About Charleston Grill

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: 8435774522x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer - Charleston Grill, Charleston, SC
  • Thai Fish - Charleston Grill, Charleston, SC
  • Beef Tenderloin And Potatoes - Charleston Grill, Charleston, SC
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer - Charleston Grill, Charleston, SC
Thai Fish - Charleston Grill, Charleston, SC
Beef Tenderloin And Potatoes - Charleston Grill, Charleston, SC

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
10 More
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
Romantic
South Carolina
American
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (88)
Romantic (81)
Fit for Foodies (62)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Notable Wine List (52)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for a Date (43)
Live Music (41)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Authentic (22)
Tasting Menu (22)
Business Meals (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Cozy (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Historic (12)
Healthy (10)
People Watching (7)
Scenic View (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding and unique food with unsurpa ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding and unique food with unsurpassed service. From the time we walked in until we left, the attention to details and service was top notch.

Crab cake appetizer was to kill for, and the venison was superb.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service from beginning to end. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service from beginning to end. Their rolls were delicious, excellent appetizers (we had the octopus salad and crab cake). The bucatini nero was alright, but I also wasn't expecting a squid ink pasta, and the steak tartare could have been more refined. First steak tartare we've had where the quail egg was fully cooked. The vanilla bean creme brulee was good - a tad on the sweet side. Overall, it was a great dinner experience. Live jazz music made up for anything lacking :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have an incredible experience ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

We always have an incredible experience at Charleston Grill. Bryan is so knowledgeable and always seems to know what we want before we could even say it. We have not met a more perceptive server. He even recognized that two of us weren't drinking at dinner but still created a beautiful pomegranate mocktail so everyone could cheers for the birthday toast. Really unmatched service! Andres is also always wonderful and very attentive to our needs. We, of course, will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal and wines, great chef and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal and wines, great chef and kitchen staff, professional service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

very good food but it took a long time, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

very good food but it took a long time, the waiter only apologized for the delay, I've been in situations like this and usually the waiters offered free dessert or drinks...

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Beautiful meal with beautiful service. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Beautiful meal with beautiful service.

We were sitting fairly close to the live music (which was wonderful) but a bit loud for me, especially during dinner. Hard to hear others at the table. Otherwise, a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Impeccable service and food. Lamb chops ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Impeccable service and food. Lamb chops were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved being able to mix and match from ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I loved being able to mix and match from different parts of the menu, and my entree of a white fish (haddock as I recall) over an exquisitely fresh succotash could not have been better. Live music and perfect service, along wit the food, make this a go-to place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambience. The live music enhanced ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Lovely ambience. The live music enhanced the atmosphere without overwhelming the experience. Our meals were all delicious with a beautiful presentation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The best dining experience ever! The sta ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The best dining experience ever! The staff have my new bride and I royal treatment as we sat right next to the band. We felt really special and the patrons made sure we did not spend a dime the entire night! The best night for a brand new happily married couple! We will be attending Charleston grill again soon, thanks so much!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charleston Grill didn't disappoint, beau ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Charleston Grill didn't disappoint, beautiful decor, lively atmosphere, solid staff and fantastic foo.! Impressive wine list too! I can't wait to return. 5 Stars!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is expensive, but excelle ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The restaurant is expensive, but excelled in all areas. We were greeted by name by our waiter,Chip, who displayed an exhaustive knowledge of the menu and preparation of the dishes. Food was served in a timely fashion, and we never felt rushed. Our server, Nellie, made sure our glasses were refreshed and bread plates refilled seamlessly. The cuisine offered a broad range of healthy, vegan options as well as rich dishes like fois gras... from beef to seafood, classic American fare to Asian inspired sides, there was something for every palate! Brava to the pastry chef, whose dessert options delighted our eyes as well as

our sweet tooth! The Maitre D'hotel even stopped by our table to ascertain our level of satisfaction.

The Charleston Grill gets it right...this is where you want to go for a special dinner when you want fine dining and the experience of feeling truly pampered.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at the Charleston Grill in ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have dined at the Charleston Grill in the past, and decided to do an overnight at the Charleston Place Hotel, home of the Grill. We were greeted warmly and enjoyed a cocktail while awaiting our table. The appetizers were excellent and I enjoyed my beef tenderloin. My wife was disappointed in a supposedly "spicy" seafood dish that lacked the Thai spicing she anticipated, and the hostess graciously deleted it from our bill. All-in-all, a classy dining spot with a great ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the most phenomenal meals we have ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

One of the most phenomenal meals we have ever had with IMPECCABLE service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant with excellent food ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very nice restaurant with excellent food and excellent service. Would have been a much better ambiance for us had we been seated outside the "lounge" area where the lighting was up bright and people came and went as they waited for their table. We assumed wrongly that by having a reservation we would be seated in the romantic, dimly lit main restaurant area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Fabulous! We celebrated my birthday wit ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fabulous! We celebrated my birthday with my husband and two grown sons. The crab appetizer is the best we have ever had anywhere! We ordered a variety of entrees from the lamb, beef tenderloin, and a seafood pasta dish - all delicious! The service deserves more than 5 stars - they make you feel very special. This is definitely one of Charleston's finest.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and ambiance was incredibl ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food, service and ambiance was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing evening! This was our first v ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

