About Charcoal BYOB

11 S Delaware Ave
Yardley, PA 19067
View Larger Map

Charcoal is a BYOB that boasts a modern American fare in a casual environment. We source the finest ingredients and believe in a healthy relationship with local farmers and purveyors, creating food which is thoughtful and precise. Our menu is a reflection of the season and how we feel at the moment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Tuesday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 493-6394

Website:
http://www.charcoalbyob.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wheelchair Access

Charcoal BYOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Bucks County
Best Food
Bucks County
Best Ambiance
Bucks County
1 More
Fit for Foodies
Bucks County
Best Restaurants in Yardley ›

fit for foodies (42)
scenic view (42)
neighborhood gem (35)
See All
special occasion (27)
good for groups (18)
great for brunch (16)
romantic (15)
great for lunch (14)
hot spot (9)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food, good for vegetarians a ...

Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food, good for vegetarians and beautiful view of Delaware river. We've been there three times and terrific and consistent. Menu changes are also a plus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We hadn't been to Charcoal in awhile, an ...

Dined 5 days ago

We hadn't been to Charcoal in awhile, and we were pleasantly surprised to see new and interesting items on the menu. Charcoal has excellent chefs who seem to take pride in their cooking and their presentation. The appetizers we chose were amazing, and both contained items that were in season--asparagus , peas, pea chutes, green beans--all included in creative dressings. My husband and I both chose halibut for our entrees. It was out of this world--crispy on the outside, yet moist on the inside. It was cooked to perfection. Now, one of the chefs makes homemade ice cream, and tonight it was blueberry pie ice cream. To die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you chefs for a wonderful experien ...

Dined 7 days ago

Thank you chefs for a wonderful experience. The only place I will eat now in our area. Flavors all there and such a warm hearted team

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

So honesty is best policy. The appetizer ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

So honesty is best policy. The appetizers were good (especially the octopus). green beans with hummus and the devil ham appetizer were solid but overpriced. I had Korean Chicken ( spicy as I was told) but all that accompanied it were pickles and greens. Very uneventful. Someone mentioned they thought it was a little pricey and now I have to agree. I mean- that's it. The pasta dish- (carbonara )was good according to my spouse. My daughter had butternut bolognese and it was also good. Just not WOW-. Lastly the ambiance was very minimal and it felt like we were in an American legion hall- not a restaurant. I am surprised people liked it so much as they stated on here.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

everything was great- if you are not a " ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

everything was great- if you are not a "traditionalist". Only concern was that it was pretty pricey- even though it was a BYOB.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved every bite!

Dined on June 10, 2016

My friends and I come here at least once a month, grab the corner table, with a beautiful view of the river flowing by. We love food. We love to share. And Charcoal is where we can do a lot of tastings, and even go for a second round of our favorite dish(es). Don't forget to get an order of bread. I would love to know how they bake it so perfectly. I always want more, but am reminded to save room for the rest of my tastings. And you need to leave room for dessert. Their freshly made, hot out of the oven donuts, with caramel drizzle....Oh so Heavenly Good! I wanted to keep Charcoal a secret, but I rave to everyone about the great food - so of course all my friends come here, too. And the menu changes, seasonally. So if you like something, go back often, and enjoy it all over again!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing meal. Incredible view, excell ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

An amazing meal. Incredible view, excellence in every dish. Octopus, Beef Tartare, and dessert donuts were out of this world in terms of freshness and delicate balance. Can't recommend more highly, which is rare since I have generally been disappointed by restaurants in the Philadelphia area compared to NYC.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best dessert I have ever had, their ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

The best dessert I have ever had, their doughnuts are simply unbelievably good!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining on the River

Dined on June 8, 2016

This is a neighborhood spot that I usually save for visiting out-of-towners to introduce them to Yardley. We happened to be eating during a horrendous rain storm which made things exciting overlooking the river. The food was good as usual and service fine.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend

Dined on June 4, 2016

Fantastic food, different, small dishes, many choices, fresh, never had a bad meal here. Donuts for dessert are the best to!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food and staff in Yardley and probably Bucks

Dined on May 28, 2016

Best food and staff in Yardley and probably Bucks county

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had an amazing time with my good frien ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I had an amazing time with my good friend! We got a bottle of Prosecco enjoyed every dish that came out. The waiter was very attentive. We requested to sit by the window so that we can enjoy the DE river view. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

