Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: (843) 577-4522

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (121)
Good for Anniversaries (105)
Romantic (100)
See All
Good for a Date (99)
Creative Cuisine (88)
Notable Wine List (85)
Fit for Foodies (83)
Live Music (82)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Tasting Menu (43)
Local Ingredients (42)
Business Meals (37)
Worth the Drive (37)
Cozy (34)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Historic (25)
Authentic (24)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Fun (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Healthy (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
People Watching (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Seasonal (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Private Room (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2902 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Gracious thoughtful service. The food was inventive without being "cute" and wonderful. Our servers Chip and Nellie were warm while being thoroughly professional

Most definitely worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Appetizers were superb. The Thai fish dish was delicious, muddle dish was ok. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable of the menu. The couch seating was too low and too far back for comfortable eating. Overall, we really liked this place and will recommend it to friends

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Another great dinner at the Charleston Grill. Great food, great wine pairings and impeccable service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely setting. Amazing gourmet food experience with live jazz. Femi, the waiter, was so helpful with ordering decisions. Lots of amazing flavors to choose from and to eat. Wonderful night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The only thing better than the exquisite food was the exquisite service. Friendly and approachable, yet extremely nuanced in their knowledge. The staff (all of them) really took the time to make my mom's birthday extra special. So wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Charleston Grill never disappoints! Great ambience, wonderful jazz, incredible food and a very knowledgeable and capable staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and service. Pricey. Too noisy after 6 pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Atmosphere was excellent. Service was superior. Everything was perfectly timed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

This was a wonderful dining experience- service, wine selection and very creative menu. We will return on our next visit to Charleston.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Solid food but not at the quality I expected for what I saw in the reviews online. Same with the service. Maybe I came with too high of expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

One of the Best Dining experience can have. Outstanding wine list and Best thought -out dinner menus I have encountered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and service .
Sunday night music combo a plus

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have eaten at many places in Charleston over the years, but somehow missed the Charleston Grill. A friend recommended it to us, and I will be eternally grateful. The Charleston restaurant scene is fantastic, but of all the great places to dine, I think this may be just a cut above the rest. The atmosphere is perfect, the food choices are wonderful - we had a very hard time deciding what to order out of all the appealing options. What we ultimately decided on was absolutely fabulous. Service is amazing - knowledgeable and friendly wait staff, very attentive team. My water glass never got more than 1/3 empty. The live jazz just adds to the whole experience - entertaining and not too loud. Overall, if you have just one night to use for a special occasion, this is the place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fantastic as always. My wife and I go for out anniversary every year!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Congratulations, great service, terrific food and very good live music

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great place. Music was a little loud, but then we like to talk. Only hiccup was that when they brought us pepper, it turned out to be white pepper. We were unaware that it has a "barnyard" smell and flavor if it has not be properly prepared. So my wife unknowingly added that to her delicious crab cake and rendered it inedible. LOL. They offered a new one and ultimately took it off the bill. So they did all the right things. But our advice: Don't ask for pepper!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The place and food are great. The service is superb! Everyone was very nice and eager to serve. Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Highly over-rated. Our meal was not outstanding which I expected. We both ordered an unusual dish that was too unusual. It was oxtail tortellini, and tongue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Took advantage of the chef's 6 course tasting menu. Chef was able to tailor it to our preferences. Southern specialties with a gourmet flair. Flounder/Shrimp with butter beans and rice "middlins" was my favorite. If I lived in this town I'd be back frequently. Well done!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

A wonderful experience all around, service, food, ambience. We had the tasting menu with wine pairings and it was a truly amazing experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our meal was delayed due to a mixup in kitchen. They apologized and offered free dessert. Food was okay but nothing special. The service staff was attentive and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This was our 6th visit to Charleston and have eaten at many of the top restaurants. This was our first time at Charleston Grill and both my wife and I think it was probably the best experience. The service, food, live music all was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Wonderful experience. We did the tasting menu with wine pairings and it was expensive but phenomenal. Would definitely visit again and recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

You absolutely get what you pay for. Not cheap, but here they strive for perfection in everything they do and serve. Unbelievably huge wine list. Lots of little extras along the way. Best crab cake I have ever had! Octopus salad outstanding! Norwegian Sea Trout cooked to perfection. Rib eye steak huge and perfect. Aztec Chocolate Tart was fabulous. Hannah and James made the evening perfect with great recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 10, 2017

