Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Charleston

Tony Foreman & Cindy Wolf's Charleston is located on the waterfront in the burgeoning Harbor East neighborhood. Chef Cindy Wolf is a three-time finalist for Best-Chef, Mid-Atlantic by The James Beard Foundation. Her award-winning, contemporary cuisine is rooted in the regional cuisine of France and traditions of the "Low Country" area of South Carolina. Chef Wolf's commitment to fresh, local, seasonal products is reflected in the prix fixe tasting menu, which changes daily. The menu is complemented by an award winning wine list of more than 700 fine wines, which are displayed in the wine library and are chosen by co-owner and wine director, Tony Foreman. An elegant yet comfortable ambiance & luxurious service complete the extraordinary dining experience.

1000 Lancaster Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Saturday: 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 332-7373

Website:
http://www.charlestonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.

Executive Chef:
Cindy Wolf

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining spaces available for intimate celebrations, highlighted by the exquisite cuisine of award winning chef, Cindy Wolf. The cuisine is complemented by an 800+ label global wine cellar. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with water views.

Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (91)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Romantic (70)
See All
Notable Wine List (60)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Good for a Date (55)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Worth the Drive (41)
Tasting Menu (27)
Cozy (22)
Business Meals (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Authentic (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Waterfront (12)
Private Room (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Seasonal (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Scenic View (3)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Casual (0)
Sort By:
S
2884 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

The very best restaurant in Baltimore. For that matter on my top ten anywhere. Some of the very best food, service, selection, ambience I have ever experienced. A bucket list restaurant for those who have never been. Nothing more can be said.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for our 20th anniversary and it was a remarkable experience. Excellent food, superior service Our first exposure to this type of al a carte menu and it was excellent. A few years ago we had the pleasure of dining at Emeril's in New Orleans. It was excellent and it became the standard by which we rated all subsequent dining experiences and none were better, until now. We now have a new standard, Charleston.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

We have enjoyed the Charleston now a few times since moving to Baltimore. Every detail was excellent and Chef Wolf added her own personal touch, which really helped to make it a great evening! We recommend Charleston whenever possible - we'll be back!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We knew it was a good restaurant (*very* good) but the gentle surprises kept on coming.
Their service is impeccable and quite low key, as great service so often is. Their wine list and service is so good, and if I knew wine better I am sure I would be even more impressed.
But the food is the best part. When the chef is this good a tasting menu is the best idea. You choose how many plates you want and enjoy. Yes, you will end up liking some better than others, but that is part of the adventure. Although nothing that night was "mouthgasmic" to me, it was all so good and in such different ways that it ended up better than one spectacular course. If you cook at home, be prepared to take notes! Fantastic.
And I should note that the price, while high(ish), I must take some credit because I ordered that bottle of wine, that I ended up loving!! (My bad.)
And I must again mention the service. In the room we were seated in, there were two gentlemen in suits wandering around making sure ALL questions were answered and offering advice that to me was perfect. They ended up insuring that our evening was the very best it could be.
Get ye to Charleston! You will not be disappointed. You probably, like me, will end up impressed and very happy (and a bit glad, if like me you kive four hourts away and can not eat there MUCH more often!). This is a special place!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Charleston was good, but had it's weaknesses, especially at the price point. We felt the pacing was a bit rushed at time. We were underwhelmed by the wine pairings as either uninspired or worse. My spouse described one wine as 'like gym socks', which is not saying much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Had a great time. The food was excellent. Service good. All in all a great dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had a fantastic dinner. The food was outstanding, the meal was served with perfect timeing and the staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and interactive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service, great food. Still best restaurant in Baltimore, I believe. I'm not sure how you get out of there without being absolutely stuffed. Maybe they should have a 2-course option. I believe it's just 3, 4 or 5, and everything tends to be really rich...amazing, but really rich! I'm happy going there just once a year, partially for that reason--and I'm a big eater.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Visiting Baltimore for the first time in many years. One of, if not the best meal I have ever had a a restaurant. From the moment you enter, you know you are about to experience something special. Service is warm, friendly and not rushed. Pricey but you get what you pay for which is a great atmosphere, personalized service and a multi course meal unique for each individual. Wine pairings were perfect compliments.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have friends who we have dined with several years now, always going to top-notch restaurants. Our friends and we have been to Charleston before, but never together so we were excited about the evening. As usual, the ambiance was casually elegant and the appointments were beautiful. The food, with one exception was outstanding (the one exception being the grilled sweetbreads which were unusually salty, although not so much as to ruin the taste).

The only thing keeping this from being another perfect evening was the service. For the most part, we were treated like special guests, beginning at the reception and carrying through most of the courses. We had enjoyed a nice bottle of Chardonnay with our first course and then on to a Zinfandel. For the final course, which we all reserved for beef or veal, we had spoken to the wine captain about getting a special wine. With so many choices (and good suggestions from him) he left us to decide, saying he would be back "in a few minutes" to take our wine order. Unfortunately, he never returned and our final course arrived leaving us to drink what was left of our Zinfandel which did not really complement the course. To make matters worse, the wine captain passed by our table multiple times after that and never once acknowledged that he had stiffed us, or to see how we were doing.

