About Charcoal BYOB

11 S Delaware Ave
Yardley, PA 19067
View Larger Map

Charcoal is a BYOB that boasts a modern American fare in a casual environment. We source the finest ingredients and believe in a healthy relationship with local farmers and purveyors, creating food which is thoughtful and precise. Our menu is a reflection of the season and how we feel at the moment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Tuesday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 493-6394

Website:
http://www.charcoalbyob.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wheelchair Access

Charcoal BYOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Bucks County
Best Food
Bucks County
Best Service
Bucks County
3 More
Best Value
Bucks County
Fit for Foodies
Bucks County
Neighborhood Gem
Bucks County
Best Restaurants in Yardley ›

Scenic View (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (12)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Waterfront (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
240 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The chefs excelled tonight. Trout rille ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

The chefs excelled tonight. Trout rillet beignets were probably the best appetizers I have had at Charcoal. Octopus, Worcestershire chicken pasta and bass were superb. View of river during sunset and their wonderful chocolate budino dessert were a wonderful finish to the night. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Every part of the meal was outstanding. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Every part of the meal was outstanding. Creative flavor/texture pairings, well seasoned, beautifully curated fresh food. Underrated and very thoughtfully made meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been here many times for breakfast over ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Been here many times for breakfast over the years and decided to go for dinner. Very interesting and different menu with a fairly small selection. Food was simply great. From beginning to end, everything was terrific. Service was very good as well. Very pleasantly surprised and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food. Great plates to share

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing food. Great plates to share

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Go early so they don't sell out of their ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Go early so they don't sell out of their bread and homemade butter. We went at 8 on a Sat and they were sold out :(

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Best food in Mercer and Bucks Counties! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Best food in Mercer and Bucks Counties! Creative menu using fresh ingredients in novel ways. Plenty of selection for all types of food preferences if you are seeking the sublime use of local vegetables, fruits and meats. Great service that is both professional and relaxed. Beautiful views of the Delaware, especially at sunset with a changing degree of light over the course of dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Even though the dishes are served family ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Even though the dishes are served family style, it's always hard to choose just a few! Highlights of my most recent trip include the poke and cacio e pepe. The yoghurt panna cotta, with its boozy granota, is a nice addition to the dessert menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was ok... Not bad. VERY limited menu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was ok... Not bad. VERY limited menu choices. Great river views.

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Best food in the borough, but portions o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best food in the borough, but portions on the small side and a bit expensive. Bread is worth the 5$ charge!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always have a great a great meal here. P ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always have a great a great meal here. Philly quality dining in bucks county with a beautiful view of the Delaware River. Last trip there had the scallop crudo was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful view of the Beautiful Delaware ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful view of the Beautiful Delaware River, amazing food from appetizers to dessert, BYOB graciously accommodated as is take-out orders. Delightful staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My hubby & I finally got a babysitter an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My hubby & I finally got a babysitter and were able to come out and have a fabulous meal! We were those annoying 9pm late-night reservations but still got a warm and friendly welcome and excellent service! We had a nice bottle of wine, the best table in the house (right by the window, plenty of room) and our server gave us plenty of time to relax and enjoy our meal. We started out with the octopus and scallop apps...and they were both so good!!! We also ordered the $5 bread & butter...totally worth it! (Especially because you use it to wipe us the leftover sauce from the 2 apps!!!)

Our server told us all about the pastas which all sounded awesome, so we decided to do a pasta course and I'm telling you, they were the best homemade pasta dished we've ever had!!!! The small size is perfect for a second course. We had the one with butter & cheese and the other one had a smokey tomato sauce on it. Sooooo amazingly yummy!!!!

We then ordered a 3rd course (I told you, we were those annoying late night people...sorry, we just never get out anymore!!!) and my husband had the fried chicken and I went for the steak tartare app since I wanted to try it and I was getting full. Again, both meals were spot on! We practically licked the plates!

