About Chandlers Steakhouse

981 W. Grove Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Prime steaks, fresh seafood and an award winning wine list combine with friendly service and a warm, inviting atmosphere making Chandlers Steakhouse your destination of choice for a remarkable dining experience. Home of the famous "10 minute martini" enjoy live jazz 7 days a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Martini bar opens at 4:00pm daily for cocktails and appetizers.

Dinner seating starts at 5:30pm Daily.

Don't forget about Prime Rib Sundays with an expanded three course menu priced at $34 featuring our slowly roasted Prime Rib, Trout, Lamb Chops, Duck Two Ways, and Pork Tenderloin.

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 383-4300

Website:
http://www.chandlersboise.com/

Entertainment:
We feature live Jazz seven days a week.

Catering:
Passed appetizers, reception area, full business presentations, we have done it! Fine dining for 50 (plus!) as we like to call it. We will customize any menu for you.

Parking Details:
Take advantage of our complimentary valet service. You can choose to self park on the street or in the hourly pay garage adjacent to the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Luis Flores

Private Party Facilities:
Business and group meetings, presentations, receptions, private parties and holiday functions. Banquet facilities that don't compromise service, food or atmosphere. Three private dining rooms with banquet service for 20 to 90. Full AV capabilities. It's not only a company function, it's fine dining for 50!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Gould melissa@chandlersboise.com: 2083834300 x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Nights we offer our Prix Fix menu from 5:30 - 10:00 p.m., featuring our Prime Rib. 3 course meal, with four entree choices, Prime Rib, Trout, Pork Tenderloin, or Lamb Chops.

"10 Minute Martini" ALWAYS!

Live Jazz, 7 nights a week, no cover.

Restaurant Photos

Wagyu Center Cut Ribeye
Ahi tuna
steak tartare
Filet Mignon
Morel Mushrooms
Tower Of Tuna
PNW Kumamoto Oysters
Beet Salad
Chocolate Mousse
Crème brullée
Crab Cakes
Beef Carpaccio
Kobe Center Cut Rib Eye
Ceaser Salad
Vesper Reconsidered

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chandlers Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Food
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
12 More
Best Ambiance
Idaho
Romantic
Idaho
Special Occasion
Idaho
Most Booked
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
Best Value
Boise
Romantic
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

special occasion (141)
romantic (97)
notable wine list (92)
See All
fit for foodies (64)
vibrant bar scene (40)
good for groups (33)
hot spot (23)
neighborhood gem (17)
late-night find (13)
great for outdoor dining (8)
scenic view (6)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I received a gift card an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I received a gift card and wanted to celebrate our both getting new jobs since moving to Boise a month ago. We had heard great things and were excited to treat ourselves. It started off great, we had a drink at the bar before we moved to our table. The staff and service was great. Our server was friendly and was able to give us great recommendations. Our experience quickly went downhill. My husband went for the Center Cut Ribeye, the Kobe Beef, which was the most expensive steak on the menu. His steak was tough and chewy. When you pay $70 for a piece of meat, you expect it to be incredible. I ordered a filet which tasted great, but it was supposed to come with a tomato provencal. For some reason they gave me undercooked asparagus instead, which I didn't ask for and didn't enjoy. The real mood killer was the party of 10 people sitting next to us. They had a 1 year old baby that kept crying, and a 7-year old child that kept acting up to get attention. He would run around the table, dribble water from his mouth, and stuff his face with as much food as he could. I am not sure why people would bring their children to a place like this. One of the women at the table was obviously drunk and making offensive comments that we couldn't help but hear. They did give us a free dessert at the end to help us celebrate our new careers, but our experience was NOT worth the price we paid for the meal. It's really sad, because we were so excited to finally have a nice adult night out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

My Wife and I spent our anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 4 days ago

My Wife and I spent our anniversary dinner here. Everything was as good as expected. The Abalone was great as was the Beef Carpaccio.

However, the Oysters Rockefeller was a flop. I was expecting more of a garlic, onion and light bread crumb, but it was overwhelmed with spinach.

