About Characters Fine Dining

Characters features a menu with a diversity of fresh, seasonal offerings presented with exceptional attentive & accommodating service. Our menu changes seasonally.

Please join us on
Twitter @charactersyeg
Facebook at characters restaurant

10257 105 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 1E3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday thru Friday: 11:30am to 1:30pm;
Dinner: Tuesday thru Saturday: 5:00pm to 9:00pm for reservations

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 421-4100

Website:
http://www.characters.ca/

Parking Details:
We provide our own parking lot on the south side of our restaurant while our customer enjoys lunch or dinner dining.

Executive Chef:
Shonn Oborowsky

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Business meetings, Corporate Events, Corporate Parties, Wine Tasting Events, Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Retirement Parties, Christmas Parties, Creative & Fun Events...

Characters Fine Dining will host your special occasion. Please phone 780-421-4100 for arrangements.

Characters Fine Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Business Meals (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Private Room (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fireplace (11)
Disabled Access (9)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was absolutely delicious and plenti ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was absolutely delicious and plentiful. Tartar is positively scrumptious and the sea bass was done to perfection. Servers were helpful, personable and timely. Tables are well-spaced so conversation was easy to enjoy. Only complaint was that after the bill was paid we didn't see our servers again. Small thing, for I would recommend Characters without hesitation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great tasting menu. Great atmosphere fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great tasting menu. Great atmosphere for couples or for groups. Still a gem in Edmonton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere, service. and food. Ver ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great atmosphere, service. and food. Very knowledgeable servers, good advise on wine pairings

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very accommodating for dietary restricti ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very accommodating for dietary restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a great time from start to finish, e ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was a great time from start to finish, everyone was great when we arrived early table was ready and staff was friendly, food was amazing and the open kitchen was a nice touch for the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the atmosphere of this restaurant ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love the atmosphere of this restaurant almost as much as the food! The renovated warehouse creates huge, open spaces. The fireplace, timbers and wood creates a warm feel. The amazing food fills the air with mouth watering aromas. The versatile wine provides something for most wine lovers. The food is presented beautifully and the taste buds are always rewarded! Characters has become one of my favourites in town....

Tags: Authentic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was slow waited for 15 minutes b ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was slow waited for 15 minutes before we waved down sever who said he didn't know where are server was ? Ordered vegetarian tagine which was kind of tasteless with orange peel and beef flavored zucchini ? The cauliflower side dish was quite bitter and I chose not to eat it . Server seemed overwhelmed all evening and was not present after meals were provided thus pepper not offered . Other Items were quite delicious but the poor service sort of dampened the experience . We thought New Years would be a special experience . Thanks

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

We felt too rushed at the beginning of o ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We felt too rushed at the beginning of our meal,so we asked our server to slow down

The restaurant was very empty so not sure why the rush

Food was excellent but my meal came out cold. They brought it back quickly & very hot

Overall a great meal......a little pricey

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our server was particularly gracious and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Our server was particularly gracious and because of her attention our food tasted better and our coffee tasted richer. Bravo Characters!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

For the amount and quality of food that ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 8, 2016

For the amount and quality of food that you get, it's not as expensive as some of the reviews have stated. I'm really big on quality ingredients, because that's the beginning of a great dish. It's not just the finest cuts of meat, every ingredient spares no expense. What you end up with is a dining experience instead of a simple meal out.

Tags: Private Room, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Disabled Access, Vegan, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing as usual, thanks to Sha ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was amazing as usual, thanks to Shaun Obroski and staff for another great culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was a birthday dinner. The waiter was ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was a birthday dinner. The waiter was very pleasant and informative.

The appys were very good and our main entrees were fantastic.

We had the smores for dessert and they were so much fun and delicious.

We had been to Characters years ago, I'm glad we returned. It won't be so

long for our next visit.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not only is the food amazing, but if you ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Not only is the food amazing, but if you're a wine enthusiast like myself, they have the biggest selection I have seen since fine dining in Las Vegas. There isn't another restaurant in the city that can compete with the selection of wine (quality and diversity) that Characters offers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Private Room, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing!! Waiter was belittlin ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was amazing!!

Waiter was belittling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

We all had the tasting menu and it as ex ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We all had the tasting menu and it as excellent, as was the service . I have been to Characters many times in past 15+ years and was pleasantly surprised with the experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Celebrated my husbands birthday. We both ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Celebrated my husbands birthday. We both enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairing. Loved our waitress she was awesome. Would definitely return😃

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was good, but not great...some hits ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good, but not great...some hits and some simply under seasoned misses. Overall a good dining experience, and we will be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

good quality food as ever, octopus overd ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

good quality food as ever, octopus overdone though - main courses of high quality

Tags: Private Room, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was very good, however we got t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was very good, however we got there and waited 10 minutes to be seated then waited another 10 minutes or more before we were asked what we would like to drink. It wasn't busy so I'm not sure why we had to wait so long for service. I've had better service at McDonalds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Went for dinner with a friend and was pl ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Went for dinner with a friend and was pleasantly surprised at how far apart the tables were from each other. We were able to have conversations without having to worry about another table listening in or having to talk over them to hear each other.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of us went for dinner and tried ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A group of us went for dinner and tried to order different items on the menu, so that we could sample each other's. Turned out great and gave us an even better idea of what to have the next time we go in.

