Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

About Cellar 6

Created after the California Wine Bar trend back in 2008, our quaint family owned and operated restaurant serves St. Augustine’s only Urban Cuisine in a casual upscale environment. We started out as a cozy wine bar serving tapas to compliment the wine featuring local artists artwork displayed on our walls. Based on customers overwhelming response we evolved to be a full-service restaurant and bar. Original pieces of wood from a 100-year-old barn in Maryland trim the bar, entryway, and hallway keeping with the old-world feel of St. Augustine. Guests also enjoy the contemporary aspects of Cellar 6 including touches of modern lighting, chalkboard art work, and furnishings. It is our goal at Cellar 6 to provide an inviting environment to enjoy dinner and conversations with those important to you with excellent service. Cellar 6 attracts the young and old, locals and tourists. The restaurant in open daily at 4:30 pm for dinner.

6 Aviles St
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 PM til 11 PM
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 PM - 2:00 AM

Cross Street:
King Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 827-9055

Website:
http://www.cellar6staugustine.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available around the plaza off King Street. There is also a Public City Parking lot behind Trinity Episcopal Church which is one block East of the Casa Monica Hotel. Turn right onto St. George Street and take the first left. Parking is free after 5 p.m. and all day Sunday. Occasionally parking is not available in this lot due to church functions. There is also parking available behind the Lightner Museum just a few blocks away.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Cellar 6 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Happy Hour (24)
Romantic (24)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Cozy (23)
Casual (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fun (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
People Watching (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Authentic (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Tapas (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Scenic View (5)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Spicy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We were so excited to find this place off the beaten path and made a dinner reservation. The owner had the A/C blasting that it was freezing in the place. A couple sat down next to us, and got up and left because of the cold. Not enjoyable. The food was mediocre. I ordered a filet mignon with a scoop of mashed potatoes and asparagus. The steak was cold and tasted as an amateur cooked and the potatoes were hard and asparagus limp. NO flavor. My husband ordered the chicken special with pasta. The server raved on how delicious this dish was, and it was a total let down. Some of the chicken was still pink, and the dish lacked flavor. If you go, suggest you go for drinks and perhaps an appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Arrived at 7pm for our reservation. We we seated right away but then waited 25 minutes for the waitress to show up to take our drink order and waited another 20 min for our drinks to arrive (tasted like ice water) Bartender Manager came over an recommended we order the Belvedere ($13 each) Better? NOT. Finally our order arrived, shared Ahi appetizer, no plates, no silverware, no napkins, enough for us we asked for our check, the waitress already had our 20% off coupon but, they failed to take the discount so we sent it back to be corrected. We're out of here and never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Found cellar 6 online while researching places for am upcoming trip with he wife to St Augustine. Has excellent reviews and the place did not disappoint. We couldn;t decide on just one appetizer so instead opted to get 4 of them as our meal...Chose the blue cheese chips to star, excellent, then the Cajun egg rolls and crab cake, both of which were good and finally the Ahi Tuna which was outstanding! We reserved ahead for one of the few tables outside, which was nice along the street, romantic, and a bit quieter than inside which seemed a bit loud. Prices overall are slightly above the average for other restaurants around but the food quality was excellent and worth a splurge. I would definitely go back, was probably our best meal in St Augustine.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Average food , slow service even though the place was half full

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Very good selections for appetizers and great local specials . Waiters and staff Are very attentive. Will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Enjoyed our dining experience. Service was prompt. My mahi-mahi was a little dry but great flavor. I would go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Nice atmosphere. Small restaurant with good food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Always a great experience! Andrew our server was phenomenal. Was very disappointed to hear that they cancelled having live music on weekends except for special occasions. Will still of course continue to dine here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

I had chicken and it was good but came out Luke warm. Very highly priced for a chicken dish. Not a lot of dinner options to choose from.

