Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Cavatina at Sunset Marquis

Cavatina- a musical term describing an unembellished melody, beautiful in it's simplicity
Award winning Chef/Restaurateur Michael Schlow, is proud to introduce Cavatina, a new, exciting restaurant serving lunch and dinner at the fabled Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood.
A long time fan and guest of Sunset Marquis, this marks Michael’s first L.A. restaurant and he’s teamed up with Executive Chef Chris Turano to present dishes at Cavatina that showcase their unique cooking styles and bold approach to food.
Cavatina boasts an impressive wine list and the restaurant's setting and service embodies Sunset Marquis’ casual and relaxed vibe.

1200 Alta Loma Road
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Mid-day: Daily: 3:00pm-5:30pm; Dinner: Daily 5:30pm -10:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Holloway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 358-3759

Website:
http://cavatinala.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $10 with validation.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Kim

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cavatina can host parties from 10-150, from cocktail parties to seated dinners. Please contact Ameliana at akamstra@sunsetmarquis.com for inquiries and details.

Private Dining

We have multiple creative spaces to host your event. From 20-250 people.

Cavatina at Sunset Marquis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Romantic (9)
See All
Quiet Conversation (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Scenic View (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
People Watching (5)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fun (1)
Historic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

A delicious meal and outstanding service. Jennifer did an exceptional job. Everyone enjoyed their entrees, the chicken and halibut were delicious. For the starters, a delightful array and the Tuna Poke stood out with the edamame puree, perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food and ambiance but bring the company card!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Healthy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

Exciting atmosphere and lovely Romantic setting with creative California cuisine
Really appreciated the special treatment for our anniversary

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was my favorite...I would come back here again and again. The garden setting was so relaxing and quiet, very removed from the West Hollywood hustle and bustle. The food was excellent and Phil, our waiter was adorable. I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My favorite neighborhood eatery.
Atmosphere is amazing. Food is consistently good for the price and the staff is friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.
So glad its within a 2 block walk from my house.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I booked Cavatina for a birthday celebration on June 25. Our waiter couldn't have been more lovely. Attentive in just the right way. Arranged for a delicious dessert to come out with a candle and birthday message on the plate totally unprompted. The setting is beautiful and we ate on the patio with a view of garden and the sound of running water from the koi pond. All very romatic. One of the highlights of our vacation.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Breathtaking setting. wonderful staff. some of the food is spectacular, rest could do with improving.
LOVE LOVE LOVE this place!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is a stunning setting with an interesting menu. The service is lovely and the waitstaff friendly (and funny). The food was slightly disappointing. We have been here several times before the restaurant changed hands and chefs. The salmon was perfectly done but almost taste-free. The grilled octopus sauce didn't compliment the octopus. The gorgeous veal chop was overcooked. There is an Asian fusion aura to the food that doesn't seem to work.
Dessert was fabulous, but alas, too little, too late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everybody treated us very nicely!! We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Was seriously a gem that I just found after living here for almost three years. Was awesome start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great Service, great food! The perfect experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Sunday brunch is perfect. The food choices are lovely. The omelet bar was not crowded because the size of the restaurant is intimate. All food was top shelf. And the endless mimosas were perfectly poured at the table. The staff was attentive. It is a perfect lazy Sunday brunch.

Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great location.beautiful waterfall. Good decor.lovely food.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I've been for brunch at Sunset Marquis several times with exceptional, attentive service. Unfortunately, service was lacking this visit... empty glasses for longer than expected periods and no notice the buffet was closing soon as they usually do. Not cool. And, kinda seems like they are going cheap on the food -- over cooked/dry halibut and it is mostly a salad and omelette bar. Think I'll just go for a drink/app next time I bring out of town guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

If you like Hawaiian astosphere you'll love this place. Sea food and beef entres you'll come back for again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The grilled octopus with chickpea sauce and pinetus were incredible. Best I've ever had!

The low key and thankfully quiet atmosphere was lovely. We could hear one another talk.

I would come back and have already recommended it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I booked our table for Easter Brunch, the brunch itself included champagne/mimosas which was nice. The food was nice, I personally would have preferred a little more variety of foods. When I go to a buffet/brunch I like to try a little of everything but you could really get a heaping sample of everything on two plates. I found the desserts to be a little lackluster as well.
That being said their seafood selection, crab and shrimp, was very well stocked at all times and was delicious. The service was impeccable, they had lots of staff that were very attentive without hovering and you didn't feel rushed at all. There was a table near us that was there when we got there at 10:40 and they were still there when we left at 1:30. That was kind of nice, to feel like you could really enjoy and take your time.

