Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Charleston

Tony Foreman & Cindy Wolf's Charleston is located on the waterfront in the burgeoning Harbor East neighborhood. Chef Cindy Wolf is a three-time finalist for Best-Chef, Mid-Atlantic by The James Beard Foundation. Her award-winning, contemporary cuisine is rooted in the regional cuisine of France and traditions of the "Low Country" area of South Carolina. Chef Wolf's commitment to fresh, local, seasonal products is reflected in the prix fixe tasting menu, which changes daily. The menu is complemented by an award winning wine list of more than 700 fine wines, which are displayed in the wine library and are chosen by co-owner and wine director, Tony Foreman. An elegant yet comfortable ambiance & luxurious service complete the extraordinary dining experience.

1000 Lancaster Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Saturday: 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 332-7373

Website:
http://www.charlestonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.

Executive Chef:
Cindy Wolf

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining spaces available for intimate celebrations, highlighted by the exquisite cuisine of award winning chef, Cindy Wolf. The cuisine is complemented by an 800+ label global wine cellar. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with water views.

Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (103)
Romantic (93)
Good for Anniversaries (92)
See All
Notable Wine List (77)
Fit for Foodies (76)
Creative Cuisine (69)
Good for a Date (64)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Worth the Drive (53)
Quiet Conversation (52)
Tasting Menu (37)
Local Ingredients (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Waterfront (27)
Authentic (24)
Business Meals (24)
Bar Seating (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Cozy (17)
Seasonal (17)
Good for Groups (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Fun (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Scenic View (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Organic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
3098 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 18 hours ago

Fantastic food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

The last time I was at Charlston was very disappointed as nothing up to the standard I have come to expect from them. This time was truly exceptional from food and ambience. Chef had more choices than ever before, and a new creation post her last trip o France. Snails were outstanding but sauce with cranberry beans was truly exceptional. Many chefs can make main courses, but exceptional ones create and cook great sides, vegetables, and sauces. All of these were wonderful including kernel corn cooked to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Staff was knowledgeable, personable and a pleasure. Excellent service. Staff was attentive yet non intrusive. Lina was an excellent sommelier. We had the best time with incredible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a really great experience and the food was awesome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

This was absolutely the best restaurant experience I have had in the US. Superb food, flawless service, perfect wines. It compares favorably with fine meals in NY, CA , the U.K. and France.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Was there on a Tuesday night for a 30th Wedding anniversary and it was a little loud at first until the group in the bar moved into their private room, but once they did and their doors closed, it was perfect! The Food was excellent, the Wine was amazing, and the staff, (especially Matthew with assistance in selecting our wine and then great conversation on the wines, and Danielle, our server, who was such a great help in describing the menu to us and helping us finalize our choices as everything sounded so wonderful), all made our special evening one to remember! We can't wait to get back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

They have a great wine list including some excellent half bottles if you are out alone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food did not meet expectations. I have dined at much better French restaurants that were less expensive. The service and wine were great. After the lobster bisque, it was downhill. Halibut was tasteless and overlooked. Snapper, the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Impeccable service, extensive wine list. The menu offered something for everyone: fish, shellfish, poultry and red meat. All were seasoned to perfection and elegantly displayed. It's a leisurely served dinner, expect about an hour per course and you'll want to have at least three to fully experience the restaurant. The waiter was attentive to our special dietary needs and helped us navigate the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Absolutely outstanding in every aspect. Service (starting the second you walk into the door until the moment you leave), ambience, food, presentation, and every aspect you could imagine is top notch. Attention to detail is evident in every aspect of the experience. We will be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Healthy, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Charleston has a prix-fix format but it's unusual 3 dishes can be 3 appetizers, 3 entrees, salads or a more normal combination such as 1 each..

Typically an an amuse bouche and dessert is included as an additional course whether 3 or 4 courses are chosen..

