Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: (843) 577-4522

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (129)
Romantic (111)
Good for Anniversaries (110)
See All
Good for a Date (104)
Creative Cuisine (89)
Notable Wine List (86)
Live Music (81)
Fit for Foodies (78)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Local Ingredients (50)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Business Meals (40)
Tasting Menu (39)
Worth the Drive (39)
Cozy (36)
Historic (25)
Authentic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Fun (18)
Bar Seating (13)
People Watching (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Healthy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Seasonal (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Private Room (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Scenic View (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2948 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We were in Charleston for a group 50th birthday weekend and chose Charleston Grill from its favorable reviews on Open Table. While it is formal, it is not stuffy but quite elegant. Our servers Nikia and Hannah were impeccable. Attentive and friendly. When as we ordered dessert we mentioned we were celebrating a joint birthday, they brought us a second dessert and glasses of Moscato to pair it with, complimentary. Cant say enough about what a special evening it was. Recommend to anyone for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I were visiting Charleston for the first time and wanted a fun dining experience. We absolutely loved Charleston Grill. Exceptional service, food and ambiance. Live jazz music while we were dining was an added treat! We definitely got our money's worth!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant with great food. Had a great time. Good was great. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing dining experience! Loved the food, the music and the atmosphere! The staff simply made the experience wonderful! Made our anniversary even more memorable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have eaten at just about every fine dining establishment on the peninsula. These days, Charleston Grill wins hands-down for its service. Other places have good food but, if you want to be treated as a special guest, this is the place to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Absolutely a true five star experience as I grew up accustomed in Europe. The service was wonderful, not fake or too high society stuffy. Excellent explanation of drinks and food. Every dish was truly a culinary experience.
Everyone in our party of four received drinks at the same time as well as the appetizers and the main course. yes you will pay more, but you will remember the food and experience.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This restaurant is amazing! My husband and I ate here for my Mother's Day date and every single aspect of this place is top notch, especially the service. Everyone is very personable and they're knowledge of their unique menu is impressive. The restaurant itself is beautiful, accompanied by a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The live jazz definitely made our already outstanding experience more enjoyable and romantic. The food is very different but is SO good (try their tuna appetizer!), and they have the best pineapple upside down cake I've ever eaten. I highly recommend this restaurantfor any special occasion...you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Friends of our recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed. The restaurant decor is tastefully done and the tables are not set up real close, allowing for privacy. The wine list was expansive and the entire dining experience was outstanding.

Tags: Live Music, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Shawn and Paul are outstanding servers. The Nirwegisn trout was out of this world

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

A perfect dining experience. Elegant setting. Varied menu, food beautifully prepared, and flavorful. Impeccable attentive service. Surely among the very best in the USA.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We were so disappointed. This has been our go to place to celebrate for over seven years. No more. Hank's and Hall's for us from now on. I told our server and the manager that the seafood (snapper and smoked sturgeon) was tasteless as it was over processed/cooked/frozen/....yuk. I grew up here and think I know seafood having caught and cooked snapper, mullet, and sturgeon and shad. Well, I never caught shad or sturgeon but have smoked all of them. I mentioned the competition as a reference for the manager for steak and seafood. She said she would never go there. Wrong answer. Management should pay her and Chef Michelle to go there and try it. If given the choice, I would have never ordered the snapper well done. It was a burnt offering and the manager said she would taste it and get back to us. Never happened.
Now I understand why the CG was so deserted. No locals. Barbara's prime was cooked Mrare as ordered. But it was lacking in flavor.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Appetizers very good, main course - seafood muddle - was outstanding.
Good service, pleasant room

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

One of my top five dining establishments in Charleston. Every time at the Grill is even more magical than the last. I branched out this time and didn't order the octopus appetizer, which was a mistake. The oxtail tortellini was delightful.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Service was top notch, food excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great service, great food, excellent music to dine by

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was amazing and the service unmatched!! Several tasting from the kitchen were brought for us to sample, all were amazing. Was a fun evening for a Charleston trip with my daughters!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was absolutely the best service from any restaurant that I've visited in years. I mean, they were spot on with an eye on every detail. Amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fabulous; great food, service, wine list. All was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I rarely write reviews. From start to finish this was one of the best fine dining experiences I have had! The staff was the perfect combination of personable, knowledgeable, and efficient. Hannah was especially fantastic! They were attentive, but not intrusive. The food was exceptional. I mean, really incredible! I had the foi Gras appetizer & scallops dinner. Others had steak tar tar & the beef bros hit. We had French wine & delicious after dinner drinks with their chocolate dessert all while a live jazz duo played from the corner. I 100% recommend you splurge on a night out at The Charleston Grill!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We went to Charleston Grille to celebrate our anniversary and had a wonderful evening. The ambiance was like a supper club with a wonderful jazz quartet supplying the music. The food was absolutely incredible and the waitstaff was superb. Their recommendations were spot on and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Not the cheapest place in town, but probably the best. They really make you feel special

