Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
7:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Characters Fine Dining

4.5
787 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Canadian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Fit for Foodies
Characters features a menu with a diversity of fresh, seasonal offerings presented with exceptional attentive & accommodating service. Our menu changes seasonally.

Please join us on
Twitter @charactersyeg
Facebook at characters restaurant
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Canadian, Dessert
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday thru Friday: 11:30am to 1:30pm;
Dinner: Tuesday thru Saturday: 5:00pm to 9:00pm for reservations
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(780) 421-4100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Shonn Oborowsky
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We provide our own parking lot on the south side of our restaurant while our customer enjoys lunch or dinner dining.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Business meetings, Corporate Events, Corporate Parties, Wine Tasting Events, Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Retirement Parties, Christmas Parties, Creative & Fun Events...

Characters Fine Dining will host your special occasion. Please phone 780-421-4100 for arrangements.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 787 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I eat dairy free which can be a big challenge dining out. Characters was by far the best place to eat dairy free! A three course meal and only one small adjustment. And I left full - not like other restaurants.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Characters was a great restaurant to have a quiet dinner. Service was friendly but also gave you space. Free parking downtown was also nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Nice and friendly

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Food was decent and the waitress was nice. Little overpriced for what you get. Main dishes were great (elk strip loin and veal medalions), appetizer was weak and overpriced (oberico salami). I've seen cheaper appys at equivalent fine dining restaurants that offer a lot more. Dessert was amazing (growing up), caramel, chocolate, cookie dough and ice cream with a beater as an accent. Cute!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

This is one of our favorite spots for special occasions. We have never had bad service or bad food. They are very accommodating when it comes to food allergies. I would highly recommend Characters to everyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

What a great dining experience. Unique and special selection of fine wines. The service was over the top. great ambiance. Oh ya the food. Veal medallions, sea bass, shrimp cocktail-wow.
Do not miss this amazing dining experience. Character's is one of the best in Alberta!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

It had been several years since our last visit to Characters and this visit didn't disappoint. The food was very good (the baby octopus,the radish plate, the elk strip-loin, the veal) and Characters even provided a much appreciated vegetarian option that didn't merely consist of four cheese ravioli or mushroom risotto - too often the only veggie option in many restaurants. The meal presentation was quite lovely - appealing and creative. The only disappointment was the long delay we experienced between the serving of our appetizers and the main course - for which our server apologized but offered no explanation. Wine list was respectable but a tad on the pricey side. Would definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The food as always was excellent and although it is expensive the value is there. Service on this night was not up to the usual, they were very busy and there was a pre-hockey game crowd.
The lamb was excellent as was the tuna.
Their steak tartare is a very nice starter.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We had a great server, but the meal took far too long to get to us. We had tickets to the hockey game and thought a 6pm reservation was ok but we didn't get our main course until 7:50.
2 out of the 4 meals were so so and 2 were very good so its a was I guess.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

One of my favorites in Edmonton!! Unique presentations of fabulous food!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The octopus was a bit over done, and the server was not very welcoming, didn't smile had to wait it for service. Wasn't overly impressed with the evening. It was our 10 year anniversary, I wrote that in my booking and didn't receive any well wishes or anything you would expect from a fine dining restaurant, like a little bit of love. Although Karen at the front was great. Wish our waitress had her enthusiasm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

A date in the elevator room, the service was perfect, pleasant and only at the table when you were ready for something. The food was spectacular.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great meal and great service. The best place in Edmonton to eat. The steak tartar was fantastic and the Chilean sea bass was moist and flavourful .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

A repeat customer and overall happy with the experience. Was a little on the noisy side. Food was good but I found the portion size of the appetizers to be a bit on the small side. Our server was attentive without being intrusive and everything was timely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great atmosphere. Warm feeling. Loved it

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Wait staff was great. Food was very good. Never disappoints. Veal Wellington unbelievably tender! Carrot risotto very good. To get 5 stars you have to knock my socks off. I would go back time and time again, just not unusual fare.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2018

Great food and service. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

I have been to Characters in the past and enjoyed the food, service and ambiance. This time I was very sick after eating the duck.
I feel awful this has happened.
We did get to see Oiler people.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 30, 2017

