About Chandlers Steakhouse

981 W. Grove Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Prime steaks, fresh seafood and an award winning wine list combine with friendly service and a warm, inviting atmosphere making Chandlers Steakhouse your destination of choice for a remarkable dining experience. Home of the famous "10 minute martini" enjoy live jazz 7 days a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Martini bar opens at 4:00pm daily for cocktails and appetizers.

Dinner seating starts at 5:30pm Daily.

Don't forget about Prime Rib Sundays with an expanded three course menu priced at $38 featuring our slowly roasted Prime Rib, Trout, Lamb Chops, Duck Two Ways.

Online reservations will not be available for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, or New Year's Eve.

Cross Street:
10th & Grove

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 383-4300

Website:
http://www.chandlersboise.com/

Entertainment:
We feature live Jazz seven days a week.

Catering:
Passed appetizers, reception area, full business presentations, we have done it! Fine dining for 50 (plus!) as we like to call it. We will customize any menu for you.

Parking Details:
Take advantage of our complimentary valet service. You can choose to self park on the street or in the hourly pay garage adjacent to the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Luis Flores

Private Party Facilities:
Business and group meetings, presentations, receptions, private parties and holiday functions. Banquet facilities that don't compromise service, food or atmosphere. Three private dining rooms with banquet service for 20 to 90. Full AV capabilities. It's not only a company function, it's fine dining for 50!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Gould melissa@chandlersboise.com: 2083834300 x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Nights we offer our Prix Fix menu from 5:30 - 10:00 p.m., featuring our Prime Rib. 3 course meal, with four entree choices, Prime Rib, Trout, or Lamb Chops.

"10 Minute Martini" ALWAYS!

Live Jazz, 7 nights a week, no cover.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Wagyu Center Cut Ribeye - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
Ahi tuna - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
steak tartare - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
Filet Mignon - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
Morel Mushrooms - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
Tower Of Tuna - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
PNW Kumamoto Oysters - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
Crème brullée - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
Chocolate Mousse - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
Beet Salad - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
Beef Carpaccio - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
Crab Cakes - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
Kobe Center Cut Rib Eye - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
Ceaser Salad - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID
Vesper Reconsidered - Chandlers Steakhouse, Boise, ID

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chandlers Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Good for a Date (53)
See All
Romantic (47)
Notable Wine List (38)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Live Music (32)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Business Meals (27)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Cozy (20)
Bar Seating (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for Groups (10)
Private Room (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Authentic (8)
Healthy (8)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (7)
Great Beer (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent filet. Extremely loud. We cou ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent filet. Extremely loud. We could hear voices from the bar shouting at their table companions trying to be heard over the music. Crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

great food, great staff, love the way we ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

great food, great staff, love the way we are treated, by everyone from the people at the front desk, the managers, to the guys that park our car......you guys rock!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chandlers is always great! Never disapp ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Chandlers is always great! Never disappointed. Great quiet dining in the wine rooms. Always great service. I always go there when I'm Boise.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have high quality restaurant food a ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They have high quality restaurant food and professional service. Absolutely I'm going to return and recommend to my friends. I'm so impressive them.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chandler's is where I celebrate my birth ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Chandler's is where I celebrate my birthday and anniversary every year. The food is always wonderful, the ambiance is lovely, and the entertainment provides a nice backdrop to a fabulous evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, , Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful American Kobe filet Very goo ...

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful American Kobe filet Very good service. Lovely 10 minute martini

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect every time! Love the filet and t ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Perfect every time! Love the filet and truffle fries. Must have the chocolate soufflé !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's now a tradition whenever we come to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It's now a tradition whenever we come to Boise. Better than anything we have in Tacoma. Always great in every way.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Thank you, Chandlers, for making our nig ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Thank you, Chandlers, for making our night special... This was our first evening with you, but it will not be our last! From the first greeting when we entered, to our fabulous table servers... From our delicious bread & spreads, to our salads & amazing entrée's... Perfect! We'll see you again!!

Ok, one thing... Have you ever considered having old-time Christmas singers, strolling through?? Just a thought ...

Perfect in any case!! Thanks!

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, , Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife there for her birthday and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Took my wife there for her birthday and the food was off the charts delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, excellent service. good ambia ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Good food, excellent service. good ambiance, but a bit pricey.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding! The service was g ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food was outstanding! The service was great. Overall, a wonderful dinner!

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had high expectations from everyone's ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had high expectations from everyone's recommendations and Chandlers met every one of them. It was a great experience in every way and we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always 1st choice for us. We have our fa ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always 1st choice for us. We have our favorites of rib eye, salmon and filet mignon. As for the appetizers, we love the stuffed mushrooms, or the shrimp cocktail. The bar tenders are great. I tend to order the same drink and it consistently made well. I love the music. It's my kind of music.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Chandlers was amazing! The cocktails wer ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Chandlers was amazing! The cocktails were lovely and everyone raved about the 10 minute martini. Our filets were all cooked perfectly and the lobster bisque was something I'll dream about. Over all, it was a prefect Friday night out with friends to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Got a great table next to the band, henc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Got a great table next to the band, hence the noise level comment but this is not a negative point. The band sang Christmas classics and the musicians were fantastic!

