About Cedric's Tavern - Biltmore Estate

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Located on Biltmore Estate, this warm, relaxing tavern overlooks the village green at Antler Hill Village. The décor, ambience, and menu pay tribute to the neighborhood pubs of Britain and Ireland. Enjoy satisfying pub fare alongside robustly flavored American and global cuisine presented with Biltmore flair. On tap are Biltmore's own Cedric's Pale Ale and Cedric's Brown Ale in addition to award-winning Biltmore wines and a full bar.
*Please be aware that you must have a valid paid estate admission ticket, be a guest of Inn on Biltmore Estate or Village Hotel, or be a Biltmore Annual Passholder to dine on property*. Outdoor dining is available in season. Please note that due to limited seating availability we are unable to accept reservations for our patio. All patio seating is assigned on a first come first served basis.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Irish, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Daily 11:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Biltmore Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-1320

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/cedrics-tavern.asp

Entertainment:
Cedric’s offers entertainment every night of the week starting at 6 p.m. Please visit our website for a calendar of events.

Catering:
Cedric's Loft features a private banquet room, board room, pre-function space and patio terrace over-looking Antler Hill Village.

Executive Chef:
Mark DeMarco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cedric's Tavern offers different rooms for private dining that can seat up to 120 people. Our restaurant is great for hosting business luncheons, meetings, wedding rehearsals, and many other events. We offer a wide array of menus and dedicated sales team to help create the perfect event.

Cedric's Tavern - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Casual (35)
Live Music (35)
See All
Local Ingredients (33)
Special Occasion (31)
Great Beer (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Cozy (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Historic (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Scenic View (19)
Seasonal (17)
Fun (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Authentic (12)
People Watching (11)
Family Style (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Romantic (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
936 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Noisy and the food was served lukewarm! ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Noisy and the food was served lukewarm! Food was also overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

I wasn't expecting it but this was the b ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

I wasn't expecting it but this was the best food I've had in a long time. The ambiance felt like a tavern and the service was good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great meal with the family! Thre ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Another great meal with the family! Three had bison burgers, Mamma & I had fish chips, one Irish Dip sandwich. Cedric's never disappoints, we go it every time we visit Biltmore!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting and service were very good. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The setting and service were very good. The food was a problem. A chicken dish was ordered and was served cold as were the vegetables that accompanied the chicken. The meal was sent back to be heated. However a new order was apparently prepared. It arrive hot, which was good. But when the chicken was cut it was still bloody. Definitely not good for chicken. Again the waitress was called and shown the chicken. She offered to have another meal prepared but that was declined as her dining partner had nearly finished his meal. The vegetables and a small price of done chicken were eaten. The meal was comped. Not sure we would want to eat there again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Tables for two are too narrow. I am 5'9 ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Tables for two are too narrow. I am 5'9" 177 lbs and found the these tables less than accommodating for the class of this restaurant; very confined feeling. In addition the table was against the window and half wall which contributed to the confined feeling. The window on this particular day (outside temp in the low mid 20s) also made this a cool, drafty place to sit; had to eat with jackets on. I ignored my instinct to ask for a more interior table and / or booth, So I blame myself for that.

For the price of the food, my wife and I were expecting a much better value; it was certainly not an "outstanding value" as outlined as a choice in the "What would you recommend this restaurant for?" section of this survey. My wife had the Shepherd's pie which was good. I had the chicken breast with a sauce base veggie medley. The chicken breast was tough, dry and disappointing for the price paid.

Service was generally good but I would have a hard time recommending Cedric's Tavern to a friend without mentioning the aforementioned. During a visit to the Biltmore Estate last summer, my wife and I had a meal at the Stable Cafe', the food, service and value was very / very good. We expected the same from Cedric's, we left a little disappointed.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

This was a great end to our visit to Bil ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was a great end to our visit to Biltmore. The food was great and the service was the best! I can't say enough about our waiter. He was very knowledgeable about everything at the restaurant (food/beverage) and just made the evening very special!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Family Style, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A really substandard and expensive meal. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

A really substandard and expensive meal. I had the $32 (farmed) salmon entree, it was completely over cooked, totally dry. Just barely edible. The accompanying cabbage was awful. It was tough, purple, cut into 1/4" ribbons - it tasted old and looked like a pile of shoelaces. My companion had the shepherd's pie which literally had 2 bite-size pieces of lamb in it. The rest consisted of a gluey gravy topped with mashed potatoes.

Our waiter was completely distracted and inattentive.

