About Centro Restaurant

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: 5152481780x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Caesar Dinner Salad
Portobello Fries With Truffle Aoli And Cajun Dipping Sauce
Tomato Basil Soup With Cheese Tortellini
Wild Mushroom Omelet With Portobello Fries
Hot Bread and Dipping EVOO
South West Tofu Scramble
Centro Breakfast
Bloody Mary
Crab Cake Benedict
Peach Tart With Vanilla Ice Cream
Gogonzola Burger
Grand Marnier Creme Brulee
Georges Favor Marshmallow Sunday
Fried Brussels Sprouts
stuffed french toast with mascarpone and strawberries
Portobello Mushroom Fries
fried egg sandwich
Moscow Mule
Heartbuster Or Something Like That
Centro Cut Ny Strip
Homemade Ricotta Gnocchi
Pizza Bianco
Pizza Margherita
Centro New York Strip

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
12 More
Best Ambiance
Iowa
Best Value
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Best Value
Des Moines
Fit for Foodies
Des Moines
Romantic
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

special occasion (168)
fit for foodies (122)
good for groups (107)
See All
romantic (91)
great for lunch (90)
hot spot (75)
neighborhood gem (67)
great for outdoor dining (65)
great for brunch (55)
notable wine list (51)
late-night find (20)
vibrant bar scene (19)
kid-friendly (14)
scenic view (11)
Sort By:
Newest
1270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome restaurant. Great food, beverage ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome restaurant. Great food, beverages and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am a professional Chef in the Ames Iow ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I am a professional Chef in the Ames Iowa area. This is my take of my recent trip to Centro;

Deep fried mushrooms were over done/had burnt overtones. Gnocchi was very heavy, un-scored and lacking sufficient sauce. The gnocchi at "Luca" in the East Village, Des Moines (and my own) are much lighter and more traditional in flavor, appearance and mouth feel. As this is marketed by Centro as an "in house" product, I would recommend a different recipe for the gnocchi. Table bread was fine but served room temp and lacked a proper crust. Fettuccine Alfredo had excellent flavor but was a bit dry. Margarita pizza was very good. House chianti was very good. The cappuccino I had for desert was stellar.

Atmosphere was impressive. One of the best in the metro. Linen tablecloths added to the level of sophistication of Centro but the white paper table top coverings screamed "we're cutting costs!" and seemed to call for a box of Crayolas. My wife and I were well dressed as were the vast majority of patrons. It was refreshing not to see any shorts or blue jeans. Service was decent and the staff were all very professional and accommodating. Overall the dining experience was fine but I would have to try it again before I could give Centro a strong recommendation. For Italian restaurants in Des Moines, I would definitely rank Centro in the top 5.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent in every way! Another great e ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent in every way! Another great experience at Centro.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

reviews noted for wine: server did not g ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

reviews noted for wine: server did not give me a wine list: what do you want? Pino

Gri or Cabernet? Food nothing special. creme brulee good. Noisy. Really Italian american, not Italian.

My recommendation: look for something more imaginative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The dessert is always fabulous! Excelle ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The dessert is always fabulous! Excellent waiter. He made great recommendations. Enjoyed the evening and the meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This has always been a favorite spot. Th ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This has always been a favorite spot. The server was friendly but not as attentive. I asked for a lemonade but never recieved. I took it as a sign that I didn't need one so I never asked again. Food was good as always but getting the check was a little slow. I'll still be returning.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

FYI It was a Thursday evening. We were w ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

FYI It was a Thursday evening. We were with good friends and in a mood to be pleased, but that didn't happen. The scallops were bland and "slick". The chicken proscuitto penne pasta contained no discernable proscuitto. The couple we were with didn't care for their entrees either. I'll continue to go to Centro occasionally for brunch, but defintely won't return for dinner. Also, the bathroom, which is shared with Starbucks, needed some attention.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Centro is consistent and makes for a gre ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Centro is consistent and makes for a great destination for guests.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Glad we made a reservation - the place w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Glad we made a reservation - the place was busy. Wonderful, tasty food that came with reasonable proportions. Pizza had a nice crisp crust and the pasta entrees were delightful and fresh. Sara was very much in tune to the pace we desired to eat and converse. She made wonderful suggestions for food pairings. Take the time to have the deserts they were delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place to meet friends and enjoy a g ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Nice place to meet friends and enjoy a good meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice place in downtown Des Moines. Goo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nice place in downtown Des Moines. Good selection, knowledgable server.

