About CHARISSE Restaurant

1006 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

This downtown setting is a chic urban space that is perfect for a lively happy hour, early dinner before seeing a show at the many nearby theaters, a special occasion or just a fun and casual dinner with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-0000

Website:
http://charissekc.com/

Catering:
CHARISSE is available for catering smaller events, usually 75 or less. Box lunches are also available for business meetings and events. Please call for more information.

Parking Details:
CHARISSE has covered free parking in the garage located at 10th and Main. There is also street parking on Walnut.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop across from the parking garage at 9th and Main.

Executive Chef:
Jason Craine

Private Party Facilities:
CHARISSE has a private room that accommodates up to 22 people for lunch or dinner. The entire restaurant is also available which will accommodate up to 125 diners. In addition, there is an atrium space which will accommodate several hundred. Please call for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jason Craine: 8164740000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

CHARISSE Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Romantic (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Private Room (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We arrived at 5:15 for Happy Hour. We we ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We arrived at 5:15 for Happy Hour. We were going to a play....

We barely got out at 7pm and had to cancel our dessert. Not many wait staff and he had a few tables but we waited 40 minutes for our entrees to arrive!!

Highlights were the Truffled fries and the Duck wontons. We both had steak which was good not great. Better service is needed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The Strip Steak was amazing, as were the ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

The Strip Steak was amazing, as were the duck wontons. The music was awesome and the decor nicely cozy but light and modern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

This little gem is marvelous! Every dish ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

This little gem is marvelous! Every dish we ordered was divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was our first time at Charisse and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our first time at Charisse and it was a great experience. The atmosphere is modern and romantic. We were seated a few minutes past our 7 PM reservation, and loved that it was quiet and not bustling. Tables are close together, but it does goes with the ambiance of the restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend the duck wonton, lamb and espresso rubbed fillet (my husband shared a bite). This is definitely a place to go if you are looking for a quiet moment with friends, or a date-night with someone special.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived 6:30 pm on Saturday-- and it ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We arrived 6:30 pm on Saturday-- and it was barely occupied. Got a little busier as the night went along. It was a shame wasn't busier because the food was awesome, good waiter. We enjoyed the ambiance and would definitely come back. Was simply too quiet and not as bustling as it should have been given it's positive attributes.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent, relaxing e ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and excellent, relaxing environment.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charisse has never disappointed to excee ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Charisse has never disappointed to exceed our expectations. The creativity by the chef and kitchen is extraordinary. A neighborhood gem in a growing downtown neighborhood. Charisse is a great place to meet for lunch and a special place to celebrate an occasion for an intimate evening.

Service staff is attention with the knowledge of both their menu and extraordinary service. An earned five star restaurant.

Highly recommended and worth every minute / dollar to get to this wonderful downtown location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our evening. Food was very good ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Enjoyed our evening. Food was very good and our server very attentive. Portions are not large, which is ok with me, but preparation excellent. Not s large wine list, but very acceptable at all price points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great restaurant - food is terrif as is ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

great restaurant - food is terrif as is the service.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed the ambiance. Food was very goo ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Enjoyed the ambiance. Food was very good but my salmon dish was quite salty. Was disappointed that most cocktails had bitters. Most people probably don't enjoy bitters. Would recommend having other options. Would come back again.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We took out of town friends for dinner a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We took out of town friends for dinner and they were very impressed. Great food. Nice atmosphere. Our favorite spot for date night. You can't go wrong. Be sure to try the Pommes Friets they are the best.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Charisse is one of the few restaurants c ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Charisse is one of the few restaurants comfortably situated to attend cultural events downtown. We told the server that we had to make a performance and she put a rush on the order and we got out in plenty of time. The food is generally very good and we plan to return the next time we are in the neighborhood.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A solid dining experience. It's nice to ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

A solid dining experience. It's nice to see that the word is getting out about this restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I've read very positive reviews about Ch ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I've read very positive reviews about Charisse and although I wasn't disappointed it didn't quite reach expectations. Our appetizers, salads and deserts were excellent however our entrees weren't on the same level. My wife had the scallops which were cooked well, possibly a slight bit overdone but the rigatoni and sauce didn't match the delicacy of the scallops. The pasta was too heavy and the red/orange sauce didn't compliment the scallops.

I ordered the lamb which was cooked to a perfect medium rare and the risotto was outstanding, but like the scallops the sauce didn't work. It was overpowering and too salty. It wasn't off too far. It needs to be toned down to allow the lamb to be the star.

