Characters Fine Dining

4.6
804 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Canadian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
Characters features a menu with a diversity of fresh, seasonal offerings presented with exceptional attentive & accommodating service. Our menu changes seasonally.

Please join us on
Twitter @charactersyeg
Facebook at characters restaurant
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Canadian, Dessert
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday thru Friday: 11:30am to 1:30pm;
Dinner: Tuesday thru Saturday: 5:00pm to 9:00pm for reservations
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(780) 421-4100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Shonn Oborowsky
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We provide our own parking lot on the south side of our restaurant while our customer enjoys lunch or dinner dining.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Business meetings, Corporate Events, Corporate Parties, Wine Tasting Events, Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Retirement Parties, Christmas Parties, Creative & Fun Events...

Characters Fine Dining will host your special occasion. Please phone 780-421-4100 for arrangements.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Food was great! Nice handcrafted cocktails. Steak was done perfectly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great place to go for a special occasion date night. We went with the tasting menu. Each item was very delicious on its own, but we found that all of the individual dishes were very sweet (sweet glaze, sweet sauce, etc.). There weren't enough savoury/salty dishes to balance it out as a whole. However, everything was still delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The environment is fabulous. The appetizers were really good. We had the bison ribs which were excellent. Also the soup of the day (caramelized onion) was awesome.
We ordered Elk striploin which was very delicious. However, the portions of main courses were very small. As much as it was delicious and stylish, I did not feel full!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Had a chance to enjoy our meal on the patio and it was exceptional!! Definitley reccomend the smores for 2, you wont be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Profile from the restaurant was excellent - very professional service and my tip reflected that. The meal was well prepared and as we eat with our eyes too the presentation was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I had the tuna served with black rice, something I have only had in India. It is a favourite of mine and was beautifully cooked with a hint of ginger. What a treat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The Elk steak was great. Try the Smores for dessert!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Characters is always my first choice when celebrating my birthday. The food and service are amazing, but it's the desserts that blow my mind and are totally worth a visit on their own. It was really nice that the owner and head chef came to wish me a happy birthday personally. It's the little things that go along way!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I eat dairy free which can be a big challenge dining out. Characters was by far the best place to eat dairy free! A three course meal and only one small adjustment. And I left full - not like other restaurants.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Characters was a great restaurant to have a quiet dinner. Service was friendly but also gave you space. Free parking downtown was also nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We decided to go to Characters for dinner prior to going to be Oilers game. The server was very nice about timing the courses so that we would not be late for the hockey game. The added bonus was that we were able to leave our vehicle parked in Characters' lot as the arena was only a short walk away.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Nice and friendly

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Food was decent and the waitress was nice. Little overpriced for what you get. Main dishes were great (elk strip loin and veal medalions), appetizer was weak and overpriced (oberico salami). I've seen cheaper appys at equivalent fine dining restaurants that offer a lot more. Dessert was amazing (growing up), caramel, chocolate, cookie dough and ice cream with a beater as an accent. Cute!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

This is one of our favorite spots for special occasions. We have never had bad service or bad food. They are very accommodating when it comes to food allergies. I would highly recommend Characters to everyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

What a great dining experience. Unique and special selection of fine wines. The service was over the top. great ambiance. Oh ya the food. Veal medallions, sea bass, shrimp cocktail-wow.
Do not miss this amazing dining experience. Character's is one of the best in Alberta!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

A group of buddies and I really enjoy getting together every couple months to catch up and have a good meal, with a lot of laughs. Characters is one of our favourites, because of the amazing food, service, and atmosphere. Depending on our schedule, we can take upwards of three hours to pace out our appetizer, main, and dessert, but on occasion if we are a little rushed, they are very good accommodating us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

It had been several years since our last visit to Characters and this visit didn't disappoint. The food was very good (the baby octopus,the radish plate, the elk strip-loin, the veal) and Characters even provided a much appreciated vegetarian option that didn't merely consist of four cheese ravioli or mushroom risotto - too often the only veggie option in many restaurants. The meal presentation was quite lovely - appealing and creative. The only disappointment was the long delay we experienced between the serving of our appetizers and the main course - for which our server apologized but offered no explanation. Wine list was respectable but a tad on the pricey side. Would definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The food as always was excellent and although it is expensive the value is there. Service on this night was not up to the usual, they were very busy and there was a pre-hockey game crowd.
The lamb was excellent as was the tuna.
Their steak tartare is a very nice starter.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We had a great server, but the meal took far too long to get to us. We had tickets to the hockey game and thought a 6pm reservation was ok but we didn't get our main course until 7:50.
2 out of the 4 meals were so so and 2 were very good so its a was I guess.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

One of my favorites in Edmonton!! Unique presentations of fabulous food!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The octopus was a bit over done, and the server was not very welcoming, didn't smile had to wait it for service. Wasn't overly impressed with the evening. It was our 10 year anniversary, I wrote that in my booking and didn't receive any well wishes or anything you would expect from a fine dining restaurant, like a little bit of love. Although Karen at the front was great. Wish our waitress had her enthusiasm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

A date in the elevator room, the service was perfect, pleasant and only at the table when you were ready for something. The food was spectacular.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great meal and great service. The best place in Edmonton to eat. The steak tartar was fantastic and the Chilean sea bass was moist and flavourful .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

