Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Chandler's a Restaurant

Chandler’s opened it’s doors in December of 1999 behind the historical Symons General Store building. It’s a cozy place with only 50 seats in the main dining room & 10 seats at the bar. When real estate is too tough to find - it’s standing room only! For a change of scenery, guests can enjoy dining in the wine cellar where they are surrounded by the 4,000 bottle collection that serves both the restaurant and Symons General Store. In the warmer months, guests can choose to dine outside, on Chandler’s brick courtyard.

215 1/2 Howard Street
Petoskey, MI 49770
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 8:00AM-9:00PM
Saturday-Sunday: 8:00AM-11:00PM

Lunch: Daily 11:00AM-4:00PM
Dinner: Daily Starting at 4:00PM
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday only 8:00AM-4:00PM
Happier Hour: Daily 4:00PM-6:00PM

Cross Street:
Lake Street & Howard Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 347-2981

Website:
http://www.chandlersarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Whatever you are celebrating, we are honored to be a part of your affair. We happily cater events of all sizes and bring our core values as a caterer - food quality, presentation and outstanding service - no matter the location.

Whether it’s catering an intimate dinner party at your home, celebrating new beginnings with a wedding reception or baby shower or getting down to business with corporate events large and small, we are ready to bring our spectacular cuisine and service to your next event and look forward to collaborating with you!

Executive Chef:
Chef Tommy Kaszubowski

Private Party Facilities:
Typically we offer a four course tasting menu in the wine cellar. The cellar seats up to 54 people. Stand up cocktail receptions accepted. We customize to suit you. Call or email for specifics as availability changes with the seasons.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Nickerson: (231) 347-2438

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chandler's a Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
See All
Cozy (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Romantic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (0)
Business Meals (0)
Open Kitchen (0)
Historic (0)
Sort By:
S
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

Mediocre at best. The duck tasted game-y to my husband and I tried and felt the same. My bolognese pasta was good but not temp hot. Our bad was ordering a new bottle of wine which we did not like... not their fault.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always phenomenal. One my very favorites. Will keep going weekly

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great local gem. Gormet type food fit for foodies. Nice outdoor seating. Very good wine list.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Awesome Food
Awesome Ambience

Our server Renee was exceptional!!!! 😊😊😊

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Lovely. Simply everything was lovely.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Every time we get to Northern Michigan Chandler's is a must-stop been going there since the year 2000 the ambiance and the wait staff impeccable. If you haven't been to Chandler's in downtown Petoskey if you get within 50 miles it's worth stopping

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Love this place. Always great! We drive all the way to Petoskey just to eat here. They never seem to miss with great food. Try the Taylor Hash.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Amazing as always, will defintely return again. The casual atmosphere yet high class menu make this one of our favorite places to go.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day breakfast was great! Party of three and we all tried something different. I had the stuffed hash browns and loved it. The coffee was fresh brewed and hot! Good service, very attentive staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Unbelievable great food. Great service and wonderful bar. Wine selection is fantastic. Did I mention great service? This is a fabulous gem fit for the big city but with all the charm of Petoskey!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The kid enjoyed the Easter bunny and the asparagus Benedict was excellent

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food and great service - the standard!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (México)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food, wonderful service

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Always good - consistently. Fabulous rack of lamb done perfectly. Salmon was good too as was Spanish red wine feature.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went here for brunch and it was outstanding. Food was excellent and the service great as always. The dining room is a bit small and always pretty noisy but not to the point of being unpleasant

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We always go to Chandlers when we visit Petosky! As usual the food was phenomenal. It is a small quaint establishment but don't be fooled the food is a culinary experience. We had the calamari and sweetbreads they were both excellent. Then my husband and I shared the rack of lamb, it was by far some of the best lamb we both have ever had! Make sure to make reservations this place gets busy, but it's worth the planning and wait! We have also went on other occasions with our 7 year old and it is kid friendly, just make sure you realize it's not a quick dinner place, so if your kid has patience Chandlers is very welcoming to families. I highly recommend Chandlers

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food, service and ambience! Loved the wine list, too.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Chandlers is a favorite for several reasons. The wine selection is fantastic. The food is always amazing and the service is world class. We recently reserved a table for valentines day and Chandlers did not disappoint. Our waitress was the cutest. We will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Showed up for dinner 4 adults and my 18 month old. Asked for a hichair didn't have one and also did not have a booster seat. We had to shuffle him around throughout our supper.Staff was not helpful. For owning more than one restaurant in the same town you should be able to accommodate.I am a local and for that I will not be returning.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great place. Walkable form most hotels in the city. Expensive but I knew that going in. Best wine list in Petoskey. Friendly and knowledgable staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food and service were both fabulous. The noise level was a little much...but I think that was largely due to a very rude table behind us having a 'who can be louder and more pretentious' contest (good news -they all won). So likely just a one-off experience.

