About Charleston

1000 Lancaster Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Tony Foreman & Cindy Wolf's Charleston is located on the waterfront in the burgeoning Harbor East neighborhood. Chef Cindy Wolf is a three-time finalist for Best-Chef, Mid-Atlantic by The James Beard Foundation. Her award-winning, contemporary cuisine is rooted in the regional cuisine of France and traditions of the "Low Country" area of South Carolina. Chef Wolf's commitment to fresh, local, seasonal products is reflected in the prix fixe tasting menu, which changes daily. The menu is complemented by an award winning wine list of more than 700 fine wines, which are displayed in the wine library and are chosen by co-owner and wine director, Tony Foreman. An elegant yet comfortable ambiance & luxurious service complete the extraordinary dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Saturday: 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 332-7373

Website:
http://www.charlestonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.

Executive Chef:
Cindy Wolf

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Foie Gras
Soft Shell Crab
Fois gras
crab cake
Spinach Salad With Stilton And Apples
Cornmeal Fried Oysters
Rockfish Special
Grouper
Pan Roasted Diver Scallops
Grasshopper
Creme Brulet
Dessert
Cheese Cart
Escargots In Puff Pastry
Risotto
Softshell Crab w/ Brown Butter
fried oysters
Buffalo
veal sweetbreads
Cornmeal-Fried Oysters With Lemon-Cayenne Mayonnaise
Chilled Fruit Soup With Panna Cotta
Hibiscus Soup With Strawberries And Cucumber
Beet Tartare With Capers
Pan Seared Foie Gras
Bread
Rich Lobster Soup
Strawberry Financier
Lamb With Onions And Carrot
Shrimp And Stone-Ground Creamy Grits With Tasso Ham, Andouille Sausage, And Fresh Chives
Pan Roasted Turbot
Jumbo Lump Crabcake With Corn
Assorted Mini Desserts
Salmon Tartare With Cucumber, Lime, Chive And Crispy Potato
Tuna Tartare
Duck Breast
Rockfish
Caramel Gateu

Private Dining

Private Dining spaces available for intimate celebrations, highlighted by the exquisite cuisine of award winning chef, Cindy Wolf. The cuisine is complemented by an 800+ label global wine cellar. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with water views.

Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Food
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Service
Baltimore / Maryland
12 More
Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
Best Food
Baltimore
Best Service
Baltimore
Best Ambiance
Baltimore
Best Value
Baltimore
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Romantic
Baltimore
Special Occasion
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

special occasion (137)
fit for foodies (111)
romantic (108)
See All
notable wine list (105)
good for groups (23)
neighborhood gem (19)
vibrant bar scene (9)
scenic view (8)
hot spot (4)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

All was excellent Servers great Food exc ...

Dined 5 days ago

All was excellent Servers great Food excellent especially the lobster soup and scallops

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. Worth the top ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food. Great service. Worth the top dollar price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the most amazing meal both my g ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was the most amazing meal both my girlfriend and I have had in our entire lives. I was absolutely blown away by everything from start to finish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, fantastic service

Dined on June 22, 2016

Amazing food, fantastic service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to the bar at Charleston se ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

