About Central Wharf Company

160 Milk Street
Boston, MA 02109
View Larger Map

Central Wharf Co is located in Boston's Financial District, just steps from the Rose Kennedy Greenway and Faneuil Hall. Built in 1819 by famed Charles Bullfinch, original exposed brick matched by contemporary nautical decor create a truly Bostonian experience for locals, professionals and tourists alike. Garage-door style windows allow for sun to pour in during the winter months and create an al-fresco style dining experience during warmer weather.

Central Wharf Co has an extensive modern American menu featuring dishes like the Crab and Avocado Cocktail and the Kona Crusted Sirloin. With three full bars, two floors and multiple private spaces, Central Wharf Co is the perfect destination to host any private event.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Oyster Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Surface Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 451-9460

Website:
http://www.centralwharfco.com/

Entertainment:
Live music & weekend d.j's

Parking Details:
Street parking as well as several near by parking garages are available.

Public Transit:
The closest T stops are the Blue Line (Aquarium Station) and State Street.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Central Wharf Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (15)
great for lunch (7)
fit for foodies (7)
See All
neighborhood gem (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (4)
great for brunch (3)
special occasion (3)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
notable wine list (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
64 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Kids meals a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. Kids meals are only $5. Close to the waterfront and attractions in the local area.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service4

My husband and I had a quick date night ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I had a quick date night on a Saturday night and noticed this restaurant had openings in our time table. I probably ordered the wrong thing but the soba salad was just plain bad. My husband's mussels were solid and had a good flavor, but the soba salad should be reworked. Service was good, definitely a good spot for a big family or group. Friendly waitstaff, which is always a plus.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Central Wharf Company was recommended to ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Central Wharf Company was recommended to me by the hotel I was staying at nearby. I travel a lot for business and often eat alone. This was the FIRST restaurant I've ever dined at that made me feel unwelcome. They weren't even busy. But my waitress blatantly ignored me and took forever to assist. Meanwhile, nearby tables were served promptly and with a friendly attitude. With SO MANY other options in the Boston financial district, I wouldn't bother with this place.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was great and we were in a big ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great and we were in a big group which wasn't a problem, but the waitress was not very attentive and they overcharged us a full meal. Then, when we found the issue and asked for it to be corrected, a number of our credit cards got charged again. It was only last weekend so we're still trying to figure out if we need to contact the restaurant to get this fixed.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The indoor/outdoor dining vibe was great.

Dined on June 3, 2016

But the food was gross. The roast beef was inedible.

food4
ambience4
service4

Service was polite, engaging and helpful ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Service was polite, engaging and helpful. Entrees (fish tacos and seafood pasta) were attractive, delicious and exceeded expectations. The chowder starter was the consistency of pudding...like chunky potato pudding. This is not acceptable and should never have left the kitchen in that state. If that is their style, I would recommend avoiding.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Graduation lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great location, food, and atmosphere. Variety of food choices to meet everyone's tastes. Able to have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice. Lobster fritters were awesome ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Very nice. Lobster fritters were awesome. A little empty but nice atmosphere.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and a good time.

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Got there a little late so the bar scene was starting, but besides the loud music it was a good fun time with great food. Some good options for seafood and meat with a great drink selection. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

Fish of the day with the risotto was exc ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Fish of the day with the risotto was excellent! Would have it again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a Business Lunch

Dined on March 22, 2016

Central Wharf is located centrally in the downtown business district with easy access. It's a true gem for a casual business lunch as it combines sufficient privacy that one can have an intimate business conversation and a very modest (low!) noise level so one can hear without distraction unlike other downtown lunch locations. The food is very good, services is professional and quick and it's an attractive layout. Much better than the Faneuil Hall-centric restaurants for business.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

My girlfriend & I went on a date there t ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

My girlfriend & I went on a date there this past Saturday, & despite it being St Patrick's weekend, I was only slightly impressed with the service. Our food too an appropriate time frame, but our drinks took longer than most places. I can only account that to not having enough bar staff & wait staff to balance the running. There weren't a lot of guests in comparison, so I guess that's my only real complaint. Other than that, & the smaller than expected food portions, we enjoyed it

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great service. Will definite ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Great food. Great service. Will definitely be back!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

You won't be disappointed

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Have been here a few times and the food is always good and interesting. The service is fine, but not stellar.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious food and fast service.

