About Cento

122 W. Mifflin St.
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

Chef Giovanni Novella focuses on local ingredients and authentic Italian preparation methods with a modern twist. Translating to “100″ in Italian, the significance behind Cento’s name (pronounced Chento), lies in our location.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
BRUNCH: Saturday & Sunday, 10 am - 2 pm

DINNER
Sunday, 5 pm - 9 pm
Monday-Saturday, 5 pm - 10 pm
[Bar opens daily at 4 pm]

LATE NIGHT
Thursday-Saturday, 10 pm - 12 am

Cross Street:
Fairchild

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 284-9378

Website:
http://www.centomadison.com/

Catering:
For catering inquiries, please contact Jordan Bright at jbright@foodfightinc.com.

Parking Details:
Cento’s central location on the corner of Mifflin & Fairchild Streets ensures easy access to convenient downtown parking. Two public parking structures adjacent to Overture Center offer more than 1,400 parking spaces. Additional parking ramps can be found on State Street and the Capitol Square, and on-street metered parking is also available for short-term parking in the downtown area. www.cityofmadison.com/transportation/parking.cfm

Executive Chef:
Giovanni Novella

Private Party Facilities:
At Cento, we pride ourselves on hosting spectacular private events. Whether you would like to entertain a select small group, or host a large reception throughout the entire restaurant, Cento offers a number of options suitable for any occasion. We tailor each event to suit your needs, and a dedicated staff will ensure that every detail of your event is attended to.

Experience Cento from within the intimate atmosphere of our second dining room, which can accommodate up to 35 guests. Our second dining room is equipped with a private bar and is perfect for any occasion, whether it"s a business function or a celebration with family and friends, and is situated a few steps up from our main dining room. For larger groups, exclusive use of the restaurant can be arranged for both luncheon and dinner events, with the front lounge and bar as the perfect setting for a reception in advance of a seated event.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Bright: 6082849378x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Madison
5 More
Best Food
Madison
Best Ambiance
Madison
Best Value
Madison
Fit for Foodies
Madison
Most Booked
Madison
Best Restaurants in Madison ›

Special Occasion (108)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Romantic (59)
See All
Notable Wine List (55)
Hot Spot (43)
Good for Groups (39)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Great for Brunch (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Authentic (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Scenic View (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Cozy (4)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a wonderful experience for our anniv ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful experience for our anniversary. The dates and the pasta were great and the setting was even better. We were immediately helped with the wine selection and not disappointed. The wine list was a bit pricey. They surprised us with a gift to celebrate as well. Would definitely go back to try other dishes as well as their cocktails.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Centro is fine dining defined, great for ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

Centro is fine dining defined, great for a special occasion since you do pay for the high quality there. It was so worth it though - creative and delicious recipes and a great place for intimate conversation before or after a show at the Overture Center across the street!

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We always enjoy Dining at Cento, often b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We always enjoy Dining at Cento, often before concerts at Overture Center. The ambiance is very nice and the food and wine is consistently good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time to Cento. We cho ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time to Cento. We chose it due to the great location near the Overture Center, but were impressed with the food and cocktails (all delicious), the atmosphere, and the friendliness of the staff. It made for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with drinks at the bar before ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

We started with drinks at the bar before our meal, and they were very well made. At the table, service was top-notch -– knowledgeable, and attentive without being overly present. Our dishes – the balsamic chop and the taglietelle – were wonderful. The sides are large enough for two. The fingerling potatoes was good without being memorable; the almond pesto with the asparagus was a nice touch, but there was a vague burned taste to the dish, causing the only real off-note to the evening. Our bill of a bit over $100 covered drinks, appetizer, salad, our entrées and two sides and felt like a good value. All in all we had a delightful time, and will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The fried artichokes were great. I am ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 7 days ago

The fried artichokes were great. I am a connoisseur of red sauce, it had a lot of oregano/basil. I thought it had a little too much "herbs" in there. Overall very good quality of food. The Bucatini was incredible! I would definitely go back and eat there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Cento serves excellent food in a nice en ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Cento serves excellent food in a nice environment. The waitstaff is always friendly and knowledgeable. We frequently dine there just before we go to the Overture Center as its location is perfect for rushing off to the theater.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was only ok. Very disappointed.

