About Cedric's Tavern - Biltmore Estate

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Located on Biltmore Estate, this warm, relaxing tavern overlooks the village green at Antler Hill Village. The décor, ambience, and menu pay tribute to the neighborhood pubs of Britain and Ireland. Enjoy satisfying pub fare alongside robustly flavored American and global cuisine presented with Biltmore flair. On tap are Biltmore's own Cedric's Pale Ale and Cedric's Brown Ale in addition to award-winning Biltmore wines and a full bar.
*Please be aware that you must have a valid paid estate admission ticket, be a guest of Inn on Biltmore Estate or Village Hotel, or be a Biltmore Annual Passholder to dine on property*. Outdoor dining is available in season. Please note that due to limited seating availability we are unable to accept reservations for our patio. All patio seating is assigned on a first come first served basis.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Irish, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Daily 11:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Biltmore Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-1320

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/cedrics-tavern.asp

Entertainment:
Cedric’s offers entertainment every night of the week starting at 6 p.m. Please visit our website for a calendar of events.

Catering:
Cedric's Loft features a private banquet room, board room, pre-function space and patio terrace over-looking Antler Hill Village.

Executive Chef:
Mark DeMarco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cedric's Tavern offers different rooms for private dining that can seat up to 120 people. Our restaurant is great for hosting business luncheons, meetings, wedding rehearsals, and many other events. We offer a wide array of menus and dedicated sales team to help create the perfect event.

Cedric's Tavern - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (34)
Live Music (33)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Local Ingredients (30)
Special Occasion (30)
Great Beer (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Comfort Food (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Historic (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Cozy (20)
Fun (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Seasonal (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Scenic View (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Authentic (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Romantic (11)
Family Style (10)
Good for Groups (10)
People Watching (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Private Room (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Sports (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
962 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service was phenomenal! I recommend trying this restaurant if your in the Asheville NC area!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed several different items on the menu . The salmon was very good. The severs were helpful and seem to enjoy their jobs

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food! Great beer! Great time! The atmosphere was good and we will re-visit!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and service exceeded my expectations, by far. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food was savory and portions were great

Tags: Live Sports, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food at this restaurant was amazing. The only complaint we had was the server made us feel as if we were imposing since we came in later in the evening. Our reservation was at 9 PM and we felt very rushed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place to go after Biltmore's wine and cheese tasting. They willing split the shepherd's pie entree into two small separate pies (delicious) and they also split one of their dinner salads. Perfect. An Estate ticket or Annual Pass is required. Nice ending to a good day at the Biltmore.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Historic, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Best bergers in Asheville. British tavern ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Historic, Great Beer, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The ambience was good and the service was great as well. A little bit pricey but understandable because it's the Biltmore. I am an annual pass holder and did not realize that we got a 20% discount until after we left and went to the creamery for dessert and they asked me about it and told me that we get a discount at all restaurants. I could've saved $30 at Cedric's but the server did not mention it to us. The sun was setting which was nice but it did make me realize that you could see how the water spots on the glasses on the empty tables really showed which made me question the rest of the cleanliness. I ordered the steak which was good but the amount of sauce that they put on the steak took away from the natural flavor of the steak and it also ran onto the vegetables so I couldn't get the flavor of the vegetables either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Not first time at restaurant had no problems in the past. This time not so.

Bar service was great, music enjoyable. Table server not so great. Restaurant closed at 9:00 PM but took reservation for 8:45 PM still no reason for poor service. Sat at a small table for two...soup cup left on table. never came back to check on how the food was.

Would recommend just not at closing time.

Tags: Modern Decor, Live Music, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good food, pricy aimed at the tourist pocket book. Locals may find lots of options at these prices.

Brian

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

All of the meals that came to our table were exquisite we prepare and beautifully displayed! We all agreed that every bite of every meal was delicious! Certainly a special occasion would bring us back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Spectacular scallop and salmon dinners were shared by me and my wife to celebrate Valentine's Day. Loved the live music playing in the background and nothing beats Cedric's Brown Ale! Thanks for making a great night out for us!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

it was valentines day, nothing special, my chicken was ice cold, i do not think i go back.I would think the chef him or herself would have came out to say something about my chicken, was not even asked about dessert??????

