About Charleston Grill

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: 8435774522x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
11 More
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Romantic
South Carolina
American
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Notable Wine List
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (194)
romantic (165)
fit for foodies (153)
See All
notable wine list (126)
neighborhood gem (40)
good for groups (34)
hot spot (23)
great for brunch (14)
late-night find (13)
vibrant bar scene (12)
scenic view (9)
great for lunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I've had. From the ...

Dined 4 days ago

One of the best meals I've had. From the attentive waitstaff to the amazing food to the special treatment for a birthday celebration. I would highly recommend

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner

Dined 5 days ago

My friend & I hit many of the top restaurants in Charleston on a recent vacation. This was one of my personal favorites. I actually ordered a vegetarian entrée and it was absolutely fantastic. My friend ordered the foie gras and a great seafood dish. All fantastic. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoughtful efficient service. Food was m ...

Dined 6 days ago

Thoughtful efficient service. Food was memorable. Beautiful restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow a fantastic dining experience. Our w ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Wow a fantastic dining experience. Our waiter,, Shawn was fabulous. The entire dinner was top notch from start to finish. The four gras appetizer was awesome, the lamb chops were cooked to perfection and the portion was enormous . When in Charleston it is a must

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service as provided by our wai ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service as provided by our waiter, Justin. He helped us make beverage and food selections that were spot-on. It was a memorable occasion for our family being on vacation in Charleston for the first time. We highly recommend this place for its ambiance and discerning cuisine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Charleston Grill. Upscale res ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Loved the Charleston Grill. Upscale restaurant, very nice décor, very comfortable. Very attentive wait staff, great wine list. I am sure the entree's change frequently, but from soups to salads to the seafood, everything was perfectly prepared! Something for everyone as far as choices go. A little jazz to go along with dinner. Really a great evening, highly recommended! A great place for special occasions too. Reserve a booth, the center of the room seemed a bit loud but was very nice off to the side. Not cheap, however, as you would expect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite dining experience. Staff and s ...

Dined 7 days ago

Exquisite dining experience. Staff and service were superb. The menu concept was unique and easy to understand as explained by our very competent waiter. The food was very well presented but couldhave been a notch better. The tenderloin steak was cooked perfectly but the lardons it was served with tasted burnt. The side potatoes came with creme fresh which was very bitter. Root soup starter was also a little bitter. AuGratin potatoes were delicious. Dessert was deep fried carrot cake with cream cheese ice cream. Also, abit disappointing. Coffee was served in a press and there were after dinner candies with the check. A wonderful experience overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was truly on of the best meals I ha ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

This was truly on of the best meals I have ever experienced. Highly recommended for special occasions. We were celebrating our 44th anniversary. Service was impeccable. The wait staff were the friendliest I have ever seen. The food and wine were beyond reproach. It is not inexpensive but well worth the cost.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific place!

Dined on May 18, 2016

We opted to sit at the bar and were treated with warmth and friendliness by Theresa. She made a mean martini! Tried something new...pork cheeks....and they were wonderful. Theresa also taught a "Yankee" what a real southern praline was! Melt in your mouth!! It was a terrific meal and evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience. Live jazz, beautif ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Fantastic experience. Live jazz, beautiful decor, engaging server, fantastic food. Charleston Grill had it all! You won't be disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant, upscale, subdued, perfect servi ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Elegant, upscale, subdued, perfect service, varied menu

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal

Dined on May 16, 2016

The fun we had at Charleston Grill included a very interesting menu, great wine list, awesome food and relaxing jazz. One of the best Resturants at which I've dined.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we have ever had. ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

One of the best meals we have ever had. Great restaurant in all respects.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful in all aspects. Food is superb ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Wonderful in all aspects. Food is superb, service is impeccable, and ambiance is perfect

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

56 anniv

Dined on May 15, 2016

We always try to go to someplace special for our anniversary and this time we picked a winner. The entire, staff from the maitre dei to the busboy made us feel like royalty. The food was excellent and the wine list as complete as any I've seen . we will return to the Charleston Grill

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

We scheduled our reservation weeks in ad ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We scheduled our reservation weeks in advance and were guests at the Charleston Place Restaudant We went to have drinks the night before at the Chatleston Grill and spoke with a head waiter about our Saturday nite reservation He said he would find a prime location in the dinning room for us to enjoy the jazz band We tipped him for his trouble Showed up on SAturday and the same Waiter informed us that he could no longer provide us with aprons seating location We were settled at the last table in the restaurant could hardly here the music which by the way lacked luster. Food was disappointing, foie gras appetizer was too sweet, fillet of beef lacked flavor and the artificial smoked ham pieces were awful This restaurant is no longer worth spending the 480.00 dollars for two people

food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best places to dine i ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This is one of the best places to dine in the South East, consistently exceeds our expectations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

May 12,2016

Dined on May 12, 2016

We chose this restaurant as an anniversary dinner and were not disappointed. the service by Shawn and Paul was outstanding. They were attentive to all our needs without being invasive and were professional at all times. if we travel to Charleston we will definitely choose this restaurant and ask for thse waiters. Joseph Puglielli

