About Charleston

1000 Lancaster Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Tony Foreman & Cindy Wolf's Charleston is located on the waterfront in the burgeoning Harbor East neighborhood. Chef Cindy Wolf is a three-time finalist for Best-Chef, Mid-Atlantic by The James Beard Foundation. Her award-winning, contemporary cuisine is rooted in the regional cuisine of France and traditions of the "Low Country" area of South Carolina. Chef Wolf's commitment to fresh, local, seasonal products is reflected in the prix fixe tasting menu, which changes daily. The menu is complemented by an award winning wine list of more than 700 fine wines, which are displayed in the wine library and are chosen by co-owner and wine director, Tony Foreman. An elegant yet comfortable ambiance & luxurious service complete the extraordinary dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Saturday: 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 332-7373

Website:
http://www.charlestonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.

Executive Chef:
Cindy Wolf

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Charleston
Foie Gras
Soft Shell Crab
Fois gras
crab cake
Spinach Salad With Stilton And Apples
Cornmeal Fried Oysters
Rockfish Special
Grouper
Pan Roasted Diver Scallops
Grasshopper
Creme Brulet
Dessert
Cheese Cart
Escargots In Puff Pastry
Risotto
Softshell Crab w/ Brown Butter
fried oysters
Buffalo
veal sweetbreads
Cornmeal-Fried Oysters With Lemon-Cayenne Mayonnaise
Chilled Fruit Soup With Panna Cotta
Hibiscus Soup With Strawberries And Cucumber
Beet Tartare With Capers
Pan Seared Foie Gras
Bread
Rich Lobster Soup
Strawberry Financier
Lamb With Onions And Carrot
Shrimp And Stone-Ground Creamy Grits With Tasso Ham, Andouille Sausage, And Fresh Chives
Pan Roasted Turbot
Jumbo Lump Crabcake With Corn
Assorted Mini Desserts
Salmon Tartare With Cucumber, Lime, Chive And Crispy Potato
Tuna Tartare
Duck Breast
Rockfish
Caramel Gateu

Private Dining

Private Dining spaces available for intimate celebrations, highlighted by the exquisite cuisine of award winning chef, Cindy Wolf. The cuisine is complemented by an 800+ label global wine cellar. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with water views.

Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Food
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Service
Baltimore / Maryland
12 More
Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
Best Food
Baltimore
Best Service
Baltimore
Best Ambiance
Baltimore
Best Value
Baltimore
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Romantic
Baltimore
Special Occasion
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

special occasion (137)
romantic (112)
fit for foodies (110)
See All
notable wine list (108)
good for groups (22)
neighborhood gem (22)
scenic view (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
hot spot (7)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

An all around AMAZING experience. Go hu ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

An all around AMAZING experience. Go hungry, be prepared to relax and take your time and be spoiled. The food is DELICIOUS and so many wonderful options. The service is incredible. Love that you sit down and they don't even give you a menu until you've enjoyed a glass of wine. Forces you to relax and enjoy your company.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had the privilege of dining all o ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I have had the privilege of dining all over the world -- London, Paris, Istanbul, New York, San Francisco -- and simply put, Charleston is one of the finest restaurants in the world. Chef Cynthia Wolf gets better and better. My favorite restaurant in America. Perfect in every detail, every time. Worth a special trip to Baltimore.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've had,The lamb ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

One of the best meals I've had,The lamb tenderloin was cooked and seasoned to perfection. like that you are able to choose the amount of courses you prefer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I went to Charleston's for my birthday a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I went to Charleston's for my birthday and was treated well by the staff and given a special dessert treat. Most impressive was that they carried my favorite Moscato, the only one I drink, which really made it a special evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have probably dined at the Charleston ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I have probably dined at the Charleston at least 6 or 8 times at this point and it just seems to me that they always raise the bar higher. If there is a better meal to be had in Baltimore, I don't know where it is. The combinations of flavors are remarkable to say the least. The summer menu is full of surprises. The lamb was amazing as was the lemon tart dessert. Basil ice cream with a lemon tart? It doesn't sound like a great idea but the execution is just amazing. Service was impeccable as always. Every detail is covered at the Charleston, from the time you pull up to the valet station. These people know how to run a restaurant and never fail to impress.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience every time! Chef Cindy ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great experience every time! Chef Cindy and her staff always provide a special evening between great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent the weekend away in Baltimore with ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Spent the weekend away in Baltimore with my boyfriend and we decided to treat ourselves one night to the Charleston! It was AMAZING! Service was on point! The food was really fresh and I liked the option to choose the number of courses and having dessert part of the price. I am not a seafood person and there was plenty to choose from. I did the wine pairing, which I don't know if I would do again just because the 3 meal options I choose had a red, rose, and white pairing respectively. There is an extensive wine list and I would probably stick to one kind. I felt it was a very good value for the food and we definitely enjoyed our meal!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and atmosphere. Good quali ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service and atmosphere. Good quality food but was very bland with no flavor. Needed salt, seasoning or something

