About Cento

122 W. Mifflin St.
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

Chef Giovanni Novella focuses on local ingredients and authentic Italian preparation methods with a modern twist. Translating to “100″ in Italian, the significance behind Cento’s name (pronounced Chento), lies in our location.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
BRUNCH: Saturday & Sunday, 10 am - 2 pm

DINNER
Sunday, 5 pm - 9 pm
Monday-Saturday, 5 pm - 10 pm
[Bar opens daily at 4 pm]

LATE NIGHT
Thursday-Saturday, 10 pm - 12 am

Cross Street:
Fairchild

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 284-9378

Website:
http://www.centomadison.com/

Catering:
For catering inquiries, please contact Jordan Bright at jbright@foodfightinc.com.

Parking Details:
Cento’s central location on the corner of Mifflin & Fairchild Streets ensures easy access to convenient downtown parking. Two public parking structures adjacent to Overture Center offer more than 1,400 parking spaces. Additional parking ramps can be found on State Street and the Capitol Square, and on-street metered parking is also available for short-term parking in the downtown area. www.cityofmadison.com/transportation/parking.cfm

Executive Chef:
Giovanni Novella

Private Party Facilities:
At Cento, we pride ourselves on hosting spectacular private events. Whether you would like to entertain a select small group, or host a large reception throughout the entire restaurant, Cento offers a number of options suitable for any occasion. We tailor each event to suit your needs, and a dedicated staff will ensure that every detail of your event is attended to.

Experience Cento from within the intimate atmosphere of our second dining room, which can accommodate up to 35 guests. Our second dining room is equipped with a private bar and is perfect for any occasion, whether it"s a business function or a celebration with family and friends, and is situated a few steps up from our main dining room. For larger groups, exclusive use of the restaurant can be arranged for both luncheon and dinner events, with the front lounge and bar as the perfect setting for a reception in advance of a seated event.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Bright: 6082849378x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Cento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Madison
Best Service
Madison
4 More
Best Ambiance
Madison
Fit for Foodies
Madison
Special Occasion
Madison
Most Booked
Madison
Best Restaurants in Madison ›

special occasion (150)
fit for foodies (147)
romantic (89)
See All
notable wine list (81)
good for groups (73)
hot spot (62)
neighborhood gem (34)
vibrant bar scene (33)
great for brunch (29)
late-night find (25)
great for lunch (19)
scenic view (15)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
483 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasantly surprised at the prices ...

Dined 3 days ago

Very pleasantly surprised at the prices as we were expecting them to be higher. Great variety of options and everything was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service. Will definite ...

Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food and service. Will definitely go back again. Make sure to get the Bacon wrapped dates. Incredible!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed the wonderful t ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the wonderful tuna tartar as a starter and my pasta with spring pea and mint was so very good. The wine list was very with many wines by the glass.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food. A bit pricey but expected f ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food. A bit pricey but expected for location.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, very professional , g ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent service, very professional , great food and drink. Treated us well for our anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

"Boozy Brunch" is a great value....overd ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

"Boozy Brunch" is a great value....overdelivers @ 25 per person

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Best Boozy Brunch deal. 2 cocktails, any ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Best Boozy Brunch deal. 2 cocktails, any brunch entrées of your choosing, free coffee and delicious pastry all for $25! Can't get it anywhere else. Be sure to try the Bella Frizzante to start off. It's refreshing and delicious. The croissant was flaky and fluffy. We had the lemon ricotta pancake which taste like dessert it was so good. The salami hash was a bit too salty but delicious anyway. Love the grilled bread on the side. The only thing lacking is a nice kids menu for family dining.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Really good food and excellent service. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Really good food and excellent service. Just too loud for me. It could be the way the place is constructed. The air conditioning was set up at a very low temperature. I was freezing, and my friend too, but everybody else seemed to be happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The bacon wrapped dates were delicious. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The bacon wrapped dates were delicious. Possibly the best food we had. We had two pasta dishes, lasagna and tagliatelle . Both were good but not great. Lacked any distinctive flavors. Everything is alacarte, adding to the cost which brings it to the high end. The service and atmosphere were excellent. It really is a very lovely place. I think I would return for drinks and appetizers instead of a full meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We would like to support this restaurant ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We would like to support this restaurant in the future but it needs to get its act together. We had inexplicably slow service which we don't think was our servers fault. Some things on the menu were were unavailable after ordering. Come on, a good chef/kitchen should know that before people order! You need to concentrate on doing a great job on your entrees. The consensus was that the antipasti was the highlight .