Our friend ordered the burger medium. It came out rare. They cooked another one but by the time it arrived we had all finished eating. All they had to do was cook it further. Nice ambiance but not at all worth the money.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 17, 2017

A very friendly bar and wait staff ensured we were well taken care of. The waiter was eager to answer all of are questions about the menu and his answers proved to be spot on. The food and drinks were incredible! The service was attentive without being overbearing. A wonderful, highly recommended experience. I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Cute place. Wonderful street side cafe outdoor tables and cozy interior. My NY strip was good but not the best cut of meat. Ahi tuna appetizer very good.

We ordered a bottle of wine. The restaurant is named Cellar 6, so you would imagine with this being said, our wine would be properly served would be of utmost importance. Our waiter opened the wine and he didn't have us taste it...then he held the glass like a goblet in the air and filled it to the rim and placed it in front of me, then picked up the other glass and filled it to the room, gave it to my husband then he put the cork back in the bottle.

We just laughed and smiled. Not a place for a wine snob nor steak lover.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wie schon im letzten Jahr Warenwirtschaft wieder mehr als zufrieden. Freundliche, aufmerksame Bedienung, ein sehr gutes Essen und große Auswahl an Cocktails und Weinen.
Nur die Lautstärke muss man mögen.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was good not excellent as expected but service was bad and slow

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food and drinks were good. The restaurant was very loud which made it somewhat difficult for the 6 of us to hear each other. We ordered the molten chocolate cake for dessert and it was disappointing. There was very little "molten" chocolate in the middle-maybe enough for a couple bites. Go next door for dessert at Peace Pie!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

While Cellar 6 is a vibrant, energy driven hotspot on Aviles Street near the Historic section of downtown St. Augustine, I would not recommend it for prepared to order fine dining. When it is crowded, their tiny kitchen cannot keep up with orders which leads to under or over prepared food. Patrons should expect above average drink and food costs for this establishment.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 3, 2017

First visit to Cellar 6..... enjoyed girls night out made especially pleasant by our waiter, Andrew...good food, great drinks and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Excellent appetizers are the forerunners to a superior scallops dinner! Wow! Good wine pairings compliment the meal. I'd go for the seafood plates and appetizers every time.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

We just had an incredible dining experience at Cellar 6. Our servers name was Summerlynn
And she was so personable and attentive.
Definitely a great place to eat
Jan

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great spot on great street. Great service and great food. Thank you Summerlin for a wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We visited after making the rounds through St. Augustine. I recommend it just keep in mind they are on the pricing side - $16 for a burger and $13 for a Martini (w/out the shaker).

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food looks beautiful and tastes delicious. DinnerMenu was underwhelming. I got the burger which was very flavorful. Others in my group got the Chefs Trio (seafood- was pretty good), Special-Chicken Florentine (was great), Pasta primavera (was great). Wine and beer selection is above average and our bruschetta appetizer was delicious. Ambience is nice- dark, sensual... would be nice for a date, but noise level is loud. Service was good- attentive, accurate and friendly. Price seemed a bit high for the experience. Chicken special was $30 which seems high for the plate. Overall a good dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Not lmpress.Over priced small portions.as just a bar it would be ok.I Will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had the best seat in the house. We dined by picture window that allowed us to watch the horse and carriage rides and the ghost tours in the beautiful city of St. Augustine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 24, 2017

This restaurant was a great find.
Located off the beaten busy path of the busy downtown historic St. Augustine.
Very cool decor with funky red lighting in the background.
Chef was amazing. foot came out in a timely manner and staff was great.
Best shrimp and grits and ahi tuna appetizer.
They also have drink specials which is a great plus.
I had the cucumber maritni which was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Everything was truly great. We unfortunately has a very badly constructed table that even the staff could not correct. We were a party of 4 and every time someone tried to eat or cut their food or move basically, our drinks would spill and make a mess.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We came in for some late night appetizers and drinks. The drinks were mediocre at best and the food was just OK. We had a couple of martinis and a mint julep. The martinis were not great and tasted like they were made with cheap liquor, the mint julep was nothing special either. The service was very good and attentive. The chocolate and peanut butter pie was really good, but the appetizers were nothing to write home about.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (München)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Das Essen und ist o. k, aber nichts besonderes. Es fehlt an Gewürze. Der Service ist nett und die Preise liegen im normalen Bereich.
Das Restaurant liegt an eine ruhige Straße, wo nichts zu sehen ist. Es gibt ein Paar Tischen draußen, man sitzt allerdings fast direkt an der Straße. Das Ambiente drinne ist zwar schön, aber es ist so laut, dass wir es drinne nicht aushalten könnte, außerdem ist der Klimaanlage so kalt eingestellt dass ich jedem empfehlen möchte ein Pulli mitzunehmen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 18, 2017

