About Characters Fine Dining

10257 105 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 1E3
View Larger Map

Characters features a menu with a diversity of fresh, seasonal offerings presented with exceptional attentive & accommodating service. Our menu changes seasonally.

Please join us on
Twitter @charactersyeg
Facebook at characters restaurant

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday thru Friday: 11:30am to 1:30pm;
Dinner: Tuesday thru Saturday: 5:00pm to 9:00pm for reservations

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 421-4100

Website:
http://www.characters.ca/

Parking Details:
We provide our own parking lot on the south side of our restaurant while our customer enjoys lunch or dinner dining.

Executive Chef:
Shonn Oborowsky

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Business meetings, Corporate Events, Corporate Parties, Wine Tasting Events, Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Retirement Parties, Christmas Parties, Creative & Fun Events...

Characters Fine Dining will host your special occasion. Please phone 780-421-4100 for arrangements.

Restaurant Photos

Beef Tartare - Characters Fine Dining, Edmonton, AB
Petite Beef Tenderloin - Characters Fine Dining, Edmonton, AB
Duck Breast - Characters Fine Dining, Edmonton, AB
Lemon Meringue Pie - Characters Fine Dining, Edmonton, AB
Apricot And Soy Basted Boar Bacon Wrapped Scallops - Characters Fine Dining, Edmonton, AB
Duck Pizza - Characters Fine Dining, Edmonton, AB
Brome Lake Duck Breast With Confit Ravioli - Characters Fine Dining, Edmonton, AB
Lobster Chili On Brioche - Characters Fine Dining, Edmonton, AB
steak tartare - Characters Fine Dining, Edmonton, AB
The Best, Iberico Ham - Characters Fine Dining, Edmonton, AB
T Bone Steak - Characters Fine Dining, Edmonton, AB
Oreo Ice-Cream Sandwitch - Characters Fine Dining, Edmonton, AB

Characters Fine Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Cozy (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fireplace (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Private Room (6)
Authentic (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a birthday dinner. The waiter was ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 7 days ago

It was a birthday dinner. The waiter was very pleasant and informative.

The appys were very good and our main entrees were fantastic.

We had the smores for dessert and they were so much fun and delicious.

We had been to Characters years ago, I'm glad we returned. It won't be so

long for our next visit.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing!! Waiter was belittlin ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was amazing!!

Waiter was belittling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

We all had the tasting menu and it as ex ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We all had the tasting menu and it as excellent, as was the service . I have been to Characters many times in past 15+ years and was pleasantly surprised with the experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Celebrated my husbands birthday. We both ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Celebrated my husbands birthday. We both enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairing. Loved our waitress she was awesome. Would definitely return😃

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was good, but not great...some hits ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good, but not great...some hits and some simply under seasoned misses. Overall a good dining experience, and we will be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very good, however we got t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was very good, however we got there and waited 10 minutes to be seated then waited another 10 minutes or more before we were asked what we would like to drink. It wasn't busy so I'm not sure why we had to wait so long for service. I've had better service at McDonalds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

good quality food as ever, octopus overd ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

good quality food as ever, octopus overdone though - main courses of high quality

Tags: Private Room, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and wonderful service ! Love ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food and wonderful service ! Love this place and will return.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress and everyone was really fri ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The waitress and everyone was really friendly. Nice and relaxing. Not loud. Great food!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I made the reservation I did not re ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 23, 2016

When I made the reservation I did not realize how high end this restaurant was, it is very nice, great food pretty good service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have had much better food and service fo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Have had much better food and service for way less money. Probably would not really recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Whenever we have a special occasion to c ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Whenever we have a special occasion to celebrate we inevitably book at Characters. The service is exceptional, the food well above the norm, and the atmosphere warm and quiet. We've also had our company Christmas party here on several occasions and it's wonderful. It's a bit pricey but worth the experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was divine. The server was personab ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food was divine. The server was personable. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable restaurant; unique food f ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Very enjoyable restaurant; unique food flavors. A bit pricier than most, but nice for the occasional lunch out.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was alright, but I've had far bette ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was alright, but I've had far better for less at establishments such as XIX. Server seemed haughty and stand-off-ish, which aren't really qualities I look for when I'm spending $100+ at a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

