About Charcoal BYOB

11 S Delaware Ave
Yardley, PA 19067
View Larger Map

Charcoal is a BYOB that boasts a modern American fare in a casual environment. We source the finest ingredients and believe in a healthy relationship with local farmers and purveyors, creating food which is thoughtful and precise. Our menu is a reflection of the season and how we feel at the moment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Tuesday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 493-6394

Website:
http://www.charcoalbyob.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wheelchair Access

Charcoal BYOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Bucks County
Best Food
Bucks County
Best Service
Bucks County
2 More
Best Value
Bucks County
Fit for Foodies
Bucks County
Best Restaurants in Yardley ›

fit for foodies (40)
scenic view (39)
neighborhood gem (34)
See All
special occasion (25)
good for groups (18)
great for brunch (13)
romantic (13)
great for lunch (8)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My fiancee and I ate at Charcoal last we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My fiancee and I ate at Charcoal last wee and were very disappointed. We stated with the garden salad which was barely dressed. For appetizers we shared two pasta dishes, bolognese with a heavy fennel-like flavor and a Cacio e Pepe that didn't have much flavor. Finally, we shared a rib-eye that was cooked perfectly but completely unseasoned and for the price, was much too small. I commented during dinner that for the same price, I can get a nice rib eye at Benjamin's in NYC. Overall, we were very disappointed by the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I have had the good fortune to visit fin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have had the good fortune to visit fine dining restaurants in the US, Europe and Asia. Charcoal is one of the most creative culinary experiences I have found, given it is not located in a major metropolitan area. My son is a classic chef and I couldn't wait to tell him of the unique dishes and taste combinations. I would strongly recommend Charcoal to any "foodie" or anyone seeking a quality cuisine with seasonal ingredients at a fair price. I understand that Charcoal and its chefs have received top reviews by recognized food critics. It is truly a restaurant for a very special dining occasion or regular outing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great mid-week date night Great time on ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great mid-week date night

Great time on a weekday summer evening. Great view of the Delaware, friendly service, wonderful calamari, a soft shell crab special and the Korean fried chicken. Charcoal continues to innovate and deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch was very good.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Lunch was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is always on point! Fresh and local ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food is always on point! Fresh and local. Make your you finish your meal with a donut! You will not be disappointed!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charcoal always delivers great food. The ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Charcoal always delivers great food. The Scallop Crudo and Cacio e Pepe were standouts on our latest visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding food, good for vegetarians a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Outstanding food, good for vegetarians and beautiful view of Delaware river. We've been there three times and terrific and consistent. Menu changes are also a plus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We hadn't been to Charcoal in awhile, an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We hadn't been to Charcoal in awhile, and we were pleasantly surprised to see new and interesting items on the menu. Charcoal has excellent chefs who seem to take pride in their cooking and their presentation. The appetizers we chose were amazing, and both contained items that were in season--asparagus , peas, pea chutes, green beans--all included in creative dressings. My husband and I both chose halibut for our entrees. It was out of this world--crispy on the outside, yet moist on the inside. It was cooked to perfection.

Now, one of the chefs makes homemade ice cream, and tonight it was blueberry pie ice cream. To die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you chefs for a wonderful experien ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Thank you chefs for a wonderful experience. The only place I will eat now in our area. Flavors all there and such a warm hearted team

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So honesty is best policy. The appetizer ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

So honesty is best policy. The appetizers were good (especially the octopus). green beans with hummus and the devil ham appetizer were solid but overpriced. I had Korean Chicken ( spicy as I was told) but all that accompanied it were pickles and greens. Very uneventful. Someone mentioned they thought it was a little pricey and now I have to agree. I mean- that's it.

The pasta dish- (carbonara )was good according to my spouse. My daughter had butternut bolognese and it was also good. Just not WOW-. Lastly the ambiance was very minimal and it felt like we were in an American legion hall- not a restaurant. I am surprised people liked it so much as they stated on here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

everything was great- if you are not a " ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

everything was great- if you are not a "traditionalist". Only concern was that it was pretty pricey- even though it was a BYOB.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved every bite!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My friends and I come here at least once a month, grab the corner table, with a beautiful view of the river flowing by. We love food. We love to share. And Charcoal is where we can do a lot of tastings, and even go for a second round of our favorite dish(es).

Don't forget to get an order of bread. I would love to know how they bake it so perfectly. I always want more, but am reminded to save room for the rest of my tastings.

And you need to leave room for dessert. Their freshly made, hot out of the oven donuts, with caramel drizzle....Oh so Heavenly Good!

I wanted to keep Charcoal a secret, but I rave to everyone about the great food - so of course all my friends come here, too.

And the menu changes, seasonally. So if you like something, go back often, and enjoy it all over again!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing meal. Incredible view, excell ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

An amazing meal. Incredible view, excellence in every dish. Octopus, Beef Tartare, and dessert donuts were out of this world in terms of freshness and delicate balance. Can't recommend more highly, which is rare since I have generally been disappointed by restaurants in the Philadelphia area compared to NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best dessert I have ever had, their ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The best dessert I have ever had, their doughnuts are simply unbelievably good!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining on the River

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This is a neighborhood spot that I usually save for visiting out-of-towners to introduce them to Yardley. We happened to be eating during a horrendous rain storm which made things exciting overlooking the river.

