About CHARISSE Restaurant

This downtown setting is a chic urban space that is perfect for a lively happy hour, early dinner before seeing a show at the many nearby theaters, a special occasion or just a fun and casual dinner with friends.

1006 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 474-0000

Website:
http://charissekc.com/

Catering:
CHARISSE is available for catering smaller events, usually 75 or less. Box lunches are also available for business meetings and events. Please call for more information.

Parking Details:
CHARISSE has covered free parking in the garage located at 10th and Main. There is also street parking on Walnut.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop across from the parking garage at 9th and Main.

Executive Chef:
Jason Craine

Private Party Facilities:
CHARISSE has a private room that accommodates up to 22 people for lunch or dinner. The entire restaurant is also available which will accommodate up to 125 diners. In addition, there is an atrium space which will accommodate several hundred. Please call for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jason Craine: (816) 474-0000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

CHARISSE Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Business Meals (12)
Cozy (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place. Everything about it makes it one of the top restaurants in KC

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Waiter,James was rude and we actually had to go get him to order because he was talking politics at the bar.

Food was spectacular!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

People count on me for selecting good restaurants because I always try them first. This time everyone thought I failed. 4 out of the 8 meals were prepared wrong, one came out cold and came back hot and overcooked. A chef should know fish and steak. Plus the waiter was very cold and almost completely complacent. So very disappointed in this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I thought the restaurant was pretty cool. Good area, high ceilings, etc. Service was just OK. but I got the filet and I thought it was real good. The side was not very good however.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have been wanting to try this restaurant for a while. I have read the food is good but the service lackluster. I have to say that I agree. None of the staff made me feel like they were glad we were there. The bar was filled with either friends of the staff or regulars; that is where most of the attention was directed. Our waiter made me feel "tolerated." The service was a bit rushed. We had four courses and were there less than 90 minutes. The restaurant was so empty at 7:00 on a Friday evening that is was sort of sad. It definitely made me think about leaving before we were seated. At most there were four couples. By the time we left, we were the only diners there. The food was good but not inspired. I can't imagine this restaurant will last unless things change significantly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our visit started out with promise -- the place was warm and friendly, low noise level. Our waiter was initially attentive, taking and delivering drink orders promptly. We also received a complimentary light appetizer of chopped spinach and ricotta on toasted focaccia that was delicious. Soups were good as well. after that, the evening deteriorated. It took 15-20 minutes to get our entrees, and neither the steak nor the lamb chops were up to our expectations. We chose not to stay for dessert, which we had originally planned to do. Overall an uneven experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was very matter of fact. Not friendly, suggestive or supportive of menu/wine questions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The food was good and it would've been very good if there wasn't too much sugar in it. The carrot/ginger appetizer was way too sweet, the orange juice was too sweet and the sauce on top of the Salmon was too sweet. The Salmon was perfectly cooked, though.

Service was very cold. They need to loosen up and warm up a bit. They did not make me feel I was welcome in the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Always a good spot for lunch. Service is prompt and food quality is consistently well prepared. Food was served hot and everyone enjoyed their entree.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Unfortunately I looked at reviews last night. We should have cancelled and gone somewhere else. Our evening started with no one at the host area. Finally greeted, if you want to call it that, after about 5 minutes. We waited to be seated another 5 minutes even though there were open tables. After being seated we waited 15 minutes before being offered anything. No menus, drinks, etc. We were actually discussing where we should go as we were going to leave. Finally offered drinks by our server. He was in a very foul mood. Definitely didn't want to be there. We decided to order dinner quickly since we may not see him again. This was restaurant week . Restaurant was busy. When we finally got our food, the flank steak frites, it looked very good. For $33.00 we had maybe 3 ozs of steak and French fries. Oh I forgot, started with a quarter cup of soup the. An apple tart for desert. So overpriced.