With Characters being in such close prox ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 5, 2016

With Characters being in such close proximity to the new downtown arena, it was the perfect option for us to get a meal before the game. The other bonus was that we were able to leave our vehicle in the parking lot and walk to the arena. That saved us $25 that we would've had to pay to park elsewhere. That being said, our meals were fantastic as well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and ambiance was very good. However ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food and ambiance was very good. However, service was very poor. It seems odd because we had all these different people waiting us - but when we asked for something, we were directed to our waitress. No one else could attend to us. So, it was a lot of waiting and waiting. We finally ordered second desserts (desserts were good) to go. Even this, was not fulfilled. We were asked to sit by the fireplace in the central area to wait for our waitress to take our order. We couldn't wait any longer. Dinner was around 2 hours. We had appetisers, main course and dessert to share.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food that demonstrates attention t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food that demonstrates attention to detail and care in preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a Friday night and we were the on ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It was a Friday night and we were the only people dining. I had the venison Wellington. The venison was cooked perfect but the pastry was a bit under done. The brussel sprouts were nice but only 5 halfs so not enough on the plate to cut through the richness of the pastry.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

We went to Characters for a fine dining ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We went to Characters for a fine dining experience to celebrate a milestone birthday. As a restaurant with a good reputation, it was disappointing. Given the prices and surprisingly limited menu, we expected spectacular food. What we got instead was very good food that was overwhelmed by the sauces or not particularly appealing for other reasons. While we are not foodies, we are also not inexperienced diners. We expect the seasoning to bring out the taste of the food rather than dominate. Our general impression was that this place is just trying too hard.

Other popular restaurants do a better job of preparing and presenting good food in ways that appeal to the palate, even when the flavours are unfamiliar. Characters has stiff competition and for our next dining adventures, we will be trying some of them that we have not yet been to.

Characters remains a classy place and the decor is great. Despite the food challenges, we enjoyed our evening out. However, we will not be back anytime soon.

On a final note, its proximity to the new Rogers Place arena is a significant risk factor. The night we went there was a special event at Rogers Place. We managed to secure the last free guest parking space in the Characters parking lot. It will be interesting to see what happens to parking in this area in the long run once the hockey season begins. Spaces in the lot were being sold for $25. I would not go to Characters or other food and beverage places in the same area if that was an added cost I had to pay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very lovely atmosphere and cozy feeling. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Very lovely atmosphere and cozy feeling. Felt welcome and pampered, great food and really nicely done cocktails not too many choices though. Despite the great food and atmosphere it was possible to make reservation on the last minute (Tuesday dinner) which felt strange for such a nice place.

Big thanks for the Characters team!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a little troubled when I read some o ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I'm a little troubled when I read some of the reviews of Characters talking about poor service. Every time I have had the pleasure to dine there, my servers have been fantastic. It seems like they know exactly when I need something such as taking the different orders, or recommending menu items or wine pairing. I understand that different people set different standards and have their own expectations, but I definitely wouldn't have it keep me from enjoying everything Characters has to offer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had asked for no pork in my meal but t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 14, 2016

I had asked for no pork in my meal but that communication wasn't provided to the chef. I felt that the management took care of it immediately and took it off my bill. They were great at fixing the issue. Food was great portions and delish.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This restaurant has been around for a wh ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This restaurant has been around for a while and I go maybe two or three times a year.The food is ALWAYS the best you will get.Its not cheap.I don't know why it was so very very quiet on a Friday night.It is a pleasant atmosphere and tastefully decorated.I t has not changed much over the years but I have to think what needs to change .When I see the Canadian brewhouse as number one on trip advisor and this as 240 I think we need to differentiate VERY good food and refinement from the rest.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Characters was the perfect place to brin ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Characters was the perfect place to bring a first date. If you're looking to impress someone special with the choice of restaurant, I highly recommend going here. Some say the way to a woman's heart is through her stomach, and it sure worked out that way for me. Call ahead for the private elevator room if you're looking for some extra privacy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Private Room, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous evening out, favourite wine Ang ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fabulous evening out, favourite wine Angel's Share, Delicious food including the Coquille St. Jacques, Pork Tenderloin, & the Beef Tenderloin. For dessert Sorbet & Table S'mores what a blast! Privacy and excellent service in the elevator room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A group of friends met for an early dinn ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 10, 2016

A group of friends met for an early dinner and had a wonderful dining experience. I love the menu and between the four of us we were able to sample a lot of different dishes. All were uniquely different, but delicious. Service was fantastic as well.

