About Central Wharf Company

160 Milk Street
Boston, MA 02109
View Larger Map

Central Wharf Co. Located on Milk Street in the Financial District and just steps from the waterfront, Central Wharf Co. welcomes you in with it’s long, oak bar, inviting banquette seating, exposed brick and modern industrial charm.
Housed in a 200-year-old building that was once home to the Central Wharf Tea Co., the space has floor to ceiling windows, nautical decor, three bars on two floors and a striking layout that gives guests a unique experience unlike any other bar in the city.
Complimented by a creative menu offering refreshing options with a focus on using local foods and homemade ingredients, as well as a top-notch craft beer and cocktail program, Central Wharf Co is the complete package. With multiple rooms, floors and bars, Central Wharf is also a perfect space for functions of all sizes. With multiple rooms, floors and bars, our space is perfect for any event or function

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Oyster Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Surface Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 451-9460

Website:
http://www.centralwharfco.com/

Entertainment:
Live music & weekend d.j's

Parking Details:
Street parking as well as several near by parking garages are available.

Public Transit:
The closest T stops are the Blue Line (Aquarium Station) and State Street.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

$1 Oysters!

Mondays, Tuesdays and Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

$1 Oysters!

Mondays, Tuesdays and Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

$1 Oysters, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday 3pm - 6pm! Oysters by the greenway sounds like a good plan!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 28, 2016 - Mar 28, 2017 on Mondays, Tuesdays and Sundays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We will be open for lunch and brunch on Christmas Eve. Stop by watch some football and grab a cocktail after you finish your last minute shopping!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Central Wharf Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.6

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (4)
See All
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Business Meals (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Cozy (2)
Romantic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
78 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a delicious lunch. As this was a bus ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Had a delicious lunch. As this was a business meeting, I appreciated the host seating us at a table in a quiet area. The menu was well-priced, which is especially important when someone else is picking up the tab! I would highly recommend Central Wharf Company for business lunches, and I plan to go back for non-business dining soon!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice spot for a bite; service was attent ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Nice spot for a bite; service was attentive, menu was pedestrian, food was definitely edible. Nothing special in either direction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Overall it is a great spot and I would v ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Overall it is a great spot and I would visit again. I went for dinner with to other friends and after we stayed for the Boston Plant Nite (I bought tickets online). It was a great venue for the event. The food was very good as well as the music. I can not believe I have never gone until that night. I do plan to go again soon.

Tags: Disabled Access, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was great but the service was l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was great but the service was lacking. My husband ordered chowder to start and it took quite a while to get it. He had only tasted it and the waitress brought our entrees.

Seriously?? I took mine since I didnt have an appetizer but we asked to have his held in the kitchen and kept warm.

The wait staff needs to know something like that should not happen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Decor was great and so wasn't the good. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Decor was great and so wasn't the good. Prices were reasonable. Couldn't tell if the waitress was new or just not knowledgeable/familiar with the drink menu/alcohol. Would definitely recommend/go again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Went to watch the Clemson vs. BC game on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Went to watch the Clemson vs. BC game on TV. Had a great time. The Boston chapter of CU alums gather to watch, eat, drink, and cheer on our Tigers to victory!! Waiter was exceptional.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I like this place because it's easy to m ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I like this place because it's easy to make a reservation for a large group and the food and drinks are great. This is our first choice for a team lunch every time. The prices are a bit expensive but it's the financial district and rent is high!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was aloof. We ordered fra-diaVo ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was aloof.

We ordered fra-diaVolo dish. My dinner guest asked for not too spicy.

When it came:

Me: which one is less spicy ? (She wasn't our initial waitress)

Her: neither. Um, that one.

Didon't bother to take the time to even ask the kitchen.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

very good, so good in fact I booked a di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2016

very good, so good in fact I booked a dinner for 10 people on august 10!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Appetizers were delicious. Fish was perf ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Appetizers were delicious.

