Charleston

4.9
3418 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
Tony Foreman & Cindy Wolf's Charleston is located on the waterfront in the burgeoning Harbor East neighborhood. Chef Cindy Wolf is a three-time finalist for Best-Chef, Mid-Atlantic by The James Beard Foundation. Her award-winning, contemporary cuisine is rooted in the regional cuisine of France and traditions of the "Low Country" area of South Carolina. Chef Wolf's commitment to fresh, local, seasonal products is reflected in the prix fixe tasting menu, which changes daily. The menu is complemented by an award winning wine list of more than 700 fine wines, which are displayed in the wine library and are chosen by co-owner and wine director, Tony Foreman. An elegant yet comfortable ambiance & luxurious service complete the extraordinary dining experience.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, French, Low Country
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday – Saturday: 5:30pm – 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(410) 332-7373
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Cindy Wolf
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Exeter Street (in the Thomson Prometric Building)
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is complimentary.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Next to Harbor East Marina, close to water taxi stops.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining spaces available for intimate celebrations, highlighted by the exquisite cuisine of award winning chef, Cindy Wolf. The cuisine is complemented by an 800+ label global wine cellar. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with water views.

View Private Dining Details
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 19 hours ago

Amazing. Surpassed expectations. Welcome was tremendous and Len made our night very special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful meal! Great traditional dishes plus the great seasonal additions often inspired by Chef Wolf’s garden.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Anniversary celebration made even more special by the exceptional kitchen and dining room staffs. Loved the dishes, loved the service. I heard a lot about Charleston Restaurant and yet it still exceeded my expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

An incredible dining experience. By far, it is the best restaurant in Baltimore.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

From the moment we walked in celebrating an Anniversary we were impressed. Very personal service from Chef Wolf and staff maybe only outdone by the food. Fried oysters were perfect! Quail delectable!
Great evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

If I had to choose one word it would be HEAVENLY. This is hands down the BEST dining experience I've ever had. We opted for the four course dinner with wine parings and my son opted for five course dinner. Although we originally planned on wine selection from their impressive wine list (over 1000 labels) glad to have opted for suggested wine pairings which took the flavor to another level. We loved the fried oysters, lobster soup, southern chopped salad, prime beef tenderloin and French quail. We also indulged in a couple selections from the cheese cart which were amazing. Desserts were decadent and we also enjoyed the complimentary treats in between courses to clean our palates. We enjoyed our view of the open kitchen showcasing the talented chefs that made for an unforgetabble experience. Josh took excellent care of us and was an impressive source of knowledge.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

This was our fourth visit to Charleston (lucky us) and dining there continues to be one of the finest experiences in the world. Yes, the world. I've had the good fortune to dine at all of the three-star restaurant in Paris, so that has given me some basis for the belief that Charleston rivals the very best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I had a more than memorable dining experience at Charleston last Saturday. We could not have felt more welcome or well served. The staff were incredibly knowledgeable and professional and I would be remiss not to mention how spectacular each course was. Both Cindy Wolfe and Tony Foreman stopped by our table to say hello and asked about our experience. As a Baltimore native, I feel very fortunate to have such a superb restaurant/institution to help Baltimore shine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

I had not been to Charleston for years since my local customer moved out of Baltimore to Annapolis. My wife and I used to love the restaurant and would recommend it to friends as a must go restaurant when in town. We decided to go to Baltimore for a weekend to get away from the stresses our jobs were putting us through.
Despite more than a few years not going we were welcomed as long-lost customers. The way the menu is directed you can pick 3 to 6 courses with or without wine pairings. My wife and I picked the 5 courses with wine pairings with each one of us picking different items to taste and compare with different foods and paired wines. The experience was even better then we remembered, and the food and wine pairings were incredible.
If you want to be pampered with fine food and service, this is the place in Baltimore.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

This was truly a special occasion - 50th anniversary. The service was superb and the food was excellent. It is expensive, but very much worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Everything was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Food was amazing! Beautiful wine list! Staff was incredibly attentive, right there just before we needed anything. We will be back and recommend Charleston highly -

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Enjoyed chatting with our server about wines in general and appreciated his pairings with desserts. My wife enjoyed the cheeses instead of dessert--a very nice accommodation. Each dish was exquisitely prepared and presented. The wine pairings were well matched to their respective dishes and the variety was excellent. The premier cru we enjoyed before dinner was a great start.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Have Been coming back again and again over the past 8 years and it continues to deserve the claim as the #1 restaurant in Baltimore. The service and the knowledge of all who work there concerning the food, its ingredients and preparation is the best of any where. The food gets 5 stars in whatever category you want to rate - freshness, preparation, quality of ingredients, taste, presentation, etc. The experience at Charleston is a Dining Experience which allows you to enjoy the totality of the evening and the person with whom you are sharing the experience at the right pace, with the right amount of attention in an atmosphere that lets the food and the wine embrace you. Made our 48th anniversary just a little more special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Service is superb!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great as always. This is likely the best restaurant the City has to offer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Went for a birthday dinner and was pleased with the food and the service. Definitely not a cheap place to eat, but having spent a similar amount of money at a Michelin Star restaurant that left me really underwhelmed, I think it was worth the cost.