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We ate here because we had spent the day touring the estate. It was Valentine's Day and so we didn't want to drive anywhere far and decided to go local to Biltmore. The atmosphere was nice, there was live music, maybe because it was Valentine's Day. There was a lively crowd, so not dead. Service was pretty good. Drinks were fine. Dinner was ok. Not as good as I would have thought being it was The Biltmore. One had salmon, which was good but not great. One had steak and tots, and was not happy at all. 2 had fish and chips which were good they said. So overall, as I consider fish and chips not so much of a fine dining item, I would say more or less comfort food, and ok.

Tags: Quick Bite, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Made my wife and I 's anniversary extra special.

The whole staff went out of their way to make it perfect.

We are so great full and will remember it forever!

Thank you,

Bryan Ward

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance. Highly recommended. Try to catch a night when they have the live entertainment.

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was awesome. Quality of the food for the price was a little of a let down. Great beer!!!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We live close to the estate. It is always our go to for a great evening. Good food, great staff, live music every night. It is the hidden gem in Asheville.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We enjoyed celebrating our Anniversary at Cedric's.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We celebrating our anniversary there. Our waiter was great and gave us a free desert. He answered all of my questions about the menu and was very nice. The food was delicious and we enjoyed our special time together. They had live music that made it romantic. I would definitely recommend for a fun and enjoyable time while at the Biltmore.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My husband and I always make a stop here when we visit Biltmore, we love the food and the atmosphere. While the menu doesn't offer a ton of options, I get that it's because it's in a resort location. The sweet and sour pickles we received were a nice surprise, and I love that I can add a protein to my risotto (even if it is $7 more). I've never been disappointed with a meal at Cedric's.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Spectacular. Our waiter was fabulous! Everyone enjoyed the food. We were in the back area so it was relatively more private. The music was a little loud through the speaker by the table.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was very good. We thoroughly enjoyed the live music. Excellent service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Private Room, People Watching, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Noisy and the food was served lukewarm! Food was also overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I wasn't expecting it but this was the best food I've had in a long time. The ambiance felt like a tavern and the service was good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Another great meal with the family! Three had bison burgers, Mamma & I had fish chips, one Irish Dip sandwich. Cedric's never disappoints, we go it every time we visit Biltmore!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The setting and service were very good. The food was a problem. A chicken dish was ordered and was served cold as were the vegetables that accompanied the chicken. The meal was sent back to be heated. However a new order was apparently prepared. It arrive hot, which was good. But when the chicken was cut it was still bloody. Definitely not good for chicken. Again the waitress was called and shown the chicken. She offered to have another meal prepared but that was declined as her dining partner had nearly finished his meal. The vegetables and a small price of done chicken were eaten. The meal was comped. Not sure we would want to eat there again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Tables for two are too narrow. I am 5'9" 177 lbs and found the these tables less than accommodating for the class of this restaurant; very confined feeling. In addition the table was against the window and half wall which contributed to the confined feeling. The window on this particular day (outside temp in the low mid 20s) also made this a cool, drafty place to sit; had to eat with jackets on. I ignored my instinct to ask for a more interior table and / or booth, So I blame myself for that.

For the price of the food, my wife and I were expecting a much better value; it was certainly not an "outstanding value" as outlined as a choice in the "What would you recommend this restaurant for?" section of this survey. My wife had the Shepherd's pie which was good. I had the chicken breast with a sauce base veggie medley. The chicken breast was tough, dry and disappointing for the price paid.

Service was generally good but I would have a hard time recommending Cedric's Tavern to a friend without mentioning the aforementioned. During a visit to the Biltmore Estate last summer, my wife and I had a meal at the Stable Cafe', the food, service and value was very / very good. We expected the same from Cedric's, we left a little disappointed.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was a great end to our visit to Biltmore. The food was great and the service was the best! I can't say enough about our waiter. He was very knowledgeable about everything at the restaurant (food/beverage) and just made the evening very special!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Family Style, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

A really substandard and expensive meal. I had the $32 (farmed) salmon entree, it was completely over cooked, totally dry. Just barely edible. The accompanying cabbage was awful. It was tough, purple, cut into 1/4" ribbons - it tasted old and looked like a pile of shoelaces. My companion had the shepherd's pie which literally had 2 bite-size pieces of lamb in it. The rest consisted of a gluey gravy topped with mashed potatoes.

