About Charcoal BYOB

11 S Delaware Ave
Yardley, PA 19067
View Larger Map

Charcoal is a BYOB that boasts a modern American fare in a casual environment. We source the finest ingredients and believe in a healthy relationship with local farmers and purveyors, creating food which is thoughtful and precise. Our menu is a reflection of the season and how we feel at the moment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Tuesday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 493-6394

Website:
http://www.charcoalbyob.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wheelchair Access

Charcoal BYOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Bucks County
Best Food
Bucks County
Fit for Foodies
Bucks County
Best Restaurants in Yardley ›

scenic view (41)
fit for foodies (38)
neighborhood gem (34)
See All
special occasion (24)
great for brunch (18)
great for lunch (16)
romantic (16)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had an amazing time with my good frien ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I had an amazing time with my good friend! We got a bottle of Prosecco enjoyed every dish that came out. The waiter was very attentive. We requested to sit by the window so that we can enjoy the DE river view. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

This a great spot for foodies. Everythin ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This a great spot for foodies. Everything is prepared with such care and it shows. The flavors are well developed and the plating is creative. Do not miss the opportunity to sample the house made bread. Yes, it's an additional $5, but believe me, it's worth every penny! And don't get me started on the donuts! If you enjoy culinary creativity and a friendly and unpretentious environment, this is your spot.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great meal

Dined on May 7, 2016

Love the small seasonal menu. Food was wonderful. Only drawback was strawberry salad was over dressed. Asparagus, prime rib and the soft shell crab pasta were excellent. Donuts for dessert not to be missed!! Wait staff friendly and knowledgable

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my second time at Charcoal BYOB ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

This was my second time at Charcoal BYOB, and I enjoyed it yet again! I like the small plates on the menu, but there are full entrees, if that is what you prefer. The chef specializes in putting different flavors together, and the menu changes frequently. The wait staff is great - very relaxed, yet attentive enough. We didn't feel rushed in any way.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We loved the home made bread. The dinner ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We loved the home made bread. The dinner was just ok. The descriptions and ingredients are unusual and different with a nice presentation .......but the taste. Might try it again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressive Return

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Minimalist, eclectic inspired menu, classic and romantic. Everything about this dining experience was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Regular customer and have never had a ba ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Regular customer and have never had a bad meal. Exceptional, creative food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on April 22, 2016

Another delicious meal at Charcoal BYOB. The pastas, Korean chicken special, scallops and the octopus were all artfully prepared and included a blend of various flavors. One of the best places to dine between and including NYC and Philly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The view of the Delaware was spectacular ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The view of the Delaware was spectacular. The menu was surprisingly limited-only 3 main entrees. Price was very high for what you got.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charcoal BYOB, Worth a Trip

Dined on April 21, 2016

Once a neighborhood favorite, now a 45-minute drive, Charcoal BYOB is always worth the trip. Jared's bread is amazing and its hard to limit ourselves to one slice in order to enjoy the rest of the menu. The menu changes often enough to make it worth visiting often and the house made pastas are outstanding. The guys have a deft hand with vegetables and often pair them with sauces and fresh herbs to great effect. We like to get the bread, a couple of starters, and share some pastas and an entree. Definitely save room for dessert. They are all delicious. The budino is an amazing and unusual layered parfait that you won't want to miss.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

Fried chicken srraichia sandwich should ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Fried chicken srraichia sandwich should stay for brunch! Chicken and waffles were good but man that sandwhich was amazing last year. I miss it. :(

food2
ambience4
service2

Service was a bit slow, but friendly. T ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Service was a bit slow, but friendly. The app and pasta dish were very good. But the steak was small and over priced. This is the second time we were disappointed with the red meat. We would go back but not for meat.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delightfully exotic!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Always enjoy the frequent menu changes and interesting, exotic food. Always a surprise. Love it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simple and Delightful

