About Cedric's Tavern - Biltmore Estate

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Located on Biltmore Estate, this warm, relaxing tavern overlooks the village green at Antler Hill Village. *Please be aware that you must have a valid paid estate admission ticket, be a guest of Inn on Biltmore Estate, or be a Biltmore Annual Passholder to dine on property*. Please note that due to limited seating availability we are unable to accept reservations for our patio. All patio seating is assigned on a first come first served basis. The décor, ambience, and menu pay tribute to the neighborhood pubs of Britain and Ireland. Enjoy satisfying pub fare alongside robustly flavored American and global cuisine presented with Biltmore flair. On tap are Biltmore's own Cedric's Pale Ale and Cedric's Brown Ale in addition to award-winning Biltmore wines and a full bar. Outdoor dining is available in season.



Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Irish, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Daily 11:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Biltmore Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-1320

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/cedrics-tavern.asp

Entertainment:
Cedric’s offers entertainment every night of the week starting at 6 p.m. Please visit our website for a calendar of events.

Catering:
Cedric's Loft features a private banquet room, board room, pre-function space and patio terrace over-looking Antler Hill Village.

Executive Chef:
Mark DeMarco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cedric's Tavern offers different rooms for private dining that can seat up to 120 people. Our restaurant is great for hosting business luncheons, meetings, wedding rehearsals, and many other events. We offer a wide array of menus and dedicated sales team to help create the perfect event.

Cedric's Tavern - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Fit for Foodies (37)
See All
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Kid-friendly (27)
Scenic View (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Brunch (5)
Cozy (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great location, service and vibe. Food w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great location, service and vibe. Food was just ok for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Good food, good service and reasonable p ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, good service and reasonable prices. A little far away from the city. A good Friday evening place to dine

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Yummy Fish and Chips(Even better than my ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Yummy Fish and Chips(Even better than my English father in law's)!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had an advance reservation and they w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had an advance reservation and they wanted to put us in a far back corner of the restaurant. They said that the tables more to the front and on the patio had been taken by walkins. We waited for some time for another table.

The food was very mediocre . The service was slow, it took about 20 minutes to get our check.

I would not go to this restaurant again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Nice restaurant inside Biltmore Estate. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Nice restaurant inside Biltmore Estate. Food was prepared expertly using farm fresh local meat and vegetables. Much better than I had hoped for at this location. A wonderful dining experience with attentive service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We dined at Cedric's after touring The B ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We dined at Cedric's after touring The Biltmore. The servers were very attentive and pleasant. Dining room was very noisy. We were seated next to a very large party (two tables of 10 talking to each other). It appeared other tables further away from the large party were available. We didn't asked to be moved so I don't know if they were actually available. Food was mixed. Most of it was good and the tomato tart from my Summer Tomato Three ways appetizer was excellent. Nice selection of craft beers available and the two I tried were good.

Free live music outside at Antler Village was outstanding (Tuxedo Junction). While we dined indoors, we made a point of listening to the band for a few songs after dinner. There was also a live musician in the indoor bar at Cedric's. Bottom line, while the food was only good, the overall experience was still great. The ambiance of Antler Hill Village on a summer Friday evening with the live music was truly awesome. We would dine here again when visiting the Biltmore. Also note, reservations for dinner are strongly recommended (at least during peak season). We saw a few people come in who didn't have a reservation and they were given the option of eating in the bar or 1.5+ hour wait for a table.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely service. Seasonal tomato special ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Lovely service. Seasonal tomato special was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Perhaps our expectations were too high b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Perhaps our expectations were too high because the Biltmore House and the Inn at the Biltmore Estate were so splendid, but the food here was highly mediocre. Great service, fun atmosphere, convenient if you're staying on the property, but I would recommend making the effort to get into Asheville.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Biltmore went above and beyond to make m ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Biltmore went above and beyond to make my wife and I's stay for our 10th Anniversary special. Would highly recommend them to any close friend/family!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice place to go with a large family gro ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Nice place to go with a large family group. Service great, good good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great risotto, very accommodating

