About Centro Restaurant

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: 5152481780x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tomato Basil Soup With Cheese Tortellini
Caesar Dinner Salad
Portobello Fries With Truffle Aoli And Cajun Dipping Sauce
Wild Mushroom Omelet With Portobello Fries
Hot Bread and Dipping EVOO
Centro Breakfast
South West Tofu Scramble
Bloody Mary
Crab Cake Benedict
Peach Tart With Vanilla Ice Cream
Gogonzola Burger
Grand Marnier Creme Brulee
Georges Favor Marshmallow Sunday
Fried Brussels Sprouts
stuffed french toast with mascarpone and strawberries
Moscow Mule
fried egg sandwich
Portobello Mushroom Fries
Heartbuster Or Something Like That
Pizza Bianco
Homemade Ricotta Gnocchi
Centro Cut Ny Strip
Pizza Margherita
Centro New York Strip

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
11 More
Best Ambiance
Iowa
Best Value
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Best Value
Des Moines
Fit for Foodies
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

Special Occasion (155)
Fit for Foodies (117)
Good for Groups (102)
See All
Romantic (90)
Great for Lunch (87)
Hot Spot (73)
Great for Outdoor Dining (69)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Notable Wine List (49)
Great for Brunch (45)
Late-night Find (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Scenic View (12)
Sort By:
Newest
1292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed Sunday brunch here. Food came ou ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed Sunday brunch here. Food came out promptly. My daughter's French toast with mascarpone was absolutely outstanding - I would ask for the syrup on the side . I tried the crab cake Benedict which was good but not great. We had attentive but not intrusive service, and were able to have great conversation. Would definitely come here again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in Des Moines for the weekend. W ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were in Des Moines for the weekend. We found Centro on Yelp and gave it a try. The restaurant is gorgeous and our service very good. What I like so much about Centro is that they don't try to "Americanize" their Italian by filling you with heavy bread or sauce. The bruschetta we got was essentially a plate full of tomatoes, onions, garlic, olive oil, and four slices of thin bread. While the bread was very nice, I loved that the focus was on the vegetables! So yummy. Then I got the gnocchi. Very spicy, gnocchi was flavorful and soft, but held together well. Everything came together, you could taste everything, nothing overwhelmed. Really lovely dish. Then we tried the crème brulee. They add espresso to the crème and put pure maple syrup on top - just enough not to be the tired old creme brulee you see everywhere now. Yummy. Would surely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are both lighter eaters so we shared ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 6 days ago

We are both lighter eaters so we shared the Centro Crab Cake appetizer to start and they were amazing! Flaky, excellently blended, and aioli was delicious. We split Chicken Saltimbocca and the staff attention both plates was perfect, the dish was a foodgasm from first bite. The tenderness of the chicken and the slightly creamy marsala with mushroom sauce was heavenly! The cubed La Quercia was the perfect salt balance to the sweet marsala sauce.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Centro to taste their Restaur ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We came to Centro to taste their Restaurant Week menu and loved every bite! My boyfriend and I shared the tasting menus and a pizza while our friends had the double pork chop and chicken and prosciutto dishes. Everyone left filling full and very satisfied!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy for conversation. Food a far ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very noisy for conversation. Food a farm to table with expert preparation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We came here to celebrate my wife's birt ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We came here to celebrate my wife's birthday. And Centro did not let us down or fail us. We were greeted with a friendly smile, found our reservation, and taken to our table. Our waitress Blake Elisabeth, was this amazing, knowledgeable, attentive, energetic, apologetic (a computer glitch with order, manager was apologetic, and the place as PACKED) young lady. But they did it all to make it right for our dining experience the best it can be. An excellent cocktail was the Bellini-tini (a peach infused concoction). The CHICKEN FRANCESE (wife's dinner) and my CENTRO-CUT NY STRIP* were excellent choices. Two of the sides we had - BRUSCHETTA and the flourless chocolate torte with raspberry sauce were excellent as well. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, excellent. Attentive service ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As always, excellent. Attentive service--never obtrusive. The food is consistently good. Adequate wine list. A top restaurant in Des Moines and always happy to return for what I know will be a wonderful meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have a wonderful experience at Ce ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always have a wonderful experience at Centro and this time was no exception. Our waiter was attentive but not obnoxious and was very knowledgeable in the product. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there on a Sunday night because ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We went there on a Sunday night because we were in town for an event and it was recommended. The food was fantastic but we expected better service for the price and quality of the food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The appetizer and salads were great. How ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The appetizer and salads were great. However, our entree came before we were finished with our salads and was just plopped down in the middle of the table. It was not served by our wait person. We had ordered the Three cheese Medallions. The steak was overdone, the broccolini was cold, and it was to be served with Roman Gnocchi, but we received dry polenta. No explanation as to the change or asking us if we needed anything else. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food, good atmosphere and they list ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good food, good atmosphere and they listen to your requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The staff was polite and very fast and t ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The staff was polite and very fast and tentative. Would highly recommend Centro. The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my family who were visiting from ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I took my family who were visiting from NC and they just loved the place! Centro is one of my favorite places to eat downtown and perfect for out-of-town guests.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food was outstanding with go ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Service and food was outstanding with good vegetarian options