An amazing evening! This was our first visit to the Charleston Grill and it was fabulous! The service was superb, Nika's suggestions and attention to every detail made it a dining experience we will never forget! Thank you for excellent cuisine and exceptional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always among my top four restaurants in ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always among my top four restaurants in Charleston. Food is always outstanding, combinations are sophisticated and always well prepared. Service top notch. Best wine list in Charleston bar none. Was fortunate enough to get the last bottle of the 1987 Guenoc Beckstoffer Cabernet. Went wonderfully with the fillet mignon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Charleston Grill exceeded my already ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The Charleston Grill exceeded my already high expectations. The service was phenomenal with the waitstaff intuiting our needs before we knew them. The food was fabulous - elegantly presented, prepared perfectly, and providing a mix of tastes that made our mouths sing! They have one of the most impressive wine lists I have every come across. I would highly recommend Charleston Grill for a special occasion or any time you want an incredible meal served by a great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best dining experiences I hav ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

One of the best dining experiences I have ever had.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated our anniversary at the Charel ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary at the Charelston Grill, and can confidently say this was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had! From the appetizers (Kabocha and Coconut soup and crab cakes) to our entrees (seared flounder and Norwegian ocean trout), the food was exquisite! But what set this experience apart was the prompt, attentive and professional service, which is unparalleled! Would absolutely recommend the Charleston Grill to anyone looking to celebrate a special occasion in this wonderful city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my second visit to the Grill an ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This was my second visit to the Grill and it was better than the previous visit. The previous visit was very excellent, so what can I say. Food and service was exceptional

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic staff and food worth the trip!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Fantastic staff and food worth the trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Above and beyond what is expected from f ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Above and beyond what is expected from fine dining food flavor, quality, and service. Such a genuine desire to please, this place hits every mark.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another special meal and special night i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Another special meal and special night in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In Charleston for four days with wife to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

In Charleston for four days with wife to enjoy food and sights. Charleston Grill lived up to its reputation as a classy venue with great food. We were sat at a vegas style booth and could hear and see the light jazz music in the dining room. We split the steak tartare, wedge salad and The Colorado non-dry aged rack of lamb which turned out to be the finest we have ever had. Servers were very good and also split the salad and rack of lamb for us. Very happy to see 1/2 bottles of wine with good choices and fair prices. If your in town and want one of the finest dining experiences do try the Charleston Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely. Delicious meal. Music great.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Lovely. Delicious meal. Music great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, this restaurant did not fail ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As always, this restaurant did not fail to impress! Fabulous food, wonderful music, exceptional service. Though we are from Texas, we make it a point to visit Charleston Grill when we are within 500 miles of South Carolina.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our servers. Whil ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our servers. While deciding on a wine, I was allowed tastes of three different reds to ensure I found one I liked best. Food was a bit salty for my taste buds, but I find this to be true at most restaurants anymore. Diners should be able to add salt if needed. Chefs should recognize that not all of are into the fancy salt craze. The service was so smooth you never felt intimidated. The flounder that my husband had was outstanding. My beets were a bit too sweet and overcooked. All in all, Charleston Place is a gorgeous place to dine!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was awesome!!! Service was great!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was awesome!!! Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were in Charleston for bus ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

My wife and I were in Charleston for business and decided to stay over for a couple days. Googled best place to dine. This came up and we tried it. Outstanding!! A little pricey, but a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant is beautiful and well located ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Restaurant is beautiful and well located. Food was great, wine list complete and service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the jazz combo was good, but the music v ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 31, 2016

the jazz combo was good, but the music volume was such that several couples asked to be reseated in a quieter location.

charleston grill is one of the few fine dining restaurants open on monday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Charleston Grill continues to deliver th ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Charleston Grill continues to deliver the best choices, best cuisine and excellent service!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Start to finish, the Charleston Grill is ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Start to finish, the Charleston Grill is an excellent experience. The staff is very professional and appropriately attentative.

The food is quite original, with well balanced levels of flavor in all dishes. The presentation is very good without being 'cute'.

The venue itself is very nice, just what you should expect from a fine restaurant.

Put the Charleston Grill at the top of your list of places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From reservation, service and food the e ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

From reservation, service and food the experience was excellent. Would certainly recommend and return. Live music was good but just a little too loud for the environment.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined at most notable Charleston ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We have dined at most notable Charleston restaurants and will list Charleston Grill at the top. You cannot understand the quality until you give it a try. We went for my wife's 41st birthday and enjoyed every minute. The service is great and the is a nice selection of appetizers and main entrées.

I would recommend Charleston Grill to friends and family that could afford to dine here. It is very pricey, but as the old saying goes, you get what you pay for.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great spot for jazz and great food on ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A great spot for jazz and great food on a Friday night. The service was outstanding and the food was great. I had the grilled oysters followed by the flounder, and both dishes were cooked to perfection. My husband enjoyed the steak tartare, but was not as thrilled with the pork cheeks. Our only complaint was that there was a loud, drunken group seated near us and that made the experience not so pleasant. Not the fault of the restaurant, but still impacted our dining experience.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Attentive but not pushy. We throughly en ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Attentive but not pushy. We throughly enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.