Fish was perfectly cooked and totally flavorless. Some spices need to be used.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I really wanted to love this place. It h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 26, 2016

I really wanted to love this place. It has such a great atmosphere and vibe, however that turned out to be just nice decor. I work around the corner and had been meaning to try it, and ended up taking my parents and younger cousin. hostess didn't acknowledge me when I came in (she was on her cell phone). service was fine, but the food was awful. between us we had oysters, fish n chips, fish tacos, tuna wrap and veggie burger. I don't think anyone has more than 3 bites of food, which was mainly tasteless. the menu reads well and looks interesting, but really not worth it at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We went for a casual business meal. 8 o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went for a casual business meal. 8 of us had trouble hearing each other even though it was a Wednesday night. I would have been better off picking a quieter place. The food was good and I would go back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Food was good and service excellent. The ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was good and service excellent. There was a private [arty near us and it was very noisy but otherwise the ambiance was quite nice. We were seated by a window so had a nice view . We had our granddaughter and the kids menu had a nice selection. It was a little pricey for food and bar drinks but they were good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There were some crumbs on our table. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2016

There were some crumbs on our table. The appetizer was served at the same time as the entrees. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent food and service. Kids meals a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. Kids meals are only $5. Close to the waterfront and attractions in the local area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I had a quick date night ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I had a quick date night on a Saturday night and noticed this restaurant had openings in our time table. I probably ordered the wrong thing but the soba salad was just plain bad. My husband's mussels were solid and had a good flavor, but the soba salad should be reworked. Service was good, definitely a good spot for a big family or group. Friendly waitstaff, which is always a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Central Wharf Company was recommended to ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Central Wharf Company was recommended to me by the hotel I was staying at nearby. I travel a lot for business and often eat alone. This was the FIRST restaurant I've ever dined at that made me feel unwelcome. They weren't even busy. But my waitress blatantly ignored me and took forever to assist. Meanwhile, nearby tables were served promptly and with a friendly attitude. With SO MANY other options in the Boston financial district, I wouldn't bother with this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was great and we were in a big ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great and we were in a big group which wasn't a problem, but the waitress was not very attentive and they overcharged us a full meal. Then, when we found the issue and asked for it to be corrected, a number of our credit cards got charged again. It was only last weekend so we're still trying to figure out if we need to contact the restaurant to get this fixed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The indoor/outdoor dining vibe was great.

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2016

But the food was gross. The roast beef was inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Service was polite, engaging and helpful ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Service was polite, engaging and helpful. Entrees (fish tacos and seafood pasta) were attractive, delicious and exceeded expectations.

The chowder starter was the consistency of pudding...like chunky potato pudding. This is not acceptable and should never have left the kitchen in that state. If that is their style, I would recommend avoiding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Graduation lunch

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great location, food, and atmosphere. Variety of food choices to meet everyone's tastes. Able to have a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very nice. Lobster fritters were awesome ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Very nice. Lobster fritters were awesome. A little empty but nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and a good time.

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Got there a little late so the bar scene was starting, but besides the loud music it was a good fun time with great food. Some good options for seafood and meat with a great drink selection. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fish of the day with the risotto was exc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Fish of the day with the risotto was excellent! Would have it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great for a Business Lunch

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2016

Central Wharf is located centrally in the downtown business district with easy access. It's a true gem for a casual business lunch as it combines sufficient privacy that one can have an intimate business conversation and a very modest (low!) noise level so one can hear without distraction unlike other downtown lunch locations. The food is very good, services is professional and quick and it's an attractive layout. Much better than the Faneuil Hall-centric restaurants for business.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend & I went on a date there t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2016

My girlfriend & I went on a date there this past Saturday, & despite it being St Patrick's weekend, I was only slightly impressed with the service. Our food too an appropriate time frame, but our drinks took longer than most places. I can only account that to not having enough bar staff & wait staff to balance the running. There weren't a lot of guests in comparison, so I guess that's my only real complaint. Other than that, & the smaller than expected food portions, we enjoyed it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food. Great service. Will definite ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Great food. Great service. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You won't be disappointed

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2016

Have been here a few times and the food is always good and interesting. The service is fine, but not stellar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious food and fast service.

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We made reservation for 10pm on New Year's Eve and got right in to an almost empty dining room. We don't know why the only open reservation was for 10pm. We ordered the chowder as an appetizer and it was delicious. Before we were even done with the appetizer our main dishes arrived. I felt as though we were rushed, however the food was great. I highly recommend the sirloin flatbread. The taste was amazing, but the meat was skimpy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food Good price

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2015

Salads are excellent, both small side and meal size. Dressings are tasty, unique enough for distinction but classic enough for a kid to enjoy. The entrees are very nice, especially for the price in the Financial District and so close to the Central Wharf. Since everything is fresh made there, it is easy to ask for customization like no Blu Cheese on the burger. Very happy to find a quiet place with a good value so close to the Aquarium.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The Chatham cod and chips where's the be ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2015

The Chatham cod and chips where's the best ever very crunchy and moist inside.

