Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Centro Restaurant

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: (515) 248-1780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (59)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
See All
Business Meals (44)
Romantic (42)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Worth the Drive (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Groups (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Comfort Food (20)
Fun (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Casual (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Great for Brunch (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Authentic (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Tasting Menu (11)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (9)
People Watching (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1751 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed a good meal prior to going to a show a the DMPA. The waiter was very helpful with our order selection and explained the menu. Food arrived in a timely fashion and coffee was refilled without prompting. We had a wonderful time at Centro.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My calamari was stuck together in a big clump of raw batter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was AMAZING but service was lacking some. It was the middle of lunch rush so a small wait for the waitress to come back is understandable but I sat with an empty plate in front of me for at least 10 minutes and then had to ask for a dessert menu instead of it being offered. Also the sauce I requested on the side did not come that way but the delivering employee was more then happy to get it fixed. Our waitress was never even aware of the issue when she returned to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Our first time here. DId not like the I-pad drink list. Service was good. Started with the pancetta wrapped shrimp, tomato basil soup and centro salad. Soup was very good as that is what a lot of people reccomend. Our main entrees were the wood fired salmon with broccolini and fingerling potatoes and the two bone pork chop with asparagus and fingerling potatoes. We were told that the pork chop was cooked to medium as standard but ours came out more medium rare but that was ok. Both entrees were very good. Dessert was the budino; a pistachio pudding. We will be back as there were more things that we would love to try. This could be our new place to try. Our bill before tip was around $120.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Everything was wonderful as usual except for a hiccup in service by the waitress. Upon arrival I asked about the martini special that ended at six. Our waitress said she would see if it was still applicable, stating that it was dependent on the time showing at the register. So rather than take our order and check, she stopped at two tables on her way to the bar. When she returned it was 6:00 and she stated that the offer window had passed. Ok.

I had the lamb pasta that included some of the widest flat noodles I’ve ever had and it was delicious. My date had the two medallions of beef and it was equally good. We finished up with the flourless cake that was truly decadent.

All in all another wonderful experience at Centro!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We usually love Centro. The food has always been delicious and the service is outstanding. However, this time things were a little off. The food was cold and after being warmed up for us only tasted ok. Passing it off as a bad day. We’ll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

The food and atmosphere were awesome! The service could have been handled a little better even though it was busy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

The overall experience that we had was amazing! The food was great and our waitress was so pleasant. The only thing that I was not impressed with was the family sitting next to us. With the vibe the restaurant gives, this isn't really the place for kids. The obnoxious noises is the only thing I have a complaint about! We will definitley visit again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We dine here a few times a year. Excellent food, and a solid selection of wines with staff who can assist with recommendations. House-made pastas and a large variety of pizzas. Can be very busy so get a reservation.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Very disappointing. The home made cavatelli was almost raw. It was swimming is a greasy bland sauce. I specifically asked if the coffee was fresh before ordering. It arrived room temperature. The restaurant space is beautifully decorated and very spacious. It's a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

We went to Centro Friday 12/1 for our anniversary. We decided to choose a restaurant that we both hadn’t been to before. We were impressed by the menu online and decided to give it a shot. We arrived early for our reservation and were sat right away (definitely weren’t expecting to be sat so soon since we knew we were almost a half hour early). Our waitress was very friendly and attentive. The food was amazing (can we talk about how good the free bread is?!) and our waitress gave us a complimentary dessert for our anniversary which topped off an already awesome experience. 10/10 would recommend! We will definitely be coming back! (:

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2017

I always look at the daily specials. Some really creative, seasonal creations!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 29, 2017

The meal was very good and the location is right next to the Temple Theater. Open table reservation app works great

