Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About CHARISSE Restaurant

This downtown setting is a chic urban space that is perfect for a lively happy hour, early dinner before seeing a show at the many nearby theaters, a special occasion or just a fun and casual dinner with friends.

1006 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-0000

Website:
http://charissekc.com/

Catering:
CHARISSE is available for catering smaller events, usually 75 or less. Box lunches are also available for business meetings and events. Please call for more information.

Parking Details:
CHARISSE has free covered parking in the garage located at 10th and Main. There is also street parking on Walnut.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop across from the parking garage at 9th and Main.

Executive Chef:
Jason Craine

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

CHARISSE Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Casual (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Romantic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

We were the only guests there for an early dinner, when another couple arrived they were seated right next to us. It was very odd. They actually asked to move but were told no. The first few courses were good, but the main course was not great. My steak was cold. Not just lukewarm, but cold enough that the butter did not melt on top.
With all the other great places in KC we will not be going back to Charisse. But try it for yourself- maybe it was an off day. The food was not bad, there are just much better places around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 21, 2017

I was really looking forward to having some incredible food, however it was very disappointing to order chicken & kale soup that was mostly onions & cubed chicken. Not a lot of flavor. Even more disappointing was the quinoa & veggie salad. Almost no seasoning, would have loved some garlic or lemon to enhance the flavor of of the veggies & quinoa. And at $15 for a salad with no protein, i really would have expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Very quite and low energy. We were there on a Saturday night for a 7:30 reservation and there were only about 10 diners in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Food is always excellent! Service is wonderful with our only complaint being that when we mention we have a show to go to after dinner, they don't really seem to factor that into our evening. During our last 2 visits, we've had to take our dessert to go one time and the other time, pretty much eat our dessert as we were paying and walking away. If they could just do a better job of timing the meal when there is a time constraint, they would be one of the best restaurants that Kansas City has to offer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2017

I think the food is well prepared and the staff courteous and informed. However, the last two times we went it seemed there could have been another wait person or bar tender. In other words service could have ben speedier, although our waiter did his best to get our food to us when we told him our time crunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Great location for going to the Sprint Center. Quiet, lovely ambience. Great Pinot and Cab. The steak was done exactly as I'd requested. The scallops and risotto were perfectly prepared. We began the meal with the crab cakes—tasty and enough to share. It was busy, but still felt intimate. Unfortunately it was understaffed. We waited 20 minutes to order coffee and dessert. Finally decided to skip because we wanted to be on time for the concert .

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Charisse continues to be a great find for lunch or dinner. Downtown. The food is superb!
Best French fries. Wonderful salads and delicious entres. All with good service and good location downtown. Easy parking on street or in garage. We went before a concert and were out in plenty of time.
They also have a great private dining room.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

This was just not a meal but an experience. My fiance and I loved every second of this delicious dinner. Great atmosphere and a great menu. Had so much fun and cannot wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Our expensive "filet mignons" were not filets, but rather some other type of beef steak that had been cut to kinda sorta look like filet mignons. They tasted good but they were not filets. The other dishes we ordered were not up to par either. Except the pommes frites and the profiteroles. Those were both delicious. The kitchen's been going downhill here for a while but this was beyond the pale and so it is the last time we'll visit. It's unfortunate because it's a nice place with a well curated wine list and at one time it had very good, if rather expensive, food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Great food but service was a little slow. Lovely salmon dish, and the filet was delicious. Reasonable prices for a downtown restaurant. No view but a good location with easy parking on a Monday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We had a fantastic meal! And our waitress/hostess, Sara, was awesome! We will definitely be coming back and recommending it to others!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Very well prepared dishes with an interesting touch! Escargot sautéed with mushrooms, served in a jam jar with crusty crackers - clever and delicious. Lamb was slightly over-rare, but better than overdone! Salads (Caesar with fried egg on top - very tasty!) and chevre salad were both delicious. Profiteroles with option of hazelnut ice cream - total yum!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We had an excellent dinner. The beet salad was great and the filet with spaghetti was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Great tasting food in a pleasant atmosphere. We will return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 10, 2017

First time visit. Went for anniversary lunch. Well worth the visit!!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Always a well prepared meal, served hot and will appropriate service levels to allow conversation. Their burgers are always a favorite choice and the freshly made fries are a must. Enjoy!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Stopped in with family on a weeknight and had a perfectly lovely meal in the bar area. I like the atmosphere and the staff is always pleasant. We have eaten here many times and I always order the Caesar salad. Their version is one of my favorite salads in KCMO, and I have eaten in a goodly number of restaurants here. We also had an order of French fries for a starter, along with main courses of trout and salmon, all dishes were terrific. Cocktails are also very good. Just a short walk from the streetcar line. Highly recommend Charisse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 21, 2017