It 's not the quantity of courses it's their quality
We have eaten at Charleston previously and we know which we prefer.. That being said we were very full at end of meal.. so quantity is ample

We both had the Lobster Bisque with Curry which we love. It is presented with a ta-da factor more than the Mushroom Bisque

I had the Haddock and the Rockfish dishes.. Both are well done with the Haddock having flourishes but The Rockfish with the Lemon Buerre Blanc was the Best Rockfish I have ever eaten!

MaryAnn had the Shrimp and Grits and a very delicious Roast Duck entree

We both had Creme Brûlée.. the best we have ever had.. so creamy I had strong coffee

Delicious meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Extraordinary food and wine, attentive staff and superb sommelier. Exceeded all of my expectations! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Everyone was so polite and friendly. A great place to celebrate a birthday--or other special occasion. Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant! Portions are small, but the food is cooked to perfection. Extensive wine list, with the option to have wine paired. Definitely worth a special occasion visit!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was a great place to dine, everything was superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Charleston's menu is colorful, creative and delicious, which is offset by their plain, neutral, decor. GORGEOUS china accents artfully arranged, seasonal cooking, which every server from the maitre d' to the bread deliverer can describe in detail. The service is very attentive, almost overly solicitous at times, but other than not offering beverages when it seemed appropriate, the staff seemed bent on making the visit special. The complimentary nibbles were excellent and appreciated, and the tab was just what we would expect from outstanding, upscale dining. Finally, the dessert , mentioned throughout dinner, is definitely worth planning for!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Charleston is the best restaurant in Baltimore. Always consistent, never disappoints. The service is impeccable.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great place for date night with your special someone... Food and service out of this world no other place in Baltimore like this !!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I really wanted to love Charleston after reading about it for years. The food was all nice and well prepared but not overly exciting. Also, to be honest I was rather turned off in the beginning of the meal. I was upsold on a pre-dinner drink even when I said I would do the wine tasting - so I got a glass of bubbly. My fault, I know but about 3 sips in I knocked it over. They came, cleaned it up, but never replaced the wine! I have been to many restaurants and many spills, some my own, and some not, but I have never had a restaurant not replace a drink! I guess for a place that prides itself on service this didn't do it for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 7, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the world, hands down. It should have some Michelin stars soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I dined at Charleston last night, and select the 4 coarse menu with wine pairings as I have before.
The first coarse chanterelle mushroom tart- the tart shell was on the gummy side and the accompanying sauce was just bland
The second coarse was sea scallop with cauliflower purée cooked well but the cauliflower was sliced and not a purée , the rosemary scented lemon brown butter had no rosemary or lemon
The third was Veal tenderloin was cooked perfect the potatoe "risotto" was average and again the reduction was tasteless
The forth coarse was buffalo tenderloin was perfect
The cheese coarse was outstanding with a mixture of sheep, goat and cow selections
Dessert coarse was carrot cake was dry and very grainy -

I'm guessing that the saucier is not very passionate or has tired of the position

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

This restaurant is phenomenal. The Charleston takes things up a notch- you simply savor every bite.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing dinner, fantastic food and exquisite service. I think this may be the best restaurant in Baltimore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our 50th Anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food, attentive service, and upscale decor. I definitely recommend it for date night or special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Charleston never disappoints. Don't hesitate - make a trip to Baltimore to enjoy this wonderful place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 1, 2017

No better place for a special occasion!! Always Awesome !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This restaurant absolutely deserves a Michelin star. Amazing food, impeccable service !
Lobster soup
Chanterelle tart
Quail
Crime brûlée
All fantastic and cheese trolley a must
Highly recommend this gem