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food was only ok. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The service was good, but it was way too ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The service was good, but it was way too loud in there for how nice the restaurant was. I also got food poisoning from the dish I had, but when I called they didn't care or do anything to fix it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding . Period, end of statement.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Outstanding . Period, end of statement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Sarah was educated and confid ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our server Sarah was educated and confident- she was one of the best servers I've ever had. Our octopus was phenomenal, and the dates, salads, bolognese and tenderloin shouldn't be missed either. Best restaurant in Madison, hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome restaurant in every way. Outstan ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Awesome restaurant in every way. Outstanding service, decor, ambiance and all aspects of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had enjoyed this restaurant for group ba ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Had enjoyed this restaurant for group banquets in the past so looked forward to a nice anniversary dinner with my wife. Very disappointed all around. The staff were friendly but that's where the positive ends. The salads were lifeless, limp, and bland. The octopus appetizer was probably originally tasty but overcooked & dry. The risotto was mushy and without character. No bread, salt/pepper, grated cheese, or other expected features were on the table or offered by wait staff. Only the sorbet was fresh and appealing - but I could have had same from the grocery store, and saved $150. Fell far short of expectations for a supposedly high-end Italian place. Sorry - but we will not be back, and cannot recommend Cento to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

What's not to love about Cento? Awesome ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

What's not to love about Cento? Awesome location. Awesome food. Awesome drinks. Awesome Awesome Awesome. Stopping in for Boozy Brunch was the best decision of my life. And that's saying something, because I once decided to NOT wear goucho pants when I very easily could have. Imagine the horror.

Four for you, Cento! YOU GO, CENTO! And none for Gretchen Weiners (or goucho pants for that matter).

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So. Visiting for the Ironman. First co ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

So. Visiting for the Ironman. First course: tuna tartare: AMAZING. garnished with toasted pinenuts and swimming on a bed of avocado/garlic aioli (?). Every bite lovely. Next: fried artichokes: AMAZING, but the portion is VERY large compared to other portions. Order with care. 2 entrees: seafood stew (cioppino). Nice but a bit scarce on seafood and the sauce is tart. Pappardelle with prosciutto and arugula: sauce was amazing. Not that fond of arugula on a hot dish. VERY pretty and I love arugula, but it's a bit chewy.

I suggested a new dish combining the tart tomato with the lovely cream sauce on the pappardelle

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband & I just dined at Cento to ce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My husband & I just dined at Cento to celebrate our anniversary. We had a booth by the window & the décor & food were excellent. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our brunch. Nice menu with good ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Enjoyed our brunch. Nice menu with good variety.

Everyone enjoyed their food and the service was very attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a nice setting and the food was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This is a nice setting and the food was very good and so were the drinks. The only negative was the extremely high noise level which made it difficult to converse with our group of 4 people.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great for special occasions. Their brunc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great for special occasions. Their brunch is a great deal. The decor is wonderful. However with their high ceilings, it can get pretty loud during busy periods.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time there, and we'll return. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Our first time there, and we'll return. We had a fine meal. Staff is knowledgeable and the wine steward was quite helpful with our selections.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was extremely slow they charged ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Service was extremely slow they charged for bread and the food itself was dismal and overly salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Cento was pretty good. However two thing ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Cento was pretty good. However two things that give you pause buy aren't deal breakers: -really stingy wine pours (by the glass)

-they charge for bread

So I'd recommend but I'd include those caveats.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was very good, good portion size, g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food was very good, good portion size, good value. Was busy on on Sunday Night, good energy in the dining room, open kitchen, sat in a booth, had requested and they honored. Also noted anniversary and they comped our dessert, nice touch. The only comment that I would say is that the server could have touched table more, had to ask for another glass of wine, noticed there were no bussers, which could help the flow and turn the tables faster. Food sat on table a little longer, service could have been more engaging and she had opportunities to upsell but didn't. It was good service but not at par with the ambiance and food. Good job. I would recommend and visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We made a spur of the moment late dinner ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We made a spur of the moment late dinner reservation for Saturday. The drinks were perfectly mixed, wine list was solid and the food was even better. We ate a lot of excellent food and our tab was less than $100. Very reasonable for such a trendy atmosphere, great service, and awesome food. I would go back regularly if I lived in Madison.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cento will roll out the red carpet to ma ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Cento will roll out the red carpet to make a special night even more special . Top to bottom the service was excellent. It was a great place for my wife and I to celebrate our anniversary. The service was attentive but not hovering, the food excellent and the ambiance was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch is disappointing, not much be ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The brunch is disappointing, not much better than a normal brunch place. And there isn't much choices on the menu. Not recommend for bringing important people there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I really enjoyed the service; the food w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I really enjoyed the service; the food was also very good. I wasn't a fan of the open environment -- was difficult to have a conversation with the person/people you are with as it was quite loud inside.

