Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Centro Restaurant

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: (515) 248-1780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

GoodForDates (75)
SpecialOccasions (75)
Anniversaries (56)
See All
PrePostTheatre (46)
Romance (45)
Foodies (40)
Birthdays (40)
CreativeCuisine (37)
Groups (37)
BusinessMeals (37)
WorthTheDrive (34)
Casual (32)
Lunch (31)
Fun (28)
WoodOven (27)
Authentic (24)
HotSpot (23)
ComfortFood (23)
Brunch (22)
NeighborhoodGem (22)
LocalIngredients (21)
NotableWineList (21)
OutdoorDining (20)
Cozy (20)
SundayLunch (19)
QuietConversation (18)
ModernDecor (15)
VegetarianOptions (14)
PeopleWatching (13)
OpenKitchen (13)
HandcraftedCocktails (12)
HappyHour (12)
BarSeating (11)
Healthy (10)
GreatBeer (9)
TastingMenu (9)
VibrantBarScene (8)
LateNightFind (7)
ChildFriendly (7)
Historic (6)
Seasonal (6)
DisabledAccess (5)
Tapas (4)
AfternoonCoffee (4)
AfternoonTea (4)
PaleoFriendly (3)
MolecularGastronomy (3)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
QuickBite (2)
ScenicView (2)
PrivateRoom (1)
GlutenFree (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
LiveSports (1)
Sort By:
S
1620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

It was a lovely special occasion dinner; food was fantastic and we had a very nice bottle of
Italian wine. Our thanks to the courteous staff and waitress.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Best restaurant in town. Easily our favorite place for a date, night out, friends in town, business recruiting event, etc... Great appetizers, pizza, entrees, drink selection, service, and value.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The half pasta/half salad lunch combo with Caesar salad and cavatelli was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Love Centro.. Food is consistently good ! Ambience is great...I dine there often.
Love the patio.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Centro never disappoints! Brunch, lunch or dinner. Always a great meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great overall experience, service was great. Food was real good except my halibut special was a bit over cooked and dry. I never made a big deal to the server. It tasted great just a little dry. Wine selection is very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was good and the service. The place is very nice. It is pricey and it was cold in there. Bring a light jacket.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Centro never fails to amaze me with their food and service. I usually get the wood fire pizzas (AMAZING) but this time I got the steak salad which was just as good!! Their table bread (foccacia) is the best, you won't be able to stop. Not to mention the great wait staff, staff to take plates/fill drinks, and if you have a reservation you are sure to be seated quickly. Would reccomend 10/10.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Dining room was cold and breezy, in addition to being seated next to a couple that found it appropriate to bring a 1 year old to a restaurant like this, who needless to say, which was not the toddler's fault, screamed and cried throughout the dinner. The combination of the temperature and the seating led to a meal we couldn't wait to leave from. Wine pour could be a little more generous, and I found the craft beer menu and offering not up to par and hard to understand. Food was good, as always, and waiter was attentive, just will be more selective when being seated next time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Waitress found a special checks i.e. To help provide comfort to my sister, who was in our party of 5. She was perfect in attentiveness and professionalism. She read the people at our table well. Great experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This was a our first time there and was for our 20th anniversary, and thought it might be special since it gets good reviews. While the food was okay, it was not worth the extra cost over other italian places.

We explained it was our first time, and the waitress just said okay, do you know what you want. We never really felt that welcomed, even though the waiters were all just standing there with nothing to do since the place was dead.

All in all, we would go if somebody else was going and we went with, but it is definitely not on our list of places we need to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food as always was great...one of the better restaurants in the state. Service was mediocre....it was the end of the night so maybe she was just tired, but for $30+ plates it could be better.

A note for OpenTable: Centro still called me to "confirm" my reservation. What is the point of reserving online if the restaurant will still call to confirm? I'll just call instead of "confirming" online next time...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food as usual was outstanding, what really set the dinning apart was our server Chris. Chris provided amazing service while never feeling rushed or pushed. When we ask for menu choices he gave solid advice not just the most expensive meals on rhe menu. Overall it was FANTASTIC!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was very slow in getting our orders taken. We did receive our drinks, but not very quickly. We finally got our order taken, but it seemed to take a looooong time to receive the food. Tables on either side of us sat down well after we did, but were eating their entrees well before we received ours. Also, it was extremely cold and uncomfortable where we sat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Everything tasted as though it had been prepared yesterday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is a great spot for a date or special occasion. Great food and wonderful service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We were spending a few days in the area playing golf and our two friends had never been to Centro. They were impressed and all four of us enjoyed our food.

We felt the service at our table was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Can't beat it. Consistency every single time!! The chef has his inspirations menu that is so creative and things on there you can't find in Des Moines. Service and staff are awesome and always at the top of their game. Whole different experience when dining at Centro.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food, Great service, Great ambience

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Pizza & brussel sprouts were terrific! Salads very good. Disappointed w/burgers. Had to send salmon back. Asked for medium rare, came well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food took an extremely long time. Manager came over to apologize for how long food was taking. When it finally showed up one dish was hot and all the rest of the meals were cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Went to dinner before the Neil Diamond concert. Had reservations and were seating immediately. Food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went for dinner before a concert next door. The food was exceptional and the wait staff was terrific -- attentive without hovering. Our waiter was able to answer our questions. Entrees (calzone and risotto) arrived piping hot and were just what we wanted.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Centro is good, not outstanding. The menu could use a little refresher as far as options. The ambience is nice, and the bread is very fresh. The service is usually very good and prompt.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Nice evening on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent food & service today!!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything was excellent, service, food, and atmosphere. Always our favorite. Only complaint, person seated at next table had on way too much perfume! Nothing restaurant could do about it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. Our waitress (Megan W) was moody and acted like she didn't want to be there. This is the first time this has happened to us. This slightly diminished our experience. The next time we come to Centro I will ask not to be placed in her section. Otherwise, a nice time.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We went to Centro to celebrate my son's graduation from college. It was a beautiful day so we enjoyed the outdoor dining. Our waitress was wonderful and everyone was attentive. We will be coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was my second visit here and both times have been just wonderful. Centro is a delicious dining experience with local fare and wonderful service. I would recommend this restaurant again and again.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing! Never dissapoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Sat on outdoor dining area, heated and lovely. Great experience! Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We went to Centro to celebrate my husband's birthday. Our group of six enjoyed wonderful food and excellent service. The complementary birthday dessert was big enough for all of us to enjoy a few bites! No singing or obnoxious calling attention to the birthday boy, which he appreciated greatly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Enjoyable adult atmosphere evening. Only complaint is being sat at such a small table for two that we didn't have room for dishes without feeling extremely crowded. The table was half booth and too close to others.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We had great service and an amazing meal. The pizza was crispy and flavorful and their pork chop was impressive. Would return the next time we're in Des Moines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Crntro's food was only topped by the wonderful service we had. Our server was really great with any request and conscious of our desires. We didn't feel rushed or overlooked.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service and food was excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

One of the best place in Downtown Des Moines, great cocktails, amazing food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I met my mom and sister there for my sister's birthday lunch and we had a delightful, delicious Sunday brunch. My sister loved the Bloody Mary bar and our waitress was so attentive and sweet. My take-home box was accidentally knocked on the floor by staff, and they made me a whole new entree to take home!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Was disappointed in quality of pork entree which was under cooked even though supposedly medium per chef recommendation. Busy night but delay between salads and entrees was a bit excessive. Nice friendly and knowledgeable waitress was a plus, however.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.