Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi

About Charcoal BYOB

Charcoal is a BYOB that boasts a modern American fare in a casual environment. We source the finest ingredients and believe in a healthy relationship with local farmers and purveyors, creating food which is thoughtful and precise. Our menu is a reflection of the season and how we feel at the moment.

11 S Delaware Ave
Yardley, PA 19067
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Tuesday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 493-6394

Website:
http://www.charcoalbyob.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wheelchair Access

Charcoal BYOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Scenic View (31)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Waterfront (25)
Worth the Drive (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Casual (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Romantic (13)
Seasonal (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Fun (8)
Cozy (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Family Style (5)
Tapas (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (0)
Sort By:
S
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

They say they are about local ingredients and being creative, might as well eaten at a diner. No creativity at all, club sandwich, grilled cheese? Very disappointing. Maybe dinner is more creative, but the lunch menu couldn't have been more boring.
Best feature is the veiw of the river.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Charcoal has grown into my favorite spot in the area, menu changes often and food is always delicious. Desserts are amazing as well. 10/10.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Anniversary

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a great restaurant serving local, seasonal and fresh food. The food is delicious and the view is amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous favors from a small but thoughtful menu - always a delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Never heard of this but my sister lives in Morrisville. I loved the byob that kept the price down. Literally everything was absolutely delicious. The bread was worth paying for. The dishes weren't generous portions but it was honestly quite enough food . We'll definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Another great meal at this friendly place. Food is always top notch! My only complaint is they were out of bread-- but other parts of our meal were stupendous--particularly the pierogies with duck confit, asparagus, pasta with bacon, and the fried chicken with caramel. Hope to return soon (they "owe" us bread😁).

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Nice did choices, waitress helped us choose, surprised at BYOB but it worked for us.

Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Always outstanding! Interesting dishes, amazing favors and great atmosphere! I would recommend the pirogi as a starter or the octopus, Absolutely amazing. The pasta dishes are awesome too! Save room for dessert because the donuts are heavenly! Very relaxing place.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had our Mother's Day dinner here this year and was thoroughly impressed. We come here all the time for the delicious brunch and had an outstanding dinner now too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Charcoal is a fantastic BYOB with. S'autofinancer views our over the Delaware River! While all of the food is a treat, I highly recommend the salmon and octopus! And - even for someone who rarely eats bread - the bread and butter they offer is honestly the best I've ever had! Our table order and devoured two portions! The doughnuts are also a treat if you are looking for a sweet to finish off your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I was very impressed with the quality of the kitchen at Charcoal BYOB. The food was inventive and used very fresh seasonal ingredients. The staff was pleasant, and the view of the Delaware River was lovely. On a Tuesday night there weren't many other diners, and we could enjoy our meal and conversation in peace. I expect that given all the hard surfaces in the restaurant, if it were crowded, it would be extremely noisy. Accordingly, I would avoid going on a weekend.

Charcoal exceeded my expectations, and I definitely would be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Really relaxed lunch environment and good food served by really pleasant staff

