About Chandler's a Restaurant

215 1/2 Howard Street
Petoskey, MI 49770
View Larger Map

Chandler’s opened it’s doors in December of 1999 behind the historical Symons General Store building. It’s a cozy place with only 50 seats in the main dining room & 10 seats at the bar. When real estate is too tough to find - it’s standing room only! For a change of scenery, guests can enjoy dining in the wine cellar where they are surrounded by the 4,000 bottle collection that serves both the restaurant and Symons General Store. In the warmer months, guests can choose to dine outside, on Chandler’s brick courtyard.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:00AM-9:00PM
Friday: 11:00AM-11:00PM
Saturday: 8:00AM-11:00PM
Sunday: 8:00AM-9:00PM

Lunch: Daily 11:00AM-4:00PM
Dinner: Daily Starting at 4:00PM
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday only 8:00AM-4:00PM

Cross Street:
Lake Street & Howard Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 347-2981

Website:
http://www.symonsgeneralstore.com/

Catering:
Whatever you are celebrating, we are honored to be a part of your affair. We happily cater events of all sizes and bring our core values as a caterer - food quality, presentation and outstanding service - no matter the location.

Whether it’s catering an intimate dinner party at your home, celebrating new beginnings with a wedding reception or baby shower or getting down to business with corporate events large and small, we are ready to bring our spectacular cuisine and service to your next event and look forward to collaborating with you!

Executive Chef:
Chef Tommy Kaszubowski

Private Party Facilities:
Typically we offer a four course tasting menu in the wine cellar. The cellar seats up to 54 people. Stand up cocktail receptions accepted. We customize to suit you. Call or email for specifics as availability changes with the seasons.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Nickerson: 2313472438x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chandler's a Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Petoskey ›

special occasion (21)
fit for foodies (17)
notable wine list (17)
See All
romantic (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
good for groups (8)
great for lunch (7)
hot spot (6)
great for brunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

A little pricey

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food, a little loud, but good atmosphere. a little high for the locals.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Excellent, eclectic menu

Dined on May 6, 2016

This is an excellent little hole in the wall place. Service was great. Food was even better. It is pricey. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

I thought the food was good but a bit over priced

Dined on April 29, 2016

I was a little disappointed that there were only 5 main dishes to choose from on the menu and for the prices being charged they should have at least come with a salad. The atmosphere was not what I expected. The website listed dress code as business casual, there were many people in jeans and sweat shirts. This had more of your local bar atmosphere. We were set at a table in front of a large group and the waitress kept bumping into my wife's chair trying to get to the other table to serve them. Over all it was not the best experience.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great Celebration, but a bit disappointed

Dined on April 27, 2016

We were celebrating our 42nd Anniversary. Even though I requested a special table and wrote in Open Table that it was an anniversary celebration, I don't feel we were given any special treatment, i.e., not a glass of complimentary champagne or dessert. After we got home that evening, I received a call from the restaurant stating that I was given the wrong coat. So, our waitress had to deliver my coat in exchange for the other, interrupting our special evening. Again, no attempt in compensating us for the interruption

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Delicious, amazing, great food, great service, great wine, great people, great conversation

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was recommended from a s ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

This restaurant was recommended from a smoke shop in town. It turned out to be a great choice. We like it enough to return the next night as well. It is a bit pricy, but worth the visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The food at Chandlers a Restaurant, is always exceptional! We have never had a bad meal, or experience! The staff is incredible! Thank you Thank you!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Poke and avocado appetizer. Such nice fr ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Poke and avocado appetizer. Such nice fresh fish. Unique seasonings on all dishes. The trout with Butterbeans was delicious. The bartender also has a generous pour.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Chandler's

Dined on March 25, 2016

Great find in a resort town. Great wine list, sublime entee's with locally sourced products. Cheese board was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening experience

Dined on March 10, 2016

The food was outstanding! Fromthe salad to the entrees! Paul our server made the dining experience a joy! Great birthday dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Tonight we had the sea bass. It was prepared exceptionally well by Chef Tommy and Chef Cullen. We are very fortunate to be able to come to this amazing restaurant from time to time. The wine is always perfect too. If you haven't been here, you must try it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Till the end

Dined on February 13, 2016

The appetizers, the dinner and wine was very good. Our server was great, came around a few times but was never a bother and said the right things in a caring way and gave recommendations. Chandlers has a great bar where you can eat and drink, here's where there was a problem that night...one of the servers was so rude trying to get pass the bar that he was actually pushing people out of his way. This was not a one time thing, he did it 3 times to one person. The meals with wine run about $200.00 for 2 people, not including tip. this was a turn off fro the whole evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were early for our reservation but they accommodated us. I had the rack of Lamb and my Wife had the Steak they were both excellent. The place was crowded and the service was Excellent. We will go back in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a delight.

