About Chandler's a Restaurant

215 1/2 Howard Street
Petoskey, MI 49770
View Larger Map

Chandler’s opened it’s doors in December of 1999 behind the historical Symons General Store building. It’s a cozy place with only 50 seats in the main dining room & 10 seats at the bar. When real estate is too tough to find - it’s standing room only! For a change of scenery, guests can enjoy dining in the wine cellar where they are surrounded by the 4,000 bottle collection that serves both the restaurant and Symons General Store. In the warmer months, guests can choose to dine outside, on Chandler’s brick courtyard.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 8:00AM-9:00PM
Saturday-Sunday: 8:00AM-11:00PM

Lunch: Daily 11:00AM-4:00PM
Dinner: Daily Starting at 4:00PM
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday only 8:00AM-4:00PM
Happier Hour: Daily 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Lake Street & Howard Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 347-2981

Website:
http://www.chandlersarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Whatever you are celebrating, we are honored to be a part of your affair. We happily cater events of all sizes and bring our core values as a caterer - food quality, presentation and outstanding service - no matter the location.

Whether it’s catering an intimate dinner party at your home, celebrating new beginnings with a wedding reception or baby shower or getting down to business with corporate events large and small, we are ready to bring our spectacular cuisine and service to your next event and look forward to collaborating with you!

Executive Chef:
Chef Tommy Kaszubowski

Private Party Facilities:
Typically we offer a four course tasting menu in the wine cellar. The cellar seats up to 54 people. Stand up cocktail receptions accepted. We customize to suit you. Call or email for specifics as availability changes with the seasons.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Nickerson: (231) 347-2438

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chandler's a Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Went here for brunch and it was outstanding. Food was excellent and the service great as always. The dining room is a bit small and always pretty noisy but not to the point of being unpleasant

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We always go to Chandlers when we visit Petosky! As usual the food was phenomenal. It is a small quaint establishment but don't be fooled the food is a culinary experience. We had the calamari and sweetbreads they were both excellent. Then my husband and I shared the rack of lamb, it was by far some of the best lamb we both have ever had! Make sure to make reservations this place gets busy, but it's worth the planning and wait! We have also went on other occasions with our 7 year old and it is kid friendly, just make sure you realize it's not a quick dinner place, so if your kid has patience Chandlers is very welcoming to families. I highly recommend Chandlers

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food, service and ambience! Loved the wine list, too.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Chandlers is a favorite for several reasons. The wine selection is fantastic. The food is always amazing and the service is world class. We recently reserved a table for valentines day and Chandlers did not disappoint. Our waitress was the cutest. We will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Showed up for dinner 4 adults and my 18 month old. Asked for a hichair didn't have one and also did not have a booster seat. We had to shuffle him around throughout our supper.Staff was not helpful. For owning more than one restaurant in the same town you should be able to accommodate.I am a local and for that I will not be returning.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great place. Walkable form most hotels in the city. Expensive but I knew that going in. Best wine list in Petoskey. Friendly and knowledgable staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food and service were both fabulous. The noise level was a little much...but I think that was largely due to a very rude table behind us having a 'who can be louder and more pretentious' contest (good news -they all won). So likely just a one-off experience.

Over all - I highly recommend Chandler's. Great food, great ambiance and really great service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Best in the North, food and service, just a real consistent very enjoyable dining experience

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Chandler's is always a great place for a outstanding meal! The staff is very friendly and provide the proper amount of attention without being overwhelming. The ambience is something special and their menu selection is just right. When we are in Petoskey it is many times our "go to " place!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I would recommend that you request to be seated in the Cellar dining area. It is very quiet and romantic. My wife and I both had the beef, the beef wash fantastic and you could cut it with a butter knife. It was probably one of the finest Ribeye that I have ever tasted. Great selection of wine also.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We enjoyed Chandlers, as we have before. We started with the cheese plate and found it very satisfactory. I had skatewing and my husband had the fillet. Both were done very well and had lots of veggies and potato with it. The wine we chose was recommended that night and it went well with our good. Overall we were happy with everything

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We booked for lunch, leaving little time to make a 2PM. theatre. The service was quick and done in a very nice manner. We split a California Roll (real crab) and each had a Pork Stir Fry. All was very good and we made it on time to our show!😃

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Just make sure you aren't near the door. Very cold this time of year. Silly that they haven't fixed this problem over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual, we had great food and great wine at Chandlers. It was New Year's Eve so we had to wait a little while for our reserved table to open. But they sent us to a close local bar to wait and came and got us when the table was ready. I had the rib-eye and my wife had the filet, both were fantastic. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We've been to Chandler's on a few occasions. The food is always amazing, the staff is great (our waitress was awesome) and the chefs never fail to impress. If you are out looking for a good lunch or a date night dinner I highly recommend you check out this little location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

They make an effort to be above average in terms of the level of the food on offer, but the execution is not there.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Chandler's is consistently very good. Have been twice and will go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Good food, small cozy feel, slightly pricey for every weekend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We are never disappointed with out meals, service and atmosphere!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I've been to Chandlers many times but I'm compelled to describe the most incredible chicken entree. I always order the Caesar salad - its perfectly dressed and served in a parmesan tuile "cup" which is salty, crunchy, and fun.

The entree was incredible, memorable and among the best dinners I've ever had. Served along with a perfect portion of chicken breast with the leg attached was a piece of thick cut bacon , cheesy grits, broccolini, and a fried egg. There was a sauce as well that when combined with the egg yolk was silky and delicious. The smokiness and salt from the bacon paired well with the grits and chicken - it felt homey, southern, elegant, and was very satisfying.

