About Char - Jackson

4500 Interstate 55 Frontage Road
Jackson, MS 39211
View Larger Map

Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E Northside Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 956-9562

Website:
http://www.charrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar with live music 7 days a week and a jazz brunch on Sundays, 10am - 3pm.

Catering:
Enjoy our fresh, hot meals delivered right to your door! Family-style meals for groups of any size are available for weddings, corporate meetings, pharmaceutical luncheons and more. Call us today to set up your order! 601.942.4999

Executive Chef:
Derek George

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re planning a business meeting or a cocktail reception, Char is your home for private dining functions. Our professional staff will work with you to create an unforgettable event. Customized menu service, wireless internet, and A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. We look forward to working with you!

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Bradford: 6019424999x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Sin City BBQ Shrimp (aka shrimp & Grits)
  • Pork Roast
  • Pecan Pie a la mode
  • Spinach Crisp With Shrimp
  • 18oz Ribeye & Hand-Cut Fries
  • Gumbo
Sin City BBQ Shrimp (aka shrimp & Grits)
Pork Roast
Pecan Pie a la mode
Spinach Crisp With Shrimp
18oz Ribeye & Hand-Cut Fries
Gumbo

Char - Jackson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mississippi
Best Food
Mississippi
Best Service
Mississippi
5 More
Best Ambiance
Mississippi
Best Value
Mississippi
Steakhouse
Mississippi
Most Booked
Mississippi
Most Booked
Jackson
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

special occasion (68)
great for lunch (54)
romantic (47)
See All
good for groups (46)
great for brunch (39)
fit for foodies (30)
neighborhood gem (21)
hot spot (20)
notable wine list (20)
vibrant bar scene (16)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant is very very consistent. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant is very very consistent. You always know exactly what you're going to get on both food and service

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome lunch special with redfish, lump ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Awesome lunch special with redfish, lump crab meat sauce, shrimp, and grits. Waitress brought me a birthday dessert that was Devine!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had an amazing time. The server was at ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had an amazing time. The server was attentive and polite. The atmosphere was breathtaking. As always, Char did not disappoint me.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected in the Jackson, MS area! Hig ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Unexpected in the Jackson, MS area! High quality food and service. Nice ambiance. Forgot the waiter's name but he was very good...

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful food. Excellent steak and acco ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful food. Excellent steak and accompaniments.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place to dine with family (even ch ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place to dine with family (even children).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent!

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Consistently excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would recommend Char with no reservati ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I would recommend Char with no reservations. The surroundings were excellent and the staff worked together as a group with no problems. Love the Hotess she was a part of the team not a stand alone staff. The food was good and fresh. Love the bread pudding.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I enjoyed my lunch at Char as always. Th ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I enjoyed my lunch at Char as always. The food is always hot and specially prepared. The hostesses are very friendly and I think my waiter remembered me from last time. He (Ryan) is the best waiter ever, I'm always glad to be seated in his section. He is so knowledgeable about the menu and makes excellent recommendations. He's very personable and makes you feel at home when you visit Char.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak we ever had! We have never b ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Best steak we ever had! We have never been disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I enjoyed the service. Gracie was awesom ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I enjoyed the service. Gracie was awesome!

However, the fish was lukewarm and not fresh. I would have desired for the fish to be fresher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Known for their steak but the swordfish ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Known for their steak but the swordfish special was extraordinary. The lemon dill sauce and crabmeat were the perfect compliment for the meaty fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again Char did not disappoint ! We ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Once again Char did not disappoint ! We love the food and they always help with any dietary restrictions .

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated on time. Our server came ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were seated on time. Our server came immediately to our table to take our drink order. Our appetizer was late getting to us. It went to another table so they had to reorder ours. However the server was very apologetic and made sure our order came quickly. The entree was exceptional. The steaks were cooked exactly how we ordered them. Definitely recommend Char!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Char. Our food tasted like it was ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I love Char. Our food tasted like it was prepared especially for us. Our waiter was top of the line. I left feeling very satisfied with my food and the service. Cant wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great time at Char. The ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We always have a great time at Char. They have been the site of most of our big celebrations. Father's Day is one of the BIGGEST DAYS we celebrate. The food is always delicious and the kitchen is more than willing to meet dietary requests. Char will be seeing us for years to come as our latest Father's Day included the announcement of our FIRST grandchild!!! Thanks for celebrating with us, Char.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an outstanding restaurant. The ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was an outstanding restaurant. The ambiance, the soft music, the delicuous delicacies and diverse deserts were debonair. I highly recommend this to individuals looking for first class dining with coach prices.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'll be going back to sample other items ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I'll be going back to sample other items. I ordered a ribeye and wasn't very impressed with the quality of the beef for the price, but it was very well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome Experience

