About Charleston

1000 Lancaster Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Tony Foreman & Cindy Wolf's Charleston is located on the waterfront in the burgeoning Harbor East neighborhood. Chef Cindy Wolf is a three-time finalist for Best-Chef, Mid-Atlantic by The James Beard Foundation. Her award-winning, contemporary cuisine is rooted in the regional cuisine of France and traditions of the "Low Country" area of South Carolina. Chef Wolf's commitment to fresh, local, seasonal products is reflected in the prix fixe tasting menu, which changes daily. The menu is complemented by an award winning wine list of more than 700 fine wines, which are displayed in the wine library and are chosen by co-owner and wine director, Tony Foreman. An elegant yet comfortable ambiance & luxurious service complete the extraordinary dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Saturday: 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 332-7373

Website:
http://www.charlestonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.

Executive Chef:
Cindy Wolf

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Foie Gras
Soft Shell Crab
Fois gras
crab cake
Spinach Salad With Stilton And Apples
Rockfish Special
Cornmeal Fried Oysters
Grouper
Pan Roasted Diver Scallops
Creme Brulet
Grasshopper
Dessert
Cheese Cart
Escargots In Puff Pastry
Softshell Crab w/ Brown Butter
Risotto
fried oysters
Buffalo
veal sweetbreads
Bread
Pan Roasted Turbot
Beet Tartare With Capers
Jumbo Lump Crabcake With Corn
Lamb With Onions And Carrot
Rich Lobster Soup
Chilled Fruit Soup With Panna Cotta
Shrimp And Stone-Ground Creamy Grits With Tasso Ham, Andouille Sausage, And Fresh Chives
Assorted Mini Desserts
Pan Seared Foie Gras
Cornmeal-Fried Oysters With Lemon-Cayenne Mayonnaise
Hibiscus Soup With Strawberries And Cucumber
Salmon Tartare With Cucumber, Lime, Chive And Crispy Potato
Strawberry Financier
Tuna Tartare
Duck Breast
Rockfish
Caramel Gateu

Private Dining

Private Dining spaces available for intimate celebrations, highlighted by the exquisite cuisine of award winning chef, Cindy Wolf. The cuisine is complemented by an 800+ label global wine cellar. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with water views.

Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Food
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Service
Baltimore / Maryland
15 More
Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Value
Baltimore / Maryland
Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
Romantic
Baltimore / Maryland
American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
Best Food
Baltimore
Best Service
Baltimore
Best Ambiance
Baltimore
Best Value
Baltimore
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Romantic
Baltimore
Special Occasion
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

Special Occasion (152)
Romantic (122)
Fit for Foodies (121)
See All
Notable Wine List (119)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Groups (18)
Hot Spot (7)
Scenic View (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had an amazing anniversary and adored ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had an amazing anniversary and adored every aspect of our dinner (except for the people on their cell phones/watching videos on their cell phones--- who does that at a gorgeous restaurant?!) and can not wait to return for more delicious food and cocktails.

Thank you for making our special day even more special!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I believe I ate the best thing I have ev ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 5 days ago

I believe I ate the best thing I have ever eaten at Charleston restaurant in Baltimore. It was the chef's special foie gras with some watermelon and had a lemon sorbet on the side. I have thought about this dish in my spare time, multiple times a day, since I ate it. I have never had anything like it. Perfectly cooked. I've simply never had something so perfectly cooked. Every other aspect of my dining experience was perfect, but I can't stop thinking about that one dish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant I've ever visited, from ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Best restaurant I've ever visited, from ambience to food to service. Expensive, but well worth the cost. Would love to see more restaurants follow their format.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This may very well have been the best me ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This may very well have been the best meal we have had in the US. I still cannot believe this fantastic restaurant does not have a Michelin star....it so deserves one. I will go round for round so you understand....amuse bouche was an incredible artichoke soup with a cheese stuffed puff pastry.....1st course for both of us was Lobster soup w curry oil, amazing! The stock by itself was enough, but adding butter poached lobster made it the best soup I have ever had.....2nd course a scallop over cauliflower puree, again the flavors were amazing....3rd course foie gras, which was rich and creamy and paired with apricots and peaches in a fruit sauce, so good.....then shrimp and grits to rival any southern restaurant as my 4th course and lastly the tenderloin,which was cooked perfectly and melted in your mouth.....the desserts were also top notch and the wine list is unbeatable.....had a great new Chardonnay and a dessert wine for the foie gras and dessert.....it is expensive, no question, so if your idea of fine dining is Outback this won't be for you....you get what you pay for and for this fantastic meal the price was well worth it! We will be back for sure.....

