About Centro Restaurant

1007 Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Des Moines lives one of the city’s most popular restaurants, Centro. The urban eatery specializes in delicious Italian-inspired food featuring fresh ingredients and masterful preparation by Chef George Formaro. Whether you’re ordering a multi-course meal or grabbing a drink and pizza at the bar, Centro’s lively, casual yet upscale atmosphere makes it perfect for dining with friends, family, clients and business associates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 248-1780

Website:
http://www.centrodining.com/

Catering:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking and several near-by public ramps, Centro patrons are welcome to use the ING parking lot a 9th and Locust every day after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
www.centrodesmoines.com

Private Party Contact:
Rod De Angelo: 5152481780x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wild Mushroom Omelet With Portobello Fries - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Hot Bread and Dipping EVOO - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Centro Breakfast - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
South West Tofu Scramble - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Bloody Mary - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Crab Cake Benedict - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Peach Tart With Vanilla Ice Cream - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Gogonzola Burger - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Tomato Basil Soup With Cheese Tortellini - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Caesar Dinner Salad - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Portobello Fries With Truffle Aoli And Cajun Dipping Sauce - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Grand Marnier Creme Brulee - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Georges Favor Marshmallow Sunday - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Fried Brussels Sprouts - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
stuffed french toast with mascarpone and strawberries - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Moscow Mule - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
fried egg sandwich - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Portobello Mushroom Fries - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Heartbuster Or Something Like That - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Pizza Bianco - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Homemade Ricotta Gnocchi - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Centro Cut Ny Strip - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Pizza Margherita - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Centro New York Strip - Centro Restaurant, Des Moines, IA

Centro Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa
7 More
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Best Value
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

Special Occasion (91)
Romantic (66)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Great for Lunch (40)
Hot Spot (40)
Business Meals (37)
Good for Groups (36)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Worth the Drive (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Cozy (27)
Casual (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Authentic (24)
Fun (23)
Modern Decor (22)
Wood Oven (17)
Local Ingredients (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Historic (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Healthy (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
People Watching (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Family Style (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great Beer (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Scenic View (4)
Private Room (4)
Spicy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Krista our server was wonderful. Got to ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Krista our server was wonderful. Got to recommend the fresh pasta, this place is the real deal in the mid-West. Look forward to coming back

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a pleasure to come back to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It is always a pleasure to come back to Centro. Excellence permeates the experience. Well conceived, prepared and served meals leave one free to enjoy the friends or family around the table and to savor the occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time at this restauran ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

This was my third time at this restaurant and it's probably my favorite one in Des Moines. Service is always good and the food is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. We were seated ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and service. We were seated immediately. We all loved the food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed in our experienc ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

I was very disappointed in our experience. 3 out of the 4 of us had been before and feel it has really gone down in service, and most of all taste of the food. I may not be back .

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great, as usual! Food, as well as servic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great, as usual! Food, as well as service, was incredible!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good.

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service was great. Highly recom ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food and service was great. Highly recommend. However, the review process where you have to use at least 50 characters is ridiculous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Centro provided a great date night as al ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Centro provided a great date night as always. We ventured from our typical orders and kind of regretted it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very nice dinner at Centro. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a very nice dinner at Centro. We were seated promptly, the service was attentive, though our wine was a little slow to the table, and the food came very promptly. The salmon was delicious as was the pasta. Big portions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, great service and great atmo ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food, great service and great atmosphere! Perfect for date night!

