About Charleston Grill

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: 8435774522x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer - Charleston Grill
  • Thai Fish - Charleston Grill
  • Beef Tenderloin And Potatoes - Charleston Grill
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer - Charleston Grill
Thai Fish - Charleston Grill
Beef Tenderloin And Potatoes - Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
10 More
Romantic
South Carolina
Special Occasion
South Carolina
American
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (157)
Romantic (138)
Fit for Foodies (111)
See All
Notable Wine List (104)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Groups (28)
Hot Spot (21)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Live Music (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Business Meals (9)
Scenic View (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Authentic (6)
Historic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had the chefs tasting menu and it was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had the chefs tasting menu and it was outstanding. This restaurant is fine dining at its best. There was a father and son playing music that was so enjoyable and just made the experience even more fabulous. We really loved this meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Live Music, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I noticed upon entering that Charleston ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 6 days ago

I noticed upon entering that Charleston Grill was rated 4 STARS. Upon entering the restaurant, from the ladies that greeted us, the waiters, waitresses and even the manager; they all displayed 5 STAR service. The music was calm and soothing, not loud just right for the moment. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone that lives in Charleston and the surrounding area and those visiting and looking for fine dining restaurant. My wife and I try to go there are the other restaurants in the building at least once/twice per month.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried the 6 course meal that allowed us ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Tried the 6 course meal that allowed us to try several items from the menu! Definitely recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in town for a visit and booked t ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were in town for a visit and booked this restaurant by its ratings for my daughters Birthday. The service was excellent and the food was awesome. A great dining experience .

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the classiest restaurants in Char ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

One of the classiest restaurants in Charleston very centrally located. High caliber service with equally high quality food. One of the best rib eye steaks I've ever eaten!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Wonderful service . Wonderfu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food. Wonderful service . Wonderful place for a special occasion

Tags: Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner! We were in town for o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful dinner! We were in town for our anniversary and wanted to go someplace special. We've had many amazing dinners and this one really lived up to our expectations. We went for the tasting menu paired with wines and nothing disappointed. The best Snapper I've ever had and everything was presented beautifully with the wines perfectly paired. Also can't praise the servers enough. They were attentive, knowledgeable fun and to chat with. Will definitely go back the next time we're in Charleston.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Great wines. Outstanding ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent food. Great wines. Outstanding service (Brian). Best restaurant in Charleston.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All our food options were incredibly del ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

All our food options were incredibly delicious , with beautiful presentation. The 2-3 extra small chef's tasting we received were nice surprises. Our server Andrew, and his whole team, provided outstanding service. The live music in the background added to the ambience , creating a very special evening. Highly recommend this restaurant .

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant for wheelchair accessib ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great restaurant for wheelchair accessibility, and the food was delicious. This is a special occasion restaurant and we enjoyed ourselves tremendously.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband & I enjoyed an outstanding me ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My husband & I enjoyed an outstanding meal with excellent service in a romantic environment. It was an expensive evening, but worth it as we both celebrated our birthdays. This is a unique restaurant, and we hope to dine there next time we're in Charleston.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food. It is in a very ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great service and food. It is in a very good location on King Street.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, venue is romantic w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding service, venue is romantic with background jazz and food simply flawless- a must for high dining when you are in Charleston SC. Michelle Weaver, Chef, if not already highly acclaimed for her cooking, should be highlighted nationally for her fine cuisine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the very best dining experien ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Absolutely the very best dining experience. There was nothing not to like!

The dining room had a very delightful ambiance The lighting and decor along with the live jazz pianist added to the overall enjoyment. The menu descriptions were very appealing and very accurate! The food was not only beautifully presented but wonderful to taste! Service was impeccable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening...Everything we wanted for ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great evening...Everything we wanted for a special birthday dinner...Bravo!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We did the Charleston Grill our last nig ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We did the Charleston Grill our last night in Charleston after experiencing three great restaurants. The CG was the best. Great food from somewhat limited but creative menu. Nika and her team provided superior service with some fun included. All our entrees (ribeye, rack of lamb and scallops) were excellent. Just a lovely dining experience. Extensive wine list with wines from a variety of smaller, but excellent, vineyards. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Most amazing meal ever! From the minute ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Most amazing meal ever! From the minute we walked in the door, the staff knew we were celebrating an anniversary and birthday and made our evening extra special. We chose the six course tasting mean and the food was beyond delicious. As dessert was about to come out, the waiter offered us complimentary dessert wine. Following dessert we were treated to special chocolates to continue the celebration. And to top it all off the chef sent us breakfast treats to take home for the next day. Talk about service. I highly recommend the Charleston Grille!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charleston Grille is a wonderful place t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Charleston Grille is a wonderful place to host a business meal or a meal for a special occasion. Food is fresh, authentic to the region and beyond. A real hit with my business colleagues.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!! Food very creative and deli ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Excellent!! Food very creative and delicious. Great service and ambiance w jazz band

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Charleston! My wife ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Best restaurant in Charleston!

