Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

CAVU KITCHEN BAR

3.8
47 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Northwest
Perfect For:
  • Good for Groups
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
Located in the Hilton Vancouver Airport Hotel in Richmond, BC, our kitchen and bar is the place to go for fresh, flavorful food and drinks in a cool, laid-back atmosphere. Indulge in gourmet comfort food (with a twist), along with classic, old-fashioned cocktails, local wines, and international and domestic beers.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Northwest
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 10:30am.
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(604) 232-5001
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Alex Hancook
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Elmbridge Way
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Two Hours complimentary hotel parking available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
A short 5 minute walk from the Brighouse Canada Line Station.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Nightly Specials 7 Days A Week
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access
What 47 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on all time ratings
3.7
food
3.7
service
3.7
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Quiet
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

There were long delays between visits from the staff. There was a training session happening, but taking orders for two appetizers or one drink and assuming no one else wants anything is unacceptable. The $36 halibut on a plate of diced tomato with tomato paste was....? The steak with a few soggy mushrooms.....?
Other diners had amazing looking burgers and amazing smelling pasta. Unfortunately that wasn’t our experience. Overall I think they need to work on their fine dining plates but won’t disappoint if your looking for a burger or pasta.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Our server was good and kind but the wait for our food was amazingly painfully long. No joke, we ordered our dinners and finally got them about one hour and twenty minutes later. I've never actually experienced that kind of a wait. The seats are uncomfortable and too low for the tables, the place could use some updating. The lighting was too bright in the dining area, that night anyway, big and open onto the hotel halls and lobby and it's not cozy. I have to say though, the food was very good, once we got it and our server, again, was good :)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

First thing we noticed was booth seating in tattered condition in many many places. Server was very friendly and attentive. Appies - mussels were average, calamari had very good flavours. The food orders were messed up, we ordered the lamb meatball appy and got a full meal. Ordered a side caesar salad and got a regular side salad. The halibut ($30!!!) was overcooked to the point of being inedible, even though I (somewhat jokingly) asked the server if the cook knew how to cook halibut at the time of ordering. They quickly replaced it and the 2nd halibut was MUCH better. The live music was too loud/aggravating (we weren't even that close), although the solo female singer was quite good. Mistakes aside, I'll give this place another chance. Service was pretty good considering it was packed on a Saturday night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Very pleasantly surprised with such a nice dinner at an airport hotel. I had their seared salmon and my husband had pasta with spicy lamb meatballs. Both very flavorful, nice spices, and well presented. Also had breakfast there the next morning, Eggs Benedict and 2 eggs over easy with sides. Very good, both came with small bowl of fresh fruit and grilled tomato half in addition to toast or hash browns.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 2, 2017

The short rib is so tough I cannot even cut it with the steak knife. The

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Service was not attentative, hair on salmon pasta and manager only offered free dessert to compensate for the hair. Not very professional.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 12, 2017

This is my second time having dinner at Cavu. I was not impressed about their food at all. We ordered a calamari as a starter. It was cold. I mentioned to the server and the server was nice to remove it from our bill. Then, two out of four entrees were cold too. I didn't bother mentioning to the server. Both salmon and halibut entrees were cold. My dad and I were so disappointed. I don't know what went wrong in the kitchen. But the table next to us had the same issue. They sent back their meals. It's really not worth going back there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2017

The service was great.....free underground parking.....we were able to meet and visit for hours with family before catching ferry back to Vancouver Island.
The Manager was very accommodating for my wheat intolerance....they brought me specially made potatoes and toast at no extra charge - that is a surprise
Thank you

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was amazing but the service was HORRIBLE we sat for over 30min without getting our drinks, our appetizers came very late and never was asked about our dinner orders. When we got our bill we needed to send it back 2 times because of errors. The whole experience (if was positive) should have taken 30- 45 min and instead it took 1.5h without even an order for our main course food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2017

Nice restaurant and environment, food was great!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2017

The fish tacos could you some more fish

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2017

Great meal or garlic shrimp and short ribs whilst staying at attached Hilton.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2017

Chicken burger - good
Fries - good
Soup - good
Halibut burger - fishy tasting
Fish from fish and chips - greasy
Service - waitress only had 2 tables yet had to ask for a water fill up

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 13, 2017

This was by far one of the worst dining experience I've ever had. My fiancé and I went to eat at Cavu during their happy hour.....and it was certainly anything BUT happy. First off, they had big sign saying "Happy Hour Specials" outside - but we were soon disappointed to find out that they were out of their mussels even though the there was only ONE other table there. Seriously, there were no NO other diners there except for us and this other table. Why advertise Happy Hour with a big sign when you can't even sustain the menu? Their other food was cold, bland, and they served the driest, hardes pork meatballs I have ever had. Their "BBQ duck flatbread" looks like something an average teenager could whip up in a jiffy as an after school snack. Their spring rolls were bland, unexciting and pale in colour. We waited for so long to get service as the waitresses were all too busy setting up for breakfast for tomorrow morning. So disappointing. We were really hoping for a good dining experience, but unfortunately got much less than we expected.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

best place for dates and the food is so good
best food i ever had. i ordered beef and it was the best beef i ever had
sweet and soft meat. i would bring my dates here again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2017

This was my 2nd time here and it was just as good as the 1st time. I had organized a group gathering and chose this place as it was central for everyone. We all loved the food, the ambience and the service was ☆☆☆☆☆!! Quickly becoming a fav place to hang out with friends 😊😍

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 21, 2017

We had the dine-out menu with the wine pairings - the food is very good - interesting spices and combinations of flavours, artfully served. The staff are friendly, and the wine selections are excellent (if a bit on the cold side when first served). There was a live guitarist who played very nice background music that added to the experience. We have eaten here once before from their regular menu and were very pleased with the food - great flavour combinations!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was fine, nothing fantastic. This was a second visit, and since last time the service was phenomenal, I prompted others to come with. But when I walked up to one of the waitresses, she glared at me and did not say anything. Not sure what to do I stood there until another waitress came over, and I proceeded to tell her I had a reservation and everything else went fine. Overall impression: food was fine, ambience is fine, it's really just that. Fine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2016

Good service, good food!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner buffet was amazing, and good value for what you get with lots of seafood, a variety of good vegetable dishes and salads, chicken/roast beef and yummy desserts.
Location is central and parking is good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 22, 2016

Came here with a few friends for a little xmas dinner get together. The services was great, the food was good.