Dined on March 29, 2016

Everything with Charcoal is simple; from the decor to the food (that's a good thing!) The service was good and the food was yummy and delightful. I would recommend folks to try it and I would go back next time I'm in town.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

As always a great view - Food consistent ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

As always a great view - Food consistent. A nearby fav.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Never disappoints

Dined on March 25, 2016

We frequently dine at Charcoal and are always pleased with the food. The wait staff is always very pleasant but the service the last few times was on the slower side. Love their food and changing menu. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing BEETS and Buckwheat

Dined on March 19, 2016

Amazing BEETS and Buckwheat

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as usual. New menu offered unusu ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Awesome as usual. New menu offered unusual and interesting combinations of flavors. If you want a taste experience, you need to be here! BYOB is the best

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find!

Dined on March 12, 2016

You will not be disappointed when you book at this place! From the moment you step in the door you'll be treated like one of the family. The food is amazing! You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. The other diners are friendly and very happy to suggest their favorite meal to first timers. We've only been here for dinner, but imagine all other times would be amazing too! I highly recommend making a reservation as they tend to fill their tables fast.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Still a Very Good Experience The brothe ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Still a Very Good Experience The brothers are still cooking . . . And going strong. They can do wonders with Brussels sprouts, duck, pork belly, short ribs, scallops, donuts, you name it and they can deliver. The cooking is creative and the execution is first rate.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Local Gem

Dined on March 11, 2016

This place was everything I've dreamt about. Right along the water, it sits up on a second level for beautiful views at sunset. Yes, the menu is small, but everything is worth trying. Small plates, noodles, entrees and desserts alike are crafted with talent and imagination and you can't find food like this in small local towns. Kung Pao Octopus was cooked well, with just the right heat and sweetness with a costing of peanuts to cut the flavor. My scallops with pork belly were on point. I was not a huge fan of he lentil 'hummus' served underneath- but that was just a personal preferences. I did feel $34 was a little steep for 3 scallops on an inch slab of pork belly. Fiancé got the chicken fried chicken and I'm so glad he shared some with me. It was one of the best thing I've had in a longggggg time. Three hardy pieces of juicy chicken with smoked honey and a BBQ dusting..... just fantastic. House made donuts to top the meal off with the coffee caramel sauce were the perfect ending. I'm a super chocolate lover but these sugar coated donuts satisfied my sweet tooth at the end of the night. BYOB, and I would recommend making a reservation and request a window seat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely spot on the Delaware

Dined on March 5, 2016

Charcoal is a classy, pretty place to enjoy a meal. The brunch and lunch are excellent. Dinner is good...not spectacular, but with a few highs and lows. I've had many dinners here and inconsistency is an issue. When it's good, it's great. The donut dessert alone is worth coming for. Pricing is rather high for dinner. They even charge for bread. But it's a good neighborhood spot, so we always return.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Fine but overpriced

Dined on February 28, 2016

Had a fine dinner. Meals were good, but our final bill for a party of 4 was just shy of $290 with tip. For a starter, main course and dessert each - without the fancy water (and the place is BYOB so it actually cost us more) - that was just too much. For an over-the-top dinner, maybe; but while this was an acceptable dinner, it was by no means a "wow" and for that money, in this part of the world, we should have had two evenings out. Maybe breakfast or lunch is more reasonable, but I won't be going back to find out.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a good experience

Dined on February 19, 2016

We eat at Charcoal probably once a month, sometimes with friends but primarily just the two of us. It is probably the most sophisticated food in Bucks County. We have never been disappointed. I should point out that the prices have increased quite a bit these last 2 years. But it is a BYOB, so this partially offsets the cost...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A Gem!

