About Charleston Grill

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: 8435774522x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
  • Thai Fish
  • Beef Tenderloin And Potatoes
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
Thai Fish
Beef Tenderloin And Potatoes

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
10 More
Romantic
South Carolina
American
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Notable Wine List
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (207)
romantic (178)
fit for foodies (165)
See All
notable wine list (137)
neighborhood gem (43)
good for groups (37)
hot spot (21)
vibrant bar scene (19)
great for brunch (13)
late-night find (13)
scenic view (10)
great for lunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fabulous time and recomend ever ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We had a fabulous time and recomend everyone to dine at Charleston Grill! It is truely a dining experience you will not forget! Thank you Charleston Grill!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience, ce ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful dining experience, celebrating our wedding anniversary. The food and service were exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Charleston Grill was my favorite din ...

Dined 6 days ago

The Charleston Grill was my favorite dining spot during our 3-day stay - and we had some wonderful food during our visit! To say Charleston Grill is elegant is an understatement. The restaurant is set in a very posh area among high end shopping on a lovely street - surrounded by a garden in a gorgeous hotel. The establishment is beautifully appointed, the wait staff was attentive and impeccably dressed. The food was indescribably delicious - and artfully presented. In speaking to people in Charleston, it holds a special place for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for our 30th anniversary, a special ...

Dined 6 days ago

Went for our 30th anniversary, a special place. would do it again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellant service. Great food but price ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellant service. Great food but pricey. If you love wine this is your place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

For the price point I needed to be WOWED ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

For the price point I needed to be WOWED. We were seated in the back corner which detracted from the experience. Food was very rich, almost unnecessarily so. Will not go back.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic elegant dining experience. F ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Fantastic elegant dining experience. Food and ambiance were fantastic. Service was superb. Wonderful birthday experience for my wife

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Way overpriced and way overrated. We wai ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Way overpriced and way overrated. We waited about thirty minutes between courses. There are many better places to have dinner in Charleston.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is wonderful and chef pays at ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything is wonderful and chef pays attention to detail

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend the Charleston Grill. S ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Highly recommend the Charleston Grill. Service was extraordinary from the warm welcome by each server through the entire meal. Food was excellent, very creative and fresh. Great wine list. Elegant ambiance and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal as always!! Thanks to Mickey ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Phenomenal as always!! Thanks to Mickey and Chef Michelle for one of the best experiences Charleston has to offer. Octopus Salad, Seared Foie Gras, Seared Snapper, Prime Beef, Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée - Cocktails and Vino - All done to perfection, Salute!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent setting, food, service - but v ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent setting, food, service - but very expensive so only for very occasional special occasion. Bill for 3 including cocktail and wine £400.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was an anniversary dinner. It's alw ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

This was an anniversary dinner. It's always hard to steer from restaurants you that are good, but we managed to pull ourselves together to try Charleston Grill. We are SO GLAD we did. From the moment we arrived, we had such a great experience. Our table was the best in the house right beside the jazz band. We sat in a white leather booth side by side facing out. We never sit together like that, so it was fun! We ordered the venison and the crab cake for appetizers, simply amazing. I am from the south and have had a lot venison and crab cakes in my life. I even told my mom, this crab cake was tied with hers. The venison was cooked perfectly medium rare. They surprised the table with a spoon of tomato bisque prior to our entrees as well as a bread basket we chose from, from the waitress. The waitress was very knowledgeable of the wines and pairings. I had the red snapper, which is honestly one of the best meals I have EVER had. The flavors were incredible. It was a larger portion than I expected, which is great in my book! My husband had the 22 oz Rib Eye which was recommended as well by our waitress. He ate all 22 oz! There wasn't a side, but you don't need one with the the size of the steak. It had some potato crisps on top, served with some sort of rich sauce drizzled on the plate. Flavors were out of this world. We had creme brulee for dessert not knowing that they brought another complimentary dessert dish with candies and cookies. OMG, can we say food coma? Our bill was around $200, for 2 apps, 2 entrees, 1 dessert, half bottle of wine, and 2 beers. It feel the price is worth it for the meal and service we experienced. I loved the timing between the foods and drinks, which overall was a little over 2 hours. We like slow eating and enjoying time together. We will return for sure. The offer a 6 course meal, that is chosen by the chef. We will do this next time to try everything due to how delicious everything was.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found it to be the ultimate dining ex ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We found it to be the ultimate dining experience. Service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our suggested the crab cakes and the bra ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Our suggested the crab cakes and the branzino and the seared snapper and all were out of this world!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a top shelf experience in every w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a top shelf experience in every way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! A highlight of our trip to Ch ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent! A highlight of our trip to Charleston! Celebrating my sisters birthday, and they made it special. Our server Bryan was fantastic! The food was beautiful, paired with lovely wines, and the service was phenomenal. The staff worked hard to increase our reservation from 6 to 8 people and later called me back to accommodate! The only one of two restaurants (of eight reservations) that gave complimentary dessert and moscato after dinner. Pure class! They also gave my sister a birthday card to open upon seating! Live music played in the background. A country club feel to restaurant. Our group enjoyed our experience at the Charleston Grill tremendously! You will have my business the next time I am in Charleston, and will recommend you to the highest, to any one who travels there! Don't delay...book a rezzie at Charleston Grill! It does not disappoint!! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I really thought this food was excellen ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I really thought this food was excellent. The service was absolutely great and it was an amazing location for me and my fiancé to celebrate our engagement. Thank you,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The snapper was quite possibly, the best ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The snapper was quite possibly, the best fish I've ever eaten. Loved it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic

Dined on June 11, 2016

The Grill remains our ultimate Charleston experience. Put yourself in the music or not. Go for a drink or three hours of the tasting menu. We NEVER skip it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PERFECT EVENING

