Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About CHARISSE Restaurant

This downtown setting is a chic urban space that is perfect for a lively happy hour, early dinner before seeing a show at the many nearby theaters, a special occasion or just a fun and casual dinner with friends.

1006 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-0000

Website:
http://charissekc.com/

Catering:
CHARISSE is available for catering smaller events, usually 75 or less. Box lunches are also available for business meetings and events. Please call for more information.

Parking Details:
CHARISSE has covered free parking in the garage located at 10th and Main. There is also street parking on Walnut.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop across from the parking garage at 9th and Main.

Executive Chef:
Jason Craine

Private Party Facilities:
CHARISSE has a private room that accommodates up to 22 people for lunch or dinner. The entire restaurant is also available which will accommodate up to 125 diners. In addition, there is an atrium space which will accommodate several hundred. Please call for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jason Craine: (816) 474-0000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

CHARISSE Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Romantic (11)
Business Meals (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Private Room (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Stephen and James were both exemplary servers! With the food and the atmosphere it could not be any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Work lunch with two co-workers on 4/27/2017. Was my second visit and their first. I still like it and they like it now. Wasn't too busy this second trip, but was my first time. Service was excellent as was the food. I had the Crepe Chicken (?) and I'll have it again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our third or fourth experience at Charisse. Every time there is at least one detail that keeps it from being perfect. In this case, our steak entrees were not exactly cold but certainly not hot. I couldn't see the reason, they were not close to being crowded and the fries were very hot. The meal wasn't cold enough to send back and we had a schedule to keep so...
We will return but they need to play closer attention to timing, etc..

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our waiter was very professional, knowledgeable, and efficient. The restaurant is smart , classy and best of all...Quiet and relaxing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

One of our favorite neighborhood spots. Chef Craine has a delectable menu with very tasty creations. I had the Bucatini Bolonegese - the fresh pasta noodles were a very nice surprise. The sauce was well balanced and wonderfully flavorable. The other entree enjoyed was the salmon dish. Perfectly prepared! The flash fried crispy kale was a nice addition. The Manhattan from the bar was excellent. All in all a wonderful visit! We'll be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I've eaten at Charisse for a number of different occasions from anniversaries to dinner with friends and have yet to have a bad experience. The staff is friendly and prompt and the food is creative and delectable. I would highly recommend to anyone seeking an outstanding dining experience!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The french dip and the chicken pot pie are truly fabulous!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great spot for a business lunch. Service was prompt and with minimal interruption of the conversation. Food was well prepared and delivered in a reasonable amount of time. A favorite lunch time spot for business.

Tags: Private Room, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We decided to give this place a try. I will say it wasn't a good start. The gentleman when we checked in was not friendly at all, marginally rude. No hello, welcome, do you have reservations (we did) etc. When seated took a while to get greater etc. We almost left. They were not busy at time either. Not a great start. Staff shouldn't treat customers like "what are you doing here?"

Food was ok. We had French onion soup, nothing special not much flavor, not much cheese. Carrot soup, too sweet.

Both had beef Bourguignon. Nice presentation. But not flavor I would expect, the sauce was too thick and was paste before finished eating. Potatoes had little flavor. Food was warm, meat tender.

Really not worth a trip downtown. Staff too rude. Too many other places to get average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was amazing. Would recommend the four course option. A taste of French food with some creativity. The wine pairing was well thought through. My hats off to the chef. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Previous reviews made us skeptical about Charisse but we found the food, the service, and the atmosphere very nice. James was efficient and often checked back to see that everything was to our liking. We'll be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Excellent high quality food. Great location downtown.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great atmosphere to take our new employee to lunch. The food was very good! I left my receipt on accident and they were able to send it to me via email. Awesome customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We have been to Charisse many times and always enjoyed it. However, this last visit may be my last. Trout is our favorite and there was no trout. It just didn't seem like the same place. I wonder if the ownership has changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A wonderful downtown restaurant--

