Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Cena

Cena is a modern, fresh and simple Italian food served in a contemporary and stylish setting. Located in the Grand Central building at the heart of the vibrant Channel District of Tampa, Florida – Cena is dining from the roots – great ingredients, traditional dishes, and attentive service. Join us.

Cena – “dinner” or “supper” in Italian.

1208 E Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33602
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday-closed
Tuesday-closed
Wednesday-Saturday 5 -10
Sunday 5-9

Cross Street:
Kennedy and Madison in the Grand Central

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 374-8840

Website:
http://www.cena-channelside.com/

Catering:
For catering inquires please contact Kate Hardy, General Manager, at 813-374-8840 or kate@cena-channelside.com

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage for the building, free for the first two hours and two dollars after that. Parking in the west garage is easiest, parking on the up ramp taking the "stageworks" elevator down.

Executive Chef:
Michael Buttacavoli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Cena Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Romantic (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (8)
Casual (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food!! Very nice wine selection. Somewhat expensive but good value. We loved everything!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great service and god food. Tasty wines, the house wine was the best value on the list too. Only complaint would be that the carbonara sauce was not a true carbonara, I could not detect any egg in it at all so that dish was a bit of a miss but the homemade pasta was delicious regardless. Their tiramisu will have us coming back, unlike any I have tried, very unique presentation. Try it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had 2 children under the age 10 and they were very sweet and accommodating! Food was fabulous!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Not your typical neighborhood Italian restaurant even for Downtown/Channelside district - a cut above. Upscale dare I say "gourmet" menu is not inexpensive but you get what you pay for. Great food - a foody destination: appetizers, main courses and desserts were all excellent - very pleased with my 1st dining experience at Cena. Five of us dined before an event at the Amalie arena and all were very happy with their experience. Would recommend to others.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great meal, service facilitated very fun and enjoyable evening with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Just a very enjoyable evening. Fine dining, small place, intimate. Loved it

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Loved the menu and the food was exceptional. We chose this restaurant to dine at before going to a play at the Performing Arts Center. The service was good. We had pasta dishes and the pasta was freshly handmade and the sauces were not overbearing or heavy. Portion size was just right. We will dine at this establishment again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Cena is one of the best Italian restaurants in town. The ingredients are the tops, the dishes are both authentic and creative, and the wine list is good. I was with three other people and we all enjoyed our meals. For my part, one of the mushrooms in the mushroom risotto was perhaps the best mushroom I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I picked this place because they have three Rosoto dishes. I ended up getting the special Eggplant Rialto with cranberry sauce. It was really good. Portions are a bit small so plan on getting a salad if you're really hungry.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is one of those places that you forget about, a little off the main road, but after dinner you say, we should go there more often. The carbonata pasta with meat sauce was al dente and delicious, the branzino was cooked perfectly, they ran out of my husbands wine but brought him samples of three others to choose from, the cookie sherbet dessert was the perfect ending.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The fried cheese with figs and honey was very good. The shriml carbanara was light but lackec a bit of flavor. We shared the almond macaroon desser. Just okay. Macaroon very hard and difficult to eat. Of all the times we have been here, and lovef it, this time was not as great food. Service was great!! Will give it another try, but used to be my fave, but food slipped a bit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Being Italian, I only eat where I found real Italian cousine, superb service and atmosphere. Cena is the place to go!
Grazie!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Staff is great !!!! The Ricotta Cheesecake is out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Received a warm greeting at the door. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. Meal was fabulous. Thank you Cena's for a wonderful anniversary meal!!! Can't wait to bring our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service (Eric), wine, food and atmosphere was absolutely amazing. It was our first visit to Cena but will definitely not be our last...Long Island transplant🍷🍷Cheers...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 9, 2017