I really don't like sending a meal back, I feel like it makes a bad experience worse and I hate looking like we're angling for a free meal, but we certainly won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The food was very tasty and well present ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was very tasty and well presented with very nice ambiance. The prices were a bit higher than I typically pay for comparable food, but it was on the Biltmore Estate so its to be expected.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

They kindly offered a complimentary appe ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

They kindly offered a complimentary appetizer when there was a small delay in seating. Food was good, service was friendly, helpful. There was a chilly draft at the table but everything else was good. I typically enjoy eating here & they also have good live music. Biltmore is always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great atmosphere and beer. The Bison Bu ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great atmosphere and beer. The Bison Burger was "alright" and the fries were not hot, not really warm either but still crispy. Reminded us of Red Robin fries with the seasoning. It was the least expensive item on the menu at just under $20 but could of been better.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

The server was very friendly. The two so ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The server was very friendly. The two soups...stilton onion and their cheesy potato bacon were both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overpriced

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

While it would not be considered Fine Di ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on December 29, 2016

While it would not be considered Fine Dining; you can certainly get a fine meal at Cedric's. Have had multiple trips; none disappointed. It generally starts with some great pretzel rolls and a light mustard butter accoutrement. Good and (no doubt) good for you!

We enjoyed a cup of the Stilton Onion Soup. Creamy and filled with many flavors for a good starter.

Lunch entrees consisted of the Turkey Pastrami Swiss Cheese Sandwich prepared exactly as requested, sans bread add lettuce. There were ample amount of flavorful ingredients. The starch was Pub Fries, prepared on site. Small Potato Chips, lightly seasoned. Our batch could have been more crisp.

Also had the Bison Cobbler. Served piping hot, on the smallish side but good amounts of bison chunks with a fairly light and smooth sauce with appropriate veggies all under a flaky crust. The pretzel rolls made for GREAT sopping!

Dessert was the Fig Date Pudding with Caramel Sauce and Ice Cream. A good strong flavor, as one would expect, and just the right quantities to complete the meal.

Christopher did a good job even in a quite busy environment as it was the height of the lunch hour. Prompt, efficient service with plenty of attention..

Considering the location (Biltmore) and the distinction of the fare, Cedric's is a good value returning great returns on investment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

You cannot go wrong at Cedric's Tavern. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

You cannot go wrong at Cedric's Tavern. While at first glance the menu may seem typical for a tavern, the food is prepared with a unique flair. I had the best grouper I had ever eaten when dining there last week. Was glad we dined there!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lunch...cheeseburgers a bit bland, servi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lunch...cheeseburgers a bit bland, service required a couple of prompts, atmosphere really nice and that was exactly why we choose this dining venue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Cedrics Tavern is a great place to dine. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Cedrics Tavern is a great place to dine. We toured the Biltmore Estate and finished earlier than expected and arrived at Cedrics sooner than we had anticipated. They accommodated us nicely since our reservation was for 7 pm yet we arrived at 6. The diner we had was excellent!

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Great Beer, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed authentic pub cuisine before our ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Enjoyed authentic pub cuisine before our candlelight tour of the Biltmore house. Menu was interesting and all of our choices were delicious. Shepard' pie was excellent. Meal was a bit pricey but not out of line with other restaurants on the estate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Neither food nor service were not up to ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Neither food nor service were not up to Biltmore standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Since the name includes "Tavern" you may ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Since the name includes "Tavern" you may think of it as a sports bar. While there is a TV in the bar area the restaurant is upscale. The food was great and the service fantastic. It is named after the Vanderbilt's St. Bernard, Cedric. I had the fish and chips, and my husband had surf and turf. All wonderfully prepared. Since Cedric's Tavern is on the grounds of the Biltmore Estate you can only get there is you are either staying at one of the hotels on the grounds or have visited the Biltmore on that day. That part is a bit disappointing since I could definitely see us going there for dinner on other occasions. But definitely worth the trip.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Would recommend to anyone! Great food an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Would recommend to anyone! Great food and great time!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, , Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was too expensive for what it was- ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was too expensive for what it was- ordinary fish and chips and terrible children's chicken tenders were dry and stringy- i had difficulty chewing and swallowing zz zz cc vv bb nn mm ll kk jj hh gg ff dd ss aa

Tags: Late-night Find, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

It was crowded and a bit noisy, I think ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was crowded and a bit noisy, I think that might be due to the holiday. Overall ok

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great location and atmosphere

