About Cento

122 W. Mifflin St.
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

Chef Giovanni Novella focuses on local ingredients and authentic Italian preparation methods with a modern twist. Translating to “100″ in Italian, the significance behind Cento’s name (pronounced Chento), lies in our location.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
BRUNCH: Saturday & Sunday, 10 am - 2 pm

DINNER
Sunday, 5 pm - 9 pm
Monday-Saturday, 5 pm - 10 pm
[Bar opens daily at 4 pm]

LATE NIGHT
Thursday-Saturday, 10 pm - 12 am

Cross Street:
Fairchild

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 284-9378

Website:
http://www.centomadison.com/

Catering:
For catering inquiries, please contact Jordan Bright at jbright@foodfightinc.com.

Parking Details:
Cento’s central location on the corner of Mifflin & Fairchild Streets ensures easy access to convenient downtown parking. Two public parking structures adjacent to Overture Center offer more than 1,400 parking spaces. Additional parking ramps can be found on State Street and the Capitol Square, and on-street metered parking is also available for short-term parking in the downtown area. www.cityofmadison.com/transportation/parking.cfm

Executive Chef:
Giovanni Novella

Private Party Facilities:
At Cento, we pride ourselves on hosting spectacular private events. Whether you would like to entertain a select small group, or host a large reception throughout the entire restaurant, Cento offers a number of options suitable for any occasion. We tailor each event to suit your needs, and a dedicated staff will ensure that every detail of your event is attended to.

Experience Cento from within the intimate atmosphere of our second dining room, which can accommodate up to 35 guests. Our second dining room is equipped with a private bar and is perfect for any occasion, whether it"s a business function or a celebration with family and friends, and is situated a few steps up from our main dining room. For larger groups, exclusive use of the restaurant can be arranged for both luncheon and dinner events, with the front lounge and bar as the perfect setting for a reception in advance of a seated event.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Bright: 6082849378x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Cento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Madison
6 More
Best Service
Madison
Best Ambiance
Madison
Best Value
Madison
Fit for Foodies
Madison
Special Occasion
Madison
Most Booked
Madison
Best Restaurants in Madison ›

special occasion (130)
fit for foodies (126)
romantic (71)
See All
notable wine list (68)
good for groups (59)
hot spot (50)
neighborhood gem (30)
great for brunch (29)
vibrant bar scene (25)
late-night find (21)
great for lunch (17)
scenic view (11)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved this place... Can't wait to go bac ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 3 days ago

Loved this place... Can't wait to go back! I am still dreaming about the artichoke appetizer, gnocchi and chocolate cherry dessert! I went with several friends and we ordered a bunch of things and shared them. There was one pizza that wasn't our favorite but everything else was outstanding!!

The atmosphere was gorgeous but not too fancy. Can't wait to go back and sit in one of the big velvet booth The atmosphere was gorgeous but not too fancy. Can't wait to go back and sit in one of the big velvet booths!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to meet friends for really g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to meet friends for really good food. Nice service, prompt seating.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very close to the theatre so that was th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very close to the theatre so that was the attraction but also good food and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experie ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Cento. The waitress was very friendly and helpful, the food was fabulous and it's right across the street from the theater! We will definitely recommend this place to others.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Cento's has it all; excellent service, a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Cento's has it all; excellent service, amazing food, terrific & lively atmosphere, and great wine/spirits list! A truly lovely experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoy dining here before Overture eve ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We enjoy dining here before Overture events. Service is always good and we love the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Cento is top notch! Excelle ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food at Cento is top notch! Excellent ingredients paired with fantastic preparation. We love the pizzas and pasta. For brunch, the smoked pork Benedict is SO good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My boyfriend and I came to Cento on an a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My boyfriend and I came to Cento on an anniversary! I had been here for a friend's birthday about a year prior and I suggested that we go. I was a little nervous that he wasn't going to like it because he can be a bit picky but the minute we got in he said that he "loved the ambiance." Our food was so delicious and I was just as impressed as I had been the first time I went!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved it the food the service the atmos ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Loved it the food the service the atmosphere. All great. Highly recommended. The pizzas and pastas were wonderful. Salads also very good. Great wine list

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dined at Cento recenlty with a friend. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I dined at Cento recenlty with a friend. We shared the Brussel Sprout Salad to start and it was delicious. My friend ordered the risotto but found it be much cheesier than expected and too much so for her taste. I had the lamb pasta which was very tasty. Our waitress was on top of us too much at the beginning of the meal but then was MIA after that -- fortunately the manager stopped by and was able to get us the bread that we'd requested about 15 minutes before -- I could see the bread and had been tempted to just go get some myself! Granted it was a Friday night but still ... plus, beware, the acoustics are not great and it was VERY loud at our table (perhaps the booths are quieter?).

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The risotto was excellent, the huge side ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The risotto was excellent, the huge side of sauteed mushrooms elevated it to sublime. Good pizza, the pasta sauces rich and layered with flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy dining at Cento. Everyt ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We always enjoy dining at Cento. Everything came out quickly and at proper temp. Only criticism I have is that everything was a little under seasoned for our liking. Service was cordial and professional. Menu is very diverse. We keep saying we need to come back more often....and we will.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian food in Madison - a must

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Best Italian food in Madison - a must

