Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Centro Restaurant

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: (515) 248-1780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (71)
Special Occasion (62)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
See All
Business Meals (47)
Romantic (46)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Great for Lunch (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Authentic (29)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Fun (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Casual (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Comfort Food (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
People Watching (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (12)
Healthy (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great Beer (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

The waitress was very professional, she didn’t hover, but was still attentive. What a pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Enjoyed dinner very much! Went to dinner before Harmony Central performance. Not rushed, great food and close to Hoyt Sherman.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary here and the experience was outstanding! Sam, our server, was a pro!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 5, 2017

As usual the food was quite good and the service was excellent. Our server had a great sense of humor and helped make the dining fun as well as delicious. The broccolini was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Love Centro's! Especially their tomato-basil soup😍😍

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Went to Centro for an anniversary dinner and it was awesome! I had special requests and the staff was so friendly and made everything happen perfectly. The service was outstanding, the food delicious, and dessert was on the house for our anniversary. I highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions!! The prices are so affordable so it's also a great place to land on any given day or night. We'll definitely be going back!

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 2, 2017

It was our first anniversary but the server didn't know. I said on open table that it was our anniversary and thought this message would be transferred to the hostess/server. Other than that it was a great evening with my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Sunday night dinner at Centro = quieter atmosphere, but less attentive service. Food quality and portions as good as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had an outstanding time!! My wife's birthday, were able to sit on the patio and enjoy a beautiful night, great food and wonderful help!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Attentive service from Server, Elizabeth. Well-presented & flavorful food. Love the sundae dessert served in a maltshake glass.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Outstanding! My girlfriends and I went for dinner. The ambiance of the restaurant is outstanding! Food is so good! We shared the brushetta and Brussel sprout appetizers. Delicious! I ordered the crab cakes for dinner and they were among the best I've had - huge, crusty outside and moist inside. So good!

I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2017

The service and food were very good tonight. They were busy and still took care of every little detail. We will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This is our go-to spot in Des Moines when we want a great meal and once again we were not disappointed. Calamari appetizer was awesome and all the main dishes were as well - my Steak Centro was melt-in-your-mouth perfection. My only complaint was that our table was right by the kitchen so it was very loud. Other than that everything was wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This was our second visit to Centro and both times were excellent. We travel quite a bit and this is quickly becoming one of our absolute favorites of anywhere that we go! Tasty and perfectly done classic Italian dishes. The waitstaff is top notch, attentive, very knowledgable about the menu/wine list and always seem to come by at just the right time. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Delicious food. Impeccable service. Our Des Moines favotite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Took some colleagues from China. We all travel the global be and were highly impressed. Server was attentive and engaging. Salmon outstanding. Great food and better service !!!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We brought nephew and his girlfriend here for Sunday brunch. They really enjoyed sitting outside, the attention they received from our waiter. They some left overs to take home and back to the dorm. Two young people being treated and respected as adults. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food and service were phenomenal, only negative comment I could possibly mention was a flickering light. It persisted through our hour and a half meal going from extremely bright to extremely dark, leaving you with somewhat of a headache.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was tasty and service was good. Our server was very attentive and the food arrived quickly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

In town for business and found Centro at top of ratings list. Great atmosphere and service. The table started with Brussels sprouts, which were phanominal. We had the wood grilled salmon, steak salad, spicy sausage rigatoni, and ghonchi - all hits! The steak was slightly overcooked for an ask of medium. Wine and food were affordable, and we left happy customers!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Calzone was delicious. Mushrooms are amazing and servers are the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Healthy, Business Meals, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was delicious as always. Highly recommend the specialty pizzas

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food as always and wonderful service. Our favorite place to dine. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My food was dry, didn't taste good at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always enjoy the food, service and ambience at Centro!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 4, 2017

No matter what always get a pizza!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Seating felt close. Could have used a little more privacy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our daughter occasionally returns to Des Moines, and we asked where she wanted to do Sunday brunch. "Centro" was her enthusiastic response. Marvelous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The herb crusted steak was amazing! Very good service and great ambiance, we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Waitress was very good. Sat outside and was very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food, atmosphere, and service were all great. Elizabeth did a wonderful job as our server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food. Bloody Mary bar was amazing. Bread was some of the best I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Disappointed in the service and the good. Was told repeatedly that it was "Restaurant Week" and that's why the service was so slow. We saw our server inconsistently, and mainly just to take our order and to apologize for the delay in our food. We ordered the calamari which was a huge portion, but was extremely greasy and not seasoned at all. We also ordered a small pizza and the herb crusted beef tenderloin. The pizza was good, but came out after the pizza from a group that was seated 20 minutes after. The tenderloin was good, not great. Not sure if it was worth $37.

Will probably be a while before we try it again. Would probably order a pizza for carry out though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at Centro. Classic Italian menu. Top notch service. Very nice room. Food was outstanding. Great wine list. We will make this a regular spot during our visits to Des Moines!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Celebrated my birthday in town and my brother recommended we eat at Centro. Im so glad he did. It was exceptional. Our waitress was great and recommended the chicken saltimbocca dish, which I ordered and absolutely loved! My husband got a pizza which was great too. They have an awesome specialty cocktail list to choose from and the atmosphere was really nice too. Overall, everyone loved this place and we would defiantely go back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Had a gift certificate and used it to celebrate my husband's 55th birthday. Reservations were easy. Wait staff was very attentive. Food arrived quickly and was tasty and hot. Excellent cocktails. All around wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our second time in --now for my daughter's 15th birthday and still awesome. If you are in Des Moines this restaurant is a must. Bonus--open Sundays.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Centro has for many years been a favorite with me...but Sunday was not a great experience. I made a reservation to bring cousins visiting from California for lunch. It could have just been an off day or ?. But the noise level was unusually high, and the food not up to par. ...tomato bisque soup was left un touched, blt bacon billed Niman Ranch was soggy, tomatoes anemic looking....we didn't order anything difficult or complicated....and all four of us were very disappointed...server didn't show up to ask how anything was, so.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were visiting our son in college and took him out for dinner. The food and atmosphere were wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.