fantastic experience!! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

From the moment we walked in to the moment we left we felt special. The service is over the top but not obtrusive. The chef is extraordinary - she makes clean, inventive, really tasty well balanced dishes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Did the tasting menu and it was delicious! Fish was all cooked perfectly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful dinner. Fabulous service. Live music. Lovely!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 28, 2017

My wife and I chose the Charleston Grill to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversary. It was our first time and we didn't really know what to expect. We were absolutely delighted in every respect. We informed the restaurant in advance that we were celebrating our anniversary. They reserved for us one of the best tables in the house, close to the jazz band but not too close. The waiters were very attentive. The drinks and food were excellent. Yes, it's pricey, but worth every penny.

I don't know if we'll ever get to Charleston again, but if we do, we will dine again at the Charleston Grill.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We had a lovely dinner with unusual dishes to explore. I tried the tuna crudo and the smoked whitefish appetizers and both were delicious. There were extras from the chef before and after dinner, and our waiters (Sean & Steve) were outstanding. The hostess came by to check to make sure that we were enjoying our dinner. The 3 piece combo that plays every night was delightful background music. This is an expensive white tablecloth restaurant, which is excellent for a celebratory occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our experience overall was fantastic! Service was top notch and the food-- oh my the food was great! The lamb chops were the best we have ever tasted. The Norwegian trout was cooked perfectly and delicious The staff made my birthday extra special!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Best steak I've ever had and I consider myself a steak connoisseur. Food was spectacular and as advertised. Service was friendly and attentive. Great value!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

we had exceptional service and the whole evening was memorable.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was a highlight of our Charleston girls getaway weekend. Everything was perfect starting from our service to our authentic cocktails all the way through to the most flavorful flounder I've ever had. Our waiter was impeccable. We'd go back in a heart beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The meal was excellent. The service was incredible. The wine list was excellent. Do not miss this one when in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My husband and I had two wonderful dinners at Charleston Grill last week. We returned to Charleston Grill for a second dinner because it was the best of the several restaurants that we visited during our stay in Charleston. The waitstaff were excellent and the restaurant is gorgeous, well-run, and a wonderful destination. Food was generally outstanding with creative preparations. Dishes of special note include octopus salad and grilled flounder.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.