About Characters Fine Dining

10257 105 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 1E3
View Larger Map

Characters features a menu with a diversity of fresh, seasonal offerings presented with exceptional attentive & accommodating service. Our menu changes seasonally.

Please join us on
Twitter @charactersyeg
Facebook at characters restaurant

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday thru Friday: 11:30am to 1:30pm;
Dinner: Tuesday thru Saturday: 5:30pm to 9:00pm for reservations

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 421-4100

Website:
http://www.characters.ca/

Parking Details:
We provide our own parking lot on the south side of our restaurant while our customer enjoys lunch or dinner dining.

Executive Chef:
Shonn Oborowsky

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Business meetings, Corporate Events, Corporate Parties, Wine Tasting Events, Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Retirement Parties, Christmas Parties, Creative & Fun Events...

Characters Fine Dining will host your special occasion. Please phone 780-421-4100 for arrangements.

Restaurant Photos

Characters Fine Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
6 More
Romantic
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Overall
Edmonton
Best Ambiance
Edmonton
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Romantic
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

special occasion (44)
romantic (40)
fit for foodies (34)
See All
notable wine list (28)
good for groups (26)
great for lunch (20)
neighborhood gem (13)
kid-friendly (10)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
612 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5

The food was prepared very well. Nothing ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was prepared very well. Nothing that knocked your socks off. The service was great. And the wine was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Quiet night. Was surprise by the lack of ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Quiet night. Was surprise by the lack of crowd but we've the full attention of the server. Food was well presented and delicious. Value : right level for fine dining. Dessert : splendid. My wife had a good time. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

The portions are on the small size, but ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

The portions are on the small size, but so delicious and unique, you won't be disappointed!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first meal on the patio this ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

It was our first meal on the patio this season. The weather was incredible, so we decided to have our dinner on the patio. We love the fact that you could sit casually on the sofa's having drinks and the complementary French fries, before moving to the tables for appetizers and entrées. Great set up!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent Service and Great Food

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our service at Characters was excellent. Our reso was at 730 but we were running late so I called to see if I could push it back to 8. The Hostess was very kind and polite and allowed us to make the change. Our server was also polite and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. Food was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for work - but also fit for foodies

Dined on April 25, 2016

I was arranging a lunch to meet an acquaintance I did not know well, other than the fact that she was new to the city from Montreal. We agreed to meet - and it was Monday. Not all the best restaurants in town are open for lunch Mondays. But Characters is! Thankfully. Impressive food beautifully presented, expert service full of courtesy and attention, and a soothing quiet atmosphere which allowed conversation to flow without straining to be heard. Thanks to Characters, we have struck up a nice friendship and will return to Characters soon for lunch. She also said she would tell her husband about this spot because he was sometimes at a loss to recommend a good spot for a quiet business lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on April 20, 2016

As always the food and service were exceptional. We have not found another place we enjoy as much in Edmonton. We continue to return and encourage others to try Characters.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic in every way possible. Lookin ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Fantastic in every way possible. Looking forward to returning very soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place to impress a date!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

If you're looking for a romantic place to take your significant other, this is it. The restaurant is very spaced out, so you don't have to worry about other tables eavesdropping on your conversations. If you want even more privacy, I recommend booking the elevator shaft room, which you can completely close to yourself off to the rest of the restaurant. Add in the delicious food and you'll be sure to make a great impression with your date!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best in Edmonton.ntononton

Dined on April 3, 2016

This was my second time eating at Characters. Before going I read a lot of the reviews and there seemed to be a theme in a few of them that portions were too small. My wife and I each had an appetiser and split the main course of scallops wrapped in boar bacon. This with the fries and that wonderfull bread left us stuffed. In my opinion the serving sizes are on the large size rather than being small. We will be going back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as expensive as you think.

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

There have been a few reviews expressing that Characters is overwhelmingly expensive. However, when you look at it more closely, it's a very good deal. Most people when they dine calculate their meal on exactly how much the ingredients would cost if they were making the dish themselves. The problem is, when you think of it like that, you are not calculating the server's salary, the chefs, the rent, upkeep, utilities, and of course premium ingredients. Just something to think about the next time you analyse a menus prices.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Calamari

Dined on March 30, 2016

The Calamari is PERFECTION. No calamari I have ever had compares. Everything is delicious and I am never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

This restaurant is very expensive.

Dined on March 25, 2016

Our server was very knowledgeable and helpful in aiding us to make a decision on what to order. The atmosphere was tranquil and romantic. The food and it's presentation was undoubtedly great but we found the prices to be very high. We would not recommend this restaurant to someone on a budget.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a menu to look forward to!