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food and impeccable service. De ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fabulous food and impeccable service. Decor is stark and a little cold. My friend and I both had pasta, which was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love this place and have added it to m ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I love this place and have added it to my growing list of restaurants that I can take out of town guests to. Pasta dishes are delicious, properly sauced and portioned. High end meat and fish options. Nice selection of wine and cocktails. Great contemporary space. Noise level can get high when busy. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The drinks were above normal rates. $16 ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The drinks were above normal rates. $16 for mixed drinks is double the price. The food was very good. Service was outstanding. I would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleasantly surprised at the prices ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Very pleasantly surprised at the prices as we were expecting them to be higher. Great variety of options and everything was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service. Will definite ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Amazing food and service. Will definitely go back again. Make sure to get the Bacon wrapped dates. Incredible!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed the wonderful t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the wonderful tuna tartar as a starter and my pasta with spring pea and mint was so very good. The wine list was very with many wines by the glass.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food. A bit pricey but expected f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food. A bit pricey but expected for location.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent service, very professional , g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent service, very professional , great food and drink. Treated us well for our anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Boozy Brunch" is a great value....overd ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

"Boozy Brunch" is a great value....overdelivers @ 25 per person

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Boozy Brunch deal. 2 cocktails, any ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best Boozy Brunch deal. 2 cocktails, any brunch entrées of your choosing, free coffee and delicious pastry all for $25! Can't get it anywhere else. Be sure to try the Bella Frizzante to start off. It's refreshing and delicious. The croissant was flaky and fluffy.

We had the lemon ricotta pancake which taste like dessert it was so good. The salami hash was a bit too salty but delicious anyway. Love the grilled bread on the side.

The only thing lacking is a nice kids menu for family dining.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Really good food and excellent service. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really good food and excellent service. Just too loud for me. It could be the way the place is constructed. The air conditioning was set up at a very low temperature. I was freezing, and my friend too, but everybody else seemed to be happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The bacon wrapped dates were delicious. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The bacon wrapped dates were delicious. Possibly the best food we had. We had two pasta dishes, lasagna and tagliatelle . Both were good but not great. Lacked any distinctive flavors. Everything is alacarte, adding to the cost which brings it to the high end. The service and atmosphere were excellent. It really is a very lovely place. I think I would return for drinks and appetizers instead of a full meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We would like to support this restaurant ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We would like to support this restaurant in the future but it needs to get its act together. We had inexplicably slow service which we don't think was our servers fault. Some things on the menu were were unavailable after ordering. Come on, a good chef/kitchen should know that before people order! You need to concentrate on doing a great job on your entrees. The consensus was that the antipasti was the highlight .

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Brunch was excellent. I got the benedict ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Brunch was excellent. I got the benedict and shared the lemon ricotta pancakes with a friend. So so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My steak was way too expensive. I expect ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My steak was way too expensive. I expected something great for $60, but it was way too rare and grisly on the inside. Hard to chew. With a side and a drink I spent $80! Maybe I should have stuck with pasta.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We went to Cento for a small business di ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We went to Cento for a small business dinner. The food, wine, and cocktails were delicious. The downtown location was great with a nice view, and service was very friendly and attentive. My only complaint was the noise level. We sat in a booth with a nice view of the Overture Center, but even in a booth I could barely hear the person sitting next to me, and had a really hard time having a conversation with my colleagues across the booth. I like the vibrant, energetic, downtown atmosphere, but if they could figure out how to reduce the noise level just a bit, it would be perfect.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great Italian food is hard to find in Wi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great Italian food is hard to find in Wisconsin, this place made me feel like I was back home in New York. You can taste that they are using fresh ingredients. I left very happy, I'm glad I found this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was fantastic! Took my daughter here for a pre-graduation celebration. The menu had a good variety of choices without being overwhelming. The service was great. No one stopped by every 3 minutes to see "how we were doing". It was just the perfect amount of attention. The manager stopped by briefly at the end of our meal to thank us for dining there and to see if we enjoyed the meal. The décor was current without being overly "hip". They have a nice assortment of appetizers and small plates to go along with a tasty array of pastas and entrees. We were too full for dessert! Our only complaint was the butter and olive oil condiment for the bread was entirely too salty to eat. The bread, however, was delicious. I highly recommend your next dinner out be at Cento.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cento is good but not great. The menu op ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Cento is good but not great. The menu options were prepared properly but not memorably. Most items were over-priced for Manhattan...but this is Madison! The wait-staff was friendly and professional - good job.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Favorite restaurant in Madison for food, ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Favorite restaurant in Madison for food, wine, cocktails, ambience, and service, hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A lovely experience from start to finish!

 
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Our dinner was delightful, and the dishes were inspired. The caramelized fennel was especially memorable. Simple elegance. The service was attentive but not pushy. We were full, but couldn't resist the lemon sorbet with our coffee. Thank you.

We will be back and will gladly recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Date Night!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Our server was fantastic and very accommodating throughly with food allergies and recommendations. Overall a fun and lovely experience. The food was excellent. A fantastic Italian pasta joint with a great atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

an excellent choice if attending an event nearby

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

if you are attending an event at the Overture Center, Cento is a nice place to get dinner before hand, or even drinks which are specialties. Service was exceptional!!

Food was very , very good - not exactly cheap - but quality NEVER is.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply perfection!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great environment and wonderful food to die for! Will definitely be back over and over again!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was delicious, however very meage ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Dinner was delicious, however very meager serving! Really, for pasta? At These prices, one should not leave hungry! Ordered a pasta dish that had a delicious broth. I asked the waitress for some bread to soak it up. Bread was outstanding but there was a charge for it! Really???? Why? Pros: Delicious food, great service, nice atmosphere. Cons: small portions, unnecessary surcharges. Overpriced for what you get. One shouldn't leave not satisfied after spending $$$.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Dope

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I'm not really into fine dining, but this place was amazing! Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was great. Birthday Celebration a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Server was great. Birthday Celebration and we were given a desert for the birthday boy.

Also we had theater tickets and service was good and not rushed but still finishing in time

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.