Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Cento

Chef Giovanni Novella focuses on local ingredients and authentic Italian preparation methods with a modern twist. Translating to “100″ in Italian, the significance behind Cento’s name (pronounced Chento), lies in our location.

122 W. Mifflin St.
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
BRUNCH: Saturday & Sunday, 10 am - 2 pm

DINNER
Sunday, 5 pm - 9 pm
Monday-Saturday, 5 pm - 10 pm
[Bar opens daily at 4 pm]

LATE NIGHT
Thursday-Saturday, 10 pm - 12 am

Cross Street:
Fairchild

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 284-9378

Website:
http://www.centomadison.com/

Catering:
For catering inquiries, please contact Jordan Bright at jbright@foodfightinc.com.

Parking Details:
Cento’s central location on the corner of Mifflin & Fairchild Streets ensures easy access to convenient downtown parking. Two public parking structures adjacent to Overture Center offer more than 1,400 parking spaces. Additional parking ramps can be found on State Street and the Capitol Square, and on-street metered parking is also available for short-term parking in the downtown area. www.cityofmadison.com/transportation/parking.cfm

Executive Chef:
Giovanni Novella

Private Party Facilities:
At Cento, we pride ourselves on hosting spectacular private events. Whether you would like to entertain a select small group, or host a large reception throughout the entire restaurant, Cento offers a number of options suitable for any occasion. We tailor each event to suit your needs, and a dedicated staff will ensure that every detail of your event is attended to.

Experience Cento from within the intimate atmosphere of our second dining room, which can accommodate up to 35 guests. Our second dining room is equipped with a private bar and is perfect for any occasion, whether it"s a business function or a celebration with family and friends, and is situated a few steps up from our main dining room. For larger groups, exclusive use of the restaurant can be arranged for both luncheon and dinner events, with the front lounge and bar as the perfect setting for a reception in advance of a seated event.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Bright: (608) 284-9378

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (79)
Special Occasion (76)
Pre/post Theatre (68)
See All
Modern Decor (59)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Romantic (46)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Notable Wine List (41)
Worth the Drive (36)
Business Meals (33)
Authentic (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Fun (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Open Kitchen (25)
People Watching (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Cozy (20)
Wood Oven (20)
Casual (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Healthy (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Seasonal (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Tapas (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Private Room (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Scenic View (6)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Historic (3)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
751 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 16 hours ago

My wife and I have been a fan of Food Fight restaurants for some time, but we were not expecting anything like our experience at Cento. Simply put, absolutely amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Three of us enjoyed the seasonal omelette which was spectacular. My husband had the salami hash which was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

If you're going for brunch, their boozy brunch is a fabulous deal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated my birthday on Saturday, March 25th. All of us ordered pasta dishes which were delicious! Our waitress, Alyssa was fabulous. She made sure our dining experience was top notch. Brian from the bar also recommended some wine options for us too! The tiramisu was excellent. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

We ordered the boozy brunch. Included in this was two drinks, a pastry to start, an entrée and then coffee or tea. What a deal at $25 for downtown Madison. The pastry and homemade blueberry perserves were excellent. The drinks were fabulous!! The food was perfect for foodies; wonderfully tasty. And at the end, the coffee with cream was like a dessert. We will take our friend in June again before an event at the Overature which is just across the street.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful meal with very good service. Easy conversation atmosphere. Nice varied menu.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely spot. Terrific wine and food options. Service: a delight. Give this place a try soon!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great and service was exemplary. I have been there 3 times in the last month. Love to eat there befor seeing a show at the Oveture for the Arts Center.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic seafood selection, fantastic wine selection. All in all terrific first time experience here!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent as usual. Waiter was not as attentive or efficient as the other servers we have had at Cento.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyable meal. Food was great and service was attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We loved our dinner - great food and service! Will be back!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Was attending show at neighboring Overture. Waitstaff was attentive to the timing. Very good red wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The gnocchi is delicious as are the bacon wrapped dates , the olives , the Brussels sprouts ordered as a vegetable. Great service. The wine is expensive by the glass . There are many menu options ranging from affordable to expensive , so I feel anyone could go here and have a great meal. This is our second trip , and we will happily return . We have already recommended this restaurant to others and will continue to do so. The other two people also ordered pasta dishes which they thought were delicious. Another big advantage is that the restaurant is across the street from the Overture Center and the restaurant offers a prix fixed 3 course option when there are performances at the Overture Center .

