About Charcoal BYOB

11 S Delaware Ave
Yardley, PA 19067
View Larger Map

Charcoal is a BYOB that boasts a modern American fare in a casual environment. We source the finest ingredients and believe in a healthy relationship with local farmers and purveyors, creating food which is thoughtful and precise. Our menu is a reflection of the season and how we feel at the moment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Tuesday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 493-6394

Website:
http://www.charcoalbyob.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wheelchair Access

Charcoal BYOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Bucks County
Best Food
Bucks County
Best Value
Bucks County
Best Restaurants in Yardley ›

Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for a Date (17)
Scenic View (17)
See All
Waterfront (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Romantic (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Tapas (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Authentic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
260 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Charcoal is one of our favorite restaura ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Charcoal is one of our favorite restaurants. It never disappoints. The menu is always changing--even mainstays get updated seasonal treatments. We had another great meal with friends. It won't be long before we go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good appetizer and pasta dishes. T ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very good appetizer and pasta dishes. The artisanal bread is great and worth the $5 fee. Place was unusually loud for a Friday night, as one party in the dining room was more or less out of control and changed the usual atmosphere (friendly, mellow, populated with foodies) into something more befitting of a crowd watching an Eagles' game. That turned what should have been a warm, mellow night into a night where we could not wait to get out of there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

While the limited menu presents challeng ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

While the limited menu presents challenges, Charcoal is a wonderful place. Rigatoni app with meatloaf was spot on. Mini glitch with pork chop (cured with another 5 minutes under heat) was not a problem as it still was moist and flavorful. Griggstown Korean Fried Chicken has a big layer of hot sauce and it was HOT even to one who believes it can never be to hot. Best part of a wonderful restaurant is the staff and Hannah was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Charcoal has a limited menu but what we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Charcoal has a limited menu but what we had was excellent. The restaurant is kind of small but the food was terrific. Most of the menu has sort of unusual dishes that you don't see at other restaurants. We had the brussel sprouts and octopus appetizers and they were delicious. For dinner, three of us had the worcestershire fusilli with chicken and one had pork chop. Everyone raved about their meal but don't forget about the dessert. The brioche donuts is to die for. Reservations fill up fast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great food experience but notic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always a great food experience but noticed that we had not been there for a few years and the prices for the entrees were very high. I ordered the steak entree and it cost $47 like the price of a high end steak house. It is a good restaurant but not at Philadelphia city price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This was lunch for our family. Food and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was lunch for our family. Food and service is like in regular diner. Doubt about true rating of this place. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

What a nice find. Food was top notch. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 8, 2016

What a nice find. Food was top notch. This will be a repeat destination.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, friendly and efficient servi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great food, friendly and efficient service, soothing decor, beautiful river view (although wish there weren't so many spiders on the outside of the windows - a coincidental Halloween touch, I guess :-)). Especially loved the trout beignets. Appreciate the availability of half portions of pasta dishes.

We will return. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a great place to eat. Great food an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Such a great place to eat. Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good few, very nice setting.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Good few, very nice setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

An excellent meal as always. I had the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

An excellent meal as always. I had the Smoked Trout Beignets which were quite amazing, and the Potato Pierogi Au Poivre with mustard, braised oxtail. The flavor was out of this world. And for desert the Polenta Budino chocolate mousse, walnuts, smoked salt - heaven in a mason jar.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Another excellent meal! Food was fabulo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Another excellent meal! Food was fabulous. Wait staff attentive. Every dish was prepared perfectly. And then we had the donuts...omg.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charcoal is great for breakfast and dinn ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Charcoal is great for breakfast and dinner is absolutely phenomenal. The chef is innovative, daring, and unafraid to put a menu out there with unexpected, flavorful ingredients. If your looking for a top notch meal, look no further. He's best in Yardley and the restaurant is BYOB. Truly an exceptional meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super talanted Chefs, Great mixture of f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Super talanted Chefs, Great mixture of flavors and texture. Not a large selection but every dish we had was spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Best fresh made donut ever, with a caram ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Best fresh made donut ever, with a caramel sauce! Truly, delish! Love the salmon eggs benedict.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the atmosphere and most important ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I love the atmosphere and most importantly the food is amazing!!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BYOB, Good food, very compact menu, not ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

BYOB, Good food, very compact menu, not many choices. No bread at the table, but they sell a large portion for $5 that looks awesome. Bass was mushy, small plates. Korean chicken was great, a tad spicy. Doughnuts are FANTASTIC. A little expensive. Service is so-so, difficult to find out who is a server since they don't have an uniform or an apron to differentiate from guests

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Truly exceptional food in this out-of-th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Truly exceptional food in this out-of-the-way spot right across from the Delaware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall I had a great experience at this ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Overall I had a great experience at this place. The food was very good, our table view overlooking the Delaware River was even better, the only criticism I would have is that they have better signage for the main entrance. I walked around the entire building before I realized that you needed to walk up a set of stairs to the restaurant located on the second floor.

