About Cerulean

1439 NW Marshall St
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

The inspiration behind Cerulean in the Pearl was a Bistro in Paris or a Caffe in Florence - a place to enjoy good friends, good food, and good wine. Cerulean serves a seasonal menu, which will change occasionally as our chef makes new finds at the Farmers Market each weekend. We use local and organic products as much as possible, which complement Cerulean's wines made from the owner's organic vineyards. In addition to wine, we serve beer and cocktails.

Cerulean is a unique space in the Pearl, as it blends an old-world cafe and bistro with a modern art gallery and artist studio space. We have an outdoor deck and sidewalk seating, and kids are welcome.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Wine Bar, European

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am;

Cross Street:
NW 15th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 705-9840

Website:
http://www.ceruleanwine.com/portland/

Catering:
We host private events in our space. Please contact us through the Private Dining section, or email events@ceruleanwine.com.

Public Transit:
Portland Streetcar NS Line - stops at NW 14 & Northrup or NW 13th & Lovejoy.

Executive Chef:
Robert Thompson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We do host some special events in our space - please see our website at http://ceruleanwine.com/calendar/ for event listings. We are also available for private events - see the Private Dining tab or email events@ceruleanwine.com.

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Private Dining

We are available for corporate meetings and events, private dinner parties, rehearsal dinners, cocktail events, birthday gatherings, or weddings. With a wine bar, restaurant, & art gallery in a combined space, we can host parties in the entire space for a full buyout or host in our gallery.

Cerulean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (2)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
See All
Fit for Foodies (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
17 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was delicious great place to start th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

It was delicious great place to start the night with yummy drinks and apps­čśŹ

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was very helpful and attentive. Fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Staff was very helpful and attentive. Food however was a disappointment. Drinks were good, would return for a glass of wine or a drink but not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great space to dine on delicious food , ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great space to dine on delicious food , sample wines , and wander rows of local artists

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Portland dining month menu. Quirky ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great Portland dining month menu. Quirky place with art gallery- saw tons of people show up with yoga mats while we were having dinner- then they curtained off the gallery section. Nice place to lounge and drinks in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Might have been a little short-staffed t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Might have been a little short-staffed the night we were there (a Thursday), the bartender ended up being our server and was pretty busy. There was also a Paint Nite event going on the same night that we didn't know about in advance, which may have contributed.

I ordered the entree-size spinach ravioli with the vegetarian marinara sauce; I received three ravioli and the non-vegetarian sauce (which just meant I couldn't share with my vegetarian wife), and the ravioli was a touch more al dente than I would have expected. There is an appetizer version of this dish on the menu, which must consist of fewer than three ravioli (? if not, then maybe I got the appetizer version by mistake?). The flavor was very good, in either case.

I also had a couple of margaritas, which were excellent. The poor bartender had to make the drinks and also wait on a couple tables (that I could see), but the quality of the drinks was apparently unaffected.

My wife had a glass of the Cerulean brand Tempranillo, with which we were both unfamiliar; neither of us was certain that the wine she got was actually the Tempranillo (she thought it might have been the red blend), but the scent had a distinctly metallic overtone and the flavor was less robust than I would expect for a Tempranillo (may just be because it was a 2012, grown at their Underwood, WA vineyard).

Prices very reasonable, for the location, and the space is comfortable and conducive to conversation. We'll be back soon, just to see if the service and food issues were an anomaly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great date night.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a lovely evening at Cerulean. We've enjoyed their wines for years, but this was our first time at the Portland restaurant / wine bar. Food, drinks, service and atmosphere were all very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wine bar for happy hour

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I think this is a wine bar for happy hour more than a restaurant. The room has 20+ foot ceilings, there are couches for having a drink and conversation, and there is an adjoining art studio. With this much space noise is not a problem and it is easy to hear each other talk. There is a menu of course, and we went for Portland Restaurant Month. It looks like there was a bartender and one waiter. The bartender was our waiter. He worked hard but that is a big assignment.

The owners also own the Naked Winery in Hood River and their wines were featured, although overpriced in my opinion ($9/glass). There were a few bottled beers, and cocktails.

