Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About CHARISSE Restaurant

This downtown setting is a chic urban space that is perfect for a lively happy hour, early dinner before seeing a show at the many nearby theaters, a special occasion or just a fun and casual dinner with friends.

1006 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-0000

Website:
http://charissekc.com/

Catering:
CHARISSE is available for catering smaller events, usually 75 or less. Box lunches are also available for business meetings and events. Please call for more information.

Parking Details:
CHARISSE has free covered parking in the garage located at 10th and Main. There is also street parking on Walnut.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop across from the parking garage at 9th and Main.

Executive Chef:
Jason Craine

Private Party Facilities:
CHARISSE has a private room that accommodates up to 22 people for lunch or dinner. The entire restaurant is also available which will accommodate up to 125 diners. In addition, there is an atrium space which will accommodate several hundred. Please call for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jason Craine: (816) 474-0000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

CHARISSE Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Cozy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (0)
Bar Seating (0)
Sort By:
S
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, great service. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We loved Charisse! Delicious, gourmet food in a classy but not pretentious atmosphere. We had the Prix Fixe four course option. I highly recommend this even though it's somewhat pricey. It is worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Food was exceptional as always. They were able to accomidate a big group and we did not experience a long wait time for the food to arrive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Looking for new places to try in KC area. We had 6:30pm reservations and everyone had planned to do the tasting menu. First thing after we order, no crab cakes or crème bur lee. They were not busy and out of stuff at 6:30pm. Service varied from good or fair. Our server was the host, bartender and our server - spread too thin to show his best . The wine pairings seemed to be only the wines by the glass. Also our friends malbec and pinot noir came out so cold they fogged up the glass basically had to sit through dinner waiting to drink after warmed up. Portions were a bit small but was fine. Food was good not over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great place for a casual business lunch. Haven't been there in a while, glad I came back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything here is FABULOUS... and wonderfully-priced. This place is a gem. A 4-course tasting meal UNDER $50? Come ON!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We were looking for a really good place for dinner in KC and were pleased to find Cherise!
We loved the "French" bistro style and what the menu had to offer. My husband started with the French onion soup and it was crusted over with cheese just the way he likes it. My Cesdar Salad was just terrific. I loved the addition of bacon and a fried egg on top. What really made it special was a lemon? vinaigrette bursting with flavor. We split the Rack of Lamb for dinner and it was excellent. It was easily enough to share and plated with beet fettuccini which was perfectly fine but not really to our taste. We shared an excellent creme brulee for dessert.
Our server was excellent, answered questions and made recommentations which we followed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Very Good Food. Server was very nice and helped us choose. He even explained how they cooked the food after serving it to us. Very nice place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My husband and I are foodies, and I couldn't believe how almost every single thing we ordered off the menu was so PERFECT! Everything was very good, and while I've had some of the items better elsewhere, MOST of the food was the best I've ever had anywhere. Amazing. Service was very good, and we LOVE the location being right downtown. Unfortunately, we were a little concerned because it wasn't very busy -- and for a Friday night, we thought it really should have been. I hope it lasts!! Highly recommended. We'll definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We went there before the Symphony and to celebrate my birthday. It was a wonderful experience with delicios food. They prepared my favorite "Lisa" salad even though it was not pn the menu!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Very tasty food with good sized portions! The wait staff was friendly. The Prix Fixe menu was perfect for sharing too!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 25, 2017

My third visit to this place for daily work lunch. The menu changes seasonally. Please forgive me, but I ordered the Pot du Creme for dessert and I could have sworn I was eating Ready Whip over Nutella. I Googled it and most commentary implies the finished project shouldn't be so thick. I held my spoon straight up!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent meal. Great French Dip sandwich. And awesome Quinoa salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

As always, the food was unique, plentiful, delicious, visually impressive, and overall awesome! Service was spot on as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

good food. service good. no complaints. will come again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Wonderful service! Brilliant menu! My taste buds have never been happier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

While the food and service was good, the menu did not match the online menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Stephen and James were both exemplary servers! With the food and the atmosphere it could not be any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Charisse is a great French restaurant! The food is fresh and vibrant! Service was impeccable. It's a wonderful place to celebrate any anniversary or happy occasion!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Downtown French bistro with below average service, I ordered the quiche lorraine with mixed greens + French onion soup. I was pretty disappointed to hear they do not offer escargot during lunch ....not a traditional French bistro. They offer a great daily special with reasonable prices. Based on this day; our server was below average but the food was good. I will try this place for dinner and hope we get a more attentive server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Work lunch with two co-workers on 4/27/2017. Was my second visit and their first. I still like it and they like it now. Wasn't too busy this second trip, but was my first time. Service was excellent as was the food. I had the Crepe Chicken (?) and I'll have it again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our third or fourth experience at Charisse. Every time there is at least one detail that keeps it from being perfect. In this case, our steak entrees were not exactly cold but certainly not hot. I couldn't see the reason, they were not close to being crowded and the fries were very hot. The meal wasn't cold enough to send back and we had a schedule to keep so...
We will return but they need to play closer attention to timing, etc..

