Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (110)
Romantic (98)
Good for a Date (96)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (90)
Notable Wine List (77)
Fit for Foodies (73)
Live Music (68)
Creative Cuisine (65)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Local Ingredients (43)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Worth the Drive (39)
Business Meals (35)
Cozy (31)
Tasting Menu (27)
Authentic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Seasonal (15)
Fun (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (8)
People Watching (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Healthy (6)
Scenic View (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Listen worthy music, excellent treatment by wait staff, fresh food combinations beautifully presented. Exceeded expectations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Much better than anticipated food, service, and drinks!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was great, flavorful and beautifully presented.
Nice Jazz on Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Took my stepdaughter to her first fancy dinner. She loved it! The servers were attentive and the food was exquisite!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a fantastic experience. The quality and taste of the food was excellent. Our server, Chip, was fantastic and would put him at the top of any service we have experienced around the globe.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Music was way too loud and was a major distraction. We asked the waiter and the manager if they could tone it down a bit. The manager said he would but nothing changed.
Also, the service from our waiter was not good. We went long stretches without seeing him. He moved our wine bucket to the rear of the room yet didn't come around often to refill our glasses. He responded only after I asked his helper to move the bucket closer to us (the helper then apologized and refilled our glasses).
While the main course was good, my salad was not. When it was picked up hardly touched, someone should have asked if there was a problem.
Overall, I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

One of my favorites in downtown Charleston. Service is impeccable and the food is always very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

A very special dining experience. Food and service both outstanding and old school so to speak.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was fabulous and the service was amazing. We'll definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The service by All people was exemplary! The food down to the corn muffins was excelent! The best restaraunt to spend our anniversary!

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Charleston Grill is a great place for a special meal, a date, or just a dinner with friends. It's stylish with a classic and casually elegant ambiance, with a jazz trio playing in the front room. My party of two was seated promptly and received excellent service. We tried several dishes and all were excellent. I will definitely return here when I next visit Charleston.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We took our son there as it was recently his birthday and we are visiting for The Citadel's Parents weekend. The jazz quartet was great and the food amazing, order the crab cake and the fois grase and you are set

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

The meal was fantastic and the service was exceptional. Had a very good table. The jazz band was playing in the background.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Charleston Grill lived up to our expectations, based on past experiences in this restaurant---attentive service and excellent food.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Flawless. It was one of the most spectacular dining experiences I have ever had. Truly remarkable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Amazing service. Very professional. Never forgot our names. Outstanding food. The best foie gras ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

60th birthday for my mom. Awesome experience, I can always count on Charleston Grill for a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

My wife and I truly enjoyed entertaining our granddaughter at dinner at the Charleston Grill.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The Charleston Grill was the perfect fine dining experience. Our waiter Chip was enthusiastic & knowledgable. The food was deliscious. The Grilled Annatto Pork Chop was the best!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The Crab cake over the top greatness! Four Gras so delicately presented, every thing was on point of perfection. The service (Bryan & John) professional waiters at the highest level. I will come back to Charleston Grill every time we come to Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Probably the best meal I ever had ! fresh, creative and obscenely delicious!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

The experience was exceptional! The entire waitstaff was amazing (Chip, Steve & James) took excellent care of us. The timing and attention to detail during the entire meal was amazing to watch. The Effen Good Martini was so fantastic we came back to the bar the following evening for a before dinner cocktail. Both the scallops and rack of lamp were delicious. Suggestions on side dishes and wine pairings were spot on. We will definitely be coming back during our next visit.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Organic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Charleston Grill exceeded our expectations. From the moment we walked in to this amazing restaurant, we felt the true southern hospitality. Our waiters, Bryan, Steve and Trevor were outstanding. They made excellent recommendations and were eager to welcome us to the city. They were beyond attentive and every need we had during our dining experience was anticipated before we could even ask. The manager Graham was professional and stopped by our table to check in with us and even knew what we ordered! Our conversation with him was delightful.

