About Charleston

1000 Lancaster Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Tony Foreman & Cindy Wolf's Charleston is located on the waterfront in the burgeoning Harbor East neighborhood. Chef Cindy Wolf is a three-time finalist for Best-Chef, Mid-Atlantic by The James Beard Foundation. Her award-winning, contemporary cuisine is rooted in the regional cuisine of France and traditions of the "Low Country" area of South Carolina. Chef Wolf's commitment to fresh, local, seasonal products is reflected in the prix fixe tasting menu, which changes daily. The menu is complemented by an award winning wine list of more than 700 fine wines, which are displayed in the wine library and are chosen by co-owner and wine director, Tony Foreman. An elegant yet comfortable ambiance & luxurious service complete the extraordinary dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Saturday: 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 332-7373

Website:
http://www.charlestonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.

Executive Chef:
Cindy Wolf

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Foie Gras - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Soft Shell Crab - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Fois gras - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
crab cake - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Spinach Salad With Stilton And Apples - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Rockfish Special - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Cornmeal Fried Oysters - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Grouper - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Pan Roasted Diver Scallops - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Creme Brulet - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Grasshopper - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Dessert - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Cheese Cart - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Escargots In Puff Pastry - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Softshell Crab w/ Brown Butter - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Risotto - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
fried oysters - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Buffalo - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
veal sweetbreads - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Bread - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Pan Roasted Turbot  - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Beet Tartare With Capers - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Jumbo Lump Crabcake With Corn - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Lamb With Onions And Carrot - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Rich Lobster Soup - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Chilled Fruit Soup With Panna Cotta - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Shrimp And Stone-Ground Creamy Grits With Tasso Ham, Andouille Sausage, And Fresh Chives - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Assorted Mini Desserts - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Pan Seared Foie Gras - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Cornmeal-Fried Oysters With Lemon-Cayenne Mayonnaise - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Hibiscus Soup With Strawberries And Cucumber - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Salmon Tartare With Cucumber, Lime, Chive And Crispy Potato - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Strawberry Financier - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Tuna Tartare - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Duck Breast - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Rockfish - Charleston, Baltimore, MD
Caramel Gateu - Charleston, Baltimore, MD

Private Dining

Private Dining spaces available for intimate celebrations, highlighted by the exquisite cuisine of award winning chef, Cindy Wolf. The cuisine is complemented by an 800+ label global wine cellar. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with water views.

Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Romantic (55)
See All
Notable Wine List (50)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Good for a Date (46)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Worth the Drive (29)
Tasting Menu (23)
Cozy (21)
Business Meals (20)
Waterfront (14)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Private Room (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Scenic View (8)
Healthy (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Casual (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

You can't go wrong with this restaurant. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

You can't go wrong with this restaurant. The service is impeccable, without being snooty. The food and wine is amazing. Would go back and recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a creative five course meal w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed a creative five course meal with soup, salad, and several entrees. The lobster bisque was rich and delicious with large pieces of lobster. The proteins were infused with complex flavors that added to the enjoyment of the dishes. We had the pleasure of meeting Cindy Wolfe who stopped by our table prior to our dinner. What a charming, creative and interesting person. The dining experience was enjoyable, the ambiance delightful and the food was extraordinary. I can't wait to go back to the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Charleston continues to be the most ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The Charleston continues to be the most extraordinary restaurant in all of Baltimore - if not one of the top restaurants in the entire country. Everything about it is so far and above anything else, it defies comparison. The only negative is the price tag...but, all in all, it seems worth the expense for such an outstanding experience. You just can't put a dollar figure on something that's so out of the ordinary! (And since it's always tough to get a reservation on a weekend, it's clearly a favorite of many who go there for such an experience.)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely superb! Charleston is the def ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Absolutely superb! Charleston is the definition of fine dining. We were in awe and speechless with the food, wine selection and customer service. My husband and I are foodies and we could not find one thing wrong with the chef's selections or the ambience. Chef Wolf is a wonderful person and offers pabulum entrees that are suitable for various occasions. Overall, the Charleston is a 5 out of a 5, with that said treat yourself to an extraordinary date night, anniversary, birthday, or special occasion at the Charleston.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional as usual. Always a family fa ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Exceptional as usual. Always a family favorite for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurant was located near Inner Ha ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The restaurant was located near Inner Harbor in a nice area of town. The service staff was pleasant and accommodating. We did have a bit of a delay at the end of the evening getting our check, but the service was good during the meal. They serve a fixed price tasting menu. The highlights of our meal started with the complimentary mushroom soup. The black truffle risotto was well worth the supplemental fee. The salmon tartar was okay, but I've had better. The same could be said for the salade verte, it was okay, but under dressed. The wild rockfish was the best rockfish dish that I've ever tasted. The grilled beef tenderloin was amazing as well. Overall, it was a great experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything was great!!! Food, service, a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Everything was great!!! Food, service, ambience, location were are perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Scenic View, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and the service g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service gracious and perfectly paced. We had the opportunity to chat with chef Cindy Wolf which topped off a perfect evening. Loved the entire experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing!