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great risotto, very accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I was a bit disappointed in the food. Wh ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I was a bit disappointed in the food. While the presentation was good, it lacked in taste. My daughter and her friend liked their kids meals of grilled cheese, but not the chicken fingers. They just didn't have much flavor. The same thing could be said for the fish and chips and the salad I ordered. I don't know how fish has no taste, but it didn't. The salad was also tasteless and dry. I didn't even taste the blue cheese. The chicken wings had a good taste, but were weirdly rubbery giving it an odd texture and making it difficult to eat. My husband gave up eating them, but the waitress very kindly took them off the tab. My husband did enjoy his New England Clam chowder. If you are staying on the grounds, the restaurant has a nice ambiance, but just stick with a safe choice. I just feel for the price, the food should have been better.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We took out of town friends here and wer ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We took out of town friends here and were disappointed. A few comments:

1) Open Table lists this as $$ out of $$$$ and though there are entrees that would fit in that price range, most are in the $$$ range.

2) The food was good. At our table we had the Scottish Salmon and the Fish & Chips. Everyone was pretty happy with what they ordered.

3) The service was not up to Biltmore standards. Though our server was pleasant enough and knowledgeable, she never refilled our waters (and 3 out of the 4 of us only had water to drink). In addition, our main course came before we were all finished with our salads. Granted, it was a different server who brought the main course out but I'm sorry, if I am paying $40 per person for a meal, I do not want to have to hand one plate to my server so she can set down another one. We literally didn't see her again until it was time for the check.

Bottom line - if I'm already on the Biltmore Estate I would eat there again but I won't make a special trip to dine there. Too many other fantastic options in Asheville.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great service with excellent food. Made ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great service with excellent food. Made our night special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cedric's Tavern was a great spot for lat ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Cedric's Tavern was a great spot for late night dining, after a travel day on the road. The atmosphere was relaxing with the live music playing. The best appetizer was the ham and swiss fondue with sourdough bread for dipping. Only wish the dinner menu had more variety to choose from, leaving us to choose from pricier steak and chicken options, to limiting sandwiches and one bison burger option. Still excellent food, and plenty of wine options. As expected the service levels were above and beyond.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

this was our 40th anniversary dinner and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

this was our 40th anniversary dinner and the wait staff made it very special for us. They brought a special dessert and gave us 20% off our bill. On top of all of that, our food was delicious! :)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bison burger was great!!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Bison burger was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fish and chips were excellent! However, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fish and chips were excellent! However, the lobster roll was watery. They need to dry off the lobster before putting on the roll. But overall a nice place to grab a bite. A bit pricey for what they offer. Nice live music for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Very noisy, but the food was good. Had t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very noisy, but the food was good. Had the shepherds pie. Very filling. The pre-dinner pretzel rolls were amazing. Next time I will just have those and an ale.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fresh,well prepared food that was beauti ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Fresh,well prepared food that was beautifully presented. Portion sizes were perfect to enjoy fabulous food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was what we expected. We had a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The meal was what we expected. We had a reservation and got our table within 5 minutes. Ordered the calamari as an appetizer--would not recommend as it was nothing special at all. Our table had the pork chop and steak & tots as the entrees. The pork chop was plump and juicy. The steak was just 4 pieces of some kind of beef that were over cooked from the medium that was requested. Overall, a nice dinner but would have liked all aspects of dinner to have been the same quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

When at the Biltmore Estate, this is our ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