Tags: Fun, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful service ! Love ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food and wonderful service ! Love this place and will return.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress and everyone was really fri ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The waitress and everyone was really friendly. Nice and relaxing. Not loud. Great food!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate a birthday and the ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We came to celebrate a birthday and the server went out of his way to make everything special for our group. Food was amazing!

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just an absolutely fantastic meal! Our g ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Just an absolutely fantastic meal! Our group couldn't have been happier with our selections and we will definitely come back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I made the reservation I did not re ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 23, 2016

When I made the reservation I did not realize how high end this restaurant was, it is very nice, great food pretty good service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have had much better food and service fo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Have had much better food and service for way less money. Probably would not really recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Whenever we have a special occasion to c ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Whenever we have a special occasion to celebrate we inevitably book at Characters. The service is exceptional, the food well above the norm, and the atmosphere warm and quiet. We've also had our company Christmas party here on several occasions and it's wonderful. It's a bit pricey but worth the experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was divine. The server was personab ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food was divine. The server was personable. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable restaurant; unique food f ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Very enjoyable restaurant; unique food flavors. A bit pricier than most, but nice for the occasional lunch out.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was alright, but I've had far bette ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was alright, but I've had far better for less at establishments such as XIX. Server seemed haughty and stand-off-ish, which aren't really qualities I look for when I'm spending $100+ at a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

With Characters being in such close prox ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 5, 2016

With Characters being in such close proximity to the new downtown arena, it was the perfect option for us to get a meal before the game. The other bonus was that we were able to leave our vehicle in the parking lot and walk to the arena. That saved us $25 that we would've had to pay to park elsewhere. That being said, our meals were fantastic as well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and ambiance was very good. However ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food and ambiance was very good. However, service was very poor. It seems odd because we had all these different people waiting us - but when we asked for something, we were directed to our waitress. No one else could attend to us. So, it was a lot of waiting and waiting. We finally ordered second desserts (desserts were good) to go. Even this, was not fulfilled. We were asked to sit by the fireplace in the central area to wait for our waitress to take our order. We couldn't wait any longer. Dinner was around 2 hours. We had appetisers, main course and dessert to share.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food that demonstrates attention t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food that demonstrates attention to detail and care in preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a Friday night and we were the on ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It was a Friday night and we were the only people dining. I had the venison Wellington. The venison was cooked perfect but the pastry was a bit under done. The brussel sprouts were nice but only 5 halfs so not enough on the plate to cut through the richness of the pastry.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

We went to Characters for a fine dining ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We went to Characters for a fine dining experience to celebrate a milestone birthday. As a restaurant with a good reputation, it was disappointing. Given the prices and surprisingly limited menu, we expected spectacular food. What we got instead was very good food that was overwhelmed by the sauces or not particularly appealing for other reasons. While we are not foodies, we are also not inexperienced diners. We expect the seasoning to bring out the taste of the food rather than dominate. Our general impression was that this place is just trying too hard.

Other popular restaurants do a better job of preparing and presenting good food in ways that appeal to the palate, even when the flavours are unfamiliar. Characters has stiff competition and for our next dining adventures, we will be trying some of them that we have not yet been to.

Characters remains a classy place and the decor is great. Despite the food challenges, we enjoyed our evening out. However, we will not be back anytime soon.

On a final note, its proximity to the new Rogers Place arena is a significant risk factor. The night we went there was a special event at Rogers Place. We managed to secure the last free guest parking space in the Characters parking lot. It will be interesting to see what happens to parking in this area in the long run once the hockey season begins. Spaces in the lot were being sold for $25. I would not go to Characters or other food and beverage places in the same area if that was an added cost I had to pay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very lovely atmosphere and cozy feeling. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Very lovely atmosphere and cozy feeling. Felt welcome and pampered, great food and really nicely done cocktails not too many choices though. Despite the great food and atmosphere it was possible to make reservation on the last minute (Tuesday dinner) which felt strange for such a nice place.

Big thanks for the Characters team!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a little troubled when I read some o ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I'm a little troubled when I read some of the reviews of Characters talking about poor service. Every time I have had the pleasure to dine there, my servers have been fantastic. It seems like they know exactly when I need something such as taking the different orders, or recommending menu items or wine pairing. I understand that different people set different standards and have their own expectations, but I definitely wouldn't have it keep me from enjoying everything Characters has to offer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had asked for no pork in my meal but t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 14, 2016

I had asked for no pork in my meal but that communication wasn't provided to the chef. I felt that the management took care of it immediately and took it off my bill. They were great at fixing the issue. Food was great portions and delish.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This restaurant has been around for a wh ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This restaurant has been around for a while and I go maybe two or three times a year.The food is ALWAYS the best you will get.Its not cheap.I don't know why it was so very very quiet on a Friday night.It is a pleasant atmosphere and tastefully decorated.I t has not changed much over the years but I have to think what needs to change .When I see the Canadian brewhouse as number one on trip advisor and this as 240 I think we need to differentiate VERY good food and refinement from the rest.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.