About Charleston

1000 Lancaster Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Tony Foreman & Cindy Wolf's Charleston is located on the waterfront in the burgeoning Harbor East neighborhood. Chef Cindy Wolf is a three-time finalist for Best-Chef, Mid-Atlantic by The James Beard Foundation. Her award-winning, contemporary cuisine is rooted in the regional cuisine of France and traditions of the "Low Country" area of South Carolina. Chef Wolf's commitment to fresh, local, seasonal products is reflected in the prix fixe tasting menu, which changes daily. The menu is complemented by an award winning wine list of more than 700 fine wines, which are displayed in the wine library and are chosen by co-owner and wine director, Tony Foreman. An elegant yet comfortable ambiance & luxurious service complete the extraordinary dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Saturday: 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 332-7373

Website:
http://www.charlestonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.

Executive Chef:
Cindy Wolf

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Foie Gras
Soft Shell Crab
Fois gras
crab cake
Spinach Salad With Stilton And Apples
Rockfish Special
Cornmeal Fried Oysters
Grouper
Pan Roasted Diver Scallops
Creme Brulet
Grasshopper
Dessert
Cheese Cart
Escargots In Puff Pastry
Softshell Crab w/ Brown Butter
Risotto
fried oysters
Buffalo
veal sweetbreads
Bread
Pan Roasted Turbot
Beet Tartare With Capers
Jumbo Lump Crabcake With Corn
Lamb With Onions And Carrot
Rich Lobster Soup
Chilled Fruit Soup With Panna Cotta
Shrimp And Stone-Ground Creamy Grits With Tasso Ham, Andouille Sausage, And Fresh Chives
Assorted Mini Desserts
Pan Seared Foie Gras
Cornmeal-Fried Oysters With Lemon-Cayenne Mayonnaise
Hibiscus Soup With Strawberries And Cucumber
Salmon Tartare With Cucumber, Lime, Chive And Crispy Potato
Strawberry Financier
Tuna Tartare
Duck Breast
Rockfish
Caramel Gateu

Private Dining

Private Dining spaces available for intimate celebrations, highlighted by the exquisite cuisine of award winning chef, Cindy Wolf. The cuisine is complemented by an 800+ label global wine cellar. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with water views.

Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Food
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Service
Baltimore / Maryland
13 More
Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
Romantic
Baltimore / Maryland
American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
Best Food
Baltimore
Best Service
Baltimore
Best Ambiance
Baltimore
Best Value
Baltimore
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Romantic
Baltimore
Special Occasion
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

Special Occasion (140)
Romantic (118)
Fit for Foodies (111)
See All
Notable Wine List (106)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Scenic View (10)
Waterfront (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (6)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a lovely special occasion evening a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

What a lovely special occasion evening at Charleston--we were welcomed nicely as we walked through the door, and that special feeling lasted all night. Delicious and inventive food--we especially loved the wine pairing. And I have allergies and the server/chef were helpful and conscious of making sure I could relax and enjoy my meal. Don't skip the cheese cart! Highly recommended!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my birthday. Had a fabulous eve ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for my birthday. Had a fabulous evening! The Som recommended a great wine and our food was delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Decided to go with four courses, it was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Decided to go with four courses, it was just enough. Great selection, even managed to work in a salad without regret! Will definitely go back and try four different selections because I'm convinced everything is delicious and worth trying. Kudos to the chef and her team!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience at Charleston was top not ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The experience at Charleston was top notch from beginning to end. Carmen was wonderfully knowledgeable and responsive. We closed the restaurant, and the maître d' was not only present, but there to walk us out while inviting us back. The next time we are in Baltimore (from NYC), this is our only choice for dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. The cooking of the fish ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food. The cooking of the fish and meat was absolutely to the right point. Portions had a great size, not too big, not too little, very enjoyable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

From the point at which you enter the re ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

From the point at which you enter the restaurant, you know it's a special place. The greeting, the conversation with the staff, being led to your table. The attention from the wait-staff. An incredible menu, complimented by the wine pairings, followed by the best Stilton i ever tasted and then dessert. Having Cindy Wolf stop by the table to chat and check on the experience.

The Rack of Lamb Chop was the best thing I ever ate....except their Foie Gras. I could only use one word to describe it. Exquisite. Both were perfectly prepared, delicious and complimented by perfect pairings and accouterments.

I cannot sing the praises of the staff too loudly. The balance between attentive and withdrawn, they know their craft.