we were greeted and seated promptly, the service was excellent and the food was very good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have dined here with friends and family and we have never been disappointed, ever.....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was excellent and service was even better (our server was Stephanie). Prices were fair. Pork chop was tender and cooked just right. Fried pecorino would get you to never want fried mozzarella again.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I've been to Cena many times and every one has been a great experience. Nice, knowledgeable staff, fantastic wine list (lots of Italian stuff you don't find elsewhere) and of course the food is unbelievable. Highly recommend, especially if you haven't tried it yet!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Greeted with enthusiasm, attended to quickly with knowledgeable a friendly waiter. Food was meticulously prepared and tasted amazing. We dined on 2 specials and enjoyed their signature dessert tiramisu . Helped us pick out a very nice super Tuscan wine.
Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fabulous new years dinner! One of our favorite restaurants. House wine is the best in town,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Restaurant Cena was very good. Everything was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I was disappointed with our young waitress. I brought in a 1997 Brunello to enjoy with our meal at Cena and she treated it and poured it into our glasses like it was an everyday wine. She did decant it as I asked her too but poured too much in the wine glasses. She was not as polished as some of the other wait staff that I have enjoyed and expect from Cena. The different selections of food we had was very good and of course the tiramisu was delish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food was generally good; however, the clams in the chowder were gritty. They were marginally busy, but it was very noisy!!! Probably won't return anytime soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We reserved an early seating to accommodate my parents.
The octopus was over cooked.
The risotto was served cold.
The dish was fresh. The wine wa very good.
The bread was outstanding.
If I lived within walking distance I would try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Awesome experience. The food was delicious and the service was even better. Save room to finish with the taramisu as it was the best we had ever had. Great food and great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

4/5 items requested were not available from the the short 1 page menu on a Saturday night. The very personable waitress kept coming back apologizing for the items on menu which the restaurant ran out, suggesting alternatives. The Eggplant appetizer tasted only of sugary marmalade, no taste of Eggplant or savory Parmesan cheese. Dishes were under seasoned or too salty. The signature dessert featured in the local newspaper was not available. Instead the chocolate mousse substituted was white chocolate milk chocolate. Pretty pathetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We have been at Cena several times and this visit did not disappoint. Food was excellent, staff professional and attentive. An appetizer that our friends ordered was not up to par-the cheese with bread and figs. When we mentioned it to the server, it was removed from their final bill. My only criticism of the restaurant is the noise level. Of course this is not completely their fault-but of the parties of guests who feel that their conservation must be heard by the entire restaurant-what ever happen to the saying "restaurant voices".

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Cena is tough to beat. Unique, thoughtful menu. Nice atmosphere - sort of casual-classy, good service, good wine selection, and consistently excellent food.

Convenient parking in the building with two hours free.

On a nice day sit in the nice outside courtyard and people watch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Cute place, excellent service,and a great value. The eggplant appetizer was really delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent eggplant appetizer and the tiramisu for dessert is not to be missed! Noisy and not the place for a quiet romantic dinner but a good atmosphere. They follow traditional Italian seating with your table reserved for the entire evening - there is no rush to leave the establishment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always love Cena! Their wine selection changes from time to time and I enjoy trying new wines. Their Italian reds are good and most are well-priced. This time I had the clam chowder which was unique, rich and delicious. I couldn't eat much of it because it was more rich than I like but not a problem because I was able to swap with my husband half way through. Had the Wild Boat. It was fabulous. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Burrata was very good. Carbonara was a little dry but shrimp made up for it. Small wine list. Only real down side is no cocktails, beer and wine only

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Good food. The seafood risotto and Kobe Beef risotto were excellent.
Portion size was right sized leaving room for the cheesecake and tiramisu which were excellent. Definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very good food, good service and ambiance. The menu is unique and thoughtful. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Chef Michael is one of the most talented in Tampa Bay today.

His is a modern Italian, like dishes you might be served in Rome, Milan or Florence in a fashionable place requested by young and sophisticated patrons, is creative and well balanced.

The room is a nice contrast between industrial space, modern art and elegantly modern appointed tables. Service is friendly and professional, familiar with all the dishes.

Our appetizers were flavorful and nicely presented. A pompano special was amazingly fresh and perfectly cooked and the seafood risotto creamy and full of scallops and shrimp.

Love the small and well selected wine list of Italian regional wines from some of the best small producers, all excellent and reasonably priced.

Too full for dessert, which upon leaving, we determined was a mistake as Cena's pastry chef may be Tampa Bay's best!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Lovely evening. Great menu choices. Food wonderfully prepared. The tiramuso is awesome. Great service, friendly. Just perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was outstanding. Interesting menu and very tasty. The room is 'industrial' and got a bit noisy as the evening progressed. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was delicious. Staff very polite. Portions way too SMALL.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with excellent food. Ribeye was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.