About CHARISSE Restaurant

1006 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

This downtown setting is a chic urban space that is perfect for a lively happy hour, early dinner before seeing a show at the many nearby theaters, a special occasion or just a fun and casual dinner with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-0000

Website:
http://charissekc.com/

Catering:
CHARISSE is available for catering smaller events, usually 75 or less. Box lunches are also available for business meetings and events. Please call for more information.

Parking Details:
CHARISSE has covered free parking in the garage located at 10th and Main. There is also street parking on Walnut.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop across from the parking garage at 9th and Main.

Executive Chef:
Jason Craine

Private Party Facilities:
CHARISSE has a private room that accommodates up to 22 people for lunch or dinner. The entire restaurant is also available which will accommodate up to 125 diners. In addition, there is an atrium space which will accommodate several hundred. Please call for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jason Craine: 8164740000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

CHARISSE Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (34)
great for lunch (16)
romantic (16)
See All
special occasion (16)
neighborhood gem (15)
notable wine list (12)
good for groups (12)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious. The service was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was delicious. The service was not good. We had reservations for our wedding anniversary. We stood at the hostess stand for nearly 10 minutes before someone greeted us. The woman seemed put out to have to seat us. We waited about 10 minutes before our server greeted us. It took another 10 minutes to get our drinks. The simple, uncooked appetizer took about 20 minutes to get to our table. The server only filled our water glasses once even though they were empty often. The server did the bare minimum for a full service restaurant. My husband was very upset with the poor service on our special night and said he never wants to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

We did the prix fixe menu. We each got ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We did the prix fixe menu. We each got an appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. This was extremely good deal as they didn't cut back on the portions by much. The escargot was amazing as were the two salads we got (goat cheese and shrimp). Our entrees were the filet and KC Strip. The filet was very good and the sides that were paired with it were perfect. The strip was overcooked a little but it came with a very large portion of Shrimp Scampi Bucatini. This was excellent and very generous with the shrimp for not being the feature of the plate. I didn't ask but the pasta tasted homemade. The creme brulee and flowerless chocolate cake were a great way to finish off an excellent meal.

We both felt we had plenty of food for $50 a person prix fixe menu. The craft cocktail menu was elaborate as well. This is definitely a place we would return to.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our company is in the neighborhood so we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our company is in the neighborhood so we eat at Charisse at least once a week and recommend it often to clients. This was special business lunch and everything was very, very good as always.

Thank you for being there!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I happened upon this spot a few months b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I happened upon this spot a few months back and I love it. We live in the burbs but love to take the drive Downtown to eat here. You can't go wrong, we had 3 different appetizers, everyone ordered a different entree, and had the feather cake for dessert. Love this local restaurant, and you will too. The service was great, friendly, and prompt, and the food, really make a reservation right now!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown continues to attract culinary t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Downtown continues to attract culinary talent. Charisse will be known for its house made pasta, delicious salads, and interesting appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The beet salad and caesar salad were exc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The beet salad and caesar salad were excellent. The scallop dish and the crab cake and shrimp special were both too spicy for our taste. The bolognese was also quite spicy, but that guest likes a lot of heat. All in all, didn't have the subtlety we expect in French cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

A newspaper writeup said Charisse was a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A newspaper writeup said Charisse was a French restaurant.

The food was "odd", and not French, strange presentations and overly spiced hot.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great meal for 8 of us

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were in town for a family reunion with 8 of us dining the night before the reunion including my 91 year old father. Excellent French angled choices of fish and meat sent most of our group to the rack of lamb, a choice they thoroughly enjoyed. Also very good trout on root vegetable salad. We were served very efficiently and with patience for my father. This was a delightful choice which we're glad we made through Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

long wait for bill

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Our server evidently forgot about us. It took 20 minutes to get the bill and about 20 more to get the credit card back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

First time and for sure not our last!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to Charisse with some friends, it was the first time for us. The food was great and the wine was outstanding. I have been back 2 other times within a week. That is how good this place is.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The place was nice and quiet. Not busy ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The place was nice and quiet. Not busy at all. The server was stern -- no smiling at all.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good French food in the heart of the dow ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Good French food in the heart of the downtown. A short walk from the street car. A small venue, with a private room, great service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was really good, especially som ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was really good, especially some nice twists on classics like escargots and gazpacho.

