About Century Restaurant & Bar

2021 Park Pl
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Century Restaurant and Bar is a casual, modern approach to fine dining in the historic setting of the Tutwiler Hotel, a Birmingham landmark since 1914.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am-3:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Richard Arrington Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 458-9611

Website:
http://www.centurybirmingham.com/

Catering:
Century and Culinard Catering provides superb food and beverage catering for weddings, business meetings, private parties, holiday events and receptions.

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking. Ask your server to validate your ticket.

Private Party Facilities:
Our dining room can be reserved for private events.

Private Party Contact:
Justin Spears: 2054589707x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Century Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.4

ambience

3.2

noise

Quiet

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

special occasion (5)
romantic (5)
fit for foodies (4)
See All
great for lunch (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
good for groups (2)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (1)
great for brunch (1)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
26 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Poor service-once during lunch-one during dinner

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

Went for dinner, there was only one table. One waitress. Did not check back to see how my steak was, did I need anything else, refill my water, nothing. Went for lunch today, 4 other tables, one waitress, ordered hamburger, took a long time, waitress did not refill my diet coke, had to ask her to. What do they do "back there"? Why are they "back there" when we, the paying customers are "out here" and they should pay attention to us, we are more important than whatever they are doing "back there".

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Early Sunday Lunch

Dined on February 21, 2016

Although we had reservations, the restaurant appeared to be unprepared for patrons at this early hour (11a). We were told to sit anywhere we liked in the "Bar Area" as none of the tables in the restaurant were set for customers. Food was very good, service was excellent as provided for by the bar tender/waitress. It was a very pleasant experience, we were also afforded ample time to make the afternoon matinee at the Birmingham Jefferson Civic Center.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

The party: my wife and I for Valentines ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The party: my wife and I for Valentines Day dinner The good: Valet was professional and quick Champagne Cocktail is recommended from the bar Gumbo was tasty The dealbreakers: The most expensive item on the menu, the fish, was covered in salt. It's all I could taste. Wife's shrimp and grits so-so; very little cheese or bacon. Both entrees were small; even by fine restaurant standards. Hostess seated us right inbetween two other couples; even though the place was almost empty. Before I could leave, guy next to me (also trying to leave) ask if he could borrow the pen waitress left on table. I was able to hand it to him, both of us seated, with no effort. We made the most of it but expected more for a $100 dollar dinner (two drinks, two soups, two entrees and tips).

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Weird mix of things

Dined on February 14, 2016

I ate at Century for the first time for a Valentine's dinner. The restaurant is priced as upscale, and the environment was inviting aside from the volume being up on a TV basketball game at the bar. That was odd, especially since the restaurant was small. Another odd thing was our waiter. He acted as if he was serving at a family chain type place, and we had to ask him to do basic server things like refill water, take plates, etc. Professionalism was really lacking. Food: The crab cakes were excellent, the Teres Steak entrée was delicious, but the shrimp and grits were so so. The tails and veins were still attached to the shrimp, even though they sat in a mushy blob of stuff, making it really hard to cut the tails off. The blob tasted good, but the texture was hard to wrap my mind around. I won't order that again. At any rate, it could be a great place if they got some professional attitudes in there, along with a bit more common sense.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very unexpectedly GOOD!!!

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

We were so surprised to find out how good This hotel restaurant was. Very good food and service. The pear coffee cake was exceptional, and the crab cakes very good . Perhaps their affiliation with the culinary school was the reason for the quality of the food! Great surprise.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!

Dined on November 21, 2015

The restaurant accommodated our party of 8 and treated us like family - royal family! The service was spectacular and the food was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was magnifico!

vip
Dined on September 26, 2015

Everything was magnifico!

food3
ambience4
service4

Easy Place for Business Lunch

Dined on August 11, 2015

I hadn't been in a few years but wasn't in the mood to go to Bistro 218 again. Service was fine., but we weren't very demanding. Tea was refilled without asking and everything came out promptly. We were a party of three, and we all found something that we wanted to eat. The menu is limited, though, so if you are with a large group that has a lot of restrictions you might be challenged. We weren't. Everyone enjoyed what they had, and portion sizes are good for lunch. It's very quiet in there...good for a business lunch. It's classy, but not pretentious. I appreciated that we couldn't hear the TVs in the dining room. They had an attractive bar setup, but unfortunately we were well away from 5 o'clock.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Limited Lunch Menu

Dined on July 22, 2015

The food was good, but the selection could have been better. There were only 2 items on the menu that had any appeal to the 3 women in our group. Also, our waitress wasn't very attentive. After serving crab cakes, that are somewhat spicy, she didn't come back for a very long time to fill our water glasses. Then, we were going to order dessert, but she didn't come back to our table for such a long time, we decided to leave. We had to wave her down to get our check. The restaurant wasn't crowded at all, so we didn't understand why we weren't being waited on. Probably won't go back for a weekday lunch.

food4
ambience3
service2

Good food, good setting

Dined on June 26, 2015

If you're looking for a place to get good food at a decent price that isn't covered up by the trend-seeking crowd, this is a good option. We had a quiet, unhurried well-prepared dinner for six and enjoyed the evening. This will never be the trendy spot but it is a good choice for an enjoyable relaxing dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

Quaint lunch spot

Dined on February 21, 2015

I was visiting Birmingham and found this gem via OpenTable and Yelp searches. It's in an historic building, so that was a big draw, but the menu also looked delicious. I stopped in for lunch, and had a lovely and quiet dining experience. My server was attentive but not intrusive, the food was very good, and it was an overall great atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

friendly, hip, great food

Dined on February 14, 2015

Service as topnotch. Very good menu. Romantc and I loved the guitariist. Will go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place , superior service

