About Centro Restaurant

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: 5152481780x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Wild Mushroom Omelet With Portobello Fries - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Hot Bread and Dipping EVOO - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Centro Breakfast - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
South West Tofu Scramble - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Bloody Mary - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Crab Cake Benedict - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Peach Tart With Vanilla Ice Cream - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Gogonzola Burger - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Tomato Basil Soup With Cheese Tortellini - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Caesar Dinner Salad - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Portobello Fries With Truffle Aoli And Cajun Dipping Sauce - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Grand Marnier Creme Brulee - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Georges Favor Marshmallow Sunday - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Fried Brussels Sprouts - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
stuffed french toast with mascarpone and strawberries - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Moscow Mule - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
fried egg sandwich - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Portobello Mushroom Fries - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Heartbuster Or Something Like That - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Pizza Bianco - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Homemade Ricotta Gnocchi - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Centro Cut Ny Strip - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Pizza Margherita - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Centro New York Strip - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (75)
Special Occasion (73)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (53)
Romantic (52)
Business Meals (47)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Worth the Drive (38)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Cozy (33)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Fun (29)
Modern Decor (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Hot Spot (28)
Authentic (27)
Wood Oven (25)
Casual (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Bar Seating (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Open Kitchen (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Comfort Food (18)
People Watching (17)
Great Beer (15)
Historic (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Healthy (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Family Style (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Scenic View (6)
Spicy (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Fireplace (3)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waitress was wonderful! As well was ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Our waitress was wonderful! As well was all other staff. Several of our dishes were top notch. The special was just okay.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my daughter's birthday. Fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated my daughter's birthday. Food was very good. Our server was attentive & friendly. She made my daughter's birthday special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here a few times and have al ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been here a few times and have always loved the variety of food, have always had a wonderful expierence! You MUST try the Portobello Fries! So good!!! Also their Moscow Mules are pretty tasty. Will return for more special occasions/date nights!

Tags: Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Several of my colleagues from out of tow ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Several of my colleagues from out of town decided to try Centro for dinner so I made the reservation for them. All reported that the food was delicious and very flavorful. Everybody had a good time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good as always. I do wish ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good as always. I do wish portions on fish and/chicken dishes were just a little bit larger. Server seemed a bit distracted like she was having a bad day.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

As good as our service was our food was ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 11, 2017

As good as our service was our food was better. Great place to relax, have some fun and enjoy a great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Centro has always been, and continues to ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Centro has always been, and continues to be, one of my favorite restaurants. The food is excellent! And the service is always top notch.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Centro is our favorite DM area restauran ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Centro is our favorite DM area restaurant. It never disappoints. The atmosphere is unique and the food is always great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It's was great. Hard to eat food and tal ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 3, 2017

It's was great. Hard to eat food and talk to the date without having awkward silences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Centro did not disappoint on a busy New ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Centro did not disappoint on a busy New Years Eve. Excellent service and meal.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing place to eat as always! I have ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing place to eat as always! I have never been disappointed eating at this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our dinner date at Centro ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner date at Centro. Would go again on special nights. Good service & food. The tall ceiling, loft like style but not too loud at the same time

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Year's Eve

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as usual Centro does it well.

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great as usual Centro does it well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made a reservation for New Year's Eve ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We made a reservation for New Year's Eve via Open Table and when we showed up, we were immediately taken to our table. The service was wonderful and the waiter offered his opinion on size and value. It was the perfect amount of food for two people. The staff was very friendly and professional to the patrons and each other. This place never disappoints me!

Tags: , Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pizza was awesome! (As always) Grilled c ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pizza was awesome! (As always) Grilled cheese the kids got was not as good as they had hoped....