Dined on March 23, 2016

Love Characters! Although I don't get there as much as I would love to. When I do, the experience is always positive! Each of us had something different for lunch and each of us raved about the food: salmon, warm spinach salad and the schnitzel .... all wonderful. Was pleasantly surprised at the prices as well. Very affordable for lunch - will add more of Characters to a lunch time destination! Thank you everyone at Characters for your awesomeness!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals were fantastic in every way po ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Our meals were fantastic in every way possible. We can't wait to go again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Decor well thought out. Food excellent. ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Decor well thought out. Food excellent. Wine pairings with tasting menu done well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best calamari I have ever had the pl ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

The best calamari I have ever had the pleasure of putting in my mouth! It's definitely not your typical rubber ring calamari that you get at pretty much every restaurant on earth. Something about the spices that they use and the quality of the squid, make it a sinfully delicious appetizer. On its own, it's worth a visit!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Night

Dined on February 28, 2016

This dining experience was fabulous. Food was delicious and the waitress was very attentive. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I Love the Tasting Menu!

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Sometimes I'm in the mood to try everything on the menu when eating at fine dining restaurants. That's why tasting menus have always been my favourite. At Characters, you get the perfect little portion, just enough to satisfy yourself without needing a wheelchair to leave because of being stuffed. Another good thing was that I was able to ask the server to speed up the courses so there wasn't quite so much time in between samples. Most restaurants are very accommodating when you just ask and Characters is no different. Try it for yourself, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Characters Fine Dining

Dined on February 15, 2016

One of the fanciest restaurants I've ever been to! If you were to ever go on a date and you want to impress then this would be the place. The food was exquisite and flavorful. Our server was very friendly and made our dinning experience that much better. I was completely satisfied with my experience and would definitely go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Underwhelming

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went to Characters for the first time on the recommendation of friends. They have a great menu with variety. We had the seven course tasting option. All of the food came with great presentation and plating but we found most was lacking in flavour. Although all the food was acceptable, it was missing something. We know people that have been there several times and were surprised by our experience. Must have been an off night. We may try again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Presentation of the food served was fabu ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Presentation of the food served was fabulous! Loved the idea of the root salad veggies being served on a spade shovel. Order the Smores ... you'll be in for a treat! Only downside was the server forgot to bring the cheese plate ordered and she was unable to answer questions about menu items being served. Great ambience for our Valentines Day dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Do not go with the tasters menu

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was my second time at Characters and the first time I was very impressed. However, this time i was highly unsatisfied and I am not sure if that is because they have recently changed the menu or if in the last few years the standards have just fallen. My husband and I chose the tasters menu thinking it would be a good variety of the whole menu. I found it heavily focused on the appetizers and was left hungry after each tasting. It took us 3 hours to get through the selections, which is fine, but when you come expecting a nice dinner and get a small one bite tasting of food every 20 min, you are left watching and wishing you would have chosen what the table next to you had. I watched all the tables around us get served beautiful duck, decorative salads, and heavenly smores, while i sat most the night with an empty plate in front of me wanting and waiting for more. The selections to me were very light and did not seem to reflect the popular items I was watching come from the kitchen to tables around us. It was not until the veal stew arrived that i felt satisfied. I would possibly return to this restaurant and just not get the tasters menu. For what we paid for, we left wanting a little more.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a Thursday and we just happen to ...

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

It was a Thursday and we just happen to have a large amount of snowfall, but we decided to go out for dinner anyway. After being seated, we noticed that we were pretty much alone in the restaurant for exception of two other tables. You wouldn't know it by the service and food quality, which was top-notch. I have been to restaurants for situations like that, where the servers and kitchen essentially take the night off and ruin the whole dining experience. Characters took care of us and the food was amazing, it was almost like having our own private chef.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Menu Day.

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

My group was lucky enough to show up the day that Characters was launching their new spring menu. Whenever that happens, we all like to order different appetizers and main courses, so that we can see and taste everything new. A few of my standout favourites for appetizers were the smoked arctic char, and surprisingly the artichoke platter. For the entrée's, the duck breast, boar bacon wrapped scallop, and lamb loin were amazing. As for dessert (which in my opinion Characters can do no wrong) the cheesecake, soufflé, and chocolate terrine, were all mind blowingly delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good meal/service

Dined on February 7, 2016

Decided to take my wife and family out to Character's for her birthday. Had the romaine salad, it used to have a soft poached egg, but now has a hard boiled egg. I enjoyed the soft poached egg more than the hard boiled egg, but otherwise it was a good Caesar salad. The appetizer fries and chips were awesome as usual. I had the duck breast - it was done nicely. The wife had the paella and the Caesar salad which she enjoyed. My daughter had the pizza appetizer and the black cod - she seemed to enjoy it. Her fiancé had the chicken which he also enjoyed. For dessert we shared two apricot/honey soufflé's - very nice. All in all an enjoyable experience. Our server was attentive and very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

It was good food.