The entrée of Cowboy Ribeye was excellent. Perfectly done and more than enough for my Wife and I to share. Dessert was great. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food quality was very good, especially t ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food quality was very good, especially the filet mignon. The salads were generously portioned and the lettuce was crisp. The sauce for the scallops was relatively salty, but scallops were prepared and presented nicely. Service was prompt and courteous, however, our server was brand new and other staff kept coming by to check up which somewhat interrupted our dining experience. The restaurant gave us a delightful complimentary chocolate souffle for dessert; I had mentioned it was a wedding anniversary in the reservation. We will most definitely be coming back.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food and exceptional service f ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

Very good food and exceptional service from the host to the server. The atmosphere was just right for a business meeting; we were able to hear and understand the person sitting across the table from us.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding food and service. Thanks fo ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding food and service. Thanks for providing a lifetime experience for my parents.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent beyond all expectations. A mus ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent beyond all expectations. A must experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding--food, service, atmos ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always outstanding--food, service, atmosphere. It's our favorite place in Boise.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit to Chandlers and was not dis ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

First visit to Chandlers and was not disappointed. The food, service, atmosphere as a whole was very upscale and nice. I would recommend for special occasions or even a respectable business meeting spot.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took our best friends out to Chandler ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We took our best friends out to Chandlers. They'd never been. We were seated at a nice table close to the bar. Which became a little noisy as the night progressed. There was live piano music and then guitars later. We wanted to have a nice conversation - but ended up trying to talk above the noise. I should have requested a table away from the bar when I made the reservation. Besides that small issue, dinner was fantastic! Steaks were cooked perfectly and service was impeccable. Tina was our server - the second time we've had her in the last couple of months. She's really great - recommending side dishes and wines, making sure our dessert was prepared and ready at the right time. I will ask for her next time - she's very attentive but doesn't bug you constantly. The other HUGE plus I'll give Chandlers is the valet parking. What a wonderful service - not having to find a parking place keeps me coming back! The valet drives are quick and courteous. All around great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friends had not been to Chandler's in ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My friends had not been to Chandler's in several years because of a concern they had with Sonya. They were very pleased with everything. We all felt our dining experience was at the top of our list as the best meal and evening out. My wife was exciting about her martini and said it was a "10". Our surprise chocolate mouse was outstanding. Thank you to everyone who had a part in making this a great time together...especially our waiter Adam.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey but a consistently wonderful rest ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Pricey but a consistently wonderful restaurant from the standpoint of great food and service. The menu choices are sufficient to satisfy any diner and the wine list is incomparable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in town for fine dining. ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Best restaurant in town for fine dining. We try to dine here 4-6 times a year.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

great food, great service - Ann our serv ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

great food, great service - Ann our server was very attentive, friendly and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent. VERY fortunate to ha ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always excellent. VERY fortunate to have Ryan as our wine sommelier.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and atmosphere were gr ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food, service and atmosphere were great. Our only disappointment was we found the scallop dish to be a bit greasy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved it the steak was oh so tender and ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Loved it the steak was oh so tender and moist! Cocktails superb... Some people simply have a thirst for the best things in life.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delmonico, best steak I have ever had. E ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Delmonico, best steak I have ever had. Everything was top notch, just visiting but will come here every visit to Boise.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

the bouillabaisse was too salty, the esc ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

the bouillabaisse was too salty, the escargot were bitter and the service (bar as well as server) were poor poor poor. Last time there...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Good location for Maine Lobster Tails in ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Good location for Maine Lobster Tails in Boise, and excellent wait-service in every respect.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent dining experience, would highl ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