Funny thing, we found out when laying out bill that our sour server was the manager. Sorry, but if you're having a bad night, the customer should never know. This is a very coo, space but probably won't be returning. Obviously from previous reviews, service is a huge problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The bread, butter and tomato bisque were delicious! My entree came out barely warm, which was disappointing. Great wine list. Mediocre service. I'll probably give it another try.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We were seated in the bar next to the door despite lots of seating in the dining room, so the noise level was higher than it would have been otherwise. Excellent food. Service not as good as expected. Not crowded despite being restaurant week.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went to this restaurant for lunch during Restaurant Week, it was my first time here. The space is modern with a welcoming, somewhat casual vibe. The hostess was less than welcoming but the waiter made up for her attitude with his professionalism. The food was presented beautifully and tasted even better. My only complaint was the food wasn't exactly warm. Luckily, I like room temperature food, so I was OK with it. I will definitely eat here again as I love French food and this place is affordable and authentic. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was amazing and perfect for KC restaurant week for lunch

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Firstly, we regularly participate in restaurant week. We do so for two reasons. One, our personal connection to two of the charities. Two, to find new restaurants to enjoy. Each year we usually find one to two new restaurants to add to our list, and unfortunately at least one on our never return to list. Unfortunately, Charisse is on the latter. Charisse bills its self as “(old French)/ new American” “a touch of France right here in the Midwest”. When I think of a French Bistro, I think of intimacy and romantic. Charisse is not. It is stark with tables too close uncomfortable and noisy. More akin to a hip bar/restaurant in Westport. We did receive a friendly greeting from the hostess. And 3 times if we wanted more than water. From there the service was dismal. The lady serving the tables to our right was attentive and appropriate. Our server was slow and indifferent. Yours service is bad when the table that is seated after you finishes their meal and is gone before you get dessert. It took over 15 minutes to pay our bill. Yes, the 10% tip sir was due to your service and not because we are stingy. As for the food, D. First course, house salad with champagne vinaigrette. Odd, ours had a balsamic vinaigrette that was over dressed to the point that we had a puddle of dressing in the bottom of the bowl when finished. I like balsamic vinaigrette, but this was too much. Second course, Chicken Provencal with frites. Chicken was cooked well, but overly spiced to the point all you could taste was salt. Same with the frites and the frites were luke warm and mushy. Dessert was Apple Tart with berries, vanilla ice cream and caramel. This was inedible. The tart, which I believe was supposed to be puff pastry was undercooked and raw. The caramel was flavorless and tasted like it came from a bottle. Too the owner/management, I am not interested in returning and will not accept a free meal as an apology. This is not the purpose of this review.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Unfortunately the great review we got from locals to try this place fell so far short we were extremely dissapointed. Our server Grace simply didn't pay any attention to our table as she was too buys hanging out with friends at the bar. The food was mediocre and our sense of being welcomed and cared for during our meal on Restaurant week left us sad to say the least.

It was no wonder they were the only place with openings in Open Table during this highly attended Restaurant week.

Please take care if you choose to give it a try you may want to reconsider...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We tried it out for Restaurant Week and were pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious and presentation was great! Nice wine selection. Would go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The tomato bisque was delicious. The Charisse Quinoa was pretty salty though. Dessert was delicious as well. I ordered from the KC Restaurant week lunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food. Amazing flavors. Friendly staff. Clean. Unique space.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Went to try out on restaurant week. The service was not good. Slow and very nonchalant. I know it's a French place so maybe that was intentional. The food was very average.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Very disappointed in the service. I understand slow service but rude wait staff that acted like we were a burden for showing up.

Requested my steak medium and it was as well done as possible. Overpriced and underwhelmed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had a hard time finding enough coins that would work in the parking meter. Most coins deposited did not register an increase in minutes. The hostess was not friendly. The restaurant week value was good. The ambiance was nice. The food was okay. The service was wonderfully attentive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Dinner was amazing!! We went for restaurant week and will definitely be back. I had the trout while my date had the chicken. They have a great wine list and the service was exceptional. I can't wait to go back and try more of their menu!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were here for restaurant week, 3 course meal for $33. Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food, service was poor. The restaurant was 1/2 full and many people got good service but our sever was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was great but overpriced, as expected. The cocktails were even better!

