Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: (843) 577-4522

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (146)
Good for Anniversaries (117)
Good for a Date (112)
See All
Romantic (111)
Creative Cuisine (100)
Notable Wine List (97)
Live Music (93)
Fit for Foodies (89)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Local Ingredients (51)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Business Meals (41)
Worth the Drive (40)
Tasting Menu (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Cozy (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Authentic (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Fun (19)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
People Watching (12)
Historic (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Seasonal (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Scenic View (5)
Private Room (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vegan (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
3058 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

We had an amazing experience! When Chef Michelle found out we were in the restaurant and from her home state, she visited with us twice. The food was delicious, the service was impeccable, and the atmosphere was perfect! I will highly recommend this to friends who are traveling to Charleston and look forward to my return one day in the future! They definitely made our experience feel special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great ambiance, amazing food and superb service. One of the best in Charleston

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, top notch service, over-the-top flavors and a broad range of choices. Best chef in town.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Flounder was great but the filet was just ok. Service was amazing. Overall probably would try somewhere new over going back but would say try it at least once

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time celebrating our wedding anniversary. The manager and all the staffs are great and they let you feel you are welcome..

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating our 10 year anniversary and brought our well behaved 5 year old.:) The food was outstanding! Everything was very different... we were a little skeptical of the menu but thoroughly enjoyed everything even the cocktails! The manager even took our son across the way to Godiva for a chocolate sucker! Smart move... kissing babies will get you far! ;) My ONLY complaint and it's minor was our head waiter took our order then we never saw him again....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were outstanding. Highly recommend this wonderful restaurant

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food, service, and ambiance. Went to celebrate graduation from NNPTC class. The evening was perfect, highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

College touring with my daughter and wanted a great meal. Everything was amazing, especially our wonderful server Lisa. Top notch food and service. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We have eaten in some of the finest restaurants in the country and the service here was probably one of the best we have ever had. It was incredible but not too over the top. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and very accommodating of my food allergy. The food was delicious and very interesting. The music was just right.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Best service we've had! We liked the little surprises that the chef had for us especially the candy at the very end! Good food! A little pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

You can't improve on perfection! The food and drinks were great, and all the staff made it a totally enjoyable evening. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was excellent. great live music and fun place

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Octopus app best. Lamb tough. Shrimp, crab, fish dish had no shrimp and Watery tomato broth. Fish excellent though, only re I didnt send back. Would never go back. Too many moderately priced great restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Beautiful dinner on our last night in Charleston , on the day before, requested a romantic table, when we arrived we were sat at the best table in the house. Choose the five course chefs menu, what a beautiful meal. From the very start to the very end everything was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

excellent dining experience. Lovely place with excellent service, food. nice jazz combo on Friday evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was AMAZING! Service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

What a special treat from the loveseat near the jazz band to the gorgeous linen draped table. 2 servers assigned to meet our every need, bread basket, tastings compliments of the chef and the finest dining EVER!!! Superb food, excellent choices, fresh ingredients, special touches and fantastic music. Cannot say enough about our experience. Had to make a reservation 2 months in advance and 2nd guessed it a time or two just worried it would be too stuffy but the atmosphere was perfect for a nice summer casual shirt for him and a summer dress for me without feeling under dressed at all. Also saw several in coat and tie, great mix of attire. Prices were definitely above a normal night out but we knew that going in and were more than happy to pay for the experience, professional service, great food and menu selections, cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Birthday dinner for my husband. 1st course gazpacho and four gras. 2nd course Quail and Scallops. Dessert Chocolate Tart.
All was fantastic! Attention to detail was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The Charleston Grill experience was both unique and wonderful as the service was 1st class and the meal delicious. Definitely worth a return visit

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great dinner. Visiting from ASHVILLE, NC where we have wonderful ,unique restaurants like we
Found here in Charleston. We would pick HANKES every year we come back, Do not miss this jewel . SPECIALS WERE WONDERFUL! GROUPER AND SALMON.......SWEET POTATOES FRIES ROCKED!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Wonderful place to dine, staff treated us like royalty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The ambiance was beautiful and the service was courteous and professional. The food was good but the portions were very small and not worth the high prices. It's a classy restaurant but you're paying more for the ambiance than the food. I would recommend Hyman's Restaurant instead-very friendly, great food and service and that's more of a place locals and tourists alike can enjoy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was excellent, the service even better. An excellent choice for dinner if you are in Charleston

