About Cedric's Tavern - Biltmore Estate

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Located on Biltmore Estate, this warm, relaxing tavern overlooks the village green at Antler Hill Village. *Please be aware that you must have a valid paid estate admission ticket, be a guest of Inn on Biltmore Estate, or be a Biltmore Annual Passholder to dine on property*. Please note that due to limited seating availability we are unable to accept reservations for our patio. All patio seating is assigned on a first come first served basis. The décor, ambience, and menu pay tribute to the neighborhood pubs of Britain and Ireland. Enjoy satisfying pub fare alongside robustly flavored American and global cuisine presented with Biltmore flair. On tap are Biltmore's own Cedric's Pale Ale and Cedric's Brown Ale in addition to award-winning Biltmore wines and a full bar. Outdoor dining is available in season.



Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Irish, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Daily 11:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Biltmore Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-1320

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/cedrics-tavern.asp

Entertainment:
Cedric’s offers entertainment every night of the week starting at 6 p.m. Please visit our website for a calendar of events.

Catering:
Cedric's Loft features a private banquet room, board room, pre-function space and patio terrace over-looking Antler Hill Village.

Executive Chef:
Mark DeMarco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cedric's Tavern offers different rooms for private dining that can seat up to 120 people. Our restaurant is great for hosting business luncheons, meetings, wedding rehearsals, and many other events. We offer a wide array of menus and dedicated sales team to help create the perfect event.

Cedric's Tavern - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Great for Lunch (43)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Groups (25)
Scenic View (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Kid-friendly (20)
Casual (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Romantic (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Live Music (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Historic (4)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great Beer (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
804 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our party of 6 included a vegetarian, a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our party of 6 included a vegetarian, a person needing gluten free food, and a 14 year old, picky eater. We were seated quickly, listened to carefully and guided appropriately through the menu and specials. Service was good. The only person who was not completely pleased was the picky eater who had to opt for a bison burger instead of a hamburger which would have been their choice. They found the bison a little dry, but ate the left overs the next morning with ketchup and declared it "Great!" We enjoyed our evening there overall. There was live music in the next room but it was never too loud, just a pleasant backdrop.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter, Lenny, was EXCELLENT! Salmon ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter, Lenny, was EXCELLENT! Salmon cooked perfectly and beer was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Great Beer, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very interesting tomato appetizer; and t ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very interesting tomato appetizer; and the very best Shepherd's Pie ever!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food...great location[Antler Villag ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Good food...great location[Antler Village..Biltmore Estate]

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Typically, we choose the Bistro when on ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Typically, we choose the Bistro when on the Biltmore Estate. This time it was Cedric's Tavern. Diners do not get as large a menu selection as the one at the Bistro. Bread served is also better at the Bistro. That said, the food was prepared well at Cedric's--fried items did not have a "greasy taste." Service was as efficient as the Bistro--actually, maybe a little more anticipatory. The menu for kids is more desirable at Cedric's. Observation of kids at other tables supported the assumption that this is a better location for them. Because this was a birthday celebration, a cake was brought in and the server voluntarily arranged for there to be dessert plates and forks for everyone without it being requested. Also, the server brought a chocolate favor for each guest. One appreciates this customer-focused attention. Only negative from this experience occurred elsewhere. The gate attendant would not allow admittance for two guests of passholders until after 5:00 p.m. We arrived at 4:52 p.m. with reservations scheduled for 5:00 p.m. Obviously, this did not wreck our celebration, but it did begin the event with a negative feeling. We'll likely not be doing this again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent staff.. friendlyand attentive. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent staff.. friendlyand attentive. The food was excellent. We sat outside and really enjoyed the live jazz and the gorgeous sunset.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoy Cedric's very much! Great place ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We enjoy Cedric's very much! Great place for a date, friends to gather, brunch, or just a drink. We love to bring friends from out of town here. It is quant and yet impressive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the ambience ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was delicious and the ambience was great. Our server wasn't the friendliest but he did okay. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Steaks were a little tough and appetizer ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Steaks were a little tough and appetizers a little salty. But server Lyle made up for that.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Very expensive for not so amazing food. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Very expensive for not so amazing food. I think they should consider lowering their prices a little.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The prices had gone up quite a bit since ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The prices had gone up quite a bit since the last time we were there. Fish and chips were very good