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was excellent. I got the benedict ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Brunch was excellent. I got the benedict and shared the lemon ricotta pancakes with a friend. So so good!

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We went to Cento for a small business di ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We went to Cento for a small business dinner. The food, wine, and cocktails were delicious. The downtown location was great with a nice view, and service was very friendly and attentive. My only complaint was the noise level. We sat in a booth with a nice view of the Overture Center, but even in a booth I could barely hear the person sitting next to me, and had a really hard time having a conversation with my colleagues across the booth. I like the vibrant, energetic, downtown atmosphere, but if they could figure out how to reduce the noise level just a bit, it would be perfect.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Italian food is hard to find in Wi ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great Italian food is hard to find in Wisconsin, this place made me feel like I was back home in New York. You can taste that they are using fresh ingredients. I left very happy, I'm glad I found this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was fantastic! Took my daughter here for a pre-graduation celebration. The menu had a good variety of choices without being overwhelming. The service was great. No one stopped by every 3 minutes to see "how we were doing". It was just the perfect amount of attention. The manager stopped by briefly at the end of our meal to thank us for dining there and to see if we enjoyed the meal. The décor was current without being overly "hip". They have a nice assortment of appetizers and small plates to go along with a tasty array of pastas and entrees. We were too full for dessert! Our only complaint was the butter and olive oil condiment for the bread was entirely too salty to eat. The bread, however, was delicious. I highly recommend your next dinner out be at Cento.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Cento is good but not great. The menu op ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Cento is good but not great. The menu options were prepared properly but not memorably. Most items were over-priced for Manhattan...but this is Madison! The wait-staff was friendly and professional - good job.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite restaurant in Madison for food, ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Favorite restaurant in Madison for food, wine, cocktails, ambience, and service, hands down.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A lovely experience from start to finish!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Our dinner was delightful, and the dishes were inspired. The caramelized fennel was especially memorable. Simple elegance. The service was attentive but not pushy. We were full, but couldn't resist the lemon sorbet with our coffee. Thank you. We will be back and will gladly recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Date Night!

Dined on June 1, 2016

Our server was fantastic and very accommodating throughly with food allergies and recommendations. Overall a fun and lovely experience. The food was excellent. A fantastic Italian pasta joint with a great atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

an excellent choice if attending an event nearby

Dined on May 31, 2016

if you are attending an event at the Overture Center, Cento is a nice place to get dinner before hand, or even drinks which are specialties. Service was exceptional!! Food was very , very good - not exactly cheap - but quality NEVER is.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply perfection!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great environment and wonderful food to die for! Will definitely be back over and over again!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Dinner was delicious, however very meage ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Dinner was delicious, however very meager serving! Really, for pasta? At These prices, one should not leave hungry! Ordered a pasta dish that had a delicious broth. I asked the waitress for some bread to soak it up. Bread was outstanding but there was a charge for it! Really???? Why? Pros: Delicious food, great service, nice atmosphere. Cons: small portions, unnecessary surcharges. Overpriced for what you get. One shouldn't leave not satisfied after spending $$$.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dope

Dined on May 27, 2016

I'm not really into fine dining, but this place was amazing! Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was great. Birthday Celebration a ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Server was great. Birthday Celebration and we were given a desert for the birthday boy. Also we had theater tickets and service was good and not rushed but still finishing in time

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, wonderful service, great ambience

Dined on May 25, 2016

We were very pleased with our first visit to Cento. The restaurant is beautiful. The tables are spaced nicely so you are not sitting on top of the next table. The service is impeccable. The drinks are traditional Italian. The wine list is extensive. The appetizer selection is excellent. We enjoyed the three we chose. The entrees are amazing too. We also tried dessert and were very happy with our choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Birthday Celebration

