About Cavatina at Sunset Marquis

1200 Alta Loma Road
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

Cavatina- a musical term describing an unembellished melody, beautiful in it's simplicity
Award winning Chef/Restaurateur Michael Schlow, is proud to introduce Cavatina, a new, exciting restaurant serving lunch and dinner at the fabled Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood.
A long time fan and guest of Sunset Marquis, this marks Michael’s first L.A. restaurant and he’s teamed up with Executive Chef Jonathan Kim to present dishes at Cavatina that showcase their unique cooking styles and bold approach to food.
Cavatina boasts an impressive wine list and the restaurant's setting and service embodies Sunset Marquis’ casual and relaxed vibe.
The menu, broken into 4 Categories (Snacks, Crudo, Small Plates, Entrees) offers guests incredible flexibility and gives the chefs the perfect platform to present the beautiful local products available to them.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Mid-day: Daily: 3:00pm-5:30pm; Dinner: Daily 5:30pm -10:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Holloway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 358-3759

Website:
http://cavatinala.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $10 with validation.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Kim

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cavatina can host parties from 10-150, from cocktail parties to seated dinners. Please contact Ameliana at akamstra@sunsetmarquis.com for inquiries and details.

Restaurant Photos

  • Sea bass - Cavatina at Sunset Marquis, West Hollywood, CA
  • Brocolini Salad - Cavatina at Sunset Marquis, West Hollywood, CA
  • Hot Toddy - Cavatina at Sunset Marquis, West Hollywood, CA
Sea bass - Cavatina at Sunset Marquis, West Hollywood, CA
Brocolini Salad - Cavatina at Sunset Marquis, West Hollywood, CA
Hot Toddy - Cavatina at Sunset Marquis, West Hollywood, CA

Private Dining

We have multiple creative spaces to host your event. From 20-250 people.

Cavatina at Sunset Marquis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Los Angeles
Best Ambiance
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Outdoor Dining
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
1 More
Californian
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in West Hollywood ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
See All
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Romantic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Business Meals (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sunset Marquis' Cavatina is still one of ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Sunset Marquis' Cavatina is still one of the best kept secrets in the city.

Ambiance cannot be beaten, and the food quite good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful experience. I only have one ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

A wonderful experience.

I only have one critique. They should not charge for parking since you have to valet it (very little parking on the street). That's a gouge that I really resent when you are spending good money to be there and have almost no choice, unless you want to walk a quarter of a mile.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cavatina has been a "go-to" sunday brunc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Cavatina has been a "go-to" sunday brunch spot for years. It always delivers the best atmosphere and food. I highly suggest checking it out. but , don't tell anyone🙂

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jessie and the manager were great! Very ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Jessie and the manager were great! Very friendly and accommodating. It was busy and I think they were short staffed but I think they did a fabulous job keeping everyone happy. They overheard it was our birthdays and even sent us complimentary desserts! I mean... hello 5-star service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is very pricey.. $35.00 corkage fee ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is very pricey.. $35.00 corkage fee... not good... but you can't beat the ambience and serenity. Good servie and great environment... will have to think twince abut the corkage fee.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had such a lovely time here, was not ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had such a lovely time here, was not expecting such beautiful gardens or decor. Truly impressed by the scenery and gorgeous pool upstairs where they had live music. All our food and drinks were delicious, the only complaint I had was that our waiter seemed to attend to every table around us several times before coming back. We waited a long time for our wine and just to order even though the inside wasn't particularly busy. I am hoping that was a rare/strange occurrence though because I cannot wait to come back to this breathtaking spot.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Historic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The menu needs more items in it! Too lim ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The menu needs more items in it! Too limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

If you don't mind sitting a few feet fro ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 9, 2016

