About Char - Jackson

4500 Interstate 55 Frontage Road
Jackson, MS 39211
View Larger Map

Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E Northside Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 956-9562

Website:
http://www.charrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar with live music 7 days a week and a jazz brunch on Sundays, 10am - 3pm.

Catering:
Enjoy our fresh, hot meals delivered right to your door! Family-style meals for groups of any size are available for weddings, corporate meetings, pharmaceutical luncheons and more. Call us today to set up your order! 601.942.4999

Executive Chef:
Derek George

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re planning a business meeting or a cocktail reception, Char is your home for private dining functions. Our professional staff will work with you to create an unforgettable event. Customized menu service, wireless internet, and A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. We look forward to working with you!

Private Party Contact:
Brittany Moses: (601) 937-3840

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sin City BBQ Shrimp (aka shrimp & Grits) - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
  • Pork Roast - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
  • Pecan Pie a la mode - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
  • Spinach Crisp With Shrimp - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
  • 18oz Ribeye & Hand-Cut Fries - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
  • Gumbo - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS

Report a photo problem

Sin City BBQ Shrimp (aka shrimp & Grits) - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
Pork Roast - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
Pecan Pie a la mode - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
Spinach Crisp With Shrimp - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
18oz Ribeye & Hand-Cut Fries - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS
Gumbo - Char - Jackson, Jackson, MS

Char - Jackson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Romantic (37)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Business Meals (30)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Cozy (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Live Music (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Casual (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Fun (8)
Private Room (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Healthy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Family Style (3)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
723 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great, attentive, service as always. Su ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 5 days ago

Great, attentive, service as always. Sunday brunch has delicious options. My crab Benedict was perfectly prepared as was my husband's meal. The trumpet, bass, and banjo players were great, entertaining musicians who played at just the right level to allow diners to enjoy their music and converse with each other. I continue to highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, nice setting and aweso ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant, nice setting and awesome service

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food . We went for ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service and food . We went for my mothers birthday and thoroughly enjoyed the meal and service . We will be back for sure .

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our only problem was the kitchen wait st ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our only problem was the kitchen wait staff delivering the wrong food. This seems to happen more often than not.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great staff, have been enjoying restaura ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great staff, have been enjoying restaurant for numerous years..

Family member visiting from

Spain was quite pleased,as well!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Journey was our server, and did an outst ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Journey was our server, and did an outstanding job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy my visits to Char. Every ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I always enjoy my visits to Char. Everything was exceptional. Jurney was the best waiter I have ever had there. His service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You get much more value for your money a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

You get much more value for your money at lunch. Char is great anytime!

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I enjoyed myself and I will return again ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I enjoyed myself and I will return again with my son. I wish I could have stayed for the live music, but I came early. I will dine again and I will come when they have live music. My son took me to Char-Jackson on Mother's Day 2015.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steaks my wife and I have ever ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The best steaks my wife and I have ever had. Tremendous service. Definitely worth another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time! Loved it! The Filet is amazi ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time! Loved it! The Filet is amazing! The Pecan Crunch dessert was fantastic as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service ,atmosphere. Excelled nigh ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service ,atmosphere. Excelled night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service as always. ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and great service as always. And Bill Clark, the piano artist, was better than ever!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food. Service was great. The ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good food. Service was great. The blackfish was was tasty and my wife's filet was cooked just right. The butter crunch dessert is awesome!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding brunch. Great service. Decen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding brunch. Great service. Decent value considering the for quality. Were going to make this a regular Sunday brunch. The spinach/feta crisp was amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Historic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was prepared excellently. The Serv ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was prepared excellently. The Service we got from a very nice young lady was the best we have had in years. Nice to see a restaurant that hires good people that enjoy their jobs.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Matt is a great host. You need to lure ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Matt is a great host. You need to lure Codie back. Give her a great big raise . She is an asset.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome tasting food. Price of food for ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Awesome tasting food. Price of food for amount of food received for main course didn't match in my opinion. Basically paying for environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Comfortable, clubby, vibrant atmosphere ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Comfortable, clubby, vibrant atmosphere if a little noisy. Food great as always for brunch. Outstanding desserts. Always a great expeerience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite place to celebrate our wedd ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our favorite place to celebrate our wedding anniversary!!!

