About Centro Restaurant

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: 5152481780x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tomato Basil Soup With Cheese Tortellini
Caesar Dinner Salad
Portobello Fries With Truffle Aoli And Cajun Dipping Sauce
Wild Mushroom Omelet With Portobello Fries
Hot Bread and Dipping EVOO
Centro Breakfast
South West Tofu Scramble
Bloody Mary
Crab Cake Benedict
Peach Tart With Vanilla Ice Cream
Gogonzola Burger
Grand Marnier Creme Brulee
Georges Favor Marshmallow Sunday
Fried Brussels Sprouts
stuffed french toast with mascarpone and strawberries
Moscow Mule
fried egg sandwich
Portobello Mushroom Fries
Heartbuster Or Something Like That
Pizza Bianco
Homemade Ricotta Gnocchi
Centro Cut Ny Strip
Pizza Margherita
Centro New York Strip

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
13 More
Best Ambiance
Iowa
Best Value
Iowa
Fit for Foodies
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Best Value
Des Moines
Fit for Foodies
Des Moines
Romantic
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

Special Occasion (127)
Fit for Foodies (95)
Romantic (89)
See All
Good for Groups (78)
Great for Lunch (68)
Hot Spot (61)
Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Notable Wine List (47)
Great for Brunch (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Business Meals (16)
Late-night Find (15)
Casual (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Scenic View (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Authentic (10)
Fun (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (4)
Historic (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One plate, a seemingly simple pizza with ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined 4 days ago

One plate, a seemingly simple pizza with red onion, went back to the kitchen with an undercooked crust. They took that, the appetizer and wine, off the bill, so yay them/us.

The egg pasta I had was the appropriate consistency and flavor, but did not conform to the shape and form of the name it was given on the menu.

Great service and staff and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Family Style, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Centro three times and w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have been to Centro three times and we have had a wonderful experience every time. We were visiting Des Moines and it was a great find, and we go back every time we are in town. The food is very good; as was the wonderful service. The wine list and drinks are spot on. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Air conditioning was broken and was plac ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Air conditioning was broken and was placed at the closest table to kitchen and cooks....not a comfortable experience but the food was excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

air conditioning system was not working. ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

air conditioning system was not working. Very hot inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Great food and service as always! On-lin ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great food and service as always! On-line reservation including table preference was a breeze.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the meals we ate were excelle ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

As always, the meals we ate were excellent. Great food, great location, great place to get business done.

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fun, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Wood Oven, Historic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pizza was quite blah. Needs to be up a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Pizza was quite blah. Needs to be up a bit. Crust tasted like I imagine cardboard to taste.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I dined at Centro for our an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I dined at Centro for our anniversary. The food was outstanding and the presentation was very good. Our server was very helpful, knowledgeable, attentive and very courteous. We enjoyed our dinner, our conversation and the ambiance. Reservations through Open Table made it easy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had awesome martini's pre-meal. Calamar ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Had awesome martini's pre-meal. Calamari was very tasty. Waitress did a great job recommending wine pairings with the meal. I had the double bone pork chop...soooooo good. My son had the filet and it was tender and juicy. Hadn't been here in a while and will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my girlfriend here to celebrate h ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I took my girlfriend here to celebrate her 20th birthday. We had a Sunday brunch and we loved it. The location is great and we had some great food along with great service. She got breakfast and I got lunch and both meals were fantastic. I would most definitely recommend this to anyone for any occasion.

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Casual, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 1st time to Centro - the Waitress / S ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My 1st time to Centro - the Waitress / Server was outstanding, along with the food, service and outdoor patio type setting. Made for a perfect evening for Me and my Guest from Louisville, KY. She was very impressed

I will be back numerous times in the future and look forward to their weekend brunch.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our sons was visiting from Louisv ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

One of our sons was visiting from Louisville. Centro is his favorite restaurants when he comes to town. He is always impressed with the beer selection as he is a bit of a " beer snob." Booked with Open Table and so glad I did because Wednesday night was a full house. Salads were fresh and attractive. Our entries ranged from pizza to the evening pasta special and a chicke, prosciutto pasta dish, all excellent

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Centro is great anytime. Food is amazing ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Centro is great anytime. Food is amazing and the staff always provides great service!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Found this restaurant on Open Table whil ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Found this restaurant on Open Table while visiting downtown Des Moines. Everything was awesome. The house made Lemoncello was a nice touch in the cocktail. We only had appetizers, salads and dessert. All the food was fantastic! The pancetta wrapped shrimp was so so good! George's marshmallow sundae - DELISH but share it with 4 people. Our server (Blake?) was excellent. We were at a fairly small table (my only complaint since it wasn't crazy busy) and she worked out the food delivery so we didn't feel crowded or rushed. Excellent choice for dinner - wish we had something similar in our city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Cavatelli was delicious but the tabl ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Cavatelli was delicious but the table was tiny. There wasn't enough room for bread and appetizers. Our bread came out late and then the rest of the food came out on time which didn't allow for enough room for everything. The Gnocchi was alright and the bread was good but honestly the olive oil with the bread was awful. It was like Biaggi's but Biaggi's has better olive oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Delicious food and memorable service. Ev ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Delicious food and memorable service. Everything was perfect, food, location and service in particular. Grazie, un vero posto 🇮🇹 italiano!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole experience was wonderful. Mary ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The whole experience was wonderful. Mary Beth was our server and she went over the specials and answered our questions to our satisfaction. The dessert was simple but delicious. We would recommend it very highly

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily one of our favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Easily one of our favorite restaurants in Des Moines. Food is always outstanding. Service is exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have gone to Centro for multiple occasio ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Have gone to Centro for multiple occasions/celebrations & ALWAY have a wonderful evening! Love the food & service! Will always recommend Centro to friends for a wonderful time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You really can't go wrong at Centro. We ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

You really can't go wrong at Centro. We had a very nice meal, great flavors and service. Menu is varied so you don't have to spend a ton, and you can bring your own wine.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was average, our placement in t ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our food was average, our placement in the restaurant inconvenient and the wait staff was inattentive.

