Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Centro Restaurant

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: (515) 248-1780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (69)
Special Occasion (67)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Business Meals (43)
Romantic (41)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Great for Lunch (36)
Good for Groups (35)
Casual (34)
Authentic (32)
Fun (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Hot Spot (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Cozy (15)
People Watching (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Healthy (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Seasonal (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great Beer (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Tapas (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1655 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I always enjoy dining at Centro!! Service is always great, food is exceptional, and drinks are my favorite. I recommend this place to everyone! I go here with my closet friends and my husband for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We enjoyed the patio with our 3 children. The children's portions are huge so we have leftovers for days. We love the Centro pizza and sangria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Our table of 7 experienced excellent service from a very helpful server with great recommendations for dinner and dessert. The caprese salad with locally grown tomatoes was ambrosia! The carbonara dish was a hit and well as the thin crust pizza. Our peach sangrias were perfection to start the evening. A wonderful birthday celebration!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Centro has been our go to for birthdays and anniversarys but this last visit may be it for us. In the good ol days outdoor seating was reserved for intimate dining but things have changed. When we arrived we were seated next to a 10 person after work social that was VERY loud and totally over stayed their welcome. In addition there was a lovely long black hair wrapped snugly in with our bread (I pulled it out before my husband noticed!) The furniture and plates are tired and the menu continues to down grade. It's been fun Centro but we are moving on...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Tasty, novel preparations. Homemade pasta and gnocchi were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I'm not from Des Moines, but I heard great things about Centro. The service and ambiance were outstanding. Unfortunately the food didn't meet our expectations. My wife's sea bass was overcooked to the point where it was tough. My tofu gnocchi was good, but greens and veggies with it had a very strong raw garlic taste. Had the garlic been cooked, it would have been a good dish but it wasn't prepared well. Our kids liked their grilled cheese and ravioli.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food and ambiance were great as always. The service was good but we have had outstanding, very attentive service on previous visits and this occasion did not quite live up to previous dining experiences at Centro. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great outdoor patio lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This is one of top two favorites in Des Moines. The atmosphere is great, the staff always knocks it out of the park and we've never had a bad meal there. Worth the trip!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I drove two hours to eat here for my birthday with my girlfriends. I loved it! Clean, roomy restaurant with pop and old ad styled art on the walls. Old, classical music played low in the background, which I love. The food and service was amazing in taste and quality. And I was pleasnantly surprised to find my total to be just over 20 dollars for bread, an entre and salad, drink, and dessert! 10/10. I would actually move to Des Moines just so this was closer to me. My new favorite restaurant. I've already recommended to all of my friends and family.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Our waitress, Katie, was knowledgeable and helpful and provided excellent service. The atmosphere is outstanding and the food delicious. I would go there anytime.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 22, 2017

A regular destination with great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 22, 2017

GREAT brunch menu - kids included! My three-year-old and I met my parents for a weekend brunch and could not have been more impressed by the food and service. The meals were generous, yet so delicious, no leftovers were to be had. HIGHLY recommend and we will be visiting again soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

A great restaurant, great food! Their service is impeccable and they accommodate special requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food tasted great though the portions were too large. Plate presentation amazing, service was spectacular and waitress was totally attuned to our needs giving us refills and asking questions we had about particular dishes. It was my wife's birthday and she got her dessert for free. We will be back as this was our first visit to Centro. It was a little loud inside but we could still hear our own conversation. Complimentary oil and bread was amazing. I ordered the calamari and side Greek salad. Wife order the cheese ravioli and a side Centro salad. Lemon aoli and marinara were to die for. We had the creme brulee for dessert. I wished the breading on the calamari had some seasoning on it. It was easily the best Greek salad I've ever had. Biscotti served with the creme tasted great.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 20, 2017

