Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 28 times today

Charcoal BYOB

4.6
492 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Creative Cuisine
Charcoal is a BYOB that boasts a modern American fare in a casual environment. We source the finest ingredients and believe in a healthy relationship with local farmers and purveyors, creating food which is thoughtful and precise. Our menu is a reflection of the season and how we feel at the moment.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American, Global, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Tuesday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 493-6394
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Ferry Street
Additional
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wheelchair Access
What 492 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Made reservations and we were seated right away. Limited menu, but what they did offer was very diverse and good. Make sure to order the homemade sourdough bread with Vermont butter. It's crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. There were two people in my party and we shared a salad, each had our own entree's and shared a dessert. The entree's are a bit pricey. The bill was $100, plus it's a BYOB. Overall the food was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful view...great food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We arrived at 8:30 and were seated promptly. The menu was a bit sparse, 4 or five entrees plus 4 pasta entrees. It was very loud. My companion ordered chicken, and we were told the chicken was no longer available. I ordered steak which came with broccoli. I requested the fingerling potatoes but was told they were running out of them and could not accommodate me. We were also told that there was no more bread.

when the order was presented I asked if there was any bread at all or even a cracker that could be found for us. The answer was "No."

We ordered dessert and while waiting to be served my companion noticed another customer was being served chicken. She was quite unhappy about that as these people came in after we did .

Most of the staff appeared rather sour. They were not unpleasant to us but they were not friendly until we left when they did agree to take our picture. I will not return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great experience in our first outing there. Terrific food from app to desert. Try the donut sundae! (If you have room)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food was well prepared although the description of the Hot Chicken was misleading. It was mild at best, not at all hot.
Paying five dollars for Bread and Butter as an appetizer was a bit much and unfortunately that was my take away impression. More so that the food. Would have enjoyed bread w/ my meal but was mot about to dive in for another five dollars. No bread was offered w/ the dinner itself.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great view, great food. building and dining room need an upgrade to match great food and justify pricey menu. Bread is wonderful, striper and chicken both excellent and nicely presented.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We’ve shared a number of special meals at Charcoal. Their octopus starter was phenomenal. Our duck and bass entrees were equally delicious. Our server was helpful and always responsive. We can’t recommend this place enough.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Too expensive for an establishment without a liquor license.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Greats food and service. Eclectic menu. Had a great hanger steak, my friend had the duck, exquisite. Don’t miss the brioche donuts!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Not so friendly service. Overheard employee talking about our table/party wondering when we were going to leave (no one was waiting). Food is fantastic, love the atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food at dinner is always interesting & good. Portions are on the smaller side, but perhaps just right since you will not go away feeling stuffed. Unlike most restaurants, bread is not included and thus an extra charge. BYOB is a big plus.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Menu way too limited. Only one choice for me and it was very good. However I would have liked more choices. Very expensive for 2 bowls of pasta

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

We went based on a recommendation for my fathers birthday. We were not disappointed. Our server was very knowledgeable about the dishes and spent the right amount of time checking in on us. The food was delicious and I can't wait to go back and try some of the other dishes. Their bread is fabulous!! I will be recommending to my friends!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Charcoal is our neighborhood favorite. Food is always creative and delicious. Service can be spotty when busy, but it’s worth the wait.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

This was our 1st dinner at Charcoal. Have been for brunch twice and really enjoyed it. We loved the food, view and the service. Even the wine glasses were polished. We arrived early and they were friendly and able to accommodate us. Our only issue is $5 for bread...really?? It cheapens the entire experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Delicious meal and relaxing time overlooking the Delaware River. Better to go during daylight. Such a great view.
The Striped Bass was great and my fried chicken as superb.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Service was weak. Example-How hard is it to bring and maintain water on a table? And as a byob with multiple bottles of wine it shouldn’t be that hard to get new glasses when we opened a new bottle.

Ribs app was however amazing!

Duck was way salty

I won’t return for dinner but heard breakfast is good there so may try it out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

we have been to charcoal 10 times and it is consistently fabulous with new apps and entrees, but our favorite is always the black pasta seafood.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Be careful what you wish for. Charcoal BYOB's magnificent food has attracted such big crowds and parties for dinner but the other draws of this haute cuisine restaurant have suffered......from reservations, to service, to the servers who genuinely are overwhelmed by the crowds, an evening that should have been spectacular as always, was to be kind "fair".

I'm on for breakfast and lunch but DINNER for our most special occasions and we did them all at Charcoal, birthdays, anniversaries, valentines, you name it......DINNER.....we will rethink the next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Terrific as usual - innovative menu,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Birthday celebration.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

I love Charcoal BYOB. The food is exceptional. Would love to see flood lights pointed at the river for viewing and make the exterior more appealing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Love this place! Innovative and delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Meal was outstanding, service was great and atmosphere was wonderful! Wonderful as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Amazing food without traveling to Philadelphia or New York City! Service was also excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

I have been waiting to get here. Did not disappoint. Practically ordered every single appetizer in the menu. The entrees did not disappoint. Worth coming back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The pot roast beignet and brie appetizers were delicious. The hanger steak was cooked perfectly but underseasoned. The service was very attentive without getting in the way.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Had a very nice evening at Charcoal with some friends. Service was very good and the food we picked was very good as well. Smaller menu than I would like, but we did enjoy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Charcoal BYOB is a gem in the heart of Yardley, PA . A second floor view of the river and a bistro-like feel with highly trained staff. The grilled octopus and the ink pasta with seafood are over the top and remain our go-to dishes every visit. And save room for dessert because they are scrumptious (but large enough to share)

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

I've eaten at charcoal before and enjoyed it. This time however was very disappointing. My wife and I had dinner at charcoal on Valentine's Day.
My wife had an appetizer of grilled octopus that was clearly deep fried and overcooked. I had, what was listed on the menu is fried chicken, but in reality was chicken fingers. I assumed that Fried Chicken would be on the bone, but that was not the case.

The best part of dinner was the homemade bread and very good butter. It cost $5 and was worth every cent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Charcoal rocked it tonight. Pot roast beignets, Brie toast, pasta, duck breast, polenta budino and brioche donuts all were awesome. What a great way to celebrate our anniversary! What a great way to continue the euphoria that is summed up in one short sentence — “Go Birds!”

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Always wonderful food and service. And, this is a real bargain given the quality and originality

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Charcoal is the best kept secret in Yardley!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We had an excellent experience at Charcoal. The place is warm and comfortable . The service was very good and everyone was friendly. The food was innovative and delicious. Love that it’s a byob too!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

We really enjoyed dinner. We started out with the fresh bread which was fantastic! My husband and I got a few of the small plate pastas which were delicious and perfect to share. My son ordered the hangar steak and it was cooked perfectly! Nice atmosphere! Good service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2018

We discovered Charcoal when our first option had a 90 minute wait. While not the most exciting menu, the place has a really nice laid back vibe and during the day would have a beautiful view of the Delaware River. I really liked the hot chicken (a signature dish) and the carrot cake was amazing. Our friends had salmon-decent, and my wife had the beef beignets. An odd combination that was pretty good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2018

Great food and service. We have been here several times and it never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

nice casual ambiance with good tasting/creative food. we had the sourdough bread and butter, which were good but as others have indicated, we didn't understand why the outside had to be burned. we each had a different pasta that we were very pleased with and the doughnuts were amazing. our waitress wasn't particularly pleasant - i don't think she smiled once - but otherwise, we had a lovely experience. i'd definitely recommend, especially for this area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Amazing food and service. We had an amazing time and would definitely recommend. Can’t wait to go back

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13

Tweets by Charcoal BYOB