If you don't mind sitting a few feet from the likes of Roger Daltry and a few other rock n rollers then you'll love this restaurant's ambiance. Wonderful food, comfortable surroundings, good people watching and the most incredible service...it did take a few minutes longer than I wanted to order a cocktail at the table...but we'd had a few at the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cavatina at the Sunset Marquis Hotel is ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Cavatina at the Sunset Marquis Hotel is a beautiful setting with delicious, well-prepared food. The service can not be beat. The wait staff has been with the restaurant for years and is empowered serve in style and make decisions that fulfill guest desires. Food options are good and each dish is unique and flavorful. I've eaten there many times and loved it every time. I've attended a number of parties as well and they are always beautiful, elegant and fun! Try it. You'll be glad you did.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Private Room, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience. Enrique Valles an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent experience. Enrique Valles and his staff made my friend's birthday lunch a memorable experience. Great food, service and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cavatina never fails to deliver. The fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Cavatina never fails to deliver. The food is awesome, the service is better, and the ambiance cannot be beat! An oasis in the middle of Hollywood, that transports you to your favorite resort hotel feeling.

Angel is a fantastic server, and we request him for every visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

View is spectacular. Don't let the hotel ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

View is spectacular. Don't let the hotel exterior think it's just another hotel dining experience. It's an open, romantic, n memorable place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Small plates were very small. Slow servi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Small plates were very small. Slow service may have been due to large group enjoying cocktails. Staff very pleasant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

We came from out of town for an early 4 ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We came from out of town for an early 4 dinner and did not realize they don't serve full dinner til 5:30. The waiter and chef were very accomodating, as certain menu items could be prepared early. They gave us additional options and it was delish !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with a lovely atmospher ...

 
 (London)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great restaurant with a lovely atmosphere and great for some LA people watching. Service was a little slow but my son and I were having so much fun chatting that we didn't really notice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very good and the service was g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was very good and the service was good and attentive as well...but not what I would have expected for a restaurant in this price-range....a little too casual for fine-dining price point. Drinks were OK...the presentation was fair...like an afterthought.

It is a kind of hidden gem of a spot, though. The ambiance is the whole game here.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Hidden hideaway and a gem at that. Fabu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Hidden hideaway and a gem at that.

Fabulous ambiance, service and cuisine. You will LOVE CAVATINA, promise.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cavatina would be just marvelous as a de ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Cavatina would be just marvelous as a destination restaurant. You see the comings and goings of interesting looking people (is that Roman Polanski?) and possibly well-known Britishers on perhaps their first business trip to "hollywoodland". But to truly experience this restaurant you will be a resident of the fabled Sunset Marquis. You'll order a bottle of champagne because you aren't driving and savor the soft exterior lighting, the lush greenery and the water feature that creates ambiance and protects those industry conversions from being overhead. You'll take your time knowing you just need to amble back to your villa, or plan on parking yourself at the pool for the rest of the day. The food is just right. Not too hard to decipher, not to much, not too light. Just the right amount of adventurous for the scene and a breakfast selection perfect for the "night before". Just the amount of sophistication you'll need for this old school hideaway favorite of working rockstars and those about to be launched on the scene when they finish their tracks downstairs at the studio. And the restaurant, the hub of it all. Stay cool and you'll feel right at home, the service is discrete and the dishes are perfect, never upstaging the setting and a wine list that is totally on point.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I found this to be a hidden gem in W. Ho ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 26, 2016

I found this to be a hidden gem in W. Hollywood. I will definitely be going back. The hotel grounds are gorgeous and lush and a great place to people watch. I'm sure at night the restaurant can be romantic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great Sunday brunch for my birthda ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had a great Sunday brunch for my birthday....setting is peaceful and lush, good variety of fresh food, endless champagne, great service....who could ask for more?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The best brunch in Los Angeles

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 21, 2016

The best brunch in Los Angeles

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizers were overpriced and very smal ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Appetizers were overpriced and very small. The scallop dish was microscopic. Probably one scallop sliced into 8 pieces. The Brussel sprouts were salty as were most of the other dishes. Compared to the dinners we had with Chef Burllion. our entire group of 6 thought the meal was overpriced and mediocre. We split one entree and the waiter didn't even bring a separate place. Great environment and really substandard food and service