This was my first visit to Charisse and I was a bit disappointed with the service and wait. I met a friend for lunch at 12:15 we had to wait to be greeted, we waited 20 minutes or more to place our order (shame on us). It was very busy with business diners but only two people working the front. That being said the food was delicious, probably the best Quiche I've ever had. I might try this place again but on a weekend

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Service was slow. I believe this is because there was only one server on a rainy day. He was at a disadvantage for sure. As a result he was not chipper or friendly.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The staff was very attentive and kind. The restaurant was not busy for a weeknight (I am sure they do a huge lunch business) ~ however we were more than cared for with such a light crowd. I will definitely go here before a Sprint Center event or other nearby entertainment before going to the usual spots in Power & Light, as the food was absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Organic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great food, great service. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We loved Charisse! Delicious, gourmet food in a classy but not pretentious atmosphere. We had the Prix Fixe four course option. I highly recommend this even though it's somewhat pricey. It is worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Food was exceptional as always. They were able to accomidate a big group and we did not experience a long wait time for the food to arrive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Looking for new places to try in KC area. We had 6:30pm reservations and everyone had planned to do the tasting menu. First thing after we order, no crab cakes or crème bur lee. They were not busy and out of stuff at 6:30pm. Service varied from good or fair. Our server was the host, bartender and our server - spread too thin to show his best . The wine pairings seemed to be only the wines by the glass. Also our friends malbec and pinot noir came out so cold they fogged up the glass basically had to sit through dinner waiting to drink after warmed up. Portions were a bit small but was fine. Food was good not over the top.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great place for a casual business lunch. Haven't been there in a while, glad I came back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything here is FABULOUS... and wonderfully-priced. This place is a gem. A 4-course tasting meal UNDER $50? Come ON!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We were looking for a really good place for dinner in KC and were pleased to find Cherise!
We loved the "French" bistro style and what the menu had to offer. My husband started with the French onion soup and it was crusted over with cheese just the way he likes it. My Cesdar Salad was just terrific. I loved the addition of bacon and a fried egg on top. What really made it special was a lemon? vinaigrette bursting with flavor. We split the Rack of Lamb for dinner and it was excellent. It was easily enough to share and plated with beet fettuccini which was perfectly fine but not really to our taste. We shared an excellent creme brulee for dessert.
Our server was excellent, answered questions and made recommentations which we followed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Very Good Food. Server was very nice and helped us choose. He even explained how they cooked the food after serving it to us. Very nice place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My husband and I are foodies, and I couldn't believe how almost every single thing we ordered off the menu was so PERFECT! Everything was very good, and while I've had some of the items better elsewhere, MOST of the food was the best I've ever had anywhere. Amazing. Service was very good, and we LOVE the location being right downtown. Unfortunately, we were a little concerned because it wasn't very busy -- and for a Friday night, we thought it really should have been. I hope it lasts!! Highly recommended. We'll definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We went there before the Symphony and to celebrate my birthday. It was a wonderful experience with delicios food. They prepared my favorite "Lisa" salad even though it was not pn the menu!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Very tasty food with good sized portions! The wait staff was friendly. The Prix Fixe menu was perfect for sharing too!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 25, 2017

My third visit to this place for daily work lunch. The menu changes seasonally. Please forgive me, but I ordered the Pot du Creme for dessert and I could have sworn I was eating Ready Whip over Nutella. I Googled it and most commentary implies the finished project shouldn't be so thick. I held my spoon straight up!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent meal. Great French Dip sandwich. And awesome Quinoa salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

As always, the food was unique, plentiful, delicious, visually impressive, and overall awesome! Service was spot on as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

good food. service good. no complaints. will come again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Wonderful service! Brilliant menu! My taste buds have never been happier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

While the food and service was good, the menu did not match the online menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Stephen and James were both exemplary servers! With the food and the atmosphere it could not be any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Charisse is a great French restaurant! The food is fresh and vibrant! Service was impeccable. It's a wonderful place to celebrate any anniversary or happy occasion!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Downtown French bistro with below average service, I ordered the quiche lorraine with mixed greens + French onion soup. I was pretty disappointed to hear they do not offer escargot during lunch ....not a traditional French bistro. They offer a great daily special with reasonable prices. Based on this day; our server was below average but the food was good. I will try this place for dinner and hope we get a more attentive server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.