The resturant it's self was beautiful, we were on the patio but it was completely covered and partially enclosed. The weather on Easter was amazing so it felt really nice to be sitting outside while still feeling like you were inside. The walkway up to the resturant from the hotel has beautiful flowers and there is a cute little koi pond, so the atmosphere and ambiance are definitely there.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Nice to be able to have a good dinner in a beautiful environment without having to shout at each other !
Our waiter Keith W was very attentive and let us live our evening the way we wanted. Thank you K

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 4, 2017

It was great. Even though the patio was booked for a private event, the hostess Yuriana was absolutely amazing. Making sure that everything was optimal for my guests. What an awesome customer oriented individual.

All in all, it was a great evening for drinks and business chats. The other people in my party were in awe of the very urban zen ambiance as it was their first time dining at Cavatina.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Wonderful food in a gorgeous garden setting. A very special place to dine. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Arrogant waiter served us.....unfortunate note to an otherwise lovely dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The buffet had been paired down from the last time we tried it. Of course, the price was the same. Disappointing.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food and ambiance are wonderful. Great place for romantic dinner or celebration.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This is a lovely place and we always enjoy it. It's where we had our first date and also where we celebrated my birthday recently. Everything is very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing time spent with the women of my dreams on Valentines Day and my birthday

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Long wait for food, once it arrived, the hot food was cold. We all had salads - it's lunch in LA - a few apps for the table. The food overall were underwhelming, that said, service was great and it's a nice room. Great place for a drink, for a meal, not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The hostess refused to seat us under a heater on the patio unless we ordered from the buffet, this was when the restaurant had exactly one other customer! When I insisted she check with the manager, of course they let us sit under a heater in the empty restaurant! It was downhill from there. Breakfast wasn't good, wait staff wasn't attentive. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was very bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Gusttavo was our waiter. He was absolutely wonderful!!

It was my mother's 83rd birthday and we had a fabulous time!

We have been there many many times and will continue to do so.

Thank you so much for your wonderful food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Sunset Marquis' Cavatina is still one of the best kept secrets in the city.
Ambiance cannot be beaten, and the food quite good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

A wonderful experience.
I only have one critique. They should not charge for parking since you have to valet it (very little parking on the street). That's a gouge that I really resent when you are spending good money to be there and have almost no choice, unless you want to walk a quarter of a mile.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Cavatina has been a "go-to" sunday brunch spot for years. It always delivers the best atmosphere and food. I highly suggest checking it out. but , don't tell anyone🙂

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Jessie and the manager were great! Very friendly and accommodating. It was busy and I think they were short staffed but I think they did a fabulous job keeping everyone happy. They overheard it was our birthdays and even sent us complimentary desserts! I mean... hello 5-star service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This is very pricey.. $35.00 corkage fee... not good... but you can't beat the ambience and serenity. Good servie and great environment... will have to think twince abut the corkage fee.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had such a lovely time here, was not expecting such beautiful gardens or decor. Truly impressed by the scenery and gorgeous pool upstairs where they had live music. All our food and drinks were delicious, the only complaint I had was that our waiter seemed to attend to every table around us several times before coming back. We waited a long time for our wine and just to order even though the inside wasn't particularly busy. I am hoping that was a rare/strange occurrence though because I cannot wait to come back to this breathtaking spot.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The menu needs more items in it! Too limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 8, 2016

If you don't mind sitting a few feet from the likes of Roger Daltry and a few other rock n rollers then you'll love this restaurant's ambiance. Wonderful food, comfortable surroundings, good people watching and the most incredible service...it did take a few minutes longer than I wanted to order a cocktail at the table...but we'd had a few at the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Cavatina at the Sunset Marquis Hotel is a beautiful setting with delicious, well-prepared food. The service can not be beat. The wait staff has been with the restaurant for years and is empowered serve in style and make decisions that fulfill guest desires. Food options are good and each dish is unique and flavorful. I've eaten there many times and loved it every time. I've attended a number of parties as well and they are always beautiful, elegant and fun! Try it. You'll be glad you did.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.