Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About CHARISSE Restaurant

This downtown setting is a chic urban space that is perfect for a lively happy hour, early dinner before seeing a show at the many nearby theaters, a special occasion or just a fun and casual dinner with friends.

1006 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-0000

Website:
http://charissekc.com/

Catering:
CHARISSE is available for catering smaller events, usually 75 or less. Box lunches are also available for business meetings and events. Please call for more information.

Parking Details:
CHARISSE has covered free parking in the garage located at 10th and Main. There is also street parking on Walnut.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop across from the parking garage at 9th and Main.

Executive Chef:
Jason Craine

Private Party Facilities:
CHARISSE has a private room that accommodates up to 22 people for lunch or dinner. The entire restaurant is also available which will accommodate up to 125 diners. In addition, there is an atrium space which will accommodate several hundred. Please call for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jason Craine: (816) 474-0000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

CHARISSE Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.7

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Quiet Conversation (16)
Romantic (13)
Business Meals (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent high quality food. Great location downtown.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere to take our new employee to lunch. The food was very good! I left my receipt on accident and they were able to send it to me via email. Awesome customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We have been to Charisse many times and always enjoyed it. However, this last visit may be my last. Trout is our favorite and there was no trout. It just didn't seem like the same place. I wonder if the ownership has changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A wonderful downtown restaurant--

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. We had a terrible experience there. Our waiter James was extremely rude and looked like he didn't want to be there and assist us, or any of the customers in the restaurant as a matter of fact . My husband got the prix fixe menu and got to select 4 items from the menu - none of them were that impressive or good. I got the rabbit which was aweful -- far too salty! The items are overpriced, the food is not that great, the service is deplorable and the atmosphere is not enjoyable as people who work there make you feel like you are a bother to them. Save your money and go somewhere else - this place is definitely NOT WORTH IT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Went for happy hour....had a number of the appetizers. Food and Drink was good.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Service was outstanding and food exquisite. Sarah really knows how to make her tables feel welcomed and is exceptionally attentive to their needs. The food has a flavor that is comparable to no other and would recommend the Salmon and Lamb to any and all. Be sure to pair wine with your food as it makes every bite more delectable.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The service was terrible, so we didn't leave a tip. The waitress then called us after we left and asked why we didn't leave a tip. We were honest, yet she was extremely rude that we thought the service was poor. It is unfortunate to be charged $130 for a meal that was fair and receive mediocre to poor service and then have to receive a phone call about the no tip. Extremely unprofessional and pathetic that they need to call because they aren't making enough money that they depend on our only tip to suffice them for the night. We will never go back and are so turned off by the behavior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Contrary to other reviews our service was excellent even though our waiter was also the bartender. The food was generally very good, loved the duck wontons.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Charisse is especially good for pre-theatre and concert meals. In fact it is one of the few good restaurants downtown with reliable parking at no charge. The food is good too. I had pork this time and it was very satisfactory.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Most excellent!! We had a wonderful meal. Grace was an delightful and superb server!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Love this place. Everything about it makes it one of the top restaurants in KC

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Waiter,James was rude and we actually had to go get him to order because he was talking politics at the bar.

