About Chandler's a Restaurant

215 1/2 Howard Street
Petoskey, MI 49770
View Larger Map

Chandler’s opened it’s doors in December of 1999 behind the historical Symons General Store building. It’s a cozy place with only 50 seats in the main dining room & 10 seats at the bar. When real estate is too tough to find - it’s standing room only! For a change of scenery, guests can enjoy dining in the wine cellar where they are surrounded by the 4,000 bottle collection that serves both the restaurant and Symons General Store. In the warmer months, guests can choose to dine outside, on Chandler’s brick courtyard.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 8:00AM-9:00PM
Saturday-Sunday: 8:00AM-11:00PM

Lunch: Daily 11:00AM-4:00PM
Dinner: Daily Starting at 4:00PM
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday only 8:00AM-4:00PM
Happier Hour: Daily 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Lake Street & Howard Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 347-2981

Website:
http://www.chandlersarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Whatever you are celebrating, we are honored to be a part of your affair. We happily cater events of all sizes and bring our core values as a caterer - food quality, presentation and outstanding service - no matter the location.

Whether it’s catering an intimate dinner party at your home, celebrating new beginnings with a wedding reception or baby shower or getting down to business with corporate events large and small, we are ready to bring our spectacular cuisine and service to your next event and look forward to collaborating with you!

Executive Chef:
Chef Tommy Kaszubowski

Private Party Facilities:
Typically we offer a four course tasting menu in the wine cellar. The cellar seats up to 54 people. Stand up cocktail receptions accepted. We customize to suit you. Call or email for specifics as availability changes with the seasons.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Nickerson: 2313472438x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fresh Halibut With Local Wild Mushroom Risotto - Chandler's a Restaurant, Petoskey, MI
street tacos - Chandler's a Restaurant, Petoskey, MI
Five Dragon - Chandler's a Restaurant, Petoskey, MI
Tortilla Soup - Chandler's a Restaurant, Petoskey, MI
Chicken - Chandler's a Restaurant, Petoskey, MI
Camus Cabernet 40Th Anniversary - Chandler's a Restaurant, Petoskey, MI
Pastrami Fois Gras - Chandler's a Restaurant, Petoskey, MI
Filet Mignon - Chandler's a Restaurant, Petoskey, MI
Pear Salad - Chandler's a Restaurant, Petoskey, MI
Angus Olive Burger - Chandler's a Restaurant, Petoskey, MI
Pulled Pork Nachos - Chandler's a Restaurant, Petoskey, MI

Chandler's a Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
9 More
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Petoskey ›

Special Occasion (25)
Notable Wine List (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Romantic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Cozy (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Authentic (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

we have eaten at chandler's many times. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

we have eaten at chandler's many times. food on this trip was outstanding. noise level was also because it was the night of petoskey's holiday open house. made for a fun night.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love Chandlers! This time, we were i ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love Chandlers! This time, we were in the wine cella, which is a quieter dining experience than the main dining room. My husband had the duck with fried rice - the duck was prepared perfectly, and the fried rice came together when he mixed the egg into the rice. it was silky and rich as it should be. I hadn't the Brussels sprout and tuna appetizers - the sprouts were absolutely amazing. The mustand sauce was unexpected and perfect with the fried sprouts - not the usual balsamic glaze. Paul was great as usual - always a pleasure to share an evening with him. We will always come back and cant wait to see the next iteration of the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Besides the cramp space, it was cozy. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Besides the cramp space, it was cozy. The atmosphere was great and the staff very friendly. Definitely have a reservation as there is not many tables.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

By far and away one of the most memorabl ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

By far and away one of the most memorable dining experience's I've had. My partner and I have been coming here for a few years, and it's a night we look forward to every time we're in Petoskey. The menu is thoughtful and creative, while the service remains impeccable. Definitely make reservations, as the place fills up quickly!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food but expensive We ate he ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food but expensive

