About Chandlers Steakhouse

981 W. Grove Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Prime steaks, fresh seafood and an award winning wine list combine with friendly service and a warm, inviting atmosphere making Chandlers Steakhouse your destination of choice for a remarkable dining experience. Home of the famous "10 minute martini" enjoy live jazz 7 days a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Martini bar opens at 4:00pm daily for cocktails and appetizers.

Dinner seating starts at 5:30pm Daily.

Don't forget about Prime Rib Sundays with an expanded three course menu priced at $34 featuring our slowly roasted Prime Rib, Trout, Lamb Chops, Duck Two Ways, and Pork Tenderloin.

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 383-4300

Website:
http://www.chandlersboise.com/

Entertainment:
We feature live Jazz seven days a week.

Catering:
Passed appetizers, reception area, full business presentations, we have done it! Fine dining for 50 (plus!) as we like to call it. We will customize any menu for you.

Parking Details:
Take advantage of our complimentary valet service. You can choose to self park on the street or in the hourly pay garage adjacent to the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Luis Flores

Private Party Facilities:
Business and group meetings, presentations, receptions, private parties and holiday functions. Banquet facilities that don't compromise service, food or atmosphere. Three private dining rooms with banquet service for 20 to 90. Full AV capabilities. It's not only a company function, it's fine dining for 50!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Gould melissa@chandlersboise.com: 2083834300 x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Nights we offer our Prix Fix menu from 5:30 - 10:00 p.m., featuring our Prime Rib. 3 course meal, with four entree choices, Prime Rib, Trout, Pork Tenderloin, or Lamb Chops.

"10 Minute Martini" ALWAYS!

Live Jazz, 7 nights a week, no cover.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chandlers Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Food
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
12 More
Notable Wine List
Idaho
Romantic
Idaho
Special Occasion
Idaho
Most Booked
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
Best Value
Boise
Romantic
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

special occasion (116)
romantic (89)
notable wine list (73)
See All
fit for foodies (63)
vibrant bar scene (47)
good for groups (34)
hot spot (24)
late-night find (16)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (6)
great for lunch (5)
scenic view (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great night - watch out for the martini

Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic dinner - from appetizers to digestif, Chandlers did not disappoint. Beautiful delicious cuisine! And specialty martinis that will knock your socks off!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Chandlers never dissapoints. When we wan ...

Dined 6 days ago

Chandlers never dissapoints. When we want a great steak or seafood meal, this is the spot we always choose. The food is always prepared to perfection! Love the music they provide.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Getting better every time we go there!

Dined on May 16, 2016

Getting better every time we go there!

food3
ambience4
service5

Service was outstanding and accommodatin ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Service was outstanding and accommodating

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed - a nice escape

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Solo dinner - sat in the bar area and was able to escape the world for an hour!!! The food was excellent and the service was also excellent. Will return if in the area. Had a Honeymoon Salad (lettuce alone and no dressing) which was quite fresh and steak with mushrooms - very tasty.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Over rated. Excellent food but can get ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Over rated. Excellent food but can get same quality food at 3 or 4 other restaurants in town for much less money. Too expensive just to say you've been to Chandlers. I'd rather get better value and go somewhere else. At least parking was validated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chandler's is the best place to dine in ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Chandler's is the best place to dine in Boise. Food, service, ambiance are all excellent. Treat yourself to a delightful visit! You'll be so happy you did! Only drawback, you must reserve well in advance!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great DINING EXPERIENCE!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We dine at Chandler's regularly and are NEVER disappointed!! The service is exceptional, food consistent and wonderful and lovely atmosphere. We celebrate all special events there as well as enjoy frequent dinners there. We'll be back!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Wonderful food

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our first visit to Chandlers and were very impressed with service and dining. However, we were a party of eight and were seated next to music. We were unable to visit with each other due to the annoying jazz music. If we were to go again, which I would be willing but believe others would not, I would definitely request a table away from music.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Skraydz

Dined on May 1, 2016

It was a perfect night from the time we parked the car to walking out the door. Thank you for such a memorable evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect diner. Thank you.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Perfect diner. Thank you.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great evening at Chandler's

Dined on May 1, 2016

This is our second trip to Chandlers and it was just as awesome as before. Everything is really top notch there from the service to the food to the ambiance. We were visiting Boise but look forward to another trip where we might get to return to Chandler's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

1st Timer

Dined on April 30, 2016

Love this place.Service was amazing. Food was great. Drinks were strong. All and all a good night. Excellent place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice Evening

Dined on April 30, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Chandlers for a belated Anniversary celebration. The atmosphere was very nice - enjoyed the piano music. Service was excellent. The food was very good although a bit expensive. Overall, we like Chandler's and would recommend it to others who are not on a budget.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Take the advice to add scallops to you main dish

Dined on April 24, 2016

I recommend that you start with the scampi. The were larger and very tender the had a little red pepper kick. Awsome job not have any pre plates for prom. Nothing but the full menu as it should be.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

For the most part....good

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our waiter was awesome. Food was good. But what was a little annoying was my card got lost. It was my fault that I left it but when I called they said that they didn't have it. So naturally I canceled my card. It wasn't until the waiter that served us went out of his way to look for it did Chandlers find the missing card. Being on vacation and not having my card is very inconvenient. But like I said. Good food. Awesome service. Just that inconvenience prevented the 5 star all around.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply The Best