Our waiter was completely distracted and inattentive.

I really don't like sending a meal back, I feel like it makes a bad experience worse and I hate looking like we're angling for a free meal, but we certainly won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was very tasty and well presented with very nice ambiance. The prices were a bit higher than I typically pay for comparable food, but it was on the Biltmore Estate so its to be expected.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

They kindly offered a complimentary appetizer when there was a small delay in seating. Food was good, service was friendly, helpful. There was a chilly draft at the table but everything else was good. I typically enjoy eating here & they also have good live music. Biltmore is always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great atmosphere and beer. The Bison Burger was "alright" and the fries were not hot, not really warm either but still crispy. Reminded us of Red Robin fries with the seasoning. It was the least expensive item on the menu at just under $20 but could of been better.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The server was very friendly. The two soups...stilton onion and their cheesy potato bacon were both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on December 29, 2016

While it would not be considered Fine Dining; you can certainly get a fine meal at Cedric's. Have had multiple trips; none disappointed. It generally starts with some great pretzel rolls and a light mustard butter accoutrement. Good and (no doubt) good for you!

We enjoyed a cup of the Stilton Onion Soup. Creamy and filled with many flavors for a good starter.

Lunch entrees consisted of the Turkey Pastrami Swiss Cheese Sandwich prepared exactly as requested, sans bread add lettuce. There were ample amount of flavorful ingredients. The starch was Pub Fries, prepared on site. Small Potato Chips, lightly seasoned. Our batch could have been more crisp.

Also had the Bison Cobbler. Served piping hot, on the smallish side but good amounts of bison chunks with a fairly light and smooth sauce with appropriate veggies all under a flaky crust. The pretzel rolls made for GREAT sopping!

Dessert was the Fig Date Pudding with Caramel Sauce and Ice Cream. A good strong flavor, as one would expect, and just the right quantities to complete the meal.

Christopher did a good job even in a quite busy environment as it was the height of the lunch hour. Prompt, efficient service with plenty of attention..

Considering the location (Biltmore) and the distinction of the fare, Cedric's is a good value returning great returns on investment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

You cannot go wrong at Cedric's Tavern. While at first glance the menu may seem typical for a tavern, the food is prepared with a unique flair. I had the best grouper I had ever eaten when dining there last week. Was glad we dined there!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lunch...cheeseburgers a bit bland, service required a couple of prompts, atmosphere really nice and that was exactly why we choose this dining venue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Cedrics Tavern is a great place to dine. We toured the Biltmore Estate and finished earlier than expected and arrived at Cedrics sooner than we had anticipated. They accommodated us nicely since our reservation was for 7 pm yet we arrived at 6. The diner we had was excellent!

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Great Beer, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Enjoyed authentic pub cuisine before our candlelight tour of the Biltmore house. Menu was interesting and all of our choices were delicious. Shepard' pie was excellent. Meal was a bit pricey but not out of line with other restaurants on the estate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Neither food nor service were not up to Biltmore standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Since the name includes "Tavern" you may think of it as a sports bar. While there is a TV in the bar area the restaurant is upscale. The food was great and the service fantastic. It is named after the Vanderbilt's St. Bernard, Cedric. I had the fish and chips, and my husband had surf and turf. All wonderfully prepared. Since Cedric's Tavern is on the grounds of the Biltmore Estate you can only get there is you are either staying at one of the hotels on the grounds or have visited the Biltmore on that day. That part is a bit disappointing since I could definitely see us going there for dinner on other occasions. But definitely worth the trip.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Would recommend to anyone! Great food and great time!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was too expensive for what it was- ordinary fish and chips and terrible children's chicken tenders were dry and stringy- i had difficulty chewing and swallowing zz zz cc vv bb nn mm ll kk jj hh gg ff dd ss aa

Tags: Late-night Find, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was crowded and a bit noisy, I think that might be due to the holiday. Overall ok

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great location and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This was a great restaurant for a pub atmosphere. Enjoyed the Cedric's Beer and appetizers.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Had the pork chop & over roasted chicken - both were excellent! Ordered Figgy Pudding for dessert and was delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent food and friendly employees. It was nice to be able to sit on the enclosed patio. Cedric's has a very cozy, pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Arrived early and they took is right in. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.