We ate here on a busy Saturday night. If you want to sit in the main restaurant and not the wine annex ( which is quieter but more removed), be sure to request it. The restaurant is a charming cellar and bar but with low ceilings and when full us cramped, as your table is a bit packed in. It would be great if they could expand. The star of the show is the food. My husband loved his filet and I had wonderful halibut with risotto. We had a nice salad of marinated tomatoes, blue cheese and Bibb lettuce and a delicious apple crisp dessert. The restaurant has a huge wine collection as it is affiliated with a wine shop. It is one of the better restaurants in northern Michigan and generally worth it for a splurge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Cozy, intimate dining experience and the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Cozy, intimate dining experience and the food is delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still the best restaurant in town. Prett ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Still the best restaurant in town. Pretty creative food and ever changing menu. Best place to get fish. Just wish they would heat the restaurant by the door!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very cozy restaurant and the food was am ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very cozy restaurant and the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always love coming to Chandlers. The w ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I always love coming to Chandlers. The wait staff are always super friendly and helpful. You know they want you to have a good dining experience.

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very busy, small restaurant with good fo ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Very busy, small restaurant with good food with mostly locally available fare. Great desserts.

Extensive wine list. Had a little confusion over wine with waiter who probably was not that well versed in wines. Would suggest numbering the wines on the list to help prevent confusion on what is being ordered. Overall, this is a great place that I would highly recommend. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic food. Great wine list with kn ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Fantastic food. Great wine list with knowledgeable server. She was GREAT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were seated in the wine cellar which ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We were seated in the wine cellar which accounts for its quit atmosphere. Food was outstanding even though a bit pricey. Service outstanding. Only negative was a couple of small gnats were flying around table, maybe due to the cellar atmosphere. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb cooking and beautiful presentatio ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Superb cooking and beautiful presentation. We ate in the wine cellar room and would have to rank this toward the top of our dining experiences!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was mediocre, when I asked about ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Service was mediocre, when I asked about bread (had plates and every table around us had a bread basket) I was told it was only served upon request - if I was a regular I guess I would have been aware. Risotto was overly salted and when I told the waitress she sort of shrugged and did nothing about it - even though I clearly didn't eat it. Very loud and the smell of fish was unpleasant.

Halibut was tasty and my husband enjoyed his meal. Coffee and desert were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We hadn't been to Chandlers this year so ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We hadn't been to Chandlers this year so we were very happy when friends suggested we dine there. Everything was lovely -- nice food and ambience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were impressed with this great find o ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We were impressed with this great find of a restraunt. This is a special little place... drinks are heavy handed & each bite was more delicious than the last. We look forward to our next visit to Petosky and to another perfect dinner at Chandlers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love eating here whenever we are up-N ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We love eating here whenever we are up-North. Great wine, very good food and always great service. We like to try to get into the wine room whenever it is open. It is a little bit quieter there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Amazing food, Amazing wine list, Amazing ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing food, Amazing wine list, Amazing and interesting location. We had dinner in the wine cellar below the General Store. That in itself made for a memorable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third visit to Chandlers an ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 12, 2016

This was our third visit to Chandlers and each time the food and service have been amazing. Great menu selection, nice portion size, outstanding waitstaff. It is our "go to " restaurant when we visit Petoskey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Consistently first rate food and service ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Consistently first rate food and service. One of the top restaurants in the area.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal in a fun, busy, comf ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had a great meal in a fun, busy, comfortable restaurant with great service. What more can I say!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Locals very nicely treated. Visitors le ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Locals very nicely treated. Visitors less so. Nice presentation of plates. flavors good but not knockout. Obvious conviviality among regulars and staff. Portions fine. Pricey. Overall, good but not "must visit".

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent wine selection. Three differ ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent wine selection. Three different seating areas. We preferred the dining room w the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

This just made it into my top 2 restaura ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This just made it into my top 2 restaurant ever category. Amazing food - everything was just perfect. Fillet was melt in your mouth, Halibut had the most amazing citrus beurre blanc sauce. Farmers plate was to die for... cure meats, Stilton, jams, crisps, marcona almonds. Can't say enough good about the food and I consider myself hard to please. I've eaten at restaurants which are more than twice the price and not even close to this caliber in terms of the food quality and taste.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

This was our first visit to the Petoskey ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2016

