Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (100)
Special Occasion (99)
Good for Anniversaries (94)
See All
Good for a Date (92)
Notable Wine List (80)
Live Music (74)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Creative Cuisine (69)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Worth the Drive (44)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Local Ingredients (41)
Business Meals (34)
Cozy (33)
Tasting Menu (31)
Authentic (26)
Seasonal (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Fun (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Groups (12)
People Watching (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Healthy (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Scenic View (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
3294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined a day ago

Food was excellent. Service was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing experience! As always, service was superb -Bryan and Steve were fabulous! Everyone who encountered or assisted us were personable, friendly and absolutely excellent. Great bottle of Schramsburg with oysters and foix gras! Wonderful Chardonnay and Pinot Noir with Thai fish, pork chop, lamb and scallops. Brussel sprouts and roasted carrots were great to share. Wonderful, relaxed dinner!!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Organic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing as was the service! Chip waited on us and treated us perfectly. They went above for our anniversary as well which made the whole night that much better.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant was 5 stars... ambiance, live music, food, service! A very memorable experience. If its a special occasion for two I recommend reserving a banquette table near the band. Its not too loud either. located in the Belmond Charleston place hotel.. Reservations are a must!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Have eaten there several times and the experience with always first class. This time, not so much. Our waiter has always been very personable, asking about our visit, if this was a special occasion etc. They checked their data system for info on our previous visits. This time, none of that was done. The wait staff has always been very attentive. This time, not so much. Since we were staying at the property, we had always been given the option of having dinner billed to our room. That was not an option this time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Dinner was fabulous. Our server Adam was exceptional. Would come back again and definitely would ask for Adam to serve us he was outstanding and made us feel special!! Thank you Adam!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Wonderful service, delicious food. Fantastic overall.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We were treated very well in both the Charleston Place Hotel & Charleston grill! The atmosphere was great but the food was just average. I do plan on giving them another try someday soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2017

As always the staff, food and atmosphere did not disappoint!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

A lovely, cozy, fine dining experience, very good food and large enough entrees to take home if that's your thing. It was pleasantly "unstuffy" and yet maintained a high end feel. Service was exceptional. My only complaint would be: we were seated next to the restroom/kitchen in the back room which really hindered me from fully enjoying a special birthday night out with my husband... especially since we don't get out on the town too often! Our reservation was for 5:30 pm when the establishment opens for the evening, and the place was pretty empty at the time. So being seated in the back room by the kitchen/restrooms was off putting to say the least. I would suggest to everyone when making reservations there to be very specific about where you'd like to sit. Seemed to me the front rooms were the nicest with the best ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Excellent meal with great service. Husband says one of the best steaks he has ever had

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in the world! Which is saying a lot considering we travel a lot, and eat out very frequently

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Promptly seated. Very professional wait staff. The service was excellent. Food allergy for both of us was managed excellently. Chef adjust menu perfectly. Nice presentation. Enjoyed the live music too. Well done. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

Service was amazing, attention to detail, excellent food, live jazz was perfect compliment to everything. One of the best dinners I've had. A must visit for Charleston. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2017

I introduced my out of town family to our favorite of all restaurants. Now The Charleston Grill is also their favorite and they have dined all over the world. I can’t say enough good things about this exceptional restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 25, 2017

The beef was low quality, stringy and not a prime cut. Something out of a discount section of a grocery store. It was burned on the outside then over sauced to cover up the low quality.

You would be better served to book a different restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Was there for a birthday and they had a card and the staff were all informed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 23, 2017

What a special and delicious place to dine! From the moment we walked in the entire staff was attentive and very accommodating ! A must while in Charleston!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2017

This was an outstanding dining experience. The food selection we chose on the prefix were on the regular menu. Excellent! Bryan was our host and his assistant was Chip! They serviced us well except during the courses we felt a bit hurried. It was Thanksgiving.The only real criticism we have was the mandatory 20% gratuity on our bill with room for an additional tip. Really? On two people? Perhaps for a large party. We don’t believe that policy served them well either way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Fois gras excellent crab cakes too die for flounder stuffed excellent lamb was prepared perfect all this paired with some fine wines

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Rick, Mickey, Andrew and Andre made our dinner unforgettable. This is definitely our favorite place to dine in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2017

It was a wonderful way to begin the holidays!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2017

