About Charleston Grill

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: 8435774522x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
  • Thai Fish
  • Beef Tenderloin And Potatoes
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
Thai Fish
Beef Tenderloin And Potatoes

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
10 More
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
Romantic
South Carolina
American
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (226)
romantic (195)
fit for foodies (176)
See All
notable wine list (150)
neighborhood gem (55)
good for groups (46)
hot spot (26)
vibrant bar scene (20)
late-night find (18)
great for brunch (13)
scenic view (10)
great for lunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hard to find, due to location being with ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Hard to find, due to location being within a building. But the service was very good.

Selections from the chef has something for everyone. From the simple eater that doesn't wander outside their palate, to the more exotic tastes. We enjoyed splitting the filet, and ordering extra appetizers to try different selections. The quail appetizer was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Charleston Grill is the very best restau ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Charleston Grill is the very best restaurant in Charleston. Executive Chef Michelle Weaver turns out marvelous cuisine. The wine selection is extensive and Rick Rubel will help you select a gem. This restaurant is a must if you are visiting the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my husband's birthday while ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went for my husband's birthday while visiting Charleston. Each staff member said "Happy Birthday Mr. P" Upon arriving at our table, a birthday card was there. Very impressive. They could not have been more receiving, helpful and gracious. I admired the dishes and the Manager printed out a copy of her distributor. The food was excellent and the jazz ensemble during dinner was very pleasant. Overall experience is one we won't forget.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Michelle Weaver and her team offer ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Chef Michelle Weaver and her team offer innovative and outstanding execution and service. A table visit from Chef topped another special visit for us. When in Charleston, CG is a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best restaurant in Charlston . The staff ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best restaurant in Charlston . The staff were incredible loved the Jazz as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we had a very good dinner, we were ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

While we had a very good dinner, we were actually a little disappointed. We have eaten here before and consider it to be a "must go" when we visit Charleston. The service was spot on, but the food was not as good as past visits (with the exception of the crab cake). Again, we had a very good dinner, but something seemed to be missing this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding restaurant. Menu selection ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding restaurant. Menu selection was very good. Was not rushed at all. Will make this a regular stop on our Charleston trips.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another great experience. I ordered my s ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Another great experience. I ordered my steak medium rare. It came back medium well. They fixed it and fast. The second steak was perfect. Our waiter, Femi, was beyond attentive. One of the finest restaurants Charleston has to offer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish was perfectly prepared. Attentive ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Fish was perfectly prepared. Attentive servers. Overall relaxing and delightful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect way to celebrate a special occas ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Perfect way to celebrate a special occasion! Not only was the food excellent, but with a trio playing live jazz it was both romantic and pleasant. The rack of lamb was perfection and the flavors of the accompaniments on the plate blended well with the seasoning of the lamb. The lemon cake dessert was light, but very tasty, and a perfect ending to a wonderful meal. A bit pricey, but a gem, none-the less. One not to miss when you are in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and superb wait staff. Li ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent food and superb wait staff. Live music was just the right touch. Best meal we had while in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Great service. A little ex ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food. Great service. A little expensive but worth it for the food and service quality. We would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have dined here several times a year ove ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Have dined here several times a year over the last ten years. Always superb, never disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took relatives to the restaurant for ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We took relatives to the restaurant for a special dinner and time. It exceeded our expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the tasting menu and it was one o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had the tasting menu and it was one of the most scrumptious and delightful dining experiences we ever had., the foie gras, pork cheek and lamb chops were off the charts scrumptious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Charleston a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was our first visit to Charleston and the Charleston Grill far exceeded our expectations. my wife and I love to cook, so it was quite a surprise to find the quality of food, and the special ingredients that went into the meal were outstanding. the chef prepared a truly magical meal. It was our anniversary and they even brought us a glass of Champagne to toast our special occasion at the end of the evening. The only thing that exceeded the food was the service. We were treated to an absolute outstanding experience and everyone catered to our every need. The Charleston Grill is probably the best restaurant that we have ever been to.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply exquisite as always. This is alwa ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Simply exquisite as always. This is always our number 1 choice

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience celebrating my wife ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Wonderful experience celebrating my wife's birthday.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant.. Great food. You shou ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great Restaurant.. Great food.

You should definitely try the 'Thai Fish'. My boyfriend had the Ribeye 22oz. It is extremely huge and tastes as everybit as how you would like it made. The wine list is very remarkable. I had a cocktail called The Good Son. My boyfriend had one called The last word. His was even better!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charleston Grill has excellent food, fan ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Charleston Grill has excellent food, fantastic service and a good wine list. I would recommend it. Since it is a hotel restaurant, you have a variety of people, dress codes, etc. in the restaurant. Very pretty restaurant. I enjoyed it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service and ambiance. Roasted ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful service and ambiance. Roasted beets and Branzino were delicious. My husband had great crab cake starter but wasn't impressed with pork entree. Dessert of French press coffee and creme brûlée was perfect.

Lovely meal, but you can eat as well for less in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and atmosphere were wonderful. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food and atmosphere were wonderful. We celebrated coming to Charleston our special night out. Staff knowledgable and friendly. My husband had the lamb which was good a very large portion also too much if you aren't very hungry. I had the seared flounder yummy. The cheese potatoes were good. The corn muffins too. Dessert the carrot frites yummy we split glad we did. The jazz music was great and very relaxing. I would recommend if you came to Charleston next trip I would do again. Glad we had reservations no wait time we had the 6:45 glad we did we left at 9:30. Most enjoyed most of all very relaxing and enjoyable. Chef treats were a nice touch. This would be my special place if I lived there and wanted good food with the attention to details. Thank you for a most wonderful experience for special memories I will have forever.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing. Yes, the service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very disappointing. Yes, the service was good, as was the jazz. That said, the food should have been much better. Use good ingredients, don't try to be too fancy to justify the very high prices. I recommend Hank's for upscale dining in Charleston, with Pearlz as a casual place for good seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was so disappointing; my sister ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was so disappointing; my sister sent back both of her dishes, the squab and sauteed broccolini. My dish, which was a thick, black pasta with shrimp and octopus was hard to look at, but tasty. Another friend had told me that the food was incredibly salty, but I thought it was just her palate. She was absolutely right.

