Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Characters Fine Dining

Characters features a menu with a diversity of fresh, seasonal offerings presented with exceptional attentive & accommodating service. Our menu changes seasonally.

Please join us on
Twitter @charactersyeg
Facebook at characters restaurant

10257 105 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 1E3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday thru Friday: 11:30am to 1:30pm;
Dinner: Tuesday thru Saturday: 5:00pm to 9:00pm for reservations

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 421-4100

Website:
http://www.characters.ca/

Parking Details:
We provide our own parking lot on the south side of our restaurant while our customer enjoys lunch or dinner dining.

Executive Chef:
Shonn Oborowsky

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Business meetings, Corporate Events, Corporate Parties, Wine Tasting Events, Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Retirement Parties, Christmas Parties, Creative & Fun Events...

Characters Fine Dining will host your special occasion. Please phone 780-421-4100 for arrangements.

Characters Fine Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Romantic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Authentic (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fireplace (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Fun (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Casual (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome food, as usual, in a very comfortable environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good, not fantastic. Service was a little off, ( slow) even though restaurant didn't have tons of people inside. Server was nice, but not attentive enough.

This is our 2nd time at location, still deciding if to go back a third time. Seemed to be missing a spark.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Fantastic service and food. We happened upon Characters by accident, but it won't be an accident when we eat there again. Yum.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Went out for a family dinner. We all ordered something different and sampled each other's choices from appetizers to desserts - all were very different from each other and were exceptional.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Went to Characters for my parents' birthday celebration dinner. We went on a weekday evening and were seated near a window. It was quiet and calm - perfect for my parents who don't like dark loud restaurants.

The food was delicious and service was friendly.

This is now our spot for our annual birthday dinner celebration.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was outstanding, the only complaint was the poor service. We were there on a Friday night at 8pm and there were only 4 tables occupied in the entire restaurant. However, it took a full 10 minutes to be greeted by our waitress and offered water, another 10 minutes to get our drink order back and 30 minutes from seating before the bread was served. We very nearly left and went to a drive thru for dinner. I am glad we stayed as the food was very good but for an upscale and fairly costly venue I would expect far better service, especially when the restaurant is virtually empty. Maybe if they expected better from their servers it would not be empty on a Friday night. The caramel pot dessert is absolutely amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food and atmosphere always great. Tasting menu is amazing!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Characters is always my favourite place to go for my birthday dinner. They always make me feel so important and take special care in making sure that I have a great time. Of course, they do it year-round, but go above and beyond when it's a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Very disappointing. My husband ordered duck and waitress made an error and punched in lamb. So in order for us to dine together he accepted it. It was raw, tough and no flavour. I had the veal tenderloin and it was again no flavor. Over done !
The appetizers have a lot to be desired. There were only 6 people in the resturant on a Thursday night down town Edmonton. Now i can see why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have to say that this last visit was not as good as other times. A bit disappointed but would still go back in the future. There fries & chips instead of bread was a nice switch and the dip was so tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent menu we had a really hard time deciding what to eat. We went early in the evening and the place was quiet - very nice for a good and chatty date. The decor is very modern rustic best described by my wife as "not what I expected when you said more rustic, it is really nice in here" We had a really good night Walter our waiter was lots of fun. Will be back for sure!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was fantastic, the service was great. My only complaint was the hostess sat us beside another couple even though the place was super empty. I would prefer to be more private unless it's not an option. In their defence I didn't say anything but it should be common practice to sit farther away unless the busyness doesn't allow it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Always an excellent dining experience. Wonderful food. Knowledgeable and competent staff with a pleasant unobtrusive style. Great wine list for every need or occasion. Oh yes.... and very convenient parking. One of my very favorite restaurants on the planet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent, memorable, and enjoyable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great night of food and great service. Always great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 15, 2017

As fantastic as the appetizers and entrées are, Characters boasts some of the best desserts I have ever had in my life. If you are downtown, and having a sweet tooth, it's worth it to just come for dessert. Whether it's their cheesecake or s'mores, you can't go wrong with any of the selections they have to offer.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Characters get some criticism for their prices, but when you do the math and compare to some of the chain restaurants, it's a great value. You are getting the best quality ingredients, put together by professionally trained chefs, in a beautiful atmosphere, with excellent service. I would gladly pay a little bit extra, to not be treated like cattle lining up to a trough like some of the other restaurants.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We were a party of 4 with an early seating. We got seated in the elevator room and it was fantastic. A great ambiance and fabulous menu. We had the beef tartar and the ham plate to start and they were both delicious. For purchase entrees we all had a different dish and everyone of us more than pleased with our meal. I had the char and was over the moon. It was amazing. We also had the duck, lamb and tenderloin and each was fantastic.
We will definitely return.
It's a great place for a friend get together and it's now also on my list for a lovely date night with my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Garth Brooks date night!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 16, 2017