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Frequent advocates of fine dining. Grill goes out of its way to be excellent. Truly outstanding food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent service and the food was amazing! The crab cake is a must. We also had the rack of lamb. The portions were very generous. We each ordered a different temperature and both were cooked to perfection. I highly recommend the Charleston Grill.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

My wife and I went there last week for our 5th anniversary. We are Charleston resdidents and Have been to a great deal of fabulous restaurants in Charleston over the last 11+ years, but we agree this was our best dinning experience to date. The food taste and presentation was top notch, live jazz playing at just the right level to blend into the background, knowledgeable and attentive (without being too attentive) staff, and tons of little extras to make the night. In a crowded Charleston market this place stands out!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We have been to Charleston Grill many times. There are only a handful of restaurants I've been to with such flawless and skilled service. The food is outstanding. Every member of the staff is incredibly hospitable and talented. I HIGHLY recommend it! It is a 10 star experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent food and outstanding service. We early reservations (6:00) so the noise level was very low for most of our visit - it started to pick up by the time we left.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Pricey but worth it! The meals were outstanding, the service was friendly and professional and the ambience was upscale but welcoming.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was our second visit to the grill, and we loved it just as much as the first time. My only regret was the extra calories of the TWO sweet extras delivered even after we'd ordered dessert!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing place with outstanding food and service! We had the tasting menu and we would recommend that to everyone interested in food and wine

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food and wine of Charleston Grill were spectacular. I picked it because my girlfriend graduated from college that day and she is a foody. When I made the reservation I told them that she graduated and they left her a congratulations card at the table. The Charleston Grill has a tasting menu that was some of the best food I've ever had, which I told the chef repeatedly. The lamb was fantastic. The wait staff were impeccable and always ready to assist and finally the sommelier was superb, the wine parings were perfect and brought out all the flavors of the food, and the food all the flavors of the wine.

Just be aware, this kind of food, wine, and service are not even close to cheap.

Tags: Live Music, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was excellent, the service was impeccable and the atmosphere was relaxing. The best restaurant in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Amazing dinner - fabulous time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food and great service. Waiters were very helpfull in selecting

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Private Room, Live Music, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were coming to Charleston to spend a long weekend for our 30th wedding anniversary and knew we wanted a special meal to help celebrate the occasion. Michelle was well recommended by another well known chef and he was spot on. Our table was reserved well in advance with awareness of the event and from the moment my wife and I arrived everything was perfect, right down to a nice congratulations card waiting for us at our table. Service was very well done from the greeting to our departure with a very nice, special taste at the end. We selected a nice wine and then requested our server to ask the chef to match the six course tasting menu selection to it. The next several hours were incredible in the breadth of flavors and textures that were presented to us. The rack of lamb was fantastic ! This by far was the best dining experience of our time in Charleston and one of the best we've had overall. Highly recommended and we'll be returning when we have the opportunity to visit Charleston again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Everything about our dining experience at the Charleston Grill was exceptional. We were celebrating our anniversary and were treated like royalty. The food was expertly prepared, presented and served. The servers were at our beck and call but not at all annoying. The food was delicious. There was nothing negative about our experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was a top tier restaurant. It is in the top 5 of wonderful dining experiences. From the service to the food, every thing was wonderful. The local fish was amazing. Then choices of wines by the glass was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Limited menu. Would have though there would have a few more choices.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Service and food were outstanding. We were seated near the quartet playing Brazilian style jazz. They were wonderful. Lisa, our server was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and wine. The amuse bouche of asparagus soup with radish was fresh and tasty. I enjoyed the aguachile, one of the best I have had. The feta in the spring salad was mild and the vinaigrette tasty. We both thought the Thai fish from the exotic menu was fantastic. It was snapper in a sweet and spicy Thai broth. The wine that Lisa recommended was perfect. We also enjoyed the trout from the fresh menu. The chocolate tart desert was very rich and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We've eaten at all the best in Charleston. Or at least we thought we had. This place is tops - ambience, service, quality and diversity of menu, superb execution and creativity in the cuisine. We had been put off before, think it was "too formal." It certainly isn't informal. But, main thing, it is excellent in all respects.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The best service we have ever had and one of the best meals in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.