About Cavatina at Sunset Marquis

1200 Alta Loma Road
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

Cavatina- a musical term describing an unembellished melody, beautiful in it's simplicity
Award winning Chef/Restaurateur Michael Schlow, is proud to introduce Cavatina, a new, exciting restaurant serving lunch and dinner at the fabled Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood.
A long time fan and guest of Sunset Marquis, this marks Michael’s first L.A. restaurant and he’s teamed up with Executive Chef Jonathan Kim to present dishes at Cavatina that showcase their unique cooking styles and bold approach to food.
Cavatina boasts an impressive wine list and the restaurant's setting and service embodies Sunset Marquis’ casual and relaxed vibe.
The menu, broken into 4 Categories (Snacks, Crudo, Small Plates, Entrees) offers guests incredible flexibility and gives the chefs the perfect platform to present the beautiful local products available to them.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Mid-day: Daily: 3:00pm-5:30pm; Dinner: Daily 5:30pm -10:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Holloway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 358-3759

Website:
http://cavatinala.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $10 with validation.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Kim

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cavatina can host parties from 10-150, from cocktail parties to seated dinners. Please contact Ameliana at akamstra@sunsetmarquis.com for inquiries and details.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

We have multiple creative spaces to host your event. From 20-250 people.

Cavatina at Sunset Marquis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Los Angeles
Best Ambiance
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Californian
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in West Hollywood ›

great for outdoor dining (25)
romantic (16)
special occasion (11)
See All
neighborhood gem (10)
fit for foodies (8)
great for brunch (8)
hot spot (7)
great for lunch (7)
good for groups (5)
scenic view (5)
notable wine list (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

Fabulous oasis! Our guests were knocked ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Fabulous oasis! Our guests were knocked out!

food1
ambience4
service3
value1

$15 Orange Juice

Dined on May 9, 2016

The orange juice was the same price as the chicken lunch entree... In the arena of high priced Hollywood dining where atmosphere oftentimes supercedes food taste, there's a pricing ceiling where even a local customer feels gouged and wallet-assaulted. Oh, and cobwebs are visibly noticeable dangling from the ceiling beams and corners.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was great. The service was also ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Dinner was great. The service was also great. We love this place. So chill and easy to have a great time.

food3
ambience4
service1

While the food was good, the service was ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

While the food was good, the service was horrible. Not knowledgable about the menu and slow. We stayed at the hotel and basically any time we placed an order, the service was slow, not familiar with the menu, and our orders would get mixed up. Anyway, our lunch time waiter seemed to be quite uneasy with his job. Didn't make an eye contact and wasn't able to describe a single dessert item I asked about. It comes as a big surprise that this famous, renowned hotel would employ waiters unfamiliar with the menu....

food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy dinner here. They have grea ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Always enjoy dinner here. They have great food and the ambience is amazing. Hard to believe you are just steps from the hustle and bustle of sunset boulevard. Such a serene space.

food2
ambience3
service1

We had a reservation and we waited for t ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a reservation and we waited for the food almost one hour and a half. When the food came we were so tired and we gave up to ask for a desert. The restaurant wasn't crowded, honestly I couldn't see any reason for this mistake.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and beautiful setting and w ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Amazing food and beautiful setting and walk from valet to restaurant :)

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Hidden away and you'd never know it's here.

Dined on February 27, 2016

I love the atmosphere and the garden setting really makes it special. You really feel like you're someplace else. The food was really good and the service was great unless you needed something else after being asked. Our server was great but was one of only two on duty so it kind of took a while to get everything we needed at the same time. I'm sure that on a busier day they'd have more on the floor and this wouldn't happen.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu overall but my personal favor ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Great menu overall but my personal favorite is sea bass and Brussels sprouts! Club is great too

food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely place for Sunday Brunch.

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Lovely place for Sunday Brunch.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Romantic Colorful Oasis

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Walking into Cavatina leaves one feeling as if they've entered a different planet. Lush foliage and colorful lighting enhances this already surreal dining spot to another level. The food was delicious and the ambiance was not to miss. Would recommend to anyone wishing a respite from the regular.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful

Dined on February 14, 2016

Cavatina met all my expectations and some. There is a little walk that you have to do through The Sunset Marquis in order to get to the restaurant and the closer you get to the restaurant the more breathtaking it gets. The food was heavenly and so flavorful ( I had the Filet Mignon ). The server was pleasant and very attentive. If you are looking for a beautiful restaurant to bring any loved ones or a loved one, I'd definitely recommend Cavatina at Sunset Marquis, it will not let you down. A little fun side note; We got seated right next to the one and only Ozzy Osbourne, you just never know when you'll run into some one at the Cavatina ;)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Paradise in town

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

We had breakfast here and it was so beautiful and peaceful and quiet I will definitely return.The food was good and the service excellent

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great spot!