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, one server appeared to b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent food, one server appeared to be rushing us a bit, but then another recognized me from the wine store and made a point to come over and engaged us with friendly and professional service without pressure to hurry along. The palate was complex and delicious of all, especially the foie gras.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything about Charleston was amazing. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything about Charleston was amazing. The service, the food, the atmosphere, the visit from Cindy Wolf. A highlight was the foie gras. I would go back to just eat that again (in whatever preparation is on the menu). The wine that was selected for us (at our request) was perfection. I had waited years to go, and it was better than I could have dreamed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and looked appeal ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was very good and looked appealing and the service was very welcoming

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Whatever you've read about Charleston is ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Whatever you've read about Charleston is true. Quite a nice dining experience. The bar looked cozy as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our birthdays on wednesday ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We celebrated our birthdays on wednesday - memorable dinner, the best in the Baltimore and one of the best if you include Washington DC restaurants. Cindy herself came out to chat with customers, actually listened what we have to say.

James Beard take, come back to taste again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing and the food was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was amazing and the food was the best we have ever had! Highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Without a question, our special annivers ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Without a question, our special anniversary dinner was the best meal I have ever had in Baltimore during the 38 years I've lived here. We need more special occasions to justify this wonderful, albeit expensive, dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charleston's is a foodie's paradise! The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Charleston's is a foodie's paradise! The dishes change with the season, capturing what is best at the time of your dining experience. There was a great variety of choices to satisfy the vegetarian, seafood lover and meat eater. We chose the wine parings with each of our courses and were not disappointed. The service was, as usual, superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was easily one of the top 5 meals I ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was easily one of the top 5 meals I have ever had in my life. The service was impeccable, and the food was amazing! Flavors were bright and interesting, and every course was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional in every way! We selected 3 ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Exceptional in every way! We selected 3 courses and should have selected 6 in addition to the cheese cart and the dessert ! It is portioned appropriately and the wine pairing is amazing !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb chef and staff. Cindy & Tony have ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Superb chef and staff. Cindy & Tony have created a very special dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals ever in baltimore. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

One of the best meals ever in baltimore. The Colorado lamb was outstanding as was the quail with maitake mushrooms. Incredible wine list and many good wines by the glass. They even have some special vintage wines by the glass that are hard to find anywhere.

I highly recommend Charleston for fine dining at its best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Recent reviews elevated our expectations ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Recent reviews elevated our expectations. Courses varied from excellent (soups) to ho hum (artichoke with beets - all elements lacked flavor- ; ceviche was bland). Lamb dish overpowered by capers + olives. Desserts good but not fabulous. The remainder was not memorable. An off evening? Wine pairings so-so, would order by the bottle if we returned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very attentive staff. Menu choices were ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very attentive staff. Menu choices were varied. The portion sizes are manageable small and the amount of food you think you might want is managed by the number of played ordered. The server mentions that fact as he/she presents the menu. The food is excellent and the evening not rushed. A great place to go for that special meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For starters, we all enjoyed the amazin ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