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Healthy, Private Room, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and fabulous food as a ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent service and fabulous food as always. Downtown location but with ample free parking. This is one of my favorite restaurants in Edmonton for business or pleasure. The staff are knowledgeable and very courteous. The wine list is excellent and suitable for a range of budgets. The atmosphere is relaxed and fits smart casual to more formal business events. My friends and my business guests are always more than satisfied and I am consistently pleased with my dining experience. Edmonton has an excellent range of restaurants, including several that meet high international standards. This venue provides one of the best dining experiences in Western Canada - I have found myself here more regularly in recent years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice atmosphere but would like more menu ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice atmosphere but would like more menu options. Entrees had nice meat/fish but accompaniments were skimpy and deconstructed desserts were a total miss on look and taste. Lunches are a much better value in terms of cost and flavour. Won't go again for dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I love the new menu, especially the fact ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 20, 2016

I love the new menu, especially the fact that you have six appetizers and six entries to choose from. This allows the chefs to concentrate on the total flavour profiles of the dishes as well as presentation. I don't go to fine dining restaurants to read a novel of a menu, there are chain restaurants for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cheesecake is worth the trip alone! ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 12, 2016

The cheesecake is worth the trip alone! I'm not a big dessert person, but I sure am glad I took a chance on the peach cheesecake. The flavour was amazing and definitely worth the calories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was a bit limited for my tastes ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The menu was a bit limited for my tastes. I was looking forward to having lamb and it is no longer available.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Phenomenal dinner! Everything was perfec ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Phenomenal dinner! Everything was perfect from service to food. I can't wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was very quite which was great as we ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was very quite which was great as we really got to chat with our server. We have never been disappointed with Characters food or servers, only once did we have an ambiance issue a noisy group at the chefs table. Even the chef and his team had problems communicating. We are always recommending Characters.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Four of us went to Characters on a Satur ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Four of us went to Characters on a Saturday evening in June. My wife and I had been there several times over the last few years while our guests were neophytes. The restaurant was not very busy yet I found the service a little lax. No big deal but not quite up to establishments in this price range. The pork dish was not as in the menu but had been replaced by Canadian pork. The dish was still good but I had expectations for the Spanish equivalent. The ham in the appetizer was glorious as always! The menu had recently been changed and some of my favourites had been taken off but then that is what happens in life. The shrimp cocktail was a great twist on an old classic and maybe it will be back? Overall a great restaurant and wonderful feature of my neighbourhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a quiet night so service was very ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was a quiet night so service was very attentive. Food was very good. It was our first time there and would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

For Father’s Day 2016, my wife and two d ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 18, 2016

For Father’s Day 2016, my wife and two daughters treated me to a delectable meal at Characters. Over the course of the evening, we enjoyed bison, venison, beer, duck, and sea bass – a cornucopia of ingredients with fresh flavour combinations that paired wonderfully with a variety of vegetables, creams, and sauces. Of particular note were the dessert sampler trays chosen by our daughters – they were a fantastic medley of flavours and textures. Service was the just the right amount of relaxed professionalism with personable guidance. We would unreservedly recommend this restaurant to anyone willing to spend a bit more to feel a little spoiled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

service was great, my selection was unde ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 12, 2016

service was great, my selection was undercooked but not to the point I wouldn't eat it

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had the tasting menu...a 7 course sam ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had the tasting menu...a 7 course sampling of dishes + desert. It was fabulous !!! Next time we will try this menu with the wine parings option. Overall it was a very nice ambiance for a night out and fine dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic date night

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 9, 2016

My husband and I got married at this restaurant, so we come back every year to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We ordered the tasting menu and the food was excellent! Service was great too! We look forward to returning every year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.