Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Centro Restaurant

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: (515) 248-1780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (75)
Special Occasion (73)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (48)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Business Meals (44)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Romantic (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Good for Groups (38)
Casual (37)
Fun (36)
Great for Lunch (35)
Worth the Drive (33)
Authentic (28)
Hot Spot (28)
Local Ingredients (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Comfort Food (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
People Watching (20)
Cozy (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Wood Oven (16)
Happy Hour (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Great Beer (11)
Healthy (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Seasonal (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Historic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Tapas (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1638 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

Probably our favorite restaurant in Des Moines ! Everything works just like a well oiled machine ! Love the bruschetta!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious and we had a great server, who allowed us to "make a night of it." We arrived at 5:45, after making a reservation. We were able to take our time, starting with a drink, then appetizer and later dinner. The server was attentive, but not intrusive. We sat on the patio, where it is much quieter than inside. It was hot outside, but the eastern patio was shady, much cooler and breezy. Great for conversation and a meet-up with a friend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was excellent. I had the handmade cavatelli and it was delicious. My husband was amazed when I ate the entire serving. Centro is one of our favorite DesMoines restaurants. Wine choices are nice as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Everyone loves Centro! Generous portions of great food! Rest assured whatever you order will be delicious!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great restaurant in Des Moines! We were traveling and definitely was on of our favorites! Highly recommend. Service was top notch!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The seasoning on the Greek salad that I had was very flavorful. The greens and other ingredients were fresh. I hadn't eaten here for a while and had forgotten had incredibly good that it is!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We've enjoyed Centro many times. Unfortunately, this time the food was very disappointing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The waiter was very helpful in answering the multitude of questions we had. He made sure we enjoyed the food and had beverages, but wasn't overly interruptive. It was a large crowd because of 80-35 music festival. The ambiance wasn't noisy and it didn't feel crowded. Our pizza came out within 20 minutes of sitting down. Overall we got out of the restaurant just 45 mins after we arrived.

We booked a reservation in advance (free), which helped with seating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, People Watching, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great reliable place for quality Italian food. Deep wine list with some great hidden values. Fried calamari was tender and light. Simple cheese pizza as an app was easy to eat. Had the pasta special w squab and rainbow chard. Very nice surprise.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a great visit to Centro. Have been there before and always have had great meals.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Best pizza since Italy!
Terrific service
Very nice outdoor patio for a busy street corner
Portobello fries were excellent
Tomato bisque with cheese filled pasta absolutely delish!
Flank steak with Gorgonzola... lovely
Can't wait to go back
LOVE this place❣️
Wish they had one in Houston.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Gathered for a birthday dinner. My daughter is vegan and she found 1 meal with tofu that she enjoyed but few other options. My daughter in law was seeking high protein with low sugar and found a few good choices. People have a variety of food needs and preferences and we found our waiter to be very flexible and helpful as we inquired what options there were for our special needs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Good food overall but has an open kitchen concept. This leaves the people sitting near the "kitchen" with a constant noise to have to talk over. Other than that the restaurant is a great place for a date and the service was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was a lovely special occasion dinner; food was fantastic and we had a very nice bottle of
Italian wine. Our thanks to the courteous staff and waitress.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Best restaurant in town. Easily our favorite place for a date, night out, friends in town, business recruiting event, etc... Great appetizers, pizza, entrees, drink selection, service, and value.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The half pasta/half salad lunch combo with Caesar salad and cavatelli was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Love Centro.. Food is consistently good ! Ambience is great...I dine there often.
Love the patio.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Centro never disappoints! Brunch, lunch or dinner. Always a great meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great overall experience, service was great. Food was real good except my halibut special was a bit over cooked and dry. I never made a big deal to the server. It tasted great just a little dry. Wine selection is very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was good and the service. The place is very nice. It is pricey and it was cold in there. Bring a light jacket.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Centro never fails to amaze me with their food and service. I usually get the wood fire pizzas (AMAZING) but this time I got the steak salad which was just as good!! Their table bread (foccacia) is the best, you won't be able to stop. Not to mention the great wait staff, staff to take plates/fill drinks, and if you have a reservation you are sure to be seated quickly. Would reccomend 10/10.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Dining room was cold and breezy, in addition to being seated next to a couple that found it appropriate to bring a 1 year old to a restaurant like this, who needless to say, which was not the toddler's fault, screamed and cried throughout the dinner. The combination of the temperature and the seating led to a meal we couldn't wait to leave from. Wine pour could be a little more generous, and I found the craft beer menu and offering not up to par and hard to understand. Food was good, as always, and waiter was attentive, just will be more selective when being seated next time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Waitress found a special checks i.e. To help provide comfort to my sister, who was in our party of 5. She was perfect in attentiveness and professionalism. She read the people at our table well. Great experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Bite me. Don't pester me with these surveys. Don't send me anything else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This was a our first time there and was for our 20th anniversary, and thought it might be special since it gets good reviews. While the food was okay, it was not worth the extra cost over other italian places.

We explained it was our first time, and the waitress just said okay, do you know what you want. We never really felt that welcomed, even though the waiters were all just standing there with nothing to do since the place was dead.

All in all, we would go if somebody else was going and we went with, but it is definitely not on our list of places we need to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food as always was great...one of the better restaurants in the state. Service was mediocre....it was the end of the night so maybe she was just tired, but for $30+ plates it could be better.

A note for OpenTable: Centro still called me to "confirm" my reservation. What is the point of reserving online if the restaurant will still call to confirm? I'll just call instead of "confirming" online next time...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food as usual was outstanding, what really set the dinning apart was our server Chris. Chris provided amazing service while never feeling rushed or pushed. When we ask for menu choices he gave solid advice not just the most expensive meals on rhe menu. Overall it was FANTASTIC!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was very slow in getting our orders taken. We did receive our drinks, but not very quickly. We finally got our order taken, but it seemed to take a looooong time to receive the food. Tables on either side of us sat down well after we did, but were eating their entrees well before we received ours. Also, it was extremely cold and uncomfortable where we sat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Everything tasted as though it had been prepared yesterday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is a great spot for a date or special occasion. Great food and wonderful service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We were spending a few days in the area playing golf and our two friends had never been to Centro. They were impressed and all four of us enjoyed our food.

We felt the service at our table was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Can't beat it. Consistency every single time!! The chef has his inspirations menu that is so creative and things on there you can't find in Des Moines. Service and staff are awesome and always at the top of their game. Whole different experience when dining at Centro.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food, Great service, Great ambience

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Pizza & brussel sprouts were terrific! Salads very good. Disappointed w/burgers. Had to send salmon back. Asked for medium rare, came well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food was beyond excellent, staff was very friendly. Early reservations are best (before 6pm) as it did start to get busy later in the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food took an extremely long time. Manager came over to apologize for how long food was taking. When it finally showed up one dish was hot and all the rest of the meals were cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Went to dinner before the Neil Diamond concert. Had reservations and were seating immediately. Food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went for dinner before a concert next door. The food was exceptional and the wait staff was terrific -- attentive without hovering. Our waiter was able to answer our questions. Entrees (calzone and risotto) arrived piping hot and were just what we wanted.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Maaannn this place was banging !!! Highly recommend the steak centro. Comes with mashed potatoes and all of that... but the complimentary bread is fire !!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.