About Chandler's a Restaurant

215 1/2 Howard Street
Petoskey, MI 49770
View Larger Map

Chandler’s opened it’s doors in December of 1999 behind the historical Symons General Store building. It’s a cozy place with only 50 seats in the main dining room & 10 seats at the bar. When real estate is too tough to find - it’s standing room only! For a change of scenery, guests can enjoy dining in the wine cellar where they are surrounded by the 4,000 bottle collection that serves both the restaurant and Symons General Store. In the warmer months, guests can choose to dine outside, on Chandler’s brick courtyard.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 8:00AM-9:00PM
Saturday-Sunday: 8:00AM-11:00PM

Lunch: Daily 11:00AM-4:00PM
Dinner: Daily Starting at 4:00PM
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday only 8:00AM-4:00PM
Happier Hour: Daily 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Lake Street & Howard Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 347-2981

Website:
http://www.symonsgeneralstore.com/

Catering:
Whatever you are celebrating, we are honored to be a part of your affair. We happily cater events of all sizes and bring our core values as a caterer - food quality, presentation and outstanding service - no matter the location.

Whether it’s catering an intimate dinner party at your home, celebrating new beginnings with a wedding reception or baby shower or getting down to business with corporate events large and small, we are ready to bring our spectacular cuisine and service to your next event and look forward to collaborating with you!

Executive Chef:
Chef Tommy Kaszubowski

Private Party Facilities:
Typically we offer a four course tasting menu in the wine cellar. The cellar seats up to 54 people. Stand up cocktail receptions accepted. We customize to suit you. Call or email for specifics as availability changes with the seasons.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Nickerson: 2313472438x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

street tacos
Five Dragon
Tortilla Soup
Pulled Pork Nachos
Angus Olive Burger
Chicken
Pastrami Fois Gras
Camus Cabernet 40Th Anniversary
Pear Salad
Filet Mignon

Chandler's a Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
3 More
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Petoskey ›

fit for foodies (32)
special occasion (28)
notable wine list (24)
See All
neighborhood gem (24)
great for outdoor dining (19)
romantic (17)
great for lunch (11)
good for groups (10)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Old standby, in Petoskey. Way overpriced ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 hours ago

Old standby, in Petoskey. Way overpriced, and limited menu. Halibut was $40 for entree, very good. Chicken dinner $30, and average. Chicken dull flavoered, cornbread dry, and red beans mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food! The specials tonight were am ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food! The specials tonight were amazing and our server did a great job with recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! It had great en ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was delicious! It had great energy in the room.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We requested an outdoor table but told b ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We requested an outdoor table but told by the host that none was available--although several appeared empty.

Inside, it's cozy though dark and stuffy and the noise level is high, especially by the kitchen where we were seated. Our server was personable and efficient (two service stars here are for the host). Cooped up inside, we opted to split an appetizer plate of charcuterie and cheeses followed a couple of salads rather than linger over a longer dinner. We weren't disappointed with our food choices though--lovely smoked meats and very fresh salads.

As we left, we couldn't help but notice that the outdoor two-tops were still empty.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Thoroughly enjoyed lunch at Chandler's. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed lunch at Chandler's. So many great options. Service was terrific, and so were all the salad, appetizer, entree, and dessert choices we made. Will definitely be back next I'm in Charlevoix.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always - Chandler's was amazing. I wo ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

As always - Chandler's was amazing. I would recommend it again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience in the wine cellar wi ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Amazing experience in the wine cellar with perfect ambiance and great service. Food is well done and beautiful presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fabulous meal. I ordered the s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a fabulous meal. I ordered the special, and it was delicious. My guest ordered a filet and it was done to perfection.

The bar was excellent as well, serving a perfect Manhattan, and, because it was National Ice Cream Day, a Hummer for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the pickerel and it was like eati ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had the pickerel and it was like eating rubber the vegetables were under cooked. Every time we go on a Sunday the kitchen staff must be the f team, every other time we go the food is very good, but definitely not in Sunday's . Like the old movie Never on Sunday !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

We are fans of Chandler's. Tara, our ser ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We are fans of Chandler's. Tara, our server, did a wonderful job. Food came quickly and wine and drinks were very good. Korean Beef Tartare was a highlight for me. We had one little hiccup- we told Tom our niece's filet was undercooked vs what she ordered. Tom's response was- "It is difficult to cook that thick of a piece of meat to the way customers want it." No apology nor' can I have it cooked some more....' This was uncharacteristic of the restaurant and Tom. Otherwise a delightful meal. We will be back. This was already our third dinner this summer. We also come in the winter as well. New Year's eve is fun- sometimes whole fresh lobster is offered that night.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great find in Petoskey, the food was exc ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great find in Petoskey, the food was excellent, great wine list.