We have been to the bar at Charleston several times for specialty cocktails and appetizers (or, as this born-in-the-Midwest girl likes to call them, "schnecks") and have been waiting for the day that we would actually eat in the dining room. This past Tuesday was the day. We were celebrating our 13th anniversary and what was supposed to be the end of a court case - but we just wound up celebrating the anniversary. We started out with a specialty cocktail (and schnecks!) in the bar and then moved into the dining room for our reservation. I initially thought the portions were small, but they were so wonderfully prepared and rich (but not grossly so - deliciously so!) that by the time I got to the final course, I was wondering if I'd be able to finish. (I was.) Our wine was delicious, all our courses were fantastic - I will assume my husband's sweetbreads were based on his assessment. I wasn't going to go there. Dessert was comped and was amazing. I can't wait till the next time we go back. It'll be a while, because it is truly a special occasion place. Bravo, Chef Cindy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Will was amazing and so helpf ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Our waiter Will was amazing and so helpful and friendly throughout the entire evening. He made our night very special. We cannot wait to go back and celebrate again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as always. Started in the bar ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful as always. Started in the bar with cocktails that were top notch. Headed into the dining room and had lobster bisque, shrimp and grits, halibut and lamb. Everything was prepared to perfection. Our "service team" delivered everything in perfectly spaced out time frames. I can't wait to return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We came here to celebrate our 10th weddi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We came here to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The experience was wonderful. Clearly, the repeat James Beard nominations are well-deserved. Chef, herself, visited multiple tables to check in on the food and experience. We sat in the room facing the harbor, which would have been my choice before having experienced it. However, if returning, I'd rather sit in the main dining area, as our room was very quiet and lacked some energy, taking away from the ambiance a bit in my opinion. However, for a special occasion or private conversation it might be great. The crowd was just a bit mature in that specific room and the noise level so quiet I wasn't sure if I would bother people to laugh out loud. The view was lovely though! I loved the way the menu was done in that you could do a three, four, or five course menu. The dessert and cheese course were included on top of those courses. The selections were not divided into first course, second course, etc, so you could choose what you liked from anywhere on the menu. This was wonderful because if you wanted to have soups and salads you could, or you could have filet, duck, and fish. The food was delicious - high marks for the lobster soup with curry, corn bisque, shrimp and grits, halibut, duck, and prime filet. I loved the crab cake as well, but my husband was less excited about it. The grouper seemed a bit overdone and under-flavored to me, and was the only one we were not over the moon for. The desserts were delicious; you must try the creme brulee trio. I think the star had to have been the earl grey brulee; it was to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I called a few days before our reservati ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I called a few days before our reservation to request an item I have had at Charleston before, but that was not currently on the menu. Not only did Chef Wolf source and prepare the requested dish (Fried Green Tomatoes), she actually visited our table and spoke with us for a few minutes! WE WERE SO DELIGHTED TO MEET CHEF CINDY WOLF! Talk about star-struck!! The servers couldn't have been more professional, and of course the food, as always, was superb. The entire experience was fabulous and one we'll remember always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no finer dining experience in B ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

There is no finer dining experience in Baltimore than Charleston. Everything they do is impeccable, starting with and most importantly, the food: Delicious roasted sweet corn soup, followed by an amazing baby zucchini carpaccio (with coolea, sportaletti, and basil from Cindy's garden); then big-eye tuna tartare, scallop, a savory squab dish, and sweetbreads (a very creative preparation). The winelist is beautiful and diverse; there is a great selection of champagne, white and red burgundies; as well as others that we did not get to try, but there's always next time. The entire restaurant staff is in tune with Cindy's culinary symphony, which complements the whole dining experience, relaxed and friendly while paying close attention to the needs of the guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous! One of my favorite ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! One of my favorite restaurants EVER! Incredible quality & creative food, excellent service and top notch atmosphere. Come hungry!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charleston was everything I hoped it wou ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Charleston was everything I hoped it would be. Beautiful restaurant accompanied by beautiful food. All the dishes were amazing. Even my vegetable dish was elevated to a different level. Staff was professional and attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious dinner - each course better th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious dinner - each course better than the last. I would recommend doing the 3 course with wine pairings - we did 4 plus dessert and it got to be too much at the end. The food is incredible and the wine pairings were perfect. Loved everything except that the air conditioner was not working in our part of the dining room and I would definitely recommend jacket and tie - one of the more formal dining spots in Baltimore - very nice!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charleston was truly an amazing restaura ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Charleston was truly an amazing restaurant experience. We were served by a team of waiters, all of them were attentive and polite. You could tell that all the vegetables and meat were fresh.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, as usual.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful, as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about our dining experience w ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was terrific. From the moment we arrived until we walked out the door three hours later we were cared for by experienced, knowledgable staff. Our three courses and accompanying wine selections were perfect. We enjoyed cornmeal encrusted soft shell crab, turbot, duck, lamb loin, and asparagus.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Always wonderful! I especially love the "create your own tasting menu" concept, and every dish is just phenomenal. Terrific ambiance, service, you can't go wrong if you have the budget!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charleston is one of the best!

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

great dining experience!!! Will defintly return on my next trip to the inner harbor!! Try the sweetbreads!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful dinner at Charleston! ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Another wonderful dinner at Charleston! Our favorite restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Good was spectacular. Wish someone would ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Good was spectacular. Wish someone would have told us there was option for wine pairings with meal before taking out drink orders at the beginning.

food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Just Okay

Dined on June 3, 2016

Service was fab! Food was just okay. Not sure what the hubbub is about this place now. Asparagus was good. Shrimp special was meh. Lobster soup was okay. Dessert .... Eh? Drinks were like other places. If you are looking for top notch service this is the place. That's the only reason to visit. Food was pedestrian. Definitely better food options in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect 25th anniversary celebration!!