This is a pricey restaurant. When next I want to spend for dinner I'll go to Husk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was not very exceptional consid ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was not very exceptional considering the price. My biggest complaint was the general manager. He went around talking to guests. When he came to our table, he asked, "How's the food?", then left before my wife and I could say anything. He did not even introduce himself. He should not go around greeting guests if he cannot pay them equal attention. He was friendly and took some time to talk to guests in all the other tables around us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The perfect place to spend one's 35th We ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The perfect place to spend one's 35th Wedding Anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant. Outstanding food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Outstanding food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good but not great.service was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was good but not great.service was spot on.great location and atmosphere.for the price i expected more fRom the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

From the moment we arrived, until the mo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

From the moment we arrived, until the moment we left, we were treated warmly and enthusiastically. Our server, Mika, was extremely well versed in the menu as well as wine suggestions, and she is an asset to this restaurant. The staff was extremely attentive without being intrusive. The food was outstanding, and exceeded my expectations. This might just be the best meal I have ever had. We shared oysters, foie gras, and the crab cake, for our starters. For entrees, two of us each had the Bucatini Nero, and one of us had the ribeye, which was not only perfectly seasoned, but perfectly cooked as well. Since it was my husband's birthday, we were treated to a sparking dessert wine as well as a plate of small pastries. I can't wait until my birthday so we can go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating our 49th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Celebrating our 49th wedding anniversary. From when we were greeted by name, given a special table, fantastic wait service, delicious dinner including dessert; this restaurant gets an A+ in our book. Thanks to all the staff for making this experience so memorable. We look forward to our next visit. A toast to all!🍷🌻

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

This was our second time eating at the ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was our second time eating at the Charleston Grill, once again it was just amazing, everything was prepared to perfection, the service was outstanding, everything was just exceptionally special. Not a place to bring young children, bring your date, your wife or a great group of friends. If your with a group make sure you have "alligator" arms!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 10th Wedding Anniversa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We celebrated our 10th Wedding Anniversary at Charleston Grill. The Service was phenomenal! The greeting and congratulations from the hostess, wait staff and manager(s) was really top notch. Our waitor, Femi (could be a food network show host or judge) was fantastic! He made recommendations, explained how the food items were prepared really knows the food industry and the restaurant's menu top to bottom! Steve was his counterpart and brought things before we even realized we needed them...just outstanding service all around. The Jazz music during dinner is terrific..the restaurant is quiet and romantic. Clean! Eat off the floor clean. The setup and architecture of the restaurant is beautiful. I saw some not so nice reviews of this restaurant when looking at the various places on Open Table..all hogwash. If you would like a great meal, great service and upscale atmosphere whether it is a casual get together or a romantic evening..We highly recommend The Charleston Grill! It made our 10th Anniversary even more memorable! Thank you all for the great memory...we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would highly recommend this restaurant ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I would highly recommend this restaurant, great everything.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Charleston Grille was recommended af ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The Charleston Grille was recommended after searching for some live jazz during my visit to Charleston. I was able to meet the band and have a wonderful dining experience even though I was dining alone. My experience surpassed my expectations.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were impeccable. Excel ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food and service were impeccable. Excellent wine list and ambiance was very good. Had an outstanding meal with business associates.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant with a fresh menu. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent restaurant with a fresh menu. The atmosphere is open but definitely a place for fine dining. The restaurant was about 1/2 full but you could still carry on a conversation and there was a small trio playing classical music in the background. The food was outstanding and the wait staff were very attentive. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First the goods, our service was impecca ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

First the goods, our service was impeccable from courteous to knowledge and timing ! We dined there for our 12 th anniversary the linens and chairs were nice and comfortable. We each had an appetizer, aperitif, entree and wine. My octopus salad was divine I've never had such a well blakanced and perfectly prepared octopus. Out entrees were wonderful the duck duo and pork checks & dumplings. The pirk outshined the duck, however waiter went above and beyond my favorite Pinot Noir is from the Russian River Valley and although none on the menu he found me the perfect glass.

For the dark side the crab cake my hubby had make him extremely ill. He thought it tasted funny talked to the waiter and he said it is a bit off that's the style they do it there. It did make home sick after a couple of hours all the way until late morning next day- not fun for am anniversary night.The music in background is predictable and boring, the single peach flower is also boring on the table.

All and all we might try it again or might not depends what's on the menu and how it evolves. If we return it will be because of the service and pork cheeks! Oh and the octopus salad. I advise stay away from shell fish there

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a fabulous time and recomend ever ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a fabulous time and recomend everyone to dine at Charleston Grill!

It is truely a dining experience you will not forget! Thank you Charleston Grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dining experience, ce ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience, celebrating our wedding anniversary. The food and service were exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Charleston Grill was my favorite din ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The Charleston Grill was my favorite dining spot during our 3-day stay - and we had some wonderful food during our visit! To say Charleston Grill is elegant is an understatement. The restaurant is set in a very posh area among high end shopping on a lovely street - surrounded by a garden in a gorgeous hotel. The establishment is beautifully appointed, the wait staff was attentive and impeccably dressed. The food was indescribably delicious - and artfully presented. In speaking to people in Charleston, it holds a special place for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.