Service was just okay, I would recommend the restaurant for the food, not for the service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We really enjoyed this restaurant! This ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant! This was our second visit and we felt it was even better this time. My husband had the halibut with gnocci and it was incredible - my pork tenderloin was done to perfection and so flavorful. Drinks were great and our server, Sarah, took the time and effort to make blue cheese stuffed olives for our martinis! We had the escargot and it was served in a little mason jar - so fun and so delicious! We will be back very soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Waited over an hour between our salads and entrees

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Waited over an hour between our salads and entrees. Second time in a row that the kitchen was slow; there won't be a third time. Server was great, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Prix Fixe the right way

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Wow, what a meal. Went here for my birthday and left wondering why I had waited so long to try this restaurant. My girlfriend and I each had the four-course meal and were not only surprised that we could choose anything from the menu, but also by the portions that we were served. Many places will give smaller portions for each course, but Charisse gives you the regular size. Whoa! By the end of the salad course, we were stuffed! The food was excellent and the hostess/waitress was attentive and pleasant. We will be coming back...after a three day fast.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fabulous!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was fabulous, and when we informed our server that we had a limited amount of time due to a theater performance, she put a rush on our order. The food was delivered very promptly, and we were able to relax and enjoy our meal, making it to the theater in plenty of time. We will definitely choose Charisse again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

It is hard to find a place that has such tasty food in this age of mass production and two food distributors. Our dinner was perfect with intriguing takes on old French specialities.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our second time at Charisse

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

We think there must have just been one server in the restaurant the evening that we were there so it took a while to get service. We actually had to go back to the hostess and ask her to send a server to our table. He arrived and wasn't in any big rush. The food was great and once we got the initial service, everything happened fairly promptly. This was a Wednesday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Disappointing

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We based our choice to eat at Charisse based on a published review in a local publication. Unfortunately, our experience did not live up to expectations. We were seated at a table that was placed awkwardly close to another table where one of the other diners was sitting so close to me that it made our conversation difficult. I think that the restraunt may have been short staffed as the service was very slow. The highlight of the meal was the salad, Chèvre. We found it to be delicious. My wife's entree was the Cassoulet . The navy beans were undercooked, as they were very firm. The was not much of the pulled lamb in the dish, and the sausage was a bit dry. I had the 10 ounce ribeye. I was not sure that the cut was even a ribeye, as it was the driest steak I have ever eaten. It was seasoned well with strong flavoring, as was the broccolini. The sweet potato purée was more of a condiment than a side dish. There should have been more of it to balance out the strong seasonings of the steak and broccolini. It will be interesting to see if this restraunt goes the way of EBT. If Charisse doesn't make some changes, it may very well do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Quality food, great options

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We had dinner before the opera, and with a 5:45 PM reservation were able to be done in time for a 7:30 performance. The dinner menu provided plenty of options and there was a soft shell crab special as well. One opted for the cassoulet, which was truly outstanding, a savory melange of lamb, sausage, perfectly seasoned with a blend of French herbs. We would both order this again! The ribbed bucatini was a totally different flavor, perfectly prepared mussels, shrimp and other seafood with a creamy tomato sauce, delicately seasoned with Parmesan and herbs. We were both very pleased with our meals. The price seems very fair for the quality and serving size. The house wine was average, would order from the specialty wines next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Date Night

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Smaller intimate dining area provided a unique menu with a variety of delicious options. Service was excellent, and the presentation was top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, but slow service.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We have eaten at Charisse several times, and this visit was not the best. It did take about 20 minutes for the waitress to take our order, then almost 45 minutes for our food to come out. I would normally not care, but many of the tables around us that were seated later were getting food before us. The waitress didn't come by during this 45 minutes and let us know why there was a delay. I had to go over to the manager and ask how much longer. Shortly after, our food did come out. Once we did get our food, it was great as always. The bill was reduced though because of our wait, so I do feel that they realized the mistake. Because of this, I would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Très Bon!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Charisse provided a nice meal. The beef and pasta were really tasty as were the craft cocktails. The service was good and the venue/music hip. Overall, a nice evening with good food and friends.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place was really dead, with only three parties.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