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This was such a great experience and I w ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was such a great experience and I will definitely be back

Tags: Casual, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's no surprise that I was amazed by th ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It's no surprise that I was amazed by the atmosphere, service, and food at Centro as someone from a small northwest Missouri town. Me saying something is upscale probably does not mean much. However, my new fiancée, who grew up near Des Moines, also thought it was very fancy (in a good way). Since she grew up near the city, that actually means something coming from her because she has been to more upscale restaurants than I have. Overall, we thought the service was excellent and professional, the food was delicious and authentic, and the atmosphere was very romantic, just as I requested in my reservation. And to top all that off, the prices are not over the top. As expected, the prices are fairly high, but because of the high quality of the product and service received at Centro, it is all worth it, especially on a special occasion like anniversary dates, etc. This is one of the best romantic restaurants, and probably one of the best restaurants in general, in the Des Moines area. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, , Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always - my favorite place in ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Awesome as always - my favorite place in the metro

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, Love the variety! Very sol ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great place, Love the variety! Very solid food. Easy place to meet at before or after a show at the Temple.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

I've been a fan since Centro opened and ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I've been a fan since Centro opened and dine there frequently. I'm particularly partial to their brunches.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Centro is by far the best restaurant in ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Centro is by far the best restaurant in Des Moines. The upscale atmosphere and high-quality menu never dissappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Monday's half price pizzas or calzones a ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Monday's half price pizzas or calzones and Peroni beer can't be beat for value. My wife and I are there at least once per month. Specials are creative, interesting and local.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My first time at Centro and it was wonde ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My first time at Centro and it was wonderful. Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous pre-Christmas dinner for our fa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Fabulous pre-Christmas dinner for our family of five. Great food and excellent service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food, but two of my friends' la ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Love the food, but two of my friends' lasagna was luke warm. My pasta with shrimp and sausage was requested extra spicy. It was delicious, spicy and piping hot.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Centro has great atmosphere. The food i ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Centro has great atmosphere. The food is very good. We have always had great service. It has a great wine list.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere. Server very ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Server very accommodating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great experience as usual. The food is a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great experience as usual. The food is always hot and fresh, service friendly and inviting, and the ambience great for special occasions or just a random dinner date.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent bruschetta! Worth returning j ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent bruschetta! Worth returning just for that. Attentive, knowledgable waiter who was delightful. Great meal !

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and the staff w ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was outstanding and the staff were knowledgeable and attentive. The perfect place to dine for our special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Centro is always an excellent place for ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Centro is always an excellent place for dinner, lunch, and Sunday brunch. Food and service always excellent. One of the top restaurants in Des Moines.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service and food were excellent. The ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The service and food were excellent. The noise level was alitlle higher then I would have liked, But overall very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a wonderful lunch at Centro this ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch at Centro this past summer when on a biking adventure and sat outside on the "patio". We said we felt like we were on a street in Europe and knew we wanted to experience a winter evening meal here before seeing the musical Beautiful. Our meal and service did not disappoint. Would highly recommend the creamy tortellini soup. Will definitely be back for a repeat delicious meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and the service was outstandi ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food and the service was outstanding! The wine choice was nice with some nice prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were phenomenal. Th ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The food and service were phenomenal.

The seating is a little cramped and the noise level made it difficult to carry on a conversation.

Food and service 10/10.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our meals. I had the 1 ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We really enjoyed our meals. I had the 12 ounce Ribeye which was very delicious. I would, however, like to offer advice that the plate should have been warmed because the steak was cold before I could finish the entree. Otherwise the food was absolutely delicious!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, , Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good times, great friends, and marvelous ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good times, great friends, and marvelous food. What could be better?

Tags: , Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are always amazing.

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food and service are always amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time with my boyfriend. Our ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had a great time with my boyfriend. Our server, Katy, was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. She prevented us from over ordering on the size of an appetizer, which we greatly appreciated. She was also very attentive to our drinks, and checked in with us without hovering or being bothersome. The building has a lot of hard surfaces, so sound bounced around a lot, and it got quite noisy, but it lended to a kind of busy background white noise that left us with a sort of bubble of casual conversation between the of us where I wasn't worried about other people listening in. The food was incredibly good, and arrived in a timely manner without us having a long wait between appetizers and entree. I will definitely come to Centro again.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, , Spicy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.