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was our second attempt to like this restaurant, but we will not return. Food presentation is nice, but inferior ingredients (farm raised salmon) should not command the price tag. Service is blah, leaving diners feel less than special. We inquired about a dish that would typically be served hot, but was not. We were then informed, "oh yeah, that's a room temperature dish." We will not return.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very comfortable and quiet. Nice place to have conversation. Food was very good, as was the service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great local byo. Very interesting menu. Unbelievable donuts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Perfect meal as usual. We are regular diners here and the quality of service and food has never disappointed. Fried chicken is the best, as well as any pasta dish on the menu. Pierogi with duck confit was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Our server was Jennie, who was excellent. We only gave 4-stars for the food due to the limited menu- taste and originality would be 5-stars. Excellent scenic view of river and New Jersey.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fantastic service and food as usual. The gnocchi was great as appetizer but we all wanted it as an entree. Next time we will ask if it could be made into entree as perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This review is for dinner only. Charcoal is a great place for breakfast and I would rate it a 5 star for breakfast and for their service. However, the dinners are way way over priced for what you get. First of all, they charge you for bread!! It's delicious bread, mind you, but I have never been to a restaurant that charged for bread. My husband and I dined there recently and for bread, one appetizer, two small plates and 2 donuts, the bill with tip was $80.00. We didn't even get a full meal. We ordered the perogie appetizer and received 2 perogies for $18.00!!!! The food is very good...but we won't be going back for dinner. Prices too high for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I love this place! Fantastic, creative, delicious food at highly reasonable prices in a beautiful setting with views of the Delaware. To add to all that we did not have the cranky hostess but a pleasant, helpful one that asked us to pick the table we wanted.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Outstanding meal with excellent service. Will definitely be reteurning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great dining experience. Can't wait to eat here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Charcoal has a very original menu that will interest the most ardent foody. My wife had one of there noodle dishes Rigatoni with a mushroom Marsala sauce. It was very hearty and flavorful. I got the hanger steak which was cooked to perfection and came with fried fingerling potatoes slices

But the best was their home made bread which was $5.00 extra but well worth it and the donuts for dessert

The view of the Delaware river is very scenic as viewed through their large picture windows lining the entire wall

Beware though it is on the second floor and while they have an elevator for access to people with disabilities it may be cumbersome I was there on a rainy night and it 's door is on the exterior of the building

Great food interesting menu we highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Best @#$% restaurant in the area. Have not had one meal that was not memorable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great dinner, including the best dessert I've ever had (the donuts). Very impressed with this unassuming spot.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food is great, and the service was fantastic on Friday night. Highly recommend. Very scenic overlooking the river, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food was phenomenal, our server was pleasant & knowledgeable. Would absolutely recommend & will be back. There were 4 in our group & we shared many dishes. Each and everything we ate was great. Start with the bread & finish with the donuts.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food. Will absolutely be going back. Cauliflower Mac & Cheese with their own homemade pasta was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Best damn restaurant in Bucks County!! Simple menu but inventive cuisine

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

One of my favorite breakfast lunch spots, but decided to do dinner for a special occasion. The meal was outrageously good. The octopus appetizer was excellent and the salmon was perfectly done. The birthday lady got the hanger steak which was beautifully seasoned and exceptionally tasty. The dinner progressed slightly slow, but it gave us enough time to work through a second bottle so no one minded. Will be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Upscale food in Yardley - pricing reflects this. Will dine here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Charcoal's food is always excellent. The chefs are very creative with their dishes. The fresh baked bread and special butter are to die for! I've never had a bad dish there. Highly recommend.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food presentation is there but it's deceiving, once you start to eat, it falls short of flavors blending....you only taste whatever spice/seasoning was used.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The gnocchi and fusilli were very good
The main entrée of cod was bitter
The octopus appetizer was just OK
budino didn't hit the mark
Possibly the smoke saw it was too much
I was surprised that you had to pay five dollars for bread-and-butter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Another superb meal. Highlights included the Brussels sprouts, shrimp beignets, octopus, pasta and salmon. New desserts- pretzel stracciatelli ice cream and orange "creamsicle" with orange curd. Service is always friendly and attentive.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Nice view, ambience, but food is incredibly salty. Also menu is nothing like it indicates online. Only three entries, no "normal salad", kale salad left a lot to be desired. Hanger steak had so many different spices on it you didn't know what you were eating. People were very friendly, service good, but eat before you go.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My food was way too salty. I did not finish the entree, which was salmon, or the gnocchi, as both very salty. This was our first meal at Charcoal, and we will not be going back. Let diners add the salt!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a late reservation , 9 pm, and by that time the salmon, one of the THREE main course choices, was sold out. Same for the one of the appetizers we wanted. Not very happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was absolutely wonderful and their homemade donut was scrumptious. Staff was very attentive and friendly. An added bonus was watching a bald eagle who had perched outside along the river, of which we had a great view!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.