Specifically enjoyed the lobster soup and the steak tartar. The only regret I have is ordering the pot de creme instead of the passionfruit creme brulee.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Excellent service and experience. Everything was delish. Definitely go for the experience. Take note of dress code. Not your average restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Chef Wolfe does not disappoint! Even my picky daughter (age 14) found flavors she couldn't resist. Always a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Always an exceptional dining experience here. The “make your own” menu allows each diner to create his/her best blend of dishes. Our waiter suggested the order in which the dishes were presented. This was great because no dish was overwhelmed by the previous one. We noticed a few new dishes and absence of old favorites. This made this visit different from before. Cindy Wolfe is truly a gifted chef.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Everything was spectacular from the moment we walked in the door until we left, pleasantly full. Service excellent, the chef engaging, the food wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Our experience at the Charleston was first class. We really enjoyed our time there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Amazing, refined modern interpretations of Soul food . lobster soup , fried tomatoes and pork were good . Prawn ceviche was a bit boring though . Free desserts thrown in too .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Charleston always delivers. The food is spectacular, with an outstanding wine list. The prix fixe menu can also be combined with their suggested wine pairings. The menu is very created, with its roots in southern cuisine. Very nice ambiance, especially for romantic occasions. All of Cindy Wolf's restaurants are fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Amazing experience. It's undoubtedly the best resto in Baltimore. Food is impeccable, wine pairing is on point. You can see everything is prepped and done with great thought.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

An amazing Culinary experience. I felt like the critic, Anton Ego, from the movie Ratatouille with the comment "They have rocked me to my core". I was astounded by the cuisine and its perfect pairing of wines. I enjoy fine dining and Charleston has risen right to the top of my list.
I selected the Salmon tartar as my first course, the sweetbreads with risotto (complete amazement ) as my second and the Duck with lentils and foie gras (ROCK ME TO MY CORE). I look forward to visiting Baltimore again and enjoying other items off their menu. The menu is created on a daily basis so its not the same every night. Atmosphere was perfect for a quit dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

CHARLESTON is simply spectacular. The menu is diverse and easy to navigate—and the wine list extensive and well balanced for region and price. The restaurant is supported by a well disciplined and accommodating staff who insure that the owners’ expectations are achieved. We had two evenings of dinners and were A+ impressed all the way around!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We were in Baltimore just for one short weekend - we searched for the best reviews of restaurants and found Charleston. Not only did it not fall short, it far exceeded our hopes. This was one of the best and most enjoyable meals ever and we are used to going to multi-starred restaurants all over the world. The food was divine!!! The service, both friendly and professional, the room comfortable and quiet, and the drinks excellent. The chef even stopped by to say hello and provide a recipe. If you are in Baltimore and enjoy fine dining, do not miss this wonderful restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Awesome! We have. Wonderful time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Our fav spurge spot, never disappoints after a dozen or so visits

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Charleston is the best restaurant in Baltimore and one of the very best anywhere. We live in Connecticut but have dined at Charleston frequently since it opened 20 years ago. The food, service, ambience and wine list are all superb and compare very favorably to the best restaurants in New York or Paris. Chef Cindy Wolf is wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Probably the best food at a restaurant I have ever had. In addition to the food, incredible wine list and super service. The restaurant is extremely expensive, but for a special occasion it is well worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

I have eaten many meals in Baltimore over many years, but I think the meal we had at Charleston ranks as the best I have ever had in this city. The chef was in the house and on her game. The service was attentive without being cloying, and the food, from the calamari beignets at the start to the panna cotta in strawberry soup at the finish, dazzled us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Dining at Charleston restaurant is always enjoyable. The service, food and wine is always right on point.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Another great experience at Charleston. My wife and I chose the 5 course option and even though we have been to Charleston a number of times, both of us were once again impressed with the aim for perfection, and their ability to wow us with flavours. Highly recommend for either a special occasion or for a group looking for an amazing food experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Amazing meal. My third time there and they are a reason to come to baltimore

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

The whole dinner was wonderful. We each had the 3 course option with wine pairing. Food and wine were all delicious. One of us is vegetarian. There were multiple options that were satisfying and tasty. The wines were delightful. I would highly recommend Charleston for a special evening out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Everything and everyone was superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The old adage "you get what you pay for" rings true for this special dining experience. It's both elegant and welcoming. The service is attentive and helpful without hovering. The food ... oh the food, was such a treat. You may find this silly, but the thing that most impressed us was the quiet. We sat outside the open kitchen which was calm, but disciplined. The people creating our food had smiles on their faces. They are joyful in their creations and you can taste that difference. Also, you will never hear the sound of pans or dishes coming in contact with any surface. I have no idea how they do it. I'd forgotten what it was like to dine with someone where you could have a conversation without needing to raise your voice.

More on the food: They are more than willing to make special accommodations. My wife is a vegetarian with a corn sensitivity which I mentioned in my reservation. They reached out in advance to clarify that they typically use corn oil in any fried preparations, but would be willing to make any necessary changes.

Final note on atmosphere: If you are like me, spending this much on dinner is only for very special occasions. If you are at all worried about looking silly or feeling intimidated walking into such a fine dining establishment, you'll feel almost immediately at ease.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

5 stars in every level. Food and service were both next level. Great experience. Don’t miss this one when you are in Baltimore.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
86

Tweets by Charleston