For starters, we all enjoyed the amazing sweet corn soup with black summer truffle. It should not be missed while corn is in season. The sweetbreads with Poached Egg were delicious. The table service and wine service were highly competent and friendly, as usual. A wonderful, unpretentious restaurant with a focus on fine cuisine. We hope Cindy continues doing her thing in Baltimore for a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charleston is a fine-dining dream. It h ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Charleston is a fine-dining dream. It has a build-your-own tasting menu and every dish was flawless with subtle flavors and great use of local produce and sea food. The soups (both the corn and the artichoke) were highly memorable. The ceviche was very refined. The fried oysters and softshell crab were decadent. The foie gras was amazing. The restaurant isn't inexpensive but worth every penny. Dessert -- also delicious (I got a deconstructed blueberry cheesecake) -- is complimentary. The service was perfect -- discreet yet attentive. I'm not from Baltimore but I just spent a few days there and had a lot of memorable meals. But Charleston was in a league of its own.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has fine dining down to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This restaurant has fine dining down to a tee. The combination of flavors was spot on. The lobster soup was to die for. Many other great meal offerings. This may be expensive but it compares to many of the fine dining restaurants in Las Vegas for example.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the food here; I had not been in ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I love the food here; I had not been in a few years, but the food was as wonderful as I remembered it to be. I like that, even though the menu changes, some items stay the same, so I can go back for my favorite dishes. The staff are very friendly and people look happy to be dining at the restaurant. I have gone to quite a few restaurants in Baltimore where either the staff is not friendly or the diners look uncomfortable. Not the case at the Charleston. I said this would be my favorite restaurant when it opened up, and it still is...many moons later:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated my birthday ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I celebrated my birthday at Charleston, and what a birthday it was! Service was perfect, well scripted but not robotic. Our server, Will, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the wine and all of the dishes. They offer a fixed price menu with charges based on number of courses, and with or without wine pairings. We went with the four course (each) offering without the wine pairings which was perfect for us. You get to pick your courses from a list of about 15-18 items. The plates come out one at a time for each person, so no crowding and no rushing. The plates are tapas-sized, in some cases a bit bigger. We ordered wine by the glass, wine in general was pricey, but what we ordered was very good. They probably need to offer more wine on the lower price range (e.g. $40-50 a bottle). For our meal there was an amuse bouche, a shot of yummy creamed cauliflower soup, and a small bread serving. Dessert does not count as a course but is on the house...also a light serving. Of the 8 total dishes that were served, the food in every case was outstanding. O.M.G. Corn soup, gazpacho, artichoke and beats, scallop on puréed cauliflower, halibut, steak tartare, arugula salad and foie gras. I could have eaten the foie gras for all 4 courses! I ordered the goat cheese cheesecake for dessert which was 3 bites of heaven. I told Will that our service and meal surpassed our anniversary dinner at the Inn at Little Washington in VA, and meant it. We WILL return...even though we live 4 hours away!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a tremendous experience we had at C ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

What a tremendous experience we had at Charleston. Everything was spectacular, from the cuisine to the service. We each had the 6 course option in order to try as many menu options as we could. Each course was beautifully prepared and with just the right combination of ingredients unlike many restaurants these days that "over ingredient" dishes. Despite the many courses, which we were able to share, the service delivered and cleared each course at exactly the right time providing the proper pace to the experience. We did not choose the wine paring option but had bottles expertly suggested to augment the courses we chose. We had such a great time enjoying the food, wine and service that we had no idea that we had spent almost 4 hours doing do. That is a mark of a truly exceptional restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Food was good but not gre ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great service. Food was good but not great and on the pricey side. Of the three courses I had, one was outstanding, one good and one so so.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The "experience" was nice. However, I r ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The "experience" was nice. However, I requested beef done medium and it was served medium rare-rare. The salad was very salty. Also, I was taken back that, after paying $103 for a 5 course meal of "small plates", I was charged extra for coffee. I'm glad I tried it; but I won't be hurrying back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

An all around AMAZING experience. Go hu ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

