About Cedric's Tavern - Biltmore Estate

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Located on Biltmore Estate, this warm, relaxing tavern overlooks the village green at Antler Hill Village. *Please be aware that you must have a valid paid estate admission ticket, be a guest of Inn on Biltmore Estate, or be a Biltmore Annual Passholder to dine on property*. Please note that due to limited seating availability we are unable to accept reservations for our patio. All patio seating is assigned on a first come first served basis. The décor, ambience, and menu pay tribute to the neighborhood pubs of Britain and Ireland. Enjoy satisfying pub fare alongside robustly flavored American and global cuisine presented with Biltmore flair. On tap are Biltmore's own Cedric's Pale Ale and Cedric's Brown Ale in addition to award-winning Biltmore wines and a full bar. Outdoor dining is available in season.



Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Irish, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Daily 11:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Biltmore Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-1320

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/cedrics-tavern.asp

Entertainment:
Cedric’s offers entertainment every night of the week starting at 6 p.m. Please visit our website for a calendar of events.

Catering:
Cedric's Loft features a private banquet room, board room, pre-function space and patio terrace over-looking Antler Hill Village.

Executive Chef:
Mark DeMarco

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cedric's Tavern offers different rooms for private dining that can seat up to 120 people. Our restaurant is great for hosting business luncheons, meetings, wedding rehearsals, and many other events. We offer a wide array of menus and dedicated sales team to help create the perfect event.

Cedric's Tavern - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

great for lunch (44)
great for outdoor dining (41)
special occasion (35)
See All
fit for foodies (32)
good for groups (26)
scenic view (23)
kid-friendly (19)
vibrant bar scene (16)
romantic (15)
notable wine list (13)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (9)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
763 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and excellent service sums up ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and excellent service sums up our meal . Our waitress was pleasant and attentive, and the food was delicious. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service in a bar environment w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service in a bar environment with a wide variety of food choices. A little pricey but it is in a tourist area...

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Better than any pub food I had in Englis ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Better than any pub food I had in English pubs! We had a "tomatoes three ways" appetizer that was fabulous. It included a tomato tart that was amazing, a tomato/seltzer drink and another treatment with some goat cheese. Stunning start to our fabulous meal which was followed by fish and chips. The portions were generous and the batter on the fish was very light. The whole meal was quite tasty, and they had lots to choose from for drinks.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The bison burger is a must try, best par ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The bison burger is a must try, best part of our entire meal

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Cedric's Tavern was okay. I was hoping ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Cedric's Tavern was okay. I was hoping for more, but also didn't walk away completely dissatisfied. Part of the initial disappointment was the service. We sat at our table for almost fifteen minutes before anyone approached us and it wasn't busy. I was at the point of returning to the host stand when a waitress from another section asked if anyone had approached us. She found our waitress and we got the ball rolling. We all got the beer flights which was a great value and fantastic way to sample local beers. The house bread is fantastic, in the form of warm and crusty pretzel rolls alongside a serving of mustard butter. These two items were perhaps the highlight of Cedric's. Entrees we experienced were the Bison Burger, the Shepherd's Pie and the Chef's Fish and Chips. All were presented well and looked appealing. Everything was tasty, but nothing was "oh, you've got to try this," good. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the black and white photos of Cedric, the Vanderbilt's beloved Saint Bernard that adorn the walls. So, overall we had a fine time at Cedric's but had higher expectations for a Biltmore Estate restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Super! The food was excellent and the se ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Super! The food was excellent and the service was superior.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lack luster for the average price point.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Lack luster for the average price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Scotch and eggs were amazing! Service wa ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Scotch and eggs were amazing! Service was unbeatable

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate here last year and had an excelle ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We ate here last year and had an excellent meal. Joined another couple for dinner and were all very disappointed. While the service was excellent the food was not. Everything we had, and we tasted most of each others selections, was at best mediocre.

The outdoor patio is nice and comfortable, but this restaurant will no longer be on my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Although I had a reservation for a singl ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Although I had a reservation for a single person and requested to be seated outside, I was passed over by many walk ins with no reservation which were seated outside. I was finally seated inside and told there were no available outside seats. My perception was a single seating was not worth the effort over a group seating. Although I was traveling by myself I felt less welcomed than if I were accompanied by a man or just a single man asking to be seated.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great night out when staying on the Bilt ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great night out when staying on the Biltmore Estate. The food was good and we enjoyed it much better than its more upscale counterpart The Bistro.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a lovely dinner after my dad and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a lovely dinner after my dad and brother toured the Biltmore House. Service was lovely. The Farro "risotto" was delicious. Prices are on the level of hotel dining, to be expected. But worth it for a comfortable and enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had such a fantastic meal at Cedric's ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had such a fantastic meal at Cedric's I cannot believe we did not discover it sooner.mwe were looking for good quality food in a upscale but nor snobbish atmosphere and we got all that and more. We had top shelf cocktails, the wings which were excellent and then an amazing Estate raised ribeye and lamb chops......fantastic. Our server Jen was superb too !! We have our annual passes now and plan to be back often, there are so many dishes we want to try. The quality of food it top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Unfortunately, after a perfect day tour ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Unfortunately, after a perfect day touring the Biltmore, this place was a total downer. The hostesses did not offer a warm welcome. The waitstaff lacked knowledge of the menu, nor motivation and effort to find out answers. The fried fish was good, but fries were soggy and slaw very bland. At least the manager did compt the whole table's meals after a friend found a hair in her lobster roll.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