Food was spectacular!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

People count on me for selecting good restaurants because I always try them first. This time everyone thought I failed. 4 out of the 8 meals were prepared wrong, one came out cold and came back hot and overcooked. A chef should know fish and steak. Plus the waiter was very cold and almost completely complacent. So very disappointed in this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I thought the restaurant was pretty cool. Good area, high ceilings, etc. Service was just OK. but I got the filet and I thought it was real good. The side was not very good however.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have been wanting to try this restaurant for a while. I have read the food is good but the service lackluster. I have to say that I agree. None of the staff made me feel like they were glad we were there. The bar was filled with either friends of the staff or regulars; that is where most of the attention was directed. Our waiter made me feel "tolerated." The service was a bit rushed. We had four courses and were there less than 90 minutes. The restaurant was so empty at 7:00 on a Friday evening that is was sort of sad. It definitely made me think about leaving before we were seated. At most there were four couples. By the time we left, we were the only diners there. The food was good but not inspired. I can't imagine this restaurant will last unless things change significantly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our visit started out with promise -- the place was warm and friendly, low noise level. Our waiter was initially attentive, taking and delivering drink orders promptly. We also received a complimentary light appetizer of chopped spinach and ricotta on toasted focaccia that was delicious. Soups were good as well. after that, the evening deteriorated. It took 15-20 minutes to get our entrees, and neither the steak nor the lamb chops were up to our expectations. We chose not to stay for dessert, which we had originally planned to do. Overall an uneven experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was very matter of fact. Not friendly, suggestive or supportive of menu/wine questions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The food was good and it would've been very good if there wasn't too much sugar in it. The carrot/ginger appetizer was way too sweet, the orange juice was too sweet and the sauce on top of the Salmon was too sweet. The Salmon was perfectly cooked, though.
Service was very cold. They need to loosen up and warm up a bit. They did not make me feel I was welcome in the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Always a good spot for lunch. Service is prompt and food quality is consistently well prepared. Food was served hot and everyone enjoyed their entree.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Unfortunately I looked at reviews last night. We should have cancelled and gone somewhere else. Our evening started with no one at the host area. Finally greeted, if you want to call it that, after about 5 minutes. We waited to be seated another 5 minutes even though there were open tables. After being seated we waited 15 minutes before being offered anything. No menus, drinks, etc. We were actually discussing where we should go as we were going to leave. Finally offered drinks by our server. He was in a very foul mood. Definitely didn't want to be there. We decided to order dinner quickly since we may not see him again. This was restaurant week . Restaurant was busy. When we finally got our food, the flank steak frites, it looked very good. For $33.00 we had maybe 3 ozs of steak and French fries. Oh I forgot, started with a quarter cup of soup the. An apple tart for desert. So overpriced.

Funny thing, we found out when laying out bill that our sour server was the manager. Sorry, but if you're having a bad night, the customer should never know. This is a very coo, space but probably won't be returning. Obviously from previous reviews, service is a huge problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The bread, butter and tomato bisque were delicious! My entree came out barely warm, which was disappointing. Great wine list. Mediocre service. I'll probably give it another try.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We were seated in the bar next to the door despite lots of seating in the dining room, so the noise level was higher than it would have been otherwise. Excellent food. Service not as good as expected. Not crowded despite being restaurant week.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went to this restaurant for lunch during Restaurant Week, it was my first time here. The space is modern with a welcoming, somewhat casual vibe. The hostess was less than welcoming but the waiter made up for her attitude with his professionalism. The food was presented beautifully and tasted even better. My only complaint was the food wasn't exactly warm. Luckily, I like room temperature food, so I was OK with it. I will definitely eat here again as I love French food and this place is affordable and authentic. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was amazing and perfect for KC restaurant week for lunch