Dined on January 1, 2016

We made reservation for 10pm on New Year's Eve and got right in to an almost empty dining room. We don't know why the only open reservation was for 10pm. We ordered the chowder as an appetizer and it was delicious. Before we were even done with the appetizer our main dishes arrived. I felt as though we were rushed, however the food was great. I highly recommend the sirloin flatbread. The taste was amazing, but the meat was skimpy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food Good price

Dined on December 28, 2015

Salads are excellent, both small side and meal size. Dressings are tasty, unique enough for distinction but classic enough for a kid to enjoy. The entrees are very nice, especially for the price in the Financial District and so close to the Central Wharf. Since everything is fresh made there, it is easy to ask for customization like no Blu Cheese on the burger. Very happy to find a quiet place with a good value so close to the Aquarium.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The Chatham cod and chips where's the be ...

Dined on December 28, 2015

The Chatham cod and chips where's the best ever very crunchy and moist inside. We will definitely be back

food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great place for our small wedding dinner!

Dined on December 19, 2015

We got married on Friday and only had my parents and siblings at the ceremony. We were 12 in total. Since the wedding wasn't too formal, we wanted a place that was pretty, with good food and good atmosphere, but also not too formal. We couldn't have been happier with our choice to come to Central Wharf Co. The ambiance was great! Really pretty little white lights (although maybe that's only for Christmas?) and romantic lighting. We sat a a big table and felt like we could communicate without shouting too much. The noise level was low. The food ended up being delicious and was a decent price. Our server was fantastic. He was attentive and nice and we never felt like we were waiting around for anything. The only thing that wasn't too great was that whenever the door opened, we got a rush of cold air. I know there isn't much that can be done about this, but some sort of small solution could be made up, I'm sure. Other than the cold, no complaints at all! Great job, Central Wharf!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Just okay

Dined on December 11, 2015

The ambiance was great and the food was just okay. Our waiter this time around was great, very pleasant and MUCH better than our last experience.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3

No respect for customers

Dined on November 7, 2015

I booked a table for 12 on a saturday night for my best friend's bachelorette party. On the DAY BEFORE the reservation I received a voicemail that a different event was happening at the restaurant so they wanted to move my party to a different venue owned by the same company. I had picked the restaurant specifically to have menu options my guests would enjoy and be able to afford so I was not interested in changing. I called FIVE TIMES that day with NO ANSWER, and could not even leave a voicemail because the mailbox was full. So on the day of the reservation I still didnt know if I was even going to have a table if I showed up. I called again and someone finally picked uo the phone, and I explained my frustration and why I did not want to switch venues. After a discussion with the manager, the person on the phone told me not to worry, and that I would have a table. I later received another phone call from a different person a few hours later once again telling me there was a problem, FOUR HOURS before the event. I finally got to speak to the owner who said they had a table but it would be loud due to the event, and I said I didnt care. When we showed up to the restaurant we were greeted outside and before we were even let inside we were told to follow an employee down the street. They led us inside the restaurant i did NOT book and at that point we had no choice but to stay unless we wanted to wander around Boston as a group of 12 and take our chances. The manager NEVER came to apologize. The waiter offered us 3 free appetizers as compensation and provided suggestions for the cheapest ones on the menu. While we were there the servers accidentally brought us a different party's food, then realized their mistake, took the food OFF OUR TABLE AND GAVE IT TO THE OTHER CUSTOMERS!! Gross!! At the end of the night I received a pathetic text message apology that they couldnt give me the table I wanted. Still waiting for my apology on being lied to. NEVER GOING BACK!!!!

food1
ambience2
service3

More of a bar. Positive reviews are misl ...

vip
Dined on October 22, 2015

More of a bar. Positive reviews are misleading. They cannot be for the food. Younger crowd may not mind.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place

Dined on October 16, 2015

Got there early and went to the less busy back bar. Bartender was friendly, knowledgable and great recommendations . Then on to dinner which was awesome.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Burgers!

Dined on August 9, 2015

Really enjoyed the burgers and salad. Thought menu was limited, but, burgers were worth it. Serving staff was helpful and attentive.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5

Solid, casual restaurant.

Dined on July 25, 2015

I just went here for my sister's bachelorette party and it was a great choice. I picked it because it was within walking distance to the bar we were planning to go to and they took a reservation for 14 people. They were very accommodating - we had to move our reservation back 30 minutes, and that was no problem at all. They seated us in a side room which was great because there were so many of us, and our waitress was so friendly and gave us great service. Food was decent, and prices were good considering we were downtown. It was a good, casual restaurant to get our evening started.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

Good menu

vip
Dined on July 24, 2015

Central Wharf has an authentic seaside feel, and when we were there the outer wall of window was open to let in the nice summer breeze. The lunch menu here is very good, similar to others in the neighborhood but a little more interesting and longer. We had salads and both were very good. Recommend the strawberry salad, the lemon poppyseed dressing was excellent.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2

The crab cakes here are great and it's a ...