Tags: Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice meal but the noise level i ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had a nice meal but the noise level is quite high. It is the biggest drawback to Centro. It is convenient if you are going to the Temple for a show tho.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Our server was great. I can't recall his ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Our server was great. I can't recall his name, but he handled our table flawlessly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten all over the country and t ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have eaten all over the country and this restaurant is definitely a top 5 for us!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Fun with friends or dates. N ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food! Fun with friends or dates. Nice wine lists.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food,fun atmosphere, tasty drinks! ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food,fun atmosphere, tasty drinks! Fantastic service! We loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My fish was dry. The sides were fine tho ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My fish was dry. The sides were fine though a little salty. The wine was good if a bit pricey. Overall the design is attractive. The restaurant was busy, but because we had reservations we didn't have to wait.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Perfect spot for date night. Fantastic f ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Perfect spot for date night. Fantastic food and great ambience.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Sunday brunch. Server knowledg ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. Server knowledgeable and very friendly. Food wonderful. Loved Mimosas and bloody mary bar

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Centro was delicious, as always! I love ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Centro was delicious, as always! I love the ambiance of the restaurant. The staff is very accommodating. I would recommend to anyone. I will definitely be back on my next trip to Des Moines.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I go to Centro's frequently ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife and I go to Centro's frequently on Sat. date night and have never had a bad meal there. Italian cuisine, including homemade pasta; superb pizza, salads, excellent wine/bar list, etc. Always crowded, but surprisingly cozy; service is top notch. On our regular rotation. Highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrating my husband's Birthday - of w ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Celebrating my husband's Birthday - of which his day ended on a fabulous note at Centro's!! 5-star service and the meal was 5-star!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance, service and food were the ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The ambiance, service and food were the best we've had in DSM since moving here in May. Their mojito was quite good, not too sweet and the blood orange sorbet was incredible. I had the chicken and prosciutto with a parmesan cream sauce (excellent) and my wife had a special sweet potato stuffed pasta she thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Centro was a fantastic experience. I too ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Centro was a fantastic experience. I took my fiancé there for a romantic birthday dinner. The environment was pleasing and all of the food was good. We had an appetizer, each a different entrée, and dessert, it was all well worth it. I will definitely be going again, and have been recommending to my friends.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Centro has amazing food, ambiance, wait ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Centro has amazing food, ambiance, wait staff, and just an all around great restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone got something different and all ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everyone got something different and all the food was just bland. The pizza was good after adding salt. I just think all the entrees could have been better seasoned.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was delicious, but as an underage c ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was delicious, but as an underage college student I felt very mistreated by the wait staff. Overall good experience except service I would recommend for anyone who could drink.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was excellent and the waiters v ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was excellent and the waiters very helpful. If the lighting level as to stay that low, I would suggest a menu with larger print so it can be read.

Tags: Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

we went for appetizers and wine . The f ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 27, 2016

we went for appetizers and wine . The fried Brussel sprouts were mostly raw, the deep fried raviolis were almost burned , and barely room temp. The giant meatballs were very good ,but came with no side of marinara sauce. Had to request that. Was not impressed ! Will give them another try, but it won't be for a while.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent evening at Centro; as always! ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent evening at Centro; as always! Very good food, value and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous, as always. Server was a bit st ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fabulous, as always. Server was a bit stiff compared to recent visits, but good service nonetheless.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic as ever. A true Des Moines ins ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Fantastic as ever. A true Des Moines institution. Centro has never disappointed me in a decade of dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food ,beverages,and service They k ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Good food ,beverages,and service

They know how to make sure you make your concert on time,yet never feel rushed

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great service coupled with delicious Ita ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great service coupled with delicious Italian cuisine. Check out the seafood!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious meal, largeportions, knowledge ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Delicious meal, largeportions, knowledgeable and attentive servers. Casual elegant atmosphere, recommend a reservation in the evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great, we are regulars!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Always great, we are regulars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently excellent service and cuisi ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Consistently excellent service and cuisine! Love OpenTable option, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent! So many creativ ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was excellent! So many creative dishes and drinks on the menu that we have to go back to try more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu & the food is amazing!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great menu & the food is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food here is always excellent. Great ser ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food here is always excellent. Great service by attentive wait staff. Great for special night out or date. Bar is great, too, with lots of room and great drinks. Great wine list.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.