Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (128)
Romantic (105)
Good for a Date (100)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (95)
Notable Wine List (87)
Creative Cuisine (79)
Live Music (79)
Fit for Foodies (77)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Local Ingredients (44)
Worth the Drive (42)
Business Meals (34)
Tasting Menu (33)
Cozy (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Authentic (23)
Fun (15)
Seasonal (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Scenic View (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Had the Chef’s Tasting Menu - fabulous selection of dishes. Highly recommend this place for the quality of their food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. We enjoyed our meal at the Charleston Grill. They also have great drinks. The ambience is wonderful. They had a jazz band during dinner. The wait staff was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely exceptional, we were greeted by a friendly staff and immediately seated. The wait staff was attentive but not over bearing, a great wine selection with a variety of choices and guidance and allways checked in to ensure our satisfaction
The food was great, the menu is put together according to culinary styles but you can mix and match to your taste.
Went there for our anniversary and do not regret a single moment! Well done

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Every detail of our dinner was very special. Both of us enjoyed everything. The service was excellent. We will recommend to our friends and return the next time we are in Charleston.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff there is awesome. Bryan and John our servers this trip were outstanding Feme our server from a previous visit even stopped by and remembered us by name. Graham the manager remembered us and greeted us warmly. We again missed Joey!

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated our 25th anniversary here and it made for a memorable evening. The service was impeccable and staff were attentive, but not hovering. They made great recommendations for the meal and places to go in town. The atmosphere makes it relaxing and easy to carry on a conversation. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I ordered a $110 dollar of Merlot wine they didn't have it and suggested another one same price. When the wine guy came he opened the bottle with a big pop, decanted it and served without letting me taste it first.

The wine was good and we kept it but it was a no no for a restaurant of this class, surprised they did that. Maybe they need to train the wine staff a little better.

Tags: People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. The food was Awesome the service and environment was Welcoming from the time we entered the Resturaunt until we left.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing menu, great service. Only one minor complaint. For such a fantastic restaurant, the lighting was a little bright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with live jazz and sweetheart tables. Great romantic dinner and everything was very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We went to dinner for a special occasion on Thursday night and took three incredibly special bottles of wine of our own.. even though I don't recommend people do that but Rick was gracious about our bringing those since none was on the restaurant's wine list anyway.
Bryan was our server, Rick the sommelier and it was more special because e let chef Michelle Weaver match the food with the wines we brought. And we bought a couple more from the restaurant. A 4-hour dinner that was perfect in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

The best. Steak and crabcake were both amazing. Tasting samplers were very appreciated, and the way the menu was split up was very unique and nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We went for our 53rd anniversary. Everything was perfect, service, food, atmosphere. I only gave the food to value3 stars just to point out it is very expensive. We live in Charleston, dine out often, but this was our 1st time here. The prices didn't turn me off, they were just pricey. If you go there looking for the best of everything, you will get it and not worry about the price. You get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The Charleston Grill is a fine dining spot, superb service and a romantic environment. It is expensive. With little alcohol, one drink each, figure 150 each. Service was great and with my wife's birthday, they recognized it at every step. The menu really offers some interesting combinations. Note the vegetable offerings are sizable for two or three

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Very nice for a special occasion. Background music was very nice, service was excellent and included a lot of nice touches.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary. We were seated in a strategic place in the restaurant. We had a view of the whole room. We could hear the jazz band but not see them as they were to the side of us. Our server Femi was fantastic. He knew the menu well and helped make great choices for wine. Andrei was Femi's assistant and Vladislov helped clear the table and refill water. The manager of the restaurant came over to welcome us and introduce himself. The Maitre'D also checked on us and help to serve our meal. Everything flowed well between courses. When I say courses, I mean six of them because we had the Chef's menu. Everything was awesome. I tried some foods I didn't have before and was glad I did. We are an adventurous couple so it was a great experience. The Charleston Grill is a place we will definitely visit again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2017

FABULOUS!!!!!!!! WE ATE THERE TWICE IN ONE WEEK! ONCE FOR A ROMANTIC DINNER AND THE OTHER FOR A BIRTHDAY DINNER!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Amaising as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Unbelievable food. I can die happy now.

The food just kept getting better. This is a must visit whenever I'm in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2017

One of the nicest evenings I have spent out in a very long time. The dinner was outstanding, the service Impeccable, the atmosphere warm and inviting. We loved it and I will go back every time I am in Charleston. We requested another table and were promptly moved to another location. I would recommend this to anyone for a special night out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

one of the best restaurant we have eaten...the service was fantastic.....

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This is simple one of the best restaurants in the country! We have only had seafood there in the past and it is on par with places like Grammercy Tavern. We had the Chef's tasting menu this time and it was extraordinary! It can't be beat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Dinner was excellent; our first evening in Charleston!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Awesome place, great for an anniversary! We were so well taken car of!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Birthday dinner on vacation. Impeccable service. Great food and loved the table we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing service. Amazing food. Not cheap but so worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Just an overall wonderful experience, from food to wine to exemplary service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Outstanding, proactive table and wine service. Thoughtful, innovative menu. Best lamb I've ever had. Happy to dine there every time I go to Charleston.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent food, service, and vibe. Live saxophone, cello, and drums play in the corner, dimly lit but not too dark (probably spent a lot of time figuring this out) which makes an energetic yet calm atmosphere. Food and service are both A+. Spent $200 for wife and I, one drink each with appetizers, entree and sides a-la-carte. Meals were hot and perfectly prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The Charleston Grill is a marvelous dining experience in the old southern tradition. The room is beautiful, the food is delicious and the service is perfect. It is a treasure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fun, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Celebrated our 49th Anniversary and were treated like family. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great place! Food, ambiance and service top notch. The pork chop meal was excellent so was the caviar. Definitely a date night place. At the lounge they play live Jazz. Full bar and wine list. They deserve all the accolades they get.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This restaurant reminded me of dining in NYC. Everything was top notch- ambiance , service and food. I would highly recommend this restaurant. The entire staff made us feel so comfortable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The service was incredibly good, not hovering, but ever present. The food was top notch. Charleston Grill and Hanks are my two favorite restaurants when I am in Charleston.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Charleston Grill is one of the top restaurants in Charleston. Chef Michelle Weaver features local ingredients and creates new variations on classic dishes. I will return for the unmatched service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This restaurant was outstanding. I really liked the serves that was giving and the friendly faces. The food was good as well and came out hot and quick. I would recommend anybody to go here.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food, service, and overall experience..wonderful choice for our anniversary.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Sublime and serene. The cuisine was as expected, thoughtful and just plain delicious. But the beautiful atmosphere, gracious service, and, for a Connecticut visitor, astounding value put this wonderful restaurant over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Food quality, preparation, and presentation were excellent. Service was timely and attentive. Ambiance was nice with moderate noise level. Highly recommend for anyone visiting Charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.