When at the Biltmore Estate, this is our favorite place to have a leisurely lunch. The staff is always accommodating and knowledgeable about the menu items. Ask for the home-made chips (not listed on the menu) instead of the french fries. The fries are pretty much typical, but the chips are worth the calories.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time at Cedric's Tave ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Cedric's Tavern to celebrate my husband's birthday. He had the salmon, which I tried, and it was excellent. I had the fish and chips, again excellent. I had made a reservation on Open Table, noting a special dessert with a candle for my husband and they delivered. We had a really great time and will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cedric's is a town gem! What a wonderful ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Cedric's is a town gem! What a wonderful atmosphere with live music, great food, and delicious drinks! There were people of all ages dancing to the music as we enjoyed dinner. Our server was so nice and friendly, and we definitely will be going back ASAP!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and excellent service sums up ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food and excellent service sums up our meal . Our waitress was pleasant and attentive, and the food was delicious. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service in a bar environment w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent service in a bar environment with a wide variety of food choices. A little pricey but it is in a tourist area...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Better than any pub food I had in Englis ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Better than any pub food I had in English pubs! We had a "tomatoes three ways" appetizer that was fabulous. It included a tomato tart that was amazing, a tomato/seltzer drink and another treatment with some goat cheese. Stunning start to our fabulous meal which was followed by fish and chips. The portions were generous and the batter on the fish was very light. The whole meal was quite tasty, and they had lots to choose from for drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The bison burger is a must try, best par ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The bison burger is a must try, best part of our entire meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Cedric's Tavern was okay. I was hoping ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Cedric's Tavern was okay. I was hoping for more, but also didn't walk away completely dissatisfied. Part of the initial disappointment was the service. We sat at our table for almost fifteen minutes before anyone approached us and it wasn't busy. I was at the point of returning to the host stand when a waitress from another section asked if anyone had approached us. She found our waitress and we got the ball rolling. We all got the beer flights which was a great value and fantastic way to sample local beers. The house bread is fantastic, in the form of warm and crusty pretzel rolls alongside a serving of mustard butter. These two items were perhaps the highlight of Cedric's. Entrees we experienced were the Bison Burger, the Shepherd's Pie and the Chef's Fish and Chips. All were presented well and looked appealing. Everything was tasty, but nothing was "oh, you've got to try this," good. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the black and white photos of Cedric, the Vanderbilt's beloved Saint Bernard that adorn the walls. So, overall we had a fine time at Cedric's but had higher expectations for a Biltmore Estate restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Super! The food was excellent and the se ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Super! The food was excellent and the service was superior.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lack luster for the average price point.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Lack luster for the average price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Scotch and eggs were amazing! Service wa ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Scotch and eggs were amazing! Service was unbeatable

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate here last year and had an excelle ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We ate here last year and had an excellent meal. Joined another couple for dinner and were all very disappointed. While the service was excellent the food was not. Everything we had, and we tasted most of each others selections, was at best mediocre.

The outdoor patio is nice and comfortable, but this restaurant will no longer be on my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Although I had a reservation for a singl ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Although I had a reservation for a single person and requested to be seated outside, I was passed over by many walk ins with no reservation which were seated outside. I was finally seated inside and told there were no available outside seats. My perception was a single seating was not worth the effort over a group seating. Although I was traveling by myself I felt less welcomed than if I were accompanied by a man or just a single man asking to be seated.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great night out when staying on the Bilt ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great night out when staying on the Biltmore Estate. The food was good and we enjoyed it much better than its more upscale counterpart The Bistro.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a lovely dinner after my dad and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a lovely dinner after my dad and brother toured the Biltmore House. Service was lovely. The Farro "risotto" was delicious. Prices are on the level of hotel dining, to be expected. But worth it for a comfortable and enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had such a fantastic meal at Cedric's ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had such a fantastic meal at Cedric's I cannot believe we did not discover it sooner.mwe were looking for good quality food in a upscale but nor snobbish atmosphere and we got all that and more. We had top shelf cocktails, the wings which were excellent and then an amazing Estate raised ribeye and lamb chops......fantastic. Our server Jen was superb too !! We have our annual passes now and plan to be back often, there are so many dishes we want to try. The quality of food it top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Unfortunately, after a perfect day tour ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Unfortunately, after a perfect day touring the Biltmore, this place was a total downer. The hostesses did not offer a warm welcome. The waitstaff lacked knowledge of the menu, nor motivation and effort to find out answers. The fried fish was good, but fries were soggy and slaw very bland. At least the manager did compt the whole table's meals after a friend found a hair in her lobster roll.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

So, they lost our OpenTable reservation. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

So, they lost our OpenTable reservation.....took some time to find. Seated us in a crowded room. Scratched/dirty glasses were already on the table. When I asked for new glasses, the waitress seemed quite put out and annoyed. Ended up with scratched glasses anyway. Food was fine, but not worth price point (entrees are $28 to $45). Too loud to have a conversation, tables too close together. Would not choose to eat here again. Spend your money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

We made reservations in advance and our ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We made reservations in advance and our table was waiting for us on a very busy evening. The atmosphere was lively but casual. Even though the restaurant was full, we could easily hear the live singer and converse comfortably. We were greeted promptly by our server, Adrian. He made us feel right at home and helped us through the menu and we settled on a lobster roll and a bone-in veal ribeye. Both meals were among the best we'd had in a long time. Adrian's friendly, easy manner and professional attention to every detail made the whole experience wonderful. We will wholeheartedly recommend Cedric's and we hope to visit again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.