Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi

About Charcoal BYOB

Charcoal is a BYOB that boasts a modern American fare in a casual environment. We source the finest ingredients and believe in a healthy relationship with local farmers and purveyors, creating food which is thoughtful and precise. Our menu is a reflection of the season and how we feel at the moment.

11 S Delaware Ave
Yardley, PA 19067
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Tuesday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 493-6394

Website:
http://www.charcoalbyob.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wheelchair Access

Charcoal BYOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (30)
Scenic View (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Casual (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Romantic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Fun (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Their homemade bread is absolutely the best, crunchy crust and soft inside. I had the grilled swordfish with summer vegetable chow-chow, green peppercorn caramel sauce. It was delicious, great blend of flavors. For dessert we shared the Brioche Doughnut, it doesn't disappoint.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food with interesting choices. A Saturday night and crowded with several large parties so service was a bit slow. Noise level was beyond energetic - so loud it was painful at times. Would recommend going at a less busy time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Great find and highly recommended by our son who is a chef in town. Did not disappoint, great food overlooking the river. We will be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My boyfriend and I went here Saturday night. The food was outstanding. Better then we could gave imagined. Our watress was so nice and attentive. And the overall atmosphere was perfect for a night out. Will definitely come again!!!!

Thanks!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Dinner was fantastic. The newly added apple salad was awesome! I also loved the chicken pasta. My husband has to always gets the pierogis and steak. Donuts for dessert makes it totally perfect time. Service was very good as usual.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Everything was great. Delicious pierogis, fried chicken, and ink fusili. Charcoal never disappoints. Perfect dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

A very solid meal with generous portions and a nice casual BYO ambiance. However, if you need gluten free dishes for medical reasons (Celiac disease) I would caution you about eating here. When I called in advance to ask if they could safely accommodate my wife's needs, they told me that the kitchen and entire staff was knowledgeable and well trained. When we went to order and my wife asked about their gluten free pasta dishes, the server said that the chef cares so much about safe eating that he breaks down the pasta machine weekly to clean it before making his GF free pasta. Well as anyone with Celiac will know, gluten just doesn't wash away, so you cannot cross use equipment. You need separate equipment and sure enough, my wife didn't feel very well after dinner and believes she was gluttoned here. Too bad. We might have become regulars.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Charcoal is a favorite for us. Small restaurant, friendly staff, casual and, above all, great food. The menu is locally sourced and creative. We always order the grilled octopus and the pierogies when they are on the menu. Their local Griggstown chicken is always a winner. Dessert is always great and you must try the donuts--they are the best.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Although it was a limited menu because Charcoal were participating in Yardley Restaurant Week, the menu available was a true taste sensation - as usual ! If you like exciting food, then this is the place to go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This has been my wife's and my favorite restaurant for several years. It's one of the very best restaurants in the area, by far. The food is simply amazing -- always. If I were a Michelin reviewer, I would give it two stars!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We loved our meal. Met friends for a casual dinner, beautiful view. Enjoyed the salad with blueberries, the perogies, and the octopus. Loved the salmon, amazing chicken, and noodle bowl was heavenly. The little chocolate dessert in a cup was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Charcoal. Our daughter has raved about it, plus gave us a generous gift card, which we used and had her and her boyfriend join us. If the food was merely average, it would be worth the visit for the wonderful view of the river; we were gifted this night with a lovely double rainbow. But the food was well above average, in fact, it was excellent. Our waitress, Jill, added immensely to our enjoyment with her pleasant demeanor, patience in answering our questions, and "inside tips" on the items we were trying to choose from. The only minor suggestion I would make is to have a few more entree choices--four is unusually low. Overall it was a memorable evening and we are already looking forward to our next visit, probably for breakfast. When I mentioned we'd gone to Charcoal to our gourmet cook friend, he didn't miss a beat: "I love that place!' And now so do we.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Come for the amazing starters and entrees, STAY for the homemade, original, creative and out of this world donut dessert. Charcoal is our first choice for a comfortable, delicious dinner out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great food and friendly staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food lovely views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Heard good things about Charcoal, but I was disappointed. Thought the lunch menu was not inventive, but figured the food itself would be stellar. Well, it was really nothing special. I've had a better sandwich at a deli. Might try it for dinner, but won't be rushing to do so.