As a first time diner at Charleston Grill, I expected excellent food and service, which I received, but I did not expect the friendliness and sense of fun that they impart. I love how the wine list helps the non-aficionado, like myself, with categories like, Pinot Grigio-esque, and Chardonnay-ish! I also love the way the menu is divided into categories. The good was very good, although maybe not the most exquisite I’ve had in Charleston. Still, very enjoyable.
I especially loved the live music. A violin and guitar combo playing their renditions of pure rock and roll. So much fun to listen to, but not intrusive. Best night in Charleston!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2017

A terrific fine dining experience that stands out even in Charleston! From the complimentary valet parking to the front desk greeting ("Happy Anniversary") to the seating, the arrival was seamless. Our servers, Chip and John, were knowledgeable about the beverage list, the menu choices, and the portions. They were unobtrusively attentive. The menu options were spectacular and the meal was marvelous. The special anniversary dessert was a nice finish.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2017

A lovely atmosphere, excellent and abundant food, flawless service, and while above average expense, well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Great food, service and overall experience, I would highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

One of the best experiences we've ever had. We went for my husbands birthday. From the moment we stepped into the restaurant, it was nothing short of amazing. Their food was absolutely delicious but it's the service and the ambiance that will make us come back. Thank you for making my husbands birthday so special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Each bite was perfectly crafted, seasoned with loving care. The freshness and brightness of the ingredients was clear. Flavors were amazing. Crab cakes, ahi tuna, scallops and more were outstanding. Wine was a perfect pairing and the service impeccable. Perfect experience. Enjoyed meeting Chef Michelle, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 17, 2017

In a town full of amazing restaurants, Charleston Grill stands out as perhaps the very best. Service, ambiance, a varied and universally excellent menu as well as a deep and exciting wine list make for an unforgettable experience. Maitre D Mickey is one of a kind and a rare jewel of a person, practicing a vanishing art of true hospitality. Andrew, the manager on duty was sharp, smart, friendly and consummately professional. Our experience was twice as good due to these gentlemen and the rest of the staff's warm and genuine care. I cannot recommend this restaurant more highly. A jewel of the South!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Charleston Grill went above and BEYOND to make our celebration special. We were in town celebrating my Dad's cancer survival and the group at this restaurant blew me away. The food was AMAZING, the location was beautiful, but the best part was the STAFF. They were kind, and supportive and fun to eat around. I felt like I was a celebrity. I would eat here EVER time. Worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Absolutely first class all the way. Great Food, Ambiance & Service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Food and service were both memorable. The ambiance was lovely and had a sophisticated European feel. This restaurant is in the beautiful Belmond Hotel. Can't wait to dine there again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 16, 2017

This was our anniversary dinner and there is no where in Charleston I would rather be!
The food is the best, the service tops all and the atmosphere is so beautiful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Charleston Grill offers Lush, Extravagant, Comfort, Southern, and is original in every category, with ability to choose across categories, with expert advice along the way (including wine choices). Live music, ability to choose appropriate seating for your needs. Original cocktails. Great for special occasions, romance, etc. We've spent holidays here and stayed in hotel and had a date nights here. Thank you to Andrew for allowing us to try wines we didn't know to match our meal and to answer our many questions about unusual food combinations - and we are quite the foodies so we are not often surprised by 'different' combinations. Happy with all our choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

I had made a reservation and it was such an outstanding dinning experience that I went back the next night. Both nights were excellent food, excellent service, and live soft jazz---jazz every night. Without question it was far above any other restaurant that I visited in Charleston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2017

This would be your eminently "classy" fine dining experience; white table cloths, wood panelling, elegant and club-like in its interior and ambience. The service was beautifully professional, charming, informative and precise; the food and drink - fabulous! My guest and I had the foie gras and crab cake appetizers followed by the tenderloin of beef and flounder/shrimp low country sea food plate. Presentation was a feast for the eye, and the food a culinary delight. We had room to share a dessert - the chiffon cake, and left with that glowing feeling of having been treated like special guests to the feast of a lifetime.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2017

I love the Charleston Grill. We hadn't been there in a long time. Again, the service was outstanding. The food was phenomenal with great menu choices. Michelle is very talented and creative. It was my husband's birthday and they made it extra special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Charleston Grill is our absolute favorite restaurant in Charleston! We visit several times each year and must dine at least once with you! Live entertainment was wonderful! Thank you to Lisa & Barbie our waitresses. Fabulous food and service!! Thank you!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Superb food but lackluster desserts. The apple cake was dry and fairly tasteless, and the chocolate brownie was good but not excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Been going to CG for 15 years. Service always excellent. Crab cakes best in town: all backfin meat. Live jazz every night. Mickey is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.