Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Chandler's a Restaurant

Chandler’s opened it’s doors in December of 1999 behind the historical Symons General Store building. It’s a cozy place with only 50 seats in the main dining room & 10 seats at the bar. When real estate is too tough to find - it’s standing room only! For a change of scenery, guests can enjoy dining in the wine cellar where they are surrounded by the 4,000 bottle collection that serves both the restaurant and Symons General Store. In the warmer months, guests can choose to dine outside, on Chandler’s brick courtyard.

215 1/2 Howard Street
Petoskey, MI 49770
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 8:00AM-11:00PM
Saturday-Sunday: 8:00AM-11:00PM

Lunch: Daily 11:00AM-4:00PM
Dinner: Daily Starting at 4:00PM
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday only 8:00AM-4:00PM
Happier Hour: Daily 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Lake Street & Howard Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 347-2981

Website:
http://www.chandlersarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Whatever you are celebrating, we are honored to be a part of your affair. We happily cater events of all sizes and bring our core values as a caterer - food quality, presentation and outstanding service - no matter the location.

Whether it’s catering an intimate dinner party at your home, celebrating new beginnings with a wedding reception or baby shower or getting down to business with corporate events large and small, we are ready to bring our spectacular cuisine and service to your next event and look forward to collaborating with you!

Executive Chef:
Chef Tommy Kaszubowski

Private Party Facilities:
Typically we offer a four course tasting menu in the wine cellar. The cellar seats up to 54 people. Stand up cocktail receptions accepted. We customize to suit you. Call or email for specifics as availability changes with the seasons.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Nickerson: (231) 347-2438

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chandler's a Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (35)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Romantic (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
Cozy (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Business Meals (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (0)
Open Kitchen (0)
Historic (0)
Sort By:
S
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food but noise level in main dining room is excessive. Go with someone you don't want to talk to.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great wine, great service. Dined on the patio which was perfect - main dining seems a bit noisy, wine cellar area looks like a wonderful place to dine too. Had the halibut and the filet - both were amazing, and a big cab (The Heavy) which was perfect for our anniversary celebration. Dessert was a homemade blueberry crisp (seasonal) and was amazing! Definitely a must if you are in the Petoskey area.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a 7:00 PM reservation on a Thursday night. The host had no backup (although she usually does) and was a little challenged. (She maintained her usual professional manner, but could not help but be affected by the hectic atmosphere.) Once seated, our meal was fabulous and our service was impeccable. (Michael makes a perfect meal even better!)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Chandler's has delicious food and drinks.
The atmosphere is wonderful and our server, Heidi was simply superb.
Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great dinner. Really enjoyed the ambiance and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent service, excellent food. Love the quaint dining room and bar. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My only complaint is that the water served with the meal was room temperature and w/o ice; this could have easily been fixed. Also, wine by the glass is really 1/2 glass of wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great for special occasions -food was delish. Amazing wine selection. Not kid friendly but they were accommodating.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Heard a lot about this restaurant from others when we were visiting last week on vacation.
Food was good, service fast. Would go back for dinner.
Sue m Indianapolis

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great restaurant but when you pay that price service has to be on point. When it takes forever to get out appetizer you need to communicate reason to customer. When you bring out the salad ask if you'd like fresh cracked pepper not run to next table. Rissoto was awesome but inconsistent. I ate there two days prior and it was more cheesy but both versions were good. I Prefered the cheesier version better. All in all it was great food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food is outstanding here- the best halibut I've ever had. Delicious cocktails as well. Service was great. I would highly recommend eating here, I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Charming older place. Great food & service. Walleye was delicious. Filet was super tender and delicious as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Amazing place with great food and awesome atmosphere. The service was excellent. The wine list top notch and the place super cool. I have no complaints.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Really enjoyed Chandler's. Spicy tuna roll to start was great. Surf and turf very enjoyable. Exceptional service and wine list.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We always go to Chandler's when we are in Petoskey for creative food and excellent drinks. However, our love of this restaurant has been tempered recently by the very high prices. $18 for their special manhattan is really excessive. The food, while very good, is not deserving of the Chicago/New York prices. Perhaps that's what is necessary to sustain this business through the slower winter months. Traverse City has a better restaurants that are less expensive.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We had the broccoli and Cheddar soup, California Roll, Salads, and a Spicy Tuna Roll. All was very good and great service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Chandlers is always excellent. Zach, our server was friendly & personable. The salads were fresh and crisp. The watermelon & shrimp a little disappointing since shrimp were cut into little bits & overpowered by way too many cucumbers. The filet was perfectly cooked. The halibut tasteful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Special place❤️Wonderful food and drink! Thank you for a great dining experience at Chandlers!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food, great people!! Always The Best!!! Thank you!!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We vacation near Petoskey, MI every summer and always make it a point to dine at Chandler's. I wish we had a Chandler's everywhere we visit. The food and service is ALWAYS GREAT, and the the wine list is both extensive and reasonably priced.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 16, 2017

