About Char - Jackson

4500 Interstate 55 Frontage Road
Jackson, MS 39211
View Larger Map

Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E Northside Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 956-9562

Website:
http://www.charrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar with live music 7 days a week and a jazz brunch on Sundays, 10am - 3pm.

Catering:
Enjoy our fresh, hot meals delivered right to your door! Family-style meals for groups of any size are available for weddings, corporate meetings, pharmaceutical luncheons and more. Call us today to set up your order! 601.942.4999

Executive Chef:
Derek George

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re planning a business meeting or a cocktail reception, Char is your home for private dining functions. Our professional staff will work with you to create an unforgettable event. Customized menu service, wireless internet, and A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. We look forward to working with you!

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Bradford: 6019424999x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Sin City BBQ Shrimp (aka shrimp & Grits)
  • Pork Roast
  • Pecan Pie a la mode
  • Spinach Crisp With Shrimp
  • 18oz Ribeye & Hand-Cut Fries
  • Gumbo
Sin City BBQ Shrimp (aka shrimp & Grits)
Pork Roast
Pecan Pie a la mode
Spinach Crisp With Shrimp
18oz Ribeye & Hand-Cut Fries
Gumbo

Char - Jackson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Mississippi
Steakhouse
Mississippi
Most Booked
Mississippi
1 More
Most Booked
Jackson
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

special occasion (72)
romantic (48)
great for lunch (48)
See All
good for groups (40)
great for brunch (34)
fit for foodies (23)
neighborhood gem (22)
vibrant bar scene (20)
hot spot (18)
notable wine list (16)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great time at Char. The ...

Dined 6 days ago

We always have a great time at Char. They have been the site of most of our big celebrations. Father's Day is one of the BIGGEST DAYS we celebrate. The food is always delicious and the kitchen is more than willing to meet dietary requests. Char will be seeing us for years to come as our latest Father's Day included the announcement of our FIRST grandchild!!! Thanks for celebrating with us, Char.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an outstanding restaurant. The ...

Dined 7 days ago

This was an outstanding restaurant. The ambiance, the soft music, the delicuous delicacies and diverse deserts were debonair. I highly recommend this to individuals looking for first class dining with coach prices.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I'll be going back to sample other items ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I'll be going back to sample other items. I ordered a ribeye and wasn't very impressed with the quality of the beef for the price, but it was very well prepared.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Experience

Dined on June 11, 2016

I loved everything about Char!!! The service, the atmosphere, the service and the food were all PERFECT!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. We went late on S ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was excellent. We went late on Sunday for brunch ( 1:30) so the noise and much of the crowd had dissipated. I had crab cakes Benedict which measure up to or surpass any I have had. They are served with shoe string French fries. My husbands's meal was equally delicious. Our waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable despite the crowd. We eat here often and will continue to do so. Price commensurate with food and service and ambience

food3
ambience5
service5

The dining experience over all was very ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The dining experience over all was very good. The service great, he didn't hover over us, but yet was very attentive. The food was good, ( fries were a soggy).

food5
ambience5
service5

What stood out to me the most was the se ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

What stood out to me the most was the service from our waiter. Our server was named Chad and he did an awesome job. He was timely with drink refills, and I even had a to-go order and he was timely with it. He had a very nice and friendly attitude. I felt like he wanted to do a great job serving us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite lunchtime dining

Dined on June 3, 2016

The Char burger was absolutely fabulous. My associate had the pecan crusted fish with garlic mashed potatoes which was equally fantastic. The ambiance is perfect for a date night, a ladies' luncheon or a business meeting. The server was discreet, knowledgeable and attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for my wife's birthday. Very n ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Went here for my wife's birthday. Very nice atmosphere and excellent food. The steak is perfect here. The prices are what you expect for great food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Love to dine at Char. Was telling my hus ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Love to dine at Char. Was telling my husband since our move here in 2014 from Texas this restaurant is my favorite place to dine. I usually get the filet medium with creamed spinach augratin. And we share either the crab cakes or bbq shrimp on grits. As always food was amazing and our sever Jessica was efficient and friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was actually my first time eating at Chars... And I must say... My experience was amazing. I had made reservations for 4 and was seated promptly as soon as we arrived. The staff was very friendly and very helpful in suggesting entrees to try. The food was exceptional. I also had an alcohol beverage.. Normally drinks are watered down at other place, this was not the case at Chars. I will definitely come back. Only next time... I will bring my HUBBY for a bday surprise. :-)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great, service was even better. ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was great, service was even better. I had the ribeye with creamed spinach. It was seasoned well and cooked perfect. My wife had the stuffed blackfish, which was also excellent.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner at Chars

Dined on May 17, 2016

We have held several business meetings at Chars and as always the food was great the service was fantastic. The group enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and look forward to Chars when they return to Jackson.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service....

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and service....