No energy, and the decorations are rather austere. The food was pretty good, but not great. The special which was a fish wrapped in bacon was tasty, but far too much fatty bacon. So the ambience was pretty nil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Amazing lunch. Everything was spot on de ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Amazing lunch. Everything was spot on delicious. Great service and one of KC's best chefs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charisse is a high end French restaurant ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Charisse is a high end French restaurant with excellent cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. We are never disappoint ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Love this place. We are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Another great lunch. Food is very good a ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Another great lunch. Food is very good and service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Really Nice

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The food and service were very good, food was well prepared and plated, no seasoning needed. The atmosphere was wonderful. I would go back for another visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food in Quiet Atmosphere

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Was able to talk to my wife during dinner which is why we went together; something more and more restaurants seem to discourage in favor of excessive noise levels. Reasonable wine list and we had appetizers and salads pre-theater. We wish we'd had time for desert. A very nice experience which we recommend and our #1 downtown restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaraunt in in any town . . . .

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Charisse is conveniently located downtown a few blocks from the Power & Light and easy enough to walk a few blocks from crowds and noise. A great menu for either lunch or dinner, we have found it to always be a treat to ourselves. Charisse has French tradition in its execution and a creative Chef to keep even the patrons pleasantly surprised. The service is first rate and knowledgeable. We have started asking for and taking their recommendations and have never been disappointed. It is our guilty pleasure location that never disappoints. Wlak distance to everywhere you want to be downtown . . . park close to Charisse, avoid the P&L traffic, have a great meal and be the first out of KC when the event ends down in the P&L . . . .you will never be sorry if Charisse is on your agenda for the day.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Filet was tough and under cooked. Dissap ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Filet was tough and under cooked. Dissapointed in the food for the price. Service was good and it's a great location for dinner prior to catching a show. The food however, was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Good enough for one visit

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Sadly, I was greatly disappointed by this restaurant. It came highly recommended but we did not feel it lived up to the hoopla. If you choose to go, just know that "they do things a little differently with food" here. That's the way the server put it. All I know is when I order a rib eye steak, I have a certain expectation. I even asked the server if this was indeed a rib eye. She said yes, they make sure it comes from the very lean area, and they get this reaction to the steak a lot. NOT a good thing, I think. The restaurant was almost empty except for an event in the bar area. It did make for very pleasant, quiet dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Could be better

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Before the name change, we came here a lot more. This was our first time back since then. I kind of felt like everything either stayed the same or got worse, except the drink menu expanded. Mostly, I just felt that some of the prices were a bit high for a dish that was just ok. Specifically the mussels, which use to be my favorite, but this time I wasn't really impressed. Also, all our food, appetizers and entrees, were brought out at once. Maybe just a pet peeve of mine but I really do not like when it happens and was very surprised it happened here. I felt like we were being rushed out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Two of us ordered the Beef Bourguignon , ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Two of us ordered the Beef Bourguignon , it was served with a serrated knife. It was too tough to eat. The knife should have been a clue. I make this at home and mine is always fork tender. We will not be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent food and service. Our waitress ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Excellent food and service. Our waitress was very knowledgeable didn't rush us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Pleasantly Surprised

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I had read about Charisse in some of the local reviews over the last year but had my sights set on another restaurant for this particular occasion. Unable to find a table, we opted for Charisse and were tickled that we did. The menu was generous in its choices, but not over-plentiful. We opted for the prix fixe menu, which basically included almost all selections from the menu. It was certainly a much better value than if we had ordered a la carte.

The appetizers, salads, entrees, and desserts were all exceptionally well-prepared. I ordered the diver scallops that were pan-seared and served with a mélange of interesting selections that complemented the tasty nuggets nicely. The plating was beautiful. My wife opted for a less-exciting rib-eye steak, but it was perfectly prepared with a dollop of a crabmeat salad. The appetizers of smoked salmon, PEI mussels, and escargots were all outstanding, as was my wife's choice of profiteroles for dessert. We could not have been any happier with our meal and will look forward to going back soon and taking some friends with us.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentine's Dinner

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first visit to Charisse. The Valentine's weekend menu was 4 Course with a few selections from each category. We thought the restaurant was charming and the food was good. Our biggest complaint would be the salad was so small you could probably fit it in a small tea cup. I would like to try the restaurant outside of this special package, perhaps the salad size is only for this multi course menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful Valentines menu. Best meal I'v ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Wonderful Valentines menu. Best meal I've had all year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.