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Pastas are great. We were steered to th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Pastas are great. We were steered to the bacon date app but it was underwhelming. Recommend the booths.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and good food. Definitely ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great service and good food. Definitely would go again. I had the risotto. It was delicious.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I would recommend this restaurant highly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant highly. i wish I had known about the booths that I could have picked for my evening reservation . First time I have been to this restaurant. Will come back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious!!! Our first time dining at Ce ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Delicious!!! Our first time dining at Centro. We all enjoyed our selections. Can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food gave me food poisoning. Really ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food gave me food poisoning. Really disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

We have been trying to get reservations ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been trying to get reservations at Cento for a long time, but they've always been busy during the times I want to eat (a good sign). It was definitely worth the wait. The food was yummy and the decor was appealing. Service was excellent, especially as the waitstaff worked to accommodate my celiac needs. It was louder than I wish, but if we don't sit by the windows next time, perhaps that will be better. The food is delicious, but there were some items I would have liked to try that I simply didn't want to pay that much for. However, the pasta (yes, gluten-free options available) was reasonably priced, and I will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Cento and my husband and I ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

First time at Cento and my husband and I both enjoyed it very much. The server was engaging, knowledgable and friendly but gave us our space. We had the fried artichokes and tuna for appetizers. We would highly recommend the artichokes but the tuna was too salty. We enjoyed both the Bolognese and the pork pasta dish very much. If you are looking for a bit of privacy and a a lower noise volume, ask for a booth, which is what we did. Only complaint is that our martinis were only 2/3 full. Overall, nice experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was spot on and dinner experience w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was spot on and dinner experience was great! The four of us desired an after dinner drink in the bar area however, after a 10 min. wait we left and went elsewhere....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Awesome Italian food and cool atmosphere ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Awesome Italian food and cool atmosphere! My sig other got the tagliatelle and I ordered the lasagna. Both were good, the tagliatelle was phenomenal! We ordered a market mule, which was a special based on ingredients at the farmers market. It was made with carrot and apple...interesting, unique, and tasty!

The one disappointment was the tiramisu we ordered for dessert. It was sub-par, but not bad...just would not order it again.

Overall, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have dined at Cento multiple times an ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We have dined at Cento multiple times and have never been disappointed. This was the first time that I ordered a pizza and it was beyond yummy! We also enjoyed appetizers . . . dates and the cheese board . . . and both were a perfect start to the meal. We shared a bottle of wine . . . I can't recall the name other than it was a red blend and very tasty. My husband had a pasta dish and cleaned his plate. We ate outside (very urban . . . my only comment is that Thursday is trash night in downtown Madison and the odor was, let me say, obvious). It's too bad that Madison isn't more friendly to outdoor dining . . . it's not Cento's fault but the City could be more friendly and accommodating as to its sidewalk "rules." Otherwise, we enjoyed Cento, as always!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very knowledgable of the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our server was very knowledgable of the food and wine menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our group of 5 ate prior to a concert at ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our group of 5 ate prior to a concert at the Overture Center. We were able to get a few drinks off the happy Hour special menu which ended at 6, just before we were seated. W had a booth in the center and our server was unbelievably awesome! She knew her stuff, and the manager made a point to stop at each table and have a genuine conversation. Our server had a great sense of humor, and was quick to return to our table to check on our meals after we were served.

We had 5:45 reservations an it was a relaxing dinner while still getting out on time to get to the show. The noise level was a little high but it was just the acoustics in the building. NO loud music or crazy people shouting- just a lot of excitement of friends gathering- very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cento was outstanding! The restaurant wa ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Cento was outstanding! The restaurant was beautiful and the food was delicious. Would highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.