About Centro Restaurant

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: 5152481780x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
11 More
Best Value
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Best Value
Des Moines
Fit for Foodies
Des Moines
Romantic
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

special occasion (178)
fit for foodies (141)
good for groups (126)
See All
great for lunch (119)
romantic (106)
hot spot (99)
neighborhood gem (80)
notable wine list (69)
great for brunch (65)
great for outdoor dining (53)
late-night find (31)
vibrant bar scene (23)
kid-friendly (19)
scenic view (17)
Sort By:
Newest
1228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Great Meal

Dined 3 days ago

Every time we go there I always try something new and so far I have yet to find something that I don't instantly love. Great date night spot and/or family supper. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time there, food was good not grea ...

Dined 6 days ago

First time there, food was good not great. Service was quite good, attentive and not over bearing. Desert menu, didn't have the brownie Sunday available even though on menu and we were there early in dinner run- 6:15 reservation. Food arrived quickly and looked very nice.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant! We were in town f ...

Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic restaurant! We were in town for a concert and wanted to try something local to Des Moines and came across Centro (pronounced "CHEN-tro"). My husband had the pork chop - huge portion, cooked perfect and the wine/sauce was complimentary. His plate was artfully garnished with asparagus and new potatoes. I had the sausage and homemade cavatelli noodles - delish! The service was great, drinks were nice and just an overall great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great dinner on the patio!!!!

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great dinner on the patio!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There is not a bad find on the menu, and ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

There is not a bad find on the menu, and their list of special cocktails is so extensive, it took me at least 10 minutes to decide which martini I wanted to try. The Fiore de Pera is excellent, but the Banana Nut Bread martini is absolutely divine. My husband had one of the specials -- spinach and mushroom stuffed ravioli. I had the halibut. Both were fantastic. The fish was prepared perfectly, and set on a bed of small pasta beads, with side salad containing pistachios and grapefruit segments. Very unique flavor combinations, and simply an exquisite dining experience for our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and environment, I loved ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent food and environment, I loved the freshness and quality of the food, and would highly recommend. My only suggestions are 1. a wider variety of wines and 2. friendlier wait staff

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!

Dined on May 10, 2016

We booked our group lunch through Open Table a week prior. The customer service was excellent prior, appetizers were as expected, food was delicious our server was amazing, and she even split our desserts to share as a large group. Thanks Centro!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service,food was wonderful. No waiting f ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Service,food was wonderful. No waiting for a table. Waitress was attentive, not over bearing. She was very accomidating to our wishes. Great place

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Must go type of place!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Centro Restaurant was wonderful! From when you walked into the place up to the end. The food was fresh and flavorful and our server was knowledgeable and polite. I will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there for Mother's Day brunch and the ambiance and service were great. Food was okay.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Centro!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dining at Centro is always a pleasant experience. From the food to the atmosphere top notch all around! This is where my wife wanted to go for Mother's Day! I highly recommend Centro.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Only for special occasions

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great ambiance and excellent service. The food was good, but not amazing. You are paying for the experience, not the amount nor quality of the food. It is expensive for what you get

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Centro=yum

Dined on May 7, 2016

Probably my favorite place in Des Moines to eat. I love the wait staff, always very professional, and the food is amazing. I love the potabello fries... I could seriously just eat those and be the happiest girl in the world! Everything I have tried there has been very good. Soups, pizzas, pastas ( they make their own)...I highly recommend this as a great place to eat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect birthday dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

I had the halibut special, my companions had pizza, scallops, and chicken. Our food was delicious, our service was spectacular, and it was a great place to start off a night of celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration

Dined on May 4, 2016

We went for my girlfriend's birthday and we had a great time! The food was great and so were the staff! We will be back!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Bruschetta was unbelievable.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Bruschetta was unbelievable.

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Everything great...except dinner.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Appetizer great, . Service top notch. But, dinner left something to be desired. I had the Pork Chop Milanese and I could have made this at home. It literally had absolutely no flavor. Yes, I did ask for the chopped salad on the side, so maybe the dressing in it would have added more flavor, but the breading on the chop itself had nothing, literally nothing to taste. I added a bunch of parmesan f rom the table and it still did not help. The fettuccini side also had no flavor and did nothing to help. I was able to doctor up my leftovers at home the next day and that did help. My sister could not find any sauce on her Chicken Francese, and I felt bad because I recommended that after enjoying that in the past. The best part of the meal was definitely the Fried Ravioli and the Smore Brownie Dessert thingy we had? Our server was awesome, he knew we were not in a hurry and totally stayed back and let us enjoy our evening out with our dad. That was sooo appreciated. Never once did he make us feel rushed or that he was waiting for us to leave. I would go back for a sandwich , appetizer, or pizza. But, with the lack of flavor and price paid for entrees, I would not recommend those again.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Centro. One of our favorite places to go. The only thing I dislike about Centro is how you are seated so close to the next table especially in the booth seating areas. Otherwise the food, wine and service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top of the list experience

Dined on April 28, 2016

This is one of my absolute favorite places in downtown Des Moines. The food and wine never disappoint. The service is fantastic. We will continue to visit again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A great romantic dining experience!

