Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Cento

Chef Chris Myers focuses on local ingredients and authentic Italian preparation methods with a modern twist. Translating to “100″ in Italian, the significance behind Cento’s name (pronounced Chento), lies in our location.

122 W. Mifflin St.
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
BRUNCH: Saturday & Sunday, 10 am - 2 pm

DINNER
Sunday, 5 pm - 9 pm
Monday-Saturday, 5 pm - 10 pm
[Bar opens daily at 4 pm]

LATE NIGHT
Thursday-Saturday, 10 pm - 12 am

Cross Street:
Fairchild

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 284-9378

Website:
http://www.centomadison.com/

Catering:
For catering inquiries, please contact Jordan Bright at jbright@foodfightinc.com.

Parking Details:
Cento’s central location on the corner of Mifflin & Fairchild Streets ensures easy access to convenient downtown parking. Two public parking structures adjacent to Overture Center offer more than 1,400 parking spaces. Additional parking ramps can be found on State Street and the Capitol Square, and on-street metered parking is also available for short-term parking in the downtown area. www.cityofmadison.com/transportation/parking.cfm

Executive Chef:
Giovanni Novella

Private Party Facilities:
At Cento, we pride ourselves on hosting spectacular private events. Whether you would like to entertain a select small group, or host a large reception throughout the entire restaurant, Cento offers a number of options suitable for any occasion. We tailor each event to suit your needs, and a dedicated staff will ensure that every detail of your event is attended to.

Experience Cento from within the intimate atmosphere of our second dining room, which can accommodate up to 35 guests. Our second dining room is equipped with a private bar and is perfect for any occasion, whether it"s a business function or a celebration with family and friends, and is situated a few steps up from our main dining room. For larger groups, exclusive use of the restaurant can be arranged for both luncheon and dinner events, with the front lounge and bar as the perfect setting for a reception in advance of a seated event.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Bright: (608) 284-9378

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (63)
Special Occasion (62)
Pre/post Theatre (44)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Romantic (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Groups (24)
Business Meals (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Authentic (20)
Casual (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (14)
Cozy (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
People Watching (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Seasonal (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Healthy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Live Music (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
976 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

The food at Cento is good. Not amazing, but above-average. Having to pay $3 for bread at an Italian restaurant feels really chintzy (I mean really...), especially when small pizzas and pasta bowls cost in the mid-teens. But what kills Cento for us is that the place is just too darned loud. The tables are close together, and you almost have to shout hear your partner across a tiny table. In short, the ambience stinks; the clientele is mostly yuppity and boisterous (Epic?), but Cento has done nothing to instill a feeling of coziness and or even comfort for the more "boring" middle-aged customers. And there is also more than a touch of frou-frou-ness, such as bringing the wine in carefully measured amounts as if it were a stiff, fancy restaurant. Big turnoff; we prefer relaxed, friendly, and informal. The food and value aren't good enough to overcome the negatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Top notch service and food. They gave us super service. The staff was so indulging of our special requests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Good price on cocktails, wide range of wines. Fried artichoke is great. Mixed greens salad excellent; butter lettuce salad less satisfying. Both pasta dishes were excellent — tagliatelle and casarecce. Service was reasonably attentive. The service system seemed a bit chaotic. Overall, excellent food. Loved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was very very slow and waitress wasn't that great. Have had better meals there.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Nice restaurant, the best Italian food in Madison in my opinion. Table service was not great last time, but bar service was superb! Food was very tasty, as always.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The food was great and the service was wonderful. We all liked our brunch cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Was great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Food, service and ambience were all great, but the noise level made it difficult to carry on a conversation. In spite of the noise, we would still return.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Overall it was good! The wine list was good and there was a wide variety. If you are looking for a place with a good atmosphere and good service, this place is perfect. However, the food did not live up to the hype. We had the Butcher Board and it was good. The cheese and honey were awesome, but the meat fell short. There was a selection of meat that had hard cartilage and was not edible. We had the Risotto and the Orecchiette. The Risotto had a lot of seafood, but it was severely over salted. The Orecchiette did not have the flour cooked all the way out of the sauce. Finally dessert: we shared the Affogato, but the gelato was icy and the espresso (though local) had too much acid. It did come with a cookie that didn't match the remainder of the dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great staff and food. Very busy prior to Overture Center events. Muzak was annoying.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Located across the street from the Overture Center so perfect for a pre-event meal.
The food itself ranges from very good to OK depending on what you order. I have eaten there
multiple times and would recommend the brunch egg-based selections as very good. The pasta
dishes vary.