Dined on June 1, 2016

Went to celebrate our anniversary, the food and service was excellent as always! We even had Cindy Wolfe dining at table nearby!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not just dinner, a true Dining Experience

Dined on June 1, 2016

Charleston is a true dining experience. From the moment we walked through the door we felt that we were in a very special place! WE had the three course dinner, which was actually more like a five course dinner. Everything dish was incredible in it's own way. The lobster bisque and Creole soup were terrific - the bisque right at the line where you might have thought it was too rich, but never crossing over and the creole with large shrimp and spicy Andouille sausage had just the right touch of spicy heat. The beef was done to my order to perfection. INCREDIBLE

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

The Charleston Restaurant provides a fantastic dinning experience with exceptional attention to food preparation. Food is served in three or more courses which makes ordering fun and the over-all culinary experience dynamic. You also get to pair each course with a different wine as an ordering option. Restaurant is close to the Baltimore river walk, so you can go for a nice stroll before or after your meal. The restaurant probably has the highest ratio of staff to clients that I have ever experienced, so you almost feel like royalty.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Revisiting Charleston

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Came here after a long hiatus and although the food quality and service hasn't changed, we don't like their new menu concept so will not not returning. They offer a three, four or five course small portion meal with dessert included for a set price. Our preference is to split an appetizer, if there's one we like, order a main course and decide about whether we want dessert or not. Having a restaurant dictate how much we have to spend is not to our liking.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

As always very elegant and service was ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

As always very elegant and service was impeccable. I requested a table that seats 4 for a two person reservation as was accommodated. My only complaint was I ordered halibut and the Amish chicken and both were over cooked and dry. My reservation was at 9PM, wondering if this was the reason the food was dry. I have dined many times before at the Charleston and the food was wonderful. Hoping this was a one time problem.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining at Charleston was just as I envis ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Dining at Charleston was just as I envisioned. An experience that foodies, and people who enjoy great food should try. The tasting menu was the right amount of food. I had the 3 course with wine which had me wanting more. Wonderful service without being overbearing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food and service. And I so a ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Exceptional food and service. And I so appreciate a restaurant where I can hear. No music, no people shouting. I loved it. Especially appreciated Ms. Wolf coming out at end to ask how things were. Among her other talents, what a lovely smile.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charleston's was an excellent dining event...

Dined on May 25, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at Charleston’s. The entire evening was just a great time, staff was very professional and very courteous. They provided insight to the various cuisine offerings and answered all of our questions. All of the choices my wife and I had were very well presented and were delicious. Chef Cindy Wolf came to our table and took time to speak with us, we both enjoyed being able to chat with her. We will recommend Charleston's to all of our friends.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply the best restaurant in all of Mar ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Simply the best restaurant in all of Maryland - all if Cindy & Tony's venues are to die for...

food5
ambience5
service5

The asparagus soup, scallops, and turbot ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

The asparagus soup, scallops, and turbot were all amazing. The staff is focused and helpful without being intrusive. A pleasure to dine here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Beautiful Evening

Dined on May 23, 2016

While visiting Baltimore, looking at the restaurant ratings we chose Charleston as being near the best. It met that expectation. Ambiance superb. Food and wine pairings inspired. We both had crab cakes, just because. She had filet, I had lamb and we called it a draw as to which was better. The surprise bonus calamari was perhaps the best . A fine meal that will be remembered for many years. Thanks Charleston..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Our service was spectacular and every course of the meal was fabulous. A definite gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The pricing is on the high end without m ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The pricing is on the high end without much of a reason to be in my opinion. The food is great, the kitchen clearly puts in the time and effort to make it one of the most memorable dinning experiences. However, the size and portions of the meals to equal around $25 per plate is not a great value to me as a pork tenderloin ends up costing as much as a soup or salad. I believe individualized pricing would be more likely to get me to return to the restaurant. That being said, it is a great experience to have at least once.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

impeccable service, superb food, and a s ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

impeccable service, superb food, and a stellar wine list - charleston was an excellent and memorable choice for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was impeccable. The food wa ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The service was impeccable. The food was extremely good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience - food and service ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful experience - food and service were great!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The music is missing. Light jazz not lou ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The music is missing. Light jazz not loud to accompany the dining experience would add value. The visibility to kitchen is not good. I should not hear or see it. The deemed light in wine room section is annoying and takes the comfort away, putting a sleep. The service and very well trained staff is noticeable accomplishment. The quality of food is the main value .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, great food, great service. A ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

As always, great food, great service. A memorable experience. Expensive but outstanding for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Cindy deserves the James Beard Award

Dined on May 13, 2016

Pure excellence and attention to detail combined with Chef Cindy's caring spirit makes this my top restaurant choice of 2016!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.