About Characters Fine Dining

10257 105 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 1E3
View Larger Map

Characters features a menu with a diversity of fresh, seasonal offerings presented with exceptional attentive & accommodating service. Our menu changes seasonally.

Please join us on
Twitter @charactersyeg
Facebook at characters restaurant

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday thru Friday: 11:30am to 1:30pm;
Dinner: Tuesday thru Saturday: 5:00pm to 9:00pm for reservations

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 421-4100

Website:
http://www.characters.ca/

Parking Details:
We provide our own parking lot on the south side of our restaurant while our customer enjoys lunch or dinner dining.

Executive Chef:
Shonn Oborowsky

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Business meetings, Corporate Events, Corporate Parties, Wine Tasting Events, Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Retirement Parties, Christmas Parties, Creative & Fun Events...

Characters Fine Dining will host your special occasion. Please phone 780-421-4100 for arrangements.

Restaurant Photos

Beef Tartare
Petite Beef Tenderloin
Duck Breast
Lemon Meringue Pie
Apricot And Soy Basted Boar Bacon Wrapped Scallops
Duck Pizza
Brome Lake Duck Breast With Confit Ravioli
Lobster Chili On Brioche
steak tartare
The Best, Iberico Ham
T Bone Steak
Oreo Ice-Cream Sandwitch

Characters Fine Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Romantic
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
4 More
Canadian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Edmonton
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Romantic
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Cozy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
637 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food that demonstrates attention t ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food that demonstrates attention to detail and care in preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a Friday night and we were the on ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was a Friday night and we were the only people dining. I had the venison Wellington. The venison was cooked perfect but the pastry was a bit under done. The brussel sprouts were nice but only 5 halfs so not enough on the plate to cut through the richness of the pastry.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

We went to Characters for a fine dining ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We went to Characters for a fine dining experience to celebrate a milestone birthday. As a restaurant with a good reputation, it was disappointing. Given the prices and surprisingly limited menu, we expected spectacular food. What we got instead was very good food that was overwhelmed by the sauces or not particularly appealing for other reasons. While we are not foodies, we are also not inexperienced diners. We expect the seasoning to bring out the taste of the food rather than dominate. Our general impression was that this place is just trying too hard.

Other popular restaurants do a better job of preparing and presenting good food in ways that appeal to the palate, even when the flavours are unfamiliar. Characters has stiff competition and for our next dining adventures, we will be trying some of them that we have not yet been to.

Characters remains a classy place and the decor is great. Despite the food challenges, we enjoyed our evening out. However, we will not be back anytime soon.

On a final note, its proximity to the new Rogers Place arena is a significant risk factor. The night we went there was a special event at Rogers Place. We managed to secure the last free guest parking space in the Characters parking lot. It will be interesting to see what happens to parking in this area in the long run once the hockey season begins. Spaces in the lot were being sold for $25. I would not go to Characters or other food and beverage places in the same area if that was an added cost I had to pay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very lovely atmosphere and cozy feeling. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Very lovely atmosphere and cozy feeling. Felt welcome and pampered, great food and really nicely done cocktails not too many choices though. Despite the great food and atmosphere it was possible to make reservation on the last minute (Tuesday dinner) which felt strange for such a nice place.