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time going. Service w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first time going. Service was impeccable, food was amazing, and the length of dinner was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant in Baltimore. Never ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The best restaurant in Baltimore. Never disappointed and worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best in Baltimore. Cindy is the best in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Best in Baltimore. Cindy is the best in the business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and wine pairings

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food and wine pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, Charleston delivered an incred ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As usual, Charleston delivered an incredible culinary experience. Our server Will was outstanding and provided a series of recommendations that made this one of, if not the best, experience we've had there. Butternut squash soup with chorizo, mozzarella & fried green tomato salad, fried oysters, seared Turbo w/Lobster risotto, and beef short rib made for a delicious meal. No course disappointed and the wine pairings were excellent including a Gewurz that was selected for the soup course. Service was outstanding and we had a wonderful evening. Can't recommend Charleston enough and I remain puzzled why more people don't make the trip from DC to enjoy a restaurant that consistently outperforms the best that city has to offer. See you next December Charleston.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In what has become a tradition, our clos ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

In what has become a tradition, our close friend and we have dinner together at Charleston every Year at Christmas--great food, great wine and great service courtesy of our favorite chef and restauranteurs, Cindy Wolfe and Tony Foreman. We enjoy the now-established format, the exceptional wine list, and the outstandingly prepared variety of traditional and new dishes prepared in Chef Wolfe's impeccable style and taste. We always look forward to a return (which happens several times a year) but particularly to our annual Christmas dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service have both been better t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food and service have both been better there for us. Not sure why they only told us one special while the table next to us got several, and the beef tenderloin was fattier than that cut should be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were celebrating my wife's birthday a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were celebrating my wife's birthday and it was by far the best dinning experience we have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always impressed with Cindy's imaginatio ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always impressed with Cindy's imagination and execution of the exquisitely tasty and beautiful presentation dishes!

It was a pleasure eating in the dining room with many Ravens football players who were perfect gentlemen!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was amazing! I don't think I can head ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

It was amazing! I don't think I can head back to Olive Garden after this, lol. My palette just got upgraded. Worth every penny!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My favorite restaurant.

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience!! I wasn't on board ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Wonderful experience!! I wasn't on board with all the wine selections especially the Sherry with the first course. Loved the food as well! Probably one of the best restaurants I have eaten at in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Truly elegant dining fit for a king and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Truly elegant dining fit for a king and queen. Very expensive but worth it, especially for special occasions. Each dish was incredibly thoughtful with multiple tastes. The amuse bouche of perfectly spiced lentil soup and a tiny roll was a perfect start to a memorable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

So, the food was original and wonderful ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

So, the food was original and wonderful but the best part --- the servers really made us feel welcome and cared for. There were several of them attending to our meal and in some restaurants that arrangement has seemed intrusive and overly fussy. Definitely not here. It was a perfect dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It exceeded my expectations at every poi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

It exceeded my expectations at every point...service, ambience, food and wine pairings. I will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was absolutely amazing. We'v ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Everything was absolutely amazing. We've waited 2 years to dine at this restaurant and it was well worth the wait. We over-indulged at this restaurant And wont make any apologies.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Possibly the best restaurant I have ever ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Possibly the best restaurant I have ever experienced in my 75 years. Expensive but so wonderful in every way. A real jewel for Baltimore.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a wonderful choice for a specia ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This was a wonderful choice for a special dinner meeting old friends. We traveled from Fl and they came from MN and met first for dinner. The venue was elegantly gorgeous, the food choices were absolutely delicious and the service was impeccable.. efficient but not disruptive. There is good reason for Charlestons reputation as Baltimore's best restaurant!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect in every way. From t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Absolutely perfect in every way. From the valet parker to the food to the service to the feeling of total luxury, this is an experience not to be missed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a special birthday there..... ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Celebrated a special birthday there.....and WOW the red carpet was rolled out. Thank you Cindy Wolf and team for making the night spectacular!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for the 6 course! The food and s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We went for the 6 course! The food and service were both amazing! Hope to go back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner. The service ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. The service was fantastic. The food was great. This is definitely a great restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent! Service was outstanding!! Fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent! Service was outstanding!! Food was amazing! Get the artichoke and the rabbit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A lovely dining experience with excellen ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2016

A lovely dining experience with excellent service, delicious food and a view of the harbor as the boats with Christmas lights passed by. Never disappoints for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charleston is a very nice restaurant wit ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Charleston is a very nice restaurant with great food. It's just not my style place. I prefer a louder place with excitement. If you want a romantic place, then Charleston is your place. The service is very nice with a change of silverware after each course. That's just not my style restaurant. The food is very rich and extremely tasty, but the portions are small which is good because with all the fat and butter in every bite, it's good not to eat too much. Every one from the greeter at the door to the bus boy was very friendly and courteous.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Best dining experience we've had in Balt ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Best dining experience we've had in Baltimore, hands down.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive, but worth it. The best dinin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Expensive, but worth it. The best dining experience in the greater Baltimore area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food but very rich and rewarding ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing food but very rich and rewarding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our recent meal at Charleston was absolu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our recent meal at Charleston was absolutely outstanding! It's a very special occasion restaurant, but given the perfection of the food, the level of service, the comfortable luxury of the setting, and the extra touches (amuse bouche, dessert and treats with the bill included) it is worth the price tag. The whole team of staff is a well-oiled machine; they've perfected the art of making you feel well-taken-care-of without being overbearing or stuffy. And the food is completely perfect...favorite dishes were the duck (oh my god), crab soup, and artichoke.

Very highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Why doesn't Cindy Wolf have 3 Michelin s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Why doesn't Cindy Wolf have 3 Michelin stars? This restaurant is a gem! I would rather eat here than the Inn at Little Washington. The food is sublime, the ambiance warm and cozy, the STAFF! Amazing, they don't hover, they know the menu very well, the wine steward was so helpful and knowledgeable. I give it 4 stars, take that Michelin snobs!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive and worth it. Food and service ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Expensive and worth it. Food and service are glorious, down to the finest detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.