About CHARISSE Restaurant

1006 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

This downtown setting is a chic urban space that is perfect for a lively happy hour, early dinner before seeing a show at the many nearby theaters, a special occasion or just a fun and casual dinner with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-0000

Website:
http://charissekc.com/

Catering:
CHARISSE is available for catering smaller events, usually 75 or less. Box lunches are also available for business meetings and events. Please call for more information.

Parking Details:
CHARISSE has covered free parking in the garage located at 10th and Main. There is also street parking on Walnut.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop across from the parking garage at 9th and Main.

Executive Chef:
Jason Craine

Private Party Facilities:
CHARISSE has a private room that accommodates up to 22 people for lunch or dinner. The entire restaurant is also available which will accommodate up to 125 diners. In addition, there is an atrium space which will accommodate several hundred. Please call for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jason Craine: 8164740000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

CHARISSE Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (26)
Special Occasion (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Great for Lunch (14)
Romantic (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Positives are close to the downtown conv ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 3 days ago

Positives are close to the downtown convention center area and hotels. Nice interior casual yet chic. Good menu.

Negative was the over 2 hour wait for our food and a bolognese virtually absent pasta. They took care of us by comping the apps and the bolognese pasta issue. Additionally the phone # listed here did not work and our hotel could not find a working number for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

We took a group there when we were atten ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We took a group there when we were attending a convention in Kansas City. This was close enough to the convention center to walk, far enough away not to be packed (we did make a reservation), and the service was really quite excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The red wine was ice cold & they didn't ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The red wine was ice cold & they didn't sub or do anything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent, good service and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was excellent, good service and nice and quiet, able to talk without shouting.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was a bit slow and server never ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Service was a bit slow and server never came to check on us but otherwise good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything thing was delicious! I espec ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything thing was delicious! I especially liked the rounded egg noodle pasta and shrimp served with an 8oz. strip. Best Caesar salad I've had, with anchovies and an over easy egg on the top!! We did the pre fixe with wine pairings. A good deal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lunch was salads and were typically well ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Lunch was salads and were typically well prepared. Tried the fried green tomato salad and it was interesting. Maybe too many croutons and could use more bacon.

Service was quick and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Second time dining at Charisse, unfortun ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Second time dining at Charisse, unfortunately the steak was cold, the insects were distracting, the service was excellent, great selection of wines but nonetheless unlikely to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, service and lovely venue. W ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food, service and lovely venue. We will go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mother, sister and I dined at Chariss ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My mother, sister and I dined at Charisse before a show at the Sprint Arena. The menu selections were outstanding and included French dishes not regularly available at other restaurants. The French onion soup was delicious. I ordered the Bucatini Bolognese, which was OK, but heavier than I expected. My mom ordered salmon, which was perfectly cooked and melt-in-your-mouth delicious. My sister had the house salad, which she said she liked very much. The wine selection was excellent and I enjoyed a basic Bordeaux wine with my meal. Service was professional, although they could have used another server. The ambiance was charming. I will definitely go here again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed a great evening with my two sons ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Enjoyed a great evening with my two sons celebrating my wife's Birthday. The meal was great, service was excellent, and will definitely be back.

Would recommend for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for happy hour and thought it was a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Went for happy hour and thought it was a great value. The service was sub par for a place like this, had to wait on drinks and the check way too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was delicious. The service was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was delicious. The service was not good. We had reservations for our wedding anniversary. We stood at the hostess stand for nearly 10 minutes before someone greeted us. The woman seemed put out to have to seat us. We waited about 10 minutes before our server greeted us. It took another 10 minutes to get our drinks. The simple, uncooked appetizer took about 20 minutes to get to our table. The server only filled our water glasses once even though they were empty often. The server did the bare minimum for a full service restaurant. My husband was very upset with the poor service on our special night and said he never wants to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

We did the prix fixe menu. We each got ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We did the prix fixe menu. We each got an appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. This was extremely good deal as they didn't cut back on the portions by much. The escargot was amazing as were the two salads we got (goat cheese and shrimp). Our entrees were the filet and KC Strip. The filet was very good and the sides that were paired with it were perfect. The strip was overcooked a little but it came with a very large portion of Shrimp Scampi Bucatini. This was excellent and very generous with the shrimp for not being the feature of the plate. I didn't ask but the pasta tasted homemade. The creme brulee and flowerless chocolate cake were a great way to finish off an excellent meal.

We both felt we had plenty of food for $50 a person prix fixe menu. The craft cocktail menu was elaborate as well. This is definitely a place we would return to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our company is in the neighborhood so we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our company is in the neighborhood so we eat at Charisse at least once a week and recommend it often to clients. This was special business lunch and everything was very, very good as always.

Thank you for being there!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I happened upon this spot a few months b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I happened upon this spot a few months back and I love it. We live in the burbs but love to take the drive Downtown to eat here. You can't go wrong, we had 3 different appetizers, everyone ordered a different entree, and had the feather cake for dessert. Love this local restaurant, and you will too. The service was great, friendly, and prompt, and the food, really make a reservation right now!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown continues to attract culinary t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Downtown continues to attract culinary talent. Charisse will be known for its house made pasta, delicious salads, and interesting appetizers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The beet salad and caesar salad were exc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The beet salad and caesar salad were excellent. The scallop dish and the crab cake and shrimp special were both too spicy for our taste. The bolognese was also quite spicy, but that guest likes a lot of heat. All in all, didn't have the subtlety we expect in French cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

A newspaper writeup said Charisse was a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A newspaper writeup said Charisse was a French restaurant.