Over all - I highly recommend Chandler's. Great food, great ambiance and really great service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Best in the North, food and service, just a real consistent very enjoyable dining experience

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Chandler's is always a great place for a outstanding meal! The staff is very friendly and provide the proper amount of attention without being overwhelming. The ambience is something special and their menu selection is just right. When we are in Petoskey it is many times our "go to " place!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I would recommend that you request to be seated in the Cellar dining area. It is very quiet and romantic. My wife and I both had the beef, the beef wash fantastic and you could cut it with a butter knife. It was probably one of the finest Ribeye that I have ever tasted. Great selection of wine also.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We enjoyed Chandlers, as we have before. We started with the cheese plate and found it very satisfactory. I had skatewing and my husband had the fillet. Both were done very well and had lots of veggies and potato with it. The wine we chose was recommended that night and it went well with our good. Overall we were happy with everything

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We booked for lunch, leaving little time to make a 2PM. theatre. The service was quick and done in a very nice manner. We split a California Roll (real crab) and each had a Pork Stir Fry. All was very good and we made it on time to our show!😃

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Just make sure you aren't near the door. Very cold this time of year. Silly that they haven't fixed this problem over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual, we had great food and great wine at Chandlers. It was New Year's Eve so we had to wait a little while for our reserved table to open. But they sent us to a close local bar to wait and came and got us when the table was ready. I had the rib-eye and my wife had the filet, both were fantastic. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We've been to Chandler's on a few occasions. The food is always amazing, the staff is great (our waitress was awesome) and the chefs never fail to impress. If you are out looking for a good lunch or a date night dinner I highly recommend you check out this little location.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

They make an effort to be above average in terms of the level of the food on offer, but the execution is not there.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good restaurant with friendly service. Nice comfort food with an excellent wine list.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Chandler's is consistently very good. Have been twice and will go again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Good food, small cozy feel, slightly pricey for every weekend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We are never disappointed with out meals, service and atmosphere!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I've been to Chandlers many times but I'm compelled to describe the most incredible chicken entree. I always order the Caesar salad - its perfectly dressed and served in a parmesan tuile "cup" which is salty, crunchy, and fun.

The entree was incredible, memorable and among the best dinners I've ever had. Served along with a perfect portion of chicken breast with the leg attached was a piece of thick cut bacon , cheesy grits, broccolini, and a fried egg. There was a sauce as well that when combined with the egg yolk was silky and delicious. The smokiness and salt from the bacon paired well with the grits and chicken - it felt homey, southern, elegant, and was very satisfying.

I would highly recommend Chandlers to anyone. Its the best restaurant in Northern Michigan!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

we have eaten at chandler's many times. food on this trip was outstanding. noise level was also because it was the night of petoskey's holiday open house. made for a fun night.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love Chandlers! This time, we were in the wine cella, which is a quieter dining experience than the main dining room. My husband had the duck with fried rice - the duck was prepared perfectly, and the fried rice came together when he mixed the egg into the rice. it was silky and rich as it should be. I hadn't the Brussels sprout and tuna appetizers - the sprouts were absolutely amazing. The mustand sauce was unexpected and perfect with the fried sprouts - not the usual balsamic glaze. Paul was great as usual - always a pleasure to share an evening with him. We will always come back and cant wait to see the next iteration of the menu.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Besides the cramp space, it was cozy. The atmosphere was great and the staff very friendly. Definitely have a reservation as there is not many tables.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

By far and away one of the most memorable dining experience's I've had. My partner and I have been coming here for a few years, and it's a night we look forward to every time we're in Petoskey. The menu is thoughtful and creative, while the service remains impeccable. Definitely make reservations, as the place fills up quickly!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food but expensive

We ate here on a busy Saturday night. If you want to sit in the main restaurant and not the wine annex ( which is quieter but more removed), be sure to request it. The restaurant is a charming cellar and bar but with low ceilings and when full us cramped, as your table is a bit packed in. It would be great if they could expand. The star of the show is the food. My husband loved his filet and I had wonderful halibut with risotto. We had a nice salad of marinated tomatoes, blue cheese and Bibb lettuce and a delicious apple crisp dessert. The restaurant has a huge wine collection as it is affiliated with a wine shop. It is one of the better restaurants in northern Michigan and generally worth it for a splurge.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.