Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Centro Restaurant

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: (515) 248-1780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (70)
Special Occasion (64)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
See All
Business Meals (45)
Romantic (41)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Worth the Drive (35)
Good for Groups (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Casual (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Authentic (27)
Fun (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Comfort Food (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
People Watching (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great Beer (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Took some colleagues from China. We all travel the global be and were highly impressed. Server was attentive and engaging. Salmon outstanding. Great food and better service !!!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were phenomenal, only negative comment I could possibly mention was a flickering light. It persisted through our hour and a half meal going from extremely bright to extremely dark, leaving you with somewhat of a headache.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was tasty and service was good. Our server was very attentive and the food arrived quickly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

In town for business and found Centro at top of ratings list. Great atmosphere and service. The table started with Brussels sprouts, which were phanominal. We had the wood grilled salmon, steak salad, spicy sausage rigatoni, and ghonchi - all hits! The steak was slightly overcooked for an ask of medium. Wine and food were affordable, and we left happy customers!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Calzone was delicious. Mushrooms are amazing and servers are the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Healthy, Business Meals, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was delicious as always. Highly recommend the specialty pizzas

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food as always and wonderful service. Our favorite place to dine. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My food was dry, didn't taste good at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always enjoy the food, service and ambience at Centro!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 4, 2017

No matter what always get a pizza!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Seating felt close. Could have used a little more privacy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our daughter occasionally returns to Des Moines, and we asked where she wanted to do Sunday brunch. "Centro" was her enthusiastic response. Marvelous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The herb crusted steak was amazing! Very good service and great ambiance, we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Waitress was very good. Sat outside and was very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food, atmosphere, and service were all great. Elizabeth did a wonderful job as our server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food. Bloody Mary bar was amazing. Bread was some of the best I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Disappointed in the service and the good. Was told repeatedly that it was "Restaurant Week" and that's why the service was so slow. We saw our server inconsistently, and mainly just to take our order and to apologize for the delay in our food. We ordered the calamari which was a huge portion, but was extremely greasy and not seasoned at all. We also ordered a small pizza and the herb crusted beef tenderloin. The pizza was good, but came out after the pizza from a group that was seated 20 minutes after. The tenderloin was good, not great. Not sure if it was worth $37.

Will probably be a while before we try it again. Would probably order a pizza for carry out though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at Centro. Classic Italian menu. Top notch service. Very nice room. Food was outstanding. Great wine list. We will make this a regular spot during our visits to Des Moines!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Celebrated my birthday in town and my brother recommended we eat at Centro. Im so glad he did. It was exceptional. Our waitress was great and recommended the chicken saltimbocca dish, which I ordered and absolutely loved! My husband got a pizza which was great too. They have an awesome specialty cocktail list to choose from and the atmosphere was really nice too. Overall, everyone loved this place and we would defiantely go back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Had a gift certificate and used it to celebrate my husband's 55th birthday. Reservations were easy. Wait staff was very attentive. Food arrived quickly and was tasty and hot. Excellent cocktails. All around wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our second time in --now for my daughter's 15th birthday and still awesome. If you are in Des Moines this restaurant is a must. Bonus--open Sundays.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Centro has for many years been a favorite with me...but Sunday was not a great experience. I made a reservation to bring cousins visiting from California for lunch. It could have just been an off day or ?. But the noise level was unusually high, and the food not up to par. ...tomato bisque soup was left un touched, blt bacon billed Niman Ranch was soggy, tomatoes anemic looking....we didn't order anything difficult or complicated....and all four of us were very disappointed...server didn't show up to ask how anything was, so.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were visiting our son in college and took him out for dinner. The food and atmosphere were wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our server did fine at the beginning . But when it was time to pay, he left the bill, but didn't come back. We caught his attention, he said he had to attend to another table first. But then he just stood against the wall. We waited over 15 minutes. We finally took the bill to the front and she took care of it. Never saw him again. Very very odd. A first ever. Food was excellent .

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I always enjoy dining at Centro!! Service is always great, food is exceptional, and drinks are my favorite. I recommend this place to everyone! I go here with my closet friends and my husband for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We enjoyed the patio with our 3 children. The children's portions are huge so we have leftovers for days. We love the Centro pizza and sangria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Our table of 7 experienced excellent service from a very helpful server with great recommendations for dinner and dessert. The caprese salad with locally grown tomatoes was ambrosia! The carbonara dish was a hit and well as the thin crust pizza. Our peach sangrias were perfection to start the evening. A wonderful birthday celebration!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Centro has been our go to for birthdays and anniversarys but this last visit may be it for us. In the good ol days outdoor seating was reserved for intimate dining but things have changed. When we arrived we were seated next to a 10 person after work social that was VERY loud and totally over stayed their welcome. In addition there was a lovely long black hair wrapped snugly in with our bread (I pulled it out before my husband noticed!) The furniture and plates are tired and the menu continues to down grade. It's been fun Centro but we are moving on...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Tasty, novel preparations. Homemade pasta and gnocchi were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I'm not from Des Moines, but I heard great things about Centro. The service and ambiance were outstanding. Unfortunately the food didn't meet our expectations. My wife's sea bass was overcooked to the point where it was tough. My tofu gnocchi was good, but greens and veggies with it had a very strong raw garlic taste. Had the garlic been cooked, it would have been a good dish but it wasn't prepared well. Our kids liked their grilled cheese and ravioli.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food and ambiance were great as always. The service was good but we have had outstanding, very attentive service on previous visits and this occasion did not quite live up to previous dining experiences at Centro. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great outdoor patio lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This is one of top two favorites in Des Moines. The atmosphere is great, the staff always knocks it out of the park and we've never had a bad meal there. Worth the trip!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I drove two hours to eat here for my birthday with my girlfriends. I loved it! Clean, roomy restaurant with pop and old ad styled art on the walls. Old, classical music played low in the background, which I love. The food and service was amazing in taste and quality. And I was pleasnantly surprised to find my total to be just over 20 dollars for bread, an entre and salad, drink, and dessert! 10/10. I would actually move to Des Moines just so this was closer to me. My new favorite restaurant. I've already recommended to all of my friends and family.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Our waitress, Katie, was knowledgeable and helpful and provided excellent service. The atmosphere is outstanding and the food delicious. I would go there anytime.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 22, 2017

A regular destination with great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 22, 2017

GREAT brunch menu - kids included! My three-year-old and I met my parents for a weekend brunch and could not have been more impressed by the food and service. The meals were generous, yet so delicious, no leftovers were to be had. HIGHLY recommend and we will be visiting again soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

A great restaurant, great food! Their service is impeccable and they accommodate special requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food tasted great though the portions were too large. Plate presentation amazing, service was spectacular and waitress was totally attuned to our needs giving us refills and asking questions we had about particular dishes. It was my wife's birthday and she got her dessert for free. We will be back as this was our first visit to Centro. It was a little loud inside but we could still hear our own conversation. Complimentary oil and bread was amazing. I ordered the calamari and side Greek salad. Wife order the cheese ravioli and a side Centro salad. Lemon aoli and marinara were to die for. We had the creme brulee for dessert. I wished the breading on the calamari had some seasoning on it. It was easily the best Greek salad I've ever had. Biscotti served with the creme tasted great.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.