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

I will be careful in this review. I love this restaurant and don't want it to become so crowded I can't make reservations. The food is innovative and well-executed. The servers are knowledgable. This is a foodie place: you eat here for the art and execution. Oh, and the view of the Delware ain't too shabby!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal as usual

Dined on February 13, 2016

Had dinner on Sat on our way home from NYC opera. Had a window seat with a beautiful view of the Delaware River. Four of us shared appetizers, four pastas, some delicious entrees and two desserts. My personal favorite dish was the short rib that was unbelievably tender and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't wait to go back

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our first time here. A great local place where we want to come back. We had breakfast and it was excellent. We had reservations and they seated us immediately. The lunch menu looks great...maybe next Saturday!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

This was our first viisit to Charcoal. ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our first viisit to Charcoal. We really enjoyed the Kung Pao Octopus and the Beet Salad as well as the mushroom pasta.......the jalepeno was an nice addition. The only thing we could do without was the type of rice used and the large quantity of obligitory micro greens on every dish (although it didnt take away from the flavor). Our server was friendly, attentive and had good knowledge of the menu. The restaurant was extremely clean and organized.......we like being able to look through the pass and see the kitchen at work. We anticipate more visits since it is so close for us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food

Dined on February 12, 2016

I went into charcoal byob with high expectations, I was blown away. I had the roasted potato salad and black bass tempura as appetizers. The roasted potato salad was amazing. The black bass tempura was also amazing and well worth the price. Our entrees were the braised short rib and the maitake Marsala. The short rib melted in your mouth. It was cooked perfectly. What made the Marsala pop was the charred jalapenos. That little spice gave the dish a nice twist. As for the desserts, the brioche doughnuts and earl grey tea cake were superb. I would recommend this place to anyone willing to try some awesome cuisine as awesome prices. Definitely 5/5 stars for me.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

City-like dining in a local setting

Dined on February 10, 2016

Charcoal does a great job at keeping their menu fresh. Their preparations are always interesting and done with a high skill level.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on February 7, 2016

We've been to this restaurant approximately 25 times so obviously we like it. It's perhaps the best modern cuisine in the entire area, including Langhorne, Newtown, Yardley and New Hope. The roasted brussel sprouts, all the homemade pasta and the bread are to die for, as are most of their dishes. The menu changes weekly, but the main always features a fish, a scallop, a meat or braised pork and a chicken dish. One might call it nouveau or haute cuisine, but it is not all French. The presentation is always wonderful, and we've never had a bad dish, just some we liked a little less than others. Being it is a BYOB the cost of dinner is reasonable and you can bring all of your friends who are big drinkers. My advice is to call on a Monday for a Friday or Saturday reservation and ask for a table by the window. In all regards it's a good eating experience you don't want to miss.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Love this place

Dined on January 31, 2016

Really love this gem. Food is innovative and never disappoints. Gave 3 stars for service but it is not how I would usually rate this place. It was a busy night and service or the kitchen was slow. Still would highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Adventurous food and always great!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Charcoal is one of the top 2 restaurants my wife and I go to in the area. The menu is always changing and everything is excellent! The small plates and small order pastas are a great way to try several different things without getting too full. Most food items aren't "run of the mill", so folks who only like meat and potatoes might not find a lot to enjoy. With that said, Kung Pao Octopus, YUMMM! This was the highlight of my last meal there. My wife loved the short ribs. Also, always save room for the brioche doughnut...unbelievable! It's BYOB, so bring your own bottle of wine if you want to have a drink. I like this as it keeps the price reasonable while still enjoying great food and drink. The views of the river can be very romantic with the 2nd floor seating and lots of glass to look through. The only minor negative is that it can get a bit loud with the open space layout and lots of windows if you happen to have a rowdy party next to you. Still, this one is a favorite!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Good food, small portions, no atmoshpere