Unbelievable meal, and we're looking forward to the next time!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town from Wisconsin. We have ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We were in town from Wisconsin. We have eaten at some really excellent restaurants in the country, but this is the best we've ever had. Everything was AMAZING! It was worth the money and we are so glad we had this experience. The only negative is that I would say the dress is a little more dressy than business casual. We felt under dressed and a little uncomfortable, but the food more than made up for it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic evening at Charleston. The foo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fantastic evening at Charleston. The food was excellent with perfect preparations. The wine pairings were spot on, and a visit to our table by chef Cindy Wolf was an excellent touch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is still outstanding as ever. Found ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food is still outstanding as ever. Found the service somewhat off. Long time before we got our drink orders and then our food orders. Also, we were not served our amuse bouche . I think it was an oversight that hasn't happened to us before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I was in Baltimore for business and I me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I was in Baltimore for business and I meet a friend for dinner. I found them on Open Table as a top rated restaurant in the area. They far exceeded my expectations, I had the waitress chose my courses. The chef even stopped at our table to say hello. (probable because I ate the whole shrimp)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unsatisfactory service. Not engaging wi ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Unsatisfactory service. Not engaging with her descriptions of the food, accent hard to understand, we had to work so hard to understand her. Poor knowledge of wine. She did not describe the format of the menu. A lot of money for so so food but the presentation was beautiful.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Enjoyed everything about our experience ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Enjoyed everything about our experience at the restaurant. The food was amazing, we were not rushed, attentive wait staff. Definitely will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still the best restaurant around in ever ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Still the best restaurant around in every way...we love it!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best restaurant and food in Baltimore. W ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Best restaurant and food in Baltimore. We had the three course prix fixe and although our server informed us that the portions were small we left absolutely stuffed. Most excellent!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Romantic, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charleston is the go to place for a spec ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Charleston is the go to place for a special occasion. We've went here for our anniversary several times over the past 15 years and Cindy Wolf really keeps up with the times.

Service I noticed is not like before but it's fine. Food is excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We came here to celebrate my husbands bi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We came here to celebrate my husbands birthday. The food was so wonderful and the service was outstanding. No one pushed us to get or try something we did not want. The waitress was very helpful in explaining some of the menu items. The meal was pricy but worth it.

The fried green tomato may be one of the best things I have EVER eaten.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply phenomenal. Feeling so lucky to h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Simply phenomenal. Feeling so lucky to have this caliber of a chef and restaurant in Baltimore.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, an absolutely fabulous meal ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Once again, an absolutely fabulous meal at Charleston. Party of 4, 2 people opted for 3 courses and 2 opted for 4. Combined, it was perfect! I am always amazed that they are able to coordinate the timing of so many dishes so perfectly. Chef Wolf lets nothing past her that is not exactly right. The only flaw in our evening was when we retired to the bar for a post-dinner drink and were left unattended for over 15 minutes. Eventually we walked to a nearby restaurant for a nightcap but we would have preferred to stay in the lovely confines of Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our food was wonderful from the first bi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Our food was wonderful from the first bite to the last. The staff are top-notch, near but not hovering

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and delicious food. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Exceptional service and delicious food. It was a wonderful way to celebrate birthdays with friends.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had heard a lot of great things about ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We had heard a lot of great things about Charleston and chef Cindy Wolf, but the experience truly exceeded our expectations! The service was exceptional and the food was outstanding. We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant experience. The staff was very attentive and the chef herself stopped by every table at some point during the evening. It was great to meet her, after having heard so much about her and her restaurants.

We decided to go with the three course meal, accompanied by an awesome 2011 Brovia Barolo. The roasted sweet corn soup was velvety and flavorful. That blew me out of the way; it was by far the best dish of the night, hands down. The shrimp and grits with Tasso ham was very good; the star of the dish being a perfectly cooked shrimp! The pan-roasted turbot with mushrooms and beurre blanc was well-balanced and moist. The sweetbreads with poached egg was excellent, but we didn't particularly care for the frisée salad. The quail with creamy polenta was absolutely fantastic! The meat was cooked to perfection and the polenta was so smooth! The veal was served with a delicious Barolo risotto and was tender and flavorful. We couldn't turn down the cheese course, so we tried a creamy goat-sheep-cow cheese from Piemonte, Italy; an English cheese, which tasted earthy and "mushroomy"; and, last but not list, a Stilton, a delicious blue. For dessert we tried the trio of sorbet (watermelon, peach, and berries) and the peach Melba. They were both great.

I wish I could give it an extra star! I can't recall having a better meal than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely marvelous evening, start to f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Absolutely marvelous evening, start to finish. Superb food, wonderful attentive service. Best restaurant in Baltimore! Too bad the Michelin guide doesn't rate Baltimore restaurants. This would get at least 2 stars!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant in Baltimore. Excellent ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Best Restaurant in Baltimore. Excellent food and very romantic. The menu changes seasonally but the sweetbreads, hard to find anywhere anymore, are always delicious as is the foie gras. Highly recommend the lobster soup. Don't go when they have a limited menu like on Valentine's Day. This is food to savor and linger over on your own special day. And DO get the wine pairings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat. One of the best in the w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always a treat. One of the best in the world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fantastic. the food was secon ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. the food was second to none, great ingredients, presentation and flavor. Forget French Laundry, or the Inn at Little Washington, Charleston is where you want to be for a stellar gastronomical experience and just great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think our dinner at Charleston may be ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I think our dinner at Charleston may be one of the top 5 ever. Their concept of portion size and a choice of the number of courses is unique and allows a fantastic meal with variety and without being wasteful or over indulging. The flavors and presentation were sublime.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual a wonderful dining experience. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

