Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.19mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.43mi

About Charcoal BYOB

Charcoal is a BYOB that boasts a modern American fare in a casual environment. We source the finest ingredients and believe in a healthy relationship with local farmers and purveyors, creating food which is thoughtful and precise. Our menu is a reflection of the season and how we feel at the moment.

11 S Delaware Ave
Yardley, PA 19067
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Tuesday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 493-6394

Website:
http://www.charcoalbyob.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wheelchair Access

Charcoal BYOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (40)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Waterfront (36)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Local Ingredients (32)
Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Casual (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Seasonal (15)
Authentic (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Cozy (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Romantic (11)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Organic (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort by
S
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our Dinner at Charcoal very much, especially the Scallops with the Lemon Pepper
and the Steak was done just right. The Carrot Cake was a nice change, not too spicy or carroty taste. Our service was outstanding, not rushed at all!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

As always - the food is incredible. So lucky to have this in Bucks county!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Organic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Whereas the appetizers are a bit pricey, the food is excellent! The service, ambiance, and ingredients used to prepare the food are all top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Tasty, unique, but limited menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

Really enjoyed our evening at Charcoal. The wait staff was very well versed and attentive. The offerings were unique and delicious. I would definitely recommend Charcoal for a date night and for a friends get together

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2017

The meal we had tonight was by far the best we’ve had in a long time. This place is adorable, the service was excellent and the food was amazing. I highly recommend the Honey Crisp Apple Salad and all the pasta dishes. Everyone in our party thought the Cranberry Creste De Gallo (a creamy chicken pasta dish with cranberries) was phenomenal. The most expensive thing we ordered was the Rib Eye and that was fine but not as great as the pastas. The Brioche Donuts were the perfect dessert. We can’t wait for our next meal at Charcoal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Love Charcoal! Menu is creative with unique combinations of flavors and textures. Everything is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Limited but excellent food. Very quite for casual dinning. Very good meal and views overlooking the Delaware rived.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Met an out-of-town friend for lunch. He really enjoyed the atmosphere and was impressed with the food. I've been for both breakfast/lunch a few times and really enjoy this place. Highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We live locally and had not been to Charcoal since they revised their dinner styling, but we decided to try it based on its excellent critical reviews. Menu was limited, but interesting. Unfortunately, our waitress was of little help in further explaining the dishes and seemed to have little time for us. We shared the apple salad (the only salad on the menu - enough for two, but unexpectedly heavy on the apples, light on the greens) and we both had the homemade pasta (with creamy chicken and bolognese sauces), then shared the carrot cake with ice cream for dessert. Everything was delicious. We did not want to pay $5 extra for bread, and we missed having it. Coffee was served tepid, so we waited for a fresh pot, which eventually we enjoyed. All in all, delicious food, but not much else going for it. Too bad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Great experience. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2017

We had a wonderful breakfast the day after Christmas . Try the eggs Benedict with their homemade scrapple and of course you have to start with a donut.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Great food but very limited menu. We would go more often if the menu offered more dinner choices.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2017

We love the food at Charcoal and the staff is friendly, happy cheerful. They were short-staffed due to the holiday but our waitress was still very attentive and kept a smile on her face. Another terrific meal to tell friends about.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2017

We always have an awesome experience at Charcoal! Looking forward to a menu update because we’ve been so often lately we’ve tried everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Pleasant....couldn't ask for much more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Food and service was excellent as usual. Ambiance spoiled by the 3 and 4 year olds allowed to run around and bang toys on the table. A great foodie location getting overrun by parents bringing very young children. Ruins a nice dinner

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Just had a wonderful meal here on Saturday night. The quality and presentation of the food was outstanding. The service and ambiance were excellent, yet laid back. Looking forward to going back and also trying their breakfast and lunch options.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Fabulous, innovative ,delicious food !! We have been here for breakfast or brunch many times but this was the first time for dinner and we will do it again and again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2017

