About Charleston

1000 Lancaster Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Tony Foreman & Cindy Wolf's Charleston is located on the waterfront in the burgeoning Harbor East neighborhood. Chef Cindy Wolf is a three-time finalist for Best-Chef, Mid-Atlantic by The James Beard Foundation. Her award-winning, contemporary cuisine is rooted in the regional cuisine of France and traditions of the "Low Country" area of South Carolina. Chef Wolf's commitment to fresh, local, seasonal products is reflected in the prix fixe tasting menu, which changes daily. The menu is complemented by an award winning wine list of more than 700 fine wines, which are displayed in the wine library and are chosen by co-owner and wine director, Tony Foreman. An elegant yet comfortable ambiance & luxurious service complete the extraordinary dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Saturday: 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 332-7373

Website:
http://www.charlestonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.

Executive Chef:
Cindy Wolf

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Private Dining spaces available for intimate celebrations, highlighted by the exquisite cuisine of award winning chef, Cindy Wolf. The cuisine is complemented by an 800+ label global wine cellar. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with water views.

Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Food
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Service
Baltimore / Maryland
11 More
Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
Best Food
Baltimore
Best Service
Baltimore
Best Ambiance
Baltimore
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Romantic
Baltimore
Special Occasion
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

special occasion (142)
fit for foodies (115)
notable wine list (110)
See All
romantic (107)
good for groups (21)
neighborhood gem (20)
scenic view (10)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The asparagus soup, scallops, and turbot ...

Dined 2 days ago

The asparagus soup, scallops, and turbot were all amazing. The staff is focused and helpful without being intrusive. A pleasure to dine here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Beautiful Evening

Dined 3 days ago

While visiting Baltimore, looking at the restaurant ratings we chose Charleston as being near the best. It met that expectation. Ambiance superb. Food and wine pairings inspired. We both had crab cakes, just because. She had filet, I had lamb and we called it a draw as to which was better. The surprise bonus calamari was perhaps the best . A fine meal that will be remembered for many years. Thanks Charleston..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The pricing is on the high end without m ...

Dined 6 days ago

The pricing is on the high end without much of a reason to be in my opinion. The food is great, the kitchen clearly puts in the time and effort to make it one of the most memorable dinning experiences. However, the size and portions of the meals to equal around $25 per plate is not a great value to me as a pork tenderloin ends up costing as much as a soup or salad. I believe individualized pricing would be more likely to get me to return to the restaurant. That being said, it is a great experience to have at least once.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was impeccable. The food wa ...

Dined 6 days ago

The service was impeccable. The food was extremely good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience - food and service ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful experience - food and service were great!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The music is missing. Light jazz not lou ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The music is missing. Light jazz not loud to accompany the dining experience would add value. The visibility to kitchen is not good. I should not hear or see it. The deemed light in wine room section is annoying and takes the comfort away, putting a sleep. The service and very well trained staff is noticeable accomplishment. The quality of food is the main value .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, great food, great service. A ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

As always, great food, great service. A memorable experience. Expensive but outstanding for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Cindy deserves the James Beard Award

Dined on May 13, 2016

Pure excellence and attention to detail combined with Chef Cindy's caring spirit makes this my top restaurant choice of 2016!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Friends recommended Charleston to us and ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Friends recommended Charleston to us and we celebrated our 20th anniversary dinner here. What a phenomenal dining experience! The staff's attention to detail was impeccable. I highly recommend the wine pairing with each course. Just a great experience!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still a great foodie destination

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We have dined here several times over the past few years, as we pass through Baltimore on our way to/from Boston. We have never been disappointed. The menu always contains some signature dishes (my favorite is the shrimp and grits), but new, seasonally appropriate dishes constitute much of the menu. The wine list is extensive and there are some good values for those who do their homework.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Cindy Wolf pays close attention to ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Chef Cindy Wolf pays close attention to every dish that leaves the kitchen, and it shows. Everything is perfect! This place is pricey, swanky and very worth a visit. The asparagus was to die for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

charleston

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

We had a lovely time at the Charleston. Service and food were impeccable. Freshest steak tartare I have ever had and amazing sweetbreads and quail as well. My only quibble is that the red wines served with our food and wine pairing were too cold. This of course detracted a bit from their flavor. The gilded lillet cocktail I had before dinner was spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing short of Exceptional