Dined on June 10, 2016

Cocktails at the bar, to the dinner table,service #1 food was amazing and nicely presented,enjoyed the music and the atmosphere.I asked are waitor if he good arrange transportation back to are hotel after dinner and the car was waiting!very nice

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the snapper and it was delicious. Ha ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Had the snapper and it was delicious. Had a wonderful salad and wanted dessert but too full. Highly recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on June 5, 2016

Best Experience during our week in Charleston. Wonderful service, great choices in food and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food. Annoying service.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was outstanding. Maitre d way too pat-on-the-back friendly. Wait staff cloyingly obsequious, although the lead waiter's recommendation were spot on, even if annoyingly presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of Charlestn - Charleston Grill

Dined on June 4, 2016

The Charleston Grill is one of the best restaurants I've ever been too, we went twice on our trip and each time the service was very special, and everything we ordered was true fine dining with amazing tastes. And then there is the wine list. If you don't check it out before going, it could take awhile, but I found that each server was very knowledgeable and could make great recommendations. We will go here every time we go to Charleston.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply The Best!

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

From the moment we entered Charleston Grill until we left, we were treated like royalty. The food was spectacular, and the service was the best! It was a pleasure to be introduced to our servers (there were 2 of them), and they never missed a beat. The description of the dishes along with their recommendations were spot on. You have to have the crab cakes here...... You will never have anything like it anywhere! After the crab cakes, we enjoyed the snapper and low country muddle.... Without going into too many accolades, suffice it to say that it was a gastronomic delight. We stayed a week in Charleston, and this restaurant was our stand-out #1!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Experience

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

I chose Charleston Grill for an anniversary dinner after checking both Open Table and Trip Advisor reviews. Without a doubt, this was one of the best, if not the best, dining experience that we have ever had. Service was impeccable; friendly, incredibly efficient, and perfectly paced. The country ham and vegetable salad was a remarkable take on the classic French bistro salad, always a favorite of mine. I had the rack of lamb and my wife had the flounder - both were absolutely perfect. And there was a steady stream of extras - two different amuse bouche and dessert accompaniments. The jazz quartet were serious musicians; not just going through the motions. Overall, while expensive, it was worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding in every way

Dined on June 3, 2016

There was nothing our party of four ordered that could be criticized! It is expensive so it is especially appropriate for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Night

Dined on June 3, 2016

I took my 8 year old daughter for her birthday and they made her feel like a princess. I have been taking my daughters here for years and they never disappoint. Mickey is outstanding!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First Class Experience

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Situated in the Charleston Plaza, Charleston Grill is a throw-back to the classic days of elegant dining. Beautifully appointed with enough room between tables to be personal and private. Service was very good though a little mix-up with the orders. Started with the crab cake appetizer - recipe has not changed for 8 years and its clear why - its spectacular. Seared snapper with mushrooms and couscous for an entree - the fish was moist and flavorful. Unusual combination to see mushrooms and fish served together but this was a real taste treat. Shared the carrot cake fritters, Meyer Lemon cake, and creme brûlée for dessert - all knockouts, but I would single out the fritters as a must-have. Superior dining and highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food and hospitality

Dined on May 31, 2016

Really enjoyed the night @ Charleston Grill. We were dining with family and everyone really enjoyed it. We live in Charleston and it was delightful to show off the great food and hospitality. Thanks to Mickey, Rick & team......we will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Charleston Grille

Dined on May 31, 2016

Service was great, food was just ok. Crab cake Appetizer was very salty and oily. Bread was not so fresh. My tenderloins were good but the sauce on the plate was burned.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service is outstanding. We had great ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

The service is outstanding. We had great suggestions about food, wine and desserts. Music is just right. Very attentive staff on all levels of service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Well worth the cost. Beautiful live 3 pi ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Well worth the cost. Beautiful live 3 piece band added ambience to the dinner. Both waiters superb. Liked 1/2 bottle of wine option since I was the only wine drinker. Loved the country ham salad and beets. We had the snapper, the branding, the flounder and the pork cheeks. No complaints from anyone!!!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Can't get a bad meal at Charleston Grille

Dined on May 29, 2016

I have lived in Charleston for 25 years and have seen many restaurants come and go in that time. Even though Charleston Grille is located inside a luxury hotel comple, I've never had a bad meal . The service is excellent. The food has changed with the changing of chef's and I do miss Bob Waegner's vision and cooking, it is still a safe bet every single time. The only downside of the restaurant is the menu selection for Vegans or Vegetarian's, they only have one menu entree option.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent venue and food!

Dined on May 28, 2016

This is a great spot for a date or an intimate dining experience. The jazz in the background was a great touch. We had a reservation and got there 30 minutes early and they were able to seat us on a busy Friday night. I must say I'm not a foodie, but the crab cake appetizer was delicious and the snapper was to die for! My wife and I were from out of town and we are glad we decided to go there for dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased with entire experience. Mic ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Very pleased with entire experience. Mickey and crew were excellent in every respect.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on May 26, 2016

Visiting Charleston for the first time. My travel agent recommended Charleston Grill. Charleston Grill exceeded my expectations. The food was excellent. Not to mention the presentation. Wine list was exceptional and the ambiance was so romantic. I would make sure I book a table next time I return to Charleston and make sure I recommend to family and friends. But most important to me is the service and the knowledge of the staff. Thank You so much for making our trip to Charleston memorable. The Bryans

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

All dishes tried were superb. Backgroun ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

All dishes tried were superb. Background soft live music was delightful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner Special Night

Dined on May 23, 2016

A fabulous night with great service & delightful food! We had a grea time - our waiters Shawn and Paul were super! We had a wonderful night and would definitely recommend this restaurant. It's not cheap but the service & food & location make it well worth it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.