Dined on February 6, 2016

Went here on a date and loved the place. Perfect setting to get to know one another

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely setting, food was great! We recom ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Lovely setting, food was great! We recommend

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunset Marquis Rocks

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

Have not stayed at the Marquis since the early 80's. Whether new band in town or the Rolling Stones this was the place to stay during the birth of LA's rock scene. The restaurant survived for years and I have no real memory of it. That changed Friday night. The remodeled and expanded Marquis rebuilt around the old pool is spectacular and Cavatina hit the same high bar. Cocktails were strong and large, apps varied and unique, two filets perfectly prepared and a scallops for the three of us left all raving.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Christmas romantic date with my wife

Dined on December 26, 2015

They had plenty of heaters on during the Christmas eve, which was like 40F or something freezing cold, so that was very nice of them. It was actually very comfy sitting out and we could enjoy the beautiful garden decorated with all the lights. Food was pretty educational and delicious. The server is quite nice as well. I respect these guys who're willing to work on the evening night. However, the only downside I wanted to leave was: they did not allow us to share the meal. It was a 75$ per person meal and it was quite a lot of food. At first my wife and I were planning on sharing but the manager told us they don't allow sharing. It was quite an unexpected rule as there weren't any minimal orders required at time of reservation and none other restaurants have ever prohibited food sharing. My wife and I ended up getting 2 orders of Christmas special combo, which was the only thing on the menu for that night, and the food was too much for us to finish. Good thing I had some cushion in my budget so the dinner turned out pretty well. I guess it was more of my fault for not doing my homework well. Overall a great restaurant to go. Definitely visiting again.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience1
service1

Weird Service

Dined on November 18, 2015

The lighting is all purple and dark, not in a good way. A waiter fully bumped into my chair hard even though it was NOT crowded and there was nothing near me. We ordered some raw crudos and some warm seafood dishes (mussels etc) and the cold, raw dishes arrived after the warm ones-- really weird. The food was fine, but not that great.

food4
ambience4
service3

Brunch with 2 Friends

Dined on November 15, 2015

Location was very boutiqueish. My friend who arrived before me had chosen a table overlooking the Koi pond, which was lovely. It was Sunday at 12:30 pm. Restaurant was not full, yet, we were not encouraged to order from the lunch menu and Server made a big deal several times how we might be bumped from the table unless at least one of us selected the brunch, which I did. One of my guests ordered an omelet from the lunch menu and the server said he can just go to the omelet area for the brunch and she would adjust the price. Service regarding beverages was not attentive; getting the brunch, I had to ask for coffee, but not from our server. After that, lunch was very pleasant with excellent food. I would not discourage anyone from going there because of this anomaly.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service1

We go there a lot, but this time was TER ...

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

We go there a lot, but this time was TERRIBLE!

food3
ambience4
service3

NIce Brunch

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

Good spread, with nice salads, very good roast beef and desserts. The table service is very good, with the glass never running out of champagne (which isn't - it seems to be lower grade California stuff by taste) and plates cleared almost too fast. However, the eggs section is way too slow, not because of the employee cooking but because it is a two man job. Also, the $60 cost is too much for the types of food served. You can get a lower cost in nicer areas (say overlooking the beach in Santa Monica rather than so far inland). Also the valet is $10, which even the top restaurants don't charge. Sad to day, the management considers this a cash cow rather than a service to patrons. I plan to skip if I do not have to go again.

food2
ambience5
service2

Debfabfood

Dined on October 27, 2015

Great Patio/beautiful setting Food wasn't up to standards of the location. Steak was grisly, fish totally over cooked, salad with fish was horrible. Love this place for the beauty but probably not come back due to the food disappointment. It was a special occasion and I felt embarrassed for my guest.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5

Can't beat the outside dining ambiance

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

Food and service were great but I love this particular restaurant day and night because of the beautiful outdoor patio. So pretty and relaxing!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful is an understatement!