This has not been our experience in the past, so we would still recommend Cents to others - just disappointed in our experience this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Enjoyed Sunday brunch here. Food came ou ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Enjoyed Sunday brunch here. Food came out promptly. My daughter's French toast with mascarpone was absolutely outstanding - I would ask for the syrup on the side . I tried the crab cake Benedict which was good but not great. We had attentive but not intrusive service, and were able to have great conversation. Would definitely come here again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in Des Moines for the weekend. W ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were in Des Moines for the weekend. We found Centro on Yelp and gave it a try. The restaurant is gorgeous and our service very good. What I like so much about Centro is that they don't try to "Americanize" their Italian by filling you with heavy bread or sauce. The bruschetta we got was essentially a plate full of tomatoes, onions, garlic, olive oil, and four slices of thin bread. While the bread was very nice, I loved that the focus was on the vegetables! So yummy. Then I got the gnocchi. Very spicy, gnocchi was flavorful and soft, but held together well. Everything came together, you could taste everything, nothing overwhelmed. Really lovely dish. Then we tried the crème brulee. They add espresso to the crème and put pure maple syrup on top - just enough not to be the tired old creme brulee you see everywhere now. Yummy. Would surely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are both lighter eaters so we shared ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We are both lighter eaters so we shared the Centro Crab Cake appetizer to start and they were amazing! Flaky, excellently blended, and aioli was delicious. We split Chicken Saltimbocca and the staff attention both plates was perfect, the dish was a foodgasm from first bite. The tenderness of the chicken and the slightly creamy marsala with mushroom sauce was heavenly! The cubed La Quercia was the perfect salt balance to the sweet marsala sauce.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great, authentic restaurant in th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

What a great, authentic restaurant in the heart of downtown Des Moines! Centro is one of the best dining experiences my wife and I have enjoyed anywhere! The menu and wine list is amazing, and you want to come back again and again!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Centro to taste their Restaur ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We came to Centro to taste their Restaurant Week menu and loved every bite! My boyfriend and I shared the tasting menus and a pizza while our friends had the double pork chop and chicken and prosciutto dishes. Everyone left filling full and very satisfied!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy for conversation. Food a far ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very noisy for conversation. Food a farm to table with expert preparation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We came here to celebrate my wife's birt ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We came here to celebrate my wife's birthday. And Centro did not let us down or fail us. We were greeted with a friendly smile, found our reservation, and taken to our table. Our waitress Blake Elisabeth, was this amazing, knowledgeable, attentive, energetic, apologetic (a computer glitch with order, manager was apologetic, and the place as PACKED) young lady. But they did it all to make it right for our dining experience the best it can be. An excellent cocktail was the Bellini-tini (a peach infused concoction). The CHICKEN FRANCESE (wife's dinner) and my CENTRO-CUT NY STRIP* were excellent choices. Two of the sides we had - BRUSCHETTA and the flourless chocolate torte with raspberry sauce were excellent as well. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, excellent. Attentive service ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As always, excellent. Attentive service--never obtrusive. The food is consistently good. Adequate wine list. A top restaurant in Des Moines and always happy to return for what I know will be a wonderful meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have a wonderful experience at Ce ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always have a wonderful experience at Centro and this time was no exception. Our waiter was attentive but not obnoxious and was very knowledgeable in the product. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there on a Sunday night because ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We went there on a Sunday night because we were in town for an event and it was recommended. The food was fantastic but we expected better service for the price and quality of the food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The appetizer and salads were great. How ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The appetizer and salads were great. However, our entree came before we were finished with our salads and was just plopped down in the middle of the table. It was not served by our wait person. We had ordered the Three cheese Medallions. The steak was overdone, the broccolini was cold, and it was to be served with Roman Gnocchi, but we received dry polenta. No explanation as to the change or asking us if we needed anything else. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food, good atmosphere and they list ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good food, good atmosphere and they listen to your requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The staff was polite and very fast and t ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The staff was polite and very fast and tentative. Would highly recommend Centro. The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my family who were visiting from ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I took my family who were visiting from NC and they just loved the place! Centro is one of my favorite places to eat downtown and perfect for out-of-town guests.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food was outstanding with go ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Service and food was outstanding with good vegetarian options

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant has quickly become a fav ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This restaurant has quickly become a favorite as my husband and I try to have a lunch date for just the two of us every couple of weeks. If there is a wait time, it's usually not very long and the food is extremely worth it! Reservations online were very easy to acquire through Centro's website and Open Table. Lunch menu staples are huge but very flavorful. I particularly enjoy the pasta and salad combo which is half the full plate size and the variety of choices make this option always wonderful when trying out new things. The wait staff are always friendly and attentive while also giving you space to converse and really enjoy your meal. We are and will continue to be return guests here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been passing Centro while on the b ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I had been passing Centro while on the bus for about 3 years now, I finally decided to try it out for lunch. I ordered the Tuesday special which is Chicken Parmesan with a Shirley Temple. Although I couldn't eat it all, the food was so delicious!! I would definitely go again and recommend this place to eat or have a drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love dining at Centro for dinn ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We always love dining at Centro for dinner, and were happy to discover that brunch is delicious here as well! I really appreciated the tofu scramble and other veggie brunch options, as finding vegan brunch in Des Moines has been a challenge.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Centro is consistently outstanding - nev ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Centro is consistently outstanding - never disappoints. Definitely an urban, upscale feel to the environment. Reminds of favorite NYC dining spots.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.