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

We were a party of 4 women, 2 of whom had never been to Centro. Everyone enjoyed the short time we chose to spend in the bar before our dinner reservation . Busy and friendly servers at reception desk, bar and restaurant. Just the right amount of attention and service from everyone. Food was great after a day of shopping and pre theater. Absolutely will be back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Great service and fantastic pork chop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Centro hosted my 30th Birthday Dinner. Was the first recommendation from all family and friends in the Des Moines area and it didn't disappoint. Would go back for any occasion when I can get a reservation! Would recommend this restaurant to anyone celebrating an event or just a nice night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Great food, steak centro!
Tasty martinis!
We had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

30 year anniversary. ❤️❤️❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

Not a great dining experience. Sat at a table near the kitchen and had to listen to a gentleman (manager) complain to his staff the entire dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

Upon arrival you are pleasantly greeted and our reservations were easily made. It is like walking into a charming neighborhood place. We were promptly greeted by our server and received excellent friendly service. The appetizers and main entrees were wonderful, while I just had to have the sausage and rigatoni dish we will go back so I can have the steak. The menu has a great variety and is well put together. The iced tea my wife said was fresh and tasty.
We went to Centro to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and believe we have find our new traditional dining place. Thank you for making me look like a hero to my wife.
Kevin

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Our waitress was especially knowledgeable about the wine list and made excellent recommendations the were just right for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Always a very good meal. Wasn’t crazy about the pizza but then that is such an individual preference. Frequent the place and will continue......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 18, 2017

What a fantastic start to our evening. We stopped by before the Symphony on a Saturday night, and we're seated promptly at a great table in the center of the restaurant. Our server Kristi was the perfect balance of helpful, attentive, and not over bearing. Her menu knowledge was impressive and she guided us through the specials menu like a pro. Thank you Centro and Kristi for a great Evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Hadn’t been to Centro for dinner in quite a while and we had a fantastic meal. Our reservation was ready for us when we arrived and we experienced great service with a packed house!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

I was in town on biz and found it on a restaurant search and liked the reviews…went 2 nights in a row. 1st night by myself, second night w 2 friends. Can honestly say that the experience was great from start to finish. Great food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Visiting from out of town with family, had a fantastic Ribeye and a few bottles of wine to go with it 👌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Wait staff was very good! A bit noisy... but that is my only complaint.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 14, 2017

The food and service rarely disappoints and this visit was no exception

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

The dining experience was fantastic. We hosted our nephew and his friend to help us celebrate our anniversary and we had a appetizer, bottle of wine, our main entrees and deserts. All prepared to high standard and presentation. We spent a long time visiting and eating with everyone feeling very satisfied when it was time to leave.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 9, 2017

When I have the opportunity to dine at Centro, I always look for to the fabulous food & wine! The service as always top notch too. Thx Monica

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Food is good but portions are too large. Wish there was a pasta option without meat. Nice ambiance. Excellent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Went for my wifes birthday. the food was good. I had steak and eggs . The filet was prepared perfect. Good onion rings. We had pasta dish that was fresh and tasty. Good sandwhich menu,

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

I have a group of friends that like to eat at Centro's before a performance at the Civic Center. We have always enjoyed the food but this past Saturday, Nov. 4, 12:30 pm, one of my friends was not happy with her salad. I'm not sure what she had. The rest of us were very happy with our meals. That's the first time that has happened. Our service was very good because we told her we were going to the performance and she was very quick with her service and accommodated our requests. We really appreciated her service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Good food, great Bloody Mary bar, tremendous service and a hum that allows you to settle in for a fun experience.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Let's put it this way. We were in town for 2 days and ate there 3 times. Great food. Great people. What more do you need?!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Sound is loud and brash; difficult to carryon private conversation

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2017

The special pasta was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 1, 2017

This is a favorite for special occasions (private and business). The food is always great and recommend making reservations as it's always very busy. I know the ambiance calls for dimmed lighting, but it's difficult to read the menu - a little too dark. Not the most intimate because it's very busy and gets noisy quickly - seating not conducive for romantic meals. Great staff and fairly quick service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

Great food, good atmosphere. We went for a date night and weren't disappointed! Food is absolutely worth the price. Good choices for vegetarians too...try the tofu gnocchi!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.