About Centro Restaurant

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: 5152481780x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Caesar Dinner Salad
Portobello Fries With Truffle Aoli And Cajun Dipping Sauce
Tomato Basil Soup With Cheese Tortellini
Wild Mushroom Omelet With Portobello Fries
Hot Bread and Dipping EVOO
South West Tofu Scramble
Centro Breakfast
Bloody Mary
Crab Cake Benedict
Peach Tart With Vanilla Ice Cream
Gogonzola Burger
Grand Marnier Creme Brulee
Georges Favor Marshmallow Sunday
Fried Brussels Sprouts
stuffed french toast with mascarpone and strawberries
Portobello Mushroom Fries
fried egg sandwich
Moscow Mule
Heartbuster Or Something Like That
Centro Cut Ny Strip
Homemade Ricotta Gnocchi
Pizza Bianco
Pizza Margherita
Centro New York Strip

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
12 More
Best Ambiance
Iowa
Best Value
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Best Value
Des Moines
Fit for Foodies
Des Moines
Romantic
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

special occasion (173)
fit for foodies (130)
good for groups (113)
See All
romantic (99)
great for lunch (97)
hot spot (86)
neighborhood gem (70)
notable wine list (62)
great for outdoor dining (62)
great for brunch (57)
late-night find (26)
kid-friendly (20)
vibrant bar scene (18)
scenic view (12)
Sort By:
Newest
1245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose a corner table on the east pati ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

We chose a corner table on the east patio and had a delightful meal during the Des Moines Arts Festival. Try the house made limoncello after your meal!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Was pretty loud near is at first, but th ...

Dined 4 days ago

Was pretty loud near is at first, but them was not so bad. They packed us close together; would have been nice to have a bit more space between us and the other couples. Food was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love Centro! Food was exceptional Tuesd ...

Dined 6 days ago

Love Centro! Food was exceptional Tuesday night. Service always good. The noise precludes me from being a more consistent customer. It is very noisy in the restaurant. I usually love to sit in the bar at the tables. Love to look at the street traffic.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic! Our waiter went abov ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food was fantastic! Our waiter went above and beyond for us. Overall, our experience was fantastic and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always love visiting Centro! One of t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We always love visiting Centro! One of the best restaurants in Des Moines, with plenty of vegetarian/vegan options!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was outstanding. Table ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. Tables a little to close together. Makes it I little noisy with your neighbors. Our waitress was outstanding. Will go back again!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

portabello fries were unique and tasty. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

portabello fries were unique and tasty. service was great. noisy and not particularly romantic or intimate. I hear to pork chop was great, the broccolichini was really doused in butter- the salmon was fine, nothing spectacular. Cesar salad great, cheesecake delicious. cocktails also great.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for our anniversary dinner. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great place for our anniversary dinner. Had previous experience with loud atmosphere but it seemed much better with earlier reservation when it wasn't so busy. Server was attentive and service was fantastic. Food was great with plentiful portions

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorites!

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our third visit to Centro's and we loved it again. Celebrated our son's 21st birthday with our family and it was a great place to do it. The food---pasta, sandwiches, dinners---was all excellent, and the bloody mary bar is hard to beat! Service and atmosphere were also top notch. We'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Server less than friendly

Dined on June 9, 2016

Wanted to have a fun night out with friends, but found the server to be pushy and not friendly from the start. Never a smile or suggestions from the menu. The food was just okay. Our pizza was cold. My husband was served wine in a broken glass. We were never asked if we wanted another round of drinks. I might go back for the atmosphere, but would only sit in the bar.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed Centro as we always do. It is d ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Enjoyed Centro as we always do. It is definitely are "Go to" place for any reason especially when we are dowtown.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice spot of a business dinner.

Dined on June 8, 2016

Nice spot of a business dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious and lovely

Dined on June 7, 2016

Waitstaff is the best and one of the best filets I've had in quite a while. Impressive presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love Centro!

Dined on June 4, 2016

We dine here whenever we visit the area, and it is a treat every time. The short rib is delicious! And the service is top-shelf.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a pleasure

Dined on May 29, 2016

Centro is our downtown "go to" for both casual as well as special occasion dinners. The restaurant can match both appetite and budget with items ranching from pizza and salad to unique entrees. Offerings are broad without being exceptionally adventurous, but always good. We especially enjoy visiting Centro on Sunday evenings -- taking advantage of that last gasp of the weekend in a fun and lively atmosphere. The food is consistent and the service is good. Hard to ask for anything more.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again we absolutely loved our exper ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Once again we absolutely loved our experience at Centro. Everyone in our group had something different and every one of us said our meals were great. The service was quick and very friendly. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a delicious meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Great Meal

Dined on May 23, 2016

Every time we go there I always try something new and so far I have yet to find something that I don't instantly love. Great date night spot and/or family supper. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went here after the symphony for our 35th wedding anniversary . We picked it because we love George Formaro's restaurants and wanted something we knew we would enjoy. They accomodated our request for patio seating, and made our evening very special .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time there, food was good not grea ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

First time there, food was good not great. Service was quite good, attentive and not over bearing. Desert menu, didn't have the brownie Sunday available even though on menu and we were there early in dinner run- 6:15 reservation. Food arrived quickly and looked very nice.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant! We were in town f ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Fantastic restaurant! We were in town for a concert and wanted to try something local to Des Moines and came across Centro (pronounced "CHEN-tro"). My husband had the pork chop - huge portion, cooked perfect and the wine/sauce was complimentary. His plate was artfully garnished with asparagus and new potatoes. I had the sausage and homemade cavatelli noodles - delish! The service was great, drinks were nice and just an overall great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great dinner on the patio!!!!