But our server acted as if we were an annoyance just for being there. Extremely rude and unfriendly. I felt like she didnt want us to be there as soon as we showed up. I couldn't wait to leave because of how uncomfortable she made us feel. We will not be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We dined at Charisse on Saturday night before attending the Symphony. After reading the reviews online we were somewhat nervous the service would be too slow for us to make the 8pm symphony. We arrived at Charisse right at 5:30 and were immediately greeted and taken to our table. We ordered cocktails (The Aviation and a Manhattan - both very good), and discussed the menu with James. We opted for the Prix Fixe so we could sample several things from the menu. Our selections were: Tomato Basil Bisque (very good, savory and flavorful), carrot-ginger soup (very unique and sweet; lighter than the bisque), duck wontons (rich in flavor with a crisp 'shell'), beet salad (very good, large portion, our favorite among the 2 options we tried), chevre salad (good, but not too unique from salads I've ordered elsewhere), espresso rubbed filet mignon (cooked to perfection and loved the accompaniments as well), lamb (good, but probably our least favorite of everything we ordered; roasted vegetables and potatoes were fresh and flavorful), and finally pot de creme (fantastic, rich, large portion). We also ordered an Old-Fashioned and a Lemon Drop martini, both of which were very good. Overall our take away was that the food was great, as other reviews indicate. The service was not bad in the least. If you come here with the expectation of it being like an Outback Steakhouse experience where they want to turn the table in 45 mins-hour, you'll be frustrated and disappointed. Dining here is supposed to be an experience, not a rushed meal. Nothing took "too long" and the whole evening flowed very nicely. Yes, we were there from 5:30-7:20, but it wasn't because they weren't taking great care of us. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have been going to Charisse for five years. We love the food and the staff. Jason frequently has new specials that are always interesting and make the choice of entree a challenge. The service is great Sara and James are friendly and attentive. Date night, fun night whatever you can't go wrong at Charisse.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for new year's Eve. Super pricey new year's Eve menu, but value would be on par with their normal menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My first time visiting Charisse and I had an amazing experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve and didn't realize it was a prix fixe dinner, but went ahead and it was excellent. We have soured on special occasion prix fixe meals due to serial bad experiences at otherwise highly regarded restaurants; worse than ordinary food at an outrageous price. But this was excellent with a filet that one hardly needed to chew. We had a quiet table with the unusual experience of being able to hold a conversation; something most local restaurants work hard to prevent. This has become our go to place for good food in a pleasant environment.

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent food, attentive service, pleasant atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Usually Charisse is a good option for business meals. However, our service yesterday was extremely poor. We'll go back because of the location and hopefully our next visit won't be so disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food is excellent... try the prix fixe menu and share. Aged cocktails are fabulous as well. Service can be a little spotty, so allow for time. Bottom line, you'll want to go back for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great drinks and yummy food. Everything we are was well presented and prepared. Our group of 6 all enjoyed every bite. The drinks were unique and great as well.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

In the reviews will find a general consensus that the food is very good at Charisse, but the restaurant struggles with service and the front of the house. Our visit on Saturday evening was a microcosm of that.

Charisse is located inside the upper floor lobby of the Commerce Bank building between Main and Walnut, 10th to 11th Streets. There is convenient and free (validation required at times) parking at 1025 Main.

We had noticed the service issues in the reviews, and I warned my wife that we should focus on the food and forgive any service failures . When we arrived a little early for our reservation, it was clear right away that the place was in crisis. There were about 10-12 tables occupied, but no food seemed to be moving. It became apparent that there were the only two people working the front of the house, including hosting and tending the bar. Diners at several tables had to leave after salads only and before their entrees because they had theater tickets, so the place cleared out pretty quickly after we arrived.

After the theater-goers cleared out, there were about 5 tables left and they caught up a bit - our service was a little slow but not catastrophic. We knew and could tell the staff was frazzled, and we had all night so we didn't mind.

We had the house wine, which was good enough. The escargot appetizer was above average. I had the KC Strip which was excellent, and my wife had Bucatini Bolognese, which tasted like it had fresh ingredients but was a bit average. Both were good enough to order again.

You can tell that the manager or owner of Charisse loves food and focuses on the product, but may not be as experienced or attentive with running the front of the house. That's unfortunate, because there is potential here.

