Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Cavatina at Sunset Marquis

Cavatina- a musical term describing an unembellished melody, beautiful in it's simplicity
Award winning Chef/Restaurateur Michael Schlow, is proud to introduce Cavatina, a new, exciting restaurant serving lunch and dinner at the fabled Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood.
A long time fan and guest of Sunset Marquis, this marks Michael’s first L.A. restaurant and he’s teamed up with Executive Chef Chris Turano to present dishes at Cavatina that showcase their unique cooking styles and bold approach to food.
Cavatina boasts an impressive wine list and the restaurant's setting and service embodies Sunset Marquis’ casual and relaxed vibe.

1200 Alta Loma Road
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Mid-day: Daily: 3:00pm-5:30pm; Dinner: Daily 5:30pm -10:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Holloway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 358-3759

Website:
http://cavatinala.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $10 with validation.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Kim

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cavatina can host parties from 10-150, from cocktail parties to seated dinners. Please contact Ameliana at akamstra@sunsetmarquis.com for inquiries and details.

Private Dining

We have multiple creative spaces to host your event. From 20-250 people.

Cavatina at Sunset Marquis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.9

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Scenic View (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had all appetisers so cannot comet on the main dishes. All tasted lovely and well prepared. Such a gorgeous setting and would love to go again. Only wish would be for the restaurant to have a few more daring dishes to really liven up the experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Business Meals, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great ambiance for dinner,special occasion. Gregory's setting. Nice rock and roll history; iconic photos decorate wall. Thoughtful service. Poke excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 1, 2017

One of my favorite places, great night even if it was 90 degrees and humid. We went with it, pretended we were visiting Costa Rica for an evening

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Unexpected beauty . Amazing garden setting. Our food was slow, however there was a part of 12 that ordered just before us. Food was great and a great for a change of pace. We forget to go there and we were excited to find it again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I always forget about this hidden gem in my neighborhood during the winter...it's outdoor patio is the perfect al fresco dining spot in the summer. The setting is beautiful and I enjoy walking thru the Sunset Marquis and seeing their wonderful exhibit of rock n roll photos. The food is always delicious and Cavatina is one of the few restaurants with a noise level that allows you and your dinner companions to actually have a conversation!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This has been close to my 20th visit here and it is always amazing every time. The combination of the friendly and welcoming staff and the breathtaking environment make it a perfect location for a special event. We tend to make a dinner out of several appetizers and shared plates and there were many creative dishes to choose from. This was a birthday and anniversary occasion for my friends and I, and we were treated to some amazing desserts to brighten the celebration. Drinks were a little pricey but they were Patron and Cointreau margaritas, so it's kind of expected - especially at such a uber cool establishment in LA. There was a fantastic art show being given in the on-site gallery that made the evening even more incredible. Not to be missed for a special night out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great outdoor space but the Sunday Brunch selection has declined significantly in the last year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Bad news first because I like leaving on a good note. I have high expectations for food especially when it comes to Italian food and I was thoroughly disappointed with my entrée. I ordered the risotto and found it to be way under cooked and virtually flavorless. Now for the good news, my boyfriend and I sincerely enjoyed the cheeseboard as our appetizer and he really loved his entrée. The drinks were amazing and the ambience was romantic yet modern. Our waiter was so kind and attentive. I'd definitely go back here but I'd order something different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Nice location , service was great, food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great menu and variety for large groups. All the plates served were incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Super Location Great menu nice Ambiente gardenrestaurant very nice

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I really loved my lunch at Cavatina! It was a business lunch so I wanted relative quiet and a beautiful setting, not to mention great food. I'm happy to say I got all three! I shall return whenever I can.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Attentive service, great food, absolutely perfect atmosphere. Have loved coming here for years, and it is also a perfect spot to bring out of town guests.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I've had dinner at Cavatina half a dozen times and this is the first time that the food and service were just not that good. We were a table of four and I had the chicken which was over-the-top dry. Even the dark meat of the chicken was very dry as the dish was certainly overcooked. The waiter also needs to understand that when he approaches a table, he cannot just start talking if the guests are involved in a conversation. He did this every time he came to the table and seemed to forget that it is the guest's experience, not his, that matters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Cavatina never fails to deliver: great and relaxed atmosphere, superb food (brunch, in this case) very good service, beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Relaxing, good service, nice surroundings, good food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