Dined on April 27, 2016

My husband and I went to Centro for the first time to celebrate my birthday. It has a romantic ambiance and the food was very good. Our server was friendly and attentive. We will definitely return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was fine except the halibut.. ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Everything was fine except the halibut...super bland for $30.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good and the service was o ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was very good and the service was outstanding. The noise level in the center of the restaurant was loud but when asked to be moved, they accommodated us and it was much quieter on the other side of the restaurant. Good drinks and great selection.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a GREAT night!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Jessica was our wait person, and she was professional , friendly, and fun. My wife and I enjoyed the varied selections and the more than adequate wine list. I find that I am still remembering how much I enjoyed the pork chop! WOW! When passing through Des Moines again, we intend to make another stop to this outstanding restaurant!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Mom's 70th

Dined on April 22, 2016

I was very impressed with the follow up for our reservation to Centro's. I got email reminders and a confirmation phone call to ensure we were coming and that they were expecting us. It put my mind at ease that our special dinner for my mom's 70th would get us seated quickly as we had a concert at 7:00 to attend that evening as well. Centro's did not disappoint! The entire evening ran smoothly and even with a 2 year old in tow, things were right on time and tasted SO SO good. Thanks Centro, for helping my mom feel special and giving us a great time as a family!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Yorker Approved

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were visiting Des Moines from NYC, performing at the Temple Theatre next door to Centro and we ate almost every meal at Centro. As a true NY foodie (I read the restaurant reviews first in every issue of the NYer) Centro passes the test! Great food, great service, great wine. I will be going back if ever I am in Iowa again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Mediocre

Dined on April 17, 2016

This is one of the top-rated restaurants in Des Moines. This says a lot about the current food scene in Des Moines. A traveler needs to lower one's expectations. The food is edible and uninspired.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This place is perfect for date night as ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

This place is perfect for date night as long as you don't mind a bit of noise. I enjoyed the Ricotta Gnocchi and it was delightful but a bit on the spicy side. My date adored the Steak Centro with mashed potatoes and asparagus. Our waitress always made sure we had everything we needed, but wasn't nosy and our glasses were kept full. The only negative is that it was difficult to hear what my date was saying because of the noise and that got frustrating at times. Overall a fantastic dining experience!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, Dependable Friday Night!

Dined on April 15, 2016

As always, the food was exceptional, the staff was kind, efficient, and knowledgeable, and beverage selection thoughtful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Meal!!

Dined on April 10, 2016

As we just moved to Des Moines, this was our first trip to Centro. I heard really great things about it and it truly lived up to my high expectations. Everyone had a great meal and a wonderful time. I'd highly recommend it.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice evening. Always a great experi ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Very nice evening. Always a great experience at Centro!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good, but not great

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was good, but not excellent. It was too loud for casual conversation. The service was excellent, except that out waiter was overloaded and it took a little while to order our food. Overall, it was good and I would recommend this place. Pricing was right for the atmosphere and service, but considering the above, I felt like we overpaid bit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome experience

Dined on April 5, 2016

We ate there for our 1st wedding anniversary. The only thing that didn't work out perfect was that our server forgot to bring out bread. Food was great, portions were of good size and taste amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Husband's First Visit

Dined on April 2, 2016

I have been to Centro many times for lunch and a few for dinner. It was my husband's first visit. We started our meal with cocktails, a Cosmo for me and a Manhattan for my husband. Both did not disappoint. We partnered our cocktails with fried calamari which was served with a horseradish and red marinara sauce. Excellent. Large pieces, delicate breading and tender. Our entrees were the smoked salmon and my husband chose a steak. both were partnered with fresh vegetables. We enjoyed plenty of bread served with fresh pepper, olive oil and cheese. Alas, after a scrumptiously filling meal, no room for dessert. My husband was not disappointed and we would go back for a nice dressed up date another time. The only downside to Centro is the noise.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend the pork chop.

Dined on March 30, 2016

Highly recommend the pork chop.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Just what we needed

Dined on March 30, 2016

We needed to celebrate a new beginning after a grueling 2 years for our family. Since the 3 kids' birthdays are within a month of each other, we thought we could celebrate this as well. The adults were looking forward to the pizza margarita. Kelcey was so warm and engaging with all of us! the kids were impressed with all things Centro and my 6 year old declared it "infinity thumbs up". Her thumbs may be small, but I tell ya, they carry a lot of pull! The rest of us concurred. A wonderful night :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First Time Experience

Dined on March 26, 2016

This was my first time coming to Centro. Lacey, our waitress was fantastic! My 93 year old parents asked for a couple of dishes not listed on the menu and that staff accommodated them extremely well with a dish of Spaghetti and Meat ball and Chicken Parmesan. My two friends and I had the Chicken Prosciutto and it was superb. All the portions were huge including the appetizers. The wine and cocktails were also very good. Will return the next time I am in Des Moines.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Specifically came for pizza. Spoke with ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Specifically came for pizza. Spoke with restaurant 3 times before our arrival – never once did they mention The pizza oven was down. They knew that was why we were coming. Our waitress was polite but remote. Our food was ok - nothing memorable - we would not order any of our entrées again with the exception of the fried mushrooms. The couple we brought with us came for the first time. We have told them for years how good your food is –we don't think they will return. We will return when the pizza oven is working.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My favorite spot in Des Moines!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great food, good service and reasonably priced! It's a great place to go on a date night or with the kids. They accommodate both situations perfectly!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth it

Dined on March 16, 2016

Very good bar with friendly staff. Generous pours. Wait staff friendly and helpful even though quite busy. Had a fish special with mussels that was quite tasty. My son had a steak that was a little overdone though very flavorful.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Best onion rings EVER!!!

Dined on March 15, 2016

Best onion rings EVER!!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.