Dined on April 16, 2016

First visit to Chandlers in the 12 years I've lived in Boise. Kicking myself for waiting so long. Best restaurant in Boise bar none.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive but worth every penny for a special nite

Dined on April 6, 2016

Food was amazing. Service was terrific. Best dining experience I've had in Boise.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The best service and food execution in boise!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Very good service as they look to make your dining experience top shelf. Very nice and knowledgable staff. Reminds me of one of my favorite restaurants in southern California. Great ambiance, best wine list in boise and great menu!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Felt a bit crowded

Dined on April 2, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with superb food. But it felt very crowded. We were seated just on the other side of the bar so we have a lot of people to one side of us. On the dining side, the tables just felt very close to each other. When you are out celebrating a special moment and trying to have a romantic evening, you don't want to hear the people at the tables around you. But service was wonderful, food was fantastic and dessert was amazing. Go try the chocolate souffle!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Top notch

Dined on March 30, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Chandler's. The food was excellent, steaks done perfectly. Every course was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Has long been my favorite Boise restaurant/ bar

Dined on March 26, 2016

Chandlers never disappoints: good food, great service, bar tenders are very fast, and friendly. Will continue to be the restaurant in Boise where we go for special occasions and/or bring out of town guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Chandlers

Dined on March 23, 2016

I have had the opportunity to eat at many well known steak houses around the country. Chandlers ranks near the top of my list. Outstanding food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Five Star Experience

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Chandler's is a steak house -- and we don't eat steak -- BUT the tuna and the sea bass were spectacular. Both fish were prepared perfectly and loaded with flavor. We each started with the beet salad and ended with the chocolate souffle. WOW! It does not get any better than this.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was excellent. The steak (grass fed cattle) was superb. My only complain is the live music that was too loud to carry a conversation if your are seating near by

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Recent visit to Chandler's

Dined on March 19, 2016

We have been to Chandler's about 10 times now in the past 6 years or so and have recommended it to our friends, and it has always been fantastic. I was disappointed for the first time as my wife and I were celebrating a special occasion and both of our steaks were over cooked. I had requested mine to be medium rare and my wife's medium well. Both were well done. The manager comped one of the meals which I found to be wonderful and appropriate gesture. I wished we could go more often but we do have to save to go to Chandler's but it is always a good experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary celebration

Dined on March 18, 2016

My wife and I decided to go to Chandlers for our anniversary. We had been there Christmas day and the food was outstanding so we thought we would try it again. Chandlers lived up to our expectation and we were pleasantly surprised when we got a lovely dessert (free of charge) because of our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

While the experience was wonderful, the ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

While the experience was wonderful, the wine list extensive... the wines were very overpriced. An excellent restaurant with excellent service otherwise.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, great service.

Dined on March 15, 2016

Steak was cooked to perfection, high quality seafood. Excellent wine list, classy atmosphere. 10/10, will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chandlers is the best restaurant in Boise.

Dined on March 13, 2016

I love steak and mine was perfect. The sides were fantastic also! Our waiter was great. He made recommendations and was very attentive. Support staff kept our glasses full and table clear. I'm looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For Special Dinners

Dined on March 12, 2016

Chandler's is a great place for special dinners. The service is special and the food is very good, but with a definite cost.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special evening.....

Dined on March 6, 2016

Chandlers in Boise is a great place. My girlfriend and I celebrated our anniversary there with martinis and wonderful food. The steaks are excellent the service superb. Nice live piano music followed by a singer with piano & bass.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Really good, but....

Dined on March 2, 2016

I go to Chandler's rarely enough to forget why I don't go more often. While the food and service are spectacular, having to yell at the person across the table from me is highly disconcerting! I know that in this day and age, noise seems to equate to "a good time", but I would suggest that it can be inappropriate in direct proportion to the price of the entrees. Romantic, it's not, unless that definition has changed too, though I guess it would work if you get tongue-tied in such situations. Please, please do something about the acoustics, or rename it a sports bar!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on February 29, 2016

We went for our 40th anniversary and were very satisfied with food and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing!

Dined on February 29, 2016

My brother and I visit every time I come to town. ..complete and incredible experience. .each time

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 27, 2016

We went to celebrate my birthday and were not disappointed. The food and service was wonderful (albeit expensive) and we were treated very well. Look forward to the next special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Too heavy on the butter finished steak. ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Too heavy on the butter finished steak. The peppercorn sauce did not pack the flavor or punch that you would expect. Creamed spinach was delicious. The spinach salad was a great start. The service was the best ever! Whenever I'm in Boise I'll come here.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service at Chandler's does ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food and service at Chandler's does not disappoint (thank you, Seth)! Servers are helpful and happy to make recommendations. You can't go wrong here with steak or seafood. Drinks are unbelievable and the chocolate soufflé for dessert is a must. We will definitely be back!

food4
ambience5
service5

The best steak house in boise.

Dined on February 20, 2016

The best steak house in boise.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on February 20, 2016

Chandlers was the perfect choice for us to celebrate our anniversary. The food, service, and wine were excellent!

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.