About Charcoal BYOB

11 S Delaware Ave
Yardley, PA 19067
View Larger Map

Charcoal is a BYOB that boasts a modern American fare in a casual environment. We source the finest ingredients and believe in a healthy relationship with local farmers and purveyors, creating food which is thoughtful and precise. Our menu is a reflection of the season and how we feel at the moment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Tuesday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ferry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 493-6394

Website:
http://www.charcoalbyob.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wheelchair Access

Charcoal BYOB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Scenic View (20)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Waterfront (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Casual (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely love that restaurant. We go e ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely love that restaurant. We go every other week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of our food was outstanding , 6 appe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

All of our food was outstanding , 6 appetizers ,6 dinners and 3 desserts. The food keeps getting better. The menu is small but they have good options. Their pasta's are some of the best I have had anywhere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very limited menu, but everything on it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Very limited menu, but everything on it was outstanding. Bread was the best I ever had, the only problem was you had to buy it which is kind of cheap. Highly recommend the place though.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grilled octopus is always excellent. Pas ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Grilled octopus is always excellent. Pastas are rich and combine different flavors. Service is consistently good. A favorite of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants, donuts a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants, donuts are AMAZING! A must get every time! Great view, love everything about the place! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is outstanding -- every dish is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food is outstanding -- every dish is individually prepared and exceptional. I've enjoyed every experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was so delicious! Brussel spr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was so delicious! Brussel sprout appetizer, house made pasta dishes, Korean chicken, kung pao pork and don't even get me started on the desserts! Make sure to save room for dessert. We got a few for the table and I seriously couldn't pick a fav!! Homemade donut with caramel sauce, lemon curd dessert, chocolate and caramel covered rice crispy bar. Mmmm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think it was a little overpriced. Thou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I think it was a little overpriced. Thought is was a little ridiculous to pay 5.00 for bread. Food was good but portions were small. Staff was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved the Eggs Benedict with Salmon! Wou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Loved the Eggs Benedict with Salmon! Would love to go back to this place in the fall when there's a nice view out the windows

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Another awesome meal. The brussels sprou ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Another awesome meal. The brussels sprouts were tasty and the A1 pasta and chicken with marsala (and other ingredients) pasta were also delicious. Entrees of salmon, steak, and Kung Pao pork were well spiced and accompanied by great veggies. Two new desserts - tiramisu truffles and a lemon curd were great to have with the traditional donuts. It was fun to introduce friends to this fantastic dining experience. The third bell from Inquirer food critic Craig LaBan is well-deserved.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food experience--loved every ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Outstanding food experience--loved everything--2 of us shared 1 app, 1 pasta full dish and 1 main course (had leftovers) and 1 dessert for a very reasonable price. They even printed Happy Birthday on our menus!! BYOB makes it even a better value. Highly recommended!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I guess it was an OFF night! We haven't ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I guess it was an OFF night!

We haven't been here for dinner recently; but have eaten lunch several times in the past month and loved it.

So not sure what happened but...

Service--the server was pleasant but inattentive and perhaps inexperienced.

Very limited menu-no specials; no soups.

Food took a fairly long time to come out -- our server should have checked in with us and told us what was happening.

However, the food was really good and well prepared. We didn't love the sriracha pasta--too bland for our tastes but all was fresh and clearly made to order.

Will def be back for lunch.

Might consider dinner on a weekend night to see if this was an aberration but for close to $200 for 4 people including tip we feel that we were let down this time.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Food is always spot on. It is definitely ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food is always spot on. It is definitely pricey but you get what you pay for. It's nice it's a byob. My husband and I go here when we have special occassions to celebrate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

They make the best Brioche donuts. We we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

They make the best Brioche donuts. We were there for breakfast this time. Always a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great lunch at a beautiful location. Wil ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great lunch at a beautiful location. Will come back again for sure.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night for a special occasion. Mel ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great night for a special occasion. Melissa made sure it was a special night. The trout beignets should be named a national treasure, and few can cook and present octopus the way the chefs can. The pastas distinguished themselves as usual, as did the desserts, including their new cannoli bites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Charcoal never disappoints! One of my f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Charcoal never disappoints! One of my favorites for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charcoal is one of our favorite restaura ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Charcoal is one of our favorite restaurants. It never disappoints. The menu is always changing--even mainstays get updated seasonal treatments. We had another great meal with friends. It won't be long before we go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good appetizer and pasta dishes. T ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very good appetizer and pasta dishes. The artisanal bread is great and worth the $5 fee. Place was unusually loud for a Friday night, as one party in the dining room was more or less out of control and changed the usual atmosphere (friendly, mellow, populated with foodies) into something more befitting of a crowd watching an Eagles' game. That turned what should have been a warm, mellow night into a night where we could not wait to get out of there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

