HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 11 times today

Cena

4.6
297 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date (13)
  • Creative Cuisine (11)
  • Fit for Foodies (10)
Cena is a modern, fresh and simple Italian food served in a contemporary and stylish setting. Located in the Grand Central building at the heart of the vibrant Channel District of Tampa, Florida – Cena is dining from the roots – great ingredients, traditional dishes, and attentive service. Join us.

Cena – “dinner” or “supper” in Italian.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday-closed
Tuesday-closed
Wednesday-Saturday 5 -10
Sunday 5-9
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(813) 374-8840
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Buttacavoli
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
For catering inquires please contact Kate Hardy, General Manager, at 813-374-8840 or kate@cena-channelside.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Kennedy and Madison in the Grand Central
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is a parking garage for the building, free for the first two hours and two dollars after that. Parking in the west garage is easiest, parking on the up ramp taking the "stageworks" elevator down.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine
What 297 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6  based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Toscana101 (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined 3 days ago

Lovely restaurant with great service. We had a bottle of Brunello wine that was fantastic. Our meal was gnocchi and truffle pasta. Both were awesome!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined 3 days ago

We arrived early for a 5 PM dinner. They saw us and another couple waiting outside and politely asked us in. The service was excellent. Our waitress was very cordial and welcoming. She was knowledgeable in the menu and commented on our questions. The meal was excellent. I had the mussels which were cooked perfectly and the branzino which was excellent. My wife had the beef bolognese which she thoroughly enjoyed. I would highly recommend Cena.

Report
Helpful
CDUPE (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

Great as always! Great food great service!

Report
Helpful
Joendawn (Atlantic City)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

From Billy Joel at the door to Nate the Great as our server this place was great! The food was spectacular, so different than what you would expect. Presentations were well thought out. The desserts were out of this world. It was an hour drive but I can promise it won’t be our last visit! Thanks for a great night Cena!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Me and my boyfriend had a great evening. The food was amazing. The best part was desert!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tampa)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

The wild cat martini is very good. The baby kale salad was the best salad I've ever had. The croutons must be made in-house because the bread was so soft a tasted neared. Very interesting, but delicious. We got the Truffle pasta and squash pasta, delicious. I really would waste money on the dessert. We ordered the lemon cream macron and strawberry cream pie; Too fancy, too tiny and too pricey. Dessert menu is not worth the money. I will definitely be back for that baby kale salad

Report
Helpful
vipejkantor (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Chef Michael and the team at Cena always kill it. The winter menu is full of great new gems and old favorites. I am really happy about the new full liquor serving up some great craft cocktails. It is no wonder why they were picked as one of the best restaurants in the Tampa Bay area by the Tampa Bay Times food critic.

Report
Helpful
vipFoodieintheBurg (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

As always, Cena never disappoints. The food is unbelievable and the service stellar. Can't wait to return.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orlando)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

We always always have a great meal at Cena. Management, service, food and ambience are always perfection!

Report
Helpful
ciscop (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

My wife and I went to Cena to celebrate our anniversary. We arrived early and received the VIP treatment the entire evening. Our server Nate was great, offering suggestions on the menu and wines to pair with our selections. For an appetizer we chose the Crispy Eggplant. The serving size was good enough for two to share. For our entrees I had the oxtail gnocchi which was delicious and my wife had the Spaghetti Squash Lasagna. As recommended by many of the previous reviews we saved some room for desert and ordered the Ostrich Egg Shaped Tiramisu. Not only was it creatively presented, but it was by far the best tiramisu we had eaten in a long time. At the end of the evening we were invited to return walked to the door by the owner of the restaurant. Nice touch. Overall the prices were reasonable and appropriate for the quality of food and the excellent service level.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Nashville)
5.0  Dined on January 18, 2018

Lovely place - small, friendly...great service and wonderful food! The wine list had grreat by the glass choices for reasonable prices - we would definitely go back!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Beyond delicious

Report
Helpful
vipdonnag (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

Small but quaint restaurant with great service, tasty dishes and quiet atmosphere. Hidden gem!

Report
Helpful
vipJimmy (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Always a “go to” place if you can get a reservation!

Report
Helpful
vipEdgar (San Francisco)
2.0  Dined on December 14, 2017

OpenTable customers overrated this restaurant by far.... It is a plain looking restaurant, very plain. No ambiance whatsoever. No decor. Menu very limited; Food was average; service was also average although owner or manager was trying his hardest to be funny :-(. This restaurant should not be rated that high

Report
Helpful
Zonian (Orlando)
5.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

I loved this restaurant...the food was very tasty and well prepared. Our waiter was very attentive and took good care of our needs. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
Chad (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on December 3, 2017

We've eaten at Cena several times and they never disappoint. They accommodated our party of 12 without any problems. Food was delicious, service was excellent, and the evening was enjoyable!

Report
Helpful
LoveEatingOut (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on December 2, 2017

Cena was recommended to me by many people and it did not disappoint! I started with a house salad and then the smaller serving of the Italian Fried Rice. The squid in the rice was cooked perfectly and the serving size of both dishes was satisfying. We went before seeing a show at Stageworks next door but will not wait for another show before I go again.

Report
Helpful
vip57Gold (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on December 2, 2017

Nice Saturday dinner. Friendly greeting, always fun to check out new menu items and additions to the small, but well-chosen wine list.

Nice apps and creative pastas and perhaps Tampa Bay's most creative desserts.

It is always a pleasure to speak with the chef/owner Michael, who enjoys knowing his guests.

One of the area's culinary treasures serving a modern interpretation of Italian cuisine in downtown Tampa - Channelside area, with free parking in the building.

Report
Helpful
vipKelly (Charleston)
4.0  Dined on November 29, 2017

The food was outstanding - the chacuterie (sp) menu was a big hit with us. The cocktail menu has many interesting takes on every day drinks. The tiramisu is a MUST! it is very unique looking but extremely tasty.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15