HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Century Restaurant & Bar

3.7
30 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

Permanently Closed
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Permanently Closed
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(205) 458-9611
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our dining room can be reserved for private events.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Justin Spears: (205) 458-9707
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Century and Culinard Catering provides superb food and beverage catering for weddings, business meetings, private parties, holiday events and receptions.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Permanently Closed
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free Valet Parking. Ask your server to validate your ticket.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 30 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.7  based on all time ratings
3.9
food
3.7
service
3.8
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Quiet
74% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
2.0  Dined on September 2, 2016

The staff was very nice and attentive. The food was not good at all.

Report
Helpful
BethR (Birmingham)
4.0  Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was awesome, but I guess only 1 server working... who needs more training in the service industry. The salad came out with the food and when we ordered a simple dessert, it took so long, we had to leave not to miss our play!

Report
Helpful
TerriS (Birmingham)
1.0  Dined on July 3, 2016

When I arrived the restaurant was closed. So we had to find another place to eat at the last minute.

Report
Helpful
Lnpepper (Mobile)
4.0  Dined on June 16, 2016

Dinner menu limited but dishes very well-conceived, well-prepared and enjoyable. Service is a shortcoming in that restaurant is a training site for Virginia College and wait staff, while very pleasant and eager, is very green. Missed obvious things like offering water, bread (with empty bread dish at setting), sweetener for tea, etc. I enjoyed the food very much but training of staff outside kitchen is lacking.

Report
Helpful
vipqwer (Dallas)
1.0  Dined on February 21, 2016

Went for dinner, there was only one table. One waitress. Did not check back to see how my steak was, did I need anything else, refill my water, nothing. Went for lunch today, 4 other tables, one waitress, ordered hamburger, took a long time, waitress did not refill my diet coke, had to ask her to. What do they do "back there"? Why are they "back there" when we, the paying customers are "out here" and they should pay attention to us, we are more important than whatever they are doing "back there".

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
4.0  Dined on February 21, 2016

Although we had reservations, the restaurant appeared to be unprepared for patrons at this
early hour (11a). We were told to sit anywhere we liked in the "Bar Area" as none of the tables in the restaurant were set for customers. Food was very good, service was excellent as provided for by the bar tender/waitress. It was a very pleasant experience, we were also afforded ample time to make the afternoon matinee at the Birmingham Jefferson Civic Center.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

The party: my wife and I for Valentines Day dinner

The good:
Valet was professional and quick
Champagne Cocktail is recommended from the bar
Gumbo was tasty

The dealbreakers:
The most expensive item on the menu, the fish, was covered in salt. It's all I could taste. Wife's shrimp and grits so-so; very little cheese or bacon.
Both entrees were small; even by fine restaurant standards.

Hostess seated us right inbetween two other couples; even though the place was almost empty. Before I could leave, guy next to me (also trying to leave) ask if he could borrow the pen waitress left on table. I was able to hand it to him, both of us seated, with no effort.

We made the most of it but expected more for a $100 dollar dinner (two drinks, two soups, two entrees and tips).

Report
Helpful
Dine4fun (Birmingham)
3.0  Dined on February 13, 2016

I ate at Century for the first time for a Valentine's dinner. The restaurant is priced as upscale, and the environment was inviting aside from the volume being up on a TV basketball game at the bar. That was odd, especially since the restaurant was small. Another odd thing was our waiter. He acted as if he was serving at a family chain type place, and we had to ask him to do basic server things like refill water, take plates, etc. Professionalism was really lacking.

Food: The crab cakes were excellent, the Teres Steak entrée was delicious, but the shrimp and grits were so so. The tails and veins were still attached to the shrimp, even though they sat in a mushy blob of stuff, making it really hard to cut the tails off. The blob tasted good, but the texture was hard to wrap my mind around. I won't order that again. At any rate, it could be a great place if they got some professional attitudes in there, along with a bit more common sense.

Report
Helpful
vipCorg (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 2, 2016

We were so surprised to find out how good
This hotel restaurant was.
Very good food and service.
The pear coffee cake was exceptional, and the crab cakes very good .
Perhaps their affiliation with the culinary school was the reason for the quality of the food!
Great surprise.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on November 20, 2015

The restaurant accommodated our party of 8 and treated us like family - royal family! The service was spectacular and the food was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3