So, they lost our OpenTable reservation. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

So, they lost our OpenTable reservation.....took some time to find. Seated us in a crowded room. Scratched/dirty glasses were already on the table. When I asked for new glasses, the waitress seemed quite put out and annoyed. Ended up with scratched glasses anyway. Food was fine, but not worth price point (entrees are $28 to $45). Too loud to have a conversation, tables too close together. Would not choose to eat here again. Spend your money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

We made reservations in advance and our ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We made reservations in advance and our table was waiting for us on a very busy evening. The atmosphere was lively but casual. Even though the restaurant was full, we could easily hear the live singer and converse comfortably. We were greeted promptly by our server, Adrian. He made us feel right at home and helped us through the menu and we settled on a lobster roll and a bone-in veal ribeye. Both meals were among the best we'd had in a long time. Adrian's friendly, easy manner and professional attention to every detail made the whole experience wonderful. We will wholeheartedly recommend Cedric's and we hope to visit again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fish & chips were excellent. Thought it ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Fish & chips were excellent. Thought it was a little over priced but you are at Biltmore so it was expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was excellent and so was the foo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was excellent and so was the food. Farm to table without leaving the property.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to enjoy a drink and eat a g ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place to enjoy a drink and eat a great meal while at Biltmore. We had dinner outside and it was just perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was better than expected. The steak ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was better than expected. The steak was delicious, the risotto was underwhelming. But very noisy!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Sat outside listening to musician- anoth ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Sat outside listening to musician- another-musician inside too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff at Cedric's were unpolished an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The staff at Cedric's were unpolished and lacked the attention to detail one would expect at a Biltmore establishment. The food was poorly executed and overpriced.

I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Quaint Getaway While at Biltmore Estate

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

This is the second time I have dined at Cedric's, and both visits have been exceptional. The menu has unique items along with some standards. The food is always served at the proper temperature, seasoned perfectly. We sat outside both times and experienced the views, but there was live entertainment available to those sitting inside.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy the pub atmosphere at Cedric'san ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I enjoy the pub atmosphere at Cedric'sans the food is always good. Service is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Treating our grandchildren

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We have observed in the past that the restaurants on Biltmore Estate either overbook or are understaffed on holidays and busy weekends, and this recent visit on Memorial Day was no exception. what we had planned as a special meal with our grandchildren was disappointing with a too long wait for food and the service just okay.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food did not disappoint! The pretze ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food did not disappoint! The pretzel rolls with the mustard butter were amazing!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Always an enjoyable evening

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Cedric's Tavern is a great place to have lunch or dinner. The food is excellent, the atmosphere is fun for both young and old, and the location in Antler Village makes it a conducive spot to take a break for lunch or end your day for dinner. I highly recommend this establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey for what you got!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Pricey for what you got!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Love the story and many photos of Cedric ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Love the story and many photos of Cedric!! Food as service great!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too expensive for the type of food a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Way too expensive for the type of food and pub atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Very good service at the bar! Deviled e ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Very good service at the bar! Deviled eggs/Scotch eggs and the Cheese plate were great-as was the mugatawny soup!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

When we arrived our table was ready; how ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

When we arrived our table was ready; however, we soon realized that at the height of the dinner hour, it was very noisy. The hostess and wait staff accommodated us right away and we moved to a quieter spot. The service was outstanding with our waiter, Chris, who was punctual with water/drink refills, knew the menu for suggestions and knew when to allow us to enjoy a leisurely dinner. Everyone's entrees were fresh, and well prepared. I would definitely recommend the bison burger! And the martinis were delicious! This new Biltmore venue is as well done as their other restaurants.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only place at Biltmore we had a little troube

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We tried to go for lunch, they said there was a wait, the restaurant was empty. We went back for dinner, the waiter got my order wrong. He corrected it, but charged us for both items.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Always very good pub+ food and drink. No ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Always very good pub+ food and drink. Not as reasonably priced as it once was, but very consistent quality and sparkling service. Lovely setting for both inside and outside (live music most evenings) dining.

My partner had the bison burger which was fabulous.

I had the vegetable & grains risotto which was unique and worth getting again-very flavorful and just rich enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, very fresh. We ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was excellent, very fresh. We had the buffalo calamari, bison burger, and duck special. We were in the back of the restaurant. Would have preferred forward seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great food and service

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food with even better service. Ambience is a little noisy, but such a small sacrifice for what you get.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just an all round enjoyable experience, ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Just an all round enjoyable experience, food, staff, atmosphere. Visiting Biltmore on vacation and decided that dinner on site would be fun, turned out to be the meal we talk to our friends the most.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family dinner

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great spot in village. Food was very good but a bit pricey for selection. Nightly specials were the best

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good location for food on weekends

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Located in Antler Hill Village, Cedric's is a place to go to to enjoy a drink or a meal while enjoying live music.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about Cedric's was really gre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Everything about Cedric's was really great! The Bison burger and fries was really tasty and cooked to my desired temperature. My wife's salad was also well prepared and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.