Dined on November 16, 2014

What a nice find in Bham . Enjoyed watching football games in the bar, then had a wonderful dinner and the best bread pudding EVER. Seriously amazing .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

Hit and miss

Dined on August 18, 2014

Went for Restaurant Week and when the dining room says it is casual they weren't kidding. Think I was the only man not in shorts, many with tee shirts. Not quite what I expected at a place in that price range. The three course restaurant week dinner had one great course (crabcakes), one disappointing (entree: over cooked fish and room temp couscous) and one ok (dessert, nothing special). The waitress was as sweet and polite as could be, but had very little training. When the next course would come, each time we would have to ask if she would please clear the dishes from the last. And with a small table for two, a jumble of dirty dishes barely left room for coffee cups. Everyone very nice, but for the money many better options in town

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service5

disappointing

Dined on August 17, 2014

The fish we had was obviously not fresh, The oyster appetizer however was good. The best thing was the service. Kristen was our waitress and she was pleasant and efficient.

Tags: kid-friendly
food2
ambience4
service2

Understaffed, slow service. Food was OK ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2014

Understaffed, slow service. Food was OK. Ambience was nice and interesting for this old hotel turned modern. Think I caught them on a bad night.

food2
ambience3
service1

Walked in and noticed that most of the e ...

Dined on May 11, 2014

Walked in and noticed that most of the employees seemed lost and confused. Had a reservation but still took a while to be seated. After we were seated, the waitress finally came to our table and took our drink orders, coffee & water. Did she bring them? No. Bout 10 minutes went by and I flagged her down, she told us they had to brew the coffee. Only came back once to fill our drinks. Our fish was extremely overcooked and didn't taste fresh. Both of us had never been there before and we were hoping to try something new and exciting, but just ended up being another crummy restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service4

Best Salad Ever

Dined on May 11, 2014

We ate lunch here on Mother's Day. I had the Salmon and Brie salad, which was likely the best salad and fish dish I have ever had. The salmon was cooked to perfection and the salad was full of deliciously different things. We shared crab cakes, and the others enjoyed their entrees as well. The live piano music was relaxing and made for good "name that tune" trivia conversation. We had a table with wrap-around curtain which made the dining semi-private and special. We could talk comfortably without yelling. Prices were very reasonable, and our server was cheerful. I will certainly return to this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2

Great food but disorganized service

Dined on April 20, 2014

The food was delicious , the servers were pleasant, but everything was very disorganized.

food2
ambience3
service1

Haunted

Dined on April 20, 2014

Restaurant located in the Historic Tutwiler Hotel. Was excited to visit for lunch, but not what we expected for Easter Sunday. Hostess was the highlight of our visit, as well as the bellman. Waitress never greeted or gave her name and could have cared less it we were in existence or not. Expected a full service menu or something special for Easter. Menu was limited with basic items (Chicken Sandwich, Salad, Steak & Eggs), fast food type items. Server took order and she never returned until I asked another server for our check. During her absence, other servers attempted to assist. The restaurant should have closed and never reopened, back when the original Tutwiler Hotel closed.

food4
ambience4
service4

Overall pretty good

Dined on March 24, 2014

We had a good time at Century and it was exactly what we needed, a quiet get away type restaurant in a great setting. The menu we felt was a bit limited but the food was terrific. We'd definitely go back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Service

Dined on March 10, 2014

Both the server and manager were attentive to my group's needs during our lunch visit. Each of the group members ordered a different item off of the menu and each item was wonderful. The best part of the lunch was the white chocolate bread pudding dessert. We couldn't get enough of the dessert!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2

No substance behind menu & decor

Dined on February 17, 2014

Uninspiring wine list. Hummus appetizer was ok-- too much feta, though. The crab cakes were 80% breading, 20% crab. The seared ahi tuna was cooked properly, but it was not high quality tuna-- tough, grainy texture like maybe it had freezer burn. The accompanying udon noodles were a technicolor green that I swear was food coloring. Service was very friendly but in terms of style and manners more suited to a roadhouse bar or late-night diner.

food4
ambience3
service2

Need to step it up!

vip
Dined on February 16, 2014

Great location. However, woefully understaffed. Cocktail selections limited due to having NO specialty cocktail menu and we had to have the server go back to the bar several times to inquire about drinks they could make. Lots of potential in a great location, but until you fully staff and get your entire menu up to speed, the other great restaurants in Birmingham will outshine you.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Glad our Nashville trip canceled.

Dined on February 16, 2014

Weather prohibited our valentines dinner in Nashville, and we were not happy. Planned 2 months out for long weekend with my wife. Found Century on open table and sounded OK. Wow, I could not have been more incorrect. Free valet, small restaurant with quality food. Excellent service, food and ambiance. There was a bachlorette party near our table, but they were the only group we heard. Fois Gras and tips were better than I had in Paris, Prime Rib and fresh catch my wife had were both fabulous. Presentation ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ also. Dessert was off the hook. Nice portions and great flavor. We will be making trip arrangements to Birmingham in the future. Awesome meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Very enjoyable!

Dined on February 15, 2014

The food was great! Swordfish and steak were both cooked to perfect levels. I had ready some not so shining reviews about the service, but we had no issues at all with our service. I respect the fact that they join forces with Culinard/Virginia College to provide training. That fact makes me like Century even more. The piano player added a perfect touch to a Valentine's dinner. I will return again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.