Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi

About Charcoal BYOB

Charcoal is a BYOB that boasts a modern American fare in a casual environment. We source the finest ingredients and believe in a healthy relationship with local farmers and purveyors, creating food which is thoughtful and precise. Our menu is a reflection of the season and how we feel at the moment.

11 S Delaware Ave
Yardley, PA 19067
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Tuesday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 493-6394

Website:
http://www.charcoalbyob.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wheelchair Access

Charcoal BYOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (30)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for a Date (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Casual (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Waterfront (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Romantic (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Tapas (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food. Will absolutely be going back. Cauliflower Mac & Cheese with their own homemade pasta was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Best damn restaurant in Bucks County!! Simple menu but inventive cuisine

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

One of my favorite breakfast lunch spots, but decided to do dinner for a special occasion. The meal was outrageously good. The octopus appetizer was excellent and the salmon was perfectly done. The birthday lady got the hanger steak which was beautifully seasoned and exceptionally tasty. The dinner progressed slightly slow, but it gave us enough time to work through a second bottle so no one minded. Will be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Upscale food in Yardley - pricing reflects this. Will dine here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Charcoal's food is always excellent. The chefs are very creative with their dishes. The fresh baked bread and special butter are to die for! I've never had a bad dish there. Highly recommend.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food presentation is there but it's deceiving, once you start to eat, it falls short of flavors blending....you only taste whatever spice/seasoning was used.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The gnocchi and fusilli were very good
The main entrée of cod was bitter
The octopus appetizer was just OK
budino didn't hit the mark
Possibly the smoke saw it was too much
I was surprised that you had to pay five dollars for bread-and-butter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Another superb meal. Highlights included the Brussels sprouts, shrimp beignets, octopus, pasta and salmon. New desserts- pretzel stracciatelli ice cream and orange "creamsicle" with orange curd. Service is always friendly and attentive.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Nice view, ambience, but food is incredibly salty. Also menu is nothing like it indicates online. Only three entries, no "normal salad", kale salad left a lot to be desired. Hanger steak had so many different spices on it you didn't know what you were eating. People were very friendly, service good, but eat before you go.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My food was way too salty. I did not finish the entree, which was salmon, or the gnocchi, as both very salty. This was our first meal at Charcoal, and we will not be going back. Let diners add the salt!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a late reservation , 9 pm, and by that time the salmon, one of the THREE main course choices, was sold out. Same for the one of the appetizers we wanted. Not very happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was absolutely wonderful and their homemade donut was scrumptious. Staff was very attentive and friendly. An added bonus was watching a bald eagle who had perched outside along the river, of which we had a great view!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had gone several times for breakfast, which is always excellent. We decided one night to try dinner. We were not disappointed. They offer a small menu, and most of the offerings come in small plate or entree sizes. The Griggstown fried chicken was unbelievably moist and tasty. We will definitely go back for dinner. And will definitely try their lunch menu as well.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Very inventive and fabulous tasting food. Never disappointed when eating here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dinner was excellent. Would like to see a few more entrees on the menu. Bread was awesome, but not use to having to pay for it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Regular diners at Charcoal. Always a fantastic dinner. Servers are educated about meals, food is top quality and we'll prepared and restaurant is comfortable. If you haven't been here, you are missing an amazing food experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were not rushed. Service was attentive but not pushy. Limited menu was refreshing, allowing us to enjoy our conversation without needing to "study" the menu. Meals smallish but delicious. Surprisingly pleasantly quiet space. Would definitely return and recommend.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of our favorite places to go. Food is always very good. Sunday brunch is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Creative menu with many dishes tapas size. Great for trying a larger number of plates. You'll want to. Everything was very tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was very good. It is a little pricy for the kind of place it is. You have to pay for bread. I thought that was strange. Everything is Ala Carte. You can order small plates here which is nice, but the regular sized entrees weren't quite enough. I had Salmon that was amazing, but it came with Kale and Cauliflower and there were about 3 pieces of each.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was outstanding. The blending of flavors was exquisite. Making reservations was easy and my time was accommodated. The staff were friendly and attentive. Our meals were excellent. I would highly recommend Charcoal BYOB.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Delicious dishes. Great pairing and unique flavoring

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was excellent! We love charcoal for breakfast and now a new dinner favorite.
The gnocchi was wonderful and the octopus was even better. Overall the prices were a bit high but will definitely recdomend and come back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Best food in Bucks County! Simple dishes with complex flavors. Every dish is unique and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Four of us drive to Charcoal following an afternoon opera at the Met in NYC. We has a great table with views of the Delaware. Brought some nice wines. But the star of the evening was the delicious, well prepared dishes. The bread, the octopus, the old bay gnocchi, the trenne pasta, the Korean fried chicken and many other dishes that we shared were all fabulous. Can't wait for our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Waterfront, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Absolutely love that restaurant. We go every other week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