Dined on February 13, 2016

You can't go wrong with the meals or the dining experience at Chandler's. It's a notable and favorite restaurant for the area and visited by those near and far.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I was cellar, which is cozy .

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our wait staff was excellent. Sarah (?) was completely charming.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service is always excellent ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

The food and service is always excellent!

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

chandlers is for the discerning

Dined on February 6, 2016

Each time we are "up north" we make it a point to stop at Chandlers. We have motored to Petoskey to ski in the winter and we have sailed to Petoskey in the summer. Of the two crowds, which are distinct, we prefer the skiers in the winter. Chandlers does not disappoint. The head waiter is a prince who has trained the staff to perfection. And, the cuisine is unsurpassed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and Consistent

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Chandler's has a unique atmosphere, great food and knowledgable wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely the place to be!

Dined on December 31, 2015

Top notch dining experience. We make a point to eat here every time we're in town. The staff is amazing and the food is too! The chefs are a talented team. We ordered the calamari which can compete with the very best. She ordered the lobster and I ordered to halibut, both prepared and presented with elegance. The flavors in these dishes were wonderful! Not to mention, a fine selection of wine and cocktails... I really enjoyed the Old Fashionista!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding.

Dined on December 31, 2015

Outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Staff!

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

It had been several months since our last dinner at Chandler's, and we are always glad to be back! The food was outstanding as always and the staff always makes us feel at home. On this particular evening, we were in the wine cellar. There was a large party (16 or so) booked there, and they were hesitant when shown to two tables. The staff asked if they would prefer one large table and, without hesitation or disruption to the other diners, reconfigured the tables for them. It is this kind of personal attention and service that distinguishes Chandler's. It's not cheap, but it's worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Too noisy!

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

There was a large party seated next to us and it was extremely noisy. Our server seemed a bit scattered as we had to ask for bread plates. Took a long time between the salad and entrees. Not sure we will return, even though we've had nice meals in the past.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorites!

Dined on December 25, 2015

Chandlers is a great place for foodie food and drinks. They have an EXTENSIVE wine list and serve a great pour of liquor. Lunch is reasonably priced. Dinner is on the high end. The main section of the restaurant is lively but can be cold in winter days. The noise level can be high when it's busy. It's most fun to sit at the bar. Larger groups are typically seated in the second building, which is nice. It's a beautiful wine room. Con: they have cardboard wine boxes sitting around. You will not want to be seated in second building with a small group. Very quiet. Overall - best place in Petoskey!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loud but great restaurant

Dined on December 25, 2015

It was Christmas Eve when we dined at Chandler's. The food and service were excellent however, it was loud and other guests near us complained of the noise level. I've been to Chandler's several times and this was the first time the atmosphere was unpleasant due to the noise.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Chandler's is our go-to restaurant in Petoskey!!

Dined on November 27, 2015

Always great food with a changing menu, always great service and you cannot beat the ambience! We never order chicken at a restaurant, but we do here! Amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5

Great place but LOUD lout

Dined on November 26, 2015

This was my first meal at Chandler's in at least seven years. The food and service are impeccable. The noise level was not "energetic" -- it was annoyingly loud because of one loudmouth lout at the bar. This was especially unnerving for a Thanksgiving meal at 3:30 in the afternoon. I felt bad for the staff. As long as he is not there, I would definitely recommend Chandler's to a friend and would give more stars.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience1
service4

Great Food but HUGELY noisy!!!!

Dined on November 21, 2015

The food and wine were amazing! Best Caesar Salad ever.....Loved the parmesan bowl! The beef filet was prepared perfectly. However the noise level was over the top and did not match our expected dining experience. We were hoping to have a very relaxing evening over wine and conversation. We will probably not be back but not because of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my top 5 restaurants (globally)

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

Outstanding! I travel a lot and I love to find great restaurants. Dining out is my hobby. Chandler's was a real find. Whenever I am in Northern Michigan, I make sure that my trip goes through Petoskey in order to dine at Chandler's. The place is not pretentious or showy, but it is NICE! The food is extremely creative. The chef and staff do many little extra things that make the evening more special. For example they use rye and black cherries in the Manhattan. They add marinated tomatoes and smoked blue cheese to the Butter Lettuce salad. Most recently I started with the smoked foie gras followed by a perfectly cooked medium rare Bistro Steak that came topped with blue cheese and sides of truffled creamed spinach, wild Mushrooms and pomme frites. My wife enjoyed the lamb shank with butternut squash and dried figs. Crème brulee and expresso for dessert. The wine list is also outstanding with reasonable for restaurant prices. Our waitress recommended a Malbec (El Felina 2013 - $37 / bottle) that perfectly fit our meals. The service is great, the ambiance is great. Not a large restaurant, make reservations. I'm yet to dine in the wine cellar but have that on my to do list. The outdoor dining in the summer is simple but nice and sometimes has live music.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

