About Centro Restaurant

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: (515) 248-1780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (82)
Special Occasion (76)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Business Meals (52)
Romantic (52)
Pre/post Theatre (42)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Worth the Drive (36)
Cozy (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Wood Oven (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Fun (28)
Modern Decor (26)
Authentic (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Casual (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Open Kitchen (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Happy Hour (15)
People Watching (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Great Beer (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Historic (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Healthy (7)
Seasonal (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Family Style (4)
Spicy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1524 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious and fresh. Great service. Fantastic meal. Definitely recommend the fettuccini alfredo!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, service & atmoshphere! I will definitely dine at Centro in the future!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Tried Centro for Sunday brunch, as we love dinner there. It was awesome, with quite a variety to order from the menu. I had the spinach frittata, tasted good, but was surprised at the flat omelet like look as opposed to more of a thick fluffier frittata from the oven. 2 in our group had the egg sandwich, quite a hit. The bloody mary bar was popular with half our group of 6. Lots of garnish choices. I went with the Bellini. Great pace of service and enjoyable morning out with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful, Clean restaurant with outstanding service. Sunday brunch was good, but not my top choice in Des Moines. However every other meal that I have eaten there has been terrific.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

Service is always top notch. Food never disappoints. Drink menu has something for everyone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfection as always. This is always our go to in Des Moines. The food, ambiance and service never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The service is impeccable. We came in 10 min early to our reservation and were seated immediately. Waiter approached table within minutes. We were given ample amount of time to browse their menu. Trust me you will need some time unless you have been there before. It was hard to make a decision-everything sounded so good! ( ** definitely get the portabello fries- you will not want to miss out)

Food was delivered in a timely manner. Our water glasses were filled consistently. Overall no complaints and a very high praise for this restaurant. They definitely know what they are doing at Centro. If I'm ever in Des Moines again, this is my top pick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

We love the ambience and delicious food and drinks at Centro! One of our favorite restaurants. Great service too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

Centro is wonderful dinner spot with quality food and polished service. We have never been disappointed at Centro. No matter what the occasion, Centro delivers.

Tags: Wood Oven, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

I usually have a good experience here, and the staff is on top of everything. However, this time my food was a little cold. I should have sent it back, but I didn't want to cause any issues. Besides that, the food was actually good. Just could have been a lot warmer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good, I would highly recommend. Great food and service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, Wood Oven, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A very fine dinning experience...everyone one was very professional and kind...smiles all around...even the phone people were very polite and kind.

Thank you

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Niles was an amazing server. Food was good and everyone enjoyed their meal in the group

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It was great? It was better than I thought it was going to be. It was my first time going and I took my girlfriend there for a date and it was just perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The experience was enjoyable! The food was well portioned and timed well with appetizers, it also tasted very amazing. It was nice to have true vegan options. The dim lights were perfect for the setting and even better for dates and special occasions. We could not stop raving about the whole experience!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Organic, Healthy, Romantic, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love Centro! We celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Stopped for lunch on a Saturday. Service was prompt and courteous. Great wines and wonderful pasta. Delicious dessert. Great lunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very welcoming place. Everybody was very friendly. Drinks were amazing and food was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food, great wine & accomodated our tight timeline. Staff were friendly at hostess level but server waited 15 min to take our order after seating. It was very busy which made it quite loud & hard to hear, but it's still one of my favorites.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Server as very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went for a special occasion. Restaurant was very busy, but service was impeccable. Server was incredibly attentive, but not annoyingly so. Steaks were some of the best I've ever had and melted in our mouths. Everything was cooked perfectly. Cocktails were delicious too. I tried the Bellini-tini and my date had a riesling. For Dessert we shared a marshmallow brownie sundae and it was incredible. Salty sweet, the perfect combination. Ambiance is nice, candlelit atmosphere. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife and I have been going to Centro for as long as we've lived in Des Moines ... almost 10 years. It is one of our go-to spots, as the food is consistently great and the waitstaff is consistently attentive and friendly. We've celebrated birthdays and anniversaries at Centro. We like to have date nights in the bar area, because it's cozy and a great spot to people watch. As for the food ... whether pizza (capricciosa is my favorite) or entrees (steak or salmon) ... we have never had a bad meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, People Watching, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good food and great service. We enjoyed the experience, as always.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Date nights are few and far between with a family our size, but when we have them, Centro is our "go to" restaurant. The food, drinks, ambiance and attentive wait staff keep us coming back. Prepare to open your wallet a little wider, but definitely worth it ... especially if you're trying to impress someone. A "must try" restaurant in Des Moines.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I have been there twice now and each time has been amazing. The food was fantastic, service was prompt and timely but not hovering, and drinks were always full. There were families that had kids there but not many and they were not distracting from the atmosphere. Food was reasonably priced for the quantity let alone the quality. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Absolutely wonderful. From the wine list to the menu choices, such great options. Would highly recommend the spinach salad --delicious. Service waz impeccable. Cant wait to return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food, service, and environment were all exceptional. My wife and I went there for our anniversary. It was a special night for us and Centro made it even more special.