All of our food was outstanding , 6 appetizers ,6 dinners and 3 desserts. The food keeps getting better. The menu is small but they have good options. Their pasta's are some of the best I have had anywhere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very limited menu, but everything on it was outstanding. Bread was the best I ever had, the only problem was you had to buy it which is kind of cheap. Highly recommend the place though.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Grilled octopus is always excellent. Pastas are rich and combine different flavors. Service is consistently good. A favorite of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants, donuts are AMAZING! A must get every time! Great view, love everything about the place! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The menu was small but with nice variety. The only minor disappointment was the $5 charge for the four slices of in-house baked sourdough bread. The bread was very good with a crisp crust. With only four slices we had to order 2 portions.

The appetizers ordered included a kale and beet salad (with feta, puffed quinoa and a very tasty buttermilk dressing), a butterhead and radicchio salad with pears, pistachios, blue cheese and basil, BBQ grilled octopus with ham hocks and grits, and smoked trout beignets. We also had two half portions of pastas for appetizers. They were an excellent clam and prosciutto pasta dish and equally as good chicken, mushroom pasta dish in a Marsala sauce. We all tasted each of the appetizers and truly enjoyed the flavor of each of them.

For our main meals we were able to try each of the four entrees offered plus one of the four pasta dishes. Although the filet of beef was extremely pricey ($47) the meat was tender and cooked exactly as ordered medium rare. The pan seared salmon was accompanied with roasted cauliflower and sautéed kale with a dill cream sauce. The pork dish was Kung Pao Pork with fried peanuts, rice and scallions. The spicy Korean fried chicken was actually the tastiest meal. The final entrée that was ordered was a full portion of the Pappardelle Au Poivre with mustard and braised short ribs. We agreed that all of the entrees were prepared properly and were very good.

We barely had room for anything else, but we could not pass up dessert. We all sampled the four desserts that were on the menu: The Millionaire Rice Krispy Squares which were coated in delectable chocolate, the lemon curd with cranberries a meringue top, the Polenta Budino containing chocolate mousse and walnuts, and the exceptional warm brioche doughnuts with coffee caramel sauce were all deemed delicious.

The restaurant was a little expensive, but definitely deserves a visit. With tax and tip, we spent $137 per couple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food is outstanding -- every dish is individually prepared and exceptional. I've enjoyed every experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was so delicious! Brussel sprout appetizer, house made pasta dishes, Korean chicken, kung pao pork and don't even get me started on the desserts! Make sure to save room for dessert. We got a few for the table and I seriously couldn't pick a fav!! Homemade donut with caramel sauce, lemon curd dessert, chocolate and caramel covered rice crispy bar. Mmmm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I think it was a little overpriced. Thought is was a little ridiculous to pay 5.00 for bread. Food was good but portions were small. Staff was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Loved the Eggs Benedict with Salmon! Would love to go back to this place in the fall when there's a nice view out the windows

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Another awesome meal. The brussels sprouts were tasty and the A1 pasta and chicken with marsala (and other ingredients) pasta were also delicious. Entrees of salmon, steak, and Kung Pao pork were well spiced and accompanied by great veggies. Two new desserts - tiramisu truffles and a lemon curd were great to have with the traditional donuts. It was fun to introduce friends to this fantastic dining experience. The third bell from Inquirer food critic Craig LaBan is well-deserved.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Outstanding food experience--loved everything--2 of us shared 1 app, 1 pasta full dish and 1 main course (had leftovers) and 1 dessert for a very reasonable price. They even printed Happy Birthday on our menus!! BYOB makes it even a better value. Highly recommended!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I guess it was an OFF night!
We haven't been here for dinner recently; but have eaten lunch several times in the past month and loved it.
So not sure what happened but...
Service--the server was pleasant but inattentive and perhaps inexperienced.
Very limited menu-no specials; no soups.
Food took a fairly long time to come out -- our server should have checked in with us and told us what was happening.
However, the food was really good and well prepared. We didn't love the sriracha pasta--too bland for our tastes but all was fresh and clearly made to order.
Will def be back for lunch.
Might consider dinner on a weekend night to see if this was an aberration but for close to $200 for 4 people including tip we feel that we were let down this time.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food is always spot on. It is definitely pricey but you get what you pay for. It's nice it's a byob. My husband and I go here when we have special occassions to celebrate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

They make the best Brioche donuts. We were there for breakfast this time. Always a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.