As usual a wonderful dining experience. Food, atmosphere and service was all exquisite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing meal with top-notch service. De ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Amazing meal with top-notch service. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent! Charleston was the perfect ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Magnificent! Charleston was the perfect spot to celebrate our anniversary. The cuisine was absolutely delicious and the service was the best of the best. We loved the way the menu is structured with coursed meals, rather than a la carte. We were unsure about it initially, but the courses are well-sized, so a 3-course meal (plus dessert) is not overwhelming. Definitely a must-try for those with an appreciation for fine dining that is neither too safe nor too edgy.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very expensive, but if you can afford it ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very expensive, but if you can afford it, fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had recommended this restaurant to ou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had recommended this restaurant to our friends as the best restaurant in the Mid Atlantic region. They joined us for dinner after attending the Antiques Show. We had sparkling wine (Roederer Estate Brut Rose) in the bar with a kind of sophisticated nachos that had truffle cream and grated cheese. Wonderful pairing. We had the 4 course menu. For the most part the food and wine were exquisite. However, there were some misses. The Lobster Bisque this time was underseasoned and bland. The Rock fish was a strange preparation and overcooked. This is normally incredible. My wife, who grew up in New Orleans, did not like the shrimp and grits, saying it was strange and the grits were too soupy. The sauteed foie gras had a lemon verbena sorbet that totally interfered with the Sauternes. I don't understand why the lemon verbena flavor and sorbet was used on this dish. Otherwise great experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Possibly the most expensive place in Bal ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Possibly the most expensive place in Baltimore. Still, the food is worth it . It gets busy on Fri nights and it is best to reserve time a little early or a little late. Small plate menu came in 3, 4, 5, or 6 servings. I found 4 to be just right. Dessert comes in addition to the servings. I highly recommend the corn floured fried oysters as one of the servings. Even if you don't see them on the menu, ask.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I took my fiancé here to celebrate our n ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I took my fiancé here to celebrate our new engagement earlier in the day.

The food was amazing. We both got the pan seared scallops and we both felt they were the best scallops either of us have ever had! Everything we ate was exceptional.

The service was impeccable. We both had an amazing night. The ambiance was perfect. The wait staff were attentive and knowledgeable.

It was worth every penny, we will be going back next time we find ourselves in Baltimore for sure. It was the perfect ending to a very special day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charleston continues to maintain the hig ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Charleston continues to maintain the high

standards which justify its recognition as

Baltimore's premier restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is certainly the most elegant resta ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

This is certainly the most elegant restaurant in Baltimore . Service is outstanding. The food is inventive and perfectly executed. The wine list is probably the deepest in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really creative dishes......but too many ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Really creative dishes......but too many of the same ingredients in different selections. For example the andouille sausage was in the shrimp and grits , but also in other selections. The friend green tomatoes were in the tomato sandwich selection and on top of the beef tenderloin.

I was surprised by that and felt that selections should not have redundant ingredients, each should be it's own surprise. That being said the lobster bisque was fabulous , I'd go back just for that.

I was also disappointed with the wine pairings. For the price I could have ordered a great bottle of wine , what we received was mediocre selections at best and very young.......2014 vintages (seriously). I was expecting a fabulous big 2012 vintage cab with the tenderloin, what we received was Safeway shelf .

Perhaps my expectations were too high, but for a $500+ dinner for two, I feel it should have been outstanding. The service WAS absolutely outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had an amazing anniversary and adored ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had an amazing anniversary and adored every aspect of our dinner (except for the people on their cell phones/watching videos on their cell phones--- who does that at a gorgeous restaurant?!) and can not wait to return for more delicious food and cocktails.

Thank you for making our special day even more special!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I believe I ate the best thing I have ev ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I believe I ate the best thing I have ever eaten at Charleston restaurant in Baltimore. It was the chef's special foie gras with some watermelon and had a lemon sorbet on the side. I have thought about this dish in my spare time, multiple times a day, since I ate it. I have never had anything like it. Perfectly cooked. I've simply never had something so perfectly cooked. Every other aspect of my dining experience was perfect, but I can't stop thinking about that one dish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant I've ever visited, from ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best restaurant I've ever visited, from ambience to food to service. Expensive, but well worth the cost. Would love to see more restaurants follow their format.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This may very well have been the best me ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This may very well have been the best meal we have had in the US. I still cannot believe this fantastic restaurant does not have a Michelin star....it so deserves one. I will go round for round so you understand....amuse bouche was an incredible artichoke soup with a cheese stuffed puff pastry.....1st course for both of us was Lobster soup w curry oil, amazing! The stock by itself was enough, but adding butter poached lobster made it the best soup I have ever had.....2nd course a scallop over cauliflower puree, again the flavors were amazing....3rd course foie gras, which was rich and creamy and paired with apricots and peaches in a fruit sauce, so good.....then shrimp and grits to rival any southern restaurant as my 4th course and lastly the tenderloin,which was cooked perfectly and melted in your mouth.....the desserts were also top notch and the wine list is unbeatable.....had a great new Chardonnay and a dessert wine for the foie gras and dessert.....it is expensive, no question, so if your idea of fine dining is Outback this won't be for you....you get what you pay for and for this fantastic meal the price was well worth it! We will be back for sure.....

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.