Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: (843) 577-4522

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (139)
Good for Anniversaries (114)
Romantic (108)
See All
Good for a Date (103)
Notable Wine List (91)
Creative Cuisine (88)
Live Music (84)
Fit for Foodies (81)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Local Ingredients (49)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Business Meals (41)
Worth the Drive (40)
Tasting Menu (35)
Cozy (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Authentic (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Fun (15)
Seasonal (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
People Watching (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Historic (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Scenic View (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Private Room (4)
Vegan (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
3100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Bryan was an excellent server. He was knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. The food was extraordinary. In a city of world class restaurants, this is the king. Charleston is lucky to have the talent of G.M. Mickey Bakst.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

A nice meal - service and decor are the highlight. Food was good but I've had better at other Belmond restaurants. Wait staff were very attentive to dietary restrictions and kitchen was able to accommodate . All in all a nice dinner but not anything better than other good restaurants in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful evening, exceptional service and a great menu. It surpassed my expectations greatly. We will be going back!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

We were visitors from Yorktown, Va.. What a beautiful evening! The food was fantastic, the service was second to none. Our servers Bryan & Barbie were very attentive, but not overbearing. They were spot on! The GM, Mickey was unbelievable. His knowledge of wine and his personality were the perfect compliment to a perfect experience. We will return. Kudos!!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere, an imaginative and varied menu and superb service. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The Charleston Grill has become one of my favorites. It is a magnificent dining experience that begins the moment you are greeted at the door. The lamb chops are the signature dish and they are amazing. However, the menu offers a wide variety of other entrees. Not sure what to get? The wait staff is extremely knowledgeable and they will be glad to help you with your decision. Their recommendations are never off. Besides the food being wonderful, the staff is extremely adept at making the customer feel special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely amazing dinner at the Charleston Grill. The filet was delicious and the Sancerre rosé was delightful. We had not been in a while but we will definitely go back soon. It is the perfect option when staying at Belmond Charleston Place. The service was impeccable. The jazz band added to the already wonderful ambience.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

Impeccable. Delicious food with a southern accent, beautiful service, and a very nice wine list with excellent wines that don't break the bank (we had a superb Patricia Green Pinot Noir at $72). Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

You have GOT to experience Charleston Grill at LEAST once!!! No detail is overlooked!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Very fine restaurant. Professional staff, innovative food. Exceptional wine list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent dining experience for everyone in our party. The service was amazing and the food was out of this world!

As the mother of a celiac child I have grown to judge my own happiness dining out based off my daughter's dining experience. From the moment we walked through the door until we left the hostess, servers and chef made sure we were taken care of and that my daughter was more than comfortable with what she ordered and that she enjoyed all her choices.

The Charleston Grill delivers both service and taste. It is rare to find both! Thank you for a memorable dining experience. We will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great, flawless meal, & service!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Delicious food. Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Celebrated our 35th anniversary, and could not have had a better time. Food, Service, and atmosphere were all excellent. our waiter Femi was very polite, knowledgeable and personable, making the evening one to remember.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service was amazing. Dinner food was unremarkable. Dessert was excellent. Overall not worth the excessive cost when you consider the other restaurants in Charleston getting it to the table for less money but with more flavor. Beware, appetizers are super small but expensive. This is not the place to share appetizers with friends.... everyone needs their own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is our second experience at the Grill. Food still as delicious, but would like more comfort food sides offered like mashed potatoes and cheese grits. It was also somewhat distracting to have so so many servers moving frenetically through the tables... not as relaxing as hoped. The noise levels were very high as well. Also portions, especially starters (Crab Cake), smaller than remembered for a more expensive price. Still glad we came!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Outstanding food - tenderloin was cooked to perfection (medium) with great wine sauce and scallops were tasty. Iberico ham appetizer was excellent. So much food - we could barely finish the dessert! Nice attentive staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent dinner for four. Exceptional service and friendly atmosphere. Very helpful with gluten free choices. Highly recommended.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We enjoyed several unique cocktails at the bar before our reservation. Very classy and fun environment and had great conversations with other patrons. Dinner was exceptional from the service to the courses and the ambiance. Bryan and Lisa took care of us and did not steer us wrong in the recommendations. The jazz quartet that was playing was superb - excellent musicianship but at an appropriate decibel level. Loved the entire dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The dinner was spoiled by the noise level. Everyone was speaking at a high level of noise to overcome the background music. Management is going to redesign the room to include noise abatement. It would not hurt to remind guests to speak in a conversational tone. The food was excellent as was the service. I asked the waiter if the hotel provided earplugs to those who work in that environment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great food, fantastic setting, fabulous setting. We went for a special dinner our last night in Charleston and loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Very nice upscale restaurant. The 4 "concepts" is a unique idea. You can order appetizers from one concept, your entree from another and your side from a third. The band was good but not intrusive. Good place to go if you are looking to impress someone.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

As usual, the service, ambiance and cuisine was over the top. Consistently excellent. Superior wine list and Rick's recommendations as Sommelier were perfect. You get a warm feeling from the gracious and friendly greeting from the hostesses upon entering the restaurant thru your entire experience (Mika , our server was excellent). This is quintessential Charleston hospitality , service and cuisine - it doesn't get better than this. Michelle Weaver can really cook 😊.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 2, 2017

First Class all the way. Top notch food, decor, service, everything.
My Wife, (who loves scallops and had eaten thousands), said the scallop dish was
the best she's ever had. Though certainly not cheap, prices where very reasonable
considering the quality of the dishes and level of service. Overall, Fantastic!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great live music! Good food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 31, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 40th anniversary on Sunday night, and everything was excellent, from the ambience, to the wine, through dessert. It's pricey, but definitely worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Fantastic food. Greeted by Chef at front door. Server, Nika, was awesome in every sense.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We live in the area and have dined here many times because of the service, setting, and the chef's ability to create an outstanding meal every time. We are always warmly welcomed and never feel rushed to finish our meal. It is my favorite.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Not my absolute favorite of all the places we visited in Charleston, however, there are no complaints! It was JUST good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Start of vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The service was outstanding and the food was delicious . I would highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Absolutely unforgettable atmosphere, service, and cuisine!

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Live jazz trio was great. Outstanding dining experience, but very expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

5 star service with soft jazz. Extensive wine list. 4 menu options to fit every palate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent experience. We can't thank the staff enough for accommodating our small child with grace and consideration. Every small detail attended to, and reminiscent of some of our finest dinners. Thank you again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

We enjoyed a five course tasting menu. The tuna and the Flounder were excellent. The rest of the meal was very good. Service was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 25, 2017

It was hard to find fault with any aspect of the evening. From the moment we walked in the door to the time we left in a fully satisfied state we were treated like royalty. No detail went unattended and no request was too small. A wonderful way to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We had a lovely dinner. I had the vegetable entree and it was magnificent - the best vegetables I've eaten in a restaurant. The waiter was knowledgeable about the menu and service was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had an amazing experience! When Chef Michelle found out we were in the restaurant and from her home state, she visited with us twice. The food was delicious, the service was impeccable, and the atmosphere was perfect! I will highly recommend this to friends who are traveling to Charleston and look forward to my return one day in the future! They definitely made our experience feel special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great ambiance, amazing food and superb service. One of the best in Charleston

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.