A table with energetic young children next to us made the first part of our meal a bit noisy, but once they left, the noise was much reduced. Not the restaurant's fault they were noisy, but perhaps don't sit what is clearly a business group next to a table like this.

Also, the waitress left the check, but didn't think to tell us to pay at the register. So, we sat for an extended period waiting for her to return to get my credit card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Awesome salads and entrees. This is certainly one of the rare gems in Bucks County. Try the pierogi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

The ambiance as an overall was amazing. We were greater by a friendly staff and seated immediately. The food was very good. The presence of lemon tied all the dishes together very well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very impressive
I had the ink shrimp so flavorful!
I tasted the chicken with pickles --delicious.
The bread was fabulous but you had to pay five bucks for it, which is odd. But I would order it again.
It was a little pricey, but I would return!!
We had a great evening

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food but rather pricey for small portions with everything being a la carte.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food is unique and interesting with fresh flavors and in season produce. Dessert donuts are to die for. View of river is best in the area. Service is very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Another great dinner! Loved pineapple with the octopus. Cucumber and blueberry salad was a tasty combination. Lemon sauce on the salmon worked well. Hanger steak was perfectly cooked. It's great how the menu changes to reflect the availability of seasonal ingredient. Pastas are always delicious. This is my go to restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Usually very good. This last time the restaurant was very noisy and our entrees took over an hour & half to be served.

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Never disappoints. The food is very good and creative with multiple choices for everyone in our group.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Delicious food, small or large options. Really different menu choices. Everything is fresh and unique. BYOB

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Menu items always seem a little unusual, but as usual a great meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Charcoal BYOB. The view of the river was beautiful and the restaurant was very pleasant. The staff was very friendly and attentive as well. Two of our friends were vegetarian and asked the chef to prepare a pasta dish for them. They were not disappointed! Will definitely return again!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food is creative and delicious and you can't beat the river view. And of course, the unbeatable bread that cannot be resisted; dense and moist with a charcoal like crust which is unbelievably baked on the premises. I love dessert too; those hot brioche donuts are to die for but you can't miss that budino mouse dessert in a jar with polenta and crispy walnuts! I don't want the word to spread too far; want to keep the place to myself :)

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This is a true neighborhood gem - it would be a gem in any town or city! Small but thoughtful menu changed regularly to reflect what is fresh and seasonal. Do not miss this treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Amazing food, great atmosphere and a cool location right on the river. The donuts for dessert are a must!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our first time to Charcoal BYOB and was definitely worth it. I had Grinstead Fried Chicken and it was excellent and interesting in presentation. I would have it again. My wife had the salmon and she equally enjoyed that. We will be back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had an excellent meal at Charcoal. The chefs continue to innovate and execute. The bread and butter are unique and a must. The pasta dishes are clever -- the soft shell crab meal is a great seasonal dish. The polenta budino is a bellwether and never disappoints. The only caution is that the menu can be pricey for the size of the portions, particularly the appetizers. So, if you want fine dining and unique cuisine, Charcoal is one of the best, if not the best, places in Bucks County. If you want more volume (and less finesse), you can find cheaper alternatives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Retirement lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent meal. Got the blueberry pancakes. Side of sausage and great coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Best restaurant in Bucks County. Food looks deceivingly simple but has some of the best flavor profiles I have eaten anywhere within the US. Highly recommend starting with their charred fresh baked bread and ending the meal with their creamy donuts. Both are unbelievable and have to be tasted to understand my enthusiasm.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. Definitely recommend the pierogies with duck confit jam. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Must request window seating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was the second time my husband and I had a date night at Charcoal and it was delicious. The grilled octopus was amazing and we shared the fusilli and the friend chicken and brother were excellent. Unlike our first visit, this time we had a table by the window and it was very nice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This place is a must for people that love food. Creative, home made pastas, river view, donuts to die for. BYOB

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

If the service were better, I would give this place 5 stars, however it was clear that they are stronger in back of house, rather than the front. Our server had only fair knowledge of the menu and the preparations, in addition, when our appetizers took 40mins to come, she seemed unphased by it, saying that's just they way they group things in the kitchen. Thanks god the food was good when it came out! We went on a Saturday night, it was busy, but not crazy. I think they need a floor manager to oversee the service. Beautiful view of the river...we'll give it another try!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.