Friendly, & helpful waiter& owner. Will definitely return on our next trip to Petoskey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I dined alone. I was treated very well ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I dined alone. I was treated very well by the host and my server. The food (halibut, poached.then finished under the broiler, with a yellow pepper and summer squash risotto) was excellent. The evening was very well-paced.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We LOVE Chandler's. We brought a friend ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We LOVE Chandler's. We brought a friend who was visiting. Ben, our server was outstanding. He was personable, helpful and very attentive. He even had our favorite wine waiting. The farmers plate was delicious. The salads crisp and fresh. The scallops special was absolutely 'lick-the-plate' great. Our friend had the veal & said it was delicious. We had no room for dessert. Next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been going for over 10 years. Rehearsal ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Been going for over 10 years. Rehearsal dinner and every anniversary plus all the dinners & lunches in between. Fabulous place!! Food is extra good. Awesome cocktails & wine list!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and service! Wine lis ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Always great food and service! Wine list is amazing and the service staff is attentive without being a bother. We always dine here when we are in Michigan!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here every year while vacationin ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We come here every year while vacationing in the area. This year we had an 8pm reservation on a Wednesday night. The food took almost 2 hours to come. When we asked the waiter about the food after an hour and 45 minutes, he made a rude comment and rolled his eyes at us. When the food finally came, he served it but did not ask if we needed anything else or drink refills. He continued to roll his eyes at us when he walked past and seemed put out when we asked for a dessert menu so we left. This is not typical of this restaurant from past experience, so I hope the service is better next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Consistently good- food, service, drinks ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Consistently good- food, service, drinks and atmosphere. We will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Chandler's continues to be one of our fa ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Chandler's continues to be one of our favorites in the Petoskey area. Food, service and ambience are very good to outstanding. Chandler's also has a remarkable wine list with many excellent wines in various price points. Some servers are more knowledgeable than others when it comes to wines but our server asked for assistance with our questions. Suggestions and explanations on food and wine offerings were very helpful on all counts. Our family has been coming here regularly for many years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place to enjoy food and wine with ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great place to enjoy food and wine with family and good friends. Tom the maitre'd was very accommodating and very pleasant upon arrival.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very nice restaurant good food nice ambi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Very nice restaurant good food nice ambience. Servers were extremely nice. really enjoyed the meal

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner is expensive, but worth the money ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Dinner is expensive, but worth the money. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always great!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Dinner great as usual.Rich and Christian make eating at the bar fun.The morel mushroom app was one of the best things I've ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food, a little loud, but good atmosphere. a little high for the locals.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Awesome food in a fun location - Petoskey!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We love Chandlers and always have great meals when visiting Petoskey....

The caesar salad in the parmesan cup is not to be missed - my favorite caesar salad of any restaurant. Also not to be missed, their hummers - a great dessert milkshake style drink that packs a punch.

Worth going to - very good place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent, eclectic menu

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

This is an excellent little hole in the wall place. Service was great. Food was even better. It is pricey. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

I thought the food was good but a bit over priced

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I was a little disappointed that there were only 5 main dishes to choose from on the menu and for the prices being charged they should have at least come with a salad. The atmosphere was not what I expected. The website listed dress code as business casual, there were many people in jeans and sweat shirts. This had more of your local bar atmosphere. We were set at a table in front of a large group and the waitress kept bumping into my wife's chair trying to get to the other table to serve them. Over all it was not the best experience.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Great Celebration, but a bit disappointed

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

We were celebrating our 42nd Anniversary. Even though I requested a special table and wrote in Open Table that it was an anniversary celebration, I don't feel we were given any special treatment, i.e., not a glass of complimentary champagne or dessert. After we got home that evening, I received a call from the restaurant stating that I was given the wrong coat. So, our waitress had to deliver my coat in exchange for the other, interrupting our special evening. Again, no attempt in compensating us for the interruption

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Amazing!

vip
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Delicious, amazing, great food, great service, great wine, great people, great conversation

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was recommended from a s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

This restaurant was recommended from a smoke shop in town. It turned out to be a great choice. We like it enough to return the next night as well. It is a bit pricy, but worth the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome!

vip
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food at Chandlers a Restaurant, is always exceptional! We have never had a bad meal, or experience! The staff is incredible! Thank you Thank you!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poke and avocado appetizer. Such nice fr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Poke and avocado appetizer. Such nice fresh fish. Unique seasonings on all dishes. The trout with Butterbeans was delicious. The bartender also has a generous pour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chandler's

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great find in a resort town. Great wine list, sublime entee's with locally sourced products. Cheese board was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful evening experience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The food was outstanding! Fromthe salad to the entrees! Paul our server made the dining experience a joy! Great birthday dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional!

vip
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Tonight we had the sea bass. It was prepared exceptionally well by Chef Tommy and Chef Cullen. We are very fortunate to be able to come to this amazing restaurant from time to time. The wine is always perfect too. If you haven't been here, you must try it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Till the end

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The appetizers, the dinner and wine was very good. Our server was great, came around a few times but was never a bother and said the right things in a caring way and gave recommendations.

Chandlers has a great bar where you can eat and drink, here's where there was a problem that night...one of the servers was so rude trying to get pass the bar that he was actually pushing people out of his way. This was not a one time thing, he did it 3 times to one person. The meals with wine run about $200.00 for 2 people, not including tip. this was a turn off fro the whole evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Dinner

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were early for our reservation but they accommodated us. I had the rack of Lamb and my Wife had the Steak they were both excellent. The place was crowded and the service was Excellent. We will go back in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delight.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

You can't go wrong with the meals or the dining experience at Chandler's. It's a notable and favorite restaurant for the area and visited by those near and far.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was cellar, which is cozy .

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our wait staff was excellent. Sarah (?) was completely charming.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food and service is always excellent ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

The food and service is always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

chandlers is for the discerning

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Each time we are "up north" we make it a point to stop at Chandlers. We have motored to Petoskey to ski in the winter and we have sailed to Petoskey in the summer. Of the two crowds, which are distinct, we prefer the skiers in the winter. Chandlers does not disappoint. The head waiter is a prince who has trained the staff to perfection. And, the cuisine is unsurpassed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.