Hopefully, this was an aberration since none of us want this incident to spoil what was otherwise a special evening out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lovely and very expensive. A special night out . There is food as good other places, but the "you can have conversation" quiet is not everywhere. The staff is well trained and everything was very nice. Both of us got the curried lobster soup as a first course and we think that was the best part of dinners. Delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The service was outstanding along with the food. Options for dinner and the quality was also outstanding! We would recommend the Charleston to everyone that enjoys fresh ingredients, a warm atmosphere and great quality food. The waiter made us feel like routine customers.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The best restaurant on the East coast. Everything is perfect. Service and food are magnificent. Cannot wait until I return.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved every minute of being there

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My wife and I went for our Anniversary. Expensive but worth the hype! Service is extremely gracious and efficient like clockwork. Menu set up for tasting where you pick courses is wonderful. We had 3 courses each, plus dessert, complimentary amuse bouche and bread - and left full. Even though courses are small, ingredients are rich so 3-4 courses is probably the way to go unless you're famished. Food is really well done across the board. One thing that really sets Charleston apart is the wine list & pairings. I have been in the wine business 10 years and looking at the list is a dream come true of insider favorites that you just won't find elsewhere: from 30 Year Amontillado with 1st course to 1996 Blandy's Madeira with dessert, these are wines chosen by someone who knows & is passionate about finding wines that really over-deliver. Any steakhouse can buy big name & charge big price, but Charleston excels at finding gems.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 28, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever head. So good I went back a second night. Superb service and extraordinary food both nights served to a total of six people. Nothing disappointed. Nothing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The waitstaff were attentive, kind and fun. Very knowledgeable yet low key.
The food choices were amazing. Combinations of small plates to choose from.
"free" cheese course and dessert were brilliant (and quite high end)

I would highly recommend this for a special occasion of any kind. Take your time. Enjoy. Savor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A lovely experience. Excellent food and very gracious service. Charleston is not inexpensive, but the quality of the food and service makes it worth every penny. We particularly liked the lobster soup, the fried oysters, and the perfectly seared foie gras. The sommelier made a wonderful wine recommendation. All in all, a very memorable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 24, 2017

One of the finest meals of my life. Everything is special- the food presentation, the variety of foods and flawless service. This is truly a memorable dining experience. I will be back. Well worth a 70 mile drive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Extraordinary dinner with impeccable service. All of the dishes that we tried were delicious. We cannot wait to return to Baltimore for dinner again at Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Charleston lived up to its reputation. Every detail was taken into account & executed flawlessly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We decided to spend Valentine's Day at Charlston and were exposed to a very extensive menu of food and wine, which I highly recommend to anyone who wants to have a special romantic occasion

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

As usual, Charlestons does not disappoint! Great food, service, and atmosphere. Truly enjoy the wine pairings with the varied courses!
Look forward to our next time!

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Absolutely fantastic service! Prices are definitely higher than average, but you'll be unlikely to forget this meal anytime soon. Great food and wine pairings.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely amazing start to finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This place was amazing. The food was out of this world. Some of the best I've ever had. The wait staff was very helpful and described everything and was friendly and available when I had questions, and you may have questions. The menu is not like your typical restaurant. Your order a 3, 4, 5 or 6 course meal and then pic your courses. They change nightly depending on what's available and fresh. There are some exotic selections available for the adventurous. I had sweet bread and loved it (Google it).

You can also order a wine sampler with your meal. The wines were great, but it was too much alcohol for us.

The wait staff is out of this world. Helpful, without being a burden. They were there when you needed them and disappeared when not needed.

We ordered a 5 course meal and it was way too much food. I think most average people would be more than happy with 3 or 4 courses. And remember, it comes with desert as well.

Anyway, my wife and I really loved it and if we find ourselves in Baltimore again, we'll try to hit this place up.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service, great food. Only complaint was that the lighting was a little dim, otherwise it was great experience overall.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent restaurant for everyday dining. Group gatherings and Anniversary. I was well pleased and will recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Exceptional! Food was delicious and elegantly served. Don't miss the fried oysters

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Another great meal at the Charleston. the food was amazing as usual. Loved the cauliflower soup. Had many of our favorites such as the lobster curry soup and the shrimp and grits as well as some new dishes of rabbit and halibut cheeks. Our favorite place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

20 years of bringing the best of new york, l.a. san francisco, or new orleans to baltimore with amazing quality at about two thirds the price

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great ambiance. Great food. Courses are smaller. Highly knowledgeable and attentive serving staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Charleston for an early Valentine's dinner and had a wonderful time. The service was fantastic as everyone we interacted with was friendly, laid back, and professional. The food was extraordinary. You can't go wrong coming here for a wonderful date night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The best category: excellent food a gastronomic gem

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The atmospher was relaxing and inviting. Thank You!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Sweetbreads are the best choice on the menu, although, the Lentil soup is one for the ages!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Expensive, but hard to imagine a better meal in Baltimore

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Another outstanding meal at Charleston. As usual Cindy stopped by the table to greet us. It's the first time we sat in the back room that is more clubby. Four of us had a spectacular time with phenomenal service, wine service, and an outstanding meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always polite and knowledgeable host and staff
Always seat us in our asked for table
Deliciously and beautifully prepared and presented food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.