Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Centro Restaurant

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: (515) 248-1780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (88)
Special Occasion (77)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
See All
Romantic (58)
Business Meals (53)
Pre/post Theatre (51)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Wood Oven (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Worth the Drive (36)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Good for Groups (32)
Cozy (32)
Modern Decor (28)
Fun (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Authentic (26)
Casual (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Open Kitchen (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
People Watching (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Outstanding Value (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Great Beer (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Healthy (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Historic (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Scenic View (4)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Fireplace (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sort By:
S
1553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect from start to finish! Our server was attentive and present, but also thoughtful and patient as we took our time ordering.

Started with portobello fries, arrived quickly and were immensely delicious.

My mom got the Cobb Salad - fresh, bright and perfectly balanced. So large she had leftovers.

I ordered the fettuccine alfredo - rich but not oversalted, tasted every bit fresh. Also the grilled asparagus - bright green with plenty of snap and flavor!

Wine selection was delightful and everyone dining around us had a smile on their face. You simply cannot go wrong dining here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely place. Great service and excellent food. Won't be disappointed!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was amazing! The Cavetelli and Chicken & Prosciutto Pastas were full of flavor. Steak Medallions were cooked to perfection. Our server was top notch and we didn't feel hurried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was very good. I enjoy having a place to sit and talk business over lunch downtown. I will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We went for brunch and it did not have a good brunch atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Centro is our favorite restaurant in Des Moines and we always make sure to go there when we're in town. We have never been disappointed in the food or the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It had been a while since we dined at Centro, and it was better than I remembered. To begin, the service was outstanding. We shared the mussels appetizer and they were able to make it without pancetta for me which was a plus! The broth was delicious. The salmon entree was incredible as well and we shared the smores sundae for dessert which did not disappoint. Good food, good wine, all around a great place for a date night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Centro never disappoints! Whether you are there for lunch or dinner the food is fabulous and it's one of the most asthetically pleasing places to dine in Des Moines!

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Historic, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Centro is our favorite restaurant in DSM and whenever we have a chance to have a date night or celebrate something special - we go there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent as always; food was perfect. We enjoyed the evening very much and
appreciated the great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Worth the premium for outstanding food and service - love this place for special occasions!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Part of our group arrived early. The staff said our table was ready and seated them. We ordered, ate and were headed to a show at the Temple. We had leftover food, but didn't want to take it to the show. Our waiter boxed it up and put in the refrigerator and we retrieved it after the show! Great customer service!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Very good food , excellent service, will come back soon.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was not good. Tasted like it had been cooked and held. The waitress didn't come back so we didn't tell her...very unsatisfactory!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Service is amazing and food is delicious. I've always had topnotch service when I dine at Centro. Martinis aren't the best I've had, but you can't be the happy hour prices on them.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great food, great service! Will definitely be back! Thank you!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 7, 2017

When we arrived we were taken to our table but the various menus weren't personally explained to us. We happened to overhear the waitress at the next table go over the menus with her customers and that is how we figured it out on our own. After our meals arrived the waiter never returned until my friend finished her entree. He took her plate 1st as I finished up and then brought the check when he took my plate. When he returned for payment we asked about wine refills and a dessert menu because none of those had been offered but we still had time before our show. We actually felt like we were being hurried off instead of leisurely enjoying our evening out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We met friends before a show in the theater upstairs. The food was wonderful and the staff was very helpful. Female bartender gave great recommendations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Celebrated my b-day with girlfriends. It was awesome!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food. Our waiter was one of the best ever! Scallops and Brussel sprouts were our favorites.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A very tasty meal with friends before attending a play at Temple Theater. From the bread with olive oil to the final meal itself all the food was very fresh, flavorful and cooked the way it was ordered. (one of us had a medium rare burger, another well-done). When time got short before the play our attentive waiter did a great job of hurrying our checks and left-over boxes. A good time had by all!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I've eaten at Centro several times and have always enjoyed my meal. Tonight I ordered the grilled cheese sandwich. I needed a some comfort food and it was the perfect choice. It was so good, I seriously wanted to hug the chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We like to book a table at Centro after going to a show at the Temple Theater (upstairs). The food is consistently good; however, this past week I paid $12 for a small glass of merlot. That tipped the "ridiculous meter" for me.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and service were great, as always. Great place to eat when going to a show at the Temple.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great place to enjoy great food, good friends, and wonderful service in a wonderful atmosphere. Love this restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Centro was a fun experience, but honestly, the food could have been better for the price. The cocktails (which comprised half my check) were not spectacular. The dessert (chocolate torte) was phenomenal.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Love this restaurant, service was wonderful and food excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent, efficient service!!! Food was very good also.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I took my wife to Centro for her birthday. This was our first visit and will definitely not be our last. The food, service and value were first rate. You must try the portobello fries for an appetizer! Very good! Our Centro salads had candied nuts that they don't skimp on. Tasty. Both of our pasta dishes were excellent. The service was very good and attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Delicious and fresh. Great service. Fantastic meal. Definitely recommend the fettuccini alfredo!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent food, service & atmoshphere! I will definitely dine at Centro in the future!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Tried Centro for Sunday brunch, as we love dinner there. It was awesome, with quite a variety to order from the menu. I had the spinach frittata, tasted good, but was surprised at the flat omelet like look as opposed to more of a thick fluffier frittata from the oven. 2 in our group had the egg sandwich, quite a hit. The bloody mary bar was popular with half our group of 6. Lots of garnish choices. I went with the Bellini. Great pace of service and enjoyable morning out with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Beautiful, Clean restaurant with outstanding service. Sunday brunch was good, but not my top choice in Des Moines. However every other meal that I have eaten there has been terrific.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service is always top notch. Food never disappoints. Drink menu has something for everyone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Perfection as always. This is always our go to in Des Moines. The food, ambiance and service never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service is impeccable. We came in 10 min early to our reservation and were seated immediately. Waiter approached table within minutes. We were given ample amount of time to browse their menu. Trust me you will need some time unless you have been there before. It was hard to make a decision-everything sounded so good! ( ** definitely get the portabello fries- you will not want to miss out)

Food was delivered in a timely manner. Our water glasses were filled consistently. Overall no complaints and a very high praise for this restaurant. They definitely know what they are doing at Centro. If I'm ever in Des Moines again, this is my top pick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We love the ambience and delicious food and drinks at Centro! One of our favorite restaurants. Great service too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Centro is wonderful dinner spot with quality food and polished service. We have never been disappointed at Centro. No matter what the occasion, Centro delivers.

Tags: Wood Oven, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I usually have a good experience here, and the staff is on top of everything. However, this time my food was a little cold. I should have sent it back, but I didn't want to cause any issues. Besides that, the food was actually good. Just could have been a lot warmer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good, I would highly recommend. Great food and service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, Wood Oven, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.