Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Chandler's a Restaurant

Chandler’s opened it’s doors in December of 1999 behind the historical Symons General Store building. It’s a cozy place with only 50 seats in the main dining room & 10 seats at the bar. When real estate is too tough to find - it’s standing room only! For a change of scenery, guests can enjoy dining in the wine cellar where they are surrounded by the 4,000 bottle collection that serves both the restaurant and Symons General Store. In the warmer months, guests can choose to dine outside, on Chandler’s brick courtyard.

215 1/2 Howard Street
Petoskey, MI 49770
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 8:00AM-11:00PM
Saturday-Sunday: 8:00AM-11:00PM

Lunch: Daily 11:00AM-4:00PM
Dinner: Daily Starting at 4:00PM
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday only 8:00AM-4:00PM
Happier Hour: Daily 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Lake Street & Howard Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 347-2981

Website:
http://www.chandlersarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Whatever you are celebrating, we are honored to be a part of your affair. We happily cater events of all sizes and bring our core values as a caterer - food quality, presentation and outstanding service - no matter the location.

Whether it’s catering an intimate dinner party at your home, celebrating new beginnings with a wedding reception or baby shower or getting down to business with corporate events large and small, we are ready to bring our spectacular cuisine and service to your next event and look forward to collaborating with you!

Executive Chef:
Chef Tommy Kaszubowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chandler's a Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (38)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for a Date (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Romantic (22)
Cozy (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Casual (12)
Fun (12)
People Watching (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

IT HAS CLOSED! Made a reservation on open table and went and it's now au bon pain!!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Very expensive slow service but food was good. We were seated right away but had a waiter that seemed unattentive and too busy. Our food took almost 1hr to come out, we had to track down the waiter to find out if there was a problem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Consistently good. Interesting wine choices and seasonally changing menu . Cozy space but pretty loud when full

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We always enjoy Chandler's as food is scrumptious, service is friendly, fun, and efficient. Only drawback is the noise level. Met some friends there this week who had traveled around the world and were enjoying catching up with them. A group of 7 or so ladies and a gentleman who were in the back of the room and were thoroughly enjoying themselves, prevented us from serious conversation. Other tables around us began chatting about the lack of respect for others at the venue from this group. Having said the above, knowing it could be exactly what it was with the noise, we entertained them at our home for dinner the previous night. We ended our summer with friends as we begin each summer...with a 'hummer' .

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food is good, but I feel a bit over-priced as you don't get a salad with the entrees. Very noisy in the wine cellar, making it difficult to talk to your friends, even at a small table. We enjoy going once a year, but won't make it a regular visit. There are other places in the Petoskey/Harbor Springs area that are just as good and less expensive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

My husband and I enjoy fine dining. We were fans of Sage at Odawa Casino until we found Chandler's! Their food is every bit as Gourmet as Sage with a more relaxed atmosphere and tons of personality. What a quaint little restaurant! Love it and the wonderful food! They also have a great selection of wines, the best! We will visit every time we are in town, cannot get enough of Chandler's!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

This is my second time to dine here! This is a well established small intimate restaurant. The menu is eclectic, and the food very good. The kitchen is open, with inside and outside seating. The music is soft, and the room full of positive energy! I know you will like it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 26, 2017

This is a high end restaurant with great food! We had the Lamb Shank and the Halibut for our entrees and we where delighted. Service staff are very professional and fun. We will go back in October to re-live the experience. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2017

My wife and I recently had 3 dinners at Chandler's in Petoskey. We ate twice in their "main" pine-paneled bar/dining room and once in their "wine cellar". Each venue was not luxurious but offered a pleasantly "cozy" environment. The wine list was quite adequate; we found 2 very satisfactory cabs. They also have some very high-end expensive bottles if you are lucky enough to have your dinner companion buying the libation. The food was good and not fussy; we sampled halibut, scallops, beef tenderloin, duck breast, and chicken. We'll definitely head back to Chandler's when we return to visit Petoskey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Took 1.5 hours to get our food. My filet was overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food and service but... It's very small. So it gets pretty loud when you're seated by the cooking area. Especially when dishes are dropped on the floor .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always exceptional wait staff-Michael was one of those Sat. night. Salmon on the Brussels sprout, squash mix was GREAT. Nice wine selection.
One of our favorite places on a quiet evening