There was only one issue with the flooring (When people were walking I could feel their footsteps), which might not be a problem for many, but was for me.

Despite that, I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to have a good time with their loved ones. It is also a great place for having business meetings since it's relatively quiet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was good but it took an hour to get our food and we almost were late for the theater. I had the pork chop and it was too done and was dry. My wife ordered pasta and she said it was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Solid lunch

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Fantastic food and service. I visit this restaurant every time I'm in Des Moines. It never lets me down! Plates can be ordered in smaller portions, which I really appreciate. Friendly service and comfortable seating. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food and service was excellent. We went at 1:00pm on a weekday to celebrate my wife's birthday. I made reservations, but there were plenty of open tables. The server did a great job and was very friendly and attentive.

We will be going back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Our server was fantastic and food was great (as always).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I enjoyed the ease of reserving a table online. One of our party arrived a bit early and was seated. I like that. Our server was pleasant and helpful in making a dining choice. The food was very good, as usual. Centro is a favorite spot to dine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful! As well was all other staff. Several of our dishes were top notch. The special was just okay.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We celebrated my daughter's birthday. Food was very good. Our server was attentive & friendly. She made my daughter's birthday special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I have been here a few times and have always loved the variety of food, have always had a wonderful expierence! You MUST try the Portobello Fries! So good!!! Also their Moscow Mules are pretty tasty. Will return for more special occasions/date nights!

Tags: Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Several of my colleagues from out of town decided to try Centro for dinner so I made the reservation for them. All reported that the food was delicious and very flavorful. Everybody had a good time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was very good as always. I do wish portions on fish and/chicken dishes were just a little bit larger. Server seemed a bit distracted like she was having a bad day.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 11, 2017

As good as our service was our food was better. Great place to relax, have some fun and enjoy a great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Centro has always been, and continues to be, one of my favorite restaurants. The food is excellent! And the service is always top notch.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Centro is our favorite DM area restaurant. It never disappoints. The atmosphere is unique and the food is always great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 3, 2017

It's was great. Hard to eat food and talk to the date without having awkward silences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Centro did not disappoint on a busy New Years Eve. Excellent service and meal.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing place to eat as always! I have never been disappointed eating at this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner date at Centro. Would go again on special nights. Good service & food. The tall ceiling, loft like style but not too loud at the same time

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great as usual Centro does it well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We made a reservation for New Year's Eve via Open Table and when we showed up, we were immediately taken to our table. The service was wonderful and the waiter offered his opinion on size and value. It was the perfect amount of food for two people. The staff was very friendly and professional to the patrons and each other. This place never disappoints me!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pizza was awesome! (As always) Grilled cheese the kids got was not as good as they had hoped....

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.