Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Cento

Chef Giovanni Novella focuses on local ingredients and authentic Italian preparation methods with a modern twist. Translating to “100″ in Italian, the significance behind Cento’s name (pronounced Chento), lies in our location.

122 W. Mifflin St.
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
BRUNCH: Saturday & Sunday, 10 am - 2 pm

DINNER
Sunday, 5 pm - 9 pm
Monday-Saturday, 5 pm - 10 pm
[Bar opens daily at 4 pm]

LATE NIGHT
Thursday-Saturday, 10 pm - 12 am

Cross Street:
Fairchild

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 284-9378

Website:
http://www.centomadison.com/

Catering:
For catering inquiries, please contact Jordan Bright at jbright@foodfightinc.com.

Parking Details:
Cento’s central location on the corner of Mifflin & Fairchild Streets ensures easy access to convenient downtown parking. Two public parking structures adjacent to Overture Center offer more than 1,400 parking spaces. Additional parking ramps can be found on State Street and the Capitol Square, and on-street metered parking is also available for short-term parking in the downtown area. www.cityofmadison.com/transportation/parking.cfm

Executive Chef:
Giovanni Novella

Private Party Facilities:
At Cento, we pride ourselves on hosting spectacular private events. Whether you would like to entertain a select small group, or host a large reception throughout the entire restaurant, Cento offers a number of options suitable for any occasion. We tailor each event to suit your needs, and a dedicated staff will ensure that every detail of your event is attended to.

Experience Cento from within the intimate atmosphere of our second dining room, which can accommodate up to 35 guests. Our second dining room is equipped with a private bar and is perfect for any occasion, whether it"s a business function or a celebration with family and friends, and is situated a few steps up from our main dining room. For larger groups, exclusive use of the restaurant can be arranged for both luncheon and dinner events, with the front lounge and bar as the perfect setting for a reception in advance of a seated event.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Bright: (608) 284-9378

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (77)
Pre/post Theatre (66)
Special Occasion (64)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Modern Decor (54)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Romantic (40)
Worth the Drive (38)
Notable Wine List (37)
Business Meals (36)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Authentic (30)
Open Kitchen (30)
Good for Groups (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Fun (20)
Bar Seating (19)
People Watching (19)
Cozy (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Wood Oven (14)
Healthy (14)
Casual (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Tapas (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Scenic View (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Seasonal (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Organic (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Waterfront (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (3)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent!! Pastas were homemade and delicious. Great ambience. prices were reasonable!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Service and food were both great. Very fun area to walk around and spend an evening as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent! Will definitely return. Steak and seafood was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was my second visit to Cento. Both dinners have been outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Salads were excellent, main dishes (Arctic char and seafood stew) also excellent. Desserts were very good (and, generously, were complimentary because it was a birthday celebration). Service was excellent: friendly, attentive, quick but not rushed. The meal was quite expensive (over $100 with tip for two, one beer, free dessert) but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I want to love this place as it has great ambience, but it falls short on the service and the food is just ok. Forgotten appetizer, forgotten at the bar after checking in and then hustled through the meal and told when the table was needed for the next seating, waitress who had no sense of timing in terms of when to break conversation, etc. Please spend time developing staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Grilled octopus was awesome! Risotto was best value on menu. Seafood stew was also delicious. Bacon wrapped dates were good, got free order by signing up for emails prior. A little loud, waitress had to keep asking the same question because she couldn't hear. Overall I would go back. Food worth it

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came for Mother's Day. Cento is a beautiful restaurant with excellent decor. Of the 7 of us, five loved their food and two would not get it again. They both had chicken dishes and though it was over cooked, so maybe avoid chicken and you're all set! The pasta we had was fantastic! A little hard to maneuver in the booth we sat in, had a reservation for six and stated there would be seven but instead of accommodating they just had us squished together. Would have like someone to figure that out for us!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food is always 5 star - across from Overture, so we regularly choose to do dinner before watching a play

Always a bit expensive & noisy, but both reasonable and worth the quality of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Pleasantly surprised as we had eaten Lunch here about 2 months after they opened and we were disappointed. This experience also prompted us to book again for another theatre night!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Service was poor. Took the waitress a long time to get to us. More waiting for our drinks. More waiting to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had a nice server. salad was late. Lamb osobusco was a lamb shank. It was too much.

