Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi

About Charcoal BYOB

Charcoal is a BYOB that boasts a modern American fare in a casual environment. We source the finest ingredients and believe in a healthy relationship with local farmers and purveyors, creating food which is thoughtful and precise. Our menu is a reflection of the season and how we feel at the moment.

11 S Delaware Ave
Yardley, PA 19067
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Tuesday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 493-6394

Website:
http://www.charcoalbyob.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wheelchair Access

Charcoal BYOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (34)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Scenic View (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Casual (12)
Seasonal (12)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (0)
Sort By:
S
358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Usually very good. This last time the restaurant was very noisy and our entrees took over an hour & half to be served.

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Never disappoints. The food is very good and creative with multiple choices for everyone in our group.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Delicious food, small or large options. Really different menu choices. Everything is fresh and unique. BYOB

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Menu items always seem a little unusual, but as usual a great meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Charcoal BYOB. The view of the river was beautiful and the restaurant was very pleasant. The staff was very friendly and attentive as well. Two of our friends were vegetarian and asked the chef to prepare a pasta dish for them. They were not disappointed! Will definitely return again!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food is creative and delicious and you can't beat the river view. And of course, the unbeatable bread that cannot be resisted; dense and moist with a charcoal like crust which is unbelievably baked on the premises. I love dessert too; those hot brioche donuts are to die for but you can't miss that budino mouse dessert in a jar with polenta and crispy walnuts! I don't want the word to spread too far; want to keep the place to myself :)

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This is a true neighborhood gem - it would be a gem in any town or city! Small but thoughtful menu changed regularly to reflect what is fresh and seasonal. Do not miss this treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Amazing food, great atmosphere and a cool location right on the river. The donuts for dessert are a must!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our first time to Charcoal BYOB and was definitely worth it. I had Grinstead Fried Chicken and it was excellent and interesting in presentation. I would have it again. My wife had the salmon and she equally enjoyed that. We will be back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had an excellent meal at Charcoal. The chefs continue to innovate and execute. The bread and butter are unique and a must. The pasta dishes are clever -- the soft shell crab meal is a great seasonal dish. The polenta budino is a bellwether and never disappoints. The only caution is that the menu can be pricey for the size of the portions, particularly the appetizers. So, if you want fine dining and unique cuisine, Charcoal is one of the best, if not the best, places in Bucks County. If you want more volume (and less finesse), you can find cheaper alternatives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Retirement lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent meal. Got the blueberry pancakes. Side of sausage and great coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Best restaurant in Bucks County. Food looks deceivingly simple but has some of the best flavor profiles I have eaten anywhere within the US. Highly recommend starting with their charred fresh baked bread and ending the meal with their creamy donuts. Both are unbelievable and have to be tasted to understand my enthusiasm.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. Definitely recommend the pierogies with duck confit jam. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Must request window seating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was the second time my husband and I had a date night at Charcoal and it was delicious. The grilled octopus was amazing and we shared the fusilli and the friend chicken and brother were excellent. Unlike our first visit, this time we had a table by the window and it was very nice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This place is a must for people that love food. Creative, home made pastas, river view, donuts to die for. BYOB

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

If the service were better, I would give this place 5 stars, however it was clear that they are stronger in back of house, rather than the front. Our server had only fair knowledge of the menu and the preparations, in addition, when our appetizers took 40mins to come, she seemed unphased by it, saying that's just they way they group things in the kitchen. Thanks god the food was good when it came out! We went on a Saturday night, it was busy, but not crazy. I think they need a floor manager to oversee the service. Beautiful view of the river...we'll give it another try!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Food was unique and ambitious. The octopus excellent. The hanger steak disappointing for the price. Beautiful location overlooking the river.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The best food in Mercer county PA riverfront area. Always a creative delicious experience. Can't leave without an order of doughnuts.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We loved our dinner. We all ordered something different from soft shell crab to salmon to pasta and everything was great. This restaurant rocks from the bread to the desserts and great coffee. I would highly recommend and we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2017

They say they are about local ingredients and being creative, might as well eaten at a diner. No creativity at all, club sandwich, grilled cheese? Very disappointing. Maybe dinner is more creative, but the lunch menu couldn't have been more boring.
Best feature is the veiw of the river.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Charcoal has grown into my favorite spot in the area, menu changes often and food is always delicious. Desserts are amazing as well. 10/10.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is a great restaurant serving local, seasonal and fresh food. The food is delicious and the view is amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fabulous favors from a small but thoughtful menu - always a delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Never heard of this but my sister lives in Morrisville. I loved the byob that kept the price down. Literally everything was absolutely delicious. The bread was worth paying for. The dishes weren't generous portions but it was honestly quite enough food . We'll definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Another great meal at this friendly place. Food is always top notch! My only complaint is they were out of bread-- but other parts of our meal were stupendous--particularly the pierogies with duck confit, asparagus, pasta with bacon, and the fried chicken with caramel. Hope to return soon (they "owe" us bread😁).

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Nice did choices, waitress helped us choose, surprised at BYOB but it worked for us.

Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Always outstanding! Interesting dishes, amazing favors and great atmosphere! I would recommend the pirogi as a starter or the octopus, Absolutely amazing. The pasta dishes are awesome too! Save room for dessert because the donuts are heavenly! Very relaxing place.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had our Mother's Day dinner here this year and was thoroughly impressed. We come here all the time for the delicious brunch and had an outstanding dinner now too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Charcoal is a fantastic BYOB with. S'autofinancer views our over the Delaware River! While all of the food is a treat, I highly recommend the salmon and octopus! And - even for someone who rarely eats bread - the bread and butter they offer is honestly the best I've ever had! Our table order and devoured two portions! The doughnuts are also a treat if you are looking for a sweet to finish off your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I was very impressed with the quality of the kitchen at Charcoal BYOB. The food was inventive and used very fresh seasonal ingredients. The staff was pleasant, and the view of the Delaware River was lovely. On a Tuesday night there weren't many other diners, and we could enjoy our meal and conversation in peace. I expect that given all the hard surfaces in the restaurant, if it were crowded, it would be extremely noisy. Accordingly, I would avoid going on a weekend.

Charcoal exceeded my expectations, and I definitely would be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Really relaxed lunch environment and good food served by really pleasant staff

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was our second attempt to like this restaurant, but we will not return. Food presentation is nice, but inferior ingredients (farm raised salmon) should not command the price tag. Service is blah, leaving diners feel less than special. We inquired about a dish that would typically be served hot, but was not. We were then informed, "oh yeah, that's a room temperature dish." We will not return.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very comfortable and quiet. Nice place to have conversation. Food was very good, as was the service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great local byo. Very interesting menu. Unbelievable donuts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Perfect meal as usual. We are regular diners here and the quality of service and food has never disappointed. Fried chicken is the best, as well as any pasta dish on the menu. Pierogi with duck confit was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Our server was Jennie, who was excellent. We only gave 4-stars for the food due to the limited menu- taste and originality would be 5-stars. Excellent scenic view of river and New Jersey.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fantastic service and food as usual. The gnocchi was great as appetizer but we all wanted it as an entree. Next time we will ask if it could be made into entree as perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.