I hope the chef considers tweaking the sauces. They are undoubtedly the ingredient that can make or break a dish. Nevertheless I look forward to a second visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. The onion soup was very good. The clam linguini was a bit salty for me, but it was still good. I did like the atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

James has been our server both times we ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

James has been our server both times we have visited the restaurant. He is very pleasant and knowledgeable. We plan on returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I enjoyed another delicio ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed another delicious and creative meal of gazpacho, trout and vegan pasta and look forward to returning in the future.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good except desert and t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The service was good except desert and the ticket were slow in appearing that we were almost late for our concert at the Kaufman--and they knew our show time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Understaffed. We left a tip but they n ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Understaffed. We left a tip but they never said thank you as we left.

Food was ok but nothing outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Everyone in our lunch group was happy wi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Everyone in our lunch group was happy with their French Dip lunches. The service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First of all, I didn't get any opentable ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

First of all, I didn't get any opentable points, Why?? I had a great salad, but my trout was very mediocre and what was served with it. My friends said oh, it's ok, nothing out of the ordinary . I was there once before and proved to be great. Not this time. I eat in other cities and food comes out very fresh looking, presentations are outstanding. Come on folks, if you want us back prove to us great meals.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

One of the best spots in Kansas City! Al ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

One of the best spots in Kansas City! Always good for lunch, dinner, or any other occasion. The staff is great and the food is superb!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food. Loved it

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food. Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First visit and not within or typical ta ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

First visit and not within or typical target zip code because it's located downtown, but there's no doubt we'll make the trip again. Appetizers (3) and entree's (2) were all terrific, and our waiter was professional yet friendly...and went out of his way to accommodate us with selecting appropriate wines. Btw, they have the largest and most diverse cheese/meat combo board in KC...and yes, this was one of our chosen appetizers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good, interesting menu. Good quality ing ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Good, interesting menu. Good quality ingredients. Not everyone likes salt as much as the chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Close to our place of business so freque ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Close to our place of business so frequently used for business meetings - quiet and within walking distance.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was good, not amazing. Service was ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was good, not amazing. Service was far below our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

We split the escargot to begin the meal. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We split the escargot to begin the meal. I told my friend that I thought they are the best in town. However, this trip I did find them a bit on the salty side but maybe that was because the ruby trout I had for dinner was also a bit overly-salted. It was all very tasty, but I do think a little less salt would have been the perfect answer to the meal! Overall, love the selections and the menu. I think it's a wonderful addition to the downtown locally-owned restaurant scene.

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A group of friends who go to dinner mont ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 7, 2016

A group of friends who go to dinner monthly at new KC metro restaurants decided to come back to Charisse to celebrate 2 birthdays. We NEVER repeat restaurants, so there's your first indication that Charisse is great. And the double birthday dinner was fantastic. The server was very knowledgeable and helpful. Based on her insight, most of opted for the rack of lamb entree. Yum. We all loved our food. Charisse does an exceptional job. And the customer service went above the call of duty. Thanks, Jason (chef/owner)!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent birthday dinner! Food, wine, a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent birthday dinner! Food, wine, and service were top notch as usual.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Liam was phenomenal at cooking our food. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Liam was phenomenal at cooking our food. 10 out of 10 would recommend!

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service was awful. W ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was awful. We spent $400 in wine and food and had to ask for everything twice. The guy waiting on us literally hated life. The chef deserves better because his food was amazing.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Positives are close to the downtown conv ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Positives are close to the downtown convention center area and hotels. Nice interior casual yet chic. Good menu.

Negative was the over 2 hour wait for our food and a bolognese virtually absent pasta. They took care of us by comping the apps and the bolognese pasta issue. Additionally the phone # listed here did not work and our hotel could not find a working number for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

We took a group there when we were atten ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We took a group there when we were attending a convention in Kansas City. This was close enough to the convention center to walk, far enough away not to be packed (we did make a reservation), and the service was really quite excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The red wine was ice cold & they didn't ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 15, 2016

The red wine was ice cold & they didn't sub or do anything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent, good service and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was excellent, good service and nice and quiet, able to talk without shouting.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was a bit slow and server never ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Service was a bit slow and server never came to check on us but otherwise good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything thing was delicious! I espec ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything thing was delicious! I especially liked the rounded egg noodle pasta and shrimp served with an 8oz. strip. Best Caesar salad I've had, with anchovies and an over easy egg on the top!! We did the pre fixe with wine pairings. A good deal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lunch was salads and were typically well ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Lunch was salads and were typically well prepared. Tried the fried green tomato salad and it was interesting. Maybe too many croutons and could use more bacon.

Service was quick and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.