A couple of coworkers and myself had a fantastic meal and enjoyed how spacious and quiet it was inside. It's refreshing to go to a restaurant where you're not crammed in and forced to listen to everyone else's conversations because they are only a foot away from you. The only thing better, was how amazing the food was.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding. The best fine dining experience in Edmonton. We enjoyed the seven course tasting menu on Valentines day. Cannot recommend Characters enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Menu had changed since our last visit, a number of our favorites were no longer available. Meals we ordered were decent however. Service was excellent! I'm sorry I can't remember our server's name, but she was delightful! Nice spot to celebrate Valentines Day!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We enjoyed our evening and recommend the restaurant. The change in menu is not entirely successful. Offering only a pasta dish as a vegetarian option is a bit of a cop out. The Arctic char was done beautifully, but the cold romesco sauce is disjointed element. The soufflé is outstanding! and we highly recommend it.

The service was friendly; however, the delay between the appetizer and the entree was strangely long. Tables that were seated long after us, we're served theirs first. I think the order must have been misplaced, and it would have been better if the server had kept us informed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We stopped in for dinner before the hockey game so it was quite early. We ordered the shrimp appetizer for $19.00 it consisted of 2 shrimp. Outrageous expensive. We ordered the butternut squash tortellini, it had 5 tortellini on it and came luke warm. We mentioned to the server who that was too bad. We ended having to go for something to eat after the game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Completely disappointed. Far from 'fine dining' as advertised. The appetizers and mains were bland and utterly terrible. Stay away! There are far better establishments to spend that type of money,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant has been on my bucket list and we finally decided to have our Valentine's day dinner there. The restaurant itself has a nice decor , but at first glance of the menu I nearly choked to see that appetizers were 18.00$! We were informed by our server that the menu had recently changed and that she could not tell us anything about any of the items on the menu.she did offer to get an answer for us,should we have any questions. I had some difficulty even choosing an an entree, partly due to the fact that there were only 6 or so entrees and all had very obscure descriptions.i eventually settled on the duck,which was OK,although it was served with 3 large portions of some kind of side that turned out to be chickpea mush.it was just OK.
And definitely more than was necessary. My husband had the veal which he said was just OK.At 180$ for 2 people it was not worth the experience.definitely nothing on the menu that I would go back for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Higher priced menu items, but very tasty food. Salmon was awesome. And LOVE the complementary fries with dipping sauce.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I've always enjoyed this restaurant. The food is great! It's a very beautiful spot, and I love that they have parking. The prices will shock you, as you'll pay far more here than most other fine dining establishments in Edmonton. I do wish they'd change their appetizers and introduce items that might suit a broader range of tastes (octopus and cod cheek just weren't doing it for us). The presentation was beautiful, our bison entrees were great, and they always seem to have the best dessert offerings in town. Their wine menu was amazing (try the Malbec!)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 27, 2017

For a Friday night this turned out to be a hidden gem. We have never been here before and decided to celebrate my birthday here prior to the ESO. Fantastic meal. Fantastic service. Free parking downtown was a plus. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a great place for relaxed conversation, business or personal. Food is always fantastic and expertly prepared. The restaurant-only adjacent parking lot makes it easy for everyone to get there comfortably.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great service and excellent meals for all four people. Staff very friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Extremely creative menu, with something for everyone. One of my favourite places to go when trying to impress a date. Makes it much easier to seal the deal, if you know what I mean.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious and plentiful. Tartar is positively scrumptious and the sea bass was done to perfection. Servers were helpful, personable and timely. Tables are well-spaced so conversation was easy to enjoy. Only complaint was that after the bill was paid we didn't see our servers again. Small thing, for I would recommend Characters without hesitation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great tasting menu. Great atmosphere for couples or for groups. Still a gem in Edmonton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great atmosphere, service. and food. Very knowledgeable servers, good advise on wine pairings

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Absolutely fantastic dinner! We couldn't been more impressed with the service, food, and atmosphere. Definitely one of the best restaurants in Edmonton!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very accommodating for dietary restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love the atmosphere of this restaurant almost as much as the food! The renovated warehouse creates huge, open spaces. The fireplace, timbers and wood creates a warm feel. The amazing food fills the air with mouth watering aromas. The versatile wine provides something for most wine lovers. The food is presented beautifully and the taste buds are always rewarded! Characters has become one of my favourites in town....

Tags: Authentic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Was a great time from start to finish, everyone was great when we arrived early table was ready and staff was friendly, food was amazing and the open kitchen was a nice touch for the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was slow waited for 15 minutes before we waved down sever who said he didn't know where are server was ? Ordered vegetarian tagine which was kind of tasteless with orange peel and beef flavored zucchini ? The cauliflower side dish was quite bitter and I chose not to eat it . Server seemed overwhelmed all evening and was not present after meals were provided thus pepper not offered . Other Items were quite delicious but the poor service sort of dampened the experience . We thought New Years would be a special experience . Thanks

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.