excellent dining experience, would highly recommend

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service. Pricey fo ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Pricey for an average guy like me but the food and service will make it our go to place for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Steak and Seafood is always amazing. Ver ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Steak and Seafood is always amazing. Very pricey, but great for special occasions. We went for my husband's birthday and they gave us a complimentary Chocolate Soufflé... AMAZING.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Chandler's Steak House is over priced. ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Chandler's Steak House is over priced. For starters we were each served one roll a piece and a tasty, good sized salad. My husband had a $48 steak that was supposed to be 24 oz. Although it was good, it was NOT worth the price nor was it a full 24 oz. Plus he add to add on another $9 for a side salad. I had good sized piece of fish which was served with two pieces of asparagus and a very small (maybe 1/4 cup) of mashed potatoes and a small piece of whiskey cake. Husband had potatoes too - very small serving and half of a small tomato with some sort of bread crumb/cheese mixture in it. We ordered a $30 bottle of wine. Total bill was $130. For the small amount of food we got and an atmosphere that is really nothing special -- save your money -- it's not worth it. The wait staff is the best thing this restaurant has going for it!! They are friendly, attentive and accommodating.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Great place to celebrate our anniversary ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great place to celebrate our anniversary with friends. The food was delicious, service excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to entertain clients. Food a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great place to entertain clients. Food and service were great. Steaks were way above average, sold as Prime and I believe it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Chandlers is the best steak h ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

As always, Chandlers is the best steak house in the treasure valley.

Service is second to none. The food is outstanding, and the pricing is on the mark.

Great job, Chandlers staff. Keep up the great work.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chandlers is on my must visit whenever I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Chandlers is on my must visit whenever I am in Boise. Great steaks cooked right and an extensive affordable wine selection.... Martini not too bad either. Restaurant is creatively lit, very well done. Piano player fit well with the overall feel of the experience.

Service was friendly, helpful and quick. Be sure and pair a wedge with dinner and leave room for dessert.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined with friends. We had 3 different ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Dined with friends. We had 3 different entrees among the four of us. Each was exquisitely prepared. The scallops were the stars, though. precisely the right amount of done, and each on a truffled potato cake with a tomato garnish; nothing detracted from the sweet scallop flavor. The service was excellent and unobtrusive (but personable). We never felt rushed. We hadn't seen our friends for two years; talked and talked. The servers were never anxious or pushy. All around fabulous experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was totally impressed as this was my f ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was totally impressed as this was my first visit to Chandler's. We'll be back definitely. Our waitstaff was delightful. Service was wonderful , food was incredible and they were very accommodating with my request to be able to view the entertainment for the evening. A lovely jazz trio. Well done Chandler's, well done indeed.!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was good except there was wax p ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The meal was good except there was wax paper in my wife's potatoes. The server comped are appetizer but really think he should of did a little more.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Chandlers has wonderful food and is a gr ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Chandlers has wonderful food and is a great location to dine and impress. They have knowledgeable waiters that can help you make wine pairing and food decisions and a great atmosphere. Our waiter went the extra mile to make our 15 year anniversary special. I highly recommend dinning at Chandlers.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite spot for all occasions. Al ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our favorite spot for all occasions. Always great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always wonderful having wine and a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

It is always wonderful having wine and a steak at Chandlers. Great place, great menu, good wine list, and wonderful service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good, spendy and delicious! We'll b ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good, spendy and delicious! We'll be back in the near future!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Once again Chandler's lived up to its gr ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Once again Chandler's lived up to its great reputation! We've been going since it was in Ketchum. A long-time favorite.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Spectacular, great service and great foo ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Spectacular, great service and great food. Well worth many visits

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Chandlers numerous times o ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We've been to Chandlers numerous times on holidays and anniversary"s. The service is always very good, and the food is always outstanding. We keep coming back, so they are doing lots of things very good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent everything ! Had the prix fix ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent everything ! Had the prix fix menu. Great value and excellent! A favorite place any day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for special occasions or a fancy n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great for special occasions or a fancy night out! Tasty cocktails, delicious food, and jazzy music make for an excellent combo at Chandlers. It's hard to choose between the seafood and the steak because they are both so fresh and so appetizing. Hope to go back again some day!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great downtown location and superior food.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Wife had the filet and I had the kobe beef filet. Both were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.