Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi

About Charcoal BYOB

Charcoal is a BYOB that boasts a modern American fare in a casual environment. We source the finest ingredients and believe in a healthy relationship with local farmers and purveyors, creating food which is thoughtful and precise. Our menu is a reflection of the season and how we feel at the moment.

11 S Delaware Ave
Yardley, PA 19067
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Tuesday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 493-6394

Website:
http://www.charcoalbyob.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wheelchair Access

Charcoal BYOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (34)
Scenic View (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for a Date (27)
Worth the Drive (22)
Waterfront (21)
Casual (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tapas (4)
Fun (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Great local byo. Very interesting menu. Unbelievable donuts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Perfect meal as usual. We are regular diners here and the quality of service and food has never disappointed. Fried chicken is the best, as well as any pasta dish on the menu. Pierogi with duck confit was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server was Jennie, who was excellent. We only gave 4-stars for the food due to the limited menu- taste and originality would be 5-stars. Excellent scenic view of river and New Jersey.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fantastic service and food as usual. The gnocchi was great as appetizer but we all wanted it as an entree. Next time we will ask if it could be made into entree as perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I love this place! Fantastic, creative, delicious food at highly reasonable prices in a beautiful setting with views of the Delaware. To add to all that we did not have the cranky hostess but a pleasant, helpful one that asked us to pick the table we wanted.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Outstanding meal with excellent service. Will definitely be reteurning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great dining experience. Can't wait to eat here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Charcoal has a very original menu that will interest the most ardent foody. My wife had one of there noodle dishes Rigatoni with a mushroom Marsala sauce. It was very hearty and flavorful. I got the hanger steak which was cooked to perfection and came with fried fingerling potatoes slices

But the best was their home made bread which was $5.00 extra but well worth it and the donuts for dessert

The view of the Delaware river is very scenic as viewed through their large picture windows lining the entire wall

Beware though it is on the second floor and while they have an elevator for access to people with disabilities it may be cumbersome I was there on a rainy night and it 's door is on the exterior of the building

Great food interesting menu we highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Best @#$% restaurant in the area. Have not had one meal that was not memorable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great dinner, including the best dessert I've ever had (the donuts). Very impressed with this unassuming spot.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food is great, and the service was fantastic on Friday night. Highly recommend. Very scenic overlooking the river, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food was phenomenal, our server was pleasant & knowledgeable. Would absolutely recommend & will be back. There were 4 in our group & we shared many dishes. Each and everything we ate was great. Start with the bread & finish with the donuts.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food. Will absolutely be going back. Cauliflower Mac & Cheese with their own homemade pasta was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Best damn restaurant in Bucks County!! Simple menu but inventive cuisine

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

One of my favorite breakfast lunch spots, but decided to do dinner for a special occasion. The meal was outrageously good. The octopus appetizer was excellent and the salmon was perfectly done. The birthday lady got the hanger steak which was beautifully seasoned and exceptionally tasty. The dinner progressed slightly slow, but it gave us enough time to work through a second bottle so no one minded. Will be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Upscale food in Yardley - pricing reflects this. Will dine here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Charcoal's food is always excellent. The chefs are very creative with their dishes. The fresh baked bread and special butter are to die for! I've never had a bad dish there. Highly recommend.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food presentation is there but it's deceiving, once you start to eat, it falls short of flavors blending....you only taste whatever spice/seasoning was used.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The gnocchi and fusilli were very good
The main entrée of cod was bitter
The octopus appetizer was just OK
budino didn't hit the mark
Possibly the smoke saw it was too much
I was surprised that you had to pay five dollars for bread-and-butter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Another superb meal. Highlights included the Brussels sprouts, shrimp beignets, octopus, pasta and salmon. New desserts- pretzel stracciatelli ice cream and orange "creamsicle" with orange curd. Service is always friendly and attentive.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Nice view, ambience, but food is incredibly salty. Also menu is nothing like it indicates online. Only three entries, no "normal salad", kale salad left a lot to be desired. Hanger steak had so many different spices on it you didn't know what you were eating. People were very friendly, service good, but eat before you go.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My food was way too salty. I did not finish the entree, which was salmon, or the gnocchi, as both very salty. This was our first meal at Charcoal, and we will not be going back. Let diners add the salt!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a late reservation , 9 pm, and by that time the salmon, one of the THREE main course choices, was sold out. Same for the one of the appetizers we wanted. Not very happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was absolutely wonderful and their homemade donut was scrumptious. Staff was very attentive and friendly. An added bonus was watching a bald eagle who had perched outside along the river, of which we had a great view!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had gone several times for breakfast, which is always excellent. We decided one night to try dinner. We were not disappointed. They offer a small menu, and most of the offerings come in small plate or entree sizes. The Griggstown fried chicken was unbelievably moist and tasty. We will definitely go back for dinner. And will definitely try their lunch menu as well.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Very inventive and fabulous tasting food. Never disappointed when eating here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dinner was excellent. Would like to see a few more entrees on the menu. Bread was awesome, but not use to having to pay for it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Regular diners at Charcoal. Always a fantastic dinner. Servers are educated about meals, food is top quality and we'll prepared and restaurant is comfortable. If you haven't been here, you are missing an amazing food experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were not rushed. Service was attentive but not pushy. Limited menu was refreshing, allowing us to enjoy our conversation without needing to "study" the menu. Meals smallish but delicious. Surprisingly pleasantly quiet space. Would definitely return and recommend.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of our favorite places to go. Food is always very good. Sunday brunch is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Creative menu with many dishes tapas size. Great for trying a larger number of plates. You'll want to. Everything was very tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was very good. It is a little pricy for the kind of place it is. You have to pay for bread. I thought that was strange. Everything is Ala Carte. You can order small plates here which is nice, but the regular sized entrees weren't quite enough. I had Salmon that was amazing, but it came with Kale and Cauliflower and there were about 3 pieces of each.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was outstanding. The blending of flavors was exquisite. Making reservations was easy and my time was accommodated. The staff were friendly and attentive. Our meals were excellent. I would highly recommend Charcoal BYOB.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Delicious dishes. Great pairing and unique flavoring

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was excellent! We love charcoal for breakfast and now a new dinner favorite.
The gnocchi was wonderful and the octopus was even better. Overall the prices were a bit high but will definitely recdomend and come back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Best food in Bucks County! Simple dishes with complex flavors. Every dish is unique and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Four of us drive to Charcoal following an afternoon opera at the Met in NYC. We has a great table with views of the Delaware. Brought some nice wines. But the star of the evening was the delicious, well prepared dishes. The bread, the octopus, the old bay gnocchi, the trenne pasta, the Korean fried chicken and many other dishes that we shared were all fabulous. Can't wait for our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Waterfront, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Absolutely love that restaurant. We go every other week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

All of our food was outstanding , 6 appetizers ,6 dinners and 3 desserts. The food keeps getting better. The menu is small but they have good options. Their pasta's are some of the best I have had anywhere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very limited menu, but everything on it was outstanding. Bread was the best I ever had, the only problem was you had to buy it which is kind of cheap. Highly recommend the place though.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.