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Amazing wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Charleston never disappoints. We can always count on many delectable choices.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food and experience were both outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Lovely food. Not adventurous but impeccably prepared. Well worth the price to be able to celebrate and be able to hear your dinner partner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We come here at least twice a year, and every time we leave amazed at the service level and the food. In all of our visits over the years, we honestly can say we have NEVER had a bad meal or a bite of anything that was not outstanding. The service is great from walking in the door right up to the end of the night. There isn't a finer restaurant in the area!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was my second visit to Charleston restaurant. I LOVED dining here the first time, celebrating my birthday in a smaller more intimate room. I LOVED going back this second time, eating/drinking with friends from out of town - we were seated in the bar area, where there are large windows that overlook the waterfront. We all ordered the 3 course meal with wine pairing which was just right. The food is simply outstanding! We had a delicious martini before dinner and special coffees with dessert. The atmosphere is wonderful, and the wait staff is well-informed, professional, and friendly. Everyone should try this place at least once - it is a truly enjoyable dining 'experience'. Put it on your bucket list; you won't be sorry.

Tags: Waterfront, Happy Hour, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food was out of this world. Chef Wolf is very talented. The service staff is very friendly and helpful. The bar provided excellent cocktails. Everything was perfect except ...OpenTable spoiled my surprise.

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Charleston is a magical experience from the moment you walk in the door. We were warmly greeted and asked if we wanted a cocktail or champagne before being seated. We decided to try a couple of their favorite cocktails and the traditional martini and the lemon drop with vanilla bean were both refreshing and made with top shelve ingredients.

Cindy Wolf, the James Beard winning chef stopped by, introduced herself and said she looked forward to having us dine with her.

Dinner can be anywhere between 3 and 5 courses, not including dessert which is included with the meal. We shared everything and had an heirloom and mozzarella salad, corn and crab soup, fried bay oysters, foie gras, veal sweetbreads, turbot with calamari and the world's tastiest crab cakes.

During the meal chef Wolf stopped by twice to check on us and discuss the preparations. She could not have been more delightful.

I selected a couple of cheeses from the trolley for dessert and my wife had something with a lot of chocolate.

We did not do the wine pairing and opted instead for a wonderful Rioja. The wine list is extensive and offers some rare finds as well as several affordable entries from all over the world. This is a special occasion destination and we will be returning soon, even if we have to make up a holiday!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Having spent 15 years in the restaurant business in Washington, DC, I appreciate and tend to over critique every restaurant I visit. Dinner at Charleston is one that I would recommend to everyone and while the tab adds up quickly, it is worth every penny. We started with one of their unique specialty cocktails and then moved to their "sampling/small plate" menu style dinner for which they offer an excellent wine pairing. There were so many choices that we felt we couldn't resist, we each ordered the 4 selections and then split each of them to double down on trying as many as could. Each time I thought that the Chef couldn't exceed expectations, she did over and over with not a single one not worth ordering. While it is difficult to highlight a particular favorite or two as they were all wonderful, some of our top picks include the Lobster Curry Soup, Ceviche', melt in the mouth oysters and the Foie Gras to die for.

The staff and service were excellent from the smile and sincere recommendations of the bartender to the manager who seated us, our amazing waiter and all that assisted with the service. Each course was delivered that included a detailed explanation by the server as they presented each plate well deserving of its own full page layout as individual ad's for "beautiful food and exquisite plating."

As someone who travels frequently for work and pleasure, I am pleased to say that this was one of the most amazing meals that I have had the fortune of experiencing in quite a while. Without a doubt, we will return as we were only able to try 8 of their selections and there are so many more. Chef Wolf is a food goddess and I can't wait to see what she serves up next. Bon Appetite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The staff made our anniversary special. The food is exceptional and we especially like the fact that we create our custom dinner. And the chef made a genuine effort to speak with patrons about their experience. What a wonderful evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We drove to the restaurant from Washington and it was worth it. Very creative and tasty dishes. The tasting menu is "robust", but the staff are very good at guiding you through it and helping you pick courses. Three were plenty for us. Cheese or dessert after that (though my guest tried a couple of cheeses, plus sorbet for dessert). Excellent service throughout the meal. They really make you feel special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.