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is a very nice restaurant with excellent service and great atmosphere. I greatly enjoyed the rack of lamb that I had, I just wish that the portion wasn't so large. It was extremely expensive, and I feel that only half as much lamb would have been plenty and it should have been offered at a much lower price. It really was too much meat for one person. Overall, we had a great time. The jazz is a nice touch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Our first night visiting Charleston, after researching nice places for dinner, we chose The Charleston Grill. The reviews we read were all outstanding and the restaurant certainly lived up to them. From the moment we entered the dining room we were greeted with genuine warmth and hospitality and seated at a lovely little table for two. The friendly service, the creative menu, the amazing wine list were all exemplary and of course the food was outstanding. The crab cakes were the best ever! We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening, a perfect welcome to the lovely city of Charleston, and would recommend The Charleston Grill to anyone looking for a unique and fun dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Pricey, but food was amazing. The menu has many different choices. The servers are excellent, but it isn't stuffy. Really helpful, great atmosphere and excellent food

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The Charleston Grill is a great spot for dinner in a town of mostly tourist food. The Grill surpasses expectations and deserves its five star accolades. If you're happy to pay for what you expect, you'll be glad you went.
We were so impressed by the quality of our food and the professionalism of Chip and Nellie our wait staff that we went back a few days later.

Tags: Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Best overall restaurant in Charleston. The place always meets or exceeds in service, friendly staff, and Chef's food is always perfect. You might find a bit more creative "food channel" places in Charleston but you won't find a place that prepares and serves the menu any better. Wine list is great and deep in every category, very knowledgeable staff on food wine pairings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We have had our anniversary dinner at this restaurant for the last three years and they always do an outstanding job helping us celebrate. As a vegetarian, it can be hard to find an upscale restaurant that has vegetarian or vegan options but I can always count on this place. Also, the wine list is very comprehensive if pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Outstanding food and service! The beef tenderloin was phenomenal! Best wine list of all the luxury restaurants we dined at this week!

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Everything about the restaurant was top shelf. The service, the ambiance and the food were outstanding. The music is a nice touch and adds to the sophisticated atmosphere. I had the lamb chops and they were "like butter" as aptly described by my waiter. The tag team service is always in the right place at the right time, from the bread to the appetizers to the main course and the dessert. I would highly recommend The Charleston Grill for a special occasion or romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Fabulous food and service. Pricey but you get what you pay for. Rack of lamb was out of this world...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Absolutely fantastic meal and service. My only complaint was where we were seated was extremely noisy both from adjacent table conversions and the live music. Conversing with my spouse was difficult

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent array of choices on the menu to accommodate dietary preferences. The trout was excellent, and the vegetables were great. The wine list paired well with the menu. Extremely attentive, polite service (everyone said "Hello" as we entered). The dining room was refined but not decadent, so you don't need to get all dolled up. Overall, a great stop while in Charleston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

PERFECT service. Husband wanted a half bottle of gamay, they happened to be out of it, so the waiter decanted half of another wine he recommended to replace it and it was heavenly. Husband had octopus salad and an Thai fish preparation, loved both. I had yellow gazpacho that was light and delicious, then a "low country muddle" - an upscale shrimp and grits, very very good. Too full for dessert. Saw customers dressed up and not so dressed up, but the atmosphere felt lovely and more quiet than some places. Very nice for a date. Did I mention the service was PERFECT?

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The restaurant is absolutely beautiful ... we went cuz my husband's birthday and the food was amazing, beautiful decorated and the products were fresh !! Just the wine list it's quite limited but still i give them a 5⭐️....tuna tartar is the best one ever!!! If you are a tuna lover it's a must try!! And the scallops were amazing 😉 too!!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very enjoyable evening, food was great service was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Fantastic food, and service to match. Came here on a weekend trip to Charleston and were definitely not disappointed. 22oz ribeye was incredible. Great wine list and top shelf scotch choices. Will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.