Dined on February 7, 2016

It was good food. The waitress was a little bit insulting but other than that it was a great evening

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another knockout

Dined on February 7, 2016

The entire staff has done it once again. This is about our 15 time dining at characters over the years and every time is great. From the time you walk in the door to leaving the staff is attentive to your needs and you are never left wanting. Our server Kesha (I believe that was her name I have a bad memory for names) was knowledgeable and fielded a variety of questions from us about menu items and made some great drink suggestions as well. We had 5 courses and everything was served at the right time and temperatures. Couple stand out items were the cauliflower duck confit pizza which sounds a little outside the box but was delicious and very generously sized. Also the from the earth salad served on a shovel held in place by a full sized brick was an ingeniously different way to present a salad. Looking forward to tasting the new menu coming about in a few weeks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

We enjoyed our dinner. Waitress was plea ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner. Waitress was pleasant and prompt. Fine dining type food is always a bit different tasting, but fun to try. The s'mores for two was quite unique and delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always a wonderful experience

Dined on January 27, 2016

My business lunch was much better due to the warm atmosphere, minimal buzz of others' conversations, execellent food (had monk fish), welcoming service and excellent pace. I will take others here for lunch and dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I Never Leave Hungry!

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

My complaint with some fine dining restaurants is the ridiculous portion size. That's what I love about Characters, you get gourmet food, with enough that you don't have to swing by McDonald's on your way home. In fact, there have been numerous times where I have to take a doggie bag home. So when you treat yourself to this great restaurant, come with an appetite, and order three delicious courses.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If there is a better restaurant in Edmon ...

vip
Dined on January 7, 2016

If there is a better restaurant in Edmonton, I haven't found it. Characters is top of my list when you consider the beautiful surroundings, the great service, and the mouthwatering food. I eat out a lot, something I'm not proud of, but that fact gives me the ability to compare all of the fine dining and even not so fine dining restaurants. Trust me when I say that you won't be disappointed with your experience at Characters!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Just a consistently fine restaurant. Alw ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Just a consistently fine restaurant. Always a new twist to the menu...excellent cuisine...fabulous wine list... love the Two Hands Shira....and a great price!

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

New Year's Eve

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

We ordered the tasting menu, which IIncludeda lot of meat. The disappointing part was the flank steak. Very tough. This is a great high end restaurant, and the service was great but it was just ok that night

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was going out to dinner with some frie ...

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

I was going out to dinner with some friends who I hadn't seen in a very long time. Being that it was the holiday rush and a lot of restaurants had only a few tables available, one of the factors that swayed us to choose Characters was how specious the layout is. Almost every restaurant (I know you can relate) has the tables so close to each other to maximize the number of people they can fit, that you can hear everyone's conversations around you. At Characters, we were able to have a great visit catching up and also enjoyed delicious food and fantastic wine.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

not impressed

Dined on December 19, 2015

It was my sons birthday, he chose Characters and was very disappointed. meals were not brought to the table together items were left behind and delivered later in the meal, waitress was not friendly , food was flavourless very poor at any price will not be returning ever

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PHENOMENAL!

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

Doesn't get much better than Characters! I loved every aspect of my dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Characters Restaurant

Dined on December 10, 2015

A quiet comfortable place after two hectic days. The food was well presented and tasty. Staff were very helpful. My only issue was at the lighting: a bit dim for us older folk especially when glasses were forgotten. Thankfully, the hostess took the time to help with the menu. Both my guest and I have food issues: wait staff were aware of the issues and had suggestions for menu choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great presentation and delicious food

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

Characters have some of the best plate presentation I have ever seen in a restaurant. I had the beef tartar and it came to the table wrapped in brown paper and tied with the string, exactly the way you get meat from the butcher. The other cool presentation was the smoked scallops and pork belly. It came to the table with a glass dome over top of the plate filled with smoke and as the server lifted the dome the smoke dissipated, revealing food. Presentation alone only gets you so far, which is why it was so great that everything tasted phenomenal!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Good service and food...a little expensive....

Dined on November 28, 2015

I went there with my wife for dinner. At the entrance the greetings were good, kindly and very efficient. Great atmosphere and comfortable seats: we loved it. The service was efficient and friendly. The food was quite sophisticated and well presented: overall a good experience but be prepared to pay an high bill...but in any case a good restaurant recommended for special occasions

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.