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great dinner on the patio!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There is not a bad find on the menu, and ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

There is not a bad find on the menu, and their list of special cocktails is so extensive, it took me at least 10 minutes to decide which martini I wanted to try. The Fiore de Pera is excellent, but the Banana Nut Bread martini is absolutely divine. My husband had one of the specials -- spinach and mushroom stuffed ravioli. I had the halibut. Both were fantastic. The fish was prepared perfectly, and set on a bed of small pasta beads, with side salad containing pistachios and grapefruit segments. Very unique flavor combinations, and simply an exquisite dining experience for our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and environment, I loved ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent food and environment, I loved the freshness and quality of the food, and would highly recommend. My only suggestions are 1. a wider variety of wines and 2. friendlier wait staff

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!

Dined on May 10, 2016

We booked our group lunch through Open Table a week prior. The customer service was excellent prior, appetizers were as expected, food was delicious our server was amazing, and she even split our desserts to share as a large group. Thanks Centro!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service,food was wonderful. No waiting f ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Service,food was wonderful. No waiting for a table. Waitress was attentive, not over bearing. She was very accomidating to our wishes. Great place

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Must go type of place!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Centro Restaurant was wonderful! From when you walked into the place up to the end. The food was fresh and flavorful and our server was knowledgeable and polite. I will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there for Mother's Day brunch and the ambiance and service were great. Food was okay.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Centro!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dining at Centro is always a pleasant experience. From the food to the atmosphere top notch all around! This is where my wife wanted to go for Mother's Day! I highly recommend Centro.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Only for special occasions

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great ambiance and excellent service. The food was good, but not amazing. You are paying for the experience, not the amount nor quality of the food. It is expensive for what you get

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Centro=yum

Dined on May 7, 2016

Probably my favorite place in Des Moines to eat. I love the wait staff, always very professional, and the food is amazing. I love the potabello fries... I could seriously just eat those and be the happiest girl in the world! Everything I have tried there has been very good. Soups, pizzas, pastas ( they make their own)...I highly recommend this as a great place to eat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect birthday dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

I had the halibut special, my companions had pizza, scallops, and chicken. Our food was delicious, our service was spectacular, and it was a great place to start off a night of celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration

Dined on May 4, 2016

We went for my girlfriend's birthday and we had a great time! The food was great and so were the staff! We will be back!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Bruschetta was unbelievable.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Bruschetta was unbelievable.

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Everything great...except dinner.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Appetizer great, . Service top notch. But, dinner left something to be desired. I had the Pork Chop Milanese and I could have made this at home. It literally had absolutely no flavor. Yes, I did ask for the chopped salad on the side, so maybe the dressing in it would have added more flavor, but the breading on the chop itself had nothing, literally nothing to taste. I added a bunch of parmesan f rom the table and it still did not help. The fettuccini side also had no flavor and did nothing to help. I was able to doctor up my leftovers at home the next day and that did help. My sister could not find any sauce on her Chicken Francese, and I felt bad because I recommended that after enjoying that in the past. The best part of the meal was definitely the Fried Ravioli and the Smore Brownie Dessert thingy we had? Our server was awesome, he knew we were not in a hurry and totally stayed back and let us enjoy our evening out with our dad. That was sooo appreciated. Never once did he make us feel rushed or that he was waiting for us to leave. I would go back for a sandwich , appetizer, or pizza. But, with the lack of flavor and price paid for entrees, I would not recommend those again.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Centro. One of our favorite places to go. The only thing I dislike about Centro is how you are seated so close to the next table especially in the booth seating areas. Otherwise the food, wine and service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top of the list experience

Dined on April 28, 2016

This is one of my absolute favorite places in downtown Des Moines. The food and wine never disappoint. The service is fantastic. We will continue to visit again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A great romantic dining experience!

Dined on April 27, 2016

My husband and I went to Centro for the first time to celebrate my birthday. It has a romantic ambiance and the food was very good. Our server was friendly and attentive. We will definitely return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was fine except the halibut.. ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Everything was fine except the halibut...super bland for $30.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good and the service was o ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was very good and the service was outstanding. The noise level in the center of the restaurant was loud but when asked to be moved, they accommodated us and it was much quieter on the other side of the restaurant. Good drinks and great selection.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a GREAT night!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Jessica was our wait person, and she was professional , friendly, and fun. My wife and I enjoyed the varied selections and the more than adequate wine list. I find that I am still remembering how much I enjoyed the pork chop! WOW! When passing through Des Moines again, we intend to make another stop to this outstanding restaurant!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.