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. We had a terrible experience there. Our waiter James was extremely rude and looked like he didn't want to be there and assist us, or any of the customers in the restaurant as a matter of fact . My husband got the prix fixe menu and got to select 4 items from the menu - none of them were that impressive or good. I got the rabbit which was aweful -- far too salty! The items are overpriced, the food is not that great, the service is deplorable and the atmosphere is not enjoyable as people who work there make you feel like you are a bother to them. Save your money and go somewhere else - this place is definitely NOT WORTH IT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Went for happy hour....had a number of the appetizers. Food and Drink was good.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Service was outstanding and food exquisite. Sarah really knows how to make her tables feel welcomed and is exceptionally attentive to their needs. The food has a flavor that is comparable to no other and would recommend the Salmon and Lamb to any and all. Be sure to pair wine with your food as it makes every bite more delectable.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The service was terrible, so we didn't leave a tip. The waitress then called us after we left and asked why we didn't leave a tip. We were honest, yet she was extremely rude that we thought the service was poor. It is unfortunate to be charged $130 for a meal that was fair and receive mediocre to poor service and then have to receive a phone call about the no tip. Extremely unprofessional and pathetic that they need to call because they aren't making enough money that they depend on our only tip to suffice them for the night. We will never go back and are so turned off by the behavior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Contrary to other reviews our service was excellent even though our waiter was also the bartender. The food was generally very good, loved the duck wontons.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Charisse is especially good for pre-theatre and concert meals. In fact it is one of the few good restaurants downtown with reliable parking at no charge. The food is good too. I had pork this time and it was very satisfactory.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Most excellent!! We had a wonderful meal. Grace was an delightful and superb server!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Love this place. Everything about it makes it one of the top restaurants in KC

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Waiter,James was rude and we actually had to go get him to order because he was talking politics at the bar.

Food was spectacular!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

People count on me for selecting good restaurants because I always try them first. This time everyone thought I failed. 4 out of the 8 meals were prepared wrong, one came out cold and came back hot and overcooked. A chef should know fish and steak. Plus the waiter was very cold and almost completely complacent. So very disappointed in this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I thought the restaurant was pretty cool. Good area, high ceilings, etc. Service was just OK. but I got the filet and I thought it was real good. The side was not very good however.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have been wanting to try this restaurant for a while. I have read the food is good but the service lackluster. I have to say that I agree. None of the staff made me feel like they were glad we were there. The bar was filled with either friends of the staff or regulars; that is where most of the attention was directed. Our waiter made me feel "tolerated." The service was a bit rushed. We had four courses and were there less than 90 minutes. The restaurant was so empty at 7:00 on a Friday evening that is was sort of sad. It definitely made me think about leaving before we were seated. At most there were four couples. By the time we left, we were the only diners there. The food was good but not inspired. I can't imagine this restaurant will last unless things change significantly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our visit started out with promise -- the place was warm and friendly, low noise level. Our waiter was initially attentive, taking and delivering drink orders promptly. We also received a complimentary light appetizer of chopped spinach and ricotta on toasted focaccia that was delicious. Soups were good as well. after that, the evening deteriorated. It took 15-20 minutes to get our entrees, and neither the steak nor the lamb chops were up to our expectations. We chose not to stay for dessert, which we had originally planned to do. Overall an uneven experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was very matter of fact. Not friendly, suggestive or supportive of menu/wine questions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The food was good and it would've been very good if there wasn't too much sugar in it. The carrot/ginger appetizer was way too sweet, the orange juice was too sweet and the sauce on top of the Salmon was too sweet. The Salmon was perfectly cooked, though.
Service was very cold. They need to loosen up and warm up a bit. They did not make me feel I was welcome in the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Always a good spot for lunch. Service is prompt and food quality is consistently well prepared. Food was served hot and everyone enjoyed their entree.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Unfortunately I looked at reviews last night. We should have cancelled and gone somewhere else. Our evening started with no one at the host area. Finally greeted, if you want to call it that, after about 5 minutes. We waited to be seated another 5 minutes even though there were open tables. After being seated we waited 15 minutes before being offered anything. No menus, drinks, etc. We were actually discussing where we should go as we were going to leave. Finally offered drinks by our server. He was in a very foul mood. Definitely didn't want to be there. We decided to order dinner quickly since we may not see him again. This was restaurant week . Restaurant was busy. When we finally got our food, the flank steak frites, it looked very good. For $33.00 we had maybe 3 ozs of steak and French fries. Oh I forgot, started with a quarter cup of soup the. An apple tart for desert. So overpriced.