An all around AMAZING experience. Go hungry, be prepared to relax and take your time and be spoiled. The food is DELICIOUS and so many wonderful options. The service is incredible. Love that you sit down and they don't even give you a menu until you've enjoyed a glass of wine. Forces you to relax and enjoy your company.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely superb food and presentation. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolutely superb food and presentation. The service too was excellent. My one suggestion would be to update the interior which my opinion lacks ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I have had the privilege of dining all o ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I have had the privilege of dining all over the world -- London, Paris, Istanbul, New York, San Francisco -- and simply put, Charleston is one of the finest restaurants in the world. Chef Cynthia Wolf gets better and better. My favorite restaurant in America. Perfect in every detail, every time. Worth a special trip to Baltimore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've had,The lamb ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

One of the best meals I've had,The lamb tenderloin was cooked and seasoned to perfection. like that you are able to choose the amount of courses you prefer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I went to Charleston's for my birthday a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I went to Charleston's for my birthday and was treated well by the staff and given a special dessert treat. Most impressive was that they carried my favorite Moscato, the only one I drink, which really made it a special evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have probably dined at the Charleston ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I have probably dined at the Charleston at least 6 or 8 times at this point and it just seems to me that they always raise the bar higher. If there is a better meal to be had in Baltimore, I don't know where it is. The combinations of flavors are remarkable to say the least. The summer menu is full of surprises. The lamb was amazing as was the lemon tart dessert. Basil ice cream with a lemon tart? It doesn't sound like a great idea but the execution is just amazing. Service was impeccable as always. Every detail is covered at the Charleston, from the time you pull up to the valet station. These people know how to run a restaurant and never fail to impress.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience every time! Chef Cindy ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great experience every time! Chef Cindy and her staff always provide a special evening between great food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent the weekend away in Baltimore with ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Spent the weekend away in Baltimore with my boyfriend and we decided to treat ourselves one night to the Charleston! It was AMAZING! Service was on point! The food was really fresh and I liked the option to choose the number of courses and having dessert part of the price. I am not a seafood person and there was plenty to choose from. I did the wine pairing, which I don't know if I would do again just because the 3 meal options I choose had a red, rose, and white pairing respectively. There is an extensive wine list and I would probably stick to one kind. I felt it was a very good value for the food and we definitely enjoyed our meal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and atmosphere. Good quali ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service and atmosphere. Good quality food but was very bland with no flavor. Needed salt, seasoning or something

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Definitely the BEST restaurant in Baltim ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Definitely the BEST restaurant in Baltimore by far. It's even better than the ones I've tried in Charleston, SC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Too much of a great thing Is never enoug ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Too much of a great thing Is never enough. From our greeting, to cocktails, dessert and coffee, service was attentive and impeccable without being intrusive. We were truly impressed that they "remembered" we had made the original reservation a couple of months ago for a special occasion but had to cancel (twice) because several unfortunate events got in the way. The wine pairings complemented the shrimp, scallop and rockfish courses. All in all, a delightful and special experience. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Charleston is without a doubt among the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Charleston is without a doubt among the top 5 restaurants in which we have dined in the past 5 years. Although elegantly decorated and the service was impeccable, thankfully it was not at all pretentious. Food was awesome and wine pairings flawless. We enjoy dining in restaurants where we do not have to shout at each other to be heard. At Charleston, to the contrary, everyone was speaking in hushed tones. Delightful. My one negative observation is that a restaurant of this caliber should enforce a dress code. The party sitting nest to us was wearing jeans and a couple seated behind us was dressed for the beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food! Innovative , interesting ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Loved the food! Innovative , interesting and well served. Staff were able to achieve a both professional and friendly experience. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Could not ask for better service !! Pro ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Could not ask for better service !! Professional, knowledgeable, courteous, pleasant staff was so appreciated. The food was exquisite !! Presentation and taste both added to a wonderful dining experience !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.