While on vacation in Charleston decided to give the Charleston Grill a try. Impeccable service, delicious food, and on Sunday nights they have a father/son violinist and guitarist who were simply awesome!! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It had been a few years since we had last visited Charleston, and the Charleston Grill. The "Grill" once again exceeded our very high expectations. The menu is certainly creative and the kitchen flawlessly delivered each selection. Our servers Shawn & Nellie were attentive, professional and personable. Bravo Charleston Grill! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Menu: innovative and creative; preparations, very good but generally under salted.
Atmosphere: sophisticated, masculine, classy.
Service: impeccable, at every level!
Drinks: well prepared, but light in the ethyl alcohol department by my standard.
Music: great concept, but lots of room for improvement in execution. With the evident success of this overall concept, in this great city, management ought to pay for better combos. This is not the first time I have been disappointed in the quality of the jazz.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fantastic experience at the Charleston Grill. Truly wonderful food and terrific music. It is a splurge meal, but worth the expense for a special occasion. Loved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Absolutely sublime. We've never had better service (thank you Nika and Hannah) or a better dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was honestly one of the finest dining experiences I've ever had. From the moment we walked in the door to departure; everyone was genuine, kind, interested in our comfort and contentment and so encouraging on the quality and excellence of the menu. I took my mother for the final evening of our 'girls getaway' weekend, hoping to end on a high note and it was just perfect! The food was exquisite, well prepared, wonderfully thought out and presented. They were generous but not overbearing portions and the combination of flavors was wonderful.
Also the live music was so lovely. We were seated right next to the players and before they began, I worried that maybe it would be too loud for my mom to hear
Our conversation, or for us to continue to really relax and enjoy, but that was never the case and the music was fun and upbeat and just beautiful. What an accompaniment to the meal & evening!
I only wish I didn't live so far away and will always plan to return any time I'm even near the area. Thank you!! I didn't even realize that service and excellence across the board still existed with this level of class and simple, comfortable elegance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The view of the back of the outside bar was not attractive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We went to celebrate our Anniversary and it was an amazing experience. First class from hostess to dessert!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Best rack of lamb!! Coconut sou p was delicious . Brussels sprouts very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Had family friends come in town and I suggested dinner here. Was lucky to get a reservation late in the day for 4 for 7pm. Friendly greeting at the door. And seated immediately. Greeted right away and since I had made a note on the Open Table reservation that we were celebrating a birthday, there were greetings and treats throughout our dinner. The menu had unique items and we all chose yummy appetizers, drinks, entres and desserts. Our waiter was personable (Brian?) and had great suggestions. I had a small salad and the flounder. Soooooo good!! Others had crab cakes, Muddle, Brussels sprouts, cucumber martini, and we shared an amazing chocolate dessert. Restrooms were clean (always a plus for me), and the overall service was top notch! Dress was from casual to dressy. Don't be in a hurry and bring a lot of $$$$! Worth every penny though! Jazz music Friday night another added plus! Try here first before Husk or Fig or Blossoms or Magnolias 👍🏼

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We were in Charleston for 4 days and we dined in 4 restaurants - Fig, The Grocery, Charleston Grill, and Circa 1886 - in that order. Fig was good but somewhat uneventful. I guess we expected more based on all the hype. As a result, we canceled Husk (the menu looked very boring) ... and went to the Grocery which was good... but again nothing really special. Then we went to Charleston Grill. The only regret we have about this place that we didn't cancel Circa 1886 (which btw was very average) and went there again. I am still "dreaming" about the dishes we didn't have .... The ones we did have were simply outstanding - the venison, tuna tartar, smoked sturgeon blini, glazed beets, and the seafood pasta. It was one of those rare moments when my husband said: " it is even better than yours". Usually (and sadly), it is the other way around... Everything about this restaurant was great - the service, the food, the wine list, the room, the host, etc. We are from San Francisco which has a lot of good restaurants but only a few can match Charleston Grill.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely evening with great food, ambiance and soothing live Jazz. Wait-service was stellar with a team approach spearheaded by Hannah who was a skillful guide to ordering a perfectly executed meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Charleston Grill has been on my "bucket list" for sometime. The food was delicious, unique and well presented. Yes, the portions are small and the prices are large but it was worth the experience. We really enjoy the flavors.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Nika and James were our servers. They were wonderful. It was mine and my husbands 3rd wedding anniversary. Our 7 month old daughter was at MUSC recovering from a very intense and traumatic brain surgery. It was our first night out sense before her birth. With my parents in town for the surgery we were able to get out. The food, service, and atmosphere made it very easy for us to get away from all the noise in our heads and focus on each other. I am forever grateful for our experience at Charleston Grill

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Fabulous service- personal and pleasantly attentive. Food was flavorful and complex- enjoyed the "amuse bouche" charming setting- reasonably priced for what you got- magical evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.