About Charleston Grill

224 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Mahogany walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar: 5:00pm Daily
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-4522

Website:
http://www.charlestongrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz: Sunday - Thursday 7:00pm -11:00pm, Friday & Saturday 8:00pm - 12:00am

Parking Details:
Valet parking available through the Charleston Place Hotel on Hasell Street.

Executive Chef:
Michelle Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Click & Margeaux Gwynne-Vaughan: 8435774522x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer - Charleston Grill, Charleston, SC
  • Thai Fish - Charleston Grill, Charleston, SC
  • Beef Tenderloin And Potatoes - Charleston Grill, Charleston, SC

Report a photo problem

Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer - Charleston Grill, Charleston, SC
Thai Fish - Charleston Grill, Charleston, SC
Beef Tenderloin And Potatoes - Charleston Grill, Charleston, SC

Charleston Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Good for Anniversaries (77)
Romantic (73)
See All
Fit for Foodies (65)
Good for a Date (57)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Live Music (56)
Notable Wine List (52)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Tasting Menu (30)
Local Ingredients (27)
Authentic (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Business Meals (25)
Cozy (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Historic (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
People Watching (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (8)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (5)
Scenic View (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing experience and incredible food!! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing experience and incredible food!!

Service was top notch as well!

Highly recommend!!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In addition to the food, it's always a w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

In addition to the food, it's always a wonderful dining experience at Charleston Grill. Great service. Soft jazz combo creates enjoyable ambience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a "must" when you sta ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is a "must" when you stay in Charleston.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I can not say anything negative about th ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I can not say anything negative about this place ! The food was amazing and the service impeccable! Yes it is expensive , but you get what you pay for . The food is obviously prepared with the best ingredients and cooked by the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfection! It's dangerous to go into a ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Perfection!

It's dangerous to go into a meal with exceedingly high expectations as I do for Charleston Grill, but every aspect of the dinner we had was perfect. From being seated immediately by a friendly and professional hostess to amazingly restrained yet rich and luscious dishes, the sweetbreads piccata appetizer being one such example, by Chef Michelle Weaver to a lovely atmosphere with a jazz trio and waitstaff who are attentive and timely. The wine selection is very good even by the glass, and appropriate for such a high level of cuisine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an awesome time. We tried the che ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had an awesome time. We tried the chef's tasting menu and left it in her hands and the sommelier for the wine pairings and had a great experience. Our server Hanna was experienced and very knowledgeable. Her enthusiasm made the tasting work.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal dining experience with no det ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Phenomenal dining experience with no detail overlooked. The food is incredible and the service impeccable.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By whatever measures you define an excep ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 3, 2017

By whatever measures you define an exceptional dining experience, the Charleston Grill sets the bar high. From the genuinely personable service and personal attention, to the classic atmosphere, to the enthusiasm and knowledge of the staff, to the variety, presentations and flavors across the menu, you cannot find a more superb experience. The warmth with which you are greeted at the entry, through the courtesy of the Hostess who seats you, to being welcomed by name by your Wait Staff, to the Dining Room Manager personally taking time to stop by to ensure things were going well (she clearly was already way ahead of ensuring that was happening!), the staff is clearly expert on what they offer and convey a true enthusiasm and pride in their Dining Room. And they should as Charleston Grill is truly a "one-of-a-kind" opportunity. We cannot wait to return to Charleston and enjoy their hospitality once again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, music, service and wine were a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food, music, service and wine were all fantastic. I don't ever remember being addressed by name in a restaurant before. The only thing we had a problem with was that the fish was too salty. Three people tried, extremely politely, to get my companion to allow them to make another one but he was, sadly, too stubborn. Of course they took it off the check. I will absolutely go back the next time I'm in Charleston!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oh, my! Where to start? We tried the sam ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Oh, my! Where to start? We tried the sampler dinner. Every one of the six courses were mouthwatering. along with the extra surprises the chef slipped in! This has to be the best of the best for our Charleston trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was very good, but not great nor exce ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was very good, but not great nor exceptional. Given the praise we had heard, it did not meet our high expectations. However, the service was attentive and the holiday day decor was beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The meal was outstanding, very creative ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The meal was outstanding, very creative and very expensive. We had anticipated that last part. The service was first class, everything that a fine restaurant should be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always.... good was amazing and servi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As always.... good was amazing and service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited to land a reservation an ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were excited to land a reservation and we weren't disappointed!! The food was fabulous...the service impeccable...and our Sommelier Nick knocked it out of the park! The jazz was perfect background music. The atmosphere was perfect for any special occasion.D Worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was e ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was great and the service was even better! I would definitely recommend the Charleston Grill to anyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Charleston gril ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My husband and I went to Charleston grill for our anniversary. It was a perfect choice. The food was some of the best we had in Charleston and that's saying a lot. I had the Thai fish-best fish I've ever had. My husband had the beef tenderloin and he polished off the entire thing. We had their soup and ahi tuna to start and they were so flavorful. The live jazz band was incredible as well and enhanced the whole experience. Definitely a must for Charleston.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect restaurant for a romantic evenin ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Perfect restaurant for a romantic evening. Live music, attentive, experienced staff. The food is exceptional - beautifully presented, delicious! Great selection of wines.