This was the best dinner on our trip thus far! Loved the Ahi Tuna and the Bruschettas. Portions and taste were perfect. We'll be back tomorrow to try some other dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was our first trip to St Augustine and Cellar 6 was recommended by a friend. It was delicious! There wasn't too many entree options which is perfect for an indecisive person like myself. The vegetarian pasta was incredible. We also had the scallops which were very good. The bruschetta is DIVINE! Pesto hidden underneath fresh mozzarella and balsamic glaze - yes please! Not a big wine drinker but their selection was extensive (so I saw on my iPad menu). Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had an enjoyable meal and would consider returning, but not for a special occasion - Cellar 6 is more bar than restaurant - mostly high tops and a few small normal tables up front near the windows. Noisy. Vibrant. Great place to go for drinks and a meal with friends for a fun night out. Not the perfect anniversary location. :) That all said, the food was certainly wonderful - our steaks were great, well seasoned and cooked as ordered, with very good sides. Tasty dessert. Service was very good. Wouldn't hesitate to return, we just wouldn't do it for another anniversary.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My fiancé and I went for filet Friday, and the steak was amazing. Cut like butter. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The ahi Tina appetizer is amazing! Enjoyed everything about our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great experience. We had two appetizers both of which were outstanding (ahi and crab cakes).
Alex was our waiter and he was outstanding - friendly, knowledgable and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our best meal in St. Augustine! Food was excellent, friendly staff and great service, nice vibe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great service and all entrees were top shelf. I had mussels over angel hair pasta - Loved it!! others had scallops which were great too.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 6, 2017

the food was very tasty,had the scallops,they were very good,but only got 3 or 4,3 asparagus and a little scoop of mashed potato for $30.00 ,worth more like $20,my husband had the burger that was a little over cooked,nice tasting nothing great for $20.00,we are locals and won't go back in a hurry.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We went for our anniversary. The restaurant was aware thru open table and offered us congratulations as we arrived.
The service was quite good. The food was not:
Every bottle of Cabernet listed on their menu was not available in the same vintage.... ok so we eventually found a wine...
Ordered filet mignon - medium temperature
Both steaks arrived rare... really rare. Vegetables were overcooked and cool... the filets were $36. They were USDA choice, not prime. Gristled and relatively flavorless.
Our table itself was a metal patio table that was covered by a tablecloth. Wobbly and clumsy to sit at.
As I watched a server clear the table next to us, she simply flipped the table linens over and reused them for the next guest.
This dinner cost us $160 for the two of us. A poor value
For 10% more we could have gone to Capital Grill in JAX or Seasons 52 and had USDA Prime, properly cooked, served on clean linens at a nice table with far better atmosphere and wines sourced from a better place than the corner grocery....
I think this place is great for drinks and appetizers, beyond that it's a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food here is always excellent and so are the cocktails. The atmosphere is always relaxing with the right touch of style. Can not find Ahi Tuna this good anywhere. Steaks always prepared properly . You want to save room for dessert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We read about truffle mash that no loby er exists on their menu. Limited menu items. Steak was order medium rare and was cut in slices. Prices high for ho hum food. Nothing special, was very disappointed in our night out for getaway. Too many other good places to eat to give them another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This was not as expected. With a name like Cellar 6, I would have thought it would have had a better wine selection. Ambiance felt more like a bar. The tables were so close, I had to get up out of my chair so the waitress could bring the food to the table behind us and I'm not a large person.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.