Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Charleston

Tony Foreman & Cindy Wolf's Charleston is located on the waterfront in the burgeoning Harbor East neighborhood. Chef Cindy Wolf is a three-time finalist for Best-Chef, Mid-Atlantic by The James Beard Foundation. Her award-winning, contemporary cuisine is rooted in the regional cuisine of France and traditions of the "Low Country" area of South Carolina. Chef Wolf's commitment to fresh, local, seasonal products is reflected in the prix fixe tasting menu, which changes daily. The menu is complemented by an award winning wine list of more than 700 fine wines, which are displayed in the wine library and are chosen by co-owner and wine director, Tony Foreman. An elegant yet comfortable ambiance & luxurious service complete the extraordinary dining experience.

1000 Lancaster Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Saturday: 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 332-7373

Website:
http://www.charlestonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.

Executive Chef:
Cindy Wolf

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining spaces available for intimate celebrations, highlighted by the exquisite cuisine of award winning chef, Cindy Wolf. The cuisine is complemented by an 800+ label global wine cellar. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with water views.

Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (110)
Romantic (93)
Good for Anniversaries (85)
See All
Notable Wine List (75)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Good for a Date (68)
Creative Cuisine (65)
Quiet Conversation (60)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Worth the Drive (46)
Business Meals (35)
Tasting Menu (34)
Cozy (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Authentic (25)
Waterfront (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Seasonal (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Private Room (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Scenic View (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Healthy (7)
People Watching (4)
Fun (3)
Organic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (1)
Casual (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
2953 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Exquisite! Food was excellent, better than expected.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Not bad. Chef Cindy did me good. Great foie gras incorporation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

This was probably in my top 5 meals of all time. Just a really nice place to celebrate a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 19, 2017

From the moment we arrived, the service was impeccable. Loved the vast array of choices on the menu; I decided to push the limits and try six courses (which I found to be decently priced), and though I was beyond full, it was well worth tasting each of those dishes. This James Beard finalist chef truly earned that honor; the meal was delectable from beginning to end.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I knew from
The minute we walked in it was our kind of place.....quiet, elegant, friendly and Great bar.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants we have every eaten at from all around the world. The food and service are just outstanding. The menu is wonderfully unique. If you want something very special you must go.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I selected this restaurant based on reviews---and I was not disappointed. Took an important client here who I have a great relationship with. Had I not, it might have been a bit awkward as it is an intimate place. So perhaps not great for a new client meeting unless you know the client well. Do NOT get me wrong...everything about this place was top notch. The service was impeccable. The entire waitstaff team was amazing. The food, so so so so so sooooooooo good. The bartender when to CIA for heaven's sake. we really had a great time. I would take a date here for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our favorite place in Baltimore . Fabulous food! Will go every time we go to Baltimore

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We are amazed off how Charleston can maintain such an outstanding level of culinary innovation for such a long time! Our mother's day experience was in par with all our previous visits. An experience never to be forgotten and always longing to repeat!
Thank you chef Wolf and all Charleston personnel for making our dinning with you such a delightful experience once again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Each member of the Charleston staff from the Valet Parking Attendant, to the Greeters, each of the Wait Staff, Sommelier and everyone in the Kitchen was superb. The pace of the meal was perfect. Everything was stunningly presented and the food surpassed our taste expectations through each course. It was a wonderful way for me to be treated to a Mother's Day celebration. It will easily become our favorite place to celebrate special occasions. Thank you!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was our second visit to this restaurant in less than a month. Since we live in the Boston area we're not exactly locals! Dinner was fabulous, as it had been 3+ weeks earlier, and the wine selections are quite impressive as well. We enjoyed a 4-couse (+ dessert) menu i which each dish was beautifully prepared.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The service was fantastic, the room was very quiet (a request I had because my husband has hearing aids and to which they responded). The food was absolutely exquisite!!!! I absolutely loved this restaurant! The chef's visit to our table was the icing on a delicious cake!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Anybody who has doubts about putting Baltimore on the culinary map need only go as far as restaurant Charleston. Perhaps it is simply fortuitous that Michelin recently rated Washington DC restaurants or, maybe, the powers-that-be at Charleston saw it coming and went the extra length in anticipation of a high Michelin rating. For whatever reason the restaurant is steeped in perfection in all categories. Joining the world class wine list and service is an exquisite menu which includes a very flexible, custom multi-course tasting menu which ensures that the diner is enraptured from first to last bite. In other words there is no way to go wrong when you are able to select the number of savory courses from the entire menu. Charleston is a brilliant culinary gift on its way to multiple Michelin stars.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Outstanding occasion. Exquisite service, , beautiful présentation, delicious food, all staff were courteous and helpful. Table settings were impeccable. It appeared all guests were pleased and enjoyed the experience. It all appeared easy and smooth, seamless. The menu was beautifully written and thoughtfully planned to the last detail . Each dish is magical!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The Charleston restaurant was one of the best restaurants I have ever been to in my life. It was very high end but not too expensive. It was well worth it.

The chef had incredible combinations of food styles merging southern food, French food, and Argentinian. The fusion dishes were so great, every bite was a treat.

It is the perfect date night or business meal occasion.
The staff was perfectly helpful, attending to all details without being overbearing.