All in all it's an excellent selection for a pre or post Overture Center event meal particularly given the
frequent Madison winter inclement weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Had brunch here on a Sunday morning. A little wait wait from our booked time but aware of our own time crunch staff were very responsive. Service was excellent and food superb. Plan to eat there again pre-symphony in a few weeks. As opposed to many places in Madison, Cento has a feeling for space; I do not feel I am sitting on top of the next table.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Good food at good value in a beautiful restaurant. Service was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The grilled calamari dish had hardly any calamari, mainly potatoes.
The meat and cheese board only had 2 very small amounts of cheese. Meats were 3.
The swordfish dish was tasty, but, tiny, and overpriced.
The chicken parm was average and overpriced.
The pasta dishes were good, prices average.
The fried artuchoke was very good.
The wine, cocktails were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food excellent, service friendly.

A group of authors from the Wisconsin Book Festival were treated with warmth and generosity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We all had great meals. Food coma good! The pasta is very fresh. The lasagna is wonderful. Great wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Cento serves excellent Italian food. The only drawback is the noise level. Okay for 2 to 4, but impossible for a larger group.

Tags: Spicy, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 3, 2017

The mussel appetizer with homemade sausage was outstanding. The service was friendly and we were not rushed even though the tables were full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Despite the loud bands of FreakFest only a block away, Cento was peacefully quiet:)

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

I booked Cento for a business lunch of 4 people. The Italian food served ( we had a Margharita Pizza, salmon, gnocchi and a special; great salads, good winelist) matched their reputation: excellent. Service was courteous, prompt, attentive. The ambience was nice, but the acoustics in the large room made for a bit too much noise. The food is outstanding. I recommend this place for groups of friends, families and colleagues. So close to the Capitol and to hotels and State Street, where much happens in Madison, WI.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Tasty if pricey food. Perfect location for concerts at Overture. Unbelievable that they had run out of coffee (at 6P)!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2017

I enjoy Cento—the food, service and especially the location. I would LOVE it if it were not so noisy. A restaurant can be both quiet and beautiful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2017

All good. Sorry our 20 year old could not order a glass of wine- despite law allowing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Very good food, especially the grilled octopus and orecchiette with sausage. Basil cocktail was also very good and refreshing without being too sweet. My only watch out is that they use the same mix of ingredients (fingerlings, olives, celery, ...) in multiple dishes and our octopus appetizer so you have to be careful what you order or you will eat the same thing twice which is what happened to us. I understand that restaurants are trying to be efficient by doing this but it would be good if the waitress points this out when we order. It was delicious so didn't mind that much but really glad we mixed ordering the olives or it would have been too much.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Celebrated our 19 yr old UW Freshman b-day Friday night dinner at Cento. Great food & services. Rest our fears there's no fine Italian dining in Madison. Need to plan ahead for reservation which we did for our February 2018 campus visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

Amazing food and good service. It is a bit pricey, but the food is well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Service was very slow. We had to wait even though we had a reservation and many tables were empty. Food not particularly good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Really like the decor and ambience at Cento. Food is awesome too. No veal on the menu though...?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We love the boozy brunch! $25 entree plus a pastry and two drinks great value ! Very good food !!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 12, 2017

The food was good. I usually order the fried mozzarella as I did this visit. For some reason they were not good at allthis time. They were cold and did not taste good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

First time at Cento's. Very impressed! Friendly staff, good service. Really gave the 4 of us another reason to attend concerts in Madison(we are from Dubuque, Iowa).

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We had a wonderful evening. I will go back there again! The lasagna was excellent!! The waitress was nice and did a great job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 3, 2017

I wanted to order the bucatini but I was told it was sold out at 7:15pm. However, the other pasta dish I ordered was delicious! The only downfall was the server was not attentive.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Usually eat here once a month. Service was poor. Wine that was ordered showed up when the entrees were finished. Pasta was luke warm. Had two large tables of guests which seemed to get more attention even though they arrived after us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Excellent service and exquisite food by Chef Chris. The flavors are perfectly paired and served beautifully in a very timely fashion. One of favorite 'Must Go To' restaurants for special occasions and for visiting friends from out of town.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Fantastic. One of my favorite restaurants by far. It's quiet enough you can have an on-going conversation without any distractions. Food is amazing. You get what you pay for.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Head chef C Myers was outstanding we we so impressed we invited him to our table. An outstanding restaurant experiance

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Very good food quality. Due to the design of the restaurant, the place is just too loud. Very difficult to relax and enjoy good conversation due to the excessive noise level.

Prices are fair for the quality and portions. Excellent wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 29, 2017

outstanding food as usual. pre-dinner drink at bar with great service. seated in back room with 2 large groups. extremely noisy will not request that area ever. service was adequate with lengthly waits between order and food delivery. spouse's birthday ignored by server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We enjoyed our first visit to Cento. Service was excellent even though the restaurant was busy. We chose the bucatini and the pappardelle dishes plus the side of Brussels sprouts. Wonderful flavor, perfect pasta, and the recommended wine was an excellent pair. Highly recommend although quite vibrant (loud thus conversation was not always easy so we ate!)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.