Dined on October 17, 2015

We loved everything about Cavatina. Food, it was fun, trendy and the service was solid. Go, it will far exceed your expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunset Marquis

Dined on October 7, 2015

This is the loveliest dinning spots the service is great, food is wonderful.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always recommend going to Sunset Marquis.

vip
Dined on October 4, 2015

The Menu offers a good selection and the expanded brunch has a great mouth water selections. selection. All this is complimented by a magnificent setting from every table.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service3

This is a very unusual la place. The foo ...

vip
Dined on October 4, 2015

This is a very unusual la place. The food is mediocre and feels like one of those horrible restaurants in a hotel in the Midwest or south- meaning unsophisticated and bland. And the decor feels like you're in Vegas. How sad.

food2
ambience4
service4

Seems to be going down.

Dined on October 3, 2015

After dining here at least 4 times in the last six weeks, I'm starting to see the food quality take a definite dive down. Of the four of us were having dinner, three had items that were either really bad or inedible altogether. The brussel sprouts had such a vinegary taste that no one at the table could eat. The cauliflower steak was not much better with very little flavor except for the burnt edges (also not enjoyable). The service was fine but I was a little disappointed that when they removed the plates with so much food still on them that they didn't inquire as to why. For the price, I think it will be a while before we go back which is a shame since we truly enjoy taking out of town guest there.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely phenomenal food and ambiance. ...

vip
Dined on September 21, 2015

Absolutely phenomenal food and ambiance.One of best restaurants I've been to in long time...

food4
ambience4
service4

Pleasant place to celebrate -- but once is enough!

Dined on September 13, 2015

The food was tasty, but neither particularly imaginative nor exceptional. The ambience is lovely, sitting outdoors with trees surrounding (though I had specifically asked for a table near the trees and was not given one). The food is tasty though not at all exceptional, and the selections for main courses actually quite limited. Our fish was meaty and tasty, but rather average -- not worth the money. One of our party had to send the pasta back -- it was so overcooked it was barely edible, and when it was brought out again it was far from al dente. The wine list was concentrated toward absurdly expensive wines. We enjoyed the evening, but I wouldn't go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

35th anniversary!

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

We needed to stay at our home in West Hollywood for our anniversary. The Restaurant and our favorite waiter, Greg, made it memorable. Incredible food, best cosmo for me and negroni for Jack. Then white wine with my sea bass, and port with chocolate desert. They insisted on the wine and desert to be complementary for us to celebrate. Wow! So nice. I just love this place. I have been here 3 times this week with family. And when so many come to visit us we stay at the Sunset Marquee which I just love to have a reason to do so. So personal, so cool and so nice. Thanks. Diane

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunset marquis

Dined on September 9, 2015

I love Sunset Marquis, my favorite the sea bass and salad, the burger is delish. It is a lovely restaurant. My favorite restaurant. Great outdoor and indoor restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Prettiest Restaurant in all of LA

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

We had the same server my Husband and I had about a month ago on Saturday night - Gregory who is very nice. Keep up the great work.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet & Romantic

Dined on September 6, 2015

Great spot if you're looking for a relaxing ambience & fantastic food. Service was excellent. It is like a hidden gem in a swank hotel.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love the ambiance

Dined on September 4, 2015

love this place. perfect for first date night and great food!

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience4
service3

Brunch outdoor seating policu

vip
Dined on August 30, 2015

They should pre-alert guests that only those who buy brunch buffet ($65) are allowed to dine on outside patio.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience5
service3

A Little Off

vip
Dined on August 30, 2015

While the atmosphere is as lovely as ever, the menu is not as great as it used to be…alas, the amazing gluten free pasta is no more. Portions also seemed a little smaller and prices a little higher. Our server seemed new, knew little about the menu, and was often MIA. Too bad because it's a very special place.

food5
ambience5
service5

August 2015

Dined on August 19, 2015

We travel throughout the country and come to Los Angeles each August. This venue is always one of the things we look forward to each year. Our regular server was not there that night, but Angel took really good care of us. As always, the service was impeccable. Angel was friendly, timely, and extremely professional. Our meals (as we always have come to expect) were inventive, pleasing to the eye and DELICIOUS. My friend had the New York steak and I had the filet. Both were cooked perfectly. The apps we had were the potato chips and deviled eggs. While you might think Deviled eggs? They are scrumptious. Give them a try. This is probably our favorite place to visit each year, and once again it hit a home run.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Cavatina is my new favorite in LA

vip
Dined on August 17, 2015

We flew in from NY on Sunday, and our first night for dinner was Cavatina. It is a little gem in the Sunset Marquis Hotel. It was our first time there, and we got six different dishes. Everything was delicious! The shrimp, lobster and chorizo dish was amazing! I will definitely go back on our next visit to LA.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great hideaway.

Dined on August 17, 2015

Ask for Keith for your server. He always nails it. Great food, great ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.