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Firstly, we regularly participate in restaurant week. We do so for two reasons. One, our personal connection to two of the charities. Two, to find new restaurants to enjoy. Each year we usually find one to two new restaurants to add to our list, and unfortunately at least one on our never return to list. Unfortunately, Charisse is on the latter. Charisse bills its self as “(old French)/ new American” “a touch of France right here in the Midwest”. When I think of a French Bistro, I think of intimacy and romantic. Charisse is not. It is stark with tables too close uncomfortable and noisy. More akin to a hip bar/restaurant in Westport. We did receive a friendly greeting from the hostess. And 3 times if we wanted more than water. From there the service was dismal. The lady serving the tables to our right was attentive and appropriate. Our server was slow and indifferent. Yours service is bad when the table that is seated after you finishes their meal and is gone before you get dessert. It took over 15 minutes to pay our bill. Yes, the 10% tip sir was due to your service and not because we are stingy. As for the food, D. First course, house salad with champagne vinaigrette. Odd, ours had a balsamic vinaigrette that was over dressed to the point that we had a puddle of dressing in the bottom of the bowl when finished. I like balsamic vinaigrette, but this was too much. Second course, Chicken Provencal with frites. Chicken was cooked well, but overly spiced to the point all you could taste was salt. Same with the frites and the frites were luke warm and mushy. Dessert was Apple Tart with berries, vanilla ice cream and caramel. This was inedible. The tart, which I believe was supposed to be puff pastry was undercooked and raw. The caramel was flavorless and tasted like it came from a bottle. Too the owner/management, I am not interested in returning and will not accept a free meal as an apology. This is not the purpose of this review.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Unfortunately the great review we got from locals to try this place fell so far short we were extremely dissapointed. Our server Grace simply didn't pay any attention to our table as she was too buys hanging out with friends at the bar. The food was mediocre and our sense of being welcomed and cared for during our meal on Restaurant week left us sad to say the least.
It was no wonder they were the only place with openings in Open Table during this highly attended Restaurant week.
Please take care if you choose to give it a try you may want to reconsider...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We tried it out for Restaurant Week and were pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious and presentation was great! Nice wine selection. Would go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The tomato bisque was delicious. The Charisse Quinoa was pretty salty though. Dessert was delicious as well. I ordered from the KC Restaurant week lunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food. Amazing flavors. Friendly staff. Clean. Unique space.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Went to try out on restaurant week. The service was not good. Slow and very nonchalant. I know it's a French place so maybe that was intentional. The food was very average.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Very disappointed in the service. I understand slow service but rude wait staff that acted like we were a burden for showing up.
Requested my steak medium and it was as well done as possible. Overpriced and underwhelmed.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had a hard time finding enough coins that would work in the parking meter. Most coins deposited did not register an increase in minutes. The hostess was not friendly. The restaurant week value was good. The ambiance was nice. The food was okay. The service was wonderfully attentive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Dinner was amazing!! We went for restaurant week and will definitely be back. I had the trout while my date had the chicken. They have a great wine list and the service was exceptional. I can't wait to go back and try more of their menu!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were here for restaurant week, 3 course meal for $33. Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food, service was poor. The restaurant was 1/2 full and many people got good service but our sever was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was great but overpriced, as expected. The cocktails were even better!

But our server acted as if we were an annoyance just for being there. Extremely rude and unfriendly. I felt like she didnt want us to be there as soon as we showed up. I couldn't wait to leave because of how uncomfortable she made us feel. We will not be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We dined at Charisse on Saturday night before attending the Symphony. After reading the reviews online we were somewhat nervous the service would be too slow for us to make the 8pm symphony. We arrived at Charisse right at 5:30 and were immediately greeted and taken to our table. We ordered cocktails (The Aviation and a Manhattan - both very good), and discussed the menu with James. We opted for the Prix Fixe so we could sample several things from the menu. Our selections were: Tomato Basil Bisque (very good, savory and flavorful), carrot-ginger soup (very unique and sweet; lighter than the bisque), duck wontons (rich in flavor with a crisp 'shell'), beet salad (very good, large portion, our favorite among the 2 options we tried), chevre salad (good, but not too unique from salads I've ordered elsewhere), espresso rubbed filet mignon (cooked to perfection and loved the accompaniments as well), lamb (good, but probably our least favorite of everything we ordered; roasted vegetables and potatoes were fresh and flavorful), and finally pot de creme (fantastic, rich, large portion). We also ordered an Old-Fashioned and a Lemon Drop martini, both of which were very good. Overall our take away was that the food was great, as other reviews indicate. The service was not bad in the least. If you come here with the expectation of it being like an Outback Steakhouse experience where they want to turn the table in 45 mins-hour, you'll be frustrated and disappointed. Dining here is supposed to be an experience, not a rushed meal. Nothing took "too long" and the whole evening flowed very nicely. Yes, we were there from 5:30-7:20, but it wasn't because they weren't taking great care of us. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have been going to Charisse for five years. We love the food and the staff. Jason frequently has new specials that are always interesting and make the choice of entree a challenge. The service is great Sara and James are friendly and attentive. Date night, fun night whatever you can't go wrong at Charisse.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for new year's Eve. Super pricey new year's Eve menu, but value would be on par with their normal menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.