Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Charleston

Tony Foreman & Cindy Wolf's Charleston is located on the waterfront in the burgeoning Harbor East neighborhood. Chef Cindy Wolf is a three-time finalist for Best-Chef, Mid-Atlantic by The James Beard Foundation. Her award-winning, contemporary cuisine is rooted in the regional cuisine of France and traditions of the "Low Country" area of South Carolina. Chef Wolf's commitment to fresh, local, seasonal products is reflected in the prix fixe tasting menu, which changes daily. The menu is complemented by an award winning wine list of more than 700 fine wines, which are displayed in the wine library and are chosen by co-owner and wine director, Tony Foreman. An elegant yet comfortable ambiance & luxurious service complete the extraordinary dining experience.

1000 Lancaster Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Saturday: 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 332-7373

Website:
http://www.charlestonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.

Executive Chef:
Cindy Wolf

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining spaces available for intimate celebrations, highlighted by the exquisite cuisine of award winning chef, Cindy Wolf. The cuisine is complemented by an 800+ label global wine cellar. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with water views.

Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (129)
Romantic (107)
Good for Anniversaries (101)
See All
Notable Wine List (96)
Fit for Foodies (94)
Creative Cuisine (83)
Good for a Date (77)
Quiet Conversation (60)
Worth the Drive (55)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Business Meals (41)
Tasting Menu (39)
Waterfront (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Local Ingredients (30)
Authentic (27)
Cozy (25)
Bar Seating (20)
Seasonal (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Groups (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Scenic View (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Private Room (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Fun (8)
Organic (7)
Healthy (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
3024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Great great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Our evening at Charleston was the best date experience we have ever had! We were greeted and seated immediately on arrival. I mentioned that we were celebrating my partner's promotion, and everyone who interacted with us congratulated him. We started with a champagne suggested by one of the knowledgeable staff, chosen because we wanted a full-bodied champagne. Everything was the best we had ever tasted. We chose 4 courses with wine pairings, and each pairing was perfect for the dish. I think most of our dinner conversation revolved around how perfect everything about our experience was! We chose to have a few cheeses between dinner and dessert, and these were served with the house bread, which was of course the best artisan bread we had ever had. Dessert was accompanied by macaroons and a coconut lime chocolate - small, delicious details that made an extraordinary meal into the absolute perfect experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was our first visit and we were beyond pleasantly surprised. The moment we walked in the door we knew it would most likely be a great and memorable evening---and it was all that and more. We were greeted by a friendly staff and our server Jessica was so pleasant and professional. The food was outstanding from start to finish. Truly an evening that did not disappoint. Can't wait to return for another wonderful evening of delightful indulgence and to also try her other restaurants!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Ambience is nice and hostess provided a nice welcome...valet parking is free. Ordering here differs from most restaurants in that you choose the number of courses you want (3,4,5,6) from the menu and all items carry the same "value". So whether you order a soup or salad or main dish, each counts as a separate course. Wine pairings are available (at additional cost, of course) for each item.
Service was excellent, if slightly pretentious. Roses on the table were lovely. We each enjoyed the lobster soup. Wife had delicious peach salad while I had an excellent calamari salad.
We each thought the soft shell crab was excellent as was the halibut course we each chose.
By that time we were filling up but my wife managed the quail while I had ordered foie gras, which I'd not had before. Can't speak to the quality of taste & preparation, but it wasn't to my liking, and our server quickly replaced it. I tried the duck which was OK. Then came dessert which is gratis and doesn't "count" as a course.
Dining at Charleston is a special and unique experience, but don't expect everyday fare or pricing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Recently dined at Daniel's NYC and enjoyed the evening at Charleston more in all ways. Great experience!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The variable prix-fix menu structure allows you to truly explore the fine cuisine offered by the chef . The offering of a cheese course after such a fine meal of my choosing is a very nice option. I recommend this restaurant for people interested in well prepared food. Familiar dishes with flare. Service is exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was fabulous. Very impressed that the chef personally came over to our table to address
our special dietary restrictions . The food was delicious and the service first rate.
Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Amazing food and service. The creative menu and food were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Amazing food with outstanding service not your typical upscale restaurant worth every penny!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Very nice but ungodly expensive.........unless on a business account.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Start to finish, outstanding. We both did the 3 course meal. So much food! After you choose your 3 courses, you then choose your dessert which is included in the price. Kind of wished we split the 5 course, if they let you do that. We each started with the lobster soup. Never have we seen such a huge pile of lobster! I then had the mushroom tart and the halibut. Both were fantastic. Hy husband had the rabbit tenderloin and then the veal tenderloin. Both were served with risotto. He's a huge carnivore. The risotto had a nice bite, al dente, which is the way it is supposed to be served and often isn't. We finished with the white chocolate mousse and the chocolate pot de creme, a nice ending to the meal. The pacing of the meal was perfect. Courses were well spaced. Our server was attentive but not hovering and was very helpful with selections. Will definitely return. Very nice cocktail and wine menu. Can't say enough great things.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Amazing service with extreme attention to detail. Plates were all beautiful and food was out of this world. Very pricey though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We enjoyed our three course+dessert dinner. We love this place. Having the owner and chef visit with us have a great Southern hospitality. We will come back if we come back to Baltimore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We had a great time figuring out what to order so we could get a good sampling from the menu. We ordered a 4 course and a five course meal and were stuffed!! We took food home !!! Each dish was beautifully served and presented. Dinner took us 2 1/2 hours and we enjoyed every minute including a visit from the chef/ owner!