Dined on July 18, 2015

The crab cakes here are great and it's a good spot to eat when visiting downtown. The service was not great as our waitress had no personality and couldn't be bothered. We eat there because our daughter is gluten and dairy free and most of the time they are very accommodating. It was not the case tonight however.

food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service were great - open table was not

vip
Dined on June 5, 2015

Went to Central Wharf specifically because Open Table advertised that Central Wharf did the Open Table pay by phone and if I tried it, I'd get $20 off. The food was excellent. The service was excellent. However, my waitress had never heard of paying via my phone and the host was not helpful at all. I feel like I got ripped off by Open Table for $20.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience5
service3

Great place but dinner was just OK

Dined on May 24, 2015

I really like this place. The restaurant is fairly new and the decor very warm. I enjoy the atmosphere. Plus the staff is friendly. I went twice now, once for lunch and once for dinner. Lunch was good. I went back for dinner and the food was just OK. The oysters were a bit too salty and my pulled pork sandwich a tad too sweet. My husband got the burger and it was a bit dry. Pricewise it's what you would expect in Boston. I just wishe the food had been a bit tastier. We will go back. Maybe it was a bad night, Saturday on Memorial Day weekend.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Great

Dined on May 16, 2015

This place is a nice hidden gem in the financial district. The ambience is excellent and the food is delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Yummy

vip
Dined on May 13, 2015

This was my second visit and I enjoyed it even more! We came after work for drinks and apps and everything was delicious - especially the miso chicken wings! Looking forward to my next visit...

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Marathon Weekend Service

Dined on April 19, 2015

We wanted a "Marathon Eve" dining place for pasta so wandered the neighborhood near our hotel in the financial district during lunch on the Saturday prior to the Marathon. The menu looked great at Central Wharf, but no simple pasta. The bartender was very helpful and thought the chef would likely be making a marathon special on Sunday evening. He assured us if this didn't happen, there was a pasta on the children's menu we could order. We made a reservation, had a great table, and the chef created a pasta just for us upon asking for specials. It was a pleasant experience, great food, and they were very accommodating. Thanks Central Wharf for getting us ready for a Boston finish in 2015!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Salad and Crab Cakes

Dined on April 18, 2015

Pear salad with crab cake was delicious. We were visiting for the Marathon weekend and found Central Wharf online. Loved the atmosphere and food. Great location away from the hustle and bustle of marathon weekend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1

Terrible service, okay food

Dined on March 15, 2015

We booked reservations for a business dinner for 15. We only had one server, which would have been fine if she actually served. Our plates were never cleared, we were never offered more drinks, and we were never asked how our meals were. The burger and fries were delicious, but DO NOT EVER get the tuna. I would suggest this place for strong drinks only.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome

Dined on February 14, 2015

Fantastic, appitizers, drinks and entree was all great. Would go back in a hearbeat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great casual ambiance!

Dined on January 1, 2015

We had a group of 11, half children, and they had our table ready early New Years Eve! The casual food was excellent! Warm pitas with hummus and olive tapenade app hit the spot! Great service and very nice ambiance! Would highly recommend this spot for a casual night out or early dinner with the kids. Reasonably priced!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4

food was middle of road and service was ...

Dined on December 15, 2014

food was middle of road and service was very good and courteous. Kale salad was good but crab cakes had too much bread in them

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Surprisingly nice find

Dined on November 30, 2014

Decided to go here at the last minute, since they could fit a party for 12. We were pleasantly surprised! The atmosphere was nice and the food was amazing. Try the salmon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2

Good for Business Lunch

vip
Dined on November 20, 2014

Have been a couple of time, this time the food was good, not outstanding but good. Service is a bit of a rough spot, somewhat slow and sporadic. The restaurant did not seem to be overly busy so not sure why, and as I recall from my first visit service was similar.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5

Very cool spot but the entrees weren't w ...

vip
Dined on October 29, 2014

Very cool spot but the entrees weren't what we expected... The apps were great and the beer list was extensive but I would just stick to a burger next time around.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

Dined on October 9, 2014

The food was excellent and the service was great. I did find it rather loud. We were there after work and it seems to be a place where people meet after work and it gets loud as does the music. We were sitting in the dining room and it was hard to hear each other talk.

Tags: great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.