About Char - Jackson

4500 Interstate 55 Frontage Road
Jackson, MS 39211
View Larger Map

Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E Northside Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 956-9562

Website:
http://www.charrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar with live music 7 days a week and a jazz brunch on Sundays, 10am - 3pm.

Catering:
Enjoy our fresh, hot meals delivered right to your door! Family-style meals for groups of any size are available for weddings, corporate meetings, pharmaceutical luncheons and more. Call us today to set up your order! 601.942.4999

Executive Chef:
Derek George

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re planning a business meeting or a cocktail reception, Char is your home for private dining functions. Our professional staff will work with you to create an unforgettable event. Customized menu service, wireless internet, and A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. We look forward to working with you!

Private Party Contact:
Brittany Moses: 6019373840x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sin City BBQ Shrimp (aka shrimp & Grits)
  • Pork Roast
  • Pecan Pie a la mode
  • Spinach Crisp With Shrimp
  • 18oz Ribeye & Hand-Cut Fries
  • Gumbo
Sin City BBQ Shrimp (aka shrimp & Grits)
Pork Roast
Pecan Pie a la mode
Spinach Crisp With Shrimp
18oz Ribeye & Hand-Cut Fries
Gumbo

Char - Jackson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mississippi
Best Food
Mississippi
Best Service
Mississippi
5 More
Best Ambiance
Mississippi
Best Value
Mississippi
Steakhouse
Mississippi
Most Booked
Mississippi
Most Booked
Jackson
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

Special Occasion (56)
Romantic (42)
Great for Lunch (39)
See All
Great for Brunch (35)
Good for Groups (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Hot Spot (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Worth the Drive (6)
Scenic View (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Authentic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Cozy (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our visit was greatly enhanced by the ex ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our visit was greatly enhanced by the extraordinary service provided by our server, Victoria! She so pleasant, attentive, a caring. She made sure to take if us and we were never neglected.

The was extraordinary. We splurged on the crab cakes. They were divine. My cheeseburger met the Char standard for quality in every way.

Besides food and service, I saw so many friends! It was a party.

Loved the entire experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I a top ten ny strip, excellent Great se ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I a top ten ny strip, excellent

Great service

One of the best steaks have ever had!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience at char. Sever ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Always a great experience at char. Several of us had filet which was perfect. Few had dish which was also fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good, enjoyable food and a great night o ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good, enjoyable food and a great night out. We will do it again soon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Jackson! Get the crab claws and ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Best in Jackson! Get the crab claws and blackfish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at CHAR was a good experience. Th ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Dining at CHAR was a good experience. The service was great and very attentive. The food was more than enough.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was ok. I've had better a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The experience was ok. I've had better and I've had worse. I was hoping for better but it happens. The service was fair. The food was good. The restaurant itself was very nice except that our table was right next to the table paper cutting device that provided a good bit of noise and distraction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Rated as service as 4-star only because ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Rated as service as 4-star only because we initially felt a bit rushed to order drinks and appetizers (can service be too good?). I can sometimes understand "rushing" to a point, when a restaurant is packed and has a long line of people waiting. Neither was the case on this evening. It's a very nice restaurant, and having a little more time to look over the menu would have been appreciated. Otherwise, everything was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The only problem was trying to book onli ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The only problem was trying to book online. I was told there was a two hot wait and so I called the restaurant direct and got in for the time requested. I was shocked that after an hour and a half having dinner no one sat at the 6 tables around us ???????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service. It is a bit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very good food and service. It is a bit crowded in the dining area and I would recommend asking for a booth.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. VERY Dim lighting makes it v ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food. VERY Dim lighting makes it very difficult to see at times.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fried crab claws were delicious; hummus ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fried crab claws were delicious; hummus and pita also very good. Seafood gumbo excellent as always. Tommie the piano man is a pleasant entertainer and always a big plus to the CHAR environment.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, especially the c ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was delicious, especially the crab cakes! We choose to try two different fish dishes, both were wonderful. The signature Pecan Caramel Butter Crunch cake was out of this world!! Service was superb (THANK YOU Zarius!). Thankful we used Open Table - within 30 minutes of our arrival, there was a long wait.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was excellent. It is a ro ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The atmosphere was excellent. It is a romantic restaurant. The food was excellent. The service was excellent. It was a quiet setting. I enjoyed the quiet dinner music.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met a friend there for dinner. Prior to ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Met a friend there for dinner. Prior to their arrival, I sat at the bar an enjoyed a glass of wine. Bar has a great atmosphere. My friend and I both had a steak for dinner that was excellent!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food & atmosphere!!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always great food & atmosphere!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had been driving all day and wanted t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had been driving all day and wanted to have a nice meal in a nice place. After an Internet search, we found Char. It was a welcome rest, great meal, and good service. It is a very pleasant restaurant and was frankly a surprise find in a small town like Jackson. The food was excellent. All four of our family members enjoyed the meal there.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time at Char and met al ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was our first time at Char and met all of our expectations ! I took my wife there for a late birthday surprise. She was delighted! We were seated within 10 minutes and our waitress was attentive and well versed in what she does. We can't remember her name but enjoyed our experience and will be back. We had steaks and they were cooked to perfection! Nice atmosphere! Thanks