Do not miss this dining experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A festive place with very good wait staf ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 28, 2016

A festive place with very good wait staff. The seared foie gras was one of the best I've ever had with a pear accompaniment that was out of this world.

The fresh lump crab meat used in the crab cake appetizer was perfect.

The tasty succotash served with the flounder was so delicious and more of the sublime lump crab was served with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service, from start to finish, was i ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The service, from start to finish, was impeccable. The food was outstanding and the ambience was excellent as well. This was one of our most enjoyable dining experiences in a long time. It is definitely on our list for places to dine next time we are in Charleston.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our 20th anniversary and were a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Went for our 20th anniversary and were amazed! Chef Michelle's 6-course tasting menu paired with the "ultra" wine flight (there are 3 levels of wine pairings from $60-240 each) was the absolute best! Everything was perfectly cooked and presented, with the one small set-back of slightly over-done beef loin in course 5. The wines, as paired and presented by Mickey, the maitre d' and our affable host for the evening, were all rare gems that lived up to their "ultra" billing.

Highly recommended for that special occasion...we'll be back soon!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience! Highly recommende ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent experience! Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was absolutely fantastic! ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our experience was absolutely fantastic! The entire dining experience was seamless and

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fantastic! Everything was per ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Everything was perfect! The food was eclectic and delicious, from appetizers to dessert. Both of our waiters, Hannah and James, were accommodating and professional. They had a great jazz trio that played right next to our table and their noise level was appropriate for the space. Will definitely visit again on our next trip to Charleston!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambiance, impeccable service ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, impeccable service and delicious food.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crab cakes and steak tartare appetizers ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Crab cakes and steak tartare appetizers were fabulous

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, great staff, knowledgeable ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food, great staff, knowledgeable and friendly with wonderful atmosphere, they were so accommodating to me with my disability and made us feel so special and welcome. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been many times and this wasn't my ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We've been many times and this wasn't my favorite. We were place far away from the music in a seating area we have asked not to be seated in on previous visits. The menu has changed a bit and while there are interesting items, I didn't find a main course I really wanted. I ended up ordering 3 appetizers and they were all good. Everyone else in our party liked everything they got with one exception. The service was the best part of the meal for me. Our server was tremendous. We will go back, but not for a while. This is our "go-to" place for special occasions and when we are seated in the area we like, it is very festive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

This was an exceptional dining experienc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This was an exceptional dining experience. Not only did the hostess greet us by name when we checked in, but the serving staff continued to recall our name throughout the meal. We were able to make selections across the four menu styles which allowed us to customize our dining experience. I started with an excellent half portion of the Bucatini Nero, followed by seared flounder while my spouse started with THE best crab cake I've tasted outside Maryland, then had venison as her main course. Even though this was a Boxing Day dinner, the restaurant was spot on and did not miss a beat. Live jazz, softly played, helped make this a memorable holiday meal. If they can maintain this level of excellence even on the day after Christmas, I expect that for us, this will certainly be a go-to dining destination on any return trip to Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Charleston Grill has a well-deserved ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The Charleston Grill has a well-deserved reputation as one of the very top restaurants in the foodie heaven that is Charleston. What makes the dining experience here stand out is the over-the-top professional service that I have only seen in the very top establishments in large cosmopolitan cities. Treat yourself to a night at the Charleston Grill!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Charleston Grill is without fail, a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The Charleston Grill is without fail, a superb dining experience from the moment you enter to the dinner finale. Service, presentation, and quality are trademarks that one does not see very often in other top restaurants.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dinner experience as always. W ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent dinner experience as always. We live in Charleston and consider the Charleston Place Grill a very special restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Near perfection every time. They make i ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Near perfection every time. They make it look easy, but we eat out enough to know how hard this consistent quality is achieve. Expensive, but I have never flinched when I got the check. Worth it when it is a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

❤️❤️❤️ great food. staff. attention to d ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

❤️❤️❤️ great food. staff. attention to detail. drinks. jazz music. atmosphere. our new favorite. elegant but not stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always spectacular . Our ser ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food is always spectacular . Our server Brian was exceptional. He went out of his way to accommodate some allergy concerns. He and the Chef did an axing job. Also John was very attentative. Congrats to Mickey for making sure your customers are both satisfied and always wanting to come back. Happy Holidays

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have ate at many fine restaurants aro ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We have ate at many fine restaurants around this world and I would put the service at Charleston Grill against any of them. Truly personalized, attentive and social.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter sure went above the call in s ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our waiter sure went above the call in serving ! The food was super!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am glad that we finally got into this ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I am glad that we finally got into this restaurant on our trip around Charleston restaurants. The jazz was lively and the service was amazing. But the menu wasn't really for me. We like to have several appetizers, but we really couldn't decide. It was very eclectic. Tasty, but not for me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Best dining experience this side of the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Best dining experience this side of the Atlantic! The entire ambience and gourmet experience was magical

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection!!! Over the top great food, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Perfection!!! Over the top great food, service and atmosphere with live jazz in a magical elegant setting.

Tags: Organic, Business Meals, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here to celebrate my birthday. We w ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Went here to celebrate my birthday. We were warmly welcomed and the background music was beautiful! Consistently one of our favorite places to celebrate. Great food, excellent service, and lovely live music.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.