Now that I know where their main entrance is, I can't wait to return and to try out a new dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The chefs excelled tonight. Trout rille ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The chefs excelled tonight. Trout rillet beignets were probably the best appetizers I have had at Charcoal. Octopus, Worcestershire chicken pasta and bass were superb. View of river during sunset and their wonderful chocolate budino dessert were a wonderful finish to the night. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Every part of the meal was outstanding. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Every part of the meal was outstanding. Creative flavor/texture pairings, well seasoned, beautifully curated fresh food. Underrated and very thoughtfully made meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been here many times for breakfast over ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Been here many times for breakfast over the years and decided to go for dinner. Very interesting and different menu with a fairly small selection. Food was simply great. From beginning to end, everything was terrific. Service was very good as well. Very pleasantly surprised and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food. Great plates to share

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing food. Great plates to share

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Go early so they don't sell out of their ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Go early so they don't sell out of their bread and homemade butter. We went at 8 on a Sat and they were sold out :(

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Best food in Mercer and Bucks Counties! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Best food in Mercer and Bucks Counties! Creative menu using fresh ingredients in novel ways. Plenty of selection for all types of food preferences if you are seeking the sublime use of local vegetables, fruits and meats. Great service that is both professional and relaxed. Beautiful views of the Delaware, especially at sunset with a changing degree of light over the course of dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Even though the dishes are served family ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Even though the dishes are served family style, it's always hard to choose just a few! Highlights of my most recent trip include the poke and cacio e pepe. The yoghurt panna cotta, with its boozy granota, is a nice addition to the dessert menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was ok... Not bad. VERY limited menu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was ok... Not bad. VERY limited menu choices. Great river views.

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Best food in the borough, but portions o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best food in the borough, but portions on the small side and a bit expensive. Bread is worth the 5$ charge!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always have a great a great meal here. P ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always have a great a great meal here. Philly quality dining in bucks county with a beautiful view of the Delaware River. Last trip there had the scallop crudo was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful view of the Beautiful Delaware ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful view of the Beautiful Delaware River, amazing food from appetizers to dessert, BYOB graciously accommodated as is take-out orders. Delightful staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My hubby & I finally got a babysitter an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2016

My hubby & I finally got a babysitter and were able to come out and have a fabulous meal! We were those annoying 9pm late-night reservations but still got a warm and friendly welcome and excellent service! We had a nice bottle of wine, the best table in the house (right by the window, plenty of room) and our server gave us plenty of time to relax and enjoy our meal. We started out with the octopus and scallop apps...and they were both so good!!! We also ordered the $5 bread & butter...totally worth it! (Especially because you use it to wipe us the leftover sauce from the 2 apps!!!)

Our server told us all about the pastas which all sounded awesome, so we decided to do a pasta course and I'm telling you, they were the best homemade pasta dished we've ever had!!!! The small size is perfect for a second course. We had the one with butter & cheese and the other one had a smokey tomato sauce on it. Sooooo amazingly yummy!!!!

We then ordered a 3rd course (I told you, we were those annoying late night people...sorry, we just never get out anymore!!!) and my husband had the fried chicken and I went for the steak tartare app since I wanted to try it and I was getting full. Again, both meals were spot on! We practically licked the plates!

We finished the night with the chocolate mouse dessert and it was the perfect mix of sweet and salty and went very well with my last mouthful of Malbec.

So long story short, (too late!)...we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 course meal/ date night. The food was out of this world (kudos to the kitchen! You guys rock!) And the service was friendly, warm, efficient, not rushed and basically awesome! I would recommend this place to my friends and family in a heartbeat! (Already have, actually!)

Thank you for a great night!!!

ps...other great things- it's a BYOB, so that is great! It has parking, also great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool place with nice view of river. Kind ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Cool place with nice view of river. Kinda casual. Small menu but interesting mix of items. Tried the octopuss for 1st time and loved it! Pasta wonderful. Melissa was excellent server, smiling, friendly, there exactly when we needed her. Love it's BYOB. Will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Charcoal continues to impress us with th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Charcoal continues to impress us with their delicious food, beautiful presentation, and attentive service. They've been our "go to" restaurant for many years, and are always recommending them to friends. Their pastas, small plates, and of course doughnuts are always crowd pleasers, and I can't wait until our next breakfast/lunch/dinner there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot for casual dining. The view i ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great spot for casual dining. The view is wonderful and the burger was great. Service good too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My fiancee and I ate at Charcoal last we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2016

My fiancee and I ate at Charcoal last wee and were very disappointed. We stated with the garden salad which was barely dressed. For appetizers we shared two pasta dishes, bolognese with a heavy fennel-like flavor and a Cacio e Pepe that didn't have much flavor. Finally, we shared a rib-eye that was cooked perfectly but completely unseasoned and for the price, was much too small. I commented during dinner that for the same price, I can get a nice rib eye at Benjamin's in NYC. Overall, we were very disappointed by the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I have had the good fortune to visit fin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have had the good fortune to visit fine dining restaurants in the US, Europe and Asia. Charcoal is one of the most creative culinary experiences I have found, given it is not located in a major metropolitan area. My son is a classic chef and I couldn't wait to tell him of the unique dishes and taste combinations. I would strongly recommend Charcoal to any "foodie" or anyone seeking a quality cuisine with seasonal ingredients at a fair price. I understand that Charcoal and its chefs have received top reviews by recognized food critics. It is truly a restaurant for a very special dining occasion or regular outing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great mid-week date night Great time on ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great mid-week date night

Great time on a weekday summer evening. Great view of the Delaware, friendly service, wonderful calamari, a soft shell crab special and the Korean fried chicken. Charcoal continues to innovate and deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch was very good.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Lunch was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is always on point! Fresh and local ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food is always on point! Fresh and local. Make your you finish your meal with a donut! You will not be disappointed!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charcoal always delivers great food. The ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Charcoal always delivers great food. The Scallop Crudo and Cacio e Pepe were standouts on our latest visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.