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Cedric's is a lovely restaurant in the B ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Cedric's is a lovely restaurant in the Biltmore Estate Antler Hill area. It offers great food both casual and upscale in a relaxed atmosphere. While a bit pricey, the quality of food and service is well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a really bad experience with the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a really bad experience with the kitchen. It took an hour to get our entree while we watched others around us being served. When the food arrived it was cold and of poor quality. The manager comped our entire check which we appreciated. The recognition of the experience we had restored our faith for perhaps another try in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Far too expensive for what is served. $ ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Far too expensive for what is served. $20.00 hamburgers ? $25.00 HADDOCK fish and chips ? Vary fishy taste - could not eat it. For $25.00 it should have been Halibut. The prices here are an insult to ones intelligence.... NEVER again will we have dinner here. Maybe a beer on tap and that's it.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

I always enjoy this place. Good food and ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I always enjoy this place. Good food and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I am a passholder and have been for many ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I am a passholder and have been for many years. I am a little disappointed that requests for outdoor seating are not part of the reservation process. If they are not, please indicate that part on your website. This little bit of nit picking, nickel and dime-ing is growing weary and diminishing the level of service Biltmore provides. To make a reservation and find out when my party arrives that outdoor seating is not part of reservations is not impressing guests of passholders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great location, service and vibe. Food w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great location, service and vibe. Food was just ok for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Good food, good service and reasonable p ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good food, good service and reasonable prices. A little far away from the city. A good Friday evening place to dine

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Yummy Fish and Chips(Even better than my ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Yummy Fish and Chips(Even better than my English father in law's)!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had an advance reservation and they w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had an advance reservation and they wanted to put us in a far back corner of the restaurant. They said that the tables more to the front and on the patio had been taken by walkins. We waited for some time for another table.

The food was very mediocre . The service was slow, it took about 20 minutes to get our check.

I would not go to this restaurant again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Nice restaurant inside Biltmore Estate. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Nice restaurant inside Biltmore Estate. Food was prepared expertly using farm fresh local meat and vegetables. Much better than I had hoped for at this location. A wonderful dining experience with attentive service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We dined at Cedric's after touring The B ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We dined at Cedric's after touring The Biltmore. The servers were very attentive and pleasant. Dining room was very noisy. We were seated next to a very large party (two tables of 10 talking to each other). It appeared other tables further away from the large party were available. We didn't asked to be moved so I don't know if they were actually available. Food was mixed. Most of it was good and the tomato tart from my Summer Tomato Three ways appetizer was excellent. Nice selection of craft beers available and the two I tried were good.

Free live music outside at Antler Village was outstanding (Tuxedo Junction). While we dined indoors, we made a point of listening to the band for a few songs after dinner. There was also a live musician in the indoor bar at Cedric's. Bottom line, while the food was only good, the overall experience was still great. The ambiance of Antler Hill Village on a summer Friday evening with the live music was truly awesome. We would dine here again when visiting the Biltmore. Also note, reservations for dinner are strongly recommended (at least during peak season). We saw a few people come in who didn't have a reservation and they were given the option of eating in the bar or 1.5+ hour wait for a table.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely service. Seasonal tomato special ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Lovely service. Seasonal tomato special was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Perhaps our expectations were too high b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Perhaps our expectations were too high because the Biltmore House and the Inn at the Biltmore Estate were so splendid, but the food here was highly mediocre. Great service, fun atmosphere, convenient if you're staying on the property, but I would recommend making the effort to get into Asheville.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Biltmore went above and beyond to make m ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Biltmore went above and beyond to make my wife and I's stay for our 10th Anniversary special. Would highly recommend them to any close friend/family!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice place to go with a large family gro ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Nice place to go with a large family group. Service great, good good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great risotto, very accommodating