Funny thing, we found out when laying out bill that our sour server was the manager. Sorry, but if you're having a bad night, the customer should never know. This is a very coo, space but probably won't be returning. Obviously from previous reviews, service is a huge problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The bread, butter and tomato bisque were delicious! My entree came out barely warm, which was disappointing. Great wine list. Mediocre service. I'll probably give it another try.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We were seated in the bar next to the door despite lots of seating in the dining room, so the noise level was higher than it would have been otherwise. Excellent food. Service not as good as expected. Not crowded despite being restaurant week.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went to this restaurant for lunch during Restaurant Week, it was my first time here. The space is modern with a welcoming, somewhat casual vibe. The hostess was less than welcoming but the waiter made up for her attitude with his professionalism. The food was presented beautifully and tasted even better. My only complaint was the food wasn't exactly warm. Luckily, I like room temperature food, so I was OK with it. I will definitely eat here again as I love French food and this place is affordable and authentic. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was amazing and perfect for KC restaurant week for lunch

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Firstly, we regularly participate in restaurant week. We do so for two reasons. One, our personal connection to two of the charities. Two, to find new restaurants to enjoy. Each year we usually find one to two new restaurants to add to our list, and unfortunately at least one on our never return to list. Unfortunately, Charisse is on the latter. Charisse bills its self as “(old French)/ new American” “a touch of France right here in the Midwest”. When I think of a French Bistro, I think of intimacy and romantic. Charisse is not. It is stark with tables too close uncomfortable and noisy. More akin to a hip bar/restaurant in Westport. We did receive a friendly greeting from the hostess. And 3 times if we wanted more than water. From there the service was dismal. The lady serving the tables to our right was attentive and appropriate. Our server was slow and indifferent. Yours service is bad when the table that is seated after you finishes their meal and is gone before you get dessert. It took over 15 minutes to pay our bill. Yes, the 10% tip sir was due to your service and not because we are stingy. As for the food, D. First course, house salad with champagne vinaigrette. Odd, ours had a balsamic vinaigrette that was over dressed to the point that we had a puddle of dressing in the bottom of the bowl when finished. I like balsamic vinaigrette, but this was too much. Second course, Chicken Provencal with frites. Chicken was cooked well, but overly spiced to the point all you could taste was salt. Same with the frites and the frites were luke warm and mushy. Dessert was Apple Tart with berries, vanilla ice cream and caramel. This was inedible. The tart, which I believe was supposed to be puff pastry was undercooked and raw. The caramel was flavorless and tasted like it came from a bottle. Too the owner/management, I am not interested in returning and will not accept a free meal as an apology. This is not the purpose of this review.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Unfortunately the great review we got from locals to try this place fell so far short we were extremely dissapointed. Our server Grace simply didn't pay any attention to our table as she was too buys hanging out with friends at the bar. The food was mediocre and our sense of being welcomed and cared for during our meal on Restaurant week left us sad to say the least.
It was no wonder they were the only place with openings in Open Table during this highly attended Restaurant week.
Please take care if you choose to give it a try you may want to reconsider...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We tried it out for Restaurant Week and were pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious and presentation was great! Nice wine selection. Would go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The tomato bisque was delicious. The Charisse Quinoa was pretty salty though. Dessert was delicious as well. I ordered from the KC Restaurant week lunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.