This a great spot for foodies. Everythin ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This a great spot for foodies. Everything is prepared with such care and it shows. The flavors are well developed and the plating is creative. Do not miss the opportunity to sample the house made bread. Yes, it's an additional $5, but believe me, it's worth every penny! And don't get me started on the donuts! If you enjoy culinary creativity and a friendly and unpretentious environment, this is your spot.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great meal

Dined on May 7, 2016

Love the small seasonal menu. Food was wonderful. Only drawback was strawberry salad was over dressed. Asparagus, prime rib and the soft shell crab pasta were excellent. Donuts for dessert not to be missed!! Wait staff friendly and knowledgable

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my second time at Charcoal BYOB ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

This was my second time at Charcoal BYOB, and I enjoyed it yet again! I like the small plates on the menu, but there are full entrees, if that is what you prefer. The chef specializes in putting different flavors together, and the menu changes frequently. The wait staff is great - very relaxed, yet attentive enough. We didn't feel rushed in any way.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We loved the home made bread. The dinner ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We loved the home made bread. The dinner was just ok. The descriptions and ingredients are unusual and different with a nice presentation .......but the taste. Might try it again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressive Return

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Minimalist, eclectic inspired menu, classic and romantic. Everything about this dining experience was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Regular customer and have never had a ba ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Regular customer and have never had a bad meal. Exceptional, creative food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on April 22, 2016

Another delicious meal at Charcoal BYOB. The pastas, Korean chicken special, scallops and the octopus were all artfully prepared and included a blend of various flavors. One of the best places to dine between and including NYC and Philly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The view of the Delaware was spectacular ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The view of the Delaware was spectacular. The menu was surprisingly limited-only 3 main entrees. Price was very high for what you got.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charcoal BYOB, Worth a Trip

Dined on April 21, 2016

Once a neighborhood favorite, now a 45-minute drive, Charcoal BYOB is always worth the trip. Jared's bread is amazing and its hard to limit ourselves to one slice in order to enjoy the rest of the menu. The menu changes often enough to make it worth visiting often and the house made pastas are outstanding. The guys have a deft hand with vegetables and often pair them with sauces and fresh herbs to great effect. We like to get the bread, a couple of starters, and share some pastas and an entree. Definitely save room for dessert. They are all delicious. The budino is an amazing and unusual layered parfait that you won't want to miss.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

Fried chicken srraichia sandwich should ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Fried chicken srraichia sandwich should stay for brunch! Chicken and waffles were good but man that sandwhich was amazing last year. I miss it. :(

food2
ambience4
service2

Service was a bit slow, but friendly. T ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Service was a bit slow, but friendly. The app and pasta dish were very good. But the steak was small and over priced. This is the second time we were disappointed with the red meat. We would go back but not for meat.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delightfully exotic!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Always enjoy the frequent menu changes and interesting, exotic food. Always a surprise. Love it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simple and Delightful

Dined on March 29, 2016

Everything with Charcoal is simple; from the decor to the food (that's a good thing!) The service was good and the food was yummy and delightful. I would recommend folks to try it and I would go back next time I'm in town.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

As always a great view - Food consistent ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

As always a great view - Food consistent. A nearby fav.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Never disappoints

Dined on March 25, 2016

We frequently dine at Charcoal and are always pleased with the food. The wait staff is always very pleasant but the service the last few times was on the slower side. Love their food and changing menu. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing BEETS and Buckwheat

Dined on March 19, 2016

Amazing BEETS and Buckwheat

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as usual. New menu offered unusu ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Awesome as usual. New menu offered unusual and interesting combinations of flavors. If you want a taste experience, you need to be here! BYOB is the best

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find!

