Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: (843) 577-4522

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (139)
Romantic (117)
Good for Anniversaries (114)
See All
Good for a Date (109)
Creative Cuisine (103)
Notable Wine List (91)
Live Music (90)
Fit for Foodies (87)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Local Ingredients (54)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Worth the Drive (41)
Business Meals (40)
Tasting Menu (39)
Cozy (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Authentic (22)
Historic (20)
Fun (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
People Watching (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Healthy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Seasonal (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Scenic View (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Private Room (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Vegan (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Casual (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
3005 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Upscale setting and very good service (maybe slightly over the top). The menu is pricey and most of what we had was good enough. I had the rib eye and was very disappointed.

Aside from the food being somewhat average the band was a real disappointment. We went to hear jazz and the band seemed to be on break the whole night and when they did play it was so quiet we could not hear them.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Charleston Grill has to be in the top three restaurants in Charleston. The service is top tier from the moment you enter. Parking/accessibility is convenient and it is within the elegant Charleston Place Hotel. My wife and I celebrated our 46th anniversary with a beautifully prepared meal and special treatment from staff. Everyone is friendly and expertly trained to give a wonderful dining experience. Chef Michelle Weaver continues to delight with creative dishes. Unless you are on an expense account this is for us a special occasion restaurant but worth the splurge.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent. We had the tasting menu and everything was Superb. Highly Recommend!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrated Fathers Day with relatives and had one of the best meals ever...from start to finish. Jazz music was grand! Staff was very courteous and attentive. Would recommend this restaurant to all those wanting a great food experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The dinning was excellent.we celebrated our34th anniversary and we were seated at table34.we had pleasurable evening and look forward to many more.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a spectacular meal, with unbridled service. The attention to detail by our server as well as the restaurant was amazing. We will go back to Charleston just to have another meal here.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Amazing ! From drinks to food to service everything was on point!!
Our best experience in Charleston

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Absolutely one of the finer dinners we have had. The appetizers were fantastic and the seafood entrees were exceptional. Martinis were just as they should be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Fantastic as always. Second time there and it was just amazing. Would highly recommend this restaurant

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My family of four was treated royally. Our server, Femi had great recommendations. Great wine selection! Don't skip the appetizers;they have the best foie gras and oysters anywhere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Exceptional dining experience. The six course tasting menu is outstanding and gives you the ability to sample many of the offerings on the menu. Tasting portions are very generous. The wine list is vast and offers a wide price range of choices. Not to be outdone, the service that was provided by the main server and assistant, in addition to service provided by owner, hostess/host, and support staff, was outstanding. The servers even remember and call you by your name (and in our case a special anniversary event) throughout the evening. You will pay top dollar, but the total experience is worth every penny. We are from the San Francisco Bay Area, and Charleston Grill rivals and surpasses many of SF's best restaurants. Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The service was wonderful and the Maître D' is a saint. We ran into old friends from California and invited them to join us, and even though they were booked up on a Saturday night, the MD immediately changed our table. He also helped out a young couple in front of us, and we heard several people thanking him profusely on the way out, so he must be some sort of magician/storytelling chieftain/ benevolent demigod.
The food was delicious and our waiter was knowledgeable and fun without being shmaltzy. His recommendations were spot-on.
Even the valet was terrific, for Pete's sake. It was worth every cent and every minute of the 5-hour drive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The staff is amazing-- so attentive, friendly, and professional. The ribeye is the best that I've had in my 34 years. Absolutely an excellent first time experience. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

From the moment we walked in the door the staff was warm ,welcoming and celebratory for my birthday even leaving a birthday card on our table, which was the best in the house. The food and wine pairings were exceptional and the chef accommodated our special requests. We were not rushed. Our meal took nearly 3 hours and every staff person who approached was attentive and on the same page as the chef and maitr'd. Charleston Grill is pricey, but worth every penny for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Spectacular restaurant. Beautifully appointed. Mickey the manager always has his staff on top of every detail. The atmosphere, food and service are extraordinary. A must for any special occasion and great for a wonderful date night, too! Consistent every time. Chef Michelle Weaver's creative menu is sure to please!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Arrived late for our reservation due to an overrun of a previous commitment. In spite of this our table was ready, service was professional, cordial and efficient as we had a concert to attend at 8:00. The wine was reasonable and very good. The wine service knowledgeable. The food, preparation and presentation was superb. I wondered why I don't come here more often.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We were very disappointed in our dining experience at the Charleston Grill. After reading about the Grill and hearing some of the foodie chatter we had high expectations. Our meal which consisted of a 22 oz. ribeye, steak tartare appetizer and rack of lamb was mediocre at best! The presentation equal in its mediocrity. The trio of musicians were enjoyable, actually softened the blow of a very overpriced dinner. Luckily we dined at some other excellent venus that made our stay in Charleston quite endearing.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent service. Food was excellent. Like the wines by the glass(yes they have Opus by the glass) It is a little loud, could be that I'm old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I made reservations well in advance and asked for a nice corner table to celebrate a 40th birthday with friends. I got a corner table but not what I expected, they put us in a corner next to the wait staffs work station. We ordered the chefs selection 6 course meal with the medium priced wine pairing. Four of the six courses were fine and one was not good at all, it had a shrimp component and the shrimp was a little mushy and over cooked, the main course of lamb I have to admit was excellent. The wines were ok and the bottle cost ranged from $29-$100 dollars for the medium pairing which I thought was low for the cost. If the food and wine had matched the quality of the staff this would have truly been an exceptional experince, because it didn't I can't recommend it strongly until I try again and I always believe in 2nd chances and off nights because great friends have raved about the Charleston Grill.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Pure class from start to finish, Charleston Grill is the Grand Dame of King Street. Whether celebrating a birthday or any special occasion, you'll find that there are no wrong choices here. Service is extremely attentive and will even accommodate a random song request for the marvelous musicians who provide an extra layer of luster to the elegant dining ambiance. Wine list is equisite and included such rareties as Opus One by the glass. Don't skip dessert!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Charleston Grill is a gem and represents the city well. The staff are among the most knowledgeable in the industry.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, excellent food and great live jazz band which added energy without making it too loud to talk to each other. Rack of lamb portion very generous. Free pre-appetizer tuna was to die for. Sturgeon is hard to find item, and was excellent. Scallops were heavenly. Can't go wrong!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Amazing service and attention to detail. If your looking for eclectic dining and want to be pampered, this is the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

