About Charleston Grill

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: (843) 577-4522

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (94)
Good for Anniversaries (86)
Romantic (73)
See All
Fit for Foodies (68)
Good for a Date (65)
Notable Wine List (64)
Live Music (61)
Creative Cuisine (59)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Tasting Menu (35)
Local Ingredients (30)
Business Meals (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Authentic (26)
Cozy (25)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Historic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Hot Spot (10)
People Watching (10)
Healthy (10)
Fun (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Seasonal (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2780 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was recommended and lived up to hope. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

It was recommended and lived up to hope. Awesome service and food was spectacular. A bit pricey so more of a special occasion I would think. Waiters were intentive and knowledgeable about food, wine deserts.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and great live jazz !! ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Always great food and great live jazz !!! This remains our favorite restaurant in the United States.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Live Music, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always. Our go-to spot ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding as always. Our go-to spot for that special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me begin by saying that the 22 ounce ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Let me begin by saying that the 22 ounce Ribeye was one of the best that I've tasted. The combination of flavor, tenderness, and marbling is incomparable. Overall, our Pre-Valentine's Day dinner was pretty good.

What kept it from being amazing were a couple of glitches. The first was that we had requested a booth, which wasn't available. The hostess showed us several tables, one two seat and another 4 seat. We initially chose the 2 seat table. However, there was a draft due to the table being next to the window and opposite an air vent. When we asked about the 4 seat table, we were told that it was for 4 people. We understood, until we saw 1 couple being seated at the very table that we mentioned. This was followed by another couple being seated at a 4 seat table.

The second glitch was the degree of information that we received from our waiter. We noticed that we didn't get the depth of description of entrees that we heard others receive. It just struck us to be odd.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I heard a lot about Charlest ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I heard a lot about Charleston Grill and finally were able to get downtown for a night. It was excellent. From the time you walk into the restaurant, the greeting, the service, the knowledge of the waiter, the quality of the food, the music and everything else was done right. I will recommend the Charleston Grill to everyone.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easily the best place in Charleston. Don ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Easily the best place in Charleston. Don't miss it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Organic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wine were exceptional. Eve ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and wine were exceptional. Everyone working there went out of their way to take care of you. Had a fabulous night!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Anniversary Dinner was superb! The t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our Anniversary Dinner was superb! The tenderloin and Muddle we exceptional. The favors in the sauces were like nowhere else. Service was great with plenty of attention. Wine was exceptional as well. Wine list was unsurpassed. It has our vote for the Best Restaurant in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! Our favorite meal all week in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Fabulous! Our favorite meal all week in Charleston! The food was excellent, they accommodated my gluten and dairy allergies (even had gf bread!) and the service was TOO NOTCH! Can't beat it. We went to Halls Chophouse the next night and were so disappointed because the service was nowhere near what Charleston Grill was and yet the meal was more expensive! Charleston Grill has great ambiance, too. We will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to the Charleston Grill for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

First visit to the Charleston Grill for a birthday celebration. Food and ambiance were amazing. Come later when the jazz combo is playing for a special evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Wished we had dressed a bit nicer but th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wished we had dressed a bit nicer but the wait staff still treated us like royalty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A memorable meal -- the menu is eclectic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

A memorable meal -- the menu is eclectic, the food fantastic, the service beyond excellent, and a great wine list. Pricey but very much worth every bite (and every sip).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This special dinner date with my daughte ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This special dinner date with my daughter could not have been better. She/we were treated like royalty. The service was refined yet relaxed, attentive. There is no better place in all of Charleston for a special occasion dinner. Thank you to all who made this a memorable evening.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cranb cakes a must. Excellent waut staff ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Cranb cakes a must. Excellent waut staff. Entrees fine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Truly exceptional service wit h food and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Truly exceptional service wit h food and drink that exceeded our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service. The lamb c ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Outstanding food and service. The lamb chops may have been the best I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our annual trek to Chas Grill always cre ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Our annual trek to Chas Grill always creates excitement for my wife and I. This time we had friends accompany us for a joint birthday get-together. First time for them and they raved about the Lamb and Foit gras and restaurant. Service was impeccable by Bryan and other assistants( forgot their name by equally attentive). Michelle Weaver(the chef) came out to introduce herself and check on us...very impressive! The Jazz band was outstanding and the sound level from them was moderate and enjoyable where we could hear and enjoy the conversation...Well done!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal at the Charleston Grill ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Outstanding meal at the Charleston Grill. My wife and I drove three-plus hours to Charleston for a dinner date at the Grill. Bryan was our main waiter, supported by Nellie. Great teamwork in providing excellent service. The Tuesday night manager was also frequently visible, helping clear, checking on diners' satisfaction, etc. The menu is innovative, with four regional/cuisine type alternatives or mixing from each. Had the maroma aguachile appetizer, a very tasty ahi tuna dish, while my wife enjoyed the crab cake appetizer. She had the tenderloin filets, while I enjoyed the bucatini. Both were much enjoyed. Heartily recommend the Charleston Grill.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful staff/service, as usual, in th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Wonderful staff/service, as usual, in the hotel. The water was so informative and enthusiastic about the menu. Great food too. Some live music too which was lovely. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I'll preface this by explaining we're fo ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I'll preface this by explaining we're foodies that dine out every weekend. Always searching for a better and more unique dining experience. This weekend we were visiting Charleston from Florida for a birthday celebration. Everything about our experience at the Charleston Grill was outstanding. The service was hands down the best we've ever experienced. Food was sincerely excellent. This place strives for 5 stars in every aspect. Period. The difference is in the details. Well run, top notch food, staff was excellent, we couldn't have asked for a better experience. From a nice dinner to a special occasion, I'd highly recommend Charleston Grill to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding, and the service ma ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was outstanding, and the service matched. The evening was outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was outstanding! Not even one ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This place was outstanding! Not even one complaint even though it was pricy but perfect for an anniversary dinner. Well worth every penny and love the environment!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, fantastic food and the best s ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 27, 2017