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful bottle of Chappellet cabernet sauvignon with our perfectly cooked 22 oz. ribeye steak.

Chef did a special side of mushrooms that were the best I've ever eaten in the US, Canada & Europe.

Our servers, Andrew and Steve, were spot on with their advice and knowledge of the menu.

A must place to dine in Charleston!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was impeccable! Andrew and Steve ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service was impeccable! Andrew and Steve were charming and made wonderful recommendations. The Thai fish was one of the most beautiful meals I've ever experienced- aromatic, light; a romance for my pallette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. We loved the une ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything was great. We loved the unexpected tiny bites. Love love love, this place represents all the goodness, friendliness, personal that charleston is all about.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible service but food was mostly ' ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Incredible service but food was mostly 'good'. Like many other reviews pointed out, the crab cake can use a bit less of an olive oil bath - unfortunately the crab taste was almost completely covered up by the strength of the olive oil. My Thai fish dish which was snapper on a bowl of broth was ok. the broth did not have enough of a taste to do justice to the rest of the dish. However, my wife's flounder was very nice. Our server, Nika, was extraordinary and made this visit a very pleasant one, especially given we had our 2 kids with us. Would come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Its hard to explain perfect in every way ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Its hard to explain perfect in every way , so let me say THANKS

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charleston Grill is as posh as the Belmo ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Charleston Grill is as posh as the Belmond Hotel where it is located. The food is varied, with something to suit most people. The staff is diligent in keeping track of ingredients, so allergens can be avoided. They even keep a record for your next visit. An assortment of small surprise dishes arrived throughout the meal, followed by a beautiful gold dessert box to be taken with you.

The atmosphere is exquisite, perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Femi was the most personable waiter I ha ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Femi was the most personable waiter I have ever know. Great food, Lamb Chop especially.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It lived up to its reputation as a great ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

It lived up to its reputation as a great dining experience. Very pricey but worth it. Excellent food, outstanding service, great setting - couldn't ask for more!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here while on vacation. The restaur ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Went here while on vacation. The restaurant was beautiful but relaxing. Service was excellent. Waitress was very attentive and friendly but professional. Food was exceptional! Both of us enjoyed everything we ordered. A very nice and varied menu selection. Would recommend this restaurant yo anyone. Perfect for special occasions too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous and eclectic menu.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Fabulous and eclectic menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely pricey. At least one dish was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Extremely pricey. At least one dish was both unattractive, and barely edible. The ambiance and the service, by Lisa, were Top Drawer. Otherwise, over rated.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent dining experience. The food ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent dining experience. The food was excellent and the service was very good. All the waiters were working part-time while finishing their Ph.D's. It was a great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous restaurant. Extreme ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Absolutely fabulous restaurant. Extreme attention to detail. Amazing food and atmosphere. Live music. I will definitely go back. Upper end price wise but well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and jazz music.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Awesome food and jazz music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a first class restaurant. The me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This is a first class restaurant. The menu has excellent variety and the wine list is superb. The staff, from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave, treats you like royalty. I dined here in June during a four day visit. This time I dined here twice during a six day visit. The staff at the Charleston Grill know what they are doing and they do it well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous service! Food delicious! Highly ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Fabulous service! Food delicious! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch dining experience from beginni ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Top notch dining experience from beginning to end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding and beautifully pre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was outstanding and beautifully presented. Great attention to food allergies. Fabulous service and a lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a wonderful evening at Charlesto ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful evening at Charleston Grill. We had the tasting menu (an amazing value) with the upper end wine pairing (the sommelier will take excellent care of you). This was a meal to remember. The foie gras course was one of the best courses I have had in a long time. Truly memorable evening - excellent staff - highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.