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I loved everything about Char!!! The service, the atmosphere, the service and the food were all PERFECT!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. We went late on S ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was excellent. We went late on Sunday for brunch ( 1:30) so the noise and much of the crowd had dissipated. I had crab cakes Benedict which measure up to or surpass any I have had. They are served with shoe string French fries. My husbands's meal was equally delicious. Our waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable despite the crowd. We eat here often and will continue to do so. Price commensurate with food and service and ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dining experience over all was very ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The dining experience over all was very good. The service great, he didn't hover over us, but yet was very attentive. The food was good, ( fries were a soggy).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

What stood out to me the most was the se ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

What stood out to me the most was the service from our waiter. Our server was named Chad and he did an awesome job. He was timely with drink refills, and I even had a to-go order and he was timely with it. He had a very nice and friendly attitude. I felt like he wanted to do a great job serving us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite lunchtime dining

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The Char burger was absolutely fabulous. My associate had the pecan crusted fish with garlic mashed potatoes which was equally fantastic. The ambiance is perfect for a date night, a ladies' luncheon or a business meeting. The server was discreet, knowledgeable and attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for my wife's birthday. Very n ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Went here for my wife's birthday. Very nice atmosphere and excellent food. The steak is perfect here. The prices are what you expect for great food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love to dine at Char. Was telling my hus ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Love to dine at Char. Was telling my husband since our move here in 2014 from Texas this restaurant is my favorite place to dine. I usually get the filet medium with creamed spinach augratin. And we share either the crab cakes or bbq shrimp on grits. As always food was amazing and our sever Jessica was efficient and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

AMAZING

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was actually my first time eating at Chars... And I must say... My experience was amazing. I had made reservations for 4 and was seated promptly as soon as we arrived. The staff was very friendly and very helpful in suggesting entrees to try. The food was exceptional. I also had an alcohol beverage.. Normally drinks are watered down at other place, this was not the case at Chars. I will definitely come back. Only next time... I will bring my HUBBY for a bday surprise. :-)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, service was even better. ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was great, service was even better. I had the ribeye with creamed spinach. It was seasoned well and cooked perfect. My wife had the stuffed blackfish, which was also excellent.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner at Chars

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

We have held several business meetings at Chars and as always the food was great the service was fantastic. The group enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and look forward to Chars when they return to Jackson.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and service....

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and service....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I chose this restaurant so that i could ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I chose this restaurant so that i could impress/celebrate my nephew's freshman year success. And impressed he was. Food was good as was the atmosphere. Thanks a lot!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great! First time coming, ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was great! First time coming, food was excellent service was fast and friendly!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn't Live Up to Expectations

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I ate at Char several years ago and the food was wonderful. Not so when we dined there a few nights ago. The food was tasteless. The waiter seemed more interested in pushing specials , rather than listening to what we desired. No eye contact from him at all. When we gave our orders, he was scoping out others that were coming into the restaurant, which led to inattentiveness and our having to repeat much of what we stated previously. Not a good experience at all. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Your typical Denny's steak house

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Your typical Denny's steak house

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The crab cake appetizer and the tomato a ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The crab cake appetizer and the tomato and mozzarella tower appetizer were excellent. We shared an entree of a fish dish which was light and delicious. The portions for lunch are amazingly large. The brownie and ice cream dessert we also split and it, also, was amazingly large and delicious. The service was attentive but not intrusive. I highly recommend Char!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak was well-seasoned and not just ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The steak was well-seasoned and not just a bland piece of beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Char!

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Made a reservation an hour before our arrival time. Got there, and was seated within a few minutes. Great food and atmosphere. Great service! I'm going back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A find

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

We were just passing through Jackson, on the Natchez Trace Parkway, and stopped for the night and to go to the Mississippi Craft Center. Found Char on (I think) TripAdvisor and liked the menu--trying to avoid fast food and chain restaurants. We both had the chili-fried oysters, which were excellent! My husband also had the crabcake appetizer and liked it a lot--it really was all crab and no filler. I had a cup of the gumbo, which was tasty and had a reasonable amount of andouille, crawfish, and crabmeat in it (but I'm no connoisseur of gumbo, so can't be a real judge).

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Middle of the day get away

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Overall, the lunch time at Char was fabulous. I had a business meeting with one of our clients from overseas. And I have to say, that Char was the perfect location to meet. The food was good overall. The service staff was second to none.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I had the blackfish, which is a dish I keep coming back for - absolutely delicious. My husband had the ribeye, and he said it was better than the one he had at County Seat last month (that cost twice as much). Great service too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A dependable, consistent and wonderful e ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

A dependable, consistent and wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.