Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Centro Restaurant

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: (515) 248-1780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (87)
Special Occasion (79)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
See All
Romantic (63)
Business Meals (51)
Pre/post Theatre (50)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Wood Oven (42)
Worth the Drive (38)
Good for Groups (37)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Cozy (32)
Casual (29)
Fun (28)
Modern Decor (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Authentic (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Open Kitchen (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Sunday Lunch (18)
People Watching (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Healthy (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great Beer (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Historic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Vegan (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Had to ask for the specials and was not offered dessert. Otherwise food was excellent as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

Everyone should try the onion rings that come with chipotle ketchup! Our waiter, Steve, was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful patio, delicious food, and great service!

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a wonderful meal and the service was great. Not knowing that it was a evening only item, I ordered the delicious pork chop which the chef generously offered to prepare anyway. It was delicious as always and we will be back again. Kudos again to our service comma they were all awesome.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

We had Easter Sunday Brunch at Centro. Our scheduled time was noon, and we were met at the door and after checking in taken to our table. Our waitress was very helpful, providing great service. To start they had a fully stocked Bloody Mary Bar, and the food arrived, both of our meals tasted wonderful. Absolutely will return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Dining here for years and always bring my team along.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We enjoy having dinner at Centro on Sunday evenings we come to Des Moines to attend events at the Civic Center

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Never a letdown!! Staff and food five star every visit!!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is a great place to take people from out of town to show them that Des Moines is a little more cosmopolitan than the average person would expect. I love the atmosphere, and the wait staff is knowledgeable and helpful. Great location!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was amazing, but the waiter was very unenthusiastic. Only came to us about 3 times in a matter of 45 minutes. Never checked on us, and was almost rude when taking our orders.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food is always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Perfect friday night date. Crab cakes appetizer was delish. Waitress helped us find a wine to our liking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food and service. Easy to see why this place is one of Des Moines' best restaurants.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 7, 2017

As always, Centro delivered beautifully crafted and tasty dishes. We love going on nights we are in town for Civic Center events. We needed to up our reservation from 3 to 5 people and they were very accommodating. Love that you can get nice sandwiches, pizza or more elegant and special dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This was our first time at Centro. We loved it! The service was great. The food was DELICIOUS! They even kept our leftovers in their frig for us while we went to show at Temple Theater.

We will definitely visit this restaurant again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 4, 2017

My husband enjoyed the Kill Bill tenderloin. I usually love the bruschetta, but tonight's was overpowered by onions. Very little cheese. Not like it used to be. The server brought a different batch of bruschetta, which was better, but it took a while before she came over to check on us after the food was initially delivered. I'm hoping it was a fluke, but I'm nervous they've changed the ingredient ratio for good now.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Easily our favorite restaurant in Des Moines. The best!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very friendly and quick service. Our waitress was great. We were celebrating my son's birthday and she picked up on that fact. Enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great food as always! The chicken saltimbocca was excellent. Also be sure to try the tomato basil soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Outstanding food. All four of us loved what we ordered and raved about it to others. Great service. Wine selection is excellent as well. Loved dining here and then going to the Temple for the music series. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 30, 2017

That atmosphere was cozy and great for a date and the service was exceptional. I would recommend this for special occasions or if you would like to impress someone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Centro is a good go-to restaurant and never disappoints. The menu changes, but not too often. The fried brussels sprouts and portobello fries are must try items!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

A wonderful gen in the Des Moines restaurant scene! The service was a 10plus!! Did not feel rushed, coffee cup always filled and my "special order" didn't upset them!! The quality of the food is a great value for the dollar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Perfect from start to finish! Our server was attentive and present, but also thoughtful and patient as we took our time ordering.

Started with portobello fries, arrived quickly and were immensely delicious.

My mom got the Cobb Salad - fresh, bright and perfectly balanced. So large she had leftovers.

I ordered the fettuccine alfredo - rich but not oversalted, tasted every bit fresh. Also the grilled asparagus - bright green with plenty of snap and flavor!

Wine selection was delightful and everyone dining around us had a smile on their face. You simply cannot go wrong dining here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Lovely place. Great service and excellent food. Won't be disappointed!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was amazing! The Cavetelli and Chicken & Prosciutto Pastas were full of flavor. Steak Medallions were cooked to perfection. Our server was top notch and we didn't feel hurried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was very good. I enjoy having a place to sit and talk business over lunch downtown. I will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We went for brunch and it did not have a good brunch atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Centro is our favorite restaurant in Des Moines and we always make sure to go there when we're in town. We have never been disappointed in the food or the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It had been a while since we dined at Centro, and it was better than I remembered. To begin, the service was outstanding. We shared the mussels appetizer and they were able to make it without pancetta for me which was a plus! The broth was delicious. The salmon entree was incredible as well and we shared the smores sundae for dessert which did not disappoint. Good food, good wine, all around a great place for a date night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Centro never disappoints! Whether you are there for lunch or dinner the food is fabulous and it's one of the most asthetically pleasing places to dine in Des Moines!

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Historic, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Centro is our favorite restaurant in DSM and whenever we have a chance to have a date night or celebrate something special - we go there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent as always; food was perfect. We enjoyed the evening very much and
appreciated the great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Worth the premium for outstanding food and service - love this place for special occasions!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Part of our group arrived early. The staff said our table was ready and seated them. We ordered, ate and were headed to a show at the Temple. We had leftover food, but didn't want to take it to the show. Our waiter boxed it up and put in the refrigerator and we retrieved it after the show! Great customer service!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Very good food , excellent service, will come back soon.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was not good. Tasted like it had been cooked and held. The waitress didn't come back so we didn't tell her...very unsatisfactory!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Service is amazing and food is delicious. I've always had topnotch service when I dine at Centro. Martinis aren't the best I've had, but you can't be the happy hour prices on them.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great food, great service! Will definitely be back! Thank you!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.