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a very nice dinner at Cento on a Friday night. I made reservations through Open Table for a quieter table and it was ready and very appropriate. We ordered Lasagna and it was very good. The draft beer list was different and fun. I would recommend Cento.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went on my sis birthday.We had a good time and they offered free dessert on birthday...It was so delicious..I can't get enough for one-time so I would like one more time taste other food items. I definitely recommend this to others...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Dancing, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fun, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Healthy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, People Watching, Spicy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We've been here a couple of times before a show at the Overture Center. I find the pricing too high for the quality of food and prep. It's fine before a show but if you really want top notch Italian cuisine go to Lombardino's. For the price, ambiance and quality; it can't be matched.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We often choose Cento after an afternoon concert at the Overture Center and have never been disappointed. We like creative cuisine, not just steaks and chops, and they always come through for us. Ingredients are fresh and served piping not, not left under a lamp in the kitchen. We especially like their salads and side dishes. Don't miss the seared Brussel sprouts!

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Cento' become one of our favorite spots and top 3 for brunch. The wait staff is terrific and the bartenders make sitting at the bar our favorite place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We really enjoyed the Tuscan seafood stew and the tuna tartare appetizer. Next time we'll avoid the weekend if we can, because this beautiful modern open space gets quite loud. I did love having a view of the kitchen, though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our second visit to Cento, and again, the food was outstanding. Both of our entrees were excellent, and my girlfriend's Rose flight was a nice touch. Our two person table was small and in an awkward place, but that was a small matter. The service was very good and attentive, and timing worked out well for the show we were attending after dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We got there late after jazz concert and closed the place down. Hostess was wonderful and our server made great suggestions. We will be back.

Tags: People Watching, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a fantastic evening. The food was delicious and staff were attentive. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

NIce place and a little pricey but good service.
Not sure I would rank it in the top 3 Italian places in Madison

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very friendly great service.
Ideal before/after show
Second time there - food not as good as first

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Peaceful and professional atmosphere. Server was very helpful.
Wanted a place where we could sit and talk with our friends and experience chef prepared dinner. Cento was thus a good choice. Salads were great as was the wine. The main course of pasta dishes was very well prepared and appropriate for folks who have a large appetite. We decided we will order several appetizers next time since we are all trying to eat healthy but not too heavy food. Perhaps several lighter pasta dishes with a small serving size would be helpful for us and others like us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Never disappointed at Cento. The weekend brunch special for $25 is a great value. Food is always great as is Sean vice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was awesome. Would recommend to anyone. Need reservations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very disappointed with a few selections last night. the burrata salad; they should remove this from the menu until they are able to provide tomatoes that are ripe. Ours were awful and I'd be embarrassed to have served them. Also need to work on the Butter lettuce salad; I truly appreciate the fact they didn't drown it with a dressing, but this salad was TASTELESS. With this said, the 3 entrees did not disappoint; Gnocchi, Casarecce and Tuscan Seafood Stew. We are from out of town and this is our fourth visit. We hope to return with a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Cento is one of our favorite downtown places. The food is always delicious and the portions are large.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Lovely food and amazing server- she was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic food. Well priced in a very central area.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food at Cento was excellent. But to be a truly great restaurant, you have to offer options for quiet dining. The entire restaurant was loud and the tables are so close together that you cannot escape a loud group placed next to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 20, 2017

A wonderful meal and a fun night! I wish I could remember our server's name because she was fantastic. She gave us great recommendations and made our evening very enjoyable. The food was amazing especially the barrata appetizer. They make their own fresh mozzarella. This is note only my favorite Italian restaurant - it's my favorite place in downtown Madison. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was my second time dining at Cento in the last month. Chose the location given I like the menu and its location next to the Overture. I was hosting clients that were joining me for the shows. The staffing level appears low leaving the wait staff somewhat harried and less than fully attentive. If the menu prices were lower this would be acceptable, but I think I am going to try other nearby restaurants to see if a better overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful food and wine. Our first visit and we will definitely come again, probably for a special occasion.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was outstanding. Service was very good. My wife felt slightly rushed

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall a good brunch experience with a couple of off notes. First, requested a quiet area and was seated in a room with 2 groups of 20+ right under a loud speaker. They moved us at our request. Very attentive server (McKenna) was able to read our signals about wanting time to talk, and we did not feel rushed. No milk substitute available for coffee. Quiche was very good - lamb and purple broccoli, which sounds odd but was quite mild. It had a nice custardy texture. A decent bloody mary but nothing super special about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing experience, I definitely recommend this place for any special occasion!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had brunch here on a Sunday- the food and service were great. The breakfast pizza with hollandaise and a poached egg is fantastic, as are their cocktails. It isn't a restaurant geared toward children, but they were very welcoming to our 4 year old. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.