About CAVU KITCHEN BAR

5911 Minoru Blvd
Richmond, BC V6X4C7
View Larger Map

Located in the Hilton Vancouver Airport Hotel in Richmond, BC, our kitchen and bar is the place to go for fresh, flavorful food and drinks in a cool, laid-back atmosphere. Indulge in gourmet comfort food (with a twist), along with classic, old-fashioned cocktails, local wines, and international and domestic beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 10:30am.
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Elmbridge Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 232-5001

Website:
http://www.cavukitchenbar.com/

Parking Details:
Two Hours complimentary hotel parking available.

Public Transit:
A short 5 minute walk from the Brighouse Canada Line Station.

Executive Chef:
Alex Hancook

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Nightly Specials 7 Days A Week

CAVU KITCHEN BAR Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
See All
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
24 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cavu is a solid, dependable type of rest ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Cavu is a solid, dependable type of restaurant. Nothing flashy about it, but the food is excellent, and the service is solid. Good value for money, recommend as an everyday type of choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Surprisingly impressed with food plating ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Surprisingly impressed with food plating and flavor. Price was right and service professional. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Okay experience. We shared the calamari ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Okay experience. We shared the calamari apply which was really good. The main courses , pappardelle with beef and chicken curry were nice, but not excellent and not as hot as they should have been. Wine list was reasonable. Live music made conversation difficult and together with sports on tv made the atmosphere busy. So, if you want a bar type setting and okay food, try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A quiet, cozy environment to dine. We've ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

A quiet, cozy environment to dine. We've been here on few occasions. Friendly staff, attentive service. Food has been a hit and miss. I've had the perfect steak, and I've had my rare steak cooked to medium well. Nonetheless, it remains one of the few decent western restaurants in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Good portions

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

I know Dine Out may affect the offerings and proportions but I was seriously hungry after! The servings were so insignificant that I felt I couldn't get a sense of what the food was really like. If it is representative of business as usual, then I'm not sure I'd go back. I tend to give places a benefit of a doubt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and nice quiet atmosphere.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

The food and service are very good at CAVU and I'm not sure why it isn't more popular. Locals don't seem to have found it and it's a shame as the only drawback to the restaurant is that more people would improve the ambiance. I like the quiet atmosphere as you can have a nice conversation without yelling - which is necessary in many restaurants these days. The servers are all very pleasant and efficient and I've had many menu items and all are very good. Try it, you'll like it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Came in for our first 2016 dinner. Excel ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Came in for our first 2016 dinner. Excellently prepared food. Good service. Convenient location. Second time here. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very surprising

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Very surprising

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a tuesday night meeting of friends

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

CAVU was a great little find! The appies were delicious as were our mains! I really liked the little trio of desserts. It was perfect for the 3 of us in our party to each get a mini of what we wanted!

The waitress was great! The only thing we hoped for was that the live music would be on longer! Next time we know to go earlier! Great place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Terrific Food in Cozy Atmosphere

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

Really enjoyed the food and service. Menu has wide range of dishes and apps that made it hard to choose from. Food was bursting with flavor from fresh ingredients that was just the right size. Enjoyed happy hour before 6pm and was near our hotel so made it easy to walk to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good pasta

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

Very good pasta. Lacklustre fish 'n chips and burgers. Get entrees versus casual plates - they're much better and worth the extra money. Service was a bit slow, but she was very friendly and tried to check in often. Clean place, renovated, would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great spot, good service and yummy food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 27, 2015

Enjoyed ourselves here! They even accommodated our baby. The place was mostly empty which is unfortunate as the food goes beyond standard hotel restaurant fare. Great variety in the menu. Service was also professional and friendly. Would return when wanting something non-Asian in Richmond!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

More improvements needed

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 16, 2015

Restaurant staff are friendly but at times stretched out over the span of the floor. Their approach is bar-like and not as professional and fitting as its high end ambience (take Chop for comparison). Food is well seasoned but both our chicken+chorizo and halibut (the smallest piece of $25 halibut entree in town) are way overcooked and dried as gypsum board. Kitchen is not proficient at timing the dishes as my wife's halibut came out with almost cold broth.

Overall this restaurant had potential but lots of growing up to do. In a competitive market as Richmond and with the restaurant hidden in the Hilton hotel that doesn't get enough passerby attention, CAVU needs to improve quickly or they will only be limited to catering to hotel guests and not local foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Nice little hotel restaurant. Trendy app ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Nice little hotel restaurant. Trendy appearance. Food was decent at best, and the service was awful. I don't think I'd recommend this place to anyone. I'd rather go to Cactus or Earls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Amazing food, great ambiance

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 1, 2015

The food at Cavu was delicious! We had a beautiful private table, perfect for a group of six. The service was a little slow, but we were eating a three course meal so this was okay. Would definitely recommend Cavy to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ok

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 27, 2015

My first time here to try dine out vancouver menu. However, it was a disappointment. The dineout menu didn't have much selection. The food was not as i expected. I didnt like it. But, as i was looking at the regular menu, it seems like a great selection. I would definitely give it another try. Hopefully it will be better the next time. :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Awesome food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 24, 2015

Went to CAVU for Dine Out. The service and ambience were ok - nothing special. Even though there was only one option for the starter and three choices for the main, there was a long wait for each course to come. However, when the food did come, it was exceptional. Great presentation, great menu, and very delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Everything was fine. My only negative co ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 21, 2015

Everything was fine. My only negative comment is about the "Cobb" salad. Lacking avocado, egg, bacon and blue cheese bits it is not really a Cobb salad. It had shrimp, so it might be trying to be a seefood Cobb. The only other seafood Cobb I have had that is really good is at the Westin in Bellevue Wash and it is much better. On the other hand it was very nicely presented. Bob

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Decent new hotel restaurant

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 30, 2014

My husband and I came here with our families for our birthday lunch. The food and service were both very good. Nice ambiance for our lunch. Good space and tables.

Only thing that I would note: We had to wait for the table to be prepared when I had made a reservation for 9 people a week earlier, and we were the only party there for lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

New but Made an Impression!

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

Apparently cavu has only been open a month but they have an amazing menu, almost everything tasted absolutely amazing! I went with a friend who was vegetarian and they had options for her as well. Yummy unconventional desserts (goat cheese cheesecake) and pretty good price! Service was awesome as well. Pretty quiet right now but i hope more people can discover this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Can't go wrong with Cavu

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 25, 2014

Cavu is a great place if you'd want an intimate setting. The lights are quite dim, the food was great, and the servers were awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

has potential

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 5, 2014

A major difficulty for CAVU is the very limited menu with items being somewhat overpriced for what they are. That said, the Portugese fisherman stew which I ordered was very tasty with generous amounts of lobster and prawns. The second challenge was the lack of clients - a quiet restaurant can be very nice, but an essentially empty one certainly lacks charm. But again, on the positive side, the service was friendly and very good. I understand that the menu will be expanded soon and hope that with that maybe the clientele will increase.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

What a surprise

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 17, 2014

We didn't know what to expect but it turns out that we made the right decision to have our meeting at Cavu. Presentation of the dishes were outstanding; service was exceptional. We had a long meeting there for over 3 hours and was never pressure to leave. We would definitely go back for luch or dinner meeting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

consistent

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2014

Food and service is always consistent there .I like it plus it's 2 blocks from my home

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.