The service, the ambiance and the food were great. Would recommend the bouillabaisse if you're a sea-foody, simply amazing. It's undergoing renovations soon and will be closed for a few weeks, just hope it doesn't lose too much of its traditional charm in the process.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was excellent an so w ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 17, 2016

As always the food was excellent an so was the service. I understand they will be remodeling the restaurant this January and I hope they keep the acoustics the same because the restaurant is very quiet and you can hear the music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner and delightful holida ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Outstanding dinner and delightful holiday dinner with family.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We don't go there often because it is ex ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We don't go there often because it is expensive. But it is a great place for special occasions. The food is great. So is the service. In contrast to another high-end steakhouse chain (to remain unnamed) I appreciated that the service was not overly solicitous; i.e. they don't hover over you and top your water glass off when you've only drunk 1/4" of it. We went to celebrate my wife's birthday with another couple. Two of us had steaks; one had the ahi tuna, and another had sea bass. All entrees were outstanding and cooked just right. They had a nice selection of wines, including Zinfandels from the Dry Creek Valley of Sonoma County CA. The Quivira Zin we had was great! Since we were celebrating a birthday they gave the birthday girl a complementary chocolate soufflé which was outstanding, and would probably have been enough to share among the four of us. However, the other three of us had key lime tart to finish off the excellent meal. All things considered it was a marvelous evening, with great food and service combined with a wonderful atmosphere. Definitely a place to return for special occasions, and/or to impress visitors with what we have in the fine dining scene in Boise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've had really great dinners at Chandle ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I've had really great dinners at Chandlers before - I just think they were off their game the other night. Hate to complain but food took way too long to arrive - and my wife's salmon wasn't done and it was cold - and no one checked on us...

Tags: Hot Spot, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We visited this place for my wife's birt ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We visited this place for my wife's birthday. Service, foods, chemistry all good. For old couple like us, still too much food. But definitely we enjoyed the dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chandler's rep for fine dining did not d ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Chandler's rep for fine dining did not disappoint.

We had Oysters Rockefeller/Shrimp Scampi. Cocktails were great. The Caesar Salad and Delmonico Steaks were perfection, accompanied with Stuffed Tomato Provençal/Smashed Potatoes.

Our waiter Jason was the best. He surprised the birthday girl with a complimentary Double Belgian Chocolate Souffle to die for.

The valet parking, ambience and live music made this a memorable evening. A must experience in Boise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chandlers is great but when packed with ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Chandlers is great but when packed with people the service is compromised and the noise level is high

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

One of the best Steaks I have had in a l ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 7, 2016

One of the best Steaks I have had in a long time. Great place. Will definitely go again when in town for business.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chandler's is by far the best restaurant ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Chandler's is by far the best restaurant in Boise. If the occasion calls for a great restaurant, Chandler's is where you need to go. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason was our waiter and he made terrifi ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Jason was our waiter and he made terrific recommendations for food. For wine, he went off to find the wine expert who helped us through our choices. The food was excellent and we had a lovely time. It was quiet where we were seated so we were able to have a great visit. The food and service were excellent, what we expected at Chandlers!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal and service. We will de ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Outstanding meal and service. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a birthday, and it was lov ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We celebrated a birthday, and it was lovely Chandler's always makes us feel so good.

We ❤️Chandler's !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best fine dinning in Boise. The food and ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best fine dinning in Boise. The food and service is top notch. We go frequently to Chandlers, but this time the food was the best we've ever experienced. Their wine list is excellent too. We will be back very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Excellent service. We ha ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service. We had a wonderful pre-Thanksgiving family meal.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, , Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good except for the mashe ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Everything was good except for the mashed potatoes which were too spicy. Management did apologize and gave us a complementary desert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The waiter was amazing and the food was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The waiter was amazing and the food was great. However the special request was not met. Please see attached explanation

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful food and great service. The m ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful food and great service. The menu offers a wide variety and everything was prepared exactingly and presented beautifully. The live entertainment (singer and accompianist doing classic vocals) was terrific. Somewhat noisy due to the Friday night crowd, but still a great dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Was a great dining experience! Best dinn ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Was a great dining experience! Best dinner we have had!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have always wanted to go a ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife and I have always wanted to go and made it a Friday date (8pm reservation;) it was packed. The service was excellent on every level and everyone from the manager to the bussers made the effort to make sure we had everything we needed. Tony was our server and was absolutely fantastic, he was a huge reason I am taking the time to do this review and give Chandlers a positive recommendation. It's a nice dining experience and something everyone should do at least once if you live in Boise or are visiting from out of town. The food is of a similar or higher quality (some selections) than you will find at comparable spots in town. We had 3 appetizers (all great) and a steak and seafood entree which were good. The perceived value will vary on what your idea of getting what you pay for is; IMO the overall experience is worth the money. We have had "better" food in bigger cities but, we haven't had noticeably better service anywhere. There were obviously folks there that go on a regular basis, for us it's a date night of special occasion type place, that said we will definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for an anniversary dinner. The ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We went for an anniversary dinner. The service and surroundings were excellent. Wine list was extensive. We had a problem, however, with the entrees... both the scallops and duck were excessively salty (and one of us likes salt allot)... didn't want to complain though mentioned it to the waiter... they baked us an anniversary chocolate souffle that was good... so was the polenta. Outside of the saltiness, was a pleasant but not memorable dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Wine, food, service and atmosphere were ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wine, food, service and atmosphere were all great. Everything was very flavorful from the wine to the steak and potatoes. It was the perfect date night spot while visiting Boise.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, food and wine - outstanding. Ha ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service, food and wine - outstanding. Had a great birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Malbec wine was sub standard in tast ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Malbec wine was sub standard in taste and freshness . Both entrees however were as expected well presented and prepared.

Thanks, we'll be back soon

Tags: Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food,location, atmosphere , and go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great food,location, atmosphere , and good music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.