The best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Second visit to this outstanding eatery. Surely among the top 100 in the world. I will go again, but like first time the red wine was too cold to enjoy properly. If you are use to dining and drinking in Europe you will understand. Regardless, kudos on top of kudos to Cindy and the team for the food!!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We received gift certificate to the Charleston for our wedding, and it was probably the best gift we received. Personally, I am not a huge wine drinker, but bucking up and paying the extra $$ for the pairings is well worth it (granted we had a gift certificate so much easier said than done). I never truly understood or respected the concept of food & wine pairings until this dinner. I don't really know the best way to say this, but the food brought out the flavor in the wine, and the wine increased the flavor of the food. It was incredible.

Hats off to Chef Wolf for designing and preparing a magnificent menu. Great variety, stellar prep and presentation, and although a bit pricey, you get your money's worth. My wife and I were both pleasantly surprised by the portion sizes. Generally we have seen/had similar dining experiences where the food was great (not this great!), but expensive and you left hungry. Well, we did all we could to get up from the table, granted we had 4 courses (you can choose up to 6), the cheese platter, and could only split one dessert (which comes with the dinner so keep that in mind). But we are talking legitimate portions. I could go on for days about each course we had (we each selected four different menu items), but it would take too long. The best thing you could do is try it yourself. You won’t regret it!

Oh and lastly, if you can muster up the gastric space, do not forego the cheese. So many to choose from, but worth every penny.

A++++

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Healthy, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Spectacular dining experience. When I asked about the best Baltimore had to offer, the Charleston was at the top of everyone's list. The food and wine, service, and atmosphere did not disappoint my party of four in formal wear for a special occasion. No effort is spared by the Chef and her team to provide an exquisite experience, so this is the experience you are looking for when no expense is spared.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Charleston never disappoints. Cindy Wolf continues to concoct wonderful seasonal dishes served impeccably and paired with amazing wines. Whether dining for fun, business, or a special occasion, this is Baltimore's finest restaurant. In addition, with their five Baltimore restaurants, Tony and Cindy have introduced Baltimoreans and visitors to superb cuisine!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food, beautifully presented and excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My wife and I went to the Charleston for our anniversary. It was amazing! The wait staff was very attentive. We were always offered a variety of complimentary bread, but we only sampled twice. We were offered a choice of 3, 4, or 5 course meals; but the waitress made a point of saying we could chhose as many or as few courses as we liked. The meals were a la carte. We each selected a three course selection, which to our surprise was plenty filling! We shared a desert. We chose to pair our meals with a wine pairing of their selection because we don't know a lot about wines. That is one area where we recommend not selecting. Most of the pairings were good, but we wouldn't have chosen sherry with our lobster bisque. My wife liked the other two wine selections and wished she would have had one of those from the beginning throughout the meal.

We were super excited that Chef Cindy Wolf came to our table to see how we liked our meal!

I had the lobster bisque, pan seared sea scallops, and duck. My wife also had the bisque, but had an oyster dish not on the menu, and I think grilled scottish salmon. All the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I loved the food! And the atmosphere too

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Charleston has to be one of the best restaurants in the DC/Baltimore metro areas!! Notice I said DC as well.. From the start to the finish, everything was perfect. Thank You Cyndi Wolf for bringing such a fabulous restaurant to our region !!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The three, four, and five course options allow you to enjoy a variety of delicious menu choices. The corn-battered fried oysters, asparagus, shrimp and grits, and halibut were outstanding, not to mention the wonderful wines accompanying these dishes. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Charleston. It was memorable on many levels, but especially so with regard to the truly outstanding dining experience that we so thoroughly enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food and service was excellent! The citrus martini was outstanding.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Pretty outstanding experience that I highly recommend. Perfect service, food and presentation. Bar makes great drinks and the wine list is stellar. Prices will scare some, but the experience backs it up and, as they say, you get what you pay for. If you love great food and service, don't miss this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This is the second trip to the Charleston. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary today. The Charleston made the occasion very special. The service and food is off the charts!!! Drinks at the bar started the night off with a great note. We had a small hiccup with our reservation and the manger was very quick to fix the problem. I would highly recommend the Charleston to anyone have a special event.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I've been to Charleston several times, during my business trip. One of the best in Baltimore. Great experience every single time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at Charleston. Everything is perfect from beginning to end. Food is fabulous and staff are the best trained in Baltimore.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My favorite restaurant anywhere. Exquisite food and thoughtful, attentive service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 2, 2017

What can I say that hasn't already been said by hundreds of others? Superb in every way! Great menu selection, unbelievable service, lovely decor, and food that exceeded expectations! We can't wait 'til we go back again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, People Watching, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is easy
Jut plain old AWESOME!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic, met our expectations. Worth the price. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The staff treated my daughter like a Queen for her Birthday!!!! She was one very happy, 12 year old.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Celebrated our Anniversary! Everything was excellent, service, food and decor. Highly recommended!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

An unforgettable dining experience. The cuisine and wine pairings were exquisite and the service exceptional. Chef Cindy even took time to greet us. There is no question as to why Charleston comes so highly recommended.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Awesome food served by an awesome staff. We had a wonderful meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Absolutely perfect every time I go...menu is varied and superbly prepared. And the service is impeccable. You will not be disappointed...this is my place to go with special friends who enjoy sampling some delicious and innovative food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Fabulous dinner

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.