This was our first visit to the Petoskey area, loved the area and the restaurant. I already booked my next reservation

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every year we look forward to several di ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Every year we look forward to several dinners at Chandler's when we spend part of the summer in Northern Michigan. It never disappoints. Entrees are always perfectly prepared and expertly presented, and the wide variety on the compact menu always tantalizes. We always request the wine cellar for its cozy, quieter (usually) space. And we bring our visiting guests, knowing they will be equally impressed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Annoying ba ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent food and service. Annoying bar noise. Would recommend outdoor seating.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was excellent, including the tw ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was excellent, including the two daily fish specials and the fried green tomato taco appetizer. The service was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food & wine selection outstanding. We di ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food & wine selection outstanding. We dined in the wine cellar and enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was excellent! our waiter wa ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was excellent! our waiter was Paul who guided us through our menu choices with great knowledge. Dinner, dessert, and coffee were fabulous as they always are at Chandler's.

Tags: Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You do not want to dine outside and unle ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 18, 2016

You do not want to dine outside and unless you're willing to trade off dining outside for a very mediocre atmosphere at best. Our table had water leaking on us from the moss on the roof and until the sun change directions blaring sun. We ordered a California roll for $14 and was informed that they were out of chopsticks. Not easy to eat a California roll with a fork. I had the black Seabass which was mediocre at best and my date had the beef and ordered it medium rare and it came well done. We sent it back but it took 30 minutes to replace it. The manager never came out to talk to us and I told the server we were not paying for her entrée and she said she had no authority to do that but would speak to the manager. The waitress and came back and agreed to take the entrée off our check.

As we were leaving the table next to us were complaining about their food. When we got back to the hotel we sat outside by the lake and we're talking to two other couples who asked where we had eaten and we told them and they both had bad experiences. The night before we ate at 17 restaurant in Bayharbor and everything was outstanding. I absolutely would not recommend chandlers

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Food was excellent and the atmosphere wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food was excellent and the atmosphere was great. However, they are very anti-children, which is disappointing. No high chairs, no kids menu and just generally don't appear to want children around. Beware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Awesome Awesome Awesome Great food and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome Awesome Awesome

Great food and service....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat on the patio. Food was delicious! ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We sat on the patio. Food was delicious! Great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food,wine and overall dining was out ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our food,wine and overall dining was outstanding. Our cocktails were perfect and our dinner salads and entree's were excellent. The hostess and waitstaff were very professional and our waitress, Andrea was the best! We were celebrating my "60th" birthday and have been visiting the area for the past 27 years. A restaurant that has consistently been an enjoyable and fabulous dining spot!! We also had our young grandsons with us and the staff were very kind to them!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chandler's is our favorite place in Peto ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Chandler's is our favorite place in Petoskey, we go every time we're in town, maybe a couple of times a week. Seems to get better each year! It's a little packed, and there might be a wait for your table to open up ... but it's well worth it. The wine list is incredible, a great selection of multiple varietals and reasonably priced. The food is the best. Their sushi rolls, while not quite up to the best Japanese places, are great as appetizers. I love their veal and duck dishes, but there's not a bad dish on the constantly changing menu. If you only have one evening in Petoskey, you have to go to Chandler's!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ben was our waiter and he was fabulous! ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Ben was our waiter and he was fabulous! The steaks were perfect! We sat outside and that was great as well! Just recommended Chandlers to my brother and his family!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old standby, in Petoskey. Way overpriced ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Old standby, in Petoskey. Way overpriced, and limited menu. Halibut was $40 for entree, very good. Chicken dinner $30, and average. Chicken dull flavoered, cornbread dry, and red beans mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Chandlers is a restaurant not to miss an ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Chandlers is a restaurant not to miss and Petoskey. The food is in sane! Worth every penny. Reservations are a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though we missed our favorite somme ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Even though we missed our favorite sommelier, Paul, the experience was as wonderful as always. Found one of our favorite wines, Ex Umbris from Owen Roe, on the list (unforunately it was the last bottle). From the seared scallop roll to our main dishes, whitefish and veal scaloppine, the flavors popped and meshed for an excellent culinary experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.