About Char - Jackson

4500 Interstate 55 Frontage Road
Jackson, MS 39211
View Larger Map

Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E Northside Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 956-9562

Website:
http://www.charrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar with live music 7 days a week and a jazz brunch on Sundays, 10am - 3pm.

Catering:
Enjoy our fresh, hot meals delivered right to your door! Family-style meals for groups of any size are available for weddings, corporate meetings, pharmaceutical luncheons and more. Call us today to set up your order! 601.942.4999

Executive Chef:
Derek George

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re planning a business meeting or a cocktail reception, Char is your home for private dining functions. Our professional staff will work with you to create an unforgettable event. Customized menu service, wireless internet, and A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. We look forward to working with you!

Private Party Contact:
Brittany Moses: 6019373840x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sin City BBQ Shrimp (aka shrimp & Grits) - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
  • Pork Roast - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
  • Pecan Pie a la mode - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
  • Spinach Crisp With Shrimp - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
  • 18oz Ribeye & Hand-Cut Fries - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
  • Gumbo - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
Sin City BBQ Shrimp (aka shrimp & Grits) - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
Pork Roast - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
Pecan Pie a la mode - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
Spinach Crisp With Shrimp - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
18oz Ribeye & Hand-Cut Fries - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
Gumbo - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS

Char - Jackson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mississippi
Best Food
Mississippi
Best Service
Mississippi
3 More
Best Value
Mississippi
Steakhouse
Mississippi
Most Booked
Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Business Meals (21)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
People Watching (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (5)
Private Room (5)
Fun (5)
Live Music (4)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vegan (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
653 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Char is consistently a fine dining exper ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Char is consistently a fine dining experience. However on this date it must have been an off day. Service was slow, food was not warm and we had to ask for salad dressing 3 times. I've never had this problem at Char. We'll definitely give them another try but we were disappointed in the service this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The filets are the best in Jackson! You ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The filets are the best in Jackson! You must try the crab claws and the blackfish. Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered from their brunch menu. The a ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We ordered from their brunch menu. The ambiance and service are amazing. We requested a more private table in our reservation; however, we were seated among other tables which eventually became occupied with other diners. The privacy we desired was compromised.

My husband ordered the tuna melt with garlic mashed potatoes. He was pleased with his meal. I ordered their daily special, pecan tenders, with Mac and cheese and garlic cheese grits. The grits were amazing! I highly recommend! The Mac and cheese was good, but not great. The tenders were a true disappointment. I love pecans and I love tenders, so I was ready for a treat! However, what I received were over cooked, dry, difficult to eat chicken tenders with very little if any pecan flavor in the breading. The come back sauce was good, BBQ sauce not to my liking, honey mustard sauce was good.

This was a special occasion lunch, a time to spend with our 14-year-old son. He had his heart set on having steak for lunch. There was, however, no steak on the brunch menu. I asked our server if he could order steak from their dinner menu, to which she, thankfully, replied yes. She brought out their dinner menu for him to P she brought out their dinner menu for him to peruse. He chose a 16 oz. ribeye, cooked medium, with a side of garlic mashed potatoes. He cleaned his plate, so I know he enjoyed his steak. His only comment was that he is garlic mashed potatoes had no garlic flavor. Next, we ordered dessert. My husband chose the cheesecake. He devoured it before I could test it out, so I'm going to say it must've been delicious! My son and I chose the brownie with ice cream. It was large enough to share. Although it tasted great, I don't think it was worth the price paid. Our server was very attentive, very accommodating, and I would ask for her again if I return. All in all, we achieved what we set out for: a special, memorable lunch with our amazing son.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Exquisite service, wonderful food and a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Exquisite service, wonderful food and a great atmosphere, just a tad noisy at times, but the guests NOT the resteraunt! Pricey, but well worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My reservation was for a party of four b ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My reservation was for a party of four but they were able to accommodate a party of five on the fly. I always enjoy bring my clients to char, because I don't have to worry about food or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Lunch with a friend was pleasant with de ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Lunch with a friend was pleasant with delicious food and the excellent service I always expect from Char. Both of us chose vegetarian plates and found all the vegetables to be just right. The corn muffin was good enough to count as dessert--that is, TOO good--but we ate them anyway. This is one of my favorite lunch spots.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food! Excellent service

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing food! Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Char is consistent. The food and service ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Char is consistent. The food and service are worth the forty minute drive for us. Jess, our server, made the experience even better.