They had live music and since they are in a hotel, they have free parking.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2016

Food and service were pretty good. The rooms was a bit cool and cavernous for a cold winter day. Not sure that gluten aware meant gluten free, for the celiacs out there ... but overall, the experience was a good one!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2016

Cavu is a solid, dependable type of restaurant. Nothing flashy about it, but the food is excellent, and the service is solid. Good value for money, recommend as an everyday type of choice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2016

Surprisingly impressed with food plating and flavor. Price was right and service professional. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 11, 2016

Okay experience. We shared the calamari apply which was really good. The main courses , pappardelle with beef and chicken curry were nice, but not excellent and not as hot as they should have been. Wine list was reasonable. Live music made conversation difficult and together with sports on tv made the atmosphere busy. So, if you want a bar type setting and okay food, try it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2016

A quiet, cozy environment to dine. We've been here on few occasions. Friendly staff, attentive service. Food has been a hit and miss. I've had the perfect steak, and I've had my rare steak cooked to medium well. Nonetheless, it remains one of the few decent western restaurants in Richmond.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 22, 2016

I know Dine Out may affect the offerings and proportions but I was seriously hungry after! The servings were so insignificant that I felt I couldn't get a sense of what the food was really like. If it is representative of business as usual, then I'm not sure I'd go back. I tend to give places a benefit of a doubt.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 15, 2016

The food and service are very good at CAVU and I'm not sure why it isn't more popular. Locals don't seem to have found it and it's a shame as the only drawback to the restaurant is that more people would improve the ambiance. I like the quiet atmosphere as you can have a nice conversation without yelling - which is necessary in many restaurants these days. The servers are all very pleasant and efficient and I've had many menu items and all are very good. Try it, you'll like it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 1, 2016

Came in for our first 2016 dinner. Excellently prepared food. Good service. Convenient location. Second time here. Will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2015

Very surprising

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 22, 2015

CAVU was a great little find! The appies were delicious as were our mains! I really liked the little trio of desserts. It was perfect for the 3 of us in our party to each get a mini of what we wanted!

The waitress was great! The only thing we hoped for was that the live music would be on longer! Next time we know to go earlier! Great place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2015

Really enjoyed the food and service. Menu has wide range of dishes and apps that made it hard to choose from. Food was bursting with flavor from fresh ingredients that was just the right size. Enjoyed happy hour before 6pm and was near our hotel so made it easy to walk to.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2015

Very good pasta. Lacklustre fish 'n chips and burgers. Get entrees versus casual plates - they're much better and worth the extra money. Service was a bit slow, but she was very friendly and tried to check in often. Clean place, renovated, would definitely come back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2015

Enjoyed ourselves here! They even accommodated our baby. The place was mostly empty which is unfortunate as the food goes beyond standard hotel restaurant fare. Great variety in the menu. Service was also professional and friendly. Would return when wanting something non-Asian in Richmond!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 15, 2015

Restaurant staff are friendly but at times stretched out over the span of the floor. Their approach is bar-like and not as professional and fitting as its high end ambience (take Chop for comparison). Food is well seasoned but both our chicken+chorizo and halibut (the smallest piece of $25 halibut entree in town) are way overcooked and dried as gypsum board. Kitchen is not proficient at timing the dishes as my wife's halibut came out with almost cold broth.

Overall this restaurant had potential but lots of growing up to do. In a competitive market as Richmond and with the restaurant hidden in the Hilton hotel that doesn't get enough passerby attention, CAVU needs to improve quickly or they will only be limited to catering to hotel guests and not local foodies.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 13, 2015

Nice little hotel restaurant. Trendy appearance. Food was decent at best, and the service was awful. I don't think I'd recommend this place to anyone. I'd rather go to Cactus or Earls.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2015

The food at Cavu was delicious! We had a beautiful private table, perfect for a group of six. The service was a little slow, but we were eating a three course meal so this was okay. Would definitely recommend Cavy to friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2015

My first time here to try dine out vancouver menu. However, it was a disappointment. The dineout menu didn't have much selection. The food was not as i expected. I didnt like it. But, as i was looking at the regular menu, it seems like a great selection. I would definitely give it another try. Hopefully it will be better the next time. :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 23, 2015

Went to CAVU for Dine Out. The service and ambience were ok - nothing special. Even though there was only one option for the starter and three choices for the main, there was a long wait for each course to come. However, when the food did come, it was exceptional. Great presentation, great menu, and very delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2015

Everything was fine. My only negative comment is about the "Cobb" salad. Lacking avocado, egg, bacon and blue cheese bits it is not really a Cobb salad. It had shrimp, so it might be trying to be a seefood Cobb. The only other seafood Cobb I have had that is really good is at the Westin in Bellevue Wash and it is much better. On the other hand it was very nicely presented. Bob

Report
Helpful
1
2