Big thanks for the Characters team!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had asked for no pork in my meal but t ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I had asked for no pork in my meal but that communication wasn't provided to the chef. I felt that the management took care of it immediately and took it off my bill. They were great at fixing the issue. Food was great portions and delish.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This restaurant has been around for a wh ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This restaurant has been around for a while and I go maybe two or three times a year.The food is ALWAYS the best you will get.Its not cheap.I don't know why it was so very very quiet on a Friday night.It is a pleasant atmosphere and tastefully decorated.I t has not changed much over the years but I have to think what needs to change .When I see the Canadian brewhouse as number one on trip advisor and this as 240 I think we need to differentiate VERY good food and refinement from the rest.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Fabulous evening out, favourite wine Ang ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fabulous evening out, favourite wine Angel's Share, Delicious food including the Coquille St. Jacques, Pork Tenderloin, & the Beef Tenderloin. For dessert Sorbet & Table S'mores what a blast! Privacy and excellent service in the elevator room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and fabulous food as a ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent service and fabulous food as always. Downtown location but with ample free parking. This is one of my favorite restaurants in Edmonton for business or pleasure. The staff are knowledgeable and very courteous. The wine list is excellent and suitable for a range of budgets. The atmosphere is relaxed and fits smart casual to more formal business events. My friends and my business guests are always more than satisfied and I am consistently pleased with my dining experience. Edmonton has an excellent range of restaurants, including several that meet high international standards. This venue provides one of the best dining experiences in Western Canada - I have found myself here more regularly in recent years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice atmosphere but would like more menu ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice atmosphere but would like more menu options. Entrees had nice meat/fish but accompaniments were skimpy and deconstructed desserts were a total miss on look and taste. Lunches are a much better value in terms of cost and flavour. Won't go again for dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I love the new menu, especially the fact ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I love the new menu, especially the fact that you have six appetizers and six entries to choose from. This allows the chefs to concentrate on the total flavour profiles of the dishes as well as presentation. I don't go to fine dining restaurants to read a novel of a menu, there are chain restaurants for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cheesecake is worth the trip alone! ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The cheesecake is worth the trip alone! I'm not a big dessert person, but I sure am glad I took a chance on the peach cheesecake. The flavour was amazing and definitely worth the calories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was a bit limited for my tastes ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The menu was a bit limited for my tastes. I was looking forward to having lamb and it is no longer available.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Phenomenal dinner! Everything was perfec ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Phenomenal dinner! Everything was perfect from service to food. I can't wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was very quite which was great as we ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was very quite which was great as we really got to chat with our server. We have never been disappointed with Characters food or servers, only once did we have an ambiance issue a noisy group at the chefs table. Even the chef and his team had problems communicating. We are always recommending Characters.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Four of us went to Characters on a Satur ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Four of us went to Characters on a Saturday evening in June. My wife and I had been there several times over the last few years while our guests were neophytes. The restaurant was not very busy yet I found the service a little lax. No big deal but not quite up to establishments in this price range. The pork dish was not as in the menu but had been replaced by Canadian pork. The dish was still good but I had expectations for the Spanish equivalent. The ham in the appetizer was glorious as always! The menu had recently been changed and some of my favourites had been taken off but then that is what happens in life. The shrimp cocktail was a great twist on an old classic and maybe it will be back? Overall a great restaurant and wonderful feature of my neighbourhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a quiet night so service was very ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was a quiet night so service was very attentive. Food was very good. It was our first time there and would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

For Father’s Day 2016, my wife and two d ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

For Father’s Day 2016, my wife and two daughters treated me to a delectable meal at Characters. Over the course of the evening, we enjoyed bison, venison, beer, duck, and sea bass – a cornucopia of ingredients with fresh flavour combinations that paired wonderfully with a variety of vegetables, creams, and sauces. Of particular note were the dessert sampler trays chosen by our daughters – they were a fantastic medley of flavours and textures. Service was the just the right amount of relaxed professionalism with personable guidance. We would unreservedly recommend this restaurant to anyone willing to spend a bit more to feel a little spoiled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

service was great, my selection was unde ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

service was great, my selection was undercooked but not to the point I wouldn't eat it

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had the tasting menu...a 7 course sam ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had the tasting menu...a 7 course sampling of dishes + desert. It was fabulous !!! Next time we will try this menu with the wine parings option. Overall it was a very nice ambiance for a night out and fine dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic date night

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

My husband and I got married at this restaurant, so we come back every year to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We ordered the tasting menu and the food was excellent! Service was great too! We look forward to returning every year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not much more I can say other than Chara ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Not much more I can say other than Characters rightfully deserves five stars in every category whether you go for lunch or dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again we were lucky enough to show ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Once again we were lucky enough to show up for Characters' launch of their new menu. With Characters as one of our favourite restaurants, one of the things that makes it stand out is that the menu changes seasonally and takes advantage of the fresh ingredients that come available at different times of the year. Another thing that makes them different is that this menu contains six appetizers and six entrées, which enables the chefs the ability to get more intricate with flavours as well as plating. It's something you will want to go and experience yourself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My brother and his fiancée were in town ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My brother and his fiancée were in town after getting evacuated from Fort McMurray due to the forest fires and Characters was the perfect place to go to have a wonderful meal. It was great to have such fantastic service and delicious food so that we could all forget about the tragedy for a few hours and just enjoy each other's company.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was prepared very well. Nothing ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was prepared very well. Nothing that knocked your socks off. The service was great. And the wine was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Quiet night. Was surprise by the lack of ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Quiet night. Was surprise by the lack of crowd but we've the full attention of the server. Food was well presented and delicious. Value : right level for fine dining. Dessert : splendid. My wife had a good time. Thanks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Characters is the perfect place to bring ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Characters is the perfect place to bring a date that you want to impress, celebrate a special occasion with, or have a romantic night out. Of course, you could also do all three!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portions are on the small size, but ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The portions are on the small size, but so delicious and unique, you won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was our first meal on the patio this ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

