Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Centro Restaurant

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: (515) 248-1780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Good for a Date (82)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
See All
Romantic (56)
Pre/post Theatre (51)
Business Meals (47)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Good for Groups (41)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Wood Oven (39)
Great for Lunch (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Casual (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Cozy (30)
Great for Brunch (26)
Fun (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Modern Decor (25)
Authentic (24)
Comfort Food (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Open Kitchen (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
People Watching (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Healthy (12)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great Beer (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Historic (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Seasonal (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Vegan (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1600 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Pizza & brussel sprouts were terrific! Salads very good. Disappointed w/burgers. Had to send salmon back. Asked for medium rare, came well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Food took an extremely long time. Manager came over to apologize for how long food was taking. When it finally showed up one dish was hot and all the rest of the meals were cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Went to dinner before the Neil Diamond concert. Had reservations and were seating immediately. Food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went for dinner before a concert next door. The food was exceptional and the wait staff was terrific -- attentive without hovering. Our waiter was able to answer our questions. Entrees (calzone and risotto) arrived piping hot and were just what we wanted.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Centro is good, not outstanding. The menu could use a little refresher as far as options. The ambience is nice, and the bread is very fresh. The service is usually very good and prompt.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Nice evening on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent food & service today!!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything was excellent, service, food, and atmosphere. Always our favorite. Only complaint, person seated at next table had on way too much perfume! Nothing restaurant could do about it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. Our waitress (Megan W) was moody and acted like she didn't want to be there. This is the first time this has happened to us. This slightly diminished our experience. The next time we come to Centro I will ask not to be placed in her section. Otherwise, a nice time.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We went to Centro to celebrate my son's graduation from college. It was a beautiful day so we enjoyed the outdoor dining. Our waitress was wonderful and everyone was attentive. We will be coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was my second visit here and both times have been just wonderful. Centro is a delicious dining experience with local fare and wonderful service. I would recommend this restaurant again and again.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing! Never dissapoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Sat on outdoor dining area, heated and lovely. Great experience! Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We went to Centro to celebrate my husband's birthday. Our group of six enjoyed wonderful food and excellent service. The complementary birthday dessert was big enough for all of us to enjoy a few bites! No singing or obnoxious calling attention to the birthday boy, which he appreciated greatly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Enjoyable adult atmosphere evening. Only complaint is being sat at such a small table for two that we didn't have room for dishes without feeling extremely crowded. The table was half booth and too close to others.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We had great service and an amazing meal. The pizza was crispy and flavorful and their pork chop was impressive. Would return the next time we're in Des Moines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Crntro's food was only topped by the wonderful service we had. Our server was really great with any request and conscious of our desires. We didn't feel rushed or overlooked.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service and food was excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

One of the best place in Downtown Des Moines, great cocktails, amazing food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I met my mom and sister there for my sister's birthday lunch and we had a delightful, delicious Sunday brunch. My sister loved the Bloody Mary bar and our waitress was so attentive and sweet. My take-home box was accidentally knocked on the floor by staff, and they made me a whole new entree to take home!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Was disappointed in quality of pork entree which was under cooked even though supposedly medium per chef recommendation. Busy night but delay between salads and entrees was a bit excessive. Nice friendly and knowledgeable waitress was a plus, however.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food and service here is always great! Love the atmosphere!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Had to ask for the specials and was not offered dessert. Otherwise food was excellent as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everyone should try the onion rings that come with chipotle ketchup! Our waiter, Steve, was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Beautiful patio, delicious food, and great service!

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and the service was great. Not knowing that it was a evening only item, I ordered the delicious pork chop which the chef generously offered to prepare anyway. It was delicious as always and we will be back again. Kudos again to our service comma they were all awesome.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter Sunday Brunch at Centro. Our scheduled time was noon, and we were met at the door and after checking in taken to our table. Our waitress was very helpful, providing great service. To start they had a fully stocked Bloody Mary Bar, and the food arrived, both of our meals tasted wonderful. Absolutely will return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Amazing food as always! Must try

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Dining here for years and always bring my team along.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We enjoy having dinner at Centro on Sunday evenings we come to Des Moines to attend events at the Civic Center

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Never a letdown!! Staff and food five star every visit!!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is a great place to take people from out of town to show them that Des Moines is a little more cosmopolitan than the average person would expect. I love the atmosphere, and the wait staff is knowledgeable and helpful. Great location!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was amazing, but the waiter was very unenthusiastic. Only came to us about 3 times in a matter of 45 minutes. Never checked on us, and was almost rude when taking our orders.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food is always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Perfect friday night date. Crab cakes appetizer was delish. Waitress helped us find a wine to our liking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food and service. Easy to see why this place is one of Des Moines' best restaurants.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 7, 2017

As always, Centro delivered beautifully crafted and tasty dishes. We love going on nights we are in town for Civic Center events. We needed to up our reservation from 3 to 5 people and they were very accommodating. Love that you can get nice sandwiches, pizza or more elegant and special dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This was our first time at Centro. We loved it! The service was great. The food was DELICIOUS! They even kept our leftovers in their frig for us while we went to show at Temple Theater.

We will definitely visit this restaurant again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 4, 2017

My husband enjoyed the Kill Bill tenderloin. I usually love the bruschetta, but tonight's was overpowered by onions. Very little cheese. Not like it used to be. The server brought a different batch of bruschetta, which was better, but it took a while before she came over to check on us after the food was initially delivered. I'm hoping it was a fluke, but I'm nervous they've changed the ingredient ratio for good now.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.