Risotto was so-so.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was our first time there and we were pleased with our selections. Can't wait until we can make it back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We went here for prom and they were really easy going and helped us deal with time restrictions and helped everyone have a great time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Nice service. Good food. Wish it had better parking space. Reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 4, 2017

My date was awesome - food was delicious, service was prompt and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

As usual, Cento was top notch. It was our first brunch visit and it was as delicious as their evening meals. Cento reminds me of upscale restaurants in Rome or Florence.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was great. Service was excellent. Overall positive experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were dining before an Overture show. Everything was excellent! The only negative was we sat at a table for two which is pretty small. It was very busy so we did not ask to be moved though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Abby, our server, was fantastic. She was informative and fun.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Delicious food, romantic ambiance, prompt service. You have to pay for bread, but it comes with butter, olive oil, and salt and is definitely worth it. This is the second time I've been here and will keep coming back. The pasta dishes are the cheapest entrees on the menu and are very good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Wonderful Experience. Beautiful setting, wonderful food and service. A bit out of my regular budget but perfect for special occasions (and felt reasonable given how fancy the food and experience was!).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We enjoyed a truly wonderful dinner at Cento. Food was delicious and truly top notch Italian. The atmosphere was very warm and inviting and the choices were perfect. Mille grazie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fresh, authentic Italian in Madison. Contemporary decor. Friendly staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I enjoyed this meal and this restaurant. The lamb just fell off the bone and was quite tasty. Loved the decor. It was just really noisy and I had a hard time hearing the waitress.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Cento never disappoints!. It's a gem in Madison and we love it. Great wine and cocktails!. Not to mention the amazing food!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great food and timely service. Pasta was cooked well and the server was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was OK, however proce was wqay out of line. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went once before and loved it. This last time (Easter brunche) was not so good. Waiter pestered us to death and food was mediocre. Ambience not really. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful Easter Brunch that fed the entire family and lots of leftovers. Excellent food and thought wait staff who made really good recommendations.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for boozy brunch on Easter. Great service and excellent food. Regular brunch menu which we really enjoyed. Loved the space. Very pretty. Would love to go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a nice dinner. Room was loud, but that's to be expected on a Saturday Evening. Liked the cheese and meat board with honey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Be sure to get the meat/cheese board and the meatballs for appetizers. Everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My wife and I met friends for dinner at Cento. Our friends had never eaten there before and decided we should dine there after hearing our recommendation. Once again it didn't disappoint. Our meals were good, the service was good, and we enjoyed a nice bottle of Gavi di Gavi with our meal. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Madison and we're looking forward to returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. The orrichetti is great.!

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had a wonderful evening at Cento; the food was outstanding and the service was very good. We each ordered something different and all four of us were very happy with our selections. We highly recommend Cento.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Really an outstanding experience! Food was exciting and excellent. Reservation worked great - we had a nice booth by the window 😀. I tried the dry rose wine flight - 3 totally different versions of dry rose - all excellent. My husband and I tried 5 dishes and shared everything. The butter lettuce salad - perfect. The bread - wow - excellent quality & served warm with a bowl of combined soft butter & high quality olive oil. Yumm!! The bocatini was excellent with rich deep earthy wild mushrooms & black truffle - with fresh herbs & part to finish - lovely dish!! We tried the grilled prawns - a masterful creative combination of lobster-like shrimp, creamy polenta, juicy tomatoes, and smoky pulled pork - so delicious!! Also had the chicken - beautifully done, moist, crisp skin, flavorful, the salsa verde was a perfect compliment. Excellent service. Great experience. Thank you!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Love this place! The lasagna is delicious. The cocktails are also lovely.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went for brunch and was really impressed. Wonderful service, great value for the dollar and the food was amazing. Cento is firmly on our list of places to frequent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Cento rox my soxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Modern Decor, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Private Room, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Historic, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Vegan, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Cozy, Quick Bite, Healthy, Great Beer, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.