About Cento

122 W. Mifflin St.
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

Chef Giovanni Novella focuses on local ingredients and authentic Italian preparation methods with a modern twist. Translating to “100″ in Italian, the significance behind Cento’s name (pronounced Chento), lies in our location.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
BRUNCH: Saturday & Sunday, 10 am - 2 pm

DINNER
Sunday, 5 pm - 9 pm
Monday-Saturday, 5 pm - 10 pm
[Bar opens daily at 4 pm]

LATE NIGHT
Thursday-Saturday, 10 pm - 12 am

Cross Street:
Fairchild

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 284-9378

Website:
http://www.centomadison.com/

Catering:
For catering inquiries, please contact Jordan Bright at jbright@foodfightinc.com.

Parking Details:
Cento’s central location on the corner of Mifflin & Fairchild Streets ensures easy access to convenient downtown parking. Two public parking structures adjacent to Overture Center offer more than 1,400 parking spaces. Additional parking ramps can be found on State Street and the Capitol Square, and on-street metered parking is also available for short-term parking in the downtown area. www.cityofmadison.com/transportation/parking.cfm

Executive Chef:
Giovanni Novella

Private Party Facilities:
At Cento, we pride ourselves on hosting spectacular private events. Whether you would like to entertain a select small group, or host a large reception throughout the entire restaurant, Cento offers a number of options suitable for any occasion. We tailor each event to suit your needs, and a dedicated staff will ensure that every detail of your event is attended to.

Experience Cento from within the intimate atmosphere of our second dining room, which can accommodate up to 35 guests. Our second dining room is equipped with a private bar and is perfect for any occasion, whether it"s a business function or a celebration with family and friends, and is situated a few steps up from our main dining room. For larger groups, exclusive use of the restaurant can be arranged for both luncheon and dinner events, with the front lounge and bar as the perfect setting for a reception in advance of a seated event.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Bright: (608) 284-9378

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Good for a Date (78)
Pre/post Theatre (64)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Modern Decor (52)
Romantic (45)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Notable Wine List (39)
Worth the Drive (31)
Business Meals (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Authentic (29)
Good for Groups (26)
Open Kitchen (24)
Casual (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Wood Oven (21)
Fun (20)
People Watching (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Cozy (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Happy Hour (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Scenic View (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Healthy (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Private Room (8)
Tapas (7)
Historic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
718 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food and wine. Our first visit ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food and wine. Our first visit and we will definitely come again, probably for a special occasion.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was outstanding. Service was very ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was outstanding. Service was very good. My wife felt slightly rushed

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall a good brunch experience with a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall a good brunch experience with a couple of off notes. First, requested a quiet area and was seated in a room with 2 groups of 20+ right under a loud speaker. They moved us at our request. Very attentive server (McKenna) was able to read our signals about wanting time to talk, and we did not feel rushed. No milk substitute available for coffee. Quiche was very good - lamb and purple broccoli, which sounds odd but was quite mild. It had a nice custardy texture. A decent bloody mary but nothing super special about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing experience, I definitely recomme ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing experience, I definitely recommend this place for any special occasion!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had brunch here on a Sunday- the food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had brunch here on a Sunday- the food and service were great. The breakfast pizza with hollandaise and a poached egg is fantastic, as are their cocktails. It isn't a restaurant geared toward children, but they were very welcoming to our 4 year old. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely meal. Started with the g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a lovely meal. Started with the goat cheese and beets, and the tuna tartare. Both were fantastic and equally tasty and fresh bringing out the goodness of the star ingredients. We then had the pasta with trumpet mushrooms and it was so good, also bringing out the nuances of the mushrooms and pasta, I wanted to lick the plate. We also ordered the swordfish and it was just a bad piece of fish that the chef never should've cooked or served. We sent it back. We finished with the sorbet and an espresso. We also had a beautiful bottle of Italian red to go with. We'll go back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service! Food was not as good as ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great service! Food was not as good as I had hoped for the price (my swordfish was fishy smelling and tasting)but knowledgeable staff and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We were really disappointed with this re ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We were really disappointed with this restaurant. The food was mediocre and we were expecting something interesting and delicious given the farm-to-table theme and price tag. We ordered a variety of food items and all of them were sub-par. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

One of our favorite restaurants before a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants before attending the Overture, just across the street. As always, dinner was great. Our pasta entrees and desserts fantistico. Our young waitress was charming, helpful, and efficient.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to Cento for brunch for my birthd ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I went to Cento for brunch for my birthday and it was absolutely delicious! I got the hazelnut French toast and it was so good! I would definitely come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I had a 6:45 reservation at ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A friend and I had a 6:45 reservation at Cento before an 8:00 show at the Overture Center. The timing was perfect. We arrived early, had a drink in the bar and were happy that our table was ready a little early. I had the Lasagna alla Bolognese. It was very tasty and thick, and a large enough portion to take home half of it for a second meal. I will definitely order it again. My friend had the Formaggi Pizza. It was excellent: golden brown crust, fresh greens, generous toppings, and piping hot. She also had half of it leftover for the next day. We arrived at the Overture Center across the street well ahead of the start time for the show.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very tasty food. Good options and very f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very tasty food. Good options and very friendly service. Directly across from Overture Center. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

EXCELLENT all around!!! We will be back. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

EXCELLENT all around!!! We will be back. Food and staff were A++.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great bottle of wine and excell ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We had a great bottle of wine and excellent food. This was a girl's night out--we were off to the Overture! Staff made sure we were on time and that the food arrived early so we could enjoy it and still get to the play. Wonderful experience, I would recommend this restaurant and will go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the warm atmosphere, subdued light ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Loved the warm atmosphere, subdued lighting, cozy seating. Place settings were elegant yet simple. Noise level was acceptable for a fairly large restaurant. The food was amazing, delicious, interesting choices. The wine was FABULOUS. Service was awesome, attentive, everyone made sure things were going well for our experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining experience before the show hi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The dining experience before the show hit the spot . Tonia and I had good conversation and great drinks and food . This always our choice before a show. THANK YOU. Pat