Dined on March 12, 2016

You will not be disappointed when you book at this place! From the moment you step in the door you'll be treated like one of the family. The food is amazing! You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. The other diners are friendly and very happy to suggest their favorite meal to first timers. We've only been here for dinner, but imagine all other times would be amazing too! I highly recommend making a reservation as they tend to fill their tables fast.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Still a Very Good Experience The brothe ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Still a Very Good Experience The brothers are still cooking . . . And going strong. They can do wonders with Brussels sprouts, duck, pork belly, short ribs, scallops, donuts, you name it and they can deliver. The cooking is creative and the execution is first rate.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Local Gem

Dined on March 11, 2016

This place was everything I've dreamt about. Right along the water, it sits up on a second level for beautiful views at sunset. Yes, the menu is small, but everything is worth trying. Small plates, noodles, entrees and desserts alike are crafted with talent and imagination and you can't find food like this in small local towns. Kung Pao Octopus was cooked well, with just the right heat and sweetness with a costing of peanuts to cut the flavor. My scallops with pork belly were on point. I was not a huge fan of he lentil 'hummus' served underneath- but that was just a personal preferences. I did feel $34 was a little steep for 3 scallops on an inch slab of pork belly. Fiancé got the chicken fried chicken and I'm so glad he shared some with me. It was one of the best thing I've had in a longggggg time. Three hardy pieces of juicy chicken with smoked honey and a BBQ dusting..... just fantastic. House made donuts to top the meal off with the coffee caramel sauce were the perfect ending. I'm a super chocolate lover but these sugar coated donuts satisfied my sweet tooth at the end of the night. BYOB, and I would recommend making a reservation and request a window seat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely spot on the Delaware

Dined on March 5, 2016

Charcoal is a classy, pretty place to enjoy a meal. The brunch and lunch are excellent. Dinner is good...not spectacular, but with a few highs and lows. I've had many dinners here and inconsistency is an issue. When it's good, it's great. The donut dessert alone is worth coming for. Pricing is rather high for dinner. They even charge for bread. But it's a good neighborhood spot, so we always return.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Fine but overpriced

Dined on February 28, 2016

Had a fine dinner. Meals were good, but our final bill for a party of 4 was just shy of $290 with tip. For a starter, main course and dessert each - without the fancy water (and the place is BYOB so it actually cost us more) - that was just too much. For an over-the-top dinner, maybe; but while this was an acceptable dinner, it was by no means a "wow" and for that money, in this part of the world, we should have had two evenings out. Maybe breakfast or lunch is more reasonable, but I won't be going back to find out.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a good experience

Dined on February 19, 2016

We eat at Charcoal probably once a month, sometimes with friends but primarily just the two of us. It is probably the most sophisticated food in Bucks County. We have never been disappointed. I should point out that the prices have increased quite a bit these last 2 years. But it is a BYOB, so this partially offsets the cost...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A Gem!

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

I will be careful in this review. I love this restaurant and don't want it to become so crowded I can't make reservations. The food is innovative and well-executed. The servers are knowledgable. This is a foodie place: you eat here for the art and execution. Oh, and the view of the Delware ain't too shabby!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal as usual

Dined on February 13, 2016

Had dinner on Sat on our way home from NYC opera. Had a window seat with a beautiful view of the Delaware River. Four of us shared appetizers, four pastas, some delicious entrees and two desserts. My personal favorite dish was the short rib that was unbelievably tender and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't wait to go back

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our first time here. A great local place where we want to come back. We had breakfast and it was excellent. We had reservations and they seated us immediately. The lunch menu looks great...maybe next Saturday!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

This was our first viisit to Charcoal. ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our first viisit to Charcoal. We really enjoyed the Kung Pao Octopus and the Beet Salad as well as the mushroom pasta.......the jalepeno was an nice addition. The only thing we could do without was the type of rice used and the large quantity of obligitory micro greens on every dish (although it didnt take away from the flavor). Our server was friendly, attentive and had good knowledge of the menu. The restaurant was extremely clean and organized.......we like being able to look through the pass and see the kitchen at work. We anticipate more visits since it is so close for us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food

Dined on February 12, 2016

I went into charcoal byob with high expectations, I was blown away. I had the roasted potato salad and black bass tempura as appetizers. The roasted potato salad was amazing. The black bass tempura was also amazing and well worth the price. Our entrees were the braised short rib and the maitake Marsala. The short rib melted in your mouth. It was cooked perfectly. What made the Marsala pop was the charred jalapenos. That little spice gave the dish a nice twist. As for the desserts, the brioche doughnuts and earl grey tea cake were superb. I would recommend this place to anyone willing to try some awesome cuisine as awesome prices. Definitely 5/5 stars for me.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.