About Charleston

Tony Foreman & Cindy Wolf's Charleston is located on the waterfront in the burgeoning Harbor East neighborhood. Chef Cindy Wolf is a three-time finalist for Best-Chef, Mid-Atlantic by The James Beard Foundation. Her award-winning, contemporary cuisine is rooted in the regional cuisine of France and traditions of the "Low Country" area of South Carolina. Chef Wolf's commitment to fresh, local, seasonal products is reflected in the prix fixe tasting menu, which changes daily. The menu is complemented by an award winning wine list of more than 700 fine wines, which are displayed in the wine library and are chosen by co-owner and wine director, Tony Foreman. An elegant yet comfortable ambiance & luxurious service complete the extraordinary dining experience.

1000 Lancaster Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Saturday: 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 332-7373

Website:
http://www.charlestonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.

Executive Chef:
Cindy Wolf

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining spaces available for intimate celebrations, highlighted by the exquisite cuisine of award winning chef, Cindy Wolf. The cuisine is complemented by an 800+ label global wine cellar. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with water views.

Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (93)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Romantic (69)
See All
Fit for Foodies (59)
Notable Wine List (58)
Good for a Date (54)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Worth the Drive (40)
Cozy (24)
Business Meals (23)
Tasting Menu (22)
Waterfront (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Authentic (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Seasonal (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Private Room (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Scenic View (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (6)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tapas (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2863 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We decided to spend Valentine's Day at C ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

We decided to spend Valentine's Day at Charlston and were exposed to a very extensive menu of food and wine, which I highly recommend to anyone who wants to have a special romantic occasion

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

As usual, Charlestons does not disappoin ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual, Charlestons does not disappoint! Great food, service, and atmosphere. Truly enjoy the wine pairings with the varied courses!

Look forward to our next time!

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic service! Prices are ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely fantastic service! Prices are definitely higher than average, but you'll be unlikely to forget this meal anytime soon. Great food and wine pairings.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing start to finish

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely amazing start to finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was amazing. The food was out ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This place was amazing. The food was out of this world. Some of the best I've ever had. The wait staff was very helpful and described everything and was friendly and available when I had questions, and you may have questions. The menu is not like your typical restaurant. Your order a 3, 4, 5 or 6 course meal and then pic your courses. They change nightly depending on what's available and fresh. There are some exotic selections available for the adventurous. I had sweet bread and loved it (Google it).

You can also order a wine sampler with your meal. The wines were great, but it was too much alcohol for us.

The wait staff is out of this world. Helpful, without being a burden. They were there when you needed them and disappeared when not needed.

We ordered a 5 course meal and it was way too much food. I think most average people would be more than happy with 3 or 4 courses. And remember, it comes with desert as well.

Anyway, my wife and I really loved it and if we find ourselves in Baltimore again, we'll try to hit this place up.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, great food. Only complai ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service, great food. Only complaint was that the lighting was a little dim, otherwise it was great experience overall.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant for everyday dining ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent restaurant for everyday dining. Group gatherings and Anniversary. I was well pleased and will recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional! Food was delicious and eleg ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Exceptional! Food was delicious and elegantly served. Don't miss the fried oysters

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at the Charleston. t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Another great meal at the Charleston. the food was amazing as usual. Loved the cauliflower soup. Had many of our favorites such as the lobster curry soup and the shrimp and grits as well as some new dishes of rabbit and halibut cheeks. Our favorite place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

20 years of bringing the best of new yor ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

20 years of bringing the best of new york, l.a. san francisco, or new orleans to baltimore with amazing quality at about two thirds the price

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance. Great food. Courses are ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great ambiance. Great food. Courses are smaller. Highly knowledgeable and attentive serving staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I went to Charleston fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Charleston for an early Valentine's dinner and had a wonderful time. The service was fantastic as everyone we interacted with was friendly, laid back, and professional. The food was extraordinary. You can't go wrong coming here for a wonderful date night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best category: excellent food a gast ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The best category: excellent food a gastronomic gem

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding!

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience. The atmo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The atmospher was relaxing and inviting. Thank You!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sweetbreads are the best choice on the m ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Sweetbreads are the best choice on the menu, although, the Lentil soup is one for the ages!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive, but hard to imagine a better ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Expensive, but hard to imagine a better meal in Baltimore

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another outstanding meal at Charleston. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Another outstanding meal at Charleston. As usual Cindy stopped by the table to greet us. It's the first time we sat in the back room that is more clubby. Four of us had a spectacular time with phenomenal service, wine service, and an outstanding meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated Wife's B'day, we had a great ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Celebrated Wife's B'day, we had a great time. The staff was very attentive, the food was very good. Beautiful Decor and ambiance. We arrived early and had drinks at the bar. Nice selection of martini's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything we wanted and more for a spec ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything we wanted and more for a special celebration, without being stuffy or pretentious. Our first visit and all five of us found it superb --food, wine, service, ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An absolutely marvelous menu and profess ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