Dined on May 8, 2016

Cindy Wolf does not disappoint. The attention to detail in EVERY aspect of the preparation and presentation of the meal was perfect. The food was a delight to the senses , especially with the combined wine pairings that took the meal to another level! The staff is professional yet friendly,are knowledgeable and on top of everything. I love all of the Wolf Foreman restaurants, but Charleston is exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb Mothers Day experience. Wide ran ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Superb Mothers Day experience. Wide range of choices, all up to Charleston standards!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Charleston's has some of the best food we have had anywhere. The tasting portions are generous, and the presentations are intricate. The asparagus soup and fried oysters were incredible and the beef prepartion is out of the world. The wine list is superb. Cindy Wolf is really at the top of her game and derserving of a James Beard Chef Award. The setting romantic, the serice excellent. This is a lovely option for a special occasion or any day. They really went out of their way to help us celebrate Mother's Day.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never tire of this restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is our 4th trip to Charleston. We took another couple to help us celebrate my husband's birthday. The majority of the staff wished my husband a happy birthday, including the valet parker. The food was outstanding , the wait staff amazing and the drinks were wonderful. It will be a while until our next trip but it's always a wonderful evening at the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Easily in my top-five dining experiences of all time. The meal was exceptional, and the sommelier-selected wine pairings for each course are absolutely recommended. I can't wait to go back - the closest I can come to a complaint is that I did not expect to spend three hours over dinner, but they were three hours well spent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our special occasion was our wedding anniversary and so we were sat in the more private dining area. The food, service, ambiance--everything--was amazing and top notch! Would love to go again and again and again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Charleston lives up to its rep.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Charleston is truly a Baltimore treasure. Great food, presentation and wonderful service. Very quiet environment (no cell phone use in Dining Room). No music tracks. Just wonderful food and wonderful wine pairings if you wish. Not someplace I could go monthly - but a great special occasion restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful special occasion dining.

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Wonderful special occasion dining.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

20th Anniversary Celebration

Dined on May 4, 2016

Charleston specializes in prix fixe dinners, 3, 4, 5, or even 6 courses, not counting dessert. We paired our 4 course selections with an available flight of wines. What can I say? Not a single misstep. From the complimentary valet parking, table service, food, and a conversation with the chef herself, Cindy Wolf, everything was exceptional. Pricey, but definitely worth the cost. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined on May 3, 2016

Sophisticated dining in a welcoming atmosphere. Everything was simply perfect. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Over Priced and Over Rated

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I have had Charleston on my go to list for quite some time. Unfortunately it did not live up to the hype. The food was fine, but that is all it was, fine. I was expecting outstanding, sensational, best ever but that was not the case. Food presentation was again fine, but for the price you pay I wanted to be WOWED!! Expect to drop $350+ per couple... and for that there are a lot better places to dine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding in all ways

Dined on April 30, 2016

We heard it was really good and chef wolf has a great reputation and they exceeded our expectations. we were blown away by the incredible food, hospitality and service. Did I say service? Just awesome. There aren't words for how much fun we had learning about and tasting the food and wine in such a intuitive, refreshing and hospitable way. Thanks to Charleston for a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charleston Never Fails to Impress

Dined on April 30, 2016

Going to Charleston is an event. I look forward to it weeks in advance. From the moment you walk through the door the incredible Charleston staff ensures that your evening is memorable. I cannot say enough about Chef Cindy Wolf's menu. Each time we visit Charleston there are new and exciting dishes. Thankfully the Foie Gras remains a constant! Treat yourself - enjoy the understated elegant surroundings and prepare yourself for an evening to remember! See you next year for our 6th anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A minus

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

It is hard to give the "minus", but both of the fish dishes (rockfish and halibut)" were dry. Three of four in the party had these dishes so we are talking about just 3 of 20 total courses. The lobster soup, the asparagus, the duck, the lamb were sensational hits representing 7 of the 20 courses. Service was impeccable as always...a little rushed until we got to the 4th of 5 courses...as noted by our guests. Unfortunately, I need a small loan application when I dine here, but it is worth it. $1K for 4 people including tip. NICE that Chef Cindy Wolf came to our table to say hi!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE STANDARD