The food was "odd", and not French, strange presentations and overly spiced hot.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great meal for 8 of us

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were in town for a family reunion with 8 of us dining the night before the reunion including my 91 year old father. Excellent French angled choices of fish and meat sent most of our group to the rack of lamb, a choice they thoroughly enjoyed. Also very good trout on root vegetable salad. We were served very efficiently and with patience for my father. This was a delightful choice which we're glad we made through Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

long wait for bill

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Our server evidently forgot about us. It took 20 minutes to get the bill and about 20 more to get the credit card back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

First time and for sure not our last!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to Charisse with some friends, it was the first time for us. The food was great and the wine was outstanding. I have been back 2 other times within a week. That is how good this place is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The place was nice and quiet. Not busy ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The place was nice and quiet. Not busy at all. The server was stern -- no smiling at all.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good French food in the heart of the dow ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Good French food in the heart of the downtown. A short walk from the street car. A small venue, with a private room, great service and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was really good, especially som ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was really good, especially some nice twists on classics like escargots and gazpacho.

Service was just okay, I would recommend the restaurant for the food, not for the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We really enjoyed this restaurant! This ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant! This was our second visit and we felt it was even better this time. My husband had the halibut with gnocci and it was incredible - my pork tenderloin was done to perfection and so flavorful. Drinks were great and our server, Sarah, took the time and effort to make blue cheese stuffed olives for our martinis! We had the escargot and it was served in a little mason jar - so fun and so delicious! We will be back very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Waited over an hour between our salads and entrees

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Waited over an hour between our salads and entrees. Second time in a row that the kitchen was slow; there won't be a third time. Server was great, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Prix Fixe the right way

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Wow, what a meal. Went here for my birthday and left wondering why I had waited so long to try this restaurant. My girlfriend and I each had the four-course meal and were not only surprised that we could choose anything from the menu, but also by the portions that we were served. Many places will give smaller portions for each course, but Charisse gives you the regular size. Whoa! By the end of the salad course, we were stuffed! The food was excellent and the hostess/waitress was attentive and pleasant. We will be coming back...after a three day fast.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fabulous!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was fabulous, and when we informed our server that we had a limited amount of time due to a theater performance, she put a rush on our order. The food was delivered very promptly, and we were able to relax and enjoy our meal, making it to the theater in plenty of time. We will definitely choose Charisse again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

It is hard to find a place that has such tasty food in this age of mass production and two food distributors. Our dinner was perfect with intriguing takes on old French specialities.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our second time at Charisse

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

We think there must have just been one server in the restaurant the evening that we were there so it took a while to get service. We actually had to go back to the hostess and ask her to send a server to our table. He arrived and wasn't in any big rush. The food was great and once we got the initial service, everything happened fairly promptly. This was a Wednesday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Disappointing

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We based our choice to eat at Charisse based on a published review in a local publication. Unfortunately, our experience did not live up to expectations. We were seated at a table that was placed awkwardly close to another table where one of the other diners was sitting so close to me that it made our conversation difficult. I think that the restraunt may have been short staffed as the service was very slow. The highlight of the meal was the salad, Chèvre. We found it to be delicious. My wife's entree was the Cassoulet . The navy beans were undercooked, as they were very firm. The was not much of the pulled lamb in the dish, and the sausage was a bit dry. I had the 10 ounce ribeye. I was not sure that the cut was even a ribeye, as it was the driest steak I have ever eaten. It was seasoned well with strong flavoring, as was the broccolini. The sweet potato purée was more of a condiment than a side dish. There should have been more of it to balance out the strong seasonings of the steak and broccolini. It will be interesting to see if this restraunt goes the way of EBT. If Charisse doesn't make some changes, it may very well do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Quality food, great options

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We had dinner before the opera, and with a 5:45 PM reservation were able to be done in time for a 7:30 performance. The dinner menu provided plenty of options and there was a soft shell crab special as well. One opted for the cassoulet, which was truly outstanding, a savory melange of lamb, sausage, perfectly seasoned with a blend of French herbs. We would both order this again! The ribbed bucatini was a totally different flavor, perfectly prepared mussels, shrimp and other seafood with a creamy tomato sauce, delicately seasoned with Parmesan and herbs. We were both very pleased with our meals. The price seems very fair for the quality and serving size. The house wine was average, would order from the specialty wines next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Date Night

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Smaller intimate dining area provided a unique menu with a variety of delicious options. Service was excellent, and the presentation was top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, but slow service.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We have eaten at Charisse several times, and this visit was not the best. It did take about 20 minutes for the waitress to take our order, then almost 45 minutes for our food to come out. I would normally not care, but many of the tables around us that were seated later were getting food before us. The waitress didn't come by during this 45 minutes and let us know why there was a delay. I had to go over to the manager and ask how much longer. Shortly after, our food did come out. Once we did get our food, it was great as always. The bill was reduced though because of our wait, so I do feel that they realized the mistake. Because of this, I would return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Très Bon!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Charisse provided a nice meal. The beef and pasta were really tasty as were the craft cocktails. The service was good and the venue/music hip. Overall, a nice evening with good food and friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place was really dead, with only three parties.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

No energy, and the decorations are rather austere. The food was pretty good, but not great. The special which was a fish wrapped in bacon was tasty, but far too much fatty bacon. So the ambience was pretty nil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Amazing lunch. Everything was spot on de ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Amazing lunch. Everything was spot on delicious. Great service and one of KC's best chefs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charisse is a high end French restaurant ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Charisse is a high end French restaurant with excellent cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.