About Chandler's a Restaurant

215 1/2 Howard Street
Petoskey, MI 49770
View Larger Map

Chandler’s opened it’s doors in December of 1999 behind the historical Symons General Store building. It’s a cozy place with only 50 seats in the main dining room & 10 seats at the bar. When real estate is too tough to find - it’s standing room only! For a change of scenery, guests can enjoy dining in the wine cellar where they are surrounded by the 4,000 bottle collection that serves both the restaurant and Symons General Store. In the warmer months, guests can choose to dine outside, on Chandler’s brick courtyard.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 8:00AM-9:00PM
Saturday-Sunday: 8:00AM-11:00PM

Lunch: Daily 11:00AM-4:00PM
Dinner: Daily Starting at 4:00PM
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday only 8:00AM-4:00PM
Happier Hour: Daily 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Lake Street & Howard Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 347-2981

Website:
http://www.symonsgeneralstore.com/

Catering:
Whatever you are celebrating, we are honored to be a part of your affair. We happily cater events of all sizes and bring our core values as a caterer - food quality, presentation and outstanding service - no matter the location.

Whether it’s catering an intimate dinner party at your home, celebrating new beginnings with a wedding reception or baby shower or getting down to business with corporate events large and small, we are ready to bring our spectacular cuisine and service to your next event and look forward to collaborating with you!

Executive Chef:
Chef Tommy Kaszubowski

Private Party Facilities:
Typically we offer a four course tasting menu in the wine cellar. The cellar seats up to 54 people. Stand up cocktail receptions accepted. We customize to suit you. Call or email for specifics as availability changes with the seasons.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Nickerson: 2313472438x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fresh Halibut With Local Wild Mushroom Risotto
street tacos
Five Dragon
Tortilla Soup
Pulled Pork Nachos
Angus Olive Burger
Chicken
Camus Cabernet 40Th Anniversary
Pastrami Fois Gras
Filet Mignon
Pear Salad

Chandler's a Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
7 More
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Petoskey ›

Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (34)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
See All
Notable Wine List (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Romantic (24)
Good for Groups (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent, including the tw ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent, including the two daily fish specials and the fried green tomato taco appetizer. The service was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food & wine selection outstanding. We di ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food & wine selection outstanding. We dined in the wine cellar and enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was excellent! our waiter wa ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was excellent! our waiter was Paul who guided us through our menu choices with great knowledge. Dinner, dessert, and coffee were fabulous as they always are at Chandler's.

Tags: Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You do not want to dine outside and unle ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

You do not want to dine outside and unless you're willing to trade off dining outside for a very mediocre atmosphere at best. Our table had water leaking on us from the moss on the roof and until the sun change directions blaring sun. We ordered a California roll for $14 and was informed that they were out of chopsticks. Not easy to eat a California roll with a fork. I had the black Seabass which was mediocre at best and my date had the beef and ordered it medium rare and it came well done. We sent it back but it took 30 minutes to replace it. The manager never came out to talk to us and I told the server we were not paying for her entrée and she said she had no authority to do that but would speak to the manager. The waitress and came back and agreed to take the entrée off our check.

As we were leaving the table next to us were complaining about their food. When we got back to the hotel we sat outside by the lake and we're talking to two other couples who asked where we had eaten and we told them and they both had bad experiences. The night before we ate at 17 restaurant in Bayharbor and everything was outstanding. I absolutely would not recommend chandlers

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Food was excellent and the atmosphere wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food was excellent and the atmosphere was great. However, they are very anti-children, which is disappointing. No high chairs, no kids menu and just generally don't appear to want children around. Beware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Awesome Awesome Awesome Great food and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome Awesome Awesome

Great food and service....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat on the patio. Food was delicious! ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We sat on the patio. Food was delicious! Great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food,wine and overall dining was out ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our food,wine and overall dining was outstanding. Our cocktails were perfect and our dinner salads and entree's were excellent. The hostess and waitstaff were very professional and our waitress, Andrea was the best! We were celebrating my "60th" birthday and have been visiting the area for the past 27 years. A restaurant that has consistently been an enjoyable and fabulous dining spot!! We also had our young grandsons with us and the staff were very kind to them!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chandler's is our favorite place in Peto ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Chandler's is our favorite place in Petoskey, we go every time we're in town, maybe a couple of times a week. Seems to get better each year! It's a little packed, and there might be a wait for your table to open up ... but it's well worth it. The wine list is incredible, a great selection of multiple varietals and reasonably priced. The food is the best. Their sushi rolls, while not quite up to the best Japanese places, are great as appetizers. I love their veal and duck dishes, but there's not a bad dish on the constantly changing menu. If you only have one evening in Petoskey, you have to go to Chandler's!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ben was our waiter and he was fabulous! ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Ben was our waiter and he was fabulous! The steaks were perfect! We sat outside and that was great as well! Just recommended Chandlers to my brother and his family!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old standby, in Petoskey. Way overpriced ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Old standby, in Petoskey. Way overpriced, and limited menu. Halibut was $40 for entree, very good. Chicken dinner $30, and average. Chicken dull flavoered, cornbread dry, and red beans mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Chandlers is a restaurant not to miss an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Chandlers is a restaurant not to miss and Petoskey. The food is in sane! Worth every penny. Reservations are a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though we missed our favorite somme ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Even though we missed our favorite sommelier, Paul, the experience was as wonderful as always. Found one of our favorite wines, Ex Umbris from Owen Roe, on the list (unforunately it was the last bottle). From the seared scallop roll to our main dishes, whitefish and veal scaloppine, the flavors popped and meshed for an excellent culinary experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food and service were excellent but ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food and service were excellent but the dining room was incredibly noisy and the kitchen very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

It was the first time for my husband and ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was the first time for my husband and I but our friends have been a few times. The food was excellent! I even tried oysters for the first tie... Not bad... Not bad at all. Will definitely be back when we're up north!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! The specials tonight were am ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food! The specials tonight were amazing and our server did a great job with recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! It had great en ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was delicious! It had great energy in the room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We requested an outdoor table but told b ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We requested an outdoor table but told by the host that none was available--although several appeared empty.