While the limited menu presents challeng ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

While the limited menu presents challenges, Charcoal is a wonderful place. Rigatoni app with meatloaf was spot on. Mini glitch with pork chop (cured with another 5 minutes under heat) was not a problem as it still was moist and flavorful. Griggstown Korean Fried Chicken has a big layer of hot sauce and it was HOT even to one who believes it can never be to hot. Best part of a wonderful restaurant is the staff and Hannah was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Charcoal has a limited menu but what we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Charcoal has a limited menu but what we had was excellent. The restaurant is kind of small but the food was terrific. Most of the menu has sort of unusual dishes that you don't see at other restaurants. We had the brussel sprouts and octopus appetizers and they were delicious. For dinner, three of us had the worcestershire fusilli with chicken and one had pork chop. Everyone raved about their meal but don't forget about the dessert. The brioche donuts is to die for. Reservations fill up fast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great food experience but notic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always a great food experience but noticed that we had not been there for a few years and the prices for the entrees were very high. I ordered the steak entree and it cost $47 like the price of a high end steak house. It is a good restaurant but not at Philadelphia city price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This was lunch for our family. Food and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was lunch for our family. Food and service is like in regular diner. Doubt about true rating of this place. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

What a nice find. Food was top notch. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 8, 2016

What a nice find. Food was top notch. This will be a repeat destination.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, friendly and efficient servi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great food, friendly and efficient service, soothing decor, beautiful river view (although wish there weren't so many spiders on the outside of the windows - a coincidental Halloween touch, I guess :-)). Especially loved the trout beignets. Appreciate the availability of half portions of pasta dishes.

We will return. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a great place to eat. Great food an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Such a great place to eat. Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good few, very nice setting.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Good few, very nice setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

An excellent meal as always. I had the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

An excellent meal as always. I had the Smoked Trout Beignets which were quite amazing, and the Potato Pierogi Au Poivre with mustard, braised oxtail. The flavor was out of this world. And for desert the Polenta Budino chocolate mousse, walnuts, smoked salt - heaven in a mason jar.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Another excellent meal! Food was fabulo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Another excellent meal! Food was fabulous. Wait staff attentive. Every dish was prepared perfectly. And then we had the donuts...omg.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charcoal is great for breakfast and dinn ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Charcoal is great for breakfast and dinner is absolutely phenomenal. The chef is innovative, daring, and unafraid to put a menu out there with unexpected, flavorful ingredients. If your looking for a top notch meal, look no further. He's best in Yardley and the restaurant is BYOB. Truly an exceptional meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super talanted Chefs, Great mixture of f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Super talanted Chefs, Great mixture of flavors and texture. Not a large selection but every dish we had was spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Best fresh made donut ever, with a caram ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Best fresh made donut ever, with a caramel sauce! Truly, delish! Love the salmon eggs benedict.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the atmosphere and most important ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I love the atmosphere and most importantly the food is amazing!!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BYOB, Good food, very compact menu, not ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

BYOB, Good food, very compact menu, not many choices. No bread at the table, but they sell a large portion for $5 that looks awesome. Bass was mushy, small plates. Korean chicken was great, a tad spicy. Doughnuts are FANTASTIC. A little expensive. Service is so-so, difficult to find out who is a server since they don't have an uniform or an apron to differentiate from guests

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Truly exceptional food in this out-of-th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Truly exceptional food in this out-of-the-way spot right across from the Delaware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall I had a great experience at this ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Overall I had a great experience at this place. The food was very good, our table view overlooking the Delaware River was even better, the only criticism I would have is that they have better signage for the main entrance. I walked around the entire building before I realized that you needed to walk up a set of stairs to the restaurant located on the second floor.

Now that I know where their main entrance is, I can't wait to return and to try out a new dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The chefs excelled tonight. Trout rille ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The chefs excelled tonight. Trout rillet beignets were probably the best appetizers I have had at Charcoal. Octopus, Worcestershire chicken pasta and bass were superb. View of river during sunset and their wonderful chocolate budino dessert were a wonderful finish to the night. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Every part of the meal was outstanding. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Every part of the meal was outstanding. Creative flavor/texture pairings, well seasoned, beautifully curated fresh food. Underrated and very thoughtfully made meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been here many times for breakfast over ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Been here many times for breakfast over the years and decided to go for dinner. Very interesting and different menu with a fairly small selection. Food was simply great. From beginning to end, everything was terrific. Service was very good as well. Very pleasantly surprised and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food. Great plates to share

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing food. Great plates to share

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.