I would highly recommend Chandlers to anyone. Its the best restaurant in Northern Michigan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

we have eaten at chandler's many times. food on this trip was outstanding. noise level was also because it was the night of petoskey's holiday open house. made for a fun night.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love Chandlers! This time, we were in the wine cella, which is a quieter dining experience than the main dining room. My husband had the duck with fried rice - the duck was prepared perfectly, and the fried rice came together when he mixed the egg into the rice. it was silky and rich as it should be. I hadn't the Brussels sprout and tuna appetizers - the sprouts were absolutely amazing. The mustand sauce was unexpected and perfect with the fried sprouts - not the usual balsamic glaze. Paul was great as usual - always a pleasure to share an evening with him. We will always come back and cant wait to see the next iteration of the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Besides the cramp space, it was cozy. The atmosphere was great and the staff very friendly. Definitely have a reservation as there is not many tables.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

By far and away one of the most memorable dining experience's I've had. My partner and I have been coming here for a few years, and it's a night we look forward to every time we're in Petoskey. The menu is thoughtful and creative, while the service remains impeccable. Definitely make reservations, as the place fills up quickly!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food but expensive

We ate here on a busy Saturday night. If you want to sit in the main restaurant and not the wine annex ( which is quieter but more removed), be sure to request it. The restaurant is a charming cellar and bar but with low ceilings and when full us cramped, as your table is a bit packed in. It would be great if they could expand. The star of the show is the food. My husband loved his filet and I had wonderful halibut with risotto. We had a nice salad of marinated tomatoes, blue cheese and Bibb lettuce and a delicious apple crisp dessert. The restaurant has a huge wine collection as it is affiliated with a wine shop. It is one of the better restaurants in northern Michigan and generally worth it for a splurge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Cozy, intimate dining experience and the food is delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Still the best restaurant in town. Pretty creative food and ever changing menu. Best place to get fish. Just wish they would heat the restaurant by the door!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very cozy restaurant and the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I always love coming to Chandlers. The wait staff are always super friendly and helpful. You know they want you to have a good dining experience.

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Very busy, small restaurant with good food with mostly locally available fare. Great desserts.

Extensive wine list. Had a little confusion over wine with waiter who probably was not that well versed in wines. Would suggest numbering the wines on the list to help prevent confusion on what is being ordered. Overall, this is a great place that I would highly recommend. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Fantastic food. Great wine list with knowledgeable server. She was GREAT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We were seated in the wine cellar which accounts for its quit atmosphere. Food was outstanding even though a bit pricey. Service outstanding. Only negative was a couple of small gnats were flying around table, maybe due to the cellar atmosphere. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Perfection every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Superb cooking and beautiful presentation. We ate in the wine cellar room and would have to rank this toward the top of our dining experiences!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Service was mediocre, when I asked about bread (had plates and every table around us had a bread basket) I was told it was only served upon request - if I was a regular I guess I would have been aware. Risotto was overly salted and when I told the waitress she sort of shrugged and did nothing about it - even though I clearly didn't eat it. Very loud and the smell of fish was unpleasant.

Halibut was tasty and my husband enjoyed his meal. Coffee and desert were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We hadn't been to Chandlers this year so we were very happy when friends suggested we dine there. Everything was lovely -- nice food and ambience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We were impressed with this great find of a restraunt. This is a special little place... drinks are heavy handed & each bite was more delicious than the last. We look forward to our next visit to Petosky and to another perfect dinner at Chandlers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We love eating here whenever we are up-North. Great wine, very good food and always great service. We like to try to get into the wine room whenever it is open. It is a little bit quieter there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing food, Amazing wine list, Amazing and interesting location. We had dinner in the wine cellar below the General Store. That in itself made for a memorable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 12, 2016

This was our third visit to Chandlers and each time the food and service have been amazing. Great menu selection, nice portion size, outstanding waitstaff. It is our "go to " restaurant when we visit Petoskey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Consistently first rate food and service. One of the top restaurants in the area.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had a great meal in a fun, busy, comfortable restaurant with great service. What more can I say!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Locals very nicely treated. Visitors less so. Nice presentation of plates. flavors good but not knockout. Obvious conviviality among regulars and staff. Portions fine. Pricey. Overall, good but not "must visit".

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent wine selection. Three different seating areas. We preferred the dining room w the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This just made it into my top 2 restaurant ever category. Amazing food - everything was just perfect. Fillet was melt in your mouth, Halibut had the most amazing citrus beurre blanc sauce. Farmers plate was to die for... cure meats, Stilton, jams, crisps, marcona almonds. Can't say enough good about the food and I consider myself hard to please. I've eaten at restaurants which are more than twice the price and not even close to this caliber in terms of the food quality and taste.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2016

This was our first visit to the Petoskey area, loved the area and the restaurant. I already booked my next reservation

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Every year we look forward to several dinners at Chandler's when we spend part of the summer in Northern Michigan. It never disappoints. Entrees are always perfectly prepared and expertly presented, and the wide variety on the compact menu always tantalizes. We always request the wine cellar for its cozy, quieter (usually) space. And we bring our visiting guests, knowing they will be equally impressed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent food and service. Annoying bar noise. Would recommend outdoor seating.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was excellent, including the two daily fish specials and the fried green tomato taco appetizer. The service was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food & wine selection outstanding. We dined in the wine cellar and enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.