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great risotto, very accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I was a bit disappointed in the food. Wh ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I was a bit disappointed in the food. While the presentation was good, it lacked in taste. My daughter and her friend liked their kids meals of grilled cheese, but not the chicken fingers. They just didn't have much flavor. The same thing could be said for the fish and chips and the salad I ordered. I don't know how fish has no taste, but it didn't. The salad was also tasteless and dry. I didn't even taste the blue cheese. The chicken wings had a good taste, but were weirdly rubbery giving it an odd texture and making it difficult to eat. My husband gave up eating them, but the waitress very kindly took them off the tab. My husband did enjoy his New England Clam chowder. If you are staying on the grounds, the restaurant has a nice ambiance, but just stick with a safe choice. I just feel for the price, the food should have been better.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We took out of town friends here and wer ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We took out of town friends here and were disappointed. A few comments:

1) Open Table lists this as $$ out of $$$$ and though there are entrees that would fit in that price range, most are in the $$$ range.

2) The food was good. At our table we had the Scottish Salmon and the Fish & Chips. Everyone was pretty happy with what they ordered.

3) The service was not up to Biltmore standards. Though our server was pleasant enough and knowledgeable, she never refilled our waters (and 3 out of the 4 of us only had water to drink). In addition, our main course came before we were all finished with our salads. Granted, it was a different server who brought the main course out but I'm sorry, if I am paying $40 per person for a meal, I do not want to have to hand one plate to my server so she can set down another one. We literally didn't see her again until it was time for the check.

Bottom line - if I'm already on the Biltmore Estate I would eat there again but I won't make a special trip to dine there. Too many other fantastic options in Asheville.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great service with excellent food. Made ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great service with excellent food. Made our night special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cedric's Tavern was a great spot for lat ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Cedric's Tavern was a great spot for late night dining, after a travel day on the road. The atmosphere was relaxing with the live music playing. The best appetizer was the ham and swiss fondue with sourdough bread for dipping. Only wish the dinner menu had more variety to choose from, leaving us to choose from pricier steak and chicken options, to limiting sandwiches and one bison burger option. Still excellent food, and plenty of wine options. As expected the service levels were above and beyond.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

this was our 40th anniversary dinner and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

this was our 40th anniversary dinner and the wait staff made it very special for us. They brought a special dessert and gave us 20% off our bill. On top of all of that, our food was delicious! :)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bison burger was great!!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Bison burger was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fish and chips were excellent! However, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fish and chips were excellent! However, the lobster roll was watery. They need to dry off the lobster before putting on the roll. But overall a nice place to grab a bite. A bit pricey for what they offer. Nice live music for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Very noisy, but the food was good. Had t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very noisy, but the food was good. Had the shepherds pie. Very filling. The pre-dinner pretzel rolls were amazing. Next time I will just have those and an ale.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fresh,well prepared food that was beauti ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Fresh,well prepared food that was beautifully presented. Portion sizes were perfect to enjoy fabulous food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was what we expected. We had a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The meal was what we expected. We had a reservation and got our table within 5 minutes. Ordered the calamari as an appetizer--would not recommend as it was nothing special at all. Our table had the pork chop and steak & tots as the entrees. The pork chop was plump and juicy. The steak was just 4 pieces of some kind of beef that were over cooked from the medium that was requested. Overall, a nice dinner but would have liked all aspects of dinner to have been the same quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

When at the Biltmore Estate, this is our ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

When at the Biltmore Estate, this is our favorite place to have a leisurely lunch. The staff is always accommodating and knowledgeable about the menu items. Ask for the home-made chips (not listed on the menu) instead of the french fries. The fries are pretty much typical, but the chips are worth the calories.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time at Cedric's Tave ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Cedric's Tavern to celebrate my husband's birthday. He had the salmon, which I tried, and it was excellent. I had the fish and chips, again excellent. I had made a reservation on Open Table, noting a special dessert with a candle for my husband and they delivered. We had a really great time and will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cedric's is a town gem! What a wonderful ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Cedric's is a town gem! What a wonderful atmosphere with live music, great food, and delicious drinks! There were people of all ages dancing to the music as we enjoyed dinner. Our server was so nice and friendly, and we definitely will be going back ASAP!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.