Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 53 times today

Charleston Grill

4.8
3451 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Low Country
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 577-4522
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michelle Weaver
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Market Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 3451 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.9
service
4.8
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
99% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

The food was very good!! Charleston Grill hostess and are waiters were amazing!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service matched with superior food selection options, wine list was extensive and varied wine list (including dessert wines). Dinner included a nice musical duet which provided a very nice background (not overpowering). The staff to a person were extraordinary; friendly, knowledgeable, and a very engaging. Don't miss this venue when you visit Charleston.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Incredible service! Shawn & James described the ingredients in every dish we selected! We chose the 6 course Tasting Menu and was even able to select most of the dishes on the menu. The manager even stopped by to chat and asked how we were enjoying our tasting menu. We have always enjoyed the "Meal Experience" here at the Charleston Grill! Can't wait to visit again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

One of the finest meals I have enjoyed in many years. The service was beyond excellent. Incredibly extensive wine list. The food was spectacular. My wife and I enjoyed the six course tasting menu (there is also a four course and an eight). The portions were perfect for a tasting and every dish expertly prepared. I would absolutely recommend Charleston Grill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding experience. Delicious food. Impeccable service. Truly the best restaurant in charleston.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Food was to die for. You can’t find a better place for a great
dining experience. Love the music, everything!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Amazing meal and service superb

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Engagement dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Sophisticated, Gracious, Creative, Luscious, Incomparable

Superlatives simply do not suffice when it comes to describing the Charleston Grill. Five Stars frankly won’t do. We drove to Charleston from Cincinnati to celebrate our anniversary—the second time we’ve done this. It’s a long way to go, but hopefully we can do it again. The restaurant itself is a destination. We made our reservations months in advance and we were treated like royalty, but then as you look around the beautiful dining room, all the diners are being pampered by the extraordinarily gracious, knowledgeable wait staff. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the maître d, wishing us a happy anniversary. We were instantly escorted to our table near the jazz trio, as we had requested. Did I forget to say a visit to the Charleston Grill is also musical! We love jazz and the Grill’s piano trio is part of the understated sophistication of this restaurant. The food, or course, is extraordinary. The menu is creative and enticing. Ordering is a bit like making your Christmas wish list! Trying to describe this wonderland of cuisine is futile. I’ve tried but I can’t do it justice. Suffice it to say, we told others staying at the B&B about our dining experience and they made their own reservations. The next morning, the whole group was raving about the Charleston Grill experience. Some of the descriptive terms I’ve used here came from them! Go and you, too, will also be struggling to find a way to write a review of a perfect restaurant experience—The matchless Charleston Grill! (Yes. It’s worth a two day drive!)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Great service but overpriced for the quality. No dish stood out

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Birthday dinner...everything was perfect including the music

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Fabulous. One of the best restaurants I have ever been to. Service spectacular, food outstanding. I highly recommend it and will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Great experience with excellent service and food. Jazz trio playing. The four of us were all happy with our meals.

The sturgeon was delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

outstanding food, service and ambience. Could do without the music

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food was good but not outstanding. Would go back though! Service was nice and there was a great jazz band that we really enjoyed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Everything was perfect. The service was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Magnificent meal in every way. We did the 6 course tasting menu-everything exceeded our expectations. The wine list was great. Every course was amazing! Service was fantastic! We highly recommend the tasting menu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Terrific service as servers acted like they really enjoyed their jobs! Very creative presentation of the food that had bursts of flavor in each bite. We dined at serveral places in Charleston and this was one of my top two!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Linen tablecloths, great service, creative appetizers!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We do not recommend the prix fixe option. For $80 per person, they are counting a spoonful of soup (literally a spoon filled with soup laying on a plate as a course). The steak option was less than 2 oz. The salad was the best part.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Nothing really memorable. No big deal maybe caught them on an off night

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Fish was not great this trip but still a very good place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Wait staff especially James made our experience great. Great knowledge of the foods and wines.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Outstanding Moroccan Salad and sturgeon entree. The service was just superb. The restaurant is beautiful and a jazz quartet was playing (softly). Just the right combination of elegant and relaxed. We look forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

It was outstanding! A wonderful way to end our vacation in the Charleston area. Steve and Bryan were outstanding servers. Everything was perfect and we will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Friends birthday celebration

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Our waiter, Adam, was very attentive and personable. The music was terrific!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Fabulous. A++

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Excellent! Wonderful fine dining experience. Food was delicious. Well worth the money. Great for a romantic date.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Charleston Grill is fine dining at its best. You will walk out stuffed and fully satisfied. The drinks and the food were excellent. Next time I go back to Charleston I will definitely make sure I have a reservation for dinner. This is a high dollar meal. If you want to eat on the cheap this is not the place. To me it was well worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Rack of lamb was outstanding
Best service we have had in any restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Excellent in every detail. The ingredients were truly fresh and of the highest quality. The dishes were creative and delicious. Our servers were very well informed and were able to communicate the chef's attention to detail. In our opinion, the Charleston Grill ranks with the best in any city.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Outstanding in every way. It is one of the best culinary experiences in the world, definitely the best in Charleston. Every detail was considered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Had an amazing experience. We were celebrating our engagement and were welcomed with congratulations by all of the staff that engaged with us. The entire experience was curated to codify the special nature of the occasion. From our seating arrangement to the handcrafted note on candies/chocolates we received at the end of the meal, everything was perfect.

Would highly recommend for very special occasions. Tasting menu was delicious. Ahi tuna and lamb in particular.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Rated best in charleston.. and I believe it is. Great service, above and beyond friendly, knowledgeable and professional. A wonderful experience to dine with them. Food was blissful, we loved every bite. Additionally were small extra additions to our meal and to top it off a jazz band played smooth music dine to.. just a fantastic time for our anniversary and my birthday...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Excellent experience! Can’t wait to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Best meal in Charleston...hands down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Where do I begin... I've been here several times and I've never had a bad experience! I like to get the tasting menu paired with wine... Chef Weaver's exquisite take on every dish I've had there along with Rick Ruble's masterful pairing with perhaps the best wine list in Charleston makes for just the best experience ever in any restaurant across the country! Can't thank you all enough for how great of a job you have consistently done over the years!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Impeccable service, great flavors. Only minor drawback was it took approx 2.5 hrs for 4 of us to get in and out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Visiting Charleston and was recommended. Meet some very friendly locals while waiting to be seated. Great table location.Wonderful/friendly staff and service. Excellent steaks, sides and wine list. Can’t wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
87