We finished the night with the chocolate mouse dessert and it was the perfect mix of sweet and salty and went very well with my last mouthful of Malbec.

So long story short, (too late!)...we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 course meal/ date night. The food was out of this world (kudos to the kitchen! You guys rock!) And the service was friendly, warm, efficient, not rushed and basically awesome! I would recommend this place to my friends and family in a heartbeat! (Already have, actually!)

Thank you for a great night!!!

ps...other great things- it's a BYOB, so that is great! It has parking, also great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool place with nice view of river. Kind ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Cool place with nice view of river. Kinda casual. Small menu but interesting mix of items. Tried the octopuss for 1st time and loved it! Pasta wonderful. Melissa was excellent server, smiling, friendly, there exactly when we needed her. Love it's BYOB. Will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Charcoal continues to impress us with th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Charcoal continues to impress us with their delicious food, beautiful presentation, and attentive service. They've been our "go to" restaurant for many years, and are always recommending them to friends. Their pastas, small plates, and of course doughnuts are always crowd pleasers, and I can't wait until our next breakfast/lunch/dinner there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot for casual dining. The view i ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great spot for casual dining. The view is wonderful and the burger was great. Service good too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My fiancee and I ate at Charcoal last we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My fiancee and I ate at Charcoal last wee and were very disappointed. We stated with the garden salad which was barely dressed. For appetizers we shared two pasta dishes, bolognese with a heavy fennel-like flavor and a Cacio e Pepe that didn't have much flavor. Finally, we shared a rib-eye that was cooked perfectly but completely unseasoned and for the price, was much too small. I commented during dinner that for the same price, I can get a nice rib eye at Benjamin's in NYC. Overall, we were very disappointed by the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I have had the good fortune to visit fin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have had the good fortune to visit fine dining restaurants in the US, Europe and Asia. Charcoal is one of the most creative culinary experiences I have found, given it is not located in a major metropolitan area. My son is a classic chef and I couldn't wait to tell him of the unique dishes and taste combinations. I would strongly recommend Charcoal to any "foodie" or anyone seeking a quality cuisine with seasonal ingredients at a fair price. I understand that Charcoal and its chefs have received top reviews by recognized food critics. It is truly a restaurant for a very special dining occasion or regular outing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great mid-week date night Great time on ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great mid-week date night

Great time on a weekday summer evening. Great view of the Delaware, friendly service, wonderful calamari, a soft shell crab special and the Korean fried chicken. Charcoal continues to innovate and deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch was very good.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Lunch was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is always on point! Fresh and local ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food is always on point! Fresh and local. Make your you finish your meal with a donut! You will not be disappointed!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charcoal always delivers great food. The ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Charcoal always delivers great food. The Scallop Crudo and Cacio e Pepe were standouts on our latest visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding food, good for vegetarians a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Outstanding food, good for vegetarians and beautiful view of Delaware river. We've been there three times and terrific and consistent. Menu changes are also a plus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We hadn't been to Charcoal in awhile, an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We hadn't been to Charcoal in awhile, and we were pleasantly surprised to see new and interesting items on the menu. Charcoal has excellent chefs who seem to take pride in their cooking and their presentation. The appetizers we chose were amazing, and both contained items that were in season--asparagus , peas, pea chutes, green beans--all included in creative dressings. My husband and I both chose halibut for our entrees. It was out of this world--crispy on the outside, yet moist on the inside. It was cooked to perfection.

Now, one of the chefs makes homemade ice cream, and tonight it was blueberry pie ice cream. To die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you chefs for a wonderful experien ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Thank you chefs for a wonderful experience. The only place I will eat now in our area. Flavors all there and such a warm hearted team

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So honesty is best policy. The appetizer ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

So honesty is best policy. The appetizers were good (especially the octopus). green beans with hummus and the devil ham appetizer were solid but overpriced. I had Korean Chicken ( spicy as I was told) but all that accompanied it were pickles and greens. Very uneventful. Someone mentioned they thought it was a little pricey and now I have to agree. I mean- that's it.