A repeat customer and overall happy with the experience. Was a little on the noisy side. Food was good but I found the portion size of the appetizers to be a bit on the small side. Our server was attentive without being intrusive and everything was timely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great atmosphere. Warm feeling. Loved it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Characters supplies the options of four different private rooms, which are perfect for businesses meetings. Couple that with the ability to choose and price out a set menu before hand, and it's a winner!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Wait staff was great. Food was very good. Never disappoints. Veal Wellington unbelievably tender! Carrot risotto very good. To get 5 stars you have to knock my socks off. I would go back time and time again, just not unusual fare.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Being in a wheelchair, there are a lot of restaurants they claim to be accessible, only to find out that their version is only a single step. However, Characters is the real deal. With an elevator to bring you to the main level of the restaurant, or into the basement where the private rooms are located, make it truly wheelchair accessible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2018

Great food and service. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

I have been to Characters in the past and enjoyed the food, service and ambiance. This time I was very sick after eating the duck.
I feel awful this has happened.
We did get to see Oiler people.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 30, 2017

First I would say this was our third time at the restaurant both previous visits were extremely enjoyable. My husband and I ordered the tasting menu with wine pairing the first course was baby octopus, it was extremely chewy, like a rubber band. The second course was smoked sardines and the bones made it difficult to eat. The smoked sardine left a taste in the mouth and there was no palette cleanser between that course and the next. The third course was beet cured salmon, I honestly can’t say anything bad about the course nor anything good it was 2 tiny pieces of salmon with 4 small beet halves. To be honest the nicest thing on the plate was pretzel pieces. The fourth course was a carrot risotto which would have been wonderful if it wasn’t so extremely salty. At least the taste of sardines isn’t still lingering though. Our fifth course was beef tartar and was accompanied by rye toast. I will admit I’m not a big fan of tartar but was pleasantly surprised it was nicely flavoured. . For the sixth course we had cider glazed pork belly. Now having had pork belly at this restaurant previously my husband and I were both looking forward to it.....it was completely disappointing. It was DRY. Our main course was the venison Wellington cooked to rare(we were not asked how we would prefer it cooked) it was the best dish so far. Lastly we had desert which was fine, mostly unmemorable all I can really say is it was sweet all of it the custard the cake and the meringue.
To be honest I’m not sure if it was so bad because we came on December 30 and it was a quiet night. Or if it was just BAD. My husband even suggested to me that perhaps the chef was off.
Probably won’t return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Top notch menu and service. Fantastic wine selection. Highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Last time I was at Characters (for a special dinner), the food was okay but the service and ambiance were so great, we had a wonderful time. This time, the lunch was tasty but the experience was pretty disappointing as it was THE worst service that I have ever had in a restaurant - EVER. I have never (and my friend agreed) encountered a more surly, aggressively rude and downright awful server. She is in the wrong profession and acted like serving us was the last thing she wanted to be doing on this earth. We were very polite throughout the visit so I thought she would lighten up eventually but every interaction with her was so negative, we were afraid to even speak to her for fear she'd say something mean (really!) or roll her eyes. She also got the order wrong and gave the lamest, most grudging apology possible. If I were her boss, I would have fired her on the spot. I hope others having lunch that day had a better time of it.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 15, 2017

I hesitate to write negative reviews because I know everyone is trying their best (I hope). To begin, the chefs did a great job in preparing the orders, but our poor service experience topped them all in our history of dining out. We dined on a Friday evening at around 6pm and only a few tables were occupied. After about 10 mins. our server, Michael, was apparently busy so our drink order was taken by another server. We met our actual server after about 15 mins. asking "do you guys want water?" and then hustling off. When he returned to take our order, he was very indifferent and did not seem very keen on helping with some menu suggestions for a gluten allergy. When food arrived, presentation was good, but my dining partner tasted that the sardine had a fishy taste to it, suggesting a freshness issue. My lamb was well prepared but the serving too small for the asking price and lacked any significant vegetable component on the plate compared to other local competitors. By the end of the meal, we weren't in any mood to further our experience here with dessert, so another server ended up bringing us the bill. After it was paid to this other server, we were getting up to put on our coats and only then did our actual server make his way briskly to the table because he probably thought we didn't pay yet. Anyway, all-in-all a very disappointing experience. For this aspiring-caliber of restaurant with prices to match, we would have hoped that service quality also matched .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2017

I absolutely love the open kitchen. We sat that the "chefs table" so that we could have an up close experience of watching our meal being prepared. It's truly amazing to watch, and I would recommend doing this at least once to get an appreciation for how skilled the chefs are.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Whent for girls night, we were amazed! !! The food was spectacular and original. Staff extremely friendly, knowledgeable and professional. If you want to impress someone this is the place to go! We will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Great dinner for a table of 6. Excellent service and fantastic experience. Chilean sea bass was incredible as was the s’mores desert!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Wesley was a wonderful server with interesting stories to share and excellent suggestions on wines, specialty coffees and ports. The meals were well seasoned and presentation was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Outstanding service as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

The ambience was great as well as the background music at just the right level. You were not rushed through your meal and were given plenty of time to drink your wine and have conversations. This makes a great place to go with friends, also good for a romantic dinner. I was quite impressed.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21

Tweets by Characters Fine Dining