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our waiter was very professional, knowledgeable, and efficient. The restaurant is smart , classy and best of all...Quiet and relaxing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

One of our favorite neighborhood spots. Chef Craine has a delectable menu with very tasty creations. I had the Bucatini Bolonegese - the fresh pasta noodles were a very nice surprise. The sauce was well balanced and wonderfully flavorable. The other entree enjoyed was the salmon dish. Perfectly prepared! The flash fried crispy kale was a nice addition. The Manhattan from the bar was excellent. All in all a wonderful visit! We'll be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I've eaten at Charisse for a number of different occasions from anniversaries to dinner with friends and have yet to have a bad experience. The staff is friendly and prompt and the food is creative and delectable. I would highly recommend to anyone seeking an outstanding dining experience!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The french dip and the chicken pot pie are truly fabulous!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great spot for a business lunch. Service was prompt and with minimal interruption of the conversation. Food was well prepared and delivered in a reasonable amount of time. A favorite lunch time spot for business.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We decided to give this place a try. I will say it wasn't a good start. The gentleman when we checked in was not friendly at all, marginally rude. No hello, welcome, do you have reservations (we did) etc. When seated took a while to get greater etc. We almost left. They were not busy at time either. Not a great start. Staff shouldn't treat customers like "what are you doing here?"

Food was ok. We had French onion soup, nothing special not much flavor, not much cheese. Carrot soup, too sweet.

Both had beef Bourguignon. Nice presentation. But not flavor I would expect, the sauce was too thick and was paste before finished eating. Potatoes had little flavor. Food was warm, meat tender.

Really not worth a trip downtown. Staff too rude. Too many other places to get average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was amazing. Would recommend the four course option. A taste of French food with some creativity. The wine pairing was well thought through. My hats off to the chef. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Previous reviews made us skeptical about Charisse but we found the food, the service, and the atmosphere very nice. James was efficient and often checked back to see that everything was to our liking. We'll be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Excellent high quality food. Great location downtown.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great atmosphere to take our new employee to lunch. The food was very good! I left my receipt on accident and they were able to send it to me via email. Awesome customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We have been to Charisse many times and always enjoyed it. However, this last visit may be my last. Trout is our favorite and there was no trout. It just didn't seem like the same place. I wonder if the ownership has changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

A wonderful downtown restaurant--

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. We had a terrible experience there. Our waiter James was extremely rude and looked like he didn't want to be there and assist us, or any of the customers in the restaurant as a matter of fact . My husband got the prix fixe menu and got to select 4 items from the menu - none of them were that impressive or good. I got the rabbit which was aweful -- far too salty! The items are overpriced, the food is not that great, the service is deplorable and the atmosphere is not enjoyable as people who work there make you feel like you are a bother to them. Save your money and go somewhere else - this place is definitely NOT WORTH IT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Went for happy hour....had a number of the appetizers. Food and Drink was good.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Service was outstanding and food exquisite. Sarah really knows how to make her tables feel welcomed and is exceptionally attentive to their needs. The food has a flavor that is comparable to no other and would recommend the Salmon and Lamb to any and all. Be sure to pair wine with your food as it makes every bite more delectable.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was terrible, so we didn't leave a tip. The waitress then called us after we left and asked why we didn't leave a tip. We were honest, yet she was extremely rude that we thought the service was poor. It is unfortunate to be charged $130 for a meal that was fair and receive mediocre to poor service and then have to receive a phone call about the no tip. Extremely unprofessional and pathetic that they need to call because they aren't making enough money that they depend on our only tip to suffice them for the night. We will never go back and are so turned off by the behavior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Contrary to other reviews our service was excellent even though our waiter was also the bartender. The food was generally very good, loved the duck wontons.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Charisse is especially good for pre-theatre and concert meals. In fact it is one of the few good restaurants downtown with reliable parking at no charge. The food is good too. I had pork this time and it was very satisfactory.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.