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Wonderful ambience, easy to hear others ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful ambience, easy to hear others at our table, great service, food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We love this restaurant and the ambience ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We love this restaurant and the ambience and food......Whenever we go to the Morrison Hotel which is attached to this restaurant, for a photo exhibit, we then go to the restaurant for a late night meal. Please make a reservation since they do not love walk ins.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always enjoy a visit to Cavatina. Th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We always enjoy a visit to Cavatina. The service is always good and we typically spot a celeb to boot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed with service and food. Lack ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Disappointed with service and food. Lacked taste and struggled with the service man. Hostess was first class though. She was friendly and welcoming. I doubt I will return due to the poor service. Location does look very nice though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I took my parents here for dinner. This ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2016

I took my parents here for dinner. This was our first time dining here. I chose this place because I had some friends staying at the hotel weeks prior and while there spotted the restaurant and thought it looked beautiful.

It is very pricey and the plates are very small. We ended up sharing a couple of the small plates. The food tasted great however. If I were to go back here I probably wouldn't do so on my own time because the value just isn't there for me.

The service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The last 2 times I have eaten here they ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The last 2 times I have eaten here they have gotten my order wrong. The time before this I ordered a Cesar salad with no anchovies, but it came with huge anchovies right ontop, I had to pick them out. This last time I ordered the Cobb salad with no blue cheese and there was blue cheese throughout the whole sale I had to sift through to get out. I would have told the waiter both times but he didn't show up until the end of the meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Best brunch in Los Angeles

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Best brunch in Los Angeles

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite restaurant it is jus ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant it is just a good ambiance. I did go on the very hot day and the mister's were not working. But it was just fabulous as usual.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous oasis! Our guests were knocked ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fabulous oasis! Our guests were knocked out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

$15 Orange Juice

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2016

The orange juice was the same price as the chicken lunch entree... In the arena of high priced Hollywood dining where atmosphere oftentimes supercedes food taste, there's a pricing ceiling where even a local customer feels gouged and wallet-assaulted.

Oh, and cobwebs are visibly noticeable dangling from the ceiling beams and corners.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Dinner was great. The service was also ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Dinner was great. The service was also great. We love this place. So chill and easy to have a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the food was good, the service was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2016

While the food was good, the service was horrible. Not knowledgable about the menu and slow. We stayed at the hotel and basically any time we placed an order, the service was slow, not familiar with the menu, and our orders would get mixed up. Anyway, our lunch time waiter seemed to be quite uneasy with his job. Didn't make an eye contact and wasn't able to describe a single dessert item I asked about. It comes as a big surprise that this famous, renowned hotel would employ waiters unfamiliar with the menu....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Always enjoy dinner here. They have grea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Always enjoy dinner here. They have great food and the ambience is amazing. Hard to believe you are just steps from the hustle and bustle of sunset boulevard. Such a serene space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a reservation and we waited for t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a reservation and we waited for the food almost one hour and a half.

When the food came we were so tired and we gave up to ask for a desert. The restaurant wasn't crowded, honestly I couldn't see any reason for this mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Amazing food and beautiful setting and w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Amazing food and beautiful setting and walk from valet to restaurant :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden away and you'd never know it's here.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2016

I love the atmosphere and the garden setting really makes it special. You really feel like you're someplace else. The food was really good and the service was great unless you needed something else after being asked. Our server was great but was one of only two on duty so it kind of took a while to get everything we needed at the same time. I'm sure that on a busier day they'd have more on the floor and this wouldn't happen.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great menu overall but my personal favor ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great menu overall but my personal favorite is sea bass and Brussels sprouts! Club is great too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place for Sunday Brunch.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Lovely place for Sunday Brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.