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant has quickly become a fav ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This restaurant has quickly become a favorite as my husband and I try to have a lunch date for just the two of us every couple of weeks. If there is a wait time, it's usually not very long and the food is extremely worth it! Reservations online were very easy to acquire through Centro's website and Open Table. Lunch menu staples are huge but very flavorful. I particularly enjoy the pasta and salad combo which is half the full plate size and the variety of choices make this option always wonderful when trying out new things. The wait staff are always friendly and attentive while also giving you space to converse and really enjoy your meal. We are and will continue to be return guests here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been passing Centro while on the b ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I had been passing Centro while on the bus for about 3 years now, I finally decided to try it out for lunch. I ordered the Tuesday special which is Chicken Parmesan with a Shirley Temple. Although I couldn't eat it all, the food was so delicious!! I would definitely go again and recommend this place to eat or have a drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love dining at Centro for dinn ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We always love dining at Centro for dinner, and were happy to discover that brunch is delicious here as well! I really appreciated the tofu scramble and other veggie brunch options, as finding vegan brunch in Des Moines has been a challenge.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Centro is consistently outstanding - nev ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Centro is consistently outstanding - never disappoints. Definitely an urban, upscale feel to the environment. Reminds of favorite NYC dining spots.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Italian restaurant which is pretty good, ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Italian restaurant which is pretty good, a little over priced, but the food is tasty and the service is usually great. For an Italian place I would like to see more Italian wines on the wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food is crazy good. Noise level a little ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food is crazy good. Noise level a little loud for intimate dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My review must be at least 50 characters ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My review must be at least 50 characters. It is now.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent place to celebrate a birthday. ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent place to celebrate a birthday. Food was delicious and the service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant. Great food, beverage ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Awesome restaurant. Great food, beverages and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am a professional Chef in the Ames Iow ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I am a professional Chef in the Ames Iowa area. This is my take of my recent trip to Centro;

Deep fried mushrooms were over done/had burnt overtones. Gnocchi was very heavy, un-scored and lacking sufficient sauce. The gnocchi at "Luca" in the East Village, Des Moines (and my own) are much lighter and more traditional in flavor, appearance and mouth feel. As this is marketed by Centro as an "in house" product, I would recommend a different recipe for the gnocchi. Table bread was fine but served room temp and lacked a proper crust. Fettuccine Alfredo had excellent flavor but was a bit dry. Margarita pizza was very good. House chianti was very good. The cappuccino I had for desert was stellar.

Atmosphere was impressive. One of the best in the metro. Linen tablecloths added to the level of sophistication of Centro but the white paper table top coverings screamed "we're cutting costs!" and seemed to call for a box of Crayolas. My wife and I were well dressed as were the vast majority of patrons. It was refreshing not to see any shorts or blue jeans. Service was decent and the staff were all very professional and accommodating. Overall the dining experience was fine but I would have to try it again before I could give Centro a strong recommendation. For Italian restaurants in Des Moines, I would definitely rank Centro in the top 5.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent in every way! Another great e ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent in every way! Another great experience at Centro.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

reviews noted for wine: server did not g ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

reviews noted for wine: server did not give me a wine list: what do you want? Pino

Gri or Cabernet? Food nothing special. creme brulee good. Noisy. Really Italian american, not Italian.

My recommendation: look for something more imaginative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The dessert is always fabulous! Excelle ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The dessert is always fabulous! Excellent waiter. He made great recommendations. Enjoyed the evening and the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This has always been a favorite spot. Th ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This has always been a favorite spot. The server was friendly but not as attentive. I asked for a lemonade but never recieved. I took it as a sign that I didn't need one so I never asked again. Food was good as always but getting the check was a little slow. I'll still be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

FYI It was a Thursday evening. We were w ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

FYI It was a Thursday evening. We were with good friends and in a mood to be pleased, but that didn't happen. The scallops were bland and "slick". The chicken proscuitto penne pasta contained no discernable proscuitto. The couple we were with didn't care for their entrees either. I'll continue to go to Centro occasionally for brunch, but defintely won't return for dinner. Also, the bathroom, which is shared with Starbucks, needed some attention.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Centro is consistent and makes for a gre ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Centro is consistent and makes for a great destination for guests.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Glad we made a reservation - the place w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Glad we made a reservation - the place was busy. Wonderful, tasty food that came with reasonable proportions. Pizza had a nice crisp crust and the pasta entrees were delightful and fresh. Sara was very much in tune to the pace we desired to eat and converse. She made wonderful suggestions for food pairings. Take the time to have the deserts they were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place to meet friends and enjoy a g ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Nice place to meet friends and enjoy a good meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice place in downtown Des Moines. Goo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nice place in downtown Des Moines. Good selection, knowledgable server.

Doubt anyone would be disappointed; we enjoyed greatly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Centro is a great spot for a decent lunc ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Centro is a great spot for a decent lunch in downtown Des Moines. We had several pizzas. These are thin typical southside pizzas. Nothing really special, but they do use quality ingredients. The crust seemed bland to me compared to others in the area. Service was attentive. The iPads for wine lists were malfunctioning. Nothing like good old paper. The mixed drinks were good. Somehow Centro just seems to be very slowly declining in taste and quality. Call me picky, its still a good place, just not the top of its game it was ten years ago.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was wonderful! Service of our w ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was wonderful! Service of our waitress was top notch, and must I saw again food was soooooo good! My wife and I really enjoyed dinner!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant! I never go a week ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Love this restaurant! I never go a week without it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant with great food.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very nice restaurant with great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat outside on the patio on a cold July ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Sat outside on the patio on a cold July day. As Centro has infrared heating on the patio, the cool day was not an issue. Note: the patio is first come first serve and can not be reserved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always outstanding and the s ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food is always outstanding and the staff is very professional. WONDERFUL food, appetizer, and dessert menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Monday nights dine-in pizza is half pric ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Monday nights dine-in pizza is half price. We ordered a few delicious pizzas and had a cheap night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.