The pasta dish- (carbonara )was good according to my spouse. My daughter had butternut bolognese and it was also good. Just not WOW-. Lastly the ambiance was very minimal and it felt like we were in an American legion hall- not a restaurant. I am surprised people liked it so much as they stated on here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

everything was great- if you are not a " ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

everything was great- if you are not a "traditionalist". Only concern was that it was pretty pricey- even though it was a BYOB.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved every bite!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My friends and I come here at least once a month, grab the corner table, with a beautiful view of the river flowing by. We love food. We love to share. And Charcoal is where we can do a lot of tastings, and even go for a second round of our favorite dish(es).

Don't forget to get an order of bread. I would love to know how they bake it so perfectly. I always want more, but am reminded to save room for the rest of my tastings.

And you need to leave room for dessert. Their freshly made, hot out of the oven donuts, with caramel drizzle....Oh so Heavenly Good!

I wanted to keep Charcoal a secret, but I rave to everyone about the great food - so of course all my friends come here, too.

And the menu changes, seasonally. So if you like something, go back often, and enjoy it all over again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing meal. Incredible view, excell ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

An amazing meal. Incredible view, excellence in every dish. Octopus, Beef Tartare, and dessert donuts were out of this world in terms of freshness and delicate balance. Can't recommend more highly, which is rare since I have generally been disappointed by restaurants in the Philadelphia area compared to NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best dessert I have ever had, their ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The best dessert I have ever had, their doughnuts are simply unbelievably good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining on the River

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This is a neighborhood spot that I usually save for visiting out-of-towners to introduce them to Yardley. We happened to be eating during a horrendous rain storm which made things exciting overlooking the river.

The food was good as usual and service fine.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly recommend

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Fantastic food, different, small dishes, many choices, fresh, never had a bad meal here. Donuts for dessert are the best to!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great good. Known for steaks. And, it ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great good. Known for steaks. And, it is BYOB. But there are a few obnoxious issues. First the parking is really tight. I mean tight. Second, this restaurant sells you bread and butter. The problem is if I'm going to be forced to buy it, it better have come straight from the oven and the butter better not be ShopRite brand. Unfortunately, on several trips here, the bread was cold and burned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Best food and staff in Yardley and probably Bucks

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Best food and staff in Yardley and probably Bucks county

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had an amazing time with my good frien ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I had an amazing time with my good friend! We got a bottle of Prosecco enjoyed every dish that came out. The waiter was very attentive. We requested to sit by the window so that we can enjoy the DE river view. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This a great spot for foodies. Everythin ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This a great spot for foodies. Everything is prepared with such care and it shows. The flavors are well developed and the plating is creative. Do not miss the opportunity to sample the house made bread. Yes, it's an additional $5, but believe me, it's worth every penny! And don't get me started on the donuts! If you enjoy culinary creativity and a friendly and unpretentious environment, this is your spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great meal

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Love the small seasonal menu. Food was wonderful. Only drawback was strawberry salad was over dressed. Asparagus, prime rib and the soft shell crab pasta were excellent. Donuts for dessert not to be missed!! Wait staff friendly and knowledgable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second time at Charcoal BYOB ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

This was my second time at Charcoal BYOB, and I enjoyed it yet again! I like the small plates on the menu, but there are full entrees, if that is what you prefer. The chef specializes in putting different flavors together, and the menu changes frequently. The wait staff is great - very relaxed, yet attentive enough. We didn't feel rushed in any way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We loved the home made bread. The dinner ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We loved the home made bread. The dinner was just ok. The descriptions and ingredients are unusual and different with a nice presentation .......but the taste. Might try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Impressive Return

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Minimalist, eclectic inspired menu, classic and romantic. Everything about this dining experience was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Regular customer and have never had a ba ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Regular customer and have never had a bad meal. Exceptional, creative food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.