Each food course was better than the last. Even the vegetable entree was indescribably delicious. The crab cakes stood out with delicious and unique flavors. The dessert was every bit as decadent as you could hope- the pineapple upside cake was a welcomed recommendation from our waiter.

This is now one of top my restaurants and a must-go in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Exceptional service and food presentation. Excellent cuisine. Not cheap but certainly worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Went to celebrate an anniversary . Had a great table. Wine sommelier was very knowledgeable of the extensive wine list. Loved the gazpacho!! Also had filet and rack of lamb, both were huge portions. Lovely music in the background. Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Our dinner was lovely. A great atmosphere created by the musicians and very attentive staff. Coming from South Florida we never expected restaurateurs to take note of the Open table reservation comments or remember our names. Charleston Grill did both and gave us a memorable experience. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on September 26, 2017

We had a wonderful anniversary meal at the Charleston Grill.

From the moment we walked in it was a celebration! The hostess recognized our name and congratulated us as did our two servers, Bryan and Barbie. They were both delightful. Mickey was great with the win service and just giving us an overall wonderful evening.

Loved the menu with 4 menu selection each featuring an appetizer, main and a side. So many good dishes it was really difficult to choose. I thoroughly enjoyed my tuna appetizer and flounder and shrimp main; my husband had the crab cake to start and scallops as his main. Also delicious.

Very nice wine list and the wine was served at the perfect temperature and their timing was perfect.

Lovely jazz music and really a classic fine dining night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Fantastic dining for our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We were at Kiawah Island outside of Charleston and it was awonderful evening spent in charleston at the Grille. We asked to split several things which they accommaadated very well and we had a great time and very good food. Will go back if we get back there!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Had the Chef’s Tasting Menu - fabulous selection of dishes. Highly recommend this place for the quality of their food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent food and service. We enjoyed our meal at the Charleston Grill. They also have great drinks. The ambience is wonderful. They had a jazz band during dinner. The wait staff was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Absolutely exceptional, we were greeted by a friendly staff and immediately seated. The wait staff was attentive but not over bearing, a great wine selection with a variety of choices and guidance and allways checked in to ensure our satisfaction
The food was great, the menu is put together according to culinary styles but you can mix and match to your taste.
Went there for our anniversary and do not regret a single moment! Well done

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Very formal restaurant - jackets on all the gents. Great jazz trio. Food was excellent - especially the vegetable tart and crab cake. Service was fine - with the manager pitching in delivering food/picking up dishes. We were seated in the bar area instead of the dining room (this seems to happen a lot with OpenTable reservations) which was disappointing but it had a great view of the jazz trio. Unfortunately the manager (or host - wearing a tuxedo no less) let in a large group wearing shorts and t-shirts for drinks. Ruined the ambiance/evening. Shows very little respect to the other guests. Paying $150/person for dinner/wine and sitting next to slobs. For that reason alone we would not go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Every detail of our dinner was very special. Both of us enjoyed everything. The service was excellent. We will recommend to our friends and return the next time we are in Charleston.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on September 20, 2017

The staff there is awesome. Bryan and John our servers this trip were outstanding Feme our server from a previous visit even stopped by and remembered us by name. Graham the manager remembered us and greeted us warmly. We again missed Joey!

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

We celebrated our 25th anniversary here and it made for a memorable evening. The service was impeccable and staff were attentive, but not hovering. They made great recommendations for the meal and places to go in town. The atmosphere makes it relaxing and easy to carry on a conversation. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I ordered a $110 dollar of Merlot wine they didn't have it and suggested another one same price. When the wine guy came he opened the bottle with a big pop, decanted it and served without letting me taste it first.

The wine was good and we kept it but it was a no no for a restaurant of this class, surprised they did that. Maybe they need to train the wine staff a little better.

Tags: People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. The food was Awesome the service and environment was Welcoming from the time we entered the Resturaunt until we left.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing menu, great service. Only one minor complaint. For such a fantastic restaurant, the lighting was a little bright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.