Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 4/23
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 62 times today

Cento

4.5
1122 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
Chef Chris Myers focuses on local ingredients and authentic Italian preparation methods with a modern twist. Translating to “100″ in Italian, the significance behind Cento’s name (pronounced Chento), lies in our location.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
BRUNCH: Saturday & Sunday, 10 am - 2 pm

DINNER
Sunday, 5 pm - 9 pm
Monday-Saturday, 5 pm - 10 pm
[Bar opens daily at 4 pm]

LATE NIGHT
Thursday-Saturday, 10 pm - 12 am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(608) 284-9378
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Giovanni Novella
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
At Cento, we pride ourselves on hosting spectacular private events. Whether you would like to entertain a select small group, or host a large reception throughout the entire restaurant, Cento offers a number of options suitable for any occasion. We tailor each event to suit your needs, and a dedicated staff will ensure that every detail of your event is attended to.

Experience Cento from within the intimate atmosphere of our second dining room, which can accommodate up to 35 guests. Our second dining room is equipped with a private bar and is perfect for any occasion, whether it"s a business function or a celebration with family and friends, and is situated a few steps up from our main dining room. For larger groups, exclusive use of the restaurant can be arranged for both luncheon and dinner events, with the front lounge and bar as the perfect setting for a reception in advance of a seated event.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jordan Bright: (608) 284-9378
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
For catering inquiries, please contact Jordan Bright at jbright@foodfightinc.com.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Fairchild
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Cento’s central location on the corner of Mifflin & Fairchild Streets ensures easy access to convenient downtown parking. Two public parking structures adjacent to Overture Center offer more than 1,400 parking spaces. Additional parking ramps can be found on State Street and the Capitol Square, and on-street metered parking is also available for short-term parking in the downtown area. www.cityofmadison.com/transportation/parking.cfm
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1122 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined a day ago

The food is always wonderful and the location is wonderful, but the place is TOO NOISY. Could hardly hear my dining companion. Someone stopped by - think it might have been the manager - to see how we were doing. We had to shout to tell him how good our food was. Guess this is the new thing - an atmosphere to make us feel like we are somewhere hip. I'd rather be able to talk and be heard. Thanks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Cento always seems to do a good job. Promptly seated upon arrival and they made sure we were out on time for a concert were going to. The food and service as always was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We had delicious meals at Cento! Our server was knowledgeable and helped us with our food and wine pairings. We especially loved the bacon wrapped dates, the risotta and the swordfish puttanesca!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Noise level is still too high

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Great meal, lovely decor will look forward to returning soon

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

celebrated my birthday at Cento. Great food and service. A bit on the noisy side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Just a nice place... not overly high-end, not pretentious. Still, with obvious attention to details (like attentive service, aesthetics, plating, overall experience), Cento is a solid choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Cento was amazing! The beet appetizer and tuna tartare were presented beautifully and tasted delicious. Service was impeccable from beginning to end. I would definitely go here agin.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We were slightly disappointed, did not meet the hype that I had heard about.
Food was fine but bland, I was expecting the pasta sauces to have much more flavor.
Wine and cocktails were very good
With it being so wide open, it was very noisy, not a place for an intimate dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This was a an outstanding dining experience. From the casual elegance, to the professional service, to the delicious food we could not have asked for more from our evening at Cento. We are hoping our son will go to University of Wisconsin so we can return to Cento another time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 6, 2018

There were fruit flies circling our table. I mentioned it to the waitress and she didn't know what to do so did nothing. The food was nothing special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

There's a welcoming vibe from the time you enter....just right lighting, good colors, tall ceilings, clean simple lines with warmth. The food is wonderful...my favorite is the perfectly crispy- skinned Arctic Char, but all the pastas are delightful, too. And, the small plates are perfect as light dinners or appetizers. The service has always been friendly and attentive. This restaurant always feels comfortably elegant and makes visits a celebration.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Good food and service, but so loud to the point of discomfort.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We made a reservation at Cento prior to our Show at the Overture Center. We had a wonderfully sweet and knowledgeable server who made great suggestions for each part of the menu. Cento was quite busy so our server was running around busy the whole time, with that said, a few drinks took longer and other servers dropping off meals got a bit confused but everything was sorted out in the end.
All in all a great place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

we had a wonderful server, Paige, who explained and answered all of our questions and then some. The food was delish and we had a wonderful time before walking across the street to the Overture.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Everything here is fantastic. I’m a regular and I love it every time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

The food was amazing )the drinks too!). Quality of ingredients was outstanding and everything was prepared beautifully. Our waitress seemed to be less than happy to be serving us and annoyed when we had questions. I felt a bit unworthy of being at her table. The host and hostess were very friendly so I hope that our server was just having a bad day and doesnrl reflect the normal service of the restaurant. W