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chose because next to Overture. Waiter ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Chose because next to Overture. Waiter was aware we were going to the 7:30 show, we arrived at 5:50 and ordered off the SHOW menu, but our desert ended up being served after 7:20. Cut dinner short after eating about half of dessert in order to make the show.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Creative menu, food and cocktail. Food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Creative menu, food and cocktail. Food and drinks were great. Staff was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Came for Brunch. Good deal for the $25 ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Came for Brunch. Good deal for the $25 Boozy Brunch - 2 cocktails, crouissant, endless coffee or tea and entree. We Enjoyed the smoked pork eggs Benedict, and the salami hash . Our waiter was busy helping prepare food, so we had to ask for our croissant and refills for coffee. We were there early so it wasn't as noisy as it could have been. Overall enjoyable brunch with creative drinks and food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our favorite place for pasta and mussels ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our favorite place for pasta and mussels. Everything is first rate and the pasta dishes are reasonable priced. Steaks are expensive but that's not what we go here for. Service is usually great but on this night slow and uneven. Bread was forgotten, wine was very slow to arrive and courses very slowly served. Seems like we were rubbernecking all night for something. Not sure if it was our server or the kitchen. It got to be annoying. They did comp us deserts for our trouble. Still recommend it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We love how Cento complements our Overtu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love how Cento complements our Overture events. The special menu which promises prompt menu items is perfect when trying to time a lovely dinner with a performance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a lovely time. There were 6 of u ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a lovely time. There were 6 of us in deep booth, which sounds awful but worked out pretty well. The server knew how to get us served and ready to go by curtain time, which was FANTASTIC! The food was either good, meh or ...not so much, depending on what each of us ordered. The appetizers we great. I would go back again. Avoid the pulled pork.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The restaurant was loud and food service ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The restaurant was loud and food service was slow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food great service

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy in and out before show at Overture. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Easy in and out before show at Overture. Hostesses could stand to pretend like they enjoy what they do. Beets were delicious. Let's leave the bacon wrapped dates for Avec, please. For the prices, was expecting a bit more wow.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Very convenient place to have a pre-Over ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Very convenient place to have a pre-Overture show dinner. Literally across the street. Nice bar area with a Happy Hour. Food was excellent. We had the three course Theatre dinner. Spinach salad was very good and the three mushroom Bucatini was exceptional. Bread pudding not traditional but rather like a slice of fruit bread. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my first visit. The food and se ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This was my first visit. The food and service were excellent. This will probably become one of my three most favorite restaurants in Madison.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional service, impeccable menu, ex ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Exceptional service, impeccable menu, expansive cocktail and wine list make this a wonderful location for friends, family, or a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Cento on a Sunday night for n ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We went to Cento on a Sunday night for no specific reason, just dinner with my husband. No wait, quiet, classy atmosphere. Love the ambience of Cento. Great wine and drink list. I ordered my favorite meal--the orchiecette pasta and although it was good, it seems slightly off from other times I've ordered it. Other than that the food was excellent. Love the rotating dessert menu. Great restaraunt for an upscale dinner or date night

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

a hidden gem for weekend brunch! boozy b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

a hidden gem for weekend brunch! boozy brunch is THE best!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Cento was an amazing experience! We wer ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Cento was an amazing experience! We were seated and attended to quickly and our waiter was extremely friendly and helpful. She was always making sure we were good on water and what not, but never to the point where it was intrusive. The food was fantastic! I ordered the risotto and my girlfriend got the margherita pizza and they were both delicious and surprisingly cheap for the quality and the dining experience. Definitely would recommend for any occasion but it's a great place for a date or special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here twice and both times th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I have been here twice and both times the food was excellent. You really can't go wrong with any of their pasta dishes, which was more than enough food even as a main course. We did some appetizers with the pasta and all of us were full and satisfied.

I didn't find either the cabernet or the pinot noir by the glass to be anything special. If there's one constructive item that I would address it would be their wines by the glass, but I would not keep that from highly recommending this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our party enjoyed the boozy brunch befor ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our party enjoyed the boozy brunch before the Sister March. Perfect location. Liked ease of reserving through Open Table.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great evening a bit loud and busy. Grea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great evening a bit loud and busy. Great location for continuing an evening with location .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The meat balls were good. The lasagna n ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The meat balls were good. The lasagna not good. My husbands pasta had way too many onions in it (and he loves onions). Draft beer selection was weird. We won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

I was skeptical at first after a friend ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I was skeptical at first after a friend said he was not impressed. My opinion is the exact opposite! Food is delicious, creative, and fantastic. The place is very modern and unique. Great location, attentive service, and overall no complaints. I will definitely be returning

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Cento never disappoints - great service, ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Cento never disappoints - great service, delicious and carefully prepared foods, perfect ambiance and lighting, vibe that suits a dinner between friends, a romantic evening or a business meal.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought our meal was wonderful though ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I thought our meal was wonderful though we ate too much. I would definitely go there again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, , Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

First time visit and we were very impres ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

First time visit and we were very impressed. Service was outstanding and food was excellent. Location couldn't have been better for a pre-theater meal - right across the street from Overture. Brunch was outstanding as we has choices of breakfast, pasta, pizza options.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Cento on 1/15/17 for brunch. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went to Cento on 1/15/17 for brunch. They were out of the much anticipated french toast and had no more breakfast potatoes. It blows my mind to think that they ran out of bread and potatoes. Isn't that something you should have in bulk in anticipation of brunch?

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.