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, cuisine and people! The cocktail menu is vast as well as the wine. Perfect portion sizes and great flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Dined here on recommendation of a local, and it proved to be a very nice evening. Service was excellent and the food was very good. We will definitely go back here on our next trip to Petoskey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Did not live up to the hype- underwhelming experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great place to meet friends. The food is very good. They have good soup and salads Bloody Mary's are a meal themselves.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Came here for our anniversary, we came here on our honeymoon 4 years ago. We come back every year. This place is amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We are locals who regularly dine at Chandlers which is consistently excellent. Creative food offerings cooked by great chefs (Kulin) and serviced by a professional staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Love chandlers in petoskey. We were seated in the "cellar" for dinner. We were the only table for a while, quite boring. Make sure you request the main dining room, much more livelier and enjoyable.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Consistently great! I dine here 2-3 times a year and look forward to returning each time. Service is always great and food always spot on.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The ribeye special was amazing! Great service as well.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This is a favorite restaurant. Great gourmet menu, creative drinks and super wait staff. We chose to celebrate our birthdays here this year and we're not disappointed!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Chandler's always impresses with its fresh ingredients, innovative dishes and attentive service. We love the ambience in the wine cellar and the excellent wine list. Definitely our favorite restaurant in the area, especially when showing off Northern Michigan to our guests.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Awesome as always, every time I'm in the area I try to have at least one meal here and it never disappoints. I'm someone who likes to sit at the bar and I have had the best conversations at this one. The staff is super engaged and go the extra mile to chat and be friendly. Jacob was no exception. Funny, smart, witty, attentive, down to earth, he was just great! He even took the time to recommend some good spots for after dinner drinks; and never made us feel rushed even though we had a really late reservation and I could tell they were about to close. Yet we never felt it. Will be back as soon as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Chandler's never disappoints! Best restaurant in Northern Michigan!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Vegan, Special Occasion, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Everything was outstanding. From the atmosphere to the quality of the food to the service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful food but noise level in main dining room is excessive. Go with someone you don't want to talk to.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food, great wine, great service. Dined on the patio which was perfect - main dining seems a bit noisy, wine cellar area looks like a wonderful place to dine too. Had the halibut and the filet - both were amazing, and a big cab (The Heavy) which was perfect for our anniversary celebration. Dessert was a homemade blueberry crisp (seasonal) and was amazing! Definitely a must if you are in the Petoskey area.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We had a 7:00 PM reservation on a Thursday night. The host had no backup (although she usually does) and was a little challenged. (She maintained her usual professional manner, but could not help but be affected by the hectic atmosphere.) Once seated, our meal was fabulous and our service was impeccable. (Michael makes a perfect meal even better!)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Chandler's has delicious food and drinks.
The atmosphere is wonderful and our server, Heidi was simply superb.
Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great dinner. Really enjoyed the ambiance and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent service, excellent food. Love the quaint dining room and bar. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I would like to see more variety in the menu. Still the best in Northern Michigan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My only complaint is that the water served with the meal was room temperature and w/o ice; this could have easily been fixed. Also, wine by the glass is really 1/2 glass of wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great for special occasions -food was delish. Amazing wine selection. Not kid friendly but they were accommodating.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Heard a lot about this restaurant from others when we were visiting last week on vacation.
Food was good, service fast. Would go back for dinner.
Sue m Indianapolis

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great restaurant but when you pay that price service has to be on point. When it takes forever to get out appetizer you need to communicate reason to customer. When you bring out the salad ask if you'd like fresh cracked pepper not run to next table. Rissoto was awesome but inconsistent. I ate there two days prior and it was more cheesy but both versions were good. I Prefered the cheesier version better. All in all it was great food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food is outstanding here- the best halibut I've ever had. Delicious cocktails as well. Service was great. I would highly recommend eating here, I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Charming older place. Great food & service. Walleye was delicious. Filet was super tender and delicious as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.