A delicious meal and outstanding service. Jennifer did an exceptional job. Everyone enjoyed their entrees, the chicken and halibut were delicious. For the starters, a delightful array and the Tuna Poke stood out with the edamame puree, perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Amazing food and ambiance but bring the company card!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Healthy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Exciting atmosphere and lovely Romantic setting with creative California cuisine
Really appreciated the special treatment for our anniversary

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was my favorite...I would come back here again and again. The garden setting was so relaxing and quiet, very removed from the West Hollywood hustle and bustle. The food was excellent and Phil, our waiter was adorable. I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My favorite neighborhood eatery.
Atmosphere is amazing. Food is consistently good for the price and the staff is friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.
So glad its within a 2 block walk from my house.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I booked Cavatina for a birthday celebration on June 25. Our waiter couldn't have been more lovely. Attentive in just the right way. Arranged for a delicious dessert to come out with a candle and birthday message on the plate totally unprompted. The setting is beautiful and we ate on the patio with a view of garden and the sound of running water from the koi pond. All very romatic. One of the highlights of our vacation.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Breathtaking setting. wonderful staff. some of the food is spectacular, rest could do with improving.
LOVE LOVE LOVE this place!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is a stunning setting with an interesting menu. The service is lovely and the waitstaff friendly (and funny). The food was slightly disappointing. We have been here several times before the restaurant changed hands and chefs. The salmon was perfectly done but almost taste-free. The grilled octopus sauce didn't compliment the octopus. The gorgeous veal chop was overcooked. There is an Asian fusion aura to the food that doesn't seem to work.
Dessert was fabulous, but alas, too little, too late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everybody treated us very nicely!! We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Was seriously a gem that I just found after living here for almost three years. Was awesome start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great Service, great food! The perfect experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Sunday brunch is perfect. The food choices are lovely. The omelet bar was not crowded because the size of the restaurant is intimate. All food was top shelf. And the endless mimosas were perfectly poured at the table. The staff was attentive. It is a perfect lazy Sunday brunch.

Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great location.beautiful waterfall. Good decor.lovely food.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I've been for brunch at Sunset Marquis several times with exceptional, attentive service. Unfortunately, service was lacking this visit... empty glasses for longer than expected periods and no notice the buffet was closing soon as they usually do. Not cool. And, kinda seems like they are going cheap on the food -- over cooked/dry halibut and it is mostly a salad and omelette bar. Think I'll just go for a drink/app next time I bring out of town guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

If you like Hawaiian astosphere you'll love this place. Sea food and beef entres you'll come back for again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The grilled octopus with chickpea sauce and pinetus were incredible. Best I've ever had!

The low key and thankfully quiet atmosphere was lovely. We could hear one another talk.

I would come back and have already recommended it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I booked our table for Easter Brunch, the brunch itself included champagne/mimosas which was nice. The food was nice, I personally would have preferred a little more variety of foods. When I go to a buffet/brunch I like to try a little of everything but you could really get a heaping sample of everything on two plates. I found the desserts to be a little lackluster as well.
That being said their seafood selection, crab and shrimp, was very well stocked at all times and was delicious. The service was impeccable, they had lots of staff that were very attentive without hovering and you didn't feel rushed at all. There was a table near us that was there when we got there at 10:40 and they were still there when we left at 1:30. That was kind of nice, to feel like you could really enjoy and take your time.

The resturant it's self was beautiful, we were on the patio but it was completely covered and partially enclosed. The weather on Easter was amazing so it felt really nice to be sitting outside while still feeling like you were inside. The walkway up to the resturant from the hotel has beautiful flowers and there is a cute little koi pond, so the atmosphere and ambiance are definitely there.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Nice to be able to have a good dinner in a beautiful environment without having to shout at each other !
Our waiter Keith W was very attentive and let us live our evening the way we wanted. Thank you K

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 4, 2017

It was great. Even though the patio was booked for a private event, the hostess Yuriana was absolutely amazing. Making sure that everything was optimal for my guests. What an awesome customer oriented individual.

All in all, it was a great evening for drinks and business chats. The other people in my party were in awe of the very urban zen ambiance as it was their first time dining at Cavatina.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Wonderful food in a gorgeous garden setting. A very special place to dine. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Arrogant waiter served us.....unfortunate note to an otherwise lovely dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.