Tags: Spicy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very poor service. food was very disapp ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

very poor service. food was very disappointing. will not be returning.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Absolutely wonderful, as always. The foo ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Absolutely wonderful, as always. The food was GREAT!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening. Our food was ver ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We enjoyed our evening. Our food was very good. I think the cream spinach could be improved We asked for to go containers. Our server both them she didn't offer to package and no bag to carry. It was late for us so we left. Taking one out of the car, it fell, opened and spilled. Sad to see my husband loose his meal and then to clean it up. I would suggest the server offer to package. The restaurant was not busy and at least bring a bag. Offering. allows the customer to know it's available and not have to wait for return again to ask. We love the food. The crab claws are the best in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Table ready when we arrived for our rese ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Table ready when we arrived for our reservation. Great service. Food was excellent. Like the online reservation, very easy. Quiet atmosphere. We will definitely return. Piano music very relaxing

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat ! Prices and food are ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great place to eat ! Prices and food are great! Acceptable wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An exceptional experience! Our food was ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 27, 2016

An exceptional experience! Our food was cooked to perfection, and the service could not have been better!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Char has always been a first class place ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Char has always been a first class place and still is. Never had a bad experience there and I'd rate it among the finest restaurants out of the many I've been to in my business travels across the US over the last 16 years. No woman will be sad u took her to Char.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good food at Char. Conveni ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Consistently good food at Char. Conveniently located with a great, diverse Sunday brunch menu and with a trio wandering among the tables playing soft background music. Pleasant and helpful staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience celebrating our 10t ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful experience celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. Our 1st date was at Char in Jan. '06. Thanks for the outstanding service Gracie!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, as usual. I had the sal ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was great, as usual. I had the salmon Char salad and it was very good. Service from the kitchen needs work. They didn't bring part of our meal even after we reminded the staff. Our waiter did the best he could do considering how busy and obviously, understaffed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Excellent service but greatly disappoint ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent service but greatly disappointed in the ribeye. No taste....

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Service was friendly and courteous. Howe ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was friendly and courteous. However, our drinks were wrong and our medium well orders were brought undercooked.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall good until the baked potato show ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Overall good until the baked potato showed up but I didnt mention it because the steak was so good We asked for a table because my wife had had back surgery so we were seated in the back it was quiet until desert when about fifteen showed up and were seated in front of us . This was our 37th Wedding Anniversary Iam 65 and my wife is 60. The place I work is having there Christmas Party there this year so I`ll remember not to order a baked potato

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I have had a great experience every time ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I have had a great experience every time I've visited Char. The service and the food is always great.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Private Room, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful blackfish with asparagus and s ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Wonderful blackfish with asparagus and sweet potatoes for Sunday lunch. Service by Betsy Brown was impeccable. We stayed 6 hours enjoying the food and ambiance because we arrived early afternoon ( get reservations if you want to get a table ) and the crowd had thinned so we were assured the table was not needed. We had perfect pecan pie a la mode and blueberry bread pudding with whiskey sauce and vanilla ice cream on the side. Great value for your money. Lovely southern dining at its best. The onion soup appetizer was the perfect start

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great spot for a steak in the ups ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

What a great spot for a steak in the upscale Highland Village area. They serve Allen Brothers meats which are some of the best steaks around. Our waiter Michael did a superb job taking care of us, including a wine suggestion from a locally related firm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This place was lovely to be my first tim ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This place was lovely to be my first time visiting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the grilled tilapia special. The ser ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Had the grilled tilapia special. The server described as coming with asparagus. I expected spears but it was chopped asparagus so it was a small portion of fish with a small amount of chopped greenery which I guess was the asparagus. It was a business meeting so I couldn't complain at the time. The side salad was miniscule, as well. Flavors were all good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Perfection! Steak was fabulous. Noise le ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Perfection! Steak was fabulous. Noise level tough though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've eaten at Char many times and the f ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We've eaten at Char many times and the food is always excellent. On this particular occasion (wife's birthday) the service was excellent (heartily recommend Michael). I pre-ordered a particular wine not on the wine list (wife's favorite white), and it was provided. We both highly recommend the steak filet (either medium or medium well).

Char is a favorite in Jackson and we look forward to many special occasions there.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food , service, and atmosphere was a ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food , service, and atmosphere was amazing as usual. My fiancé and I enjoyed everything.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Cozy, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Authentic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, above averag ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent food and service, above average wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family weekend at Millsaps was capped of ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Family weekend at Millsaps was capped off with a fabulous dinner at Char. Delicious steak, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

AS always, Char is a must when we visit ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

AS always, Char is a must when we visit the Jackson/Ridgeland area. The food was absolutely wonderful as usual.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our time. The service was qu ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We enjoyed our time. The service was quite good, not overdone. The food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our visit was greatly enhanced by the ex ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our visit was greatly enhanced by the extraordinary service provided by our server, Victoria! She so pleasant, attentive, a caring. She made sure to take if us and we were never neglected.

The was extraordinary. We splurged on the crab cakes. They were divine. My cheeseburger met the Char standard for quality in every way.

Besides food and service, I saw so many friends! It was a party.

Loved the entire experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I a top ten ny strip, excellent Great se ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 14, 2016

I a top ten ny strip, excellent

Great service

One of the best steaks have ever had!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience at char. Sever ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Always a great experience at char. Several of us had filet which was perfect. Few had dish which was also fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good, enjoyable food and a great night o ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good, enjoyable food and a great night out. We will do it again soon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Jackson! Get the crab claws and ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Best in Jackson! Get the crab claws and blackfish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at CHAR was a good experience. Th ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Dining at CHAR was a good experience. The service was great and very attentive. The food was more than enough.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was ok. I've had better a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The experience was ok. I've had better and I've had worse. I was hoping for better but it happens. The service was fair. The food was good. The restaurant itself was very nice except that our table was right next to the table paper cutting device that provided a good bit of noise and distraction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.