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose this restaurant so that i could ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I chose this restaurant so that i could impress/celebrate my nephew's freshman year success. And impressed he was. Food was good as was the atmosphere. Thanks a lot!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great! First time coming, ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was great! First time coming, food was excellent service was fast and friendly!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Didn't Live Up to Expectations

Dined on May 6, 2016

I ate at Char several years ago and the food was wonderful. Not so when we dined there a few nights ago. The food was tasteless. The waiter seemed more interested in pushing specials , rather than listening to what we desired. No eye contact from him at all. When we gave our orders, he was scoping out others that were coming into the restaurant, which led to inattentiveness and our having to repeat much of what we stated previously. Not a good experience at all. Won't be back.

food2
ambience3
service3

Your typical Denny's steak house

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Your typical Denny's steak house

food5
ambience5
service5

The crab cake appetizer and the tomato a ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

The crab cake appetizer and the tomato and mozzarella tower appetizer were excellent. We shared an entree of a fish dish which was light and delicious. The portions for lunch are amazingly large. The brownie and ice cream dessert we also split and it, also, was amazingly large and delicious. The service was attentive but not intrusive. I highly recommend Char!

food5
ambience5
service5

The steak was well-seasoned and not just ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The steak was well-seasoned and not just a bland piece of beef.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Char!

Dined on April 12, 2016

Made a reservation an hour before our arrival time. Got there, and was seated within a few minutes. Great food and atmosphere. Great service! I'm going back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A find

Dined on April 11, 2016

We were just passing through Jackson, on the Natchez Trace Parkway, and stopped for the night and to go to the Mississippi Craft Center. Found Char on (I think) TripAdvisor and liked the menu--trying to avoid fast food and chain restaurants. We both had the chili-fried oysters, which were excellent! My husband also had the crabcake appetizer and liked it a lot--it really was all crab and no filler. I had a cup of the gumbo, which was tasty and had a reasonable amount of andouille, crawfish, and crabmeat in it (but I'm no connoisseur of gumbo, so can't be a real judge).

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Middle of the day get away

Dined on April 6, 2016

Overall, the lunch time at Char was fabulous. I had a business meeting with one of our clients from overseas. And I have to say, that Char was the perfect location to meet. The food was good overall. The service staff was second to none.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food!

Dined on March 27, 2016

I had the blackfish, which is a dish I keep coming back for - absolutely delicious. My husband had the ribeye, and he said it was better than the one he had at County Seat last month (that cost twice as much). Great service too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A dependable, consistent and wonderful e ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

A dependable, consistent and wonderful experience!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great fried catfish

Dined on March 18, 2016

Great lunch with friends. Enjoyed the fried catfish lunch special.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant!!!!!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Char is always outstanding!!! An all around wonderful dining experience!!! Top notch staff, superb food, great bar, and nice ambiance. I highly recommend. Wonderful fish and steaks!! Desserts are incredible!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Issue

Dined on March 12, 2016

Our waiter accidentally missed telling us about the nightly special. We did ask after we had orders and he was able to get the change made from our original order.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A treat for special occasions.

Dined on February 28, 2016

We went as a treat to celebrate my wife's birthday and were not disappointed. The filets we had were terrific and ranked with the best I've ever had. The waiter was professional and attentive yet not burdensome. The food and service were as good as our first visit when we went with friends from out of town several months ago. Those friends often mention how much they enjoyed their experience and definitely want to go again when they are in Jackson again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love Char

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great celebration of my birthday. Our steaks were a little over-cooked (my husband's medium rare looked more well done!). They also stuck us in the very back of the restaurant by ourselves instead of with the crowd. That was a little odd. Still, the taste of the food was superb. A great time had by all.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular Tomato Tower Salad. Dressing ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Spectacular Tomato Tower Salad. Dressing was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb service!!!!

Dined on February 26, 2016

My dining experience was lovely all because of the outstanding/superb service of Maquita Tate! She is THE BEST server, hands down! My daughter even made the comment that she is the happiest person she's ever seen!!!! The quality of the good was excellent and tasted delicious!!! The scenery was breath-takingly beautiful! Perfect!! Thanks, CHAR! You're one of my favorite restaurants!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great

Dined on February 21, 2016

We loved char again. Filet and blackened mahi special were delicious. Seated quickly and service was good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ambiance excellent, and food choices ver ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

ambiance excellent, and food choices very good., The waitstaff is very good and knows the product for presentation. This was for combination valentines day and marriage date.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a day to spend with a special person

Dined on February 14, 2016

I must say I really enjoyed the food it was a nice set up for me and my soul mate...We will be back to visit

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Adrienne was awesome

Dined on February 14, 2016

The young lady Adrienne was a fantastic server. She was very understanding and made sure that not only my husband and I were taken care of but more inportantly our 2 lil boys. We def enjoyed our valentines meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great vday brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent brunch. We were in town for our friends' engagement party and made reservations for a Valentine's Day brunch before leaving town. We were seated promptly and they even accommodated our late addition of another couple when I called the day before. The menu had a nice variety and serving sizes were large. There was a nice ambience and a New Orleans style jazz group who moved throughout the restaurant to entertain. I sense that the dinner vibe would be considered more up-scale, but you could get away with dressing semi-casual for brunch/lunch. Prices were actually not nearly as high as I would have expected. Great experience and great food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Great, consistent food and experience!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great, consistent food and experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been several times for lunch. This was my first time bringing my 3 year old. He enjoyed the band the guy that took our order was so friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Service but food was cold

Dined on February 14, 2016

Char is a very romantic place. It was very friendly and pretty much noise free. The service I received was outstanding. The only negative thing about my service is when it took too long to get my food. When I received my food, it was cold. Yet, I did not complain because I was amazed of the atmosphere. The food was great even though it was cold.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.