Tags: Fireplace, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good wines, appetizers & entrees. T ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very good wines, appetizers & entrees. The fish entrees seem to be their specialty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always wonderful. One of our favorites.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always wonderful. One of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Lively but able to car ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great atmosphere. Lively but able to carry on conversations. Food is always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only complaint was the crowd really ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The only complaint was the crowd really slowed the service. Otherwise, great as usual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for our anniversary. The wait st ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went for our anniversary. The wait staff was excellent, asked what kind of things we liked and made outstanding recommendations. The food, drink and atmosphere were worth the2 hour drive from our hometown. We will definitely be back!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good as expected. Service from ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was good as expected. Service from Patty was exceptional!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great! The steak with mushr ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food was great! The steak with mushrooms was delicious. Would definitely return for another meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not Char's finest. Strawberry Chopped Sa ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Not Char's finest. Strawberry Chopped Salad a major disappointment. Didn't include everything promised on menu. Maybe next time.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinner...had not been in sever ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent dinner...had not been in several years b/c last time we went it was not good at all. Totally different now. Excellent crab claws. Great drinks. I had veal piccata and it was perfect. Husband loved his fish and daughter loved her fish. Desserts are amazing. Service was good. Can't wait to go back. Not cheap but a great night out.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

They have the best steaks I've ever tast ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 10, 2016

They have the best steaks I've ever tasted in my life!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Awesome food and service! This was our f ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Awesome food and service! This was our first visit and we will be back. I definitely recommend a reservation as they had only been open for 30 minutes and the wait was quite long. I am thankful we had one!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Char is consistently a fine dining exper ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Char is consistently a fine dining experience. However on this date it must have been an off day. Service was slow, food was not warm and we had to ask for salad dressing 3 times. I've never had this problem at Char. We'll definitely give them another try but we were disappointed in the service this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The filets are the best in Jackson! You ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The filets are the best in Jackson! You must try the crab claws and the blackfish. Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered from their brunch menu. The a ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We ordered from their brunch menu. The ambiance and service are amazing. We requested a more private table in our reservation; however, we were seated among other tables which eventually became occupied with other diners. The privacy we desired was compromised.

My husband ordered the tuna melt with garlic mashed potatoes. He was pleased with his meal. I ordered their daily special, pecan tenders, with Mac and cheese and garlic cheese grits. The grits were amazing! I highly recommend! The Mac and cheese was good, but not great. The tenders were a true disappointment. I love pecans and I love tenders, so I was ready for a treat! However, what I received were over cooked, dry, difficult to eat chicken tenders with very little if any pecan flavor in the breading. The come back sauce was good, BBQ sauce not to my liking, honey mustard sauce was good.

This was a special occasion lunch, a time to spend with our 14-year-old son. He had his heart set on having steak for lunch. There was, however, no steak on the brunch menu. I asked our server if he could order steak from their dinner menu, to which she, thankfully, replied yes. She brought out their dinner menu for him to P she brought out their dinner menu for him to peruse. He chose a 16 oz. ribeye, cooked medium, with a side of garlic mashed potatoes. He cleaned his plate, so I know he enjoyed his steak. His only comment was that he is garlic mashed potatoes had no garlic flavor. Next, we ordered dessert. My husband chose the cheesecake. He devoured it before I could test it out, so I'm going to say it must've been delicious! My son and I chose the brownie with ice cream. It was large enough to share. Although it tasted great, I don't think it was worth the price paid. Our server was very attentive, very accommodating, and I would ask for her again if I return. All in all, we achieved what we set out for: a special, memorable lunch with our amazing son.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Exquisite service, wonderful food and a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Exquisite service, wonderful food and a great atmosphere, just a tad noisy at times, but the guests NOT the resteraunt! Pricey, but well worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My reservation was for a party of four b ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My reservation was for a party of four but they were able to accommodate a party of five on the fly. I always enjoy bring my clients to char, because I don't have to worry about food or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Lunch with a friend was pleasant with de ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Lunch with a friend was pleasant with delicious food and the excellent service I always expect from Char. Both of us chose vegetarian plates and found all the vegetables to be just right. The corn muffin was good enough to count as dessert--that is, TOO good--but we ate them anyway. This is one of my favorite lunch spots.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food! Excellent service

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing food! Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Char is consistent. The food and service ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Char is consistent. The food and service are worth the forty minute drive for us. Jess, our server, made the experience even better.

Tags: Spicy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very poor service. food was very disapp ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

very poor service. food was very disappointing. will not be returning.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.