An absolutely marvelous menu and professional service. The perfect place for a relaxing or special dinner. Extensive wine menu and an extremely knowledgeable sommelier. The food is beautifully prepared and perfectly presented. The wait staff is knowledgeable and always available, but they do not hover. Attention to detail makes a visit here the perfect evening. Not inexpensive, but well-worth the price for that special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Baltimore. One of ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The best restaurant in Baltimore. One of the best in the country.Outstanding and attentive wait staff. Wine list extensive with emphasis on Burgundy. Very quiet and spectacular food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is truly wonderful! The ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This restaurant is truly wonderful! The food is delicious and beautifully presented. The service is impeccable; attentive without being overbearing. It is also a beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding and the service imp ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was outstanding and the service impecable. Highly recommend it for very special occasions

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being from Charleston, SC, a national fo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Being from Charleston, SC, a national food destination full of James Beard winners and 4 diamond accolades, our expectations were very high. Charleston Restaurant delivers in spades. The food was delicious and well balanced. The portion size was what one would expect from a tasting menu without being skimpy. And, the service! The service was beyond reproach from the bar to the dinner table. They strive to be sure you have EXACTLY what you "want and need" when you "want and need" it. Further, they want to be sure you LOVE every bit of food and drink you consume. I ordered a cocktail that was not to my liking - my own fault for not paying attention to the full list of ingredients. The bartender offered to make it again without the offending ingredient. Even then, it wasn't my favorite. I said nothing and took it to the table where I asked for it to be removed when my wine arrived. The wait staff was concerned over why I didn't consume it and removed it from the bill. I didn't expect this. Afterall, it was my choice to order the cockail and nothing was wrong with it except my taste buds. But, the staff is so concerned with perfection -- in presentation, taste, and experience -- that they refused to allow me to pay for it. Service like that does not go unnoticed. Also, the chef was attentive to staff and patrons as she made the rounds to ensure everyone was pleased with their orders. One last note: I loved the concept of offering all items for your choice of 3,4,5, or 6 courses. Not having to choose one from each category was brilliant! Each of us was able to gear our meal towards lighter or heavier fare as to our individuatl preferences. I would love to see more tasting menus evolve into this method.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly spectacular as always

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Truly spectacular as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. I would reco ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food and service. I would recommend this as a destination for those that appreciate great food and wine paired together.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Lived up to all our expectations! It is ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Lived up to all our expectations! It is wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet, elegant ambiance. Exquisite food. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Quiet, elegant ambiance. Exquisite food. Attentive, knowledgeable service. This is a world class restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was very well versed in knowi ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our waiter was very well versed in knowing the wines at Charleston and knowing the menu for suggestions. The service was excellent and the food hit a home run from beginning to end. Pricey but well worth every dollar spent.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, service, great ambience. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Fabulous food, service, great ambience. Worth the trip from NJ to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had to be at John's Hopkins next day. So ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Had to be at John's Hopkins next day. So much better than our greatest hopes. Our waiter was helpful and attentive without being a bother. He made excellent suggestions for our tasting menu. The Fois Gras was to die for. The chef was creative and superb. Still dreaming and talking about it being the best restaurant in the area. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, , Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was outstanding. G ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food and service was outstanding. Great menu with something for everyone. What an amazing place!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Talk about a food experience. This by f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Talk about a food experience. This by far was the absolute best meal I have ever had in my life. I went here on a date with my boyfriend and both of us could not stop raving about the food, the wine, and the service. We chose to do the pairings with the wine and it took the food to absolute next level. We already said we are saving our money for the next time we can go back. Cindy Wolf is an absolute genius. Recommend hands down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate our recent engageme ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went to celebrate our recent engagement and were absolutely WOWED by the food, ambiance, and entire experience. One of the best meals of my life. It is very pricey, but we knew that going in. Charleston is not a place we would go without a special occasion on the books, but it was worth every penny and made our night very special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely dining experience. Our w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It was a lovely dining experience. Our waiter was very attentive. We chose the prix fixe with wine pairing. There was no problem when I requested a different pairing for the Lobster Bisque because I did not like Port, which was served. The soup was magnificent, with various flavors throughout the dish. This was the first place that I've ever seen bring a complimentary glass of champagne at the end of the meal in honor of my birthday, rather than a dessert. It is pricey, but you are paying for a James Beard finalist and it's worth it for a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurant definitely served up tast ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The restaurant definitely served up tasty food but the ambiance was stuffy. This was exacerbated by the underwhelming service as it did not meet the fine dining experience the owner was aiming for. The complimentary macarons and candies should have stayed in the kitchen.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Bordering on pretentious with over exagg ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Bordering on pretentious with over exaggerated service and minimal ambience. Super expensive with a. Limited wine list. Wine more expensive than the meal With heavy emphasis on French wines. Not the most creative dialogue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

As always, Cindy Wolf did not disappoint ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

As always, Cindy Wolf did not disappoint. The artichoke soup was velvety and bright. The sea scallop was perfectly cooked. The squab special was outstanding!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply the best Baltimore has to offer. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Simply the best Baltimore has to offer. You get what you pay for with outstanding service and terrific food. Will return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.