Dined on October 16, 2015

The only thing better than the service, was the perfectly prepared meal! Great wine selection and perfect setting for a romantic dinner or for a social gathering with friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience every visit. Sophistica ...

vip
Dined on October 15, 2015

Great experience every visit. Sophisticated menu, cozy, upscale ambience and impeccable service. A perfect choice when up north bar food just won't do.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always outstanding

Dined on October 9, 2015

My husband and I make a point of going to Chandler's every time we are in the area. On our most recent visit we stopped in for dinner and it was great. I had the filet which was very good but my husbands duck was outstanding. He was a little nervous about the medium rare recommendation but it was spot on. They have a good bar and tasty dessert, we had the warm apple crumble YUM! Our server was attentive without hovering and never rushed us even though it was a busy Friday night. Definitely get reservations as this is a very popular spot. They have a cool outdoor seating area if the weather permits. I would recommend this spot to anyone who is looking for a nice night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it once again with great friends a ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

Loved it once again with great friends and lots of great food. No problems with anything. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chandler's never disappoints!

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

We never visit Petoskey without dining at Chandler's. We dined on Saturday, October 3rd, the place was packed, bar was full and the noise level was high, with people enjoying a night out. The server, recommended a great Chardonnay to accompany our Halibut, perfect selection and at a very reasonable price.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service4

49th a anniversary

Dined on October 3, 2015

Too cold in room. Good service . Food Way Overpriced! Room not attractive. Server was good. When I made reservation I said it was for 49th anniversary, expected mention of it or free desert. Food was good but not for those prices and lack of ambiance.

food1
ambience1
service1

Dinner @ Chandlers

Dined on September 26, 2015

We were not impressed with the staff when we arrived and asked if we could sit outside. Seemed to be very annoyed that we even asked and then we seated back in a corner when other tables were available. When we asked if we could have one of the other tables they said they were all reserved. This did not turn out to be true as one table was open almost the whole time. The entree my wife had was not that good and was the special for the evening. Very disappointed and did not stay for desert. Was touted as one of the best in Petosky but fell way short in our opinion.

food4
ambience4
service4

A Local Gem

vip
Dined on September 18, 2015

A vibrant atmosphere in the main dining room with a small bar top for interaction with the bartender and view of the kitchen. The wine room is vibrant and perfect for groups or ask for a table for four in the back of the room. Outside dining is heated if necessary and separates the two inside dining options. The menu is varied and the daily specials are always interesting combinations and never disappoint the discriminate diner. A true local gem all year around.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We always reserve a table at Chandler's ...

vip
Dined on September 15, 2015

We always reserve a table at Chandler's for special occasions during our weeks in Northern Michigan, not only for the outstanding menu and expansive wine list, but also because of the professional service and intimate setting in the wine cellar. It's on our mandatory dining list -- several times each summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dinner in Petosky

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

Return visit for a few golf buddies. Awesome dinner at Chandlers. Everything was great, from drinks at the bar, to apps, dinner entrees, and dessert. The meal of choice was beef fillets and strip steak. They were top shelf and prepared exactly as requested. The staff was very friendly, especially Kerry our server for the evening. We already have dinner for one night secured for our next trip!! Strongly suggest weekend reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Just Awesome!

vip
Dined on September 7, 2015

The scallops were absolutely delicious! Tommy always prepares things over the top! This restaurant does not need my feedback- but I just felt that I must take the time to review this awesome eatery to give you my assurance that you won't regret dining here- Ever! We often complain that there are not enough places like this in the area- but no worries, really, whenever we want to kick it up- we remember Chandlers. They truly make the experience brand new and memorably delicious each time we dine with them! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Thank you for this opportunity! Thank you Tommy, Paul- Rich and Christian, Whitney, Eric and everyone!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great as always

Dined on September 5, 2015

Been here many times and the food never disappoints, wild boar was amazig, service is always great and the ambiance is perfect for Petoskey. My only complaint this go around is we were sat in the back of the main room by the kitchen which made for a night of barely being able to hear others at our table plus being able to smell anything that burnt. Even with that being said I will be back Chandlers is one of my favorite restaurants anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.