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Definitely the BEST restaurant in Baltim ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Definitely the BEST restaurant in Baltimore by far. It's even better than the ones I've tried in Charleston, SC.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Too much of a great thing Is never enoug ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Too much of a great thing Is never enough. From our greeting, to cocktails, dessert and coffee, service was attentive and impeccable without being intrusive. We were truly impressed that they "remembered" we had made the original reservation a couple of months ago for a special occasion but had to cancel (twice) because several unfortunate events got in the way. The wine pairings complemented the shrimp, scallop and rockfish courses. All in all, a delightful and special experience. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Charleston is without a doubt among the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Charleston is without a doubt among the top 5 restaurants in which we have dined in the past 5 years. Although elegantly decorated and the service was impeccable, thankfully it was not at all pretentious. Food was awesome and wine pairings flawless. We enjoy dining in restaurants where we do not have to shout at each other to be heard. At Charleston, to the contrary, everyone was speaking in hushed tones. Delightful. My one negative observation is that a restaurant of this caliber should enforce a dress code. The party sitting nest to us was wearing jeans and a couple seated behind us was dressed for the beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food! Innovative , interesting ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Loved the food! Innovative , interesting and well served. Staff were able to achieve a both professional and friendly experience. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Could not ask for better service !! Pro ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Could not ask for better service !! Professional, knowledgeable, courteous, pleasant staff was so appreciated. The food was exquisite !! Presentation and taste both added to a wonderful dining experience !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary, and it wa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary, and it was absolutely wonderful from start to finish! We'll be back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants I have ever ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One of the best restaurants I have ever been to in the United States. Everything is perfect, even the way the staff handles folks who order too much and are full before the course comes. I haven't dined in so many years, it was a pleasure. The food is to die for and the service is impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to the Charles ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was our second visit to the Charleston. Our experience has been excellent. The best food I have ever eaten in my life! Kudos to the chef!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Charleston is by far the best place ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Charleston is by far the best place I've ever and probably will ever have eaten in my life.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing and, with the small ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food is amazing and, with the small plates, allows the diner to choose several options. The service is impeccable. While the experience is expensive, it is definitely worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the first time back in 15 years ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was the first time back in 15 years and the experience was better than the first time. Superb service at the bar and table and fantastic food and wine. My business associate exclaimed it was 'quite possibly the best dinner he ever had'. Thanks for the experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again, Charleston reminds us that it is ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Again, Charleston reminds us that it is truly the best restaurant in Baltimore. A party of seven was handled with the same outstanding service as a party of two. The lobster bisque, scallops, and filet were the main hits of the evening, along with the sabayon and cheesecake. Can't wait to taste Chef Wolf's next offering!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent as it almost always i ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was excellent as it almost always is. This was really an off night for service. It was a new server who I don't think fully understood the meaning of fine dining and expectations of a meal that you are spending $250. Charleston should do better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Food experience redefined, the chef is a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food experience redefined, the chef is a genius and some of what we tasted cannot even be described with words. The service is also beyond amazing. Very highly recommended!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had our anniversary dinner there and enj ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Had our anniversary dinner there and enjoyed a very special evening ,food ,service ,everything was done to perfection. Highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions . Altought I am not a fan of wine pairing and prefer to order my own wine, in this instance I did enjoy the sommeliers recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All was excellent Servers great Food exc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

All was excellent

Servers great

Food excellent especially the lobster soup and scallops

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great service. Worth the top ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food. Great service. Worth the top dollar price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining at its finest. Enjoy the s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fine dining at its finest. Enjoy the space, excellent service and at minimum, four courses with pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the most amazing meal both my g ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was the most amazing meal both my girlfriend and I have had in our entire lives. I was absolutely blown away by everything from start to finish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, fantastic service

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Amazing food, fantastic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to the bar at Charleston se ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We have been to the bar at Charleston several times for specialty cocktails and appetizers (or, as this born-in-the-Midwest girl likes to call them, "schnecks") and have been waiting for the day that we would actually eat in the dining room. This past Tuesday was the day. We were celebrating our 13th anniversary and what was supposed to be the end of a court case - but we just wound up celebrating the anniversary. We started out with a specialty cocktail (and schnecks!) in the bar and then moved into the dining room for our reservation. I initially thought the portions were small, but they were so wonderfully prepared and rich (but not grossly so - deliciously so!) that by the time I got to the final course, I was wondering if I'd be able to finish. (I was.)