First I would say this was our third time at the restaurant both previous visits were extremely enjoyable. My husband and I ordered the tasting menu with wine pairing the first course was baby octopus, it was extremely chewy, like a rubber band. The second course was smoked sardines and the bones made it difficult to eat. The smoked sardine left a taste in the mouth and there was no palette cleanser between that course and the next. The third course was beet cured salmon, I honestly can’t say anything bad about the course nor anything good it was 2 tiny pieces of salmon with 4 small beet halves. To be honest the nicest thing on the plate was pretzel pieces. The fourth course was a carrot risotto which would have been wonderful if it wasn’t so extremely salty. At least the taste of sardines isn’t still lingering though. Our fifth course was beef tartar and was accompanied by rye toast. I will admit I’m not a big fan of tartar but was pleasantly surprised it was nicely flavoured. . For the sixth course we had cider glazed pork belly. Now having had pork belly at this restaurant previously my husband and I were both looking forward to it.....it was completely disappointing. It was DRY. Our main course was the venison Wellington cooked to rare(we were not asked how we would prefer it cooked) it was the best dish so far. Lastly we had desert which was fine, mostly unmemorable all I can really say is it was sweet all of it the custard the cake and the meringue.
To be honest I’m not sure if it was so bad because we came on December 30 and it was a quiet night. Or if it was just BAD. My husband even suggested to me that perhaps the chef was off.
Probably won’t return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Top notch menu and service. Fantastic wine selection. Highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Last time I was at Characters (for a special dinner), the food was okay but the service and ambiance were so great, we had a wonderful time. This time, the lunch was tasty but the experience was pretty disappointing as it was THE worst service that I have ever had in a restaurant - EVER. I have never (and my friend agreed) encountered a more surly, aggressively rude and downright awful server. She is in the wrong profession and acted like serving us was the last thing she wanted to be doing on this earth. We were very polite throughout the visit so I thought she would lighten up eventually but every interaction with her was so negative, we were afraid to even speak to her for fear she'd say something mean (really!) or roll her eyes. She also got the order wrong and gave the lamest, most grudging apology possible. If I were her boss, I would have fired her on the spot. I hope others having lunch that day had a better time of it.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 15, 2017

I hesitate to write negative reviews because I know everyone is trying their best (I hope). To begin, the chefs did a great job in preparing the orders, but our poor service experience topped them all in our history of dining out. We dined on a Friday evening at around 6pm and only a few tables were occupied. After about 10 mins. our server, Michael, was apparently busy so our drink order was taken by another server. We met our actual server after about 15 mins. asking "do you guys want water?" and then hustling off. When he returned to take our order, he was very indifferent and did not seem very keen on helping with some menu suggestions for a gluten allergy. When food arrived, presentation was good, but my dining partner tasted that the sardine had a fishy taste to it, suggesting a freshness issue. My lamb was well prepared but the serving too small for the asking price and lacked any significant vegetable component on the plate compared to other local competitors. By the end of the meal, we weren't in any mood to further our experience here with dessert, so another server ended up bringing us the bill. After it was paid to this other server, we were getting up to put on our coats and only then did our actual server make his way briskly to the table because he probably thought we didn't pay yet. Anyway, all-in-all a very disappointing experience. For this aspiring-caliber of restaurant with prices to match, we would have hoped that service quality also matched .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Whent for girls night, we were amazed! !! The food was spectacular and original. Staff extremely friendly, knowledgeable and professional. If you want to impress someone this is the place to go! We will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Great dinner for a table of 6. Excellent service and fantastic experience. Chilean sea bass was incredible as was the s’mores desert!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Wesley was a wonderful server with interesting stories to share and excellent suggestions on wines, specialty coffees and ports. The meals were well seasoned and presentation was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Outstanding service as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

The ambience was great as well as the background music at just the right level. You were not rushed through your meal and were given plenty of time to drink your wine and have conversations. This makes a great place to go with friends, also good for a romantic dinner. I was quite impressed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Food was as good as ever, Tara our server was outstanding her timing was perfect from start to finish. Brownie dessert is a killer .
STILL Our favourite special occasion location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

My spouse and I go to Characters for every anniversary. She always gets the Ahi Tuna Loin, I order something different each time and we both enjoy exploring their unique appetizers. The food and service was exceptional as always!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Every thing was great but the food

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Service was excellent. The food was good BUT over priced. Especially when you consider the competition, the bill for 2 people was probably about $40 more than it should be.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 12, 2017

A group of us went for dinner and rather than ordering everything on the menu, we selected the option of the tasting menu. We all loved how it made it more of an experience than just a meal. Going with the option of the wine pairing also made it fun and exciting. It's definitely an option I would recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 6, 2017

We absolutely loved our visit to Characters! The food was amazing, the wine spectacular, and the service stellar. We would absolutely go back - hopefully soon, too!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 28, 2017

A wine list with prices would be a good addition. The reuben sandwich was very messy and I wasn't excited about the banana chips in my glass of banana cream pie.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 27, 2017

In the basement of Characters are three stunning private rooms. Depending on the size of your group or if you're looking to do a business presentation utilizing their projector and screen, they will try to accommodate you according to your needs. Couple that with the delicious food, and selection of hors d'oeuvres, make it the perfect destination for business meetings and presentations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2017

Always an excellent experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2017

It doesn't matter what kind of special occasion you are planning, Characters will accommodate any special requests. As long as you give them enough time, they will do their best to make sure it is memorable and flawless.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2017

One of the best veal chops I have ever had! Highly recommend.great food service and ambiance.one of my new favorites!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 23, 2017

I find that a lot of restaurants these days no longer serve bread before the meal. Characters, has put a creative spin on the bread course, by making it more of fine dining twist. You get French fries! Yes, that doesn't sound very high end, but actually the French fries are served with a delicious black bean dip and in-house made potato chips. The fact that you don't get charged, makes it even better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Fantastic restaurant!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20

Tweets by Characters Fine Dining