As always, fantastic food and the best service in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm hospitable welcome from the staff, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Warm hospitable welcome from the staff, exceptional meal that included octopus salad, venison & a Low Country Muddle (bass, crab, shrimp over grits in a heavenly sauce) we loved every bite! 😋 Andrew was a very capable charming server .. bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was impeccable - without bei ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The service was impeccable - without being intrusive. Great evening!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Business dinner; perfect ambience for it

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Business dinner; perfect ambience for it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great experience at the Charles ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a great experience at the Charleston Grill. It was a romantic setting , which we weren't necessarily seeking out, but very nice. There was live music played in the background and our service was outstanding. There was a lot of variety on the menu and would definitely recommend for a romantic night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal in an outstanding rest ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Outstanding meal in an outstanding restaurant. We had the six-course tasting menu which was terrific. Our three-person wait team was extremely friendly and knowledgeable, making for a very memorable experience. An added bonus was a very good jazz quartet performing in the dining room.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Charleston Grill is now our favorite ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The Charleston Grill is now our favorite restaurant in Charleston! The food had incredible flavor and service was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, service and ambiance. Sm ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic food, service and ambiance. Smoked sturgeon salad and octopus salad are great appetizers. Bucatini Nero is different and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took advantage of the tasting menu -- ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We took advantage of the tasting menu -- a great way to try a number of different things. It did not disappoint. Food was flavorful and interesting. Took a minute for us to get servers, but once we got them, they were terrific. Father/son duo played great music (classic rock tunes) on the stings! Very cool. The atmosphere itself was nice -- a little hoity-toity. But nice. Pricey, but kind of expected it to be. Overall a very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Charleston's old school fine dining. Cha ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Charleston's old school fine dining. Charleston has many high end restaurants but few are actually worth the tariff. Chef Weaver has continued to impress over the many years since Chef Wagner's departure. The setting is always picture perfect. The professional staff is always impeccable. Since we moved away a decade ago Charleston Grill has warranted our regular returns to visit Charleston. It is actually the reason for our weekend trips. Thanks for all you do.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Live Music, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Authentic
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An experience. That's truly what my dinn ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

An experience. That's truly what my dinner at this restaurant entailed. I was on a date at the Charleston Grill and I was blown away by every part of the night. The service was impeccable and I was more conscious of any etiquette errors I might be making since the wait staff were so professional, courteous, and amicable. The food was extremely diverse and delicious. Each dish had a unique flavor profile and was presented like a work of art. The wine selection was lengthy and the wait staff was very knowledgeable about the wines that would go best with your chosen dish. The live jazz playing off in a corner and the fine decor created a very romantic and comfortable ambiance.

I would absolutely go here again and I would certainly recommend this to a friend or stranger if they happen to find themselves in Charleston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is fantastic. It's not cheap s ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The place is fantastic. It's not cheap so if you want cheap this isnt your pony but if you want great food top notch service and a very high-end atmosphere and are willing to pay for it this is the place to go.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing experience and incredible food!! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Amazing experience and incredible food!!

Service was top notch as well!

Highly recommend!!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In addition to the food, it's always a w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

In addition to the food, it's always a wonderful dining experience at Charleston Grill. Great service. Soft jazz combo creates enjoyable ambience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a "must" when you sta ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This restaurant is a "must" when you stay in Charleston.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I can not say anything negative about th ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I can not say anything negative about this place ! The food was amazing and the service impeccable! Yes it is expensive , but you get what you pay for . The food is obviously prepared with the best ingredients and cooked by the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfection! It's dangerous to go into a ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Perfection!

It's dangerous to go into a meal with exceedingly high expectations as I do for Charleston Grill, but every aspect of the dinner we had was perfect. From being seated immediately by a friendly and professional hostess to amazingly restrained yet rich and luscious dishes, the sweetbreads piccata appetizer being one such example, by Chef Michelle Weaver to a lovely atmosphere with a jazz trio and waitstaff who are attentive and timely. The wine selection is very good even by the glass, and appropriate for such a high level of cuisine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.