It was our first meal on the patio this season. The weather was incredible, so we decided to have our dinner on the patio. We love the fact that you could sit casually on the sofa's having drinks and the complementary French fries, before moving to the tables for appetizers and entrées. Great set up!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service and Great Food

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Our service at Characters was excellent. Our reso was at 730 but we were running late so I called to see if I could push it back to 8. The Hostess was very kind and polite and allowed us to make the change. Our server was also polite and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. Food was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great for work - but also fit for foodies

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

I was arranging a lunch to meet an acquaintance I did not know well, other than the fact that she was new to the city from Montreal. We agreed to meet - and it was Monday. Not all the best restaurants in town are open for lunch Mondays. But Characters is! Thankfully. Impressive food beautifully presented, expert service full of courtesy and attention, and a soothing quiet atmosphere which allowed conversation to flow without straining to be heard. Thanks to Characters, we have struck up a nice friendship and will return to Characters soon for lunch. She also said she would tell her husband about this spot because he was sometimes at a loss to recommend a good spot for a quiet business lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

As always the food and service were exceptional. We have not found another place we enjoy as much in Edmonton. We continue to return and encourage others to try Characters.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic in every way possible. Lookin ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Fantastic in every way possible. Looking forward to returning very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place to impress a date!

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

If you're looking for a romantic place to take your significant other, this is it. The restaurant is very spaced out, so you don't have to worry about other tables eavesdropping on your conversations. If you want even more privacy, I recommend booking the elevator shaft room, which you can completely close to yourself off to the rest of the restaurant. Add in the delicious food and you'll be sure to make a great impression with your date!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in Edmonton.ntononton

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This was my second time eating at Characters. Before going I read a lot of the reviews and there seemed to be a theme in a few of them that portions were too small. My wife and I each had an appetiser and split the main course of scallops wrapped in boar bacon. This with the fries and that wonderfull bread left us stuffed. In my opinion the serving sizes are on the large size rather than being small. We will be going back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not as expensive as you think.

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

There have been a few reviews expressing that Characters is overwhelmingly expensive. However, when you look at it more closely, it's a very good deal. Most people when they dine calculate their meal on exactly how much the ingredients would cost if they were making the dish themselves. The problem is, when you think of it like that, you are not calculating the server's salary, the chefs, the rent, upkeep, utilities, and of course premium ingredients. Just something to think about the next time you analyse a menus prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Calamari

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

The Calamari is PERFECTION. No calamari I have ever had compares. Everything is delicious and I am never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is very expensive.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Our server was very knowledgeable and helpful in aiding us to make a decision on what to order. The atmosphere was tranquil and romantic. The food and it's presentation was undoubtedly great but we found the prices to be very high. We would not recommend this restaurant to someone on a budget.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Always a menu to look forward to!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Love Characters! Although I don't get there as much as I would love to. When I do, the experience is always positive! Each of us had something different for lunch and each of us raved about the food: salmon, warm spinach salad and the schnitzel .... all wonderful.

Was pleasantly surprised at the prices as well. Very affordable for lunch - will add more of Characters to a lunch time destination! Thank you everyone at Characters for your awesomeness!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals were fantastic in every way po ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Our meals were fantastic in every way possible. We can't wait to go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very excited to try one of Edmonto ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I was very excited to try one of Edmonton's fine dining staples and perhaps I went into the experience with my expectations set to high.

Upon our arrival we informed the hostess that we had plans for later in the evening and we would be required to leave within 90 minutes. Her response was snarky and eluded to how she would have difficulty accommodating us. We were the first customers of the evening and were seated in the middle of the restaurant ( no seats seemed beater then any others). Unfortunately our menus were both soiled and it most definitely seemed like something we would not expect at moxies, let alone the famous characters.

The tar tar was very tasty but the sauce my duck came in tasted burnt and left an unpleasant aftertaste. The wine selection was very good and the service was decent.

To summarize your money could be better spent elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.