The food was good as usual and service fine.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly recommend

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Fantastic food, different, small dishes, many choices, fresh, never had a bad meal here. Donuts for dessert are the best to!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great good. Known for steaks. And, it ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great good. Known for steaks. And, it is BYOB. But there are a few obnoxious issues. First the parking is really tight. I mean tight. Second, this restaurant sells you bread and butter. The problem is if I'm going to be forced to buy it, it better have come straight from the oven and the butter better not be ShopRite brand. Unfortunately, on several trips here, the bread was cold and burned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Best food and staff in Yardley and probably Bucks

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Best food and staff in Yardley and probably Bucks county

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had an amazing time with my good frien ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I had an amazing time with my good friend! We got a bottle of Prosecco enjoyed every dish that came out. The waiter was very attentive. We requested to sit by the window so that we can enjoy the DE river view. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This a great spot for foodies. Everythin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This a great spot for foodies. Everything is prepared with such care and it shows. The flavors are well developed and the plating is creative. Do not miss the opportunity to sample the house made bread. Yes, it's an additional $5, but believe me, it's worth every penny! And don't get me started on the donuts! If you enjoy culinary creativity and a friendly and unpretentious environment, this is your spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great meal

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Love the small seasonal menu. Food was wonderful. Only drawback was strawberry salad was over dressed. Asparagus, prime rib and the soft shell crab pasta were excellent. Donuts for dessert not to be missed!! Wait staff friendly and knowledgable

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second time at Charcoal BYOB ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

This was my second time at Charcoal BYOB, and I enjoyed it yet again! I like the small plates on the menu, but there are full entrees, if that is what you prefer. The chef specializes in putting different flavors together, and the menu changes frequently. The wait staff is great - very relaxed, yet attentive enough. We didn't feel rushed in any way.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We loved the home made bread. The dinner ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We loved the home made bread. The dinner was just ok. The descriptions and ingredients are unusual and different with a nice presentation .......but the taste. Might try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Impressive Return

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Minimalist, eclectic inspired menu, classic and romantic. Everything about this dining experience was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Regular customer and have never had a ba ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Regular customer and have never had a bad meal. Exceptional, creative food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Another delicious meal at Charcoal BYOB. The pastas, Korean chicken special, scallops and the octopus were all artfully prepared and included a blend of various flavors. One of the best places to dine between and including NYC and Philly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view of the Delaware was spectacular ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The view of the Delaware was spectacular. The menu was surprisingly limited-only 3 main entrees. Price was very high for what you got.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Charcoal BYOB, Worth a Trip

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Once a neighborhood favorite, now a 45-minute drive, Charcoal BYOB is always worth the trip. Jared's bread is amazing and its hard to limit ourselves to one slice in order to enjoy the rest of the menu. The menu changes often enough to make it worth visiting often and the house made pastas are outstanding. The guys have a deft hand with vegetables and often pair them with sauces and fresh herbs to great effect. We like to get the bread, a couple of starters, and share some pastas and an entree. Definitely save room for dessert. They are all delicious. The budino is an amazing and unusual layered parfait that you won't want to miss.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried chicken srraichia sandwich should ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Fried chicken srraichia sandwich should stay for brunch!

Chicken and waffles were good but man that sandwhich was amazing last year. I miss it. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Service was a bit slow, but friendly. T ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Service was a bit slow, but friendly. The app and pasta dish were very good. But the steak was small and over priced. This is the second time we were disappointed with the red meat. We would go back but not for meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Delightfully exotic!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Always enjoy the frequent menu changes and interesting, exotic food. Always a surprise. Love it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simple and Delightful

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Everything with Charcoal is simple; from the decor to the food (that's a good thing!) The service was good and the food was yummy and delightful. I would recommend folks to try it and I would go back next time I'm in town.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a great view - Food consistent ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

As always a great view - Food consistent. A nearby fav.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We frequently dine at Charcoal and are always pleased with the food. The wait staff is always very pleasant but the service the last few times was on the slower side. Love their food and changing menu. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Amazing BEETS and Buckwheat

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Amazing BEETS and Buckwheat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as usual. New menu offered unusu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Awesome as usual. New menu offered unusual and interesting combinations of flavors. If you want a taste experience, you need to be here! BYOB is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a find!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

You will not be disappointed when you book at this place! From the moment you step in the door you'll be treated like one of the family. The food is amazing! You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. The other diners are friendly and very happy to suggest their favorite meal to first timers. We've only been here for dinner, but imagine all other times would be amazing too! I highly recommend making a reservation as they tend to fill their tables fast.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still a Very Good Experience The brothe ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Still a Very Good Experience

The brothers are still cooking . . . And going strong. They can do wonders with Brussels sprouts, duck, pork belly, short ribs, scallops, donuts, you name it and they can deliver. The cooking is creative and the execution is first rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Local Gem

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

This place was everything I've dreamt about. Right along the water, it sits up on a second level for beautiful views at sunset.

Yes, the menu is small, but everything is worth trying. Small plates, noodles, entrees and desserts alike are crafted with talent and imagination and you can't find food like this in small local towns.

Kung Pao Octopus was cooked well, with just the right heat and sweetness with a costing of peanuts to cut the flavor.

My scallops with pork belly were on point. I was not a huge fan of he lentil 'hummus' served underneath- but that was just a personal preferences. I did feel $34 was a little steep for 3 scallops on an inch slab of pork belly.

Fiancé got the chicken fried chicken and I'm so glad he shared some with me. It was one of the best thing I've had in a longggggg time. Three hardy pieces of juicy chicken with smoked honey and a BBQ dusting..... just fantastic.

House made donuts to top the meal off with the coffee caramel sauce were the perfect ending. I'm a super chocolate lover but these sugar coated donuts satisfied my sweet tooth at the end of the night.

BYOB, and I would recommend making a reservation and request a window seat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely spot on the Delaware

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Charcoal is a classy, pretty place to enjoy a meal. The brunch and lunch are excellent. Dinner is good...not spectacular, but with a few highs and lows. I've had many dinners here and inconsistency is an issue. When it's good, it's great. The donut dessert alone is worth coming for. Pricing is rather high for dinner. They even charge for bread. But it's a good neighborhood spot, so we always return.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.