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was lovely. My girlfriend rea ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was lovely. My girlfriend really enjoyed the chargrilled mahi!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent serve Not infavor of jazzband ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent serve

Not infavor of jazzband

Music performed well but in a closed area they were too loud

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love hitting Char when we go to Jacks ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We love hitting Char when we go to Jackson, MS. Great, white table cloth service with a casual feel. Try the friend green tomatoes -- and the crab cakes. Simply great food for a reasonable price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing! Get the blackfish. And d ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always amazing! Get the blackfish. And don't forget the fried green tomatoes, crab claws and wedge salad to start.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friends and I often dine at Char. Ho ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My friends and I often dine at Char. However, on this particular occasion, I found the service to be phenomenal. Our waiter was Chad. Chad displayed an awesome disposition. He was friendly as well as timely in his service.

My glass never had the opportunity to become empty, and he made sure we were pleased with our meal. He provided options as we were indecisive; because, we always come for the fish. But, on this particular Friday, Char was also featuring a shrimp po-boy, so we didn't know what to do. Chad helped us find a solution by advising us we could get fish only with no sides at a reasonable price in addition to the po-boys. We were excited and quickly accepted his suggestion.

I am truly thankful for Chad's assistance. He is extremely friendly and nice. Chad is an AWESOME waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is very very consistent. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This restaurant is very very consistent. You always know exactly what you're going to get on both food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome lunch special with redfish, lump ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Awesome lunch special with redfish, lump crab meat sauce, shrimp, and grits. Waitress brought me a birthday dessert that was Devine!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had an amazing time. The server was at ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had an amazing time. The server was attentive and polite. The atmosphere was breathtaking. As always, Char did not disappoint me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected in the Jackson, MS area! Hig ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Unexpected in the Jackson, MS area! High quality food and service. Nice ambiance. Forgot the waiter's name but he was very good...

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful food. Excellent steak and acco ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful food. Excellent steak and accompaniments.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place to dine with family (even ch ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place to dine with family (even children).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent!

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Consistently excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would recommend Char with no reservati ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I would recommend Char with no reservations. The surroundings were excellent and the staff worked together as a group with no problems. Love the Hotess she was a part of the team not a stand alone staff. The food was good and fresh. Love the bread pudding.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I enjoyed my lunch at Char as always. Th ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I enjoyed my lunch at Char as always. The food is always hot and specially prepared. The hostesses are very friendly and I think my waiter remembered me from last time. He (Ryan) is the best waiter ever, I'm always glad to be seated in his section. He is so knowledgeable about the menu and makes excellent recommendations. He's very personable and makes you feel at home when you visit Char.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak we ever had! We have never b ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Best steak we ever had! We have never been disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I enjoyed the service. Gracie was awesom ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I enjoyed the service. Gracie was awesome!

However, the fish was lukewarm and not fresh. I would have desired for the fish to be fresher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Known for their steak but the swordfish ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Known for their steak but the swordfish special was extraordinary. The lemon dill sauce and crabmeat were the perfect compliment for the meaty fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again Char did not disappoint ! We ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Once again Char did not disappoint ! We love the food and they always help with any dietary restrictions .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated on time. Our server came ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were seated on time. Our server came immediately to our table to take our drink order. Our appetizer was late getting to us. It went to another table so they had to reorder ours. However the server was very apologetic and made sure our order came quickly. The entree was exceptional. The steaks were cooked exactly how we ordered them. Definitely recommend Char!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Char. Our food tasted like it was ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I love Char. Our food tasted like it was prepared especially for us. Our waiter was top of the line. I left feeling very satisfied with my food and the service. Cant wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great time at Char. The ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We always have a great time at Char. They have been the site of most of our big celebrations. Father's Day is one of the BIGGEST DAYS we celebrate. The food is always delicious and the kitchen is more than willing to meet dietary requests. Char will be seeing us for years to come as our latest Father's Day included the announcement of our FIRST grandchild!!! Thanks for celebrating with us, Char.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an outstanding restaurant. The ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was an outstanding restaurant. The ambiance, the soft music, the delicuous delicacies and diverse deserts were debonair. I highly recommend this to individuals looking for first class dining with coach prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.