Doubt anyone would be disappointed; we enjoyed greatly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Centro is a great spot for a decent lunc ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Centro is a great spot for a decent lunch in downtown Des Moines. We had several pizzas. These are thin typical southside pizzas. Nothing really special, but they do use quality ingredients. The crust seemed bland to me compared to others in the area. Service was attentive. The iPads for wine lists were malfunctioning. Nothing like good old paper. The mixed drinks were good. Somehow Centro just seems to be very slowly declining in taste and quality. Call me picky, its still a good place, just not the top of its game it was ten years ago.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was wonderful! Service of our w ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was wonderful! Service of our waitress was top notch, and must I saw again food was soooooo good! My wife and I really enjoyed dinner!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant! I never go a week ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Love this restaurant! I never go a week without it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant with great food.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very nice restaurant with great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat outside on the patio on a cold July ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Sat outside on the patio on a cold July day. As Centro has infrared heating on the patio, the cool day was not an issue. Note: the patio is first come first serve and can not be reserved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always outstanding and the s ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food is always outstanding and the staff is very professional. WONDERFUL food, appetizer, and dessert menu!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Monday nights dine-in pizza is half pric ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Monday nights dine-in pizza is half price. We ordered a few delicious pizzas and had a cheap night out!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food...horrendous service! Alwa ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fabulous food...horrendous service! Always love this place, but our waiter totally forgot about us. We had to ask for the manager to help find our server. The manager took over and did a good job of recovering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Brunch was fine. However they had the pa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Brunch was fine. However they had the patio doors open and we spent most of our time shooing flies away from our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We loved the food! Even though the rest ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We loved the food! Even though the restaurant was full, the service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We chose a corner table on the east pati ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We chose a corner table on the east patio and had a delightful meal during the Des Moines Arts Festival. Try the house made limoncello after your meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently always one of Des Moines to ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Consistently always one of Des Moines top dining locations: menu, food, wine and service never fails!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and our group had a w ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was great and our group had a wonderful time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was pretty loud near is at first, but th ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Was pretty loud near is at first, but them was not so bad. They packed us close together; would have been nice to have a bit more space between us and the other couples. Food was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Love Centro! Food was exceptional Tuesd ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Love Centro! Food was exceptional Tuesday night. Service always good. The noise precludes me from being a more consistent customer. It is very noisy in the restaurant.

I usually love to sit in the bar at the tables. Love to look at the street traffic.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic! Our waiter went abov ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was fantastic! Our waiter went above and beyond for us. Overall, our experience was fantastic and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love visiting Centro! One of t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We always love visiting Centro! One of the best restaurants in Des Moines, with plenty of vegetarian/vegan options!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service was outstanding. Table ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. Tables a little to close together. Makes it I little noisy with your neighbors. Our waitress was outstanding. Will go back again!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It took almost a half an hour for our wa ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It took almost a half an hour for our waiter to take our order, even though he had given us water, opened our wine, and given us menus. We enjoy Centro, but the noise level is unbelievable. My husband said he could only hear the 2 people next to him. He couldn't hear a thing that our friend said from across the table.

We'll have to think again, before we go with more than 2 people in our group.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

portabello fries were unique and tasty. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

portabello fries were unique and tasty. service was great. noisy and not particularly romantic or intimate.

I hear to pork chop was great, the broccolichini was really doused in butter- the salmon was fine, nothing spectacular.

Cesar salad great, cheesecake delicious.

cocktails also great.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great place for our anniversary dinner. ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great place for our anniversary dinner. Had previous experience with loud atmosphere but it seemed much better with earlier reservation when it wasn't so busy. Server was attentive and service was fantastic. Food was great with plentiful portions

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorites!

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our third visit to Centro's and we loved it again. Celebrated our son's 21st birthday with our family and it was a great place to do it. The food---pasta, sandwiches, dinners---was all excellent, and the bloody mary bar is hard to beat! Service and atmosphere were also top notch. We'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server less than friendly

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Wanted to have a fun night out with friends, but found the server to be pushy and not friendly from the start. Never a smile or suggestions from the menu. The food was just okay. Our pizza was cold. My husband was served wine in a broken glass. We were never asked if we wanted another round of drinks. I might go back for the atmosphere, but would only sit in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyed Centro as we always do. It is d ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Enjoyed Centro as we always do. It is definitely are "Go to" place for any reason especially when we are dowtown.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice spot of a business dinner.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Nice spot of a business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and lovely

 
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Waitstaff is the best and one of the best filets I've had in quite a while. Impressive presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love Centro!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We dine here whenever we visit the area, and it is a treat every time. The short rib is delicious! And the service is top-shelf.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a pleasure

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Centro is our downtown "go to" for both casual as well as special occasion dinners. The restaurant can match both appetite and budget with items ranching from pizza and salad to unique entrees. Offerings are broad without being exceptionally adventurous, but always good.

We especially enjoy visiting Centro on Sunday evenings -- taking advantage of that last gasp of the weekend in a fun and lively atmosphere. The food is consistent and the service is good. Hard to ask for anything more.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Once again we absolutely loved our exper ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Once again we absolutely loved our experience at Centro. Everyone in our group had something different and every one of us said our meals were great. The service was quick and very friendly. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a delicious meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.