One of my favorite downtown spots. Pizza,salad,fish,great drinks! Ambiance is great. Same building as the Temple for Performing Arts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Tremendous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Probably our favorite restaurant in Des Moines ! Everything works just like a well oiled machine ! Love the bruschetta!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was delicious and we had a great server, who allowed us to "make a night of it." We arrived at 5:45, after making a reservation. We were able to take our time, starting with a drink, then appetizer and later dinner. The server was attentive, but not intrusive. We sat on the patio, where it is much quieter than inside. It was hot outside, but the eastern patio was shady, much cooler and breezy. Great for conversation and a meet-up with a friend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The service was excellent. I had the handmade cavatelli and it was delicious. My husband was amazed when I ate the entire serving. Centro is one of our favorite DesMoines restaurants. Wine choices are nice as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Everyone loves Centro! Generous portions of great food! Rest assured whatever you order will be delicious!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great restaurant in Des Moines! We were traveling and definitely was on of our favorites! Highly recommend. Service was top notch!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The seasoning on the Greek salad that I had was very flavorful. The greens and other ingredients were fresh. I hadn't eaten here for a while and had forgotten had incredibly good that it is!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We've enjoyed Centro many times. Unfortunately, this time the food was very disappointing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The waiter was very helpful in answering the multitude of questions we had. He made sure we enjoyed the food and had beverages, but wasn't overly interruptive. It was a large crowd because of 80-35 music festival. The ambiance wasn't noisy and it didn't feel crowded. Our pizza came out within 20 minutes of sitting down. Overall we got out of the restaurant just 45 mins after we arrived.

We booked a reservation in advance (free), which helped with seating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, People Watching, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great reliable place for quality Italian food. Deep wine list with some great hidden values. Fried calamari was tender and light. Simple cheese pizza as an app was easy to eat. Had the pasta special w squab and rainbow chard. Very nice surprise.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a great visit to Centro. Have been there before and always have had great meals.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Best pizza since Italy!
Terrific service
Very nice outdoor patio for a busy street corner
Portobello fries were excellent
Tomato bisque with cheese filled pasta absolutely delish!
Flank steak with Gorgonzola... lovely
Can't wait to go back
LOVE this place❣️
Wish they had one in Houston.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Gathered for a birthday dinner. My daughter is vegan and she found 1 meal with tofu that she enjoyed but few other options. My daughter in law was seeking high protein with low sugar and found a few good choices. People have a variety of food needs and preferences and we found our waiter to be very flexible and helpful as we inquired what options there were for our special needs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Good food overall but has an open kitchen concept. This leaves the people sitting near the "kitchen" with a constant noise to have to talk over. Other than that the restaurant is a great place for a date and the service was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was a lovely special occasion dinner; food was fantastic and we had a very nice bottle of
Italian wine. Our thanks to the courteous staff and waitress.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Best restaurant in town. Easily our favorite place for a date, night out, friends in town, business recruiting event, etc... Great appetizers, pizza, entrees, drink selection, service, and value.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The half pasta/half salad lunch combo with Caesar salad and cavatelli was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Love Centro.. Food is consistently good ! Ambience is great...I dine there often.
Love the patio.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Centro never disappoints! Brunch, lunch or dinner. Always a great meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great overall experience, service was great. Food was real good except my halibut special was a bit over cooked and dry. I never made a big deal to the server. It tasted great just a little dry. Wine selection is very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was good and the service. The place is very nice. It is pricey and it was cold in there. Bring a light jacket.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Centro never fails to amaze me with their food and service. I usually get the wood fire pizzas (AMAZING) but this time I got the steak salad which was just as good!! Their table bread (foccacia) is the best, you won't be able to stop. Not to mention the great wait staff, staff to take plates/fill drinks, and if you have a reservation you are sure to be seated quickly. Would reccomend 10/10.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Dining room was cold and breezy, in addition to being seated next to a couple that found it appropriate to bring a 1 year old to a restaurant like this, who needless to say, which was not the toddler's fault, screamed and cried throughout the dinner. The combination of the temperature and the seating led to a meal we couldn't wait to leave from. Wine pour could be a little more generous, and I found the craft beer menu and offering not up to par and hard to understand. Food was good, as always, and waiter was attentive, just will be more selective when being seated next time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.