As Always~ Amazing EVERYTHING!! People, food and Hospitality! Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Had a lovely brunch outside. The charcuterie tray was marvelous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We chose Chandler's to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious and the server was appropriately attentive. We will definitely be back before our 40th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Awesome & Awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was excellent. I had the halibut and parm risotto. The fish was perfectly done! My date had the lamb, which was ah-may-zing. Very tasty, tender, and juicy. The cocktails were great. The Moscow mule was perfectly balanced. My date said it was the first time he's ever ordered a mule and didn't need to alter it.

The service was great. The server was very pleasant and attentive.

There was a lively and boisterous crowd in the dining room seated directly adjacent to us. It made our conversation a little difficult, but they left halfway through our meal. It's a small space, so it can get loud and you can hear the details of all the conversations around you.

Aside from the noise level, it was a great experience, and I would go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Cool atmosphere. We were in the wine cellar The Food was very good. One of the best fish dishes I've had in a lot big time. We live in Naples year round and it was better than Trulucks sea bass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Too noisy and poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Main inside dining room excessively noisy. Conversation difficult to impossible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Waitress was subpar, tried to move our table after seated and waters poured. Very pushy and slow to bring food that was good but lukewarm. Mentioned twice it was our 25th wedding anniversary...nothing. Amazing how some staff can ruin an otherwise tasty meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We eat at Chandlers on each trip to Petoskey. Reservations will be needed. The halibut with parm risotto is not to be missed. Very loud, small dining area but the food is incredible.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This was our first visit and we were disappointed. Chandler's is supposed to be one of the better places in Petoskey, and their prices reflect their popularity. Another server took one of our meals, so our server brought bread to hold us over. When dinner was finally served I was presented a cool filet on hot potatoes while my wife's dish was piping hot. Clearly the steak had sat while the kitchen scrambled to fill the order. I sent it back to be warmed while my wife dined "alone". They seem to have a problem managing their kitchen. Our expectations are quite high and were not met.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We had a 1245 reservation, it took 30 minutes to get 2 cups of soup. The soup is cold on top, warm on the bottom, so it had said around for quite a while before the waitress delivered it.

After another 30 minutes we had not received our sandwich but we were assured by our waitress that had been ordered. She then returned to the table and said it would be another 10 minutes. Tables near us came were served and we're done and we still haven't received our sandwich. We chose to leave. I would suggest not going there on a busy weekend

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My wife and I were traveling in the upper Michigan lake area and went to dinner on a date. Good food, great energy and full of locals. Enjoyed very much.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great service and good food. Eating in the cellar was interesting. Wine list extensive and reasonable. Server Michael very accommodating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Small place, nice find, great food, wine and service. Decent local crowd. Table was ready and they were waiting for us by the door.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

When I initially look a the web site was not sure what type of experience we would have eating at Chandler's after looking at the pictures of the dining area. However, we were seated in the cellar which was cozy. The food was excellent-- the best fillet I have had in a long time --cooked to perfection. My husband had the duck breast which was enjoyable. For dessert we hand a berry crisp with ice cream and it was wonderful. We had a memorable dining experience here and would certainly come back if the opportunity presented itself.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Just the best. Always such a treat - every time. The food, the people, the service and ambiance. A real gem! (And Paul was fabulous - )

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Nice setting. Wine list was impressive, though we didn't drink any. Would describe the food as excellent banquet food. But not inventive or interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Mediocre at best. The duck tasted game-y to my husband and I tried and felt the same. My bolognese pasta was good but not temp hot. Our bad was ordering a new bottle of wine which we did not like... not their fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always phenomenal. One my very favorites. Will keep going weekly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.