One person in our group of four ordered a martini with an olive, but they were out of olives. Two of us ordered the first course of soup, and the amount of soup in the two bowls was very different (one bowl full, the other half-full or half-empty :). The food was good. Prosciutto wrapped chicken breast very tasty and well presented, beef bourguignon overcooked so there were barely any distinguishable ingredients or sauce but also tasty and accompanied with a nice serving of scalloped potatoes. Deserts were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The night I visited was busy. Only 2 bar ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The night I visited was busy. Only 2 bartenders, who were also the waitstaff, service was a bit slow. Long wait for the food. But, was absolutely delicious when it finally arrived. Appetizer, main dish, and dessert consistently well prepared. No weak links. Make a great French 75, one of the few restaurants that do. Very interesting atmosphere. Somewhere I would visit occasionally rather than frequently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Unmemorable experience

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Strange art gallery setting with dining as an afterthought. Our waitress was cheerful enough but never really listened, and we got tired of repeating ourselves. The bar area could be a cool hangout but the wine was just so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Valentine's Day Special Was Spot On

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We had never been here before so the special caught our attention plus they had an early opening. The offer of a four course meal at a very reasonable price had our attention. We were pleasantly surprised at how good it was. We started with a sour then had mushrooms and deviled eggs followed by steelhead salmon and all were cooked to perfection, tasty and most enjoyable. Dessert was outstanding, too. To start they gave us a complimentary prosecco which we followed with wines that were delightful. The best part was the service, as Alexis took great care of us. Just realize that this is a former warehouse space which is not warm and inviting but the people are and the food is wonderful. I would highly recommend this spot for anything they offer.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Wine, art and ambiance

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We visited this restaurant for the first time for a Valentine's Day dinner and found it very charming. We were surprised to find the combination of a winery with good food and an art gallery all in one. Although somewhat starkly decorated, the space is smaller and intimate and nicely lighted and great for conversation. There are tables as well as spaces with comfortable furniture for relaxing. The food was very good as well. I would highly recommend this restaurant as a place for a great glass of Cerulean wine, nice romantic meal, or small gathering with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hate to let this one out...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Went to Cerulean for a friday night dinner. It was a bit early so not too many patrons were eating, but 10 or so sitting at the wine bar. The bartender told us to take any seat we wanted, and we moved over near the art gallery, to get a look at the paintings, and stay away from the door draft, if there was one. The Chef came over and told us about the daily specials, and the server took our drink orders promptly. From then on it was one pleasant surprise after another. The Chef made direct recommendations based off of our preferences, the cocktails were perfect, the wine pared with dinner (Spinach and Gruyere Ravioli for the wife, and Hanger Steak for me) was excellent, and dessert recommendation of bread pudding with coffee was delectable. Neither my wife or I would ever choose bread pudding as a dessert, and seeing our hesitation, the Chef was confident that we would like it, so he brought to the table for us to make our own decision. So happy that he did, as it was unlike any bread pudding I have had before. I would gladly recommend this to anyone looking for a pleasant and enjoyable evening out at a small gem of a restaurant. On top of that the art gallery was enjoyable, and one artist was working at the studio that night, and was happy to discuss his current work with us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely evening

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

We learned of the Cerulean because we were invited to a special event there. Since we were traveling from out-of-town and the event didn't start until 7:30, we decided to make reservations for dinner. We were a group of 7. Some of us ordered full entrees and others had salads and appetizers, but all of us were pleased with our meals. Service was excellent as well. Lovely interesting atmosphere as well with all of the artwork displayed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alexis is fantastic! Make sure you go wh ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Alexis is fantastic! Make sure you go when she's there. So charming and helpful. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Open but not really open

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on October 5, 2015

Entered an empty restaurant with boxes stewn around and no inviting place to sit and eat, hence we left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great food! Wonderful wine! Versitile space

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

The food here was so good, I came back 2 days later with friends so they could all enjoy. Both the salmon and the beef were amazing. Wines are really good as well. Service was excellent. The space is also an art studio so there is a lot to see and the tables are situated in nooks. They have a great bar and sofa and chairs for sitting around and doing work. They are open late as well. The chocolate hazelnut tort was eye-closed yum!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful surprise!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 15, 2015

Another great Portland Dining Month find. Within walking distance for us. The reclaimed warehouse decor is the perfect setting for this art studio, restaurant, and wine bar. We ordered both Portland Dining menu offerings for all three courses and the Cerulean wine pairings. We were not disappointed in anything we were presented. I'm not a foodie, so I won't try to describe each plate or the finer points of the wines. Just wanted to recognize the Chef and Cerulean Wines for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.