First time at Charleston Grill did not disappoint! From the moment we walked in, the greeters were very warm and friendly. I had told them it was our 48th Anniversary and everyone wished us a Happy Anniversary and went out of their way to help us celebrate. (dessert wine on the house) The food was beautifully presented and of course, delicious! There was no long waiting for the next course each as different and yummy as the previous. The manners and personal care of each server was impeccable. I highly recommend The Charleston Grill. We will return for sure. And by the way, try the yellow gaspazo!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I'm sure most people think of the Grill as "special occasion", but for great service, atmosphere, food, and ambience you really can't go wrong there at any time.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The Charleston Grill is a wonderful stop while in Charleston. The attentive service is special and every aspect of the evening was just ideal. The tasting menu is the best way to experience the delicious dishes (the foie gras and lamb especially) and the wine pairings were so thoughtfully done by the excellent sommelier. The relaxed atmosphere, great food and drink, and pampering service made for memories we will long keep.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Top notch food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The best meal we had in Charleston hands down. Charleston is known for great foods and the competition is fierce. The Charleston Grill surpasses every restaurant we went to. It was absolutely awesome. Every course was amazing. The service was perfect. The ambiance was great with live music and nooks for couples. Perfect.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Good wine list with moderate mark up. Gave us incentive to order off the list rather than bringing our own. Hannah, our waitress , was very attentive and informative not only about the menu but also other sites to visit. Food was great, but a little expensive for size of portions.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Most amazing dinner! Perfect way to celebrate our anniversary! Every bite was nothing short of phenomenal. Can not wait to return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Wonderful upscale restaurant, the food was spectacular. Local ingredients and wonderful preparation. The cocktails were also great. It is a bit pricey but well worth the spurge. Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The subtlety of the ingredients was amazing. My goat cheese tart had a burst of surprises in every bit. The crab cakes divine! I wish I had shown up hungrier as the menu is wonderful and our experience was top rate! After 30 years living in New York City I can honestly say I've never had a better meal -- and that's saying a lot!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Best food i have experienced , ever. Totally awsome experience for special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 29, 2017

It was nice to be in a restaurant that actually leaves sufficient space between seats to not overhear your neighbors' conversation. I'm from Philly and that can be hard to come by. It's a lovely high end atmosphere with excellent service. It was my birthday and the waiters made a really nice effort to make it special: a card, greetings by both waiters, complimentary after dinner drinks and cookies/chocolates that said Happy Birthday. An interesting menu divided into four different types of food that can be mixed and matched. I had a very tasty tuna carpaccio that was creative and beautifully plated. My main dish of fish in a Thai tom yom sauce was okay but disappointingly spiced as I am accustomed to that being quite wonderfully hot. My partner's lamb chops were beautiful, generous and he said quite delicious. There was live music that was not loud but added a little romance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

They made our 40th wedding anniversary very special!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Exceptional meal and fabulous staff. We celebrated my father's 90 th birthday. They were kind and made him feel very special

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The Charleston Grill is a world-class restaurant in every way. My wife and I have enjoyed being able to dine in all the major cities of the U.S. and Europe, and I can say unequivocally that the Charleston Grill is right up there with the best. The greeting at the door, the exceptional decor, comfortable seating, stemware, dinner ware, flat ware, really everything is done to perfection without pretense. The food is flat out spectacular, perfectly prepared and beautifully served. The wine list is one of the best in all of the southeast, along with a deeply supplied bar.
We live in Sarasota, FL, but the Charleston Grill will bring us back more often than we would otherwise make the drive. Maybe for anniversary or birthday celebrations. It's that good. Kudos to the entire staff - it made our trip to Charleston unforgettable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food & excellent service! We were very graciously treated for our 40th anniversary. Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

For a one-night meal in Charleston this spot is an excellent choice! We ended up front row for the jazz quarter and the service was to-notch. The food and wine did not disappoint either - crab cake for an appetizer, ribeye and flounder for our entrees. Amazing time, would love to come back next we are in Charleston, SC!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.