Dined on May 24, 2016

I love the ambiance and decor of this restaurant. My husband and I along with two other couples dined here for my recent birthday. The service was wonderful, timely and friendly. For appetizers we had the cheese board, meatballs and bacon wrapped dates - all were delicious. At least four of us ordered the Artic Char for our entrée and we really enjoyed the dill yogurt sauce served with it. They have a great wine list as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service and great food, but ...,

Dined on May 23, 2016

This was not a first time visit for me, but my group of friends wanted to gather close to the Overture for a show. As always, the food great, the wait staff very nice especially since they were working so hard. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant for a large table (even 5) as it was simply too noisy. It's too bad that they didn't use some sort of sound absorbing tiles, baffles or something to reduce the noise when this location was established. I will go again but only with 4 max and/or on a night when it is not packed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Came from SF to visit family

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Lovely restaurant, service was excellent. We had brunch and my only regret was I couldn't stay for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I dined at Cento before he ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My friend and I dined at Cento before heading to an Overture Center performance. The restaurant's 3-course special was a fantastic selection and the food came out quickly so we didn't feel like we would be running late for the performance. We had an excellent time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My daughter and I dined here recently be ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My daughter and I dined here recently before attending The Lion King across the street at the Overture at the recommendation of our hotel manager. We were delighted with our experience. They have a prix fixe pre-theatre dinner menu. I had the stuffed dates, beet salad and taglietelle. My daughter enjoyed the sourdough bread, mixed salad and chicken parm. All were prepared to perfection and delicious. Our service was outstanding - timed perfectly to get us to the show on time without feeling rushed. Thanks Cento for an exceptional dining experience. Will definitely return next time we're in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food didn't meet expectations

Dined on May 19, 2016

Unfortunately my visit was so-so. This was my second time to the restaurant and I was really looking forward to going back. The food didn't live up to the first visit. The cheese plate was mostly meat - 3 large piles of shaved meats with 2 small chunks of cheese. The gnocchi dish was really watery, not sure if it was supposed to be like that. The service was great, the food just wasn't up to par this time, probably won't be back.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food with a menu full of tempt ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Very good food with a menu full of tempting choices. Excellent location and superb staff and service. Only potential downside is the noise level, which is fine if you're part of a group. Less good if you're a twosome. We come back for the memorable overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cento in Milwaukee- delicious

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

The food and service at Cento are very good. The pizza is very good , especially the procuitto and pear, the halibut is simply but delicious. Everything was cooked to perfection and order. The service was great the three times we have been there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian Food. Went with European ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great Italian Food. Went with European guest from Austia who was quite impressed and great view of Overture Center. Excellent wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere and food were great. I felt l ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Atmosphere and food were great. I felt like I was in Italy.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We received complimentary champagne for ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We received complimentary champagne for our 2nd anniversary which was a great addition to an all around great evening of wine, food and companionship. Our server, Jake, and the wine steward did a fantastic job throughout and we will definitely return. Highly recommended!

food4
ambience5
service3

The ambience

Dined on May 12, 2016

The ambience

food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Despite having allowed 90 minutes to din ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Despite having allowed 90 minutes to dine before a show, we were not able to finish with enough time for dessert (seemed to be a kitchen issue). The manager was kind enough to give us a rain check. Further, inexplicably, the kitchen staff decided to use chili oil on the beet salad. Not too bad until the heat set in. Saved again by the manager who comped them.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All work meals should be this good.

Dined on May 10, 2016

Myself and a co-worker made a reservation at Cento based on a recommendation from a foodie friend of mine. We started with an heirloom caprese salad with walnut pesto that was lovely. For main courses, I chose the heritage pork chop with green beans as a side, while she chose snapper with wild mushrooms as a side. Neither of us was disappointed in the least. The wine list is extensive with a focus on some lesser seen Italian varieties. Put Cento on your short list if you find yourself around the capitol building in Madison.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was great. The noise was a little h ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was great. The noise was a little high for my old ears.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty and unique!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Quality ingredients and healthy flavorful options!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.