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The single most exceptional dining experience we've ever had!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Jonathan was amazing in his service, knowledge and passion for what he does. He totally took care of us to make sure we had an amazing experience. Thank you!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It is not often that one has the pleasure of being served by such a professional and capable staff. They were all attentive but not intrusive or hurried, and the repeated descriptions of the plates, as they arrived, served as helpful reminders. The food was excellent and beautifully prepared, including the desserts.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The BEST restaurant in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Service and food was impeccable as always. The John Dory was superb and the duck with berry compote was magical. And making a soup out of fresh artichoke was inspired.
Great place for an enchanting evening.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food was good, not great. Multiple dishes were under-seasoned - and in the bland side and I'm not a salt lover. service was top notch as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

BEST RESTAURANT IN BALTIMORE

My wife and I ate at Charleston not long after it opened 20 years ago. It was the best then, and it is even better now! The chef was at the top of her game when we were there this week and the food could not have been better. It is not often you find artichoke soup, cherry soup, and morel mushroom tart on a sable cookie crust, and they were all perfection, as were our other dishes. The wine list was impressive and the sommelier suggested a moderately priced bottle that was terrific with the good. Service was very attentive. We had a quiet table and could view the harbor. Our only regret is we no longer live in Maryland and there were at least 6 dishes that I would have liked to have tried.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The best thing about the restaurant was the wine menu. They had a lot of options at various prices. Unfortunately the food was not a great value. While it tasted good, nothing to write home about, it was not a great value for the money. The portions were small. In fact, I was still hungry after my three course meal, but didn't want to spend another $24 for another small plate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday and the staff of the Charleston was absolutely superlative in every way. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I was reminded why this is one of my favorite restaurants! The food, wine and service were excellent. The cheese plate was delightful and the portions were generous.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Our favorite Baltimore restaurant.
Patrick is 5 star so attentive to detail

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have enjoyed an anniversary dinner with friends at Charleston every year for the last 10 years. Never a miss--always a highlight.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Hands down the best restaurant in Baltimore!
Enjoyed it tremendously!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

😍😍😍 lovely service, great chef menu, pastry chef presents beautiful options as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Charleston is a superb restaurant. Dinner is a wonderful experience because of the fabulous food, the professional but friendly staff and the overall ambience. It is a special spot, albeit an expensive one!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Absolutely Loved it! We were celebrating our 41st Anniversary. The hostess and server couldn't be more pleasant. The server, Jonathan, was patient and helpful. Loved the view, food, and elegance! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My wife and I had a magnificent experience tonight! I enjoyed the lobster soup, scallops, fried oysters, and the most tender cut of beef I've had in a long time. She had a delicious artichoke soup, salmon, and a green tomato sandwich. Our servers absolutely spoiled us from beginning to end and we're already planning our next visit. Truly a night to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Extraordinary dinner, everything prepared to perfection. Staff was attentive, professional and polite. One of the country' finest gourmet restaurants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 15, 2017

My SO and I went to Charleston for an anniversary. We had drinks first at the bar and then were seating in the dining area. Our menus said "Happy Anniversary" - a small but meaningful touch. We had one 4-course and one 3-course dinner - both with wine parings. We shared everyone so that we could each taste a wider range of the menu. It was all delightful - I was especially a fan of the fried oysters and the lobster curry soup.

We will definitely come back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I have been fortunate to dine in very fine restaurants worldwide. Charleston is probably at the top outshining other regional notables like The Inn at Little Washington. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Can sum this up in one word... WOW! I loved that the entire menu was open to choose from, with the hint that it goes from heavy to light. I wanted one of everything! It ALL looked good. But I was very happy I only picked 3! Portions are not small AND dessert came with it too!
We drove over from DC and it was WELL worth the trip.
One more single word: GO!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The Charleston restaurant staff provided a fantastic and delicious meal with superb service for a special anniversary dinner. The attentive service started even before we entered the door w an efficient parking valet and then the maitre'd was at the door to greet our party. The dinner was creative and the ingredients were exceptional. Matt helped us with a special arrangement and Jonathan was an impeccable waiter. Really, it was an amazing evening and a dining experience I didn't realize was still available.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Charleston is far-and-away the best restaurant in Baltimore.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 13, 2017

 For the past 20 years, every special occasion and major family event has been celebrated at Charleston. We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary there and things just keep getting better and more interesting each time we visit. Chef Wolf is just an incredible artist in her kitchen. The food is not only delicious but brings together a southern inspired menu with a classical French influence. The turbot and lamb were both truly perfection. The soft-shell crabs were divine. Once you have tasted the Chef’s cornmeal-fried oysters you will never be able to eat them anywhere else again. The coconut cake on the menu at the moment is not to be missed. It is truly a little slice of heaven.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We were very happy with our experience. The service was exceptional in every way - from valet to table clearing. It is obvious that all staff are well trained and it shows in so many ways. Lighting, comfort, privacy/sound levels all just right. We had hoped that the food would meet our expectations (which it definitely did!) - but service and ambiance took the entire evening to another level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service there is in a slow decline to average I fear. Saturday's dinner was a rushed affaire without the hallmark Charleston care. We got there in advance of our reservation to have a cocktail - they offered a table instead. Fine. We had not had two sips of our drinks and they were pushing for our order. The first courses came flying out of the kitchen before we were half way through our drinks (and it wasn't even our reservation "time" yet. Barely 10 minutes had passed.) We chose the wine pairing, but no wine arrived. No bread. No sign of our server. I finally flagged someone down. They tried to collect our plates the moment I put my fork down ( with food on my plate - I wanted a sip of water for crying out loud!) The next courses flew at us with such rapid succession that I finally said to our server that we wanted to catch our breath before ordering dessert. I don't know what's up - this was my second visit in 2 months and I'm seeing a troubling trend...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.