Dined on April 28, 2016

THIS PLACE IS THE STANDARD FOR FINE DINING. WITHOUT QUESTION ONE OF THE FINEST RESTAURANTS IN THE US. NOT INEXPENSIVE BUT WORTH THE MONEY IF ONE APPRECIATES FINE FOOD AND WINE. THE WINE MATCHED MENU IS A GOOD START FOR THE FIRST TIMERS.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable

Dined on April 27, 2016

Everything is perfect at this restaurant. Portions are not too big; service is always gracious but unobtrusive. Chef Wolf came out to talk to all the tables and she is just lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down the best fine dining restaura ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Hands down the best fine dining restaurant in Baltimore. The attention to detail is unparalleled. The quality and preparation of the food is masterful, and the service is flawless, yet unpretentious. If you are a foodie, or just appreciate the art and elegance of fine dining--you will not be disappointed. Thank you Chef Cindy and team. You never disappoint! Cheers!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Took a friend for her birthday and we were not disappointed. A wonderful selection on the menu made it difficult to choose...but between us we shared 6 dishes and each one was a delight. Although the menu is described as a tasting menu, the portions can easily be shared by two people. Next time hope to have a few more people go so we can taste even more dishes. Plus our dinner included a wonderful selection of desserts...and a sampling of their creamy asparagus soup. The service was impeccable and the ambiance top notch. Also appreciated the complimentary valet parking. The Charleston goes to the top of my list as a wonderful experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cindy Wolf does it again.

Dined on April 26, 2016

From the amuse-bouche to the dessert everything is outstanding. The only problem is deciding which courses to order. Truly a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best, as always! Charleston is a fav ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The best, as always! Charleston is a favorite of ours for many years and whenever we are in Baltimore we make sure to go.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quality and Service Superb

Dined on April 22, 2016

Although you have four pre fixe price points to choose from, the four course one was more than ample and also included in addition a dessert selection. They are not just small tasting portions but quite generous and especially appealing. Although I had picked a fois gras as one of the choices, our server suggested that I might want to have that just before dessert since it was somewhat on the sweet side. She was correct. Even my quail order was prepared perfectly and afterwards was accompanied by a warm cloth for my fingers... finger licking good! All in all you will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More than Expected

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

The tasting menu was great, the wine was superb, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. My wife and I are foodies and we were impressed with the tasting options 3 through 6. My wife had 3 and I went with 6. The Lobster Soup with Curry was a great starting point with great flavor and generous portions of lobster. Moving on to fresh Artichoke was a nice transition before the Pan Seared Foie Gras with a Glass of Sine Qua Non. Yes, they offer it by the glass. Moving on...Duck then Quail, what a treat the duck was cooked and complemented perfectly with sauce. The quail with saffron risotto was a special dish that I could have had seconds. Finished up with the Lamb that served as a wonderful finally.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding is too weak of an adjective...

Dined on April 17, 2016

I proposed to my fiancee earlier in the evening and we celebrated here. The food and wine will go down just as memorably - they were that good. 5 courses, each one more amazing than the last. I let them pair the wines and that was the best decision as each complemented each dish far better than I could've chosen one bottle. The chef, Cindy Wolf stopped at our table twice. It was a wonderful night out. I don't live in Baltimore, but will make it my business to eat there when I am!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food. Everything perfect, don ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Wonderful food. Everything perfect, done thoughtfully and beautifully. Service was knowledgeable, gracious and welcoming.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is 5 star; cannot go wrong wi ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Everything is 5 star; cannot go wrong with any choice!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every morsel was tasty and correctly seasoned.

Dined on April 14, 2016

When you want the best, invest. You cannot go wrong here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceeded our expectations. Wonderful foo ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Exceeded our expectations. Wonderful food and service! Yum!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

As we walked out of the Charleston, we felt like a king & a queen. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 course dinner. My husband had his with the wine pairings. Each course was a treasure of taste and beauty. Each & every person who was in contact with us was a professional in their area. Our courses included the lobster bisque, fried & raw oysters, duck and beef tenderloin. Every course was perfectly prepared & presented. It's been several years since our last vist & expect we won't wait as long until the next one.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.