We will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for our small wedding dinner!

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2015

We got married on Friday and only had my parents and siblings at the ceremony. We were 12 in total. Since the wedding wasn't too formal, we wanted a place that was pretty, with good food and good atmosphere, but also not too formal. We couldn't have been happier with our choice to come to Central Wharf Co. The ambiance was great! Really pretty little white lights (although maybe that's only for Christmas?) and romantic lighting. We sat a a big table and felt like we could communicate without shouting too much. The noise level was low. The food ended up being delicious and was a decent price. Our server was fantastic. He was attentive and nice and we never felt like we were waiting around for anything.

The only thing that wasn't too great was that whenever the door opened, we got a rush of cold air. I know there isn't much that can be done about this, but some sort of small solution could be made up, I'm sure.

Other than the cold, no complaints at all! Great job, Central Wharf!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Just okay

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2015

The ambiance was great and the food was just okay. Our waiter this time around was great, very pleasant and MUCH better than our last experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

No respect for customers

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2015

I booked a table for 12 on a saturday night for my best friend's bachelorette party. On the DAY BEFORE the reservation I received a voicemail that a different event was happening at the restaurant so they wanted to move my party to a different venue owned by the same company. I had picked the restaurant specifically to have menu options my guests would enjoy and be able to afford so I was not interested in changing. I called FIVE TIMES that day with NO ANSWER, and could not even leave a voicemail because the mailbox was full. So on the day of the reservation I still didnt know if I was even going to have a table if I showed up. I called again and someone finally picked uo the phone, and I explained my frustration and why I did not want to switch venues. After a discussion with the manager, the person on the phone told me not to worry, and that I would have a table. I later received another phone call from a different person a few hours later once again telling me there was a problem, FOUR HOURS before the event. I finally got to speak to the owner who said they had a table but it would be loud due to the event, and I said I didnt care. When we showed up to the restaurant we were greeted outside and before we were even let inside we were told to follow an employee down the street. They led us inside the restaurant i did NOT book and at that point we had no choice but to stay unless we wanted to wander around Boston as a group of 12 and take our chances. The manager NEVER came to apologize. The waiter offered us 3 free appetizers as compensation and provided suggestions for the cheapest ones on the menu. While we were there the servers accidentally brought us a different party's food, then realized their mistake, took the food OFF OUR TABLE AND GAVE IT TO THE OTHER CUSTOMERS!! Gross!! At the end of the night I received a pathetic text message apology that they couldnt give me the table I wanted. Still waiting for my apology on being lied to. NEVER GOING BACK!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

More of a bar. Positive reviews are misl ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2015

More of a bar. Positive reviews are misleading. They cannot be for the food. Younger crowd may not mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Great Place

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2015

Got there early and went to the less busy back bar. Bartender was friendly, knowledgable and great recommendations . Then on to dinner which was awesome.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Burgers!

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 9, 2015

Really enjoyed the burgers and salad. Thought menu was limited, but, burgers were worth it. Serving staff was helpful and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Solid, casual restaurant.

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 25, 2015

I just went here for my sister's bachelorette party and it was a great choice. I picked it because it was within walking distance to the bar we were planning to go to and they took a reservation for 14 people. They were very accommodating - we had to move our reservation back 30 minutes, and that was no problem at all. They seated us in a side room which was great because there were so many of us, and our waitress was so friendly and gave us great service. Food was decent, and prices were good considering we were downtown. It was a good, casual restaurant to get our evening started.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good menu

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2015

Central Wharf has an authentic seaside feel, and when we were there the outer wall of window was open to let in the nice summer breeze. The lunch menu here is very good, similar to others in the neighborhood but a little more interesting and longer. We had salads and both were very good. Recommend the strawberry salad, the lemon poppyseed dressing was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The crab cakes here are great and it's a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 18, 2015

The crab cakes here are great and it's a good spot to eat when visiting downtown. The service was not great as our waitress had no personality and couldn't be bothered. We eat there because our daughter is gluten and dairy free and most of the time they are very accommodating. It was not the case tonight however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.