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great location and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great restaurant for a pub at ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This was a great restaurant for a pub atmosphere. Enjoyed the Cedric's Beer and appetizers.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the pork chop & over roasted chicken ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Had the pork chop & over roasted chicken - both were excellent! Ordered Figgy Pudding for dessert and was delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and friendly employees. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent food and friendly employees. It was nice to be able to sit on the enclosed patio. Cedric's has a very cozy, pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, , Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived early and they took is right in. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Arrived early and they took is right in. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food and staff were both awesome. Re ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food and staff were both awesome. Really helped to make our first visit to The Biltmore a memorable one.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The atmosphere was very nice and the foo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The atmosphere was very nice and the food was of good quality. However, the portions of food were extremely small. I don't mind paying for good food but I don't like to leave the restaurant and be hungry. My wife and daughter also said the same thing. My wife had an appetizer and the portion of her appetizer was as much as mine and my daughters' entrée. My daughter had chicken, which if I recall correctly, was $24.00 and it was a very small portion. I had the Sheppard's Pie and it was very small as well. A can of Campbell's chicken noodle soup with a little water added would have been as much. No bread was offered with mine or my daughters entrée. Very, very disappointed. Our bill was over $80.00 and again, we left hungry. I would not recommend Cedrick's to anyone with an appetite.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Cedric's Tavern is located on the Biltmo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Cedric's Tavern is located on the Biltmore Estate, so one needs a ticket or an Annual Pass to get seating. My friend and I like to eat at Cedric's when we're on the Estate. The food is always good as well as the service. It is a pleasant place to dine though it can be a bit noisy. In the warmer months, they have a large covered patio on which to dine or get a glass of wine and appetizers. The patio is also pet friendly for well mannered dogs. Even though Asheville has many outstanding restaurants, my husband and I will occasionally choose Cedric's for a casual dinner out. It's an enjoyable place to eat regardless of the occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Live Music, People Watching, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed in the quality of the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Very disappointed in the quality of the food. My sister and I ordered the chicken which was bland and our other dining companion ordered the steak and tots. The steak was not tender.The ham and cheese fondue was good. I would not recommend Cedric's

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was good.

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The food was terrible! The hostess staff ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was terrible! The hostess staff was rude. The bar couldn't even make a simple Irish coffee....WORSE MEAL EVER. In fact our meal was comped because of how it was. For this place to be on the Biltmore estates, it sure doesn't represent the Biltmore. If I return to Biltmore you can rest assure I will not be eating here and I will tell every I know not to. AWEFUL! Best thing I can say is that our meal was free (the bill was close to $137 without tip) and I got a sweatshirt out of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We visited Cedrics' in the past for lunc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We visited Cedrics' in the past for lunch and the food was very good. Therefore, we made reservations for dinner expecting the same quality. We were extremely disappointed. All three entrees were poor. The Lobster Roll had so much lemon on it you could not taste the lobster. Actually, all you could taste was lemon, nothing else. The Rib Eye looked like a cut you might get at a buffet bar in a lower price restaurant and was tough. The salmon was the best of the three, but it also had a very fishy flavor.

When I walk into a restaurant with prices like Cedric's, I expect that the executive chef has carefully chosen and trained his staff to produce high-quality meals to perfection. Having said that, I was appalled this morning to receive an email from him asking me to tell him what was wrong so he could use that information for training purposes! We did not spend well over $200, not including tip, to help him train his staff.

Furthermore, I am also appalled that his customer's satisfaction is not a priority. I will be responding to his email shortly and I am hopeful he will put aside his need for us to help "train his staff" and offer us an opportunity to come back and show us he and his staff can indeed produce the type of meal we were expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food, will return in the future ag ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food, will return in the future again and again.

Tags: Great Beer, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

our waiter adam was fabulous and the foo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

our waiter adam was fabulous and the food was wonderful!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a wonderful experience.

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Such a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came to Asheville to see the Biltmore ma ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Came to Asheville to see the Biltmore mansion for Christmas and after doing lots of research on the area for places to eat on the grounds I chose Cedric's Tavern as one of the places to eat. I was a little nervous due to some reviews saying that they didn't get enough food for the money but made reservations anyway. Well after a long day of driving to the estate we were ready to sit down and have a great meal with great ambience and man did this place succeed !!! We had the best service ever!! We were treated like special guest and though there menu isn't a huge list of things there were enough on there for everyone to find a plate they would like. I can't brag enough about the service. My fiancé got porkchops and they we were told ahead that it takes about 30 mins to cook the manager came by our table and told us we could all get dessert on the house due to his pork chops taking the 30 mins and omg were the desserts amazing!!!!! As far as the decor it had the most inviting but romantic and homey feel to it!! I and my guest truly enjoyed our dinner and would highly recommend it to anyone going to see the Biltmore!!!!! I got fish n chips and it was so much food and so very good. Everyone left full to the brim even my bottomless pit fiancé!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the photos and story motif about ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Enjoyed the photos and story motif about the namesake family dog.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food, great service. Menu fun ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellent food, great service. Menu fun and eclectic English food. Music a nice addition

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.