Another excellent meal. We started with the pot roast beignets, which rocked it the way their trout rillet beignets once did. Pasta and salmon dishes rounded out the meal and were very good. We topped it off with the polenta budino and brioche donuts, two all-time desserts. We celebrated a special occasion, and Charcoal delivered!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Our food was delicious and the service was excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Friendly staff is well versed in all menu items and helpful. Housemade pierogi starters are to die for! Entrees are well prepared and all delicious. I find it crazy that one reviewer here complained about the homemade bread being too burned!! Hey people...it's baked here and is awesome with the creamy Vermont butter. Is that you biggest complaint? What's with all the young kids out for late dinner here (some are infants)? I come for a great meal in a great place, not to have kids running around or dropping food and toys. Parents..take them to Chucky Cheese or get a babysitter. Charcoal is BYOB and a great value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Great waitress, great service and excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Charcoal offers good food in a lovely setting . I particularly like having breakfast or an early dinner there as he tables by the window have a great view of the Delaware River. I consider Charcoal one of the best restaurants in the Yardley-Newtown area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2017

This was our first time dining here since it was remodeled and we had high expectations. We started with the $5 bread which was 4 slices of very basic Italian included with dinner at most every restaurant. Ours was burnt to a crisp. I was excited to see octopus on the menu as it is not often on menus. Theirs was oddly hard and crunchy as well as very small for the price. The beet tartar was a standard chopped, sauced beet over the Italian bread with a dollop of creme fresh. It was decent but nothing special. The entrees were the saving grace. Hanger steak and scallop over pasta were very good. The menu is very tiny as pictured on this site with no additional offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2017

This was my second time dining at Charcoal and I would definitely be back. The dishes are innovative. Fresh, high quality ingredients are conjured by the skilled and talented chefs into outstanding dishes. I loved the option of 1/2 portion serving as the whole portion would be too filling after trying various appetizers and the wonderful, house baked bread. On my last visit the place was fully occupied, no empty tables but there was a shortage of service, which most likely affects overall experience. Better trained, more attentive waiting staff would add to the overall rating of Charcoal.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

We always love dining at charcoal! Love the rotating menu so there is always something new to try! From apps to desserts we are never disappointed

Tags: Scenic View, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 28, 2017

We have gone to Charcoal for years for breakfast but this was first time for dinner. We had heard good things and the place actually exceeded expectations. Portions are relatively small and it is a bit pricey but, as the old adage goes, "you get what you pay for". Food and service were both outstanding and we will most definitely be visiting again.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Always an amazing meal. Beet tartare and torn scallops with ink pasta and their bread, YUM! I have the polenta budino (sp?) every time for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Charcoal is a favorite of ours and we really enjoy all of our dining experiences

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2017

The food is delicious, fresh, and creative. The wait staff is great. And the ambiance welcomes conversation and quality time spent. Charcoal is one of my new favorite places to dine.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Always great. Best donuts in the world for dessert. A little pricey.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

Outstanding dining experience! Food quality and service was exceptional and we will definitely be coming back again. Highly recommend

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 16, 2017

I had my brother in from Northern New Jersey and wanted to try someplace new..Very pleased with the selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

This place is amazing. Best food in the area. They are creative, elevated and absolutely delicious!! My husband and I were visiting from NYC and have returned twice and plan to go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our first visit to Charcoal this past Saturday, November 11, 2017, and it didn't disappoint. Starting with the bread, it reminded me of the bread my grandmother used to make and we all ate it hot out of the oven. Salads, entrees, simply delicious, we will definitely go back, and well worth the 30 minute drive.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Small menu but wonderful food and good service. We were a party of six and everyone had something different and they very much liked their choices. Optional sizes for many of the choices made it nice to be able to sample more than one dish. Would recommend for foodies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our dinner was fabulous! We are a party of 4 and we all loved our meals. Must order the sourdough bread as a starter and the doughnuts for desert! We really enjoyed our evening at Charcoal and certainly will return!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2017

First visit so we didn't know what to expect. The food wasn't good, it was excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Excellent. Limited menu but food is 5 stars. no salt and pepper on table and it was not needed. We will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.