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved everything about Charleston Gri ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We loved everything about Charleston Grill. It was perfect for Mother's Day and my children, in their 20s, pledged that it is our new family tradition. Bryan was an exceptional addition to our dining experience and the chef was very mindful of a minor dietary restriction. All in all fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was told by many that their previous dining experience at Charleston Grill was left to be desired, but mine said otherwise. I took my mother there for dinner and had a wonderful time. We were given free samplings from the chef and what we ordered - beef tartar, prime steak, and salmon & lobster - was delectable. As a cherry on top, my mom was presented a flower in honor of Mother's Day.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The lamb was fantastic!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The lamb was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Charleston's Best!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service, lovely live band and delicious food...wonderful place to go!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful evening. Food was excellent ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

A wonderful evening. Food was excellent. Wait staff was superb. We hope to return when we're next in Charleston

food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in charleston. Lovely a ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Best restaurant in charleston. Lovely atmosphere and incredible food

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the coconut cake.

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We stayed at the Palmer Inn and decide to attend their restaurant that evening. It did not disappoint. I loved the scallops, my husband loved the snapper. It was a great blend of tastes. We saw cake after cake being delivered to several tables, upon which our waiter told us about the "famous coconut cake". Needless to say, fab! Great for a nice date or anniversary.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensive but worth it

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

This was our final meal on a visit to Charleston, so we decided to try a place that seemed to have the highest reputation. My husband's comment was that the food was so good it was almost showing off. My husband had the crab cakes as a starter and said they were the best he ever had. I had the Little Gem salad and thought it excellent. My husband has the rack of lamb. He loved it and was amazed at the size of the serving. I had the seared flounder. Our waiter was most helpful in recommending what to order. The dinner space is lovely and we enjoyed the excellent jazz duo playing. The price was high, but we felt we received value for money.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef was outstanding. Our table of 3 ord ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Chef was outstanding. Our table of 3 ordered the tasting menu and each dish was signature. Great experience with each wait person who took care of us. Would return to Charleston just to eat there again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely anniversary dinner

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Hidden inside an upscale shopping mall so was a bit hard to find. Although our back was to the peaceful green patio view, the jazz combo that came later made up for it. The food was outstanding. My tenderloin was the best I have ever had. Husbands squid and spinach pasta was very flavorful and unique which he loved. Pricey but worth every penny for our 40th wedding anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary

Dined on April 30, 2016

This is the best place for the "anniversary" experience. If you do the tasting menu with wine pairing, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Charleston

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

The entire experience was fabulous . Good superb . The service was excellent . The best rack of lamb I have ever had. The best restaurant in Charleston , by far

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Branzino.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Knowledgable and friendly staff. Wonderful meal. Wife had Branzino, tells me it's the best she ever had (she would not share it with me). I had the Low Country Muddle. Great dish!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Very personal and attentive s ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Excellent! Very personal and attentive service. Food was fantastic! Fois gras and flounder was to die for!!! Fabulous wines -depth and value! And, amazing by the glass offerings. Compliments all around! We will return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful evening to celebrate our wed ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

A wonderful evening to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Food was excellent. Service was prompt but not obtrusive. Live Jazz was an added bonus. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

harristynant

Dined on April 27, 2016

This chef can cook - must be classically trained. Had the Southern menu - wonerful flavored.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Food and Service

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Excellent food and attentive service. A bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite Service

Dined on April 25, 2016

We are mature foodies who were longtime downtown residents. We now spend 2-3 months downtown every winter. Our evening at Charleston Grill was truly delightful in every way and we were particularly impressed by the well trained staff who reminded us of European dining experiences where waiting is an honorable and skilled a profession. Our waiter was VERY professional in every way as was the rest of the pleasant well-trained wait staff who assisted him. They all helped to make our dinner very special. We follow Charleston restaurant reviews faithfully all year and try to dine in as many venues as possible while we're here...we would undoubtedly rate our dining experience this year at Charleston Grill far, far above all others. It is gratifying to realize that elegant dining is still available in the Charleston food scene!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful decor, the best service, exten ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Beautiful decor, the best service, extensive wine list, live music as background. Incredible food quality, Chef Weaver and her team create an "experience" for this special occasions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date night at Charleston Grill

Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I have visited Charleston Grill before, but we hadn't been in a few years. The food was wonderful, the atmosphere was great...but it was the little touches along the way that made the night so great. The little tastes of food from the kitchen, the surprises from the chef, the dessert wine that we didn't order that was left at our table to try...those extras make someone feel special. And they do a great job of it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated 49th Anniv. food and service ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Celebrated 49th Anniv. food and service was beyond excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WELL WORTH IT!!!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Everything was AWESOME! From the moment we walked through the door until the moment we left! I had the 22 oz Steak and it was amazing! The band was great as well. All around great experience!!! Definitely going to go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.