I would recommend that you try Charisse when you have time for a relaxing pace, and when you prepare yourself that patience is required. Because in the right circumstances, this place has some potential.

Good luck!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I think they were very short staffed. We came in 25 minutes before our reservation and no one helped us at the front desk so we went to the bar... after about 15 minutes got our first drink. We were seated when our friends arrived. all the tables were dirty and only saw one waitress, one runner/bus person and one bar tender. So service was slow, our waitress did her best but the food was amazing. Glad we had 3 hours to spend eating our dinner

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We allotted an hour and a half for dinner before a show on a recent Sat night. We arrived on time and noticed they seemed short-staffed. We were right. After an hour plus, we had only seen the waitress once and only were served salad/soup - both excellent, and a glass of wine. We never even had an opportunity to order an entree. We finally gave up, paid and left. Wishing we had been able to eat dinner here, as we have heard great things from others and enjoyed what little we had. Will wait and give it another try.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was mostly good. Some of the veggies were undercooked. The service was awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I typically don't leave reviews but after my date night I felt I needed to warn others. This was the worst dining experience I've ever had. It took 10 minutes for someone to acknowledge and seat us and at the time there were only 3 other tables seated in the restaurant. 20 minutes after we are seated we finally get to place our order. We informed our server that we had theatre tickets and were in a rush. He told us that it was no problem. 35 minutes later they bring out our food to the wrong table. They then pick the food back up after placing in front of other diners and put it in front of us. No one comes to apologize or to ask if we needed anything else. My steak was completely overcooked and the glass of red wine I ordered was cold. We had about 10 minutes to eat our food because we didn't want to be late for our show. After waiting at our table and realizing that no one was coming back over, I went to the bar along with about 3 other people to request our check from the bartender. I signed for my check of $75 leaving no tip for the horrendous service. I then see my credit card statement and a charge for $89. THEY PUT A %20 GARTUITY ON WITHOUT MY CONSENT!!!!!!!!!!!!! I called Charisse and spoke to a manger who assured me that he would call me back once he found my ticket so he could reverse the charge. I have not heard from anyone since and it's been over a week. This is a joke of a restaurant and I would highly advise you stay away. Unfriendly service, overcooked food, and stealing from your customers is not my idea of classy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Exquisite food, conscientious staff, a fantastic time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We arrived at 5:15 for Happy Hour. We were going to a play....

We barely got out at 7pm and had to cancel our dessert. Not many wait staff and he had a few tables but we waited 40 minutes for our entrees to arrive!!

Highlights were the Truffled fries and the Duck wontons. We both had steak which was good not great. Better service is needed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The Strip Steak was amazing, as were the duck wontons. The music was awesome and the decor nicely cozy but light and modern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This little gem is marvelous! Every dish we ordered was divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was our first time at Charisse and it was a great experience. The atmosphere is modern and romantic. We were seated a few minutes past our 7 PM reservation, and loved that it was quiet and not bustling. Tables are close together, but it does goes with the ambiance of the restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend the duck wonton, lamb and espresso rubbed fillet (my husband shared a bite). This is definitely a place to go if you are looking for a quiet moment with friends, or a date-night with someone special.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We arrived 6:30 pm on Saturday-- and it was barely occupied. Got a little busier as the night went along. It was a shame wasn't busier because the food was awesome, good waiter. We enjoyed the ambiance and would definitely come back. Was simply too quiet and not as bustling as it should have been given it's positive attributes.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent food and excellent, relaxing environment.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Charisse has never disappointed to exceed our expectations. The creativity by the chef and kitchen is extraordinary. A neighborhood gem in a growing downtown neighborhood. Charisse is a great place to meet for lunch and a special place to celebrate an occasion for an intimate evening.

Service staff is attention with the knowledge of both their menu and extraordinary service. An earned five star restaurant.

Highly recommended and worth every minute / dollar to get to this wonderful downtown location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Enjoyed our evening. Food was very good and our server very attentive. Portions are not large, which is ok with me, but preparation excellent. Not s large wine list, but very acceptable at all price points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

great restaurant - food is terrif as is the service.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.