Our wine was delicious, all our courses were fantastic - I will assume my husband's sweetbreads were based on his assessment. I wasn't going to go there. Dessert was comped and was amazing. I can't wait till the next time we go back. It'll be a while, because it is truly a special occasion place.

Bravo, Chef Cindy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Will was amazing and so helpf ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our waiter Will was amazing and so helpful and friendly throughout the entire evening. He made our night very special. We cannot wait to go back and celebrate again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always. Started in the bar ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful as always. Started in the bar with cocktails that were top notch. Headed into the dining room and had lobster bisque, shrimp and grits, halibut and lamb. Everything was prepared to perfection. Our "service team" delivered everything in perfectly spaced out time frames. I can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here to celebrate our 10th weddi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We came here to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The experience was wonderful. Clearly, the repeat James Beard nominations are well-deserved. Chef, herself, visited multiple tables to check in on the food and experience.

We sat in the room facing the harbor, which would have been my choice before having experienced it. However, if returning, I'd rather sit in the main dining area, as our room was very quiet and lacked some energy, taking away from the ambiance a bit in my opinion. However, for a special occasion or private conversation it might be great. The crowd was just a bit mature in that specific room and the noise level so quiet I wasn't sure if I would bother people to laugh out loud. The view was lovely though!

I loved the way the menu was done in that you could do a three, four, or five course menu. The dessert and cheese course were included on top of those courses. The selections were not divided into first course, second course, etc, so you could choose what you liked from anywhere on the menu. This was wonderful because if you wanted to have soups and salads you could, or you could have filet, duck, and fish.

The food was delicious - high marks for the lobster soup with curry, corn bisque, shrimp and grits, halibut, duck, and prime filet. I loved the crab cake as well, but my husband was less excited about it. The grouper seemed a bit overdone and under-flavored to me, and was the only one we were not over the moon for. The desserts were delicious; you must try the creme brulee trio. I think the star had to have been the earl grey brulee; it was to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I called a few days before our reservati ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I called a few days before our reservation to request an item I have had at Charleston before, but that was not currently on the menu. Not only did Chef Wolf source and prepare the requested dish (Fried Green Tomatoes), she actually visited our table and spoke with us for a few minutes! WE WERE SO DELIGHTED TO MEET CHEF CINDY WOLF! Talk about star-struck!! The servers couldn't have been more professional, and of course the food, as always, was superb. The entire experience was fabulous and one we'll remember always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no finer dining experience in B ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

There is no finer dining experience in Baltimore than Charleston. Everything they do is impeccable, starting with and most importantly, the food: Delicious roasted sweet corn soup, followed by an amazing baby zucchini carpaccio (with coolea, sportaletti, and basil from Cindy's garden); then big-eye tuna tartare, scallop, a savory squab dish, and sweetbreads (a very creative preparation). The winelist is beautiful and diverse; there is a great selection of champagne, white and red burgundies; as well as others that we did not get to try, but there's always next time. The entire restaurant staff is in tune with Cindy's culinary symphony, which complements the whole dining experience, relaxed and friendly while paying close attention to the needs of the guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous! One of my favorite ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! One of my favorite restaurants EVER! Incredible quality & creative food, excellent service and top notch atmosphere. Come hungry!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charleston was everything I hoped it wou ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Charleston was everything I hoped it would be. Beautiful restaurant accompanied by beautiful food. All the dishes were amazing. Even my vegetable dish was elevated to a different level. Staff was professional and attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious dinner - each course better th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious dinner - each course better than the last. I would recommend doing the 3 course with wine pairings - we did 4 plus dessert and it got to be too much at the end. The food is incredible and the wine pairings were perfect. Loved everything except that the air conditioner was not working in our part of the dining room and I would definitely recommend jacket and tie - one of the more formal dining spots in Baltimore - very nice!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Charleston was truly an amazing restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Charleston was truly an amazing restaurant experience. We were served by a team of waiters, all of them were attentive and polite. You could tell that all the vegetables and meat were fresh.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, as usual.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about our dining experience w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was terrific. From the moment we arrived until we walked out the door three hours later we were cared for by experienced, knowledgable staff. Our three courses and accompanying wine selections were perfect. We enjoyed cornmeal encrusted soft shell crab, turbot, duck, lamb loin, and asparagus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.