Inside, it's cozy though dark and stuffy and the noise level is high, especially by the kitchen where we were seated. Our server was personable and efficient (two service stars here are for the host). Cooped up inside, we opted to split an appetizer plate of charcuterie and cheeses followed a couple of salads rather than linger over a longer dinner. We weren't disappointed with our food choices though--lovely smoked meats and very fresh salads.

As we left, we couldn't help but notice that the outdoor two-tops were still empty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Thoroughly enjoyed lunch at Chandler's. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed lunch at Chandler's. So many great options. Service was terrific, and so were all the salad, appetizer, entree, and dessert choices we made. Will definitely be back next I'm in Charlevoix.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always - Chandler's was amazing. I wo ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

As always - Chandler's was amazing. I would recommend it again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience in the wine cellar wi ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Amazing experience in the wine cellar with perfect ambiance and great service. Food is well done and beautiful presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Whenever we are in Petoskey , we enjoy e ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Whenever we are in Petoskey , we enjoy eating here . The food is always amazing along with the service . We can't wait until our next visit‼️ Thanks Chandlers

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous meal. I ordered the s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a fabulous meal. I ordered the special, and it was delicious. My guest ordered a filet and it was done to perfection.

The bar was excellent as well, serving a perfect Manhattan, and, because it was National Ice Cream Day, a Hummer for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the pickerel and it was like eati ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had the pickerel and it was like eating rubber the vegetables were under cooked. Every time we go on a Sunday the kitchen staff must be the f team, every other time we go the food is very good, but definitely not in Sunday's . Like the old movie Never on Sunday !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

We are fans of Chandler's. Tara, our ser ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We are fans of Chandler's. Tara, our server, did a wonderful job. Food came quickly and wine and drinks were very good. Korean Beef Tartare was a highlight for me. We had one little hiccup- we told Tom our niece's filet was undercooked vs what she ordered. Tom's response was- "It is difficult to cook that thick of a piece of meat to the way customers want it." No apology nor' can I have it cooked some more....' This was uncharacteristic of the restaurant and Tom. Otherwise a delightful meal. We will be back. This was already our third dinner this summer. We also come in the winter as well. New Year's eve is fun- sometimes whole fresh lobster is offered that night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great find in Petoskey, the food was exc ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great find in Petoskey, the food was excellent, great wine list.

Friendly, & helpful waiter& owner. Will definitely return on our next trip to Petoskey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I dined alone. I was treated very well ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I dined alone. I was treated very well by the host and my server. The food (halibut, poached.then finished under the broiler, with a yellow pepper and summer squash risotto) was excellent. The evening was very well-paced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We LOVE Chandler's. We brought a friend ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We LOVE Chandler's. We brought a friend who was visiting. Ben, our server was outstanding. He was personable, helpful and very attentive. He even had our favorite wine waiting. The farmers plate was delicious. The salads crisp and fresh. The scallops special was absolutely 'lick-the-plate' great. Our friend had the veal & said it was delicious. We had no room for dessert. Next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been going for over 10 years. Rehearsal ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Been going for over 10 years. Rehearsal dinner and every anniversary plus all the dinners & lunches in between. Fabulous place!! Food is extra good. Awesome cocktails & wine list!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and service! Wine lis ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Always great food and service! Wine list is amazing and the service staff is attentive without being a bother. We always dine here when we are in Michigan!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here every year while vacationin ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We come here every year while vacationing in the area. This year we had an 8pm reservation on a Wednesday night. The food took almost 2 hours to come. When we asked the waiter about the food after an hour and 45 minutes, he made a rude comment and rolled his eyes at us. When the food finally came, he served it but did not ask if we needed anything else or drink refills. He continued to roll his eyes at us when he walked past and seemed put out when we asked for a dessert menu so we left. This is not typical of this restaurant from past experience, so I hope the service is better next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Consistently good- food, service, drinks ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Consistently good- food, service, drinks and atmosphere. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Chandler's continues to be one of our fa ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Chandler's continues to be one of our favorites in the Petoskey area. Food, service and ambience are very good to outstanding. Chandler's also has a remarkable wine list with many excellent wines in various price points. Some servers are more knowledgeable than others when it comes to wines but our server asked for assistance with our questions. Suggestions and explanations on food and wine offerings were very helpful on all counts. Our family has been coming here regularly for many years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place to enjoy food and wine with ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great place to enjoy food and wine with family and good friends. Tom the maitre'd was very accommodating and very pleasant upon arrival.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very nice restaurant good food nice ambi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Very nice restaurant good food nice ambience. Servers were extremely nice. really enjoyed the meal

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner is expensive, but worth the money ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Dinner is expensive, but worth the money. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always great!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Dinner great as usual.Rich and Christian make eating at the bar fun.The morel mushroom app was one of the best things I've ever eaten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food, a little loud, but good atmosphere. a little high for the locals.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Awesome food in a fun location - Petoskey!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We love Chandlers and always have great meals when visiting Petoskey....

The caesar salad in the parmesan cup is not to be missed - my favorite caesar salad of any restaurant. Also not to be missed, their hummers - a great dessert milkshake style drink that packs a punch.

Worth going to - very good place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent, eclectic menu

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

This is an excellent little hole in the wall place. Service was great. Food was even better. It is pricey. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.