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had brunch today for Easter. It was disappointing for such a fine restaurant. My mom's French toast was burnt

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Got an Easter brunch rezzie for 8 family members and it worked out great. There was something for everyone and our server was flexible with the Boozy Brunch deal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Three generations of our family dined at Cento to celebrate Easter. We could not have picked a better location for a Sunday Brunch. Great food and drink selection. Our server (unfortunately I forgot his name) was fabulous! He was so caring, responsive, friendly...we could have dined with him, had we had room.
Thanks also to Cento for adding a 7th person to our 6 on a busy weekend.
PS...we previously celebrated our son's 21st birthday...so it holds a special place in our hearts.
Hope we did not add too much to the noise level!
It is often difficult to get our family together at one time. Thank you Cento for making that accommodation.
You serve more than dinner and drinks...you serve memories.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My wife, daughter, and I went to brunch at Cento after Easter church service. While we have dined at Cento a number of times we had never gone to brunch there. My wife had the market quiche with greens that she enjoyed very much. My daughter decided to try the Boozy Brunch which was something she typically would not do but enjoyed it very much. I decided to have a typical breakfast - two eggs over easy with breakfast potatoes and on a whim decided to order a side of kielbasa. When our meals were delivered I discovered the kielbasa was smoked - not my favorite and I would have preferred the menu to identify it as such. Our server was very prompt while serving us and tended to our needs very nicely. While we enjoyed our meals I don't know that we'll go back for brunch. We live on the west side of Madison and it's a rather lengthy drive to get there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had a lovely Easter Brunch. The place is beautiful and the service was impeccable. Thank you for a wonderful experience. Can’t wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great ambiance and knowledgeable staff. Great energy within the restaurant. The date appetizer is exceptional. Enjoyed everything about Cento.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

2nd visit and loved it! We are Badger Grads from the 70s living in Chicago with a daughter now living in Madison after graduating UW. We visit often and eat out at the many great options all over Madison. We are really glad we finally tried Cento on our last visit.

Everything was fresh, flavorful, and well presented. Pizza starter with procsciutto and arugula was savory and refreshing all at onces with a alittle truffle oil and a perfect crust. Pastas were delicous as were the Affagotto and Tiramisu! Wines on main list are throughtful and well priced. Reserve list has many great choices at all price points. The presentations and preparations are solid and beautiful. Service is freindly and very efficient. Cant go wrong with just about anything!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The food was overall good except the spaghetti and meatballs were disappointing. Too much garlic and not a good texture. The main problem was the noise -- we could not even hear the waiter (who was pleasant but spilled something on us every time he served). For food this expensive, I would like more ambiance. Cento has good food in essentially a large warehouse with the same accoustics. Might as well go to a bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Excellent food selections..and service was impeccable!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Ask for happy hour menu items - We only knew because we were first seated at bar and got the menu. Gnocchi is fresh but rest of pasta were frozen (didn't get but asked waiter). Diver scallops surprisingly delicious for Midwest, mushroom/squash side dishes amazing, tiramisu to die for. I prefer this restaurant over the other top rated Madison restaurants.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food was great overall, except the "crispy" brussels sprouts were not crispy. Service was friendly but much too efficient. Salads were on the table before we were half way through our hors d'oeuvres. Got the feeling the server wanted to turn the table to leave for the eveing. Sat down at 7:30 pm and the check was on the table by 8:45 pm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

The food was absolutely delicious!! The service was very good. All three of us have such different tastes, but each could find something good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

The food and service at Cento are outstanding. Staff is attentive without being overbearing. There is a wide range of food choices and prices, from pizza, to pasta, to steaks and seafood. This is a great dining spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Wonderful atmosphere. Brunch was delicious and filling!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Boozy Brunch is the way to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

One of Madison’s best restaurants!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Perfect venue for pre concert event and great view of Overture.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Great food and service. Well prepared and thoughtfully presented.Wonderful Happy Hour.
Good ambiance, Beautifully designed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Very nice restaurant with excellent food and service! Difficult to get into, so make your reservations ahead of time! It’s very popular restaurant. Love it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

This is a lovely Italian restaurant with a delicious menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

The food was outstanding. It was an expensive meal, but worth every penny. I wouldn’t recommend this restaurant to bring young children to, it could disrupt the ambiance. It was an amazing experience! I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Awesome menu, great food at reasonable prices.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Service was a bit slow. The food was fine.

Small irksome things---we had to ask for plates to
share a pizza and ask twice for red pepper flakes for the pizza ; the women's bathroom was
not clean and had run out of toilet paper.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
29