Dined on January 29, 2016

All of the food was very good there just wasn't much of it. My date had duck - cooked perfectly. It was a small portion on a very large plate. It was excellent. I think it was around $30. My pasta was also good, served in a bowl. They said lump crab meat and they weren't kidding, delicious. I think it was about $15 for a very small portion. So although the food was good, the rest of it really wasn't. The view of the river is nice but it has all the ambiance of a school cafeteria. No table cloths and no candle on the table and the entree's are $30? The presentation of the food wasn't up to what I'd do at home. If the food wasn't so pricey for such small portions, I might recommend it. But the price, small portions and feeling like you're eating in a cafeteria will keep me from going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was delicious. The food is fresh ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Dinner was delicious. The food is fresh and exciting! Our waitress was pleasant and attentive. Love sitting by the windows and looking at the river. Very comfortable atmosphere with first class food preparation!! Perfect combination!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME WE HAVE BEEN ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME WE HAVE BEEN TO CHARCOAL, WE LOVED IT THE FIRST TIME WE C AME HENCE WHY WE CAME BACK. THE PROBLEM I HAVE IT THAT IT WAS A FIXED MENU. THAT WAS NOT STATED ON THERE WEBSITE WHEN I BOOKED THE TABLE. WE HAD FRIENDS WITH US AND COULD NOT CHANGE WHERE WE WERE EATING SO WE HAD NO OTHER CHOICE BUT TO STAY. JUST THOUGHT THAT THERE SHOULD BE A LITTLE MORE INFORMATION ON THERE WEBSITE. OTHER THEN THAT THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AND WE WILL BE BACK

food3
ambience1
service5
value2

Not so happy New Years

Dined on January 2, 2016

It was not made clear on the original menu posting that: A. This was going to be a "tasting" menu; a.k.a small portions. B. The $60 pp charge did not include tax and gratuity. The one previous time I had dinner at Charcoal, the lights were appropriately dimmed and starched table cloths were differentiators from breakfast and lunch. Not only were the lights not dimmed this time, icicle lights on the windows made it even brighter! Bottom line... this is Yardley, not NYC. The Charcoal sons need to find a balance between portion size, food quality and cost. If this Park Avenue attitude continues, the Yardley Inn is just steps away.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Gem

Dined on December 30, 2015

Visited Charcoal for the first time the night before New Year's eve with three other people and we all had a fantastic meal and wonderful time. This place is a great value - and less stuffy than the Yardley Inn right around the corner. The food was spectacular - well executed, interesting dishes. While the menu doesn't have pages and pages of choices, everyone who I dined with was able to find two or three options they were excited to try. Each dish was better than the last - the sea scallops were great, the octopus fantastic, the carbonara light and flavorful, the sea bass, duck and short rib were all really amazing dishes. The only caution we had was it seemed they were a tad heavy handed with the salt in some of the dishes. On the other end was the AMAZING desserts - my father is NOT a desert person and loved each of the deserts we ordered. While we visited in winter time and it was dark outside, I'm sure it's a fantastic view in spring and summer as the seating area is on the second floor overlooking the river. The decor is pretty standard and if you're in the first seating it feels a little empty - as the place was designed so many diners have the view. Once more people came in it felt more cozy. The waitstaff were helpful and friendly. We'll definitely add this one to our list of regular places to visit. A great option outside of the standard Lambertville/New Hope/Princeton circuit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

This is one of the out of the way gems y ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

This is one of the out of the way gems you always hope to find. The food was ridiculously awesome. This a small place, located on the second floor of a non-descript building. The food could easily be found on the best tables in NYC or Philly. Our server Melissa was professional, warm and wonderful. The menu is not extensive, but has everything from fish, steak to vegetarian. If you go, you must indulge to get the donut desert. It proofs for 18 hours. I recommend splitting it as it is rich. The one recommendation is to turn down the lights, to increase the ambiance. Other than that charcoal is fab. We will be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining Experience is always excellent

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

We've dined here numerous times and have never been disappointed. Menu changes often to keep our interest. Small plates are awesome and open up your palate to new tastes, textures and combinations! View of Delaware River from 2nd floor dining area can't be beat. Having Kelsie as your server is always a very pleasant experience. She's friendly, knowledgeable and takes care of you without being too overbearing. Place is BYOB . We'll keep coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.